AWS Backup Reviews

40 Ratings
<a href='https://www.trustradius.com/static/about-trustradius-scoring' target='_blank' rel='nofollow noopener'>trScore algorithm: Learn more.</a>
Score 8.5 out of 100

Do you work for this company? Learn how we help vendors

Overall Rating

Reviewer's Company Size

Last Updated

By Topic

Industry

Department

Experience

Job Type

Role

Reviews (1-8 of 8)

Companies can't remove reviews or game the system. Here's why.
April 01, 2021
Matt Hoffman | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 6 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We used AWS [Backup] as a backup for each server we have. Our data retention policies are fairly strong, and we keep about 3 months of backups in our services. AWS [Backup] was always some of the fastest and most efficient storage I've ever received. We were able to store lots and lots of backups with no problems. Never had an issue uploading either.
  • Backups - it's what it does.
  • Unable to organize folders. Maybe this is just something basic, but I was unable to move files around. I was doing everything manually, on the AWS site to no avail.
AWS [Backup] does what it intends on doing. AWS [Backup] is very fast, however, for that speed, you'll end up with a high bill at the end of the month. Compared to competitors, AWS [Backup] is a lot more expensive than others. However, I believe it makes it up in it's versatility - there's no company more compatible with others than AWS.
Read Matt Hoffman's full review
March 12, 2021
carlos bonilla | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Basically we use AWS Backup to complete the cycle of lifetime backups, and also for centraliz[ing] those backups in one place. In first place we used just AMI backups, but when AWS release this service was amazing for us, because we can tag all resource that we want backup for.
  • tag select
  • backup voults
  • Backup plans
  • add more services to support aws backups
  • optimized the total size of backups (used one)
  • try to make previews of backups
centralized backups in one simple service and place, and for those environments with a big sizes of instances.
its not appropriate when you use try to test some unique instance and you don't need a real retention period for backups. Its totally recommended for RDS environments to improve the existent backups
Read carlos bonilla's full review
May 27, 2021
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
The whole organization uses AWS Backup to ensure our important files are kept safe. It [has] saved my butt a few times with a few poorly chosen delete commands. Our cloud providers offers a backup solution but they don't guarantee the location of the data. A fire at their data center could result in the loss of our data, so we chose AWS for our offsite solution.

We also suffered a complete loss of data at our cloud providers and despite their best attempts to get the files back, we had to rely on our backups at AWS to get our services back up and running.

We've also implemented AWS [Backup] for a few of our customers looking for offsite backups.
  • Redundant
  • Offsite
  • Upload and forget
  • Easy retrieval
  • Some parts of the user interface can be a bit daunting
There is a cost involved with data retrieval. AWS Backup is truly that, a backup. If you need to access this data on a regular basis, there are better options out there.

