CylancePROTECT Reviews

36 Ratings
<a href='https://www.trustradius.com/static/about-trustradius-scoring' target='_blank' rel='nofollow noopener noreferrer'>trScore algorithm: Learn more.</a>
Score 8.7 out of 100

Do you work for this company? Manage this listing

Overall Rating

Reviewer's Company Size

Last Updated

By Topic

Industry

Department

Experience

Job Type

Role

Reviews (1-15 of 15)

John Keenan | TrustRadius Reviewer
January 25, 2020

Cylance: Great Endpoint Protection

Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Endpoint protection for windows-based computers. Feeds to SIEM for correlation of events to other security intelligence and threat detection.
  • Behavior analysis
  • Integration with SIEM
  • Chaotic upgrades
  • Time consuming exception management
For behavior-based endpoint protection, Cylance and its choices for automatically putting new machines into the highest protection zone, make installation and customization deferment reasonably uncomplicated. If you want distribution of upgrading so agents are on a disciplined cycle, then Cylance needs some specific work and extra tools to accomplish this.
Good reps and resellers willing to dig in and research answers to questions when the SOC team can’t immediately resolve.
Read John Keenan's full review
Brandon Engel | TrustRadius Reviewer
November 19, 2019

A Great Anti-Virus Program

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We have been using CylancePROTECT for 3 years now and it has met all of our expectations. The client is light-weight and doesn't use a lot of system resources in order to keep the computer safe. We have it deployed across the whole organization and it has been great. We haven't had one instance of ransomware since installing it on our system where we had one or two isolated events in the past.
  • Easy installation
  • Lightweight
  • Auto updates
  • Can be hard to setup.
  • Blocks a lot of stuff out of the box that are used daily in companies.
  • Hard to resolve issues sometimes.
We are in the medical industry and this program is well suited for it. The client is not resource intensive and has not caused issues with a majority of our users. It has kept the company rather safe from ransomware attacks. We had one or two in the past but since the deployment of CylancePROTECT we haven't had any. We use it on all computers and works great for remote employees as well.
I have only used CylancePROTECT support one time and they were very fast and responsive with the answers that solved my issue. That is the only reason I gave them a 7 as I have only had one interaction with them.
Read Brandon Engel's full review
Shaun van Niekerk, CISSP | TrustRadius Reviewer
August 30, 2019

CylancePROTECT | Genius

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use CylancePROTECT on 2,500 endpoints as a replacement for traditional anti-virus. This product proficiently addresses the limitations of traditional signature-based AV. We implemented this before WannaCry hit and proud to say it has been doing a sterling job for over 2 years now.
  • Reduces management stress due to higher levels of security assurance.
  • Reduces administrative time spent on console review and remediation.
  • Low resource utilisation, CPU, Ram, Disk.
  • Would like to see more granular control of USB.
  • More descriptive intel/info for alerts, eg: reasons why behind the algorithm.
It's an awesome product which has now evolved into a full-blown EDR or MDR Solution if you choose CylanceGUARD. We have a simple checkbox ticked that alerts us if the local endpoint's windows hosts file is modified. This is pretty cool!
I have amazing relationships with several members of Cylance's team, and they are in a league of their own from a service perspective. I've even called account managers personally over weekends to obtain intel, feedback, etc. They deliver every time.
Read Shaun van Niekerk, CISSP's full review
Jerome Pierce | TrustRadius Reviewer
September 19, 2019

Cylance Virus Protection Review

Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Cylance is used to protect our computing and network environment and provides virus protection for our users.
  • Works well with newer virus threats
  • Good updates for definition profiles
  • Reliable updates and implementation of newer revisions
  • Has minor issues with some windows processes.
  • Have to Black-list some application processes.
  • Has caused issues by preventing some applications to work correctly.
Works well for local and remote computer users, Mac and PC.
Pretty consistent support when needed.
Read Jerome Pierce's full review
Eric Rise | TrustRadius Reviewer
April 17, 2019

