Microsoft Teams Reviews

<a href='https://www.trustradius.com/static/about-trustradius-scoring#question3' target='_blank' rel='nofollow noopener noreferrer'>Customer Verified: Read more.</a>
581 Ratings
<a href='https://www.trustradius.com/static/about-trustradius-scoring' target='_blank' rel='nofollow noopener noreferrer'>trScore algorithm: Learn more.</a>
Score 8.3 out of 100

Do you work for this company? Manage this listing

TrustRadius Top Rated for 2020

Overall Rating

Reviewer's Company Size

Last Updated

By Topic

Industry

Department

Experience

Job Type

Role

Reviews (1-25 of 129)

Joel Martin | TrustRadius Reviewer
July 07, 2020

Teams, a go-to for MS shops!

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Microsoft Teams has become our organization's global collaboration platform. It addresses the need to work together - esp now that everyone is socially distant. We use it for text, meeting management, and video calls on a daily basis. File sharing has some use as does the Planner function, but these are still shared with other applications as well.
  • Collaboration.
  • Video calls.
  • Chat.
  • Integration with SharePoint.
  • Integration with Calendar.
  • Screen sharing isn't as good as Webex.
  • Resource pig - kills your battery fast!
  • Not as fluid an interface as other solutions.
Use Microsoft Teams if you are a Microsoft Office 365 and SharePoint shop. The deep integrations and inclusion with the license make it a no-brainer. With external customers we typically use a combination of other platforms so you'll need to manage more than one solution in most cases.
Read Joel Martin's full review
Michael Eberhard | TrustRadius Reviewer
April 29, 2020

Teams lives up to its name

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Microsoft Teams is the main collaboration tool across our entire organization. A lot of users had received a crash course in its use because of working from home due to the COVID-19 quarantines but many have stated that they are very pleased with the ease of use and ability to connect with remote co-workers. We have even used it to set up a "water cooler" team just to be able to chit chat with other office workers.
  • Shared chat space and the ability to easily break out into smaller groups.
  • Collaboration tools - sharing documents and files and easily save those things.
  • Ability to add video and sound in team groups.
  • iPhone app is AWESOME!
  • It can be kind of pricey - As far as I know you have to be running Office 365 to make full use of the product.
  • I would like to able to break the different tabs into different windows. For example, be able to have Chat and Teams tabs open at the same time while working on a shared document.
Microsoft Teams works really well when collaboration is needed by people that are separated by any distance. You can hold team chat sessions - including video - and break the participants easily into smaller groups. It is easy to share documents and files. It integrates seamlessly with other Office 365 products.

I have not tried using it with others outside of business so I am not sure how it might do for social users. Nor am I sure how well it would integrate with other office programs, like Open Office or Google Docs.
Read Michael Eberhard's full review
Hilary Hobbs | TrustRadius Reviewer
February 25, 2020

Microsoft Teams for Teams is A++

Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Teams if being used across our entire organization, which is over 200 people. It is perfect for being able to quickly get ahold of anyone in any department. HR can also send a company-wide chat if something urgent needs to be addressed but doesn't need to be formal enough for an email. It also helps to know if someone you need to talk to is in a meeting or away from their desk. If I need to get ahold of my manager (who is in a completely different building) I can check teams to see if she is in a meeting or away from her desk by looking at her status. It saves a ton of time and relieves a lot of the stress of trying to communicate efficiently.
  • The ability to have a private chat with one person or a group message with everyone in your department.
  • All of our important documents are held in the 'wiki' portion of teams, which allows things to be easily accessed and all in one place.
  • I like that you can use GIFs right in the messenger. It adds a little fun to your usual chats.
  • Teams will randomly close for no particular reason throughout the day on my computer. It's a bit of an annoyance.
  • The activity portion confuses me time to time on which chat it is notifying me since I have private chats with the same people in group chats. Causes a little confusion.
  • It took me a while to realize that there is a sidebar for the wiki portion. I was only seeing one file when I knew there was more but couldn't find them.
Companies with a large population should seriously consider using Microsoft Teams to communicate, especially if you are already using Microsoft programs like Outlook and their calendar. It all connects together inside of teams. So if you have a meeting on your calendar, Teams will automatically place your status as red (which is 'in a meeting). If you have a very small company and/or don't already utilize Microsoft programs, Teams may not be best suited for your needs.
Read Hilary Hobbs's full review
Gabriela Band | TrustRadius Reviewer
February 12, 2020

