TrustRadius
Cisco Jabber is a communication platform that is available as a browser-based and mobile app solution. It allows users to collaborate across channels such as instant messaging, voice, VoIP, and video telephony. Features include voice and video calling, call recording, and broadcast messaging.https://dudodiprj2sv7.cloudfront.net/product-logos/wZ/tj/TET3E809JIJL.JPEGCommunication with Freedom of LocationWe are in the process of rolling out Cisco Jabber to our enterprise community. We have been piloting it for quite some time now and it is one of my favorite collaboration tools that we have attempted to use in our organization. We plan to provide this to users in our organization that currently have or request a phone line for business purposes. Our users will have the flexibility of using that phone line on either a Cisco Jabber client or on the client and a physical desk phone. The problem that Cisco Jabber addresses for us is that it provides the ability for our user community to be mobile and flexible in location of where they do their work while still remaining reachable for collaboration with others. To this point our user community that has already been given access to the platform is very satisfied with the capability to communicate with the tool. Many users have commented to us that they wish we had provided this capability quite some time ago. Many users were aware that the product existed based on past experience with another employer or just as a matter of having researched the available tools for collaboration that are currently popular.,The Cisco Jabber client allows a user the flexibility of location while still being available to anyone for collaboration and communication. No longer tethered to a desk to take calls. This is a huge benefit in my mind Cisco Jabber also provides presence and availability status without even needing to actually call or send a message to someone to determine availability. This saves a ton of time from wasted effort trying to find someone and learn if they are available to collaborate. When configured correctly Cisco Jabber can also be integrated with some calendaring systems to automatically update the status of a user.,There is some brand confusion that exists between Cisco communication products. This is more relevant to the support personnel and engineers that would be making decisions to implement the product. Cisco has their Spark/WebEx platform that provides collaboration/communication functionality and more to the end users. Cisco has stated at some conferences that I attended that they are committed to maintaining and developing the Cisco Jabber platform still so that is very promising since the product serves different needs. Cisco Jabber is a little complex to implement properly in your environment. The larger the communication cluster the more complicated it can become. There are also some additional features like persistent chat that require extra resources like a standalone database for persistent chat.,9,Its a tool that provides enhanced customer service capability to our user community. The users are able remain available while working in almost any location. More work gets done when people can collaborate and communicate better. Our efficiency is increasing as we continue to roll out the application to our user community.,Slack, Skype and Skype for Business,Slack, Microsoft Office 365, Wireshark, Skype for Business, BoxJabber for CollaborationWe used Jabber as our enterprise collaboration solution. During my time at a prominent healthcare organization, we leveraged Jabber to reduce response times, allowing problems, incidents, difficulties, and project updated to be communicated quickly. It saved time and cut down on excessive emails since we could ping each other quickly. The video chat features allowed for a more collaborative meeting experience when working remotely and the screen share features allowed us in IT to work with users for simple issues.,Ease of use - doesn't have a huge learning curve, doesn't require a lot of user training Connects via multiple platforms - Android, iOS, Windows Feature Rich - Allows you to do screen sharing, video conferencing,File transfers need improvement - File transfers can take some time and it often fails before completing. Better iOS integration - occasionally the iOS app will go idle and cause missed calls. Add Additional Line - I would like to be able to show all of a user's extensions on the client. This would be super helpful with admin-assistants,10,The efficiency in which Jabber allowed us to communicate and collaborate with our remote workers easily. We were able to resolve issues quickly with our users by reaching them over Jabber First. Jabber offers a “single pane of glass” for collaboration. It combines Voice, web conferencing, desktop sharing and video chat. Saves on software costs and management times. We were able to contact our agents without disrupting their call flow and assist users to resolve issues quickly.,Jabber is an ideal program for internal communications of organizations.Jabber coordinates the company's operations to achieve a more assertive line of communication. Jabber gives our organization better communication mechanisms, not to mention fast response times. Our organization managed to significantly reduce response times, allowing problems, incidents, difficulties, and potential and progress of projects to be addressed immediately. This improvement in communication time has allowed us to improve our indices of profitability, reduce expenses, and optimization our business processes.,Jabber is a multifaceted program that offers an easy-to-use messaging tool for the internal communication of organizations. The video call or conference tool provides the possibility for organizations to host quality remote meetings.,Jabber needs to improve their interface to be competitive with other internationally recognized programs. The image quality and layout of video conferences should improve, because currently it offers a non-innovative view. I think they should replace the interface symbols with other, more innovative and creative ones, so that the product offers a more "technified" image.,8,Jabber has allowed our organization to improve its indices of economic and financial profitability of the organization, as well as the the index of yields. The improvement in communication has resulted in more optimized workflow, which has led to the reduction of costs and expenses. The economic benefits to workers and shareholders have multiplied because Jabber has improved profits.,Skype for Business,Microsoft Azure, Skype for Business, Google Hangouts, IBM Analytics Engine,100,4,The establishment of the lines of work of information and communication of the personnel. the coordination of extraordinary activities. work tool for the coordination, execution and systematization of meetings.,we have used jabber for sending photographic memories of extraordinary events. the publication of workers' performance.,the organization can use it for the incorporation of all the staff. we are planning to work with jabber the data analysis works. use jabber as a medium for discourse and conversation analysis.,8,Yes,Price Product Usability Third-party Reviews,I would select jabber again because it is a program that adapts very well to the strategic objectives of the company and because it has a fair price that does not compromise the company's budget. It is a program that with the use of workers can adapt over time. and also offers the tools we need to achieve an adequate communication that strengthens the work.Great platform for interoffice communicationJabber is available and used by almost everyone in our organization. It is used to communicate between staff and attorneys, as well as among attorneys. It relieves us from excessive emails and allows us to quickly chat on work, personal and other matters in an efficient manner. Our only problem is encouraging more people to use it!,Easy to instant chat Intuitive platform Connects multiple people on one platform,Does not allow immediate document sharing Its emoticons are extremely outdated No way to emphasize words with bold or italics,6,Aids project management efficiency Consolidates all of my work communication into a single platform,Skype for Business and WebEx Meetings,Google Hangouts, Dropbox, Firmex Virtual Data RoomJabber at the OfficeJabber is used across the organization. It is pretty much an internal communication system that is linked to the telephone system. We can use it to send direct and instant messages (similar to a chat service), make phone calls, receive calls, send and receive messages. You can also set statuses to let colleagues know if you are available, away, busy, or on the line with someone else.,Internal communication Chat function and instant messages Status checks (see if available, away, on a call, etc.),Not customizable,8,Integrates well with phone system,,Zoom, Slack
Unspecified
Jabber
137 Ratings
Score 8.2 out of 101
TRScore

