TrustRadius
Oracle Database 12c is a relational database software solution offered by Oracle.https://dudodiprj2sv7.cloudfront.net/product-logos/t8/Xe/HA2RM1FJ1Q2M.pngSuper duperOracle is a great battle tested software that is used in our engineering department to enable the team to add, modify, update, and manipulate existing and new data that is gotten from clients. It is simple to manipulate and integrate to applications, and the best part is that it allows multiple connections,Oracle database is battle tested and has been in the industry for a long time, meaning they have a good understanding of the markets demands. Oracle database is secure and ensures that user data is not tampered with through prompt updates. Peer to peer communities are available to help solve almost all problems that one may be facing.,Oracle database documentation is so wide that it may be discouraging to people who don't like reading. Oracle database is quite expensive and not ideal for companies that are starting up. The database takes up a lot of space.,8,Oracle has had a positive ROI as it made the return on Investment within the first two years of deployment. With our clients aware that we are using Oracle, they have more confidence with us and are willing to engage in larger partnerships.,Not a member of any user groups,MariaDB,Oracle Java SE, NetBeansOracle Database 12c: one of the best enterprise data storage solutionsOracle Database, has been used as the Enterprise Data Storage solution for many years in our company. Even today, when a lot of new NoSQL database products pop up, more than 80% of corporate and regional data is still stored in Oracle Database. Oracle Database serves us well in most of the business use cases, performance wise and stability wise, in different domains like operation, clearance, reporting and post ops analysis.,We have databases in two data centers geographically located in different places in our region. The Oracle 12c Data Guard feature makes sure the data instance is synchronized in a near real-time manner from the primary instance to the standby instance, across the data centers to provide data center level failure resilience. Database instance's high availability is guaranteed by the RAC feature, which also helps us scale up resources like servers, CPU and memory. Performance tuning toolset provided by Oracle Database is quite handy. The security feature is extremely important for our company, and we are quite happy about what is offered by Oracle Database.,Oracle DB doesn't work very well for dealing with a large amount of time series based data rows performance wise. The traditional primary/standby mode of data guard architecture, causing half of the resources (Stand-By side) to be idle most of the time and become a wasted investment. In the future, the near real-time data sync should be made available on the standby side and should allow the read-only operation, so at least business can use the resources for data analytic purposes. That will be great When traditional relational database architecture is challenged by the NoSQL Technics, in most of the case, the business or the end user is not looking for some "Oracle DB" replacement solution, instead, they are seeking a "hybrid" solution. As they get used to the Oracle environment and they like the ACID operation, what they are looking for the flexibility features that are provided by pure NoSQL products (like variable columns for different rows in the same table etc). Oracle has some improvements like security file on BLOB, but if Oracle can make more improvements aiming in this direction, that can bring more added value and retain a lot of old users For some use cases, we noticed that database performance deteriorating if we have relatively high active connection sessions,9,In the express industry, Oracle is still considered as the best and most reliable data storage solution The only negative point is also well known, the license cost of Oracle, making a lot of small or medium companies opt for some cheaper and open source solutions,Not a member of any user groups,MySQL, PostgreSQL, Cassandra and Neo4j,TensorFlow, Caffe Deep Learning Framework, HadoopMy Oracle 12c ExperienceWe use Oracle 12c across our entire organization on all our SAP applications.,Upgrade: Oracle 12c allowed us to upgrade 45 databases with no issues from 11.2 to 12.2 using DBUA. RAC: We were able to implement two 4 nodes Oracle 12c RACs on linux. The implementation was straight forward and similar to Oracle 11 but with fewer issues. Multitenant: Oracle 12c multitenant feature will allow us to run many more databases on the same hardware.,After upgrading to 12.2 we started receiving many ORA 600s. The fix was required us to reorg the offending table/indexes.,9,Stablility: Oracle 12c stability (besides some ORA-600 errrors) has been great. The ORA-600 required us to reorg some tables. Easy upgrade: The upgrade process to Oracle 12c using DBUA has worked flawlessly. OEM: Integration of our Oracle 12c databases with OEM has been great. No issues or patches needed with OEM 13.2. We performed a hardware refresh in conjunction with our Oracle 12c upgrades. We upgraded to Redhat Linux 7, consolidated to less (but more powerful hardware), and upgraded to Oracle 12c. We also moved to new flash storage in the process.,Not a member of any user groups,Microsoft SQL Server and DB2,SAP Business Warehouse, Oracle Hyperion Enterprise Performance ManagementOracle Database 12c - Bang for the buckWe use Oracle Database12c as a backend to PeopleTools to run the university; we also have other independent applications that run on Oracle Database 12c as well.,We have data guard running to keep our standby databases current as a failover for our production environments. This setup runs very smooth and strengthens our confidence that the systems will be available even in the event of an outage. The performance of Oracle Database 12c for the processing of data and reporting is fast in all of our environments across the board from small to very large.,Would like to see improvements in the area of reclaiming free space in the table spaces after a purge of data or large delete.,9,The stability of Oracle Database 12c has been incredible, we have very few issues with the databases and have had very few bugs since going to 12c.,Not a member of any user groups,Oracle Enterprise Manager, Toad for Oracle, Oracle PeopleSoft SCMOracle 12cOracle Database 12c is used across the whole organization as the preferred RDMS software upon which all big data analytics are based and executed from. The software is reliable and helps us manage our big data, including data saved from our clients, and also execute other roles, such as back-up and restoration, easily and without major challenges.,It's reliable and executes its function without major hiccups and shutdowns Increases data security, especially the confidential information obtained from clients, and prevents unauthorized access Integrates well with other Oracle family software, thereby improving the business process agility and outcomes,Sometimes its inhibited by poor internet connections or when there is an internet shutdown Requires a practitioner who is conversant with Oracle Database software to get the best out of the software,9,Oracle 12c is appropriate for large-scale enterprise applications where data availability, integrity, disaster recovery and efficiency is important. It is not well suited to smaller organizations with small data sets and less need for immediate disaster cutover. The license cost for an Oracle 12c database installation makes it not relevant for small installations or smaller applications, while the support of Oracle and data archival and maintenance make a large installation well worth it.,Not a member of any user groups,,Azure SQL Database
Unspecified
Oracle Database 12c
576 Ratings
Score 8.8 out of 101
<a href='https://www.trustradius.com/static/about-trustradius-scoring' target='_blank' rel='nofollow'>trScore algorithm: Learn more.</a>TRScore

