Symantec Endpoint Security Reviews

133 Ratings
<a href='https://www.trustradius.com/static/about-trustradius-scoring' target='_blank' rel='nofollow noopener noreferrer'>trScore algorithm: Learn more.</a>
Score 7.7 out of 100

Do you work for this company? Learn how we help vendors

TrustRadius Top Rated for 2020

Overall Rating

Reviewer's Company Size

Last Updated

By Topic

Industry

Department

Experience

Job Type

Role

Reviews (1-25 of 55)

Companies can't remove reviews or game the system. Here's why.
December 15, 2020
Eric Krueger | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
This product, Symantec Endpoint Security is deployed all throughout our company worldwide. It has been a great product in that there have been no issues with performance and conflicts with other security applications we run. This has been one of the better applications we have used and it gives us a piece of mind when it comes to endpoint security. With most secuirty issues coming from the endpoints these days it is nice to know we have a rockstar in our defense arsenal.
  • Easy to configure and push out to your endpoints.
  • Little impact on resources on machines.
  • Great backend support should you need it.
  • Some issues with Macs if you have those in your environment.
  • Some of the configuration portion could be better explained.
From a small company to the largest enterprise corporation Symantec Endpoint security will work for you. This endpoint software will give you piece of mind that all of your mobile devices will be well protected. This is especially true in the new Covid remote workforce we are experiencing. From easy to set up to great support this is the product to check out.
Read Eric Krueger's full review
December 31, 2020
Drew Moen | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 5 out of 10
Vetted Review
Review Source
We use it in our own and MSP practice supporting 500 clients around the globe with over 25K endpoints and servers. SEP combines with NACS gives us a last line of defense against malware of all types. We have NEVER had an endpoint compromised by an7y malware in over 11 years of deployment. It has done it's job perfectly, every time.
  • Central Console on Prem or in the cloud
  • Works with everything
  • Zero Day protection is best in the industry because of their huge sensor net and rapid remediation.
  • Available on all major platforms, Microsoft, Linux / Unix, and Mac
  • Outstanding flexibility in configuring group and individual policies for all aspects of the product.
  • Support, PRIOR to Broadcom was simply superb. Now it is just average.
  • Partner Support
  • Product Support
  • Have someone other than Broadcom own and develop the p[product. Broadcom would have to improve 1000% just to be awful.
Again, my issue is not the product, it is Broadcom. It is excellent in mid sized, and multinational business. It is too expensive for the smaller businesses since Broadcom has eliminated SKU's. It is a superb endpoint protection product with excellent centralized management features. When combined with Network Access Control Suite, it provides the perfect solution for on prem and remote workers.
Read Drew Moen's full review
December 16, 2020
Muhammad Mulla | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use Symantec Endpoint Security or Broadcom, as it is now owned by them, to secure our servers against viruses and malware. It allows us to centrally manage anti-virus policies, group together types of endpoint devices, and provide different policies for each.
  • Management
  • Policies
  • Exclusions
  • The firewall features could do with some improvement and I've found it easier to disable and use the Windows firewall instead.
Symantec Endpoint Protection is well suited to legacy, on-premises type environments. It is less well suited to cloud environments, especially Microsoft Azure, where it is better to manage using Microsoft's own Defender solutions.
Read Muhammad Mulla's full review
December 18, 2020
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 3 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Symantec Endpoint Security is being used across our organization as the main end point protection product for preventing viruses and spyware. It's installed on every end point in the organization Symantec offers a client for, desktops and laptops running windows, servers running Windows and LINUX and a few MACS.
  • Prevents Virus
  • Prevents Spyware
  • Management UI is Outdated and Complex to Use
  • Removing End Points Completely is time consuming and diffcult
  • Support in general is tribble, very difficult to get any complex technical problems resolved
Symantec Endpoint Security is well suited for a small organization with a limited number of end points, once you get into the 100's of endpoints the weaknesses in the management tools become clear. It does do a decent job at protecting end points from viruses and spyware, assuming your able to get the endpoints installed correctly.
Read this authenticated review
December 18, 2020
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use Symantec Endpoint Security organization-wide with a central administrating server. That way you have an easy overview of all the resources in the network and their security level, as well as the ability to handle all the administration centrally. You can see if a computer needs updating, if there was an attack, what the attack was, and how it was handled.
  • Protects from viruses
  • A firewall to monitor network activity
  • Blocks USB devices
  • Too many changes in the software
  • Make it cheaper
  • Heavy on resources
I think that Symantec Endpoint Security is an overall well-performing security suite. It protects from known and not yet known malware including viruses, trojan horses, spyware, worms, zero-day vulnerabilities, ransomware, and more. It also protects the entire network by means of a very comprehensive firewall, and all that can be controlled from one single interface.
Read this authenticated review
December 17, 2020
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Symantec Endpoint Security is deployed in our company-provided laptops as the main security protection against multiple viruses, spyware, and malware types--including web-based, file-based, browser-based, or even email-attachments-based. We also have enabled proactive thread protection that provides advanced behavioral protection against known threads, as well as network and host exploit mitigation that protects our laptops (in the office and remotely) from network threats and zero-day exploits.
