Hero, by Schoolmint

Hero, by Schoolmint Reviews

Do you work for this company? Learn how we help vendors

Reviews
(1-25 of 29)

Companies can't remove reviews or game the system. Here's why
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Hero is used to manage our school's PBIS, school culture, and discipline and accountability systems, as well as to track and examine data. We have had over an 85% reduction in tardiness and a 60% reduction in suspension, with the numbers improving every year. In the third year of implementation teachers assigned 50% fewer detentions than the first year. The results are dramatic.
  • The customer service is fast and friendly, and there is always someone available to meet a need.
  • The interface of the platform is very self-explanatory and user-friendly.
  • Hero is always seeking feedback and making improvements based on user needs.
  • There is still room for growth with the level of detail in the data reports.
  • Students have regular issues in remembering passwords and accessing their accounts.
  • They recently eliminated Homeroom, an online user community that rewarded us for participating. I got a lot of great ideas there, so this is unfortunate.
Hero is a great time saver for any busy school administrator. Students are able to use technology to earn positive points and also track and manage their own discipline. It is user-friendly and adaptable to the specific needs of the school. I love writing my own tracking codes and setting the action thresholds.
Someone is always available. I like being able to call, chat, or email as needed. There are also a lot of tutorials and webinars provided. Hero does a good job of providing tools for onboarding new users and customers as well. It is easy to find whatever information you are looking for.
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We used Hero to reward good behavior in our Middle School on a school-wide basis. We had a set of positive behaviors that would earn points aimed at teaching safe, responsible and respectful school citizenship. Students would receive a point for each of the target behaviors exhibited in each classroom on a daily basis. There was a deadline for accumulating points before a scheduled event for which they had to earn a certain amount of points in order to attend.
  • Hero provides various ways to be able to register the targeted behaviors.
  • Hero provides a user-friendly online interface.
  • Hero will tailor the program to meet your group's needs.
  • Clear interfacing app for entering points.
  • Hero had the Hero Homeroom where teachers could collaborate and receive rewards but that was discontinued. I think that a similar reward system for those who are supposed to be inputting information would be helpful, where consistency for the required input is rewarded. For example: teachers were to be recording points for all their students every period every day - if they received points for completing their input & could then choose to spend those points on rewards that would help encourage participation to make it more successful overall.
  • Too hands-off in making sure that implementation is as successful as possible.
  • Too techie for non-tech savvy people.
I would highly recommend this as long as you are able to get 90% or more buy-in. However, if there is not a MAJORITY buy-in I don't feel it will be successful. My colleagues and I found that classroom management was much improved in the classrooms of us who were sold on using it and used it with fidelity, adding extra intensives because of infidelity in other classrooms. It became obvious to the administration that the lack of buy-in was destroying the program outcome.
If we are talking about the support that Hero gives its customers, I found that whenever our Hero Coordinator asked for adjustments the company was right there making the adjustments that were needed to suit our situation.