Oracle Database 12c Reviews

<a href='https://www.trustradius.com/static/about-trustradius-scoring#question3' target='_blank' rel='nofollow'>Customer Verified: Read more.</a>
Oracle Database 12c
576 Ratings
<a href='https://www.trustradius.com/static/about-trustradius-scoring' target='_blank' rel='nofollow'>trScore algorithm: Learn more.</a>
Score 8.8 out of 101
Top Rated Award
Show Filters 
Hide Filters 
Filter 576 vetted Oracle Database 12c reviews and ratings
Clear all filters
Overall Rating
Reviewer's Company Size
Last Updated
By Topic
Industry
Department
Experience
Job Type
Role

Reviews (1-25 of 61)

  Vendors can't alter or remove reviews. Here's why.
Allison Mills profile photo
October 08, 2018

Oracle Database 12c Review: "Super duper"

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Oracle is a great battle tested software that is used in our engineering department to enable the team to add, modify, update, and manipulate existing and new data that is gotten from clients. It is simple to manipulate and integrate to applications, and the best part is that it allows multiple connections
  • Oracle database is battle tested and has been in the industry for a long time, meaning they have a good understanding of the markets demands.
  • Oracle database is secure and ensures that user data is not tampered with through prompt updates.
  • Peer to peer communities are available to help solve almost all problems that one may be facing.
  • Oracle database documentation is so wide that it may be discouraging to people who don't like reading.
  • Oracle database is quite expensive and not ideal for companies that are starting up.
  • The database takes up a lot of space.
Oracle database is a great software and is ideal for large organizations that have a lot of data to store. The software ensures security, for example in the banking industry where it is critical to ensure that data does not fall into the wrong hands. However, it is not viable to use Oracle Database in small projects.
Read Allison Mills's full review
yixiang Shan profile photo
December 20, 2018

Review: "Oracle Database 12c: one of the best enterprise data storage solutions"