Great for big businesses

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Microsoft Teams is being used in all of the organization. It has exceeded our expectations in terms of user adoption and engagement. It has allowed for more collaboration and, being a big company, it helps with remote work at other locations. It integrated seamlessly with the rest of the Microsoft suite of products. Microsoft Teams is easy to use and customer-centric. It has a lot of benefits.
  • Integrated with all of Microsoft's suite of products
  • Great mobile functionality
  • Upon opening a Skype invitation, it does not automatically open in Teams. Not very user-friendly on that.
  • You can't delete a sent message on the chat tab.
Microsoft Teams is useful for big companies. It is possible that from small enterprises the expensive costs outweigh the benefits, but for big corporations, it works great to unify the company on a central hub and standardizes the tools needed for work. Software like SharePoint, OneNote, and Excel, which are vital for the day-to-day, are now spread across all of the organization and all of the team uses them.
Read Gabriela Band's full review
Adam Gale | TrustRadius Reviewer
May 21, 2020

Great virtual software

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
It is being used by the whole company, as a way to connect virtually with both employees and customers.
  • Video conferencing.
  • Collaboration (messaging outside of Outlook).
  • Sometimes there isn't a link to join a meeting, which makes you click on a link, which takes you to the web, which takes you back to Teams.
Great for corporate communication. Also good for virtual family gatherings!
Read Adam Gale's full review
Shehani Perera | TrustRadius Reviewer
April 10, 2020

Great Teamwork and Remote Collaboration Tool

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Microsoft Teams is an excellent remote working collaboration software which has great audio and video conferencing features. My whole team can connect to one dashboard and we can easily communicate with others. Microsoft Teams is used by all employees in our organization to enhance remote working capabilities.
  • Able to share screens.
  • 10 to 15 people can join for one conferencing call, with maximum video and audio quality and no lag.
  • Able to stream high quality HD videos using this solution.
  • This software can be installed on desktop, laptop and mobile devices with IOS and Android platforms.
  • High data consumption in video calls.
  • Does not have 4K video streaming facility when the screen mirror on a TV or a large screen video quality is low.
Microsoft Teams is a most relevant tool these days and it is one of the best platforms for remote working. All teams can collaborate for work and chat using Microsoft Teams.
Read Shehani Perera's full review
Jonathon Elslager | TrustRadius Reviewer
March 19, 2020

Teams Great Tool and Group Collaboration

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use Teams across our whole organization. We use it to communicate internally on different department channels and then breaking it down to each project that we have.
It helps us to solve our complex communication and teleconference needs. It allows us to stay organized and have all of our conversations in one place.
  • Teleconferences/Screen-share.
  • Spaces that separate out different projects or Teams.
  • Add-on apps.
  • Speed.
  • Better integrations with outlook.
  • Better notification control.
Microsoft teams is well suited for companies that have large teams or multiple departments that need to communicate effectively. Teams of people can keep track of every detail that was discussed or add topics to the Wiki. Teams is overkill for smaller groups and teams.
Read Jonathon Elslager's full review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
July 21, 2020

Very happy

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use this across our organization. This has helped, especially during COVD times where we are working remotely. We can chat, video conference, and share files much easier now. This has allowed our team across the organization to feel connected, bring on new team members, and continue business as usual. I am able to create and host video calls with outside team members without bothering my IT department.
  • Text chats
  • Video conference
  • File sharing
  • Not great on mac.
  • Sometimes video calls lag.
I have found (on a Mac) that at times it will just shut down to reboot. Video calls tend to lag at times. Seems that Teams is looking for a perfect internet connection at all times, making it very difficult. Since we're home now, we have many devices using the internet, and having the perfect connection isn't really an option.
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
February 26, 2020

The Right Fit for a Microsoft Heavy Workplace

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Microsoft Teams is being used virtually exclusively by myself and my co-workers for work-related chat and rapid communication. What started as a shout-out for it from one of our managers that likes to try new things exploded into a full-organization adoption of the software within a week. Our former software that we still use for VoIP had a chat function that was clunky and limited, but Teams has been a breath of fresh air, adding personality and useability to our internal chat function. The ability to share spreadsheets with previews, GIFs, and screenshots seamlessly without having to attached anything manually is a huge plus.

