Veeam on IBM Cloud Reviews

45 Ratings
<a href='https://www.trustradius.com/static/about-trustradius-scoring' target='_blank' rel='nofollow noopener noreferrer'>trScore algorithm: Learn more.</a>
Score 8.6 out of 100

Do you work for this company? Manage this listing

Overall Rating

Reviewer's Company Size

Last Updated

By Topic

Industry

Department

Experience

Job Type

Role

Reviews (1-9 of 9)

Shiv Shivakumar | TrustRadius Reviewer
June 23, 2020

Robust product that works well

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
This product is primarily being used as a backup and recovery solution for data--data in an on-premises data center is backed up in the cloud and this is where we use Veeam on IBM Cloud. It is used across the organization and helps have a data backup in the event we need to restore it. Data recovery is something we do once a quarter just to be sure that the solution works well and we are also following the exact steps required in the event of a real contingency. At every data recovery activity, there was zero data loss since we had clearly marked the data recovery point that we were going for.
  • Helps data recovery especially in recovery point objective without data loss
  • Easy to use interface
  • Minimal learning curve to use the product
  • Dashboard showing success/failure of backup can be made straightforward with either green for success or red for failure
Veeam on IBM Cloud is very well suited for doing data backup from the storage environment in the data center. It does this job well with an easy and straightforward user interface. There is minimal learning curve to get started. We wanted to use the cloud for backup instead of expanding storage in the data center and hence went with this solution. We do data recovery on a regular basis and have been able to retrieve data from Veeam backup in a very straightforward manner meeting the recovery time and recovery point objectives.
Indeed, it is able to really do a good job especially in the recovery point objective, which I consider more important, as any kind of data loss can be a nightmare scenario for the business to try and identify how much has been lost. It definitely delivers on the promise of both RTO and RPO as is commonly known. We mark our data recovery point every time before we conduct a data recovery exercise and we have been consistently able to meet recovery point objectives on every occasion. Hence, there was no real data loss when it was recovered/retrieved.
We use IBM Bluemix for some of the development work within the business.
Read Shiv Shivakumar's full review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
June 22, 2020

Veeam on IBM Cloud

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We have this solution implemented for a particular department that is open to having their data cloud-enabled. The department does not have a unique source to fund Capex expenditures so the IBM Cloud was a much friendlier solution. The underlying cloud management saves them on operation costs and allows them to use their funding in a flexible fashion.
  • IBM support is great
  • Cloud solves our cost issues
  • Flexible options
  • Still could add some more features
  • IBM cloud can change maybe too rapidly
  • Application extensions
When you want to expand your IT function to cloud functionality, IBM Cloud provides the tools needed with their partnership with Veeam to make it happen. If your data needs to stay on-premise for security purposes, obviously a cloud solution will receive a lot of scrutiny as an alternative. If you can overcome those hurdles, Veeam on IBM Cloud is a good choice.
It has lived up to its purpose and we are a happy customer. We are now a more dynamic organization since we allow our data to live in a more geographically diverse area of availability. The cooperation between Veeam and IBM makes this all possible so our organization can prosper and be productive.
  • Veeam on IBM Cloud
Good pairing
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
April 07, 2020

Great backup solution on cloud

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Veeam on IBM Cloud has been our choice for a backup solution. As an IT department, we have the responsibility for data management including backups. We have had many different backup solutions before but Veeam is the one now, which fulfils all our needs. Before we had to follow up on the process every day, but now it works smoothly almost every time. Also we have had many recovery tests and it always works great.
  • File restoration process is easy and effective
  • It's fast
  • We can meet our RPO/RTO targets
  • Costs
If you have an environment that has to be working 24/7 it's mandatory to have a perfect backup solution to be able to recover quickly as well as not to lose any data and Veeam provides such capabilities on the cloud.
As promised, as far as our tests show, we were able to reach the goal every time.
At the moment I cannot say anything bad about the overall provided services. It's holding me back to put the mark even higher as other cloud solutions have their advantages as well, so I can't rate this one higher than competitor ones. However the experience is really positive to the moment and it has delivered always.
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
August 26, 2019

You will not be disappointed.. Try it.

