TrustRadius
https://media.trustradius.com/product-logos/sf/fY/UWRMK8SAHSR2.PNGSolarWinds Server & Application Monitor - A powerful addition to your IT toolboxWe use SAM to monitor and alert on the health of our Windows servers as well as applications such as Exchange, SQL, IIS and SharePoint. We also write custom monitors for third party software. We monitor servers across all of our locations and data centers. Adding SAM to NPM gave us the level of detail to identify issues before they became serious enough to take the entire server or application down. SAM was critical to our strategy of becoming a more proactive department instead of reactive.,SAM provides built in templates for monitoring common applications. SAM provides a framework to easily write custom monitors for third party applications. For built in templates SAM gives guidance for what an alert means and often how to resolve it.,I believe the pricing of SAM is a bit on the high side.,10,We have very few resources in the cloud so this capability is neither a positive or negative for us.,We choose not to leverage the automated discovery capability.,We have somewhat benefited from this, but since we do not have the SolarWinds storage monitoring product we do not have 100% full stack visibility.,For us the ROI with SAM has been that is allows us to identify issues earlier and prevent unplanned downtime. Thereby increasing employee productivity.,SolarWinds Web Performance Monitor SolarWinds Network Configuration Manager SolarWinds Network Performance Monitor SolarWinds IP Address Manager SolarWinds Netflow Traffic Analyzer,WhatsUp Gold,Monitoring Windows Services Monitoring TCP ports,Product Features Product Usability Product Reputation Prior Experience with the Product Vendor Reputation Existing Relationship with the Vendor,9SolarWinds: Not just a piece of dust in the wind for monitoringBeing a media company there is a large amount of broadcast network traffic between production control rooms throughout the local TV stations. The Network Performance Monitor 12, allows a comprehensive toolset and a single pane of glass to view, troubleshoot, monitor and map my network to be the most efficient. The tool is not being used throughout the entire environment as of today but since the capabilities are superior to most other products on the market, the adoption factor is catching on and we will expand the tool on a large scale across our multiple domestics datacenters.,Using SNMP to automatically discover my network devices, while collecting the network information to produce a detailed network inventory. The automatic discovery of the connection between L2 and L3 devices. Using NetPath across the hybrid clouds is a time saver and pinpoints where to focus resources to fix issues.,Many of the functionality are Cisco-centric and in a mixed vendor environment, this causes some issues. Limitation of the SD WAN tools. The database of NPM should really run on Oracle not SQL.,7,As my company is using an on-prem, hybrid and traditional cloud in AWS and Azure, the monitoring across these environments is crucial for both application, performance and network traffic. SolarWinds has enabled my company to provide a cohesive and powerful monitoring toolset for viewing our servers, both the physical and virtual servers and the storage and application environments.,This feature is a really nice to have function to allow the application and server monitoring across the environment. SolarWinds does an incredible job in enabling the collection of all of the necessary data. What we are experiencing is we have multiple applications running on a myriad of servers and different CMDB repositories which SolarWinds does have a problem with the data exchange between those environments. It would be beneficial to have the product drill down further into more of the platform resources. Maybe in the next version.,Since SolarWinds allows us to capture logs and analyze them in a timely manner, we were able to spot specific anomalies that were occurring in our VM environment. There was a specific module on one of our switches within one of the datacenters that were creating a performance issue between our database server and our aligned application. SolarWinds spotted the break in the connection in our logs and we were alerted immediately and were able to fix in a sufficient time frame.,The reduction in licensing cost by eliminating other tools by using SolarWinds. Reduced annual support costs by 50% over a 3-year basis on our prior solution. Negative impact was the initial setup did cost a significant amount in training and professional services.,SolarWinds Network Performance Monitor SolarWinds Network Bandwidth Analyzer SolarWinds Virtualization Manager,Splunk Insights for InfrastructureIT Infrastructure Monitoring that is Easy to ManageSolarWinds SAM is used within our organization in the IT department. The IP department uses SAM to monitor all servers and their related services to ensure maximum up-time within our organization. SAM is fairly easy to get up and running, which was a reason we selected it. Prior to SAM we used an open source solution that was not as easy to configure and required a little more expertise.,Easy to manage. Allows us to identify issues before they cause outages. Customized alerting. Integration with the full Orion suite to get a complete picture.,In-depth customization can take some time. Price.,10,We are 100% on-prem and 100% virtualized in the server environment. We have had hardly any issues setting up and managing SAM to do what we need it to do for us.,We have not utilized this feature all too much. For the most part, our applications do not site across multiple servers. We have a few one-off applications that do and we are able to see the relationships in SAM, but I wouldn't say that we have absolutely benefited from it.,SAM does not do this out of the box. You cannot get full visibility into the IT stack unless you have all the additional licensing to go with it. SAM is just one little piece of the SolarWinds Orion suite. SAM manages applications, NPM monitors network performance, DPA monitors database performance, VMAN monitors the virtualization and SRM monitors storage resources. With only SAM you can get some visibility into the full IT stack, but to get true full visibility you really need all the additional component licensing.,Minimizes downtime. We see an average up time of systems of 99.95% per month.,Engineer's Toolset SolarWinds Web Help Desk SolarWinds Log & Event Manager SolarWinds Database Performance Analyzer SolarWinds Network Configuration Manager SolarWinds Storage Resource Monitor SolarWinds Network Performance Monitor SolarWinds Netflow Traffic Analyzer SolarWinds Virtualization Manager,Nagios and ZabbixSolarWinds Server & Application Monitor perfect for monitoring applications and servers for issuesWe use SolarWinds Server & Application Monitor to monitor all of our servers and the applications they run. I will let us know if there is an error with any application we