TrustRadius
An amazing free option for an enterprise level database toolWe use PostgreSQL as our database backend on the majority of our applications across the whole organization. It solves all of the problems that a relational database would solve. It's a very similar product to MySQL or Microsoft SQL Server and supports a very similar query syntax to both of those.,Free relational SQL based database Tonnes of community support Fast, scalable database.,Hard learning curve if you are unfamiliar with SQL databases The graphical tooling isn't as good as some of the tools provided by Microsoft for the example. Can be hard to figure out what went wrong unless you know how.,9,A well supported database - makes development fast Can be hard to train new developers Takes time to learn, but other alternatives do too.,Microsoft SQL Server and MySQL,Microsoft SQL ServerA great database manager without platform distinction the best relational optionPostgreSQL emerged as a robust option for a re-engineering process that consisted of migrating our business platform from Microsoft SQL server to PostgreSQL. The following were determining factors in our selection: the migration from Borland Delphi to PHP, the ability work in web environments in the frontend of the company, and the product's versatility and ability to adapt to content growth.,The genetic algorithm that is part of the PostgreSQL core allows the manager to take the most efficient route for the realization of certain queries, which offers superior performance to the options presented as their competitors. The possibility of limiting the simultaneous connections that the manager receives allows us to channel their resources efficiently and optimally. PostgreSQL allows adding additional languages ​​to Transact-SQL itself to perform its functions or procedures. This is important since it allows teamwork without major limitations to the knowledge of the language being worked, and its availability as an extension for PostgreSQL.,In short or quick queries, PostgreSQL usually shows disadvantages compared to other, similar applications. The knowledge or management of commands by console is desirable. That is to say, it would be better to avoid depending on the graphical interface for the manager to be able to operate it correctly, since the pgAdmin option that this proposes usually consumes a lot of computer resources. While it isn't quite bad, the documentation regarding the handler could improve. The current one is usually sufficient, but could improve.,10,It allowed the expansion of knowledge towards the free code or open source drivers, difficult subjects to assimilate even for many professionals in the area. The process of reengineering allowed us to reorganize a database in order to show an optimal aspect and functioning at this moment. Some analysts showed resistance to change by learning something new, despite how enriching this could be for them.,MySQL, MongoDB and MariaDB,Laravel PHP Framework, JIRA Software, Bizagi Digital Business PlatformRobust, resiliant, performant - ready for enterprise work!I personally have used PostgreSQL for several personal projects. I've also used PostgreSQL in previous roles at other companies. In my current role, I mainly rely on APIs and other systems built on PostgreSQL. In all instances, PostgreSQL was chosen because of its performance and versatility. Also a consideration was its longevity and market penetration - this product has been around for a long time and is well used in the industry.,Flexible data types Very efficient and performant I/O Robust table relationship mapping (ie. primary keys, sequences, etc.),Better official documentation Better official GUI - the current main option (PgAdmin III) is pretty terrible, especially on Mac.,9,A lot of "bang for your buck" - a lot of power at a low cost Flexibility of data types and storage means this product can handle just about all of our needs,MySQL and MongoDB,MySQLPostgreSQL: a great product that is easy to setup and easy to maintain!Currently, PostgreSQL is being used as an email texting mining tool, where I load a flat file email archive into postgresql and then auto-generate keys, which I can then use to find certain keywords.,PostgreSQL's file size is a plus: the fact that installing it on both a Windows and Linux system is easy and fast (even on a moderate connection) is helpful from an admin perspective. Going off of that, it's very quick! It loads and creates tables quickly and provides a very similar interface to other implementations of SQL. Using it as an Email Search system is unconventional (just a tad), but makes for a great back-end when you need to test-deploy a concept.,Its operations syntax is not like any other implementation, which means that along with installing it, you will need to pick up on how to create tables, etc. In connection with the above point, attempting to essentially re-learn a set of commands is NOT a good idea. Especially since SQL has been around a long time at this point. Which I think is why it's not widely adopted (in my opinion): Its syntax is very different (and obtuse). Plus, implementations such as SQlLite3 have beaten Post to the punch in the mobile market.,7,PostgreSQL's speed is a massive boon to our environment: we can query the email we load in, and retrieve results almost immediately.,,MySQL, Oracle Berkeley DB, Apache DerbyPostgresql - OpenSource and objecr relation database with NOSQL(JSON type) supportPostgreSQL is a good alternative in the open source database world. We were looking for an open source, reliable database for one of our products and selected PostgreSQL over MySQL due to its rich features. We used it as a transaction database.it has server side programming languages such as PL/Pg-SQL and have options to write functions in Python, Perl , Java, Ruby, C and R. With its latest releases it has support for JSON and is the only open source database with Geo spatial support.,Object relational database Rich support of procedural languages like R, C, Python, Perl and PL/ PGSQL Geo Spatial and JSON support MVCC concurrency model gives less locking,Deployment gets difficult for folks who are habituated with commercial databases. We cannot write our own database engine unlike MySQL. PostgreSQL do not allow us to execute batch of statement. we have to embed it in a function to achieve this.,9,Saves money as it's open source Liberal open source licensing GreenPlum and Redshift were built on PostgreSQL.,MS SQL and MySQL,Microsoft SQL Server, MySQL
Unspecified
PostgreSQL
146 Ratings
Score 8.7 out of 101
TRScore

