Microsoft Teams Reviews

<a href='https://www.trustradius.com/static/about-trustradius-scoring#question3' target='_blank' rel='nofollow noopener noreferrer'>Customer Verified: Read more.</a>
930 Ratings
<a href='https://www.trustradius.com/static/about-trustradius-scoring' target='_blank' rel='nofollow noopener noreferrer'>trScore algorithm: Learn more.</a>
Score 8.4 out of 100

Do you work for this company? Learn how we help vendors

TrustRadius Top Rated for 2020

Overall Rating

Reviewer's Company Size

Last Updated

By Topic

Industry

Department

Experience

Job Type

Role

Reviews (1-25 of 146)

Companies can't remove reviews or game the system. Here's why.
November 10, 2020
Sandeep Reyyi | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use Microsoft Teams across the whole organization for internal communication. It is easy to use, notifications are on-point and the UI is clean and simple. During this work from home period its being used extensively for daily meetings, online sessions and screen sharing. It has cool emojis and GIFs to make chatting more lively and interactive. It has mobile application to make it much easier to access.
  • Screen sharing
  • Clean UI
  • Animated emojis
  • High Quality video and audio calling
  • Call drops
  • Web application
  • Better integration with outlook
It is best in screen sharing and improving regularly. Audio and Video calling quality is top notch. But doesn't work well with slow internet connection. Call drops are frequent. Notifications are quick and can be easily viewed at the bottom of the desktop without having to open the application. Integration with outlook is not as good as skype for business needs much improvement in this area.
Microsoft support is the best support team you can ever find. On top of that we can find several community thread with which we can easily resolve smaller issues.
Read Sandeep Reyyi's full review
January 15, 2021
Sridevi Patil | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Microsoft Teams is used throughout my organization for the purpose of facilitating e-learning among students. Currently, more than 1000 students in our organization are learning through Microsoft Teams. It addresses the need of conducting meetings, online education, distribution of notes, assignment submission and correction, etc. All of it is completely done using Teams.
  • Online sessions, audio , video lectures, meetings, etc.
  • Session recording , downloading attendance, assignment submissions, etc.
  • Forming huge groups or teams for meetings.
  • Microsoft Teams requires strong internet connectivity i.e. sessions get disturbed with little/poor connectivity which works fine with other meeting tools.
  • Data storage is a challenge when it comes to large amount of assignment submissions.
  • I experienced system crashing several times.
  • Works perfectly fine with robust environments, but slows down the system sometimes.
Microsoft Teams best suited for large organizations with sound technical environments. It offers best of features to conduct meetings, make recordings, sharing data/files, etc. It is less appropriate in machines with limited connectivity.
Read Sridevi Patil's full review
December 22, 2020
Emir Omeragić | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use it for interdepartmental communication, for Task Delegation, leading projects, for new services implementation projects, for documenting issues with current software, etc.
  • Chat.
  • Document management.
  • Tasks.
  • Collaboration.
  • Conference Calling.
  • Speed when user behind application firewall.
  • Switch between Chat and Teams Channel is too slow.
  • Additional categorisation for Tasks within Teams.
  • Better integration with SharePoint.
  • There is urgent need to simplify administration and collaboration for new users.
  • Add password for public meetings.
  • Export chat from meeting and live events after the meeting has been closed.
  • Allow joining public meeting from PC client without registration.
  • Better controls for Meeting organiser (more control over attendees).
Team colaborations, meetings, calls, document share, tasks, to-do, whiteboards all very good within organisations.
I did implementations for companies with 2-3 users and in institutions with severeal hundreds of users. It works. It is fairly flexible solutions for different needs, but the core features are amongst the best on the market.
Read Emir Omeragić's full review
October 27, 2020
sameer chhabra | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
