TrustRadius
https://dudodiprj2sv7.cloudfront.net/product-logos/sf/fY/UWRMK8SAHSR2.PNGSolarWinds is an interesting system for keeping the place from burning down.We are using the server and application monitor to ensure high performance to our end users. We utilize it to track down performance issues, hardware issues and network issues before the users are able to see the issue. Our end users are very sensitive to performance slowdowns, and with our VDI infrastructure, if one user sees an issue, they all do.,In depth monitoring. You can monitor practically any portion of a virtual or physical server. Easy to read front page. Once the front page is configured, broad issues can be found early for further investigation. Constant updates. New updates are always available for whatever you are monitoring.,Price. It's a good product, but they know it. Complications. It can be intense to learn every nook and cranny of the product to get the most out of it. Speed. While we do not have it running on the fastest hardware, it can be laggy.,7,We are only using on-prem systems at this time. While the features and capability of monitoring hosting and cloud technology is appreciated, at this time, we are not using it.,We have benefited, as it's pointed out several issues with performance that we'd have either never noticed, or would have had to dig very deep to find. Discovery is less optimal, but I don't believe it's SolarWinds' fault. I believe that there is little unification between the different platforms, which makes discovery needlessly difficult.,We have benefitted, as we have an environment with several vendor types spread across multiple sites. Since each vendor has it's own monitoring solution, it's very beneficial to be able to look into the full stack to determine the issue. Without that capability, finding the problem would have been nearly impossible.,It's difficult to put into numbers, as the network admin.,vRealize OperationsSolarWinds Across the EnterpriseCurrently it is deployed to monitor our IT infrastructure. We use it to monitor the network, servers, virtual infrastructure, services, UPS, workstations and printers. This monitoring is across the entire organization though other departments are not currently using or monitoring these resources. We are attempting to define customer pain points and proactively monitor for the causes of those pain-points. In addition we use SolarWinds to help us efficiently resolve issues in a re-active situation such as site outages or unplanned service outages.,Netflow information and configuration management of network devices works really well for us. As these two comprise two of the core products of SolarWinds Orion suite it's good that it does this SAM (Application manager) Provides excellent insight into services and service states and is very customizable. Support community is excellent (THWACK) as is the available free training from the SolarWinds Customer Portal. Which is good, you're going to need it due to the depth and complexity of the software suites.,SolarWinds Orion is not just one product. It's a bunch of cobbled together products gained from acquisitions. Because of that finding a standard way to manage devices is difficult, and understanding one product is no guarantee of understanding another. The pane of glass that is Orion is very customizable. It is based on widgets but none of the widgets operate in a predictable way. There may be one that does what you want but you are going to have to find it and you will probably have to try 4 before you find one you like for what you are looking to do. A huge time-sync The network-atlas software that lets you put your Orion objects in a visual layout is terrible. Right down to what you can set as defaults for fonts or labels and all the way to stability it is terrible.,7,The single pane of glass has given us a reason to at least look at consolidating monitoring software suites. From HVAC, Oracle, Cisco, Siemens (APC) monitoring tools down to a single customizable web interface. It's also given us much better insight into the enterprise as a whole across multiple IT silos.,Not sure we've seen this work. May be a support issue, may be due to what I described earlier as issues with network-atlas and stability. Our database always needs maintenance, the maintenance always fails.,From a network standpoint this has been largely true. Netflow, configuration audits and network performance monitor are really excellent at this. SAM would also be very good at this if, from a departmental standpoint, were prepared for what this requires. Criticality, process, escalation and responsible parties all need quite a bit of organization development for this to be effective.,Quickly identifying root cause has helped us reduce downtime. Development of organization processes has had a marked improvement on our fire fighting requirements and put them closer to pro-active positions,Nagios, Cisco Prime LAN Management Solution and MAPCON ProAll the eyes in your environment with SolarWinds SAMWe use SolarWinds SAM to monitor our applications and databases, both in our development and production environments. Additionally, we recommend and implement SAM to our customers, especially those who work with third-party applications. SAM allows us to have a centralized control of our IT assets. SAM lets us know when an application is using many resources at best, and in the worst case it lets us know when a container like Amazon EC2 or Tomcat is down. Regarding our customers, in addition to the above, SAM allows us (and them) to determine reasonability for the performance of our applications compared to others of the client property (our outsourcing partners).,SAM really has the exact customization detail needed to monitor your most important assets on a single screen in real time. Works very well with Azure apps and Amazon AWS. You can integrate them in less than an hour. Easy and comfortable UI for less technical roles. Clearly one of the best in the monitoring systems field given the experience from SolarWinds,Reports and dashboards can be quite simple without customization. Customizations in general can have a little slower learning curve. Some clients depend on batch and shell scripts. The tool provides monitoring though the logs, but that is it. We would like to see more detail regarding the consumption of resources in these types of programs. For Azure apps monitoring, other Microsoft tools like SCOM have a better performance overall.,8,The forecast of errors is critical for the business, which assures us a good reputation and covers us from the risk of losing functionality (and clients). That guarantees us contracts and ensures our profitability. Some incidents in our applications put into production within the environments of our clients may present problems related to the resources of the environment. SAM has provided us with the evidence at the exact moment, which has prevented us from escalating these situations to compromising levels.,System Center Operations Manager and Nagios,System Center Operations Manager, Microsoft Azure, SoapUI NG Pro, NagiosStands alone but better with friendsOur IT department was looking for a monitoring tool to proactively address issues before they were encountered by the customer. Issues easily cropped up as a result of regular maintenance and would quickly be noticed by customers because checks were not done afterwards. We have been able to use SAM to check key services and applications for availability. This has also allowed us to track system uptime and keep better inventory of the monitored software and systems.,Powershell. We use this as a key tool to make sure software (both custom and delivered) is up and working correctly. Microsoft has standardized on this for the foreseeable future and Solarwinds does a great job using this tool set. Stack monitoring. It has always been extremely difficult to find the source of a problem. Combining SAM with their other products really provides an amazing insight in correlating a perceived issue with its ultimate cause. Community/Support. While SAM is a great tool, it is the people that really drive this product. Both support and customers are very responsive and excited to help out.,Learning Curve. SAM (and other solarwinds products) take a lot of time to learn how to make everything work well. Management can become frustrated with the perceived lack of progress. Solarwinds has recently made efforts to improve this with their Customer Success Center. Reporting. The reporting tool is ok for some basic table reports but lacks a lot in comparison with reporting services. Default dashboards. While custom dashboards can be awesome tools, the default ones are overwhelming in detail and underwhelming in looks. There is are also difficulties in creating great looking dashboards.,10,Customers create less incident tickets because we can be assured that our monitored services are up which has reflected directly our our uptime. Server performance monitoring has been able to prevent system slowdown and assure our customer base during peak load times. Management has a much clearer picture of our server loading and future needs.,PRTG Network Monitor,Solarwinds Database Performance Analyzer for SQL Server, SolarWinds Network Performance Monitor, SolarWinds Netflow Traffic AnalyzerSolarwinds Server and App Monitor CritiqueSolarwinds Server and Application is currently being used by the IT Systems Engineering team of the IT Department. It is used to monitor the health, services and statistics of all infrastructure devices and web servers across the organization.,Solarwinds monitors physical and virtual equipment The setup is quick and its easy to get going for small to mid-size organizations,Monitoring of virtual infrastructure equipment. More options than the following.,8,We have migrated from three monitoring applications to an all-in-one application for infrastructure and application monitoring.,This feature was not used for discovery of applications and servers,Currently, we have not utilized this capability,SolarWinds Server and Application Monitor has allowed us to react and identify issues quickly. The application has allowed us to predict and avoid certain situations and possible critical outages,Nagios and NetBrain
Windows
SolarWinds Server & Application Monitor
183 Ratings
Score 7.8 out of 101
TRScore

