PostgreSQL Reviews

207 Ratings
<a href='https://www.trustradius.com/static/about-trustradius-scoring' target='_blank' rel='nofollow noopener noreferrer'>trScore algorithm: Learn more.</a>
Score 9.0 out of 100

Do you work for this company? Manage this listing

TrustRadius Top Rated for 2020

Overall Rating

Reviewer's Company Size

Last Updated

By Topic

Industry

Department

Experience

Job Type

Role

Reviews (1-25 of 34)

Javier Blanque | TrustRadius Reviewer
April 27, 2020

PostgreSQL - The database that fits all

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
PostgreSQL is used in several Departmental Information Systems across the Bank, from open source systems which operates with the DBMS to in-house developed systems like the one we use for Operational and Technology Risk Assessment, and Asset Management.
We use other DBMSs like MySQL (MariaDB) and Microsoft SQL Server also, so we can compare them against each other.
  • It is an excellent DBMS, which is scalable, performs well, allows replication, supports ACID and a big subset of the SQL standard (in several cases, it is a superset).
  • Is much better at data types than the other DBMSs, with a more rich semantics, with geo-spatial types, complex numbers, etc.
  • It supports several methods of indexation, including B-trees, Genetic Algorithms based indexes, and GIN indexes that accelerates full-text searches.
  • Its flexibility to select from a variety of procedural languages to make stored procedures is astonishing.
  • The performance of PostgreSQL has been enhanced through the years, but always is better to have as much performance as we can.
  • The replication services could be done directly within the database, and more easily.
  • The Object Orientation of the Database could be extended, and albeit it manages inheritance of tables, and accepts XML and JSON as primary types, it would be wonderful if one could attach methods more easily to tables (to make them more like classes), and instances (rows for example).
PostgreSQL is open source, and then, there are several companies that could give you technical support, like EnterpriseDB or Percona.
PostgreSQL is easy to install and configure and is multi-platform, you could use Windows, Mac, Linux, FreeBSD, and you could use ALL the hardware you have purchased for your project, without sinking hundreds of thousand of dollars in proprietary software, to use only a small part of your server for the database.
Let's see a concrete case: You have a project to make an information system which uses an underlying database. Then you purchase 3 servers, which cost USD 50K for the Production server, USD 25K for the Contingency Server and USD 10K for the Development Server.
If you use a proprietary database, we know what companies, they price their software licenses per every 2 cores if we use the servers physically or every 2 vcpus (threads) if we use virtual machines, and the cost range is between USD 15K and 50K for each 2 cores license. If my production server has a configuration of 24 SSDs of 3,84 TB, 2 TB of ECC RAM, and 2 CPUs AMD EPYC 7702, with 64 cores each (128 cores and 256 vcpus or threads per server), the cost of the proprietary database could be more than USD one million, and if we use a subscription mechanism to get the updates, we could be talking of another million each 3 to 5 years. That is ten times the cost of the hardware. And you can TOUCH the hardware.
Is PostgreSQL slower than the proprietary databases that we talk about? Yes; but for what margin? In in-house tests, the performance of PostgreSQL was from 50% to 75% typically, with several scenarios where PostgreSQL where speedier. But we could use ALL the cores for the DBMS, not just a few.
For us PostgreSQL is the best database in existence. Period. If we use proprietary databases yet it's only for legacy information systems, for contractual restrictions or because our providers haven't seen the light (yet).
There are several companies that you can contract for technical support, like EnterpriseDB or Percona, both first level in expertise and commitment to the software.
But we do not have contracts with them, we have done all the way from googling to forums, and never have a problem that we cannot resolve or pass around. And for dozens of projects and more than 15 years now.
Read Javier Blanque's full review
Balázs Kiss | TrustRadius Reviewer
January 20, 2020

A robust, free, and high quality DB

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
As a company that does a lot of consultation work in software development and database and system administrating on high levels, knowing multiple RDBMS's is essential. PostgreSQL is often required by our partners, and we use it from time to time when the business choice lands on it. Most of the time we like to work with Oracle tools, but PostgreSQL proved itself to be a viable alternative for many use cases.
  • Highly reliable RDBMS for free.
  • Has tons of features that other free solutions do not have.
  • In-memory mode would be useful for many cases.
For smaller development projects where a reliable and free database is required, PostgreSQL is quite good. But for bigger, more robust solutions, it also stands it ground next to the "big" DBs. PostgreSQL's improvement is community based, meaning it will have all the tools and helpful features that a modern software developer needs. It's quite easy to administrate as well.
Most of the time, the community support is enough. Their documentation is thorough, stack overflow is often enough to answer any question that comes up.
Read Balázs Kiss's full review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
February 14, 2020

