TrustRadius
Slack is a group messaging or team collaboration app that aims to simplify communication for businesses. Features include open discussions, private groups, and direct messaging, as well as deep contextual search and message archiving, and file sharing. Slack integrates with a number of other tools, such as MailChimp, Dropbox, and Google Drive. The product is free to use, and also has paid plans with more features and greater controls. The company has raised $340M in funding and boasts 800k users.Slack- a great tool and embraced by our group!Our department of IT project development uses Slack for communication between team members. This enables us to work remotely and more efficiently, and also allows us to target communication easily to individuals as well as custom groups. The whole organization has not started using this product at this time. But every member of the IT project development team is actively using this to discuss and share project issues and concerns as well as for department announcements, and various social uses- such as lunch planning, sharing various interests and items on the internet.,Sending notifications when messages are sent to you. Ease of user interface. Ability to add and communicate to people outside of your organization. Ability to share images and documents.,We are happy with all the funcationality in Slack.,9,I believe this has increased productivity amongst the team in that we can get immediate responses to issues and questions, allowing us to have a better continuous flow of work Having an easy to use tool like this speeds up on boarding, as new team members can easily learn. They also will have access to all existing resources within the tool We have been able to customize communication groups to include those appropriate, eliminating unnecessary noise regarding areas not relevant to particular team members.,Skype for Business (formerly Lync),ZenHub, Microsoft Visio, Microsoft Office 2016, WorkfrontSlack will raise the level of internal communication of your companyOur company was looking for a tool to standardize and centralize all internal communication. This limited the use of emails and helping to prevent conversations and exchange of confidential information of the company or projects of marketing actions and information were being exchanged free by there being able to be leaked. Slack was the choice, became the company's internal communication tool, centralized communication and also gave more agility, besides efficient, Slack proved very modern and attractive, officials love to work with it.,Plugins and integrations - Slack has many interesting plugins and integrations that leave the tool with the most modern air, such as the Giphy plugin that allows you to insert GIFS of reactions in your conversations only using search phrases. Apps - mobile apps are not just web-based adaptations to work in a basic way, on the contrary, Apps are robust, complete and seek to use the full functionality of each mobile platform (iOS /Android). Interface - Slack has a clean, modern, intuitive look and this helps to take the "weight" of the constant messaging, the employees spend hours communicating in Slack and its interface helps to make this journey lighter and more pleasant.,The sorting of channels - it's a bit confusing, could be better sorted, it would make it easier to search and make it more agile. Search - It could also improve, it is not bad, but in some cases (rare) it is difficult to find the term that you want. Heavy performance in other operating systems - At least in Linux, Slack seems to do a little more machine performance than when it is used on a computer running Windows.,10,Slack streamlines all the internal communication of the company, consequently helps to streamline several other procedures of the company thus giving more time of productivity to the officials. Slack is also an attractive and pleasant program for the officials, who like to use it, the look of it helps soften and delay fatigue due to hours of message exchanges, which would certainly be more stressful if they were made through an email exchange.,Skype,Zendesk, Adobe Connect, Sage Intacct, Shopify, ESET Endpoint SecurityFun, fresh communicationsSlack is used across our organization, in addition to other messaging software, to connect individuals and make it easy to communicate. Most people prefer Slack over the other available tools because of its ability to save messages and files in an easy, unobtrusive way, as well as for the "fun" aspects of it that make communicating at work enjoyable.,Slack enables us to use fun functions such as "/giphy" to make our communications more fun and casual. GIF wars end up bringing our department closer and injecting team spirit and humor into what could normally be stressful days. Slack is also great for creating quick, temporary groups. It's nice to be able to get a group message going and then have the option to just stop using it or to convert it to a private channel later. One of the best things is how Slack saves message history. You can close any DM, including group DMs and then pull it back up later. This enables you to save the information and history without having a cluttered list of interactions.,It's a minor point and one that's likely outside of Slack's core competencies, but if you're looking for a communication tool that also includes voice chat, this isn't it.,10,Slack makes it easier and quicker to get answers I need. While I'm not involved in the ROI measurements of software, I can say that it has helped me complete my projects quicker.,Skype for Business and MiCloud Connect (formerly ShoreTel),Microsoft Office 365, Qualtrics, Tableau DesktopSlack, a best-in-class collaboration toolSlack is a collaboration software used by our client. It is a truly amazing piece of collaborative software which has so many features. On top of that, it is extendable and add-ons can be installed to integrate new features. It is also easily integrated with microservices to provide alerts using hooks.,It is amazing, if not the best at what it does. It is extensible, many features can be integrated with this. It helps organize our workspace.,Slack has very little room for evolvement, it has almost done everything perfectly. It has an initial learning curve since it is different from other messaging apps. It can be a little resource intensive but given the features, it is hardly surprising.,10,Ultimate collaboration tool helps for effective team communication. Advanced tools for project management helps in cost savings. Seamless integration with third-party software makes adoption faster and saves man hours.,,Microsoft Office 365, Gitlab, GitHubTHE office communication software you can't live without.We use Slack as a primary communication tool within our organization. Being able to assign channels to group conversations, as well as instantly communicate with colleagues makes it an ideal tool for our organization. With remote employees, Slack is especially helpful at keeping everyone on the same page without having to sift through a ton of email for quick questions or just friendly chat.,Communications Grouping Conversations,So far, none. Slack has been great.,10,Fantastic Tool - has cut down on email drastically,
Unspecified
Slack
2158 Ratings
Score 8.8 out of 101
<a href='https://www.trustradius.com/static/about-trustradius-scoring' target='_blank' rel='nofollow'>trScore algorithm: Learn more.</a>TRScore

