Slack Reviews

<a href='https://www.trustradius.com/static/about-trustradius-scoring#question3' target='_blank' rel='nofollow noopener noreferrer'>Customer Verified: Read more.</a>
3077 Ratings
<a href='https://www.trustradius.com/static/about-trustradius-scoring' target='_blank' rel='nofollow noopener noreferrer'>trScore algorithm: Learn more.</a>
Score 8.9 out of 100

Do you work for this company? Manage this listing

TrustRadius Top Rated for 2019

Overall Rating

Reviewer's Company Size

Last Updated

By Topic

Industry

Department

Experience

Job Type

Role

Reviews (1-25 of 178)

Cat Nguyen | TrustRadius Reviewer
December 03, 2019

Slack Supports Thriving Culture of a Global 1300+ Employee Company!

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Slack is currently being used by our entire organization. There's a small number of employees at headquarters in New York City, but the rest of the company is remote, spread all over the U.S. and the globe (UK, Germany, India, Japan, Korea). My specific department consists of 1200+ employees, and Slack is THE way that we communicate. It's a seamless, vital part of our work lives. Truthfully, we wouldn't be able to function as a company without it!
  • Flexibility around notifications. Being part of a 1200+ employee company & a member of multiple channels & groups in Slack, it's fantastic being able to control that notifications I WANT to receive (and which I'd like to "mute," another helpful function).
  • The ability to create separate "channels" & groups. This has been key in making sure communication is organized & categorized in a way that makes sense. For example, we have separate channels for announcements, tech-related troubleshooting, different departments, etc.
  • Ease of use & just plain fun. With emojis, "reactions," and gifs built in, communicating can be quite fun :)
  • A channel initially created as private can't be changed to public. (However, the reverse is possible -- public channels can be made private.)
  • The flip side of all the features, functionality, and "fun" aspects of Slack is that it can be a distraction from real work if you're not careful (there IS such a thing as falling into the Slack rabbit hole!).
When there's a team that spans time zones and continents, Slack is the perfect tool for communication & collaboration. It houses a workplace directory, so any employee can be searched for by name. Sending a direct message to any individual in the company is as simple as finding their name, then typing a message & hitting send! Essentially, it's a hub for all communication -- individual, team, and company-wide announcements can be quickly & easily disseminated using Slack.
Read Cat Nguyen's full review
Tom Laughlin | TrustRadius Reviewer
March 25, 2020

How our remote offices use Slack to remain connected

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use Slack as our primary inter team communication tool. We have integrated a number of the platforms that easily work within the tool as well as the in-platform call feature. We have created channels where we can communicate product or department specific information. We have a variety of social channels as well where we can share music, choices and lately, photos and ideas on how we are coping with the work from home status. My favorite feature is the ability to easily search issues or items. Other similar tools don't have such robust features like this so it helps me quickly see if my issue has come up.
  • Channels (specific groups)
  • Integration
  • In-platform calls
  • History
  • Customization (some limitations)
We have a remote work environment as well as several international offices. We needed a tool that allowed us to communicate among individuals, teams and different parts of the organizations (Product, Support, etc). By using Slack, we can easily share information, create unique channels to share data and then integrate many other tools that we regularly use. The in platform phone allows us to easily call one another as well.
Read Tom Laughlin's full review
JaCoby Marston, CPA | TrustRadius Reviewer
January 28, 2020

Lightning Fast Communicating

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
I love using Slack. It is by far the best communication system out on the market for businesses to use. I have been using Slack for over a year and I love how easy it is to create group chats and individual chats. I am able to connect with fellow employees with ease. It is super easy to share files and links with co-workers. Another cool thing is if another company has Slack, you can connect with them which is super nice because you can have a live chat with any user of Slack. Slack is my go-to for communicating with co-workers because it allows me to get almost instant answers.
  • Easy to communicate with fellow co-workers
  • Ability to communicate with other companies that have Slack
  • Slack downtime is very rare, if any.
  • It gets very expensive if you have a huge company
  • Unable to unread messages to remind me to read again
Slack has been built to work on your web browser, as an app on your computer, and an app on your smartphone. Slack has spent the money to make sure that their program rarely has downtime. I love how easy it is to communicate with my co-workers on Slack. It is easier than sending an email to a co-worker. Slacks improves efficiency in the company because employees are able to communicate with each other with ease especially if the company has multiple locations across the country or across the world. Slack will even let you know what time it is for the recipient you are sending the message to which is great if you have overseas employees.
Read JaCoby Marston, CPA's full review
Logan Turner | TrustRadius Reviewer
January 10, 2020