PostgreSQL Reviews

PostgreSQL
146 Ratings
Score 8.7 out of 101
Show Filters 
Hide Filters 
Filter 146 vetted PostgreSQL reviews and ratings
Clear all filters
Overall Rating
Reviewer's Company Size
Last Updated
By Topic
Industry
Department
Experience
Job Type
Role
Reviews (1-23 of 23)
  Vendors can't alter or remove reviews. Here's why.
Richard Rout profile photo
October 18, 2018

PostgreSQL Review: "An amazing free option for an enterprise level database tool"

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use PostgreSQL as our database backend on the majority of our applications across the whole organization. It solves all of the problems that a relational database would solve. It's a very similar product to MySQL or Microsoft SQL Server and supports a very similar query syntax to both of those.
  • Free relational SQL based database
  • Tonnes of community support
  • Fast, scalable database.
  • Hard learning curve if you are unfamiliar with SQL databases
  • The graphical tooling isn't as good as some of the tools provided by Microsoft for the example.
  • Can be hard to figure out what went wrong unless you know how.
If you're using C# and other products from Microsoft then you get a lot of benefit from Microsoft SQL Server and the Entity Framework ORM. However if you're building an app in almost anything else, then there is almost guaranteed PostgreSQL tooling, utilities or packages for that environment, it's a great database to use.
Read Richard Rout's full review
Carlos Alberto Pedron Espinett profile photo
August 15, 2018

PostgreSQL Review: "A great database manager without platform distinction the best relational option"

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
PostgreSQL emerged as a robust option for a re-engineering process that consisted of migrating our business platform from Microsoft SQL server to PostgreSQL. The following were determining factors in our selection: the migration from Borland Delphi to PHP, the ability work in web environments in the frontend of the company, and the product's versatility and ability to adapt to content growth.
  • The genetic algorithm that is part of the PostgreSQL core allows the manager to take the most efficient route for the realization of certain queries, which offers superior performance to the options presented as their competitors.
  • The possibility of limiting the simultaneous connections that the manager receives allows us to channel their resources efficiently and optimally.
  • PostgreSQL allows adding additional languages ​​to Transact-SQL itself to perform its functions or procedures. This is important since it allows teamwork without major limitations to the knowledge of the language being worked, and its availability as an extension for PostgreSQL.
  • In short or quick queries, PostgreSQL usually shows disadvantages compared to other, similar applications.
  • The knowledge or management of commands by console is desirable. That is to say, it would be better to avoid depending on the graphical interface for the manager to be able to operate it correctly, since the pgAdmin option that this proposes usually consumes a lot of computer resources.
  • While it isn't quite bad, the documentation regarding the handler could improve. The current one is usually sufficient, but could improve.
PostgreSQL is indicated for companies with a large database that requires the maximum database manager and needs to squeeze all its benefits. It is not recommended for use in small databases or ones with a low level of transactions, many of which will be lost. Those are benefits of this application, and there are options that can provide better results.
Read Carlos Alberto Pedron Espinett's full review
No photo available
October 18, 2018

PostgreSQL Review: "Robust, resiliant, performant - ready for enterprise work!"

