SolarWinds Server & Application Monitor Reviews

<a href='https://www.trustradius.com/static/about-trustradius-scoring#question3' target='_blank' rel='nofollow noopener noreferrer'>Customer Verified: Read more.</a>
548 Ratings
<a href='https://www.trustradius.com/static/about-trustradius-scoring' target='_blank' rel='nofollow noopener noreferrer'>trScore algorithm: Learn more.</a>
Score 8.0 out of 100

Do you work for this company? Learn how we help vendors

TrustRadius TRUE BadgeTrustRadius Top Rated for 2020

Overall Rating

Reviewer's Company Size

Last Updated

By Topic

Industry

Department

Experience

Job Type

Role

Reviews (1-25 of 264)

Companies can't remove reviews or game the system. Here's why.
April 16, 2021
Bevan-Leigh Hussey | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We make use of SolarWinds Server and Application Monitor throughout the whole organization. It has solved many issues for us, from quickly monitoring our infrastructure and alerting when systems are down, when resources (eg disk space) are running low to giving us a single view into our virtualization, network, as well as server environment. It is our number one tool for monitoring of the environment and allows us to not only be proactive when it comes to potential outages, but also allows us to quickly diagnose faults and incidents and resolve the outage quickly so that staff are able to carry on working.
  • The layout and feel of the product first and foremost. You can have a product which can do everything under the sun, however if it's lacking visually or hard to navigate, it's not very useful.
  • Seamless integration of assets between the various modules of SolarWinds, makes it a breeze to monitor or report on the environment.
  • Customisation - All aspects of the software is customisable, whether its reporting or when it comes monitoring configuration, SolarWinds SAM allows you to customise it fully to your environment so you achieve the best outcomes when it comes to monitoring and alerting.
  • The get the best out of it requires a decent amount of knowledge of the product. In saying that, you could absolutely get the basics up and running using their how-to's and built in wizards, and with continual use find your way around and customise it further to your environment to best serve your organisation/objectives.
Absolutely I would recommend the product. If you want a single product to monitor and manage your whole environment, whether it's hardware, servers (physical or virtualised), networking and all from a single "portal" Solarwinds SAM is what you want to use. You could quite easily start off with SAM, and then decide you wish to monitor the networking side of things, you can obtain the NTA/MPM module, if you wish to monitor IP address usage, or IP conflicts, DHCP etc., you can install the IPAM module. It all neatly integrates into the same portal, meaning you go to one address and all the information is there at your fingertips.
In terms of monitoring challenges, our first consideration was what to monitor, what was currently being monitored and lastly was there anything missing which we were not able to monitor easily in the past? Once we worked out those challenges, we set out to optimize and expand our monitoring system based on our environment with SolarWinds.

Because of the vast differences in technology, whether hardware or software, and the various methods SolarWinds was able to poll and interrogate those systems, this allowed us to implement a single tool to monitor, alert us, as well as pinpoint faults of different systems and technology all from one "Portal."

