Turbonomic

Turbonomic

Customer Verified
Top Rated
About TrustRadius Scoring
Score 8.3 out of 100
Top Rated
Turbonomic, an IBM Company

Overview

Recent Reviews

Turbonomic

9 out of 10
March 09, 2022
By using of this we can ensure that our data might be safe or secure and unshareable to others vendors or the third party without our …
Continue reading

Review

8 out of 10
February 28, 2022
Turbonomic is useful to help us manage the computational resources in our data center and I have significantly increased our VM …
Continue reading

Head to AIOps and enjoy!

10 out of 10
February 12, 2022
Turbonomic helps with supporting application resource management and network performance data incorporating machine learning to help …
Continue reading

Reviewer Sentiment

N/A
Positive ()
N/A
Negative ()
Learn how we calculate reviewer sentiment

Awards

TrustRadius Award Top Rated 2022

Reviewer Pros & Cons

View all pros & cons

Video Reviews

Leaving a video review helps other professionals like you evaluate products. Be the first one in your network to record a review of Turbonomic, and make your voice heard!

Pricing

View all pricing
N/A
Unavailable

What is Turbonomic?

Turbonomic, an IBM Company, provides Application Resource Management (ARM) software used by customers to assure application performance and governance by dynamically resourcing applications across hybrid and multicloud environments.

Entry-level set up fee?

  • No setup fee
For the latest information on pricing, visithttps://learn.turbonomic.com/contact-us

Offerings

  • Free Trial
  • Free/Freemium Version
  • Premium Consulting / Integration Services

Would you like us to let the vendor know that you want pricing?

6 people want pricing too

Alternatives Pricing

What is ScienceLogic SL1?

ScienceLogic is a system and application monitoring and performance management platform. ScienceLogic collects and aggregates data across and IT ecosystems and contextualizes it for actionable insights with the SL1 product offering.

What is ParkMyCloud?

ParkMyCloud, a Turbonomic company, provides a platform that helps enterprises automatically identify and eliminate wasted cloud spend. More than 1,000 enterprises around the world - including Sysco, Workfront, Hitachi ID Systems, Sage Software, and National Geographic - trust ParkMyCloud to cut…

Features Scorecard

No scorecards have been submitted for this product yet..

Product Details

What is Turbonomic?

Turbonomic, an IBM Company, provides Application Resource Management (ARM) software used by customers to assure application performance and governance by dynamically resourcing applications across hybrid and multicloud environments.

Turbonomic Features

  • Supported: Software makes resourcing decisions for you
  • Supported: Specific actions you can safely automate when ready
  • Supported: Supports cloud native, cloud, hybrid and multicloud

Turbonomic Screenshots

Turbonomic Videos

Turbonomic Downloadables

Turbonomic Integrations

Turbonomic Competitors

Turbonomic Customer Size Distribution

Consumers0%
Small Businesses (1-50 employees)10%
Mid-Size Companies (51-500 employees)40%
Enterprises (more than 500 employees)50%

Turbonomic Technical Details

Deployment TypesOn-premise, SaaS
Operating SystemsWindows, Linux
Mobile ApplicationNo
Supported LanguagesEnglish

Comparisons

View all alternatives

Frequently Asked Questions

What is Turbonomic's best feature?

Reviewers rate Availability and Support Rating and Online Training highest, with a score of 10.

Who uses Turbonomic?

The most common users of Turbonomic are from Enterprises (1,001+ employees) and the Information Technology & Services industry.

