TrustRadius
Cisco Jabber is a collaboration platform built on interactivity, with instant messaging and voice / VOIP and video telephony. Jabber is available both as a browser-based solution and through mobile applications. Cisco acquired Jabber in 2008 and has supported it since.https://dudodiprj2sv7.cloudfront.net/product-logos/wZ/tj/TET3E809JIJL.JPEGGreat platform for interoffice communicationJabber is available and used by almost everyone in our organization. It is used to communicate between staff and attorneys, as well as among attorneys. It relieves us from excessive emails and allows us to quickly chat on work, personal and other matters in an efficient manner. Our only problem is encouraging more people to use it!,Easy to instant chat Intuitive platform Connects multiple people on one platform,Does not allow immediate document sharing Its emoticons are extremely outdated No way to emphasize words with bold or italics,6,Aids project management efficiency Consolidates all of my work communication into a single platform,Skype for Business and WebEx Meetings,Google Hangouts, Dropbox, Firmex Virtual Data RoomJabber at the OfficeJabber is used across the organization. It is pretty much an internal communication system that is linked to the telephone system. We can use it to send direct and instant messages (similar to a chat service), make phone calls, receive calls, send and receive messages. You can also set statuses to let colleagues know if you are available, away, busy, or on the line with someone else.,Internal communication Chat function and instant messages Status checks (see if available, away, on a call, etc.),Not customizable,8,Integrates well with phone system,,Zoom, SlackJabber up a storm.Jabber was implemented once the product became a more mature solution to our collaboration needs. With the IP communicator product being phased out we decided to standardize on Jabber. The main focus to replace the softphone features but also now with its added functions to be a major tool in our collaboration tool chest. It is now being used also for sharing and chat along with the phone functionality.,Streamlined our ability to easily do video conference calls. More well rounded IP phone replacement.,The UI is pretty clean but it could make some commonly used functions easier. There should be a phone tab where you could just use a regular dial pad Voice-mail could have a top bar with commonly used functions like delete or replay from the beginning.,8,Hard to quantify but moving in the right direction. The return has definitely been positive as we took the extra step to integrate jabber with our internal VC server to enable calling from Jabber to video conference rooms anywhere across the WAN,Cisco Spark Room Series,Google HangoutsOur go-to solution for chats, voice and video callsAll employees worldwide in our company use Jabber. Jabber has a found a sweet spot between e-mails and phone calls. It's faster to contact someone through Jabber, and less formal, than it would be with an e-mail. On the other hand, receiving a Jabber message is less disruptive for the recipient than receiving a phone call. We routinely use Jabber for instant and informal discussions with colleagues anywhere in the world. Jabber is also providing telephony and video conference capability over IP, integrating with Cisco IP telephony.,It has a presence system. We can see in a glance if our contact is available, away, offline, or does not want to be disturbed. We can also see where our contact is (for example, in the office, working from home, from a hotel or customer premises) Thanks to its voice and video calls capability, Jabber provides the ability to call anyone from anywhere in the world, as if we were actually in the office (integration with Cisco IP telephony). Someone could call us at our office phone number, and we can pick the call from our computer, whatever our current location (office, home, hotel, etc). We can also consult our voicemail from Jabber. Jabber provides a Windows and a Mac client. I've used both, and they are quite user-friendly, enjoyable to use every day overall.,There is no Linux client. I don't run a Linux workstation on my daily work, but I have colleagues who do. They struggle a bit with alternative clients in order to connect with Jabber. Most of them, if not all, do not have the capability to send or receive images in chats. Jabber does not synchronize the conversations over multiple devices. My main computer is a Mac, and my backup computer runs on Windows. When Jabber is opened on both, one of the computer starts to receive all messages, while the other doesn't see them. I might lose some conversations just because they appear only on the other computer. Jabber does not keep a server-side history of conversations. All conversations are stored only on the computer of the two people discussing. When switching to a new computer, we have to archive our conversations, otherwise we would lose them.,9,Jabber has provided a very functional alternative to our company to Lotus Sametime. We had been using Sametime for years, and as we were moving out of the Lotus/Domino ecosystem, Jabber has provided a replacement with the chat system, but also means to do voice and video calls. Although handy, intensive usage of Jabber can be a curse for a company (including ours). Every information stored in Jabber is only available to the two people involved in the conversation. Without a proper knowledge management strategy, this can mean that a lot of valuable information can be shared privately as peer-to-peer conversations, and not available to people who need it. Another downside of Jabber is that it can multiply stress for some people, who can be contacted very often, and be interrupted at critical moments. This can introduce additional context switching, and reduce the productivity of some people.,IBM Sametime,Jahia, Evernote, BoxJabber utilization to replace other VoIP interfacesAs our company continues to move to more of a remote employee mindset, this tool helps individuals to easily utilize VoIP phones with the user interface. If we did not have this software we could possibly have to have phones at each of the work-from-home individuals desks. Our company originally was using Cisco IP Communicator. This software was not as seamless and did not offer as many options as Jabber does, for example the video conferencing on Jabber allows our remote workers to communicate in a much more efficient manner with ease. We have seen an increase in collaboration among our scrumteams with the use of Jabber video conferencing.,Ability to start video conferencing and add individuals to a call seamlessly Stores your phone numbers and passcodes easily to make calling in painless The voicemail functionality is very easy to use and stores voicemails similar to a iphone,Quicker connection to headset, sometimes there is a lag Within the video conferencing the individuals on the screen could have larger pictures and be organized more efficiently Ability to right click on a number in your recent call list and save that number as profile or update the name for that number,9,Easily allows users to use their VoIP phone to make phone calls. Gives users the ability to not have to use an actual phone in their office as our organization moves to more of a work from home group. The integration as a virtual phone with USB headsets is a great plus as our previous system had to have either wired or wireless clunky headsets.,Cisco VoIP PBX and Cisco IP communicator,Toad for Oracle, Skype, Microsoft Access
Unspecified
Jabber
125 Ratings
Score 8.1 out of 101
TRScore