Slack Reviews

<a href='https://www.trustradius.com/static/about-trustradius-scoring#question3' target='_blank' rel='nofollow'>Customer Verified: Read more.</a>
Slack
2158 Ratings
<a href='https://www.trustradius.com/static/about-trustradius-scoring' target='_blank' rel='nofollow'>trScore algorithm: Learn more.</a>
Score 8.8 out of 101
TrustRadius Top Rated for 2019
Show Filters 
Hide Filters 
Filter 2158 vetted Slack reviews and ratings
Clear all filters
Overall Rating
Reviewer's Company Size
Last Updated
By Topic
Industry
Department
Experience
Job Type
Role

Reviews (1-25 of 104)

  Vendors can't alter or remove reviews. Here's why.
Amy Sternin profile photo
April 15, 2019

Review: "Slack- a great tool and embraced by our group!"

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Our department of IT project development uses Slack for communication between team members. This enables us to work remotely and more efficiently, and also allows us to target communication easily to individuals as well as custom groups. The whole organization has not started using this product at this time. But every member of the IT project development team is actively using this to discuss and share project issues and concerns as well as for department announcements, and various social uses- such as lunch planning, sharing various interests and items on the internet.
  • Sending notifications when messages are sent to you.
  • Ease of user interface.
  • Ability to add and communicate to people outside of your organization.
  • Ability to share images and documents.
  • We are happy with all the funcationality in Slack.
It is especially valuable in helping with communcation between remote team members. The ability to call and share screens is really helpful, and has become our go to method to communicate, eliminating the need for Skype and our various conference call systems available in our company. Using Slack for calls and meetings is now extensive within our group, and is done many, many times per day. it is easy to add people and to share and give sharing capabilities to other team members.
Read Amy Sternin's full review
Marcio Vizoli profile photo
April 10, 2019

Review: "Slack will raise the level of internal communication of your company"