  • Does not hog system resources
  • Easy to keep up to date (virus database and definitions)
  • Provides multiple levels of scanning to choose from
  • UI looks outdated in my opinion
  • Viewing and management of quarantine items can be done better
  • Logs can be organized/retrieved better for IT to analyze
It is well suited for organizations that require security and protection from multiple sources of possible breaches and attacks, especially during these times when people are not in the corporate (and secure) network, but mainly are working from home and remote offices. This is a must, especially in the latter scenario, as we are not certain about the safety of the network that we are connecting to.
Read this authenticated review
April 21, 2020
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Symantec Endpoint Protection is used as the front-line antivirus solution and is utilized on all computer systems and servers throughout our entire organization. SEP provides us with the peace of mind that comes from knowing you have a top tier antivirus solution in today's rapidly evolving world of computer systems and data security.
  • Antivirus detection.
  • Minimal false positives.
  • Ease of use to manage security alerts.
  • Automatic major version upgrades.
  • More friendly administration console.
  • Better detections for non-traditional viruses/malware.
Symantec Endpoint Protection serves as an excellent front-line antivirus solution for larger organizations who need to manage numerous computer systems, servers, and users. For smaller organizations, they offer a "Small Business" version of the software that is more suitable, primarily due to price point. SEP is particularly effective when paired with a second anti-malware solution, such as Malwarebytes Anti-Malware.
I have only had to contact support for our Symantec Endpoint Protection product once, and they resolved my issue quickly and capably.
Read this authenticated review
March 11, 2020
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
It's being used across the entire company, throughout multiple locations. It's used to delete spyware and viruses. and it's also used to lock down USB devices to the few allowed USB devices.
  • Easy to setup.
  • Easy to maintain.
  • You can see most of what's going on from the default login portal.
  • Configuration can be pushed from the central server to all clients making it very configurable.
  • Migrating/upgrading to a new server.
  • Easy to understand and how to setup a cluster/failover SEP management server.
  • Having centralized management for more than just one application. Similar to the McAfee EPO server.
It is good for any size environment—large or small installation base. The biggest issue I've had is when I've had more than one SEP manager server and I wanted to upgrade or decommission one of the management servers. It's very hard to get it to work. One of the servers was removed, but some of the clients were still looking for that server and I couldn't push a new config to them. I had to manually login to each client and import the configuration to force it to point to another SEP server.
I've called a few times and the support is great. They help me walk through the issues that I was having and even remotely connected to my server and show me how the fix the issue. I hope the support doesn't change since they were bought by Broadcom.
Read this authenticated review
November 06, 2019
Mike Hernandez | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 6 out of 10
Vetted Review
Review Source
Symantec EndPoint Protection is the Anti-Virus solution we utilize ourselves and push to our clients.
  • Symantec Manager installed on the server communicates with the other Symantec AV programs installed on the workstations.
  • The Manager also keeps track of which machine may be outdated and needs to be updated.
  • The Manager will alert us if the Client becomes Overdeployed where we will sell additional licenses for compliance.
  • Definitely in the Sales Department. Ordering SEP New Installs or Renewals can be cumbersome.
  • Too much red tape to muddle through just trying to renew licenses.
  • Renewal/New Install ordering should be made a lot easier.
It is well suited for Clients large enough to utilize a server to house the Manager. Once installed and kept up to date the programs work very well. Where its not suited for are those smaller businesses that use a basic PC as a server or don't even use a server to house the manager.
Hard to contact, to begin with, but once you do they seem willing to help.
Read Mike Hernandez's full review
December 30, 2019
Carlos Martinez | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Symantec Endpoint Protection (SEP) is being used in our corporation specific areas, such as IT Security and IT Infrastructure and distributed in all workstations as a means of protection. At the moment no commercial problems have been identified with the acquisition of this product, as the service channels have managed to meet the needs.
  • The SEP tool is considered one of our most powerful solutions for the protection of our devices.
  • The centralization of our administration is one of its best exploited benefits.
  • There are some difficulties in devices that do not have enough resources.
  • The end-user cannot gain visibility on what is happening on their device.
It has given us very good results in controlled environments with equipment that has superior capabilities, and is effective to protect equipment that is exposed in open environments. The support is centralized, allowing dynamic management. The results in low-performance teams often do not have the expected results.
Our experience with the support provided by the channel that gives us the solution has been effective, with solutions and suggestions toward the good uses that should be given to the tool. Support is permanent and has all the necessary provisions.
Read Carlos Martinez's full review
March 03, 2020
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Symantec Endpoint Protection is used as the primary antivirus solution for the entire company. It offers daily updated definitions to verify all computers are safe and virus/malware free, so users are confident they are working in a safe and secure environment. Machines are set up to be scanned automatically, and policies are set up to run deep scans and provide weekly reports.
  • Reporting - It offers a wide range of reports to give you from summary to detail information about your environment.