Having multiple approaches or systems all monitoring different aspects of your environment means there is a chance information gets lost, individual systems to continually manage and update with no integration between any of them.
Read Bevan-Leigh Hussey's full review
April 09, 2021
Adam Radics | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
[SolarWinds Server & Application Monitor] is used to monitor the status of our operational technology platform used by production critical systems. It operates behind a firewall without internet connectivity and we use it to notify of issues with our VMware cluster, windows server VMs, and physical windows workstations. It also tracks the status of services at a basic level (eg IIS website up or down). It is capable of more advanced monitoring and analysis but we haven't used those features in great detail yet.
It does work well, however can be a little noisy with email alerts if you don't put some effort into tuning resource thresholds for VMs especially.
  • The dashboard is easy to use and very informative
  • Notifications are customisable
  • Setting up polling is easy without the need for agents on each system
  • Polling agents are useful for cross firewall applications and scalability
  • Alerting and setting thresholds can be difficult to ensure you aren't notified spuriously
  • Documentation on remote access permissions and tight firewall rules was a little hard to find. Some example group policies would have been helpful to allow monitoring without compromising security
  • The online update feature, where you use the system to deploy updates to other polling agents etc never worked for us, potentially because our system is quite locked down. We had to use the offline manual installer and the process wasn't as smooth as you would want
[SolarWinds Server & Application Monitor] is too much for small systems, it is best suited to medium or large deployments. It does a good job at monitoring infrastructure and the status of standard services like databases and IIS. If you want to monitor bespoke or custom applications it may be able to do so but likely in a limited way. We would like it to monitor or control system and historian statuses but are not sure if it can or would be worth the effort.
Extremely important. Single systems offer one place to go for status and also troubleshooting. We have this system monitoring machines in different firewall zones and this can have security benefits and disadvantages, it limits the amount of different systems you give access to resources, but the increases the footprint of potential harm if that system were to be compromised.
Read Adam Radics's full review
December 23, 2020
Nikhil Kumar Sharma | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use Solarwinds Server and Application Monitor for our customers Server and Application Infrastructure monitoring such as Windows, Linux, Unix, AIX server infra which are on-premises as well as on cloud. We also do monitor their applications such as enterprise application Office365, Teams, Skype For Business, SAP, Databases (SQL, MYSQL, Oracle).
  • GUI
  • Monitoring Method Flexibility
  • Great Out of the Box monitoring templates
  • Ability to write own script
  • All infra in one view
  • Cloud Services monitoring out of the box
  • Transactions monitoring
  • application dependencies can be improved further
  • reduce dependency on agent
SolarWinds Server and Application Monitor can be used for any sort of servers or application monitoring such as Windows, Linux, Unix, AIX etc it also do not have any dependency on on-premises, google cloud, AWS or azure. All SAM does is to use the appropriate monitoring method having all pre-requisites in place already.
Solarwinds Server and Application Monitor has really made our jobs easy by having a single product to monitor On-Premises, Hosted and cloud infrastructure monitoring in one place. In the background it might do so many different things like polling API, do SNMP, do WMI, ping agent etc. but in front end it all looks same. Hence solves the problem of multi diverse infra monitoring via single tool
Read Nikhil Kumar Sharma's full review
December 11, 2020
Drew Hood | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
SolarWinds Server & Application Monitor is currently being used to monitor services, process, URLs, and various other things on Windows and Unix servers. It is also used to monitor network devices through traps and certain script monitors. It is a cheaper way to monitor these items throughout the system. It allows for easy and quick access, and even incite to the environment. It offers a wide range of usage just by being able to configure and run scripts as monitors. One of the key features that allowed Regions to choose to use it, is the option to not have to install an agent on a server. You can use WMI or SNMP to app monitoring.
  • Application Monitoring
  • Easy of Use
  • Versatile
  • Could use more in-depth functions with APIs
  • There are more options for Windows than Linux/Unix
I would 100% recommend SolarWinds Server & Application Monitor to a colleague. It's a cheaper, [more] versatile, easy to use product. It has a fantastic user support base. (Thwack.com) SolarWinds offers live online training sessions for free if you have purchased the product, where you can ask questions and learn how to use or even get pointers on best practices.
We use on-premises for SolarWinds Server & Application Monitor. It was a key point that we needed. We are moving slowly to more cloud infrastructure, however most of the monitoring products need to be on-premises with a bank. We know that Solarwinds offers all of the various options and we will use them if and when needed.