have running and we can set up alerts to notify us that there is an issue via email and MMS message with the details we set up in the alert.,It has some out of the box commonly used application monitors for Windows It has some out of the box commonly used application monitors for Linux You can set up custom application monitors for Windows systems You can set up custom application monitors for Linux systems,I wish there was more out of the box Linux application monitors I wish it could communicate with TR-069 for monitoring our LTE,9,We mostly have on-premises server systems. We also sell cloud environment for our customers and monitor that as well for issues. We also monitor our customers modems and phone equipment for issues and when they go down. We often know about an issue before they do and are already troubleshooting to resolve issues.,At this time we do not use the automated discovery function of Solarwinds Server & Application Manager,We have used this function to tweak our performance required systems onto our Fastest storage and been able to reclaim some unused CPU and RAM from other machines.,Recently we have put in place an alert to notify us when a user gets locked out. This in turn tells us they are locked out before they usually even know it and we can quickly unlock them for less downtime. Our chat in the company often will not start all services after updates on a server we set up a notification on that tells us that services are not running allowing us to get it up and working before users even come in for work. Our dialer also frequently will not start services after server updates. We setup a notification to alert us when this happens so that we can fix the issue before our users that use the dialer even know there is a problem preventing downtime.,SolarWinds Network Performance Monitor SolarWinds IP Address Manager SolarWinds Netflow Traffic Analyzer,,We use it to monitor all our applications for issues We use it to monitor all our servers for updates needed We monitor all our servers for certificates that are about to expire We monitor all our servers for low disk space We set up alerts for critical issues on our applications and server issues,Product Features Product Usability Prior Experience with the Product Vendor Reputation Existing Relationship with the Vendor,9,20,2,Set up alerts to notify us when users get locked out during normal business hours. This cuts down on calls. Use it to monitor our certificate expire dates so we can stay ahead and not have downtime on our websites due to certificates expiring Use it to monitor updates that need to be deployed on our critical servers. this way we can see if we need to plan maintenance for update installation,As we get more and more Linux servers we will be able to monitor processes on those systems. We could monitor for excessive password changes in the environment to see if there has been a breach.,9,SharePoint Designer, Juniper Ethernet Switches, Solarwinds Database Performance Analyzer for SQL Server, Unitrends Recovery Series Backup Appliance, Veeam Backup & Replication, WatchGuard XTM - Discontinued Product,No,I do not think I would change anything we have not had really any issues with the product as well as when we did support has gone as far as to get their engineers on the phone for a call to figure out the best way to monitor a solution we have in place.,No,10,No,We were trying to monitor our LTE wireless which does not communicate through SNMP. We set up a call with our LTE provider and SolarWinds to be able to monitor this system. They were able to provide 3 or more different ways to monitor the system when they got their engineers on the phone with us.,Updating the software was very easy and they went as far as to update all the other products at the same time now so its less time consuming Easy to set up and you can scan your systems for applications that are running on servers and SAM will auto monitor them with default out of the box selection.,Monitoring Linux systems can be difficult but that may be because i do not have much experience in linux systemsServer and Application total visibilitySolarWinds Server & Application Monitor (SAM) allows you monitor and alert on applications at all stages in the AppStack. SAM really comes out to shine when you're invested in other products in the SolarWinds Orion family, by allowing you very thorough integration into multiple different aspects of your network. SAM offers numerous out of the box templates for common applications, along with extensive user created ones available in the SolarWinds "THWACK" user community. If you need to monitor an internally developed application or an application that doesn't have a template, SAM makes it easy to create your own application template using many different metrics, services, and processes.,Full stack monitoring from the User to the App server. Most common apps are supported out of the box. Create custom app templates for in house apps.,There can be a significant learning curve to take full advantage of the product. Somewhat limited without integration with other SolarWinds Orion products. Reporting requires some SQL knowledge to use them to their full potential.,8,SolarWinds Server and Application Monitor allows us to monitor all our applications form a single pane of glass interface. SAM does this regardless of where these servers and applications are hosted or what operating systems are used. It has been a critical tool in assisting us with our migration to a cloud-centric server environment.,SolarWinds Server and Application's automated discovery and visualization is a great and easy to use solution to help IT staff easily visualize the network path your users take to get to the applications they need. Using a highly customized packet inspection tool on the Servers, it looks for endpoint connections to the servers it's deployed on and maps out the devices used that are a part of the Orion environment.,SolarWinds Server and Application Monitor allows you to view a visual color-coded representation on your application environment in the full stack, and quickly display in the stack that there may be problems via flashing yellow alerts or red down indicators. This streamlines the troubleshooting process by helping IT engineers immediately focus on problem devices rather than methodically checking all aspects of the application stack.,SAM has allowed us to cut down on the root cause search for problems and get to fixing them fast. SAM identifies potential issues before they escalate, allowing more proactive problem responses. We're able to use multiple SolarWinds products alongside SAM in Orion to help unify our IT staff and prevent siloed troubleshooting.,System Center Operations Manager and Network Node Manager i (formerly HP Network Node Manager)
Windows
SolarWinds Server & Application Monitor
273 Ratings
Score 8.3 out of 101
<a href='https://www.trustradius.com/static/about-trustradius-scoring' target='_blank' rel='nofollow'>trScore algorithm: Learn more.</a>TRScore