Jabber Reviews

Jabber
125 Ratings
Score 8.1 out of 101
Top Rated Award
Show Filters 
Hide Filters 
Filter 124 vetted Jabber reviews and ratings
Clear all filters
Overall Rating
Reviewer's Company Size
Last Updated
By Topic
Industry
Department
Experience
Job Type
Role
Reviews (1-25 of 45)
  Vendors can't alter or remove reviews. Here's why.
June 19, 2018

Jabber Review: "Great platform for interoffice communication"

Score 6 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Jabber is available and used by almost everyone in our organization. It is used to communicate between staff and attorneys, as well as among attorneys. It relieves us from excessive emails and allows us to quickly chat on work, personal and other matters in an efficient manner. Our only problem is encouraging more people to use it!
  • Easy to instant chat
  • Intuitive platform
  • Connects multiple people on one platform
  • Does not allow immediate document sharing
  • Its emoticons are extremely outdated
  • No way to emphasize words with bold or italics
This is great as an instant messaging platform and a quick way to communicate between colleagues. I encourage my colleagues to use it to deal with small items or issues so as to avoid duplicate and unnecessary email exchanges. I also appreciate the platform for developing personal relationships in the office in an informal way.
Read Olivia Crellin's full review
June 07, 2018

User Review: "Jabber at the Office"

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Jabber is used across the organization. It is pretty much an internal communication system that is linked to the telephone system. We can use it to send direct and instant messages (similar to a chat service), make phone calls, receive calls, send and receive messages. You can also set statuses to let colleagues know if you are available, away, busy, or on the line with someone else.
  • Internal communication
  • Chat function and instant messages
  • Status checks (see if available, away, on a call, etc.)
  • Not customizable
Jabber is well suited to serve internal communication roles and works great within the office. It is a great alternative to emails, texting, and phone calls, and allows for more discrete and subtle forms of communication (e.g., letting someone know you are on the way when you see that they are finished with a call).
Read Raymond Tran's full review
February 01, 2018

User Review: "Jabber up a storm."

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Jabber was implemented once the product became a more mature solution to our collaboration needs. With the IP communicator product being phased out we decided to standardize on Jabber. The main focus to replace the softphone features but also now with its added functions to be a major tool in our collaboration tool chest. It is now being used also for sharing and chat along with the phone functionality.
  • Streamlined our ability to easily do video conference calls.
  • More well rounded IP phone replacement.
  • The UI is pretty clean but it could make some commonly used functions easier.
  • There should be a phone tab where you could just use a regular dial pad
  • Voice-mail could have a top bar with commonly used functions like delete or replay from the beginning.
It is suited pretty well for communication and managing voice and video calls.
Read John Dopson's full review
April 01, 2018

Jabber Review: "Our go-to solution for chats, voice and video calls"

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
All employees worldwide in our company use Jabber. Jabber has a found a sweet spot between e-mails and phone calls. It's faster to contact someone through Jabber, and less formal, than it would be with an e-mail. On the other hand, receiving a Jabber message is less disruptive for the recipient than receiving a phone call. We routinely use Jabber for instant and informal discussions with colleagues anywhere in the world. Jabber is also providing telephony and video conference capability over IP, integrating with Cisco IP telephony.
  • It has a presence system. We can see in a glance if our contact is available, away, offline, or does not want to be disturbed. We can also see where our contact is (for example, in the office, working from home, from a hotel or customer premises)
  • Thanks to its voice and video calls capability, Jabber provides the ability to call anyone from anywhere in the world, as if we were actually in the office (integration with Cisco IP telephony). Someone could call us at our office phone number, and we can pick the call from our computer, whatever our current location (office, home, hotel, etc). We can also consult our voicemail from Jabber.
  • Jabber provides a Windows and a Mac client. I've used both, and they are quite user-friendly, enjoyable to use every day overall.
  • There is no Linux client. I don't run a Linux workstation on my daily work, but I have colleagues who do. They struggle a bit with alternative clients in order to connect with Jabber. Most of them, if not all, do not have the capability to send or receive images in chats.
  • Jabber does not synchronize the conversations over multiple devices. My main computer is a Mac, and my backup computer runs on Windows. When Jabber is opened on both, one of the computer starts to receive all messages, while the other doesn't see them. I might lose some conversations just because they appear only on the other computer.
  • Jabber does not keep a server-side history of conversations. All conversations are stored only on the computer of the two people discussing. When switching to a new computer, we have to archive our conversations, otherwise we would lose them.
Jabber shines particularly well if your company uses Cisco IP telephony suite, as Jabber integrates well with it. If your work computers are running Windows, and Mac, the desktop clients do the job fairly well. However, if you have many Linux users, they will experience many limitations (one of them is the absence of an official client).
Read this authenticated review
February 28, 2018

