SolarWinds Server & Application Monitor Reviews

<a href='https://www.trustradius.com/static/about-trustradius-scoring#question3' target='_blank' rel='nofollow noopener noreferrer'>Customer Verified: Read more.</a>
478 Ratings
<a href='https://www.trustradius.com/static/about-trustradius-scoring' target='_blank' rel='nofollow noopener noreferrer'>trScore algorithm: Learn more.</a>
Score 8.3 out of 100

Do you work for this company? Manage this listing

TrustRadius TRUE BadgeTrustRadius Top Rated for 2020

Overall Rating

Reviewer's Company Size

Last Updated

By Topic

Industry

Department

Experience

Job Type

Role

Reviews (1-25 of 242)

Tim Kovars | TrustRadius Reviewer
January 27, 2020

My Opinion on SolarWinds SAM

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
The IT department uses SolarWinds Server & Application Monitor to monitor our entire server environment, both physical and virtual. We are mainly a Windows shop and do additional monitoring of Active Directory, SQL, Citrix and custom apps or specific services we are looking to monitor. It keeps track of server up/downs, memory/CPU and application outages.
  • Server health, using insight through WMI for what Microsoft is seeing from within the box.
  • Monitoring services/apps through AppInsight and being able to add specific services not included or for other applications.
  • Sometimes and easy button would be nice to simplify the views and data collected.
  • Sales calls are persistent for anyone who has any involvement, which is just plain annoying.
I feel it shines in monitoring a mix of virtual and physical servers. There are other products that have issues with that physical piece, but SAM doesn't care which one it is. While a bear to maintain at times, the custom-ability is another place it does well. Being able to monitor things not included/out of the box is a key feature. The user community is strong and has a lot of useful input.
Read Tim Kovars's full review
Ramon Gomez | TrustRadius Reviewer
April 25, 2020

Awesome, works great!

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use it to monitor application resources.
  • Monitor server performance
  • Agentless monitoring
  • Monitor custom applications
  • Difficult to get SAM going.
  • More knowledge base information.
When you have an application in production and want to see the performance of the application, as well as of your hardware to ensure the best customer experience.
Read Ramon Gomez's full review
Ramoan Seymour | TrustRadius Reviewer
March 29, 2020

Satisfied with SolarWinds SAM?? I AM!!

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use Server and Application Monitor to provide us a greater in-depth analysis of our IIS, FTP, Exchange applications, DHCP servers, DNS services, our Active Directory and Sharepoint amongst others. Using the results, we can pinpoint bottlenecks in performance for services, app pools, and other applications. This helps us spend less time trying to figure out the root cause and more time fixing the issue.
  • Server and Application Monitor does a great job with analyzing our Exchange environment and notifies us if there are issues with replication, the Information Store and other essential components of our email system.
  • For our DHCP service, Server and Application Monitor alerts us if there are IP conflicts, errors with the DHCP service or if scopes are nearly exhausted.
  • Server and Application Monitor Excels with providing information on the amount of web traffic our sites receive. It tracks the performance of essential web services and pinpoints bottlenecks.
  • Implementing a custom monitor can be cumbersome and frustrating.
  • Monitoring a lot of services can be taxing on your system.
  • Would like to see more SolarWinds approved templates available.
It is well suited for monitoring IIS Websites and keeping track of associated components like app pools, expiring certificates, With Server and Application Monitor, you can detect and be alerted when app pools have degraded. It also allows you to see how much resources an app pool uses so that you can make a decision on increasing the resources.
Read Ramoan Seymour's full review
Nick Darnell | TrustRadius Reviewer
March 25, 2020

SolarWinds SAM review

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
SAM is used to monitor all of our existing production environment.
  • Hardware Monitoring
  • Alerting for down systems
  • Statistical information
  • None really, I just use what it provides.
Large companies or users who work remotely will find SAM useful for monitoring issues with servers in their production environment. It is much easier to have one application monitoring their systems then to manually monitor their systems one by one.
Read Nick Darnell's full review
Kiran Yakkala | TrustRadius Reviewer
February 28, 2020