SolarWinds Server & Application Monitor Reviews

<a href='https://www.trustradius.com/static/about-trustradius-scoring#question3' target='_blank' rel='nofollow'>Customer Verified: Read more.</a>
SolarWinds Server & Application Monitor
273 Ratings
<a href='https://www.trustradius.com/static/about-trustradius-scoring' target='_blank' rel='nofollow'>trScore algorithm: Learn more.</a>
Score 8.3 out of 101
TrustRadius Top Rated for 2019
Show Filters 
Hide Filters 
Filter 273 vetted SolarWinds Server & Application Monitor reviews and ratings
Clear all filters
Overall Rating
Reviewer's Company Size
Last Updated
By Topic
Industry
Department
Experience
Job Type
Role

Reviews (1-25 of 146)

  Vendors can't alter or remove reviews. Here's why.
John Predmore profile photo
May 15, 2019

Review: "SolarWinds Server & Application Monitor - A powerful addition to your IT toolbox"

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use SAM to monitor and alert on the health of our Windows servers as well as applications such as Exchange, SQL, IIS and SharePoint. We also write custom monitors for third party software. We monitor servers across all of our locations and data centers. Adding SAM to NPM gave us the level of detail to identify issues before they became serious enough to take the entire server or application down. SAM was critical to our strategy of becoming a more proactive department instead of reactive.
  • SAM provides built in templates for monitoring common applications.
  • SAM provides a framework to easily write custom monitors for third party applications.
  • For built in templates SAM gives guidance for what an alert means and often how to resolve it.
  • I believe the pricing of SAM is a bit on the high side.
If your environment is predominantly Windows (there is Linux support but I have not used it), you leverage applications such as AD, Exchange, SQL and IIS, and especially if you already use NPM then SAM may be just what you are looking for if you want to take your server & app monitoring to the next level. The ability to use templates from other SAM users through the SolarWinds community site is also a great way to further leverage the investment.
Read John Predmore's full review
JAMEY TITONE profile photo
April 27, 2019

SolarWinds Server & Application Monitor Review: "SolarWinds: Not just a piece of dust in the wind for monitoring"

Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Being a media company there is a large amount of broadcast network traffic between production control rooms throughout the local TV stations. The Network Performance Monitor 12, allows a comprehensive toolset and a single pane of glass to view, troubleshoot, monitor and map my network to be the most efficient. The tool is not being used throughout the entire environment as of today but since the capabilities are superior to most other products on the market, the adoption factor is catching on and we will expand the tool on a large scale across our multiple domestics datacenters.
  • Using SNMP to automatically discover my network devices, while collecting the network information to produce a detailed network inventory.
  • The automatic discovery of the connection between L2 and L3 devices.
  • Using NetPath across the hybrid clouds is a time saver and pinpoints where to focus resources to fix issues.
  • Many of the functionality are Cisco-centric and in a mixed vendor environment, this causes some issues.
  • Limitation of the SD WAN tools.
  • The database of NPM should really run on Oracle not SQL.
In an on-air environment that broadcast live television, the real-time monitoring is a little slow and there have been some possible delays in reporting or alerting network outages or connectivity loss. It is not a show stopper but the real-time analytics could use some improvement. Monitoring network traffic across a large facility that has both layer 2 and layer 3 switches, the toolset fits perfectly and the ease of setup and the single dashboard is more adaptable than other products which require multiple different licenses and separate dashboards.
Read JAMEY TITONE's full review
Lee Anderson II profile photo
April 25, 2019

SolarWinds Server & Application Monitor Review: "IT Infrastructure Monitoring that is Easy to Manage"

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
SolarWinds SAM is used within our organization in the IT department. The IP department uses SAM to monitor all servers and their related services to ensure maximum up-time within our organization. SAM is fairly easy to get up and running, which was a reason we selected it. Prior to SAM we used an open source solution that was not as easy to configure and required a little more expertise.
  • Easy to manage.
  • Allows us to identify issues before they cause outages.
  • Customized alerting.
  • Integration with the full Orion suite to get a complete picture.
  • In-depth customization can take some time.
  • Price.
From personal experience, I would not say that SolarWinds SAM is suited for small environments, mainly due to the cost. When I first started with my current employer 17 years ago, we implemented SolarWinds. Eventually we needed additional products like NPM and others to fully manage the environment, and discovered that it was very cost prohibitive at the time, so we ended up moving away from SAM and implementing an open source solution which could handle just about everything we needed. However, that solution was not easy to set up and maintain in the long run. Jump ahead 12 years, and at that point our environment had grown 10x and the open source solution was not ideal for that growth. At this point we were in a position that we could afford SolarWinds SAM and all the other licensing needed to fully manage it. If your company can afford it, SolarWinds is, in my opinion, the best at what it does. If cost is a concern, it may not be the ideal solution.
Read Lee Anderson II's full review
Ryhlen Schoeberl profile photo
April 24, 2019