  • Ease of use - Once you setup Symantec Endpoint Protection on the machine, it just works and does the job required.
  • Policies - You can set up several different policies to suit your needs across the entire network.
  • Renewals - I've found over the last couple of years it has been a chore to get the renewal of maintenance done.
  • Lack of partners in the region - It is hard to find resellers in the Caribbean. This should be addressed to get better adoption throughout the region.
  • In a medium to enterprise-sized business, Symantec Endpoint Protection offers the level of protection and scalability needed for a large network with many users.
  • If you are an environment that does not currently have Antivirus software deployed, this will more than suffice in picking up what viruses and malware do exist, quarantine and delete and then help maintain a high-security standard.
I've only ever had to deal with support for registration purposes, and they were able to sort out that issue. The software works without much intervention.
Read this authenticated review
January 10, 2020
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We have Symantec Endpoint Protection on all our end-user devices and servers. It's of course used to protect these devices from the malicious sites\code\applications in the world. We have multiple policies for different devices. Our servers have a more strict policy to keep them safe and the end-user policy focuses on the browser and USB lockdown.
  • Multiple angles protected, from standard av to firewall, to IPS.
  • Portal based administration - you can send remote scans to devices from the internet without having to be at the device.
  • Domain integration - Rather than manually installing the EXE it would be good if it could find the devices on the network and push the install out.
  • A more natural way to exclude applications, folders, etc. - You can do this, but I think it can be unnecessarily confusing to setup.
Symantec Endpoint Protection is an excellent product that seems to protect us well. It has protected us well before when emails get through our anti-spam, and the end-user tries to open the link. Symantec web extension will block access to the site. It can be a little heavy-handed at times, and you can battle for a bit with false-positives.
Symantec Endpoint Protection support isn't best, and that's putting it lightly! They can take a long time to come back to you, and if they don't answer your question immediately and you have to go back, you'll be waiting a while again. The good part is that they manage the infrastructure, so you only need to worry about installing and configuring your part of the portal. I will say the portal is very stable and hasn't ever gone down in the time we've used it.
Read this authenticated review
September 10, 2019
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Initially, we used Symantec Endpoint Protection to cover our primary office and executive office for years, but recently we expanded to use it in all of our field-user laptops and store locations nationwide. Since expanding our use of it we have not had an actual virus infection present on any machine so it's definitely doing its job.
  • It was easy to deploy.
  • It was cost-effective for our organization.
  • Seems to 100% block all known viruses.
  • In really large deployments the GUI interface seems sluggish.
  • Wish they wouldn't have got rid of the standalone software installed interface.
  • Needs the ability to remotely stop an active scan.
We have used Symantec Endpoint for many years and initially we used it on a rather small installation base (less than 200 computers) but have since expanded to 10,000+ machines so really it's suited for any, company large or small. We have tried other competitors over the years and honestly, they were pretty terrible in comparison.
I haven't had to use Symantec support for Endpoint that much over the years, but I did when we had to deploy it to the stores. Now deploying to the remote locations ended up being really easy, but I had some questions and issues with using a relay at each store location that support was honestly pretty terrible at helping with. In the end I figured out the problem with my own research and it was simply that I needed to decrease the number of heartbeats sent from the clients since we were deploying to over 10,000 machines which I was surprised that support didn't point out in beginning of talking to them, so I was a little annoyed with that.
Read this authenticated review
October 01, 2019
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use Symantec Endpoint Protection (SEP) across our entire organization. It has worked well for us. The client can be deployed as managed or unmanaged (for off-site stand alone units).
  • Easy to manage from the central server
  • Automated reports that are set up to tell me status and scheduled reports of the environment
  • Easy to roll out updated versions to end user machines
  • Building out the installation package for new installations can be difficult the first time you do it; but once you learn how, it is easily repeated. Existing clients are automatically updated by the server.
The endpoint client is the last level of defense. Symantec Endpoint has served us well over the years.
I can hardly recall having to contact their support; product has run well! From the times I have contacted them, it was usually just in regard to something I could not figure out how to do. The product has not had much in the way of technical issues.
Read this authenticated review
July 05, 2019
Denis Pereira | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Symantec Endpoint Protection is used to track the entire company globally. It is installed and configured on the server, where updates and settings are sent to all computers that are in the corporate domain. It is used from scanning to managing real-time computers and laptops.
  • Maximum virus protection.
  • Ease of Use.
  • Constantly updated by the server after proper settings/changes.
  • Price below other antivirus.
  • All emails are scanned and verified before they are released.
  • When it is running, it is not possible to use the machine.
  • Requires a machine a little above the average, increasing the cost.
  • When loading Windows in safe mode, some functions are disabled.