SolarWinds Server & Application Monitor Review

Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
SolarWinds Server & Application Monitor module is used across our entire infrastructure. It gives visibility into a lot of data and issues across the organization.
  • SolarWinds Server & Application Monitor was able to give info on certs that are going to expire, which helped us renew before they caused an outage.
  • SolarWinds Server & Application Monitor module gave us insights into resource utilization for multiple servers due to which the debugging and fixing of issues was very easy.
  • Alerting is broken for us. When we asked about it, we were told it is a bug and to upgrade our SolarWinds. It is a very huge upgrade. We didn't even get a workaround.
  • Support is sometimes very slow.
I haven't seen any other tool capable of monitoring certificate expiry like SolarWinds Server & Application Monitor. It is suited for infrastructure monitoring but it is absolutely useless to monitor application performance.
Read Kiran Yakkala's full review
Jurek Plona | TrustRadius Reviewer
February 14, 2020

SolarWinds Server/Application Monitor review.

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
It is being used by Server Support/Application Support IT groups and IT management. Network Support group uses the modules to troubleshoot server performance and application slowdown issues.
  • Provides thw ability to look at specific application counters/parameters and their values.
  • Pinpoints bottlenecks in application flows.
  • Ability to recommend specific remediation steps for addressing issues.
  • Better application flow visibility.
In our environment, we are using the Microsoft SCCM toolkit for server performance monitoring on top of SolarWinds. It would be desirable to focus on a single platform for that purpose (SolarWinds) but that would be possible if SolarWinds Server & Application Monitor had specific SCCM functionality supported. Otherwise, we have to rely on the use of multiple tools.
Read Jurek Plona's full review
Zakarieya Abderoef | TrustRadius Reviewer
February 07, 2020

SolarWinds Server & Application Monitor Review

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
SolarWinds Server and Application Monitor is being used by the IT department to monitor the activity, health, resources, etc. of the servers within the organization. It provides us with a realtime dashboard of what is currently happening within the server environment and enables us to respond quickly to any problems encountered, thus maximizing productivity due to minimized business downtime.
  • It provides agentless server monitoring. This is useful since some application owners aren't fond of having agents installed on their servers.
  • It provides root cause analysis enabling us to identify why certain application servers are slow.
  • There is no real downside to using this product as they have many features.
  • Can become expensive due to the licensing costs.
The product is suitable for the data-center since it can monitor technologies such as servers, application software, virtual machines, Active Directory, cloud environments, etc. It is also a good tool for Microsoft environments as it can monitor Windows servers, AD, IIS, DC, etc., as well as being integrated with MS SCOM. This feature extends the functionality of SCOM to 3rd Party and custom applications, etc. all from one dashboard.
Read Zakarieya Abderoef's full review
Ethan Beach | TrustRadius Reviewer
January 22, 2020

SolarWinds Server and Application Monitor saves on budget

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
SolarWinds Server & Application Monitor (SAM) is used by IT to monitor our system that provides the services to the business. With having a non-profit budget (and personnel can be tight) as well as being in retail the need to be able to bring money is in critical. With SAM we are able to monitor our services that allow us to continue business. With what SAM can do for us we are able to monitor everything with little interaction.
  • Shared application templates
  • Application alerting
  • Adding new features
  • Setup can take time.
  • Some settings are difficult to find if you don't spend a lot of time in the system.
  • There are a lot of templates which is good and bad, writing your own takes knowledge not all have.
Great when you need an extra hand to monitor your system but don't have the budget for another person. With the application templates, you have a lot of options.
Read Ethan Beach's full review
Peter Scott | TrustRadius Reviewer
January 21, 2020

