Skip to main content
TrustRadius
BIG-IP

BIG-IP

Overview

What is BIG-IP?

F5 BIG-IP software from Seattle-based F5 Networks is a load balancing and application protection solution suite available on cloud or via virtual editions, on a subscription or perpetual licensing basis. The BIG-IP suite of products supports a wide range of…

Read more
Recent Reviews

TrustRadius Insights

GUI Interface: Users have expressed dissatisfaction with the outdated and unfriendly GUI interface. They believe that modernizing the …
Continue reading

BIG-IP Review

8 out of 10
May 20, 2024
Incentivized
It's basically for secure access to the cloud and to the internet. And so yeah, that's the use case.
Continue reading

F5 Review

6 out of 10
May 08, 2024
Incentivized
From load balancing to securing applications the F5 is able to achieve these goals. It also has been highly customizable to fit whatever …
Continue reading

Ali's one

8 out of 10
May 08, 2024
Incentivized
we use it as a load balancer and GSLB for our external and internal workload. It's working well especially with our active-active cluster …
Continue reading

F5 BIG-IP is the Best

10 out of 10
March 22, 2024
Incentivized
We are using F5 BIG-IP for applications , load balancers to distribute our load and application data. this tools help us to efficiently …
Continue reading

Review of F5 BIG-IP

8 out of 10
March 22, 2024
Incentivized
It is used for load balancing. Balancing across multiple servers or data centers to ensure optimal distribution of incoming traffic. This …
Continue reading
Read all reviews

Awards

Products that are considered exceptional by their customers based on a variety of criteria win TrustRadius awards. Learn more about the types of TrustRadius awards to make the best purchase decision. More about TrustRadius Awards

Popular Features

View all 10 features
  • Customer Support Services (17)
    8.7
    87%
  • AES 256-bit Encryption (16)
    8.4
    84%
  • Simultaneous Connections (18)
    8.4
    84%
  • Multiple Server Locations (16)
    8.2
    82%

Reviewer Pros & Cons

View all pros & cons

Video Reviews

2 videos

Senior Level Engineer Drops Their Thoughts | F5 BIG-IP Review
03:21
Manager of Security Engineering and Architecture Delivers His Verdict | F5 BIG-IP Review
04:43
Return to navigation

Pricing

View all pricing
N/A
Unavailable

What is BIG-IP?

F5 BIG-IP software from Seattle-based F5 Networks is a load balancing and application protection solution suite available on cloud or via virtual editions, on a subscription or perpetual licensing basis. The BIG-IP suite of products supports a wide range of security and application performance…

Entry-level set up fee?

  • No setup fee

Offerings

  • Free Trial
  • Free/Freemium Version
  • Premium Consulting/Integration Services

Would you like us to let the vendor know that you want pricing?

22 people also want pricing

Alternatives Pricing

What is GoodAccess?

GoodAccess is a cloud VPN with zero-trust access controls specially designed for small and medium businesses. GoodAccess is a secure remote access solution that interconnects remote workers, applications, data centers, clouds, and offices via one resilient virtual network. No hardware or complex…

What is NetScaler Gateway?

NetScaler Gateway (formerly Citrix Gateway) is an access gateway with SSL VPN solution, providing single sign-on (SSO) and authentication for remote end users of network assets.

Return to navigation

Product Demos

Cisco ACE to F5 BIG-IP Migration and Heartbleed Mitigation

YouTube

F5 BIG-IP Edge Gateway Performance Demo

YouTube

F5 BIG-IP LTM Command Line Demo

YouTube

BIG-IP AWAF Demo 02 - Block Common Web App Vulnerabilities with F5 BIG-IP Adv WAF (formerly ASM)

YouTube

BIG-IP AWAF Demo 01 - Create Simple App Security Policies with F5 BIG-IP Adv WAF (formerly ASM)

YouTube
Return to navigation

Features

Virtual Private Network

Virtual Private Network features aim to create a more secure and private network connection.

7.9
Avg 9.0
Return to navigation

Product Details

What is BIG-IP?

BIG-IP software products are licensed modules that run on top of F5's Traffic Management Operation System® (TMOS). This custom operating system is an event driven operating system designed specifically to inspect network and application traffic and make real-time decisions based on the configurations provided. The BIG-IP software can run on hardware or can run in virtualized environments. Virtualized systems provide BIG-IP software functionality where hardware implementations are unavailable, including public clouds and various managed infrastructures where rack space is a critical commodity.