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Oracle Database, has been used as the Enterprise Data Storage solution for many years in our company. Even today, when a lot of new NoSQL database products pop up, more than 80% of corporate and regional data is still stored in Oracle Database. Oracle Database serves us well in most of the business use cases, performance wise and stability wise, in different domains like operation, clearance, reporting and post ops analysis.
  • We have databases in two data centers geographically located in different places in our region. The Oracle 12c Data Guard feature makes sure the data instance is synchronized in a near real-time manner from the primary instance to the standby instance, across the data centers to provide data center level failure resilience.
  • Database instance's high availability is guaranteed by the RAC feature, which also helps us scale up resources like servers, CPU and memory.
  • Performance tuning toolset provided by Oracle Database is quite handy.
  • The security feature is extremely important for our company, and we are quite happy about what is offered by Oracle Database.
  • Oracle DB doesn't work very well for dealing with a large amount of time series based data rows performance wise.
  • The traditional primary/standby mode of data guard architecture, causing half of the resources (Stand-By side) to be idle most of the time and become a wasted investment. In the future, the near real-time data sync should be made available on the standby side and should allow the read-only operation, so at least business can use the resources for data analytic purposes. That will be great
  • When traditional relational database architecture is challenged by the NoSQL Technics, in most of the case, the business or the end user is not looking for some "Oracle DB" replacement solution, instead, they are seeking a "hybrid" solution. As they get used to the Oracle environment and they like the ACID operation, what they are looking for the flexibility features that are provided by pure NoSQL products (like variable columns for different rows in the same table etc). Oracle has some improvements like security file on BLOB, but if Oracle can make more improvements aiming in this direction, that can bring more added value and retain a lot of old users
  • For some use cases, we noticed that database performance deteriorating if we have relatively high active connection sessions
Oracle Database 12c is very suitable for the Enterprise to deal with well defined structured data, requiring a good balance between the data set and the query performance. It is also well suited for during data insertion time when it is hard to predict how the query will be made (index later strategy). If the business requires highly reliable transaction-based ACID operations and high-security standards, Oracle is one of the best options. While Oracle is not suitable for applying data analytic tasks to extremely large amounts of data (which is not Oracle's issue, it is SQL's limitation), a distributed solution like Hadoop or Cassandra should be considered.
Read yixiang Shan's full review
Kenneth Sparano profile photo
October 29, 2018

Oracle Database 12c Review: "My Oracle 12c Experience"

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use Oracle 12c across our entire organization on all our SAP applications.
  • Upgrade: Oracle 12c allowed us to upgrade 45 databases with no issues from 11.2 to 12.2 using DBUA.
  • RAC: We were able to implement two 4 nodes Oracle 12c RACs on linux. The implementation was straight forward and similar to Oracle 11 but with fewer issues.
  • Multitenant: Oracle 12c multitenant feature will allow us to run many more databases on the same hardware.
  • After upgrading to 12.2 we started receiving many ORA 600s. The fix was required us to reorg the offending table/indexes.
We upgraded to Oracle 12c to stay in support. This is especially critical for our SAP applications that run on the Oracle database. The upgrade process is pretty straight forward using DBUA (database upgrade assistant). Also, Oracle 12c Multi-tenant will allow us to run more databases on less hardware.

We didn't have any scenarios where Oracle 12c was not suited. We have upgraded all our Oracle 11 databases to Oracle 12c.
Read Kenneth Sparano's full review
Thomas Riley profile photo
October 24, 2018

Review: "Oracle Database 12c - Bang for the buck"

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use Oracle Database12c as a backend to PeopleTools to run the university; we also have other independent applications that run on Oracle Database 12c as well.
  • We have data guard running to keep our standby databases current as a failover for our production environments. This setup runs very smooth and strengthens our confidence that the systems will be available even in the event of an outage.
  • The performance of Oracle Database 12c for the processing of data and reporting is fast in all of our environments across the board from small to very large.
  • Would like to see improvements in the area of reclaiming free space in the table spaces after a purge of data or large delete.
When we have our disaster recovery tests each year the switchover to the standby databases is so smooth and efficient. We do this process with EOM13C and after the initial setup and configuration, it is almost automated.
Read Thomas Riley's full review
mathialagan A profile photo
October 24, 2018