Solid, affordable, basic monitoring that could use work

Score 3 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
SolarWinds is being used as our primary monitoring tool for our servers and critical IT infrastructure. It is used by Technical IT to provide up/down monitoring of the majority of our in house IT infrastructure including networking equipment and servers. It is also being used in a limited sense as our CMDB to feed our ticketing system.
  • Low cost
  • Easy to install
  • Poor UI
  • Difficult to use beyond basic functions
If budget is a concern and you are mainly looking for basic up/down functionality, then I would definitely give SolarWinds a look. In pretty much any other scenario the unintuitive settings UI and all over the place features and functionality make it difficult to use and configure beyond those basic features. In trying to make it simple and easy it has been dumbed down too much and hides the useful features in out of the way places that don't make it simple or easy to find and configure what you are looking for. It still blows my mind that I can't duplicate an object to make creating new similar objects easier instead of having to populate 20+ fields of a new object by hand each time.
Read Peter Scott's full review
Glenn Kimball | TrustRadius Reviewer
January 07, 2020

SolarWinds Application and Server Management -- An Upcoming Force to be Reckoned With

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Because of the network intensity of the customer solution, there was a high degree of value to bring the network monitoring and the application/service/server stack monitoring and management onto a single platform. While the integration was not seamless, it did bring a commonality of tools, techniques, and outputs across the SaaS delivery model, and thus visibility led to efficient response for infrastructure, application, and even security events.
Overall, this approach brought visibility to business application issues, thus reinforcing the business objectives while also gaining more foothold on the infrastructure.
  • In general, the slough of SNMP Traps and Monitors is a good start.
  • Automation beyond the SNMP layer is easy.
  • The integration with other products could use a bit of polishing. It's not hard or impossible, just a bit clunky.
  • Implementation of the application monitors is a small challenge to learn, but once you have the hang of it, it is overall elegant.
Linkages between infrastructure events and application events, and the clarity of root cause analysis that results, are well supported by the SolarWinds stack. The benefit statement is time to resolve and time to resolve the required clarity of data and information. While SolarWinds provides an immense amount of detail, there is summary analysis that goes a long way to achieving the final goal.
Read Glenn Kimball's full review
Tedd Steele | TrustRadius Reviewer
December 30, 2019

Small business, but big on tools!

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Our environment is casually small compared to an enterprise-sized system. SaM is used to monitor smaller SQL DB's and has proved valuable for us to ensure optimized functionality of resources. Our applications are heavily dependent on SQL(and other) databases due to the nature of our business, primarily security and CCTV applications. Without clear insight into our critical applications, we could certainly be under stress and/or a situation that could impact our security infrastructure.
  • Ease of use and configuration.
  • Level of detail provided.
  • GUI could be a bit more altered to indicate real potential issues.
Anything SQL is a great application to target. I'm not sure however how well it would work in large SQL farms.
Read Tedd Steele's full review
Brian Rummel | TrustRadius Reviewer
December 29, 2019

SolarWinds has been helpful in managing our infrastructure

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use SolarWinds Application Monitor to keep tabs on many of our on-premise servers to ensure that they are up and running and functioning as needed to provide the services our users need. We monitor various aspects of the machines to ensure any potential problems can be addressed before they become real problems.
  • Hard drive space.
  • Memory usage.
  • It is kind of slow to start-up, especially the first time.
  • Can sometimes get almost too complicated.
Anyone with a small IT team that needs to keep up with a number of servers and devices is a good candidate for the product. It allows you to have eyes on systems even when you aren't near them. It can let you know when there are issues, sometimes before they become issues. It lets you use your time where it's needed the most.
Read Brian Rummel's full review
Lasha Jojua | TrustRadius Reviewer
April 16, 2020

Good tool for application monitoring, with its limits

Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
SAM module mostly used by IT monitoring team to report more detailed info in case of issues. We are using it for proactive monitoring, more or less deep view of app performance running on business critical servers, better than just hardware health info. Team is able to start fix with good value of data, provided by monitoring team.
  • Configurable alerts.
  • 3rd party integrations.
  • Custom templates for out-of-box apps.
  • User community.
  • Hard to configure and get results.
  • Alert configuration, you can do mostly everything, but you have to do it, tool does not do it.
  • Training/support seems not interested to deliver best practices, they just share high level over viewed data.
Agent install is really easy when simple applications are used. But, only install, then you need to do almost everything manually, check/search/try and mostly again one more circle. One case I had with Redis app, data about one app server cannot be checked on one page, if you don't do some custom dashboards, oh, dashboards are fully editable. TBH, after almost 2 year, am still searching how to. Overall, tool does what it is for.
Read Lasha Jojua's full review
Chrichtian Neal | TrustRadius Reviewer
December 18, 2019