Solarwinds now offers Enterprise support which we invested in to get quick and fast support. It is a little costly, but worth it to be able to have someone respond to questions quickly and dive into issues you might be having. Standard support is good but not great. You will sometimes have to wait once you put in a ticket, but they are generally pretty good at getting your issue resolved.
Read Drew Hood's full review
December 09, 2020
Devbrath Pant | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
It is being used to monitor servers and application metrics all over the many Infosys clients' IT environments. I use it to gather metrics of servers CPU, Memory, Disk, and much more and alert on them. Also, it is very useful to monitor application processes and performance counters and set up an alert for them.
  • Server metrics monitoring
  • Application metrics monitoring
  • No transaction monitoring
SolarWinds Server & Application Monitor is well suited for the environment where we need to monitor infrastructure architecture and applications purchased from other vendors. It is not suitable to monitor the applications made by the organization itself as it doesn't give full stack trace and is unable to monitor business transactions.
We are monitoring CPU, Disk, and Memory at the server level and we are monitoring applications like reporting applications, security applications, compliance applications, etc. It has helped us a lot. We have different kinds of scheduled reports, including for availability, disk usage, etc. to keep us posted. We have remediation action alerts like starting up IIS pools automatically when they go down and much more.
Read Devbrath Pant's full review
November 21, 2020
Cody Plassmeyer | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
SolarWinds Server & Application Monitor is mainly used by our IT department, but our IT department uses it in a way to support other departments throughout our organization.
  • SolarWinds Server & Application Monitor helps monitor the status or some of our most important applications. It has the capability of letting us know when an application goes down which helps us fix the issue faster.
  • SolarWinds Server & Application Monitor helps monitor the resources on servers. By knowing the key components of the server such as CPU, RAM, and storage, we can forecast whether we need to increase or decrease resources on any server.
  • SolarWinds Server & Application Monitor helps us by sending real time alerts when issues occur related to servers that we are monitoring.
  • SolarWinds Server & Application Monitor has been extremely helpful for our organization. I can't think of anything to improve on.
Any server administrator needs a tool such as SolarWinds Server & Application Monitor in their environment. Having the ability to receive real time alerts when an application or server goes [down] only helps in the troubleshooting process and the down time. No one wants to see a server or application go down but it is inevitable that it will happen. Having the ability to get it back up and running in a timely manner is most important.
As mentioned in previous questions similar to this, having the ability to get a server or application back up and running is important. Having the ability to know if a server is going to run low on resources is also important. We have had both scenarios happen in our environment and SolarWinds has been the key component in helping us.
Any time we have had to get SolarWinds support involved, [they] have met our expectation[s] on solving the problem in a timely manner.
Read Cody Plassmeyer's full review
December 28, 2020
Kiran Yakkala | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
SolarWinds Server & Application Monitor module is used across our entire infrastructure. It gives visibility into a lot of data and issues across the organization.
  • SolarWinds Server & Application Monitor was able to give info on certs that are going to expire, which helped us renew before they caused an outage.
  • SolarWinds Server & Application Monitor module gave us insights into resource utilization for multiple servers due to which the debugging and fixing of issues was very easy.
  • Alerting is broken for us. When we asked about it, we were told it is a bug and to upgrade our SolarWinds. It is a very huge upgrade. We didn't even get a workaround.
  • Support is sometimes very slow.
I haven't seen any other tool capable of monitoring certificate expiry like SolarWinds Server & Application Monitor. It is suited for infrastructure monitoring but it is absolutely useless to monitor application performance.
The single tool for all the monitoring is good. But SolarWinds Server & Application Monitor is good mainly from an infrastructure perspective. This will become a very old-gen tool when the new AI tools come to market that can do a lot more.
Read Kiran Yakkala's full review
April 10, 2021
Chetan Gavade | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
SolarWinds Server & Application Monitor is widely used in my organization to track all the network related issues and performances. It helps my organization to get the issues resolved in very fast and convenient ways. It just minimizes the use of various vendor applications to one application. Also, the vendor support is up to the mark.
  • Monitor your network very deeply
  • Fast resolutions to the issues
  • Safe and fast system performance
  • Should be more Interactive to lots of applications
  • Data collection should be more easy
  • If application crashes whole network is at risk
SolarWinds Server & Application Monitor can work in various network-related issues. So you can get the most reliable networks. Data collection can give you the exact functioning of the applications so you can think about the next steps to carry out. The application dashboard [provides] a nice interface that is more informative.
