TrustRadius
Azure SQL Database is Microsoft's relational database as a service (DBaaS).https://dudodiprj2sv7.cloudfront.net/product-logos/f3/wH/KF3ZN1DWWBTO.pngGreat answer for scalability!Azure SQL is a cloud database, which our company has been lacking for a very long time. It has resolved our problem of being able to scale upwards, without having to request new servers or more memory in our current hardware. Currently, Azure is only being used by our developers and business intelligence team.,No more internal servers is a big plus. Transition was relatively easy since we came from another Microsoft database before. Query running time has significantly improved,Some of our older SSIS packages and SQL server jobs needed to be upgraded before a transition to Azure.,8,The big plus here is the security with our users. We sell our software and the companies that buy it are concerned with our employees stealing information. Azure really helped improved our security more efficiently so no one that isn't supposed to can see our partner's data. The average query running time has significantly decreased, which is huge.,Microsoft SQL Server,Microsoft SQL ServerAzure SQL Database: The Best PaaS offering for SQL ServerAzure SQL Database provides an easily managed PaaS-based persistence layer for all our web apps, including internal business systems and the products we sell to our customers. It provides a scalable, globally distributed database engine for our development team without a large admin overhead.,Providing a SQL Server instance at low entry-level cost and global high-availability Elastic offerings so SaaS applications can cheaply have one-database-per-customer approach for high data segregation Intelligence performance recommendations from both Azure and the SQL Server engine itself,Intelligent recommendations are not a silver bullet, since they often fail to detect opportunities that are obvious to a human database admin with any experience. Certain advanced database features - most recently I found: column store indices - are locked behind pricing tiers that one would naively assume are just about performance.,10,With easily managed secondaries and point-in-time restoration, Azure SQL Database provides a very robust set of built-in features for disaster recovery that have saved us a lot of work making our own. Integration with Azure DevOps and the Azure Management APIs that allow automation of resources and deployments has allowed us to run for years without a full-time DevOps person Elastic database capabilities have allowed for significant cost savings of our infrastructure that now boasts thousands of SQL database running on the platform.,Amazon Relational Database Service,Azure Active Directory, Azure Search, ReactEasy decision, good price.We use Azure SQL DB throughout our entire business since we migrated to the cloud 4 years ago. It is the backbone of our CRM, Call Center and BI platforms, and feeds out Data Management initiative. On our CRM we use three instances, two for primary/failover and one for disaster recover and external queries running 10 seconds behind. Call Center links to that and BI runs 2 instances, one for sales/marketing data the other for manufacturing data. We have been quite satisfied with the control over the access and security of the data and the subscriptions themselves.,Control of access and security is easy to manage and share within our team. Response is quick and quite a bit of things are preloaded to help. Having the SQL component reside directly within our subscription makes connecting and managing very easy and highly transparent. Added spots for notes on things like why an IP is whitelisted is very helpful when working with a large team that includes off-shore components. Scalability is another bonus, easy to scale up or down during peak times, and even automate that function makes it almost competitive with something like Snowflake.,A little slow on processing complex or large Views. We use a lot of Views to feed our BI system, and the processing time could see some improvement, IMHO. Additional monitoring components would be nice too, automating some built in performance measurement tools would be a nice feature. Price can always be improved as well. It’s not bad, but room for improvement.,10,We get our data much faster and hassle-free with direct connections to our apps. All our costs for major projects are now self-contained within a subscription, so managing costs is easy. Negative is the speed at which it can take to connect DB that are not in the same subscription or region, but that’s across the board.,Snowflake, Cloudera Data Science Workbench, Cloudera Enterprise, ThoughtSpot and Oracle NoSQL Database,Snowflake, Oracle NoSQL Database, ThoughtSpotAzure SQL DB is an example of how a DBaaS should be done.Azure SQL DB is a great service. It optimizes licensing cost and lets you pay per usage. You can grow as needed and it supports from small to large databases. Be aware it can require some networking/security steps to have it in large or more controlled environments.,It optimizes cost - pay per usage. It can scale up and down as needed. It can be migrated to from Oracle, MySQL and other on premises databases. It is always updated with management and administrative functionalities being added weekly.,Migration from on premises databases can be painful at first - but after couple of migrations it becomes easy. Network capabilities and restrictions should be carefully evaluated. It can be costly if you don't implement scale up/down automations.,9,Perfect for small and medium databases, being very cost effective. As a Platform as a Service, there is no concern about patches, upgrades and end of life. Be aware of security and network capabilities. The service cannot run in the VNET as Azure Virtual Machines do.,Amazon Aurora and Oracle Database as a ServiceIntro to Azure SQL DBWe use Azure SQL Database as the data store for our public website. It allows us to meet our uptime goals and provides a point of contact with our customers regardless of the state of our internal network.,High availability Security features Ease of upgrade from on premise SQL,Lacks full feature parity with SQL server More limited access to metrics for performance troubleshooting Hard to understand metrics used for sizing,7,Makes the database cost for our use case more predictable and regular Adds redundancy capabilities much easier than implementing our own Integrates easily with the other Azure services we utilize,Microsoft Azure, ODBC Driver for SQL Azure
Unspecified
Azure SQL Database
94 Ratings
Score 8.1 out of 101
TRScore

