TrustRadius
Slack is a group messaging or team collaboration app that aims to simplify communication for businesses. Features include open discussions, private groups, and direct messaging, as well as deep contextual search and message archiving, and file sharing. Slack integrates with a number of other tools, such as MailChimp, Dropbox, and Google Drive. The product is free to use, and also has paid plans with more features and greater controls. The company has raised $340M in funding and boasts 800k users.One Chat to Rule them All, and in the Loudness Bind themWe currently use slack at our organization for our main non-verbal internal communication. We've tried to mitigate our reliance on email internally as we used to see emails slung around without much thought. Now we just fire off a quick message. We have some remote employees communicate with Slack as a primary internal communication tool. Additionally we utilize a third-party chat solution for a product site that allows end-users to communicate with us via slack. They don't know they are talking to us via slack but the chat widget integrates with a specific Slack channel. Slack is flexible in this way.We use slack to send us reminders to follow-up with customers and leads by way of a scheduled notification/reminder from our internal custom CRMWe will toss files back and forth at times when we need to share something quickly,API Integrations 3rd Party Support File/Image support Mobile App works well Audio and Video Calls Text formatting and Code sharing (for developers) Notification Options,Performance can be slow at times Using slack creates a reliance on it - like any social media, feeling that you may fall behind if you don't view it for a time It can be easy to miss messages if they're not directly addressed to you (which many users may forget, although this is hardly a fault of slack — they do their best to balance message notification configuration with options),8,I'm not sure how measurable it is to determine impact of a chat app on business. It does help us to maintain effective communication avenues between our office and remote employees. It helps us schedule easy reminders which can keep us accountable to our customer/lead follow-ups which definitely helps alleviate some stresses with customers.,,Bitbucket, GitHub, Google Analytics, Dropbox,On-boarding users in our org Chatting - Formatting Text Configuring and customizing Slack is great and quite simple 3rd Party API integrations and webhooks are easy to integrate,Switching between different Slack Groups can create slow loading times Threaded messages can be confusing to some users,Yes,9Slack is best for the non-Slackers!I'm using Slack now with two of my existing clients. One from Australia and one from the US but currently based in Singapore. Slack helps to group our messaging accordingly and retrieve messages to a certain point. I love using Slack because it removes the noise that's available on Skype.,Slack allows you to focus on work-related messages only. Slack allows you to notify relevant people who're part of a channel or group messaging. Slack gives you to the ability to track back your previous messages to the group or to a particular person.,Slack should improve it's video call features. It had failed many times based on my experience. Slack should include options so the sender will see if the person messaged have seen the message or not yet. Slack should improve it's current user interface too so it looks better.,8,Slack allowed the entire team to communicate better and focus on project communication only. Slack give us a better way of communicating through group chats and move faster on project fulfillment. Slack made our chat communication better than ever.,Skype,Google DriveSlack ReviewSlack is perfect for working with computers remotely. In my case I used it in a company where we worked remotely, and it works perfectly, has many functions, and the best thing is that the mobile app works wonders. You can chat with your team work constantly and keep your group organized. Besides that you can share many things in a conversation, you can also activate notifications, on the desktop and always be attentive to your chats. I've also used it to conduct remote conversations and inductions through a slack chat since you can share different types of files and it's pretty good,Mobile app works perfectly Integration with 3rd party app You can share code snippets for developers Instant messaging, with many people at the same time,Does not allow to make video calls Does not show the last time the user was active High influence on the border of belonging to comparison groups The notifications can be very distracting,9,Team productivity There is no need to have physical meetings You can define topics for the chats and everything is stored there Due to productivity you save a lot of time which translates into money,Skype and Google Hangouts,Google Hangouts, SkypeThe best way to maintain optimal communication in the company.I use slack to communicate with all the members of the departments and programmers of the different projects of the company.It is an excellent application and is the one that we use even for conferences and video calls since it works quite well.The history that is kept for all conversations is quite useful because, thanks to that, we keep a record of everything we talk about in the company.The groups are also quite useful and we use them to divide the company into departments.,What I like most about Slack is that it maintains a good conversational history that is very useful for storing important files such as databases and programs Video calls are good and fast, sometimes even better than other video conferencing providers The classification by groups among the contacts is important to keep classified the departments and the groups of development so as to notify instantly of any novelty.,When the internet connection gets slow it is a little problematic to connect, log in and obviously make video calls. Storage is limited. When there are many files in the conversation, old messages are deleted. There should be more documentation for the Hispanic-American community.,8,It improved the communication in the organization and therefore the productivity of the work teams. Customers can communicate with consultants via video calls and feel better served by the company. Thanks to the completely free version of Slack, we managed to implement a demo without the need to make a big investment with only the minimum viable product.,AliveChat,AliveChat, Dropbox, EvernoteSlack Attack!Slack is used by my organization as an interoffice communication channel for both non-project related and some project-based communications. Slack is used across our organization but is utilized in various ways by different departments. It helps alleviate the issue of unnecessary emails and cluttering project boards/forums with communication that does not need to be there.,Slack water cooler forum is a great place for posting company and employee announcements. Creation of various slack channels is a great strength of Slack, allowing certain departments to use it for project based communication that does not need to be sent in email, and others to simply communicate with employees as needed. Another great strength of Slack is that as it grows, it can be integrated to other certain HRMS applications.,The notification system for Slack can be a nuisance at times. While it makes communication great when you are at your desk, returning to a slack/notification, and an email notification can be a bit of a nuisance and cause more clutter than it helps. A cool feature that could be made better, is the notification/reply option, but at times I can't see the message in the notification, so the reply option is pointless. If you are using the unpaid version, slack with wipe conversations, but using slack premium alleviates this, and I guess if you are not paying for the service, you can't complain about lower level functionality.,8,Great ROI! Slack has alleviated a lot of jumbled emails, and allows people to speak directly as well as become more engaged with fellow employees. The culture benefits and ability of HR to use the app for employee engagement/planning has been an unforeseen benefit that has greatly increased the ROI with Slack. When we were only using the unpaid version, some project based communication would be lost which was negative, but if you're not paying there is no investment negative ROI. Slack is definitely a useful tool, and can be great for project based communication if you use it correctly.,Microsoft Team,Wrike, RightSignature, Justworks
Unspecified
Slack
1510 Ratings
Score 8.8 out of 101
TRScore