If we are talking about the support of the customers for the Hero program, I would have to say that in my experience it diminished each year. At our school at the beginning there was a lot of participation, when we had an administrator who was excited about it and worked at helping the students buy-in. As the years went by, the teachers who found it helpful in their classroom management continued to use it with fidelity. The new teachers who were not familiar with it were not buying in because there was no longer an administrator who was excited about the possibilities. It became just one more thing that the new teachers had to learn and it was not a priority and so it became less effective each year.
Cecilia Liang | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Hero has made tracking basic behaviors like tardies and uniform violations super easy. The phone app, in particular, makes this process fast and easy.
  • Tracking basic behaviors.
  • Rewarding students in the moment with points.
  • Phone app makes scanning student IDs very fast, which saves time for instruction.
  • Sometimes the phone app freezes on an iPhone, and I have to close out of it before scanning another ID.
  • I also wish there was a way to export all rosters into an Excel file under the behavior tracking tab.
Hero is well suited for charter school systems with smaller classes. It is less appropriate for large public schools where the app freezes might make tracking behaviors overwhelming.
I have not personally reached out for improvement, but I hear that customer service is quick.
Greg Baker | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use Hero to track student behavior in our middle school.
  • Recognize and reward positive behavior.
  • Communicate with parents.
  • Provide school-wide data.
  • More report options.
If you can afford it, Hero is a fantastic behavior management system for schools.
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Hero is used by my entire organization as a positive incentive for our students. Teachers create their own hero menu for their classrooms and can assign points to students for whatever they choose. The administration team can also assign points to students. It is an incentive to reward positive behavior and allows students to purchase stuff like school swag or entrances to a game. It is great for our students since we serve a low-income area and the students struggle to have money for entrance to gaming events or school merchandise.
  • It is very organized.
  • Easy to assign points.
  • Great reports to track usage.
  • None that I see.
  • NA
  • No concerns.
It can be used in a variety of settings, no reason for it not to be considered appropriate.
Sabine Phillips | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
The teachers at Crystal Lake Middle use Hero to track positive student behavior at our school. Students receive incentives and rewards for accruing Hero points over the course of a nine-week period. Our points are described as Cougar Power Points and the displayed behaviors for which we reward our students include: Peers helping peers, arriving to class on time, arriving to class early, following the unified dress code, completing homework and/or classwork, and turning in lost items. Students and parents can track their points using the Hero app, and we heavily promote that our students work to get Cougar Power Points.
  • The Hero system is very easy to use and very easy to monitor.
  • Reports are emailed to me weekly that track the behaviors that have been logged in by my teachers and staff which is very helpful.
  • Customer service from the Hero staff has been excellent and their response to any concerns or questions is addressed within 24 hours.
  • I am always looking for costs to be lower, so that would be my only request.
The Hero system is a great program to use school-wide especially in large schools like mine with over 1400 students.
October 30, 2018

Our Hero System

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use Hero at our High School to progressively promote proper behaviors more so than negative ones. We feel that the students who are always doing the right things often get overlooked and are under appreciated. Hero allows us to reward those students who get it right most or all of the time so that they get put into the forefront.
  • Hero has helped to cut down on tardiness and the need to leave the room for bathroom breaks.
  • Students who have been recognized in front of the school for doing what is right feel a sense of pride and continue to do even more good.
  • Recognizing positive behaviors makes the students focus more on doing right. Giving out prizes is a good incentive.
  • Students need to have direct online access to picking their prizes based on the points they've earned. It will give more focus on doing what's right.
  • Teachers need to have the ability to create their own positive rewards in the system based on their subject area.
  • Is there a way to have the system remember your username so you don't have to type it out every time you sign in?
Hero does actively reward the positive behaviors in students. It also promotes more positive behaviors in students who have had some challenges before. In this technology heavy world, the students need more direct online access. This will allow them to see their progress, see the rewards they want and work at achieving them. Even if they behave just for the prize, eventually they will see how productive positive behavior can really be.
James Buynar | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Hero is used school wide at my site. Hero is being used to track tardiness throughout 1300 students on a daily basis. In addition to tracking tardies, Hero is used as a positive behavior program. Students are assigned positive points for doing tasks that are wanted and points are deducted for tasks that are not appropriate. Once students accumulate enough points, they can cash in for rewards and prizes.
  • Hero gets students to class on time. We had a terrible problem with tardiness and Hero has allowed us to cut our tardies by 70% for the year.
  • Hero gets students participating in class. When students know they are rewarded for participation, they really start participating.
  • Hero gets students treating others with kindness. Students initially treated students with respect for points, but they continue to do so, at least in my classroom.
  • The scanner function on the mobile application could be improved
  • The reports function from the website could have more filters, but it gets the job done.
  • The forgot password function does not work. If a teacher forgets their password, the system administrator has to go in and reset it.
Hero is a fantastic tool for teachers to manage bad behavior and support good behaviors from students. Tardies are usually a huge problem for teachers of any level. With Hero, they can track tardies electronically. Teachers can also enter points for classroom disruptions easily. This allows for the learning atmosphere not to be interrupted to a large degree.
October 17, 2018