Solarwinds breeze

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Across the entire organization, Solarwinds is used to monitor up and downtimes of network configuration items. We push application install and Windows' updates on clients' devices. Netpath monitor is a tool I find intriguing.
  • I like the port monitor alert. It's in real time with alert.
  • Netpath helps me push my ISP when they are not being truthful about their downtimes.
  • I would lean more towards the bugs repair for now.
  • The PMS connect error issue.
It fits:
1. Network confirmation items status monitoring
2. Mass application and patch deployment
3. Network traffic flow stats
Read Chrichtian Neal's full review
Adrian Martinez | TrustRadius Reviewer
December 17, 2019

SolarWinds Server & Application Monitor the best option for Network.

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We do not have the system installed in our organization, but I have had the experience of working with it with some clients, which have it addressed in the entire infrastructure area which makes the monitoring and workload for the workforce much more optimized.
  • Customizable server monitoring.
  • Assignment of infrastructure units.
  • Apache server monitoring.
  • AWS cloud monitoring.
SolarWinds Server & Application Monitor is recommended for medium and large organizations where there is a wide infrastructure and it is worth investing in this type of tool to optimize the monitoring of servers in the organization.
Read Adrian Martinez's full review
Mike Narumiya | TrustRadius Reviewer
December 13, 2019

Easy to set-up with solid performance

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
SolarWinds brings our uptime up by allowing fewer people to monitor applications and servers in a single application with a great notification system. Previously, I had been using a variety of programs that this new one suite can do. It is easy to use. In addition, the option to prioritize notifications allows for better and more accurate resource allocations.
  • Ease of use, simple and easy to set-up and issue.
  • Priced right for our organization.
  • Having so many modules, can take some doing to understand what you need or want.
  • Additional mobile app/device monitoring.
If you have a wide variety of systems, and perhaps some rarely used or interacted systems, this is a great tool for monitoring servers and applications. In addition, if your staff is small, can greatly empower those that you have to keep an eye on more. Easy to use and train to newer staff. Notifications are easy to set-up and modify.
Read Mike Narumiya's full review
Chike Igwegbe | TrustRadius Reviewer
December 11, 2019

Don't run your online business without SolarWinds Server & Application Monitor!

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Solarwinds allows our company to monitor our servers 24/7. When we have emergencies, downtimes we instantly get a notification via the app and SMS. Their monitoring process has literally saved us thousands of dollars!
  • Monitor website downtimes.
  • Monitor apps downtimes.
  • Please provide integration via Cloudflare.
  • Extend trial periods for startups.
If you need to monitor your website or app 24/7 then this is a must have. I have been using it for over 5 years and I am perfectly happy.
Read Chike Igwegbe's full review
Glenn Taylor | TrustRadius Reviewer
December 06, 2019

My SolarWinds Life

Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use SolarWinds Server & Application Monitor to monitor our servers, switches, and routers. We need to be aware of resource usage, preventative maintenance issues, and quick reporting of failures. We also like to watch trends in usage and the application provides good tools for monitoring. Using the data allows us to plan accordingly for maintenance events and hardware upgrades.
  • Monitors Windows IIS for responsiveness.
  • Monitors SQL servers and gives us insight into what resources need to be modified.
  • Monitors our applications on our LInux DHCP/DNS servers for responsiveness.
  • Need a tie to firewall/security applications.
  • More templates, easier template creation.
  • More feedback when adding applications, hard to know what is failing when setting up.
The application SolarWinds Server & Application Monitor is great for virtual environments. We are able to watch the hosts and virtual machines for hardware and software issues. All mission-critical applications are monitored and we are alerted pre-failure so we can address issues before they are issues. Our maintenance costs have been reduced with the introduction of SolarWinds.
Read Glenn Taylor's full review
Joe Parlett | TrustRadius Reviewer
December 28, 2019