Review: "SolarWinds Server & Application Monitor perfect for monitoring applications and servers for issues"

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use SolarWinds Server & Application Monitor to monitor all of our servers and the applications they run. I will let us know if there is an error with any application we have running and we can set up alerts to notify us that there is an issue via email and MMS message with the details we set up in the alert.
  • It has some out of the box commonly used application monitors for Windows
  • It has some out of the box commonly used application monitors for Linux
  • You can set up custom application monitors for Windows systems
  • You can set up custom application monitors for Linux systems
  • I wish there was more out of the box Linux application monitors
  • I wish it could communicate with TR-069 for monitoring our LTE
We use SolarWinds Server & Application Monitor to monitor our Lync servers (Edge Frontend and Proxy Server) SharePoint servers, our auto dialer systems, Exchange servers for application issues and alert us if there is a possible issue. We also monitor our certificates for expiration, as well as we get notified when a user is locked out via a custom monitor I set up. We also monitor for low disk space as well as CPU usage and ram usage to alert us if we need to increase resources on a server.
Read Ryhlen Schoeberl's full review
Josh Haberman profile photo
April 19, 2019

SolarWinds Server & Application Monitor Review: "Server and Application total visibility"

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
SolarWinds Server & Application Monitor (SAM) allows you monitor and alert on applications at all stages in the AppStack. SAM really comes out to shine when you're invested in other products in the SolarWinds Orion family, by allowing you very thorough integration into multiple different aspects of your network. SAM offers numerous out of the box templates for common applications, along with extensive user created ones available in the SolarWinds "THWACK" user community. If you need to monitor an internally developed application or an application that doesn't have a template, SAM makes it easy to create your own application template using many different metrics, services, and processes.
  • Full stack monitoring from the User to the App server.
  • Most common apps are supported out of the box.
  • Create custom app templates for in house apps.
  • There can be a significant learning curve to take full advantage of the product.
  • Somewhat limited without integration with other SolarWinds Orion products.
  • Reporting requires some SQL knowledge to use them to their full potential.
SolarWinds SAM is well suited for Mid-large enterprises or MSPs. Smaller companies may not be able to rationalize SAM from a cost/benefit aspect. The SolarWinds onboarding team is very helpful in introducing new customers to its products, and its user community, THWACK, is unparalleled in the depth of knowledge it contains.
Read Josh Haberman's full review
Jennifer Aguilar profile photo
January 22, 2019

SolarWinds Server & Application Monitor Review: "SAM oh SAM, go get SAM to save your BACON"

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use SolarWinds Server & Application Monitor across the whole environment. I have triggered alerts notifying when applications are down or have exceeded custom defined thresholds. We monitor individual applications via real time process monitor. I would be dead in the water without this great tool running. We have done nothing but improve performance since the implementation of the SolarWinds Server & Application Monitor.
  • Triggered Alerts
  • Custom Thresholds
  • Integration with IIS, Exchange, Active Directory out of the box!
  • Top 10 Lists - Monitored,
  • Integrationg with Orion
  • I would like to see SolarWinds Server & Application monitor have 2 modes or themes available; day time or what you currently have available. I would like to see a second option available, a dark theme.
  • I would like to see SolarWinds Server & Application monitor to allow for unlimited nodes and applications to be monitored with a base license. The end user is responsible for resources!
  • I would like to see SolarWinds Server & Application monitor have additional configuration features available to the end user on the Settings page. For example, SMTP configuration specifically for SAM.
I can't think of a scenario where SolarWinds Server & Application Monitor would not be appropriate! You get so much out of this tool with very little effort. SAM is another set of eyes in my environment. I pair SAM with NetFlow and to get a great understanding of the data flows in my environment. I have set up custom application monitors for almost every component running, and are using the Windows Time Skew App monitor constructed by SolarWinds. There are so many great templates already created for the end user. When you get good enough, you can configure your own template and share with the THWACK community and other SolarWinds users. The greatest thing about SolarWinds in general; the end users drive the products!
Read Jennifer Aguilar's full review
Nathan Wolford profile photo
May 15, 2019

SolarWinds Server & Application Monitor Review: "Infrastructure monitoring"

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Solarwinds is being utilized by our IT department. Both Infrastructure and Application owners use the application. It addresses several areas of concern for us. The most addressed issue that it serves is up/down of server and networking gear as well as CPU and memory utilization across 4 data-centers. Also, we have replaced a couple of other monitoring solutions with Solarwinds product. The latest utilized Solarwind product is WPM.
  • Up/Down alerts, memory, and CPU utilization alerting.
  • Ease of use.
  • Hardware monitoring.
  • Cisco UCS Fabric Interconnect and Chassis monitoring.
  • Alert testing to see which servers would be impacted.
  • No additional ability to have monitors based on scripts.
We have had some issues trying to monitor UCS Blades and Fabric interconnects core infrastructure. It does a great job of monitoring each individual server but lacks the ability to understand which FI is in standby and which one is active. It would be nice to have this functionality built in.
Read Nathan Wolford's full review
Christian Lara profile photo
May 10, 2019

SolarWinds Server & Application Monitor Review: "Best tool to monitor performance, health, and availability for you infrastructure!"