Battle-tested-never-data-loss alternative to MySQL

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We in the software engineering department use Postgres to permanently store most of our customer's information that is needed by the app--anywhere from their settings, login information (of course user's passwords are encrypted and salted), to the work they've created in the app. The web app writes to Postgres whenever our users need to update their info and saves their work and reads from the app to display the webpages. What's cool is that Postgres also has great user management, so we also gave read-only access to only a few parts of the database for the finance department who want to know how much the users are using the app to charge them accurately, and also to customer support who wants to see user data in order to help users debug issues.
  • As I mentioned before, Postgres has an incredibly flexible and simple-to-use user/role management system. First, there are users--login information so that you can hand out to individual users. Then, there are roles, which specify read and/or write access to all the tables that you can assign to users. Through this system, you can easily control who can read and update which tables, and the system is very well-tested, so there's no concern with users accessing or writing to data that they shouldn't be unless your Postgres admin really messes up!
  • I could write pages on this and would need to reference the Postgres manual itself to do this justice, but Postgres is dang scalable! There are so many ways to scale it. Postgres has undergone active development by some of the brightest engineers for over 30 years now, and the result is that Postgres has so many ways you can scale it besides just upping the SSD and CPU and memory speed. You can scale reads horizontally through multiple slaves that handle all the reads. You can add highly optimized indices to your tables. You can change columns to JSONB types for super fast JSON queries. You can turn on special caches to bulk writes so they don't overwhelm the disk. Between those three options and other tips and tricks experienced Postgres admins have, you can get a lot out of them. There's a reason Yahoo stuck with Postgres for decades up until their main database even past the point of 4 Petabytes and 10k writes/second!
  • Postgres, simply put, has achieved super-wide industry adoption (6% market share), which means it's really easy to integrate it into your stack and hire knowledgeable developers to service Postgres. All the major database libraries of the common web frameworks that I know are out there (e.g. Rails-ActiveRecord, Spring-Hibernate, Play Scala-Slick) have out-of-the-box deep Postgres support, with no extra configuration needed to get your web app to start reading and writing to Postgres. I also know many universities in the US include Postgres in their curriculum too (e.g. UC Berkeley). It's really easy to hire either new grads or experienced software engineers for positions that require Postgres knowledge.
  • If you are comparing Postgres to MySQL and you want to use JSON, know that Postgres has better performance and features on indexing JSON blobs simply because Postgres beat MySQL to the JSON game by several years. I haven't used MySQL's JSON support before, but that's what my co-workers say (and it's true that Postgres definitely started support MySQL years earlier).
  • If you are comparing Postgres to MySQL, MySQL does have superior write performance. I don't want to get toooo technical here because it involves knowledge of how deep database internals work, but if you most know Uber actually switched from Postgres to MySQL for this exact reason and wrote a great article about why here: https://eng.uber.com/MySQL-migration/.
  • Anecdotally, the Postgres replication process for keeping slaves up to date with the primary is a bit buggy. I say anecdotally because it just happened to us here at my company. A schema update made to the primary didn't make it to a replica for almost a minute and caused probably 50% of the traffic to our website to see 500 internal server error pages for the whole time, and we didn't know why until we dug deep into Postgres logs on that replica.
  • Postgres' migration from 9 to 10 was a disaster. If you want to be on the latest and greatest, which all tech companies should want, migrating your existing database from 9 to 10 was a real pain. Sure, there's a tool to do it for you, but it involved hours of downtime for our mere 4 TB of data. I wish the Postgres maintainers had put more thought into the tool to make it faster or do it bit-by-bit without downtime. And don't get me started on how confusing the configuration for the migration was....
Postgres is useful for perhaps 99% of apps that simply need to store user data somewhere and make it quickly retrievable at some later time. If you want to do full-text dynamic JSON searches (e.g. you are building a search engine), perhaps one of the NoSQL databases will serve you better. But regardless, you will probably need to store user data, even if you are building a search engine and storing it in Postgres (or a similar relational database) is much simpler. Postgres is also really good for work in industries where you get audited regularly (e.g. legal or financial) and cannot ever corrupt or lose user data, and that is because Postgres is fully ACID compliant, meaning if Postgres receives an update query, it will ALWAYS execute it even if lightning strikes the server.
AWS, Heroku, and Digital Ocean all provide Postgres-as-a-service, where you pretty much never need to administrate it yourself but they do it for you. The Postgres community also has developed awesome and reasonably priced extensions, such as Citus DB and CockroachDB in case you need additional support for running it. If you need documentation, Postgres's docs are super thorough and their official forms are active.
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
January 16, 2020