MIcrosoft Teams has been implemented some time back (say about 6-7 months back) within our organization as a replacement for Skype for Business. It has been launched throughout the organization and not within a specific team as such. It offeres a wide variety of solutions such as team audio/video calls, real time file update feature, file sharing on cloud feature, group team chats etc. The unique and primary business solution that is offers is that of real time file update on cloud by the team members which eventually help in keeping the status tracker updated all the time without going into the hassle of sending and getting it updated via email which turns out to be a very inefficient task.
  • Firstly, it enables us to form team groups within the platform which ultimately helps in team chats and file sharing within the teams and also lets the file to update in real time by all the team members within the group.
  • Secondly, Teams is the only platform where we have different applications embedded and we can use those to prepare different types of files within the teams and thus we don't have to scroll outside teams for the same. For example, onenote, Jiracloud, planner, stream, wiki are different platform embedded within Teams to help us use them and complete our tasks
  • Thirdly, Teams is directly connected to sharepoint which i think is the most useful feature of the same. We can upload all the files on to share point so that anyone who we want to send the file can access the same via share file.
  • The most important point to work upon is the Graphical user interface (GUI), Teams GUI is not very easy to use and thus it takes a lot of time for a new user to understand its feature and to further use them. Therefore, work could be done to improve its GUI so that it becomes user friendly.
  • I noticed that whenever I log in daily and directly go to Teams, it takes a quite a lot of time to connect to its server and to come online as compared to other products like zoom which are blazingly fast . Thus the time taken by Teams to connect to its server for the first time could be improved.
  • Teams is a really heavy software considering the vast features it offers and the embedded additional platform like Jiracloud, onenote etc embedded into it which in turn makes the software really slow at times. therefore, efforts could be made to improve its processing power.
Microsoft is really great product and actually its a bliss for indivuduals working in large teams since it keeps all the team members well connected via team groups and file sharing within the different teams in the organization. However, I do think that this software is not pretty well suited for freelancers aka people who work on clients single handedly since they could perform all the above mentioned tasks via emails or Skype and hence it is not best suited for them.
I would like to give full rating to Teams as it is just the best product in the IT field available right now and is way above its competitive softwares as it offers a lot of other functionalities which the other software products fail to provide. Also, the support has been really amazing as I called the Teams support once since Teams was not opening on my system and the Teams support helped me resolve the issue within one hour.
Read sameer chhabra's full review
January 11, 2021
Abdul Moid Mohammed | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Microsoft Teams is used by the whole organization where I work. It's an amazing tool for chat/voice calls/video conferences. For me, it's an all-in-one tool, as it meets my needs completely. It's amazing to have this many features in just one tool. I call this a tool for this generation as it has cool emojis and features that will surely attract people from my generation.
  • Excellent quality voice calls
  • Chat history backup feature
  • Group chat
  • Should have an option to import other emojis from Google
  • Lack of material easily available online for a beginner
  • Interface looks kind of complicated when you are a beginner
I personally use this application for team meetings. The main thing that attracted me was the quality of its voice calls. People who are miles away from me can sound so clear. Also, it saves our chat history, which is another help, as I tend to forget things a lot.
Read Abdul Moid Mohammed's full review
January 19, 2021
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Microsoft Teams is a collaboration tool being used within our organisation on a global scale which helps us connect with our colleagues and leadership instantly, via instant messages, calls and even video calls.

The tool is being used by the entire organization as it is the key requirement for anybody in our organization to connect and collaborate.