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
I personally have used PostgreSQL for several personal projects. I've also used PostgreSQL in previous roles at other companies. In my current role, I mainly rely on APIs and other systems built on PostgreSQL. In all instances, PostgreSQL was chosen because of its performance and versatility. Also a consideration was its longevity and market penetration - this product has been around for a long time and is well used in the industry.
  • Flexible data types
  • Very efficient and performant I/O
  • Robust table relationship mapping (ie. primary keys, sequences, etc.)
  • Better official documentation
  • Better official GUI - the current main option (PgAdmin III) is pretty terrible, especially on Mac.
One thing that I/my companies use it for and that it is most frequently used for is applications with some sort of API. Storage and retrieval is very fast and performant, and the data types (including JSON natively) bring together the best aspects of traditional SQL databases and newer NoSQL databases (ie. MongoDB and others)
Read this authenticated review
Benjamin Albrecht profile photo
February 12, 2018

Review: "PostgreSQL: a great product that is easy to setup and easy to maintain!"

Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Currently, PostgreSQL is being used as an email texting mining tool, where I load a flat file email archive into postgresql and then auto-generate keys, which I can then use to find certain keywords.
  • PostgreSQL's file size is a plus: the fact that installing it on both a Windows and Linux system is easy and fast (even on a moderate connection) is helpful from an admin perspective.
  • Going off of that, it's very quick! It loads and creates tables quickly and provides a very similar interface to other implementations of SQL.
  • Using it as an Email Search system is unconventional (just a tad), but makes for a great back-end when you need to test-deploy a concept.
  • Its operations syntax is not like any other implementation, which means that along with installing it, you will need to pick up on how to create tables, etc.
  • In connection with the above point, attempting to essentially re-learn a set of commands is NOT a good idea. Especially since SQL has been around a long time at this point.
  • Which I think is why it's not widely adopted (in my opinion): Its syntax is very different (and obtuse). Plus, implementations such as SQlLite3 have beaten Post to the punch in the mobile market.
The use case I am using it for - I have recommended to several entities: it's a good way to quickly get information out of an MBOX file format (which contains a lot of unstructured data).
Read Benjamin Albrecht's full review
Venkateswar Reddy Thatikonda profile photo
November 14, 2017

Review: "Postgresql - OpenSource and objecr relation database with NOSQL(JSON type) support"

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
PostgreSQL is a good alternative in the open source database world. We were looking for an open source, reliable database for one of our products and selected PostgreSQL over MySQL due to its rich features. We used it as a transaction database.it has server side programming languages such as PL/Pg-SQL and have options to write functions in Python, Perl , Java, Ruby, C and R. With its latest releases it has support for JSON and is the only open source database with Geo spatial support.
  • Object relational database
  • Rich support of procedural languages like R, C, Python, Perl and PL/ PGSQL
  • Geo Spatial and JSON support
  • MVCC concurrency model gives less locking
  • Deployment gets difficult for folks who are habituated with commercial databases.
  • We cannot write our own database engine unlike MySQL.
  • PostgreSQL do not allow us to execute batch of statement. we have to embed it in a function to achieve this.
1. Open source and object relational
2. Great community
3. New versions for every six months and very stable
4. Support for JSON, XML and Geospatial
Read Venkateswar Reddy Thatikonda's full review
Bhargav Nanekalva profile photo
September 19, 2017

PostgreSQL Review: "The "best" open source ORDBMS out there."