SolarWinds Server & Application Monitor Reviews

SolarWinds Server & Application Monitor
183 Ratings
Score 7.8 out of 101
Show Filters 
Hide Filters 
Filter 183 vetted SolarWinds Server & Application Monitor reviews and ratings
Clear all filters
Overall Rating
Reviewer's Company Size
Last Updated
By Topic
Industry
Department
Experience
Job Type
Role
Reviews (1-25 of 84)
  Vendors can't alter or remove reviews. Here's why.
October 19, 2018

SolarWinds Server & Application Monitor Review: "SolarWinds is an interesting system for keeping the place from burning down."

Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We are using the server and application monitor to ensure high performance to our end users. We utilize it to track down performance issues, hardware issues and network issues before the users are able to see the issue. Our end users are very sensitive to performance slowdowns, and with our VDI infrastructure, if one user sees an issue, they all do.
  • In depth monitoring. You can monitor practically any portion of a virtual or physical server.
  • Easy to read front page. Once the front page is configured, broad issues can be found early for further investigation.
  • Constant updates. New updates are always available for whatever you are monitoring.
  • Price. It's a good product, but they know it.
  • Complications. It can be intense to learn every nook and cranny of the product to get the most out of it.
  • Speed. While we do not have it running on the fastest hardware, it can be laggy.
It is well suited to heterogeneous environments with a mix of different server brands, types and software. If you have a single vendor solution, generally, that vendor's monitoring solution will be more appropriate. It also helps to have someone familiar with the software teach you how to use it, as it can be difficult to learn and tune on your own.
Read Brandon Koehler's full review
October 05, 2018

SolarWinds Server & Application Monitor Review: "SolarWinds Across the Enterprise"

Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Currently it is deployed to monitor our IT infrastructure. We use it to monitor the network, servers, virtual infrastructure, services, UPS, workstations and printers. This monitoring is across the entire organization though other departments are not currently using or monitoring these resources. We are attempting to define customer pain points and proactively monitor for the causes of those pain-points. In addition we use SolarWinds to help us efficiently resolve issues in a re-active situation such as site outages or unplanned service outages.
  • Netflow information and configuration management of network devices works really well for us. As these two comprise two of the core products of SolarWinds Orion suite it's good that it does this
  • SAM (Application manager) Provides excellent insight into services and service states and is very customizable.
  • Support community is excellent (THWACK) as is the available free training from the SolarWinds Customer Portal. Which is good, you're going to need it due to the depth and complexity of the software suites.
  • SolarWinds Orion is not just one product. It's a bunch of cobbled together products gained from acquisitions. Because of that finding a standard way to manage devices is difficult, and understanding one product is no guarantee of understanding another.
  • The pane of glass that is Orion is very customizable. It is based on widgets but none of the widgets operate in a predictable way. There may be one that does what you want but you are going to have to find it and you will probably have to try 4 before you find one you like for what you are looking to do. A huge time-sync
  • The network-atlas software that lets you put your Orion objects in a visual layout is terrible. Right down to what you can set as defaults for fonts or labels and all the way to stability it is terrible.
We have found it very useful for monitoring static devices, less useful for monitoring devices that are mobile or change often. So it's been really good for infrastructure devices, less so for end-users and end-user devices.
Read Nathan Tennant's full review
August 10, 2018

SolarWinds Server & Application Monitor Review: "All the eyes in your environment with SolarWinds SAM"

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use SolarWinds SAM to monitor our applications and databases, both in our development and production environments. Additionally, we recommend and implement SAM to our customers, especially those who work with third-party applications.

SAM allows us to have a centralized control of our IT assets. SAM lets us know when an application is using many resources at best, and in the worst case it lets us know when a container like Amazon EC2 or Tomcat is down.

Regarding our customers, in addition to the above, SAM allows us (and them) to determine reasonability for the performance of our applications compared to others of the client property (our outsourcing partners).
  • SAM really has the exact customization detail needed to monitor your most important assets on a single screen in real time.
  • Works very well with Azure apps and Amazon AWS. You can integrate them in less than an hour.
  • Easy and comfortable UI for less technical roles.
  • Clearly one of the best in the monitoring systems field given the experience from SolarWinds
  • Reports and dashboards can be quite simple without customization. Customizations in general can have a little slower learning curve.
  • Some clients depend on batch and shell scripts. The tool provides monitoring though the logs, but that is it. We would like to see more detail regarding the consumption of resources in these types of programs.
  • For Azure apps monitoring, other Microsoft tools like SCOM have a better performance overall.
If you have a hybrid environment with applications in multiple languages, SolarWinds SAM is the way to go. You can never go wrong with all the centralized monitoring it has.

If you rely on Microsoft applications and consider to monitor only these systems, maybe you would prefer Log Analytics or the robust SCOM.

On the other hand, if your ecosystem is small (1 or 2 application for a startup), I would recommend ad hoc tools specialized in these particular scenarios.
Read Miguel Angel Merino Vega's full review
August 03, 2018

SolarWinds Server & Application Monitor Review: "Stands alone but better with friends"

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Our IT department was looking for a monitoring tool to proactively address issues before they were encountered by the customer. Issues easily cropped up as a result of regular maintenance and would quickly be noticed by customers because checks were not done afterwards. We have been able to use SAM to check key services and applications for availability. This has also allowed us to track system uptime and keep better inventory of the monitored software and systems.
  • Powershell. We use this as a key tool to make sure software (both custom and delivered) is up and working correctly. Microsoft has standardized on this for the foreseeable future and Solarwinds does a great job using this tool set.
  • Stack monitoring. It has always been extremely difficult to find the source of a problem. Combining SAM with their other products really provides an amazing insight in correlating a perceived issue with its ultimate cause.
  • Community/Support. While SAM is a great tool, it is the people that really drive this product. Both support and customers are very responsive and excited to help out.
  • Learning Curve. SAM (and other solarwinds products) take a lot of time to learn how to make everything work well. Management can become frustrated with the perceived lack of progress. Solarwinds has recently made efforts to improve this with their Customer Success Center.
  • Reporting. The reporting tool is ok for some basic table reports but lacks a lot in comparison with reporting services.
  • Default dashboards. While custom dashboards can be awesome tools, the default ones are overwhelming in detail and underwhelming in looks. There is are also difficulties in creating great looking dashboards.
SAM is great in monitoring servers and anything running on them. Setting up alerts is straightforward and dynamic enough for any situation. Getting an initial start on monitoring basic SMTP/WMI services is very easy and provides impressive results very quickly. I could see any company finding great value in this software.
Read Stephen Swan's full review
August 30, 2018

SolarWinds Server & Application Monitor Review: "Solarwinds Server and App Monitor Critique"

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Solarwinds Server and Application is currently being used by the IT Systems Engineering team of the IT Department. It is used to monitor the health, services and statistics of all infrastructure devices and web servers across the organization.
  • Solarwinds monitors physical and virtual equipment
  • The setup is quick and its easy to get going for small to mid-size organizations
  • Monitoring of virtual infrastructure equipment. More options than the following.
Solarwinds is well suited for our webserver environment. It detects and monitors the health of the webservers and the virtual load balancer. It monitors the services collectively across the web servers.

