TrustRadius
Slack is a group messaging or team collaboration app that aims to simplify communication for businesses. Features include open discussions, private groups, and direct messaging, as well as deep contextual search and message archiving, and file sharing. Slack integrates with a number of other tools, such as MailChimp, Dropbox, and Google Drive. The product is free to use, and also has paid plans with more features and greater controls. The company has raised $340M in funding and boasts 800k users.Slack's power.Slack is used across the whole organization for communicating with every professional. It is the easiest way to discuss work tasks.,When discussing, you can attach images. Slack gives enough space for files to share. You can create a separate chat for each topic. There is integration with a large number of external services like Trello. Each team member receives notifications only about those messages that are addressed specifically to him.,API as a whole is very poor. API does not provide the ability to customize widgets in the chat. Linux clients use memory very intensively. Proprietary application (not free for distribution).,7,Simplifies communication. Speeds up work on projects. Saves money and nerves.,Skype,Google Analytics, Microsoft Azure, Google Cloud StorageSlack is best for the non-Slackers!I'm using Slack now with two of my existing clients. One from Australia and one from the US but currently based in Singapore. Slack helps to group our messaging accordingly and retrieve messages to a certain point. I love using Slack because it removes the noise that's available on Skype.,Slack allows you to focus on work-related messages only. Slack allows you to notify relevant people who're part of a channel or group messaging. Slack gives you to the ability to track back your previous messages to the group or to a particular person.,Slack should improve it's video call features. It had failed many times based on my experience. Slack should include options so the sender will see if the person messaged have seen the message or not yet. Slack should improve it's current user interface too so it looks better.,8,Slack allowed the entire team to communicate better and focus on project communication only. Slack give us a better way of communicating through group chats and move faster on project fulfillment. Slack made our chat communication better than ever.,Skype,Google DriveMy performance with Slack is good.Slack is a tool designed to create and establish strategies to guarantee a good service to your colleagues, clients and friends. Since we implemented this tool, the important advances we have obtained are reflected in the satisfaction of having accurate and quality information at hand. Slack has helped us to organize a myriad of tasks that relate to my activity itself.,It is a very easy tool to use and integrate with other platforms. Establish internal chat groups to review work issues. Make video calls and connect with some friends to take opinions about what I'm doing.,The interconnectivity with some applications or tools are not very good. Search engine and update. Very low user login design.,10,The answers to solutions of activities to be carried out are efficient. We have many proposals and concerns about making good decisions about using tools that generate additional costs. Slack does not have this issue. Therefore, this tool does not generate additional costs in the evolution of the main activities within my organization.Slack is the StandardIt is used across the whole org as well as within each dept separately. Huge help with the ability to have archives of shared knowledge that may fall through the cracks when employees leave or transition to new roles. In addition, it streamlines collaboration that is transactional in nature, saving time to do more important work. The emojis are surprisingly helpful with reporting.,Ease of communication. Seamless experience across devices. Enjoyable to use.,The search function could be improved for scope. Can get hectic. Would like ability to control privacy of messages more fully.,10,Can be distracting. Not always used for work. Too easy to use, makes it easy for people to seem like they're working but are actually talking with friends.Slack ReviewSlack is perfect for working with computers remotely. In my case I used it in a company where we worked remotely, and it works perfectly, has many functions, and the best thing is that the mobile app works wonders. You can chat with your team work constantly and keep your group organized. Besides that you can share many things in a conversation, you can also activate notifications, on the desktop and always be attentive to your chats. I've also used it to conduct remote conversations and inductions through a slack chat since you can share different types of files and it's pretty good,Mobile app works perfectly Integration with 3rd party app You can share code snippets for developers Instant messaging, with many people at the same time,Does not allow to make video calls Does not show the last time the user was active High influence on the border of belonging to comparison groups The notifications can be very distracting,9,Team productivity There is no need to have physical meetings You can define topics for the chats and everything is stored there Due to productivity you save a lot of time which translates into money,Skype and Google Hangouts,Google Hangouts, Skype
Unspecified
Slack
1637 Ratings
Score 8.8 out of 101
TRScore

