Turbonomic Reviews

169 Ratings
<a href='https://www.trustradius.com/static/about-trustradius-scoring' target='_blank' rel='nofollow noopener noreferrer'>trScore algorithm: Learn more.</a>
Score 7.9 out of 100

Do you work for this company? Manage this listing

Overall Rating

Reviewer's Company Size

Last Updated

By Topic

Industry

Department

Experience

Job Type

Role

Reviews (1-25 of 101)

Chris Saenz | TrustRadius Reviewer
July 30, 2019

VMTurbo gives insight into you datacenter; but at a cost!

Score 6 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We used it to help manage the compute resources being used in our datacenter. We have increased our VM deployments exponentially over the past few years without ensure efficient use of our resources. Turbonomic was implemented to help identify underutilization of resources to recover tied up resources and ensure that our most important applications had the resources they needed. It was used in our campus-wide datacenter that houses all VMs for our university.
  • Presentation is nice. Its easy to understand what your looking at and the data that is being presented to you.
  • Properly identify resource utilization and recommendations for action on how VMs can be improved and resources can be better utilized.
  • It was also able to tell us the same information and analysis for cloud resources. I was not expecting that.
  • Cost; the licensing was simply too expensive for us to make any use of.
Large deployments (on-site and cloud) where resource utilization is hard to account for. VM Turbo can analyze what is happening in your datacenter and recommend or actually implement its suggestions for performance and resource management. It also claims to know about network and disk resources and how to put VMs in the proper resources to gain performance in network and disk. We didn't really try this, but is nice to know it has some ability to be aware of network and disk.
If you have your datacenter resources under strict control, VMTurbo may not help all that much. Likewise, if your datacenter is fairly flat with no tiers of storage, compute, or network performance, or if there is simply more demand than can be met, than there is not much that VMTurbo can do. It can't create IO and CPU cycles out of thin air.
Read Chris Saenz's full review
Ben Liebowitz | TrustRadius Reviewer
April 29, 2019

Turbonomic is a great autonomic platform for my environment!

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use Turbonomic for workload automation in our internal VMware environment. We also use it for capacity management and VM rightsizing.
  • Automation
  • Reporting
  • Capacity Management
  • Rightsizing
  • In an environment with a lot of contention, Turbonomic moves VMs around more than you may like.
  • If you don't want to use it to suspend hosts, be sure to disable it... Or it'll evacuate hosts on you.
It handles the workload automation very well. It keeps my VMware Clusters well balanced and we have fewer issues than in the past.
The rightsizing reports are handy, once you make the change so it doesn't try to step you down 1 cpu/gb ram at a time (dropping from 16gb to 8gb, at 1gb per change means 8 changes/reboots. We didn't want that.)
Read Ben Liebowitz's full review
Rodney Barnhardt | TrustRadius Reviewer
September 20, 2017

Turbonomic Rocks the Virtual Management World!