BIG-IP Primary Software Modules
  • BIG-IP Local Traffic Manager (LTM) - Central to F5's full traffic proxy functionality, LTM provides the platform for creating virtual servers, performance, service, protocol, authentication, and security profiles to define and shape application traffic. Most other modules in the BIG-IP family use LTM as a foundation for enhanced services.
  • BIG-IP DNS - Formerly Global Traffic Manager, BIG-IP DNS provides similar security and load balancing features that LTM offers but at a global/multi-site scale. BIG-IP DNS offers services to distribute and secure DNS traffic advertising application namespaces.
  • BIG-IP Access Policy Manager (APM) - Provides federation, SSO, application access policies, and secure web tunneling. Allows granular access to various applications, virtualized desktop environments, or just go full VPN tunnel.
  • Secure Web Gateway Services (SWG) - Paired with APM, SWG enables access policy control for internet usage. It can allow, block, verify and log traffic with APM's access policies allowing flexibility around an organization's acceptable internet and public web application use.
  • BIG-IP Application Security Manager (ASM) - This is F5's web application firewall (WAF) solution. Traditional firewalls and layer 3 protection don't understand the complexities of many web applications. ASM allows users to tailor acceptable and expected application behavior on a per application basis . Zero day, DoS, and click fraud all rely on traditional security device's inability to protect unique application needs; ASM fills the gap between traditional firewall and tailored granular application protection.
  • BIG-IP Advanced Firewall Manager (AFM) - AFM is designed to reduce the hardware and extra hops required when ADC's are paired with traditional firewalls. Operating at L3/L4, AFM helps protect traffic destined for the data center. Paired with ASM, the user can implement protection services at L3 - L7 for a full ADC and Security solution in one box or virtual environment.

BIG-IP Hardware

BIG-IP hardware offers several types of purpose-built custom solutions, all designed in-house at F5. BIG-IP hardware is offered via series releases, each offering improvements for performance and features determined by customer requirements. These may include increased port capacity, traffic throughput, CPU performance, FPGA feature functionality for hardware-based scalability, and virtualization capabilities. There are two primary variations of BIG-IP hardware, single chassis design, or VIPRION modular designs. Each offer unique advantages for internal and collocated infrastructures. Updates in processor architecture, FPGA, and interface performance gains are common so we recommend referring to F5's hardware page for more information.

BIG-IP Videos

What is F5 BIG-IP?
In this video we're going to talk about some of the top access gateway tools you should be using to keep your network protected, including F5 BIG-IP

BIG-IP Technical Details

Operating SystemsUnspecified
Mobile ApplicationNo

Frequently Asked Questions

F5 BIG-IP software from Seattle-based F5 Networks is a load balancing and application protection solution suite available on cloud or via virtual editions, on a subscription or perpetual licensing basis. The BIG-IP suite of products supports a wide range of security and application performance needs. The suite includes BIG-IP Local Traffic Manager (LTM) traffic management and optimization, BIG-IP DNS, BIG-IP Access Policy Manager (APM) identity and password protection, BIG-IP Application Acceleration Manager, BIG-IP Advanced Firewall Manager (AFM) and BIG-IP Application Security Manager (ASM) web application firewall (WAF) and advanced DDoS protection.

NetScaler ADC, Cloudflare, and Akamai are common alternatives for BIG-IP.

Reviewers rate Customer Support Services highest, with a score of 8.7.

The most common users of BIG-IP are from Enterprises (1,001+ employees).
Return to navigation

Comparisons

View all alternatives
Return to navigation

Reviews and Ratings

(219)

Attribute Ratings

Reviews

(1-25 of 129)
Companies can't remove reviews or game the system. Here's why
May 20, 2024

BIG-IP Review

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Incentivized
It's basically for secure access to the cloud and to the internet. And so yeah, that's the use case.
  • Yeah, web access firewall for the cloud deployment. That is one of the major features that we use.
  • Additional functionality, probably more Cs B Control.
No, it's well suited for any big enterprise for cloud access, for protecting the perimeter, and a bunch of other areas.
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
ResellerIncentivized
The BIG-IP addresses address load balancing, application security, and secure access for most customers.
  • Application Delivery.
  • Application Protection.
  • Secure Access.
  • DNS Protection.
  • DDOS Protection.
  • Graphical User Interface needs improvement. BIG-IP interfaces have not changed in years.
  • The upgrade process could be smooth.
  • The fact that some configuration objects can not be edited is a bad aspect.
BIG-IP is well suited for customers that runs workloads on-premises. F5 BIG-IP has an incredible capability of manipulating web application data and the it provides a high level of security to the applications that are protected by BIG-IP.
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Incentivized
We connect to our corporate network through Big-IP. Our access to corporate resources depends on f5.
  • Great access to our resources.
  • Maintains continuous connectivity.
  • Allows me to remotely work from anywhere securely.
  • Faster connectivity.
  • Seamless connections.
Allowing me to connect remotely greatly helps in situations where I need to access my corporate resources effectively.
May 09, 2024

F5 BigIP review.