Slack Reviews

Slack
1637 Ratings
Score 8.8 out of 101
Top Rated Award
Show Filters 
Hide Filters 
Filter 1639 vetted Slack reviews and ratings
Clear all filters
Overall Rating
Reviewer's Company Size
Last Updated
By Topic
Industry
Department
Experience
Job Type
Role
Reviews (1-25 of 92)
  Vendors can't alter or remove reviews. Here's why.
August 10, 2018

User Review: "Slack's power."

Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Slack is used across the whole organization for communicating with every professional. It is the easiest way to discuss work tasks.
  • When discussing, you can attach images. Slack gives enough space for files to share.
  • You can create a separate chat for each topic.
  • There is integration with a large number of external services like Trello.
  • Each team member receives notifications only about those messages that are addressed specifically to him.
  • API as a whole is very poor. API does not provide the ability to customize widgets in the chat.
  • Linux clients use memory very intensively.
  • Proprietary application (not free for distribution).
Communicating in Slack, we can discuss with a texturing artist some questions about the 3D Character, in the process of discussion, which raises a question to the Modeler. And you can just call him to take part in the discussion - "@Modeler, have you done the Character?". He gets a call directly to himself, can read the history of our correspondence and clearly respond.
Read Miroslav Bobryshev's full review
May 18, 2018

User Review: "Slack is best for the non-Slackers!"

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
I'm using Slack now with two of my existing clients. One from Australia and one from the US but currently based in Singapore. Slack helps to group our messaging accordingly and retrieve messages to a certain point. I love using Slack because it removes the noise that's available on Skype.
  • Slack allows you to focus on work-related messages only.
  • Slack allows you to notify relevant people who're part of a channel or group messaging.
  • Slack gives you to the ability to track back your previous messages to the group or to a particular person.
  • Slack should improve it's video call features. It had failed many times based on my experience.
  • Slack should include options so the sender will see if the person messaged have seen the message or not yet.
  • Slack should improve it's current user interface too so it looks better.
Slack is very appropriate for team or company messaging. It allows the entire team to be updated and in the loop for any updates. However, it's usually good for chatting purposes. Their voice and video call features are not that good based on my experience.
Read Brent Lionel Mausisa's full review
September 07, 2018

User Review: "My performance with Slack is good."

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Slack is a tool designed to create and establish strategies to guarantee a good service to your colleagues, clients and friends. Since we implemented this tool, the important advances we have obtained are reflected in the satisfaction of having accurate and quality information at hand. Slack has helped us to organize a myriad of tasks that relate to my activity itself.
  • It is a very easy tool to use and integrate with other platforms.
  • Establish internal chat groups to review work issues.
  • Make video calls and connect with some friends to take opinions about what I'm doing.
  • The interconnectivity with some applications or tools are not very good.
  • Search engine and update.
  • Very low user login design.
With this tool it is easy to have multiple things at hand at the same time. You can integrate one tool with another in order to share information and data quickly and safely without the need to have the tool installed on your device. The speed with which you work is phenomenal and comfortable.
Read FRANCISCO GUTIERREZ's full review
September 07, 2018

User Review: "Slack is the Standard"

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
It is used across the whole org as well as within each dept separately. Huge help with the ability to have archives of shared knowledge that may fall through the cracks when employees leave or transition to new roles. In addition, it streamlines collaboration that is transactional in nature, saving time to do more important work. The emojis are surprisingly helpful with reporting.
  • Ease of communication.
  • Seamless experience across devices.
  • Enjoyable to use.
  • The search function could be improved for scope.
  • Can get hectic.
  • Would like ability to control privacy of messages more fully.
When collaborating with peers in different offices, floors, countries it provides a seamless experience that nurtures collaboration. It is very helpful in bucketing internal issues in different rooms and then segmenting a response based on those.
Read Paul Jordan's full review
May 13, 2018

