Skip to main content
TrustRadius
Apple Pay

Apple Pay

Overview

What is Apple Pay?

Apple Pay is a payment gateway the vendor states gives customers an easy, secure, and private way to pay in stores, within apps, on the web, and in Business Chat.

Read more
Recent Reviews

TrustRadius Insights

Apple Pay has become a go-to payment method for many individuals, businesses, and outreach programs due to its numerous use cases. Users …
Continue reading

Apple Pay is AWESOME!

9 out of 10
March 23, 2022
Incentivized
We use ApplePay for business transactions. It is trusted and doesn't need to be sold. The security is bar none and most people we engage …
Continue reading

Apple Pay is Easy

9 out of 10
March 23, 2022
Incentivized
Apple pay allows us to transfer money and pay subcontractors easily. In addition to paying subcontractors, we also use it for …
Continue reading
Read all reviews

Awards

Products that are considered exceptional by their customers based on a variety of criteria win TrustRadius awards. Learn more about the types of TrustRadius awards to make the best purchase decision. More about TrustRadius Awards

Reviewer Pros & Cons

View all pros & cons
Return to navigation

Pricing

View all pricing
N/A
Unavailable

What is Apple Pay?

Apple Pay is a payment gateway the vendor states gives customers an easy, secure, and private way to pay in stores, within apps, on the web, and in Business Chat.

Entry-level set up fee?

  • No setup fee

Offerings

  • Free Trial
  • Free/Freemium Version
  • Premium Consulting/Integration Services

Would you like us to let the vendor know that you want pricing?

14 people also want pricing

Alternatives Pricing

What is PayKickstart?

PayKickstart provides shopping cart and affiliate management for online businesses.The vendor promises to help customers increase metrics such as sales, average customer/transaction value, and monthly recurring revenue with advanced out-of-the-box tools. These include customizable checkout pages &…

Return to navigation

Product Demos

How to add your HSBC Credit Card on Apple Pay

YouTube

Apple Pay Cash Demo in iOS 11.2!

YouTube

Apple Pay Demo

YouTube

Apple Pay demo on iPad Air 2

YouTube

Apple Watch Hands-On and Software Demo! (38mm vs 42mm)

YouTube

✅ How To Pay With Apple Pay At A Store Location

YouTube
Return to navigation

Product Details

What is Apple Pay?

Apple Pay Technical Details

Operating SystemsUnspecified
Mobile ApplicationNo
Return to navigation

Comparisons

View all alternatives
Return to navigation

Reviews and Ratings

(88)

Community Insights

TrustRadius Insights are summaries of user sentiment data from TrustRadius reviews and, when necessary, 3rd-party data sources. Have feedback on this content? Let us know!

Apple Pay has become a go-to payment method for many individuals, businesses, and outreach programs due to its numerous use cases. Users have lauded the convenience it offers when making purchases, whether in-person or online. With its secure and safe payment process, Apple Pay provides peace of mind to both customers and merchants. It is widely accepted at most point-of-sale systems and gas stations, allowing for swift transactions and eliminating the need to carry physical cards.

One of the standout features of Apple Pay is its ability to streamline payment processes. It consolidates cards, gym memberships, and even enables money transfers, making it a versatile tool for managing finances. For employees who frequently travel for work, Apple Pay has proven invaluable by providing quick and easy access to company cards without the need to carry physical copies. Additionally, it simplifies expense tracking and offers a convenient alternative to credit cards.

Switching from Android to Apple has been a game-changer for many users who can now enjoy the convenience of having all their cards stored on their phone. Furthermore, Apple Pay serves as an additional payment option for donors, making it easier for them to contribute at live events or through online payment forms. In retail environments, both employees and customers benefit from this hands-free payment solution that enhances convenience and security.

From subcontractors needing hassle-free payments to individuals making contactless personal payments, Apple Pay caters to a wide range of needs. Its integration with various platforms and websites ensures seamless transactions across different digital channels. Thanks to its robust security measures, users trust Apple Pay for business transactions, appreciating the peace of mind it provides. Moreover, amidst current concerns regarding high-touch areas and safety protocols, Apple Pay supports touchless payment systems and reduces contact points.

Overall, Apple Pay has revolutionized the way people pay for goods and services by offering a secure, convenient, and versatile payment solution that meets diverse needs across personal and professional contexts.