Positive Slack Review

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use Slack for all communications within our company. We communicate via direct messages or via specific channels related to departments, tasks, customers, marketing, news stations or general communication. It allows us to keep track of all things related and refer to any conversations that we had in the past.
  • Communication.
  • Organization.
  • Notifications.
  • Giphy.
Slack is very easy to use and can be very effective. I enjoy speaking through gifs, so the Giphy option is very friendly and always adds some fun to my communication. I am able to communicate with all members of my team, regardless of where they are in the US.
Read Logan Turner's full review
Harshit Bhattaram | TrustRadius Reviewer
December 31, 2019

Slack! All amazing items in a single package.

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
At our current workplace, we are connected to two teams via Slack. One is our own and the other is of a Fortune 50 company which also uses Slack. So Slack as a whole is used by the entire company and also customers/clients we interact with on a day-to-day basis. The primary business need being staying connected with colleagues and also collaborating on work is what makes Slack great software to use on a daily basis.
  • Multiple channels/groups for a specific purpose.
  • Excellent functionality for code snippets.
  • When pasting a large code snippet it hangs and has to be force closed.
  • Video calls can be improved by giving more functionality like pass control and so on.
The ability to collaborate between multiple teams including customers and clients is a superb pro feature when dealing with Slack and it's a scenario where we find Slack to be useful.
However when it comes handling a video call where multiple people speak and they are sharing the video and also want to share the screen or maybe request access to control the desktop, Slack needs improvement and it's less apt.
Read Harshit Bhattaram's full review
Gabriela Band | TrustRadius Reviewer
December 11, 2019

A great tool for any business

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Slack is used across all of the organization to help us communicate, collaborate, align and focus. I think it is the killer productivity app that helps us be more efficient on our day-to-day. The multiplicity of integrations is what generates the most value. The possibility of creating channels and threads is very helpful.
  • Works on any device.
  • Integrated with a lot of PM tools.
  • Reliability issues. Sometimes the app stops working.
  • Notifications are very annoying.
I think Slack is a really good product for organizations of all sizes. It works for startups and big corporations alike. Since it can be expensive according to the plan you choose, it is really important to make sure you take full advantage of its functionalities and not use it only as a chat software, since there are cheaper alternatives for that.
Read Gabriela Band's full review
Simisara Johnson | TrustRadius Reviewer
March 18, 2020

Good communication platform for business needs

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Slack is used as an external communication channel with our stakeholders which are based in a different time-zone. The platform is used specifically for a project. The tool makes file sharing as well as holding impromptu meetings easily. An added advantage is that groups can be created for specific needs with desired team members. The channel saves all chat records and has an inbuilt thread feature for all chats which makes it easier to track conversations.
  • Provision to create chat threads.
  • Saves chat history as per the pricing plan.
  • Provision to create channels and add guest members to specific channels.
  • Provision to add external members.
  • Call option which has good voice clarity.
  • All files shared to cumulate on a central repo could have been easy especially for admins.
Slack is well suited wherein there is an organizational restriction to communicate with external stakeholders.
Read Simisara Johnson's full review
James Buchholz | TrustRadius Reviewer
November 12, 2019

Slack is so important to the way we communicate

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
It is used in 2 of our 3 offices. It addresses 90% of our communication needs. We don't even remember what we did before Slack to communicate.
  • It's PERFECT for getting quick answers and having quick light conversations with coworkers.
  • Downtime is very rare.
  • It integrates well with other programs and has great little add-ons.
  • It can become a crutch when people become so accustomed to instant answers.
  • Can hinder productivity with add-ons and apps like Giphy.
Great for any business that needs more immediate communication than email provides. Well suited for business where workers don't work in the same room, e.g. remote workers. Slack can make it almost as good as if everyone were in the same room.

It's less well suited for serious conversations and again can hinder productivity if people start losing their focus on their project just to answer every little message.
Read James Buchholz's full review
Lokesh Meena | TrustRadius Reviewer
November 12, 2019

More than a mobile messaging app, it's Slack...

Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Being honest, we are not on Slack now. We left it a few months back and now our whole organisation uses Workplace. But when we were using Slack for our organisation, we used it for internal communication and live chat in various departments and to share project updates or documents which needed to be shared quickly. It is still very easy to use but doesn't fully meet all of our requirements.
  • It has a nice UI and is easy to set up and use. New team members could easily get updated from a particular channel as well.
  • It has both mobile and web-based versions available allowing us to use it on the go.
  • It is free for most of the cases and allowed us to create different channels or groups for different departments, teams or projects.
  • It offers easy integrations with most used services like Google Drive, GitHub etc.
  • Its paid plan is very expensive for startups and businesses having low revenue/big teams.
  • For large organisations too, it creates chaos because large numbers of users generate large data. Slack does not support much management of this.
  • Sometimes it looks like we are using a messaging app instead of a professional service, as it has all the features of instant messaging apps, like emojis, etc. Professionally sometimes, these don't seem to be useful.
Slack is very well suited if you have employees situated at different places or offices, especially if some employees have to go out for field work. It's very easy to update the task or work done remotely using Slack's mobile app. Slack doesn't seems to be useful in cases of full professional needs, as it lags in many ways in comparison to its competitors.
Read Lokesh Meena's full review
Jason Smith, DPA | TrustRadius Reviewer
November 08, 2019

Second go around with Slack not so good, why do we use this thing?

Score 1 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Well we are on our second go around with Slack. We implemented it many years ago but it fizzled out. About a year ago we resurrected the product. I just don't know about how it fits in to our enterprise. There are some areas that use it a lot to keep track of say network or SaaS issues which are timely in nature. However there are others who just don't need to use it for much. I would say there is about 20% of our division that uses it actively. Unfortunately, much of the other 80% sees it as an annoyance. Furthermore, some of the 20% that uses it seems to think that they need to communicate what they say on Slack in a duplicate manner via email or vice versa.
  • It duplicates other services that we already have really well. For example, Yammer, our LMS, and other general communications tools.
  • I like that you can add pictures.
  • It is sort of retro, like ICQ.
  • Totally annoying and disruptive to getting anything done.
  • Seems to go down the most out of all our cloud services, and we got a bunch of them.
  • The UI is just bad. Not intuitive.
  • Not a good value.
Slack would be well suited if you had a development team in Mongolia and another one in France and they did not have to talk to each other a whole lot. Slack would be a good record of fact on what might be going on between the groups. It can keep track of things, almost like a log of human interactions.
Read Jason Smith, DPA's full review
Roberto Antonio Costinho Sosa | TrustRadius Reviewer
November 07, 2019

Slack is much more than an instant messaging application

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We are currently using Slack in all work teams in the digital area. Each sector has its own Slack group and they are not interconnected. The marketing, web development, Windows application programming, and graphic design groups have their separate areas. Integration with external software tools is great. It has a very varied catalog and each digital production department makes use of the extra applications that are most convenient for it. There is also a space in Slack for the entire organization, which has a channel of official communications. It is very easy to send messages and receive them. This is where we resolve general issues and receive instructions regarding the company's management.
  • Perfect integration with external applications. The catalog is huge and responds before many needs of the digital work world.
  • Instant messaging is on another level because of all the features in the chats. The threads are great to continue a conversation.
  • Segment communication with channels that can be created at will. It's great to talk about various topics without mixing them.
  • The Search Bar is great: search even within the content of the documents shared.
  • At first, it is difficult to use Slack. It has many functions that are not intuitive to learn to use.
  • The browser application sometimes does not send notifications on time.
  • The license is expensive.
Slack maintains team communication focused on a single space. Productivity is greatly improved because integrated applications are kept in one place, which avoids distractions. It is great for digital work environments.
For occasions when you have to talk to staff who do not work in the digital areas, it is equally helpful. With the integrated Dropbox functionalities, you can share files referring to the important documentation of everyone in the company. It is not appropriate to use Slack without making the purchase of the paid license. The definitive limitation is that the free version has a limit of messages that can be saved, which includes the files that are sent.
Read Roberto Antonio Costinho Sosa's full review
Victoria Loza | TrustRadius Reviewer
January 28, 2020

