McAfee Endpoint Security Reviews

62 Ratings
<a href='https://www.trustradius.com/static/about-trustradius-scoring' target='_blank' rel='nofollow noopener noreferrer'>trScore algorithm: Learn more.</a>
Score 8.0 out of 100

Do you work for this company? Manage this listing

Overall Rating

Reviewer's Company Size

Last Updated

By Topic

Industry

Department

Experience

Job Type

Role

Reviews (1-13 of 13)

Tanish Pruthi | TrustRadius Reviewer
February 13, 2020

Even The Best Antivirus Has Room For Improvement!

Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Data security has become a very serious issue in the modern workforce. One has to be ready for all kinds of digital hacking attempts by your competitors and others who want to sell your information for money. For that, we have installed McAfee Endpoint Security antivirus in all of the machines of all the departments.
  • The fact that my laptop's full hard drive is encrypted and a very long is password is required after switching on the laptop to enter is quite reassuring in terms of security.
  • Never has my laptop been affected by a virus or malware. It quite often gets updates of the latest virus definitions that are wreaking havoc in the world.
  • My biggest flak with McAfee Endpoint Security is that it is quite resource-intensive. It does tend to make the system a little slow. You get security at the expense of your machine's speed.
  • Even though the drive encryption makes the system more secure, it takes a lot of time to first enter the very long password, and then for it to decrypt the whole machine. This sometimes clashes with Windows update and causes a lot of complications which leads to boot loops.
I think that small companies that have just started can in the beginning not go with such a complicated antivirus like McAfee Endpoint Security as it can prove expensive for them. Also, if the company is not that popular, no one will try to attack them. But yes, with company growth and the increase of sensitive information of the clients they hold, you'll have to switch to an antivirus like McAfee.
Read Tanish Pruthi's full review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
March 16, 2020

Anti-malware endpoint security solution by Intel

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Our University uses McAfee Endpoint Security to secure all devices across all its campuses. Each computer connected to the university’s private domain receives a mandatory McAfee client installation. This client is responsible for preventing any cases of malicious activities performed or attempted on the machine. It sends reports to the McAfee e-Policy Orchestration Management System. This console enables us (the security analysts) to remotely manage our endpoints/assets where the Endpoint Security Client is present and is connected to the internet.

Each department in our university, irrespective of their separate policies, has this client installed. The endpoint security client acts like the local antivirus on each machine and prevents malware using its virus database. This makes it easy to detect and prevent at the client level and maintain safety. Although it is a little heavy on some systems and has cases of false positives and false negatives (which is critical in this case), this does a better job than the default Windows defender. With the management console on top, we can force update, run scans, etc on all our endpoints in parallel without manually visiting the respective department. This saves a ton of time and effort.
  • The detection level is better than Windows defender.
  • The e-policy orchestration management console that comes with it enables us to oversee the devices remotely, run scans on the endpoints, and update their virus definitions forcibly.
  • It sends regular updates and therefore each endpoints stays safe individually.
  • Furthermore, it has a very easy to understand interface.
  • The amount of false detections especially the negative ones needed to be reduced.
  • It requires more optimization. It tends to make the PCs slower.
  • It almost doesn't have the ability to heal. This is very important as we need our sensitive data to be recoverable.
  • It doesn't have any free scanning functionality. Our users using personal machines cannot scan in case of an incident. This could be added like Malwarebytes.
McAfee Endpoint Security is well suited for all kinds of organizations at different scales. Since it is per endpoint, there is no single point of failure or stress. However, considering the price/performance ratio, it is better for mid-scale, mid-budget organizations. Also, due to its cases of false negatives, it is recommended to be used where data is backed up on regular basis or data loss is highly tolerable. Not to mention, the endpoints must be equipped with enough physical memory, a recent processor and a Solid State Drive. It is little tough on outdated PCs with hard drives as the disk usage goes up and becomes the limiting factor each time a significant amount of data is processed or transferred.
Also, not much technical understanding is needed to use the tool. It is quite friendly. Good for organizations with non-technical employees as well.
Furthermore, if employees use a lot of personal machines outside the university assets, then it becomes a problem as McAfee doesn't provide any free scanning in case of an incident, like Malwarebytes. In this case McAfee doesn't suit well.
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
February 26, 2020

This Engineer recommends McAfee Endpoint Security in addition to your existing Advanced Anti-Malware toolsets.

Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
McAfee Endpoint Security is currently being managed/administered by our cyber-security team and endpoint security team. Using McAfee Endpoint Security, we use it for its VirusScan, HIPS, and Disk Encryption features. It helps us identify threats that occur on the workstations or servers. It provides excellent visibility across the enterprise when it comes to threats, both internal and external.
  • It provides excellent visibility of threats so that we can quickly identify them.
  • With its EPO product, it centralizes all security products into one umbrella.
  • It brings all features into one single agent.
  • Because it is signature-based, its VirusScan product is not able to identify zero days.
  • It is not recommended for the more advanced malware out there.
  • Sometimes it can use a lot of resources on the workstation.
I believe that Mcafee Endpoint Security is well suited for environments that have formal endpoint security or cyber-security department because more attention to go into the tuning of it. Environments that do NOT have those types of departments will be able to deploy the solution in their company but won't be able to devote the time to tune the product into something beneficial.
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
December 27, 2019

Highly recommended!

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use McAfee Endpoint Security across the whole organization for encryption and antivirus protection.
  • Encryption
  • Antivirus protection
  • Time-out during on-demand scanning on end users.
I really like the features on McAfee where I can see the detail of an asset including data loss prevention, encryption, the version of the agent installed in the particular system and the version of Windows a particular user/computer has. Besides, the console will also have the capability to see who is the user of that system and when was the last time the device communicates to the network. The issue that we run into is whenever we need to perform an on-demand scan for a particular end-user when we received an alarm, the on-demand scan will timeout.
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
December 14, 2019

McAfee, better than its namesake

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
McAfee Endpoint Security is used globally on all end-point PCs running Windows to protect against malware.
  • McAfee is vetted with all major application (it plays nice with others).
  • It has a robust detection engine, both on demand and scheduled scans.
  • McAfee can be unwieldy to manage (it takes a trained staff to run it).
  • It's not a fool-proof zero-day solution.
McAfee is well suited for most organizations, it has wide adoption and the support is good.
Read this authenticated review
Ralf Richter | TrustRadius Reviewer
May 31, 2019

McAfee in parallel to Cisco AMP & Umbrella, or not

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
McAfee Endpoint Security was used in a combination for a central managed of our clients. McAfee did enable and check Bitdefender and Virus for the client was made by McAfee. An EPO server was in place for upgrading the clients with pattern and software. The solution is in place at our managed service clients for customers and was in place for our own clients, till we moved to Cisco AMP.
  • Good central management.
  • Very stable with the clients.
  • Slows down the client a little bit.
  • Additional software needed, while Cisco AMP is already installed and licensed.
If you deliver managed clients globally to your customer, the EPO-Server is a good tool for managing them.
The reports are very transparent and easy to present to clients. Harddisk encryption can be managed by the software, too. This is a step forward in security, too. The special thing is when using Cisco tools, e.g. AMP or Umbrella. In this scenario, McAfee additionally makes no sense.
Read Ralf Richter's full review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
March 28, 2019

Lifesaver

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
This is a very important app that is always updating. Because of my profession, my team of research professionals and myself spend much time connected with the internet. Nowadays we are doing a research project about arthritis, so we always deal with the internet. Because of that reason when we are surfing internet this software automatically blocks unnecessary links, sites, advertisements and many other things. We don’t have to worry about our safety because this software always deals with our privacy and safety.
  • Always blocks junky links, websites, and advertisements by connecting with Explorer. It gives extra protection to our work.
  • Another important thing is the password manager tool. So this tool gives us easy pathways for working with our things. It means when we log into the same account multiple times we don’t have to type the password every time, this software stores our password. So we can easily log into same account without typing thepassword. This is important for those of us with a busy life and for lazy people 😉
  • This software is easy to use and can do a faster scan. We can scan whole apps within 1 to 2 minutes. And also we can schedule a regular scan and it’s a very easy way to secure things and optimize the device.
  • This software is very complex. It means when I was starting to work with this software I couldn't understand whole features but after two weeks it was fine. First time loggers need to give extra time to understand.
  • According to my view I think the software is a little bit expensive.
  • Sometimes this software slows down the pc and sometimes it automatically shut down. But it’s not a big problem.
I am recommending this software for many reasons. This software is the best option to protect our PC or phone from hackers, viruses, and many other things. The main reason I recommend it is because it can automatically block junk, advertisements, and safety-threatening things when we are surfing the internet.
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
November 28, 2018