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Virtual environments can be challenging to manage. There are only so many resources on a host, and ensuring that each virtual machine has enough to properly function without choking the physical host can be a difficult balance. While some vendors such as VMware provide their own solution, these can be costly and will only work with their products. What does a company do when they have a heterogeneous environment that may also include Hyper-V and XenServer? A heterogeneous virtual environment is one if the reason Turbonomic was installed in my environment earlier this year. This is a powerful product that we have just scratch the surface on its vast features. It monitors the entire virtual environment from the application to the storage pool and provides statistics and recommendations. The objection of Turbonomic is to reach an ideal balance of host resources and virtual machine performance. Once recommendations are made, the system can be configured to answer these adjustments in a variety of ways such as fully or partially automated, manual, or simply recommend.
  • In fully automated mode, the virtual machine may automatically have additional memory or processors added, be migrated between host or storage, or even suspended if they system is deemed as idle. If there is hesitation around allowing a product to fully control the virtual environment, then a mix of partial automation and recommendation may be the desired configuration. As an example, the configuration may allow for an automated relocation of virtual machines onto different host, but only recommend that it be migrated from one datastore to another one. This give an administrator who is intimately familiar with the environment some control over the placement of resources.
  • Using the Supply Chain tool, an individual virtual machine can be analyzed to see more details on the issue with that particular system. When that machine is selected, utilization panel can be adjust to only show the impact on memory, CPU, storage, etc. There are also details given on where in each resource falls within their utilization index, and at what level Turbonomic has determined the optimal usage should be based on the recommended changes to the environment.
  • Virtual environments have made planning for resources rather difficult over the years. Many times newly added machines may take up more resources than previously estimated, causing the need to either halt projects or unexpectedly purchase additional hardware for the host environment. VMTurbo has a planning feature to better aid in determining how many new virtual machines can be added to the environment. This is done via a “template catalog” which is used for testing the environment. While there are some pre-canned system options such as small, medium, and large, there is also the ability to build a custom template that may be a standard for your environment. Once the template is built, the planning tool will tell you how many more virtual machines can be added to the existing environment, the projection option can be enabled and the furthest date out selected. When the report is complete, the future resource requirements will be displayed. This allows for better budgetary planning within the coming year to ensure the systems will perform to the expectations of the business.
  • During the period I have been using the product I have not seen any areas that are lacking in functionality. However, this is a licensed based product. That means that additional features require the procurement of an additional license. An additional feature I am looking to add next year is the Storage Control Module. This will provide better insight, reporting, and planning. While the base product will look at the LUN IOPS, there is the need to go deeper into the storage pools and disk arrays. This will allow better capacity planning and allow sufficient time to acquire and implement any necessary storage expansion.
Turbonomic has their "Green Circle Community" that can be very helpful. It allows interaction between users of the product from all over the world. This includes not only Q&A on feature or functions, but also the ability to share custom reports. There are also points awarded that can be exchanged for various prizes or gifts. It is definitely set up to encourage the user community to participate.
Read Rodney Barnhardt's full review
John Dopson | TrustRadius Reviewer
September 21, 2017

Turbo charge your cluster Turbonomic

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
I primarily use the core functionality to maintain our performance baselines. It is also very useful for finding and troubleshooting and performance hotspots. Having this tool now enables up to give performance guarantees to all of our Tier 1 VMs that house our critical applications.
  • It is very good at giving you patterns allowing you to recognize bad actors consuming large amouts of resources.
  • One of the best and easiest capacity planners for your VM and host consumption.
  • Automatic application recognition could definitely be improved instead of just giving generic app load numbers.
If you plan to become highly leveraged in a virtual cluster you need some type of planning and analysis tool. VMware has a great suite of tools but getting the full package can be costly. Other than having a better looking UI, Turbonomic is more straight forward and much lighter to run.
Read John Dopson's full review
Scott Trautwein | TrustRadius Reviewer
September 12, 2017

Turbonomic review for school district

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Our entire school district uses turbonomic for our VDI infrastructure. We have 350 virtual desktops on 8 hosts. We use turbonomic to load balance the resources automatically and to drill down into the data on any specific issues.
  • Automatically handles vmotion for all assigned desktops. It can be set to further customize ram and vCPU sizes as well.
  • Reporting is easy to use and access. It allows you to drill down into each virtual machine if necessary.
  • Provides a list of recommendations on the first panel of the customizable dashboard. It's never pushy, recommendations are just that, [you] never have to follow them.
  • The upfront cost is significant. After the initial purchase, the maintenance costs are very reasonable. But if they offered a basic version for less we would have definitely considered it.
It is well suited for anyone utilizing a VDI and needs to have all resources load balanced without any intervention on their part. It also would be useful for large server implementations, upsizing and downsizing system specs as necessary.

If you have VMs on hosts with limited resources, turbonomic is very helpful.
Read Scott Trautwein's full review
Chris Sherwood | TrustRadius Reviewer
August 14, 2017

Turbonomic 5.8 Application Edition

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Turbonomic allows us to optimize available resources to effectively use the hardware we have in place. It also gives us the ability to have almost an end to end view of the virtual space which makes troubleshooting easier. Also it reduces the 'blame game' and helps us focus in on the providing excellent service to our clients. We're starting to allow more automation and expect to see further efficiency gains with its adoption.
  • We use it to automate the movement and management of our VDI environments for our call center. Without Turbonomic helping us, we were able to fit more VDIs into the same amount of physical hardware.
  • The planning tool is also effective to allow use to predict future resource requirements based on historical growth and current usage.
  • Reporting is something we are proactively setting up so we can report to management and program areas on the state of their environments.
  • Being able to manage and report on virtual Apache systems would be a great addition. Also F5 support would be great.
  • New UI. The old one looks and feels dated.
  • The ability to more easily produce 'Show Back' and 'Shame Back' reports. Still quite a manual process for us.
Turbonomic is good for being a proactive support organization, but not so great at being a reactive support management tool. People tend to focus on the reactive type of support and less on proactive.
Read Chris Sherwood's full review
Gabriel Munoz | TrustRadius Reviewer
September 19, 2017

A tool that does it all!