Oracle Database 12c Review: "Oracle 12c"

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Oracle Database 12c is used across the whole organization as the preferred RDMS software upon which all big data analytics are based and executed from. The software is reliable and helps us manage our big data, including data saved from our clients, and also execute other roles, such as back-up and restoration, easily and without major challenges.
  • It's reliable and executes its function without major hiccups and shutdowns
  • Increases data security, especially the confidential information obtained from clients, and prevents unauthorized access
  • Integrates well with other Oracle family software, thereby improving the business process agility and outcomes
  • Sometimes its inhibited by poor internet connections or when there is an internet shutdown
  • Requires a practitioner who is conversant with Oracle Database software to get the best out of the software
Oracle Database 12c is well suited to companies involved with service delivery, especially those in banking, insurance, finance, human resource, e-commerce, and any others that collect crucial and confidential information from their clients and manage it in a database for later analysis and use in enhancing service delivery. On scenarios where it's less appropriate, I cannot fathom any as almost every business handles some data along its operations and will require to back it up or manage it in some way or another.
Read mathialagan A's full review
Jane Kabochi profile photo
October 17, 2018

Oracle Database 12c Review: "The reliable database software for use in your company"

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Oracle Database 12c is used across the whole organization as the preferred RDMS software upon which all big data analytics are based and executed from. The software is reliable and helps us manage our big data, including data saved from our clients, and also execute other roles, such as back-up and restoration, easily without major challenges
  • It's reliable and executes its function without major hiccups and shutdowns
  • Increases data security, especially the confidential information obtained from clients, and prevents unauthorized access
  • Integrates well with other Oracle family software, thereby improving the business process agility and outcomes
  • Sometimes its inhibited by poor internet connections or when there is an internet shutdown
  • Requires a practitioner who is conversant with Oracle Database software to get the best out of the software
Oracle Database 12c is well suited to companies involved with service delivery, especially those in banking, insurance, finance, human resource, e-commerce, and any others that collect crucial and confidential information from their clients and manage it in a database for later analysis and use in enhancing service delivery. On scenarios where its less appropriate, I cannot fathom any as almost every business handles some data along its operations and will require to back it up or manage it in some way or another.
Read Jane Kabochi's full review
Omar Faruq profile photo
December 14, 2018

Review: "Oracle database 12c comes with greater reliability, scalability and security"

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Ours is a software product development company (SaaS). All our databases including OLTP and Data Warehouse are on Oracle 12c. It is the most reliable, scalable, performance focused and manageable database available in the industry to the best of my knowledge and experience. It gave us the flexibility to scale easily and manage our complex requirements.
  • The Oracle optimizer is getting smarter in every Oracle release. In 12c, the adaptive query optimization features helped a lot to improve query performance.
  • In 12c, we can restore a single table from RMAN backups - it's a very useful and time-saving feature when we need to recover a particular software module.
  • I see the scope of improving the optimizer capabilities to automatically handle run-away queries better, meaning, if a SQL suddenly comes up with a bad execution plan, the database needs to be able to handle it smoothly, rather than affecting other SQL.
If there is a need of a scalable and most performing database, I would highly recommend Oracle 12c (and the latest releases).
Read Omar Faruq's full review
Nagabhushan Krishnappa profile photo
December 13, 2018

Oracle Database 12c Review: "It's the Oracle Rock in the Cloud Sky !!!"

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
It is used within the organisation. We face performance problems during heavy loads.
  • Parallel Querying
  • Optimizing the queries during execution
  • Better performance
  • CDB & PDB technologies
  • Gather stats collection
  • Parallel querying
  • Accessing the data from physical disks
CDB & PDB Architecture is very helpful for the business objectives.
Read Nagabhushan Krishnappa's full review
Olivier Ameryckx Oliva G. profile photo
November 19, 2018

Oracle Database 12c: "SE2 review"