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use SolarWinds to monitor our whole company infrastructure. We currently have over 200 nodes being monitored, around 300 components monitored with SAM, and around 500 components monitored with NPM. It regularly helps me identify performance issues as well as faults in both hardware and application levels.
  • Easy to use.
  • Super flexible and customizable as far as alerting and reporting.
  • A small footprint.
  • I cannot customize license levels.
  • It's expensive.
  • It takes support a long time to get back to you.
It's really good at monitoring availability, and the database performance monitor is excellent in identifying issues with queries, bad queries, long queries etc. You can monitor resources, like who's doing what and how long it's taking, etc. I can't find anything that applies to my setup that I can say is not appropriate. I have customized it quite uniquely to our environment.
Read Christian Lara's full review
Francisco Manuel Marrero profile photo
April 29, 2019

Review: "SolarWinds Server & Application Monitor is my one point of looking across my environment."

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
At my organization, we use SolarWinds Server & Application Monitor (SAM) across multiple groups. We have customized views for the Windows Team, SQL team, Exchange Team, Unix team, and some individual users. This one platform monitors and alerts across our entire infrastructure.
  • We have simple monitors combined with alerts such as monitoring drive volumes and alerting the OS team when needed or the application owners depending on the drive.
  • We have a high priority DNS internal farm that is monitored, tested, and alerted if anything ever fails any of the customized tests.
  • One of the few issues I have is the user rights granularity. I would like a lot more options.
One of the best things I value about SolarWinds Server & Application Monitor is that monitors and alerts are two different things, yet can be combined in any way one could imagine. One can even create alert templates and user alerting templates over and over across different monitors.
Read Francisco Manuel Marrero's full review
John Reeve profile photo
April 26, 2019

SolarWinds Server & Application Monitor Review: "Easy, yet informative, server and application monitoring"

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use their monitoring services on all of our production servers to monitor server performance and for server notifications when something might be going wrong. We use the graphs and reports to analyze past trends. We have found the server monitoring especially helpful when deploying new software updates and we want to visualize how it impacts our servers.
  • Visual reports of historical data.
  • Alerting team when something is going wrong.
  • Analyzing server performance in real-time.
  • It would be nice to overlay metrics on the same graph, so we can compare metrics.
It's great for SaaS companies who need to monitor multiple servers because all of the metrics and alerts can be managed in one place. The plugins are great too because it gives us more detailed monitoring of specific software, such as database servers.
Read John Reeve's full review
Cristian Bodnarasec profile photo
April 21, 2019

SolarWinds Server & Application Monitor Review: "All that your infrastructure needs"

Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We are using SolarWinds Server & Application Monitor for:
- monitoring all the infrastructure(servers, network, applications) for uptime, performance, usage, etc.
- generating reports to analyze the performance, quality, and usage of the datacenter.
- alerting us to error situations: high usage for RAM, CPUs, reaching the limits of the storage, server down, etc.
It is used by the IT department that is responsible for the uptime, availability and quality of our datacenter.
  • Monitoring servers for performance.
  • A configurable alerting system -- for things like high RAM or CPU usage, disk space limits on mounted folders, unexpected shutdowns.
  • Reports-- a wide selection of reports (a total of 145 in our instance).
  • Performance analytics -- a nice UI feature that lets you build an analysis of the servers you need to monitor for performance issues.
  • It's slow most of the times -- we are monitoring hundreds of servers from the datacenter, and going through the screens to look at your server may take some time.
  • It is not monitoring all servers in our environment, maybe because of the performance issues. If I need to add one (as a user) I have to send a request to IT, and it may take a few days.
  • The User Interface could use an uplift; nowadays people's requirements for usability and user experience are at a very high standard.
This solution may be more suitable when you have a small datacenter(maybe under 100 servers); the User Interface may be snappier and you may find your answer more quickly regarding the issues you face on some machines. But with thousands of servers, we are seeing slowness. It has many features that you need to monitor your infrastructure and have great visibility into the details, whether you are the IT responsible for it, or you are just a user that needs to make sure his team has the servers they need to work in proper shape.
Read Cristian Bodnarasec's full review
Eric Broz profile photo
April 20, 2019

SolarWinds Server & Application Monitor Review: "SolarWinds delivers the monitoring we need both on premise and in the cloud."

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use SolarWinds Server & Application Monitor to monitor servers and networking equipment in our two physical and two cloud-based data centers, and remote locations. It lets us know when servers are having hardware issues or network connectivity issues quickly via email alerts and our monitoring dashboards. The notifications are precise and accurate.
  • Hardware checks
  • Latency checks
  • Solid issue reporting
  • Mapping could be better.
If you have a smaller IT team, you will spend less time physically checking devices by using the Server & Application Monitor. The alerts are a quick read, and you can track down the issue and starting point of the failure using the visual dashboard and notification. It saves us a ton of time finding where the issue started.
Read Eric Broz's full review
Derek Calkins profile photo
April 19, 2019

SolarWinds Server & Application Monitor Review: "SolarWinds: Server and Application Monitoring worth the investment."

