TrustRadius
https://dudodiprj2sv7.cloudfront.net/product-logos/sf/fY/UWRMK8SAHSR2.PNGSolarWinds alerts free up our time from constant reporting.We currently use SolarWinds as an uptime monitor as well as software configuration. It also serves as the main source of reporting on disk space and network utilization for our organization. We use it in combination with SCCM and ServiceNow to be able to prove the growing needs of our department and the current issues that our systems teams need to address.,Uptime reporting Memory Utilization reporting CPU Utilization reporting Managing and sending alerts,Adding servers is not as intuitive as I'd like. It seems like there are multiple places to add, but only one method is correct. There's a learning curve for new users to have to get past in understanding the administrative portions. Sleeping email alerts for times during maintenance windows is not something we have gotten fully worked out.,7,Reporting to the upper level management team and to the business side of our company has become a lot easier in using the reporting between SCCM and SolarWinds. It also has made patching windows far easier to maintain as all other teams can check to see when machines are restarted and back up from the patching and do not have to use a separate tool.,Between our various tools, SolarWinds tends to be the bottom line on our discoveries that we check. We usually compare the discoveries made in SolarWinds to other tools to see if the other tools at our disposable are picking up the machines we need. SolarWinds tends to be the one that pulls in the most systems.,CPU utilization, disk space, and memory utilization were always hard to report to our teams so that the server maintenance team could clear issues away and have full information on what needed work. They now receive the alerts to ensure they have the information at their disposal and no longer have any excuse to not fix these problems before they cause more issues.,Reporting has been easier and more consistent. Alerting is allowing our teams to always have the information they need for remediations. SolarWinds has a lot of capabilities other tools do as well, but it allows us to cross-check our information from other programs as well.SolarWinds Server & Application Monitor perfect for monitoring applications and servers for issuesWe use SolarWinds Server & Application Monitor to monitor all of our servers and the applications they run. I will let us know if there is an error with any application we have running and we can set up alerts to notify us that there is an issue via email and MMS message with the details we set up in the alert.,It has some out of the box commonly used application monitors for Windows It has some out of the box commonly used application monitors for Linux You can set up custom application monitors for Windows systems You can set up custom application monitors for Linux systems,I wish there was more out of the box Linux application monitors I wish it could communicate with TR-069 for monitoring our LTE,9,We mostly have on-premises server systems. We also sell cloud environment for our customers and monitor that as well for issues. We also monitor our customers modems and phone equipment for issues and when they go down. We often know about an issue before they do and are already troubleshooting to resolve issues.,At this time we do not use the automated discovery function of Solarwinds Server & Application Manager,We have used this function to tweak our performance required systems onto our Fastest storage and been able to reclaim some unused CPU and RAM from other machines.,Recently we have put in place an alert to notify us when a user gets locked out. This in turn tells us they are locked out before they usually even know it and we can quickly unlock them for less downtime. Our chat in the company often will not start all services after updates on a server we set up a notification on that tells us that services are not running allowing us to get it up and working before users even come in for work. Our dialer also frequently will not start services after server updates. We setup a notification to alert us when this happens so that we can fix the issue before our users that use the dialer even know there is a problem preventing downtime.,,We use it to monitor all our applications for issues We use it to monitor all our servers for updates needed We monitor all our servers for certificates that are about to expire We monitor all our servers for low disk space We set up alerts for critical issues on our applications and server issues,Product Features Product Usability Prior Experience with the Product Vendor Reputation Existing Relationship with the Vendor,9,20,2,Set up alerts to notify us when users get locked out during normal business hours. This cuts down on calls. Use it to monitor our certificate expire dates so we can stay ahead and not have downtime on our websites due to certificates expiring Use it to monitor updates that need to be deployed on our critical servers. this way we can see if we need to plan maintenance for update installation,As we get more and more Linux servers we will be able to monitor processes on those systems. We could monitor for excessive password changes in the environment to see if there has been a breach.,9,SharePoint Designer, Juniper Ethernet Switches, Solarwinds Database Performance Analyzer for SQL Server, Unitrends Recovery Series Backup Appliance, Veeam Backup & Replication, WatchGuard XTM - Discontinued Product,No,I do not think I would change anything we have not had really any issues with the product as well as when we did support has gone as far as to get their engineers on the phone for a call to figure out the best way to monitor a solution we have in place.,No,10,No,We were trying to monitor our LTE wireless which does not communicate through SNMP. We set up a call with our LTE provider and SolarWinds to be able to monitor this system. They were able to provide 3 or more different ways to monitor the system when they got their engineers on the phone with us.,Updating the software was very easy and they went as far as to update all the other products at the same time now so its less time consuming Easy to set up and you can scan your systems for applications that are running on servers and SAM will auto monitor them with default out of the box selection.,Monitoring Linux systems can be difficult but that may be because i do not have much experience in linux systemsSolarWinds is an interesting system for keeping the place from burning down.We are using the server and application monitor to ensure high performance to our end users. We utilize it to track down performance issues, hardware issues and network issues before the users are able to see the issue. Our end users are very sensitive to performance slowdowns, and with our VDI infrastructure, if one user sees an issue, they all do.,In depth monitoring. You can monitor practically any portion of a virtual or physical server. Easy to read front page. Once the front page is configured, broad