Attribute Ratings

Reviews

(1-20 of 20)
Companies can't remove reviews or game the system. Here's why
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Incentivized
We use Apple Pay so that individuals who are making business expenses/payments can pay seamlessly and electronically via their phones. This creates a clear record/receipt for the user for easy reimbursement if necessary and obviates the need to input credit card information/carry around a credit card. It can also be used to store company card information.
  • Electronic payments
  • No need for a physical card
  • Seamless/secure transactions
  • None
We have generally no negative things to say or criticisms of Apple Pay! It makes payment via company card easier as the information can be stored on one's phone. It also makes reimbursement easier if someone pays with their own card as there is a clear transaction record/receipt stored immediately after the transaction.
Carter Durham | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Incentivized
For purchases we can use at a retailer accepting credit cards, we happily use Apple Pay when they accept it. We often are making routine purchases at local businesses near our office, and some of the ones we most often frequent are able to accept Apple Pay, which is very convenient and which we appreciate considerably.
  • The double click which launches it couldn't be easier; you don't even have to open your phone and find the app.
  • It's pretty much fool proof from there, as just holding your phone near the reader is sufficient for success.
  • Haptic feedback ensures that I know the payment registered.
  • I have full faith and confidence that the transaction was executed securely.
  • The interface can be clunky at times when it comes to sifting through different cards, etc. If there are a lot, it can be unwieldy.
  • I find that it can be sometimes difficult to delete tickets or coupons/cards that I've already used.
  • I've had issues with train tickets in my Wallet failing to update if purchased before Daylight Savings time, resulting in missed trains.
It works great when you don't want to carry cash, or even carry credit cards. It is so simply to just whip out your phone, double click, and it opens with FaceID and is ready to use. In our case, we shop very often at a store across the street which accepts Apple Pay and so the payment portion is essentially a non-issue at this point, which is fantastic for us.
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Incentivized
We use Apple Pay for contactless personal payments as well as integration with development partners, CMS websites, mobile apps, etc.
  • Integration
  • Support
  • Security
  • More supported partners
  • Cross-platform (android, other) support
  • Support for Zelle, venmo, other wallets.
It's great for the personal user if they want to drop the wallet in their pocket and only carry their supported device. For the enterprise level company or retailer, the support is there to expand its use as well as the low fee in line with other payment gateways.
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Incentivized
First of all, I am new to Apple. I bought my first iPad about 4 years ago and didn't really use it much. When my phone contract was up in November, I decided to make the switch from Android to Apple, and that's when I discovered Apple Pay. This has been a game-changer! I absolutely love it. I love that I don't need to carry all of my debit & credit cards with me everywhere, everything is on my phone. I can make purchases for my businesses and also for personal in one app.
  • I don't have to carry all my cards with me.
  • It's always with me because my phone is always with me.
  • It gives me cash back on purchases.
  • I do wish when I charge something with ApplePay that I could pay off the balance without making a second payment.
I use it not only at stores in person but also online. It's so easy to use. I've been a victim of identity theft before and I just feel safer using it online than entering my individual credit card info every time. Plus I get cashback on purchases!
Jim Schuman | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Incentivized
I use Apple Pay for business & personal use. I haven’t experienced any business issues using it, nor have I had any personal issues as well. The system is very simplistic and easy to use on both ends. The product addresses a unique, additional way for payments to be made, and in particular, a much easier method to use.
  • Ease of providing customer service
  • Timely response back on payments
  • Receipts provided clearly & immediately upon payment
  • Some Apple Pay screens or monitors could use a larger screen size.
  • A signature pen could be made available for use at all times.
  • I would like it if it could provide all receipts by email, text, or paper immediately.
Apple Pay works well and is easy to use. It generally is readily available and doesn’t provide any issues. It's able to be utilized as payment on all transactions, and there are not really any scenarios in which this couldn't be applied as a payment to be used on occasion.
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Incentivized
It is used for hands-free payment options, event entry, and multiple card storage in one location. In the current climate with the need to lessen high-touch areas for safety, it helps to support this as well as lessen the need to sanitize as frequently if more folks use the touchless system.
  • Touch-free entry
  • Card consolidation
  • Lessens the items conference attendees need to carry
  • Wider availability and cross-platforming
  • Accessibility for Android users
It works very well as an option for touch-free conference and event entry instead of scanning a QR code. It is easy, fast, and more reliable with the right equipment.
March 23, 2022

Apple Pay is AWESOME!

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Incentivized
We use ApplePay for business transactions. It is trusted and doesn't need to be sold. The security is bar none and most people we engage with are Apple users anyways. People already trust Apple and know that we won't hold their financial information.
  • Easy to use
  • Trusted name
  • Secure
  • Invoices sent via email
  • Monthly statement of all Apple Pay transactions
  • Notification area of all Apple Pay transactions
There really isn't a place where Apple Pay is not well suited. The only issue is that when you look at your CC it says Apple Pay and some merchant information. It does not provide as detailed information as if when you charge with the vendor directly. Also it would be awesome if there was a way to see all Apple Pay transactions in detail within Apple Pay.
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Incentivized
It adds an additional payment option for donors who are in younger age brackets. Our donor base is approximately 4,000 constituents, and approximately 30% of those are millennials. This additional payment option allows for ease of donation at live events as well as on payment forms.
  • Quick
  • Efficient
  • Easy-to-use
  • It'd be great to see it designed for ease-of-use with older crowds.
Apple Pay is a quick and easy way to collect donations on the go during live events. It allows for a simple and fast exchange of funds when folks are entering or exiting the theater, thereby increasing donations by 20-30% per event.
March 23, 2022