It's very much important to have a single approach to monitoring the heterogeneous environments of network. You can easily bifurcate the server issues and profits with a couple of clicks. Different supportive deployment architectures can be used and monitored by a single approach. Client-server module can get much more informative by this approach.
Read Chetan Gavade's full review
December 13, 2020
Mike Narumiya | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
SolarWinds brings our uptime up by allowing fewer people to monitor applications and servers in a single application with a great notification system. Previously, I had been using a variety of programs that this new one suite can do. It is easy to use. In addition, the option to prioritize notifications allows for better and more accurate resource allocations.
  • Ease of use, simple and easy to set-up and issue.
  • Priced right for our organization.
  • Having so many modules, can take some doing to understand what you need or want.
  • Additional mobile app/device monitoring.
If you have a wide variety of systems, and perhaps some rarely used or interacted systems, this is a great tool for monitoring servers and applications. In addition, if your staff is small, can greatly empower those that you have to keep an eye on more. Easy to use and train to newer staff. Notifications are easy to set-up and modify.
SolarWinds allowed for a few members of staff to track a number of systems in various locations, as well as remind us of systems that are out there that are rarely used. Easy to implement and get going and grow into additional features and complexity. Very handy, and great to have consolidated views of systems, issues, performance, etc. The implementation is really easy which is great as to not add a great deal of additional burden to a team.
Read Mike Narumiya's full review
December 11, 2020
Curt Sminkey | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use SAM to monitor all of our servers (across 4 different sites in North America) as well as our store registers (Over 350 stores). We report and get alerts on disk space, high CPU/Memory usage, running processes and just implemented AppInsight for Exchange (which is awesome).
  • AppInsight for Exchange gives us stats on DB sizes, mailbox sizes, errors, ETC.
  • Email alerts let people in our organization who don't normally log into Solarwinds, get notified of any possible problems
  • Historical reporting lets us see trends over time for CPU, memory, repsonse times, disk space, ETC.
  • I, personally, had a hard time figuring out how to add AppInsight for Exchange and had a tough time finding any documentation on it. When I figured it out, it was easy, but took me quite a while (and numerous attempts) to get there.
  • The new web reporting is difficult to use. In the end, I love how the reports look, but i have to spend a lot of time to get there.
  • We get a lot of alerts that we aren't sure what they really mean. A better explanation of why an alert occurred or what it means could be useful in finding the root cause.
We use it to monitor all of our servers (over 500) and over 750 Windows XP machines in our retail stores. We find that we get a lot of false-positive alerts on the more in-depth component monitors so we have shy'd away from using them - mostly because I am unsure what they actually mean.
Read Curt Sminkey's full review
December 11, 2020
Chike Igwegbe | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Solarwinds allows our company to monitor our servers 24/7. When we have emergencies, downtimes we instantly get a notification via the app and SMS. Their monitoring process has literally saved us thousands of dollars!
  • Monitor website downtimes.
  • Monitor apps downtimes.
  • Please provide integration via Cloudflare.
  • Extend trial periods for startups.
If you need to monitor your website or app 24/7 then this is a must have. I have been using it for over 5 years and I am perfectly happy.
Before we started using SolarWinds Server & Application Monitor we would experience downtimes and wouldn't even be aware until customers called and asked why we were offline, poor hosting companies left our business susceptible to downtimes. SolarWinds Server & Application Monitor allowed us make an informed decision switching to a more reliable host and still monitor 24/7. We saved our business's reputation via SolarWinds Server & Application Monitor.
Read Chike Igwegbe's full review
December 09, 2020
Mark McCully | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Solarwinds is used by Vizient's IT ops department to monitor server and network endpoints for up/down status, drive space issues, services up/down, etc.
  • Very easy to set-up.
  • Very easy to administer.
  • Not a steep learning curve to get to know the product.
  • Creating custom alerts for multiple objects can be cumbersome.
  • Adding a user account with a password to use for scanning purposes requires a lot of steps.
Solarwinds is a great, cost-effective solution for small to enterprise-sized companies to use for server and application monitoring for their physical or virtual environments. It handles network gear along with servers to cover all of your infrastructures as well. It can also monitor on-prem or off-prem resources from one console.
Our administrators love using Solarwinds because they can view our entire environment from a single pane of glass. Solarwinds ease of use is also second to none. It can scan and automatically add a new server or network nodes into Solarwinds to monitor them as well - which saves our admins from having to do manual scans or entries. It is a huge time saver for us.
Read Mark McCully's full review
December 09, 2020