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
I have SolarWinds experience at my previous company with the exception of SAM. When I got here, SAM was not even installed but the company had been paying for it for several years. I installed it and discovered several applications. I quickly realized that we did not have nearly enough licenses to monitor all applications so I picked a handful of important ones. We have an 150 license count and with AppInsight, we are only able to monitor SQL on a couple servers, syslog, and AD. This is for IT use only and it is giving us insight into our applications. Recently we came across a DB that was severely fragmented and through SAM we were alerted to it and was able to fix the issue. The issue was probably present for a long time and without SAM, we may not have ever caught it until it was too late.
  • Alerts about issues with applications.
  • Provides an easy to read and understand dashboard.
  • Works well with NPM.
  • Costly
  • License-based
Determining what is the root issue as it pertains to the network or application.
Read Derek Calkins's full review
Alan Kok ITIL v3 profile photo
April 17, 2019

SolarWinds Server & Application Monitor: "SAM Review: good product but great when combined with others."

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
It is currently being used by the entire central organization to monitor all of our enterprise applications. Including, but not limited to, PeopleSoft, Exchange, Degree Works, and Blackboard. Also, with many others. It allows us to see events before they happen, outages before others report them.
  • Implementation is easy. With a list of IPs/Hostname a mass add, gets you up and running.
  • Ability to create custom dashboards help with users seeing their specific items.
  • App insights help finding and monitoring on application specific items.
  • Dashboard creation is a bit clunky, there are maybe 1 or 2 many clicks
  • Hard to edit a template for just one application. For example, if I only want IIS monitoring for app A, I must go into the template to edit for those servers.
If you are looking for specific application monitoring as well as simple up/down on servers(cpu.memory. HD). If you are looking for URL, network, or DB monitoring there are other tools, specifically by SolarWinds that can integrate well. This helps with a single pane of glass dashboard look.
Read Alan Kok ITIL v3's full review
stephen schleeper profile photo
December 21, 2018

SolarWinds Server & Application Monitor: "No nonsense review of SolarWinds"

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
SolarWinds is used as an operations alerting center for our networks. We have 70 branches across 12 states. With SolarWinds, we can see the health of our network and know when a problem arrives and can quickly work on resolving the issues.
  • Monitor voice network and quality
  • Monitor exchange databases
  • Monitor network connectivity
  • Server uptime
  • The ability to remove modules without having to rebuild the whole system. The recent test of WPM has shown that when using the trial version it becomes embedded and difficult to remove all parts
  • The requirement for 3.5 dot net. The system is old and should be updated.
  • I like the SolarWinds help group, but sometimes you don’t get replies for weeks regarding some of the more obscure problems. Easier to open tickets than have to wait for help from others.
The phones are the number one priority in the company. We can get anything else done on paper so long as we can get the calls. I can monitor call volume and quickly search call failures with the SolarWinds applications. This is done in both real-time and call detail records. This ability, along with the network monitoring of all the routers and switches, makes this tool invaluable.
Read stephen schleeper's full review
Cody McNeill profile photo
March 15, 2019

SolarWinds Server & Application Monitor Review: "I've got my eye on you, services."

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We currently use SolarWinds Server & Application Monitor as a way to monitor critical services for our applications. We may not use it to its fullest, but this was the main reason we purchased it. With SolarWinds Server & Application Monitor, we know within 3 minutes when a service has gone down as we have it set to email us, or our on-call phone after ours. This ensures that our users are unaffected in the morning when they come in to work.
  • Monitoring critical services.
  • Telling which services are taxes the server the most.
  • Rebooting services in a single pane of glass.
  • Integrate the alert monitoring into the application monitor steps. Like a tab for setting up monitoring that is not required as it is difficult for newer users to set up the monitor and then set an alert on the monitor.
SolarWinds Server & Application Monitor is great for businesses that have critical processes or many servers as the single pane of glass is a great tool for any small IT department. You do not want your users to tell you when something is wrong, so having an alert to pinpoint the issue and let you know first is worth so much!
Read Cody McNeill's full review
Sudhakar B profile photo
February 01, 2019

SolarWinds Server & Application Monitor Review: "Best Server and Application Monitoring Tool"

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
SolarWinds Server & Application Monitor is used to monitor the Compute (Servers) in our Datacenter. It monitors our critical servers where just ping check is inadequate. These applications help us monitor the server plus critical applications such as DNS, DHCP, AD. The advantage is that this application can monitor Linux, which can be complicated at times. This also enables us to view the status in a single pane. We use SolarWinds Server & Application Monitor to monitor our multiple SQL databases.
  • Linux Monitoring -- Really helps with Linux server monitoring. There are inbuilt application monitoring templates for Apache Tomcat which we leverage.
  • Windows Monitoring -- Helps to monitor AD, DNS, DHCP, High CPU, memory utilization.
  • Single dashboard monitoring of all our servers.
  • The Server & Application Monitor has a dependency with another SolarWinds module, which is the Network Performance Monitor.
  • The dashboard can get too crowded if the number of servers is more. We monitor more than 500 servers in a single dashboard. Sometimes the hostnames overlap, causing confusion.
  • An agent is required to be added to all servers.
This is the best server and application monitoring system. This is very robust as well. We use additional SolarWinds modules, such as Network Performance Monitor and Netflow Traffic Analyzer, which actually add more value to our monitoring system. We depend on this monitoring system to monitor our critical production servers on a day-to-day basis. This has helped us to keep the "Lights ON."
Read Sudhakar B's full review
Dan Watson profile photo
January 23, 2019

SolarWinds Server & Application Monitor Review: "SolarWinds SAM made me more productive and proactive."