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We are currently using VMTurbo Operations Manager to analyze resource usage and follow possible load balancing recommendations based on current and past trends. It is also being utilized to automatically vmotion servers across ESXi hosts for load balancing. It is only being used by our Infrastructure team.
  • It provides comprehensive historical data.
  • Great tool to vmotion VMs based on your configured specifications.
  • It allows you to model possible increase or decrease of resources and see what the impact would be to your environment.
  • So far I have not encountered functionality that I would need and it's not implemented.
I think VMTurbo Operations Manager is an overall useful tool, in any scenario.
Read Gabriel Munoz's full review
Manish Goyal | TrustRadius Reviewer
August 09, 2017

Manish Goyal - VMware Engineer - Review for Turbonomic (formerly VMTurbo)

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use Turbonomic for one of our clients where we are managing around 37 ESXi hosts. Server built/decommission requests are frequent so we need a tool where we can share all such forecasting so that actual figures can be proposed to the customer. This is what we use Turbonomic for basically.
  • Forecasting of available resources
  • Resource balancing
  • Graphical data
  • On user interface
  • Some time interfaces are very slow and multiple refreshes are required
  • More option to build or decommission VM directly from the Turbonomic Console
Nice tool to work on the day to day automation work.
Read Manish Goyal's full review
Andreas Plaul | TrustRadius Reviewer
August 08, 2017

Turbonomics at Haufe Group

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use it to automate and optimize our VM deployments. Additionally, it gives us better insight into performance bottlenecks, as well as planning scenario capability before making purchase decisions for hardware.
  • Showing performance bottlenecks
  • Planning tools
  • Automated VM moves
  • The GUI is old school. Work has been done on the new one, but it lacks the full feature set.
VMware environment of classical ITs.
Read Andreas Plaul's full review
René van den Bedem | TrustRadius Reviewer
January 24, 2017

Turbonomic, can you afford to ignore it?

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Reseller
Review Source
We use Turbonomic to fully optimize the use of our infrastructure. We also use it for health checks and assessments we perform for our customers. This allows us to meet the reduction in TCO business objective.
  • Use of customizable dashboards for reporting
  • Use of Planning Engine to explore what-if capacity planning scenarios
  • Workload Charts for correctly sizing application infrastructure
  • The current UI (Adobe Flash) is very clunky and inefficient, however their new HTML5 UI (in Demo mode) will be GA in late 2017.
Turbonomic is a great fit for customers that have a high percentage of virtual infrastructure with multiple management instances and clusters. Turbonomic will operate as the central placement and optimization engine to correctly place and size resources.
Read René van den Bedem's full review
Ken Wilkey | TrustRadius Reviewer
September 30, 2016

Turbonomic is nothing but Awesome!

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Optimizing Virtual workloads is an art all unto itself. Relying solely on user experience and VMware alone is not enough in today's environments. You need a tool and an organization that understands the underlying virtualization platform. Merely looking at VMs and their workloads is only the starting point. You don't just need the analytics of both the hosts and VMs, but the workloads within those virtual machines as well. That's why we chose Turbonomic! They helped us pull together the pieces and provide insight and analytical data by which we can make logical, sound business decisions. Decisions that can not only help reduce capex costs, but improve overall performance, stability and scalability in our virtualized environments.
  • SQL and Exchange analytics. Looking into these heavy workloads helps resolve performance issues and allows administrators to properly adjust thresholds and CPU/Memory settings to maximize their Virtual platforms.
  • Detailed recommendations. Having the details around what adjustments are needing to be made to a virtual machine is paramount in getting business owners to agree to the change. Without it - IT is merely bogged down in the sand.
  • Not many to really speak of except - finish the HTML5 interface - it's almost done! ;-)
There really aren't any areas in our environment where I can say it isn't suited.
Read Ken Wilkey's full review
Thomas Green | TrustRadius Reviewer
September 28, 2016