Review: "Jabber utilization to replace other VoIP interfaces"

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
As our company continues to move to more of a remote employee mindset, this tool helps individuals to easily utilize VoIP phones with the user interface. If we did not have this software we could possibly have to have phones at each of the work-from-home individuals desks. Our company originally was using Cisco IP Communicator. This software was not as seamless and did not offer as many options as Jabber does, for example the video conferencing on Jabber allows our remote workers to communicate in a much more efficient manner with ease. We have seen an increase in collaboration among our scrumteams with the use of Jabber video conferencing.
  • Ability to start video conferencing and add individuals to a call seamlessly
  • Stores your phone numbers and passcodes easily to make calling in painless
  • The voicemail functionality is very easy to use and stores voicemails similar to a iphone
  • Quicker connection to headset, sometimes there is a lag
  • Within the video conferencing the individuals on the screen could have larger pictures and be organized more efficiently
  • Ability to right click on a number in your recent call list and save that number as profile or update the name for that number
I use Jabber for making calls through my VoIP phone. I need it to be fast, reliable and pain free so that I can call in to back-to-back meetings without delay. The ability to copy and paste phone numbers and passcodes makes it really easy to make quick back-to-back calls.
Read this authenticated review
May 18, 2018

User Review: "A day with Jabber"

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Jabber is being used in several departments throughout the organization. We are a large organization with four different service lines. Jabber provides a central place for external and internal customers to call into for guidance, questions and so on.
  • Chat function
  • User friendly platform
  • Ease of customizing messages that callers will hear
  • If an employee is at their desk, but there is no activity with Jabber, the system will transition to idle mode. The employee does not know this unless they are looking at Jabber.
Jabber is a great platform for large companies that have various service lines and need one place for external and internal callers to call into. Jabber is very easy to use. Users can utilize the platform with a wireless headset too.
Read this authenticated review
April 06, 2018

Review: "Jabber - Great internal communication tool"

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Jabber is being used throughout our entire organization. It is a great tool to help facilitate communication between individuals, departments, etc. While E-mail is fast, Jabber allows you to go even faster by seeing that someone is online, instantly chat with them, etc. It also allows you to connect to your phones, so you simply find your contact, and press call. No more remembering numbers. It even allows you to share screenshots and files with one another.
  • Instant communication
  • Checking user availability
  • Easier phone lookup for internal contacts
  • Chat history is not stored on a server - need a separate product
  • Unable to create a permanent group area for users to contribute to
  • Sometimes sharing screenshots between users doesn't always work
We came from an environment where there was no instant messenger. Jabber is great compared to having nothing in place for your organization, however, you may want to compare the features between this and another program such as Slack. Jabber is mostly used for Internal communication whereas Slack is geared towards users, and can add anyone in the world to it. However what Jabber is meant for is communication and it does that well.
Read this authenticated review
March 20, 2018

Review: "Jabber for direct connection with coworkers"

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use Jabber as an audio tool for connecting to our IP phones within the organization. For the employees that for example work from home and they can use Jabber as a normal phone system and not have to a land line. This is great product for seamlessly connecting to conference calls and managing calls throughout the work day.
  • Allows for easy dialling and connecting to Bluetooth headsets.
  • Syncs with your outlook calendar to allow for quick connections to conference calls that have a dial in number
  • The presence status is a good feature to have within Jabber where is shows if you are available or not so that you can either a.) know when to call co-workers or b.) not have others call you if you are busy or away from your desk
  • We tried to utilize the chat functionality but Skype/Lync chat is much better
  • Sometimes Bluetooth headsets can disconnect or not utilize the mute functionality quick enough. If it could have better responsiveness that would be good.
  • The reply all with IM does not always work and sometimes is buggy.
To be clear, we do not use this product for all of the features or capabilities that it has we focus on the voice calling aspect of the software. This aspect is a seamless product that I would say does the job we need it to. It can quickly make calls, you can copy and paste phone numbers in or pass-codes for a conference line.
Read this authenticated review
December 05, 2017

Jabber Review: "Great replacement for desk phones"

