TrustRadius
Oracle Database 12c is a relational database software solution offered by Oracle.https://media.trustradius.com/product-logos/t8/Xe/HA2RM1FJ1Q2M.pngSr. Oracle DBA, working as an Oracle DBA for 20+ years since Oracle 7.3.4I upgraded all Oracle production databases (about 15 production databases) from 11g R2 to 12c R2. The Oracle 12c databases are used university-wide, and are really critical to the university business.,I believe other users have reviewed the pros already. I am addressing only the Cons of 12c R2.,SYSAUX tablespace grows rapidly. I didn't need to add space to SYSAUX last a few years in 11g. But after upgrading to 12c R2 12.2.0.1, SYSAUX grows daily, and I have to add space to SYSAUX regularly, about every 2 weeks. I am currently opening an Oracle SR and working with Oracle Support on this issue. Some of our small databases only use about 5GB excluding SYSAUX. But SYSAUX uses 5GB alone! Almost all universities (if not all) in the USA have been using Banner application. But Banner app users fail to log on 12c Release 2 databases after upgrading to 12c R2 from 11g because of an Oracle Bug related to password-protected profile. I applied an interim bug to work around this issue. However, since Oct 2018, the PSU patching will not work. I must rollback the interim bug, and then patch the PSU, and then apply the interim patch again to resolve the Oracle bug. I asked Oracle to include the interim in the PSU in Oct 2018. But up to PSU Jul 2019, Oracle didn't implement it yet!,9,Overall, the pros outweigh the cons.,No,Microsoft SQL Server and IBM Netezza Data Warehouse AppliancesOracle 12c usage feedback for financial sector firm.We primarily use Oracle in our organization, except for a few applications which use other databases like PostgresSQL, SQL Server, etc. Primarily DB is used to manage data for various applications all across the organization by multiple applications. Now, with some of the new applications, they are using some AWS or third-party databases as well.,First of all DB needs to be upgraded to Oracle 12c for support prospective from Oracle. Oracle 12 has some great features with respect to auditing. Keeping the data with respect to hot and cold rows is also a great features helping in managing data well.,It had installation issues where it needed to have a patch applied before installation could begin. Downloaded software should have been tested before providing it to the user. Oracle 12.1 was not very stable so we had to migrate it to 12.2 after some time.,9,Some time to get ROI we engage many applications tied to one application in the form of shared architecture. It has its pluses and minuses in terms of support. It will get better ROI if we have some support vendors, but at this time we have to deal with multiple vendors.,Not yet, but I'm interested in Oracle user groups,PostgreSQL, MongoDB and SQL Server Integration Services,Oracle eBusiness Suite, Oracle Enterprise Manager Cloud Control, Oracle Identity ManagementOracle and VSE CorpThe Oracle database is currently what houses our data in relation to our corporate ERP system. The database sits on an Oracle Database 12c appliance for ease of access and use. On the ODA, this Oracle Database 12c is 1 of 5. Also running in parallel are another five that run for production, testing, and development. This database and architecture were selected for performance and security reasons,Performance - We have several ERP systems all running on various platforms. By far the best performance in terms of consistency being up and available is our Oracle platform. To put into scale, out of all three platforms, since I have been employed, Oracle has not been down once, while the other two have been down multiple times, to the point that my attendance at OOW2019 is focused on migration from other platforms to Oracle. Security - The matter of security is huge. One of the biggest points in choosing an Oracle database and appliance over anything else is the security it provides in counter to anything else on the market.,Training - While there is an enormous amount of training available, there are still gaps in terms of availability for classroom-style learning. I have found it more effective to be in a classroom setting where one is held accountable at that moment in time as opposed to self-paced (pure personal preference). Cost - While we love the databases and appliances, the cost of maintaining is becoming an issue when competitors are coming in at such a lower point. Pushing this to a more profits oriented C-level makes justification difficult at times.,9,The main item to be pointed out for ROI is the lack of downtime that we personally have experienced.,Yes,,Microsoft SQL Server, DB2, Deltek CostpointAudit and Compliance Automation through Oracle 12cIt is being used across departments. We used it to automate our audit and compliance cases, as well as case management. This year we be implementing 100% of our case management, and all new audits will be worked in the system as well. Currently, 100% of our compliance cases are worked within the database.,An automated case management system has eliminated our duplication of effort in most instances. Having electronic work papers has allowed us to access other case files so we have access to more data saving us time and stopping the need for duplicate request. Our compliance cases are very task-oriented and the out of the box flow works very well with these cases.,From the audit perspective, we have had to customize a lot to meet our electronic work paper needs. We have quite a few open Oracle service requests that have been outstanding for years. The history around the completed task is lacking out of the box.,8,The automation has had a large ROI. Eliminating duplication of work has a very positive effect. Having access to other's work has doubled our efficiency.,No,Johnny Rotten's Oracle Database