SolarWinds Server & Application Monitor Reviews

<a href='https://www.trustradius.com/static/about-trustradius-scoring#question3' target='_blank' rel='nofollow noopener noreferrer'>Customer Verified: Read more.</a>
541 Ratings
<a href='https://www.trustradius.com/static/about-trustradius-scoring' target='_blank' rel='nofollow noopener noreferrer'>trScore algorithm: Learn more.</a>
Score 8.2 out of 100

Do you work for this company? Learn how we help vendors

TrustRadius TRUE BadgeTrustRadius Top Rated for 2020

Overall Rating

Reviewer's Company Size

Last Updated

By Topic

Industry

Department

Experience

Job Type

Role

Reviews (1-25 of 257)

Companies can't remove reviews or game the system. Here's why.
December 23, 2020
Nikhil Kumar Sharma | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use Solarwinds Server and Application Monitor for our customers Server and Application Infrastructure monitoring such as Windows, Linux, Unix, AIX server infra which are on-premises as well as on cloud. We also do monitor their applications such as enterprise application Office365, Teams, Skype For Business, SAP, Databases (SQL, MYSQL, Oracle).
  • GUI
  • Monitoring Method Flexibility
  • Great Out of the Box monitoring templates
  • Ability to write own script
  • All infra in one view
  • Cloud Services monitoring out of the box
  • Transactions monitoring
  • application dependencies can be improved further
  • reduce dependency on agent
SolarWinds Server and Application Monitor can be used for any sort of servers or application monitoring such as Windows, Linux, Unix, AIX etc it also do not have any dependency on on-premises, google cloud, AWS or azure. All SAM does is to use the appropriate monitoring method having all pre-requisites in place already.
Solarwinds Server and Application Monitor has really made our jobs easy by having a single product to monitor On-Premises, Hosted and cloud infrastructure monitoring in one place. In the background it might do so many different things like polling API, do SNMP, do WMI, ping agent etc. but in front end it all looks same. Hence solves the problem of multi diverse infra monitoring via single tool
Read Nikhil Kumar Sharma's full review
December 11, 2020
Drew Hood | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
SolarWinds Server & Application Monitor is currently being used to monitor services, process, URLs, and various other things on Windows and Unix servers. It is also used to monitor network devices through traps and certain script monitors. It is a cheaper way to monitor these items throughout the system. It allows for easy and quick access, and even incite to the environment. It offers a wide range of usage just by being able to configure and run scripts as monitors. One of the key features that allowed Regions to choose to use it, is the option to not have to install an agent on a server. You can use WMI or SNMP to app monitoring.
  • Application Monitoring
  • Easy of Use
  • Versatile
  • Could use more in-depth functions with APIs
  • There are more options for Windows than Linux/Unix
I would 100% recommend SolarWinds Server & Application Monitor to a colleague. It's a cheaper, [more] versatile, easy to use product. It has a fantastic user support base. (Thwack.com) SolarWinds offers live online training sessions for free if you have purchased the product, where you can ask questions and learn how to use or even get pointers on best practices.
We use on-premises for SolarWinds Server & Application Monitor. It was a key point that we needed. We are moving slowly to more cloud infrastructure, however most of the monitoring products need to be on-premises with a bank. We know that Solarwinds offers all of the various options and we will use them if and when needed.
Solarwinds now offers Enterprise support which we invested in to get quick and fast support. It is a little costly, but worth it to be able to have someone respond to questions quickly and dive into issues you might be having. Standard support is good but not great. You will sometimes have to wait once you put in a ticket, but they are generally pretty good at getting your issue resolved.
Read Drew Hood's full review
December 09, 2020
Devbrath Pant | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
It is being used to monitor servers and application metrics all over the many Infosys clients' IT environments. I use it to gather metrics of servers CPU, Memory, Disk, and much more and alert on them. Also, it is very useful to monitor application processes and performance counters and set up an alert for them.
  • Server metrics monitoring
  • Application metrics monitoring
  • No transaction monitoring
SolarWinds Server & Application Monitor is well suited for the environment where we need to monitor infrastructure architecture and applications purchased from other vendors. It is not suitable to monitor the applications made by the organization itself as it doesn't give full stack trace and is unable to monitor business transactions.
We are monitoring CPU, Disk, and Memory at the server level and we are monitoring applications like reporting applications, security applications, compliance applications, etc. It has helped us a lot. We have different kinds of scheduled reports, including for availability, disk usage, etc. to keep us posted. We have remediation action alerts like starting up IIS pools automatically when they go down and much more.
Read Devbrath Pant's full review
November 21, 2020
Cody Plassmeyer | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