Azure SQL Database Reviews

Azure SQL Database
94 Ratings
Score 8.1 out of 101
Show Filters 
Hide Filters 
Filter 94 vetted Azure SQL Database reviews and ratings
Clear all filters
Overall Rating
Reviewer's Company Size
Last Updated
By Topic
Industry
Department
Experience
Job Type
Role
Reviews (1-12 of 12)
  Vendors can't alter or remove reviews. Here's why.
Duncan Hernandez profile photo
November 15, 2018

Azure SQL Database Review: "Great answer for scalability!"

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Azure SQL is a cloud database, which our company has been lacking for a very long time. It has resolved our problem of being able to scale upwards, without having to request new servers or more memory in our current hardware. Currently, Azure is only being used by our developers and business intelligence team.
  • No more internal servers is a big plus.
  • Transition was relatively easy since we came from another Microsoft database before.
  • Query running time has significantly improved
  • Some of our older SSIS packages and SQL server jobs needed to be upgraded before a transition to Azure.
Complex queries are a big plus. For a heavy front end users like me, I like a database that can handle all my complex syntax.

Migration was a problem since we had a lot of processes on Microsoft software as old as 2005. Since they are both Microsoft products, I would have hoped for an easier transition.
Read Duncan Hernandez's full review
Erik Ralston profile photo
November 06, 2018

Review: "Azure SQL Database: The Best PaaS offering for SQL Server"

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Azure SQL Database provides an easily managed PaaS-based persistence layer for all our web apps, including internal business systems and the products we sell to our customers. It provides a scalable, globally distributed database engine for our development team without a large admin overhead.
  • Providing a SQL Server instance at low entry-level cost and global high-availability
  • Elastic offerings so SaaS applications can cheaply have one-database-per-customer approach for high data segregation
  • Intelligence performance recommendations from both Azure and the SQL Server engine itself
  • Intelligent recommendations are not a silver bullet, since they often fail to detect opportunities that are obvious to a human database admin with any experience.
  • Certain advanced database features - most recently I found: column store indices - are locked behind pricing tiers that one would naively assume are just about performance.
Azure SQL Database, like most PaaS platforms, is best when you want to save money on human resources by paying a little more for computing resources. Especially cases where the developer is already deep into the Microsoft stack, such as situations where you're already using an Azure Web App for hosting your application. In these case, SQL Database is a no-brainer decision. Obviously, Azure SQL Database is less appropriate for Big Data applications (where a NoSQL technology or at least Azure SQL Data Warehouse would make more sense) and it's delivering SQL Server, so lots of open source stacks would be averse to it (e.g. Wordpress and most PHP technologies where they want MySQL).
Read Erik Ralston's full review
No photo available
November 12, 2018

Azure SQL Database Review: "Easy decision, good price."

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use Azure SQL DB throughout our entire business since we migrated to the cloud 4 years ago. It is the backbone of our CRM, Call Center and BI platforms, and feeds out Data Management initiative. On our CRM we use three instances, two for primary/failover and one for disaster recover and external queries running 10 seconds behind. Call Center links to that and BI runs 2 instances, one for sales/marketing data the other for manufacturing data. We have been quite satisfied with the control over the access and security of the data and the subscriptions themselves.
  • Control of access and security is easy to manage and share within our team. Response is quick and quite a bit of things are preloaded to help.
  • Having the SQL component reside directly within our subscription makes connecting and managing very easy and highly transparent. Added spots for notes on things like why an IP is whitelisted is very helpful when working with a large team that includes off-shore components.
  • Scalability is another bonus, easy to scale up or down during peak times, and even automate that function makes it almost competitive with something like Snowflake.
  • A little slow on processing complex or large Views. We use a lot of Views to feed our BI system, and the processing time could see some improvement, IMHO.
  • Additional monitoring components would be nice too, automating some built in performance measurement tools would be a nice feature.
  • Price can always be improved as well. It’s not bad, but room for improvement.
If you have any apps in the cloud, this is the way to go. The interface and management is much better than AWS, and no one else is getting closer. If you are running just BI, you could go with a Snowflake or Cloudera approach, but Cloudera is complex and Snowflake simply sits on top of Azure Data Storage anyway, and I hear will soon be an offering by Microsoft as well.
Read this authenticated review
No photo available
August 07, 2018

Azure SQL Database Review: "Azure SQL DB is an example of how a DBaaS should be done."