The software also interfaces perfectly with Outlook in terms of availability and calendar, something our former chat software wasn't able to do. The screensharing aspect of a call or video chat adds another convenience of not having to unplug the laptop and bring it to someone for them to take a look at what you're referencing.

The interface has a very short learning curve, and is in every way intuitive, even to my co-workers that are usually late adopters of new things.

A hidden gem that might not be readily apparent is the "more apps" area under the button that looks like an elipse. This allows interfacing with OneNote and other apps!
  • Filesharing
  • GIFs and other fun aspects of a chat software
  • "(name) is typing" display.
  • Interfacing with Microsoft Suite programs
  • Drawing contacts from Outlook
  • A taskbar widget that allows replies from right clicking the taskbar icon.
  • more GIF engines beyond GIPHY, or a native GIPHY interface complete with mood categories.
  • Recent Chats column collapsible to bubbles with initial before disappearing when narrowing the window, similar to Apple iMessage on Mac software.
For intra-company communication, Microsoft Teams is perfectly suited. Informal, quick, and fun, it's perfect from co-worker to co-worker.

Externally, Microsoft Teams is probably less appropriate. With client or customer contact, it's probably the best way to go.

Another factor to consider within the company is the importance level of the message and to what degree communications should be easily preserved, printed, or forwarded and copied to other individuals.
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
March 23, 2020

Great product for quick and easy communication, with a few minor issues.

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Teams is essentially used across the whole organization, although some departments choose not to use it. We use Teams for quick, urgent chats, to make video calls, and as a message board to bounce questions off a targeted group of colleagues. One great feature of a product like Teams is being able to chat with a colleague while in a separate meeting, when a phone call is impossible and email is cumbersome.
  • Team automatically integrated with my laptop camera and audio, so video meetings took no setup.
  • Teams integrates nicely with Microsoft Outlook. For instance, you can create a Team Meeting in Outlook instead of an in-person meeting.
  • Team automatically integrated with my laptop camera and audio, so video meetings took no setup.
  • I cannot figure out how to get incoming chat messages to pop up on my screen. I have reviewed it in Settings, but there does not appear to be such an option. I have to keep an eye on my taskbar for new messages, which is not ideal.
  • Sometimes my status in Teams (available, busy, etc.) does not automatically flow from my Outlook calendar as desired.
  • I think Teams should make the Chat feature more prominent in its menu. When I receive a chat message, it takes more clicks than it should to open the appropriate conversation and read it.
Teams is great for organizations who value quick and easy communications between teammates who are not physically close to one another. It is also well suited for video and or audio meetings where one or more individuals are working remotely. Teams is less appropriate for organization that do not use Microsoft Outlook for email, because integration between these two tools is a advantageous.
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
March 02, 2020

Great alternative to Slack that you should seriously consider.

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Currently my team and our customer support team both use Microsoft Teams. We use to for both communicating and collaborating. The really good thing about Microsoft Teams is that it lets you create communication channels based on your preference. So you can have separate channels for multiple teams that are exclusive to them but you can also have a large overarching channel that everyone can access. That is how we use it. Individual team channels handle internal communication while the overarching channel lets us work with our support staff to share data, documents and chat. Since we moved to Teams our internal communication has really become streamlined and it has help us set up a process to respond faster to our clients.
  • You can separate your teams to create different channels so that there is no unwanted cross talk.
  • It's easier and faster to send files and documents through Teams than through email.
  • Eliminates a lot of large, unwanted email trails.
  • Works great on mobile phone. Perfect for keeping in touch on the go.
  • It runs pretty sluggishly on our Windows PC's. Granted these are generally old computers but the performance is still not great.
  • More options for customizing notifications would be great. It's pretty limited at the moment.
I think most mid and large sized organizations would benefit from Microsoft Teams. If you are not already using Slack then I think you should definitely at least check it out. I believe its part of the package with Office 365 business so you probably can implement it really quickly if needed.

However considering that it's a team-based software, its usage is pretty limited if you don't have large, multiple teams.
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
February 25, 2020

Microsoft Teams is the future of business collaboration software.