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Our company was looking for a tool to standardize and centralize all internal communication. This limited the use of emails and helping to prevent conversations and exchange of confidential information of the company or projects of marketing actions and information were being exchanged free by there being able to be leaked. Slack was the choice, became the company's internal communication tool, centralized communication and also gave more agility, besides efficient, Slack proved very modern and attractive, officials love to work with it.
  • Plugins and integrations - Slack has many interesting plugins and integrations that leave the tool with the most modern air, such as the Giphy plugin that allows you to insert GIFS of reactions in your conversations only using search phrases.
  • Apps - mobile apps are not just web-based adaptations to work in a basic way, on the contrary, Apps are robust, complete and seek to use the full functionality of each mobile platform (iOS /Android).
  • Interface - Slack has a clean, modern, intuitive look and this helps to take the "weight" of the constant messaging, the employees spend hours communicating in Slack and its interface helps to make this journey lighter and more pleasant.
  • The sorting of channels - it's a bit confusing, could be better sorted, it would make it easier to search and make it more agile.
  • Search - It could also improve, it is not bad, but in some cases (rare) it is difficult to find the term that you want.
  • Heavy performance in other operating systems - At least in Linux, Slack seems to do a little more machine performance than when it is used on a computer running Windows.
If you are looking to centralize, standardize your internal communication, give it more security and agility, Slack is a great choice, adapting to it is super fast, its implementation is easy, employees love working with slack, so if you have a company with an average number of employees or have branches in different places, or if you need an internal communication tool, it's a chance to Slack.
Read Marcio Vizoli's full review
Jennifer Pardi-Cusick, MBA, PMP profile photo
November 12, 2018

Slack Review: "Fun, fresh communications"

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Slack is used across our organization, in addition to other messaging software, to connect individuals and make it easy to communicate. Most people prefer Slack over the other available tools because of its ability to save messages and files in an easy, unobtrusive way, as well as for the "fun" aspects of it that make communicating at work enjoyable.
  • Slack enables us to use fun functions such as "/giphy" to make our communications more fun and casual. GIF wars end up bringing our department closer and injecting team spirit and humor into what could normally be stressful days.
  • Slack is also great for creating quick, temporary groups. It's nice to be able to get a group message going and then have the option to just stop using it or to convert it to a private channel later.
  • One of the best things is how Slack saves message history. You can close any DM, including group DMs and then pull it back up later. This enables you to save the information and history without having a cluttered list of interactions.
  • It's a minor point and one that's likely outside of Slack's core competencies, but if you're looking for a communication tool that also includes voice chat, this isn't it.
Slack is great for use on teams, where quick and casual communication is appropriate. It's easy and enjoyable to communicate with this venue. I could see it working amazingly for startups and smaller teams throughout all levels of the organization but I think for larger organizations with a more formal hierarchy, this tool might not get used across levels as much.
Read Jennifer Pardi-Cusick, MBA, PMP's full review
Dhruba Jyoti Nag profile photo
March 08, 2019

Review: "Slack, a best-in-class collaboration tool"

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Slack is a collaboration software used by our client. It is a truly amazing piece of collaborative software which has so many features. On top of that, it is extendable and add-ons can be installed to integrate new features. It is also easily integrated with microservices to provide alerts using hooks.
  • It is amazing, if not the best at what it does.
  • It is extensible, many features can be integrated with this.
  • It helps organize our workspace.
  • Slack has very little room for evolvement, it has almost done everything perfectly.
  • It has an initial learning curve since it is different from other messaging apps.
  • It can be a little resource intensive but given the features, it is hardly surprising.
Slack does most things right. It is honestly one of the best collaboration software available. It has both web versions and an easy to use and install client application. It is extensible with a huge number of add-ons and the list is still growing. It can be integrated with many third-party systems quite easily. It also helps organize our workspaces efficiently.
Read Dhruba Jyoti Nag's full review
Travis Brown profile photo
March 04, 2019

Slack Review: "THE office communication software you can't live without."