Reviews

(1-25 of 117)
Companies can't remove reviews or game the system. Here's why
Silvia Kayden | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Turbonomic help to ensure my organization's applications get the resources they need to perform at their level best. Enhance a complete understanding of the application and infrastructure stack, which enables us to automate actions and prevent resource congestion across our hybrid cloud environment. I like that Turbonomic increases our IT productivity by automatically managing resources based on real-time demand which drives continuous performance and enables our application and infrastructure teams to shift their priorities which delivers a better experience for our end users.
  • Turbonomic unite Application and our infrastructure teams.
  • Makes easy application-driven decisions. By using AI-driven actions our applications get the right resources they need to perform at their level best.
  • Increase our IT productivity. By automatically managing resources based on real-time demand.
  • Turbonomic has limited reporting capabilities.
  • Some basic features are missing like pausing VM placement during maintenance Window.
I like how fast and undisrupted during the deployment of our agents on our VM farms. Which enhanced the first data within a few days. Turbonomic automates our tasks which were time-consuming because we had to perform them manually. The support team is excellent, user-friendly, and fully supportive. I am fully satisfied and happy to work with this tool.
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Monitoring of network performance is what value we get from using Turbonomic as it provides outstanding reporting and visualization to follow the process precisely. It enhances our business process by providing an amazing control mechanism that also can deliver the observation capabilities to acquire valuable insights from the Turbonomic. The increasing trend of the network in our process increases the contribution of the software hugely.
  • Visualization and dashboards
  • Simulations
  • Troubleshooting
  • Suggestions
  • Learning curve
  • Pricing policy
  • UI is terrible
  • Limits in reporting
Since we hugely established our business on the process which is highly dependent on the network, the monitoring of the network continuously is incredibly needed to take the actions on time. The dashboards and reporting opportunities the software provides turn the software into an amazing tool for our product in the market, and it gives value to our product.
Jeniffer Ethan | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Turbonomic is the most trusted, powerful all-in-one application resource management platform which delivers continuous optimization for public cloud, private cloud, and Kubernetes. My experience is great and very innovative, over the past 1 year and so we use this for applications resources to perform at the level best while satisfying our business constraints. Customer service and support have been amazing, never let us down even a single day.
  • Leverage AI to eliminate manual troubleshooting, firefighting, and other labor-intensive aspects of operations.
  • Our IT is able to confidentially modernize applications, adopt new cloud and container-based technologies and accelerate release cycles without fear of cost overruns or performance degeneration.
  • Great User-experience, and innovative support team.
  • Price was initially something that made our pockets empty over and over before realizing the benefits of using this platform. It has greatly digitized our business through leveraging AI to eliminate manual troubleshooting, firefighting, and other platforms which are cost-effective.
The AI-powered Application Resources Management platform aids in digital business transformation by ensuring business-critical applications get the resources they need to perform on any public cloud, private cloud, or virtualized environment at the lowest price possible.
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We are using Turbonomic in IT as our primary Application Resource management. We use the IBM cloud suite in our company for IaaS and so we expected the Turbonomic integration to be flawless, which was the case. We use Turbonomic to have full-stack visibility of our applications to optimize the performance of our virtual machines. We are also using the software analytics engine to view our application's exposed data.
  • It works well in reducing resource congestion in our cloud environment with smooth migrations.
  • It automatically manages cloud resources with no downtimes boosting our productivity IT-wise.
  • It's an uphill task to turn off some unneeded features eg unused monitors.
Turbonomic IBM has been great in managing the utilization of our virtual machine with the operations manager feature. It's also incredible in the optimization of cloud storage for data retrieval by improving performance. With Turbonomic we have a better understanding of our virtual machines infrastructure. I however admit that wrapping your head around it is a complex journey but with more training you become experts.
March 23, 2022

Save Costs and Time

Ashish Agrawal | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We used Turbonomic for a client job unsettling with a high number of queries to be analyzed against possible factors which are resulting in server management issues. Turbonomic helped us in narrowing down the troublesome players in the virtual could which could be possibly responsible for higher costs in deployments. We were able to save around 3000$ monthly per server for a client after fixing the issues thereon.
  • Cost Optimisation
  • Cloud Template Generation
  • Issue Investigation
  • Resource Utilisation
  • Automation
  • UI and UX
Turbonomic is best suited for diversified server cost optimization. For example, if you have different instances of t1, t2, m5. Turbonomic software will help you to narrow down the problematic areas and improve cost optimization by finding the optimal use of RAM and CPU
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Turbonomic is used as an automated tool for VMware vSphere account migration and hardware capacity planning. It also allows us to monitor performance and notify service owners when we encounter shortcomings.
  • Workload analysis and reporting
  • High level scaling of VMware
  • Automation
  • When I used it in the past I remember it lacks customization and there was no integration available with BI tools.
  • It's not so intuitive and complex to understand.
VMturbo is designed to automate the execution of these tasks to create a specific recommendation to modify or resize or change the dimensions and maintain a healthy environment for VM positioning. If you want a system that generates search and action alarms, VMTurbo Operating Manager is not a tool for you. Similarly, if you want reporting and a very granular performance metric, you can have more suitable tools for that job.
March 09, 2022

