TrustRadius
CloudFlare, from the company of the same name in San Francisco, provides DDoS security to business domains, as well as a content delivery network (CDN) and web application firewall (WAF).https://dudodiprj2sv7.cloudfront.net/product-logos/T9/5Y/MOZQ3S0M7CX3.jpegCloudFlare Review!CloudFlare is a fantastic service, and we use many of its free and paid offerings. CloudFlare's core product offering is a CDN solution, and is unique in that it offers a free service tier that includes its CDN edge locations and free SSL termination. CloudFlare also has a number of more SMB/Enterprise features, again, primarily through its CDN, with its focus being on supporting uptime for customers.,CloudFlare's free CDN and free SSL tier are both great tools for those who are new to web development CloudFlare's basic product includes basic DDoS protection CloudFlare's cost structure is well-suited to most applications; there is a tremendous amount of functionality available on the free and $20/mo tiers,CloudFlare has expressed that it can be politically motivated, removing content from its system that its CEO did not agree with CloudFlare's SSL termination arrangement can be difficult for new developers to understand -- particularly if it is setup in a way where traffic from CloudFlare to the origin is not protected by SSL. Its explanation of how this works is not user-friendly and over-emphasizes convenience over security.,9,Even on the free tier, Cloudflare's CDN usage can drive down overall bandwidth usage Cloudflare's free DDoS protection ensures that traffic spikes are legitimate, and will block malicious users from reaching the origin server,Azure CDN, Amazon CloudFront and Fastly,Fastly, Azure CDNCloudflare - Lightning Fast DNS and Easy to UseI use CloudFlare as the DNS server for my domains. CloudFlare provides fast DNS and also mask the IP address of our domain making it less likely to have DDoS attacks.,Very Fast Intuitive Interface easy for managing multiple domains Nice add-ons such as a CDN and included at no extra cost SSL certificates,Would love to see wildcard domains available in lower cost plans.,10,CloudFlare is an extra fast and reliable service. It keeps my business up which in turn keeps orders rolling in. CloudFlare hides my IP addresses and has helped reduce DDoS attacks against our company.,CDN77.com,Amazon S3 (Simple Storage Service), SendGrid Transactional Email, Amazon Simple Email Service, Code42 (formerly CrashPlan)Confident with CloudFlareCloudFlare security puts a 'virtual shield' around your website. In an era where the cloud is becoming the preferred way to deliver content, CloudFlare secures and improves the performance of your website as well. Their DDoS protection allows you to prevent attacks without changing hardware, software or website code.,DDoS Attacks Prevents false positive loads Compression and minification for improved request load time IP reputation-based monitoring system,Serving cached resources directly from physical memory Real-time visibility and control Protection of non-web infrastructure services (FTP, SMTP, VoIP, etc.),10,Reduced developer load Easy to implement Cost-effective,Liquid-Web, Shopify Plus, MagentoBest CDN Ever. Secure & Cost Effective.We are using CloudFlare as DDOS blocker, SSL for websites and many small internal features for performance boost. Its being used across the whole organization.,Best DNS Manager. SSL and CDN are awesome for websites. Detailed Analytics of Data captured when user visits Website. Customer support and community is active and responds fast.,Customer Support via Phone Call and Other instant Chat features. For our developer, caching was creating problem which created a downtime of the website for 30 min. So aching is an area where you need to focus if you are working with a dynamic website. Options to Select region for Customized CDN.,9,ROI is positive. Comparing CDN of other cloud provider, ROI was more than 30%. And comparing SSL, We saved more than 30k per Year .,Azure CDN,TeamViewer, Google Analytics, AdWords, GetResponse, Amazon Elastic Compute Cloud (EC2), Google Compute Engine, Microsoft Azure,Yes,Price Product Features Product Usability Prior Experience with the Product Analyst Reports Third-party Reviews,Our Evaluation and Selection process will remain the same.Best tool for your website security and CDN servicesCloudFlare is being used on our website and many other websites that we've worked on. It's a very good product to protect our websites and manage DNS.,Best DNS Management CDN for static assets CloudFlare Free SSL Hiding my original IP to protect my web server Always on Mode: Showing cached pages when my server is down Protection from DDoS and many other threats Apps Many more...,I don't think I've found any points where CloudFlare is having missing points, they are continuously improving the product.,10,They provide us a free SSL, thus saving our time and cost to purchase and implement one. CDN caching is a huge advantage for us as we're resource intensive site, bandwidth is our one of the major cost factor. Hiding our IP behind their servers makes us feel secure.,GoDaddy and Microsoft Azure,Paddle, Microsoft Azure, InVision, Slack, DigitalOcean, PayPal Payments, Laravel PHP Framework, Elasticsearch, GitHub, Loggly, SendGrid Marketing Email
Unspecified
CloudFlare
43 Ratings
Score 9.4 out of 101
TRScore

CloudFlare Reviews

CloudFlare
43 Ratings
Score 9.4 out of 101
Show Filters 
Hide Filters 
Filter 43 vetted CloudFlare reviews and ratings
Clear all filters
Overall Rating
Reviewer's Company Size
Last Updated
By Topic
Industry
Department
Experience
Job Type
Role
Reviews (1-10 of 10)
  Vendors can't alter or remove reviews. Here's why.
Joshua Dickson profile photo
August 14, 2018

"CloudFlare Review!"