Symantec Endpoint Protection is highly recommended for companies that have a large number of machines, as it helps in the management and monitoring of these devices. If you have low-quality equipment, it is not advisable to install the software because it will take up a lot of space, but if the investment in the IT department is in the beginning, it's worth spending a bit more.
Read Denis Pereira's full review
July 01, 2019
Adriano Rosa | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Symantec Endpoint Protection is being used by the whole organization. Every user has it, and every one is protected from intrusion, firewall, and anti-malware features. The good thing is that it all comes in one pack of services. It includes data loss prevention software, prevents unapproved programs from running, and even applies firewall policies that block network traffic if needed. By far, Symantec Endpoint Protection is a very complete security software.
  • Virus definitions are kept up to date as soon as new threats are created.
  • Includes data loss prevention software.
  • The zero day protection is a very fast way to protect is from not yet known threats.
  • ALL of the emails are scanned, as well as files.
  • It has frequent updates and extra features.
  • Whenever you do deep scans, be aware they might take a little while.
  • It does a lot of updates, and some of them may take a while, and may need interaction to complete.
  • Symantec sometimes uses a huge amount of system resources.
One specific scenario where Symantec Endpoint Protection is well used is when you receive a large number of emails. The software scans every one of them, making it secure for you to read them all, and if there is any untrusted email, Symantec Endpoint Protection will warn you, and even prevent you from seeing the email content for your safety.
One specific scenario where Symantec Endpoint Protection is less appropriate is when you talk about phishing. It lacks anti-phishing capabilities and lacks report capabilities.
Read Adriano Rosa's full review
June 13, 2019
Erik Hall | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Symantec Endpoint Protection is used as an MFA (multi-factor authentication) required by our credit card company, Key Bank. They forwarded the link to it to us and we have to use it to access our account online. We use it every time we log in to our account, without it, we can't access anything. Statements, changes to cards like limits, etc., adding cards to the account, anything we need to do requires us to use it as part of our login protocol.
  • Keeps unwanted people out.
  • Restricts access to these particular financial records.
  • Provides additional security features to the login process.
  • Adds an additional layer of security, which adds a layer of comfort in feeling secure.
  • Allowing a single user to have multiple occurrences for multiple devices.
  • Communicating when the app on a cell phone has been updated (just so you are aware that it has been done).
  • It might be a nice feature to automatically shut itself down when the security code has been successfully entered.
I feel it works great as a form of multi-factor authentication. So you would use it to enter/access confidential information as part of the security protocol. First is your username, second is your password and this would provide the third. The security feature is a numeric (it may also allow alpha or some combination of alpha-numeric, but I don't know) coding. I would like to use it for our own security on our computers, but we are a small company and my understanding is that this is a fairly expensive product. I would say that this would not be a good fit as a security measure in a situation where you might have to access data quickly, such as in an emergency situation like hospitals, etc.
Read Erik Hall's full review
August 24, 2019
Prince Matema | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
I have used various types of anti-virus software but I have fallen in love Symantec Endpoint Protection as it eliminated all the problems I used to have. At the University of Zimbabwe, it is now the only antivirus that is used by both students and staff after careful consideration by the University IT department. It provides end to end protection for computers and laptops.
  • The very first thing I want as an accounting person is the lower cost that comes with it when compared to other products.
  • Ever since we started using the app, we no longer have problem computers being constantly frozen-up because of viruses.
  • We had spent a long time fighting the short cut virus that was spreading around the campus but it was eliminated after we started using this antivirus.
  • It is only available to use on computers with higher-end specs.
Symantec is well suited for eliminating all viruses.
It eliminated all our problems at the institution. We no longer have to constantly contact our IT department for fixes and we can run all devices knowing we are secure.
Read Prince Matema's full review
July 01, 2019
Paul Li | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
I personally use Symantec Endpoint Protection on a number of computers. I trust this software to detect and prevent viruses from successfully attacking my Windows based operating system.
  • Symantec Endpoint Protection starts up automatically on its own every time I power on my computer to log into Windows.
  • Symantec Endpoint Protection quietly runs in the background without interrupting my work monitoring all possible forms of attack via my internet connection.
  • When Symantec Endpoint Protection app detects a virus on a web page/site I've logged onto, I would immediately be prompted with a notice of a possible virus attack. The notice will continue to appear on the screen until I've dealt with the problem.
  • When I temporarily disable Symantec Endpoint Protection and I go to re-enable it it takes a bit of time before the program switches to be enabled again.
  • Symantec Endpoint Protection's graphic user interface is rather flat and can use a 3d make-over.
Symantec Endpoint Protection is well suited to give especially novice Windows users protection from virus attacks. Since attacks can occur at a click of a button by visiting websites that can infect the end users computer, Symantec Endpoint Protection is the app to use to resolve this issue.
Read Paul Li's full review
June 10, 2019
Eng.Takeo Chikushi - MBA, PMP | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
The software is being used by all departments in the organization with Standard Technical Support by the vendor.
  • The cloud version worked well
  • Application Control is available for different users