SolarWinds Server & Application Monitor is mainly used by our IT department, but our IT department uses it in a way to support other departments throughout our organization.
  • SolarWinds Server & Application Monitor helps monitor the status or some of our most important applications. It has the capability of letting us know when an application goes down which helps us fix the issue faster.
  • SolarWinds Server & Application Monitor helps monitor the resources on servers. By knowing the key components of the server such as CPU, RAM, and storage, we can forecast whether we need to increase or decrease resources on any server.
  • SolarWinds Server & Application Monitor helps us by sending real time alerts when issues occur related to servers that we are monitoring.
  • SolarWinds Server & Application Monitor has been extremely helpful for our organization. I can't think of anything to improve on.
Any server administrator needs a tool such as SolarWinds Server & Application Monitor in their environment. Having the ability to receive real time alerts when an application or server goes [down] only helps in the troubleshooting process and the down time. No one wants to see a server or application go down but it is inevitable that it will happen. Having the ability to get it back up and running in a timely manner is most important.
As mentioned in previous questions similar to this, having the ability to get a server or application back up and running is important. Having the ability to know if a server is going to run low on resources is also important. We have had both scenarios happen in our environment and SolarWinds has been the key component in helping us.
Any time we have had to get SolarWinds support involved, [they] have met our expectation[s] on solving the problem in a timely manner.
Read Cody Plassmeyer's full review
December 28, 2020
Kiran Yakkala | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
SolarWinds Server & Application Monitor module is used across our entire infrastructure. It gives visibility into a lot of data and issues across the organization.
  • SolarWinds Server & Application Monitor was able to give info on certs that are going to expire, which helped us renew before they caused an outage.
  • SolarWinds Server & Application Monitor module gave us insights into resource utilization for multiple servers due to which the debugging and fixing of issues was very easy.
  • Alerting is broken for us. When we asked about it, we were told it is a bug and to upgrade our SolarWinds. It is a very huge upgrade. We didn't even get a workaround.
  • Support is sometimes very slow.
I haven't seen any other tool capable of monitoring certificate expiry like SolarWinds Server & Application Monitor. It is suited for infrastructure monitoring but it is absolutely useless to monitor application performance.
The single tool for all the monitoring is good. But SolarWinds Server & Application Monitor is good mainly from an infrastructure perspective. This will become a very old-gen tool when the new AI tools come to market that can do a lot more.
Read Kiran Yakkala's full review
December 13, 2020
Mike Narumiya | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
SolarWinds brings our uptime up by allowing fewer people to monitor applications and servers in a single application with a great notification system. Previously, I had been using a variety of programs that this new one suite can do. It is easy to use. In addition, the option to prioritize notifications allows for better and more accurate resource allocations.
  • Ease of use, simple and easy to set-up and issue.
  • Priced right for our organization.
  • Having so many modules, can take some doing to understand what you need or want.
  • Additional mobile app/device monitoring.
If you have a wide variety of systems, and perhaps some rarely used or interacted systems, this is a great tool for monitoring servers and applications. In addition, if your staff is small, can greatly empower those that you have to keep an eye on more. Easy to use and train to newer staff. Notifications are easy to set-up and modify.
SolarWinds allowed for a few members of staff to track a number of systems in various locations, as well as remind us of systems that are out there that are rarely used. Easy to implement and get going and grow into additional features and complexity. Very handy, and great to have consolidated views of systems, issues, performance, etc. The implementation is really easy which is great as to not add a great deal of additional burden to a team.
Read Mike Narumiya's full review
December 11, 2020
Curt Sminkey | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use SAM to monitor all of our servers (across 4 different sites in North America) as well as our store registers (Over 350 stores). We report and get alerts on disk space, high CPU/Memory usage, running processes and just implemented AppInsight for Exchange (which is awesome).
  • AppInsight for Exchange gives us stats on DB sizes, mailbox sizes, errors, ETC.
  • Email alerts let people in our organization who don't normally log into Solarwinds, get notified of any possible problems
  • Historical reporting lets us see trends over time for CPU, memory, repsonse times, disk space, ETC.
  • I, personally, had a hard time figuring out how to add AppInsight for Exchange and had a tough time finding any documentation on it. When I figured it out, it was easy, but took me quite a while (and numerous attempts) to get there.
  • The new web reporting is difficult to use. In the end, I love how the reports look, but i have to spend a lot of time to get there.
