Cisco UCS Manager Reviews

48 Ratings
<a href='https://www.trustradius.com/static/about-trustradius-scoring' target='_blank' rel='nofollow noopener'>trScore algorithm: Learn more.</a>
Score 9.0 out of 100

Do you work for this company? Learn how we help vendors

Overall Rating

Reviewer's Company Size

Last Updated

By Topic

Industry

Department

Experience

Job Type

Role

Reviews (1-8 of 8)

Companies can't remove reviews or game the system. Here's why.
February 11, 2021
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Cisco UCS Manager is the core utility used to control our data center. UCS manager has just about every knob and button you could imagine a host server might need. You can control all of the hardware and integration points from UCS manager. We use it at all of our sites that have local UCS servers on them. Gaining access through Cisco UCS manager is critical to ensure our large and small data centers stay running. We use these servers for production environment for our admin networks, as well as in a manufacturing automation environments. UCS manager is a powerful tool that we rely on.
  • Server Management
  • Hardware control
  • Controlling Fabric Interconnects
  • Connecting storage
  • Older interface design
  • Sometimes finding detailed settings can difficult
  • Slower at times
If you have a data center and use the Cisco UCS Blade platform with SAN storage, then UCS manager is the right tool for you. Managing one or a few host servers with UCS manager is pretty easy. You can see pretty quick what is going on with your servers. If you need to configure the fabric interconnects, you pretty much need to use UCS manager to do it. I find that it meets the needs for almost everything we do with the UCS C and B servers. If you have hyper flex servers from Cisco, then you would not want to use UCS manger. If you are not using Cisco servers you may not be able to use UCS manager.
Read this authenticated review
May 17, 2021
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
It is useful in seeing all hardware in a single pane of glass and being able to configure, manage, and update our Cisco blade infrastructure in this manner. Cisco UCS Manager is used exclusively by the systems engineering team to manage several hundred UCS blades we have across multiple data centers. We also use it to run production VMware ESXI clusters across the entire organization.
  • Management of every part our our Cisco blade center
  • Centralized management of a complicated system
  • Hardware control
  • Central storage
  • Smaller power requirements compared to legacy equipment
  • Cisco UCS Manager is known for its bugs, especially during code upgrades
  • Navigating the interface is bit confusing
  • Old interface design
I find that it meets the needs for almost everything we do with the Cisco UCS Manager C and B servers. If you have hyper flex servers from Cisco, then you would not want to use Cisco UCS Manager. If you are not using Cisco servers, you may not be able to use Cisco UCS Manager. It provides very flexible means to scale up and down within your environment as well as repurpose your hardware on the fly.
Read this authenticated review
February 21, 2021
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
UCS Manager is used exclusively by the Systems Engineering team to manage several hundred UCS blades we have across multiple datacenters. Using UCS Manager, we are able to efficiently provision, manage, and upgrade hundreds of blades without using tons of employee resources.
  • Service Templates: Provision new hardware using templates in the matter of minutes.
  • Firmware updates: Modifying the FW level on a template will kick off an FW upgrade on all attached equipment.
  • Consolidated Views: See all equipment in a single view.
  • Automation: There is a simple power-shell CMD lets, but it leaves more to be desired.
  • Navigation: Navigating the interface can be confusing.
  • Integration: Integration with ESXi hosts while doing FW upgrades would be hugely beneficial without the need for additional tools.
If you are going to use Cisco UCS hardware, it is a no-brainer to use Cisco UCS Manager. It consolidates the entire equipment stack into a single pane for easy management. We use UCS Manager in our VMware vSphere deployment, it helps us to keep track of the several hundred hosts.
Read this authenticated review
February 17, 2020
Tom Erdman | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use the Cisco Unified Computing System Manager to manage a dual UCS Chassis setup. This setup runs our VMware environment.
  • Centralized management of a complicated system.
  • Central pane of glass for managing logs, support features.
  • UCSM is known for its bugs, especially during code upgrades.
  • Similar options can be set in a variety of places with varying effects.
The entire trick of the UCS and UCS Manager is that it just. Plain. Works. So if you're a giant shop that can justify the cost and the host profiles, hot swapping of servers and other powerful features will help you, then it's a great solution, if not the solution.