Turbonomic

Riya Vadhwani | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
By using of this we can ensure that our data might be safe or secure and unshareable to others vendors or the third party without our permission. Ease to detect and remediate application performance issues. this product increases IT productivity. this is easy to use and easy to understand the users.
  • Better reach application to improve the cutomize performance.
  • unite applications and infrastructure team.
  • increases the it productivity.
  • don't see any negtive effect of this product.
  • May be sometimes issue of Network thing because it's take high connectivity,i guess.
  • make applications driven decision.
it is a well-suited product that increases the sell or the market of the IT vendor to productivity. I am glad that I am a part of this product. it increases IT productivity.
February 28, 2022

Review

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Turbonomic is useful to help us manage the computational resources in our data center and I have significantly increased our VM deployments in recent years without ensuring optimal resource utilization. Turbonomic is very effective at identifying patterns that allow me to identify problematic players who consume a lot of resources and graphically depict the health of my virtual environment. Turbonomic gives me the ability to drill down into each virtual machine as needed and It is the best tool that offers great features like cloud management. Turbonomic can pull data from the entire set of resources that comprise my VMware environment e.g. compute, storage, and so on, and provide me with a comprehensive view of everything I have and where the bottlenecks are.
Score 3 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
VMTurbo Operations Manager is being used to monitor 10 hosts and ~150 virtual machines; along with three storage architectures used as a back-end. This software is only used at my department level, and is not deployed on a large scale in my institution. VMTurbo Operations Manager is used from time to time to troubleshoot VMware infrastructure issues.
  • Easy to navigate the interface.
  • Easy to install.
  • Constantly being updated.
  • My biggest complaint is that the sales team is very pushy to make a sale and to renew software maintenance very early.
VMTurbo Operations Manager is probably not suitable for small businesses.
Adam Paradis | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Turbonomic is used as an automation utility for VMware vSphere compute migrations as well as hardware capacity planning. It also allows us to monitor performance and report to service owners when experiencing pain-points or bottlenecks.
  • Detailed workload analysis
  • Powerful policy management
  • Future planning tools
  • Product update/upgrades
  • Policy creation/modification
My company has been using Turbonomic to manage our VMware environment for six years from workload automation to analysis and also planning for new hardware. It also provides a unique insight into workload performance monitoring such as CPU and memory usage and allows us to accurately report these statistics to end-users when they experience performance issues.
February 12, 2022

Head to AIOps and enjoy!