Apple Pay is Easy

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Incentivized
Apple pay allows us to transfer money and pay subcontractors easily. In addition to paying subcontractors, we also use it for miscellaneous items such as storing business funds on workers apple pay to allow them to pay for items needed for the business and reimburse should we ever need to for purchases made on the job.
  • Transfers money easily
  • Helps purchases be more secure
  • It is fast
  • Integrates well with the main card holders
  • Notifications that you have money not accepted
  • lack of customization
  • doesn't cover all cards
Very easy to use on the job when transferring money back and forth between clients. Paying vendors is very easy with Apple Pay. The only time I really wouldn't use Apple pay is for bigger transactions. Yes it is secure and easy, but sometimes for bigger transactions, it's nice to ensure that the individual you are sending money to has accepted the money and it isn't just waiting out there for it to be accepted.
Bobby Greenawalt | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Incentivized
Apple Pay is used as a payment method with our Square POS Systems and also with Stripe Payment Processing from our web-based apps. NFC Payments are becoming more popular, so our ability to be able to use them makes us that much better than the competition. Our goal is to provide a great customer service environment, and Apple Pay helps with that.
  • NFC Payments
  • The fasted checkouts out there. There's nothing faster. From deciding to buy to completion is usually between 20 seconds.
  • The ability for other integrations to still have their restricting permissions to be used. As an example, I can't use Apple Pay and still choose when I want my delivery because it's not in Apple Pay's coding to allow outside restrictions.
Apple Pay is well suited for any e-commerce. It takes the gruesome checkout process only a few seconds instead of entering information, re-entering information, page after page, confirmations, etc.
Samantha Huskey | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Incentivized
When I am out purchasing items for the company or our outreach program, Apple Pay offers such great convenience when paying for the items I need. I am able to go out with just the essentials and know that I'll be able to pay for the products easily. It also offers confidence knowing that my money is secure and safe with each transaction.
  • Security measures with bank account.
  • True convenience.
  • Acceptable form of payment.
  • Online purchases sometimes don't work.
  • Faulty payment terminals.
  • Servers are sometimes down.
Apple Pay is well suited to offer a convenient way to pay for services or goods in most situations. Sometimes the technology isn't accepted and it's still something that has to become more widely accepted by vendors. It oftentimes just depends on the city or user, for the most part, Apple Pay has allowed me to easily complete my transactions across the globe.
March 23, 2022

Love it!

MacKenzie Knoll | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Incentivized
Apple Pay is very useful to us as we have techs who need access to company cards. It's nice to have backup cards that they can use in case they lose or forget their physical card when they are on the road.
  • Simple
  • Used most places.
  • No fees.
  • If it were universal, that would be awesome, but more and more places use it every day.
It is well suited for our techs as they are out in the field, but not for our in-house staff who do a lot of ordering on their PCs.
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Incentivized
We use Apple Pay within our organization at our point of sale systems. Our use case has been for 2 POS systems in a retail environment. Having the Apple Pay payment option provides a secure handsfree payment alternative for our customers to use rather than a traditional credit or debit card transaction.
  • Handsfree payment
  • Secure
  • Fast
  • Reliable
  • Support for more credit cards
  • Ease of software access
  • Customization
Apple Pay is well suited for a modern physical retail environment with point of sale systems in place for easy customer access, online shopping websites, and places with security issues such as a gas pump. The system may not be as useful in traditional environments such as a restaurant, where a POS system isn't as easily accessible to the customer.
Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Incentivized
Apple Pay allows me to quickly and easily charge expenses when I am on the go and traveling for work. Rather than issue corporate credit cards to employers, I am able to use Apple Pay when traveling and can subsequently submit my expenses through Concur to get reimbursed. Apple Pay is a great product since I do not need to worry about carrying credit cards on my person; instead, I can use Apple Pay on my iPhone since I have my cell phone on me 99.99% of the time. Apple Pay is also great because I can quickly access the feature and see my previous transactions -- which is easier than trying to find a trail of paper receipts.
  • Apple Pay is extremely easy to access because you can access it whether you've unlocked your phone or locked it.
  • Apple Pay does a great job listing historic transactions.
  • Apple Pay easily allows users to add or remove different credit cards.
  • At times, my Apple Pay will pop up unintentionally. Perhaps there can be more safeguards around that.
  • Apple Pay is not super great if I need to make a return. For any return, I've found that paper receipts are superior.
  • Apple Pay sometimes requires very specific positioning when scanning the phone, which is frustrating.
I find that Apple Pay is extremely well suited for traveling because these are instances where I am heavily burdened and don't want to rummage around for credit cards and my wallet. When I am traveling, I have easy access to my phone and, in the same way, I can show TSA my mobile boarding pass, I can also frequently pay for items using Apple Pay. Unfortunately, Apple Pay is not accepted everywhere, so there are times when I use Apple Pay predominantly but wish I could use it more.
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Incentivized
We currently implement Apple Pay at two of our shipping centers to sell gift cards to our customers. We needed more options for taking payments at our centers in order to increase the sale of gift cards and, in return, keep customers' spending at our centers. Apple Pay is a great option, and a lot of people just want to use their Apple Watch or iPhone to make purchases.
  • Easy payment solution
  • It's what our customers ask for
  • Secure transactions
  • Ease of use
  • We don't see anything that needs to be improved
Many customers had inquired about Apple Pay as they are used to using their Apple Watches or iPhones for making payments. Especially during the pandemic over the last couple of years, it has been a great solution for touchless payments. People also seem to not carry credit cards or other forms of payment when they are out and about.
January 05, 2022