I'd almost rather see Turbonomic running for president

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
My department uses Turbonomic to get a deeper view into the inner-workings of our virtual infrastructure that we did not have previously. At the time, we were having trouble with some runaway VMs driving our IOPS way out of line, which caused major problems for our entire infrastructure. Turbonomic helped us narrow down potential suspects quickly, and get a stranglehold on the problem in far less time than it would have taken otherwise. Since then, we use it daily to help us monitor our infrastructure performance, alert/report certain events, make right-sizing recommendations, etc.
  • It gives me anywhere from a general overview of the entire virtual infrastructure, to specific hosts or VMs, all in one pane of glass, and with minimal navigation fuss.
  • The right-sizing recommendations are extremely helpful, as are the reports, in helping us fine-tune our environment so we can get the most out of it.
  • We have not had to contact support often, but when we have, they've been great. Very fast and knowledgeable.
  • It would be nice if the UI included a break-down of features that are both licensed as well as un-licensed. That way, you could not only see what you have, but what you don't.
  • The right-sizing recommendations are great, but very little info is given about why the recommendation is being made. More info would not only increase understanding, but would also help drive decision-making.
It REALLY helps identify performance trends, bottlenecks, etc. It's not super-great with "in the moment" type issues, as it provides near-real-time (within 10 minutes) metrics, not actual real-time metrics. It has definitely helped with ongoing issues, though.
Read Thomas Green's full review
Bart van Es | TrustRadius Reviewer
January 11, 2017

A virtual ease of mind

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use VMTurbo Operations Manager in our complete enterprise environment. It manages the virtual environment for a significant part and as a result it takes us less time to manage the virtual environment. Besides this it keeps a close eye on the use of resources and manages the spread of the load on the different hosts.
  • Automatic migration of VMs across ESX hosts based on policies.
  • Automatic storage migration based on policies.
  • Cutting edge reporting facilities across the virtual environment.
  • Cutting edge planning solution which is integrated in the Appliance. It enables you to predict impact of added systems and annual growth path predictions.
  • Expansion of the reporting facility will always be an improvement.
  • Because of its power it can also be a dangerous feature in your network when policies are poorly defined.
I believe it's the best solution for more or less standard virtual environments. Once it's implemented in environments with specific storage settings / environments it can disrupt functionality when policies are not well implemented.
Read Bart van Es's full review
David DeWan | TrustRadius Reviewer
August 11, 2016

VMTurbo - The Intelligence SysAdmins Have Been Waiting For

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
VMTurbo is being used in our organization as an analytic engine to deliver intelligence to our clients. We see the value in the product and are working on a go to market strategy to package the product in an orchestration platform. The solution is attracting a lot of attention and will be a differentiator as we go to market jointly.
  • VMTurbo provides analytics on the current state of the environment.
  • VMTurbo enables recommendations for performance adjustments and optimization.
  • VMTurbo is the brain of our orchestration platform.
  • The UI can be updated.
  • The reports can be a bit more modern.
  • The views for different users can be altered for specific end user requirements.
VMTurbo provides a great analytic platform to both discover and view an IT environment. The details it provides enables views towards how to migrate an application by showing the dependencies with the infrastructure. VMTurbo makes performance/optimization decisions in a split second where a human would take days to realize. VMTurbo keeps an IT environment healthy and efficient.
Read David DeWan's full review
Anthony Darling | TrustRadius Reviewer
July 22, 2016