Slack Reviews

Slack
1510 Ratings
Score 8.8 out of 101
Top Rated Award
Show Filters 
Hide Filters 
Filter 1514 vetted Slack reviews and ratings
Clear all filters
Overall Rating
Reviewer's Company Size
Last Updated
By Topic
Industry
Department
Experience
Job Type
Role
Reviews (1-25 of 87)
  Vendors can't alter or remove reviews. Here's why.
March 16, 2018

Slack Review: "One Chat to Rule them All, and in the Loudness Bind them"

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
  • We currently use slack at our organization for our main non-verbal internal communication.
  • We've tried to mitigate our reliance on email internally as we used to see emails slung around without much thought. Now we just fire off a quick message.
  • We have some remote employees communicate with Slack as a primary internal communication tool.
  • Additionally we utilize a third-party chat solution for a product site that allows end-users to communicate with us via slack. They don't know they are talking to us via slack but the chat widget integrates with a specific Slack channel. Slack is flexible in this way.
  • We use slack to send us reminders to follow-up with customers and leads by way of a scheduled notification/reminder from our internal custom CRM
  • We will toss files back and forth at times when we need to share something quickly
  • API Integrations
  • 3rd Party Support
  • File/Image support
  • Mobile App works well
  • Audio and Video Calls
  • Text formatting and Code sharing (for developers)
  • Notification Options
  • Performance can be slow at times
  • Using slack creates a reliance on it - like any social media, feeling that you may fall behind if you don't view it for a time
  • It can be easy to miss messages if they're not directly addressed to you (which many users may forget, although this is hardly a fault of slack — they do their best to balance message notification configuration with options)
I think slack is great for smaller teams. In a larger setting, I would be worrisome that it would devolve into a cacophony of noise. This could also be overwhelming to some individuals.
I'm involved in several other slack groups in the coding community and they can get rather busy quite quickly. Since our company is somewhat small, I feel like it fits us pretty well and remains manageable and easy to keep up with.
Read Joshua Weaver's full review
May 18, 2018

User Review: "Slack is best for the non-Slackers!"

