SolarWinds Server & Application Monitor

SolarWinds Server & Application Monitor

Customer Verified
Top Rated
TRUE
About TrustRadius Scoring
Score 8.4 out of 100
Top Rated
TRUE
SolarWinds Server & Application Monitor

Overview

Recent Reviews

True Insight

10 out of 10
January 27, 2022
I use SolarWinds Server Application Monitor to monitor my infrastructure as well as applications within that environment. It provides a …
Continue reading

My Tool for My IT Environment

9 out of 10
January 19, 2022
[My organization] installed SolarWinds Server and Application Monitor for complete Infrastructure on both physical, virtual, and cloud …
Continue reading

Best monitoring product for IT

10 out of 10
January 19, 2022
It's a very powerful product, we are using for Servers and Applications monitoring for HQ and DR sites. We found it very powerful for …
Continue reading

Reviewer Sentiment

N/A
Positive ()
N/A
Negative ()
Learn how we calculate reviewer sentiment

Awards

TrustRadius Award Top Rated 2022
TrustRadius Award Top Rated 2021
TrustRadius Best of Award, Best Of Usability 2021

Popular Features

View all 12 features

Server availability and performance monitoring (272)

9.5
95%

Threshold alerts (273)

9.2
92%

Application monitoring (268)

9.1
91%

Out-of-the box templates to monitor applications (258)

8.4
84%

Reviewer Pros & Cons

View all pros & cons

Video Reviews

Leaving a video review helps other professionals like you evaluate products. Be the first one in your network to record a review of SolarWinds Server & Application Monitor, and make your voice heard!

Pricing

View all pricing
N/A
Unavailable

What is SolarWinds Server & Application Monitor?

SolarWinds Server & Application Monitor (SAM) delivers application and server monitoring capabilities. SAM allows for self-service for easy setup, 1200+ monitoring templates, and customization options, as well as integrate with other SolarWinds products.

Entry-level set up fee?

  • No setup fee
For the latest information on pricing, visithttp://www.solarwinds.com/products/pric…

Offerings

  • Free Trial
  • Free/Freemium Version
  • Premium Consulting / Integration Services

Would you like us to let the vendor know that you want pricing?

3 people want pricing too

Alternatives Pricing

What is Site24x7 All-in-One Monitoring?

Site24x7 from ManageEngine is a full-stack application, website, server, cloud and network monitoring tool. Site24x7 offers code-level diagnostics and customizable error thresholds, end-to-end monitoring with topology visualization tools, and mobile accessibility.

N/A
Unavailable

What is Nagios Core?

Nagios provides monitoring of all mission-critical infrastructure components. Multiple APIs and community-build add-ons enable integration and monitoring with in-house and third-party applications for optimized scaling.

Features Scorecard

Application Performance Management

8.7
87%

Product Details

What is SolarWinds Server & Application Monitor?

SolarWinds Server & Application Monitor (SAM) delivers application and server monitoring capabilities for IT pros enabling them to diagnose and troubleshoot issues faster. The vendor’s value proposition is that this solution prevents slow applications and downtime from impacting end-users and business services. Users can use this tool to pinpoint the root cause of application issues across various layers of the IT stack.

The vendor says SolarWinds SAM is affordable, easy to deploy, use and customize. Users can automatically discover their systems environment and start monitoring in about an hour. No professional services or consultation needed.

SAM is built on SolarWinds Orion® platform enabling native integration with Network Performance Monitor and other IT management software from SolarWinds.

SolarWinds Server & Application Monitor Features

  • Supported: Single Web interface to monitor multi-vendor applications and server infrastructure.
  • Supported: Out-of-the-box monitoring templates for 200+ enterprise applications.
  • Supported: Easily extend monitoring to virtually any custom or home-grown applications.
  • Supported: Gain contextual visibility of relationships and dependencies between applications and physical and virtual servers.
  • Supported: Monitor server hardware health, perform capacity forecasting, and manage asset inventory. Remediate server issues remotely with built-in management actions.
  • Supported: Monitor VMware and Hyper-V environments to identify problems impacting application performance.
  • Supported: Centrally manage IT asset inventory and keep track of server hardware and software information.
  • Supported: Leverage the wealth of built-in alerts and reports, and easily customize them as needed.
  • Supported: SAM is an agentless monitoring software. Optional agent installation extends monitoring to the cloud.