"Slack Review"

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Slack is perfect for working with computers remotely. In my case I used it in a company where we worked remotely, and it works perfectly, has many functions, and the best thing is that the mobile app works wonders. You can chat with your team work constantly and keep your group organized. Besides that you can share many things in a conversation, you can also activate notifications, on the desktop and always be attentive to your chats. I've also used it to conduct remote conversations and inductions through a slack chat since you can share different types of files and it's pretty good
  • Mobile app works perfectly
  • Integration with 3rd party app
  • You can share code snippets for developers
  • Instant messaging, with many people at the same time
  • Does not allow to make video calls
  • Does not show the last time the user was active
  • High influence on the border of belonging to comparison groups
  • The notifications can be very distracting
It can improve the performance of the team, and can also save a lot of time. Because of Slack there are no meetings or lost time, as it targets specific issues, and everyone is from your job, you do not need a conference room for a meeting.

It's perfect for remote teams; everyone can contribute ideas and participate, using instant messaging so there is no need to use corporate emails within Slack. You can attach almost everything and you can receive all your colleagues in real time.
Read Ronald Melendez's full review
May 03, 2018

Slack Review: "The best way to maintain optimal communication in the company."

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
I use slack to communicate with all the members of the departments and programmers of the different projects of the company.
It is an excellent application and is the one that we use even for conferences and video calls since it works quite well.
The history that is kept for all conversations is quite useful because, thanks to that, we keep a record of everything we talk about in the company.
The groups are also quite useful and we use them to divide the company into departments.
  • What I like most about Slack is that it maintains a good conversational history that is very useful for storing important files such as databases and programs
  • Video calls are good and fast, sometimes even better than other video conferencing providers
  • The classification by groups among the contacts is important to keep classified the departments and the groups of development so as to notify instantly of any novelty.
  • When the internet connection gets slow it is a little problematic to connect, log in and obviously make video calls.
  • Storage is limited. When there are many files in the conversation, old messages are deleted.
  • There should be more documentation for the Hispanic-American community.
I like to laze because it is quite stable, it can easily be all day connected to a working day and does not present any type of failures.
Read Richard Molina's full review
August 03, 2018

Slack Review: "Great for communication across offices."

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
[It's being used] Across the whole organization - great for working internationally. All of our team members use it daily to talk about projects, send files from Word docs to images, integrate with Hubspot, etc.
  • Quick communication
  • Categorizing conversations and projects
  • Communicating across offices
  • Desktop notifications can be distracting
  • Great for working with remote employees.
  • Not great if you want to not get distracted easily.
Read Denise Martinez, MBA's full review
June 01, 2018

"Slack Review"

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Slack is used as an internal way to connect different departments within our company. It helps communicate needs and requests seamlessly.
  • Instant notification on feeds, so nothing gets missed.
  • Different channels to help keep things organized
  • View individual threads
  • Nothing to note at this time
Communication between our web developers and QA, helps speed up the process of fixing bugs. Also allows for screen shares, to see exactly what someone is talking about.
Read Niki Mason's full review
May 28, 2018

User Review: "Slack for the Win!"

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
The entire HuffPost organization uses Slack. We have separate channels for editorial, products, and engineering. It is a great way to communicate with multiple people in various departments or a group of people in one department. The Slack integrations for Github are very useful to the engineers. We also have a bot built in that communicates any known technical issues with internal systems to the other departments.
  • GitHub integrations
  • Private channels vs public channels
  • The mobile app is amazing!
  • Threads are sometimes confusing
Any business can use it as a very effective and easy tool.
Read Aviva Kerstein's full review
May 23, 2018

User Review: "Slack - Fun To Use"

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Slack is being used as an internal tool to communicate with others within the network to coordinate meetings, campaign planning and brainstorming and even general chat.
  • Slack allows you to create team-specific channels very easily. These channels can be either private (to those invited) or public (open for all in the network)
  • Slack has a very good Gif and emoji creation feature
  • It's easy to create polls and votes
  • Missing out on messages on group channel can be annoying as they do not show up unless they are addressed to all or to you specifically
Slack is well suited to creating discussions when it relates to planning, campaigns or socially.
Read Ade Fowler's full review
May 22, 2018