PostgreSQL is fast, cheap and easy (and fully featured!)

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
It is our primary database engine utilized in the capture, storage, and processing of all company data. We were facing massive licensing fees and large deployment times in order to deploy Microsoft SQL Server at scale. We opted instead to deploy PostgreSQL in replicated pairs (50+ and growing) in a matter of minutes! We were delighted with the ease of use and replication abilities, not to mention the amazing performance.
  • Transaction Speed
  • Customized Tuning
  • Active/Active High Availability
  • PGTune could be more extensive
It is excellent when full transactional SQL is required and reducing costs is a factor. It is also excellent where replication is required.
Community support is amazing and purchased support is available if required.
Read this authenticated review
Arthur Zubarev | TrustRadius Reviewer
October 12, 2019

PostgreSQL is a Well Poised for the Future, Venerable, More Than a Database Solution for Many

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
PostgreSQL is used across the entire organization and in more than one instance. PostgreSQL was already a part of a wide scale Ruby On Rails implementation and thus was a natural fit for the use in data analytics in form of data marts, data inter-exchange, reporting, and ad-hoc data storage and retrieval.
PostgreSQL fulfills a role of a dedicated and/or per-application or solution data storage engine. Its versatility and flexibility combined with exceptional user community support make a stand-out product. Integration or migration with AWS Redshift is easy and seamless. PostgreSQL has a near-complete ANSI SQL language implementation which makes it very handy for data extraction and analytics.
  • Flexibility and Unicode compliance combined with nearly full SQL features support makes PostgreSQL an ideal tool to conducting complex data analyses
  • Ease of administering PostgreSQL, SSL, SSO support make it possible to operate a very private and secure data repository
  • Programmability of PostgreSQL is superb. Multiple standard programming languages are supported, PL/SQL flavour of programming is possible
  • PostgreSQL runs on any platform
  • Replication, high availability are some of the enterprise features that anyone can implement on its own
  • Free, relatively mature for everyday use client tools
  • Most languages have native drivers
  • Superb support for JSON makes it not stop by thinking of NoSQL
  • Not exactly parallel, means a single query often is run in a sequential manner, no threads. The optimizer is hard to understand and deliver quicker queries faster is not often possible (MVCC model)
  • Index operations are slow
  • Can chew up on the CPU quite a bit
  • Comes in too many pieces, here I mean there are way too many diverse extensions that often belong to different vendors or providers
  • The "schemas" are over-thought
  • Lack of some minor basic DML features as MERGE/UPSERT (however can be done with "On Conflict"), also lacking an ability to reposition table column, case sensitive when it comes to database objects
  • No explicit user control over data compression
PostgreSQL is a go-to database for any web application, especially if one is going to reside with one of the many hosting/Cloud providers. It can analyze some, up to a few TBs, of transactional data, or can be used in data warehouses, and extending it - Geospatial, JSON, Failover, Replication are all within reach.

Not so great for ETL or large volume data processing, e.g. pulling data from foreign sources is not easy often. It is slow to read so any large table scans would be detrimental speed-wise or noticeable to end-users. No in-memory storage, so not good as cache.
I am split between somewhere 6 and 8 so I gave it a 7 largely because the support is via a user community if you are on the freeware version, which entitles you no guarantee in time or quality of support, but most of the quirks are well described with numerous remedies possible. When PostgreSQL comes from for-profit vendors, say MemSQL or Citus, the support situation goes multiple notches up because they want to ensure your success. In AWS as RDS the support it a tad anemic, but works.
Read Arthur Zubarev's full review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
July 24, 2019

PostgreSQL is great for data analytics and engineering work.