SolarWinds Server & Application Monitor Screenshots

Multi-vendor application performance monitoringMulti-vendor server monitoringApplication dependency mapping with AppStack™ dashboardMicrosoft Exchange performance monitoring with AppInsight™ templateMicrosoft IIS performance monitoring with AppInsight™ templateServer hardware health monitoringBuilt-in virtualization monitoring for VMware and Hyper-V environmentsEasily extend monitoring to any custom or home-grown application

SolarWinds Server & Application Monitor Videos

An introduction to and a brief overview of SolarWinds Server & Application Monitor

Watch SolarWinds Server & Application Monitor Training Videos

SolarWinds Server & Application Monitor Downloadables

SolarWinds Server & Application Monitor Integrations

  • Microsoft System Center
  • SolarWinds Network Performance Monitor (NPM)
  • SolarWinds Virtualization Manager (VMAN)
  • SolarWinds Storage Resource Monitor (SRM)
  • SolarWinds Web Performance Monitor (WPM)
  • SolarWinds Web Help Desk (WHD)

SolarWinds Server & Application Monitor Competitors

SolarWinds Server & Application Monitor Technical Details

Deployment TypesOn-premise
Operating SystemsWindows
Mobile ApplicationNo
Supported LanguagesEnglish

Comparisons

View all alternatives

Frequently Asked Questions

What is SolarWinds Server & Application Monitor?

SolarWinds Server & Application Monitor (SAM) delivers application and server monitoring capabilities. SAM allows for self-service for easy setup, 1200+ monitoring templates, and customization options, as well as integrate with other SolarWinds products.

What is SolarWinds Server & Application Monitor's best feature?

Reviewers rate Server availability and performance monitoring highest, with a score of 9.5.

Who uses SolarWinds Server & Application Monitor?

The most common users of SolarWinds Server & Application Monitor are from Enterprises (1,001+ employees) and the Information Technology & Services industry.