ReviewOracle Database 12c is being used to store data which is used to process and pay benefits for Canadian military veterans. It is used by the entire organization to provide services and financial support to still serving and released soldiers.,It is able to store large amounts of data in a structured environment making complex development and maintenance more manageable. It is able to perform large and complex queries required for display in front-end systems, for reporting purposes and for trouble-shooting. Oracle functions, procedures, and packages are very useful in developing complex functionality for display and input on the client-side. It is very transparent; the data is easy to access, see and understand, which is significant for troubleshooting and maintenance. Upgrades have been relatively painless.,SQL Developer is missing some of the easy to use GUI tools used to check dependencies, grants and synonyms, and other simple DBA functions used by developers. SQL Developer interface is slow, and code completion assistant is unresponsive at times. I would like to see a cleaner way to process data results without re-retrieving data in cursors. We are currently using object types.,8,It has helped our organization quickly and effectively provide benefits and services to current and retiring military personnel.,No,Oracle Java SE,Oracle SQL DeveloperMy experience with the new Oracle 12cOracle 12c is being used by DIR to create relational databases for transmission of CA workers comp claims. We use it to manage data regarding any occupational illness or injury. This includes doctors, patients, injury, and prescription information. We then run reports on the data to get analytics on various things like opioid usage and the amount of injured employees in California in a given month.,New bug fixes Easy for structure design Easy to switch from older Oracle versions,The current private/public cloud options are very black/white Performance was lacking in some cases as wait times increased In moving to 12c, there was a lot of workarounds needed for our current system to be fully functional,10,It has had mainly a positive impact by speeding up certain systems. It costs less than previous Oracle versions. It speeds up processing times by up to three times,No,Amazon Cloud Drive,Toad for Oracle, Oracle SQL Developer, Notepad++I Like itWe provide consultancy service to a company's different sectors. In my account, we service a company in the financial sector. We provide services such as change and incident management, we work on service requests to provide access and manage users privileges, and troubleshoot performance issues at the query level to avoid impacts on established SLAs.,Provide edge technology.,Customer support is sometimes bad and if the ticket is not high priority It could take a lot of time to be attended to.,10,By helping to set Exadata, a 12c environment customer had a competitive advantage by getting analytic data in almost real-time.,No,Microsoft SQL ServerTekvista's Oracle DB 12 c ReviewOracle Database 12 C is used by our entire organization. It is used for our data repository. Oracle 12c has number of features and easily scalable for enterpise requirements. Along with the features, support is provided for integration with different platforms which helps in building applications with different technologies possible.,Large set of data can be stored & retrieved easily Cloud based so can retrieve from anywhere, anytime,Difficult for beginners to learn Not optimized for low performance systems License is expensive,9,Was able to store data securely Large number of data was able to be set up in a systematic manner and was able to store and retrieve them easily,No,,Oracle Java SE, Oracle WebLogic Application ServerOracle Database 12c ReviewWe use Ellucian Banner for the college. The backend is an Oracle database. We are currently on 11.2.0.4 and are planning to upgrade to 12.2.0.1. I also have some databases on 12.1.0.2.,Easy to manage and maintain. Backup and cloning to development instances are easy. Restoring a full database or a particular table is easy. Performance was better compared to 11gR2.,Oracle LOBs is still an issue. Function-based indexes are still a problem Query optimization needs improvement.,9,We have a positive impact on the college.,Yes,Oracle Application Express, Oracle WebLogic Application ServerOracle Database 12c Rocks80-85 percent of data from the university is stored on an Oracle Database and all apps connect to our DB.,Recovery. Recovering the database is more reliable than any other I know of. Speed and performance. Reliable. Querying large amounts of data, fast.,Recovery of a database to a point in time needs to be easier.,10,I'm not sure on ROI, as I am not in position to make those decisions.,Yes,Microsoft SQL Server and PostgreSQL,Ellucian Luminis PlatformReview of Oracle Database 12cWe have multiple in-house developed systems using Oracle 12c Databases deployed at multiple levels.,Allows fast retrieval of large amounts of data. Stores many gigabytes of digital images. Is easy to maintain and restore.,The developer tools packaged with 12c require some enhancements for speed and stability.,7,Just completing our upgrade to Oracle Database 12c so haven't had an opportunity to experience impacts.,No,Oracle SQL DeveloperMy Review of Oracle DatabaseWe are largely into Oracle Database 12c. We have our legacy data mart build using Oracle Database. It is used mainly by the enterprise information system, i.e. my team and application development team. All of our data-related issues are addressed since our data warehouse is built on top of Orcale.,My main work is creating procedures and code using Oracle. This comes handy when we have to house the data from different source systems in our data warehouse.,7,Not yet, but I'm interested in Oracle user groups,Informatica Enterprise Data