TrustRadius
WebLogic Features, and some negative pointsWe are using Oracle WebLogic as our fraud application (Tombeller Siron Suite) and Oracle OFSAA (LFRM) application. The Siron WebLogic system serves all bank financial transactions, like Swift. LFRM is a finance management application. Mainly our finance and risk departments are using this application.,First reason: it's easy to manage. There are many management services we are using, and this service gives us flexibility. Second reason is redundancy. We are using high availibility features for mission critical services. Security. Oracle publishes new security patches and upgrades often.,Licensing model is complex. VMware support and certified features are very important, and also whether or not WebLogic supports and is certified to VMware virtualization. We can use more WebLogic systems.,9,WebLogic is an expansive solution. But if you need high availability, it's logical to use. For some projects, we cannot explain why we use WebLogic because of project size and cost efficiency. Additionally, WebLogic isn't certified on VMware. It's a problem when we are deploying the software. Sometimes we need hardware for that reason.,Not a member of any user groups,Oracle Database,Apache Tomcat, IBM WebSphere ILOG JRules BRMSMy reasons for using Oracle WebLogic Server.Oracle WebLogic Server is used in the organization as the exclusive server of the enterprise and intranet applications of the company, and for basic management of CRM for the clients. Oracle WebLogic Server is an adequate support for Oracle SOA and Oracle BPM technologies. It allows the implementation and advanced configuration of applications of all kinds.,The main power comes to be the scalability of the applications implemented in Oracle WebLogic Server. Oracle WebLogic Server allows me to define different points of access to data sources, including the creation of a multiple connection focused on facilitating access to data. Integration of very simple applications. Your use of WSLT is fantastic.,Oracle WebLogic Server is based on a previous user interface. Therefore, it does not include the latest representation updates. Therefore, its domain at the graphic level is much lower compared to other servers.,9,We had to invest a lot more. The result is still being quantified. The implementation processes are much faster, the applications are more secure with Oracle WebLogic Server. The management of the console is much more intuitive than other applications that we have used previously.,Grupo Usuarios Oracle Venezuela,Apache Tomcat, Oracle GlassFish Server and Red Hat JBoss Enterprise Application Platform,Apache Tomcat, Oracle GlassFish Server, Red Hat JBoss Enterprise Application PlatformIn WebLogic we trust!It is used to provide service to the entire company, we have presence in 12 countries. We have WebLogic cluster environments for development, testing, production and quality. The main productive applications are in the areas of: sales (analysis of sales, products, guarantees, sales indicators), marketing (campaigns), and goods and finances. All of these are executed in the WebLogic Application Server.,Cutting-edge technology. Excellent quality of manufacturer support through the My Oracle Support website. It has a lot of information about the product, to implement according to the best practices, as well as to optimize the performance in productive environments. Stability, security and availability.,It could simplify the installation process for non-productive environments.,10,In our business, availability is a critical issue, because the services must be running 24/7. Since we provide services in countries whose time zones are different, a pause in that service implies high monetary losses. We can not afford for operations so it is worth investing in an engine that gives us all the stability and security you need, so each dollar is worth it. The licensing of WebLogic servers in their most complete editions is not accessible for all types of companies, but in that case we visualize it as an investment, rather than as a cost.,Not a member of any user groups,,Veritas NetBackup, Oracle Database, Oracle BI Foundation SuiteFor the real world solutionsMy organization is an Oracle partner, therefore we value the use of its products not only in our projects and suggestions but eventually in our in-house applications. Our confidence in the product assures us that we have a robust and well-supported platform for our tools to provide an overall better service.,The brand relation between Java and WebLogic Application Server usually provides a quicker access to programming features and their availability for the applications deployed. The access to centralized configuration both from console and command line WLST eases the implementation of changes major or not in an organized and expedite way. The maturity of the product is also visible in the available tools provided by the product itself, for both monitoring of resources and alerting for availability and thresholds,Oracle could provide WLST with a graphics tool, to ease the scripting especially providing inbuilt list/details of accessible methods/objects A visible memory footprint often causes an overhead in the jvm runtime. Maybe too many product artifacts being loaded on boot? The console seems to still be in progress; some of the tables even in version 12c aren't customizable and displaying of long lists is often broken when you cant filter.,10,Ease of integration in OEM monitoring provided preventive actions on the infrastructure, so the number of incidents is reduced. Scriptable actions are portable in most of the environments, so the reuse of procedures requires less action time. It contributes to less time for deployments and downtimes by changes. Resource management helps to reduce waste in interdependent systems; for instance, managing connection pools helps to rationalize the resources used in a shared consolidated database environment.,Not a member of any user groups,WebSphere Application Server and Apache Tomcat,Oracle Service Bus, Oracle SOA Suite, Oracle LinuxWebLogic Server: Very Good Application ServerIt is being used by a department. It is used to host applications that provide services for residents of San Francisco. It facilitates integration between my department and other city departments so that customers' service requests can be created, updated and closed. It is highly available and is proven to offer its users top performance.,I think it is a great application server for developing and deploying applications across cloud environments and on-premise Hgh performance, scalability and reliability Simplify operations and reduce management costs,I would like to see only one console if possible instead of having to navigate through the enterprise manager, console and service bus console. The consoles are sometimes slow and not easy to use. I would like to see thread management through the consoles and be able to deal with a stuck thread without a server restart.,9,It has helped so far keeping my business alive. Users of applications hosted on WebLogic Server are pretty satisfied. My department has been using it for 10 years now and we would have switched to other vendors if not satisfied. No negative impact on our business objective.,Not a member of any user groups,WebSphere Application Server,Oracle SOA Suite, SQL Developer, Oracle Database
Unspecified
Oracle WebLogic Application Server
66 Ratings
Score 8.6 out of 101
TRScore