issues can be found early for further investigation. Constant updates. New updates are always available for whatever you are monitoring.,Price. It's a good product, but they know it. Complications. It can be intense to learn every nook and cranny of the product to get the most out of it. Speed. While we do not have it running on the fastest hardware, it can be laggy.,7,We are only using on-prem systems at this time. While the features and capability of monitoring hosting and cloud technology is appreciated, at this time, we are not using it.,We have benefited, as it's pointed out several issues with performance that we'd have either never noticed, or would have had to dig very deep to find. Discovery is less optimal, but I don't believe it's SolarWinds' fault. I believe that there is little unification between the different platforms, which makes discovery needlessly difficult.,We have benefitted, as we have an environment with several vendor types spread across multiple sites. Since each vendor has it's own monitoring solution, it's very beneficial to be able to look into the full stack to determine the issue. Without that capability, finding the problem would have been nearly impossible.,It's difficult to put into numbers, as the network admin.,vRealize OperationsSolarWinds Across the EnterpriseCurrently it is deployed to monitor our IT infrastructure. We use it to monitor the network, servers, virtual infrastructure, services, UPS, workstations and printers. This monitoring is across the entire organization though other departments are not currently using or monitoring these resources. We are attempting to define customer pain points and proactively monitor for the causes of those pain-points. In addition we use SolarWinds to help us efficiently resolve issues in a re-active situation such as site outages or unplanned service outages.,Netflow information and configuration management of network devices works really well for us. As these two comprise two of the core products of SolarWinds Orion suite it's good that it does this SAM (Application manager) Provides excellent insight into services and service states and is very customizable. Support community is excellent (THWACK) as is the available free training from the SolarWinds Customer Portal. Which is good, you're going to need it due to the depth and complexity of the software suites.,SolarWinds Orion is not just one product. It's a bunch of cobbled together products gained from acquisitions. Because of that finding a standard way to manage devices is difficult, and understanding one product is no guarantee of understanding another. The pane of glass that is Orion is very customizable. It is based on widgets but none of the widgets operate in a predictable way. There may be one that does what you want but you are going to have to find it and you will probably have to try 4 before you find one you like for what you are looking to do. A huge time-sync The network-atlas software that lets you put your Orion objects in a visual layout is terrible. Right down to what you can set as defaults for fonts or labels and all the way to stability it is terrible.,7,The single pane of glass has given us a reason to at least look at consolidating monitoring software suites. From HVAC, Oracle, Cisco, Siemens (APC) monitoring tools down to a single customizable web interface. It's also given us much better insight into the enterprise as a whole across multiple IT silos.,Not sure we've seen this work. May be a support issue, may be due to what I described earlier as issues with network-atlas and stability. Our database always needs maintenance, the maintenance always fails.,From a network standpoint this has been largely true. Netflow, configuration audits and network performance monitor are really excellent at this. SAM would also be very good at this if, from a departmental standpoint, were prepared for what this requires. Criticality, process, escalation and responsible parties all need quite a bit of organization development for this to be effective.,Quickly identifying root cause has helped us reduce downtime. Development of organization processes has had a marked improvement on our fire fighting requirements and put them closer to pro-active positions,Nagios, Cisco Prime LAN Management Solution and MAPCON ProSAMs best at Monitoring, Alerting and Troubleshooting our environments issues.SolarWinds Server & Application Monitor (SAM) is used across our entire environment - monitoring all servers and providing alerts and information to multiple departments. This addresses and confirms if issues are seen with systems and assists in the troubleshooting at various levels. We also use SAM to provide alerts to application owners and impacted parties to ensure issues are resolved in a timely manner.,Provides up/down/reboot notifications via customizable alerts to impacted parties Provides insight on exchange, sql and other environments to assist with troubleshooting Provides historical and forecasting data that can be used to assist with resource or server issues,Better seamless integration with vcenter, as in an api plugin Better linkage for virtualization within the home page Better details available for VMs,10,We are only using on-prem monitoring. The ability to provide a web page dashboard to any application owners and groups with their servers and applications listed, allows the application owners and impacted parties to proactively monitor and manage their servers. When faced with server and or application issues, being able to provide information and data that can be used to compare with other data sources and monitoring tools, to correlate a big picture, ensures that the source of the problem(s) are properly identified and assists in the correct remedies.,Yes, we use this feature as it assists in troubleshooting in problems in which other tools, such as third-party, virtualization, or operating system tools may not be able to identify. This helps to find where missing links can be, or where a "link" in the chain is unidentified or undocumented. Allowing us to see the "big picture" is unsurpassed in providing the best service for our internal customers.,Yes, we have benefitted from this capability, we use this very often to troubleshoot server/network issues. SolarWinds Server and Application Monitor allows us to either eliminate or narrow down issues as we can then work with our network team if and when applicable to continue troubleshooting or resolving issues. We are able to work with our network team (who also have the network components of SolarWinds) and work towards quick resolution of troublesome connections or application/server issues.,Always assists with alerting and works well Very good for historical information Provides a good "double check" when used with our other reporting tools Good for forecasting,
Windows
SolarWinds Server & Application Monitor
214 Ratings
Score 8.0 out of 101
<a href='https://www.trustradius.com/static/about-trustradius-scoring' target='_blank' rel='nofollow'>trScore algorithm: Learn more.</a>TRScore