Reviews

(1-25 of 279)
Companies can't remove reviews or game the system. Here's why
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
SolarWinds Server & Application Monitor (SAM) is part of my company's monitoring toolset which enhances the overall value proposition of our SolarWinds Orion investment. Being a global company, we currently utilize four Orion instances across multiple data centers and public cloud providers. SAM is currently monitoring on-prem and public cloud Windows and Linux-based applications in addition to providing latency metrics for RDS endpoints in AWS. SAM provides historic metrics in addition to being part of an overall toolset to troubleshoot issues in real-time.
  • Realtime monitoring of common OS and application metrics.
  • Visibility of past performance issues for server application events/issues.
  • Fast, out-of-the-box setup.
  • Provides basic monitoring/visibility. Visibility into detailed/fine-grained issues best suited for more specialized/expensive solutions.
  • Licensing per monitored application rapidly uses up purchased license count.
  • More out-of-the-box templates or easier setup of monitoring less-common applications would make the solution more appealing given the target audience of the product.
A company that has already invested in the SolarWinds ecosystem can drive additional value by adding Server & Application Monitor. Installing and configuring the additional functionality of SAM can prove to be a very worthwhile investment in most situations. Templates for canned software make the setup quick and efficient. Companies that leverage multi-tiered/in-house applications or require precise details of performance across an entire stack will want to look at solutions from other vendors.
One of the key value propositions of utilizing SolarWinds is the ability to provide a single pane of glass for monitoring systems regardless of type or location. As environments migrate from on-prem to being hybrid or cloud (or back again), a consistent view of the entire estate is vital to maintain operational efficiencies. The ability to add on or increase licensing to an existing ecosystem provides future-proofing as environments scale-out.
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Little information about health and availability of applications. We need to better monitor our applications and handle applications in API format.
  • Handling API requests.
  • Monitoring SQL thresholds.
  • Monitoring DHCP pools.
  • Cover non-windows based applications.
  • API Poller doesn't provide friendly messages when getting issues to retrieve info.
  • Unable to edit Authorization Poller settings.
A good tool to use as rest API and to create different reports and alerts based on API information.
We can establish a standard for monitoring for all environments and then make them easy to learn for the team.
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
The tool is used to monitor the entire technology infrastructure allied with other vendors. Here it is useful to identify outages, failures, and performance degradation, the scope of action involves the communication, servers, services, and business layers. Through this monitoring, alarms, reports, integration with ITIL-based tools, and other items such as e-mail, SMS, and messaging applications are generated.
  • Monitors windows and linux servers.
  • NETFLOW based data traffic.
  • Scripting and automating actions.
  • Integration with other tools.
  • Robust and well-distributed architecture.
  • Constant updates and specialized support center.
  • Training and educational content.
  • Capacity reports.
  • Modern interface.
  • Possibility to use other OS and DB as platform software, in addition to Windows and SQL Server.
It can be used in medium and large companies, the capacity resources must be measured well to be able to guarantee that the monitoring health is satisfactory and well distributed, there are architectural scenarios with high availability and the monitoring schedule does not require many resources. There are several ready-made templates and a large amount of teaching material.
It is extremely important, but one must think carefully about the cost of maintaining a tool that has quality in several aspects, but sometimes one is not always possible, in today's world it is important to keep up to date and test other tools to match the scenario. ideal of each company.
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
I work at a University and we use SolarWinds Server Application Monitor to monitor about 250 servers. We monitor in-house servers (inclusive of physical, VMware and Hyper-V) and cloud-based Azure deployments.
  • Alerts- SolarWinds Server Application Monitor can send alerts based on high disk and CPU usage as well as Server up/down among other criteria
  • Monitor Azure Severs
  • Monitor Hyper-V
  • Monitor VMware
  • Monitor SQL instances
  • Alerts can be easier to create. I understand the need for complex alerting and appreciate that but there should also be a simple way to create basic alerts
SolarWinds Server & Application Monitor is a great product for server and application monitoring. We would have bought the product just to monitor in-house servers and applications, but the bonus of being able to handle Azure cloud was a welcome bonus for us.
Having a single simplified approach is very important. The time it saves identifying issues before they become a major problem cannot be measured. It is a blessing to any system admin no matter the number of servers and applications
January 27, 2022