Adam Gadsby | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Server and Application Monitor has been deployed to all servers within our client's organization, and it has enabled our support team and the client's staff to identify potential issues before they become critical saving time and money. The application monitor elements allow us to keep tabs on the health of key business applications such as email, SQL, and identify and resolve issues quickly.
  • Quickly identify potential issues with applications and their root causes.
  • Server resource usage can be kept on top of, with additional resources, added before its needed.
  • Its simple and intuitive to use.
  • Easy to drill down to get the detail behind the headline information.
  • Could have more application insights.
SAM module is well suited to organizations with multiple servers in one or more sites, as it takes care of the mundane monitoring tasks, allowing your staff to focus on more pressing matters. Business-critical applications, such as Microsoft Exchange, Lotus Notes, and SQL databases, can all be monitored out of the box, and other applications can easily be added in and monitored using the template creation features.
Our client has been able to monitor their entire estate, regardless of it being located in a mixture of on-premises physical machines, VMWare virtual machines, and cloud-based servers in Azure. It really is a one-stop-shop for monitoring and pulls all the metrics and alerts into one single pane of glass, making the life of the support teams a lot easier.
I've not had much cause to call on support as the application is pretty intuitive to use, but when I have done both, the SolarWinds Customer Support and the superb community in its Thwack forums have been superb, friendly, and very knowledgable.
Read Adam Gadsby's full review
December 03, 2020
John Martins | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
SolarWinds SAM is being used by one of my customers in their department. I was responsible for the installation/configuration/ day to day operations of SAM. My customer is utilizing SAM to replace their previous monitoring product. SAM is used for them to be able to monitor servers and applications, to ensure their environment is healthy.
  • Ability to monitor and graph specific components of servers and applications.
  • A various amount of already built templates ready for deployment.
  • Fast and easy set up with subnet scans.
  • There is no option out of the box for SAM to show you the process that is consuming the most CPU. To be able to do this you need to ensure that the process/service is actually selected for monitoring (this is a problem as we just want to know frequently the top 5 processes consuming the highest CPU without monitoring them all).
  • We find the interface a bit slow sometimes (yet, with this being said, we are currently rebuilding to ensure everything is set up right, as we are not sure if it is an environment or application issue).
SAM is suited for monitoring components of a server/application e.g. CPU usage, memory usage, a specific service. There are a lot of components that can be monitored via SAM and SAM comes with several default templates to help the users.
Solarwinds is designed in a way where all additional SolarWinds products you purchase are integrated straight into the web console. This ensures a simple to use interface for the team, resulting in understanding the performance of our environment faster.
Normally support is fast and provide resolutions quickly, yet there has been one instance where the support case has gone on for an extremely long time.(due to the complexity of the problem)
Read John Martins's full review
November 19, 2020
Marty Mankins | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We have production-level servers that we are wanting metrics on for data processing. We want to know the loads they are under and the amount of connections that are being made to them. The sites we host for our customers need settings and configuration changes to help improve responsiveness and reduce load times. SolarWinds Server & Application Monitor dives deep into these servers and the applications they run like IIS and Apache and points out areas where speed and data accessibility can be improved with code changes, optimized settings, and updated versions of internal applications. While it's a very robust system and there is a lot to learn, SolarWinds Server & Application Monitor has the ability to optimize servers and a production environment to better improve customer-accessible sites and portals for data retrieval.
  • Identifying inefficiencies in data serving environments
  • Giving access to multiple services and the behind-the-scenes operations
  • Showing a view into backend operations on a production system
  • The environment took some effort to set up
  • Getting familiar with all of the inner workings and settings is time consuming
  • Better response time from support techs when you are needing assistance with the installation
A robust an application for monitoring multiple systems, SolarWinds Server & Application Monitor certainly is not short on capabilities for taking a multiple-server environment and digging into all of the services and applications and helping to optimize the overall environment. Any serious production environments that are slow and needing help to better serve up traffic to customers should consider SolarWinds Server & Application Monitor as a way to make improvements.
We run a lot of different systems using IIS, SQL Server, Apache, and Kubernetes servers to help provide information, mostly via hosted websites, for individual customers. These are template-based systems, often providing very similar views to multiple customers, changing options like logos, inventory, etc. SolarWinds Server & Application Monitor has so far given multiple developers, managers, and application programmers the ability to see where changes can be made to improve speed and access to these customer web sites.