SolarWinds Server & Application Monitor Reviews<a href='https://www.trustradius.com/static/about-trustradius-scoring' target='_blank' rel='nofollow'>Customer Verified: Read more.</a>

SolarWinds Server & Application Monitor
214 Ratings
<a href='https://www.trustradius.com/static/about-trustradius-scoring' target='_blank' rel='nofollow'>trScore algorithm: Learn more.</a>
Score 8.0 out of 101
Show Filters 
Hide Filters 
Filter 214 vetted SolarWinds Server & Application Monitor reviews and ratings
Clear all filters
Overall Rating
Reviewer's Company Size
Last Updated
By Topic
Industry
Department
Experience
Job Type
Role
Reviews (1-25 of 103)
  Vendors can't alter or remove reviews. Here's why.
Kay Peek profile photo
November 17, 2018

SolarWinds Server & Application Monitor Review: "SolarWinds alerts free up our time from constant reporting."

Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We currently use SolarWinds as an uptime monitor as well as software configuration. It also serves as the main source of reporting on disk space and network utilization for our organization. We use it in combination with SCCM and ServiceNow to be able to prove the growing needs of our department and the current issues that our systems teams need to address.
  • Uptime reporting
  • Memory Utilization reporting
  • CPU Utilization reporting
  • Managing and sending alerts
  • Adding servers is not as intuitive as I'd like. It seems like there are multiple places to add, but only one method is correct.
  • There's a learning curve for new users to have to get past in understanding the administrative portions.
  • Sleeping email alerts for times during maintenance windows is not something we have gotten fully worked out.
SolarWinds has served us well for reporting and making sure those outside the IT domain have the information they need and want for assessing our situation but in a domain with untrusted subdomains, it does have issues with permissions. That is more of an issue with our particular setup than the tool as multiple tools we use have those issues, but an issue nonetheless.
Read Kay Peek's full review
Ryhlen Schoeberl profile photo
November 06, 2018

Review: "SolarWinds Server & Application Monitor perfect for monitoring applications and servers for issues"

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use SolarWinds Server & Application Monitor to monitor all of our servers and the applications they run. I will let us know if there is an error with any application we have running and we can set up alerts to notify us that there is an issue via email and MMS message with the details we set up in the alert.
  • It has some out of the box commonly used application monitors for Windows
  • It has some out of the box commonly used application monitors for Linux
  • You can set up custom application monitors for Windows systems
  • You can set up custom application monitors for Linux systems
  • I wish there was more out of the box Linux application monitors
  • I wish it could communicate with TR-069 for monitoring our LTE
We use SolarWinds Server & Application Monitor to monitor our Lync servers (Edge Frontend and Proxy Server) SharePoint servers, our auto dialer systems, Exchange servers for application issues and alert us if there is a possible issue. We also monitor our certificates for expiration, as well as we get notified when a user is locked out via a custom monitor I set up. We also monitor for low disk space as well as CPU usage and ram usage to alert us if we need to increase resources on a server.
Read Ryhlen Schoeberl's full review
Brandon Koehler profile photo
October 19, 2018

SolarWinds Server & Application Monitor Review: "SolarWinds is an interesting system for keeping the place from burning down."

Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We are using the server and application monitor to ensure high performance to our end users. We utilize it to track down performance issues, hardware issues and network issues before the users are able to see the issue. Our end users are very sensitive to performance slowdowns, and with our VDI infrastructure, if one user sees an issue, they all do.
  • In depth monitoring. You can monitor practically any portion of a virtual or physical server.
  • Easy to read front page. Once the front page is configured, broad issues can be found early for further investigation.
  • Constant updates. New updates are always available for whatever you are monitoring.
  • Price. It's a good product, but they know it.
  • Complications. It can be intense to learn every nook and cranny of the product to get the most out of it.
  • Speed. While we do not have it running on the fastest hardware, it can be laggy.
It is well suited to heterogeneous environments with a mix of different server brands, types and software. If you have a single vendor solution, generally, that vendor's monitoring solution will be more appropriate. It also helps to have someone familiar with the software teach you how to use it, as it can be difficult to learn and tune on your own.
Read Brandon Koehler's full review
Nathan Tennant profile photo
October 05, 2018

SolarWinds Server & Application Monitor Review: "SolarWinds Across the Enterprise"

Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Currently it is deployed to monitor our IT infrastructure. We use it to monitor the network, servers, virtual infrastructure, services, UPS, workstations and printers. This monitoring is across the entire organization though other departments are not currently using or monitoring these resources. We are attempting to define customer pain points and proactively monitor for the causes of those pain-points. In addition we use SolarWinds to help us efficiently resolve issues in a re-active situation such as site outages or unplanned service outages.
  • Netflow information and configuration management of network devices works really well for us. As these two comprise two of the core products of SolarWinds Orion suite it's good that it does this
  • SAM (Application manager) Provides excellent insight into services and service states and is very customizable.
  • Support community is excellent (THWACK) as is the available free training from the SolarWinds Customer Portal. Which is good, you're going to need it due to the depth and complexity of the software suites.
  • SolarWinds Orion is not just one product. It's a bunch of cobbled together products gained from acquisitions. Because of that finding a standard way to manage devices is difficult, and understanding one product is no guarantee of understanding another.
  • The pane of glass that is Orion is very customizable. It is based on widgets but none of the widgets operate in a predictable way. There may be one that does what you want but you are going to have to find it and you will probably have to try 4 before you find one you like for what you are looking to do. A huge time-sync
  • The network-atlas software that lets you put your Orion objects in a visual layout is terrible. Right down to what you can set as defaults for fonts or labels and all the way to stability it is terrible.
We have found it very useful for monitoring static devices, less useful for monitoring devices that are mobile or change often. So it's been really good for infrastructure devices, less so for end-users and end-user devices.
Read Nathan Tennant's full review
Anthony Bouvier profile photo
December 09, 2018

SolarWinds Server & Application Monitor Review: "SAMs best at Monitoring, Alerting and Troubleshooting our environments issues."