Jabber Reviews

Jabber
137 Ratings
Score 8.2 out of 101
Top Rated Award
Show Filters 
Hide Filters 
Filter 136 vetted Jabber reviews and ratings
Clear all filters
Overall Rating
Reviewer's Company Size
Last Updated
By Topic
Industry
Department
Experience
Job Type
Role
Reviews (1-25 of 51)
  Vendors can't alter or remove reviews. Here's why.
Eric Taylor profile photo
August 09, 2018

Jabber Review: "Communication with Freedom of Location"

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We are in the process of rolling out Cisco Jabber to our enterprise community. We have been piloting it for quite some time now and it is one of my favorite collaboration tools that we have attempted to use in our organization. We plan to provide this to users in our organization that currently have or request a phone line for business purposes. Our users will have the flexibility of using that phone line on either a Cisco Jabber client or on the client and a physical desk phone. The problem that Cisco Jabber addresses for us is that it provides the ability for our user community to be mobile and flexible in location of where they do their work while still remaining reachable for collaboration with others.

To this point our user community that has already been given access to the platform is very satisfied with the capability to communicate with the tool. Many users have commented to us that they wish we had provided this capability quite some time ago. Many users were aware that the product existed based on past experience with another employer or just as a matter of having researched the available tools for collaboration that are currently popular.
  • The Cisco Jabber client allows a user the flexibility of location while still being available to anyone for collaboration and communication. No longer tethered to a desk to take calls. This is a huge benefit in my mind
  • Cisco Jabber also provides presence and availability status without even needing to actually call or send a message to someone to determine availability. This saves a ton of time from wasted effort trying to find someone and learn if they are available to collaborate.
  • When configured correctly Cisco Jabber can also be integrated with some calendaring systems to automatically update the status of a user.
  • There is some brand confusion that exists between Cisco communication products. This is more relevant to the support personnel and engineers that would be making decisions to implement the product. Cisco has their Spark/WebEx platform that provides collaboration/communication functionality and more to the end users. Cisco has stated at some conferences that I attended that they are committed to maintaining and developing the Cisco Jabber platform still so that is very promising since the product serves different needs.
  • Cisco Jabber is a little complex to implement properly in your environment. The larger the communication cluster the more complicated it can become. There are also some additional features like persistent chat that require extra resources like a standalone database for persistent chat.
Truly the flexibility of not being tethered to my desk is the greatest joy of Cisco Jabber. It is so beneficial for me to be able to go to other offices and be collaborating with others but still not miss important calls to keep work flowing. This tool goes a long way to making users available to communicate while getting work done. I would totally recommend this as it is a great tool for modern professional environments.
Read Eric Taylor's full review
Deirra J. Footman profile photo
November 01, 2018

User Review: "Jabber for Collaboration"

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We used Jabber as our enterprise collaboration solution. During my time at a prominent healthcare organization, we leveraged Jabber to reduce response times, allowing problems, incidents, difficulties, and project updated to be communicated quickly. It saved time and cut down on excessive emails since we could ping each other quickly. The video chat features allowed for a more collaborative meeting experience when working remotely and the screen share features allowed us in IT to work with users for simple issues.
  • Ease of use - doesn't have a huge learning curve, doesn't require a lot of user training
  • Connects via multiple platforms - Android, iOS, Windows
  • Feature Rich - Allows you to do screen sharing, video conferencing
  • File transfers need improvement - File transfers can take some time and it often fails before completing.
  • Better iOS integration - occasionally the iOS app will go idle and cause missed calls.
  • Add Additional Line - I would like to be able to show all of a user's extensions on the client. This would be super helpful with admin-assistants
Jabber is great for large businesses and businesses that have a number of remote workers so that everyone can keep in touch more regularly than having to send numerous emails. The Platform is easy to use and offers great features like screen sharing and video chatting all built in. Chats are logged to Outlook for record keeping. It allows meetings to be more collaborative and ties in with your VoIP phone systems and Webex.
Read Deirra J. Footman's full review
FRANCO PIÑERO profile photo
October 19, 2018

Review: "Jabber is an ideal program for internal communications of organizations."