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use Slack as a primary communication tool within our organization. Being able to assign channels to group conversations, as well as instantly communicate with colleagues makes it an ideal tool for our organization. With remote employees, Slack is especially helpful at keeping everyone on the same page without having to sift through a ton of email for quick questions or just friendly chat.
  • Communications
  • Grouping Conversations
  • So far, none. Slack has been great.
  • The best intra-office communication tool available, hands down.
  • This is the best tool you are going to find for communicating, grouping chat channels, and getting your team on the same page.
Read Travis Brown's full review
Christopher F. Arnold profile photo
December 06, 2018

Review: "Slack is an app that's totally not Slacking"

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use Slack for all of us to communicate, collaborate, and stay updated on pushes from our Git repository. It's been useful to send data to and notify us on a regular basis so that we are all on the same page. Everybody currently uses it at our company but a majority of the posts come from our software engineers.
  • The ability to search ALL messages and files with it's powerful search bar.
  • The integrations that are possible with their API, creating endless bots that can be of useful to companies.
  • Being able to share files inside this application quickly and swiftly with the team.
  • Easier video/conference chat calls
  • Drop in/out voice channel like Discord
  • More customization to make it feel more comfortable for each workplace
I very strongly recommend Slack towards tech companies and less towards general small businesses. It has a lot of powerful features that can be used but it can be very overwhelming if you really don't need them all.
Read Christopher F. Arnold's full review
Ana Fernández Silva profile photo
October 19, 2018

Review: "Slack is a useful tool for organising projects"

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Slack is used in smaller groups within departments. It helps to address the lack of communication after work or when we are out of the office. We use it to organize and advertise meetings and share information about news that might be of the group´s interest. In addition, it is very useful when it comes to asking a question to specific members of the group.
  • The structure in channels allows us to keep conversations organized
  • The easy integration with bots. This is very useful for us when someone updates a repository.
  • It is a very intuitive tool.
  • Sometimes we experience some connection issues
  • Notifications across devices are sometimes missing
  • The search function can be improved, especially when we are trying to recover an old conversation
Slack fits very well on on-going projects. Also, it comes very handy for developers and coders since they can notify each other when some of them just made an update. It is less appropriate in classic office environment since the communication usually is one to one in person. Although it is most used in a professional environment, a lot of students make the most of this tool.
Read Ana Fernández Silva's full review
No photo available
April 01, 2019

Slack Review: "Great for inter-office communication!"

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use Slack to communicate with each other inside the office as an alternative to email. We also still use email, but typically for more formal requests, or if documents need to be attached. Slack is a great communication tool because anyone can create a topic-specific 'channel' and make it either an open or closed channel. This makes it very easy to find specific conversations, or have a quick, informal chat with someone in the office.
  • The user-interface is very friendly and well laid out. Its intuitive to learn how to switch between channels, find new channels, and direct message individuals.
  • There are a lot of fun GIFs, emojis, and other 'reactions' that can be used.
  • Sometimes it can be hard to search for a specific piece of information across all the channels you're a member of. For example, if there was a particularly useful link that one person shared but you don't remember which channel it was in, it can be a little difficult to find.
Slack is very well suited to informal, quick, and friendly online office interactions. It is a way to have concise (or longer) conversations without the formality of emailing. It is also much faster to quickly send a message in Slack to someone than take the time to email them. I've found that Slack is less well suited when reaching out to someone in a more formal capacity, or when large documents, power points, etc need to be shared.
Read this authenticated review
No photo available
January 02, 2019

User Review: "Slack Is Incredible And Efficient"

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Slack is used as means of communication by us and clients as well by our colleagues. It is used by a department only. It's reduced our internal email. All our work is now done at a faster rate than before due to faster communication. In my opinion, it is way faster than Skype for Business.
  • It's reduced our internal email.
  • Cost management.
  • Slack provides a much better system to communicate with your clients as well as your colleague. You can directly communicate with your clients using Slack.
  • Cannot preview document without downloading.
  • Need a feature of video conferencing as well.
Sometimes we need urgent help/suggestion from our colleagues or just from clients. So, using Slack we can immediately contact them and get our issue resolved. You can also create a group and get help from several members as well.
Read this authenticated review
No photo available
October 29, 2018