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
PostgreSQL on Greenplum is being used as a data warehouse by the entire data and analytics team on my project. There are also other teams using the database as well, but it solves the business problems of running large analytics workflows with billions of rows of archived data to create reporting dashboards. It is able to run in a massively parallel processing format.
  • data processing
  • big data analytics
  • data aggregation
  • SQL syntax support
  • query error handling
  • programmatic access
PostgreSQL is great as a data warehousing solution in large organizations but it is also problematic when it is improperly used as a transactional database. Postgres is a OLAP, not an OLTP database where you would use something like MySQL instead for storing live data. It has great read but poor write speeds.
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
November 07, 2019

PostgreSQL has rich feature sets and it's completely free!

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We are using PostgreSQL as a database for our microservices application. Since microservice is light by nature, performance is never a problem.
We have a lot of microservices applications since PostgreSQL is free, we could use as many database instances as we need without massive cost increase.
The main thing that we like is PostgreSQL supports the JSON column and query which is really useful in our use case.
  • Support the JSON column and able to query by the JSON value.
  • Free to use.
  • Has fairly high performance.
  • Installation and configuration can be difficult for first time users.
  • Somewhat hard to upgrade/update, especially for major releases.
  • Less online documentation and resources available compared to MySQL or SQL Server.
PostgreSQL is perfect if you are an experienced software engineer or database admin. Its wide feature set will be really useful the more you use it. It is also a cheap alternative to SQL Server since you need to pay a fairly pricey SQL Server license especially for business and enterprise, meanwhile, PostgreSQL is completely free to use.
The learning curve is a bit steep compared to MySQL and SQL Server, so might not be suited for a beginner.
Its a really great product that has rich features which are well suited for our needs. It also has a NoSQL option which could be useful in some cases. And most importantly it's free to use which is always great.
There's still room for improvement though, for example, the installation and upgrade process could be made easier, online resources could be improved as well.
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
August 02, 2019

PostgreSQL - Data Warehousing Technology

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
PostgreSQL is being used as the main data warehousing system by our organization for various analytics functions. It is being used across our whole organization both internally and externally to generate reports and other dashboards products. The business problems it addresses is the need to run complex analytics queries without having too much time be burned up by running the query on MySQL.
  • Data warehousing
  • Analytics
  • Slony replication
  • Query language consistency
  • In-memory caching is needed
  • Better query optimization
PostgreSQL is the best solution out there for data warehousing for relational data if that is what you need in your various analytics and dashboarding projects. It doesn't work that well as a transactional database, for that you'd probably want to stick with MySQL. The other flavors of PostgreSQL that are optimized may work better again, depending on your specific data types and workflows.
Read this authenticated review
Jacob Biguvu | TrustRadius Reviewer
June 05, 2019

PostgreSQL - open-source, flexible and futuristic

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Capital One has many LOBs (line of businesses). I have supported IAM and Commercial
LOB. They are using PostgreSQL as an OLTP database solution. Company is using Oracle, SQL Server as OLTP solution for the most of their requirements. Since everyone moving to Cloud and want to use the open-source solutions, the company encourages the IT teams to use PostgreSQL.
  • Open-source. No license issues like Oracle and SQL server.
  • Full SQL Compliance.
  • GIS extension for search engines or queries.
  • Extensions/plugins to be used for on-premises and cloud technologies.
  • Easy installation/configuration.
  • Performance optimization is needed for the database as well as SQL.
PostgreSQL is best for OLTP applications and searches engines/queries. Want to save the budget? PostgreSQL is best. Want database support on On-premises and Cloud? PostgreSQL is best.

For the non-critical applications, I would recommend using PostgreSQL. For critical applications, I would recommend going through the database design, modeling, and architectural decision-making process. Proper design decisions mitigate many performance issues.
Read Jacob Biguvu's full review
Aaron Smith | TrustRadius Reviewer
January 18, 2019

PostgreSQL is making a comeback!