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Jabber coordinates the company's operations to achieve a more assertive line of communication. Jabber gives our organization better communication mechanisms, not to mention fast response times. Our organization managed to significantly reduce response times, allowing problems, incidents, difficulties, and potential and progress of projects to be addressed immediately. This improvement in communication time has allowed us to improve our indices of profitability, reduce expenses, and optimization our business processes.
  • Jabber is a multifaceted program that offers an easy-to-use messaging tool for the internal communication of organizations.
  • The video call or conference tool provides the possibility for organizations to host quality remote meetings.
  • Jabber needs to improve their interface to be competitive with other internationally recognized programs.
  • The image quality and layout of video conferences should improve, because currently it offers a non-innovative view.
  • I think they should replace the interface symbols with other, more innovative and creative ones, so that the product offers a more "technified" image.
Jabber adapts very well to companies that need to maintain a continuous and immediate line of communication in order to improve the performance of the organization through effective communication. Jabber adapts very well for communication among staff, because it provides the tools of work the application of works in the field. Jabber does not adapt very well to innovative and creative companies with a technological purpose.
Read FRANCO PIÑERO's full review
Olivia Crellin profile photo
June 19, 2018

Jabber Review: "Great platform for interoffice communication"

Score 6 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Jabber is available and used by almost everyone in our organization. It is used to communicate between staff and attorneys, as well as among attorneys. It relieves us from excessive emails and allows us to quickly chat on work, personal and other matters in an efficient manner. Our only problem is encouraging more people to use it!
  • Easy to instant chat
  • Intuitive platform
  • Connects multiple people on one platform
  • Does not allow immediate document sharing
  • Its emoticons are extremely outdated
  • No way to emphasize words with bold or italics
This is great as an instant messaging platform and a quick way to communicate between colleagues. I encourage my colleagues to use it to deal with small items or issues so as to avoid duplicate and unnecessary email exchanges. I also appreciate the platform for developing personal relationships in the office in an informal way.
Read Olivia Crellin's full review
Raymond Tran profile photo
June 07, 2018

User Review: "Jabber at the Office"

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Jabber is used across the organization. It is pretty much an internal communication system that is linked to the telephone system. We can use it to send direct and instant messages (similar to a chat service), make phone calls, receive calls, send and receive messages. You can also set statuses to let colleagues know if you are available, away, busy, or on the line with someone else.
  • Internal communication
  • Chat function and instant messages
  • Status checks (see if available, away, on a call, etc.)
  • Not customizable
Jabber is well suited to serve internal communication roles and works great within the office. It is a great alternative to emails, texting, and phone calls, and allows for more discrete and subtle forms of communication (e.g., letting someone know you are on the way when you see that they are finished with a call).
Read Raymond Tran's full review
No photo available
July 24, 2018

"A Review of Cisco Jabber"

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We utilized Jabber across our entire organization with my past employer. Jabber served as an efficient platform for establishing messages as well as connecting seamlessly to all of our work schedules, cell phones, and e-calendars. It was useful for identifying if co-workers were at work that particular day or in a meeting or maybe even just away from their computer for a bit.
  • If individuals work for your company, their name and title is shown, as well as recent transactions you've had with them. In a dynamic environment such as the one I was employed, it was very organized and beneficial.
  • A strength of Jabber would be the integration involving alternate services a business might provide. It lets coworkers know if you are presenting a PowerPoint slide show by flashing "In Presentation Mode" which lets colleagues know not to message you at that time.
  • Everything works pretty smoothly and without a hitch. Another strength of Jabber is that it's been around long to enough to have many of the bugs and kinks worked out.
  • I'd kind of like to see Jabber become fully cloud-based. When I utilized the program, it was mainly a separate item on our system. While this wasn't necessarily a setback, it mainly had an overall aesthetic of a more dated technology.
  • The Jabber app doesn't store credentials for logging in when I sign on. Basically every time I would re-open the app I would have to re-type my log-in info. It made me a little more hesitant to use the app on the road.
  • I would also have liked to see file transfer somehow be sped-up. Transferring of files is pretty simple to locate on Jabber, but the wait time is a bit of a drag and sometimes it even fails. Some improvement could be made in this regard.
In a corporate atmosphere, Jabber is a legitimate and helpful chat platform. Integration is key here for synching with other Cisco programs and video/phone systems, and the desktop application is versatile. I enjoyed the concept of being able to share my desktop or start up a group WebEx meeting. "Active Directory Integration" makes it simple to locate coworkers and organize business department employees into set groups. If integrated into your phone system, Jabber is beneficial in viewing missed calls in a timely fashion. The reminders received about upcoming WebEx meetings are beneficial and Jabber also reminds you to launch them via the pop-up alert system. In all, I feel Cisco Jabber is a pretty complete package.
Read this authenticated review
No photo available
October 10, 2018