Slack for professional mobile communication

Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Slack is perfect for communication between large organizations and within different departments. I like how you can send announcements to entire departments or to individual workers.
  • Slack offers notification features for different departments.
  • Slack allows one to send private messages to administrators.
  • Slack allows one to send group messages.
  • Slack could allow for a video chat feature.
  • It needs to feature more emojis and stickers for its messages.
  • It also needs a voice messaging feature like Whatsapp.
Slack is well suited as a platform for professional announcements to large groups. It is not well suited for personal video chatting.
Read Victoria Loza's full review
Marco Carnevali | TrustRadius Reviewer
January 21, 2020

Slack Review from a Product Manager

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use Slack for the whole company: we divided each department by Slack channels. We use it daily in order to connect every office [that are in different time zones.
  • Integration with third-party apps
  • Good time zone support
  • Slack Calls
  • Slack Price
Slack is the best communication system if you have offices all around the world and if you use software like Google Suite, Salesforce etc. I don't think it's appropriate for really small companies with less than 5 people.
Read Marco Carnevali's full review
Srinivasa Rao Boddeti | TrustRadius Reviewer
January 18, 2020

Excellent Collaboration and Integration Tool

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
I am using slack in my current company and [used it at my] previous company for 3 years. It has a rich set of options, we can integrate [it with] our build tools. Some of my favorite [features] include integration with SumoLogs and alerting if there are exceptions, group chatting with the concerned department, and creating channels for groups. We can't run our regular job without Slack. I am using Slack mostly for 40% of my work. I hardly use email after using Slack.
  • Integration with other systems like Sumo Logic, GitHub
  • Group chatting and screen sharing
  • Ability to dynamically add other people to a group channel
It is a really good tool if a team is working remotely and needs to work collaboratively. It is excellent with integration to Jira and Sumo.
Read Srinivasa Rao Boddeti's full review
Prad Das | TrustRadius Reviewer
January 02, 2020

Slack at an IT Campus

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use "Slack" for our day to day team and individual communication. This tool is being used across the university IT campus. For any project related work or a specific Jira ticket I am able to create a private Slack chat room to have a specific discussion and to share confidential data. The important difference that I find compared to HipChat and Slack is that the later tool gives me the abilities to correct or modify my typos or delete the messages in case it there was a typo.
  • Good for individual and team communications
  • Sharing documents and images, keeping confidential data in a private chat room
  • Maintaining corporate privacy
  • Securing data, and [ability to] delete it later as the scope gets diminished.
  • Linking with a Video chat conference tool e.g. Zoom or Webex
  • Linking a message with a telephone text or voice notification for after hours support
Well Suited for:
  • Creating a private Chat room, sharing confidential data, allowing modifying/ deleting or updating previous messages.
  • Securing data and important notes used in a group chat or private room
  • Managing Messaging Thread
  • Sharing important documents and images
Read Prad Das's full review
ISHAN DEEP | TrustRadius Reviewer
October 22, 2019

Slack - Professional Whatsapp

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Using Skype for Business, it was becoming increasingly difficult to connect all our organization's employees on a single reliable cloud solution. After careful consideration and planning by the DevOp team, we moved to Slack. It's being used for notifications, personal chats, files sharing, departmental updates, team meets, and as a personal notepad. There are still multiple plugins to support more features. After using it for 2 years myself and performing administration, I can safely say it lacks nothing. It's better than my Whatsapp!
  • App notifications using Slack Hooks.
  • Departmental updates on Slack Channels.
  • File sharing across organization.
  • Integrations with Bitbucket.
  • Personal notepad and reminder tools.
  • Calendar organizer.
  • Search feature. It's really hard to search for old data across channels and personal chats.
  • Syntax highlights for code.
  • Mobile app sometimes misses notifications.
  • Creating files inside Slack directly to send to a channel or person.
it's best suited for organizations with multiple teams and who want to cross collaborate. App notifications using Slack hooks are very easy and I personally feel that app notifications are better on Slack than on email, much less clutter!