In Scenarios where attempting monitoring from Cloud/on-premise or on-premise/cloud deployments. This application needs further work.
Read Rychar Nelson's full review
August 24, 2018

SolarWinds Server & Application Monitor Review: "SolarWinds App Monitoring Helped Us"

Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
The application is being used to allow myself and my team to leverage real time data to analyze and predict how our server farm is working.
  • Allows us to see potential issues arising from resource utilization
  • Clean interface
  • In depth data
  • UI could use updating
  • Not as user-friendly as could be
It is well suited for seeing which of our servers is under heavy stress and may fail.
Read Ben Parker's full review
August 22, 2018

SolarWinds Server & Application Monitor Review: "SolarWinds SAM is a great addition to the Windows monitoring platform"

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use SAM to monitor application and server health across the entire organization. Email alerts can easily be customized to let us know when an application service is down or not behaving up to expectations.
  • Monitor services
  • Monitor Active Directory health
  • Some of the pre-built templates could be improved upon, perhaps with a wizard-style approach for which metrics would like to be monitored within a template
A Windows environment is perfect for SAM
Read Jamie Webster's full review
August 15, 2018

SolarWinds Server & Application Monitor Review: "Great module and addition to your SW suite of tools"

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use it to keep an eye on key services and systems for possible bottlenecks choking the environment
  • Tight integration with their network performance monitor
  • customizability of alerts
  • customizable dashboard so I can see only what matters to me and hide all the other "stuff"
  • Fantastic user resources aka Thwak
  • A tighter tie-in with O365
I think it's a key tool that should be in every IT department
Read Eric Moore's full review
August 15, 2018

SolarWinds Server & Application Monitor Review: "Great Product and easily one our best decision to Purchase SolarWinds"

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
It has helped with automated scripts running via Scheduled tasks. When they go down, so do our automated processes. Some small and some very important tasks that need to stay running. We also use it for SQL Events which the Dev team uses for keeping their applications up and running for the company.
  • It has pretty descriptive errors that it can capture. This greatly helps and improves troubleshooting.
  • It is easy to see when something is not running and the added alerts help with our support promptness.
  • Once we enabled the alerts, we were actually able to find issues that we didn't even know we had
  • Sometimes it takes some time to make sure alerting is setup right.
  • Some of the setup is not straight forward and needs a little research.
It has helped us many times for alerting us when something is down. This has even helped us fix things before the end user even notices.
Read Justin Harrison's full review
August 10, 2018

SolarWinds Server & Application Monitor Review: "Just as awesome as the price tag suggests!"

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use SolarWinds SAM in conjunction with SolarWinds NPM to monitor, visualize, and alert on various IT components via email alerts, dashboards, and even a NOC view that is displayed on a large screen. Business stakeholders are often included in the email alerts, so they are aware when issues arise that affect them/their department.
  • Super-simple to configure everything from standard HTTP checks all the way to custom Powershell scripts that return tables of values
  • Upgrading is simple- the unified installer detects and upgrades all Orion products (NPM, SAM, DPA) and upgrades them at the same time, to maintain version compatibility
  • Documentation and forums are straightforward and helpful
  • The web UI is often slow, even on beefy hardware with a beefy database server.
  • The alerts are very rigid- e.g. you can't define a group of email addresses and then include the group in alerts, you have to list every email address in every individual alert.
  • The F5 BIG-IP support is terrible- you cannot exclude specific components from the view the way you can with other parts of the software, so our balancer view shows a bunch of test/dev nodes that shouldn't even be there
  • AppInsights is poorly designed and poorly executed
  • Most permissions/settings for users are not defineable by group or policy, you have to edit individual users and edit a big sheet of permissions dropdowns on a per-user basis
SAM (along with the rest of the Orion suite) is a solid monitoring/alerting solution for most SMBs, with a few exceptions:

1. If you have a high change rate (adding or removing nodes/applications, etc), SAM might not be for you- there is an API, but it is not very good, so you will probably be doing most of your configuration using the web interface
2. If you have a large enough environment that it makes sense to have several staff [members] to manage the care and feeding of infrastructure monitoring, you might be better off using an open-source solution and rolling your own
3. If cost is a major factor, SolarWinds products might not be for you- everything SolarWinds sells is incredibly expensive.
Read Bear Golightly's full review
July 10, 2018

SolarWinds Server & Application Monitor Review: "SAM can reduce down time (sometimes completely)"

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Several departments at my employer use SAM for our application monitoring needs. The best thing about SAM, much like other SW tools, is it's integrated with other SW products. SAM works flawlessly with NPM for server maintenance and monitoring. We are able to quickly address software failures via alerts and reports.
  • Alerts software failures
  • Integrated with NPM
  • Integration also allows event history
  • SAM is customizable, almost too much
  • SW relies on it's customer base for direction (too heavily)
  • SAM needs a little too much customization at times
Any environment where monitoring software is a necessity, could possibly benefit from SAM. Quickly address failures and diagnose events via NPM and SAM. Even if nobody is at the helm watching for failures, SAM/NPM can email alerts so that nothing falls through the cracks. Resource monitoring via NPM can also work with SAM to assist in diagnosis.
Read Joshua Smith's full review
September 07, 2018

SolarWinds Server & Application Monitor Review: "Good for front end monitoring tool - but still need improvement for back end root monitoring"

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use SAM for our monitoring tool. We have applications across the company that we feel this product is a good tool for.
  • SolarWinds Server & Application Monitor does well by monitoring the key resources and applications.
  • However, I would suggest that SolarWinds to add a feature that allows you to enable/disable particular resources and not currently as a whole package.
Again, inside the resources feature, you can't individually select the resource you want to monitor and don't want to monitor. There are duplicated resources within other packages, but you can't break apart.
Read Long Ha's full review
September 26, 2018

SolarWinds Server & Application Monitor Review: "SAM - Like an IT Swiss Army Knife!"

Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
SAM is being used only by the IT Infrastructure team, but also a few of our Application Analysts. We use it primary to monitor and alert on our TIER 1, critical SQL Server Databases, and some IIS service. We also use it to monitor specific attributes of our Exchange server, Tomcat servers, and VMWARE environment.

It also monitors our Active Directory services and counters, as well as AD security auditing. It will notify my team if there are any changes to any user account in AD. We also use it to alert when specific services go down, or if SQL Server falls outside of certain thresholds...such as TEMPDB growing to rapidly, or if indexes become too fragmented.
  • I really like the way it auto-scans a server whenever you add it to Orion, and will setup the initial monitor for you. So, if it detects IIS, it will auto-add the basic IIS monitors already. You don't have to go through all servers and manually add these app monitors.
  • It's also very each to create custom monitors, and add them to any server already being managed. We have special retail software that requires special PORT monitoring - and the SAM tools allowed us to easily setup the monitor and alerting.
  • There are very many templates right out of the box for almost anything you can imagine. For those templates that I can't find, if always been able to find something via the user community site: Thwack.
  • It's a little overwhelming right out of the box. It can take months to get it fine tuned to your particular environment so you don't get 10,000 email alerts each day. This is specifically true with SQL Server monitoring. We have about 50 SQL Servers using SAM, and almost everyone of them are reporting CRITICAL right out of the box, even though the servers are running fine.
  • Right out of the box, the alerts do not give you any useful information. They only have hyperlinks to the dashboard. I wish that right out of the box, the email alerts would have all details.
  • I don't like the way they implement "light" versions of certain tools within SAM, and then make you pay for the Advanced tools. For example, SAM can monitor SQL Server, but it's consider a light version -- it doesn't go extremely deep. If you want deep monitoring of SQL you have to buy the extra SQL Server Monitor. It should all be bundled into the tool that we already purchased.
It's very well suited to Windows, Exchange, SQL, and IIS environments. Right out of the box, it can easily detect and setup checks for these systems, whether they're Physical or Virtual.

It's not well suited for "point in time" SQL Server monitoring. If we have an issue with our SQL Server at 2am, we're unable to roll back the clock within SAM, and get detailed info regarding the state of this SQL Server. We had to go and purchase a different tool for this (SentryOne SQL Monitor).
Read this authenticated review
September 05, 2018

SolarWinds Server & Application Monitor Review: "My Experience with SolarWinds SAM"

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
The SolarWinds Server and Application Monitor is being used across the entire organization and it helps us monitor the hardware and application health and performance of our systems. We use this product to monitor our IT assets spread across multiple geographies.
  • The product provides granular performance information on all components of a server, this helps us quickly troubleshoot any issues.
  • The product has a light footprint and it provides a rich monitoring functionality without adversely impacting the utilization of the monitored asset.
  • The product allows us to create application-wise dashboards and map dependencies. It also allows grouping of assets and provide role-based dashboards to various teams as required.
  • Security scans keep throwing up multiple vulnerabilities on this application and the newer versions of the product do not always solve this issues. There is a definite scope for improvement here.
  • The product is easy to set up, requires minimal training, and combines well with other SolarWinds products we use.
  • The community support is an additional factor that helps us use the product better.
Read this authenticated review
September 04, 2018

SolarWinds Server & Application Monitor Review: "Wow great product"

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Logging in to the web console gives access to a wealth of information that is available to you on your servers and the applications that run on them. There is a whole bunch of templates and alerts already available to you for both physical and virtual servers.

A multitude of information can become available from the web app by selecting from a series of tabs and dropdown menus, ideal for troubleshooting and getting to the root cause of problems. You can drill down into servers to be presented with metrics dashboards which are all customisable. SAM is a complex tool that is usable with minimal training. But the more you use and learn, the more powerful SAM becomes.