True Insight

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
I use SolarWinds Server Application Monitor to monitor my infrastructure as well as applications within that environment. It provides a thorough insight into the health and availability of my infrastructure through an easy-to-read and customizable dashboard. Without SolarWinds Server Application Monitor, it would feel like I'm trying to navigate through a wildfire without visibility. Receiving alerts to issues as they are happening is a lifesaver. We have critical processes that would otherwise go unmonitored without SolarWinds Server Application Monitor. We use it for our entire virtual environment.
  • Discovers servers in our environment
  • Monitors both servers and applications in our environment
  • Monitors hardware health
  • Allow more granular control of application templates
  • Provide suggestions based on trends
  • provide a dark theme option
SolarWinds Server Application Monitor is well suited for any environment where you care about health and uptime. If you are at all concerned about your infrastructure, SolarWinds Sensor Application Monitor is your best friend. I have yet to work in an environment without SolarWinds Server Application Monitor and I can't imagine being successful at a company that doesn't have it.
It is very important to have a single approach to monitoring our environment. Being able to use one tool to do it all simplifies management efforts significantly. You don't have to rely on multiple web interfaces to get the information you need. A successful IT environment almost always has a unified monitoring platform.
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Solarwinds Server & Application Monitor is a great comprehensive monitoring solution. It covers all aspects of your infrastructure via a modular approach. Server and Application Monitor module deals specifically with that: monitoring any server - physical or virtual, applications and services. It covers pretty much everything you want to monitor including hardware, performance, and system services. In addition to basic monitoring, it provides application monitoring via supplied templates for known applications such as SQL, Exchange, IIS, and Active Directory and allows to build custom monitoring templates for other applications.
  • Monitoring Windows servers
  • Monitoring applications and services
  • Alerts and reports
  • Real-time stats and status updates
  • Monitoring non-Microsoft OS
  • Database engine requires a lot of tuning and maintenance
  • Frequent updates and security vulnerabilities require immediate attention
Solarwinds Server & Application Monitor is well suited for monitoring any server - physical or virtual, applications and services. It excels in monitoring Microsoft OS and some of the major applications. It does a great job generating alerts, although that requires some time and effort investment. It also has an impressive library of canned reports that can be run manually or be scheduled. It does require additional effort and set up to monitor non-Microsoft servers, storage, and other devices
It is extremely important to have a single approach to monitoring your heterogeneous environment, including environments that span on-premises and cloud. Solarwinds SAM does a great job at that, presenting a single pane of glass solution for monitoring the entire infrastructure - on-premises and cloud. It is capable of scanning any available subnet and adding and categorizing the devices it discovers - physical, virtual, cloud, etc.
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We have around 200 servers in our network (physical and virtual) and we needed a way to monitor these for any issues. The answer to this problem was SolarWinds Server & Application Monitor which allows us to monitor applications for errors. It also provides us metrics, such as top processes which is very useful.
  • Monitor Azure Cloud Severs- We use SolarWinds SAM to monitor Active Directory and DNS on Several DCs published on Azure Cloud.
  • Monitor Hyper V and VMware - SolarWinds SAM monitors applications on both Hyper V and VMware, while also monitoring the physical host machines.
  • It also helps us monitor Warranty expiration for physical servers.
  • Server Warranty Information: We have had issues where the expiration date was wrong.
SolarWinds Server & Application Monitor is well suited for monitoring virtual machines. We have multiple VMs hosted between HyperV, VMware, and Azure. SolarWinds SAM brings the info from all these systems to one place so it simplifies the monitoring process. From this one page, we can view the top applications by CPU, response times, and memory among other things. SolarWinds Server & Application Monitor is used to track warranty expiration, but I would advise double-checking the dates when adding the devices to ensure that they are correct
It is very important to have a single approach to monitoring the cloud and on-premises. We have both cloud and on-premises, with on-premises including Physical, Virtual, Hyper V, and VMware. We have one System Engineer to manage all these machines, which total over 200, so having all this data available from one point of monitoring is essential.
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
SolarWinds Server & Application Monitor (SAM) provides our organization visibility into the performance and availability of our servers and applications. It also provides email notifications so that we are able to troubleshoot any issues as they occur. It also proactively provides threshold data so that we can optimize our servers and applications before an issue occurs. We also use SolarWinds SAM for monitoring our own Windows services.
  • Application performance
  • Application reporting
  • Application insight info
  • SolarWinds SAM configuration
We can monitor all our servers - virtual and hardware servers at one time, group them by OS, and determine instantly if the servers are operational. Templates are available for used applications, for example, Windows Active Directory and DNS services.
To have all of our monitoring for servers, network switches, wireless equipment, and applications in one place allows us to save time and spend more time designing and engineering new technology and improvements for our business. With many different servers and applications in many environments, it can take a lot of time to optimize the infrastructure.
January 20, 2022