  • Virus definitions are always updated
  • Long time to complete the scan process - RAM consumed during the scan process is very high
  • When rebooting Windows in "safe mode"...some protections are disabled (ex: Pendrive access)
  • Annual renewal price (compared with other options)
The virus definitions are updated and the scan process is effective but too much RAM memory is necessary. Depending on the company size maybe it is better to search for a cheaper option.
Read Eng.Takeo Chikushi - MBA, PMP's full review
June 06, 2019
bryan hornick | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We are a geographically challenged company with users in many locations. We utilize Symantec Endpoint Protection from the cloud. This allows us greater control over remote systems that are likely not always connected to our network.
  • Improved background processing so it is transparent to users.
  • Includes features like safe browsing to aid in virus/malware protection
  • Allows for USB control as well
  • I wish the console included everything. there is actually another hidden console that allows for greater granularity in control. This is more useful than the up front console.
Symantec Endpoint Protection provides many functions that are part of several compliance requirements.
Read bryan hornick's full review
June 17, 2019
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We currently use Symantec Endpoint Protection on all of our end users' computers as a way to protect their PCs from viruses and other various forms of malware. We currently use it on all PCs between two different locations as a preventative measure to protect our network. We also utilize the quarantine feature to safely contain any possible threats.
  • Virus Protection
  • Quarantine environment for possible threats
  • Automatic updates for latest virus/malware definitions
  • Picked up false positive viruses during scan
  • Has caused driver instability in the past
  • Fairly high resource usage
Because it can be installed/updated via a group policy/patch management software, I think that Symantec Endpoint Protection is best suited for very large environments that need an added layer of protection from malicious attacks. It's probably not well suited for smaller environments that may be using older machines as it seems to take up a lot of resources to scan and run.
Read this authenticated review
May 21, 2019
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Symantec Endpoint Protection provides complete endpoint protection for enterprise Windows desktops. Symantec Endpoint Protection provides deployment, agent upgrade, and definition updates management services, as well as client health reporting services. Symantec Endpoint Protection protects a single pane of glass dashboard that allows us to quickly asses and evaluate the state of the endpoint protection status for the whole organization.
  • Windows client deployment
  • Virus definitions updates
  • Endpoint status reporting
  • Configuration management
  • Global exclusions management/reporting
  • Performance statuses from clients
  • Schedule reporting
Symantec Endpoint Protection provides great value for centralized locations that are standardized on homogeneous Windows desktops and workstations that maintain continuous, reliable, and high bandwidth connectivity to a central management server. There might be a better-suited solution for scenarios where highly mobile, low bandwidth, heterogeneous devices need to be constantly managed and protected outside of a company's security perimeter.
Read this authenticated review
June 25, 2019
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We have several deployments of SEP in our network, we use most of its endpoint protection features besides AV: device control, IPS, host-based firewall, and application control. We have another environment where we also use SEP for the deployment of WSS(Symantec Proxy), we use it on Windows(servers+workstations) machines as well as MAC.
  • The AV has several detection mechanisms: signature based, reputation based and heuristic based.
  • There is an option to turn an on-prem deployment into a hybrid deployment, so you can manage SEP in the cloud.
  • Symantec really invested on integrating SEP with other Symantec solutions, so no need additional agents on endpoints.
  • The device control feature was not changed in past product versions, it's still not the most convenient way to manage, the preconfigured hardware groups are not good enough. For example, no group for mobile phones.
  • Application control and device control are managed in the same policy, so if you have a common app control policy but a different device control policy you'll need to manage 2 policies.
  • The app control policy is very strong, still, the out of the box policies are basic, I'd expect Symantec to provide more of these out of the box.
  • The reports are not the most elegant and sometimes it takes time to find the report you need. Graphics need to be improved.
Today with the hybrid model, you can manage SEP in the cloud. Mobile/remote employees will still be able to sync logs and get policies without a VPN connection to the office. Symantec Ecosystem is very good if you seek for other security solution such as web proxy, DLP, EDR, etc. The products integrate with each other and you can achieve better policy management and also better visibility on your network. SEP is an agent-based solution, if you need an agentless solution this is not the product for you.
Read this authenticated review
June 12, 2019
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
SEP is currently used across our entire company. We use it for its anti-virus and firewall protection and its real-time threat detection. Updates to the program are automatic and require no user intervention at all. That is very useful when you have a large user base. SEP is easy to deploy, easy to maintain and works well keeping our data and workstations safe.
  • Powerful real-time anti-virus.
  • Firewall protection.
  • LiveUpdate: continuously updated.
  • The price point is a little high.
  • Can sometimes hog system resources.
SEP is well suited to companies who need to deploy and manage protection from a central location. Companies who want to protect users with minimal effort would be well suited for this product. I would say that it may not be right for smaller businesses where costs are a primary factor. The protection is very high, but the price is accordingly high.
Read this authenticated review