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We've migrated to PostgreSQL for most of our applications. Before we used Oracle and MSSQL Database servers. We were able to save on the licensing fees for enterprise level database with professional support from Credativ India Pvt. Ltd (there are many more support options available in India). Apart from the cost, PostgreSQL offered us new data types and easy-to-scale options.
  • It works extremely fast for our applications including very complex queries as well
  • They provide one of most complete and precise documentation in the open source market and even compared with a few proprietary projects
  • It's an enterprise level database where even few banks have migrated from legacy databases like IBM DB2
  • One of the best open source communities, with paid support options available as well
  • It provides very unique data types which other databases might not support.
  • PostgreSQL security is arguably one of the best
  • PostgreSQL can provide richer auditing options as the current options are enough for few large enterprises
  • Replication can be improved
PostgreSQL supports most of standard SQL, which is almost same as other SQL servers, and it has wide variety of features that are not present in other SQL servers. PostgreSQL has database drivers readily available for popular web programming languages like PHP, Python, Java, and C#. PgAdmin makes it easy for people who likes to work with it's GUI, even though it's not the best yet. There are many companies that provide enterprise level support and many SaaS and PaaS providers which makes it even more easier to migrate and get support.

Only case where it might not suit is for companies that want to implement themselves and don't have enough expertise in doing so. That's because PostgreSQL is extremely powerful despite its size.
Read Bhargav Nanekalva's full review
Louis Marceau profile photo
September 18, 2017

Review: "PostgreSQL - A great database at a great price."

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
In my previous and current organisation we develop applications using PostgreSQL as one of or the database of choice to store application data. I have used it in both client-server implementations where it is used to store data for a single company as well as in cloud implementations where it is used to store data across many companies and users. Recently I have used it as the database in a data warehouse solution, data mining millions of rows.
  • The biggest reason I have used postgreSQL and continue to use it in places where I work - is the cost. There is none. It is a great feature rich database which doesn't cost you anything.
  • When using properly design database, tables, and relationships - we have not ran into any particular database limit
  • For my uses I have none. Currently we are developing a new application using the lastest version of PostgreSQL and are exploring any limitations.
I have used it as a data warehouse, client specific database for a web application, test systems where each developer has their own schema for testing, local application database, and as a remote application database. It has worked well in each of these situations. Currently the main area where I would not use PostgreSQL is when I need an embedded database - in which case I would look at something like SQLite or other.
Read Louis Marceau's full review
Anatoly Geyfman profile photo
August 16, 2017

Review: "PostgreSQL, especially with PostGIS is a standout among open source databases"

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use Postgres for both OLAP and OLTP use cases. We use it as our data warehouse, for interactive queries, and for storing application data. Postgres is one of our main data warehouses, and we use it in congress with BigQuery to store, analyze and finally index data into our ElasticSearch cluster. One of our primary uses of Postgres is for geospatial analytics, so we leverage the PostGIS extension extensively.
  • Spatial Analytics and other GIS use cases - PostGIS is an excellent way to get into spatial analytics, loading it up with data is trivial, power is on par with commercial solutions.
  • Interactive queries over large (but not huge datasets) - easy to load data, query it with standard SQL, easy to set up and maintain.
  • Support for a variety of data types - storing data in the database using semantic types is helpful for deeper analysis.
  • Clustering -- we'd love to see clustering built into the product itself instead of third-party
  • Parallelization -- PG is already going in this direction, but it will take a few more releases to be there
  • Tooling -- we use a third-party tool right now to query PG, would love to see a first-party quality query tool
Postgres is best suited as an OLTP database, and even for non-huge OLAP use cases. We especially love the third-party extensions to PG that make the database a clear winner amongst open source databases. When evaluating PG, look beyond traditional RDBMS workloads and also into areas where NOSQL databases have use cases. With PG's support for the JSON and JSONB data types, PG is now a competitor on the schema-less database space.
Read Anatoly Geyfman's full review
Flávio Carmo profile photo
September 28, 2017

User Review: "From Oracle Database to PostgreSQL"