McAfee Endpoint Security Review

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
McAfee Endpoint Security is being used by our whole IT department across multiple sites. This product offers peace of mind on every possible level. It easily removes viruses and provides efficient protection across our whole organization. It saved me countless hours of computer cleaning. I would definitely recommend it to any IT specialist.
  • GUI is wonderful and simple to use.
  • The feature I like best would have to be the full encryption to prevent data theft from stolen laptops or mobile devices.
  • Mac and Linux operating systems are also supported.
  • The only weak point would have to be the updates from third party applications. Apart from that, it doesn't have any other flaws.
If your company is looking to change or simply implement an anti-virus solution, look no further. McAfee is the best solution on the market! It easily beats Symantec and all other competitors. It has tons of great features, price is very good compared to others. Deploying agents is extremely simple, and checking logs is very easy.
Read this authenticated review
Dharma raju | TrustRadius Reviewer
May 28, 2018

Very good Data Protection

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
The McAfee Endpoint Protection is a standard protection for enterprise Networks, small-scale networks, and a single user or multiple user systems. It has reliable features such as security updates, the ability for scanning systems, McAfee Agent Status Monitoring. It can be controlled by a McAfee agent which shows latest details of the software. Such as the time when the antivirus has been updated, the version of antivirus, last security update check.
  • This seems like a very advanced program for protecting data. It provides security while browsing the web, sending e-mails, uploading data to the cloud, etc.
  • The GUI is wonderful and simple to use.
  • Deployment and administration are fast and easy.
  • Takes more CPU utilization and a lot of memory.
  • When the system is under scan it will hang the screen and other processes are very difficult to work with.
The system with high configuration is better to opt for Mcafee endpoint.
Read Dharma raju's full review
Tom Parker | TrustRadius Reviewer
May 25, 2018

McAfee Honest Review

Score 6 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We were using McAfee Endpoint Security up until about 12 months ago. We were using it on our desktops, laptops, and servers running Windows.

We felt the product had issues with allowing to many threats to get by and deploying updates.
  • It is one of the top rated solutions for endpoint protection.
  • Large user community.
  • Does not use an exorbitant amount of resources to run.
  • component and signature updates were not always being deployed automatically.
  • Too many threats were not being stopped.
It is rated very well and works great for a lot of organizations. It is best to run a POC to see if it is the best solution for your environment.
Read Tom Parker's full review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
September 17, 2018

Protects your business and data from virus and thefts.

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
I would recommend it as it has so far worked very well, a good antivirus protection system, it does not affect your operating system or slow it down, it is a very reliable program, easy to manage and customize that allows you to have your device protected at all times. It is almost being used by my whole organization.
  • McAfee Endpoint Security spared me from genuine assaults a few times. It happened while opening trick sends, introducing obscure programming projects and visiting less anchored sites.
  • With endpoint barrier advances McAfee Endpoint Security predicts and forestalls threats progressively before they taint your PC. These days with the change of the web innovations cyber assaults likewise expanded. As I am working in a major organization marketable strategies of our organization and their security are imperative for us. To keep our data sheltered and secure McAfee Endpoint Security is our decision among corporate endpoint assurance products.
  • The best feature of McAfee Endpoint Security is totally machine learning calculations to help recognize pernicious conduct. It persistently creates itself while shielding you and keeps you from new assaults.
  • As you may expect, McAfee's Endpoint Security can be expensive. It depends completely on the requirements of your business and would prescribe you contact an individual from their business group to figure out which features you require. They tweak the product so you can rest guaranteed that the majority of the vulnerabilities will be dealt with. I had a couple of associations with client support that were troublesome. In the event that you are new to the cyber-security scene, you should request that they place it in layman's terms.
  • It is normally substantial and makes the PC slower and to capitalize on it, it is important to have great equipment, another issue is that if the PC's working framework is exceptionally old, McAfee does not promise it will work, on the off chance that you need to exploit every one of the advantages of the framework you need to purchase the permit and it is extremely costly.
  • Now and again it responds while introducing another product which is protected. It is a bit irritating however considering that there would be some string or infection
It is well suited in lots of scenarios but I would also say I don't care for the UI of this product. Security undertakings and alternatives are not as effectively client open or controlled likewise with other well-known security programming. This influences me to feel in less control as the end client. While running out of sight is my most loved feature, I might want to see more prominent alternatives for controlling these foundation errands and that so with more noteworthy specificity than what is as of now given by the GUI.
Read this authenticated review
Christopher &quot;Scott&quot; Pandolfo | TrustRadius Reviewer
December 19, 2017

Suite that's Sour!