Jabber Review: "One stop shop messaging tool"

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Jabber is being widely used across the corporate side of the business. It is a great tool that has replaced the bulky phones around the office which has provided more real stated to the employees around their work space.
Jabber has made it very easy to call contacts and chat/ message at the same time within the interface.
  • Partitioned chat - Jabber chat groups can be company wide or limited to individuals, teams, projects, and departments
  • Rapid file and document exchange without having to resort to email or external file-sharing tools
  • Active chat logging - All chats are logged for auditing purposes
  • Status updates - Agents always know who is available to assist them. Managers / supervisors:always know the status of their entire team as well as what activities they are engaged in
  • Consumes lots of physical memory while running.
  • You can't change the group admins
  • When you click on any number in the chat log sometimes it starts making a call to that number
Jabber is well suited to communicate with other members, provide pictorial presentations by sharing screens and provide one information to the whole team
Read this authenticated review
No photo available
September 19, 2018

Jabber Review: "Quick Communication Can be easily made"

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Jabber is a good tool to have quick communications. It is a tool that is being used by our whole organisation (USA office and India office.) In our integration team, we get the quick notification through Jabber letting us know what is a priority, and which customer issues need to solutions ASAP.
  • It always reaming in sync with your other software, like with mail and showing the availability of the person (are they available , away, or in meeting.) We can also customise the status features as per our needs.
  • We can easily share images and external links with it, and we can also use the inbuilt emojis to show reactions. We can create a group and have one or many communications
  • It has a great user friendly platform that makes it easy to use and requires a little training.
  • We can use alert features to for people whom we need to contact, which will let us know when they are available. We can also check the other personal details like extension number, email ID, full name, etc.
  • We cannot share images when we our in group chat. We also cannot save the images directly from chat, so we either need to save the chat or take a screenshot of the screenshot again
  • Sometimes screen sharing does not work well. We might send the request to other person for screen sharing , and the other person will not get the request if he is away, and when he unlocks his system he will get the black screen in place of a screen sharing request.
  • It's sometimes difficult to add new users, like when we need to add that in XML and do further steps.
Jabber is product of Cisco so security-wise , I think it's a great tool, as all the information is suited directly from end to end. Jabber remains a great tool when we need to provide training/demo to the other person . It's less helpful when it does not show the status of our message (i.e. is it read or unread/delivered.)
Read this authenticated review
Brian Taylor profile photo
December 05, 2017

Jabber Review: "Great replacement for desk phones"

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use Jabber across the enterprise. In order to reduce hardware and licensing costs, we needed a solution that replaced our existing use of Skype for Business; integrated into a Cisco VoIP solution, allowed remote users to be issued a direct number, and provided simple, straightforward instant messaging. From our cost-benefit analyses, Jabber was significantly cheaper than similar solutions from Skype for Business or Citrix, and because of its integration into the Cisco UCS environment, it was easy to deploy out the enterprise.
  • Provides unified, simple to use instant messaging across departments, groups, and projects.
  • Makes it easy for users to move from their mobile phones to the desktop to a physical phone.
  • Presence indicators pull nicely from Outlook so users don't have to mark themselves as being in a meeting or otherwise unavailable.
  • With some versions, logging in can be buggy requiring some users to log in repeatedly, or log out and back for it "take hold".
  • The mobile client on iPhones will sometimes fade into the background, which can lead to missed calls or messages if the app isn't actively connecting.
  • Contacts are not synced from Outlook or mobile devices, which can be a bit of a pain to have to set up in the app.
Jabber is well suited as a soft phone client that also has instant messaging and video conference features. It should not be considered as a primary instant messaging solution or web conference tool as those are more of the bonus features of the software. If you're looking for a solution that promotes fast, easy instant messaging, Slack would be a much better fit. But if you're looking for a well balanced all-in-one solution that reduces licensing costs and has some cool features, then Jabber is a good fit.
Read Brian Taylor's full review
Jeanette Gass profile photo
December 05, 2017

User Review: "Jabbering Away on Cisco Jabber"

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Jabber is currently being used by my whole organization as an internal instant messaging tool. It is helpful because it is tied to our phone services and we can see when someone is in a meeting or not without opening up Outlook. It also cuts down on the amount of emails we send since we can have real-time conversations about an issue or use it to answer quick questions that don't really need an email. It makes communication easier and more efficient.
  • It integrates phone services so that you can see who is calling and even dial using your computer. It also makes it easy to see missed calls and listen to voicemails through email/computer.
  • Connectivity: It helps answer simple questions quickly and stay in touch with remote employees.
  • Cuts down on the amount of emails sent each day which means that emails can be used for longer messages or ones that need attachments and it is easier to sift through emails and focus on important messages without the clutter of short messages/quick questions.
  • It would be great to be able to tie Jabber to additional phone lines other than my direct number so that voicemails could be received and answered more promptly and so that I can see missed calls or incoming calls on my computer to other lines that I answer.
  • It's hard to search for and add contacts to the chat function in Jabber.
  • The window indicating a new message appears at the top of the screen instead of at the bottom where I am used to seeing desktop notifications which can be difficult to adapt to.
Jabber is great for organizations that have a number of remote workers (whether it's full-time or a few days a week) so that everyone can keep in touch more regularly than having to send numerous emails. It works really well for laptop/desktop computers, but I don't think it works well when traveling because it's more difficult to use when on the road. It also really works well if it is integrated with the organization's phone and calendar services. It loses its productivity if it's used only for instant messaging.
Read Jeanette Gass's full review
John Dopson profile photo
February 01, 2018

User Review: "Jabber up a storm."