The initial SolarWinds Server & Application Monitor setup for our organization was a project tasked to me. I had to spend some time getting things prepared, such as finding a place for the VM that would be running SolarWinds Server & Application Monitor and making sure we had sufficient resources available. The install of the product was very frustrating, as there were a few failed installs--mostly getting rights to the MS SQL server for the database. Even after the install, there were calls to support where I needed some hand holding to get to the next step. Once escalated emails were sent, a support tech was able to resolve all issues and we got SolarWinds Server & Application Monitor up and running. Highly recommend taking the free classes SolarWinds offers to learn more about this product. They helped a lot to improve product knowledge.
Read Marty Mankins's full review
October 23, 2020
Mandy Ferguson | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
SolarWinds helps our team to manage the network and all of the servers we support for our entire line of centers across Marriott International. Prior to SolarWinds, our server management was done manually, and was not very organized. We were unable to collect much data. After implementing SolarWinds, we were able to manage the network and servers in a more efficient way. We were also able to provide much better data for both of these areas.
  • Provides specific data on how network is performing.
  • Allows for easier management of large amounts of servers.
  • Creates a more organized way of reporting out on data.
  • Training could have been better so more employees know how to correctly use the system.
  • Better price point would allow a company to use more product features.
  • Ability to add more custom fields.
I did not use SolarWinds as much as my colleagues but when I used it, it was easy to understand. All of my colleagues really enjoyed using the tools and found it much easier than previous things we were using.
The ability to monitor the mass amount of servers from one place, rather than doing it manually greatly increased the efficiency within our organization. It also allowed more employees to be responsible for monitoring rather than having one associate having to stay on top of the monitoring of all of our servers at all times. Spreading the responsibility created a better balance across the team.
I didn't ever have to reach out to support but the team members that implemented SolarWinds didn't seem to have any issues working with SolarWinds support at any time. They were always able to get their issues resolved in a timely manner or receive more help at any time. I think training could have been better but that may have been on our team, more than it was on SolarWinds support.
Read Mandy Ferguson's full review
January 25, 2021
Joe Parlett | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 6 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
It is used to identify poor performing SQL servers and SQL processes.
  • High wait time.
  • Long running queries.
  • Poorly designed SQL tables and code
  • It is not simple to navigate.
  • The user interface takes a while to get familiar with.
For SQL monitoring it does a good job but I am an experienced SQL developer and you need that experience to understand what it finds.
Solved the SQL Server performance blame game.
  • Online training
I do not deal with support. That is another technician.
Read Joe Parlett's full review
April 14, 2021
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
SolarWinds Server & Application Monitor is being used by the IT Infrastructure team to monitor servers and services that sit on an IBMi and Windows platforms. It allows us to monitor a number of critical services where we receive notifications when critical services go offline or if thresholds are met that will indicate a problem needs to be addressed. It is a critical tool we use in order to monitor, identify and prevent serious issues from occurring.
  • Identify and monitor critical services on an IBMi platform.
  • Identify and monitor critical services on a Windows Server Platform.
  • Set thresholds to provide notifications where necessary to address serious issues before it hampers the operation.
  • Provide usage reports and other data that can be useful for forming IT Strategy.
  • Support aspect of the operation could be better in terms of assisting new customers to get up and running quickly.
  • Some of the options can be simplified, broken up into simple vs. advanced properties.
  • More access to knowledge is always useful whether that is a knowledge hub or easy access to support engineers for guidance with specific requests.
-AS400 / IBMi Environments to monitor services and key metrics such as resource utilization and service status
- Windows Server environments to monitor services and key metrics and receive alerts for critical events.
- Reporting & IT Strategy Planning
- To be able to get a snapshot of your infrastructure and identify areas for improvement
To have everything you need available from a single dashboard to give you a daily snapshot of the operation is a distinct advantage to any IT Department. The key is to establish the requirements of the company or departments [and] identify the key services that need to be up and running which will then lead to an easier implementation of SolarWinds Server & Application Monitor which in itself is a complex but capable product.
Read this authenticated review
April 10, 2021
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
SolarWinds Server & Application Monitor is used to monitor and manage the information technology infrastructure of our organization. Therefore, it is actually installed as an agent on all server layers.