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Veeam on IBM Cloud has completely displaced all other backups. Working in the IT department, we have to respond to a crisis quickly with minimal data loss. Before Veeam, we had to choose either speed or up-to-date data, but now, we make no sacrifices in our data backups and can completely restore in minutes.
  • File-level restores are incomparably quick
  • Complete file server restores in minutes vs. hours - perfect for a critical situation
  • Images for application upgrades
  • Continuous data protection would be awesome. Would love to displace Zerto.
  • It took 2 years for us to be fully convinced (we are now) but we wish we could have been sooner.
We have no need for old backup software. We spent a long time weighing our options and figuring out which solution is the best by using them. In the end, it came down to speed, and what a speedy recovery did for the confidence of our customers.

However, if your team does not value speed of their recovery, or they need continuous backups, Veeam may not be necessary.
Not sure how any competitors can compete with Veeam. Once you use it and see how well it works there is no question that your team will be able to quickly and confidently solve any crisis without sacrificing up-to-date data.
Veeam is very easy to use once fully on-boarded and trained. Part of the reason we can respond to a critical situation swiftly is that it is so easy to use. We did take 2 years to be fully comfortable with the product as we tested it with others, but once we committed to Veeam, there was no question about it.
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
August 26, 2019

It is true - It Just Works!

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use Veeam on IBM Cloud primarily for backup and recovery. I work in the information technology department and we wanted a solution that could back up everything in our department. We have a lot of different types of data so this all-inclusive solution was perfect for our team.
  • It is incredibly fast
  • Veeam is the most reliable software we have used
  • It is far more accurate and precise than competitors
  • It just works
It is great - our whole team loves to use the platform because it is simple and extremely fast. We have taken the last 2 years to get comfortable with it, and because it has been so great, we decided to eliminate all other backup software we were using. This was a huge confidence boost for the entire team. Also, if you need a high-speed backup, Veeam takes just minutes for an entire file server restore compared to hours or days like before.
At one point we encountered a crypto situation that required us to completely wipe the server and restore using a backup. This was done fast, eliminated all security risks, all with extremely minimal data loss.
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
September 20, 2019

My Review of Veeam

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Veeam is used by the organization for backups of virtual and physical servers. It addresses the problems of backing up many servers.
  • Continuity to instantly recover any app, any data, on any cloud.
  • Veeam helps you avoid data loss by enabling low recovery point objectives (RPO) of
  • The dashboard on viewing backups and count/failures needs to be better.
  • It needs an easy way to delete backups from the target device.
Veeam actually works. Under our full load, Veeam just works and works well with few errors.
We have not had an opportunity for data retrieval through the cloud.
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
September 20, 2019

Veeam on IBM Cloud Review

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use VEEAM for backing up all of our servers in the environment. It blends seamlessly with the application. It is used for storing multiple backups/restore points for our virtual servers.
  • Speed
  • Dependability
  • Flexbility
  • User interface
It is useful in our 24/7 environment.
We have been lucky to have not needed to do this outside of testing.
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
August 26, 2019

My review of Veeam Cloud Storage

Score 6 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
[It's used to] Help us offload backups into the cloud rather than buying new storage. We do not have to keep buying storage from other providers. Before, we continuously had to expand the storage that we had to keep up for new hires, old employees, and other corporate data. Things like emails really add up over time and can never really be deleted, so we wanted a better way to back up our data that was safe and efficient.
  • Easy to use and install.
  • Syncs with Veeam
  • Cost of storage in the could
We store exchange backup forever. Veeam is helping put all of our data in the cloud (rather than a disk) where it is accessible and can live forever.

However, depending on cost, sometimes it's cheaper to use local storage if you have the manpower to manually complete the work.
Don't restore data that in the cloud that much, we really use it as a backup tool for our needs. However, with that said, we selected Veeam to host all of our data so that if we ever did need to go back, we could.
Read this authenticated review
David Johnson | TrustRadius Reviewer
June 19, 2019

My review of Veeam on IBM Cloud!