Slack Review: "The Bee's Knees"

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
I use Slack to communicate with my colleagues. I also use slack to track incoming requests from different teams across the organization and to transfer large files that may be too large for email to handle. So many features and the file sharing absolutely key as Outlook sends so many issues with file storage.
  • Easy to use
  • Many apps for integration
  • The mobile app experience is great and has nice notification features
  • Doesn't completely kill email as there are other colleagues in the organization who aren't using slack
  • A little bit steeper of a curve to pick-up on, but so powerful once the team is on board
If you have multiple groups that you want to keep in the loop but not necessarily in the communication the concept of channels are perfectly suited.
Read this authenticated review
Alissa Levanway profile photo
October 16, 2018

User Review: "Slack - The ultimate IM Software"

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use Slack as a way to communicate between our 4 offices. All departments use and new staff are trained on it. The option to have separate channels makes it really easy to find updates by department or team or by office.
  • Channels - We really like having specific channels by office and one that includes all employees. This is great for when specific events are happening or if an employee fields a call from another office and needs to look for another employee to field it too. Communication has really increased with these options
  • Fun - The option to add gifs makes it fun to IM people. Also being able to add emojis adds another level of fun. We can "vote" on posts with our "reactions". It makes it much easier to understand people's tone when you have someone adding a fun gif at the end of a message.
  • Notifications - The various options of getting notified on messages really is handy. You have it where you can do pop ups or someone can @ you in a message and a subthread comes up. Also the option for notifications to come to your phone is great for offsite employees.
  • It took me a while to figure out how to share a screen. The call button wasn't very obvious to me that I had to click that before I could share a screen.
I think the program is much better than some other IM softwares our company has tested out. It's well suited for cross office communication and inter office communication. It has options such as attaching a document, sharing photos, voting, the fun aspect. It's a well rounded program and I'd highly recommend it for a company that has more than 20 employees.
Read Alissa Levanway's full review
Matthew Berry profile photo
October 16, 2018

User Review: "Slack makes communication easy"

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use Slack throughout our entire organisation. It's an incredible piece of software which makes segmenting announcements a simple & effective process. One of the most attractive features that this software provides is the ability to integrate seamlessly with many third party software vendors, making the benefit two-fold.

It's thanks to integration potential that we're able to schedule alerts, announcements, birthday reminders and more all in one central location.
  • Slack provides the ability to create to-do list style reminders at specific times & recurring intervals.
  • Slack makes direct messaging, announcements & communication in general easy.
  • Slack provides a great way to get to know your colleagues & have a transparent conversation history.
  • There's a slight learning curve involved with the reminder interface.
  • Offline chat is problematic & LAN sync not always effective.
  • Private channels can clutter up your work-space pretty easily, so be sure to restrict access.
Slack is ideal for company-wide correspondence, announcements & reminders. I wouldn't specifically recommend Slack as a direct messaging software replacement, though it definitely has merit in its ability to bring groups of individuals together & set up reminders for specific tasks in departmentally focused channels. The free version of the software is excellent, too.
Read Matthew Berry's full review
Matthew Vita profile photo
September 24, 2018

Review: "Slack is an amazing chat system for mid to large sized businesses"

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Across the whole organization- but the ease of quickly containerizing groups and issues is how we use it. So departments can have their own space, and groups can be created on the fly for quick solutions or brainstorming. It's a cool, and also fun tool for communication. Huge upgrade from other ways to chat.
  • Securely containerize group chats for organization of needs.
  • Share files and data internally for quick collaboration.
  • Real-time notifications for important pieces of information to be able to act or respond directly when necessary.
  • The sorting of channels is not my favorite. There are ways but definitely needs improvement.
  • Search is clunky. Not bad, but I find the UI for that piece to be a bit overwhelming.
  • Apps is a section I haven't delved into. Sounds like there are cool things to do or integrate, but its not advertised well.
It's an amazing communication tool. Does what your average IM system would do, but adds details to make it a better user experience while making it fun with images/gifs etc

If you simply need chats, and no images/doc sharing/search capabilities, you'd be fine with another tool.
Read Matthew Vita's full review
Miroslav Bobryshev profile photo
August 10, 2018

User Review: "Slack's power."

Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Slack is used across the whole organization for communicating with every professional. It is the easiest way to discuss work tasks.
  • When discussing, you can attach images. Slack gives enough space for files to share.
  • You can create a separate chat for each topic.
  • There is integration with a large number of external services like Trello.
  • Each team member receives notifications only about those messages that are addressed specifically to him.
  • API as a whole is very poor. API does not provide the ability to customize widgets in the chat.
  • Linux clients use memory very intensively.
  • Proprietary application (not free for distribution).
Communicating in Slack, we can discuss with a texturing artist some questions about the 3D Character, in the process of discussion, which raises a question to the Modeler. And you can just call him to take part in the discussion - "@Modeler, have you done the Character?". He gets a call directly to himself, can read the history of our correspondence and clearly respond.
Read Miroslav Bobryshev's full review
Brent Lionel Mausisa profile photo
May 18, 2018

User Review: "Slack is best for the non-Slackers!"

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
I'm using Slack now with two of my existing clients. One from Australia and one from the US but currently based in Singapore. Slack helps to group our messaging accordingly and retrieve messages to a certain point. I love using Slack because it removes the noise that's available on Skype.
  • Slack allows you to focus on work-related messages only.
  • Slack allows you to notify relevant people who're part of a channel or group messaging.
  • Slack gives you to the ability to track back your previous messages to the group or to a particular person.
  • Slack should improve it's video call features. It had failed many times based on my experience.
  • Slack should include options so the sender will see if the person messaged have seen the message or not yet.
  • Slack should improve it's current user interface too so it looks better.
Slack is very appropriate for team or company messaging. It allows the entire team to be updated and in the loop for any updates. However, it's usually good for chatting purposes. Their voice and video call features are not that good based on my experience.
Read Brent Lionel Mausisa's full review
FRANCISCO GUTIERREZ profile photo
September 07, 2018

User Review: "My performance with Slack is good."

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Slack is a tool designed to create and establish strategies to guarantee a good service to your colleagues, clients and friends. Since we implemented this tool, the important advances we have obtained are reflected in the satisfaction of having accurate and quality information at hand. Slack has helped us to organize a myriad of tasks that relate to my activity itself.
  • It is a very easy tool to use and integrate with other platforms.
  • Establish internal chat groups to review work issues.
  • Make video calls and connect with some friends to take opinions about what I'm doing.
  • The interconnectivity with some applications or tools are not very good.
  • Search engine and update.
  • Very low user login design.
With this tool it is easy to have multiple things at hand at the same time. You can integrate one tool with another in order to share information and data quickly and safely without the need to have the tool installed on your device. The speed with which you work is phenomenal and comfortable.
Read FRANCISCO GUTIERREZ's full review
Paul Jordan profile photo
September 07, 2018

User Review: "Slack is the Standard"

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
It is used across the whole org as well as within each dept separately. Huge help with the ability to have archives of shared knowledge that may fall through the cracks when employees leave or transition to new roles. In addition, it streamlines collaboration that is transactional in nature, saving time to do more important work. The emojis are surprisingly helpful with reporting.
  • Ease of communication.
  • Seamless experience across devices.
  • Enjoyable to use.
  • The search function could be improved for scope.
  • Can get hectic.
  • Would like ability to control privacy of messages more fully.
When collaborating with peers in different offices, floors, countries it provides a seamless experience that nurtures collaboration. It is very helpful in bucketing internal issues in different rooms and then segmenting a response based on those.
Read Paul Jordan's full review
Ronald Melendez profile photo
May 13, 2018