Score 5 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
McAfee Endpoint Protection Suite is being used across our whole organization. It addresses all server, hardware and software protection. [It provides] Protection against intrusion, data theft, data integrity, and malware intrusion.
  • Uses minmal system resources, it does not bog down servers or user resources.
  • Intuitive to use, very simple and easy to manage.
  • Support is easy to get and fast to respond.
  • Too many false positive and negatives.
  • The software is very aggresive, and intrusive.
  • Hard to remove the software when you decide to.
As I stated before the software is intuitive, easy to use and only draws minimal resources. However, the protection is moderate, lots of false positives/negatives, and the agressive software is very invasive, and hard to remove. There are also too many software conflicts.
Read Christopher "Scott" Pandolfo's full review
Roberta Jones | TrustRadius Reviewer
March 29, 2017

McAfee is a great product to use for your servers

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We currently only use McAfee Endpoint Protection Suite in the IT department and have it deployed on each of our servers. We've been using this software to protect our servers for over 10 years and have seen the product grow positively over the years. We basically use the software suite as one layer of protection from viruses, malware, and unwanted intrusions.
  • The software suite works really well at protecting our servers from malware and viruses. We have never experienced downtime because of a system intrusion that McAfee allowed to access our network. McAfee is always updating to keep up with new viruses or threats that are circulating the computer world so it's always ready to shield our systems from new threats as well as old threats.
  • McAfee's customer service is above par! I receive notices about renewing our software about 3 months before our contract end date. I don't stop receiving reminders and notices until we've actually renewed our agreement. McAfee is also great at notifying it's users when their product is out of date. There are times when we've gotten very busy and forgot top renew our agreement despite all of the reminders that we received. McAfee notified us immediately via the software installed on our system and sent a notification via email to let us know there was a problem.
  • McAfee also integrates well with the other security software that we have installed. They don't interfere with each other causing system problems or other alerts. McAfee is also very easy to install and maintain. It doesn't take the knowledge of a server admin to get the software installed and running correctly. You can manage the software remotely or on-site with an easy to use dashboard that allows you to remove or add devices at will.
  • I would not use any type of McAfee product on any personal computer that I have because I don't think it works well unless it's bundled with other security software. When using McAfee as my computer's single source of protection from viruses and malware, the software did not keep my computer from being infected. When the software is paired with other software and hardware used for network security, it does a great job of protecting the system. For instance, when I downloaded a file that actually had a virus in it, McAfee ran a scan on the download and said it was clean, but the moment I opened the file on my computer, my system became infected with malware.
  • When using McAfee on a desktop or laptop, I've also seen where there were issues where it would conflict with other software installed on the device. I don't see these issues with McAfee running on our servers; only on desktops and laptops. Sometimes McAfee would report that a program had a virus or that a program was infected with malware and really it was just a regular program file that had no infections at all. I don't like false detections because it makes you spend hours running additional virus scans looking for something that doesn't exist. At other times, I would attempt to open a software program on my computer and it wouldn't open because a system file it needed to run was deleted by McAfee during a previous scan.
  • I like to run an automated virus scan when my computer is first turned on, but I've noticed that this function drastically slows down my computer. For the most part, McAfee does not drain your computer's resources, but if you have it set up to run when you first log into your desktop after turning your computer on then it will drastically slow down the speed of your computer. To try and get around this issue I just avoid opening any other programs while the scan is running.
It provides great web security and will protect your devices against viruses and malware when paired with other security software and hardware. For instance, we have multiple layers of security set up so if McAfee misses something then one of our other barriers will catch the infection or intrusion before it reaches the network. I would not suggest using this product as a standalone agent because I do not think it will be as effective when working by itself. The dashboard also makes it convenient to manage devices, policies, and settings from wherever you are so it's an ideal solution for any IT department to use. I would just suggest using something else as a backup so your network isn't left vulnerable.
Read Roberta Jones's full review

McAfee Endpoint Security Scorecard Summary

Feature Scorecard Summary

Anti-Exploit Technology (5)
6.8
Endpoint Detection and Response (EDR) (5)
7.0
Centralized Management (6)
8.8
Hybrid Deployment Support (5)
7.8
Infection Remediation (6)
7.0
Vulnerability Management (6)
6.3
Malware Detection (6)
7.8

About McAfee Endpoint Security

McAfee Endpoint Security supplants McAfee VirusScan Enterprise as the company's flagship antivirus and antimalware endpoint protection application, combining behavior monitoring and application containment.
Categories:  Antivirus,  Endpoint Security

McAfee Endpoint Security Technical Details

Operating Systems: Unspecified
Mobile Application:No