SolarWinds Server & Application Monitor Review

Score 5 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
It is used to identify poor performing SQL servers and SQL processes.
  • High wait time.
  • Long running queries.
  • It is not simple to navigate.
For SQL monitoring it does a good high-level job but I am an experienced SQL developer and you need that experience to understand what it finds.
Read Joe Parlett's full review
Alejandro Alvarez Ochoa | TrustRadius Reviewer
December 19, 2019

SolarWinds: An excellent monitoring tool

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
SolarWinds SAM is being used by our IT team for monitoring applications and servers. We can receive alerts from server's resources--for example, if the hard drive is reaching a percentage of use. We also have configured application alerts, and we can know if the application is down.
  • SolarWinds alerts the IT team about problems with servers and applications.
  • IT team can be proactive.
  • Improves memory and CPU use
  • Less time spent refreshing after solving problems
SolarWinds Server & Application Monitor is an excellent monitoring tool for IT infrastructure. You can see all your servers and resources in one screen. You can set alerts and be proactive. You can automatically solve problems with applications (like by restarting an application).
Read Alejandro Alvarez Ochoa's full review
Tony Ortiz | TrustRadius Reviewer
December 13, 2019

SolarWinds makes monitoring servers and apps easy!!

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use SolarWinds to monitor, and alert us of outages, for most of our hardware and applications here in the IT department.
  • Alerting for outages.
  • Ease of use.
  • For the SQL part, I would like to see the option to kill a process from GUI.
  • Lower cost.
For our department, SolarWinds is has been beneficial to use when monitoring our applications and hardware. However, sometimes we get too many alerts.
Read Tony Ortiz's full review
Ravi Naidu | TrustRadius Reviewer
December 02, 2019

SolarWinds Monitor Review

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We have been using SolarWinds on a daily basis at work to monitor our devices, take backup, pull out customer device utilization reports, auto backup etc. SolarWinds is a very powerful tool. It has been used in our department as well as at the organization level. Business problems like, daily backups, reports, etc and many more stuff are what I am currently exploring. I always recommend this tool to my friends. Thanks for making such great tool to free up our work time.
  • Its give us alerts on emails, whenever there is a device down in the data center.
  • It takes backups on auto timer.
  • It is useful for CPU utilization monitoring.
  • It makes it simple to add, delete, and modify the polling servers.
  • It is good to use for syslog servers.
  • Please improve on centralizing the data.
  • If any new patches have been updated on server, let us know the system capabilities to hold the patch.
  • Dashboard has to be more crispy in data viewing.
I recommend to use this tool in all the fields wherever it is required. Its always a best practice to implement in enterprise domain, where multiple devices have been implemented.
Read Ravi Naidu's full review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
March 20, 2020

SolarWinds Assessment -- Can we monitor the monitoring system?

Score 5 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

SolarWinds is being used to monitor systems that are in
place across the whole organization. Some alerts create incidents in our
ticketing software using a third-party orchestration software. Server and
Application Monitor is combined with several other SolarWinds products/modules
to get more capabilities. At least four team members manage different
products with access provided to dozens of IT users. The intention is to
be proactive to mitigate issues before the customers experience issues or use
the data collected to improve troubleshooting.