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
After using Microsoft's SQL Server for many years for our application's back end data storage, we made the switch to PostgreSQL for all new application development. For our use case, PostgreSQL has the same feature set SQL Server has and comparable performance. We needed a way to have multiple server clusters for redundancy and licensing costs of SQL Server were starting to get prohibitive. PostgreSQL gives us a stable and more cost-effective solution for data storage.
  • Redundancy and clustering can be handled in multiple different ways, offering complete control over specific use cases.
  • GIS extension for spatial data.
  • Full SQL compliance.
  • A little lighter on resources than SQL Server.
  • The documentation can be sometimes lacking, however, there are lots of online resources for troubleshooting.
  • The tooling could be better. If you're used to SQL Server Management Studio and all the 3rd party add-ons, moving to PostgreSQL can be hard to get used to at first.
  • If you are on a version older than 11, you cannot use Transactions in Stored Procedures. While this isn't an issue moving forward, not all cloud providers support version 11 yet.
PostgreSQL is great for all types of data storage needs. Even if you have a use case for minor document storage, it can handle it. As with most things, you use the right tool for the job, anywhere you would use MySQL or SQL Server, you can just swap in PostgreSQL. However, if you are needing a NoSQL or schema-less storage model, look elsewhere.
Read Aaron Smith's full review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
June 06, 2019

A Great General Purpose DBMS

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
PostgreSQL is used throughout our company to power business applications and to drive data-driven decision making. It's mostly used by software development teams as a back-end for data-driven applications. We usually deploy PostgreSQL instances via AWS and connect to them through a PaaS (Platform as a Service) that hosts our applications. Other teams use it for analytical data processing.
  • PostgreSQL is fully featured.
  • Extensible.
  • Has multiple schemas per database.
  • Provides nice SQL syntax.
  • Could provide better documentation of PLPGSQL functions.
PostgreSQL is really good at being a data source for many applications. Because each database has the ability to have multiple schemas, a database can be separated logically according to criteria, such as which business unit the underlying data belongs to. Then, within that database, multiple schemas can be created for different purposes -- maybe one schema per application.
This setup of the DBMS is great for a more monolithic data source, but not so much for a more micro-service style setup.
Read this authenticated review
Richard Rout | TrustRadius Reviewer
October 18, 2018

An amazing free option for an enterprise level database tool

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use PostgreSQL as our database backend on the majority of our applications across the whole organization. It solves all of the problems that a relational database would solve. It's a very similar product to MySQL or Microsoft SQL Server and supports a very similar query syntax to both of those.
  • Free relational SQL based database
  • Tonnes of community support
  • Fast, scalable database.
  • Hard learning curve if you are unfamiliar with SQL databases
  • The graphical tooling isn't as good as some of the tools provided by Microsoft for the example.
  • Can be hard to figure out what went wrong unless you know how.
If you're using C# and other products from Microsoft then you get a lot of benefit from Microsoft SQL Server and the Entity Framework ORM. However if you're building an app in almost anything else, then there is almost guaranteed PostgreSQL tooling, utilities or packages for that environment, it's a great database to use.
Read Richard Rout's full review
Carlos Alberto Pedron Espinett | TrustRadius Reviewer
August 15, 2018

A great database manager without platform distinction the best relational option

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
PostgreSQL emerged as a robust option for a re-engineering process that consisted of migrating our business platform from Microsoft SQL server to PostgreSQL. The following were determining factors in our selection: the migration from Borland Delphi to PHP, the ability work in web environments in the frontend of the company, and the product's versatility and ability to adapt to content growth.
  • The genetic algorithm that is part of the PostgreSQL core allows the manager to take the most efficient route for the realization of certain queries, which offers superior performance to the options presented as their competitors.
  • The possibility of limiting the simultaneous connections that the manager receives allows us to channel their resources efficiently and optimally.
  • PostgreSQL allows adding additional languages ​​to Transact-SQL itself to perform its functions or procedures. This is important since it allows teamwork without major limitations to the knowledge of the language being worked, and its availability as an extension for PostgreSQL.
  • In short or quick queries, PostgreSQL usually shows disadvantages compared to other, similar applications.
  • The knowledge or management of commands by console is desirable. That is to say, it would be better to avoid depending on the graphical interface for the manager to be able to operate it correctly, since the pgAdmin option that this proposes usually consumes a lot of computer resources.
  • While it isn't quite bad, the documentation regarding the handler could improve. The current one is usually sufficient, but could improve.
PostgreSQL is indicated for companies with a large database that requires the maximum database manager and needs to squeeze all its benefits. It is not recommended for use in small databases or ones with a low level of transactions, many of which will be lost. Those are benefits of this application, and there are options that can provide better results.
Read Carlos Alberto Pedron Espinett's full review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
October 18, 2018

Robust, resiliant, performant - ready for enterprise work!