Feature Scorecard Summary

Anti-Exploit Technology (22)
8.3
Endpoint Detection and Response (EDR) (24)
8.7
Centralized Management (26)
8.7
Hybrid Deployment Support (15)
8.9
Infection Remediation (26)
8.3
Vulnerability Management (22)
8.5
Malware Detection (26)
8.6

What is Symantec Endpoint Security?

Symantec Endpoint Protection is designed to protect against advanced malware threats with powerful, layered protection backed by industry leading security intelligence.

  • Network Threat Protection stops most threats before they can take up residence on the machine
  • Insight reputation scoring accurately detects rapidly mutating malware and zero-day threats
  • SONAR™ behavioral analysis stops malicious files designed to appear legitimate
  • Strong antivirus, antispyware and firewall protection eradicate known mass malware

Symantec Endpoint Security Features

Has featureNetwork Threat Protection
Has featureInsight
Has featureSONAR behavioral analysis
Has featureAntivirus
Has featureAntispyware
Has featureFirewall protection

Symantec Endpoint Security Video

Overview Demo of Symantec Endpoint Protection

Symantec Endpoint Security Downloadables

Symantec Endpoint Security Competitors

McAfee Endpoint Security, Kaspersky Endpoint Security, Sophos Intercept X, Barracuda Managed Workplace RMM, Panda Security for Desktops, Trend Micro Endpoint Protection, Palo Alto Networks Traps Endpiont Protection, FireEye Endpoint Protection, Dell Endpoint Security

Symantec Endpoint Security Support Options

 Free VersionPaid Version
Phone
Live Chat
Email
Forum/Community
FAQ/Knowledgebase
Social Media
Video Tutorials / Webinar

Symantec Endpoint Security Technical Details

Deployment Types:On-premise, SaaS
Operating Systems: Windows, Linux, Mac
Mobile Application:No
Supported Countries:Americas, Europe, Middle East, Africa, Asia