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use Jabber across the enterprise. In order to reduce hardware and licensing costs, we needed a solution that replaced our existing use of Skype for Business; integrated into a Cisco VoIP solution, allowed remote users to be issued a direct number, and provided simple, straightforward instant messaging. From our cost-benefit analyses, Jabber was significantly cheaper than similar solutions from Skype for Business or Citrix, and because of its integration into the Cisco UCS environment, it was easy to deploy out the enterprise.
  • Provides unified, simple to use instant messaging across departments, groups, and projects.
  • Makes it easy for users to move from their mobile phones to the desktop to a physical phone.
  • Presence indicators pull nicely from Outlook so users don't have to mark themselves as being in a meeting or otherwise unavailable.
  • With some versions, logging in can be buggy requiring some users to log in repeatedly, or log out and back for it "take hold".
  • The mobile client on iPhones will sometimes fade into the background, which can lead to missed calls or messages if the app isn't actively connecting.
  • Contacts are not synced from Outlook or mobile devices, which can be a bit of a pain to have to set up in the app.
Jabber is well suited as a soft phone client that also has instant messaging and video conference features. It should not be considered as a primary instant messaging solution or web conference tool as those are more of the bonus features of the software. If you're looking for a solution that promotes fast, easy instant messaging, Slack would be a much better fit. But if you're looking for a well balanced all-in-one solution that reduces licensing costs and has some cool features, then Jabber is a good fit.
Read Brian Taylor's full review
December 05, 2017

User Review: "Jabbering Away on Cisco Jabber"

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Jabber is currently being used by my whole organization as an internal instant messaging tool. It is helpful because it is tied to our phone services and we can see when someone is in a meeting or not without opening up Outlook. It also cuts down on the amount of emails we send since we can have real-time conversations about an issue or use it to answer quick questions that don't really need an email. It makes communication easier and more efficient.
  • It integrates phone services so that you can see who is calling and even dial using your computer. It also makes it easy to see missed calls and listen to voicemails through email/computer.
  • Connectivity: It helps answer simple questions quickly and stay in touch with remote employees.
  • Cuts down on the amount of emails sent each day which means that emails can be used for longer messages or ones that need attachments and it is easier to sift through emails and focus on important messages without the clutter of short messages/quick questions.
  • It would be great to be able to tie Jabber to additional phone lines other than my direct number so that voicemails could be received and answered more promptly and so that I can see missed calls or incoming calls on my computer to other lines that I answer.
  • It's hard to search for and add contacts to the chat function in Jabber.
  • The window indicating a new message appears at the top of the screen instead of at the bottom where I am used to seeing desktop notifications which can be difficult to adapt to.
Jabber is great for organizations that have a number of remote workers (whether it's full-time or a few days a week) so that everyone can keep in touch more regularly than having to send numerous emails. It works really well for laptop/desktop computers, but I don't think it works well when traveling because it's more difficult to use when on the road. It also really works well if it is integrated with the organization's phone and calendar services. It loses its productivity if it's used only for instant messaging.
Read Jeanette Gass's full review
December 12, 2017

Review: "Using Jabber to Blabber with your coworkers at a large non-profit"

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Our entire organization of approximately 500-600 employees uses Jabber very often on a daily basis as our primary means of instant communication. Besides e-mail, we use Jabber in our organization to ask urgent questions, notify others of things quickly or send more informal messages that don’t require a full email or phone call. It allows us to communicate much more effectively because our employees are usually busy and not confined to their office or desk, so if they miss a phone call it becomes very easy to play phone tag all day. Jabber is also a more casual form of sending messages you may not want to send in an e-mail, and allows you to use emojis and attachments to illustrate your point.
  • Easy to use design, very common-sense oriented and user-friendly, just click the person's name, type your message and hit send!
  • You can attach files to a message, so if you need fo reference something in your conversation you dont have to send a separate e-mail. Makes it much less confusing to manage tasks
  • Connects to your Microsoft office calendar/desk phone to show if you are available, away or signed off in real-time and without having to manually set an away status.
  • Can easily change the size, and font of your text and can add emojis to make your conversation more fun and casual.
  • I would like to have the ability to archive and save particular conversations. It only saves your chat history for a week or two but there is no option to save parts of the conversation or import to your email. You would need to copy and paste but of course, you can’t do that after the fact if its already gone.
  • I would like to be able to personalize or customize the interface a little bit more. As of now, there is one design, one color, one set “away” or “busy” status and no way to change the color or look of the Jabber home box or chat boxes.
  • The “phone call” function is not particularly easy to use. I still haven't been able to figure out how to connect my phone to my Jabber so that I can “call” people via Jabber or so that they can see if I am currently on a phone call already, which I think is an extremely useful function- if only I could figure out how to use it!
Jabber is very useful for a large company that is spread out across physical locations and where employees do not see each other often or are not able to interact face to face daily. It is also good for organizations where staff is frequently away and back from their desks and may not be “glued” to their desk phone. It may not be the best solution for companies who need confidential or private forms of communication because the chat box pops up onto your screen when someone messages you and is easy for clients to see.
Read Karly Gersberg's full review
December 12, 2017

Review: "Cisco Jabber as an inter-agency communication platform"