Toan Thai | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Incentivized
We use F5 Big-IP for VPN tunnel connection.
  • Connection is fast.
  • Stable
  • No major issues.
  • Client is not very customizable.
  • Deployment is not straight forward.
Cost-effective solution compared to other technologies. I am looking for easier rollout and policy enforcement.
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Incentivized
Load balancing for performance. Having it before many worker nodes and processes helps us scale and perform. The features of stickiness, round robin, etc., give us more flexibility and control for different applications and situations. My customers use F5 as a go-to solution for load balancing, and it is also easy to monitor because of good logging and metrics.
  • Load balancing.
  • Security
  • Performance and scale.
  • More usability.
  • Easier deployment.
  • More notifications and metrics on health and loads.
The scale, performance, and configuration for various scenarios have already been mentioned. The versatility, reliability, etc., are dependable and well-known. Being the industry leader, it is almost a standard, and no one can get fired for recommending F5 compared to some of the new offerings, which are not battle-tested.
May 08, 2024

F5 Review

Score 6 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Incentivized
From load balancing to securing applications the F5 is able to achieve these goals. It also has been highly customizable to fit whatever needs we have thrown at it. Our application team is also using the WAF to further protect our application. The F5 is also able to help on the security side with connection obfuscation and syn-cookie protections.
  • Highly reliable platform. Almost zero downtime and very few bug/performance related issues.
  • SSL offloading, any encrypted application is being offloading through our F5. We have also had some success automating this process.
  • i-rules. The use of i rules has enabled us to secure applications using our authentication app. Without it, these application would not be possible.
  • More granular logging on security triggers
  • Ability to whitelist IP from being included from protections
  • Enhanced alerting on traffic being dropped
Learning curve is quite high. It took our team awhile to understand how the security features work and how they interact with our traffic/environment. Lack of detailed logging/alerting increased this time to learn.
Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Incentivized
F5 BIG-IP is our primary load balancer for our on-prem hosted applications. I am the organization's security auditor and I audit the solution from time to time. It has a very reasonable UI and works great for my organization's use case.
  • Works well as an ASM (WAF)
  • Balances our application traffic
  • We use F5 appliances and it seems a bit antiquated as a solution
  • UI seems a bit old-school as well, not super user friendly outside of network eng
Well suited for balancing application traffic and reasonably functional as a WAF
May 08, 2024

Ali's one

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Incentivized
we use it as a load balancer and GSLB for our external and internal workload. It's working well especially with our active-active cluster setup. on the GSLB side, we are migrating our netscaler product into F5 to make sure the DNS and TCP layer load balancing are in sync. we also use iRule
  • Load balancing
  • WAF
  • HTTP Routing
  • Bot detection
  • standard logging formats
Enterprise load balancing and HTTP routing, zero rate and bandwidth protection are strong suits.
May 08, 2024

F5 Review

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Incentivized
F5 product are very reliable and safe. We have been using the product from long time and we are satisfied with the product, support and service.
  • Refresh and reload web pages or to start a slide show in power point
  • Delivery, Security, performance and availability of Web applications
  • Prevent online fraud, application delivery Networking.
  • specialization in application security
  • F5 is doing awsome. No suggessions.
It offers services to distrubute and secure DNS traffic advertising your application namespaces
May 08, 2024

F5 BIG-IP so far

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Incentivized
We use it as a Primary LB. It's good but with respect to SSL/TLS we need more user friendly UI
  • Traffic management
  • Load distribution
  • SSL/TLS
  • Performance
Centralized cloud management is good.
Support for realtime traffic and IP with location is needed
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Incentivized
we use LTM to secure and load balance our customer facing apps as well as corporate internal apps
  • Application security
  • IP intelligence
  • load balancing
  • price
  • adapting to cloud transformation
F5 does what is advertised, but the price affects being able to give it a 10
March 22, 2024

F5 BIG-IP is the Best

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Incentivized
We are using F5 BIG-IP for applications , load balancers to distribute our load and application data. this tools help us to efficiently manage our application and infrastructure as well. Using the high availability feature in this product will be helpful during the patches and maintenance windows. It helps us reducing the downtime
  • Load Balancing
  • Easy to setup
  • Reduced downtime
  • Preconfigured templates
  • Realtime incoming traffic including the ip and location
  • Single dashboard for the cluster
This product is easy to setup and configure and maintain. Due to simplicity and easy patch management process makes the product more efficient and effective.
even in a situation of hardware related issue which can be resolved by the engineer itself. The support by F5 is very easy and very supportive. You will get a quick response
March 22, 2024