Cylance vs the wild, wild internet

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Is being used across our entire organization in place of traditional AV solutions. Powered by an internal AI, no cloud connection is required for it to defeat known and even unknown variants of bugs, viruses, and malware running in the wild today.
  • Easily managed from the cloud portal.
  • Doesn't require a connection to the cloud to be totally effective against threats.
  • Very easy to deploy in a domain environment.
  • Very easy to administer.
  • Notification when or if a threat is detected.
  • The client itself is protected from being stopped at the local PC level, a common thing that most threats do is stop the AV service from running.
  • Very easy to track what your top threats have been and mitigate them.
  • The dashboard is very clean, almost too clean. Could use some additional information made available.
  • Client over the past few years is getting fat.
  • Better logging and explanation of threats is needed.
We're using it in an almost exclusively Windows environment and it's been flawless. Haven't deployed or spent much time on it within the Linux side. Have been waiting for a mobile client version of this for years. I hope with Blackberry acquiring them this will become a reality.
Read Eric Rise's full review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
September 07, 2018

Antivirus made easy that WORKS

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
CylancePROTECT was brought in after our struggles with the resource-intensive Symantec offerings, and needing something more robust than the Microsoft Defender solution in Windows 10 for our machines. After demoing multiple vendors, we chose CylancePROTECT and have it rolled out to the entire organization of over 150 machines.

CylancePROTECT impressed us both in its small footprint, very low resource utilization, and the fact that it is a machine-learning solution, not reliant upon frequent signature updates as other solutions are. We handle a routine update of the version of software roughly every quarter, and the rollout upgrade is handled directly and easily through the CylancePROTECT management portal.
  • Fast and Unobtrusive, users hardly notice that Cylance is running on their computer, except when it detects something malicious
  • User interface is simple for end users, and the management interface is streamlined and easy to get started with. The management interface has a quick tutorial that comes up upon first login that explains all the different aspects of how to configure CylanceProtect.
  • Customer support is fantastic - in that if you get stuck or need help understanding a feature/setting, they are quick to respond and help to ensure that your configuration is set as optimal as possible for your scenarios.
  • It's a struggle to find negative things to find - but as with any product, cost is a concern. CylancePROTECT is a bit more expensive than some of the other solutions out there, which can be a tall hurdle to get by.
  • Easier subscription to news and support topics - it would be helpful if Cylance auto-added any users with accounts to the management portal to be automatically subscribed to updates and support notifications - rather than us needing to hunt and subscribe to forum posts and constantly updated knowledge-base articles.
CylancePROTECT is very well suited for companies ready to make the next step away from signature-based antivirus to algorithm/machine-learning solutions. We did many demos of Cylance prior to purchase (along with an in-house stress test) of subjecting virtual machines to zero-day attacks with our current antivirus solutions against Cylance, and we were able to see the results of Cylance blocking all known threats, whereas our current antivirus failed spectacularly.
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
December 20, 2018

Artificial Intelligence AV that PREVENTS Ransomware!

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Since the Ransomeware scares back in 2016, many companies have been on the edge in trying to figure out what the best solution is to mitigate and prevent any future attacks regarding Ransomware. Signature-based solutions are a thing of the past, and now companies are turning towards AI and math models to prevent 0-Day attacks. Cylance has you covered in all of these areas! Ever since we purchased the product over three years ago, we have yet to have one computer infected with any type of virus, Ransomware, Malware, etc. That point alone is all I need!
  • Cylance uses AI Math-Model algorithms/machine-learning solutions, compared to other solutions which use signature-based solutions.
  • The Cylance client is very light-weight and is not as resource hungry.
  • The blocking capability is completely customizable through policies. Macro blocking, script blocking, and device blocking (USB, CDROM, iPhone, Android, etc.) can all be customized per organization needs.
  • Management interface is easy to use. The dashboard gives administrators a quick glance at threat events, threat protection, and device protection. Reports give you quick glances at infections, stale versions, and computers that have been offline for a period of time. Updates are easy to roll out in a tiered fashion to properly test.
  • Customer support is great! You can open up a ticket within the management portal and get help within a few hours. Most of the support is over email unless it is complicated, then they will do a remote session.
  • Quicker Mac Support and version update when the latest OS for Mac is released
  • Mac support for new features that are released at a faster pace.
Today, security should be at the top level of importance in any organization. The damage that a company can receive from a data leak, breach, etc. can be very costly and perhaps so devastating that they may have to shut down. With products like CylancePROTECT in place, companies will be able to sleep better at night knowing that their endpoints are secure and will not be subject to the Ransomware kidnappings!
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
August 24, 2018