For long term, just in case incremental backups, AWS [Backup] checks all the boxes. Just set it up, start your backups, and rest assured your data is safe.
Read this authenticated review
May 23, 2021
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
AWS Backup is used as the main backup solution for the core of our system (which is based on AWS infrastructure). AWS Backup is used mainly to back up our servers--and some important data--on regularly scheduled backups. This solution enables us to centralize and automate the backup of all of our AWS services (EBS volumes, EFS file systems, and databases).
  • It does what it supposed to do--backs up data
  • Almost a full solution to disaster recovery
  • Integrates with AWS services
  • Not so easy to use
  • A little pricey
  • The backup is in the cloud; make sure to keep an offline backup (the problem of all of this kind of solution)
Backing up your AWS infrastructure and services can be simplified by using AWS Backup, as it provides features to support multiple services. The backup plans can be defined using JSON files (not straightforward) and you can use tags to identify the resources that you need to back up. The main advantage is that all the backups are in one place and that you can see your backup status using AWS Backup dashboard.
Read this authenticated review
February 26, 2020
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
AWS Backup is being used by my project as a method to make regularly scheduled backups of data from various services. It is being used just by the project at this point but it addresses the business problem of disaster recovery and having the capability to restore data that was deleted by accident that may be critical or customer facing.
  • Data backup.
  • Disaster recovery.
  • Interface.
  • Documentation.
AWS Backup is great for data backup because it solves a lot of data integrity and disaster recovery issues as a centralized backup tool on the Amazon platform. This is really only good if you use AWS as your main infrastructure organization. It is less appropriate in cases where you have data from other systems not covered by AWS.
Support for AWS Backup is by Amazon itself so it is solid as always. If you have a business or higher level support plan you'll have no trouble getting engineers or other staff on the job to help you with whatever comes up.
Read this authenticated review
November 21, 2019
Oscar Martinez | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use AWS Backup to simplify backup tasks of all our workloads in AWS.
  • Easy backup tasks definition and operation.
  • Automated configuration management from API.
  • Centralized management of backup plans per account.
  • Pricing.
  • Centralized management across multiple accounts.
Backing up cloud workloads can be simplified by using AWS Backup as it provides features to support multiple services. Backup plans can be defined easily by json files and it's great to use tags to identify the resources to be backed up. The dashboard helps a lot with information to audit backup and restore activity.
AWS support service is very good as they are very customer oriented.
Read Oscar Martinez's full review
August 28, 2019
Chris Barretto | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
It was primarily being used as our DB backups across the whole organization. We had daily backups as well as rollups of weekly and monthly backups. We could pull application state at any one of those given times.
  • Ease of use
  • Integration
  • Compatibility
  • I've been pleased with everything it has to offer
Any scenario where you need to make backups, this is the product for you. It beats the use of old tape drives.
I've never had to use their support because documentation has been sufficient.
Read Chris Barretto's full review
August 16, 2019
Daniel Cauley | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use AWS Backup for hot backups to store our clients' active projects so they have an active cloud based NAS for their most important doc, emails, and creative projects.
  • Speed
  • Integration
  • Ease of billing
  • Price
  • Long training and signup process
When dealing with all three types of cloud back ups - AWS is almost the only provider where you can get deep freeze, cold and hot cloud storage from only one provider and have them all integrated between one another. Also they have a large list of third party integrations for programs like CloudBerry and the like to make it even easier.
With a HUGE online help base, and very knowledgeable and fast support teams. They also have reps on the Spiceworks forums actively helping members in real time and support a very large VAR and MSP / Re seller Networking that are all trained and hyper knowledgeable in the solutions offered by AWS.
Read Daniel Cauley's full review

What is AWS Backup?

AWS Backup is a fully managed backup service from AWS, designed to make it easy to centralize and automate the back up of data across AWS services in the cloud as well as on premises using the AWS Storage Gateway. Using AWS Backup, users can centrally configure backup policies and monitor backup activity for AWS resources, such as Amazon EBS volumes, Amazon RDS databases, Amazon DynamoDB tables, Amazon EFS file systems, and AWS Storage Gateway volumes.
Categories:  SaaS Backup

AWS Backup Pricing

  • Does not have featureFree Trial Available?No
  • Does not have featureFree or Freemium Version Available?No
  • Does not have featurePremium Consulting/Integration Services Available?No
  • Entry-level set up fee?No
EditionPricing DetailsTerms
Backup Storage - Warm Storage$0.095per GB per month
Backup Storage - Cold Storage$0.01per GB per month
Restore - Warm Storage$0.02per GB per month
Restore - Cold Storage$0.03per GB per month
Restore - Item-Level Restore$0.50per request

AWS Backup Technical Details

Deployment Types:SaaS
Operating Systems: Unspecified
Mobile Application:No

Frequently Asked Questions

What is AWS Backup?

AWS Backup is a fully managed backup service from AWS, designed to make it easy to centralize and automate the back up of data across AWS services in the cloud as well as on premises using the AWS Storage Gateway. Using AWS Backup, users can centrally configure backup policies and monitor backup activity for AWS resources, such as Amazon EBS volumes, Amazon RDS databases, Amazon DynamoDB tables, Amazon EFS file systems, and AWS Storage Gateway volumes.

What is AWS Backup's best feature?

Reviewers rate Support Rating highest, with a score of 9.4.

Who uses AWS Backup?

The most common users of AWS Backup are from Small Businesses and the Information Technology & Services industry.