  • We get a lot of alerts that we aren't sure what they really mean. A better explanation of why an alert occurred or what it means could be useful in finding the root cause.
We use it to monitor all of our servers (over 500) and over 750 Windows XP machines in our retail stores. We find that we get a lot of false-positive alerts on the more in-depth component monitors so we have shy'd away from using them - mostly because I am unsure what they actually mean.
Read Curt Sminkey's full review
December 11, 2020
Chike Igwegbe | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Solarwinds allows our company to monitor our servers 24/7. When we have emergencies, downtimes we instantly get a notification via the app and SMS. Their monitoring process has literally saved us thousands of dollars!
  • Monitor website downtimes.
  • Monitor apps downtimes.
  • Please provide integration via Cloudflare.
  • Extend trial periods for startups.
If you need to monitor your website or app 24/7 then this is a must have. I have been using it for over 5 years and I am perfectly happy.
Before we started using SolarWinds Server & Application Monitor we would experience downtimes and wouldn't even be aware until customers called and asked why we were offline, poor hosting companies left our business susceptible to downtimes. SolarWinds Server & Application Monitor allowed us make an informed decision switching to a more reliable host and still monitor 24/7. We saved our business's reputation via SolarWinds Server & Application Monitor.
Read Chike Igwegbe's full review
December 09, 2020
Mark McCully | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Solarwinds is used by Vizient's IT ops department to monitor server and network endpoints for up/down status, drive space issues, services up/down, etc.
  • Very easy to set-up.
  • Very easy to administer.
  • Not a steep learning curve to get to know the product.
  • Creating custom alerts for multiple objects can be cumbersome.
  • Adding a user account with a password to use for scanning purposes requires a lot of steps.
Solarwinds is a great, cost-effective solution for small to enterprise-sized companies to use for server and application monitoring for their physical or virtual environments. It handles network gear along with servers to cover all of your infrastructures as well. It can also monitor on-prem or off-prem resources from one console.
Our administrators love using Solarwinds because they can view our entire environment from a single pane of glass. Solarwinds ease of use is also second to none. It can scan and automatically add a new server or network nodes into Solarwinds to monitor them as well - which saves our admins from having to do manual scans or entries. It is a huge time saver for us.
Read Mark McCully's full review
December 09, 2020
Adam Gadsby | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Server and Application Monitor has been deployed to all servers within our client's organization, and it has enabled our support team and the client's staff to identify potential issues before they become critical saving time and money. The application monitor elements allow us to keep tabs on the health of key business applications such as email, SQL, and identify and resolve issues quickly.
  • Quickly identify potential issues with applications and their root causes.
  • Server resource usage can be kept on top of, with additional resources, added before its needed.
  • Its simple and intuitive to use.
  • Easy to drill down to get the detail behind the headline information.
  • Could have more application insights.
SAM module is well suited to organizations with multiple servers in one or more sites, as it takes care of the mundane monitoring tasks, allowing your staff to focus on more pressing matters. Business-critical applications, such as Microsoft Exchange, Lotus Notes, and SQL databases, can all be monitored out of the box, and other applications can easily be added in and monitored using the template creation features.
Our client has been able to monitor their entire estate, regardless of it being located in a mixture of on-premises physical machines, VMWare virtual machines, and cloud-based servers in Azure. It really is a one-stop-shop for monitoring and pulls all the metrics and alerts into one single pane of glass, making the life of the support teams a lot easier.
I've not had much cause to call on support as the application is pretty intuitive to use, but when I have done both, the SolarWinds Customer Support and the superb community in its Thwack forums have been superb, friendly, and very knowledgable.
Read Adam Gadsby's full review
December 03, 2020
John Martins | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
SolarWinds SAM is being used by one of my customers in their department. I was responsible for the installation/configuration/ day to day operations of SAM. My customer is utilizing SAM to replace their previous monitoring product. SAM is used for them to be able to monitor servers and applications, to ensure their environment is healthy.
  • Ability to monitor and graph specific components of servers and applications.
  • A various amount of already built templates ready for deployment.
  • Fast and easy set up with subnet scans.
  • There is no option out of the box for SAM to show you the process that is consuming the most CPU. To be able to do this you need to ensure that the process/service is actually selected for monitoring (this is a problem as we just want to know frequently the top 5 processes consuming the highest CPU without monitoring them all).