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Azure SQL DB is a great service. It optimizes licensing cost and lets you pay per usage. You can grow as needed and it supports from small to large databases. Be aware it can require some networking/security steps to have it in large or more controlled environments.
  • It optimizes cost - pay per usage. It can scale up and down as needed.
  • It can be migrated to from Oracle, MySQL and other on premises databases.
  • It is always updated with management and administrative functionalities being added weekly.
  • Migration from on premises databases can be painful at first - but after couple of migrations it becomes easy.
  • Network capabilities and restrictions should be carefully evaluated.
  • It can be costly if you don't implement scale up/down automations.
For large databases cost should be carefully evaluated as it can be very expensive. But for medium and small databases (usually 80% of the organization) it has perfect fit. Data replication (for disaster recovery), backup, security and performance recommendation are great tools and work very well. When planning to migrate from Oracle, start first with smaller databases - but be aware Microsoft is always improving its migration tools.
Read this authenticated review
No photo available
August 10, 2018

Azure SQL Database Review: "Intro to Azure SQL DB"

Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use Azure SQL Database as the data store for our public website. It allows us to meet our uptime goals and provides a point of contact with our customers regardless of the state of our internal network.
  • High availability
  • Security features
  • Ease of upgrade from on premise SQL
  • Lacks full feature parity with SQL server
  • More limited access to metrics for performance troubleshooting
  • Hard to understand metrics used for sizing
Works great for simple applications where you don't need functionality like cross-database queries. Also good for elastic use cases since it can be scaled up and down easily.
Read this authenticated review
Rick Hahn profile photo
March 13, 2018

Azure SQL Database Review: "The Hidden Savings of Using Azure"

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
It is used in firm-wide operations via RDP to enter data into a proprietary vertical market legal database. It resolves the problem of a law firm that is in several cities across the US.
  • The fact that it is available for the Azure cloud platform.
  • The fact that it is easy to license as a monthly subscription and software access is simple.
  • The fact that it functions exactly as its local server based counter part.
  • It appears to have a slight delay in revealing data in the client software, then data will appear almost instantly. It is an odd feel when using it until you get used to it.
  • It seems a bit slower than its local server based counter part.
  • The tool bars icons are a little different and took some getting used to.
If you are a small operation and your focus is on dollar for dollar comparison to a local server based product, it will seem more expensive, until you look at the big picture of total cost of ownership. In the alternative if you consider the cost of IT with this product compared to a local server based product it shakes out in your favor. Specifically when you consider that IT help can be had remotely from around the world at huge savings and by being cloud based you can get some very brilliant but value based talent by shopping globally. Azure products help accomplish this because IT can add and remove features and resources without any need for local boots on the ground. Where local servers and databases are subject to power outages, tampering by local employees, local access security issues.... It is just built for high availability on a more reliable backbone with secure access from anywhere.
Read Rick Hahn's full review
Simranjeet Singh profile photo
March 02, 2018

Azure SQL Database Review: "Easy to maintain large and complex data"

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We used it store customer data on servers and it provides many feature like dynamic queries. We create stored procedure in it to parse different types of format. We also save customer credentials in it.
  • It is best to store large scale data. We can connect with it in any language.
  • Interface is very easy and the debugging feature is really effective at discovering real errors.
  • Speed of processing large files and store into database is very fast. Data export and import is very safe and simple.
  • Login security features protect against unauthorized users.
  • Overall it is the best tool to mange large and complex data, but it needs enhancements in the speed of accessing large data volumes.
  • Sometimes it get hung if we forcefully stop the select query.
  • It should show consistent performance through SQL profiler tool.
It is used to secure store customer client information. It also provides a multi-task feature. For example we can open different inatances of the same server or a different server, and can perform any number of operations.
I always prefer to use this product, but there are some areas in which it struggles a little bit. For example, it should decrease CPU cost and require less system resources . I hope the next version overcomes these issues,
Read Simranjeet Singh's full review
No photo available
August 24, 2017

"Reviewing Azure SQL Database"

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Mainly used for customer/product management. Azure has been a huge help in the process improvement realm. I've used this to enhance and speed up numerous processes. My experience with databases spans a decade and I've used a few different types of services available on the market. Azure was typically a 'go to' tool in most aspects. I advise companies to use this tool the majority of the time.
  • Marketing automation and tracking
  • SharePoint servers
  • General Business Intelligence
  • For what I use it for I haven't come across much
  • User interface could be improved
  • Navigation could be simplified
It's appropriate with anything relating to product/customer/marketing efficiency. I work in consulting for numerous small and medium size businesses. Most of the time I consult on business development, marketing, online reputation, process improvement, and database work. When appropriate, I recommend Azure as a solution to whatever problem exists. The platform typically works out and helps me with clients.
Read this authenticated review
No photo available
March 29, 2017

Review: "Read about my experience with Azure SQL Database. You might be surprised!"