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
I'm using Slack now with two of my existing clients. One from Australia and one from the US but currently based in Singapore. Slack helps to group our messaging accordingly and retrieve messages to a certain point. I love using Slack because it removes the noise that's available on Skype.
  • Slack allows you to focus on work-related messages only.
  • Slack allows you to notify relevant people who're part of a channel or group messaging.
  • Slack gives you to the ability to track back your previous messages to the group or to a particular person.
  • Slack should improve it's video call features. It had failed many times based on my experience.
  • Slack should include options so the sender will see if the person messaged have seen the message or not yet.
  • Slack should improve it's current user interface too so it looks better.
Slack is very appropriate for team or company messaging. It allows the entire team to be updated and in the loop for any updates. However, it's usually good for chatting purposes. Their voice and video call features are not that good based on my experience.
Read Brent Lionel Mausisa's full review
May 13, 2018

"Slack Review"

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Slack is perfect for working with computers remotely. In my case I used it in a company where we worked remotely, and it works perfectly, has many functions, and the best thing is that the mobile app works wonders. You can chat with your team work constantly and keep your group organized. Besides that you can share many things in a conversation, you can also activate notifications, on the desktop and always be attentive to your chats. I've also used it to conduct remote conversations and inductions through a slack chat since you can share different types of files and it's pretty good
  • Mobile app works perfectly
  • Integration with 3rd party app
  • You can share code snippets for developers
  • Instant messaging, with many people at the same time
  • Does not allow to make video calls
  • Does not show the last time the user was active
  • High influence on the border of belonging to comparison groups
  • The notifications can be very distracting
It can improve the performance of the team, and can also save a lot of time. Because of Slack there are no meetings or lost time, as it targets specific issues, and everyone is from your job, you do not need a conference room for a meeting.

It's perfect for remote teams; everyone can contribute ideas and participate, using instant messaging so there is no need to use corporate emails within Slack. You can attach almost everything and you can receive all your colleagues in real time.
Read Ronald Melendez's full review
May 03, 2018

Slack Review: "The best way to maintain optimal communication in the company."

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
I use slack to communicate with all the members of the departments and programmers of the different projects of the company.
It is an excellent application and is the one that we use even for conferences and video calls since it works quite well.
The history that is kept for all conversations is quite useful because, thanks to that, we keep a record of everything we talk about in the company.
The groups are also quite useful and we use them to divide the company into departments.
  • What I like most about Slack is that it maintains a good conversational history that is very useful for storing important files such as databases and programs
  • Video calls are good and fast, sometimes even better than other video conferencing providers
  • The classification by groups among the contacts is important to keep classified the departments and the groups of development so as to notify instantly of any novelty.
  • When the internet connection gets slow it is a little problematic to connect, log in and obviously make video calls.
  • Storage is limited. When there are many files in the conversation, old messages are deleted.
  • There should be more documentation for the Hispanic-American community.
I like to laze because it is quite stable, it can easily be all day connected to a working day and does not present any type of failures.
Read Richard Molina's full review
March 05, 2018

User Review: "Slack Attack!"