  • The online community is a good resource to solve monitoring questions.
  • The default web page displays are very functional and they can be modified for specific teams and uses.
  • The built in alerts and monitoring application templates are useful.
  • Training and Thwack lab videos are very informative.
  • I understand that our system is not highly available, but every 4 to 6 months SolarWinds fills up logs or ports or numerous other maladies that cause it to stop monitoring. Sometimes this causes a big enough issue that Monday morning the whole system is crashed. Several times it stopped polling devices without any outward signs. One time it stopped monitoring and wasn't discovered until we were trying to look at processor performance on one specific system and it showed that it had stopped recording data 4 days prior. The polling engines were up, but everything had just stopped polling. SolarWinds does not do any root cause analysis, but they do a lot of rebuilding components when systems fail. Sometimes that means a complete reinstall. I have used many ways to monitor the monitoring system so I can determine when it has quietly failed. The simplest, but somewhat effective way, has been to ask SW to send me an email every 4 hours. That requires me to check my email evenings and all weekend and after 4 months I have still missed a couple of outages.
  • Nearly every SolarWinds upgrade has created issues with stability and monitoring downtime. The first time I experienced the upgrade nightmare, it was completed by a SolarWinds engineer who was attempting to fix an issue. That was the time I learned to always take a VM snapshot before an upgrade was attempted. That first time could not be backed out and ended up causing problems for months. This upgrade problem must be true for many customers because the upgrade system has been changed a lot in the last three years. Support has been very responsive and usually can work through the problems. It is unfortunate that it consumes so much of my time for two to six weeks following an upgrade.
  • Our current Strategic Account Manager is useless. Instead of helping with a support issue that had been going on for 6 months, he suggested we pay for higher-level support for faster response times. Then no follow-up until he sent a form letter a month later asking if we have any current needs! To be fair we have had two other Account Managers that were responsive when we needed assistance. Those two moved on to other companies. It is especially significant to note that we only contact the Account Manager as a last resort and in three years that has only been about 2 or 3 times. The current one had only one request for assistance from me and of course, that will be the last time I reach out to him.
  • As with any company's support, SolarWinds has good and less than helpful support technicians. Several times I have had to request a different tech, or just close and open a new case when the tech provided answers like, just turn off that monitor on the SolarWinds application server instead of figuring out why it frequently alerts. There has also been resistance to escalating cases when progress has halted. On the other side of that is, there are several support technicians that know the products well and have had experience with many common issues. Those techs get things fixed quickly.
The size of our environment seems well suited to SolarWinds Server and Application Monitor. There are about 2000 nodes, 13000 elements, 6000 volumes, and 4000 interfaces. I am sure it can be scaled up to accommodate larger organizations, but that would require additional investment in hardware. The server requirements are very high and pushing desired guest Virtual Machines specifications on our current hosts. Unfortunately, being a Health Care organization is not a good fit when not having high availability implemented. I do not have experience with other large scale enterprise monitoring systems, but reliability is my concern with SolarWinds.
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
December 23, 2019

SolarWinds - the best tools for the job!

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
SolarWinds Server & Application Monitor is used across our organisation as the primary monitoring tool for all systems, and it's used by several departments within the company. It acts as a single pane of glass for monitoring and alerting for systems from head office servers to retail POS units. It also reports on uptime for SLAs.
  • Automatically adds new systems in. This is easier than most of the other monitoring systems I've used.
  • Integrates with ticketing systems like ServiceNow.
  • Regularly adds new features or improves functionality of existing ones.
  • Very easy to upgrade to the latest version.
  • Under the hood, it's a variety of monitoring products that have been added over the years, and sometimes this shows. The integration is pretty good, but not perfect.
  • Adding additional custom SNMP pollers could be a lot easier.
  • Sometimes you still need to use individual programs on the server to add or configure monitoring, rather than all going through the front end.
  • Hard to see exactly what is monitored on each node.
It scales well, and is suited to mid-size businesses that expect to grow. It's less suited to small businesses as there are cheaper and easier products to use and configure. It's better for monitoring in-house systems rather than cloud systems and does not monitor applications as well as it could. The support is excellent, and the development is contimuous and ongoing.
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
December 13, 2019

SolarWinds SAM (Server & Application Monitor) - Catch issues before your Users do!

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
SolarWinds Server & Application Monitor is being used across our entire company, globally across 250 locations in 30+ countries. We use SAM to monitor server uptime, performance, and to gather alerts for potential capacity issues (disk space, memory, CPU utilization). Utilizing active monitoring has allowed us to prevent potentially catastrophic system failures before the system users were impacted.