Solarwinds SAM Review

Matthew Plourde | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Solarwinds SAM provides visibility into the performance and availability of our servers and applications. It provides email notifications so that we may be able to troubleshoot any issues as they occur and proactively provides threshold data so that we can optimize our servers and applications before an issue occurs. Excellent product!
  • Reporting
  • Thresholds
  • Visibility
  • Simplicity
  • Configuration
  • Guided resolution
Solarwinds Server and Application Monitor provides excellent visibility into our servers and applications. It allows us to optimize latency issues, storage issues, and so forth as these key items for functionality and performance begin to reach their thresholds. It helps us resolve these issues before they cause an issue in our production environment.
Having all of our monitoring for servers and applications in one place allows us to save time and spend more time designing and engineering new technology and improvements for our business. With so many different servers and applications in many environments, it can take a lot of time optimizing the infrastructure if we had to go into each application or server every time to check their individual performance statistics.
January 20, 2022

SolarWinds SAM review

Nick Darnell | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
SAM is used to monitor all of our existing production environment.
  • Hardware Monitoring
  • Alerting for down systems
  • Statistical information
  • None really, I just use what it provides.
Large companies or users who work remotely will find SAM useful for monitoring issues with servers in their production environment. It is much easier to have one application monitoring their systems then to manually monitor their systems one by one.
We currently run over 100 virtual servers ranging from Server 08 to 19 as well as Redhat. We can monitor all the servers at one time, group them by OS and determine instantly if the servers are operational.
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
SolarWinds Server and Application Monitor (SAM) is used for monitoring servers, applications, and databases in our environment. We have many [SolarWinds] SAM templates defined to monitor applications (JMX, Tomcat, AD, etc). We use [SolarWinds] SAM to monitor event logs, custom logs, and run Database Queries. The [SolarWinds] SAM templates also support running custom PowerShell, Perl, and Python scripts to monitor your environment. Additional Templates are available to monitor Database, SQL Server, Oracle, MYSQL, [and] Storage Monitoring. There are over hundreds of [SolarWinds] SAM Templates available to address your monitoring needs.
  • Custom Script (Windows, Powershell, Python, Perl, [etc.])
  • Performance Stacks (Dashboards) based on data collected from [SolarWinds] SAM Templates
  • Application dependency Mapping for some [SolarWinds] SAM Templates
  • Additional Templates for monitoring applications (JBoss, JMX, etc.)
  • Dependency Mapping for these applications
  • More Application Performance Management features
SolarWinds SAM is suited to configure custom monitoring. This includes monitoring log files, error messages in logs, running database queries, and executing custom scripts. This data can be displayed in [an] intuitive dashboard for the NOC team. The [SolarWinds] SAM templates can also be used to manage application availability and uptime for all critical applications. Alerts can be defined for monitoring the [SolarWinds] SAM templates.
[SolarWinds] SAM provides our Application and Infrastructure team with insights to visualize, analyze, and respond to issues reported in our environment. The [SolarWinds] SAM data can be displayed in [performance] stacks (dashboards) to accelerate problem identification with cross-stack data correlation. [It] correlates multiple data sources [into] a single view which assists in troubleshooting issues.