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Microsoft Teams is replacing Skype for our internal communications. Right now it's being used just in IT and Project Management but soon we are going to start expanding it to be used in every group in our organization. It's proved to be a valuable communication tool in our department, and we definitely see the potential for widespread company use.
  • Easy to use interface
  • Vast amount of features such as chat, calendar, calls, shared files, and more
  • I wish there was a way to make chat notifications pop up more in your face like the old personal edition of Skype did.
  • There should be some sort of contact directory instead of having to search for users.
If you use Office 365 already, then there really is no reason you shouldn't check out Microsoft Teams. If you have ever used Skype, MSN Messenger, Yahoo Messenger, etc. back in the day, this is basically the same software but fleshed out for business use. There are many features that can be used by any organization large or small.
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
February 18, 2020

Microsoft Teams - Good communication and project collaboration platform

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Microsoft Teams is being used by our administration staff to collaborate on projects and chat on a daily basis. It helps us quickly communicate, similar to how we had been using Skype Business. The interface is more thorough and allows for more functionality when sharing files from either individual users or teams.
  • Conversations, chats, and online meetings all in one workspace.
  • Sharing files and collaborating on projects.
  • Structure of files may be confusing if you do not have a technical background.
  • Team channels and groups could be more straightforward and easier to use.
Microsoft Teams is well-suited for companies that are looking to communicate and share files using one collective interface. In the past, you had to use Skype to chat and Outlook to send files back and forth. Using Teams, you can do that all in one program, making it much easier to collaborate on projects.
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
February 14, 2020

Teams is an all-in-one collaboration tool.

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use Microsoft Teams as a platform to support, collaborate, share, and coordinate across multiple teams within the company. Teams has many capabilities and we utilize almost all of them. It provides all the standard features of a collaboration tool, and it does it exceptionally well. What it really excels at is the ability to create communication channels complete with role, membership, and security features. This enables each team to have its own workspace to share content and quickly communicate internally.
  • Channels: Keep conversations, projects, information organized and managed by a team leader.
  • Screen-share and voice call: Screen-share is extremely easy to use and reliable. Voice call is very crisp and consistently good in every call.
  • Notification: We have vast numbers of channels and chat groups and sometimes it is easy to miss a message from someone. The notification for incoming message could be more prominent.
  • Concurrent call and chats: When you screen-share a call, you can still switch back to chat, minimize the window that displays the screen-share and you can't see the content. Adding multiple instances/windows of Teams could help with multitasking between screen-share and chat.
As its name suggests, Microsoft Teams works very well for collaboration when you have vast numbers of teams in the organization. It is very a quick way to communicate within a team or to multiple teams. This makes the tool very effective in large environments where many team members need to be up-to-date through discussions and notifications.
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
February 13, 2020

Microsoft Teams! Yes, please!

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Well, we are using it in place of Skype for Business. Since that has gone (or is going) away, we've switched to Teams. Some internal teams have been using MS Teams regularly since we switched to O365. Some of us, myself included, are "old school" and have kept our IM via Skype and used Teams, too. Very soon, we will all be using it exclusively. We use this type of internal communication extensively - at least in part because we have so many of us who do not work in the same building.
  • Collaboration
  • Sharing of images, documents.
  • I don't find it to be terribly intuitive.
  • We had to have someone do a presentation for us to make things more clear.
Well, I think it's great for regular everyday communication. In that respect, it works just like IM, Skype, or whatever other internal messaging apps you've used. But, it's very easy to add screenshots or documents and pictures. That is nice. And, of course, it has emojis and you can "like" things. (That's completely unnecessary in my view, but some people "like" it.)
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
April 21, 2020

Best Communication Platform with Enriched and Outstanding Features

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Microsoft Teams is being used by our organization as a communication platform, conducting live sessions, video conferencing and scheduling meetings with external partners, vendors and clients to enhance the business functioning and increasing productivity.