  • Customization for alerts is probably the best feature of the SAM product with virtually limitless options on what you can monitor. With customization for alerting we've even set it up to send emails to our exchange tools to automate actions we want taken when certain alerts are received.
  • App Insight for SQL. Its personally one of my favourite templates that SolarWinds do out of the box. It can make you appear to know what you're talking about with your SQL environment.
  • Customizations and includes support for DAG monitoring for Exchange environments. Important information and alerts are pre-configured. Synthetic monitoring gives you the chance to catch issues before they arise. Combined with the SolarWinds Orion suite, you can use this tool to monitor every performance aspect of your IT infrastructure.
  • We have enjoyed the ability to manage and monitor home grown applications as well as generally available ones. Being able to watch for runaway processes and over utilization of things like SQL and AV have been a benefit.
  • Sometimes it is a little harder to configure than we would like. It has been a good buy for us but it is not as 100% user-friendly as we would like.
  • If you have a server that has multiple DNS names there is no way that you can have a pointer that redirects you to the proper server name. There still needs to have more work done on the SQL AppInsight. We get a lot of false positives, but its better than nothing, so you need to adjust the metrics.
  • I find the licensing model to be less than ideal. I don't hate it, but I just don't love it. But, to be honest I have not got a better solution either.
  • Even with all the customizations, a lot false alerts are created. We have worked with SolarWinds engineers and we have not been able to create rules to limit our false positives alerting. This in return has generated about 10,000 extra emails to our admin accounts. While the tool gives us what we need, it also produces way too much noise. This has caused our team to create a lot of email rules to filter out what is needed and auto-delete of alerts. In return, we get the alerts we need but with too many alerts. The dashboard is ok, but needs improvement.
SolarWinds can be shared with another application server and placed on a shared SQL server. This is great when considering having the upkeep with servers in one's environment. SAM has been an important tool in our strategy to be more proactive and discover/resolve minor issues before they blow up into huge issues. Abilities such as alerting on a service crashing and automatically restarting it, or specific app templates for Exchange and SQL with a large number of items to monitor give deep insight into these mission critical apps. In addition the built-in documentation does more than just tell you when something passes a threshold, it gives a reference to what the parameter means so you can determine if you need to adjust the threshold for your environment.
Read this authenticated review
August 30, 2018

SolarWinds Server & Application Monitor Review: "Save time and headaches with SolarWinds!"

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
I use SolarWinds Server & Application Monitor in the small data center at my company to monitor all endpoints, as well as the virtual and physical server infrastructure that we use. I also use SolarWinds Server & Application Monitor to monitor all of our Cisco networking equipment, and the APC server racks in the data center. Access to SolarWinds Server & Application Monitor is mostly restricted to the Network Operations team, but the entire IT department has read-only access to several monitoring only dashboards in order to assist the NetOps team with keeping an eye on everything. The team likes SolarWinds Server & Application Monitor because the dashboards provide an easy to read overview of system status and network health.
  • SolarWinds gives a user friendly interface that requires very little training.
  • SolarWinds integrates extremely well with tons of different hardware and software
  • Solarwinds provides a very nice monitoring dashboard
  • There was a lot of prerequisites when installing
  • The install process could be a little more stable
  • The menu could use some fine tuning to be more intuitive
SolarWinds Server & Application Monitor is very useful for an infrastructure of any size. Regardless of how many devices or appliances, virtual or physical, that you may have, SolarWinds will give you a very easy to use monitoring system.
SolarWinds Server & Application Monitor may not be as useful for non-domain environment however.
Read this authenticated review
August 21, 2018

SolarWinds Server & Application Monitor Review: "Take the hassle out of IT Infrastructure"

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use SolarWinds Server & Application Monitor on a day to day basis. Setting up the software was easy. We just create our subnets and the software scans the subnet and does the rest. We created different types of alerts for different devices. We have over 300 servers, applications, and networks we monitor. We have alerts tied to specific applications which alert different departments that handle those applications. We created a helpdesk node monitor to display on our TVs. It will show the current status of critical servers and items that are down. We manage 33 different locations that all connect to our data center. It is important to know when there is an outage for one of our locations. SolarWinds Server & Application Monitor alerts us when it happens so we can get the issue resolved. It is a great product to have!
  • Server Monitoring
  • Network Monitoring
  • Alerting
  • Cost is high
  • Node maps could be easier to sort.
Great for medium - enterprise size companies. If you have a lot of servers and networks you manage it is a must.
Read this authenticated review
October 05, 2018

SolarWinds Server & Application Monitor Review: "Good Detailed Infrastructure Monitor Tool"

Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We currently use SolarWinds Server & Application Monitor to monitor our hosted application servers in our third party cloud environment. It is currently only being used by our Technical Services department. It address our need to have constant data on our application servers to ensure they are running smoothly.
  • SAM has very detailed monitoring tools designed to work out of the box for SQL server to quickly set up alerts for SQL servers.
  • SAM has great alerts that are customizable so you can keep up to date on the information that you need.
  • The reports in SAM are great way to share the status and history of your environment with stakeholders.
  • Initially SAM can automatically find 'nodes' to monitor, and some of the default alerts can be overwhelming until you are able to dig through the options to fine tune the alerts to usable thresholds.
  • The interface, while displaying lots of information, has a pretty steep learning curve to figuring out.
  • The licencing is based off of a 'node' and it is a little confusing at what constitutes a node.
SolarWinds Server & Application Monitor is well suited for large environments that need constant monitoring with a dedicated support staff who can configure and adjust the settings. It may be less appropriate in smaller environments where the support staff is unable to focus on maintaining the software and keeping it fine tuned. A simpler solution may be better if looking for something quick to stand up.
Read this authenticated review
September 28, 2018

SolarWinds Server & Application Monitor Review: "Mission Critical, we can't live without Server and Application Manager."