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
SolarWinds Server & Application Monitor (SAM) is used across our entire environment - monitoring all servers and providing alerts and information to multiple departments. This addresses and confirms if issues are seen with systems and assists in the troubleshooting at various levels. We also use SAM to provide alerts to application owners and impacted parties to ensure issues are resolved in a timely manner.
  • Provides up/down/reboot notifications via customizable alerts to impacted parties
  • Provides insight on exchange, sql and other environments to assist with troubleshooting
  • Provides historical and forecasting data that can be used to assist with resource or server issues
  • Better seamless integration with vcenter, as in an api plugin
  • Better linkage for virtualization within the home page
  • Better details available for VMs
[Well suited] for customization for alerting; SAM is very versatile and allows very granular alerting and monitoring solutions. With the ability to provide app insight with our Exchange and SQL environments, we are able to drill down to issues and provide valuable data to resolve application problems as they are happening. We also like to use the forecasting ability to ensure that our end users are aware if there will be resource issues forthcoming.
Read Anthony Bouvier's full review
Miguel Angel Merino Vega profile photo
August 10, 2018

SolarWinds Server & Application Monitor Review: "All the eyes in your environment with SolarWinds SAM"

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use SolarWinds SAM to monitor our applications and databases, both in our development and production environments. Additionally, we recommend and implement SAM to our customers, especially those who work with third-party applications.

SAM allows us to have a centralized control of our IT assets. SAM lets us know when an application is using many resources at best, and in the worst case it lets us know when a container like Amazon EC2 or Tomcat is down.

Regarding our customers, in addition to the above, SAM allows us (and them) to determine reasonability for the performance of our applications compared to others of the client property (our outsourcing partners).
  • SAM really has the exact customization detail needed to monitor your most important assets on a single screen in real time.
  • Works very well with Azure apps and Amazon AWS. You can integrate them in less than an hour.
  • Easy and comfortable UI for less technical roles.
  • Clearly one of the best in the monitoring systems field given the experience from SolarWinds
  • Reports and dashboards can be quite simple without customization. Customizations in general can have a little slower learning curve.
  • Some clients depend on batch and shell scripts. The tool provides monitoring though the logs, but that is it. We would like to see more detail regarding the consumption of resources in these types of programs.
  • For Azure apps monitoring, other Microsoft tools like SCOM have a better performance overall.
If you have a hybrid environment with applications in multiple languages, SolarWinds SAM is the way to go. You can never go wrong with all the centralized monitoring it has.

If you rely on Microsoft applications and consider to monitor only these systems, maybe you would prefer Log Analytics or the robust SCOM.

On the other hand, if your ecosystem is small (1 or 2 application for a startup), I would recommend ad hoc tools specialized in these particular scenarios.
Read Miguel Angel Merino Vega's full review
Stephen Swan profile photo
August 03, 2018

SolarWinds Server & Application Monitor Review: "Stands alone but better with friends"

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Our IT department was looking for a monitoring tool to proactively address issues before they were encountered by the customer. Issues easily cropped up as a result of regular maintenance and would quickly be noticed by customers because checks were not done afterwards. We have been able to use SAM to check key services and applications for availability. This has also allowed us to track system uptime and keep better inventory of the monitored software and systems.
  • Powershell. We use this as a key tool to make sure software (both custom and delivered) is up and working correctly. Microsoft has standardized on this for the foreseeable future and Solarwinds does a great job using this tool set.
  • Stack monitoring. It has always been extremely difficult to find the source of a problem. Combining SAM with their other products really provides an amazing insight in correlating a perceived issue with its ultimate cause.
  • Community/Support. While SAM is a great tool, it is the people that really drive this product. Both support and customers are very responsive and excited to help out.
  • Learning Curve. SAM (and other solarwinds products) take a lot of time to learn how to make everything work well. Management can become frustrated with the perceived lack of progress. Solarwinds has recently made efforts to improve this with their Customer Success Center.
  • Reporting. The reporting tool is ok for some basic table reports but lacks a lot in comparison with reporting services.
  • Default dashboards. While custom dashboards can be awesome tools, the default ones are overwhelming in detail and underwhelming in looks. There is are also difficulties in creating great looking dashboards.
SAM is great in monitoring servers and anything running on them. Setting up alerts is straightforward and dynamic enough for any situation. Getting an initial start on monitoring basic SMTP/WMI services is very easy and provides impressive results very quickly. I could see any company finding great value in this software.
Read Stephen Swan's full review
Ashton Bellah profile photo
November 09, 2018

SolarWinds Server & Application Monitor Review: "Great product, still room for improvement."

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
I use SAM to monitor servers for 10 offices nationwide. It has allowed me to have the best monitoring platform around, in addition to the ability to automate numerous tasks I would find myself doing in past roles. For instance we use it to automate the power down cycle of servers when a Battery Backup sends a 25% remaining power alert to ensure protection of our data in the event of a power outage.
  • Monitoring individual services.
  • AppInsight for applications.
  • Automation of tasks.
  • Better integration with mapping the network. We are not a fan of Network Topology Mapper.
  • Better insights for SQL without buying another add-on.
  • Seems the focus is on adding new applications to sell instead of improving the current lineup.
It's a phenomenal solution for small- and mid-sized firms with a smaller IT group due to it's ability to deploy so quickly and easily.
Read Ashton Bellah's full review
Rychar Nelson profile photo
August 30, 2018

SolarWinds Server & Application Monitor Review: "Solarwinds Server and App Monitor Critique"

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Solarwinds Server and Application is currently being used by the IT Systems Engineering team of the IT Department. It is used to monitor the health, services and statistics of all infrastructure devices and web servers across the organization.
  • Solarwinds monitors physical and virtual equipment
  • The setup is quick and its easy to get going for small to mid-size organizations
  • Monitoring of virtual infrastructure equipment. More options than the following.
Solarwinds is well suited for our webserver environment. It detects and monitors the health of the webservers and the virtual load balancer. It monitors the services collectively across the web servers.