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use PostgreSQL as our main database platform, for our cloud solutions, GIS applications and all new products. We used Oracle Database for many years before, but it is now only a bad memory, from high costs to low quality resources. PostgreSQL is superior, more simple but robust and a complete database solution.
  • No license cost
  • Full integration with all development languages (C#, Java, Node.js, etc.)
  • Easy migration
  • Full documentation
  • Fantastic addons, like PostGIS
  • Few IDEs
From small to huge databases, PostgreSQL is the best solution for every industry.
Read Flávio Carmo's full review
Eric Mann profile photo
March 21, 2017

PostgreSQL Review: "The best of both Relational and Document DB paradigms"

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use PostgreSQL across the organization for data storage across multiple web-based microservices. It's easily scalable, hosted on AWS, and provides deeper features we need when querying against complex data types (namely against JSON).
  • Native JSON support
  • Intuitive command line integration
  • Easy Docker hosting
  • Shared extensions. We use the pgcrypto extension (for UUID support) and frequently install it to the wrong schema by mistake. Extensions are difficult to move, and this is an easy mistake to make.
  • Clearer delineation between "databases" and "schemas" would help to better understand the system.
PostgreSQL is very good for quick projects with structured data. It allows for easy schema development for complex relational structures and also for document storage (using JSON-encoding for documents). The query model against these nested JSON structures is amazing!

If looking for a strict document database, though, PostgreSQL might be overkill when compared to tools like DynamoDB.
Read Eric Mann's full review
Josh Stapp profile photo
March 15, 2017

Review: "PostgreSQL is great for storing large amounts of data"

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
It is being used to store 5TB of advertising data for our web app. It has a very fast response time and the JSON support is a nice feature. Since we already know SQL learning it has been easy and the index/pg tables contain a lot of helpful information for us to use.
  • Speed
  • JSON support
  • Widely used
  • Autovacuum problems
  • JSON speed
  • Doesn't clean up indexes well
It works better if you need JSON support. It's very fast and a little more complicated than MySQL especially with query planning. It's bad on keeping space usage small [for] dump/restore. The whole db shrank out 6TB DB to 2TB. Any large project I would definitely pick postgres just in case more advanced stuff is wanted later.
Read Josh Stapp's full review
Nikhil Karkare profile photo
February 14, 2017

PostgreSQL Review: "A great RDBMS"

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We are using PostgreSQL for our business intelligence and analytics purposes. We are using it to store the integrated data from the multiple data sources. In short, we are using it to store our data warehouse. We pull the data from here to create the reports in our reporting tool.
  • I like the pre-defined functions of PostgreSQL.
  • It has got some advanced data types which are not available in many other relational database systems.
  • It is reliable and we can write the stored procedures in Python, which is a great feature.
  • It is probably one of the best relational database systems but I find it not good enough for analytics purposes (not bad if you have less data).
  • I haven't done its configuration but I came to know that this is not really easy as in the other RDMS tools.
  • It doesn't have the proper documentation, considering it has a lot of features.
If you want to use it to store your operational data in the records, PostgreSQL will do best. It has a lot of great features. When it comes to analytics and if you have a lot of data (like in billions of rows), it is probably not a good idea. In that case, a columnar database like Vertica or Redshift will do a great job, because they are made for analytics.
Read Nikhil Karkare's full review
No photo available
April 28, 2017

User Review: "PostgreSQL on Amazon RDS"

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
PostgreSQL is used organization wide. We are a very federated organization and each team maintains its own instances of PostgreSQL. We use it through Amazon RDS. PostgreSQL is used to maintain transactional data about our acquisition customers and for AML.
  • PostgreSQL is good for transactional forms of data. Better support than the proprietary vendors RDBMS and is very reliable. You can query data like in any other RDBMS. It also provides Java and JS drives for connecting to your application and querying.
  • If you are using Amazon RDS then Postgres is available as an option with Amazon for managing your instances. So that is very convenient.
  • It is the most advanced, SQL-compliant and open-source objective-RDBMS. It is very reliable for relational data as well as storing blobs of JSON in its tables.
  • One drawback that I have personally experienced is that it is a bit harder to get community support or to Google for results. However, with more use of PostgresSQL the community support is getting better.
  • Postgres is starting to support parallel (multi-core) queries in 9.6
  • Postgres supports materialized views
  • PostgreSQL has better/consistent interface when working with date/times
  • Has very good tooling - PostgreSQL pgAdmin IV
  • It supports all sorts of performance optimisation that you're used to from Oracle, SQL Server.
Read this authenticated review
No photo available
March 27, 2017