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
I personally have used PostgreSQL for several personal projects. I've also used PostgreSQL in previous roles at other companies. In my current role, I mainly rely on APIs and other systems built on PostgreSQL. In all instances, PostgreSQL was chosen because of its performance and versatility. Also a consideration was its longevity and market penetration - this product has been around for a long time and is well used in the industry.
  • Flexible data types
  • Very efficient and performant I/O
  • Robust table relationship mapping (ie. primary keys, sequences, etc.)
  • Better official documentation
  • Better official GUI - the current main option (PgAdmin III) is pretty terrible, especially on Mac.
One thing that I/my companies use it for and that it is most frequently used for is applications with some sort of API. Storage and retrieval is very fast and performant, and the data types (including JSON natively) bring together the best aspects of traditional SQL databases and newer NoSQL databases (ie. MongoDB and others)
Read this authenticated review
Venkateswar Reddy Thatikonda | TrustRadius Reviewer
November 14, 2017

Postgresql - OpenSource and objecr relation database with NOSQL(JSON type) support

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
PostgreSQL is a good alternative in the open source database world. We were looking for an open source, reliable database for one of our products and selected PostgreSQL over MySQL due to its rich features. We used it as a transaction database.it has server side programming languages such as PL/Pg-SQL and have options to write functions in Python, Perl , Java, Ruby, C and R. With its latest releases it has support for JSON and is the only open source database with Geo spatial support.
  • Object relational database
  • Rich support of procedural languages like R, C, Python, Perl and PL/ PGSQL
  • Geo Spatial and JSON support
  • MVCC concurrency model gives less locking
  • Deployment gets difficult for folks who are habituated with commercial databases.
  • We cannot write our own database engine unlike MySQL.
  • PostgreSQL do not allow us to execute batch of statement. we have to embed it in a function to achieve this.
1. Open source and object relational
2. Great community
3. New versions for every six months and very stable
4. Support for JSON, XML and Geospatial
Read Venkateswar Reddy Thatikonda's full review
Bhargav Nanekalva | TrustRadius Reviewer
September 19, 2017

The "best" open source ORDBMS out there.

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We've migrated to PostgreSQL for most of our applications. Before we used Oracle and MSSQL Database servers. We were able to save on the licensing fees for enterprise level database with professional support from Credativ India Pvt. Ltd (there are many more support options available in India). Apart from the cost, PostgreSQL offered us new data types and easy-to-scale options.
  • It works extremely fast for our applications including very complex queries as well
  • They provide one of most complete and precise documentation in the open source market and even compared with a few proprietary projects
  • It's an enterprise level database where even few banks have migrated from legacy databases like IBM DB2
  • One of the best open source communities, with paid support options available as well
  • It provides very unique data types which other databases might not support.
  • PostgreSQL security is arguably one of the best
  • PostgreSQL can provide richer auditing options as the current options are enough for few large enterprises
  • Replication can be improved
PostgreSQL supports most of standard SQL, which is almost same as other SQL servers, and it has wide variety of features that are not present in other SQL servers. PostgreSQL has database drivers readily available for popular web programming languages like PHP, Python, Java, and C#. PgAdmin makes it easy for people who likes to work with it's GUI, even though it's not the best yet. There are many companies that provide enterprise level support and many SaaS and PaaS providers which makes it even more easier to migrate and get support.

Only case where it might not suit is for companies that want to implement themselves and don't have enough expertise in doing so. That's because PostgreSQL is extremely powerful despite its size.
Read Bhargav Nanekalva's full review
Louis Marceau | TrustRadius Reviewer
September 18, 2017

PostgreSQL - A great database at a great price.