In Scenarios where attempting monitoring from Cloud/on-premise or on-premise/cloud deployments. This application needs further work.
Read Rychar Nelson's full review
Ben Parker profile photo
August 24, 2018

SolarWinds Server & Application Monitor Review: "SolarWinds App Monitoring Helped Us"

Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
The application is being used to allow myself and my team to leverage real time data to analyze and predict how our server farm is working.
  • Allows us to see potential issues arising from resource utilization
  • Clean interface
  • In depth data
  • UI could use updating
  • Not as user-friendly as could be
It is well suited for seeing which of our servers is under heavy stress and may fail.
Read Ben Parker's full review
Jamie Webster profile photo
August 22, 2018

SolarWinds Server & Application Monitor Review: "SolarWinds SAM is a great addition to the Windows monitoring platform"

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use SAM to monitor application and server health across the entire organization. Email alerts can easily be customized to let us know when an application service is down or not behaving up to expectations.
  • Monitor services
  • Monitor Active Directory health
  • Some of the pre-built templates could be improved upon, perhaps with a wizard-style approach for which metrics would like to be monitored within a template
A Windows environment is perfect for SAM
Read Jamie Webster's full review
Khamsay Phimmasanh-Baig profile photo
December 09, 2018

SolarWinds Server & Application Monitor Review: "Love at first SAM"

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
I use SolarWinds Server & Application Monitor at our Cranston, RI location only. I use it to monitor our exchange environment. I love the mailbox quota alerts.
  • Users By % Mailbox Quota Used is great for notifying users to archive.
  • Mailbox Database Size and Space Use is great for monitoring your DB size quickly and the alerts are a plus.
  • Critical Processes and Services is great because it shows the health status... I check it daily and have alerts set to notify me if there are any warnings.
  • I would like to add a widget for "Users By % Mailbox Quota Used" to my SolarWinds home page summary dashboard but this option is not available.
  • More widgets for alerts.
  • Cisco Jabber integration would be nice.
SolarWinds Server & Application Monitor is well suited when you need to quickly get health status of your critical applications.

SolarWinds Server & Application Monitor is less appropriate for small environments because you can get out-of-the-box alerts from Exchange. Too expensive for small environments.
Read Khamsay Phimmasanh-Baig's full review
Eric Moore profile photo
August 15, 2018

SolarWinds Server & Application Monitor Review: "Great module and addition to your SW suite of tools"

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use it to keep an eye on key services and systems for possible bottlenecks choking the environment
  • Tight integration with their network performance monitor
  • customizability of alerts
  • customizable dashboard so I can see only what matters to me and hide all the other "stuff"
  • Fantastic user resources aka Thwak
  • A tighter tie-in with O365
I think it's a key tool that should be in every IT department
Read Eric Moore's full review
Justin Harrison profile photo
August 15, 2018

SolarWinds Server & Application Monitor Review: "Great Product and easily one our best decision to Purchase SolarWinds"

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
It has helped with automated scripts running via Scheduled tasks. When they go down, so do our automated processes. Some small and some very important tasks that need to stay running. We also use it for SQL Events which the Dev team uses for keeping their applications up and running for the company.
  • It has pretty descriptive errors that it can capture. This greatly helps and improves troubleshooting.
  • It is easy to see when something is not running and the added alerts help with our support promptness.
  • Once we enabled the alerts, we were actually able to find issues that we didn't even know we had
  • Sometimes it takes some time to make sure alerting is setup right.
  • Some of the setup is not straight forward and needs a little research.
It has helped us many times for alerting us when something is down. This has even helped us fix things before the end user even notices.
Read Justin Harrison's full review
Bear Golightly profile photo
August 10, 2018

SolarWinds Server & Application Monitor Review: "Just as awesome as the price tag suggests!"

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use SolarWinds SAM in conjunction with SolarWinds NPM to monitor, visualize, and alert on various IT components via email alerts, dashboards, and even a NOC view that is displayed on a large screen. Business stakeholders are often included in the email alerts, so they are aware when issues arise that affect them/their department.
  • Super-simple to configure everything from standard HTTP checks all the way to custom Powershell scripts that return tables of values
  • Upgrading is simple- the unified installer detects and upgrades all Orion products (NPM, SAM, DPA) and upgrades them at the same time, to maintain version compatibility
  • Documentation and forums are straightforward and helpful
  • The web UI is often slow, even on beefy hardware with a beefy database server.
  • The alerts are very rigid- e.g. you can't define a group of email addresses and then include the group in alerts, you have to list every email address in every individual alert.
  • The F5 BIG-IP support is terrible- you cannot exclude specific components from the view the way you can with other parts of the software, so our balancer view shows a bunch of test/dev nodes that shouldn't even be there
  • AppInsights is poorly designed and poorly executed
  • Most permissions/settings for users are not defineable by group or policy, you have to edit individual users and edit a big sheet of permissions dropdowns on a per-user basis
SAM (along with the rest of the Orion suite) is a solid monitoring/alerting solution for most SMBs, with a few exceptions:

1. If you have a high change rate (adding or removing nodes/applications, etc), SAM might not be for you- there is an API, but it is not very good, so you will probably be doing most of your configuration using the web interface
2. If you have a large enough environment that it makes sense to have several staff [members] to manage the care and feeding of infrastructure monitoring, you might be better off using an open-source solution and rolling your own
3. If cost is a major factor, SolarWinds products might not be for you- everything SolarWinds sells is incredibly expensive.
Read Bear Golightly's full review
Jeff Allen profile photo
November 09, 2018

SolarWinds Server & Application Monitor Review: "Out of the box SAM is great! Can't wait to fully deploy and watch the magic happen"

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
To be honest we do not have this fully deployed and configured as we have not had the time. Out of the box I am using it as a monitor and alert system to notify me when things are not consistent or available.