PostgreSQL Review: "Trusty database for years"

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use PostgreSQL as a central location for relational data. Almost all of our applications tie into PostgreSQL in one way or another. We also use PostgreSQL as a data warehouse and analytics engine for several hundred gigabytes of data. That figure continues to rise rapidly, and PostgreSQL is handling the load perfectly well.
  • Correctness. Before using PostgreSQL, most of my relational database experience was with MySQL. I originally chose to work with MySQL because it seemed easier to setup than PostgreSQL. There were a lot of things I loved about MySQL--choice of engines, speed, simplicity. What I did not like, though, was that the default behavior of truncating data if it exceeded the size of a varchar field, for example. Definitely not a hard problem to solve, but as a default it drove me nuts. PostgreSQL does the right thing in this case and in so many others where MySQL had strange defaults. (MySQL may have improved in the years since I last used it.)
  • Flexibility. PostgreSQL makes it easy to add new functionality through custom extensions. The custom functionality can be as simple as a helper function, or it can be as complex as changing the way data is assigned to various nodes in a cluster. Very powerful feature.
  • Features. PostgreSQL has a ton of awesome features built in. One of my favorite features is native support for useful data types such as JSON/JSONB (including the ability to query and create indexes on deeply nested values).
  • Clustering/sharding/replication. PostgreSQL has definitely made great progress in the replication area in recent years. Upcoming releases are going to handle more of the clustering/sharding pain points better from what I've read. Right now... it's just not terribly fantastic.
  • Really, most of my gripes with PostgreSQL have to do with managing a cluster of servers.
  • We have extensions such as Citus, but it would be great for that stuff to be built into PostgreSQL. And still have the ability to manage clustering a different way using custom extensions.
PostgreSQL has handled every workload I've handed to it quite well. With proper table structuring and indexing, it handles OLTP and OLAP workloads very well. PostgreSQL is also great at isolating data if you need to ensure that one user cannot access another user's information. Row-level access controls in PostgreSQL are fantastic.
Read this authenticated review
Nitin Pasumarthy profile photo
November 03, 2016

Review: "PostgreSQL, the best research oriented central database"

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
I used PostgresSQL as a GeoSpatial database for creating map server. For that I installed PostGis plugin which provides GeoSpatial functions which are useful for creating map tiles from vector data. A detailed description of what all I did with Postgres in this project can be found at https://sites.google.com/site/nitinpasumarthy/blog/createyourowntileserverandmapclient under sections 2 and 3 ("Process Data" & "Create tiles from Postgres").
  • Relational database with great collection of GeoSpatial functions
  • Open source which enables researchers to tweak and extend
  • Good resource for learning internals of a database like Query Optimizer, Buffer Manager etc.
  • Installation can be a little tricky sometimes. Wrote a decent blog post how to do it on a MAC - https://sites.google.com/site/nitinpasumarthy/blog/installingpostgresonmac
Good if we want to extend the database and use existing plugins
Good for research and academic use cases like learning database internals
Not good in places where customer support is mandatory for enterprise (as far as I know)
Not good in cases where distributed system is required for availability as there are other better distributed database systems
Read Nitin Pasumarthy's full review
David McCann profile photo
August 02, 2016

Review: "PostgreSQL - the last database you'll ever need"

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
PostgreSQL serves as the database for our web-based product. As such it is used by the entire organization and is an integral part of the product.
  • Broad array of custom functionality/formulae built atop standard SQL statements
  • Transactional support for schema migrations
  • Great low-level performance tuning capabilities
  • Performant implementation of bulk merge (upsert)
  • Some of the custom SQL functions thatPostgreSQL provides could be optimized. Specifically I've seen that the "is contained within" operator for inet columns is slow to the point of being unusable in bulk (e.g. as a join criteria).
PostgreSQL is in my opinion the best open-source option for any enterprise-level product requiring a standard relational database. Areas where it might be considered not ideal would include: smaller-scale projects requiring a database (MySQL might be an alternative here), or document stores with unstructured data (some would argue that NoSQL options are better here).
Read David McCann's full review
Vishal Arora profile photo
November 08, 2016