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Slack is used by my organization as an interoffice communication channel for both non-project related and some project-based communications. Slack is used across our organization but is utilized in various ways by different departments. It helps alleviate the issue of unnecessary emails and cluttering project boards/forums with communication that does not need to be there.
  • Slack water cooler forum is a great place for posting company and employee announcements.
  • Creation of various slack channels is a great strength of Slack, allowing certain departments to use it for project based communication that does not need to be sent in email, and others to simply communicate with employees as needed.
  • Another great strength of Slack is that as it grows, it can be integrated to other certain HRMS applications.
  • The notification system for Slack can be a nuisance at times. While it makes communication great when you are at your desk, returning to a slack/notification, and an email notification can be a bit of a nuisance and cause more clutter than it helps.
  • A cool feature that could be made better, is the notification/reply option, but at times I can't see the message in the notification, so the reply option is pointless.
  • If you are using the unpaid version, slack with wipe conversations, but using slack premium alleviates this, and I guess if you are not paying for the service, you can't complain about lower level functionality.
Slack is great for company-wide announcements, starting groups, coordinating events, and really good for engaging employees across the organization. It is a great way to bring people together as well, despite being a digital forum. Due to Slack, our employees are more in tune with each other and actually spend more time together outside of work engaging each other. Project-based communication is not as useful, but it can be done as well.
Read James Weiss's full review
March 02, 2018

Review: "Slack: great tool for fast communication"

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Slack is used in comOn as the main chat tool for fast communication. It is used by all co-workers of the agency, all departments. It works both for communication inside each department, and across departments. The main reason for us to use it is its easy-to-use user interface and versatility in terms of allowing us to chat privately, in public groups or in private groups.
  • Slack is a very simple communication program and yet, it has everything we need: possibility of private messages, possibility of creating groups (public or private).
  • The menu is very well designed, allowing us to customize if we want to see every single channel, or if we just want to see starred channels. In that sense, it is really well built.
  • Allows us to connect Slack with other tools and softwares to allow notifications.
  • Not providing a full conversation history.
  • Replying to a single message, in an open group, feels weird: it opens a side panel with messages to a given message, which makes it look weird.
  • I'd like to have the possibility of creating huge conversations with plenty of people, without having to create a group.
Slack is well suited for those seeking for an app that allows you to have fast communication, in a specific ecossystem (a company, a group of interest), with several different people, specially when one seeks to share knowledge in group, as well as have a private conversation with a person of interest.
Read Bernardo Cavalheiro's full review
June 01, 2018

"Slack Review"

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Slack is used as an internal way to connect different departments within our company. It helps communicate needs and requests seamlessly.
  • Instant notification on feeds, so nothing gets missed.
  • Different channels to help keep things organized
  • View individual threads
  • Nothing to note at this time
Communication between our web developers and QA, helps speed up the process of fixing bugs. Also allows for screen shares, to see exactly what someone is talking about.
Read Niki Mason's full review
May 28, 2018

User Review: "Slack for the Win!"

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
The entire HuffPost organization uses Slack. We have separate channels for editorial, products, and engineering. It is a great way to communicate with multiple people in various departments or a group of people in one department. The Slack integrations for Github are very useful to the engineers. We also have a bot built in that communicates any known technical issues with internal systems to the other departments.
  • GitHub integrations
  • Private channels vs public channels
  • The mobile app is amazing!
  • Threads are sometimes confusing
Any business can use it as a very effective and easy tool.
Read Aviva Kerstein's full review
January 29, 2018

Slack Review: "Simple and functional collaboration tool"

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Slack is used for collaboration between different team members of geographically distributed teams. We are using instant messaging, document sharing and even conference call to communicate and work on a number of projects. Different threads allow us to work on different projects with different groups of staff and control the progress on each.
  • IM is perfect, you can keep all your communication in single tool
  • Audio meetings have the greatest sound quality I ever saw, it includes noise cancellation without sound artifacts
  • Document sharing is very good, you can see all documents in thread with a single click
  • I have not found anything yet, it just does it`s job
We have a lot of projects with different customers, even several different workspaces in Slack. You can access all communication in a single window, easily switch between workspaces and not get lost in a number of threads and discussions. Direct messages are also useful, you can contact each person directly
Read Andrey Perepelitsyn's full review
May 23, 2018

User Review: "Slack - Fun To Use"