Communication is one of the biggest challenges, not only in business but in our daily routine. If we communicate correctly, 99% of the problems are solved automatically. Something similar, Microsoft Teams helps us achieve. It helps us to bridge that gap between colleagues and teammates, sitting regions apart and connect with each other almost anytime and together we produce amazing ideas and products.
  • Team and Channels: are only of the greatest feature, which was first introduced by Microsoft Teams in the market and then the overall ideology was seen in various other competitors. Teams can be made by grouping as many as team members you would want and channels are futher subsections, which can help you divide your conversations and have a history relevant to matters in its desired groups.
  • Dark mode: is also somethinng a user will not get in corporate software's. Teams will provide you this feature, which will help you accomodate colors of your software according to the light conditions at your workplace. This feature helps you work long hours without making your eyes suffer any type of pain or efforts.
  • Appended Calendar: is another great feature of this tool is that your schedule can always be visited with just a click and you can plan your day according to what you see on your screen, most of the time. It's super easy to juggle around with the calendar and set new meetings and calls, on the fly.
  • File sharing: is made easy and stable with Teams. You can easily share any type of file, be it in any format, in a single drag and drop, you can send it accross countries, to your partner working, miles away. The best part is that, everything is stored on Microsoft SharePoint, which is the backend of Microsoft Teams, and this give you a sense of high reliance, with your most important files as well.
  • Microsoft Teams is a memory intensive software, which does eats up your RAM and hardisk big time. You need to have a computer system, with a good configuration, and then only you can enjoy the experience of this software. So this is a big drawback and making it work on legacy systems, is one of that option, which you would never want to opt for.
  • Heavy reliance on internet bandwidth: With slow internet speeds, this software will make you feel annoyed since low speeds will hang this tool and it will work very very slow. You won't be able to send even IMs and files are something out of the bucket. Therefore, consider this point since, it can heavily impact your experience with the tool.
Well Suited: Microsoft Teams is well suited if you have to rigorously collaborate with 10 or more colleagues on a daily basis and even share files, calls and calendars. If you are working in a team and almost every time has to rely or need somebody's advice on the work you are doing, then Microsoft Teams will work as bliss for you and you would love the experience throughout.

Not Suited: If your Internet connection with low bandwidths and also having computer systems which are not very great at configurations, I would not recommend this piece to software to you. This can make you feel annoyed and at the same time, miserable if you are not able to connect with right people on right time and in turn working on such a slow pace, which otherwise would have been quite fast on light-weight tool.
Read this authenticated review
November 17, 2020
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 3 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Microsoft Teams is used mostly by every department in the organization for communicating within the company (voice chat, video chat and text chat). On that aspect we can say it kind of meets the expectations and address the problems of staying in touch given the COVID-19 situation.
  • Good audio quality.
  • Good video quality.
  • Possibility to share your entire screen or one specific app.
  • Better UX/UI.
  • Improve Bluetooth connection stability.
  • More responsive.
  • Reduce the number of clicks to do actions.
  • Reduce the number of notifications.
  • Give more flexibility to users.
  • Get rid of documentation tabs, or make good text formatting options.
Microsoft Teams is well suited [to] voice chat and video chat. It helps large team of people stay in touch.

However, all the other stuff Teams is trying to achieve (documentation, planning board, etc.) are poorly developed. On top of that the fact that I always need to go from one channel to another makes me lose precious time. All that is offered through a bad UI/UX experience.

I think Teams should only focus on communication, where it does a good job, and remove all the other features that are better handled with dedicated software like Confluence for documentation and Jira for planning and managing task or Things by Cultured Code for a more simple solution.
I couldn’t say. IT controls that aspect, so I have no idea. I guess it offers the same support as any other Microsoft product.
Read this authenticated review
February 08, 2021
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
With the onset of the pandemic, one of the preferred solutions for conducting in-house meetings was Microsoft Teams. Teams works integrated with various Microsoft Office services. Online meeting management is very useful. The quota limit for the number of participants to the meeting is quite high. Teams can be set up company-wide on Teams, this feature facilitates work organization.
  • Meeting planning is very simple.
  • Works integrated with Microsoft Outlook Calendar.
  • The application library is rich.
  • Easy to share screen and hand over control of the computer in the meeting.
  • Easy to add another employee to the meeting.
  • It keeps file exchanges together for the team and creates a virtual archive.
  • The address book is useful. It covers the whole organization.
  • The screen design is quite complicated, if you are working in a large organization, the screen gets crowded. It is difficult to find what you are looking for at first glance.
  • The lack of personalization on the chat screen makes it difficult to use.
  • It would be better to send emails via teams, Outlook would not be needed.
It is very useful in meetings requiring large attendance, works uninterruptedly, and also works at low internet speeds. It ensures that a relevant friend is instantly invited to the meeting, if necessary during the meeting.