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Our department (IT) primarily uses SolarWinds Server & Application Monitor to ensure key servers and services stay up and running. As a bonus, I use the performance monitoring tools to judge how servers are performing, determine where more (virtual) hardware is needed, and show executives and developers how the hardware is not bottlenecking the software.
  • Monitoring - I can easily use built-in templates for most things, but I can also easily create custom monitors for things that are more unique to my environment.
  • Alerting - It takes some work to get it exactly right, but you can tune your alerts to ensure you are not crying wolf.
  • Application insights - the templates for monitoring Exchange and SQL performance really allow you to quickly and easily pinpoint and attack problem areas in these critical applications.
  • Licensing - while the model is simple, it can be frustrating. New features, like AppInsight, use a ton of "monitors" so you will always need/want to upgrade to the next level. The difference in licenses/pricing can be startling. For example, if you need 301 you have to buy 700. Finding more flexibility here would make happier customers.
  • Sales - the sales team is unnecessarily aggressive in their tactics. They will call and email every listed contact they can find repeatedly offering account reviews, quarter end sales, etc.
Anywhere you have servers and applications, you should be monitoring them. SolarWinds Server & Application Monitor provides so much peace-of-mind that I cannot recommend it enough.
Read Dan Watson's full review
Mark Souders profile photo
May 17, 2019

SolarWinds Server & Application Monitor Review: "Nice and cost effective for a few critical systems."

Score 4 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
I purchased it to monitor critical systems for failure. It does a good job of flagging some critical items for us.
  • Tells you when a web service goes down.
  • Tells you when a threshold has been exceeded.
  • You can get very granular in the settings.
  • It wants to auto-add everything. It's so annoying to add new machines and make sure it doesn't use SAM.
  • It's way too expensive to monitor all but the most critical things. You can burn all the sensors for the lowest tier on one server.
It's a cost versus sensor ratio. If you have only a few critical criteria...it works great for the moment.
Read Mark Souders's full review
Stephen Perkins profile photo
May 13, 2019

SolarWinds Server & Application Monitor Review: "Good Product needs to think of future"

Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We are using it across the whole organization on the different servers we have, both on-premise and in the cloud. We use it to gain metrics about how our applications are running.
  • It has been tested in the field and has a lot of modules that work well with different applications.
  • It can be pretty easy to set up.
  • The interface will seem old if it doesn't get an overhaul that allows for more customization.
  • It can be tricky to figure out where everything is.
It is good for monitoring general servers' OSs and getting total information on a system.
Read Stephen Perkins's full review
Murali Tallapaneni profile photo
April 23, 2019

SolarWinds Server & Application Monitor: "My review"

Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
As a Database administrator, I use this tool to mainly monitor SQL Server resource utilization of (CPU, RAM, DISK etc ) and also for any database performance related issues. I also use this tool for capacity planning on the H|W resources of the servers.
  • Very good in-depth detail on memory utilization.
  • SQL Agent Jobs: I would like to see in a single report what are the SQL Agent jobs that failed on all the servers last night.
  • Database Backups: I would like to see in a single report what are the backups that failed on all the servers last night.
  • SQL Server Error Logs of all the servers in production environment in a single report.
Well suited for: Performance Monitoring, Resource utilisation, Capacity planning.
Read Murali Tallapaneni's full review
Valery Mezentsau profile photo
December 20, 2018

SolarWinds Server & Application Monitor Review: "Big and complex infrastructure - SAM is your choice."

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
The company I was working for had a fully virtual data center (DC) located in a third party cloud provider. Cloud hoster was providing full admin access to the SolarWinds Server and Application Monitor solution to control, monitor and analyze the state of our virtual data center. Application was used by the IT engineering team.
  • Huge variety of options for monitoring.
  • Flexible configuration.
  • infrastructure mapping.
  • Performance and storage monitoring.
  • Single console for virtualized assets management.
  • Alert management.
  • Integration with other solutions for better monitoring and control.
  • More details on monitoring Exchange, SQL, IIS, etc.
  • In most cases, the interface is overloaded with information that is not important for quick monitoring check and takes time to understand all the functions.
Very good solution. Tons of options and features. Very detailed monitoring of the infrastructure. But extremely expensive. We were using the solution just because our virtual DC provider had that solution implemented and provided access for free as part of services.
Read Valery Mezentsau's full review
Anthony Bouvier profile photo
December 09, 2018

SolarWinds Server & Application Monitor Review: "SAMs best at Monitoring, Alerting and Troubleshooting our environments issues."