Also Teams Creation helps you to post important updates and share content meant for specific group of people, no need to inform and update individual resources. Also Teams SharePoint is really magnificent and has been of great use for IT professionals. Important documents can easily be accessed as needed.
  • Video conferencing.
  • SharePoint.
  • Gif sharing, emoji enabled, code snippet option, sticker, attachment.
  • No limitations as such.
Microsoft Teams is well suited in several scenarios - scheduling meetings, hosting live sessions and video conferencing.
On getting familiar with Teams and using it everyday, I am not having a single complaint, a true successor of Skype For Business. Everything has been incorporated in the product to enhance your communication with business colleagues and clients.

Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
February 18, 2020

Microsoft Teams good for some.

Score 1 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
It is being used by the whole organization as an instant messenger, as a place to share files and as a place to share calendars. The instant messenger does not alert you very well. I miss messages all the time. The share calendars doesn't work very well because it does not add information to my Outlook calendar. This is inconvenient because I have to add information to 2 different calendars. The sharing files does works pretty well and this does solve some problems.
  • Sharing files
  • The instant messaging
  • Share calendars
It is well suited for file sharing. We had to share a file within the department where the department was doing some testing on an upgrade to our payroll software system and we shared a document to show our individual testing. Some testing requires someone else to be completed with a particular job and this can be verified so the testing can move along at a good pace that way.
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
February 18, 2020

Great Tool for a Variety of Communication Needs

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use Microsoft Teams across multiple organizations within the company to avoid as many internal emails as we can and also for video meeting purposes. Since we have multiple campuses, we are able to use Microsoft Teams to have meetings to discuss ongoing projects with our team members at various office locations.
  • Ease of Use
  • Blur Feature in Video Conferencing
  • Slow processing
  • Lagged sound
Microsoft Teams is especially great for use with individuals outside our organization as all they need is a link to be able to connect. No need to create an account or download software. While it has many great uses, it should not be used for mass communication. Email would be better for that.
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
February 14, 2020

Great tool for collaboration and managing projects

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Microsoft Teams is being used to allow team members to collaborate better and to share documents amongst each other.
  • Sharing documents
  • Host meetings
  • Connecting with remote teammates
  • Add additional Themes
  • Less clutter within Teams space
  • Better display different documents being shared within each Teams space
  • Great for working with remote colleagues or ones who are cross-country or far away.
  • Email isn't always the best so Microsoft Teams allowed us to host meetings and share documents easily.
Read this authenticated review
Karen Zelzer | TrustRadius Reviewer
November 06, 2019

Microsoft Teams, connecting employees both in and out of the office

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use Microsoft Teams for group discussions and chats between coworkers who are on the other side of the office. We are phasing out our landline phones which we used to use to page someone at their desk. We are now using Microsoft Teams to have conversations and "page" a coworker instead of trying to hunt them down in the office. We are also working on becoming more mobile and allowing more employees the option to work remotely, Microsoft Teams allows us to see who is online and provides an easy way to contact them when they are away from the office.

Right now our Engineering and Administration departments are the main groups using Microsoft Teams, the goal is to have this be used company-wide.
  • Lets employees know who is online and makes it easy to contact them for questions.
  • Able to see if someone is busy and should not be disturbed which helps save time in trying to contact them or hunt them down.
  • Allows specific groups to be created where we can share ideas and brainstorm without having to interrupt other employees in the office.
  • Wish there way a better way to organize who you see on the side bar, right now I only know of chats being organized by Recent or by Contacts.
  • Wish you could zoom out on the calendar, I like seeing multiple weeks and even the whole month so I know when meetings are coming up. Right now you can only view the calendar in Day, Work Week, or Week mode.
Can have group chats on topics that only concern a few employees. We have a Technology group where we add and brainstorm new applications and software that might be appropriate for our company. It's a good way to organize our ideas and thoughts without having to send out mass email chains and we can discuss the ideas at our next meeting.
Microsoft Teams also lets us efficiently communicate with remote workers since email can lag. This allows almost real-time conversations and collaborations for our employees.
Read Karen Zelzer's full review
Shanti Sharma | TrustRadius Reviewer
January 29, 2020