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use Jabber for inter-agency communications and certain agencies also use its soft phone capacity with call manager. Agencies use chat room functionality to communicate quickly and effectively internally, but it is also is used for agencies to quickly reach out to other supporting agencies. It is a great assistance when there are telephony issues and you cannot reliably communicate with the enterprise phone systems.
  • Handling ad-hoc group conversions with adding and removing users.
  • Handling notifications for multiple concurrent conversations.
  • Integration for notifications with enterprise Cisco telephony solutions (CUCM, unity).
  • Reliability of the backend Postgres SQL DB. It needs to be rebuilt frequently during maintenance.
  • Consistent feature sets through revisions.
  • Stability. We frequently have issues with users appearing offline to other users at no action of their own that require manual intervention.
Jabber is a fantastic chat solution if you are using it in conjunction with an enterprise Cisco phone system. If configured appropriately, it can provide entry for the mobile app so your workers can easily stay connected on the go. It provides an easy interface for access to voicemail, recent calls and recent contacts if tied to a Cisco phone. Jabber would likely lag behind other chat providers if you were using other telephony platforms. I would not recommend it without the presence of an enterprise Cisco telephony platform.
Read Aaron Lael's full review
December 07, 2017

Jabber Review: "Dependable IP Telephone Access From Your Computer"

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
My company utilizes Jabber throughout the entire organization. It gives us a mechanism for communication throughout our organization both via voice and video calls and by way of instant messaging.
  • My favorite use of Jabber is for making and receiving phone calls from my PC. For outgoing calls I can search through the corporate database of employees to select my recipient and call right from my computer. All incoming calls ring both on my desk phone and on my PC, allowing me to receive a call using my headset and microphone even when I'm working remotely.
  • Jabber provides a unified platform for sending instant messages to any employee within our organization.
  • Jabber displays the availability of each employee. The fact that it syncs up with our company calendars makes this feature useful for determining if an employee is currently in a meeting.
  • I've attempted to use Jabber's screen sharing feature in the past with mixed results. The connection seems finicky at best, often lagging or disconnecting during the process. This could of course be attributed to our company's network infrastructure but I've not had many connectivity problems otherwise.
  • Some versions of Jabber display "Toast" messages every time a user comes online. This is rather annoying and although they provided a mechanism for silencing these toasts, its on a per-user basis and it is not intuitively obvious how to silence them.
If your organization utilizes Cisco networked IP phones then Jabber is a must.
Read Denny Caldwell's full review
December 06, 2017

User Review: "Jabber for efficient communication"

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Jabber is used by most of our company. It's great for a variety of reasons. Our offices are located all over the country, so if you have a quick question and don't want it to get buried under emails, you can just Jabber someone in New York or Michigan and they'll reply quickly. It's also helpful if you have to communicate rapidly; like if you're on a call with your team and you need to Jabber someone a piece of information. Overall, it makes office communication a thousand times easier and more efficient.
  • Instant communication anywhere within your company.
  • The ability to send documents, pictures, and files quickly to others.
  • The ability to add a status if, for example, you're working off-site and want people to know where you are.
  • Jabber has no search function, which can be frustrating.
  • Jabber deletes conversations after a few weeks.
  • The call system has some bugs, and hangs up randomly sometimes.
It is well suited if you need quick information. It is not well suited if you need to keep records of what you are talking about, and have them at your disposal. You will not be able to file anything from Jabber into a server, unless you directly copy and paste the conversations.
Read Rachel O. Smith's full review
December 05, 2017

Review: "Jabber keeps you connected when you move throughout the day"

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
As far as I know, it is being used across the whole organization. Anyone who is logged into a computer and has an extension is able to use it.

I think it gives more means of communication to help connect the campuses. This is a community college that has several campuses spread out across central PA, so having varying forms of communication across these is important. It also helps with staff/faculty who move offices and are not always at a phone with their extension. They are able to use Jabber to check voicemail, for example.
  • Jabber adds a good chat element of communication, which is not available with other technology or software that I've seen here on campus. This is nice for quick questions with someone that you don't want to bother with a phone call, but are hoping for a quick response (faster than email).
  • Another perk is the ability to see if you are receiving a phone call. If you have a microphone and headphones set up, you can even answer it from your computer, you don't have to be right by your phone at all times.
  • And my favorite is that you can see your voicemail from Jabber. You can see if you have one and also listen to it if you have speakers/headphones. This way you don't have to wait to get to your phone the next day to hear any voicemail you may get when you are at another location away from your main phone.
  • I think it could be clearer how to log out of it. I can click on it to get in, but then it just stays open, even if I close the box. There is a pop out from the top of my screen that stays. I think a clearer log-off button on the box would be helpful.
  • Is there a mobile application for this? I'm not sure, but if not that would be helpful as well.
As I said before, it's well suited for someone who moves throughout their day, who does not always work at their main desk. It gives them the chance to stay connected even when they are not always at their main desk phone. It's very appropriate for someone like that, or someone who telecommutes and does not always work from their office.