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Slack is being used as an internal tool to communicate with others within the network to coordinate meetings, campaign planning and brainstorming and even general chat.
  • Slack allows you to create team-specific channels very easily. These channels can be either private (to those invited) or public (open for all in the network)
  • Slack has a very good Gif and emoji creation feature
  • It's easy to create polls and votes
  • Missing out on messages on group channel can be annoying as they do not show up unless they are addressed to all or to you specifically
Slack is well suited to creating discussions when it relates to planning, campaigns or socially.
Read Ade Fowler's full review
May 22, 2018

User Review: "Slack, the scheduler that gives back"

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Slack has yet to be accepted by the whole organization, but I am using it in my interactions with the teams that I work with. I use it for agendas, scheduling meeting times, setting polls, and coordinating events for the teams I work with. Slack addresses the mass communication within a team along with simple scheduling tasks that integrate multiple peoples calendar.
  • Passes along messages and allows for easy communication.
  • Integrates schedules to perfectly fit meetings in.
  • Has good reminders and notifications that allow you to know what is going on.
  • Easy to remember coding schemes for polls and asking questions.
  • It has a slow startup speed
  • It lingers in the background and has latency
  • Too many different reminders. Be more subtle
Great for team integration and communication.
Read Jake Sleyster's full review
February 23, 2018

"Review for Slack"

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Slack is being used company wide at my organisation for internal communication. It can be used as general communication as well as a way to communicate within each team. It is a fast intuitive and efficient way to get your information across. Slack facilitates one on one, intra team, cross team and company wide communication.
  • Intuitive and user friendly interface
  • Good search system
  • Document sharing capability
  • Can get lost in all the channels
  • Notification management
  • Some automated behavior is undesired (quotes, bold...)
With this software you can provide information company wide, within a team or to specific people of interest. Not only can you communicate but also share files, easily search for information and integrate it with other products or add-ons. I would not recommend using it for planning or scheduling, but mostly as a communication platform.
Read Lucas Riggi's full review
May 25, 2018

Review: "Slack is the leader of the pack (by far)."

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Slack is our main communication platform at our enterprise. Slack is an easy communication platform with very powerful capabilities. Although their app marketplace is still growing, the powerful capabilities actually lie within the platform itself. From private to public channels, Slack is very customizable but in a shockingly easy way. The sales/support team is also very friendly and will teach Slack veterans with best-practice tips and more advanced capabilities that can further enable collaboration and remove friction from any team or organization.
  • Amazing UX/UI
  • Constant updates to make the platform better
  • The strong suite of apps and integrations that continually grow
  • File management can be improved. If there was some sort of drive interface, files could be easier managed.
  • Integrations are fairly gimmicky. Actual value from these integrations is tough to find.
Don't let anyone tell you different. Slack is here to stay. Major players like Microsoft and Facebook are developing competing platforms, but they are leagues behind Slack. Simply put, Slack understands the customer problem, while Microsoft and Facebook seem to be developing their products and trying to find the problems that it addresses along the way.
Read this authenticated review
April 13, 2018

Review: "Slack is a great product with a great mobile app"

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Slack is used in most departments in our company. We switched from using Skype to Slack around two years ago and I wouldn't go back. The mobile app is incredibly convenient when I am away from my desk. It helps keep everyone in communication when necessary.
  • The mobile app is incredible. It is very easy to use and modify your notifications. When using other mobile messaging services, I never had this much control.
  • Being able to switch between multiple channels in a second or two is incredibly helpful. I have multiple internal channels as well as a few external channels and everything is very easy to access whenever I need it.
  • The app is very non invasive. When I don't want to see my chat window, I am able to hide it but still see all pertinent notifications and pick up right where I left off.
  • My one complaint about Slack is that the free version doesn't offer more storage space for old conversations. I wish I was able to pick and choose which conversations counted towards the limit of messages stored with the free service.
Slack is a much more accessible chat app than anything I've used before (Skype, IBM Sametime, Gchat). It has a ton of customization features and the mobile app is fantastic. It is incredibly easy to use while you are on your phone. The free version may not be the best for larger companies that need to be able to see old conversations.
Read this authenticated review
April 02, 2018