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Jabber was implemented once the product became a more mature solution to our collaboration needs. With the IP communicator product being phased out we decided to standardize on Jabber. The main focus to replace the softphone features but also now with its added functions to be a major tool in our collaboration tool chest. It is now being used also for sharing and chat along with the phone functionality.
  • Streamlined our ability to easily do video conference calls.
  • More well rounded IP phone replacement.
  • The UI is pretty clean but it could make some commonly used functions easier.
  • There should be a phone tab where you could just use a regular dial pad
  • Voice-mail could have a top bar with commonly used functions like delete or replay from the beginning.
It is suited pretty well for communication and managing voice and video calls.
Read John Dopson's full review
Karly Gersberg profile photo
December 12, 2017

Review: "Using Jabber to Blabber with your coworkers at a large non-profit"

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Our entire organization of approximately 500-600 employees uses jabber very often on a daily basis as our primary means of instant communication. Besides e-mail, we use jabber in our organization to ask urgent questions, notify others of things quickly or send more informal messages that don’t require a full email or phone call. It allows us to communicate much more effectively because our employees are usually busy and not confined to their office or desk, so if they miss a phone call it becomes very easy to play phone tag all day. Jabber is also a more casual form of sending messages you may not want to send in an e-mail, and allows you to use emojis and attachments to illustrate your point.
  • Easy to use design, very common-sense oriented and user-friendly, just click the person's name, type your message and hit send!
  • You can attach files to a message, so if you need fo reference something in your conversation you dont have to send a separate e-mail. Makes it much less confusing to manage tasks
  • Connects to your Microsoft office calendar/desk phone to show if you are available, away or signed off in real-time and without having to manually set an away status.
  • Can easily change the size, and font of your text and can add emojis to make your conversation more fun and casual.
  • I would like to have the ability to archive and save particular conversations. It only saves your chat history for a week or two but there is no option to save parts of the conversation or import to your email. You would need to copy and paste but of course, you can’t do that after the fact if its already gone.
  • I would like to be able to personalize or customize the interface a little bit more. As of now, there is one design, one color, one set “away” or “busy” status and no way to change the color or look of the jabber home box or chat boxes.
  • The “phone call” function is not particularly easy to use. I still haven't been able to figure out how to connect my phone to my jabber so that I can “call” people via jabber or so that they can see if I am currently on a phone call already, which I think is an extremely useful function- if only I could figure out how to use it!
Jabber is very useful for a large company that is spread out across physical locations and where employees do not see each other often or are not able to interact face to face daily. It is also good for organizations where staff is frequently away and back from their desks and may not be “glued” to their desk phone. It may not be the best solution for companies who need confidential or private forms of communication because the chat box pops up onto your screen when someone messages you and is easy for clients to see.
Read Karly Gersberg's full review
Aaron Lael profile photo
December 12, 2017

Review: "Cisco Jabber as an inter-agency communication platform"

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use Jabber for inter-agency communications and certain agencies also use its soft phone capacity with call manager. Agencies use chat room functionality to communicate quickly and effectively internally, but it is also is used for agencies to quickly reach out to other supporting agencies. It is a great assistance when there are telephony issues and you cannot reliably communicate with the enterprise phone systems.
  • Handling ad-hoc group conversions with adding and removing users.
  • Handling notifications for multiple concurrent conversations.
  • Integration for notifications with enterprise Cisco telephony solutions (CUCM, unity).
  • Reliability of the backend Postgres SQL DB. It needs to be rebuilt frequently during maintenance.
  • Consistent feature sets through revisions.
  • Stability. We frequently have issues with users appearing offline to other users at no action of their own that require manual intervention.
Jabber is a fantastic chat solution if you are using it in conjunction with an enterprise Cisco phone system. If configured appropriately, it can provide entry for the mobile app so your workers can easily stay connected on the go. It provides an easy interface for access to voicemail, recent calls and recent contacts if tied to a Cisco phone. Jabber would likely lag behind other chat providers if you were using other telephony platforms. I would not recommend it without the presence of an enterprise Cisco telephony platform.
Read Aaron Lael's full review
Denny Caldwell profile photo
December 07, 2017

Jabber Review: "Dependable IP Telephone Access From Your Computer"