  • We find the interface a bit slow sometimes (yet, with this being said, we are currently rebuilding to ensure everything is set up right, as we are not sure if it is an environment or application issue).
SAM is suited for monitoring components of a server/application e.g. CPU usage, memory usage, a specific service. There are a lot of components that can be monitored via SAM and SAM comes with several default templates to help the users.
Solarwinds is designed in a way where all additional SolarWinds products you purchase are integrated straight into the web console. This ensures a simple to use interface for the team, resulting in understanding the performance of our environment faster.
Normally support is fast and provide resolutions quickly, yet there has been one instance where the support case has gone on for an extremely long time.(due to the complexity of the problem)
Read John Martins's full review
November 19, 2020
Marty Mankins | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We have production-level servers that we are wanting metrics on for data processing. We want to know the loads they are under and the amount of connections that are being made to them. The sites we host for our customers need settings and configuration changes to help improve responsiveness and reduce load times. SolarWinds Server & Application Monitor dives deep into these servers and the applications they run like IIS and Apache and points out areas where speed and data accessibility can be improved with code changes, optimized settings, and updated versions of internal applications. While it's a very robust system and there is a lot to learn, SolarWinds Server & Application Monitor has the ability to optimize servers and a production environment to better improve customer-accessible sites and portals for data retrieval.
  • Identifying inefficiencies in data serving environments
  • Giving access to multiple services and the behind-the-scenes operations
  • Showing a view into backend operations on a production system
  • The environment took some effort to set up
  • Getting familiar with all of the inner workings and settings is time consuming
  • Better response time from support techs when you are needing assistance with the installation
A robust an application for monitoring multiple systems, SolarWinds Server & Application Monitor certainly is not short on capabilities for taking a multiple-server environment and digging into all of the services and applications and helping to optimize the overall environment. Any serious production environments that are slow and needing help to better serve up traffic to customers should consider SolarWinds Server & Application Monitor as a way to make improvements.
We run a lot of different systems using IIS, SQL Server, Apache, and Kubernetes servers to help provide information, mostly via hosted websites, for individual customers. These are template-based systems, often providing very similar views to multiple customers, changing options like logos, inventory, etc. SolarWinds Server & Application Monitor has so far given multiple developers, managers, and application programmers the ability to see where changes can be made to improve speed and access to these customer web sites.
The initial SolarWinds Server & Application Monitor setup for our organization was a project tasked to me. I had to spend some time getting things prepared, such as finding a place for the VM that would be running SolarWinds Server & Application Monitor and making sure we had sufficient resources available. The install of the product was very frustrating, as there were a few failed installs--mostly getting rights to the MS SQL server for the database. Even after the install, there were calls to support where I needed some hand holding to get to the next step. Once escalated emails were sent, a support tech was able to resolve all issues and we got SolarWinds Server & Application Monitor up and running. Highly recommend taking the free classes SolarWinds offers to learn more about this product. They helped a lot to improve product knowledge.
Read Marty Mankins's full review
July 24, 2020
Tim Kovars | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
The IT department uses SolarWinds Server & Application Monitor to monitor our entire server environment, both physical and virtual. We are mainly a Windows shop and do additional monitoring of Active Directory, SQL, Citrix and custom apps or specific services we are looking to monitor. It keeps track of server up/downs, memory/CPU and application outages.
  • Server health, using insight through WMI for what Microsoft is seeing from within the box.
  • Monitoring services/apps through AppInsight and being able to add specific services not included or for other applications.
  • Sometimes and easy button would be nice to simplify the views and data collected.
  • Sales calls are persistent for anyone who has any involvement, which is just plain annoying.
I feel it shines in monitoring a mix of virtual and physical servers. There are other products that have issues with that physical piece, but SAM doesn't care which one it is. While a bear to maintain at times, the custom-ability is another place it does well. Being able to monitor things not included/out of the box is a key feature. The user community is strong and has a lot of useful input.