I can see how it could be misused as a way to just chat about whatever with a coworker without anyone realizing, so I'd say it's not appropriate to be used in that form at the office.
Read Amanda Carpenter's full review
December 19, 2017

Jabber Review: "Cisco UC replacement of Avaya PBX"

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We replaced our Avaya PBX with Cisco VOIP with Jabber. In addition to replacing PBX infrastructure, GWU replaced physical hand sets with soft phone Jabber and head sets. Although met with initial resistance from business, the integration with Cisco WebEx has improved collaboration dramatically.
  • Call integration with WebEx.
  • Calendar integration with Google Calendar to alert callers I am in a meeting.
  • Instant messenger functionality with directory makes it easy to call or chat with anyone in our organization virtually.
  • Creating groups of users is difficult.
  • Easier way to integrate with current location of user would be great.
  • Dislike mobile Jabber app.
  • Easier way to forward calls to mobile number.
Well suited to chat or voice call someone in organization. Vido calling is slow and there is no way to allow employees to find location of others.
Read Tommy Ng's full review
December 12, 2017

User Review: "Love Jabber!"

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Jabber is used across our entire organization. I love it! It's a quick and super easy way to communicate with managers or co-workers if I have a quick question or want to send a quick comment. The best part about this is that it doesn't bog down my email system with these quick little comments or questions. There's no downside. Love it!
  • It's a great way to communicate.
  • It's quick.
  • It's super easy and intuitive!
  • I honestly cannot think of a thing.
Jabber is well suited for sending a quick comment or question to a co-worker. It is not appropriate to utilize for communication that needs to serve as documentation. To my knowledge, there is not a history log in Jabber. Nor am I aware of a way to print from Jabber. Anything that needs to serve as a paper trail should not be sent through Jabber.
Read Sandy Breihan Sinclair's full review
March 17, 2017

User Review: "Jabber has potential, but ..."

Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
In my previous company, we used Jabber to connect all employees within the organization. The idea was to have easy accessibility to all employees instantly. Jabber was installed on all machines and was used across the entire organization. With Jabber we hoped to have a similar interface where everyone would feel comfortable and could easily see everyone's status (online/busy/meeting).
  • Friendly UI. It felt plain, elegant, and simple.
  • Online status (Busy/In meeting/Available/Offline, Custom status).
  • Message history is saved (not like Microsoft Lync).
  • Truly instant messaging. Never experienced downtime or delays in messaging.
  • Ability to set profile pictures. Great way to show off in my opinion.
  • Support for basic emoticons. Those really helped me during conversations.
  • Basic phone integration. Jabber was aware of my phone extension which helped me dial in to my meetings.
  • Online employee directory. I constantly used them to find people across organization.
  • Too many updates. Every other day there was one. As soon as you open your system, there was one waiting for you.
  • Non-Optional updates. There were very few updates which you could skip. They make you update the software by not allowing you to skip.
  • My Jabber was not able to connect me directly to the conference call. I had to join in using the actual phone. This could be a problem just for my company though.
  • Group messaging was hard. Every time I had to add the participants.
To me Jabber is a great tool for IM but not the best. There are other products such as Slack which are much more fulfilling and satisfying. Jabber is good for a mid-sized corporation. Out of the box, you get basic IM support, and common conference tools such as scheduling meetings, presentation during meetings, etc.

But if you are in an organization where a lot of chatter happens you will soon realize this solution is not best for you. The current trend is a publish-subscribe model where if you wish to listen to a conversation you need to subscribe to the channel and you can unsubscribe whenever you want (like Slack). Jabber has tried to enhance the solution for direct IM to behave like a group conversation by allowing you to add more participants in the conversation. But this should not be it. In a group conversation I do want to interact silently with a couple of other folks but now I have to maintain those chat windows separately which is error prone for writing in the wrong window (been there, done that).

Jabber is not all sour but it has tried to bundle many things in one.
Read Rahul Chaudhary's full review
February 28, 2017

User Review: "Jabber - A No-Brainer!"

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Jabber is an easy to use yet powerful IM/VOIP/screen share solution that speeds communication and provides instant context on fellow co-workers' location and status.
  • Presence, very easy to use, shows up in Outlook, easy to set from any device.
  • Core IM is great, simple and pretty to look at.
  • Softphone is awesome compared to having a deskphone, freedom!
  • Ability to set presence before leaving the office and having it stick (i.e. on vacation instead of switching to offline).
Well suited for any Cisco VOIP environment, a no brainer.
Read Aaron Geiger's full review
February 22, 2017

Jabber Review: "IM Disappointed"

