Azure SQL Database Reviews

146 Ratings
<a href='https://www.trustradius.com/static/about-trustradius-scoring' target='_blank' rel='nofollow noopener noreferrer'>trScore algorithm: Learn more.</a>
Score 8.3 out of 100

Do you work for this company? Manage this listing

Overall Rating

Reviewer's Company Size

Last Updated

By Topic

Industry

Department

Experience

Job Type

Role

Filtered By:

Reviews (1-19 of 19)

Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
February 26, 2020

My Azure SQL Database Review

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

My organization within the company basically runs an online trading platform and we have several Azure SQL Databases involved in this. If the databases go down or get slow, our organization isn't making money. Availability is a priority and Azure SQL Database handles that very well for us, without the management overhead.
Read this authenticated review
Arthur Zubarev | TrustRadius Reviewer
October 05, 2019

Azure SQL Database - Good Now, Getting Even Better

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

Azure SQL Database was used internally solely for any new development or when extra capacity on an ad-hoc basis was necessary. Azure SQL Database was used across several departments.
SQL Server, as a mature and well known product that is around for so long makes Azure SQL Database a natural successor to it, which delivers on the same promises.
Users will find their familiar tools working seamlessly, any existing application would sustain likely a minor tweak or a mere configuration change to begin its Cloud journey. A migration off an on-premises SQL Server of almost effortless even from outdated versions.
Of course, with the Cloud the scalability becomes second nature and the server layer becomes transparent.
There are many options available how a client can securely access the data and the integration with Active Directory is supported.
The CAPEX to OPEX brings with it predictable spending, flexibility.
On the technology side, even though there are a couple of inconsistencies with the traditional SQL Server a business would find numerous benefits in Azure SQL Database as the ability to leverage the vast Microsoft Azure ecosystem and tools, reduced patching and version upgrades.
Overall, in my view, the Azure SQL Database is poised to constantly receive significant enhancements as Microsoft remains committed to growing its feature set.
Read Arthur Zubarev's full review
İhsan Akkarpuz | TrustRadius Reviewer
December 03, 2019

Secure Product Providing High-Performance

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

The product itself used across the company as each department needs some space to share and manage the data extracted out of manufacturing, suppliers, dealers and so on. Azure SQL Database fundamentally enables all employees to have an array of administrative features for acquiring and inventing big data. As part of Ford Motor company, it was inevitable for us to install such software with very high confidence thanks to its secure background.
Read İhsan Akkarpuz's full review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
November 19, 2019

Azure SQL - your solution for Agility and Scalability

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

As a startup in company in the data science space, Azure SQL Database was initially selected for development and proof of concept as a cost effective option for our organization. So it immediately addressed a massive need working under budget constraints. We now use it as our primary tool for data warehousing and data analysis.
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
August 09, 2019

Easy decision, good price.

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

We use Azure SQL DB throughout our entire business since we migrated to the cloud 4 years ago. It is the backbone of our CRM, Call Center and BI platforms, and feeds out Data Management initiative. On our CRM we use three instances, two for primary/failover and one for disaster recover and external queries running 10 seconds behind. Call Center links to that and BI runs 2 instances, one for sales/marketing data the other for manufacturing data. We have been quite satisfied with the control over the access and security of the data and the subscriptions themselves.
Read this authenticated review
Jacob Biguvu | TrustRadius Reviewer
July 01, 2019

Azure SQL database makes ease the transition to Cloud

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

CarMax is a car largest used-car retailer and a fortune company. I am Cloud Engineer/DBA in a team of DBA group. The company is largely using the SQL Server database as a back-end for most applications. The company decided to migrate their on-premises databases unto the cloud. They chose the Azure SQL database for all SQL databases. The main reason for the migration are the factors such as cost saving, scalability and performance, security, business continuity, and disaster recovery. On top of this, migration is very quick and simple from on-premises unto Azure, because Azure provided migration tools natively.
Read Jacob Biguvu's full review
Michael Jipping | TrustRadius Reviewer
January 14, 2019

Azure SQL Databases is quick to scale

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

Azure SQL Database was being utilized at first for development as a low-cost option for development and then was later explored as an option for running production workloads. SQL Database Servers have a relatively high fixed cost and this allowed for a great option at a reduced impact to the budget.
Read Michael Jipping's full review
Duncan Hernandez | TrustRadius Reviewer
November 15, 2018

Great answer for scalability!