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
[My organization] installed SolarWinds Server and Application Monitor for complete Infrastructure on both physical, virtual, and cloud environments [for] monitoring of system resources utilization [on] over 50+ devices. [It] worked great with Windows and Linux servers and an additional advantage on monitoring some custom-made services with ease. Alerting services helped to a [greater extent] to act in [a] timely fashion. A great and fantastic product to use and recommend to anyone without [needing a] second opinion.
  • [Provides] detailed monitoring [on] Windows server
  • Virtual Infrastructure monitoring capabilities
  • Linux environment and custom services monitoring
  • Alerting services
  • Grouping applications
  • Assigning services to individual systems for monitoring
  • MAPs creation
A great product for monitoring systems on [a] Windows platform of any version, easy to use and configure. [The] user-friendly discovery services [for] Linux monitoring is made really easy. Custom applications and custom devices monitoring is good but needs to improve a bit in configuration of applications grouping and assigning services to the systems. MAPs need to be enhanced for creation and built-in icons.
Monitoring the complete IT infrastructure or environment is one of the most required tasks in [the] IT sector. Monitoring of on-premises, cloud, or multi-cloud environments is [a] must to manage and reduce, or minimize, the impact on an organization's activities and have [a] smooth [operation]. Also, the compliance regulatory makes it mandatory for an organization to monitor the environment and also protect the critical systems from any kind of risks or attacks. Monitoring is also a great tool to improvise productivity by alerting any critical conditions on [the] systems or services.
The SolarWinds support team is very well educated [on] their product and is very helpful and [patient]. We used the product, SolarWinds [Server and Application Monitor], and twice we encountered serious problems where the support team was very cooperative to help and resolve our issue in [a] timely fashion. Also, the extended support after hours [are] amazing.
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use it to monitor our employee and student information services. Specifically, it lets us see what servers are running hotter than normal so we can adjust our resources.
  • Monitor server applications.
  • Monitor services and logs.
  • Alerts from servers.
  • Adding more features
  • Allow for virtual versus physical specifications
We use it to explore our server applications and web interfaces. Using the network connections we are able to see where we could improve our network traffic to and from various servers.
We have a multi-approach, but having SolarWinds as a single pane of glass view into the entire environment.
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
It's a very powerful product, we are using for Servers and Applications monitoring for HQ and DR sites. We found it very powerful for Microsoft Services like DHCP scope issues, Exchange, AD, IIS, SQL, etc.
  • Monitoring Servers Uptime.
  • Monitoring Application and Services.
  • CPU and RAM utilisation alert.
  • Microsoft Services.
  • Virtualisation.
  • Database.
  • I found SAM already updating and improving day by day.
It helped us to find the root cause for SQL services, DHCP scope issues, IIS web issues, high utilisation alert, unreachability issues many more.
It’s mandatory to have one single approach to monitor the complete environment. You will find SolarWinds is the best one.
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Reseller
Review Source
[SolarWinds Server & Application Monitor (SAM)] is a good friend for administrators of the Orion. The extensive WAN activity monitoring needs of my customer are met for and exceeded by SAM. It is especially useful when you have a large infra with complicated, very distributed infra operations. It is used to monitor critical network applications like DHCP, AD, DNS, etc [...]
  • WAN activity monitoring
  • Critical network applications monitoring
  • Seamless integration with the Orion platform
  • Software App monitoring would be good.
  • Scaled down versions would be good.
  • Budget friendly for SME use version would be good.
The auto discover feature is a good starting point to discover all the servers and applications in the network. This is then followed by an overview of the dependencies which will show the gaps and spots of poor performance.
With the scaling up of cloud adoption and moving to a hybrid environment, the SAM is a good place that allows seamless integration and allowing an overview of IT assets in a single console.
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We utilize SAM to monitor our Windows servers and Linux servers for CPU Load and Physical Memory usage and drive capacity. We also utilize SAM to monitor the custom applications on our Linux server environment to make sure that the applications are up and that they are functioning properly.
  • Monitor CPU and Memory.
  • Monitor drive capacity.
  • Monitor hardware.
  • I would like the ability to modify custom application groups.
SAM is well suited for monitoring applications, Component response time, monitoring process and the CPU load that they are using, and monitoring the processes by the physical memory that they are using.
This is extremely important because it gives us the ability as an IT unit to monitor our environment in one location and enables us to cut out the guesswork and get things back up faster.
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
At my current company, we use SolarWinds Server & Application Monitor (SAM) to monitor both internal and externally hosted servers. This includes both virtual and physical boxes as well as both Windows Servers and LINUX flavors. We use Server & Application Monitor (SAM) in everything from Up/Down monitoring to memory, disk, CPU usages. We monitor processes and services and can create alerts based on these monitors.
  • SAM keeps historical data on usage so it is great to forecast resource needs such as RAM and CPU.
  • Alerts can be greatly customized and anyone from the local admin to the app owner can be alerted on the issue.
  • Hard to say what features are missing since it's more of the training of the user and their imagination which is most likely the bottleneck in most deployments.
We have both physical and virtual machines deployed not only in the U.S. but also in Canada and our SolarWinds Server & Application Monitor (SAM) deployment monitors it all for us.
With SolarWinds Server & Application Monitor (SAM) we can monitor our entire Infrastructure ranging from "internal" to our multi-cloud deployed resources. If you have access to it then SAM can monitor it.
January 19, 2022