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
My company utilizes Jabber throughout the entire organization. It gives us a mechanism for communication throughout our organization both via voice and video calls and by way of instant messaging.
  • My favorite use of Jabber is for making and receiving phone calls from my PC. For outgoing calls I can search through the corporate database of employees to select my recipient and call right from my computer. All incoming calls ring both on my desk phone and on my PC, allowing me to receive a call using my headset and microphone even when I'm working remotely.
  • Jabber provides a unified platform for sending instant messages to any employee within our organization.
  • Jabber displays the availability of each employee. The fact that it syncs up with our company calendars makes this feature useful for determining if an employee is currently in a meeting.
  • I've attempted to use Jabber's screen sharing feature in the past with mixed results. The connection seems finicky at best, often lagging or disconnecting during the process. This could of course be attributed to our company's network infrastructure but I've not had many connectivity problems otherwise.
  • Some versions of Jabber display "toast" messages every time a user comes online. This is rather annoying and although they provided a mechanism for silencing these toasts, its on a per-user basis and it is not intuitively obvious how to silence them.
If your organization utilizes Cisco networked IP phones then Jabber is a must.
Read Denny Caldwell's full review
Rachel O. Smith profile photo
December 06, 2017

User Review: "Jabber for efficient communication"

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Jabber is used by most of our company. It's great for a variety of reasons. Our offices are located all over the country, so if you have a quick question and don't want it to get buried under emails, you can just jabber someone in New York or Michigan and they'll reply quickly. It's also helpful if you have to communicate rapidly; like if you're on a call with your team and you need to jabber someone a piece of information. Overall, it makes office communication a thousand times easier and more efficient.
  • Instant communication anywhere within your company.
  • The ability to send documents, pictures, and files quickly to others.
  • The ability to add a status if, for example, you're working off-site and want people to know where you are.
  • Jabber has no search function, which can be frustrating.
  • Jabber deletes conversations after a few weeks.
  • The call system has some bugs, and hangs up randomly sometimes.
It is well suited if you need quick information. It is not well suited if you need to keep records of what you are talking about, and have them at your disposal. You will not be able to file anything from Jabber into a server, unless you directly copy and paste the conversations.
Read Rachel O. Smith's full review
Amanda Carpenter profile photo
December 05, 2017

Review: "Jabber keeps you connected when you move throughout the day"

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
As far as I know, it is being used across the whole organization. Anyone who is logged into a computer and has an extension is able to use it.

I think it gives more means of communication to help connect the campuses. This is a community college that has several campuses spread out across central PA, so having varying forms of communication across these is important. It also helps with staff/faculty who move offices and are not always at a phone with their extension. They are able to use Jabber to check voicemail, for example.
  • Jabber adds a good chat element of communication, which is not available with other technology or software that I've seen here on campus. This is nice for quick questions with someone that you don't want to bother with a phone call, but are hoping for a quick response (faster than email).
  • Another perk is the ability to see if you are receiving a phone call. If you have a microphone and headphones set up, you can even answer it from your computer, you don't have to be right by your phone at all times.
  • And my favorite is that you can see your voicemail from Jabber. You can see if you have one and also listen to it if you have speakers/headphones. This way you don't have to wait to get to your phone the next day to hear any voicemail you may get when you are at another location away from your main phone.
  • I think it could be clearer how to log out of it. I can click on it to get in, but then it just stays open, even if I close the box. There is a pop out from the top of my screen that stays. I think a clearer log-off button on the box would be helpful.
  • Is there a mobile application for this? I'm not sure, but if not that would be helpful as well.
As I said before, it's well suited for someone who moves throughout their day, who does not always work at their main desk. It gives them the chance to stay connected even when they are not always at their main desk phone. It's very appropriate for someone like that, or someone who telecommutes and does not always work from their office.

I can see how it could be misused as a way to just chat about whatever with a coworker without anyone realizing, so I'd say it's not appropriate to be used in that form at the office.
Read Amanda Carpenter's full review
Tommy Ng profile photo
December 19, 2017

Jabber Review: "Cisco UC replacement of Avaya PBX"

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We replaced our Avaya PBX with Cisco VOIP with Jabber. In addition to replacing PBX infrastructure, GWU replaced physical hand sets with soft phone Jabber and head sets. Although met with initial resistance from business, the integration with Cisco WebEx has improved collaboration dramatically.
  • Call integration with WebEx.
  • Calendar integration with Google Calendar to alert callers I am in a meeting.
  • Instant messenger functionality with directory makes it easy to call or chat with anyone in our organization virtually.
  • Creating groups of users is difficult.
  • Easier way to integrate with current location of user would be great.
  • Dislike mobile jabber app.
  • Easier way to forward calls to mobile number.
Well suited to chat or voice call someone in organization. Vido calling is slow and there is no way to allow employees to find location of others.
Read Tommy Ng's full review
Sandy Breihan Sinclair profile photo
December 12, 2017

User Review: "Love Jabber!"