VMTurbo enhances our ability to manage our virtual infrastructure

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use VMTurbo to monitor and manage our VMware environment. Currently it is used by our sysops group exclusively, but we are working on ways to use the reporting capability to keep our executives apprised of the current status of our environment. The main reason we started looking at VMTurbo was because we did not have a good picture of what exactly was using all our resources in VMware and did not have a good way of seeing how the usage of resources by certain VMs was affecting the overall environment.
  • One of the most useful things we have found with VMTurbo is that we are able to see if we have over/under provisioned resources. Because VMTurbo keeps track of both average and peak usage, we are able to confidently assess when a VM needs more resources, or if we can take away resources and use them elsewhere because the VM was not properly sized in the beginning.
  • The automatic resource management is so much better than vCenter. When we set a cluster to have its CPU/Memory managed by VMTurbo, we see an immediate improvement in how the VMs are spread across ESXi hosts. This improves performance since VMTurbo is taking care of any hot spots and dynamically adjusts resources so that things are running as efficiently as possible.
  • Being able to get an overall view of what is consuming resources in VMware has been extremely helpful. We have seen instances so far of VMTurbo saying that we have plenty of resources in a cluster and we can remove a host, and also of cases where we the only thing you can do to remove resource contention is to add hosts to a different cluster. Being able to have statistical data to back up our decisions (which were normally based on hunches/experience) has made it easier to justify additional physical resources when needed.
  • The default retention for data in VMTurbo is 12 months. We have cycles in our environment that are quarterly and annually. We would love to be able to have multiple years of information easily available to us since our management is always wanting 2-3 years worth of peaks to assist in making hardware decisions. We have been told that we could expand the data retention somewhat through support, but that it may have impact on performance of VMTurbo. An easy way to expand the reporting capability to cover 3-5 years of data would be helpful.
  • The terminology and workflow of VMTurbo is a little overwhelming at first. It really is a very unique way of looking at things in your virtualized environment. This is not necessarily an area where they need to improve, I believe that once you understand it, it becomes very powerful in a way it could not be using just the old way of looking at things. My suggestion however is to ensure that you get and take advantage of the training/onboarding they provide so that you understand the program. Without that, many of the features will never be used because they are new to a standard virtualization admins skill set. However, they are always willing to spend time with you to make sure you understand how to do things...they are very helpful.
If you have a small, simple virtualized environment, VMTurbo may not give you a whole lot of added value. If, however, you have any performance or resource management issues in your environment, no matter how small it is, you would benefit from having VMTurbo. Our virtualization infrastructure, like many, is a combination of different speeds of storage, VMs of different sizes and performance needs, and it is always growing. In a scenario like this, VMTurbo has been able to give us visibility into what is using resources, what is needing more resources, and how all these resources can be arranged so that we are using the physical resources in the most efficient way possible. Because it is looking at the whole environment, it also gives us the leverage and statistics we need when it is time to request new or different hardware...sometimes more hardware IS the answer, and when that is the case, VMTurbo helps you to quantify that.
Read Anthony Darling's full review
Jonathan Murden | TrustRadius Reviewer
June 22, 2016

VMturbo saving time and money!

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We initially used VMTurbo for the plan function which enabled us to run DR scenarios based on our live environment workload and its ability to run on fewer hosts at out DR site. We soon found that we could do much more around how our VMware environment was utilizing resources and have managed to reduce our host footprint creating much needed savings. We are now taking this same approach to consolidate and re-provision our storage, again supporting potential large savings in future storage investments.

VMTurbo has enabled us to better understand our VMware environment and we are managing it in a more efficient manner and I would recommend the investment to anyone.
  • Planning scenarios for DR and new virtual server provisioning.
  • Making better use of available resources and reducing costs through over provisioning.
  • Understanding storage bottlenecks and which VMs are your storage 'bullies'.
  • It can sometimes be difficult to see the wood for the trees when it is alerting on so much information especially when some of it you can ignore.
  • Having to manually configure differing storage types to ensure it is using the correct parameters for its recommendations, can be complicated.
  • Policy configuration to get the most out of the product can be daunting and requires a good understanding of your virtual environment.
Well suited:
  • An overprovisioned or under provisioned environment
  • Were you may have little insight into what is happening in your storage and how this is effecting VMs
Read Jonathan Murden's full review
Sean Frazier | TrustRadius Reviewer
September 23, 2016

Solid Product That May Not Be For Everyone

Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

We have about three of us who use it but, unfortunately, we do not use it all of the time. Those above us were really happy about the reports it could produce but even they have had limited time to delve into them. My teammates and I do not use Turbonomic on a daily basis but, when there are questions about individual VM resources, we are able to look at specifics within Turbonomic.

Unfortunately, since we do not use it daily, we often have a difficult time remembering where certain things are located within the software.

All in all, it is a good, solid product, but its functionality does not mesh perfectly with our current operating environment.