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Reseller
Review Source
I use to recommend Oracle Database to my customers to have a better implementation of their database. I helped them to do the best decision, migration or upgrade. More the fact that I support them into their hardware solution in combination with SE2 database.
  • Fast database to run and easy to use
  • Reliable and consistent for implementation and no critical updates
  • The security and encryption options
  • SQL function with support for C library
  • Data and storage partition
  • Migration process
  • Upgrade of new releases
  • Core factor for enterprise edition with HW products
  • VMware clusters to licence
  • Support JSON
Oracle Database 12c is well suited for mission-critical applications or any application where high performance and reliability are required. It extends the application grid to database allowing access to enterprise data and applications in a good infrastructure environment.
Read Olivier Ameryckx Oliva G.'s full review
Mike Ngong profile photo
November 15, 2018

Oracle Database 12c: "12c quick review"

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Oracle 12c is the only Oracle production database we are currently utilizing. The single pluggable database has so far worked very well for us and we are considering licensing multiple pluggables as we grow.
  • Pluggable databases, as mentioned
  • Temporary undo
  • Invisible columns indexes
  • PGA limit
  • Identity columns
  • Multiple indexes on a single column
  • Cost
  • Optimizer could be better. Many times generating stats on individual objects throws the optimizer off . Rather than utilizing the older better stats it uses the newer bad stats for specific queries
  • Patching without taking down db.
  • Ways to change parameters and force them to stay without taking down db
  • OEM should be included in cost.
  • Hard to learn as a newbie.
  • Very expensive for startups
Not suited for very small companies especially as pluggables are becoming mandatory.
Read Mike Ngong's full review
Rafael Patiño profile photo
November 06, 2018

Oracle Database 12c Review: "Oracle, the robust core for our data!"

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
It’s being used in all the manufacturing plants in my company. We have at least 75 plants that use it for recording the traceability of the production units. This means that Oracle Database 12c is being used or it is going to be used (because we are moving to it) by the whole organization.
  • Backup and recovery
  • Performance
  • New features
  • Patch management
  • Upgrade process
  • Patch management
  • Support
  • Documentation
For our OLTP and DWH systems, it has been fulfilling all our requirements so far, this is in terms of availability, recoverability, performance and development. Of course, our Oracle databases have been so good for big databases but I think it shouldn't be used for small databases where the license and high hardware requirements can't be fulfilled.
Read Rafael Patiño's full review
Sherman, Trent profile photo
October 29, 2018

Oracle Database 12c Review: "Oracle 12C Autonomous Enterprise Solution"

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Oracle 12c is used as one of our main software platforms across the whole organization - as we are software as well, we validate our software to work with the newest releases.
  • Adaptive Plans - very nice.
  • Ability to do pluggable databases if desired.
  • I like the D&T Pack of OEM
  • Allow Developers better access to OEM.
  • Agent solution of OEM can cause slowdowns.
Good for enterprise, overkill for Mom/Pop shops.
Read Sherman, Trent's full review
Sirish Vadala profile photo
October 24, 2018

Oracle Database 12c Review: "Money Well Spent!"

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
[Our] Entire organizational data is placed in Oracle 12c. We, as an organization are extremely satisfied with the performance and the exceptional features Oracle provides.
  • Fast indexing data.
  • Supports clustered environment.
  • Various tools to handle the data.
  • Materialized views with extremely large datasets.
  • Backing up blobs and clobs.
  • Inserting huge amounts of data is somewhat slow as compared to IBM DB2
For any Java/JEE related application,s it’s extremely convenient with available JDBC drivers and exceptionally quick response time. If the data is huge, probably picking a big data solution would be more appropriate from a performance perspective.
Read Sirish Vadala's full review
Bhavana Aitha profile photo
October 24, 2018

Oracle Database 12c: "12c review"

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Oracle is a partner or approved vendor for AT&T, where I work. They are part of a series of on premises services used by our company.
  • Very stable
  • User friendly
  • Lots of people with knowledge
  • Blends very well with Java.
  • Very good service support
  • It's relational
  • Performance concerns
  • Backup concerns
Well suited with legacy systems and big data. Also with images and non rational files.
Read Bhavana Aitha's full review
Leopoldo Aguilera profile photo
October 24, 2018

Oracle Database 12c Review: "Oracle rules!"