It is also important to see your Outlook calendar. Allows you to directly join any meeting while working on Teams and Outlook is closed.
Read this authenticated review
January 29, 2021
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 1 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use Teams for group and company meetings across our entire organization. It is meant to make communicating during COVID-19 easy. I use it for exams and university group meetings at times as well, so I use Microsoft Teams in different contexts, in different organizations, and for different purposes.
  • Easy to call
  • The camera does not work sometimes, and this is quite bothersome. I do not know the reason
  • It does not seem to work optimally on iPad and iOS, only giving me the option to turn on my camera and other settings before the call sometimes. When I get invited to meetings, it does not give me this option, which causes a lot of stress when I do not know the reason for this.
It is not too great when there are technical difficulties, and the app does not function optimally in terms of camera and meeting settings. It could potentially function well for desktop users, but there needs to be options and tweaks for the app users.
Read this authenticated review
January 28, 2021
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Microsoft Teams is used across several departments in our organization. Microsoft Teams improves team and interdepartmental communication greatly over email. With a large portion of staff working virtually and at various office locations, Microsoft Teams enhances collaboration and in a way helps simulate individuals working together in one room. The use of teams and channels as organizational units makes it easy to create hubs of communication and collaboration for different teams and topics.
  • Very easy to share files using chat
  • Fantastic grouping and organization using channels
  • Inability to delete conversations. What happens in Teams, stays in Teams, forever...
  • Too many notifications on things like reactions to comments.
Microsoft Teams is well suited for medium to large sized organizations where team members are spread out in different locations. The instant communication and collaboration makes using Microsoft Teams like being in the same room with your collaborators. Teams isn't necessary for smaller organizations, especially if all team members are together in the same location.
I've not needed to use support for Microsoft Teams as there have been no issues that I've dealt with as an end user. Teams includes an extensive help section with search capabilities and training topics reducing the need for support if an issue does arise. Training includes videos and text to refer to.
Read this authenticated review
September 29, 2020
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use Microsoft Teams as our collaborative tool to allow users and teams to have constant communication with each other, whether that is in regards to projects, tasks, or schedule changes. Microsoft Teams is great in that members can share their screens and do video calls and audio as well. The quick chat feature is a great bonus when you want to quickly communicate with a colleague.
  • Screen sharing within call rooms. Great for displaying examples and visuals.
  • Quick chat is efficient in sending quick messages or confirmations with colleagues.
  • User interface is also easy to navigate around, even for beginner users.
  • An added functionality that would be beneficial would be sharing files and sending them from within the call room.
  • Other than that, there is nothing to add as Microsoft Teams really is that good!
When users are in a meeting where drawings and visuals need to be shared, the screen share feature is great, another great feature is giving access to another person to control the mouse, even if it is on your computer! Instances, where you would like to send a quick note to a colleague in regards to a project, can easily be done from within the Teams console.
Microsoft customer support is great, although it can be a bit of a hassle getting to a representative. Also, I have not had issues with Teams to have to give Microsoft a call, so that is positive! Microsoft also has great knowledge-based articles for information on tasks and how-tos on Teams.
Read this authenticated review
December 14, 2020
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Over the past year, we have moved to Microsoft Teams across our organization. It has really opened up our communication with one another which has been a huge struggle.
  • Add files to a chat
  • Screen sharing
  • Making calls within Teams
  • We have RDS which is a remote desktop, and when someone wants to chat with me, it pops up for a second but I actually have to minimize my remote desktop to get to the actual chat screen.
We have our team meeting every morning through teams, which works well for our large team. The manager can see who is on time and available versus taking role call every single morning.
Read this authenticated review
November 14, 2020
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 1 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
My company is an English translation and education company and we contract with other companies to teach English to their employees. Usually these lessons are conducted on the client's company premises, but due to COVID-19, since March the lessons have been taught online. At first we used Webex, but since around May, my company made the decision to use Microsoft Teams to conduct virtual lessons.
  • It does nothing well
  • Better whiteboard
  • Improved screensharing options
  • Work out the login bugs
  • Fix problems with connecting to users' video
  • Fix the buggy chat
I have used many different apps since COVID-19 to conduct virtual lessons, such as Zoom, Skype, Webex, etc. And of all the apps I have used, Teams is by far the absolute worst. The whiteboard is completely useless—provides no useful features and arbitrarily changes the font size and color and gives me no control over it. The chat is very buggy—in one of my classes, students could not even see when I typed things into the chat. Student videos often vanish for no reason. The screen share function is unbelievably wonky. Due to the whiteboard being terrible, I often will share either Photoshop or Word so I can illustrate things to my students. But many times, those apps won't show up in the screen share drawer and so I'll just have to share my entire desktop. This may not sound like a problem, but it is very annoying in case I have to switch to another app while students are viewing my screen, such as if I have to answer a question a student asks in chat. Furthermore, lately I keep getting "There was a problem try again later" when I try to enter the meetings.