Cylance AI EndPoint Protection can drive your security strategy.

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
It's our endpoint protection for all servers and desktops.
  • It's a very simple install.
  • The admin console is easy to use.
  • It's lightweight on the endpoint side.
  • The support site needs some more technical notes on how-tos.
  • Sometimes with the alert emails we get, we are not sure if it's a legit alert, as what it cited as an issue is hard to understand. It lists a GUID of something and not an actual file.
  • If something is quarantined, the end user doesn't know when that happened. Only an admin is able to tell that.
Its good for a medium-sized enterprise. We like that it's a cloud without signatures. I'm not sure how it would handle a very large enterprise.
Read this authenticated review
Daniel Halter | TrustRadius Reviewer
May 31, 2018

Cylance using AI to protect the enterprise

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
CylancePROTECT is being used by the whole organization across both Windows & Mac operating systems for client and server infrastructure. The solution allows us to maintain our security posture without the need to run background scans or update definition files whilst benefiting from Cylance's predictive algorithm detecting as yet unseen threats.
  • Low CPU consumption usage on client hardware
  • No need to ensure definition files need to be updated
  • Provides security against zero data attacks with its predictive algorithm
  • Wider support for all Linux OS variants
CylancePROTECT is well suited to an environment where clients are mobile and used by C-Suite that often travels and will not always be connected to the corporate network when a window of opportunity could expose these clients to zero-day attacks using a more traditional AV vendor that required the latest definition files to be downloaded to ensure protection.
Read Daniel Halter's full review
Andrew Vawdrey | TrustRadius Reviewer
February 01, 2018

The defender of our computers

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Cylance is being used across our whole organization. It is an anti-virus program to protect our computers. I really like how lightweight it runs on the computers and is basically maintenance free as it doesn't have to constantly update to new certificates and doesn't always need to do full system scans. Cylance is next gen as it runs everything through its algorithm to tell if it is malicious or not. It first runs a scan on the whole device and then from then it scans every file it comes in contact with, therefore it never needs time to run a whole scan like other antivirus programs do.
  • Can detect zero-day threats
  • Takes very minimal processing power and memory
  • Maintenance free
  • A bit pricey
  • Can stop some dev tools from working (but can tweak it so it doesn't)
Cylance would be good for any computer environment as the internet is a scary place with constant threats that can infect your computer. Cylance can be used on about any computer to protect it from any known or unknown threat.

Because Cylance is based on an algorithm it can protect from zero-day unknown attacks like ransomware. Any business should be taking precautions never run into a situation where they may be able to get hacked by ransomware.
Read Andrew Vawdrey's full review
Joe Bayramyan | TrustRadius Reviewer
January 18, 2018

Cylance review

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Cylance is being used across all our Windows servers and desktops and also Mac OS. I deployed Cylance in my previous 2 companies. It was a great solution and has the same capabilities as on-prem virus scanners without the definition downloads. After the initial scan and policy configuration, the day to day management was minimal.
  • Identify threats on files
  • Scan for files and analyze for threats
  • Alerts and reporting
  • Central management server
It is well suited for small to medium sized businesses.

Large businesses it takes a bit more time to prepare the rules and policies
Read Joe Bayramyan's full review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
May 29, 2018

Stay protected with Cylance!