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
SAM is used primarily for operations support, and is extended to datacenter and technical support teams. While we use some canned monitors, the bulk of our SAM components are custom written script monitors using Perl, PowerShell, VB, or TSQL. We monitor everything...
  • Flexibility with specific monitoring requirements by creating our own scripts to control output messaging, and monitor for statistics that are unique to our in-house written applications.
  • Out of the box support for common vendors' hardware MIBS or API to report on chassis hardware issues, etc.
  • Customization of the web portal provide specialized dashboards for our various NOC teams using Orion, as well as executive dashboards, alert boards, historical reporting, etc.
  • User roll granularity. While this has improved over the years, the user rights are not granular enough.
  • Profile based views. End users frequently want to modify their own views, but views are generally global. Under account rights, I would like to be able to allow an account to have a profile based set of views. It's also important to easily review a users specific profile views to check for resource abuse.
  • Better information on user activity, views usage, etc. Knowing what views are used the most or least would be helpful information when considering what works and what doesn't, what needs to be cleaned up, etc...
SAM is both extremely easy to use out of the box, as it is customizable for advanced users and complex environments. The user community is an outstanding resource for users trying to take their monitoring to the next level using advanced scripts and customization. I still struggle with full app stack monitoring, and we lack visibility with some of our custom apps (Java), where I'm hoping to see some growth out of the AppOptics purchase.
Read this authenticated review
September 28, 2018

SolarWinds Server & Application Monitor Review: "Great innovative company with a product that has the potential to do it all"

Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
It is our one-stop shop for monitoring all of our nodes. SolarWinds Server & Application Manager (SAM) is a great tool that really gets under the hood of the OS and APP layer and can give you some really good detailed information about your environment.
  • It can do the basics like alert on up/down but you can go way past that and get very detailed metrics and run reports and/or trigger and from there do just about anything like reboot a server or run a PowerShell script
  • The product is always getting better and they listen to their customers and make changes
  • I like a single pane of glass and it's getting closer and closer to that
  • The application mapping needs a lot of improvement and I can't wait to see it mature
  • I really like the AppInsight tools as that really shines light on IIS
  • Need way better O365 integration and visibility
I think this tool can be used for small and large companies. You don't really need a full time admin of SW to administer it and only needs a reboot from time to time to keep the resources purring along.
Read this authenticated review
September 26, 2018

Review: "SolarWinds Server & Application Monitor way ahead of the pack!"

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We currently use SolarWinds Server & Application Monitor to monitor an enterprise cloud based VoIP solution for several state agencies. We also recommend it as an NMS solution to companies we provide professional services to when they are searching for a solid and reliable monitoring solution for our product. It provides us the ability to stand up our system and quickly implement a network/server monitoring solution for a wide variety of clients.
  • The ability to monitor multiple vendor specific services and their up-time
  • Deploy templates directly related to our cloud-based VoIP system
  • The ease of administration coupled with the granularity it provides for monitoring a wide variety of applications, servers, and network health
  • Documentation can be a little confusing for first time users.
  • Navigation of the web interface is also a little confusing until you start using the product more.
  • Templates can be tricky to configure.
Easy to deploy yet robust enough to monitor medium- to enterprise-class systems. Not really designed for small shops.
Read this authenticated review
August 31, 2018

SolarWinds Server & Application Monitor Review: "Wildly functional, difficult for mere mortals to manage and config correctly"

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Our use is company-wide on all of our production servers, network devices and UPSs. Many of the existing servers are old and unreliable. Solarwinds has been deployed to get to the root cause of the routine outages and address some of the SQL issues.
  • Notifications on Node Status
  • Real time performance analysis
  • Ability to view events, services, etc right from the tool
  • The UI needs work. Travelling from function to function is not intuitive. Finding some features is downright difficult e.g. monitored components.
  • Using the default templates for monitored components consumes an enormous amount of licenses unnecessarily. Easy access to the template to add/change/delete components would be a big help
  • Unless you're a powershell developer, much of the rich functionality can't be used. I went onto Thwack to as a simple question how to monitor a service for up/down that is not in the standard template and what I got back was not useful due to the need for powershell. Probably a good answer but nothing that I could use.
I would recommend it to a highly skilled network team due to the complexity of the product. If there was a Solarwinds light, it could be of use to a small to medium business.
Read this authenticated review
August 30, 2018

SolarWinds Server & Application Monitor Review: "The only winner in real-time infrastructure monitoring for high-availability infrastructure."

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
The site my company and I manage uses SolarWinds Server and App Monitor to monitor all endpoints of our network. Primarily we use it for our virtual infrastructure but do use it for our physical infrastructure as well. Additional physical infrastructure monitoring is used for networking and APC systems. It's pretty much a one-stop-shop for monitoring as it gives us a great visual overview of our network. We handle a lot of highly sensitive and high availability products so utilizing this in our shop is extremely beneficial. Most of our IT department has, at minimum read-only but administrative access is used by other sections primarily server, VDI, cybersecurity, and networking.
  • Simply easy-to-glance-at graphical monitor.
  • Seamless integration with physical and virtual infrastructure.
  • Overall responsive management capabilities.
  • Installation had a few issues with stability. We were able to implement the build, but we weren't sure if it came from our equipment or not.
  • While the main graphical monitor was easy to use, the overall menu system wasn't as intuitive.
I'd say in most scenarios, at least based on the size of the infrastructure, it's very well suited and scales easily. Especially during our expansion of our VDI infrastructure. Non-domain based infrastructure would be by best example.
Read this authenticated review
August 28, 2018