The biggest business problem it helps us is that it enables us to continuously run our system with the data coming from SolarWinds Server & Application Monitor.
  • Easily view everything you want with templates.
  • Installing agents is very easy.
  • Easy to generate reports.
  • Automatically discover systems environment and after start monitoring instantly.
  • Sometimes it gets slow when I want to login.
  • Sometimes you can make it difficult to configure.
Our servers and applications must work continuously, according to the 24/7 rule. Depending on the size of our information systems infrastructure, the number of our experienced personnel in this field is not sufficient. For this reason, we take advantage of the experience SolarWinds has developed over the years, and we benefit from the workload from time to time by being informed through alerts only when there is a problem.
As information technology employees, one of the biggest problems we face is that we have to manage the environment with the best parameters that are suitable for almost all the features of all the products we use and our own structure, except for best practices. We have to be able to use these programs very well and to be able to master the software or hardware updates that come to them. The responsibility that brings to IT professionals is really huge because it is necessary to know dozens of programs very well. The best part of SolarWinds Server & Application Monitor is that it allows us to monitor from only one screen and with ready templates, we can move quickly and focus on other tasks at hand without taking much time.
Read this authenticated review
April 13, 2021
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
SolarWinds Server & Application Monitor is currently used and administered in the IT department.
It is very useful to be able to detect any type of problem, from very small to [large] problems that can cause severity in any department of the entire company.
  • Logs and Event monitor
  • Sql user experience
  • Oracle User exprience
  • TCP port monitor
  • Multiple Statistic
  • Sybase integration
  • None
I can only mention positive scenarios. SolarWinds Server & Application Monitor is used for many types of monitoring and to be able to act quickly on the problems that are detected, for example monitoring a transactional table of some product and through SolarWinds Server & Application Monitor to be validating that there are no errors or denials.
Being able to anticipate solving problems before the client reports or reflects their dissatisfaction with the service provided by the company. That is why it is important to have visibility and monitoring of the environments in order to have preventive and non-reactive alerts. SolarWinds Server & Application Monitor is ideal to achieve that
Read this authenticated review
December 16, 2020
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
[SolarWinds Server & Application Monitor] is our go to Monitoring Solution, spanned across the entire company that might have any sort of monitoring needs.
  • Volume Monitoring is absolutely Essential
  • WPM synthetics are cheap and efficient
  • Design is Clunky
  • Features are burried
  • Regular Users do not like it
  • Need to spend a lot of time in it to really understand anything going on.
[SolarWinds Server & Application Monitor] does almost everything well. How many people log into their 90 web servers to check if the Volumes are almost full every day? Pretty much zero so this is something [SolarWinds] is essential for. Also [SolarWinds Server & Application Monitor] has so many features its hard not to use it for almost everything.
It has improved up time and time to get back up when things go down, as [SolarWinds] is the first to alert on problems.
Read this authenticated review
April 06, 2021
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 6 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
The SolarWinds Server and Application Monitor is used to provide us up-to-date information on the performance of our applications hosted on virtual servers. It's most useful to give all users visibility to critical health monitoring where Linux may not necessarily be their strength. Having a single pane of glass to track health makes troubleshooting issues quick and easy!
  • Flexible
  • Easy to use interface
  • Large product monitoring scope
  • Cost somewhat high
  • Scalable licensing could be better
  • Upgrades can be painful
SolarWinds Server and Application Monitor is well suited to applications that are hosted across a bunch of machines, virtual or otherwise. It really does help by providing a single place where we can monitor everything at once. It's easy to identify when issues come up, and integrates well with the existing SolarWinds' ecosystem.
Monitoring our entire environment from a single GUI is critical based on the number of applications we have running 24/7. The best part is that the SolarWinds SAM integrates with the existing ecosystem and connects in as a new module. Definitely a requirement for systems running several critical applications simultaneously.
Read this authenticated review
December 11, 2020
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We are leveraging SolarWinds Server & Application Monitor to monitor all of our servers and networking equipment, as well as creating customized alerts that will notify the help desk team when things are less than ideal. We are using it across our entire department, but not necessarily the entire organization. The business problem it is solving is creating that single pane of glass that we can see green/yellow/red how our network/infrastructure is currently doing.
  • Alerting- You have the ability to alert on many different things and get pretty granular.
  • Dashboard-You can create customized dashboards for different people/groups that can see what they need to see.
  • Monitoring- You can also get pretty granular as far as what you want to see, and if they don't have something built-in, things can always be added.
  • Some things are kind of hard to find unless you know exactly what you're looking for and where to find it.
  • It's a lot to manage for just one or two people.
  • Some of the graphs/charts can't be customized in all the ways we want to.
It's great to monitor environments of all sizes (provided you have the licensing for all of the nodes you would like to add). I think it's a little less appropriate if you're not a huge IT shop. There are probably other, cheaper, better-suited products out there at that point.
It's been great because we've been able to consolidate our monitoring tools into one, which is always nice. It does have a lot of features and built-in canned monitoring templates, but those can also always be customized to tailor it more towards your environment.
Read this authenticated review
December 11, 2020
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use SolarWinds Server and application monitor to monitor our production servers, networking equipment, and critical applications across the entire organization. We are able to see details about specific applications, insight into response times, uptime, and server performance in near real time. We are able to see issues before our end users, and proactively communicate what we are doing to address the issues.
  • Gives me the information I need in a dashboard web interface that is easy to read and share with non-IT people.
  • It's easy to setup and add new devices to SolarWinds.
  • The application is easy to administer and easily installed on virtual servers.
  • Needs to be a little easier to set up and manage alerts.
  • Mobile viewing could be improved upon
  • make it easier to drill down into TCPIP packets from top level views
It is well suited for someone who needs application and server monitoring in a small to medium environment. Solar winds can handle multiple operating systems and applications. It's also good for monitoring networking infrastructure and conjunction with the server modules to provide a more complete picture of information technology environment performance. It gives insight into the entire traffic flow from server to application.
We only use SolarWinds to monitor server and applications on-premise. We have 95% of our servers virtualized, and our SolarWinds environment is physical. We do this to keep the monitoring outside the virtual environment and we can also dedicate more server resources to support the SolarWinds application. It allows us to get more granular results and query the server and application environment more regularly.
Read this authenticated review
December 10, 2020
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
I was working with the IT department using SolarWinds Server & Application Monitor to monitor our company's server environment and alerts. By using the tool, we are enabled to maintain at the level to be informed of the status of our servers at all times. It also enables us to monitor SQL and other apps.
  • Quick insights.
  • Continuous monitoring.
  • Alerts.
  • No auto-tuning.
  • A bit clunky.
  • Low flow visibility.
SolarWinds Server & Application Monitor is well suited for start-ups and small IT departments when the budget is limited, despite the clunky and low visibility issues that it has. The tool gives you the basic monitoring work that you need at a fairly low cost. After all, you get what you pay for.
SolarWinds Server & Application Monitor is definitely a useful tool to monitor any change and any sign of outages. It has the ability to alert and raise a flag when there is any potential risk to our system. The tool is decent but I am concerning that the new generation of AI would replace it.
Read this authenticated review