iPay on the go.

Spencer Tally | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Apple Pay is great for consolidating cards, gym membership, or transferring money easily. It makes traveling easier, as I can manage all my cards with the security of my passcode or face ID. It's widely used at most POS systems or at gas stations when traveling. You can also add plane tickets for flying as well.
  • Increase purchase speed
  • Provide security
  • Consolidate cards
  • All transferring funds without using cash
  • If you're using the GPS, you'll have to close it out first
Best for on the go purchases. Getting gas, flying... any time you don't want to be shuffling through a wallet or documents.
November 01, 2021

simple and easy

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Incentivized
Apple Pay is currently used in my organization on my iPhone. I use it regularly for in-person and online purchases. Since I'm a sole proprietor, it is used across the whole organization (or one person). I find it extremely useful to streamline the purchase of goods and services. It is very fast and so easy to use.
  • make transactions quick
  • make transactions simple
  • it keeps me from carrying extra cash or credit cards
  • It took a few minutes to update my apple pay info to a new iPhone when I upgraded
  • since apple pay is tied to my face id, I wish face id worked while masked
  • It feel less well integrated to my laptop than to my iPhone
It is very well suited to in-store and online purchases. I use it all the time when in-store and would rather simply bring my phone close to the credit card/apple pay reader than a swipe or tap a regular credit card. It feels very secure. I also use it on my laptop for online purchases.
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Incentivized
Apple Pay is being used for purchases by our employees. We also accept Apple pay on our POS system. It makes buying and selling payments more secure. It also creates an added convenience for our employees and customers who prefer to use Apple Pay. Apple Pay is also contactless, which is more sanitary.
  • Easy payments
  • Faster and easier than cash or other payments
  • Great privacy and security
  • Not all cards on Apple Pay
  • Not all vendors accept Apple Pay
  • Apple Pay with masks is difficult
Apply Pay is an easy way to carry all your credit cards in one place and make payments and different stores. It is secure, easy to use, faster than cash, and safer than touching buttons. In almost all cases it is better to use than other options. The only downside is with masks, it makes it hard to have Face ID verify your payments.
August 17, 2021

Apple pay benefits

David Lopez | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Incentivized
I have used Apple Pay to get paid by some of my customers. Also I have used Apple Pay for purchasing items needed for the business. It helps us to be able to do this in a fraction of the time and it also makes it’s easy to keep track of payments and purchases.
  • Ease of use. Simple and easy to make purchases at merchants so you can get back to what’s more important at your business.
  • Fast and secure way to get paid by customers.
  • Fast and secure way to pay suppliers.
  • Availability. More merchants need to make it available.
  • Use Apple Pay to pay for recurring bills.
  • Connect Apple Pay to calendar with option to pay bills on date due. For those that do not feel secure using auto pay.
Supermarket, restaurants, theater, gas station, sending money
August 11, 2021

Great product

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Incentivized
It is being used by customers to pay for purchases. I also use it myself. It is used solely for customers only. It allows customers an alternative way to pay especially if they do not have their card with them or if they prefer to use Apple Pay, it allows us to have their preferred payment method.
  • It’s fast, you don’t have to swipe a card and go through all the steps.
  • It’s easy to use. You just hold the phone up to the reader and it goes through.
  • Convenient. Many people always have their phone on them. This allows them and myself to pay for purchases if I or they forget wallets or purses at home or elsewhere.
  • More retailers accepting Apple Pay.
  • Make it easier to validate payment cards
Well suited would be retailers and grocery stores. Less suitable scenarios to us it would be restaurants where the waiter or waitress takes payment I don’t think anyone would want to had their phone over. Another place you would be less likely to use it would be things like internet purchases because most sites allow you to store a payment.
Return to navigation