Oracle WebLogic Reviews

Oracle WebLogic
66 Ratings
Score 8.6 out of 101
Show Filters 
Hide Filters 
Filter 66 vetted Oracle WebLogic reviews and ratings
Clear all filters
Overall Rating
Reviewer's Company Size
Last Updated
By Topic
Industry
Department
Experience
Job Type
Role
Reviews (1-15 of 15)
  Vendors can't alter or remove reviews. Here's why.
Hakan Karayel profile photo
October 26, 2018

Oracle WebLogic Review: "WebLogic Features, and some negative points"

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We are using Oracle WebLogic as our fraud application (Tombeller Siron Suite) and Oracle OFSAA (LFRM) application. The Siron WebLogic system serves all bank financial transactions, like Swift. LFRM is a finance management application. Mainly our finance and risk departments are using this application.
  • First reason: it's easy to manage. There are many management services we are using, and this service gives us flexibility.
  • Second reason is redundancy. We are using high availibility features for mission critical services.
  • Security. Oracle publishes new security patches and upgrades often.
  • Licensing model is complex.
  • VMware support and certified features are very important, and also whether or not WebLogic supports and is certified to VMware virtualization. We can use more WebLogic systems.
If you have mission critical services, and you need high availability, WebLogic is suitable for using there.
But if you have a small project, sometimes WebLogic licenses are too expensive.
Read Hakan Karayel's full review
Daniel Pacheco profile photo
July 02, 2018

Review: "My reasons for using Oracle WebLogic Server."

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Oracle WebLogic Server is used in the organization as the exclusive server of the enterprise and intranet applications of the company, and for basic management of CRM for the clients. Oracle WebLogic Server is an adequate support for Oracle SOA and Oracle BPM technologies. It allows the implementation and advanced configuration of applications of all kinds.
  • The main power comes to be the scalability of the applications implemented in Oracle WebLogic Server.
  • Oracle WebLogic Server allows me to define different points of access to data sources, including the creation of a multiple connection focused on facilitating access to data.
  • Integration of very simple applications. Your use of WSLT is fantastic.
  • Oracle WebLogic Server is based on a previous user interface. Therefore, it does not include the latest representation updates. Therefore, its domain at the graphic level is much lower compared to other servers.
Big or small companies, Oracle WebLogic Server is the most successful solution in terms of security, robustness, scalability and support.
Read Daniel Pacheco's full review
No photo available
August 31, 2018

Oracle WebLogic Review: "In WebLogic we trust!"

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
It is used to provide service to the entire company, we have presence in 12 countries.
We have WebLogic cluster environments for development, testing, production and quality.