  • Individual VM resource metrics
  • The reporting capability is quite large and comprehensive
  • The ability to run "what if" sequences is very handy
  • The UI can be confusing due to all of the things that the software can do--it can be difficult to find functions.
  • The 24-hour period that you have to wait through after making changes is not optimal.
  • Turbonomic's calculations for N+1 and headroom can be faulty--they might require some tweaking from the defaults before they give proper results.

If you need a wide variety of comprehensive reports, it works well.

If you need proof of under or over provisioning of VMs, it does this job well.

Actually, most everything Turbonomic says it can do, it does well. Sometimes there is a heavy amount of front-end configuration involved, however, which is a downside.

Read Sean Frazier's full review
Ariel Dupar | TrustRadius Reviewer
September 12, 2016

Turbonomic manage and optimize my multi hypervisors enviroments

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Turbonomic is helping us to manage from one unique point of access all our Virtual Infrastracture (Vmware, HyperV, Xenserver). Now we know which Applications are needing compute components (CPU, RAM, IOPS), and when, both in real time and historical.

The other important use is we are confident with Turbonomic to manage our virtual machine to resize, move, stop, and suspend VMs and hypervisors servers depending on the workload. At this time we can work with our head to do work of IT planning for Axion Energy.
  • Move, Resize, Suspend VM where there are compute resources cheap, free, and available.
  • Brind information about how is working virtual infrastructure (CPU, Memory) from one unique access point in realtime and history.
  • Make best recommendation for a healthy virtual infrastructure.
  • Turbonomic is working with Flash and a browser to manage the infrastructure, it has a nice dashboard and it's very easy to create custom dashboards, but all web applications are going to HTML5. It is very important to mention that current are very friendly for System Administrators to take ownership.
  • Turbonomic works great with Vmware and Xenserver, but it isn't friendly with HyperV 2012. I know the problem is VMM and Microsoft. For this case Turbonomic depends on VMM connection and statistics. In Turbonomic we can't see Memory metrics of VM hosted in HyperV 2012.
  • We have been using it for 3 months and have found issues in Turbonomic.
In Vmware vSphere / XenServer 6.x / HyperV 2012, where big virtualized infrastructures with schedules to automate resize / move activities, to migrate or merge Hypervisor Clusters, Turbonomic is the best solution to have healthy performance environments.

We tested other solutions like Vmware vRealize, but that one only works with Vmware Vsphere. With Turbonomic, I have only one console.
Read Ariel Dupar's full review
Kevin Helvestine | TrustRadius Reviewer
August 29, 2016

Automation of the future

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We currently have VMturbo deployed into our prod and dev environments, supporting around 4500 VMs, 360 hosts, and it's doing fantastic. It's literally a night and day difference to back when we just relied on DRS automation that is built into VMware. We can automate store and host/VM resources. We can create pools and rule and alerts, so many different things to automate everything for us, and to give us more insight into our environment and ongoing issues than we've ever really seen before. The graphs/charts are fantastic to be able to see everything in a single pane of glass.
  • Storage + resource automation. Think of DRS but times 100. Its everything you ever wanted DRS to be.
  • Reports/performance charts/etc - it's to the ms, to the byte, to the decimal. It's fantastic reporting for every vm, host, datastore, everything.
  • Automation - it's really automated, not just suggestions that you have to act on, and with rules you can shape it to anything you want, however you want it to act on different things, exactly as you would if you were....100 people staring at the monitor 24/7.
  • The GUI - the GUI at the version I am on is somewhat lacking in finesse.
  • The dashboards are sometimes not perfect, maybe if they did a survey of what their users would like to see it could improve it.
It's terrific for a VMware environment, but probably not suited that well for small environment of 100 VMs or less.
Read Kevin Helvestine's full review
Corinne Peterman | TrustRadius Reviewer
July 05, 2016