User Review: "Slack, the scheduler that gives back"

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Slack has yet to be accepted by the whole organization, but I am using it in my interactions with the teams that I work with. I use it for agendas, scheduling meeting times, setting polls, and coordinating events for the teams I work with. Slack addresses the mass communication within a team along with simple scheduling tasks that integrate multiple peoples calendar.
  • Passes along messages and allows for easy communication.
  • Integrates schedules to perfectly fit meetings in.
  • Has good reminders and notifications that allow you to know what is going on.
  • Easy to remember coding schemes for polls and asking questions.
  • It has a slow startup speed
  • It lingers in the background and has latency
  • Too many different reminders. Be more subtle
Great for team integration and communication.
Read Jake Sleyster's full review
May 25, 2018

Review: "Slack is the leader of the pack (by far)."

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Slack is our main communication platform at our enterprise. Slack is an easy communication platform with very powerful capabilities. Although their app marketplace is still growing, the powerful capabilities actually lie within the platform itself. From private to public channels, Slack is very customizable but in a shockingly easy way. The sales/support team is also very friendly and will teach Slack veterans with best-practice tips and more advanced capabilities that can further enable collaboration and remove friction from any team or organization.
  • Amazing UX/UI
  • Constant updates to make the platform better
  • The strong suite of apps and integrations that continually grow
  • File management can be improved. If there was some sort of drive interface, files could be easier managed.
  • Integrations are fairly gimmicky. Actual value from these integrations is tough to find.
Don't let anyone tell you different. Slack is here to stay. Major players like Microsoft and Facebook are developing competing platforms, but they are leagues behind Slack. Simply put, Slack understands the customer problem, while Microsoft and Facebook seem to be developing their products and trying to find the problems that it addresses along the way.
Read this authenticated review
August 10, 2018

Slack Review: "Great collaboration tool"

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Slack is being used company wide as the main internal communication and collaboration tool
  • Conference calls
  • Team collaboration
  • Easy to share files and write bots to automate proccesses
  • Bots only available to admins
  • Need to make easier for conference calls with multiple people
  • In chat mode people disappear from your list if you have not talk to them for a while
I think the product is going in the right direction with multiple integrations for different use cases within the workplace
Read this authenticated review
April 13, 2018

Review: "Slack is a great product with a great mobile app"

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Slack is used in most departments in our company. We switched from using Skype to Slack around two years ago and I wouldn't go back. The mobile app is incredibly convenient when I am away from my desk. It helps keep everyone in communication when necessary.
  • The mobile app is incredible. It is very easy to use and modify your notifications. When using other mobile messaging services, I never had this much control.
  • Being able to switch between multiple channels in a second or two is incredibly helpful. I have multiple internal channels as well as a few external channels and everything is very easy to access whenever I need it.
  • The app is very non invasive. When I don't want to see my chat window, I am able to hide it but still see all pertinent notifications and pick up right where I left off.
  • My one complaint about Slack is that the free version doesn't offer more storage space for old conversations. I wish I was able to pick and choose which conversations counted towards the limit of messages stored with the free service.
Slack is a much more accessible chat app than anything I've used before (Skype, IBM Sametime, Gchat). It has a ton of customization features and the mobile app is fantastic. It is incredibly easy to use while you are on your phone. The free version may not be the best for larger companies that need to be able to see old conversations.
Read this authenticated review
April 02, 2018

Slack Review: "Revamp your communications: chat with steroids"