Once you have it dialed in and have everything you want it is great to monitor the different pieces of our environment. It's easy to log in and see what systems are critical and what has alerts. We use it heavily to send out an e-mail when there is an issue. The thresholds are easily configured to add overhead if needed for storage or CPU/memory.
Read Tim Kovars's full review
July 17, 2020
Callen Gilmartin | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We the application monitor to both keep track of and monitor the nodes on our network. It not only allows us to pinpoint areas of failure, but is a thorough system to documents IP addresses, MAC addresses, and SMTP devices such as networked cameras. The alert system in SolarWinds is probably the most useful tool - we have setup intricate monitors and alerts to correctly alert the right department at the right time. The versatility of the program allows us to monitor everything from servers, to switches, to specific processes running on VM's hundreds of miles away.
  • Versatility: The program allows for monitoring of almost any system, simple or complex and allows for intricately programmed alerts based on each monitor.
  • Ease of use: Type in the URL, and you are greeted with a fully customizable dashboard with any and all of the pertinent features to your workflow.
  • Modular: The program itself is very powerful, but the ability to add or remove features based on need is exceptional compared to competitors.
  • Help links & additional tool-tips. Having thorough and easy to understand instructions is the most important part of software this comprehensive and it would be great to include direct links to wiki pages.
  • Monitor/Alert templates. The program could use more and simpler alerts and monitors.
The best use for SolarWinds is a comprehensive organizational and network monitoring tool. The network atlas/mapping tool is extremely useful for visualization of the physical locations of cameras, switches and numerous other network devices. SolarWinds is not the be-all-end-all when it comes to performance, however. It should be used only on large-scale server clusters that can handle the load efficiently.
Without SolarWinds, our downtime would double if not triple. SolarWinds not only alerts us of issues immediately, but it does so very effectively by only alerting you of major issues and only alerting the right people. Its ability to not only watch locally hosted devices but also off-site and cloud devices make it a must-have for any large network.
Read Callen Gilmartin's full review
October 23, 2020
Mandy Ferguson | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
SolarWinds helps our team to manage the network and all of the servers we support for our entire line of centers across Marriott International. Prior to SolarWinds, our server management was done manually, and was not very organized. We were unable to collect much data. After implementing SolarWinds, we were able to manage the network and servers in a more efficient way. We were also able to provide much better data for both of these areas.
  • Provides specific data on how network is performing.
  • Allows for easier management of large amounts of servers.
  • Creates a more organized way of reporting out on data.
  • Training could have been better so more employees know how to correctly use the system.
  • Better price point would allow a company to use more product features.
  • Ability to add more custom fields.
I did not use SolarWinds as much as my colleagues but when I used it, it was easy to understand. All of my colleagues really enjoyed using the tools and found it much easier than previous things we were using.
The ability to monitor the mass amount of servers from one place, rather than doing it manually greatly increased the efficiency within our organization. It also allowed more employees to be responsible for monitoring rather than having one associate having to stay on top of the monitoring of all of our servers at all times. Spreading the responsibility created a better balance across the team.
I didn't ever have to reach out to support but the team members that implemented SolarWinds didn't seem to have any issues working with SolarWinds support at any time. They were always able to get their issues resolved in a timely manner or receive more help at any time. I think training could have been better but that may have been on our team, more than it was on SolarWinds support.
Read Mandy Ferguson's full review
January 15, 2021
Joe Parlett | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 6 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
It is used to identify poor performing SQL servers and SQL processes.
  • High wait time.
  • Long running queries.
  • Poorly designed SQL tables and code
  • It is not simple to navigate.
  • The user interface takes a while to get familiar with.
For SQL monitoring it does a good job but I am an experienced SQL developer and you need that experience to understand what it finds.
Solved the SQL Server performance blame game.
  • Online training
I do not deal with support. That is another technician.
Read Joe Parlett's full review
July 30, 2020
Odysseas Basdekis | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Basically, it is used to monitor several servers. Mostly, we monitor disk size, backup files, health of ESX hosts, and SQL DB. It is used across the whole organization.
  • Immediately alarms if the disk has not enough free space.
  • The most powerful tool is that you can design your own monitor, depending for example on the existence of a file, its size, and its contents.
  • Mainly, if the issue is resolved, SAM also alerts.