SAM I AM

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use it as part of our internal IT monitoring solution. We generate proactive support tickets for systems coming close to outage thresholds and we use it to page out different teams when their application isn't responding. We support 3500+ servers and datacenter infrastructure that where a good portion is in SolarWinds.
  • The simple addition of nodes.
  • Lots of templates that help with application monitoring.
  • Community input is very helpful.
  • Some of the documentation doesn't make much sense to a new user, need to show use cases.
  • Creating graphs and custom dashboards seems overly complicated.
  • Having to use SQL queries in several scenarios for various widgets shouldn't be needed.
For IT infrastructure teams, SAM is a great fit, and even including the Linux side seems to be getting better. The application aspect is great but understanding the alerting of application issues vs node issues is a little complicated at times. If we could work on module integration so a simple build of a system that included all applications, node, and infrastructure monitoring would be great.
Very important. As our expectations are increased and we are expected to do more with less, we need a single pane of glass to view all environments.
January 19, 2022

Solarwinds Review

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Solarwinds provides us insights as to what is going on within our environment. We receive alerts on Solarwinds on Hardware failures or when drives start filling up, We will also receive alerts if the server goes down. This is helpful to us on the server team as it allows us to check in and see what happened while we were out of the office.
  • Hardware Health Overview.
  • Predicted Datastore Space Depletion.
  • Top 10 Volumes by Disk Space Used.
  • Lag when switching between pages.
The server team had a need for an application the provided comprehensive server monitoring. Solarwinds full filled that need.
As we keep scaling it is important to have a tool that can monitor the different types of servers that we introduce into the environment. We don't have to check in with Solarwinds to see if the product is compatible.
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
As the IT Operations teams, we use SW for our daily monitoring and checks. We also created dedicated consoles for our local IT teams and other teams (MES, SAP, etc...). SW has become the source for knowing at any time how each and every service/server is doing. We have a dedicated team managing it and through the agile process, we continuously adjust the thresholds, the alerts, and the reports/KPI.
  • live alerting in a timely manner
  • nice customization for various sets of users with different expectations
  • simple and fast discovery and implementation on servers
  • KPI aggregation and high level reporting (for non technical people)
Fit for purpose for server, VMware esx, and virtual servers
this is now becoming a must as we need an aggregated view of our on-premise and multi-cloud environments
Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We currently use it to monitor our AD environment along with a few other Azure resources such as IaaS and PaaS, with response time monitoring.
  • AD monitoring
  • IaaS monitoring
  • PaaS monitoring
  • User interface
  • simplified management console
SolarWinds Server and App monitor are a good solution if you need something affordable and have a hybrid infrastructure in place. Being able to hook into AWS, Azure for IaaS and PaaS is a huge plus.
It is very important to have a single approach to monitoring multi-cloud and on-premise environments. Being able to access data from all sources at a quick glance is not only efficient but very informative.
January 18, 2022

SW Review :)