Slack Review: "Revamp your communications: chat with steroids"

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Slack is used by every member of our company: warehouse, logistics, sales, marketing, everybody uses it. We removed emails internally (unless you need to communicate with somebody outside of our company) and encouraged everybody to use Slack, so things can have visibility and communication be faster. It has worked great so far. We send files, comments, and separate topics in channels. We connected some APIs to give information and it is our primary communication tool.
  • It is very easy to use. The interface is extremely intuitive. You can see that these guys have thought of everything.
  • It is very flexible. You can send files, videos, pictures, integrate with any API... you name it. Almost anything you would like to do, you can do it.
  • Free version gives you great value! At least we use free version for now and, of course it has restrictions, but it's very useful anyway.
  • Great mobile apps. At least for Android, it works very well.
  • There is a search feature but sometimes it is not that useful. It could be improved. You will eventually find what you're looking for, but after some time.
  • Shortcuts are good but not perfect. I love shortcuts on almost any software I use (Gmail, HelpScout, Windows, etc) but this is not as intuitive as it could be.
We tried this in a small company (less than 20 people) and the effect was awesome. The onboarding is very easy (who doesn't know a chat app?) and using it was too. I think this is suitable for almost all kind of companies, but you need to prepare to switch some behaviors. People must know that Slack is the only acceptable channel for communicating. You need to take this very serious, otherwise people won't answer there and accountability gets lots. I've read of companies with 1,000 of employees using it and small startups. Of course, this won't work if your people doesn't use computers, are laggards at adopting technology or simply are slow at writing. But I think if you're reading this, you already broke that barrier!
Read this authenticated review
July 14, 2018

User Review: "Just Slack me!"

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
My company uses slack to communicate with everyone in our entire organization. It helps us communicate easily and instantly. Files are able to be sent and downloaded, and being able to talk in real time is a plus. It also helps people in the company work remotely and still feel like you are a part of the team.
  • Send files
  • Chat in real time
  • Aids in letting employees work remote
  • Needs an automatic update function
I love using this Slack for everything. It keeps the whole company connected, whether or not that's a good thing. It is a great tool for businesses big or small to be able to reach their employees. I am also able to have Slack on my phone, so I can use it even when I don't have my computer with me.
Read this authenticated review
July 13, 2018

User Review: "Slack is great"

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
It allows me to instantly connect with everyone in our company. Aside from being an awesome chat tool, it makes reaching someone via my mobile phone extremely easy. I can always contact IT or anyone in the company if I need to.
  • Slack allows us to be a truly global company. We have offices around the world and we have employees constantly traveling.
  • Without Slack, our work productivity would be significantly reduced.
  • I hate email :)
  • Sometimes things can get lost in Slack that need to be saved.
I almost can't work without it at this point. I rely on it for a lot of things. Most notably communication but we also have multiple integrations built into slack to notify me, my team, etc. about numerous things.
Read this authenticated review
February 12, 2018

User Review: "Slack - Complex task management tool"

Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use it for internal communication between all employees in the company. All teams have their own channels, where they can keep up to date with everything going on. The tool allows project management as it allows sharing files, has very easy integration with Google Docs and one main difference from other task management tools is that it also allows users to contact each other in a private message.
  • It is very easy to set up and to learn how to use it.
  • It can be used for serious task management and funny conversations between team members by using different channels for each purpose.
  • You can upload files, share Google Docs, pin things you've shared for easy access, send individual messages, tag people to send them a notification to respond.
  • The notifications don't work very well. I keep missing messages. Maybe if they could make a notification show up on the screen when you're tagged into a conversation, this would solve the problem
  • It can't be used for task management, because there is no option to assign tasks to people and to mark them as done or in progress.
It's well suited to lead communication on projects with all people, who are involved, to share files with them and keep them in the loop of everything related to the project. It also allows creating quizzes or questionnaires. It combines the function of a project management tool and communication tool. It's less appropriate for individual communication though, because notifications are not visible enough, which leads to delays in response.
Read this authenticated review
February 01, 2018