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Cylance is on my work computer for protection. We've used it for about 6 months now and it seems to work flawlessly. We haven't experienced any malware, popups, spam, etc. I feel very safe using my work computer knowing we have such great protection as Cylance.
  • Cylance works well for blocking spam and viruses
  • Easy support from Cylance. Just sign on and submit a support ticket.
  • Easy renewal process with upgrades and support.
  • Since I've had Cylance installed on my computer, I've had zero issues with malware/viruses.
  • Cylance protects my company from future potential threats that haven't even happened yet.
  • Cylance uses Predictive Advantage to prevent threats and keeps us safe.
Cylance is great for anyone needing protection on their device. They can protect your company from future threats that have not even happened yet! Even if you neglect updating your security software, you can still be protected from all attacks.
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
May 21, 2018

Don't lose sleep over Virus Protection.

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
CylancePROTECT is used across all Windows servers and devices. We have it protecting our entire platform against the execution of malicious payloads that have circumvented our other layers of protection.
  • CylancePROTECT does not require constant signature file updates or connectivity to the corporate network or internet based update servers to remain effective. It utilizies a much smarter algorithm to detect common behaviors that malicious software uses.
  • CylancePROTECT is managed through the cloud, so does not require an on-premise management server that the agents need to remain connected to for the protection to be effective.
  • CylancePROTECT uses much less computing resources while operating on our end user devices and virtual servers, preserving these resources for business related purposes.
  • It would be great if there was a way for an administrator to make a file as safe from the end user device when a false positive has occurred (which is rare). At present and administrator has to log into the web console, create an exception and then wait 60-120 seconds for this to be effective on the end user device, still great, but this can be frustrating for users that are urgently trying to use the file.
  • Executive reporting could be better. Just a single page dashboard report that could be included in other monthly reporting.
CylancePROTECT is effective on all Windows based systems at protecting against malicious software. I can't think of a circumstance where it would be a bad decision to use the product.
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
April 03, 2017

Great Host Protection!

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Cylance is being used as our host-based protection. In case our firewalls let malware slip by, we always have Cylance as our last method of protection. Cylance is currently being used throughout our whole company.
  • Catches malware that otherwise slipped through our firewall.
  • Stops scripts from running on a user's computer.
  • Quarantines files quickly.
  • When a user has a file quarantined, it would be nice to see an email sent to our group so we could investigate it more. This issue could just be a setting preference that our team has not set up yet.
Cylance is great for small or large companies that want to protect their computers.
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
April 04, 2017

Cylance - Behind the magic

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Cylance bridges the gap between traditional anti-virus solutions that often fall short when faced with our hyper-changing threat landscape. Leveraging machine learning and artificial intelligence, Cylance appears to be able to make decisions on the fly regarding the trustworthiness of a running application. While old staples like McAfee and Symantec will always remain, newcomers like Cylance continue to force businesses into rethinking strategy which ultimately leads to growth.
  • Ease of deployment.
  • Ease of administration.
  • Very low false positive detection while finding things that other AV vendors would miss.
  • The cloud interface leaves some to be desired but Cylance has continuously improved this as well.
  • Compatibility with existing security products may hinder full utilization.
  • Over saturation of advertisement may lead to increased skepticism.
The technology is incredible and even more than that, its very scalable. There appears to be no fundamental difference between deploying this solution to a large enterprise or a small doctor's office. For the benefit of consumers everywhere, this solution should be made even more available to the private market.
Read this authenticated review

Feature Scorecard Summary

Anti-Exploit Technology (4)
8.0
Endpoint Detection and Response (EDR) (4)
8.0
Centralized Management (4)
8.2
Hybrid Deployment Support (3)
7.0
Infection Remediation (3)
8.3
Vulnerability Management (3)
8.7
Malware Detection (4)
8.8

About CylancePROTECT

Cylance, a Blackberry company, offers an antivirus and endpoint protection software in CylancePROTECT, featured in business and home editions boasting artificial intelligence guided protection.
Categories:  Antivirus,  Endpoint Security

CylancePROTECT Technical Details

Operating Systems: Unspecified
Mobile Application:No