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
SolarWinds Server & Application Monitor (SAM) is used across our entire environment - monitoring all servers and providing alerts and information to multiple departments. This addresses and confirms if issues are seen with systems and assists in the troubleshooting at various levels. We also use SAM to provide alerts to application owners and impacted parties to ensure issues are resolved in a timely manner.
  • Provides up/down/reboot notifications via customizable alerts to impacted parties
  • Provides insight on exchange, sql and other environments to assist with troubleshooting
  • Provides historical and forecasting data that can be used to assist with resource or server issues
  • Better seamless integration with vcenter, as in an api plugin
  • Better linkage for virtualization within the home page
  • Better details available for VMs
[Well suited] for customization for alerting; SAM is very versatile and allows very granular alerting and monitoring solutions. With the ability to provide app insight with our Exchange and SQL environments, we are able to drill down to issues and provide valuable data to resolve application problems as they are happening. We also like to use the forecasting ability to ensure that our end users are aware if there will be resource issues forthcoming.
Read Anthony Bouvier's full review
Todd Warner profile photo
February 01, 2019

SolarWinds Server & Application Monitor Review: "Great product"

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use SolarWinds to monitor our servers in our data centers and alert the techs when there is a problem.
  • Alerting, it does a great job of letting our techs know when there is a problem and the severity of it.
  • We use Netpath to monitor a path to a monitored server and look for issues along that path
  • We use it to monitor our wireless infrastructure.
  • I would like to see the web interface respond faster, at times it can become sluggish.
Well suited for monitoring servers/devices when they go up or down. Would like to see the mapping expanded a bit more.
Read Todd Warner's full review
Brian O'Connor profile photo
January 23, 2019

SolarWinds Server & Application Monitor Review: "Great inventory finding tool and performance notifications"

Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
I have used SolarWinds products over the years, both free and paid. I've been involved in many network deployments, migrations and performance troubleshooting issues. SolarWinds products do a real nice job of finding all of your network assets, inventorying them and keeping a track on the possible issues going on.

The products only get better as development grows. Its a great visual tool to analyze your network and get notified when your assets are unavailable. There are other free tools out there to do this, but Server monitor takes care of everything you can think of.
  • Notification of down assets.
  • CPU and memory performance monitoring.
  • Pricing
  • Pricing
  • Pricing
Taking inventory and notifying of availability.
Read Brian O'Connor's full review

Feature Scorecard Summary

Application monitoring (144)
9.1
Database monitoring (121)
7.9
Threshold alerts (145)
8.9
Predictive capabilities (116)
7.3
Application performance management console (125)
7.9
Collaboration tools (77)
5.9
Out-of-the box templates to monitor applications (136)
7.7
Application dependency mapping and thresholding (117)
8.2
Virtualization monitoring (122)
8.5
Server availability and performance monitoring (142)
9.3
Server usage monitoring and capacity forecasting (133)
8.4
IT Asset Discovery (98)
8.2

About SolarWinds Server & Application Monitor

SolarWinds Server & Application Monitor (SAM) delivers application and server monitoring capabilities for IT pros enabling them to diagnose and troubleshoot issues faster. The vendor’s value proposition is that this solution prevents slow applications and downtime from impacting end-users and business services. Users can use this tool to pinpoint the root cause of application issues across various layers of the IT stack.

The vendor says SolarWinds SAM is affordable, easy to deploy, use and customize. Users can automatically discover their systems environment and start monitoring in about an hour. No professional services or consultation needed.

SAM is built on SolarWinds Orion® platform enabling native integration with Network Performance Monitor and other IT management software from SolarWinds.

SolarWinds Server & Application Monitor Features

Has featureSingle Web interface to monitor multi-vendor applications and server infrastructure.
Has featureOut-of-the-box monitoring templates for 200+ enterprise applications.
Has featureEasily extend monitoring to virtually any custom or home-grown applications.
Has featureGain contextual visibility of relationships and dependencies between applications and physical and virtual servers.
Has featureMonitor server hardware health, perform capacity forecasting, and manage asset inventory. Remediate server issues remotely with built-in management actions.
Has featureMonitor VMware and Hyper-V environments to identify problems impacting application performance.
Has featureCentrally manage IT asset inventory and keep track of server hardware and software information.
Has featureLeverage the wealth of built-in alerts and reports, and easily customize them as needed.
Has featureSAM is an agentless monitoring software. Optional agent installation extends monitoring to the cloud.

SolarWinds Server & Application Monitor Screenshots

SolarWinds Server & Application Monitor Videos (2)

SolarWinds Server & Application Monitor Downloadables

SolarWinds Server & Application Monitor Integrations

SolarWinds Server & Application Monitor Competitors

WhatsUp Gold, Nagios, IBM Tivoli Monitoring, CA APM, Microsoft System Center, SiteScope (formerly HP SiteScope), ManageEngine Applications Manager

Pricing

Has featureFree Trial Available?Yes
Does not have featureFree or Freemium Version Available?No
Does not have featurePremium Consulting/Integration Services Available?No
Entry-level set up fee?No

SAM pricing starts at $2,995.

SolarWinds Server & Application Monitor Support Options

 Paid Version
Phone
Email
Forum/Community
FAQ/Knowledgebase
Video Tutorials / Webinar

SolarWinds Server & Application Monitor Technical Details

Deployment Types:On-premise
Operating Systems: Windows
Mobile Application:No
Supported Languages: English