The main productive applications are in the areas of: sales (analysis of sales, products, guarantees, sales indicators), marketing (campaigns), and goods and finances. All of these are executed in the WebLogic Application Server.
  • Cutting-edge technology.
  • Excellent quality of manufacturer support through the My Oracle Support website. It has a lot of information about the product, to implement according to the best practices, as well as to optimize the performance in productive environments.
  • Stability, security and availability.
  • It could simplify the installation process for non-productive environments.
It is ideal for productive scenarios where a robust server is needed, capable of supporting high volumes of transactions and concurrent users. As long as the company has the economic capacity for investment.
Read this authenticated review
No photo available
February 01, 2018

Oracle WebLogic Review: "For the real world solutions"

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
My organization is an Oracle partner, therefore we value the use of its products not only in our projects and suggestions but eventually in our in-house applications. Our confidence in the product assures us that we have a robust and well-supported platform for our tools to provide an overall better service.
  • The brand relation between Java and WebLogic Application Server usually provides a quicker access to programming features and their availability for the applications deployed.
  • The access to centralized configuration both from console and command line WLST eases the implementation of changes major or not in an organized and expedite way.
  • The maturity of the product is also visible in the available tools provided by the product itself, for both monitoring of resources and alerting for availability and thresholds
  • Oracle could provide WLST with a graphics tool, to ease the scripting especially providing inbuilt list/details of accessible methods/objects
  • A visible memory footprint often causes an overhead in the jvm runtime. Maybe too many product artifacts being loaded on boot?
  • The console seems to still be in progress; some of the tables even in version 12c aren't customizable and displaying of long lists is often broken when you cant filter.
I see Oracle WebLogic Application Server being appropriate when an application needs several different data sources and messaging providers configured and accessible, with a configured level of control of resources (connection pools) and timeouts. It is also advisable to create distributed resources that you can configure as always active to provide more processing power, or as failover for situations of availability in case of disaster recovery, for example.
An application where the number of required resources configured is very small and almost non-changeable, and no scalability is required, some other options exist in the market with less cost.
Read this authenticated review
No photo available
November 09, 2017

Oracle WebLogic Review: "WebLogic Server: Very Good Application Server"

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
It is being used by a department. It is used to host applications that provide services for residents of San Francisco. It facilitates integration between my department and other city departments so that customers' service requests can be created, updated and closed. It is highly available and is proven to offer its users top performance.
  • I think it is a great application server for developing and deploying applications across cloud environments and on-premise
  • Hgh performance, scalability and reliability
  • Simplify operations and reduce management costs
  • I would like to see only one console if possible instead of having to navigate through the enterprise manager, console and service bus console.
  • The consoles are sometimes slow and not easy to use.
  • I would like to see thread management through the consoles and be able to deal with a stuck thread without a server restart.
It is well suited for development and deployment and monitoring of complex applications. I have used it in the past for WebLogic integration application deployments and today deploy and run SOA Suites composites from there. It is easy to create and configure resources like JMS resources and data sources and others. It provides a set of logs (server logs, diagnostics logs, admin logs ...) and is very useful for troubleshooting.

I don't have a big downside at this moment. It does its job well.
Read this authenticated review
No photo available
November 07, 2017

Oracle WebLogic Review: "The most stable AS in the world"

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Oracle WebLogic Application Server is used across the whole organization as the only permitted application server. It allows developers to rely on a mature and stable JEE server known by many java developers in the world. As such, it is easy to find developers having the required knowledge. Secondly, Oracle provides very efficient support if you need it.
  • The web interface allows to easily control the JEE features given to an application
  • This is the world number one commercial application server in the world that nearly all experienced JEE developers know
  • This is the best JEE implementation
  • It is heavy compared to JBOSS app server (but it covers the complete JEE stack)
  • The weblogic console is sometimes slow and not easy to use (not always user friendly)
  • It is expensive
It is well suited if you need a stable and complete JEE application server with strong support if ever needed. If you only have non-critical apps to deploy or if you don't expect to have lot of users you should better choose an open source web application server. If your staffing is young they will prefer to use lighter solutions
Read this authenticated review
Advait Deshpande profile photo
December 07, 2016

Review: "Oracle WebLogic Application Server - Robust & Reliable"

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Being a part of the release engineering team, we use Oracle Weblogic Application server to manage and maintain critical aspects of domains, servers, clusters, deployments, security realms, and services of a particular environment. It is used across the entire organization to support applications that run on our environments.
  • It is the best application server to host an application across an enterprise. Not only to do you get a summary of your complete environment which includes the servers, cluster etc., you can dig deeper and even find details about individual threads.
  • Extremely easy deployment that can be done through few clicks. You can view the state, health and type of your deployment making it easier to debug when something goes down.
  • Enriched feature of Security Realms makes it easy to add new users to an environment, tie them to a group, and look into credential mappings.
  • There needs to be a graphical tool to develop certain scripts used for maintenance of the environment. It may get tedious to debug the scripts provided by Oracle.
  • UI can become even more intuitive & easy on the eyes.
For a wide variety of enterprise applications, Oracle Weblogic Server is best suited where the best possible care is taken related to user security, roles and policies. The compatibility between other Oracle Enterprise Management tools makes it a great choice.
Read Advait Deshpande's full review
Ramprasad Kraleti profile photo
December 07, 2016

Oracle WebLogic Review: "Why the heck I use Weblogic Server!!"