Feature Scorecard Summary

Application monitoring (255)
8.6
Database monitoring (222)
7.8
Threshold alerts (258)
8.4
Predictive capabilities (206)
7.4
Application performance management console (229)
8.1
Collaboration tools (138)
7.1
Out-of-the box templates to monitor applications (244)
7.7
Application dependency mapping and thresholding (206)
7.6
Virtualization monitoring (223)
8.4
Server availability and performance monitoring (257)
9.0
Server usage monitoring and capacity forecasting (238)
8.4
IT Asset Discovery (190)
8.1

What is SolarWinds Server & Application Monitor?

SolarWinds Server & Application Monitor (SAM) delivers application and server monitoring capabilities for IT pros enabling them to diagnose and troubleshoot issues faster. The vendor’s value proposition is that this solution prevents slow applications and downtime from impacting end-users and business services. Users can use this tool to pinpoint the root cause of application issues across various layers of the IT stack.

The vendor says SolarWinds SAM is affordable, easy to deploy, use and customize. Users can automatically discover their systems environment and start monitoring in about an hour. No professional services or consultation needed.

SAM is built on SolarWinds Orion® platform enabling native integration with Network Performance Monitor and other IT management software from SolarWinds.

SolarWinds Server & Application Monitor Features

Has featureSingle Web interface to monitor multi-vendor applications and server infrastructure.
Has featureOut-of-the-box monitoring templates for 200+ enterprise applications.
Has featureEasily extend monitoring to virtually any custom or home-grown applications.
Has featureGain contextual visibility of relationships and dependencies between applications and physical and virtual servers.
Has featureMonitor server hardware health, perform capacity forecasting, and manage asset inventory. Remediate server issues remotely with built-in management actions.
Has featureMonitor VMware and Hyper-V environments to identify problems impacting application performance.
Has featureCentrally manage IT asset inventory and keep track of server hardware and software information.
Has featureLeverage the wealth of built-in alerts and reports, and easily customize them as needed.
Has featureSAM is an agentless monitoring software. Optional agent installation extends monitoring to the cloud.

SolarWinds Server & Application Monitor Screenshots

SolarWinds Server & Application Monitor Videos (2)

SolarWinds Server & Application Monitor Downloadables

SolarWinds Server & Application Monitor Integrations

Microsoft System Center, SolarWinds Network Performance Monitor (NPM), SolarWinds Virtualization Manager (VMAN), SolarWinds Storage Resource Monitor (SRM), SolarWinds Web Performance Monitor (WPM), SolarWinds Web Help Desk (WHD)

SolarWinds Server & Application Monitor Competitors

Progress WhatsUp Gold (formerly Ipswitch WhatsUp Gold), Nagios Core, IBM Tivoli Monitoring, Microsoft System Center, DX Application Performance Management (formerly CA APM), SiteScope (formerly HP SiteScope), ManageEngine Applications Manager

SolarWinds Server & Application Monitor Pricing

  • Has featureFree Trial Available?Yes
  • Does not have featureFree or Freemium Version Available?No
  • Does not have featurePremium Consulting/Integration Services Available?No
  • Entry-level set up fee?No

SAM pricing starts at $2,995.

SolarWinds Server & Application Monitor Support Options

 Paid Version
Phone
Email
Forum/Community
FAQ/Knowledgebase
Video Tutorials / Webinar

SolarWinds Server & Application Monitor Technical Details

Deployment Types:On-premise
Operating Systems: Windows
Mobile Application:No
Supported Languages: English

Frequently Asked Questions

What is SolarWinds Server & Application Monitor?

SolarWinds Server & Application Monitor (SAM) delivers application and server monitoring capabilities. SAM allows for self-service for easy setup, 1200+ monitoring templates, and customization options, as well as integrate with other SolarWinds products.

What is SolarWinds Server & Application Monitor's best feature?

Reviewers rate Server availability and performance monitoring highest, with a score of 9.

Who uses SolarWinds Server & Application Monitor?

The most common users of SolarWinds Server & Application Monitor are Enterprises from the Information Technology & Services industry.