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Slack is used by every member of our company: warehouse, logistics, sales, marketing, everybody uses it. We removed emails internally (unless you need to communicate with somebody outside of our company) and encouraged everybody to use Slack, so things can have visibility and communication be faster. It has worked great so far. We send files, comments, and separate topics in channels. We connected some APIs to give information and it is our primary communication tool.
  • It is very easy to use. The interface is extremely intuitive. You can see that these guys have thought of everything.
  • It is very flexible. You can send files, videos, pictures, integrate with any API... you name it. Almost anything you would like to do, you can do it.
  • Free version gives you great value! At least we use free version for now and, of course it has restrictions, but it's very useful anyway.
  • Great mobile apps. At least for Android, it works very well.
  • There is a search feature but sometimes it is not that useful. It could be improved. You will eventually find what you're looking for, but after some time.
  • Shortcuts are good but not perfect. I love shortcuts on almost any software I use (Gmail, HelpScout, Windows, etc) but this is not as intuitive as it could be.
We tried this in a small company (less than 20 people) and the effect was awesome. The onboarding is very easy (who doesn't know a chat app?) and using it was too. I think this is suitable for almost all kind of companies, but you need to prepare to switch some behaviors. People must know that Slack is the only acceptable channel for communicating. You need to take this very serious, otherwise people won't answer there and accountability gets lots. I've read of companies with 1,000 of employees using it and small startups. Of course, this won't work if your people doesn't use computers, are laggards at adopting technology or simply are slow at writing. But I think if you're reading this, you already broke that barrier!
Read this authenticated review
July 14, 2018

User Review: "Just Slack me!"

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
My company uses slack to communicate with everyone in our entire organization. It helps us communicate easily and instantly. Files are able to be sent and downloaded, and being able to talk in real time is a plus. It also helps people in the company work remotely and still feel like you are a part of the team.
  • Send files
  • Chat in real time
  • Aids in letting employees work remote
  • Needs an automatic update function
I love using this Slack for everything. It keeps the whole company connected, whether or not that's a good thing. It is a great tool for businesses big or small to be able to reach their employees. I am also able to have Slack on my phone, so I can use it even when I don't have my computer with me.
Read this authenticated review
July 13, 2018

User Review: "Slack is great"

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
It allows me to instantly connect with everyone in our company. Aside from being an awesome chat tool, it makes reaching someone via my mobile phone extremely easy. I can always contact IT or anyone in the company if I need to.
  • Slack allows us to be a truly global company. We have offices around the world and we have employees constantly traveling.
  • Without Slack, our work productivity would be significantly reduced.
  • I hate email :)
  • Sometimes things can get lost in Slack that need to be saved.
I almost can't work without it at this point. I rely on it for a lot of things. Most notably communication but we also have multiple integrations built into slack to notify me, my team, etc. about numerous things.
Read this authenticated review
April 23, 2018

Slack Review: "The Bee's Knees"

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
I use Slack to communicate with my colleagues. I also use slack to track incoming requests from different teams across the organization and to transfer large files that may be too large for email to handle.
  • Easy to use
  • Many apps for integration
  • The mobile app experience is great and has nice notification features
  • Doesn't completely kill email as there are other colleagues in the organization who aren't using slack
  • A little bit steeper of a curve to pick-up on, but so powerful once the team is on board
If you have multiple groups that you want to keep in the loop but not necessarily in the communication the concept of channels are perfectly suited.
Read this authenticated review
March 23, 2018

User Review: "Slack - The great communicator"

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Slack is being used by our organization to help with communication both between individuals, as well as between groups. It is being used by the entire department, and can be set up between departments to help with communication as well. The business problem it addresses is communication. Information is communicated instantly, between users helping to speed up all aspects of the organization.
  • Helps the entire organization communicate
  • Helps departments communicate
  • Helps individuals communicate with one another
  • Wish you could adjust how Slack looks - how the layout is done, colors, etc. You are given a couple of options, but nothing robust.
  • Wish it was easier to clear out old messages, rather than every message you have ever sent to that area.
If your organization does not have an instant messaging tool, Slack fits in perfectly and allows users and organization(s) to communicate effectively and collaborate.
Read this authenticated review
March 16, 2018

Slack Review: "One Chat to Rule them All, and in the Loudness Bind them"