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
CloudFlare is a fantastic service, and we use many of its free and paid offerings. CloudFlare's core product offering is a CDN solution, and is unique in that it offers a free service tier that includes its CDN edge locations and free SSL termination. CloudFlare also has a number of more SMB/Enterprise features, again, primarily through its CDN, with its focus being on supporting uptime for customers.
  • CloudFlare's free CDN and free SSL tier are both great tools for those who are new to web development
  • CloudFlare's basic product includes basic DDoS protection
  • CloudFlare's cost structure is well-suited to most applications; there is a tremendous amount of functionality available on the free and $20/mo tiers
  • CloudFlare has expressed that it can be politically motivated, removing content from its system that its CEO did not agree with
  • CloudFlare's SSL termination arrangement can be difficult for new developers to understand -- particularly if it is setup in a way where traffic from CloudFlare to the origin is not protected by SSL. Its explanation of how this works is not user-friendly and over-emphasizes convenience over security.
We use CloudFlare primarily in situations where we need a simple-to-use, free or cheap CDN. For most uses that are deeper integrated into other services, we tend to select offerings from Amazon, Google, or Microsoft Azure, as those tend to work better with other products from those companies.
Read Joshua Dickson's full review
Dave Stack profile photo
August 01, 2018

Review: "Cloudflare - Lightning Fast DNS and Easy to Use"

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
I use CloudFlare as the DNS server for my domains. CloudFlare provides fast DNS and also mask the IP address of our domain making it less likely to have DDoS attacks.
  • Very Fast
  • Intuitive Interface easy for managing multiple domains
  • Nice add-ons such as a CDN and included at no extra cost SSL certificates
  • Would love to see wildcard domains available in lower cost plans.
CloudFlare is great if you are looking for a fast DNS service that will mask your IP address.
While I use a paid plan, their free tier is amazing and should not be discounted or overlooked if you are just getting started.
Read Dave Stack's full review
Michael Stein profile photo
July 05, 2018

User Review: "Confident with CloudFlare"

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
CloudFlare security puts a 'virtual shield' around your website. In an era where the cloud is becoming the preferred way to deliver content, CloudFlare secures and improves the performance of your website as well. Their DDoS protection allows you to prevent attacks without changing hardware, software or website code.
  • DDoS Attacks
  • Prevents false positive loads
  • Compression and minification for improved request load time
  • IP reputation-based monitoring system
  • Serving cached resources directly from physical memory
  • Real-time visibility and control
  • Protection of non-web infrastructure services (FTP, SMTP, VoIP, etc.)
CloudFlare is one of the very few CDN service providers that offer a robust, free CDN service for all its users. The best part about it is that you don’t need to pay a dime for it irrespective of how much traffic your site’s generating, which is a proposition that’s hard to beat.
Read Michael Stein's full review
Felix Rufus Nadar profile photo
August 17, 2018

CloudFlare Review: "Best CDN Ever. Secure & Cost Effective."

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We are using CloudFlare as DDOS blocker, SSL for websites and many small internal features for performance boost. Its being used across the whole organization.
  • Best DNS Manager.
  • SSL and CDN are awesome for websites.
  • Detailed Analytics of Data captured when user visits Website.
  • Customer support and community is active and responds fast.
  • Customer Support via Phone Call and Other instant Chat features.
  • For our developer, caching was creating problem which created a downtime of the website for 30 min. So aching is an area where you need to focus if you are working with a dynamic website.
  • Options to Select region for Customized CDN.
I already did, I even recommended it to a few startup companies. Also I will definitely recommend it if a friend is working on some blogs or website of his own.
Read Felix Rufus Nadar's full review
Tarun Mangukiya profile photo
June 27, 2018

CloudFlare Review: "Best tool for your website security and CDN services"

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
CloudFlare is being used on our website and many other websites that we've worked on. It's a very good product to protect our websites and manage DNS.
  • Best DNS Management
  • CDN for static assets
  • CloudFlare Free SSL
  • Hiding my original IP to protect my web server
  • Always on Mode: Showing cached pages when my server is down
  • Protection from DDoS and many other threats
  • Apps
  • Many more...
  • I don't think I've found any points where CloudFlare is having missing points, they are continuously improving the product.
It does all the things that one web administrator requires starting from DNS management to Always on Mode.
Read Tarun Mangukiya's full review
No photo available
April 03, 2018

CloudFlare Review: "DNS and CDN free service"

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use CloudFlare as our DNS service with SSL support.
  • Simply add and configure as many subdomains as you want
  • Manage cryptography settings for your website (SSL)
  • Easyly configure CDN for each subdomain
  • When we change domain settings (SSL for example) they are not set immediately, but we need to wait some hours. Sometimes this has been an inconvenience.
DNS configuration with very easy CDN settings. Also you can use free SSL CloudFlare certificates and it is very easy to configure.
Read this authenticated review
Chris Putnam profile photo
June 27, 2017

CloudFlare Review: "Your Site - Burning Through the Sky"

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use CloudFlare for many client sites. It provides a quick and easy performance layer and SSL. It is a very quick solution for sites that need a bit of a performance boost in the frontend and/or an SSL certificate, and either has server or budget limitations that prevent other solutions.