User Review: "Small team communication with Slack"

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We have started using Slack in our research lab a few months ago, and it has proven very helpful so far. One of the features I like the most is the ability to upload and share documents, such as SOPs. Also the ability to create different channels with different collaborators. It makes things straight forward, especially when it comes to discussing matters related to a particular project in which only some of the group is part of. It avoids conversations that can be useless to certain people.
  • Sharing documents
  • People status
  • Individual channels
  • I have found nothing to dislike just yet
It solves very smoothly and more efficiently than emails communication issues. Especially with our group divided on 2 different floors in the building of our company.
I can very stronlgy advice slack. It stands as a great alternative to other tools there are available out there. There are also features to upload documents to be shared, like SOPs etc...
Read this authenticated review
April 23, 2018

Slack Review: "The Bee's Knees"

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
I use Slack to communicate with my colleagues. I also use slack to track incoming requests from different teams across the organization and to transfer large files that may be too large for email to handle.
  • Easy to use
  • Many apps for integration
  • The mobile app experience is great and has nice notification features
  • Doesn't completely kill email as there are other colleagues in the organization who aren't using slack
  • A little bit steeper of a curve to pick-up on, but so powerful once the team is on board
If you have multiple groups that you want to keep in the loop but not necessarily in the communication the concept of channels are perfectly suited.
Read this authenticated review
March 23, 2018

User Review: "Slack - The great communicator"

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Slack is being used by our organization to help with communication both between individuals, as well as between groups. It is being used by the entire department, and can be set up between departments to help with communication as well. The business problem it addresses is communication. Information is communicated instantly, between users helping to speed up all aspects of the organization.
  • Helps the entire organization communicate
  • Helps departments communicate
  • Helps individuals communicate with one another
  • Wish you could adjust how Slack looks - how the layout is done, colors, etc. You are given a couple of options, but nothing robust.
  • Wish it was easier to clear out old messages, rather than every message you have ever sent to that area.
If your organization does not have an instant messaging tool, Slack fits in perfectly and allows users and organization(s) to communicate effectively and collaborate.
Read this authenticated review
September 18, 2017

Slack Review: "Easy and clean communication"

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use Slack across our whole organization. We have different channels for different folks to share on certain projects. We also use it to message individuals as a faster and easier way to communicate with quick questions, than both email and phone calls. Also it is being used as a social tool, to keep us up beat at work and helping the day move quicker.
  • Keeps project conversations localized and easy to find. The channels are able to be search so you can find older things that were said before you joined the channel or something you need to refresh yourself on.
  • Has some voice calling too so that if you're not able to explain your message well enough through the text, you can call the person directly from Slack on your computer or mobile app. Great for remote workers to feel like they are still connected.
  • Has some fun features like bots for birthday reminders, emoji's and gif images to share.
  • The app works great, allowing you to jump between different Slack teams very easily and notice when there are notifications that you haven't seen access teams and channels.
  • Would be nice if the channels could have some sort of group voice chat I think.
  • Also you can link videos in the chat and have them play in the app (unless we are doing something wrong)
I think it is extremely adaptable for all sorts of use cases. Pretty much every organization should have some program like Slack or Slack itself. I've used some other similar tools that weren't as easy to use as Slack. Some can be a little too specific in it's intended audience (which I'm sure it's great for) but for a general communication tool this is about as good as it gets.
Read Craig Simmons's full review
December 28, 2017

Slack Review: "Great for community bucatini and team building"

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use Slack across our entire organization including our main office, remote offices, and remote employees. We use it for company-wide communication, project team communication, one-on-one chat, location-specific community bucatini and as hoc group chat. We do project planning, casual messaging, news and event posting, voting, doc and photo sharing, and in/out-of-office notices.
  • Entry of messages to any individual or group
  • Display of messages in a readable firmat
  • Options for customizing notifications by channel
  • User management
  • Channel management
  • Ability to mute channels such as Jira
  • More features for customizing notification to apply globally
  • Options for scheduled notifications
It is best for conversational communication back and forth rather than posting critical information that could get buried and lost in a series of exchanges between people. Great for immediate sharing of information to online users paying attention but thus can leave out those offline or not looking.
Read Matt Emge's full review
November 07, 2017