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We are a bank, so we have a lot OLTP apps. Oracle addresses everything from a single payment to a POS or deposits.
  • Partitions
  • Backup and recovery
  • Performance reporting
  • Premium support
  • Auto partition drop is needed
  • Datapump direct integration with S3
  • Better archiving features
For OLTP apps it is the best, for XML/JSON payloads it doesn't perform quite as well.
Read Leopoldo Aguilera's full review
No photo available
October 29, 2018

Oracle Database 12c Review: "How we use Oracle at our Utility Company"

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We Oracle 12c for our GIS, Document Management and outage management systems (OMS). These are enterprise wide applications. There are a few other departmental databases that we use as well. In most cases, we use Oracle because the vendor of an application does not support SQL Server, which is the database we most commonly use.
  • Oracle rarely has issues or unplanned downtime. I have come across some bugs with older versions of Oracle, but these are usually related to false error reporting and are well documented.
  • Oracle has good and reliable performance. The design of separating the undo and the redo logs makes it so that we never have the issues of an uncommitted transaction filling up the redo and halting the database.
  • Oracle has good documentation available on their website. The Oracle support portal is usually the best place to get information when troubleshooting a problem.
  • Oracle does not integrate well with Microsoft Active Directory. From my understanding, in order to connect using LDAP, or integrate Active Directory users, we need to use Oracle's own LDAP product. I may be mistaken on this, but we have always resorted to using tnsnames and local Oracle users, because it doesn't seem easy to integrate with AD.
  • Some of the documentation is too wordy. Though I appreciate complete documentation, sometimes information is repeated. For example the RMAN documentation has overviews then the full content, so when I was trying to learn about it by reading through the whole document, I felt like it could have saved time for me if information was more concise.
  • Oracle patchset updates are somewhat tedious to install, which is why we don't do them that often. You need to make sure the OPatch software is updated, then you need to install the binaries, then run an update script on the database.
Well suited for critical applications that need high availability and robust security options.
Read this authenticated review
No photo available
December 11, 2018

Oracle Database 12c Review: "The best database that money can buy!"

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Oracle Database 12c is used by almost every team in the organisation. It is our primary RDBMS setup, and our entire tech stack is built around it. All our business applications and services run on top of Oracle Database 12c. The biggest benefit from using Database 12c is the reliability. In all the years of using any Oracle Database, we have seldom encountered issues that were solely database-centered.
  • High reliability. Zero hiccups!
  • Possibly the best data security money can buy
  • Allows single table restoration from backups (this feature is brilliant)
  • The handler for bad queries could be better
  • Compared to previous versions, Oracle 12c is a pretty heavy setup. If your business is considering an upgrade, ensure that you perform a pre-check of your systems' ability to work well with the requirements of 12c.
One of the best things about using Oracle Database 12c (or any Oracle Database) is that it integrated beautifully with other Oracle applications and products. If the tech stack of your organisation predominantly includes Oracle products, I would recommend that you blindly go for Oracle Database 12c as your primary RDBMS setup.
Read this authenticated review
No photo available
August 09, 2018

Oracle Database 12c Review: "Oracle 12c - Latest and Greatest"

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Oracle 12c is our enterprise level database that is used in conjunction with PeopleSoft to support out ERP needs like payroll, benefits, recruitment procurement, supply chain management etc. Since both PeopleSoft and 12c are Oracle products, they integrate well together and we receive great support for it. It is used across our whole organization and across other departments for their data storage, retrieval and management needs.
  • Data management: Oracle 12c does a great job in storing, retrieving and processing data.
  • Performance Management: We make uses of features provided with in Oracle Enterprise Manager as well as SQL tuning capabilities to manage out queries and closely monitor the performance.
  • Improved support experience compared to older version.
  • Easy to upgrade and maintain when coupled with the new features and security that is delivered for the most up to date version of Oracle.
  • Increased need to manage and maintain the databases in terms of performance for our project needs. Causing an overhead for DBAs and Developers.
  • Even though Oracle 12c has been around for multiple years and supports various features that are provided by other competitors, certain features are still missing.
  • No ability to perform some advanced analytics from within the database.
  • Difficulty integrating with non-Oracle products.
If you are tied into using Oracle for your business data storage needs, it will fully recommended you use the latest and greatest version of the software. And Oracle 12c is just that. It provides amazing support, new features and functionality, better security and ability to query, improved management of indexes by means of compression, and support for new data document standards like JSON.
Read this authenticated review
No photo available
October 29, 2018