We leverage the reporting capability to report on our SLA Uptime, based on un-planned outages, and have these reports scheduled on a weekly and monthly basis for executive reporting of our stability across our server and network platforms.
  • Uptime status monitoring: SAM monitors system uptime through polling (Ping) or through system traps being sent to the poller agents.
  • Various application level monitors: We are able to monitor performance of many or our critical applications, from web servers, SQL, AD, and Exchange, and the data gathered helps to ensure user experiences are maintained at a positive level.
  • Linux/Unix support is very limited. We have to set up custom agents and custom scripts to retrieve any usable data from our older systems, and each one needs to be customized to report back what we need. The effort that has gone into the Windows systems is amazing -- the Linux effort is very limited and has almost no automation ability.
  • Installation and configuration is very daunting. The upgrade processes have caused many outages and unexpected tickets to be opened for support. The upgrade/maintenance process needs to be cleaned up and updated.
Monitoring Windows servers and applications (Microsoft software) has very good support and many custom/community developed monitors. Non-windows operating systems have many fewer built-in options for support, and require a much more manual process to gather usable data, in order to avoid multiple monitoring strategies.

One of the great strengths of the SolarWinds Platform is the community involvement. You can find many custom-developed functions that you can import -- but since they are community developed, there isn't the level of trust that the official approved extensions have.
Read this authenticated review

Feature Scorecard Summary

Application monitoring (233)
8.7
Database monitoring (201)
7.9
Threshold alerts (236)
8.6
Predictive capabilities (188)
7.7
Application performance management console (209)
8.1
Collaboration tools (123)
7.1
Out-of-the box templates to monitor applications (221)
7.9
Application dependency mapping and thresholding (187)
7.9
Virtualization monitoring (203)
8.4
Server availability and performance monitoring (235)
9.2
Server usage monitoring and capacity forecasting (216)
8.5
IT Asset Discovery (169)
8.5

About SolarWinds Server & Application Monitor

SolarWinds Server & Application Monitor (SAM) delivers application and server monitoring capabilities for IT pros enabling them to diagnose and troubleshoot issues faster. The vendor’s value proposition is that this solution prevents slow applications and downtime from impacting end-users and business services. Users can use this tool to pinpoint the root cause of application issues across various layers of the IT stack.

The vendor says SolarWinds SAM is affordable, easy to deploy, use and customize. Users can automatically discover their systems environment and start monitoring in about an hour. No professional services or consultation needed.

SAM is built on SolarWinds Orion® platform enabling native integration with Network Performance Monitor and other IT management software from SolarWinds.

SolarWinds Server & Application Monitor Features

Has featureSingle Web interface to monitor multi-vendor applications and server infrastructure.
Has featureOut-of-the-box monitoring templates for 200+ enterprise applications.
Has featureEasily extend monitoring to virtually any custom or home-grown applications.
Has featureGain contextual visibility of relationships and dependencies between applications and physical and virtual servers.
Has featureMonitor server hardware health, perform capacity forecasting, and manage asset inventory. Remediate server issues remotely with built-in management actions.
Has featureMonitor VMware and Hyper-V environments to identify problems impacting application performance.
Has featureCentrally manage IT asset inventory and keep track of server hardware and software information.
Has featureLeverage the wealth of built-in alerts and reports, and easily customize them as needed.
Has featureSAM is an agentless monitoring software. Optional agent installation extends monitoring to the cloud.

SolarWinds Server & Application Monitor Screenshots

SolarWinds Server & Application Monitor Videos (2)

SolarWinds Server & Application Monitor Downloadables

SolarWinds Server & Application Monitor Integrations

SolarWinds Server & Application Monitor Competitors

Ipswitch WhatsUp Gold, Nagios Core, IBM Tivoli Monitoring, Microsoft System Center, DX Application Performance Management (formerly CA APM), SiteScope (formerly HP SiteScope), ManageEngine Applications Manager

Pricing

  • Has featureFree Trial Available?Yes
  • Does not have featureFree or Freemium Version Available?No
  • Does not have featurePremium Consulting/Integration Services Available?No
  • Entry-level set up fee?No

SAM pricing starts at $2,995.

SolarWinds Server & Application Monitor Support Options

 Paid Version
Phone
Email
Forum/Community
FAQ/Knowledgebase
Video Tutorials / Webinar

SolarWinds Server & Application Monitor Technical Details

Deployment Types:On-premise
Operating Systems: Windows
Mobile Application:No
Supported Languages: English