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

Azure SQL is a cloud database, which our company has been lacking for a very long time. It has resolved our problem of being able to scale upwards, without having to request new servers or more memory in our current hardware. Currently, Azure is only being used by our developers and business intelligence team.
Read Duncan Hernandez's full review
Erik Ralston | TrustRadius Reviewer
November 06, 2018

Azure SQL Database: The Best PaaS offering for SQL Server

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

Azure SQL Database provides an easily managed PaaS-based persistence layer for all our web apps, including internal business systems and the products we sell to our customers. It provides a scalable, globally distributed database engine for our development team without a large admin overhead.
Read Erik Ralston's full review
Atul Gupta | TrustRadius Reviewer
December 21, 2018

Azure Sql rocks

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

We use it globally across all member firms for Enterprise solutions. It's the back-end for corporate applications and going forward analytics.
Read Atul Gupta's full review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
August 10, 2018

Intro to Azure SQL DB

Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

We use Azure SQL Database as the data store for our public website. It allows us to meet our uptime goals and provides a point of contact with our customers regardless of the state of our internal network.
Read this authenticated review
Rick Hahn | TrustRadius Reviewer
March 13, 2018

The Hidden Savings of Using Azure

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

It is used in firm-wide operations via RDP to enter data into a proprietary vertical market legal database. It resolves the problem of a law firm that is in several cities across the US.
Read Rick Hahn's full review
Zimran Azim | TrustRadius Reviewer
July 27, 2016

Azure "The Best to catch a breath for your self"

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

Azure database is currently used by a specific department at my organization and we mainly focus on auditing and monitoring so it pretty much serves our purpose and most importantly it is easily secured with firewall and DNS resolutions. Migrating databases is no more a hectic task from shifting a large scale database to a more managed engine.
Read Zimran Azim's full review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
August 07, 2018

Azure SQL DB is an example of how a DBaaS should be done.

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

Azure SQL DB is a great service. It optimizes licensing cost and lets you pay per usage. You can grow as needed and it supports from small to large databases. Be aware it can require some networking/security steps to have it in large or more controlled environments.
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
August 24, 2017

Reviewing Azure SQL Database

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

Mainly used for customer/product management. Azure has been a huge help in the process improvement realm. I've used this to enhance and speed up numerous processes. My experience with databases spans a decade and I've used a few different types of services available on the market. Azure was typically a 'go to' tool in most aspects. I advise companies to use this tool the majority of the time.
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
March 29, 2017

Read about my experience with Azure SQL Database. You might be surprised!

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

We had acquired a new casino and the move for them to be on our domain was TBD. We did, however, need data from some of their systems. Since they did not go through a full security evaluation yet, we were not willing to allow access to their end. As a solution, we implemented Azure SQL Database so we could push the data to the cloud, to then access it on our end. We would have the data without having to directly access their end from our domain.
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
November 17, 2015

Azure SQL - Making Life Easier

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

Azure SQL Database is being used by multiple business units in our organization. We use it in conjunction with Cloud Services (web applications).
Read this authenticated review

Feature Scorecard Summary

Automatic software patching (18)
9.1
Database scalability (19)
9.4
Automated backups (19)
9.1
Database security provisions (19)
9.3
Monitoring and metrics (18)
8.3
Automatic host deployment (15)
9.0

About Azure SQL Database

Azure SQL Database is Microsoft's relational database as a service (DBaaS).

Azure SQL Database Integrations

Azure SQL Database Technical Details

Operating Systems: Unspecified
Mobile Application:No