  • Monitoring-I am able to set trends based on how I expect my equipment to run.
  • Reporting-I can pull up reporting for trends to see when things are not in alignment.
  • Alerting-I can be alerted or notified if something is out of balance or unavailable.
  • None that I can think of until we fully deploy it.
Again, not fully deployed. Where it has made a big impact is visibility of our exchange server, SQL server, and virtualization to prevent issues from rising during the production day. I will note that SAM brought to my attention a server that was using up way too many resources for its role, and after investigating, we identified the server was hacked.
Read Jeff Allen's full review
Joshua Smith profile photo
July 10, 2018

SolarWinds Server & Application Monitor Review: "SAM can reduce down time (sometimes completely)"

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Several departments at my employer use SAM for our application monitoring needs. The best thing about SAM, much like other SW tools, is it's integrated with other SW products. SAM works flawlessly with NPM for server maintenance and monitoring. We are able to quickly address software failures via alerts and reports.
  • Alerts software failures
  • Integrated with NPM
  • Integration also allows event history
  • SAM is customizable, almost too much
  • SW relies on it's customer base for direction (too heavily)
  • SAM needs a little too much customization at times
Any environment where monitoring software is a necessity, could possibly benefit from SAM. Quickly address failures and diagnose events via NPM and SAM. Even if nobody is at the helm watching for failures, SAM/NPM can email alerts so that nothing falls through the cracks. Resource monitoring via NPM can also work with SAM to assist in diagnosis.
Read Joshua Smith's full review
Long Ha profile photo
September 07, 2018

SolarWinds Server & Application Monitor Review: "Good for front end monitoring tool - but still need improvement for back end root monitoring"

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use SAM for our monitoring tool. We have applications across the company that we feel this product is a good tool for.
  • SolarWinds Server & Application Monitor does well by monitoring the key resources and applications.
  • However, I would suggest that SolarWinds to add a feature that allows you to enable/disable particular resources and not currently as a whole package.
Again, inside the resources feature, you can't individually select the resource you want to monitor and don't want to monitor. There are duplicated resources within other packages, but you can't break apart.
Read Long Ha's full review
No photo available
November 02, 2018

SolarWinds Server & Application Monitor Review: "SAM Can Be Your Friend Too"

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
SAM and I go way back. It's been used to monitor the health of MS Exchange 2013 and 2016. I've used it successfully to keep an eye on MS SQL servers and IIS applications. That's not all I've done with SAM. We use it to get daily disk space reports, trends, forecasts on usage, and to look at how system resources are affected by new application installs. Everything. It keeps us ahead of the curve.
  • Easy to configure over other solutions. Works with the built in MS SQL Express. Easy to migrate to SQL standard if needed.
  • Easy out of the box reports. Most of what you want to know is there from the get-go. Sometimes you need a different angle and the report writer is your friend.
  • Alerting isn't confusing. Other products sometimes don't make sense when they send an alert out. SolarWinds SAM can tell you exactly what is up, down, warned, and you can link the alert message right to the node with the problem. Get email. Click. There. Simple.
  • While it is generally easy to get going with SAM and the Orion platform, getting into the weeds can be difficult and overwhelming.
  • SAM opens the door to monitoring and reporting on a verity of things. I think Orion is designed to leave things out so you buy more.
  • Fine tuning thresholds can be confusing. SolarWinds defaults on somethings that don't make sense in a real environment. But not all environments are the same. They could give you more guidance.
Perfect for Windows and Microsoft environments. It can monitor Linux as well. It will definitely help ID where a problem is occurring or might occur. SAM gives visibility into the health and behavior of servers and applications where simply looking at logs and CPU isn't enough to get a full picture. SolarWinds is great at trending data.
Read this authenticated review
No photo available
September 26, 2018

SolarWinds Server & Application Monitor Review: "SAM - Like an IT Swiss Army Knife!"

Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
SAM is being used only by the IT Infrastructure team, but also a few of our Application Analysts. We use it primary to monitor and alert on our TIER 1, critical SQL Server Databases, and some IIS service. We also use it to monitor specific attributes of our Exchange server, Tomcat servers, and VMWARE environment.