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
In my previous and current organisation we develop applications using PostgreSQL as one of or the database of choice to store application data. I have used it in both client-server implementations where it is used to store data for a single company as well as in cloud implementations where it is used to store data across many companies and users. Recently I have used it as the database in a data warehouse solution, data mining millions of rows.
  • The biggest reason I have used postgreSQL and continue to use it in places where I work - is the cost. There is none. It is a great feature rich database which doesn't cost you anything.
  • When using properly design database, tables, and relationships - we have not ran into any particular database limit
  • For my uses I have none. Currently we are developing a new application using the lastest version of PostgreSQL and are exploring any limitations.
I have used it as a data warehouse, client specific database for a web application, test systems where each developer has their own schema for testing, local application database, and as a remote application database. It has worked well in each of these situations. Currently the main area where I would not use PostgreSQL is when I need an embedded database - in which case I would look at something like SQLite or other.
Read Louis Marceau's full review
Anatoly Geyfman | TrustRadius Reviewer
August 16, 2017

PostgreSQL, especially with PostGIS is a standout among open source databases

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use Postgres for both OLAP and OLTP use cases. We use it as our data warehouse, for interactive queries, and for storing application data. Postgres is one of our main data warehouses, and we use it in congress with BigQuery to store, analyze and finally index data into our ElasticSearch cluster. One of our primary uses of Postgres is for geospatial analytics, so we leverage the PostGIS extension extensively.
  • Spatial Analytics and other GIS use cases - PostGIS is an excellent way to get into spatial analytics, loading it up with data is trivial, power is on par with commercial solutions.
  • Interactive queries over large (but not huge datasets) - easy to load data, query it with standard SQL, easy to set up and maintain.
  • Support for a variety of data types - storing data in the database using semantic types is helpful for deeper analysis.
  • Clustering -- we'd love to see clustering built into the product itself instead of third-party
  • Parallelization -- PG is already going in this direction, but it will take a few more releases to be there
  • Tooling -- we use a third-party tool right now to query PG, would love to see a first-party quality query tool
Postgres is best suited as an OLTP database, and even for non-huge OLAP use cases. We especially love the third-party extensions to PG that make the database a clear winner amongst open source databases. When evaluating PG, look beyond traditional RDBMS workloads and also into areas where NOSQL databases have use cases. With PG's support for the JSON and JSONB data types, PG is now a competitor on the schema-less database space.
Read Anatoly Geyfman's full review
Flávio Carmo | TrustRadius Reviewer
September 28, 2017

From Oracle Database to PostgreSQL

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use PostgreSQL as our main database platform, for our cloud solutions, GIS applications and all new products. We used Oracle Database for many years before, but it is now only a bad memory, from high costs to low quality resources. PostgreSQL is superior, more simple but robust and a complete database solution.
  • No license cost
  • Full integration with all development languages (C#, Java, Node.js, etc.)
  • Easy migration
  • Full documentation
  • Fantastic addons, like PostGIS
  • Few IDEs
From small to huge databases, PostgreSQL is the best solution for every industry.
Read Flávio Carmo's full review
Eric Mann | TrustRadius Reviewer
March 21, 2017

The best of both Relational and Document DB paradigms

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use PostgreSQL across the organization for data storage across multiple web-based microservices. It's easily scalable, hosted on AWS, and provides deeper features we need when querying against complex data types (namely against JSON).
  • Native JSON support
  • Intuitive command line integration
  • Easy Docker hosting
  • Shared extensions. We use the pgcrypto extension (for UUID support) and frequently install it to the wrong schema by mistake. Extensions are difficult to move, and this is an easy mistake to make.
  • Clearer delineation between "databases" and "schemas" would help to better understand the system.
PostgreSQL is very good for quick projects with structured data. It allows for easy schema development for complex relational structures and also for document storage (using JSON-encoding for documents). The query model against these nested JSON structures is amazing!