Score 1 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Jabber is being used across the entire organization for IM, presence, click-to-call, click-to-email, and voicemail. It addresses the need to communicate with others in a different part of the building, country, or world. It is important to know whether or not a person is available based on their presence. If they are offline, or in a meeting, or not at their desk, Jabber will tell you their presence. It can also be used as an alternative to the desk phone for checking voicemails, which is convenient if someone is not at their desk.
  • Instant Messaging
  • Presence
  • Contact details (phone, email, etc.)
  • Does not keep track of conversation history. Can't see what I said yesterday to a person. This is really important, since people communicate important info to one another, and that can just disappear, requiring another round of communication. Would be better to just scroll up in history like competitors' tools do.
  • No chat rooms, must manually add members to group chat each time. No notion of teams/named groups, only individuals.
  • Does not automatically log in to WebEx, prompts for a log in each time.
  • Difficult to set a profile picture, so people see a gray outline instead of my face. I think this is coming from my pic in Active Directory, but I should be able to customize it like with other apps.
  • Overall lack of features. It comes from Cisco, so all the integrations have to do with phones and voicemail. I don't have a need for this in my IM client, since I do not use my work phone at all. So it does a really poor job at the only thing I use it for. I have stopped using it recently, since everyone I need to talk to frequently is on HipChat, which my company also uses. This is bad, since all the people who use Jabber and not HipChat see me as offline even though I am available.
  • Jabber is very cumbersome to use, since I only use it for IM, and it's missing many features that a client that focused specifically on IM would provide, such as group chat, chat rooms, and message history.
  • Cannot send attachments to offline recipients.
  • Very limited ability for rich content: Cannot display images in IM text, cannot use emojis/stickers or add custom emoticons. This seems like it wouldn't be important in a business context, but it helps make text-based communication more personal.
If the users use the phone system a whole lot, maybe this would be a good choice, since it provides click-to-call and click-to-IM solutions. If it is not essential to integrate with the phone system, there are other products that provide much more value for IM/Presence than Jabber. I think it's a fundamentally flawed idea that text-based communication and voice-based communication need to happen through the same tool. Since Jabber doesn't do email, these types of communications already happen in separate applications. I would rather use a tool that focuses on doing IM/Presence, and doing it really well, like Slack, HipChat, Google Hangouts, Skype. Jabber is missing too many critical features that these solutions provide, at a lower cost.
Read Erik Bean's full review
February 22, 2017

User Review: "Why just chat when you can Jabber!"

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Jabber is a huge collaboration tool in our environment. It is not just a simple chat window for us to remotely chat, but it is also a great tool to show availability. We also use the share desktop feature a lot to collaborate and troubleshoot. The mobile app is also a great tool for reaching others when there are after hours emergencies. This tool is used throughout the company.
  • The ability to not only use text, but to be able to post pictures, share files, remote view desktops and control them are really strong features of this tool.
  • The GUI interface is well laid out. Recent chats, meetings, and contacts are easy to find and easy to modify. I love how the meetings have a link into the WebEx part so you don't even have to go into Outlook to reach it.
  • The Mobile app is a great way to reach someone after hours for emergencies.
  • I would have liked to see an option to save chats. I have looked through the software and if it is there, I missed it.
  • For the mobile app, if it could update your location through GPS, that would be useful.
  • When logged in, the ability to set a "quiet time" could be useful where it would set your audible alarm to a vibrate, or maybe block it entirely.
Jabber is used widely in our environment. It is useful if you are remote or out of the office using your mobile device. However, being always on doesn't allow you to "cut the cord" from work. Jabber is used well for asking quick questions to fellow colleagues. It is great for sharing screens for troubleshooting and collaboration. It is great to send simple screenshots of errors or funny memes.
Read Jim Stephanek's full review
May 12, 2017

User Review: "CISCO JABBER : An Unified Communicator"

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Cisco Jabber is one of the best unified-communications applications. Cisco Jabber lets you know about availability of contacts, instant messaging (IM), voice, video, voice messaging, desktop sharing, and conferencing. In our organization it is used as a communicator to contact employees (internal/external) and know their availability status whether they are away, available or in presentation mode.
  • Individual Chat with History
  • Calling internal numbers and also international numbers
  • File Sharing, Desktop Sharing with access control
  • Meeting info with WebEx Intergation
  • Group Creation
  • Jabber needs to work on the Mobile Application Part - need to improve its lagging issue
  • Phone setup issue should be resolved on the Mobile App
Jabber is well suited for instant calls, desktop sharing, and video call scenarios. For file sharing, it takes a lot of time and it even failed at 90%.
Read Kashif Iqbal's full review
February 21, 2017

"My Review of Jabber"

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We utilize the Jabber product enterprise-wide to communicate throughout our own departments and various lines of business. This tool comes in very helpful when working with our off-site teams, especially when [we are] able to share screens and imagines.
  • Functionality through desktop and mobile options ensure users will never miss a message.
  • Very responsive, and user-friendly application.
  • Connectivity, we tend to run into a lot of issues where the Cisco system as a whole loses connectivity. At times users aren't aware of the issue, which as a result leaves users missing messages and calls without knowing.
Jabber is well suited when working with mutilple teams through various locations. Jabber allows users to share their screens with one, or several other users at once.
Read this authenticated review
September 27, 2016

Review: "Jabber- Great for Messaging and Desktop Sharing"