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Turbonomic helps with supporting application resource management and network performance data incorporating machine learning to help create a microservices architecture where AIOps is addressing the need to remove legacy applications. It's been able to allow to monitor across multiple service lines as storage and database capabilities while automating many tasks. It also supports virtual machine setup.
  • Automation.
  • Scaling VM's.
  • Data analytics.
  • Turning off some features at times may take some work, but feasible.
  • More ways for targeting resources to make it more GUI-friendly.
  • Reporting to be customized views (for some).
Turbonomic helps to bring AIOps in the mix where a lot of applications may not have that embedded with Network Monitoring as well. In addition, Turobonomic helps with fast deployment and is beneficial in supporting AWS and Azure applications especially. Less appropriate if the goal is just to specialize only in reporting. The platform has that but it is not a visualization platform.
Frank-Michael Preuss | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We are using VMTurbo Operations Manager locally at our site to manage the whole virtualized infrastructure, which is comprised of storage and servers. We are also using it for monitoring general performance, and optimizing resources to address performance problems and to optimize our financial Investments. This has given me a better insight into the really complex architecture of VM. The graphics are smart and you can configure everything to your needs. Technical support is provided from the Irish Islands which makes communication for a non-native speaker a bit challenging, but we manage. Setting policies first is a critical point where a lot of care has to be taken. The policies have to reflect business needs and requirements. Limitations or regulations which are in place have to be reflected in the monitoring process. After 60 days we received a very clear picture about our environment and were able to accept proposals (usually moving servers to underutilized areas) or work on our policies. The feedback from our administrators was great. We now have to work on even better utilization of our resources. As IT is the only unit able to manage the VM environment nobody else has access to the application. But I share images of the app to the management circle. Green bars a more understandable than bare figures.
  • General and detailed view on VM utilization. Easy to understand, due to smart and very usable icons and graphics. Layout and dashboards are easy to adjust.
  • Recommendations on better utilization proved helpful. Being a little bit anxious at first we tried some small actions and learned fast that VMTurbo Operations Manager is a smart tool which is absolutely reliable.
  • We are not experts on this tool, but you can easily start and grow into it.
  • Better and more technically detailed Information on all monitors would be appreciated.
  • Training sessions on a more frequent basis would be fine.
VMTurbo Operations Manager is useful if you have a VM environment with more than 3 host systems. It is certainly a tool for more progressive and advanced areas.
Chris Bannoura | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We are using Turbo to manage and streamline our cloud footprint. We have seen a lower cost footprint as well as assistance in organizing our environment and making it clear to all of our users how the cloud costs the company and how to make better decisions on its use.
  • Lower cost.
  • Expose risk.
  • Organize savings by category.
  • Lowers cloud spending commit.
  • Most of my recommendations have already been implemented in the new Turbo8.
  • Auto update feature.
Turbo is extremely well suited for companies that are looking to utilize the cloud in that it can help you plan and expect what your cost will be. It is also well suited for companies that already leverage the cloud in helping expose potential risk, minimize cost, and organize resources.
Fast, knowledgeable, helpful, results.
Score 4 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use it in our VMware environment.
  • Was a good product
  • [In my opinion,] Old classic version was much better
  • No further comment
  • [In my experience,] The support has gone downhill.
  • [I feel,] The new version still has so many issues.
  • The mitigation of the log4j vulnerability continues to be a pain.
The product and support [have gone] downhill over the last year.
Nathan Bartel | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Turbonomic is used in the entire organization to streamline workflow and monitor data from all sources. It monitors [the] performance of our applications, lowers [the] cost of production, and maintains compliance. It brings together all teams and managers to work under the same policies that enhance teamwork and develop mutual understanding. It controls performance and gives clear data on the progress of each department offering solutions to any challenge.
  • Data analysis
  • Performance monitoring
  • I have not experienced any new feature that can be added to this great tool.
  • All the functionality tools works effectively.
This is [a] great tool that leads to [the] great achievement of any organization by monitoring performance closely. All applications in our company are checked regularly to meet the production targets and streamline the company programs. I have [a] great [belief] in this tool for efficiency and clear work infrastructure development. It organizes resources to be used in the right places and keeps all records of each company asset.
November 15, 2021

It's Turbo Time.