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
  • We currently use slack at our organization for our main non-verbal internal communication.
  • We've tried to mitigate our reliance on email internally as we used to see emails slung around without much thought. Now we just fire off a quick message.
  • We have some remote employees communicate with Slack as a primary internal communication tool.
  • Additionally we utilize a third-party chat solution for a product site that allows end-users to communicate with us via slack. They don't know they are talking to us via slack but the chat widget integrates with a specific Slack channel. Slack is flexible in this way.
  • We use slack to send us reminders to follow-up with customers and leads by way of a scheduled notification/reminder from our internal custom CRM
  • We will toss files back and forth at times when we need to share something quickly
  • API Integrations
  • 3rd Party Support
  • File/Image support
  • Mobile App works well
  • Audio and Video Calls
  • Text formatting and Code sharing (for developers)
  • Notification Options
  • Performance can be slow at times
  • Using slack creates a reliance on it - like any social media, feeling that you may fall behind if you don't view it for a time
  • It can be easy to miss messages if they're not directly addressed to you (which many users may forget, although this is hardly a fault of slack — they do their best to balance message notification configuration with options)
I think slack is great for smaller teams. In a larger setting, I would be worrisome that it would devolve into a cacophony of noise. This could also be overwhelming to some individuals.
I'm involved in several other slack groups in the coding community and they can get rather busy quite quickly. Since our company is somewhat small, I feel like it fits us pretty well and remains manageable and easy to keep up with.
Read Joshua Weaver's full review
March 05, 2018

User Review: "Slack Attack!"

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Slack is used by my organization as an interoffice communication channel for both non-project related and some project-based communications. Slack is used across our organization but is utilized in various ways by different departments. It helps alleviate the issue of unnecessary emails and cluttering project boards/forums with communication that does not need to be there.
  • Slack water cooler forum is a great place for posting company and employee announcements.
  • Creation of various slack channels is a great strength of Slack, allowing certain departments to use it for project based communication that does not need to be sent in email, and others to simply communicate with employees as needed.
  • Another great strength of Slack is that as it grows, it can be integrated to other certain HRMS applications.
  • The notification system for Slack can be a nuisance at times. While it makes communication great when you are at your desk, returning to a slack/notification, and an email notification can be a bit of a nuisance and cause more clutter than it helps.
  • A cool feature that could be made better, is the notification/reply option, but at times I can't see the message in the notification, so the reply option is pointless.
  • If you are using the unpaid version, slack with wipe conversations, but using slack premium alleviates this, and I guess if you are not paying for the service, you can't complain about lower level functionality.
Slack is great for company-wide announcements, starting groups, coordinating events, and really good for engaging employees across the organization. It is a great way to bring people together as well, despite being a digital forum. Due to Slack, our employees are more in tune with each other and actually spend more time together outside of work engaging each other. Project-based communication is not as useful, but it can be done as well.
Read James Weiss's full review
March 02, 2018

Review: "Slack: great tool for fast communication"

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Slack is used in comOn as the main chat tool for fast communication. It is used by all co-workers of the agency, all departments. It works both for communication inside each department, and across departments. The main reason for us to use it is its easy-to-use user interface and versatility in terms of allowing us to chat privately, in public groups or in private groups.
  • Slack is a very simple communication program and yet, it has everything we need: possibility of private messages, possibility of creating groups (public or private).
  • The menu is very well designed, allowing us to customize if we want to see every single channel, or if we just want to see starred channels. In that sense, it is really well built.
  • Allows us to connect Slack with other tools and softwares to allow notifications.
  • Not providing a full conversation history.
  • Replying to a single message, in an open group, feels weird: it opens a side panel with messages to a given message, which makes it look weird.
  • I'd like to have the possibility of creating huge conversations with plenty of people, without having to create a group.
Slack is well suited for those seeking for an app that allows you to have fast communication, in a specific ecossystem (a company, a group of interest), with several different people, specially when one seeks to share knowledge in group, as well as have a private conversation with a person of interest.
Read Bernardo Cavalheiro's full review
January 29, 2018