"Slack Review"

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Slack is perfect for working with computers remotely. In my case I used it in a company where we worked remotely, and it works perfectly, has many functions, and the best thing is that the mobile app works wonders. You can chat with your team work constantly and keep your group organized. Besides that you can share many things in a conversation, you can also activate notifications, on the desktop and always be attentive to your chats. I've also used it to conduct remote conversations and inductions through a slack chat since you can share different types of files and it's pretty good
  • Mobile app works perfectly
  • Integration with 3rd party app
  • You can share code snippets for developers
  • Instant messaging, with many people at the same time
  • Does not allow to make video calls
  • Does not show the last time the user was active
  • High influence on the border of belonging to comparison groups
  • The notifications can be very distracting
It can improve the performance of the team, and can also save a lot of time. Because of Slack there are no meetings or lost time, as it targets specific issues, and everyone is from your job, you do not need a conference room for a meeting.

It's perfect for remote teams; everyone can contribute ideas and participate, using instant messaging so there is no need to use corporate emails within Slack. You can attach almost everything and you can receive all your colleagues in real time.
Read Ronald Melendez's full review
Richard Molina profile photo
May 03, 2018

Slack Review: "The best way to maintain optimal communication in the company."

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
I use slack to communicate with all the members of the departments and programmers of the different projects of the company.
It is an excellent application and is the one that we use even for conferences and video calls since it works quite well.
The history that is kept for all conversations is quite useful because, thanks to that, we keep a record of everything we talk about in the company.
The groups are also quite useful and we use them to divide the company into departments.
  • What I like most about Slack is that it maintains a good conversational history that is very useful for storing important files such as databases and programs
  • Video calls are good and fast, sometimes even better than other video conferencing providers
  • The classification by groups among the contacts is important to keep classified the departments and the groups of development so as to notify instantly of any novelty.
  • When the internet connection gets slow it is a little problematic to connect, log in and obviously make video calls.
  • Storage is limited. When there are many files in the conversation, old messages are deleted.
  • There should be more documentation for the Hispanic-American community.
I like to laze because it is quite stable, it can easily be all day connected to a working day and does not present any type of failures.
Read Richard Molina's full review
Denise Martinez, MBA profile photo
August 03, 2018

Slack Review: "Great for communication across offices."

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
[It's being used] Across the whole organization - great for working internationally. All of our team members use it daily to talk about projects, send files from Word docs to images, integrate with Hubspot, etc.
  • Quick communication
  • Categorizing conversations and projects
  • Communicating across offices
  • Desktop notifications can be distracting
  • Great for working with remote employees.
  • Not great if you want to not get distracted easily.
Read Denise Martinez, MBA's full review
Niki Mason profile photo
June 01, 2018

"Slack Review"

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Slack is used as an internal way to connect different departments within our company. It helps communicate needs and requests seamlessly.
  • Instant notification on feeds, so nothing gets missed.
  • Different channels to help keep things organized
  • View individual threads
  • Nothing to note at this time
Communication between our web developers and QA, helps speed up the process of fixing bugs. Also allows for screen shares, to see exactly what someone is talking about.
Read Niki Mason's full review
Aviva Kerstein profile photo
May 28, 2018

User Review: "Slack for the Win!"