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We had acquired a new casino and the move for them to be on our domain was TBD. We did, however, need data from some of their systems. Since they did not go through a full security evaluation yet, we were not willing to allow access to their end. As a solution, we implemented Azure SQL Database so we could push the data to the cloud, to then access it on our end. We would have the data without having to directly access their end from our domain.
  • Scales easily
  • Performance is solid
  • It just works
  • Elastic pools are great
  • It would nice to have Azure SQL Database provide closer to full support of T-SQL
  • Cross database queries
  • More performance reports would be nice
It would perform great in a SaaS scenario. You could use elastic pools to manage multiple databases.
Read this authenticated review
Zimran Azim profile photo
July 27, 2016

Azure SQL Database Review: "Azure "The Best to catch a breath for your self""

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Azure database is currently used by a specific department at my organization and we mainly focus on auditing and monitoring so it pretty much serves our purpose and most importantly it is easily secured with firewall and DNS resolutions. Migrating databases is no more a hectic task from shifting a large scale database to a more managed engine.
  • The great thing about is even you are a pro or a newbie with Azure, you will not be tired of setting up SQL Server, the befitting pipelining of AZURE to cloud service where you don't need it onsite.
  • You always don't need to update services, patches and deployment of supporting services. Cloud does make it someone else's job to do this.
  • Generally obviates the need for building high availability architectures; Azure databases built within it are automatically highly available.
  • Highly scalable and has vast support for non Microsoft technologies.
  • One of the ways SQL Azure manifests being part of the whole stack is by offering multiple levels of implementation. If you simply need a website and a database, you can hitch an SQL Azure instance to an Azure website and be done with it.
  • No schedulers available in case you require cron jobs.
  • Certain username are not allowed (root, admin, administrator).
Sync and migration tools: If you already have a clutch of SQL Server-stored data somewhere and want to either sync it with SQL Azure or passively migrate it via sync, Microsoft has published a service -- the appropriately named SQL Data Sync to accomplish this. Use of the service itself is free, and all inbound data to Azure costs nothing, so you won't have to worry about racking up costs by syncing gigabyte-sized tables.
Read Zimran Azim's full review
Tom Jaskula profile photo
February 24, 2016

Review: "Azure SQL Database - a modern cloud solution"

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Reseller
Review Source
Azure SQL database can be used to replace traditional onsite SQL Server databases. It is a fit for many different business funtions within many different verticals and horizontals.
  • The newest SQL Server features and functions are pushed to the service, so unlike onsite SQL there is never a need for upgrading.
  • Azure SQL database does not require onsite infrastructure.
  • Because this is a cloud solution, you will never need to patch the Operation System, install a service pack, or install an update.
  • Unlike onsite databases, scaling up or scaling down is very easy with Azure SQL database.
  • Azure SQL database does not contain the SQL Agent service, so if jobs needs to be scheduled you still need to do this using a traditional SQL Server.
  • Given that there are 10 different pricing options, It can be difficult to determine which one to select.

SaaS shops that need to react quickly to customer demand can benefit greatly from the speed and ease at which a database can be created and scaled. Azure SQL Database also works extremely well with PowerBI and a plethora of other Azure services.

Azure SQL database is not likely to be a fit for replacing the database behind a large ERP, this isn't what its meant for. It also is not a fit if you have over 1 TB of data.

Read Tom Jaskula's full review
No photo available
November 17, 2015

Azure SQL Database Review: "Azure SQL - Making Life Easier"

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Azure SQL Database is being used by multiple business units in our organization. We use it in conjunction with Cloud Services (web applications).
  • Point In Time Backup
  • High Availability
  • Scaling
  • Provide customers more examples with Azure Automation (ways of doing backups, etc.) and then emailing when there is a failure.
  • Decrease costs on premium.
  • Allow customers to define a longer point in time backup recovery period.
Since they have different tiers, I'd say any business in need of a database could benefit and save time.
Read this authenticated review

Feature Scorecard Summary

Automatic software patching (11)
9.5
Database scalability (12)
9.4
Automated backups (12)
9.0
Database security provisions (12)
9.4
Monitoring and metrics (11)
8.6
Automatic host deployment (9)
9.0

About Azure SQL Database

Azure SQL Database is Microsoft's relational database as a service (DBaaS).

Azure SQL Database Integrations

Azure SQL Database Technical Details

Operating Systems: Unspecified
Mobile Application:No