Oracle Database 12c: "Review"

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Oracle 12c is used to support the shopping website of the organization, it's very robust, high performing and THE database is scalable to the needs of increasing traffic on the site. It addressed especially the problem with consolidating databases and scaling, much needed performance of apps using Oracle database.
  • Multitenant architecture has reduced the DB foot print and maintenance.
  • Refreshing test database from production has become affordable and manageable.
  • Restoring and recovering tables with Rman has become easy with 12c.
  • Like MySQL Oracle also should provide a way to manage both unstructured and structured Data in same DB.
  • More free training through OTN (self study videos) about 12c performance and how to adapt to it.
  • Plan stability without adapting to use SPM when upgrading to newer versions. SPM has caused problems like taking up too much memory in the DB server when implementing it to overcome the shortcomings of upgrade with optimizer behavior altering the performance. In a way a more adaptable approach would be beneficial for DBAs for upgrade not compromising performance which I think is one of the biggest challenges upgrading .
With multi-tenant architecture managing multiple databases under one roof has become easier. Cloning and patching has also become easier with 12c. On the other hand performance management post-upgrade has been an issue, choosing optimizer parameter to 12.1.0.2 post upgrade has become even tougher as plans kept changing and implementing SPM took up more memory. Looking for a better way to manage performance post-upgrade in future from Oracle.

Also running datapatch post-patching on a busy DB server is a nightmare as sometimes it would never complete and also unplugging and plugging DBs across clusters with different patch sets is a pain too.
Read this authenticated review
No photo available
October 26, 2018

Oracle Database 12c Review: "Oracle 12C"

Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Oracle Database is used by our organization, mainly as our shopping site backend. Many of our internal apps leverage Oracle database today. Speed and load are the main problems it addresses for us.
  • Oracle database is very fast and efficient, battle tested and has been in the industry for a long time, meaning they have a good understanding of the markets demands.
  • Security plays a major role. It ensures that data is not tampered with through prompt updates.
  • It is hard to administrate and critical for the business if it does get down, works perfectly with AIX and can be boosted with powerha or Oracle Rac. It's important to be with Oracle because you have big support and the liability that the database will always improving their performance.
  • Oracle is one of the biggest and more stable databases, but it's a kind hard to learn how to use it and administrate it. It becomes involved with many library's and files on the operating systems so you will have to have a good knowledge of Oracle and the OS.
  • The new oracle 12c is always getting updates and patches for improve their functionality and security, it can be used for little, middle, big and very big databases, if you are looking for a new implementation or migrating to Oracle is worth it, it is a little hard to understand and get knowledge, but after you got it, you will have speed on the queries and security of your data.
I love the quick and easy SQL. I know its not 100% standard, but outer joins with (+) are so much easier to read than "left join ... on ...". It is also easy to optimize and there are loads of parameters for all types of circumstances. I also like that I can set up DBLinks to for example SQL Server and write Oracle SQL that works against SQL Server. And I like the PL/SQL. One can write detailed and complex programs inside the Oracle database and its amazing how quickly they run. Oracle has got very big and it is difficult to keep up to date with all the different developments. I focus on the Oracle PL/SQL programming and I use Delphi for the front end. At the moment I am learning how to do REST inside the Oracle Database, and the documentation and set up is rather complex and it is time consuming to set up something that shouldn't be so complex. Oracle SQL Developer, the free DML and DDL tool that comes with Oracle is good, but slightly buggy and I much prefer Toad.
Read this authenticated review
No photo available
October 26, 2018

Review: "Oracle Database 12c best database to use with other Oracle products"