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use Oracle Weblogic Application Server to host JAVA/J2EE applications, both web and enterprise at US Cellular. It is used by various teams within the information services department. We use Weblogic to host web applications related to Interactive Voice Response (IVR), sending SMS notifications to US Cellular customers, and managing the campaign material of our marketing department.
  • WebLogic Server can be best utilized for mid-large sized applications - applications with medium to large volumes of customers.
  • Use of work managers - to create specific work management logic for different applications.
  • Ability to use single data source vs. multi data source gives us failover possibility.
  • Thread management can improve... If we can review the thread performance more clearly on the WebLogic admin console, that would be helpful.
  • Store and Forward functionality in JMS - for managing messages SAF (Store and Forward) mechanism isn't working as efficiently as it could. Improvement would help.
  • Ability to control node manager from the WebLogic admin console would be helpful.
Oracle Weblogic Server best serves mid to large scale applications.
Read Ramprasad Kraleti's full review
Miguel Angel Merino Vega profile photo
November 04, 2016

Oracle WebLogic Review: "Weblogic, J2EE true Titan"

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We are currently implementing Weblogic J2EE projects requiring the implementation of application servers for high performance. Weblogic Server resolves us greatly administration and management of the server loaded applications, it allows us to establish opportune diagnostic of application performance and it facilitates the management of database connections.

  • Extensive diagnostics of server performance
  • JDBC management
  • Server Clustering
  • Websockets management
  • Learning curve. It has lot of functionalities for you to explore.
  • Their admin console can be a bit complicated and sometimes does not upgrade things properly
if you have a complex J2EE architecture and you ask for performance, go Weblogics. if you need to speed up development times on J2EE architecture, you can choose another alternative. If you use a framework like Spring or Struts in your code, in my opinion it is better to go for something lighter.
Read Miguel Angel Merino Vega's full review
Fareed Abolhassani profile photo
July 11, 2016

User Review: "Oracle WebLogic Application Server"

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
I used it in my internship. We used Oracle WebLogic Application Server (OWAS) in the IT department for easier manageability and performance.
  • Manageability - high % less time & effort with administration.
  • Deployment & scalability - less effort & time in deployment/production scaling.
  • Performance - better performance in application server, even in production environments.
  • Clustering is supported for all the basic APIs.
  • Deployment can be done in multiple ways
  • Farming feature - being able to hot-deploy on one machine will cause that component to be hot-deployed on all instances within the cluster.
  • Cost.
  • Vertical scaling - if CPUs are added, cost per CPU has to be paid extra.
If you need an application server that has zero or small downtime to deploy, that is easy to use with a robust user interface, has great performance, and clustering is being supported for all of the basic APIs, then this would be great for you.
Read Fareed Abolhassani's full review
Tom Thomas profile photo
June 14, 2016

Oracle WebLogic Review: "WebLogic Is a Powerful Tool for a Web Service Developer"

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
WebLogic is currently being used by our dev team to deploy web services locally on their machines so they can run and test the services without having to go through a web browser. It enables testing and debugging straight from a developer's local machine in their own development environment of choice. It's a great way to decouple the actual service instance from a dev or test environment.
  • Easy to deploy web services and applications locally
  • Provides an easy to manage console to control various aspects of the application
  • Easy to set up the environment
  • Could use more documentation
  • A little hard to integrate it with IDEs for testing
  • Very expensive
WebLogic is well suited for deploying and testing web services or applications. It is best to use it when testing on the actual service or application directly. It separates the actual instance of the service from a test instance. However, this might not be an ideal tool if you are on a low budget as WebLogic is very expensive.
Read Tom Thomas's full review
No photo available
October 25, 2016

Oracle WebLogic Review: "Just my thoughts"

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

We use Oracle WebLogic Application Server in most of the middleware tiers for mission critical servlces.

I can compare WebLogic and Websphere Application Server (WAS):
  • WebLogic is evolving faster than WAS.
  • WebLogic is more user-friendly than WAS.