VMTurbo - Simplicity and Ease of Use

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We are currently very conservative in our implementation of VMTurbo. Not because we have reservation about the product but rather because we are careful in how we implement changes of RAM, CPU, etc. We tend to use the product within the IT group that manages operations. The biggest problem that VMTurbo has solved for us is that we can now very easily manage application administrators' expectations as well as be able to thoroughly review if the request for more resources is warranted. It is shocking how much better a graph that says "No, you aren't currently using what you have so it does not appear you need more resources" works vs. trying to just say that. It also allows us to forecast how our resources are being used and how they can better be used.
  • Ease of graph creation for a variety of functions - Everyone loves a good graph from application owners to management to end users when necessary.
  • Ease of installation - No one wants to spend hours and hours setting up and maintaining a product that is supposed to make your life easier. VMTurbo very easily sets up a single appliance. Unlike products that require Windows, you simply have a web interface that updates the software and it is generally done in 15 minutes or less.
  • Ease of recommendations - While we do not automatically implement the recommendations, which the product is fully capable of, we do actively find their recommendation to be on target and easy to understand.
  • Snapshots - It does not have a way to find and track snapshots. It is the major thing that I could really use so that I could just automate a report.
  • Certificates - While the setting of a certificate is not that hard from the command line, I wouldn't mind seeing a web interface to update one so I could delegate that responsibility.
  • Active Directory integration for multiple DCs - I'd love if I could point to multiple domain controllers for fail over. I plan on implementing a round robin DNS to try to get around this but I'd prefer if it was an option to make life easier.
I find the dashboard information is more useful to technical administrators and that the reports are good at general overviews. We have found that only having 60 days worth of information can be limiting at times if we want to see how things compare to a year ago.
Read Corinne Peterman's full review
Clay Hancock | TrustRadius Reviewer
June 28, 2016

My VMTurbo experience

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
I am using VMTurbo to monitor and aid in managing my VMWare 4.1, 5.0, and 5.5 infrastructure. We use it in our Information Technology Services Division at Southwest Tennessee Community College. It helps maintain a healthy balance on my VMWare 4.1 environment as it is almost resource saturated. I have also utilized the "What If" function to save money by not investing in additional hardware that a vendor says we needed but proved to not need when we increased our VDI pools for our new nursing building.
  • The planning feature is a great asset. It allows me to see what my environment will do by adding or taking away loads that I would not be able to do in the live system.
  • By allowing VMTurbo to move my virtual machines automatically to best utilize the resources across the hosts, I can free up time to do other tasks.
  • The dashboard allows me to see at a glance what I need to know.
Read Clay Hancock's full review
Michael Si | TrustRadius Reviewer
June 24, 2016

I love VMTurbo Operations Manager

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
It is being used by whole organization. It made us live more easy [by being able] to manage the virtual environment.
  • It continually analyzes our virtual environment to provide real-time monitoring and recommendations to assure application performance and resource efficiency across the entire virtual environment.
  • It moves guest machines from host to host as necessary and resizes guest resources as it becomes appropriate for the guests' needs.
  • It is really as easy as clicking a checkbox and clicking apply to follow through on the recommendation to re-balance the environment.
  • The one thing that I would have liked more control over, was some of the thresholds and weighing of different variables that VMTurbo uses to balance the system.
It automates regular maintenance activities previously performed by IT staff, such as moving VMs to a host or storage with more resources, and increasing or decreasing compute resources based on an individual VM's workload. Takes action based on defined rules rather just reporting an alert.
Read Michael Si's full review
Eric Wyman | TrustRadius Reviewer
June 07, 2016

Reaching that last 10% infastructure optimization

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
VMTurbo is being used across our entire organization, on multiple hypervisors. It is used to address allocation and dispersion of resources in the most efficient manner possible. It moves guest machines from host to host as necessary and resizes guest resources as it becomes appropriate for the guests' needs.
  • Relocating guests in a cluster to the most appropriate host.
  • Resizing guests based on need.
  • Suggesting additional improvements beyond automation tasks.
  • A more intuitive interface.
  • Storage control included.
  • A locally installable app alternative to the web interface.
VMTurbo can offer benefits to any environment, however you get the maximum benefit in environments with more than one host and or datastore. If running VMWare, you start seeing dramatically improved capabilities with at least the essentials plus licensing, and more with higher licensing.
Read Eric Wyman's full review
MD Sufiyan | TrustRadius Reviewer
June 04, 2016