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Oracle Database 12c is currently being used by my department to support a virtual environment of VirtualBox. VirtualBox runs on Oracle servers, but the database where all the data for the Virtual Box environment including the specs, and configuration, and data is stored on Oracle servers but in the Oracle Database, for which we are currently using 12c. We were using an earlier version of Oracle Database, but we recently started the environment from scratch to make it a better experience over all.
  • It's quite stable, as it has been around for such a long time, and that too for obvious reason because it's good, and reliable.
  • It works well with many different products, and easy to integrate with new and upcoming products, along with old legacy products which definitely only work with Oracle.
  • Lots and lots of support and documentation for it, out in the world, easy to get help.
  • Not the best documentation. Like I said, there is tons and tons of documentation for it, so its only easy when you know what you are looking for. It's hard to browse through to get a simple solution.
  • Too expensive, and not affordable but all companies such as start ups, as licensing and support both are way too expensive.
  • Initial setup/config takes way too long. Even when you know what you're doing, it still takes multiple hours.
Oracle Database 12c is usually best suited to work with other Oracle products. No matter what Oracle product it may be, but it works quite well, as it can be integrated quite easily. There are lots of how-tos available for integrating with Oracle products, but outside of it, it isn't that easy, nor is there enough documentation. It is less appropriate in that case, as all products have a "preferred or suggested" database to use with it, and Oracle isn't the one for all products.
Read this authenticated review
No photo available
December 20, 2018

Review: "Oracle Database 12c: Recommended for critical data security"

Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Mostly, we found it very appropriate for one-to-one training sessions. It is very well secured, where firewalls and other content filters are activated, and thus it is extremely reliable. We used Oracle Database 12c in various department and it works great to support virtual environment. It can also be used to archive data.
  • It is robust and scalable.
  • Very easy to handle large quantities of data.
  • Different users can interact with Oracle Database using various tools and applications and thus it can run on a wide range of platforms.
  • It should be easy to use. If you haven't worked on any tool like this, then yes you may need assistance to use this.
  • The licensing cost is bit on a higher side.
  • Customization can be improved.
We found it very useful in Data Import and Export. It provides great tools to send data in and out of the database in quickly manner.
Read this authenticated review
No photo available
November 16, 2018

Oracle Database 12c Review: "Oracle 12c - The difference"

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
It is being used for the company business needs across the whole organization. Oracle 12c is very robust, highly reliable and stable with high availability. It is being used for financial accounting, online purchases; the backend database is also used for reporting and data processing. Also, several other in-house applications use Oracle Database 12c at the backend.
  • Highly Secure
  • Scalable
  • Oracle Database 12c has the new multitenant feature - where companies can consolidate multiple databases from different servers under a single container database thereby helping with cost cutting as well
  • Robust Backup and Recovery technology
  • Database Performance and Tuning Requires skills
  • Managing Social Media types of data
  • Always there are bugs and involves heavy maintenance
  • Well suited for all mission critical large scale businesses and applications and for documentation and social media data
Read this authenticated review
No photo available
November 12, 2018

Oracle Database 12c Review: "Have enjoyed being an Oracle DBA ..."

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We have Oracle databases from version 10 to 12. We built an all-new database on version 12, and we plan to upgrade 11 to 12. We use Oracle databases for PeopleSoft, Hyperion, and database warehouses.
  • Restore a single table through RMAN
  • Data redaction is a security feature we have been waiting to implement in our non-production environments
  • 'Generated as identity' column saves the effort of creating a trigger to track the sequence
  • JSON support is what the developers enjoy here in IT
  • The STATS of tables was off once a while, which caused performance degradation. I wish the auto STATS job can acquire more accurate table stats
  • Recommended SQL profile made performance even worse sometimes. I haven't got a chance to try it on Oracle 12c, maybe it works better now. We'll see.
  • I wish Oracle patching could be made easier. We have too many DBs and servers.
Oracle is the best DB for mission-critical OLTP applications. For read-only, reporting, light-loaded systems, people would want to consider MySQL to save license costs.
Read this authenticated review
No photo available
November 05, 2018

Oracle Database 12c Review: "Oracle 12c out of the box"

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
12c PDB’s allow separation of regional users and organizations to isolate performance and priority. Increased security of content with independent user accounts and access.
  • Resource management, balanced out of the box or controlled with features.
  • Improved data protection with PDB separation of content.
  • Easy movement of content.
  • GUI to manage users across PDBs but not Common Users.
  • Ability to identify parameters to sync across the PBDs.
  • GUI to compare resource balance.
Well suited: Application and User management granularity. Less appropriate: Complaints from user community, inability to sync password across PDBs.
Read this authenticated review

About Oracle Database 12c

Oracle Database 12c is a relational database software solution offered by Oracle.
Categories:  Relational Databases

Oracle Database 12c Technical Details

Operating Systems: Unspecified
Mobile Application:No