It's not really appropriate for teams looking to work on code who are stationed across the globe. It becomes kind of hard to use Slack collaborating on multiple files in a single project.
Read ISHAN DEEP's full review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
February 16, 2020

Slack, the best 4 in 1 solution

Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Slack is the central communication tool for our organization. When I started, we were only really using Slack for instant messaging. That has grown over the years to the point where we use Slack for internal calls, messaging, company wide and private communication channels, online meetings, and inter-office calling. I really like the evolution of the solution and it has replaced multiple tools that we'd otherwise use in our organization (like email, gotomeeting) into one single solution. I really like the mobile app and the experience between devices is seamless. My only nit-pick is that sometimes searching within the app can be a little wonky. Finally, the api for the system is nice and allows for nice integrations with our internal project management tool. Their app store is also comprehensive and the salesforce integration is useful.
  • instant messgaing
  • video calls
  • integrations-ability to create help tickets with commands within Slack
  • the internal searching mechanism could be better
  • sometimes run into bandwidth issues on calls
  • have had some issues picking up the microphone on my headset sometimes
It is an excellent communication tool. It is especially useful for a remote office. The screen sharing is very well implemented. VOIP quality is also good. In many ways it will replace long email strings and dedicated voip systems for inter office communication. The app marketplace also allows for a variety of plugins that can connect slack to tools like the g-suite and salesforce.
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
December 23, 2019

Great collaboration tool and place to find experts.

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Slack is not used very centrally in our organization, unfortunately. Though we also have Microsoft Teams, the Slack offering is better at this time. Collaboration across teams is easier with Slack. Though I think Teams will catch up.
  • Collaboration within and between teams.
  • Many channels for very specific topics with experts in it.
  • A small learning curve to get the most of the product.
  • No other real negatives I can think of.
For a personal viewpoint, I use Slack in two ways: first I participate in channels that are very specific for a product or sometimes even a feature. There are experts on those channels that can help with many questions. Second, our team uses Slack to communicate on topics. The real benefit for me personally is the first use.
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
December 14, 2019

Slack is a solid group-communication platform. Clean, easy, intuitive. Offers a rich feature set and integrations.

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Slack is used across our whole organisation, both company-wide and intra-departmentally. We not only use it for communications, but also for a variety of other use cases such as field info sharing (while mobile), polling, project collaborations, data input, news and info distribution, among others. We've found that some of the use cases we used email for has shifted to Slack as well.
  • Clean, intuitive UI.
  • Easy, custom functionality development.
  • Notifications can be overwhelming at times. It would be great to have a smarter way of filtering.
  • Channels may get unwieldy. Better ability to prioritize would be helpful.
Slack is fantastic for real-time info sharing, wide dissemination, and soliciting fast responses. It is very easy to create channels and groups, enabling a user to route info effectively or communicate in a targeted fashion; it is also seamless to create side channels. Slack is great at integrating various media forms brilliantly in a clean UX.

It is not as great as a structure, prioritization, tasks, workflow, etc. It is also not easy to categorize various topics in a channel for easy reference and retrieval.
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
March 17, 2020

Slack

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use Slack as a whole to communicate service issues throughout the world and to track our Jira Service Desk tickets.
  • Through Slack you can collaborate within your terms very well.
  • You can use it to video call.
  • I do not think there are many cons to the product.
Slack is perfect for the IT industry due to the need to be able to communicate and video call with people around the world.
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
November 21, 2019

Wonderful instant communication tool

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We implemented Slack as a chat for our company. It has been a great tool. We created many groups depending on the department of the firm, some general group or event group or groups per subsidiaries since we have one HQ and three subsidiaries in 3 parts of the world. It works great.
  • It allows people to get instant responses and help with a project.
  • Slack is faster and so more productive to communicate than emails that we cannot read fast enough.
  • Because we work with three time zones, it has been a beneficial tool for us in the US, working with Europe and Asia.
  • I am not an expert, and I am not sure if I use 100% of the features that Slack offers, but maybe calling like hangout would be a valuable option to have?
  • I would like to add pictures instead of group names, not sure it is possible, but that would be helpful.
It is great to chat on the spot, ask a question, and always have someone that responds. Much better than talking to one person, especially at work, when we are ten engineers working on an installation. One of us can have the answer to a problem we might have at a client site and where we need immediate assistance. I don't think the site is secure and confidential. But I am not sure. Do the conversations get stored, archived, or deleted for security purposes?
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
November 13, 2019