IntegrationOracle Database 12c works for meThe database is being used across the entire organization. It is used to host all of the data for our homegrown software solutions. In addition, it is used to host our data warehouse and integrate the data between all of our enterprise applications. Oracle Database is used along with PL/SQL interfaces and Oracle SOA Suite.,Oracle Database 12c makes the development of REST Endpoints through the use of ORDS extremely easy, making for faster development Oracle Database 12c makes it easy to store and retrieve data as well as integrate different systems and keep data flowing between systems. Oracle Database 12c has a very strong PL/SQL interface which makes writing the business logic into the back end of our applications fast and easy.,Oracle Database 12c has some bugs which sometimes make it difficult to tune queries and improve the performance of our applications. Oracle Database 12c has a very robust and complicated interface which makes it powerful but difficult to train new employees on how to use. PL/SQL is a proprietary programming language for Oracle Database which makes it difficult to find knowledgeable job candidates fresh out of college.,10,Oracle Database 12c has had a very positive impact on our ability to build strong and robust custom applications in house without the need to come up with our own methods of data storage and management. Oracle Database 12c has the strongest user interface of any database I have worked with and continuously is improving its strength with the addition of support for JSON and XML type objects in the database. Oracle Database 12c is sometimes very heavy and DBA intensive, but the benefits far outweigh the costs, which we need to spend on DBA support for enabling security and access features.,No,MySQLDatabase 12c offers great new featuresOracle Database 12c is used by multiple departments at our company. It is the backend database for a number of applications that we run, both Oracle provided applications and supported applications. It addresses the performance and daily functions of our business. We use it for a variety of functions from customer-facing to internal apps.,Oracle 12c offers many new features that are performing well. Online partitioning has been a large benefit that was not offered in past versions. From a larger perspective, I think that Oracle 12c Database offers better performance than Microsoft SQL Server does. Oracle 12c allows the ability to restore just one table via RMAN and that allows us to save time.,Oracle 12c has some slight differences from version 12.1 to 12.2 that have forced us to recode or alter DDL to allow the same features to work. I wish that RMAN would error out at the beginning instead of the end when there are version discrepancies.,8,I do not have hard numbers, but it has sped up our partitioning process by hours (maybe days). It allows us to save time on restores when only a single table is needed. Better monitoring features and visibility have made my job easier.,No,Microsoft SQL Server,Oracle SQL Developer, Oracle Utilities Meter Data Management (MDM)Oracle Database 12c reviewOracle Database is being used by my organization as the primary database for data storage. We use it with hibernate to be able to develop in Java and use the database in an object-oriented way.,Reliability. Performance. Scalability.,It's hard to set up in different environments.,9,The DB capabilities have kept our product reliable.,No,MySQLGreat Performance at a Price PointOracle Database 12c is being used across our whole organization. For example, the HR department uses the database to keep track of various details about the employees such as compensation benefits. Our core development team is using it to store all of the user data coming from our commercial web solutions.,Active Data Guard does a great job of ensuring data protection, disaster recovery, and high availability. These features allow Oracle Database 12c to be a reliable solution. OLAP is fairly simple and easy to use allowing users to quickly create analytical graphs and calculations for business intelligence. The wide variety of partitioning options allow users with all types of use cases to increase availability/performance and decrease costs of maintaining Oracle Database 12c.,Licensing and compliance agreements need to be a bit more direct and precise. Many important details are written in the fine print and are easily overlooked. There is a lack of first-party documentation for the product. Often times, I see myself referring to third-party sources to find the solutions to my queries. Compared to many other database solutions out there, Oracle tends to be a bit expensive. Pricing models should be adjusted according to the competition.,8,The price of Enterprise Edition significantly impacted our ROI. We spent an estimated $48,000. To use the multi-tenant feature, it came to our surprise that it would be an additional cost on top of the Enterprise license. All these costs were for the best, as we recovered all of it over the course of a few months.,No,Oracle Analytics Cloud,Oracle Analytics CloudOracle 12c Database Improves Performance and Introduces Advanced FeaturesOracle Databases are used across our development department for many applications. This is the primary data source for almost all of our applications. Our problem was where we stored the data and this addresses that issue.,Oracle 12c Database introduced and expanded a number of JSON management tools that have helped with integration with REST APIs. Oracle Databases provide a number of functions and tools for efficiently retrieving data, even with complex data structures. Oracle 12c Databases have a number of different management tools that make fine-tuning performance and troubleshooting application issues more effective.,Although 12c did introduce several JSON utilities, there is