The undefined truth

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
The main aim of Microsoft Teams is to connect staff and enhance collaboration. It has provided an alternative to email communications. I think this is a digital transformation of an office space. It has provided a safe space for our company communication, which provides many options for sharing documents, files, etc. Before this our organization was using emails or general messaging applications which has many limitations and some fear of breach too. In our organization every department has their own Teams account and it is controlled by their heads, so there is no fear of collision between them.
  • The best part of Microsoft Teams is that they keep all records of conversation within the meetings. So there is no need to use any screen recorders or any other application to record the chats, whether you are one on one or you are with a group.
  • The command box which is used to search anything within Microsoft Teams is very useful. You don't need to navigate all chats, you just have to search for the name in the command box and it will show you that.
  • It doesn't have a group calendar option, which is pretty annoying.
  • I have found that the permission settings are pretty confusing.
Microsoft Teams is important because prior to its introduction, the company had only modest success in establishing a collaboration tool beyond email. There is Sharepoint for document collaboration, and there is a real-time communication and meetings from Microsoft which is Skype for Business, and now rolled into Teams. These are some good business social networking tools which are used by almost every organization.
Since it is a part of the Office 365 family, it also integrates with other Office 365 apps such as Word, Excel, presentation and many more. Microsoft is also focusing on security as well. The Data from Teams is encrypted which is avoiding data breaching.
Read Shanti Sharma's full review
Charles R. Coggins III | TrustRadius Reviewer
January 23, 2020

MS Teams a wonderful small business application

Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
MS Teams is being used by our entire organization. We mostly use Teams as a form of communication between all the employees. There has been plenty of times though where we use the video chat functions to do meetings with members of the teams who are out of state. We were looking into using VoIP that is also built-in, but this is super expensive even for a small company like ourselves. The business problem this solves for us is the ability to quickly communicate with each other without having to send out an email and hoping the other user gets it. This also allows you to see in Teams if the user is available, busy, away, or just not online at all.
  • Teams is excellent for a business where employees in the company are not located in the same building and need to communicate with each other.
  • Team's does Video and Audio calling really well. We have not experienced any issues with quality as of yet.
  • The biggest downfall with Teams is some users experience slowness with this product. I personally have not had an issue, but I am the IT person who goes around and fixes issues in-house and I sometimes see Teams causing huge CPU and Memory spikes and watch the software lag on peoples PC's for no reason.
  • I also don't like the way it stores attachments. If you add an attachment to a message it will store it in a folder and sometimes that folder is really hard to find.
I really think MS Teams is well suited for any organization. I don't have experience with Slack or any other actual business messaging service though. If you have people you need to speak with frequently then this is a great solution. It works really well for IT Support especially when we have new staff that always require help. They can just send screenshots of what they are seeing in a message to a group of support people (you can create groups and add a bunch of people to the group) and someone can help them out pretty quickly.

The only thing I can think of that would not be a good scenario would be if you are running mostly Linux desktops. Teams did just come out with a Linux version though, but I have not had a chance to use it. Also if you didn't like to use MS Products there are other options out there.
Read Charles R. Coggins III's full review
Zack Uzzle, ITIL, ATD Master Trainer | TrustRadius Reviewer
January 21, 2020

Teams: A robust collaboration suite that helps you get things done!

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
The majority of departments at my organization use Microsoft Teams even though we haven't officially implemented it. Primarily, my department uses teams to organize our work, hold weekly team meetings as well as integrate with other platforms such as Trello and Microsoft Planner. In terms of collaborative work, Microsoft Teams has been really helpful in condensing various tool sets into one simple platform.
  • Voice and video quality
  • System integrations
  • There are a lot of different functions within Teams, so there's a bit of a learning curve.
  • It would be nice if there were different color themes to choose from (a dark theme would be excellent).
Microsoft Teams' integration with Outlook (specifically calendar) and the ability to hop into a video meeting quickly and easily is a great time saver. Organizing work through various team pages and ability to attach or sync files makes it super simple to share work and collaborate. While Teams is great for use with teams (hence the name), I don't know that I'd use it independently.
Read Zack Uzzle, ITIL, ATD Master Trainer's full review
Chris Carpenter | TrustRadius Reviewer
January 21, 2020

Microsoft Teams is the robust and integrated collaboration platform I have been waiting for.