Slack Review: "Simple and functional collaboration tool"

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Slack is used for collaboration between different team members of geographically distributed teams. We are using instant messaging, document sharing and even conference call to communicate and work on a number of projects. Different threads allow us to work on different projects with different groups of staff and control the progress on each.
  • IM is perfect, you can keep all your communication in single tool
  • Audio meetings have the greatest sound quality I ever saw, it includes noise cancellation without sound artifacts
  • Document sharing is very good, you can see all documents in thread with a single click
  • I have not found anything yet, it just does it`s job
We have a lot of projects with different customers, even several different workspaces in Slack. You can access all communication in a single window, easily switch between workspaces and not get lost in a number of threads and discussions. Direct messages are also useful, you can contact each person directly
Read Andrey Perepelitsyn's full review
December 28, 2017

Slack Review: "Great for community bucatini and team building"

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use Slack across our entire organization including our main office, remote offices, and remote employees. We use it for company-wide communication, project team communication, one-on-one chat, location-specific community bucatini and as hoc group chat. We do project planning, casual messaging, news and event posting, voting, doc and photo sharing, and in/out-of-office notices.
  • Entry of messages to any individual or group
  • Display of messages in a readable firmat
  • Options for customizing notifications by channel
  • User management
  • Channel management
  • Ability to mute channels such as Jira
  • More features for customizing notification to apply globally
  • Options for scheduled notifications
It is best for conversational communication back and forth rather than posting critical information that could get buried and lost in a series of exchanges between people. Great for immediate sharing of information to online users paying attention but thus can leave out those offline or not looking.
Read Matt Emge's full review
November 07, 2017

Slack Review: "Excellent for organizing by topic rather than by project"

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Collaborating with people from other organizations in a way that will organize your conversations. I like the organization of the channels by topics of discussion. I work in public policy, and it's great for working with colleagues outside your office when conducting research. It also supports Google Documents and other uploads very well.
  • Upload using Microsoft Word
  • Upload Google documents
  • Organize topics into channels
  • Allow for private discussions.
  • Although I did just say it was a key feature, uploading and sharing documents and including comments is a bit of a pain.
  • It doesn't give great previews of URLS
  • The directory could be improved.
It is definitely well-suited for organizing research topics for easy accessibility. It is also suitable for dividing up projects within an organization (such as research and development). I would say that it is far more customizable than most project management software such as Asana or Trello. The integrations could use work, but overall it is great.
Read Ashley N. Baker's full review

Feature Scorecard Summary

Task Management (48)
7.2
Gantt Charts (15)
6.0
Scheduling (33)
7.1
Workflow Automation (42)
6.3
Mobile Access (84)
8.9
Search (83)
7.9
Visual planning tools (18)
7.1
Chat (92)
9.4
Notifications (91)
8.5
Discussions (88)
8.9
Surveys (35)
7.3
Internal knowledgebase (41)
8.3
Integrates with GoToMeeting (23)
7.7
Integrates with Gmail and Google Hangouts (40)
7.5
Integrates with Outlook (17)
7.4
Versioning (32)
7.2
Video files (63)
7.7
Audio files (63)
7.8
Document collaboration (54)
7.4
Access control (48)
8.3
Advanced security features (36)
8.1
Integrates with Google Drive (46)
8.3
Device sync (53)
8.7

About Slack

Slack is a group messaging or team collaboration app that aims to simplify communication for businesses. Features include open discussions, private groups, and direct messaging, as well as deep contextual search and message archiving, and file sharing. Slack integrates with a number of other tools, such as MailChimp, Dropbox, and Google Drive.

The product is free to use, and also has paid plans with more features and greater controls.

The company has raised $340M in funding and boasts 800k users.

Categories:  Collaboration

Slack Integrations

Slack Competitors

Slack Technical Details

Operating Systems: Unspecified
Mobile Application:No