still room for ways to improve the usability of JSON in tables. I believe this has been addressed more in later releases.,8,The upgrade to Oracle Database 12c has allowed us to use more advanced query features to fetch data in simpler and more efficient methods. Some of the features that 12c has provided allow our data to process and return results faster than we could on 11g.,NoMust for mission critical workloads where downtime will cost you moneyIt's our main production database which is used company-wide by a number of applications.,Auditing and debugging compared to other databases and the ability to go to a point in time using the ASH and see what was going on in the database is very useful. Oracle flashback, the ability to restore a table to a point in time without having to restore from a backup, is helpful. Also, the ability to see how a row has changed over time is great. APEX, which comes free for developing front end user applications.,The ability to use online re-def for tables that have identity columns would be very useful. Native support for CQN queries in APEX.,8,Being able to flashback a table to before a corruption has saved us thousands. APEX has allowed us to create front end applications in under a day and have them live in production the next.,Yes,MySQL, MongoDB, Apache Kafka and Microsoft SQL Server,Apache Kafka, MySQL, Microsoft SQL ServerSolid database warehouse for financial investment firmIt is the central data warehouse to store our financial investment data. It is used mainly by IT, performance analysis, and other investment support staff.,Reliable - The backend database is very reliable with very high availability. i.e. we have not had nonplanned downtime for the past years. Solid and consistent performance - Application reporting is always on time and users have consistent performance in retrieving data. Secure - Great security with security issues so far.,User-friendly - It is kept as an old/traditional way to access. I would like to see more flexibility and ease of use. Easy and clearly stated about backward support - for instance, it introduced CDB and PDB and I would like to documents to convert traditional DB to CDB/PDB Need to provide easy access for administrative tools. MS SQL Server Enterprise Manager has it within the product and it'd make it easy to use to manage Oracle Database 12c.,9,Delivers analytical reports on time with a reliable data source. Provides solid and consistent performance. Great to guide business decision making.,Yes,Microsoft SQL Server,Microsoft SQL Server, IBM InfoSphere DataStageOracle: It's always a MiracleIt's used across the whole organization, as far as I know. So far it solved all the problems per the traditional relational database (such as complex processing and faster performance), but It's not helping with the cloud. We're thinking about moving to a Cloud-Native database because we're looking for a dynamic database (not as static).,It's the best one in terms of Relational Database with the support to indexing, maintaining relations between the tables, etc. Faster performance in fetching results, especially when running complex queries with multiple tables.,There's no easy way to Store JSON objects in the DB. We had to do some workarounds. We need a little more detailed explanations for the exceptions or errors thrown. For example, if it reaches a session limit while fetching a connection, it's better to throw the count in there that X of X are currently in use, etc.,10,It's been 6-7 years using Oracle Database for my application, and I definitely think it's worth using Oracle Database, and at the moment I cannot think of an issue /outage caused by the Database.,No,MySQL and Cassandra,Oracle WebLogic Application Server, Apache Tomcat, Pivotal CRMOracle Database 12c reviewOracle Database 12c is being used for storing data and supporting applications for recording statistical processes of the Census Bureau. It provides a solution for storing critical business information.,Faster data management. Better options for automating DBA functions. Cloning and backup.,Security and encryption should be simplified. Customer Support response time should be better. The OEM is too slow.,9,It is expensive to run compared to the tons of open-source database software available.,Yes,PostgreSQL, Microsoft SQL Server and Amazon DynamoDB,PostgreSQL, Microsoft SQL Server, Amazon DynamoDBGreat for the Banking World!Oracle Database 12c is being used across the whole organization. We use it to store payment and card-related data. We prefer Oracle because data consistency is very important to us.,Data Consistency,Slow Availability,10,Data Consistency,No,MySQL,MySQLDatabase 12C in siteIt is used to store all student and business data throughout the university.,Speed Security Up-time,Usability Ease of use Setup,7,30% improvement in speed to market in SOL sales 6% over budget in overall setup. install took 3 weeks to setup,Yes,MySQL and AWS Cloud9,ArchAgent Power Dialer, Salesforce Community CloudReliable DB for GovMost of our data is housed in Oracle Database 12c. It is used lots with other BI tools to get a pulse on the data and pull reports for the organization.,Ease of use SQL syntax is robust Reliable,10,Works well with Cognos Works well with PowerBI works well with tableau,NoOracle Database 12c ReviewWe use it in a persistence layer. It does what databases do.,Document-based database persistence Indexing,Distributed database Sharding, etc.,5,Ability to handle more parallel connections is a positive impact of Oracle Database 12c. A negative impact is on trigger and change notification, which can't fan-out or round-robin to multiple listeners.,Yes,
Unspecified
Oracle Database 12c
649 Ratings
Score 8.8 out of 101
<a href='https://www.trustradius.com/static/about-trustradius-scoring' target='_blank' rel='nofollow noopener noreferrer'>trScore algorithm: Learn more.</a>