It also monitors our Active Directory services and counters, as well as AD security auditing. It will notify my team if there are any changes to any user account in AD. We also use it to alert when specific services go down, or if SQL Server falls outside of certain thresholds...such as TEMPDB growing to rapidly, or if indexes become too fragmented.
  • I really like the way it auto-scans a server whenever you add it to Orion, and will setup the initial monitor for you. So, if it detects IIS, it will auto-add the basic IIS monitors already. You don't have to go through all servers and manually add these app monitors.
  • It's also very each to create custom monitors, and add them to any server already being managed. We have special retail software that requires special PORT monitoring - and the SAM tools allowed us to easily setup the monitor and alerting.
  • There are very many templates right out of the box for almost anything you can imagine. For those templates that I can't find, if always been able to find something via the user community site: Thwack.
  • It's a little overwhelming right out of the box. It can take months to get it fine tuned to your particular environment so you don't get 10,000 email alerts each day. This is specifically true with SQL Server monitoring. We have about 50 SQL Servers using SAM, and almost everyone of them are reporting CRITICAL right out of the box, even though the servers are running fine.
  • Right out of the box, the alerts do not give you any useful information. They only have hyperlinks to the dashboard. I wish that right out of the box, the email alerts would have all details.
  • I don't like the way they implement "light" versions of certain tools within SAM, and then make you pay for the Advanced tools. For example, SAM can monitor SQL Server, but it's consider a light version -- it doesn't go extremely deep. If you want deep monitoring of SQL you have to buy the extra SQL Server Monitor. It should all be bundled into the tool that we already purchased.
It's very well suited to Windows, Exchange, SQL, and IIS environments. Right out of the box, it can easily detect and setup checks for these systems, whether they're Physical or Virtual.

It's not well suited for "point in time" SQL Server monitoring. If we have an issue with our SQL Server at 2am, we're unable to roll back the clock within SAM, and get detailed info regarding the state of this SQL Server. We had to go and purchase a different tool for this (SentryOne SQL Monitor).
Read this authenticated review
No photo available
September 05, 2018

SolarWinds Server & Application Monitor Review: "My Experience with SolarWinds SAM"

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
The SolarWinds Server and Application Monitor is being used across the entire organization and it helps us monitor the hardware and application health and performance of our systems. We use this product to monitor our IT assets spread across multiple geographies.
  • The product provides granular performance information on all components of a server, this helps us quickly troubleshoot any issues.
  • The product has a light footprint and it provides a rich monitoring functionality without adversely impacting the utilization of the monitored asset.
  • The product allows us to create application-wise dashboards and map dependencies. It also allows grouping of assets and provide role-based dashboards to various teams as required.
  • Security scans keep throwing up multiple vulnerabilities on this application and the newer versions of the product do not always solve this issues. There is a definite scope for improvement here.
  • The product is easy to set up, requires minimal training, and combines well with other SolarWinds products we use.
  • The community support is an additional factor that helps us use the product better.
Read this authenticated review
No photo available
September 04, 2018

SolarWinds Server & Application Monitor Review: "Wow great product"

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Logging in to the web console gives access to a wealth of information that is available to you on your servers and the applications that run on them. There is a whole bunch of templates and alerts already available to you for both physical and virtual servers.

A multitude of information can become available from the web app by selecting from a series of tabs and dropdown menus, ideal for troubleshooting and getting to the root cause of problems. You can drill down into servers to be presented with metrics dashboards which are all customisable. SAM is a complex tool that is usable with minimal training. But the more you use and learn, the more powerful SAM becomes.

  • Customization for alerts is probably the best feature of the SAM product with virtually limitless options on what you can monitor. With customization for alerting we've even set it up to send emails to our exchange tools to automate actions we want taken when certain alerts are received.
  • App Insight for SQL. Its personally one of my favourite templates that SolarWinds do out of the box. It can make you appear to know what you're talking about with your SQL environment.
  • Customizations and includes support for DAG monitoring for Exchange environments. Important information and alerts are pre-configured. Synthetic monitoring gives you the chance to catch issues before they arise. Combined with the SolarWinds Orion suite, you can use this tool to monitor every performance aspect of your IT infrastructure.
  • We have enjoyed the ability to manage and monitor home grown applications as well as generally available ones. Being able to watch for runaway processes and over utilization of things like SQL and AV have been a benefit.
  • Sometimes it is a little harder to configure than we would like. It has been a good buy for us but it is not as 100% user-friendly as we would like.
  • If you have a server that has multiple DNS names there is no way that you can have a pointer that redirects you to the proper server name. There still needs to have more work done on the SQL AppInsight. We get a lot of false positives, but its better than nothing, so you need to adjust the metrics.
  • I find the licensing model to be less than ideal. I don't hate it, but I just don't love it. But, to be honest I have not got a better solution either.
  • Even with all the customizations, a lot false alerts are created. We have worked with SolarWinds engineers and we have not been able to create rules to limit our false positives alerting. This in return has generated about 10,000 extra emails to our admin accounts. While the tool gives us what we need, it also produces way too much noise. This has caused our team to create a lot of email rules to filter out what is needed and auto-delete of alerts. In return, we get the alerts we need but with too many alerts. The dashboard is ok, but needs improvement.
SolarWinds can be shared with another application server and placed on a shared SQL server. This is great when considering having the upkeep with servers in one's environment. SAM has been an important tool in our strategy to be more proactive and discover/resolve minor issues before they blow up into huge issues. Abilities such as alerting on a service crashing and automatically restarting it, or specific app templates for Exchange and SQL with a large number of items to monitor give deep insight into these mission critical apps. In addition the built-in documentation does more than just tell you when something passes a threshold, it gives a reference to what the parameter means so you can determine if you need to adjust the threshold for your environment.
Read this authenticated review
No photo available
August 30, 2018

SolarWinds Server & Application Monitor Review: "Save time and headaches with SolarWinds!"