What support? They have a bunch of help articles and nothing else. There is no support offered, no one to contact.
Read this authenticated review
October 28, 2020
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use Microsoft Teams as a meeting and document sharing forum both in my local department, and also center-wide for large meetings. It's been a very useful platform all around. I have found it to be superior to other meeting platforms due to ease of use, and also for its document sharing functions. The sound and picture quality is also excellent.
  • Document sharing is now easy and convenient.
  • Great for one-on-one calls, or for very large groups.
  • Great sound and picture quality.
  • I do not believe that I would change anything.
As stated earlier, this platform works well for both one-on-one meetings, or meetings with a very large audience. It's very easy to communicate with others and collaborate on documents together using this platform.
N/A; I have not had the need to reach out for support for this product just yet.
Read this authenticated review
October 20, 2020
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 3 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We have used Teams to conduct remote meetings wherein we review detailed design information, including engineering designs produced using DraftSight, Excel, and other platforms. It is used across our small organization, but also in presentations to potential investors and partners. Numerous problems we faced have been addressed using Team, ranging from resolving disparate viewpoints to calculation errors in Excel or other files.
  • Teams allows us to seamlessly view joint products, details of designed components, and complex cost spreadsheets.
  • Because our sessions are interactive, attendees can adjust designs or spreadsheets during the meeting.
  • A big advantage is that the tools we use are MS Office products.
  • Setting up a meeting and allowing attendees to join a meeting.
  • Allowing as many attendees as needed.
  • In many cases, we simply could not connect with participants using audio.
  • Ease of use overall is poor compared with Skype, until it morphed into Teams.
  • It would be valuable if Teams was accessible from other Office 365 platforms.
It is well suited to a meeting with internal attendees, and with less than 3 of these. The attendees have had problems with connecting and also with audio. In many cases, we simply could not get audio to work, wasting valuable time. Perhaps this is an artifact of not using the subscription Business Version of Teams, but if so, Microsoft should make this clear.
We have not spent much time seeking support. Microsoft support is generally good, so we suspect that this would apply to Teams. This may be academic, as we don't plan to use Teams unless we observe a wholesale change in ease of access, audio connectivity, and efficiency. Microsoft would be served well by using Zoom for some time.
Read this authenticated review
October 09, 2020
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We evaluated and selected, trained, and rolled out Microsoft Teams as the corporate-wide collaboration platform. It is used by teams and departments for chat, audio and video conferencing, scheduled and ad-hoc meetings with colleagues, customers, and colleagues, globally. We were somewhat lucky as we rolled out the platform prior to the 2020 pandemic. MS Teams has helped us to be as productive remotely as we were in the office.
  • Real-time collaboration on documents and files.
  • Ability to include others (non-Microsoft Teams users).
  • Ease of ad-hoc as well as schedule multimedia conferencing.
  • Integration with O365 and other applications.
  • Speed of development and responsiveness to market needs.
  • High service availability and HD quality video and audio conferencing.
  • Global availability of the services.
  • Direct conferencing with SIP and H.323 rooms such as WebEx. Although with recent announcements, sounds like both vendors are already on their way.
  • More integration with 3rd. party applications; e.g., Salesforce.
  • Pricing on their E3 and E5 bundles.
I have used it in a corporate environment, and know of those who have used the free version of Teams for personal and educational environments. It simply works.
Easy to use, flexible product with many options, fairly extensive documentation, and great support.
Read this authenticated review
September 14, 2020
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Microsoft Teams is being evaluated and now being put into production as our organization is trying out ChatOps products. Office 365 as a whole is being evaluated as a cloud solution as our organization is new to the cloud. Only a subset of the IT department is currently evaluating & using Microsoft Teams. It addresses the issue of too many emails which puts extra work for our Exchange administrators.
  • Persistent chat capability
  • Search function is very robust
  • Meetings - audio/video quality is superb
  • Integration with other applications (non-Microsoft)
  • Notifications could be better and more customizable
  • More customization of the Desktop app in general
It is suited well for teams that need to collaborate consistently, like sharing files and projects. It would serve the software development community very well. It may not suit those that work individually and do not collaborate much, as Teams' strengths lie in the power of multiple people working together.
Microsoft has support that responds quickly when we reach out. They make sure all issues are fully resolved before closing a case. They really believe in Mircosoft Teams as a product so it makes sense that they help out whenever they can. The documentation for Teams is very thorough as well and has helped us in our configuration.