Oracle Database 12c Reviews

<a href='https://www.trustradius.com/static/about-trustradius-scoring#question3' target='_blank' rel='nofollow noopener noreferrer'>Customer Verified: Read more.</a>
Oracle Database 12c
649 Ratings
<a href='https://www.trustradius.com/static/about-trustradius-scoring' target='_blank' rel='nofollow noopener noreferrer'>trScore algorithm: Learn more.</a>
Score 8.8 out of 101

Do you work for this company?

TrustRadius Top Rated for 2019
Show Filters 
Hide Filters 
Filter 649 vetted Oracle Database 12c reviews and ratings
Clear all filters
Overall Rating
Reviewer's Company Size
Last Updated
By Topic
Industry
Department
Experience
Job Type
Role

Reviews (1-25 of 94)

Companies can't remove reviews or game the system. Here's why.
Tiesong Lu profile photo
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
I upgraded all Oracle production databases (about 15 production databases) from 11g R2 to 12c R2. The Oracle 12c databases are used university-wide, and are really critical to the university business.
  • I believe other users have reviewed the pros already. I am addressing only the Cons of 12c R2.
  • SYSAUX tablespace grows rapidly. I didn't need to add space to SYSAUX last a few years in 11g. But after upgrading to 12c R2 12.2.0.1, SYSAUX grows daily, and I have to add space to SYSAUX regularly, about every 2 weeks. I am currently opening an Oracle SR and working with Oracle Support on this issue.
  • Some of our small databases only use about 5GB excluding SYSAUX. But SYSAUX uses 5GB alone!
  • Almost all universities (if not all) in the USA have been using Banner application. But Banner app users fail to log on 12c Release 2 databases after upgrading to 12c R2 from 11g because of an Oracle Bug related to password-protected profile. I applied an interim bug to work around this issue. However, since Oct 2018, the PSU patching will not work. I must rollback the interim bug, and then patch the PSU, and then apply the interim patch again to resolve the Oracle bug. I asked Oracle to include the interim in the PSU in Oct 2018. But up to PSU Jul 2019, Oracle didn't implement it yet!
One of the features that benefits me is that it is able to set up an audit on specific tables to specific users, via setup Audit policy.
Read Tiesong Lu's full review
Shailandra Vaish profile photo
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We primarily use Oracle in our organization, except for a few applications which use other databases like PostgresSQL, SQL Server, etc. Primarily DB is used to manage data for various applications all across the organization by multiple applications. Now, with some of the new applications, they are using some AWS or third-party databases as well.
  • First of all DB needs to be upgraded to Oracle 12c for support prospective from Oracle.
  • Oracle 12 has some great features with respect to auditing.
  • Keeping the data with respect to hot and cold rows is also a great features helping in managing data well.
  • It had installation issues where it needed to have a patch applied before installation could begin. Downloaded software should have been tested before providing it to the user.
  • Oracle 12.1 was not very stable so we had to migrate it to 12.2 after some time.
Most of the functionality needed by the application was already supported by 12c, so I did not explore any other features needed. I believe 12c may not be suitable for applications with a small footprint due to larger infrastructure requirements. That is why many developers have chosen databases such as PostgresSQL or MongoDB.
Read Shailandra Vaish's full review
Richard Hardin profile photo
September 18, 2019