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
I use SolarWinds Server & Application Monitor in the small data center at my company to monitor all endpoints, as well as the virtual and physical server infrastructure that we use. I also use SolarWinds Server & Application Monitor to monitor all of our Cisco networking equipment, and the APC server racks in the data center. Access to SolarWinds Server & Application Monitor is mostly restricted to the Network Operations team, but the entire IT department has read-only access to several monitoring only dashboards in order to assist the NetOps team with keeping an eye on everything. The team likes SolarWinds Server & Application Monitor because the dashboards provide an easy to read overview of system status and network health.
  • SolarWinds gives a user friendly interface that requires very little training.
  • SolarWinds integrates extremely well with tons of different hardware and software
  • Solarwinds provides a very nice monitoring dashboard
  • There was a lot of prerequisites when installing
  • The install process could be a little more stable
  • The menu could use some fine tuning to be more intuitive
SolarWinds Server & Application Monitor is very useful for an infrastructure of any size. Regardless of how many devices or appliances, virtual or physical, that you may have, SolarWinds will give you a very easy to use monitoring system.
SolarWinds Server & Application Monitor may not be as useful for non-domain environment however.
Read this authenticated review
No photo available
August 21, 2018

SolarWinds Server & Application Monitor Review: "Take the hassle out of IT Infrastructure"

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use SolarWinds Server & Application Monitor on a day to day basis. Setting up the software was easy. We just create our subnets and the software scans the subnet and does the rest. We created different types of alerts for different devices. We have over 300 servers, applications, and networks we monitor. We have alerts tied to specific applications which alert different departments that handle those applications. We created a helpdesk node monitor to display on our TVs. It will show the current status of critical servers and items that are down. We manage 33 different locations that all connect to our data center. It is important to know when there is an outage for one of our locations. SolarWinds Server & Application Monitor alerts us when it happens so we can get the issue resolved. It is a great product to have!
  • Server Monitoring
  • Network Monitoring
  • Alerting
  • Cost is high
  • Node maps could be easier to sort.
Great for medium - enterprise size companies. If you have a lot of servers and networks you manage it is a must.
Read this authenticated review
No photo available
December 09, 2018

"SolarWinds Server & Application Monitor review"

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use Server & Application Monitor to monitor our Windows, Linux, and VMWare environments. It helps us keep track of services that are critical, disk space, and even SSL Certificate renewals. Multiple departments use Server & Application Monitor because it helps address the need for immediate notification of issues on mission-critical systems for our company.
  • Track service uptime.
  • Track dependencies and control alerting accordingly.
  • Easy to configure and get a basic foundation working quickly.
  • Can take a while to get all facets of the program configured.
  • Needs multiple servers to be installed as recommended.
  • Can be complicated to integrate alert notifications into other ticketing systems.
SolarWinds Server & Application Monitor is a great monitoring tool that builds on SolarWinds Network Performance Monitor's great foundation. Server & Application Monitor will give insight into your server's reliability, uptime, and SLA metrics.
Read this authenticated review

Feature Scorecard Summary

Application monitoring (101)
8.8
Database monitoring (86)
7.4
Threshold alerts (102)
8.5
Predictive capabilities (89)
6.2
Application performance management console (90)
7.3
Collaboration tools (56)
5.5
Out-of-the box templates to monitor applications (94)
6.7
Application dependency mapping and thresholding (81)
7.1
Virtualization monitoring (89)
7.6
Server availability and performance monitoring (99)
8.9
Server usage monitoring and capacity forecasting (96)
7.7
IT Asset Discovery (74)
7.7

About SolarWinds Server & Application Monitor

SolarWinds Server & Application Monitor (SAM) delivers powerful application and server monitoring capabilities for IT pros enabling them to diagnose and troubleshoot issues faster. The vendor’s value proposition is that this solution prevents slow applications and downtime from impacting end-users and business services. Users can use this tool to pinpoint the root cause of application issues across various layers of the IT stack.

The vendor says SolarWinds SAM is affordable, easy to deploy, use and customize. Users can automatically discover their systems environment and start monitoring in about an hour. No professional services or consultation needed.

SAM is built on SolarWinds Orion® platform enabling native integration with Network Performance Monitor and other IT management software from SolarWinds.

SolarWinds Server & Application Monitor Features

Has featureSingle Web interface to monitor multi-vendor applications and server infrastructure.
Has featureOut-of-the-box monitoring templates for 200+ enterprise applications.
Has featureEasily extend monitoring to virtually any custom or home-grown applications.
Has featureGain contextual visibility of relationships and dependencies between applications and physical and virtual servers.
Has featureMonitor server hardware health, perform capacity forecasting, and manage asset inventory. Remediate server issues remotely with built-in management actions.
Has featureMonitor VMware and Hyper-V environments to identify problems impacting application performance.
Has featureCentrally manage IT asset inventory and keep track of server hardware and software information.
Has featureLeverage the wealth of built-in alerts and reports, and easily customize them as needed.
Has featureSAM is an agentless monitoring software. Optional agent installation extends monitoring to the cloud.

SolarWinds Server & Application Monitor Screenshots

SolarWinds Server & Application Monitor Videos (2)

SolarWinds Server & Application Monitor Downloadables

SolarWinds Server & Application Monitor Integrations

SolarWinds Server & Application Monitor Competitors

WhatsUp Gold, Nagios, IBM Tivoli Monitoring, CA APM, Microsoft System Center, SiteScope (formerly HP SiteScope), ManageEngine Applications Manager

Pricing

Has featureFree Trial Available?Yes
Does not have featureFree or Freemium Version Available?No
Does not have featurePremium Consulting/Integration Services Available?No
Entry-level set up fee?No

SAM pricing starts at $2,995.

SolarWinds Server & Application Monitor Support Options

 Paid Version
Phone
Email
Forum/Community
FAQ/Knowledgebase
Video Tutorials / Webinar

SolarWinds Server & Application Monitor Technical Details

Deployment Types:On-premise
Operating Systems: Windows
Mobile Application:No
Supported Languages: English