Review of F5 BIG-IP

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Incentivized
It is used for load balancing. Balancing across multiple servers or data centers to ensure optimal distribution of incoming traffic. This helps organizations achieve high availability and scalability for their applications, preventing downtime due to server failures or overload.
  • Application Security
  • Centralized Management and Automation
  • Traffic Management and Load Balancing
  • Complex user interface
  • Cloud Native support needed
  • Scalability performance
1. Suited for load balancing
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Incentivized
- Performance issues with high throughput volume of customer transactions in finance and securities domain
- F5 BIG-IP standard models are not easy, fast, resiliency to scale when the system have problems on performance and need to scale
- Velos chassis from F5 help us to resolve this challenge when our business grow up fast in time.
  • Performance with SSL encryption
  • Security Function
  • Stability
  • Scaling
  • Investment & operation price
  • Simple procedures to maintain or upgrade with minimal impact to operation
  • Performance improve when work both LB and WAF with high volume concurrent transactions, latency
- Performance for over 200k concurrent transactions in securities finance systems.
- Easy to scale out when upgrade and not impact to operation, keep infrastructure architecture
- Good support from F5 engineers when customers have problems or issues. Maintenance price too high to maintain F5 products.
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Incentivized
Our office uses F5 BIG-IP to solve a big hit from the client to access our server (data center). Every year, we hold exams for prospective employees (national civil service agency).
  • Balancing
  • The future our office must WAF
Prove to solve the problem of big hit from our client's access to the data center.
March 22, 2024

BIG-IP Information

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Incentivized
We use F5 as our local traffic management, global traffic management as well as application security appliance in our organisations. Usually our business user would like to have an active-active application between sites hence the use or global traffic management helps in providing this solution that the business user requested. At the same time, business user usually would have multiple web or app servers that requires load balancing between them. Since we are using local traffic management, this helps to achieve what is being requested by the business user. At the same time business user requires protection and security fronting their applications. Having an application security management appliance helps in achieving and protecting the application of the business user.
  • Local load balancing
  • Global load balancing
  • Application security Protction
  • Link controller
  • Having a real time connection log
  • Having a more detail log
  • Having a better stability on the virtual appliance especially on the cpu and memory
  • Having a better health monitoring get string checker
Scenario which F5 BIG-IP is well suited is when there is a request from the business user to have a load balancer whether local or global to assist in load balancing their application. It can also be well suited when business user required a security protection for their application
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Incentivized
We use F5 BIG-IP as an application load balancer & as a reverse proxy. The problems we're not just need it for balancer but we want to use it as security appliances.
  • Load balancing
  • Reverse proxy
  • DNS reverse
  • Cookies handling
  • Concurrent connections
  • Security features
  • Log management
Works well as load balancing & reverse proxy in our IT infrastructure.
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Incentivized
F5 BIG-IP is used as GTM and LTM.
  • Application security
  • Traffic prioritization and load balancing
  • Application monitoring
  • GUI interface since it looks like a website rather than an interface for managing a device e.g. LTM
  • Search functionality
F5 BIG-IP is like the gold standard in load balancing and app prioritization.
March 22, 2024

BIG-IP Review

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Incentivized
It used for traffic management and route
  • Manage traffic as per need
  • Allow routing
  • More multi path traffic allowed
  • Cloud based solution in depth
As our environment is too big with many apps instances so big ip help to do traffic route and management well with zero latency
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Incentivized
We purchased a set of R5900 and R5600 appliances for our on-premises datacentre, which includes a load balancer, forward and reverse proxy, and SSLO functionality. We use SSLO in our DC for SSL offload and application visibility to copy decrypted traffic to our SIEM and IDS solutions. Application configuration is done using Ansible playbooks for speed, simplicity, and error-free configuration.
  • Forward Proxy.
  • Reverse Proxy.
  • SSL Offload.
  • Encrypt/decrypt.
  • Application visibility.
  • Training bundled into large orders by default.
  • In person targeted workshops offered.
  • Online targeted workshops.
F5 BG-IP is a flexible product. Additional functionality can be bolted onto the initial purchase. This makes working with customers easy because they can start with the basic functionality, and then we can sell advanced services when they are ready to consume them. In-built API/programmability makes automation simple.
Return to navigation