Read this authenticated review
September 09, 2020
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Microsoft Teams has been implemented across the whole organization. Actually, we have been using Skype for Business for five or six years and now we are in a transition towards Teams. As an IT Admin, I am also involved in the team responsible for managing Teams for the users. Teams helps in organizing everything about your team. You can share important docs, notes, whatever, with your team, schedule the tasks, and hold meetings. All your team activities are visible to you, which is really very helpful and beneficial for the team lead or supervisors. You can have video conversations within and outside the organization from any place and any platform. Microsoft Teams can be used in smart phones flawlessly, which really makes it a very attractive product especially during the recent pandemic of COVID-19. You can share and remotely control on request and approval from clients or vendors in order to share solutions.
  • Microsoft Teams is OS independent. It can work from Windows, iOS, or any desktop.
  • It is also platform independent and can be used from tablets and smart phones.
  • You can add useful apps on Teams that work as add-ons. These apps in a great range of productivity and provide a helping hand in managing your work.
  • Microsoft Teams uses a lot of CPU memory.
Microsoft Teams is well suited for managing team tasks and schedules and video conferencing and meetings with different people at different locations at the same time. It helps IT support to check user issues remotely and provide assistance. It is also good for online sessions and sharing important useful materials of any kind from .DOC to .PPT.
This rating is fair enough for Microsoft support. They provide knowledgeable solutions.
Read this authenticated review
December 03, 2020
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Microsoft Teams is being used to allow team members to collaborate better and to share documents amongst each other.
  • Sharing documents
  • Host meetings
  • Connecting with remote teammates
  • Add additional Themes
  • Less clutter within Teams space
  • Better display different documents being shared within each Teams space
  • Great for working with remote colleagues or ones who are cross-country or far away.
  • Email isn't always the best so Microsoft Teams allowed us to host meetings and share documents easily.
Read this authenticated review
October 21, 2020
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Microsoft Teams is used by Novartis throughout the organization for organizing and attending meetings. Easy to use and it thus creates a better User Experience. The users don't need to be trained on how to use Microsoft Teams unlike other networking tools. Easy to manage from an administrator point of view. Easy to organize meetings throughout the organization. As it is integrated with Microsoft Outlook, it is easier with Microsoft Teams.
  • Easy to use and it thus creates a better User Experience
  • Easy to manage
  • Integration with MS Outlook
  • Uses lesser bandwidth
  • Download attendance feature can have more information
  • Option to change a message posted to one channel to another channel
  • Better search
Well Suited
  1. When we have to schedule meetings with a larger audience, MS Teams is a better option.
  2. Customizable user interface
  3. You can collaborate over documents simultaneously
Less Appropriate
  • The tabs sometime look clumsy when the number is more.
  • If you are not a Microsoft product user, it may seem difficult for you to use MS Teams
I haven't raised any support case yet or looked for any support related document specifically as I am just an end user but I have heard from a few administrators that Microsoft supports the product well. Also, Novartis being a large audience and MS Teams adopted here as a collaboration platform speaks in itself.
Read this authenticated review
July 07, 2020
Joel Martin | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Microsoft Teams has become our organization's global collaboration platform. It addresses the need to work together - esp now that everyone is socially distant. We use it for text, meeting management, and video calls on a daily basis. File sharing has some use as does the Planner function, but these are still shared with other applications as well.
  • Collaboration.
  • Video calls.
  • Chat.
  • Integration with SharePoint.
  • Integration with Calendar.
  • Screen sharing isn't as good as Webex.
  • Resource pig - kills your battery fast!
  • Not as fluid an interface as other solutions.
Use Microsoft Teams if you are a Microsoft Office 365 and SharePoint shop. The deep integrations and inclusion with the license make it a no-brainer. With external customers we typically use a combination of other platforms so you'll need to manage more than one solution in most cases.
Haven't needed any.
Read Joel Martin's full review
April 29, 2020
Michael Eberhard | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Microsoft Teams is the main collaboration tool across our entire organization. A lot of users had received a crash course in its use because of working from home due to the COVID-19 quarantines but many have stated that they are very pleased with the ease of use and ability to connect with remote co-workers. We have even used it to set up a "water cooler" team just to be able to chit chat with other office workers.
  • Shared chat space and the ability to easily break out into smaller groups.
  • Collaboration tools - sharing documents and files and easily save those things.
  • Ability to add video and sound in team groups.
  • iPhone app is AWESOME!
  • It can be kind of pricey - As far as I know you have to be running Office 365 to make full use of the product.
  • I would like to able to break the different tabs into different windows. For example, be able to have Chat and Teams tabs open at the same time while working on a shared document.
Microsoft Teams works really well when collaboration is needed by people that are separated by any distance. You can hold team chat sessions - including video - and break the participants easily into smaller groups. It is easy to share documents and files. It integrates seamlessly with other Office 365 products.