  • Sometimes, changes in the equipment or on the server system cause issues, i.e. change of the FQDN of the server. Resolution is available but when there is a problem with SAM, the monitoring stops, so sometimes it causes more serious problems.
From simple to more complex monitoring, it provides a solution.
For sure it gives us a single tool that can gather all the necessary information to show to the managers if something goes wrong, where the problem lies, and provisioning of the service.
Read Odysseas Basdekis's full review
July 17, 2020
Derek Benson | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We currently use this app exclusively in the infrastructure/networking department. It allows for real-time monitoring of assets and allows for historical data, which is useful to our team.
  • Real-time monitoring.
  • Historical data.
  • Ease of use, "ergonomic" in that it is easy to navigate, and intuitive.
  • Quick-start guides for new users would be great.
It is strongly suited for asset monitoring by an infrastructure-oriented department. It's not recommended to casual or infrequent users.
We currently monitor on-premise assets (servers, network hardware, etc.) with great success. We are only just entering the cloud space, however, and have not taken advantage of the additional capabilities.
Read Derek Benson's full review
December 16, 2020
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
[SolarWinds Server & Application Monitor] is our go to Monitoring Solution, spanned across the entire company that might have any sort of monitoring needs.
  • Volume Monitoring is absolutely Essential
  • WPM synthetics are cheap and efficient
  • Design is Clunky
  • Features are burried
  • Regular Users do not like it
  • Need to spend a lot of time in it to really understand anything going on.
[SolarWinds Server & Application Monitor] does almost everything well. How many people log into their 90 web servers to check if the Volumes are almost full every day? Pretty much zero so this is something [SolarWinds] is essential for. Also [SolarWinds Server & Application Monitor] has so many features its hard not to use it for almost everything.
It has improved up time and time to get back up when things go down, as [SolarWinds] is the first to alert on problems.
Read this authenticated review
September 03, 2020
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 6 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
It is being used to monitor applications and services across the organization. The plan was to replace What's Up Gold and Nagios with SAM. I've used it at many organizations when I was doing professional services on SolarWinds products.
  • It let's you build in depth component monitors to watch almost anything.
  • It allows you to grab additional information at the time an alert is triggered to help provide a complete picture for the admin.
  • Most of the functions are tied into the API which makes integrations and automations possible.
  • The new node based licensing model makes it difficult to justify the price for nodes that only utilize a few components.
  • Script results need to be a statistic. It would be a lot more useful if we could populate a table of results, including alpha-numeric strings, boolean, etc.
  • A lot of the AppInsight components cannot be disabled. You have to either use the whole template or nothing.
SAM allows for specific, custom and in depth monitoring. However, the node based pricing makes the cost justification difficult for the majority of nodes that only use a few component monitors.
There's little impact now. All of our monitoring is on-promise. It would be nice to have the ability to integrate outside-in monitoring as a cloud service that could be polled from an on-premise polling engine. A polling engine in the cloud still needs to talk back to the on-premise database for any functionality to work.
Read this authenticated review
December 11, 2020
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We are leveraging SolarWinds Server & Application Monitor to monitor all of our servers and networking equipment, as well as creating customized alerts that will notify the help desk team when things are less than ideal. We are using it across our entire department, but not necessarily the entire organization. The business problem it is solving is creating that single pane of glass that we can see green/yellow/red how our network/infrastructure is currently doing.
  • Alerting- You have the ability to alert on many different things and get pretty granular.
  • Dashboard-You can create customized dashboards for different people/groups that can see what they need to see.
  • Monitoring- You can also get pretty granular as far as what you want to see, and if they don't have something built-in, things can always be added.
  • Some things are kind of hard to find unless you know exactly what you're looking for and where to find it.
  • It's a lot to manage for just one or two people.
  • Some of the graphs/charts can't be customized in all the ways we want to.
It's great to monitor environments of all sizes (provided you have the licensing for all of the nodes you would like to add). I think it's a little less appropriate if you're not a huge IT shop. There are probably other, cheaper, better-suited products out there at that point.
It's been great because we've been able to consolidate our monitoring tools into one, which is always nice. It does have a lot of features and built-in canned monitoring templates, but those can also always be customized to tailor it more towards your environment.
Read this authenticated review
December 11, 2020