  • Stable
  • Easier to manage
  • Great support
  • Price strategies
  • More Virtual product support - WebLogic is a great application that works on virtual environments. I have used it on VMware ESX for many years. There is almost no problem caused by ESX. However when we want to open a problem ticket with the vendor, they always ask about VMware, and they always think that problem is caused by the hypervisor. But it is not! I think WebLogic vendors must start to trust the hypervisors.
WebLogic is an enterprise application server designed for sharing resources such as middleware services.
Read this authenticated review
No photo available
June 13, 2016

Oracle WebLogic Review: "Extremely reliable application server"

Score 5 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Our company develops services for universities and the web portal development department choose the Oracle WebLogic portal as the reference platform for portal development. Oracle WebLogic helped to address the need for a reliable and easily scalable environment.
  • Extremely reliable, if tuned opportunely. Node manager is a very strong watchdog.
  • Very user friendly administration console.
  • Easily scalable: adding nodes to the cluster is really straightforward.
  • Very simple network configuration: only one TCP port for all the needs (http, jmx, ajp).
  • SAML support for SSO has room for improvement.
  • Not suitable for container (eg. Docker) deployment.
  • The learning curve: in order to become an expert you've to do a lot of (expensive) training.
For sure it is well suited for higly scalable mission critical services. It is too complicated and expensive for small applications.
Read this authenticated review
No photo available
June 10, 2016

Review: "Oracle Weblogic Application Server - The 'logical' choice of mission critical apps"

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Weblogic is used as a mission critical, robust web server supporting, on a 24*7 basis a user base of many thousands of agents , end users and business critical B2B applications across many contracts and lines of business. Weblogic provides a easy to configurable security, scaleable solution and one that is compatible with a very large number of well known 3rd party applications, standards and platforms.
  • B2B Gateways - Support for JAVA XML applications that allow applications to process (without failure) many millions of daily B2B conversations / updates.
  • Security - Support for all the latest encryption protocols and RFCs . Handles certificate management / chaining with easy and provides confidence data is sent to / from the server is a trusted and secure.
  • Scalable - Can support a few to a huge number of users both as a single node or load balanced in a cluster.
  • Applications - Comprehensive support for JAVA applications and publishing of applications using a simple web interface to deploy and manage applications.
  • JDBC Connectivity - Very configurable and robust software allowing web applications to talk to JDBC data sources.
  • Fingerprint - Can occupy a significantly larger portion of server resources. But there again it does provide a a substantial amount of features / functionality.
  • Support - As with most commercial applications bear in mind support (specifically end of life) of the application in 5 - 10 yrs . Oracle will support this but may not have the detailed expertise as their support staff move on. Seems a long while away but this will be mostly used in large IT operations / businesses where applications can sit around for many years before been replaced. Be prepared to regularly upgrade to a newer release.
  • Steep Learning Curve - To get the most out of this software there is a significant amount of learning to do. Be prepared to spend of training courses for support staff. LIkewise may take a few months to tune the application to your environment.
In the top tear for B2B Java XML Applications - Robust, scalable to > 1,000,000 of B2B Conversations per day (given correct load balancing). Can support with confidence mission / business / trading critical application

Likewise you wouldn't want to run Oracle WebLogic Application Server for a small number of static HTML sites. Essentially not suited to small environments with a trickle of hits per hour.
Read this authenticated review
No photo available
February 16, 2016

Oracle WebLogic Review: "Maybe the best platform for enterprise application server"

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
The Oracle WebLogic is being used across the whole organization as the main Application Server for both intranet sites such as Customer Support Portal and Employee Relation Portal and of course for implementation of highly scalable and easily configurable Client BSS and OSS solutions.
  • First of all - scalability of the solution. It's never been easier to transform a single server into a cluster with tens of nodes when our client's business grows up and performance demand rises up.
  • Configurability: hardcore admin can always work with xml config files while you can always provide a couple-of-steps "how-to" instruction to a new-comer on how to operate the Application Server using a quite friendly User Interface.
  • Easyness of integrations: just use the magic of WSLT to automate new server farm enrollment.
  • The UI, even though it is easy for basic operations, still has a lot of room for improvement when it comes to advanced settings and finetuning, which, you can imagine, are all have to be made in text fields with long, long, very long strings of plain unreadable text with uncountable keys and options
It's definitely well suited for a large enterprise Application Servers and probably is not the best choice for a small entrepreneurship.
Read this authenticated review

Oracle WebLogic Scorecard Summary

Feature Scorecard Summary

IDE support (13)
8.7
Security management (14)
9.2
Administration and management (15)
9.2
Application server performance (15)
9.2
Installation (15)
8.7
Open-source standards compliance (9)
8.3

About Oracle WebLogic

Categories:  Application Server

Oracle WebLogic Integrations

Oracle WebLogic Technical Details

Operating Systems: Unspecified
Mobile Application:No