  • Caching
  • Redundancy
  • SSL
  • DNS Management
  • CDN
  • Security
  • User Interface - clunky when managing multiple sites in the same account
  • Error catching/logging - sometimes difficult to troubleshoot non-standard situations
  • Page Rules - great feature, very versatile, but could be more intuitive
Great for small, simple sites with few non-standard situations. Good for WordPress and other CMS/Frameworks that have a pre-built plugin. Otherwise, you may need some expertise or assistance to configure and troubleshoot your particular situation. The more dynamic the site in terms of backend interaction, the more chance for these types of situations. Also, watch out for server firewalls which can block CloudFlare's IPs and cause problems. Ideally, you'll need access to update these settings or a responsive and helpful hosting support.
Read Chris Putnam's full review
Joey Yax profile photo
February 21, 2017

CloudFlare Review: "Must have for any website or web app"

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
CloudFlare is used on every website we build except in the rare circumstance a client is unable or unwilling to move their DNS. At a bare minimum CloudFlare's DNS management is better than anything I've seen from another registrar. Their free SSL certificates are a no brainer. The crowdsourced security measures can't be beat. I honestly don't know why someone wouldn't use CloudFlare-- even the free plan is quite powerful.
  • DNS management - Drop dead simple and fast interface, but not lacking on functionality
  • SSL Certificates - Easy and secure. Turning on SSL is as simple as pushing a button. There's no requirement to install anything on your server.
  • Crowdfunded security
  • CDN - CloudFlare uses a nonstandard CDN that automatically caches assets from your sites across the globe. This not only removes some straing on your own server(s) but speeds up the site for global users as well.
  • Multiple Users - It would be great to be able to have multiple users on one account.
  • Itemized Cache - Would love to see a list of files that have been cached by CloudFlare's CDN and when they will expire. Also nice to optionally remove one or more files from the cache.
I can't think of a scenario where CloudFlare isn't appropriate. The only time somebody shouldn't use it is if they have internal requirements prohibiting them from using alternate DNS managers. It can be slightly more cumbersome for a novice user to have to set up another account to manage their domain too, but it's 100% worth the few extra minutes to get this up and running.
Read Joey Yax's full review
Chris Gabriel profile photo
February 21, 2017

CloudFlare Review: "Fast setup and high reliability from a trusted CDN."

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
I am using Cloudflare to add another layer of security and reliability to my company website and services, both a front-facing website as a pass-through to a VPS. I value the easy to use dashboard and reporting it provides as well as the value its security provides.
  • DDoS protection
  • Security
  • Low-latency caching
  • Logging
  • Cache purging
Super fast implementation of CDN functionality and security. It is very easy to disable these features during development or for troubleshooting as well. The dashboard makes it easy to manage these features, especially the ones unnecessary for low-traffic situations.
Read Chris Gabriel's full review
Matt Lundstrom profile photo
May 25, 2016

User Review: "CloudFlare: Worth Looking Into"

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We provide our hosting customers free CloudFlare services integrated right into their control panel. The CloudFlare plugin allows budget-minded site owners a way to get CDN-like services for a fraction of the cost as a more robust traditional dedicated CDN service. It has added benefits like a web application firewall and several other useful features which are popular among it's users.
  • Extremely easy to set up. A click of a button in the case of GlowHost customers. If shopping direct, the setup may be a bit more involved, but it is typically a matter of updating nameservers or modifying an A record or two.
  • The web app firewall is managed, which means CloudFlare users do not have to be constantly updating security policy for their web sites. It is all done for them.
  • There is a bug when Free CloudFlare accounts coming from a cPanel host who have the CloudFlare plugin installed attempt to sign up for an account with CloudFlare directly.
  • They could/should reward their partners for paid accounts upgrades or free accounts which have converted to paid. Monetarily is one way, but it does not necessarily have to be money. Mentions and co-branding or other marketing would be nice as well.
CloudFlare is great for shared hosting customers and perhaps even SMBs. These comprise about 90% of the sites on the Internet so CloudFlare is a great solution for the majority of sites out there. Enterprise customers probably already have their own dedicated CDN solutions and in-house IT departments in place.
Read Matt Lundstrom's full review

CloudFlare Scorecard Summary

About CloudFlare

CloudFlare, from the company of the same name in San Francisco, provides DDoS security to business domains, as well as a content delivery network (CDN) and web application firewall (WAF).

CloudFlare Competitors

CloudFlare Technical Details

Operating Systems: Unspecified
Mobile Application:No