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Jabber is being used as our company's instant messaging tool, connecting team, departments, and the entire organization in a useful alternative to email. Like Email It provides an asynchronous means of sending and receiving messages in a less disruptive manner than phone, or face to face conversations. Additionally with the availability status it is easy to know if a coworker is in the office. Finally, Jabber has an excellent feature that allows you to share your desktop with another user, and even grant control. This facilitates collaboration and even IT help desk support as you can view users desks remotely.
  • Jabber is excellent for remote troubleshooting as it allows remote desktop sharing and even control. It is very easy to setup a sharing session- literally seconds- even for non technical users. This can be used by the business, or by IT personnel when troubleshooting an application issue. It can also save an organization money if they were using another, paid tool for remote troubleshooting.
  • Facilitates asynchronous communication using conversation style. When someone messages you a small window pops up and fades within a second or two. You can either click it to open or ignore it and open it later. This is an improvement over Jabber's predecessor, WebEx Connect, which would blink an icon at the bottom of the screen until you read the message. This was really annoying because, unless you could put up with the flashing icon, you needed to click on each message right away. That negated the concept of asynchronous communications.
  • Facilitates status tracking as Jabber has several statuses: green for Available, yellow for Away, red for "Do not Disturb". Finally grey is for offline. It also link with your Outlook and has automated statuses: "Presenting", i.e. sharing your desktop with another user via Jabber or WebEx or "In a meeting".
  • Jabber could use a middle ground for message notification. The prior method of an icon flashing at you every few seconds defeated the asynchronous nature as it would force you to put up with the blinking, or click the message immediately. And if you clicked the message just to stop the blinking, then it would register the message as read, and it would be easy to miss or forget about the message without actually reading it. Now they have the popup window (described earlier in the review). Additionally when you click on the Jabber app you will see the number of unread messages for each user. If you were on the phone or speaking with a colleague you may have missed the message entirely. Either way, its now too easy to miss a message and the sender will use other means, and ask why you ignored their message. A good middle ground would be features they have now with either a status or something similar in the system try (it can even be the flashing icon, but flash once every 5 minutes, not once a second) which would occasionally remind you of your unread instant messages.
  • Too many software updates. Jabber constantly wants to update the application and if you push it off reminds you on every login. Bundle and space them out further.
  • This is minor but the default installation comes with a docking tab at the top of the screen. If you are not using the tab then it is annoying. Virtually every user wants to get rid of it but they do not know how. They are always grateful to me when I get rid of it for them.
  • Jabber allows sending of files but it's a bit cumbersome as it must first be accepted, downloaded, then opened from the folder. It does give a short cut to open the download folder, but the ability to directly open received files would be very helpful.
  • Jabber does not have an off-line queue as part of its standard setup. Not a huge con, but it add a level of convenience. When someone is off-line, typically after they have left for the day, you either have to wait to respond to an IM, or move the conversation over to email.
  • When a new message comes in the popup window, whether or not you click on it, when you go to your conversations window, it brings you back to your last conversation. what happens is, you think your in the conversation for the window which just popped up, and if your lucky you catch your response before sending to the wrong person. This occurs even if you actually click on the popup window, you still may be in a different conversation. I am used to it by now and rarely make the mistake, but it would be a really good feature to bring you to the conversation related to the newest message.
Jabber is excellent for enterprise usage providing IM, desktop sharing, collaboration and conversation history. It integrates well with WebEx Meeting and Outlook. There are free messaging and collaboration tools available so each organization much balance the cost and functionality of Jabber vs. other products.
Read Eugene LaRoche's full review
September 16, 2016

User Review: "Jabber in the work place"

Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Jabber is being used as a instant messenger tool for our university. The system allows for phone and outlook integration in order to show when you are busy with meetings or phone calls and when you are free to chat. The system also supports video calling which we are not currently using at the moment.
  • Ease of access
  • Easily of use
  • Product integration
  • Limited to internal users only
  • Requires in depth support for video and phone integration
  • Constant updates that require admin rights to execute
Any time a user in a office is a large distance from another user they need to communicate with this handy tool. It has phone apps for ease of use and require little to no tutorial on how to use the product.
Read Cameron Council's full review

Feature Scorecard Summary

Task Management (11)
6.4
Gantt Charts (2)
6.3
Scheduling (12)
6.2
Workflow Automation (7)
6.7
Mobile Access (27)
7.8
Search (27)
7.1
Visual planning tools (8)
5.1
Chat (44)
8.5
Notifications (42)
8.2
Discussions (36)
7.8
Surveys (4)
8.6
Internal knowledgebase (10)
7.6
Integrates with GoToMeeting (6)
8.3
Integrates with Gmail and Google Hangouts (6)
6.0
Integrates with Outlook (35)
7.9
Versioning (10)
6.2
Video files (25)
6.3
Audio files (24)
6.8
Document collaboration (16)
6.6
Access control (13)
8.1
Advanced security features (16)
4.8
Integrates with Google Drive (6)
5.7
Device sync (9)
5.7

About Jabber

Cisco Jabber is a collaboration platform built on interactivity, with instant messaging and voice / VOIP and video telephony. Jabber is available both as a browser-based solution and through mobile applications. Cisco acquired Jabber in 2008 and has supported it since.

Jabber Technical Details

Operating Systems: Unspecified
Mobile Application:No