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use SolarWinds to manage our servers and networks in our organization.
  • Network Monitoring
  • Alerts
When our Network goes down, it alerts us that our Network is down and which Network is down. It makes it easy to pinpoint.
It is extremely important to be able to control what sort of environment is needed.
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We do not have the system installed in our organization, but I have had the experience of working with it with some clients, which have it addressed in the entire infrastructure area which makes the monitoring and workload for the workforce much more optimized.
  • Customizable server monitoring.
  • Assignment of infrastructure units.
  • Apache server monitoring.
  • AWS cloud monitoring.
SolarWinds Server & Application Monitor is recommended for medium and large organizations where there is a wide infrastructure and it is worth investing in this type of tool to optimize the monitoring of servers in the organization.
Due to experience with clients with this application, performance and response times to incidents have been greatly improved, which keeps end users very satisfied. The issue of analytics is very favorable for managers as they optimize the delivery times of reports.
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We make use of SolarWinds Server and Application Monitor throughout the whole organization. It has solved many issues for us, from quickly monitoring our infrastructure and alerting when systems are down, when resources (eg disk space) are running low to giving us a single view into our virtualization, network, as well as server environment. It is our number one tool for monitoring of the environment and allows us to not only be proactive when it comes to potential outages, but also allows us to quickly diagnose faults and incidents and resolve the outage quickly so that staff are able to carry on working.
  • The layout and feel of the product first and foremost. You can have a product which can do everything under the sun, however if it's lacking visually or hard to navigate, it's not very useful.
  • Seamless integration of assets between the various modules of SolarWinds, makes it a breeze to monitor or report on the environment.
  • Customisation - All aspects of the software is customisable, whether its reporting or when it comes monitoring configuration, SolarWinds SAM allows you to customise it fully to your environment so you achieve the best outcomes when it comes to monitoring and alerting.
  • The get the best out of it requires a decent amount of knowledge of the product. In saying that, you could absolutely get the basics up and running using their how-to's and built in wizards, and with continual use find your way around and customise it further to your environment to best serve your organisation/objectives.
Absolutely I would recommend the product. If you want a single product to monitor and manage your whole environment, whether it's hardware, servers (physical or virtualised), networking and all from a single "portal" Solarwinds SAM is what you want to use. You could quite easily start off with SAM, and then decide you wish to monitor the networking side of things, you can obtain the NTA/MPM module, if you wish to monitor IP address usage, or IP conflicts, DHCP etc., you can install the IPAM module. It all neatly integrates into the same portal, meaning you go to one address and all the information is there at your fingertips.
In terms of monitoring challenges, our first consideration was what to monitor, what was currently being monitored and lastly was there anything missing which we were not able to monitor easily in the past? Once we worked out those challenges, we set out to optimize and expand our monitoring system based on our environment with SolarWinds. Because of the vast differences in technology, whether hardware or software, and the various methods SolarWinds was able to poll and interrogate those systems, this allowed us to implement a single tool to monitor, alert us, as well as pinpoint faults of different systems and technology all from one "Portal." Having multiple approaches or systems all monitoring different aspects of your environment means there is a chance information gets lost, individual systems to continually manage and update with no integration between any of them.
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
SolarWinds Server & Application Monitor is being used by the IT Infrastructure team to monitor servers and services that sit on an IBMi and Windows platforms. It allows us to monitor a number of critical services where we receive notifications when critical services go offline or if thresholds are met that will indicate a problem needs to be addressed. It is a critical tool we use in order to monitor, identify and prevent serious issues from occurring.
  • Identify and monitor critical services on an IBMi platform.
  • Identify and monitor critical services on a Windows Server Platform.
  • Set thresholds to provide notifications where necessary to address serious issues before it hampers the operation.
  • Provide usage reports and other data that can be useful for forming IT Strategy.
  • Support aspect of the operation could be better in terms of assisting new customers to get up and running quickly.
  • Some of the options can be simplified, broken up into simple vs. advanced properties.
  • More access to knowledge is always useful whether that is a knowledge hub or easy access to support engineers for guidance with specific requests.
-AS400 / IBMi Environments to monitor services and key metrics such as resource utilization and service status
- Windows Server environments to monitor services and key metrics and receive alerts for critical events.
- Reporting & IT Strategy Planning
- To be able to get a snapshot of your infrastructure and identify areas for improvement
To have everything you need available from a single dashboard to give you a daily snapshot of the operation is a distinct advantage to any IT Department. The key is to establish the requirements of the company or departments [and] identify the key services that need to be up and running which will then lead to an easier implementation of SolarWinds Server & Application Monitor which in itself is a complex but capable product.