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Jabber is used across our entire organization. I love it! It's a quick and super easy way to communicate with managers or co-workers if I have a quick question or want to send a quick comment. The best part about this is that it doesn't bog down my email system with these quick little comments or questions. There's no downside. Love it!
  • It's a great way to communicate.
  • It's quick.
  • It's super easy and intuitive!
  • I honestly cannot think of a thing.
Jabber is well suited for sending a quick comment or question to a co-worker. It is not appropriate to utilize for communication that needs to serve as documentation. To my knowledge, there is not a history log in Jabber. Nor am I aware of a way to print from Jabber. Anything that needs to serve as a paper trail should not be sent through Jabber.
Read Sandy Breihan Sinclair's full review
No photo available
April 01, 2018

Jabber Review: "Our go-to solution for chats, voice and video calls"

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
All employees worldwide in our company use Jabber. Jabber has a found a sweet spot between e-mails and phone calls. It's faster to contact someone through Jabber, and less formal, than it would be with an e-mail. On the other hand, receiving a Jabber message is less disruptive for the recipient than receiving a phone call. We routinely use Jabber for instant and informal discussions with colleagues anywhere in the world. Jabber is also providing telephony and video conference capability over IP, integrating with Cisco IP telephony.
  • It has a presence system. We can see in a glance if our contact is available, away, offline, or does not want to be disturbed. We can also see where our contact is (for example, in the office, working from home, from a hotel or customer premises)
  • Thanks to its voice and video calls capability, Jabber provides the ability to call anyone from anywhere in the world, as if we were actually in the office (integration with Cisco IP telephony). Someone could call us at our office phone number, and we can pick the call from our computer, whatever our current location (office, home, hotel, etc). We can also consult our voicemail from Jabber.
  • Jabber provides a Windows and a Mac client. I've used both, and they are quite user-friendly, enjoyable to use every day overall.
  • There is no Linux client. I don't run a Linux workstation on my daily work, but I have colleagues who do. They struggle a bit with alternative clients in order to connect with Jabber. Most of them, if not all, do not have the capability to send or receive images in chats.
  • Jabber does not synchronize the conversations over multiple devices. My main computer is a Mac, and my backup computer runs on Windows. When Jabber is opened on both, one of the computer starts to receive all messages, while the other doesn't see them. I might lose some conversations just because they appear only on the other computer.
  • Jabber does not keep a server-side history of conversations. All conversations are stored only on the computer of the two people discussing. When switching to a new computer, we have to archive our conversations, otherwise we would lose them.
Jabber shines particularly well if your company uses Cisco IP telephony suite, as Jabber integrates well with it. If your work computers are running Windows, and Mac, the desktop clients do the job fairly well. However, if you have many Linux users, they will experience many limitations (one of them is the absence of an official client).
Read this authenticated review
No photo available
February 28, 2018

Review: "Jabber utilization to replace other VoIP interfaces"

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
As our company continues to move to more of a remote employee mindset, this tool helps individuals to easily utilize VoIP phones with the user interface. If we did not have this software we could possibly have to have phones at each of the work-from-home individuals desks. Our company originally was using Cisco IP Communicator. This software was not as seamless and did not offer as many options as Jabber does, for example the video conferencing on Jabber allows our remote workers to communicate in a much more efficient manner with ease. We have seen an increase in collaboration among our scrumteams with the use of Jabber video conferencing.
  • Ability to start video conferencing and add individuals to a call seamlessly
  • Stores your phone numbers and passcodes easily to make calling in painless
  • The voicemail functionality is very easy to use and stores voicemails similar to a iphone
  • Quicker connection to headset, sometimes there is a lag
  • Within the video conferencing the individuals on the screen could have larger pictures and be organized more efficiently
  • Ability to right click on a number in your recent call list and save that number as profile or update the name for that number
I use Jabber for making calls through my VoIP phone. I need it to be fast, reliable and pain free so that I can call in to back-to-back meetings without delay. The ability to copy and paste phone numbers and passcodes makes it really easy to make quick back-to-back calls.
Read this authenticated review
No photo available
May 18, 2018

User Review: "A day with Jabber"

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Jabber is being used in several departments throughout the organization. We are a large organization with four different service lines. Jabber provides a central place for external and internal customers to call into for guidance, questions and so on.
  • Chat function
  • User friendly platform
  • Ease of customizing messages that callers will hear
  • If an employee is at their desk, but there is no activity with Jabber, the system will transition to idle mode. The employee does not know this unless they are looking at Jabber.
Jabber is a great platform for large companies that have various service lines and need one place for external and internal callers to call into. Jabber is very easy to use. Users can utilize the platform with a wireless headset too.
Read this authenticated review
No photo available
April 06, 2018

Review: "Jabber - Great internal communication tool"

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Jabber is being used throughout our entire organization. It is a great tool to help facilitate communication between individuals, departments, etc. While E-mail is fast, Jabber allows you to go even faster by seeing that someone is online, instantly chat with them, etc. It also allows you to connect to your phones, so you simply find your contact, and press call. No more remembering numbers. It even allows you to share screenshots and files with one another.
  • Instant communication
  • Checking user availability
  • Easier phone lookup for internal contacts
  • Chat history is not stored on a server - need a separate product
  • Unable to create a permanent group area for users to contribute to
  • Sometimes sharing screenshots between users doesn't always work
We came from an environment where there was no instant messenger. Jabber is great compared to having nothing in place for your organization, however, you may want to compare the features between this and another program such as Slack. Jabber is mostly used for Internal communication whereas Slack is geared towards users, and can add anyone in the world to it. However what Jabber is meant for is communication and it does that well.
Read this authenticated review
No photo available
March 20, 2018