Review: "SolarWinds Server & Application Monitor in a small IT shop"

Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use SolarWinds Server & Application Monitor in our small datacenter to monitor all endpoints, as well as our physical and virtual server infrastructure. We also use SolarWinds Server & Application Monitor to monitor all CISCO networking equipment, and our APC server racks. Access to SolarWinds Server & Application Monitor is mostly restricted to our NetOps team, but the entire IT shop has read-only access to several monitoring-only dashboards. SolarWinds Server & Application Monitor dashboards provide a nice at-a-glance overview of system status and network health.
  • SolarWinds Server & Application Monitor provides a clear overview of system health.
  • When configured correctly, SolarWinds Server & Application Monitor provides up/down status at a glance.
  • SolarWinds Server & Application Monitor integrates well into numerous devices to provide management capabilities.
  • The install process could be more stable, there were many pre-req's.
  • Menu could be more intuitive.
SolarWinds Server & Application Monitor is well suited to any size infrastructure. It would be less helpful in a non-domain environment.
Read this authenticated review
August 27, 2018

"SolarWinds Server & Application Monitor Review...Great Overall Monitoring For Servers, Apps, and Databases"

Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Having SolarWinds in our environment has been very helpful as you can see issues across the environment and prove or disprove something very quickly and easily. The reporting and alerting have been helpful in finding and resolving issues.
  • Monitors system health like CPU, memory, and disk space.
  • Alerts on various issues that you can configure.
  • Reporting and trending of device performance.
  • Coming from 10+ years using Nagios there is definitely a learning curve to getting up to speed with SolarWinds.
  • It's not quick and easy to learn and takes time to fully understand how to manage the software.
  • Make the UI easier to navigate to find various options and settings.
Overall it's a great tool that has been proven to help in many scenarios. It's not easy to fully understand and manage unless you use it regularly.
Read this authenticated review

Feature Scorecard Summary

Application monitoring (84)
8.5
Database monitoring (70)
7.2
Threshold alerts (84)
8.4
Predictive capabilities (73)
6.0
Application performance management console (74)
6.8
Collaboration tools (43)
4.7
Out-of-the box templates to monitor applications (76)
6.4
Application dependency mapping and thresholding (66)
6.8
Virtualization monitoring (72)
7.5
Server availability and performance monitoring (81)
8.6
Server usage monitoring and capacity forecasting (79)
7.3
IT Asset Discovery (59)
7.4

About SolarWinds Server & Application Monitor

SolarWinds Server & Application Monitor (SAM) delivers powerful application and server monitoring capabilities for IT pros enabling them to diagnose and troubleshoot issues faster. The vendor’s value proposition is that this solution prevents slow applications and downtime from impacting end-users and business services. Users can use this tool to pinpoint the root cause of application issues across various layers of the IT stack.

The vendor says SolarWinds SAM is affordable, easy to deploy, use and customize. Users can automatically discover their systems environment and start monitoring in about an hour. No professional services or consultation needed.

SAM is built on SolarWinds Orion® platform enabling native integration with Network Performance Monitor and other IT management software from SolarWinds.

SolarWinds Server & Application Monitor Features

Has featureSingle Web interface to monitor multi-vendor applications and server infrastructure.
Has featureOut-of-the-box monitoring templates for 200+ enterprise applications.
Has featureEasily extend monitoring to virtually any custom or home-grown applications.
Has featureGain contextual visibility of relationships and dependencies between applications and physical and virtual servers.
Has featureMonitor server hardware health, perform capacity forecasting, and manage asset inventory. Remediate server issues remotely with built-in management actions.
Has featureMonitor VMware and Hyper-V environments to identify problems impacting application performance.
Has featureCentrally manage IT asset inventory and keep track of server hardware and software information.
Has featureLeverage the wealth of built-in alerts and reports, and easily customize them as needed.
Has featureSAM is an agentless monitoring software. Optional agent installation extends monitoring to the cloud.

SolarWinds Server & Application Monitor Screenshots

SolarWinds Server & Application Monitor Videos (2)

SolarWinds Server & Application Monitor Downloadables

SolarWinds Server & Application Monitor Integrations

SolarWinds Server & Application Monitor Competitors

WhatsUp Gold, Nagios, IBM Tivoli Monitoring, CA APM, Microsoft System Center, SiteScope (formerly HP SiteScope), ManageEngine Applications Manager

Pricing

Has featureFree Trial Available?Yes
Does not have featureFree or Freemium Version Available?No
Does not have featurePremium Consulting/Integration Services Available?No
Entry-level set up fee?No

SAM pricing starts at $2,995.

SolarWinds Server & Application Monitor Support Options

 Paid Version
Phone
Email
Forum/Community
FAQ/Knowledgebase
Video Tutorials / Webinar

SolarWinds Server & Application Monitor Technical Details

Deployment Types:On-premise
Operating Systems: Windows
Mobile Application:No
Supported Languages: English