Oracle and VSE Corp

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
The Oracle database is currently what houses our data in relation to our corporate ERP system. The database sits on an Oracle Database 12c appliance for ease of access and use. On the ODA, this Oracle Database 12c is 1 of 5. Also running in parallel are another five that run for production, testing, and development. This database and architecture were selected for performance and security reasons
  • Performance - We have several ERP systems all running on various platforms. By far the best performance in terms of consistency being up and available is our Oracle platform. To put into scale, out of all three platforms, since I have been employed, Oracle has not been down once, while the other two have been down multiple times, to the point that my attendance at OOW2019 is focused on migration from other platforms to Oracle.
  • Security - The matter of security is huge. One of the biggest points in choosing an Oracle database and appliance over anything else is the security it provides in counter to anything else on the market.
  • Training - While there is an enormous amount of training available, there are still gaps in terms of availability for classroom-style learning. I have found it more effective to be in a classroom setting where one is held accountable at that moment in time as opposed to self-paced (pure personal preference).
  • Cost - While we love the databases and appliances, the cost of maintaining is becoming an issue when competitors are coming in at such a lower point. Pushing this to a more profits oriented C-level makes justification difficult at times.
Well suited as the base backend structure for any ERP system or for EDW structure in the cloud. Less appropriate for a small business start-up.
Read Richard Hardin's full review
William DeVrieze profile photo
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
It is being used across departments. We used it to automate our audit and compliance cases, as well as case management. This year we be implementing 100% of our case management, and all new audits will be worked in the system as well. Currently, 100% of our compliance cases are worked within the database.
  • An automated case management system has eliminated our duplication of effort in most instances.
  • Having electronic work papers has allowed us to access other case files so we have access to more data saving us time and stopping the need for duplicate request.
  • Our compliance cases are very task-oriented and the out of the box flow works very well with these cases.
  • From the audit perspective, we have had to customize a lot to meet our electronic work paper needs.
  • We have quite a few open Oracle service requests that have been outstanding for years.
  • The history around the completed task is lacking out of the box.
For compliance activities, it is very useful. It also works very well for managing all of our different case types. From an audit perspective, I wouldn't recommend it based on all the needed customization. Over customization has also led to performance issues. This may be, in part, a product of our agency as well as some limitations of the database.
Read William DeVrieze's full review
John Wedlake profile photo
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Oracle Database 12c is being used to store data which is used to process and pay benefits for Canadian military veterans. It is used by the entire organization to provide services and financial support to still serving and released soldiers.
  • It is able to store large amounts of data in a structured environment making complex development and maintenance more manageable.
  • It is able to perform large and complex queries required for display in front-end systems, for reporting purposes and for trouble-shooting. Oracle functions, procedures, and packages are very useful in developing complex functionality for display and input on the client-side.
  • It is very transparent; the data is easy to access, see and understand, which is significant for troubleshooting and maintenance.
  • Upgrades have been relatively painless.
  • SQL Developer is missing some of the easy to use GUI tools used to check dependencies, grants and synonyms, and other simple DBA functions used by developers.
  • SQL Developer interface is slow, and code completion assistant is unresponsive at times.
  • I would like to see a cleaner way to process data results without re-retrieving data in cursors. We are currently using object types.
It is well suited for large enterprise applications, but not for smaller applications.
Read John Wedlake's full review
Jatel Desai profile photo
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Oracle 12c is being used by DIR to create relational databases for transmission of CA workers comp claims. We use it to manage data regarding any occupational illness or injury. This includes doctors, patients, injury, and prescription information. We then run reports on the data to get analytics on various things like opioid usage and the amount of injured employees in California in a given month.
  • New bug fixes
  • Easy for structure design
  • Easy to switch from older Oracle versions
  • The current private/public cloud options are very black/white
  • Performance was lacking in some cases as wait times increased
  • In moving to 12c, there was a lot of workarounds needed for our current system to be fully functional
12c is appropriate for anyone using an Oracle database already and needs to upgrade. Similar database models can also lateral. The pluggable databases are great for use in both provisioning and portability. For those who need self-service provisioning, 12c is very useful.
Read Jatel Desai's full review
OMAR ROSALES LOPEZ profile photo
September 16, 2019

I Like it

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We provide consultancy service to a company's different sectors. In my account, we service a company in the financial sector. We provide services such as change and incident management, we work on service requests to provide access and manage users privileges, and troubleshoot performance issues at the query level to avoid impacts on established SLAs.
  • Provide edge technology.
  • Customer support is sometimes bad and if the ticket is not high priority It could take a lot of time to be attended to.
For data warehouse environments, it is a great option. We used to run it using a non-EXA appliance and batches used to take like 3 to 4 hours but it was reduced to 30 min which helped our customers. I think Oracle has an option for any need that any customer has.
Read OMAR ROSALES LOPEZ's full review
Binu Nair profile photo
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Oracle Database 12 C is used by our entire organization. It is used for our data repository. Oracle 12c has number of features and easily scalable for enterpise requirements. Along with the features, support is provided for integration with different platforms which helps in building applications with different technologies possible.
  • Large set of data can be stored & retrieved easily
  • Cloud based so can retrieve from anywhere, anytime
  • Difficult for beginners to learn
  • Not optimized for low performance systems
  • License is expensive
Oracle 12c is not optimized for low performance systems and makes it difficult for beginners to try it when learning.
Read Binu Nair's full review
Seshagiri Parupalli profile photo
September 18, 2019

Oracle Database 12c Review

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use Ellucian Banner for the college. The backend is an Oracle database. We are currently on 11.2.0.4 and are planning to upgrade to 12.2.0.1. I also have some databases on 12.1.0.2.
  • Easy to manage and maintain.
  • Backup and cloning to development instances are easy.
  • Restoring a full database or a particular table is easy.
  • Performance was better compared to 11gR2.
  • Oracle LOBs is still an issue.
  • Function-based indexes are still a problem
  • Query optimization needs improvement.
Higher education is well suited for Oracle Database 12c. We also recommend 12c to the HR and Financial Aid departments within our college.
Read Seshagiri Parupalli's full review
Ken Turner profile photo
September 18, 2019