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Turbonomic provides operational excellence providing insight into workload consumption driving cost-optimal decisions without starving compute resources required to meet application requirements. Actions are implemented through automated orchestration removing the need to tie up critical engineer hours that would otherwise be taxed with manually scaling up or down resources. Changes to workloads are automated after hours as a turnkey execution. Optimization actions are tracked to calculate ongoing ROI for justification. Turbonomic removes the need to have specialized skilled engineers review ingested metric data to develop cost optimization configurations in an ever changing fluid public cloud paradigm. Turbonomic provides and acts on designs based on actual utilization metrics and scales accordingly with cost in mind removing the second guessing as to which compute sku is most optimal cost prohibited choice. Turbonomic takes the guess work out of resource allocation.
  • Right sizing recommendations based on actual utilization with historic analysis.
  • Automation of recommended actions. No complex programing required.
  • Clear insight into projected usage metrics post recommended change implementation.
  • Lacks custom role based permissions. Only allows assigning permissions based on specific built in roles.
  • Business intelligence reporting could be better. No Power BI integration.
  • Grafana integration available but requires advanced experience.
Public cloud environments where cost optimization is paramount Turbonomic provides clear to understand recommends ensuring workloads have the resource required without breaking the bank. Turbonomic is not only a cost optimization tool but a performance optimization swiss army knife ensuring that workloads are not starved preventing performance impacts due to resource contention or starvation. Turbonomic provides peace of mind avoiding the concern that workloads are over-provisioned. Turbonomic drives processes based on decisions generated through its AI-driven analysis. If you want to take custom acts or recommendations then you'll need to develop complex in-house code or use a different automation tool that you feed in decisions to be implemented.
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Here at BCD Travel, we use Turbonomic to monitor and slightly manage the virtual environments, as well as troubleshooting, capacity planning, and reporting. Turbonomic is being used globally for all virtual environments. It is has helped us troubleshoot resource constraints in some environments, capacity plan for the next hardware refresh, monitor the health of the networking, storage, and compute resources for our environments, and the reporting has helped us stay efficient with our resources.
  • Monitoring
  • Troubleshooting
  • Capacity planning
  • Reporting
  • Reporting could get better. Maybe talk with customers to find what better out-of-the-box reports could be added.
  • Capacity planning is a little tough to navigate sometimes. Sometimes you have to be creative to get the answer you want.
  • Maybe more info from the networking aspect. Something around being able to dive deeper in the switches that are attached to Turbonomic.
I have mainly used Turbonomic to capacity plan for our next hardware refresh or to see how to decrease our footprint by consolidating environments. Also, I have used it to troubleshoot some resource issues we had in a couple of our environments. Also, I have used the reporting to make the environments more efficient. This included right-sizing certain VMs to not waste resources. As of right now, I don't know how well it is for switches. We have our Cisco UCS switches attached but feels the info provided is not much help in the grand scheme of things.
Rodney Barnhardt | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Virtual environments can be challenging to manage. There are only so many resources on a host, and ensuring that each virtual machine has enough to properly function without choking the physical host can be a difficult balance. While some vendors such as VMware provide their own solution, these can be costly and will only work with their products. What does a company do when they have a heterogeneous environment that may also include Hyper-V and XenServer? A heterogeneous virtual environment is one if the reason Turbonomic was installed in my environment earlier this year. This is a powerful product that we have just scratch the surface on its vast features. It monitors the entire virtual environment from the application to the storage pool and provides statistics and recommendations. The objection of Turbonomic is to reach an ideal balance of host resources and virtual machine performance. Once recommendations are made, the system can be configured to answer these adjustments in a variety of ways such as fully or partially automated, manual, or simply recommend.
  • In fully automated mode, the virtual machine may automatically have additional memory or processors added, be migrated between host or storage, or even suspended if they system is deemed as idle. If there is hesitation around allowing a product to fully control the virtual environment, then a mix of partial automation and recommendation may be the desired configuration. As an example, the configuration may allow for an automated relocation of virtual machines onto different host, but only recommend that it be migrated from one datastore to another one. This give an administrator who is intimately familiar with the environment some control over the placement of resources.
  • Using the Supply Chain tool, an individual virtual machine can be analyzed to see more details on the issue with that particular system. When that machine is selected, utilization panel can be adjust to only show the impact on memory, CPU, storage, etc. There are also details given on where in each resource falls within their utilization index, and at what level Turbonomic has determined the optimal usage should be based on the recommended changes to the environment.