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Microsoft Teams is being used by our entire portfolio and across all operating companies. I work for an operating company within a portfolio of companies for a large holding company, Danaher. At the highest level, we use Teams as a meta collaboration platform for messaging, contextual collaboration as a progression from SharePoint (we still use SharePoint), as a meeting center that replaced Skype and WebEx, and as a cross-OpCo collaboration platform. It is, for us, the early stages of moving from a collaboration model that is primarily SharePoint based to Teams. One of the surprising uses is as an enablement tool for some of the Office 365 tools like Planner.
  • It handles meetings really well--both video and audio.
  • The mobile client is a very nice value add.
  • The ad-hoc SharePoint that can be used in Teams is not integrated under the governance of existing enterprise versions, so users can get confused about what they are using.
  • Integration of Office 365 tools is not fully functional like their standalone instances.
Microsoft Teams is particularly well suited for communications - chat, web conference, video conference, and telephony. Teams does a great job of creating some robust ad-hoc contexts for communication (chat + files), and it allows us to communicate across operating companies efficiently and effectively. Teams also is great for integrating (in channel tabs) some of the other Microsoft Office 365 tools like Planner, SharePoint, etc.
Read Chris Carpenter's full review
Quentin Goin | TrustRadius Reviewer
January 21, 2020

Communicate quickly and efficiently.

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We are using MS Teams across a small team of 3 people. My last organization was using it across a team of 10-15 people and were moving more people to Teams as Skype for Business was the standard for years and being moved over to Teams eventually. I wish the move over to Teams would have been an organization decision rather than the grass roots impact like it was.
  • Voice quality is typically really good.
  • Sharing your screen or application works well.
  • Needing a lighter plug-in for customers who don't have Teams and need to download it to join your meeting.
  • If joining over voice and sharing screen, bandwidth requirements seem to go up more than other tools. I could be wrong on this or there are other factors going on here.
Teams works great for anyone who has Office 365 with other users in their organization. It is nicely integrated with Outlook to quickly create internal and external meeting requests. You can see all your recent files. You can request to take over another persons screen and control it. Video works great to easily have a virtual meeting to make everyone feel part of the meeting. I like being able to ping someone quickly throughout the day.
It is interesting how I end up using the tool the most of the people I communicate with use. Slack and Teams have been the 2 main tools I've experienced using. For doing demonstrations, online meetings, I've gone between Zoom (my favorite), GoToMeeting and Teams. If I want to have the presentation go as smoothly as possible with people joining easily, sound working, then I use Zoom. If it is only a couple people from a current customer, then I'm fine using Teams.
Read Quentin Goin's full review

Feature Scorecard Summary

Task Management (32)
7.5
Gantt Charts (12)
6.0
Scheduling (28)
7.5
Workflow Automation (15)
7.0
Mobile Access (39)
8.6
Search (36)
7.8
Visual planning tools (22)
6.5
Chat (45)
9.0
Notifications (44)
8.3
Discussions (42)
8.6
Surveys (16)
7.4
Internal knowledgebase (18)
7.3
Integrates with GoToMeeting (6)
7.0
Integrates with Gmail and Google Hangouts (6)
6.8
Integrates with Outlook (39)
9.0
Versioning (27)
8.0
Video files (30)
8.3
Audio files (30)
8.4
Document collaboration (40)
8.3
Access control (32)
7.8
Advanced security features (23)
7.7
Integrates with Google Drive (8)
8.2
Device sync (25)
8.7

About Microsoft Teams

Microsoft Teams combines video conferencing software with team collaboration tools. The communications platform allows MS Office users to conduct conference calls and share files via SharePoint, and join or initiate a group chat.

Microsoft Teams features three tiers of pricing. The first is a subscription-less, free option that offers the same features as the other two tiers but does not offer administration tools like analytics and access to on-premise servers, or support features like 24/7 phone and web support. The second and third tiers are based on the size of your business and its conferencing needs. Its “Office 365 Business Premium” option starts at $12.50 a month per user, with a required annual commitment, and its “Office 365 E3” option for enterprises starts at $20 a month per user, also with a required annual commitment.

Key Features
Meetings: Meet with teams of 10 or 10,000. Host audio, video, and web conferences with anyone inside or outside your organization or go big with live events.

Calling: Its Phone System feature enables PBX capabilities including call control in Office 365 and replaces on-premises PBX. Its calling features are customizable to fit your organization’s unique needs.


Microsoft Teams Technical Details

Operating Systems: Unspecified
Mobile Application:No