Oracle Database 12c Rocks

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
80-85 percent of data from the university is stored on an Oracle Database and all apps connect to our DB.
  • Recovery. Recovering the database is more reliable than any other I know of.
  • Speed and performance.
  • Reliable.
  • Querying large amounts of data, fast.
  • Recovery of a database to a point in time needs to be easier.
The Oracle Database is well suited in any environment that needs to store large amounts of data or support multiple applications across different platforms.
Read Ken Turner's full review
Joel MacDonald profile photo
Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We have multiple in-house developed systems using Oracle 12c Databases deployed at multiple levels.
  • Allows fast retrieval of large amounts of data.
  • Stores many gigabytes of digital images.
  • Is easy to maintain and restore.
  • The developer tools packaged with 12c require some enhancements for speed and stability.
I find Oracle Database 12c well suited for storing our very high volume of electronic documents. It makes working with blob datatypes easy and fast.
Read Joel MacDonald's full review
Teena Nagpal profile photo
Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We are largely into Oracle Database 12c. We have our legacy data mart build using Oracle Database. It is used mainly by the enterprise information system, i.e. my team and application development team. All of our data-related issues are addressed since our data warehouse is built on top of Orcale.
  • My main work is creating procedures and code using Oracle. This comes handy when we have to house the data from different source systems in our data warehouse.
This comes in so handily when we need to code and load data into the data mart.
Read Teena Nagpal's full review
No photo available
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
The database is being used across the entire organization. It is used to host all of the data for our homegrown software solutions. In addition, it is used to host our data warehouse and integrate the data between all of our enterprise applications. Oracle Database is used along with PL/SQL interfaces and Oracle SOA Suite.
  • Oracle Database 12c makes the development of REST Endpoints through the use of ORDS extremely easy, making for faster development
  • Oracle Database 12c makes it easy to store and retrieve data as well as integrate different systems and keep data flowing between systems.
  • Oracle Database 12c has a very strong PL/SQL interface which makes writing the business logic into the back end of our applications fast and easy.
  • Oracle Database 12c has some bugs which sometimes make it difficult to tune queries and improve the performance of our applications.
  • Oracle Database 12c has a very robust and complicated interface which makes it powerful but difficult to train new employees on how to use.
  • PL/SQL is a proprietary programming language for Oracle Database which makes it difficult to find knowledgeable job candidates fresh out of college.
Oracle database 12C is very well suited for an enterprise-level company that needs reliable, redundant database technology that is very powerful. It is not as well suited for a small company which cannot afford to have a large budget for information technology and cannot afford to host their own IT software on-site.
Read this authenticated review
No photo available
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Oracle Database 12c is used by multiple departments at our company. It is the backend database for a number of applications that we run, both Oracle provided applications and supported applications. It addresses the performance and daily functions of our business. We use it for a variety of functions from customer-facing to internal apps.
  • Oracle 12c offers many new features that are performing well. Online partitioning has been a large benefit that was not offered in past versions.
  • From a larger perspective, I think that Oracle 12c Database offers better performance than Microsoft SQL Server does.
  • Oracle 12c allows the ability to restore just one table via RMAN and that allows us to save time.
  • Oracle 12c has some slight differences from version 12.1 to 12.2 that have forced us to recode or alter DDL to allow the same features to work.
  • I wish that RMAN would error out at the beginning instead of the end when there are version discrepancies.
Oracle 12c has been a great performer for us, and it is handling out database loads and batch runs well. So far there has not been a scenario where we would prefer to run on an older version or other software. The only reason that we have other versions in place is that the applications do not support version 12c.
Read this authenticated review
No photo available
September 19, 2019