  • Virtual environments have made planning for resources rather difficult over the years. Many times newly added machines may take up more resources than previously estimated, causing the need to either halt projects or unexpectedly purchase additional hardware for the host environment. VMTurbo has a planning feature to better aid in determining how many new virtual machines can be added to the environment. This is done via a “template catalog” which is used for testing the environment. While there are some pre-canned system options such as small, medium, and large, there is also the ability to build a custom template that may be a standard for your environment. Once the template is built, the planning tool will tell you how many more virtual machines can be added to the existing environment, the projection option can be enabled and the furthest date out selected. When the report is complete, the future resource requirements will be displayed. This allows for better budgetary planning within the coming year to ensure the systems will perform to the expectations of the business.
  • They have expanded the capabilities of the product to now include support for virtual machines running in cloud service providers. This provides a "single pane of glass" view into all of the virtual machines, and their performance, for an organization. Without it, there would be a need to log into various portals to look and analyze performance across the environment.
  • They have moved their model from an per CPU pricing model to a per virtual machine subscription model if you want to be able to move to the latest and greatest versions. With many organizations moving to cloud, this is understandable, one of the primary reasons for the original purchase was to move off of vCOPs per virtual machine licensing model to a straight per CPU model. This prevented the need for budgeting due to increasing numbers of virtual machines throughout the year.
  • The newest models do not always include monitoring of all types of storage arrays. We moved to a DellEMC Unity about 5 years ago, and as of our last renewal, they still did not have that as a supported array for the storage module. Therefore, we dropped the licensing for this module.
Turbonomic has their "Green Circle Community" that can be very helpful. It allows interaction between users of the product from all over the world. This includes not only Q&A on feature or functions, but also the ability to share custom reports. There are also points awarded that can be exchanged for various prizes or gifts. It is definitely set up to encourage the user community to participate.
I have always found Turbonomic's support to be very responsive to any issue I have had. If the problem has required engineering or code changes, they have been great about sending me regular emails letting me know they are still working on it and that they have not forgotten me. Once there is a code change to address my issue, they have contacted me to apply it to ensure my problem is resolved.
I have found the product to be very easy to work with and manage. Upgrades are performed through the web interface. This includes downloading the new file and applying the upgrade to the appliance. Overall, the interface and the various tabs are self explanatory. This was purchased as a replacement for vCenter Operations manager and it proven to have not only more functionality, but is easier to use and manage. The other advantage is that it works with multiple hypervisors as well as storage vendors making it a definite plus over other solutions when you have a heterogeneous environment.
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use the planning features of VMTurbo Operations Manger to make sure that our environment is sized appropriately. Using VMTurbo Operations Manager we can see current headroom in the current environment and can simulate added growth - either by copying current VM configurations, using a standard VM configuration, or creating custom configurations. VMTurbo Operations Manager will then model that environment and show me the number of hosts required to support it. The same tool is useful when planning hardware upgrades for the hosts supporting the environment.
  • There is no replacement for the planning tool offered in VMTurbo Operations Manager. I know how much growth my current environment can support and can model anticipated growth to budget future hardware purchases.
  • The ease of deploying and upgrading VMTurbo Operations Manager.
  • The sizing recommendations are helpful.
  • The storage waste report is helpful in identifying orphaned files that are using disk capacity.
  • The Wasted Storage report is helpful but requires additional work to go remove the files that are reported. It seems like this process could be simplified to make it easier to execute actions to free that space.
  • The interface can take some time to learn and understand. Some dashboards make sense right away, others take time and further research to understand.
VMTurbo Operations Manager is designed to sit in the environment and make specific recommendations on sizing or VM placement, or even automate the execution of those actions to maintain a healthy environment. If you want a system that generates alarms that you then research and take action upon, VMTurbo Operations Manger is not the tool for you. Similarly if you want very granular performance reporting and metrics, there may be other tools more suited to that task. With the sizing and recommendations in VMTurbo Operations Manager, I do not have to spend as much time reviewing reports and making guesses at how best to tune the environment; VMTurbo Operations Manager gives me those recommendations.
When I contact support I get a quick response and they are able to solve my problem quickly. I also get a sense that they want to make sure that we are getting value from the product and walk me through whatever steps are needed to accomplish my goals.
Most screens are easy to understand, but there are a few that are not obvious at first glance and require reading documentation to understand.
November 05, 2021