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use SolarWinds Server and application monitor to monitor our production servers, networking equipment, and critical applications across the entire organization. We are able to see details about specific applications, insight into response times, uptime, and server performance in near real time. We are able to see issues before our end users, and proactively communicate what we are doing to address the issues.
  • Gives me the information I need in a dashboard web interface that is easy to read and share with non-IT people.
  • It's easy to setup and add new devices to SolarWinds.
  • The application is easy to administer and easily installed on virtual servers.
  • Needs to be a little easier to set up and manage alerts.
  • Mobile viewing could be improved upon
  • make it easier to drill down into TCPIP packets from top level views
It is well suited for someone who needs application and server monitoring in a small to medium environment. Solar winds can handle multiple operating systems and applications. It's also good for monitoring networking infrastructure and conjunction with the server modules to provide a more complete picture of information technology environment performance. It gives insight into the entire traffic flow from server to application.
We only use SolarWinds to monitor server and applications on-premise. We have 95% of our servers virtualized, and our SolarWinds environment is physical. We do this to keep the monitoring outside the virtual environment and we can also dedicate more server resources to support the SolarWinds application. It allows us to get more granular results and query the server and application environment more regularly.
Read this authenticated review
December 10, 2020
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
I was working with the IT department using SolarWinds Server & Application Monitor to monitor our company's server environment and alerts. By using the tool, we are enabled to maintain at the level to be informed of the status of our servers at all times. It also enables us to monitor SQL and other apps.
  • Quick insights.
  • Continuous monitoring.
  • Alerts.
  • No auto-tuning.
  • A bit clunky.
  • Low flow visibility.
SolarWinds Server & Application Monitor is well suited for start-ups and small IT departments when the budget is limited, despite the clunky and low visibility issues that it has. The tool gives you the basic monitoring work that you need at a fairly low cost. After all, you get what you pay for.
SolarWinds Server & Application Monitor is definitely a useful tool to monitor any change and any sign of outages. It has the ability to alert and raise a flag when there is any potential risk to our system. The tool is decent but I am concerning that the new generation of AI would replace it.
Read this authenticated review
November 11, 2020
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use SolarWinds Server and Application Monitor to closely monitor all of our important infrastructure and interfaces across our organization. It allows us real time alerts if any mission-critical applications or hardware develop problems. This often allows us to rectify those issues before they potentially impact users.
  • Physical port monitoring
  • Monitoring of resources during peak usage
  • Monitoring servers for outages
  • Finding root cause sometimes requires drilling into a few things with added clicks.
It is well suited for medium sized organizations who want a cost effective way to monitor critical pieces of their infrastructure.
The dashboard is one of the first things we check every day and allows us, at a glance, to quickly make sure everything is up and running as it should. From our security cameras, to our servers (both physical and virtual) to our website and SQL databases. This allows us to often resolve issues before any customer facing impact is seen.
SolarWinds representatives are quick to answer questions and resolve any problems we have had. They are always polite and knowledgeable.
Read this authenticated review
November 07, 2020
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use SolarWinds Server and Application Monitor across our entire organization in order to monitor in real-time the status of various aspects of our application and server environment. We use it to keep track of our production servers, services, and applications in order to provide world-class information technology service to our customers (other company employees).
  • Critical Services Monitoring
  • General Server Health
  • Current Server Status
  • Print Queue Monitoring
If you are looking to monitor servers, services, and applications (on those servers), SolarWinds Server & Application Monitor is well suited for you. I have had difficulty implementing Print Queue monitoring, but admit that I am not well-versed on how to implement it. I plan to contact support for guidance in this area.
This single platform has been invaluable to our organization for monitoring our environment. We are currently monitoring our in-house servers, services, and applications. We have found it difficult to monitor our cloud applications due to a lack of access to the appropriate services and information on the part of our third-party vendors.
I have only had the need to submit one support request thus far. The reply was quick and I am currently working through the answers they sent. However, I am not to the point of resolution. This rating will likely change as the process continues.
Read this authenticated review