I have not tried using it with others outside of business so I am not sure how it might do for social users. Nor am I sure how well it would integrate with other office programs, like Open Office or Google Docs.
There is a lot of good information available in the Teams app itself. And Microsoft has been very helpful whenever we have had to go to them for help - which hasn't been often at all.
Read Michael Eberhard's full review
May 21, 2020
Adam Gale | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
It is being used by the whole company, as a way to connect virtually with both employees and customers.
  • Video conferencing.
  • Collaboration (messaging outside of Outlook).
  • Sometimes there isn't a link to join a meeting, which makes you click on a link, which takes you to the web, which takes you back to Teams.
Great for corporate communication. Also good for virtual family gatherings!
I don't use support.
Read Adam Gale's full review
April 10, 2020
Shehani Perera | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Microsoft Teams is an excellent remote working collaboration software which has great audio and video conferencing features. My whole team can connect to one dashboard and we can easily communicate with others. Microsoft Teams is used by all employees in our organization to enhance remote working capabilities.
  • Able to share screens.
  • 10 to 15 people can join for one conferencing call, with maximum video and audio quality and no lag.
  • Able to stream high quality HD videos using this solution.
  • This software can be installed on desktop, laptop and mobile devices with IOS and Android platforms.
  • High data consumption in video calls.
  • Does not have 4K video streaming facility when the screen mirror on a TV or a large screen video quality is low.
Microsoft Teams is a most relevant tool these days and it is one of the best platforms for remote working. All teams can collaborate for work and chat using Microsoft Teams.
Microsoft Teams has fast support and in any matter, they respond quickly.
Read Shehani Perera's full review
March 19, 2020
Jonathon Elslager | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use Teams across our whole organization. We use it to communicate internally on different department channels and then breaking it down to each project that we have.
It helps us to solve our complex communication and teleconference needs. It allows us to stay organized and have all of our conversations in one place.
  • Teleconferences/Screen-share.
  • Spaces that separate out different projects or Teams.
  • Add-on apps.
  • Speed.
  • Better integrations with outlook.
  • Better notification control.
Microsoft teams is well suited for companies that have large teams or multiple departments that need to communicate effectively. Teams of people can keep track of every detail that was discussed or add topics to the Wiki. Teams is overkill for smaller groups and teams.
I have not used support.
Read Jonathon Elslager's full review