Why I use Turbonomic...

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use Turbonomic to help monitor the health and efficiency our virtual environment and make informed resource allocation decisions. Resource strain and availability is greatly enhanced with the use of Turbonomic. The product is used primarily by our IT team but the reporting is shared across the organization as a whole.
  • Visually shows the health of my virtual environment
  • Easy to set automation within the environment
  • Ease of use and familiarity
  • Training sessions involve a marketing feel at the beginning
  • The Supply and Demand tab is not only confusing but does not really apply to our infrastructure
  • The Supply Chain tab is also a bit confusing and just looks nice
I believe the software is well suited for any virtual environment because it helps with managing, automating, and ensuring optimal resource allocation and uptime. Areas of particular interest for me are the host, storage, and resource monitoring. I have come to rely on its reliability in telling me what is going on in my environment. I have used other software vendor products similar to this but always found them to be unreliable. If vSphere says I have a VM powered off...I expect my monitoring software to see the VM powered off... Turbonomic has been consistent and accurate thus far.
Turbonomic is responsive and receptive to what I communicate to them as my problems/concerns. They also not only fix the issue but they explain what caused the issue and how to prevent it from recurring.
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use Turbonomic on the Openshift Platform primarily, but testing it in our HCI context as well. We use Turbonomic to address 2 key problems; (1) to right-size containers which developers typically ask for XL and (2) capacity plan for the size of the Openshift cluster itself - here we are calculating resource consumption and growth.
  • Right-size container.
  • Capacity planning through proper resource utilization.
  • Feed resource consumption to finance system.
  • Better usage of consumption stats to find a consistent costing model - containers can be quite dynamic.
  • Better understanding of CPU throttling impact on the whole application stack.
We use Turbonomic to optimize our Openshift environment. We are seeing that the data captured could also be used for better predictions of how to manage the ecosystem. One of the key reasons to use containers is to pack the hardware as much as possible. Turbonomic helps us do that. We have seen the same use case apply in the VM context.
Chris Saenz | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 6 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We used it to help manage the compute resources being used in our datacenter. We have increased our VM deployments exponentially over the past few years without ensure efficient use of our resources. Turbonomic was implemented to help identify underutilization of resources to recover tied up resources and ensure that our most important applications had the resources they needed. It was used in our campus-wide datacenter that houses all VMs for our university.
  • Presentation is nice. Its easy to understand what your looking at and the data that is being presented to you.
  • Properly identify resource utilization and recommendations for action on how VMs can be improved and resources can be better utilized.
  • It was also able to tell us the same information and analysis for cloud resources. I was not expecting that.
  • Cost; the licensing was simply too expensive for us to make any use of.
Large deployments (on-site and cloud) where resource utilization is hard to account for. VM Turbo can analyze what is happening in your datacenter and recommend or actually implement its suggestions for performance and resource management. It also claims to know about network and disk resources and how to put VMs in the proper resources to gain performance in network and disk. We didn't really try this, but is nice to know it has some ability to be aware of network and disk.
If you have your datacenter resources under strict control, VMTurbo may not help all that much. Likewise, if your datacenter is fairly flat with no tiers of storage, compute, or network performance, or if there is simply more demand than can be met, than there is not much that VMTurbo can do. It can't create IO and CPU cycles out of thin air.
Ben Liebowitz | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use Turbonomic for workload automation in our internal VMware environment. We also use it for capacity management and VM rightsizing.
  • Automation
  • Reporting
  • Capacity Management
  • Rightsizing
  • In an environment with a lot of contention, Turbonomic moves VMs around more than you may like.
  • If you don't want to use it to suspend hosts, be sure to disable it... Or it'll evacuate hosts on you.
It handles the workload automation very well. It keeps my VMware Clusters well balanced and we have fewer issues than in the past. The rightsizing reports are handy, once you make the change so it doesn't try to step you down 1 cpu/gb ram at a time (dropping from 16gb to 8gb, at 1gb per change means 8 changes/reboots. We didn't want that.)
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use Turbonomic for mainly DRS purposes. It is being used to manage DRS throughout the entire organizations. Turbonomic addresses the problems that are not dealt very well by VMs built in DRS.
  • We found DRS as a main strength for Turbonomic.
  • Turbonomic has a sandbox feature which can be used to simulate the impact a particular change in the environment may cause.
  • Turbonomic also does storage VMotion.
  • Turbonomic's new release manages workloads in all three scenarios where your environment is either in the cloud, on-prem or hybrid.
  • Would like to see more detailed logs.
  • GUI is not straightforward and might be hard to understand for beginners.
  • Might be a little complicated to set up the tool to function as you would need it to without professional services help.
Turbonomic is very well suited for anyone who hosts their environment either on cloud, on-prem or is hybrid. It handles workloads very well and optimises your environment regardless to prevent any slowness. I have seen our VMs and ESXs performing better and balanced well after implementing Turbonomic.
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use VMTurbo Operations Manage to optimise our VMware estate so we can get the best performance out of it. It allows us to tune the estate to ensure all VMs are performing as well as possible.
  • Telling us when VMs are either over or under provisioned by looking at how they are actually used.
  • Telling us when hosts require upgrading.
  • Telling us when VMs need moving to hit our performance targets.
  • Setting up automation does seem tricky.
  • Dashboard refresh does not always seem to work automatically.
The dashboards are great. It allows us to see immediately the status of our whole VMware estate and how well it is operating. We can spot immediately if there are any issues and deal with them. It also emails us if it spots something critical.
They are very knowledgeable. They respond quickly. We get proactive calls. We get training on the product. We get courtesy calls to see how we are coping. I cannot rate the support from VMTurbo high enough, they are a great team
I think VMTurbo works really well in our environment. We can see instantly if there are any issues woth our estate. And we can fix most of them from within the product. For most operations it is very simple to use. For more complex tasks a call to the support team is often required, But they are great and very knowledgeable and helpful