For a small medium business, however, I don't know that the cost and complexity are justifiable.
Cisco support is almost always worth the money.
Read Tom Erdman's full review
February 12, 2020
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We host multiple VMware environments from our Cisco UCS. Every department within the company relies on the Cisco UCS on a daily basis. We have enjoyed the Cisco Unified Computing System Manager platform due to its fairly small footprint and ease of management. We have also found that adding and replacing gear within the Cisco chassis is extremely simple as long as you ensure firmware compatibility.
  • It shows detailed pictures of the equipment.
  • It quickly allows you to view errors/alerts.
  • Simplify each dashboard/view within UCSM.
  • Integrate other products within UCSM.
I have found Cisco Unified Computing System Manager to be greatly suited for managing and deploying VMware environments, Hyper-V, SQL Server farms, and other proprietary applications with ease. It provides very flexible means to scale up and down within your environment as well as re-purpose your hardware on the fly.
Cisco UCSM Support has been very quick to reply and address our concerns, issues, and questions. We have found that Cisco's documentation is clear and concise and fairly easy to find. With Cisco support's help, we are able to quickly and safely meet the demands of our end-users, consistently.
Read this authenticated review
July 26, 2019
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
UCS is used to run production VMware ESXi clusters across the entire organization. It has allowed integration with Pure Storage and VMware as a validated design (FlashStack).
  • Small physical dense blades in 6u of rack space
  • Smaller power requirements compared to legacy equipment
  • Long term support with VMware
  • Still using slightly dated technology for 'phone home'
Well suited from my experience with connecting into Pure Storage, VMware and Cisco switching.
Read this authenticated review
October 22, 2018
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We are using Cisco's Unified Computing System Manager to manage almost all aspects of our hardware that our VMware virtual environment sits on. We manage everything from the chassis, connectivity, fiber channels, remote console access to servers, and connectivity to our VMware virtual server solutions, as well as, our backup solutions.
  • It is very all inclusive for management of every part our our Cisco blade center.
  • It allows us to directly connect to a hardware-based server in the blade center as though we were physically at the console.
  • It allows us to monitor the entire system for faults.
  • It lets us manage connectivity.
  • It is set to alert us via email if a fault occurs.
  • It is so all inclusive that it can be difficult to navigate the system with ease.
  • Setup required an outside consulting firm.
  • They need free online fully inclusive training on UCS.
It is very all-inclusive into management of the entire infrastructure if you always use all Cisco equipment with it. It has proven to be very stable. After a recent firmware update, it does not require Java like others still do and UCS used to do in the past. We do like the monitoring. It will email us an alert if a fault occurs and also notifies either Cisco or our third-party support partner, as well.
Read this authenticated review
February 15, 2018
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Cisco Unified Computing System (UCS) Manager is being utilized to manage the converged infrastructure of our organization. It is useful in seeing all hardware in a single pane of glass and be able to configure, manage and update our Cisco blade infrastructure in this manner. It is used by the data center services team. Cisco UCS addresses management problems from using multiple hardware vendors. It allows us to use a single management interface instead of many.
  • Once properly configured it is very easy to use. The ability to configure profiles for your blade infrastructure and assign them to specific chassis is beneficial.
  • The error reporting is robust. We are easily able to isolate and remediate issues as they arise.
  • HTML5 support. The interface is redesigned and does not require a fat client or outdated flash support.
  • Initial configuration often requires outside assistance. Without the help from someone who is an expert in the field it would be a high barrier to entry for this product.
Cisco UCS manager is designed to manage your Cisco converged infrastructure and it does this extremely well. Integrating your fabrics and blade infrastructure and interfacing with your networks as well. Configuration and management of the blades is it's biggest strength.
Read this authenticated review

What is Cisco UCS Manager?

Cisco UCS Manager supports the entire Cisco UCS server and Cisco HyperFlex Series hyperconverged infrastructure portfolios. It enables server, fabric, and storage provisioning as well as, device discovery, inventory, configuration, diagnostics, monitoring, fault detection, auditing, and statistics collection.
Categories:  Storage Management

Cisco UCS Manager Integrations

Cisco UCS Manager Competitors

Cisco UCS Manager Technical Details

Operating Systems: Unspecified
Mobile Application:No

Frequently Asked Questions

What is Cisco UCS Manager?

Cisco UCS Manager supports the entire Cisco UCS server and Cisco HyperFlex Series hyperconverged infrastructure portfolios. It enables server, fabric, and storage provisioning as well as, device discovery, inventory, configuration, diagnostics, monitoring, fault detection, auditing, and statistics collection.

What is Cisco UCS Manager's best feature?

Reviewers rate Support Rating highest, with a score of 9.

Who uses Cisco UCS Manager?

The most common users of Cisco UCS Manager are from Mid-size Companies and the Telecommunications industry.