HERO

james witcombe | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
It is used to help with attendance and reward students for great classroom behavior. A majority of our teachers are using this product on a daily basis. There are a few teachers that have not bought into the program, however the majority of teachers who use this product have noticed a huge change in their students. I love this product due to the fact that students have the ability to see their progress and are rewarded for great behavior. Not all students care about Hero points, but I would say 90 percent do. This product addresses in class behavior as well as helping out with attendance issues.
  • Encourages students
  • Tracks detentions
  • Helps reduce tardies
  • Encourages school-wide spirit
  • Not all teachers use it
  • Not all students care about points
  • Some teachers use it ineffectively
  • To help students that need extra encouragement, and improve the attendance rates at school, we have seen great improvements and I would highly recommend HERO to all educators; it takes time and buy in but it will work. The key is to get more teachers to buy into the program.
October 16, 2018

Tardy Elimination Hero

James Harris | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Hero is being used site-wide at our High School. I estimate teacher participation varies from week to week between 70-99%. I estimate because I am not an admin and do not have access to site-wide data.
  • tracks positive student behavior site-wide. This is good because I think a lot of students feel they are ignored as teachers focus on the "problem kids". Hero makes it easy to acknowledge the students for doing what they are supposed to do on a daily basis.
  • tracks tardies sitewide. by pairing this with daily tardy sweeps it keeps kids from slipping through the cracks. Kids can't learn if they are not in class. This makes them acknowledge the impact/cost of being late to class.
  • by tracking all of this sitewide, admin is able to look for patterns and encourage more teachers to use a positive reward system. Also gives teachers access to a positive reward system without the cost and effort of maintaining a false economy (points, teacher "bucks" etc) and stocking rewards
  • prints a pass for tardy students so we know they have checked in. Downside, special printers and special paper required for them.
  • for me, it really comes down to making it easier to award points. On the desktop website for awarding Hero points, they need to streamline the process for awarding points. Currently, it requires one click too many in my opinion.
  • on the desktop website, more options for awarding points eg: 1. double points option. 2. on the class page make it possible to reselect the previous selection... like when you award a point to everyone present for being on time, make it possible to reselect that group. 3. A seating chart option would be super cool also.
  • on the mobile app, add the behavior tracking by class option from the desktop website. I know that would probably be a lot of pinching and scrolling and zooming for most but still be cool to have that option. My Galaxy Note would probably be big enough to make it worthwhile.
I work at a public high school that had a big tardy problem. Some said this would not work at our age group but we jumped in with both feet and have seen amazing and undeniable results that anyone could see who was on campus before implementation. This is good for organizations that want to acknowledge the ones who are doing what they are supposed to do while still taking care of the problems. Could possibly even be used for a business to enable managers to promote desirable behaviors such as early to work, good customer service, specific target behaviors ex "always ask if they want their receipt" etc.
September 07, 2018

Hero Review!

Catherine Burke | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Hero is an amazing, positive reinforcement program used amongst educators within my working environment. Those of us who use Hero strive to foster a sense of responsibility and accountability within our students through the reinforcement of appropriate behaviors. Through Hero, tardiness and general off task behavior have continued to decrease alongside an increase in student morale and confidence.
  • Decreased tardiness
  • Increased student efficacy
  • Increased student engagement
  • Tracking multiple students
  • Interactive student-teacher dashboard
  • Rewards for students through the Hero app
Hero is well suited for school environments of all kinds, but particularly for those where tardiness and off task behaviors continue to negatively impact instruction.
August 20, 2018

Hero ROCKS

Katarina Juarez | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Hero is used by teachers and administrators to reinforce positive student behaviors. It is part of our system of Positive Behavior Intervention Strategies that we use to encourage students to improve their attendance, their class participation, and their kindness with other students.
  • Encourages students to be on time for class.
  • Encourages greater class participation.
  • Promotes student kindness.
  • I would love to see the option for students to see their progress toward earning certain prizes.
Hero is great for classroom use with students of all ages and skill levels.
October 30, 2018

HERO

Gabrielle Bishop | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Hero is being used at my school as a positive behavior system. The entire school is implementing Hero, from the administrators down to the office clerks. The problems that it addresses are trying to change the behaviors of students who do not act favorably, and also tackle the attendance problems in the school.
  • Hero is a great way for students to earn points and be able to use the points for incentives.
  • One area for improvement with Hero, is finding an easier way for students to track their own points.
One particular scenario were Hero was well suited is targeting specific behaviors, for example, making sure the students wear their identification cards every day. If they do, they will get points. Not only is wearing the ID helpful, it also lets us identify anyone who does not belong on campus.
October 16, 2018