Oracle Database 12c review

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Oracle Database is being used by my organization as the primary database for data storage. We use it with hibernate to be able to develop in Java and use the database in an object-oriented way.
  • Reliability.
  • Performance.
  • Scalability.
  • It's hard to set up in different environments.
The product uses standard SQL query language (easy to use) and it is very stable. I would recommend to businesses managing lots of data.
Read this authenticated review
No photo available
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Oracle Database 12c is being used across our whole organization. For example, the HR department uses the database to keep track of various details about the employees such as compensation benefits. Our core development team is using it to store all of the user data coming from our commercial web solutions.
  • Active Data Guard does a great job of ensuring data protection, disaster recovery, and high availability. These features allow Oracle Database 12c to be a reliable solution.
  • OLAP is fairly simple and easy to use allowing users to quickly create analytical graphs and calculations for business intelligence.
  • The wide variety of partitioning options allow users with all types of use cases to increase availability/performance and decrease costs of maintaining Oracle Database 12c.
  • Licensing and compliance agreements need to be a bit more direct and precise. Many important details are written in the fine print and are easily overlooked.
  • There is a lack of first-party documentation for the product. Often times, I see myself referring to third-party sources to find the solutions to my queries.
  • Compared to many other database solutions out there, Oracle tends to be a bit expensive. Pricing models should be adjusted according to the competition.
Considering pricing and the durability of Oracle Database 12c, scenarios where it would be less appropriate to use would be in smaller-scale applications. There would be way too much of a configuration hassle to set it all up. On the other hand, Oracle Database 12c is well suited for enterprise-level solutions.
Read this authenticated review
No photo available
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Oracle Databases are used across our development department for many applications. This is the primary data source for almost all of our applications. Our problem was where we stored the data and this addresses that issue.
  • Oracle 12c Database introduced and expanded a number of JSON management tools that have helped with integration with REST APIs.
  • Oracle Databases provide a number of functions and tools for efficiently retrieving data, even with complex data structures.
  • Oracle 12c Databases have a number of different management tools that make fine-tuning performance and troubleshooting application issues more effective.
  • Although 12c did introduce several JSON utilities, there is still room for ways to improve the usability of JSON in tables. I believe this has been addressed more in later releases.
Oracle Databases are good for enterprise applications as well as applications with more complex relations between data. If you are working with simple data or just need lightweight data sources, there are plenty of open source options out there that could be more effective.
Read this authenticated review
No photo available
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
It's our main production database which is used company-wide by a number of applications.
  • Auditing and debugging compared to other databases and the ability to go to a point in time using the ASH and see what was going on in the database is very useful.
  • Oracle flashback, the ability to restore a table to a point in time without having to restore from a backup, is helpful. Also, the ability to see how a row has changed over time is great.
  • APEX, which comes free for developing front end user applications.
  • The ability to use online re-def for tables that have identity columns would be very useful.
  • Native support for CQN queries in APEX.
Well suited for large scale applications where auditing and high availability (if using RAC) are needed or where an outage could cost your company a lot of money. It's less appropriate in situations where availability is not so important and the cost associated with Oracle is not worth it.
Read this authenticated review
No photo available
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
It is the central data warehouse to store our financial investment data. It is used mainly by IT, performance analysis, and other investment support staff.
  • Reliable - The backend database is very reliable with very high availability. i.e. we have not had nonplanned downtime for the past years.
  • Solid and consistent performance - Application reporting is always on time and users have consistent performance in retrieving data.
  • Secure - Great security with security issues so far.
  • User-friendly - It is kept as an old/traditional way to access. I would like to see more flexibility and ease of use.
  • Easy and clearly stated about backward support - for instance, it introduced CDB and PDB and I would like to documents to convert traditional DB to CDB/PDB
  • Need to provide easy access for administrative tools. MS SQL Server Enterprise Manager has it within the product and it'd make it easy to use to manage Oracle Database 12c.
If you need a database for a mission-critical production environment with high availability, consistent performance and security for database over 100GB, then Oracle is still your top choice. If your database is not in this type of needs, I would recommend a SQL server.
Read this authenticated review
No photo available
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
It's used across the whole organization, as far as I know. So far it solved all the problems per the traditional relational database (such as complex processing and faster performance), but It's not helping with the cloud. We're thinking about moving to a Cloud-Native database because we're looking for a dynamic database (not as static).
  • It's the best one in terms of Relational Database with the support to indexing, maintaining relations between the tables, etc.
  • Faster performance in fetching results, especially when running complex queries with multiple tables.
  • There's no easy way to Store JSON objects in the DB. We had to do some workarounds.
  • We need a little more detailed explanations for the exceptions or errors thrown. For example, if it reaches a session limit while fetching a connection, it's better to throw the count in there that X of X are currently in use, etc.
It's well suited for the relational Database where there are huge sets of data to be processed in real-time.
It's not currently Suited for the Cloud Environment. Like an easy add-on service to the apps in Cloud Foundry Services, expect Oracle Cloud.
Read this authenticated review
No photo available
September 16, 2019

Oracle Database 12c review

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Oracle Database 12c is being used for storing data and supporting applications for recording statistical processes of the Census Bureau. It provides a solution for storing critical business information.
  • Faster data management.
  • Better options for automating DBA functions.
  • Cloning and backup.
  • Security and encryption should be simplified.
  • Customer Support response time should be better.
  • The OEM is too slow.
Oracle Database 12c is still the best RDBMS software product, with superior functionality and tolerance.
Read this authenticated review
No photo available
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Oracle Database 12c is being used across the whole organization. We use it to store payment and card-related data. We prefer Oracle because data consistency is very important to us.
  • Data Consistency
  • Slow Availability
For transaction and payment related data where consistency is of the utmost importance.
Read this authenticated review
No photo available
September 19, 2019

Database 12C in site

Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
It is used to store all student and business data throughout the university.
  • Speed
  • Security
  • Up-time
  • Usability
  • Ease of use
  • Setup
It's the back bone of most global databases so its scalable to most any needs. The education to be a DBA and the demand caused the price to manage to grow 10-25% YOY
Read this authenticated review
No photo available
September 18, 2019

Reliable DB for Gov

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Most of our data is housed in Oracle Database 12c. It is used lots with other BI tools to get a pulse on the data and pull reports for the organization.
  • Ease of use
  • SQL syntax is robust
  • Reliable
Works well with Cognos. I would recommend Oracle Database 12c for any organization that needs a reliable, robust and industry-tested DB.
Read this authenticated review

About Oracle Database 12c

Oracle Database 12c is a relational database software solution offered by Oracle.
Categories:  Relational Databases

Oracle Database 12c Technical Details

Operating Systems: Unspecified
Mobile Application:No