If looking for a strict document database, though, PostgreSQL might be overkill when compared to tools like DynamoDB.
Read Eric Mann's full review
Josh Stapp | TrustRadius Reviewer
March 15, 2017

PostgreSQL is great for storing large amounts of data

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
It is being used to store 5TB of advertising data for our web app. It has a very fast response time and the JSON support is a nice feature. Since we already know SQL learning it has been easy and the index/pg tables contain a lot of helpful information for us to use.
  • Speed
  • JSON support
  • Widely used
  • Autovacuum problems
  • JSON speed
  • Doesn't clean up indexes well
It works better if you need JSON support. It's very fast and a little more complicated than MySQL especially with query planning. It's bad on keeping space usage small [for] dump/restore. The whole db shrank out 6TB DB to 2TB. Any large project I would definitely pick postgres just in case more advanced stuff is wanted later.
Read Josh Stapp's full review
Nitin Pasumarthy | TrustRadius Reviewer
November 03, 2016

PostgreSQL, the best research oriented central database

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
I used PostgresSQL as a GeoSpatial database for creating map server. For that I installed PostGis plugin which provides GeoSpatial functions which are useful for creating map tiles from vector data. A detailed description of what all I did with Postgres in this project can be found at https://sites.google.com/site/nitinpasumarthy/blog/createyourowntileserverandmapclient under sections 2 and 3 ("Process Data" & "Create tiles from Postgres").
  • Relational database with great collection of GeoSpatial functions
  • Open source which enables researchers to tweak and extend
  • Good resource for learning internals of a database like Query Optimizer, Buffer Manager etc.
  • Installation can be a little tricky sometimes. Wrote a decent blog post how to do it on a MAC - https://sites.google.com/site/nitinpasumarthy/blog/installingpostgresonmac
Good if we want to extend the database and use existing plugins
Good for research and academic use cases like learning database internals
Not good in places where customer support is mandatory for enterprise (as far as I know)
Not good in cases where distributed system is required for availability as there are other better distributed database systems
Read Nitin Pasumarthy's full review
Nikhil Karkare | TrustRadius Reviewer
February 14, 2017

A great RDBMS

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We are using PostgreSQL for our business intelligence and analytics purposes. We are using it to store the integrated data from the multiple data sources. In short, we are using it to store our data warehouse. We pull the data from here to create the reports in our reporting tool.
  • I like the pre-defined functions of PostgreSQL.
  • It has got some advanced data types which are not available in many other relational database systems.
  • It is reliable and we can write the stored procedures in Python, which is a great feature.
  • It is probably one of the best relational database systems but I find it not good enough for analytics purposes (not bad if you have less data).
  • I haven't done its configuration but I came to know that this is not really easy as in the other RDMS tools.
  • It doesn't have the proper documentation, considering it has a lot of features.
If you want to use it to store your operational data in the records, PostgreSQL will do best. It has a lot of great features. When it comes to analytics and if you have a lot of data (like in billions of rows), it is probably not a good idea. In that case, a columnar database like Vertica or Redshift will do a great job, because they are made for analytics.
Read Nikhil Karkare's full review
David McCann | TrustRadius Reviewer
August 02, 2016

PostgreSQL - the last database you'll ever need

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
PostgreSQL serves as the database for our web-based product. As such it is used by the entire organization and is an integral part of the product.
  • Broad array of custom functionality/formulae built atop standard SQL statements
  • Transactional support for schema migrations
  • Great low-level performance tuning capabilities
  • Performant implementation of bulk merge (upsert)
  • Some of the custom SQL functions thatPostgreSQL provides could be optimized. Specifically I've seen that the "is contained within" operator for inet columns is slow to the point of being unusable in bulk (e.g. as a join criteria).
PostgreSQL is in my opinion the best open-source option for any enterprise-level product requiring a standard relational database. Areas where it might be considered not ideal would include: smaller-scale projects requiring a database (MySQL might be an alternative here), or document stores with unstructured data (some would argue that NoSQL options are better here).
Read David McCann's full review
Vishal Arora | TrustRadius Reviewer
November 08, 2016

Worry Free

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
In my current environment we are using PostgreSQL as a backend database for our online billing system. It sits on our web server and has not much overhead.
  • It is simple to use, no overheads.
  • It has a simple GUI as opposed to other opensource databases
  • Its free to use.
  • PostgreSQL needs to improve upon its storage engine.
When we have a budget constraint to buy MS SQL Server license, we can use PostgreSQL instead.
Read Vishal Arora's full review

About PostgreSQL

PostgreSQL Integrations

PostgreSQL Technical Details

Operating Systems: Unspecified
Mobile Application:No