Review: "Jabber for direct connection with coworkers"

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use Jabber as an audio tool for connecting to our IP phones within the organization. For the employees that for example work from home and they can use Jabber as a normal phone system and not have to a land line. This is great product for seamlessly connecting to conference calls and managing calls throughout the work day.
  • Allows for easy dialling and connecting to Bluetooth headsets.
  • Syncs with your outlook calendar to allow for quick connections to conference calls that have a dial in number
  • The presence status is a good feature to have within Jabber where is shows if you are available or not so that you can either a.) know when to call co-workers or b.) not have others call you if you are busy or away from your desk
  • We tried to utilize the chat functionality but Skype/Lync chat is much better
  • Sometimes Bluetooth headsets can disconnect or not utilize the mute functionality quick enough. If it could have better responsiveness that would be good.
  • The reply all with IM does not always work and sometimes is buggy.
To be clear, we do not use this product for all of the features or capabilities that it has we focus on the voice calling aspect of the software. This aspect is a seamless product that I would say does the job we need it to. It can quickly make calls, you can copy and paste phone numbers in or pass-codes for a conference line.
Read this authenticated review
Rahul Chaudhary profile photo
March 17, 2017

User Review: "Jabber has potential, but ..."

Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
In my previous company, we used Jabber to connect all employees within the organization. The idea was to have easy accessibility to all employees instantly. Jabber was installed on all machines and was used across the entire organization. With Jabber we hoped to have a similar interface where everyone would feel comfortable and could easily see everyone's status (online/busy/meeting).
  • Friendly UI. It felt plain, elegant, and simple.
  • Online status (Busy/In meeting/Available/Offline, Custom status).
  • Message history is saved (not like Microsoft Lync).
  • Truly instant messaging. Never experienced downtime or delays in messaging.
  • Ability to set profile pictures. Great way to show off in my opinion.
  • Support for basic emoticons. Those really helped me during conversations.
  • Basic phone integration. Jabber was aware of my phone extension which helped me dial in to my meetings.
  • Online employee directory. I constantly used them to find people across organization.
  • Too many updates. Every other day there was one. As soon as you open your system, there was one waiting for you.
  • Non-Optional updates. There were very few updates which you could skip. They make you update the software by not allowing you to skip.
  • My Jabber was not able to connect me directly to the conference call. I had to join in using the actual phone. This could be a problem just for my company though.
  • Group messaging was hard. Every time I had to add the participants.
To me Jabber is a great tool for IM but not the best. There are other products such as Slack which are much more fulfilling and satisfying. Jabber is good for a mid-sized corporation. Out of the box, you get basic IM support, and common conference tools such as scheduling meetings, presentation during meetings, etc.

But if you are in an organization where a lot of chatter happens you will soon realize this solution is not best for you. The current trend is a publish-subscribe model where if you wish to listen to a conversation you need to subscribe to the channel and you can unsubscribe whenever you want (like Slack). Jabber has tried to enhance the solution for direct IM to behave like a group conversation by allowing you to add more participants in the conversation. But this should not be it. In a group conversation I do want to interact silently with a couple of other folks but now I have to maintain those chat windows separately which is error prone for writing in the wrong window (been there, done that).

Jabber is not all sour but it has tried to bundle many things in one.
Read Rahul Chaudhary's full review
Aaron Geiger profile photo
February 28, 2017

User Review: "Jabber - A No-Brainer!"

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Jabber is an easy to use yet powerful IM/VOIP/screen share solution that speeds communication and provides instant context on fellow co-workers' location and status.
  • Presence, very easy to use, shows up in Outlook, easy to set from any device.
  • Core IM is great, simple and pretty to look at.
  • Softphone is awesome compared to having a deskphone, freedom!
  • Ability to set presence before leaving the office and having it stick (i.e. on vacation instead of switching to offline).
Well suited for any Cisco VOIP environment, a no brainer.
Read Aaron Geiger's full review

Feature Scorecard Summary

Task Management (15)
7.5
Gantt Charts (5)
8.7
Scheduling (16)
7.1
Workflow Automation (10)
7.6
Mobile Access (33)
8.1
Search (31)
7.5
Visual planning tools (11)
6.7
Chat (50)
8.7
Notifications (48)
8.5
Discussions (41)
8.1
Surveys (8)
6.9
Internal knowledgebase (13)
7.7
Integrates with GoToMeeting (10)
8.1
Integrates with Gmail and Google Hangouts (11)
6.9
Integrates with Outlook (41)
8.3
Versioning (14)
7.0
Video files (29)
6.5
Audio files (28)
6.9
Document collaboration (21)
6.9
Access control (19)
8.0
Advanced security features (22)
5.9
Integrates with Google Drive (9)
6.5
Device sync (13)
7.3

About Jabber

Cisco Jabber is a communication platform that is available as a browser-based and mobile app solution. It allows users to collaborate across channels such as instant messaging, voice, VoIP, and video telephony. Features include voice and video calling, call recording, and broadcast messaging.
Categories:  VoIP,  Collaboration

Jabber Technical Details

Operating Systems: Unspecified
Mobile Application:No