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
The entire HuffPost organization uses Slack. We have separate channels for editorial, products, and engineering. It is a great way to communicate with multiple people in various departments or a group of people in one department. The Slack integrations for Github are very useful to the engineers. We also have a bot built in that communicates any known technical issues with internal systems to the other departments.
  • GitHub integrations
  • Private channels vs public channels
  • The mobile app is amazing!
  • Threads are sometimes confusing
Any business can use it as a very effective and easy tool.
Read Aviva Kerstein's full review
Ade Fowler profile photo
May 23, 2018

User Review: "Slack - Fun To Use"

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Slack is being used as an internal tool to communicate with others within the network to coordinate meetings, campaign planning and brainstorming and even general chat.
  • Slack allows you to create team-specific channels very easily. These channels can be either private (to those invited) or public (open for all in the network)
  • Slack has a very good Gif and emoji creation feature
  • It's easy to create polls and votes
  • Missing out on messages on group channel can be annoying as they do not show up unless they are addressed to all or to you specifically
Slack is well suited to creating discussions when it relates to planning, campaigns or socially.
Read Ade Fowler's full review
Jake Sleyster profile photo
May 22, 2018

User Review: "Slack, the scheduler that gives back"

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Slack has yet to be accepted by the whole organization, but I am using it in my interactions with the teams that I work with. I use it for agendas, scheduling meeting times, setting polls, and coordinating events for the teams I work with. Slack addresses the mass communication within a team along with simple scheduling tasks that integrate multiple peoples calendar.
  • Passes along messages and allows for easy communication.
  • Integrates schedules to perfectly fit meetings in.
  • Has good reminders and notifications that allow you to know what is going on.
  • Easy to remember coding schemes for polls and asking questions.
  • It has a slow startup speed
  • It lingers in the background and has latency
  • Too many different reminders. Be more subtle
Great for team integration and communication.
Read Jake Sleyster's full review
No photo available
May 25, 2018

Review: "Slack is the leader of the pack (by far)."

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Slack is our main communication platform at our enterprise. Slack is an easy communication platform with very powerful capabilities. Although their app marketplace is still growing, the powerful capabilities actually lie within the platform itself. From private to public channels, Slack is very customizable but in a shockingly easy way. The sales/support team is also very friendly and will teach Slack veterans with best-practice tips and more advanced capabilities that can further enable collaboration and remove friction from any team or organization.
  • Amazing UX/UI
  • Constant updates to make the platform better
  • The strong suite of apps and integrations that continually grow
  • File management can be improved. If there was some sort of drive interface, files could be easier managed.
  • Integrations are fairly gimmicky. Actual value from these integrations is tough to find.
Don't let anyone tell you different. Slack is here to stay. Major players like Microsoft and Facebook are developing competing platforms, but they are leagues behind Slack. Simply put, Slack understands the customer problem, while Microsoft and Facebook seem to be developing their products and trying to find the problems that it addresses along the way.
Read this authenticated review

Feature Scorecard Summary

Task Management (53)
7.4
Gantt Charts (18)
6.8
Scheduling (36)
7.4
Workflow Automation (45)
6.5
Mobile Access (95)
8.8
Search (94)
7.7
Visual planning tools (22)
7.2
Chat (104)
9.4
Notifications (103)
8.7
Discussions (100)
9.1
Surveys (42)
7.5
Internal knowledgebase (46)
8.6
Integrates with GoToMeeting (26)
7.9
Integrates with Gmail and Google Hangouts (45)
7.9
Integrates with Outlook (21)
7.5
Versioning (35)
7.3
Video files (72)
7.8
Audio files (72)
7.8
Document collaboration (59)
7.4
Access control (55)
8.4
Advanced security features (42)
8.3
Integrates with Google Drive (51)
8.3
Device sync (59)
8.5

About Slack

Slack is a group messaging or team collaboration app that aims to simplify communication for businesses. Features include open discussions, private groups, and direct messaging, as well as deep contextual search and message archiving, and file sharing. Slack integrates with a number of other tools, such as MailChimp, Dropbox, and Google Drive.

The product is free to use, and also has paid plans with more features and greater controls.

The company has raised $340M in funding and boasts 800k users.

Categories:  Collaboration

Slack Integrations

Slack Competitors

Slack Technical Details

Operating Systems: Unspecified
Mobile Application:No