Slack Review: "Excellent for organizing by topic rather than by project"

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Collaborating with people from other organizations in a way that will organize your conversations. I like the organization of the channels by topics of discussion. I work in public policy, and it's great for working with colleagues outside your office when conducting research. It also supports Google Documents and other uploads very well.
  • Upload using Microsoft Word
  • Upload Google documents
  • Organize topics into channels
  • Allow for private discussions.
  • Although I did just say it was a key feature, uploading and sharing documents and including comments is a bit of a pain.
  • It doesn't give great previews of URLS
  • The directory could be improved.
It is definitely well-suited for organizing research topics for easy accessibility. It is also suitable for dividing up projects within an organization (such as research and development). I would say that it is far more customizable than most project management software such as Asana or Trello. The integrations could use work, but overall it is great.
Read Ashley N. Baker's full review
August 31, 2017

Review: "Slack: a fun and intuitive way to keep your team on the same page"

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
I have used slack to manage communications between a small team of designers and developers and, often, the client or stakeholders. It allows us to organize communications and assets quickly and easily without overburdening mailboxes (or losing essential questions in them). It has changed the way we communicate and share information (in a good way). I use this in conjunction with Dropbox for larger assets like graphics files. I have also used it to organize events among groups of performers and organizers.
  • Easy to use, playful interface encourages interaction and frequent communication within the team.
  • Organizing communication and information by hashtag is quick and easy, and provides a means to easily implement permissions and manage conversations between different members.
  • 3rd party integration, especially with Trello and Dropbox, tracking tasks and files in one place a snap.
  • Solid mobile apps make this really easy to use for all members no matter where they are.
  • Once you get the hang of it, the interface is rather intuitive. However, I've had multiple less tech-saavy stakeholders or clients struggle with the initial setup and on ramping. If you have team members who don't use Twitter, have never seen a hashtag, etc., they may struggle more with this platform than something like Basecamp.
  • The Mac app could be more robust - there are still instances where I get kicked into my browser when I'd really prefer to stay in the app.
For a relatively tech savvy team that needs to stay in constant contact (or even just needs to be super aware when intermittent issues do come up for something ongoing), Slack is a great way to keep your team engaged and on the same page.
Read Brendon Bushman's full review

Feature Scorecard Summary

Task Management (43)
7.1
Gantt Charts (13)
6.1
Scheduling (30)
7.1
Workflow Automation (38)
6.5
Mobile Access (79)
8.8
Search (79)
8.1
Visual planning tools (16)
7.1
Chat (87)
9.4
Notifications (87)
8.4
Discussions (84)
8.9
Surveys (33)
7.3
Internal knowledgebase (37)
8.3
Integrates with GoToMeeting (21)
7.8
Integrates with Gmail and Google Hangouts (37)
7.8
Integrates with Outlook (16)
7.5
Versioning (29)
7.1
Video files (58)
7.7
Audio files (58)
7.9
Document collaboration (50)
7.4
Access control (46)
8.2
Advanced security features (33)
7.8
Integrates with Google Drive (43)
8.4
Device sync (50)
8.8

About Slack

Slack is a group messaging or team collaboration app that aims to simplify communication for businesses. Features include open discussions, private groups, and direct messaging, as well as deep contextual search and message archiving, and file sharing. Slack integrates with a number of other tools, such as MailChimp, Dropbox, and Google Drive.

The product is free to use, and also has paid plans with more features and greater controls.

The company has raised $340M in funding and boasts 800k users.

Categories:  Collaboration

Slack Integrations

Slack Competitors

Slack Technical Details

Operating Systems: Unspecified
Mobile Application:No