HERO-At Park

Angela De La Barrera, MSW | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Hero is being used school wide to improve attendance and behaviors. It has been a great incentive for students.
  • It has helped us reduce tardies and absences with students
  • It has helped spread kindness throughout our school
  • It has helped with parent/student involvement in meetings and events.
  • I wish I could give more than one point at a time
  • Sometimes the app doesn't load quickly
Hero is appropriate when used for attendance and extra help from students. It is less appropriate for the discipline.
October 16, 2018

Be a Hero

Jenny Cotton | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
The Hero program is used by teachers to reinforce positive student behaviors and administrators use it for both positive [behavior] and tracking tardies. It is part of our system of Positive Behavior Intervention to encourage students to improve their on-time attendance to class, in-class participation, and their kindness with other students and staff.
  • One stop place to track data
  • Easy to use
  • School-wide participation
  • Ability to track several behaviors at once
  • Create a class
It rewards students that are doing the right thing just because.
September 07, 2018

Hero Review

Brooke Tobin | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Hero is being used to track tardies and positive behavior. It is being used by the entire school. It addresses students being tardy to class.
  • Hero is being used to encourage students to get to class on time.
  • Hero tracks and organizes this behavior.
  • I don't know of any improvements that could be made.
The responsibility of tracking tardies is taken off of the teacher.
April 23, 2018

Hero has potential!

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Hero is currently being used at our Middle School. I can only assume that a lot of the teachers are using it because students' points are increasing daily. Some of the participation data is shared with us by our school's vice principal who is the person responsible for implementing the program in our building.
  • Helps to reduce tardies and absences in classroom.
  • Helps to engage students in activities when points are involved.
  • Administrators and parents are able to access instant classroom data to check in on their child/student.
  • Teachers are only able to access behaviors for students. I wish there was a feature that would allow teachers to possibly track students assignments/work.
  • Teachers should be able to select how many points they would like to give a student, instead of just being able to give 1 point at time. The task of giving students multiple points can be very time consuming.
  • Sometimes the system seems to freeze. I don't know if that's due to the site itself or our building's internet speed.
I think the program has great potential. I think students would be even more involved if they were able to have a more interactive engagement with Hero directly. Most students don't know how many points they have, unless teachers provide it to them. If there was a way to provide students with instant points checking, tardies, or incentives, I think they would be more inclined to show interest in the program.
Brittany Brodo | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
HERO is a program used to help assist as a classroom management tool, to promote better behaviors within the classroom and school. The whole school is using this program to help battle tardies, cuts, discipline problems on a smaller scale, all while rewarding those who go above and beyond.
  • This program helps curtail negative behaviors found within the school and classroom.
  • This program allows teachers and administrators to try and curtail negative behaviors found within the classroom and the school.
  • HERO promotes positive reinforcement to students who are on task or going above and beyond.
  • This program is user friendly and aesthetically pleasing.
Hero is perfect for the classroom or school that may have some behavioral issues. It helps keep students and teachers accountable for what is going on.
May 03, 2018

Hero Review

Valerie Tapia | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Hero has been great at changing our school culture and providing positive feedback to our students. This has given them motivation to continue to do well for positive praise.
  • Tracking
  • Easy to use
  • Simple website
  • Glitches
  • More options for bulk entering
It is great for schools of all grade levels.
April 20, 2018

Hero

Marlowe Croskrey | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use Hero to keep track of student tardies, and both positive and negative behaviors. Hero will assign students' detention based on the number of tardies and the number of times students don't bring their IDs.
  • tracks student tardies
  • auto assigns detention
  • offers incentive opportunities
  • incentives for parents to use it
Hero is great for keeping records of student behavior and attendance.
April 18, 2018

Very Nice!

Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use Hero throughout our whole school district. We use it to track tardy students, as well as assign consequences from those tardies.
  • Hero tracks each student individually.
  • All teachers in the building have access to Hero
  • Each action has a consequence printed right on their pass.
  • Hero seems to crash or freeze up quite frequently.
  • I would like to be able to have more than one list for students. We have special education students who are on a different tardy plan and we have to change each student individually as it comes up since there is only one list.
Hero is great to track tardies and positive behavior in a large school or somewhere that has chronic tardies in the building. A smaller school that doesn't have these issues might not want to use Hero.
April 17, 2018

Hero

Rita Vander Stad | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
It is being used in the classroom for teachers to give them an initiative to do better in school. When they are doing well they receive positive points. When they cut class, don't wear school uniform, show up tardy, or don't wear their ID then they can receive negative points. This gives them the incentive to do better. Attached to the points are prices such as dress down days.
  • Classroom Management
  • Behavior Management
  • Incentive
  • Doesn't always work well with Power Teacher
It helps motivate the students to do better.
April 17, 2018

Helpful HERO

Scott Ryan | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We utilize HERO across the school for tracking target behaviors and rewarding students.
  • Tracks behavior easily.
  • Allows rewards as well as consequences.
  • Focuses on positives.
  • Reports can use more modification.
  • Needs to communicate two ways with other software.
  • Individual user reports need to be more user friendly.
I use HERO daily for recording student consequences for behaviors that typically used to cost me class time.
August 02, 2019

Do you need a Hero?

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Hero is being used within our entire school. All of the teachers use Hero to track and positively manage and reinforce student behavior. The students and parents use Hero. Additionally, our administration utilizes Hero. Including the secretarial staff, janitorial staff, the kitchen staff, as well as the support staff. We will be beginning our third year of using Hero this upcoming academic school year.
  • Tracking tardy behavior quickly across settings.
  • Tracking positive behaviors.
  • Intentionally rewarding positive behaviors immediately for all students.
  • Quickly alerting alarming behaviors.
  • Allowing for all students to be successful throughout the day across all settings.
  • Allows all staff to reward all students for exhibiting positive behaviors.
  • Have to pay extra to get the portable scanner, otherwise, you need to use your personal cell phone or a computer.
  • Takes too much time to individually input each students point (mass input for multiple points would be faster).
  • Not all teachers are actively rewarding points, so there is an imbalance.
I think it is appropriate in all scenarios, as long as there is full staff to help with support and implementation. When there is an imbalance of implementation, it renders the program less powerful. The entire staff needs to be speaking the same language so that the students see a united front. The staff needs to keep up the gusto and excitement all year, not just at the beginning so that things do not become too mundane. Therefore, pre-planning the year may be necessary, where events can be pre-thought and tasks pre-assigned. This keeps things exciting for the staff as well as for the students.
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Hero is used through our entire school for multiple purposes. It is for tardy tracking, positive points, point banking and spending at our school store, and detention tracking.
  • Behavior tracking.
  • Detention management.
  • PBIS Community.
  • There aren't many areas where I would suggest improvement. They are responsive, helpful, have a great community help forum, and the interface is pretty user friendly.
Hero is used school wide as a part of the PBIS programming. It allows us to track behaviors, tardies, detentions, and teacher comments all in one place. There is an option for printing passes for students with a separate machine that plugs into phones and computers and makes it all even more convenient. Positive points can be coded for different purposes including special codes for school wide initiatives.
Their support team is quick and responsive. They offer webinars and direct chats for any help you may need or want.

What is Hero, by Schoolmint?

Hero is student behavior management software for K-12 schools and districts, from Schoolmint. Hero's goal is to enable consistent redirection of negative behavior, reinforcement of positive behavior and communication between educators, students, parents, and administrators across classrooms school and district-wide. Features include positive behavior tracking tools, referral and tardy management, school event management, behavior analytics data, etc.

Hero, by Schoolmint Pricing

Hero, by Schoolmint Technical Details

Operating SystemsUnspecified
Mobile ApplicationNo

Frequently Asked Questions

What is Hero, by Schoolmint's best feature?

Reviewers rate Support Rating highest, with a score of 8.7.

Who uses Hero, by Schoolmint?

The most common users of Hero, by Schoolmint are from Enterprises and the Education Management industry.