It offers the features that you can't refuse

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We are using the VMTurbo tool in our daily operations for managing the workload and balancing the performance of our virtual machines in the environment. It has a lot of features for managing our thousands of resources.
  • Easy to install and configure and manage.
  • Interface is intuitive. Dashboard is easy to set up and reporting is simple.
  • Warns when a server is having problems.
  • A multi-tenant, customer portal to present metric data would be a fantastic thing to have.
  • The rules were confusing for a first time user
The dashboards are great. It allows us to see immediately the status of our whole VMware estate and how well it is operating. We can spot immediately if there are any issues and deal with them. It also emails us if it spots something critical.
Read MD Sufiyan's full review
Duc Dinh | TrustRadius Reviewer
May 25, 2016

VMTurbo Operations Manager Review

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
VMTurbo is our strategic tool to maximize our data center resource and is used by many teams:

  • Infrastructure - "right-size" VMs, reduce VM sprawl, balance workloads, troubleshoot performance bottlenecks
  • Platform - Dashboards to monitor application performance
  • Management - weekly reporting, trending and forcasting
  • Easy to install and configure.
  • Interface is intuitive. Dashboard is easy to set up. Reporting is also simple yet concise.
  • Very intelligent analytics with fully customizable settings.
  • Option to increase daily data retention
  • Global scheduling - same schedule can be applied to other tasks
This is where VMTurbo will get best the ROI - an enterprise level app intended for hundreds of ESX and thousands of VMs to be cost effective.
Read Duc Dinh's full review

About Turbonomic

Turbonomic Application Resource Management (ARM) delivers enterprise organizations with automation that enables on-premises, hybrid cloud and multicloud to self-manage in real-time, and is designed to assure application performance while lowering cost and maintaining compliance with business policies. The software platform matches application demand to infrastructure supply, helping customers maintain a continuous state of application health.

The Turbonomic ARM platform is sold in three editions: Essentials, Advanced, and Premier.

The vendor states that from launch in 2009, Turbonomic has become one of the fastest-growing privately held technology companies, and boast that they are presently trusted by thousands of enterprise organizations to maximize the value of IT investments.

Turbonomic Features

Has featureActionable Workload Decisions (sizing, placement, provisioning)
Has featureReal-time Intelligence
Has featureApplication-to-Infrastructure Visibility
Has featureHolistic Application Control Out-of-Box or with APM Integration
Has featureApplication Quality of Service Adherence
Has featureEnd-to-End Application and Infrastructure Relationship Mapping
Has featurePublic Cloud Resource Control
Has featurePublic Cloud Cost Optimization
Has featureContainer and PaaS Scaling and Management
Has featureCustomizable Service Priorities and Cost Policies
Has featureCapacity Managment and Planning

Turbonomic Screenshots

Turbonomic Integrations

Pure Storage FlashArray, Nutanix AOS, Cisco Unified Computing System Manager, VMware vCenter Server, Hyper-V, WebSphere Application Server, Oracle WebLogic Application Server, Apache Tomcat, vCloud Director, CloudStack, Amazon Web Services, Microsoft SQL Server, MySQL, Microsoft Exchange, VMware NSX, Kubernetes, D2iQ Mesosphere, CloudFoundry, ServiceNow, XtremIO Flash Storage, HPE OneView, EMC VNX (Discontinued), Oracle Database (legacy), Red Hat Virtualization (RHV) (formerly RHEV), Citrix Hypervisor (formerly XenServer), IBM Cloud IaaS (formerly IBM Bluemix - IaaS), Citrix ADC (formerly NetScaler ADC), Arista, HP 3PAR, NetApp, Dell Compellent, Openstack, KVM, JBoss, Microsoft System Center VMM, Azure, VMware vSwitch, Open vSwitch, Cisco Tetration Analytics, Stackato, IBM SoftLayer

Turbonomic Competitors

Densify, VMware vRealize Operations, CloudHeath

Pricing

  • Has featureFree Trial Available?Yes
  • Has featureFree or Freemium Version Available?Yes
  • Has featurePremium Consulting/Integration Services Available?Yes
  • Entry-level set up fee?No

Turbonomic Customer Size Distribution

Consumers
0%
Small Businesses (1-50 employees)
10%
Mid-Size Companies (51-500 employees)
40%
Enterprises (> 500 employees)
50%

Turbonomic Support Options

 Free VersionPaid Version
Forum/Community
FAQ/Knowledgebase
Social Media
Video Tutorials / Webinar
Phone
Email

Turbonomic Technical Details

Deployment Types:On-premise, SaaS
Operating Systems: Windows, Linux, Mac
Mobile Application:No