Easy-to-use and Great for Organizing Your Workplace Communications

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use it for interpersonal communication throughout our organization. We have quite a few teams that make up our organization as well as offices in NYC, LA, and London. Slack makes it completely seamless for us to communicate between all of our departments as well as amongst our different offices around the world.
  • The interface is simple and easy-to-use.
  • There are so many other apps (Google Drive, Trello, etc.) that easily integrate with the platform.
  • The mobile app is clean and simple.
  • I don't love the drafts list and I wish I could turn it off. I understand its function, but for me, it is obnoxious to have to scroll all the way up to the top of the window in order to continue a message I started.
  • The calling feature sometimes kicks us off.
  • I wish there was a way to drag/drop channels and DMs into the order you want.
Slack is great for organizations that have a need for a quick communication tool between employees. Especially if certain employees are remote or you have offices in multiple locations, having a tool like Slack can be crucial. I think really tiny organizations (<10 people) might be better off just using Google Hangouts.
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
November 11, 2019

Terrific Software. Highly recommended!

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use Slack in our entire organization as a means of internal communication. It addresses a need for real-time team collaboration in different locations and time zones, as we have multiple offices.
  • Ease of use. It is straightforward and easy to navigate.
  • File sharing while maintaining file quality is terrific.
  • Viewing user groups is a great feature.
  • I don't love that I have to scroll to the top of my unread messages before I can clear the messages.
  • I wish I could see a preview of my message before it gets sent out, especially if it's a poll or something with specific formatting.
  • A poll option that is easy to use would be great.
Slack is great for quick discussion and brainstorming.
Slack is less appropriate for a situation where you're trying to delve deep into a topic or idea. The natural flow of an in-person conversation is vital to some brainstorming sessions. I wouldn't recommend Slack for an initial discussion on a big project.
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
November 01, 2019

No more slacking around!

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
It is being used across the entire organization and serves as our primary internal communication tool.
  • It allows easy dissemination of information to the broader team.
  • Feels quicker and more informal to writing emails.
  • The sharing of files is a breeze.
  • Hyperlinks in text.
Well suited for small to medium-sized companies and businesses. I could imagine Slack could become quite hectic for larger, more established companies.
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
October 28, 2019

Review by common user

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Slack is being used by the whole organization. It is used to allow communication between all members of the organization and between our developers and project managers and our clients. Slack provides manageable groups to be used however it seems fit and with innumerable add-ons, we haven't found a situation where the tool performs below our expectations. We also use it as a way to integrate our monitoring platform to our client's group and our first responders (We use Centron which is based on Nagios). The Slack administrator must have a good knowledge of the platform and/or a good knowledge of its capabilities and the willingness to learn about it.
  • Communication between members of a team
  • Communication with clients
  • Send memos
  • Making sure must-read messages were in fact read
  • Polling
  • Erasing a whole message for non-admin users. Right now, erasing a whole message just crosses the words, we must substitute the old message with something else.
  • Options to save favorites Gifs on /Giphy
  • Adding personalized Gifs
Slack is recommended to integrate your business under a same chatting tool. It's also very useful to integrate different enterprises that use Slack, with the shared channel functionality.

It's not appropriate to use Slack as a ticketing tool for the business (for instance, to request a service for the IT department).
Read this authenticated review

Feature Scorecard Summary

Task Management (94)
7.7
Gantt Charts (34)
7.0
Scheduling (69)
7.7
Workflow Automation (79)
7.7
Mobile Access (165)
9.0
Search (164)
8.3
Visual planning tools (46)
7.8
Chat (178)
9.6
Notifications (176)
9.0
Discussions (172)
9.1
Surveys (88)
8.0
Internal knowledgebase (91)
8.2
Integrates with GoToMeeting (46)
8.4
Integrates with Gmail and Google Hangouts (84)
8.6
Integrates with Outlook (51)
8.2
Versioning (72)
7.3
Video files (136)
8.2
Audio files (132)
8.1
Document collaboration (111)
7.8
Access control (98)
8.3
Advanced security features (81)
7.5
Integrates with Google Drive (102)
8.7
Device sync (107)
8.5

About Slack

Slack is a group messaging or team collaboration app that aims to simplify communication for businesses. Features include open discussions, private groups, and direct messaging, as well as deep contextual search and message archiving, and file sharing. Slack integrates with a number of other tools, such as MailChimp, Dropbox, and Google Drive.

The product is free to use, and also has paid plans with more features and greater controls.

The company has raised $340M in funding and boasts 800k users.

Categories:  Collaboration

Slack Integrations

Slack Competitors

Slack Technical Details

Operating Systems: Unspecified
Mobile Application:No