Feature Scorecard Summary

Application monitoring (248)
8.6
Database monitoring (216)
8.0
Threshold alerts (251)
8.5
Predictive capabilities (201)
7.7
Application performance management console (223)
8.1
Collaboration tools (135)
7.2
Out-of-the box templates to monitor applications (237)
7.9
Application dependency mapping and thresholding (201)
7.4
Virtualization monitoring (216)
8.3
Server availability and performance monitoring (250)
9.1
Server usage monitoring and capacity forecasting (231)
8.5
IT Asset Discovery (184)
8.3

What is SolarWinds Server & Application Monitor?

SolarWinds Server & Application Monitor (SAM) delivers application and server monitoring capabilities for IT pros enabling them to diagnose and troubleshoot issues faster. The vendor’s value proposition is that this solution prevents slow applications and downtime from impacting end-users and business services. Users can use this tool to pinpoint the root cause of application issues across various layers of the IT stack.

The vendor says SolarWinds SAM is affordable, easy to deploy, use and customize. Users can automatically discover their systems environment and start monitoring in about an hour. No professional services or consultation needed.

SAM is built on SolarWinds Orion® platform enabling native integration with Network Performance Monitor and other IT management software from SolarWinds.

SolarWinds Server & Application Monitor Features

Has featureSingle Web interface to monitor multi-vendor applications and server infrastructure.
Has featureOut-of-the-box monitoring templates for 200+ enterprise applications.
Has featureEasily extend monitoring to virtually any custom or home-grown applications.
Has featureGain contextual visibility of relationships and dependencies between applications and physical and virtual servers.
Has featureMonitor server hardware health, perform capacity forecasting, and manage asset inventory. Remediate server issues remotely with built-in management actions.
Has featureMonitor VMware and Hyper-V environments to identify problems impacting application performance.
Has featureCentrally manage IT asset inventory and keep track of server hardware and software information.
Has featureLeverage the wealth of built-in alerts and reports, and easily customize them as needed.
Has featureSAM is an agentless monitoring software. Optional agent installation extends monitoring to the cloud.

SolarWinds Server & Application Monitor Screenshots

SolarWinds Server & Application Monitor Videos (2)

SolarWinds Server & Application Monitor Downloadables

SolarWinds Server & Application Monitor Integrations

Microsoft System Center, SolarWinds Network Performance Monitor (NPM), SolarWinds Virtualization Manager (VMAN), SolarWinds Storage Resource Monitor (SRM), SolarWinds Web Performance Monitor (WPM), SolarWinds Web Help Desk (WHD)

SolarWinds Server & Application Monitor Competitors

Progress WhatsUp Gold (formerly Ipswitch WhatsUp Gold), Nagios Core, IBM Tivoli Monitoring, Microsoft System Center, DX Application Performance Management (formerly CA APM), SiteScope (formerly HP SiteScope), ManageEngine Applications Manager

SolarWinds Server & Application Monitor Pricing

  • Has featureFree Trial Available?Yes
  • Does not have featureFree or Freemium Version Available?No
  • Does not have featurePremium Consulting/Integration Services Available?No
  • Entry-level set up fee?No

SAM pricing starts at $2,995.

SolarWinds Server & Application Monitor Support Options

 Paid Version
Phone
Email
Forum/Community
FAQ/Knowledgebase
Video Tutorials / Webinar

SolarWinds Server & Application Monitor Technical Details

Deployment Types:On-premise
Operating Systems: Windows
Mobile Application:No
Supported Languages: English