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Having the ability to brand the client is nice and it was easy to do. The program installation is straight forward and uncomplicated. Once running it does not put a drain on system resources. After the initial backup subsequent backups are quick. We are able to provide a robust and reliable backup solution to our clients. For the times that our clients have needed data restored, it has worked quickly and reliably.
  • The program installation is straight forward and uncomplicated.
  • Once running it does not put a drain on system resources. After the initial backup subsequent backups are quick.
  • It does what it is deigned to do and they have kept it simple for a reason.
  • The reporting could use some work. If you have a client who has some serious audit controls in place, you may find yourself creating the report versus depending on the system do that piece for you.
  • My complaint would be with the notification emails. They are not configurable and come out regardless of whether a backup set completed or is still running.
  • The scheduling is a little clunky. It would be much nicer if the backup could be "continuous" anytime it's connected to the Internet (similar to Carbonite).
It is an excellent mid-range backup solution. Beneficial for small to medium businesses. Capable and very versatile. Local and offsite backups are a breeze - just make sure you have ample bandwidth for larger sets (1 TB or more).
Many servers, even those with a poor connection, use the data loss prevention function several times a day and with continuous restore, we are ready to start the customer's environment in a while. We created our own disaster recovery service with huge earnings.
Read David Johnson's full review

Feature Scorecard Summary

Universal recovery (9)
8.1
Live recovery (9)
8.0
Recovery verification (1)
10
Business application protection (9)
8.1
Multiple backup destinations (9)
8.1
Incremental backup identification (9)
8.0
Backup to the cloud (9)
8.0
Deduplication and file compression (9)
8.1
Snapshots (9)
8.5
Flexible deployment (9)
8.2
Management dashboard (8)
8.2
Platform support (9)
8.3
Retention options (9)
8.1
Encryption (9)
8.0

About Veeam on IBM Cloud

Veeam on IBM Cloud promises to provide continuous availability to enterprise clients through its combined and automated backup and recovery solution.

Veeam is quickly and seamlessly deployed in your IBM Cloud environment for:

· Fast and agentless image-based backups

· Recovery of entire VMs, individual files, and application items

· Item-level recovery and eDiscovery for Microsoft Exchange, SharePoint, and Active Directory

· Transaction-level restore of Oracle and Microsoft SQL Server databases

· Automatic testing and reporting of every backup and replica

· Monitoring and alerting to unseen issues which can impact backup and application performance

Categories:  Data Center Backup

Veeam on IBM Cloud Features

Data Center Backup Features
Has featureUniversal recovery
Has featureLive recovery
Does not have featureRecovery verification
Has featureBusiness application protection
Has featureMultiple backup destinations
Has featureIncremental backup identification
Has featureBackup to the cloud
Has featureDeduplication and file compression
Has featureSnapshots
Has featureFlexible deployment
Has featureManagement dashboard
Has featurePlatform support
Has featureRetention options
Has featureEncryption
Additional Features
Has featureDisaster Recovery

Veeam on IBM Cloud Screenshots

Veeam on IBM Cloud Video

Veeam on IBM Cloud Integrations

Veeam on IBM Cloud Competitors

Pricing

  • Does not have featureFree Trial Available?No
  • Does not have featureFree or Freemium Version Available?No
  • Has featurePremium Consulting/Integration Services Available?Yes
  • Entry-level set up fee?Optional
EditionPricing DetailsTerms
Veeam Availability Suite$15per VM
Veeam Backup and Recovery$11per VM
Veeam Physical Agent$18per VM

Veeam on IBM Cloud Support Options

 Paid Version
Phone
Live Chat
Email
Forum/Community
FAQ/Knowledgebase
Social Media
Video Tutorials / Webinar

Veeam on IBM Cloud Technical Details

Deployment Types:On-premise, SaaS
Operating Systems: Windows, Linux, IBM AIX, Oracle Solaris
Mobile Application:No
Supported Countries:North America, South America, EMEA (Europe, Middle East, Africa), APAC ( Asia-Pacific, Australia)
Supported Languages: English, Spanish, Portuguese-Brazil, French, German, Italian, Arabic, Chinese, Japanese, Korean