Feature Scorecard Summary

Task Management (48)
7.4
Gantt Charts (23)
6.3
Scheduling (44)
7.6
Workflow Automation (27)
6.5
Mobile Access (54)
8.6
Search (50)
7.9
Visual planning tools (38)
6.3
Chat (62)
8.6
Notifications (61)
8.0
Discussions (58)
8.4
Surveys (27)
7.1
Internal knowledgebase (30)
6.7
Integrates with GoToMeeting (11)
7.5
Integrates with Gmail and Google Hangouts (10)
6.5
Integrates with Outlook (53)
9.0
Versioning (37)
8.1
Video files (45)
8.2
Audio files (45)
8.2
Document collaboration (56)
8.2
Access control (44)
8.0
Advanced security features (33)
8.1
Integrates with Google Drive (15)
7.3
Device sync (37)
8.6

What is Microsoft Teams?

Microsoft Teams combines video conferencing software with team collaboration tools. The communications platform allows MS Office users to conduct conference calls and share files via SharePoint, and join or initiate a group chat.

Microsoft Teams features three tiers of pricing. The first is a subscription-less, free option that offers the same features as the other two tiers but does not offer administration tools like analytics and access to on-premise servers, or support features like 24/7 phone and web support. The second and third tiers are based on the size of your business and its conferencing needs. Its “Office 365 Business Premium” option starts at $12.50 a month per user, with a required annual commitment, and its “Office 365 E3” option for enterprises starts at $20 a month per user, also with a required annual commitment.

Key Features
Meetings: Meet with teams of 10 or 10,000. Host audio, video, and web conferences with anyone inside or outside your organization or go big with live events.

Calling: Its Phone System feature enables PBX capabilities including call control in Office 365 and replaces on-premises PBX. Its calling features are customizable to fit your organization’s unique needs.


Microsoft Teams Pricing

Starting Price: $5

  • Does not have featureFree Trial Available?No
  • Has featureFree or Freemium Version Available?Yes
  • Does not have featurePremium Consulting/Integration Services Available?No
  • Entry-level set up fee?No
EditionPricing DetailsTerms
Free$0.00Per Month
Microsoft 365 Business Basic$5.00Per Month
Microsoft 365 Business Standard$12.50Per Month
Office 365 E3$20.00Per Month

Discounts are available for non profit organizations.

Microsoft Teams Technical Details

Deployment Types:SaaS
Operating Systems: Unspecified
Mobile Application:No