PostgreSQL Review: "Worry Free"

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
In my current environment we are using PostgreSQL as a backend database for our online billing system. It sits on our web server and has not much overhead.
  • It is simple to use, no overheads.
  • It has a simple GUI as opposed to other opensource databases
  • Its free to use.
  • PostgreSQL needs to improve upon its storage engine.
When we have a budget constraint to buy MS SQL Server license, we can use PostgreSQL instead.
Read Vishal Arora's full review
Christopher Weiss profile photo
October 26, 2016

User Review: "PostgreSQL is too often overlooked"

Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We have used PostgreSQL as an application database for PHP, Ruby, and Java based applications. It has been used primarily for our customers' internet facing application. PostgreSQL presents a feature-rich open source database with many of the same capabilities as enterprise databases.

PostgreSQL presents a better stored procedure language as well as having better integration for geo spatial capabilities than MySQL. For setup and administration it is more flexible than SQL Server or Oracle.

In general, PostgreSQL tends to be overlooked.
  • The backend stored procedure language is complete, and lends itself to better programming and data manipulation tasks than MySQL.
  • PostgreSQL has complex data types like object columns and record data types that allow it to better mirror object relational structures directly within tables.
  • It is a fully SQL 92 compliant database even in its fully open source version.
  • For some more advanced features like replication, PostgreSQL can be a pain.
  • PostgreSQL can experience some bottlenecks under heavy read query load.
  • An in-memory or similar transaction caching strategy could greatly expand the appeal of PostgreSQL as developers look for other solutions such as Reddis to do in memory processing.
For a general purpose SQL database that is fully SQL 92 compliant, PostgreSQL is a feature rich open source database. It is underrated in this area and frequently passed over in favor of MySQL or MariaDB. PostgreSQL is more akin to SQL Server or Oracle than it is to MySQL. For general purpose applications that need some database side programming, PostgreSQL is an excellent choice.

If you need a lighter weight and trivial to configure database, MySQL is a better choice. Also, PostgreSQL sometimes is not as performant as other solutions, meaning scale and load can be issues.
Read Christopher Weiss's full review
Ojoswi Basu profile photo
April 22, 2016

PostgreSQL: "Ojoswi's review of PostgrSQL Suite"

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
PostGre SQL is the relational data source for our Tableau Data. It holds data ETL-ed from MQ Listener via SSIS. This application houses all the patient and long term care facility details in a normalized relation data model. Tableau connects to Postgres and joins/massages the data to produce business consumable reports.
  • Edit data after View
  • Instantaneous access and update for Tableau extracts hooked to this data source
  • Simple syntax for DDL
Postgre SQL is well suited well in a POC and quick turn around time development activities. It is not suited to hold a dimensional data model in star or snowflake schema.

Read Ojoswi Basu's full review
Zach Warren profile photo
April 12, 2016

Review: "PostgreSQL highly reliable and flexible for enterprise level applications"

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
BMC Software's Control-M application utilizes PostgresSQL to provide an enterprise batch solution for our enterprise. The database is packaged and deployed as part of the Control-M suite of products. While only deployed to support this application, we have seen quite an improvement with scalability and reliability since migrating off of Sybase about 7 years ago.
  • I find that the PostgreSQL database has well documented and polished documentation compared to other database types I have looked at.
  • While I'm not a power user, queries are easy to construct and there are good open source tools to work with PG.
  • Our PG databases have been extremely reliable and fast which is really the greatest benefit. We have seen no downtime due to any database related issues.
  • While the documentation I feel is great, I do find at times that finding examples or answered questions online is not as easy as more widely used databases such as MySQL. Otherwise we have been completely satisfied with the PG database and have no complaints.
We have a very high count of reads/writes and the PG database has proven to accommodate this very well. PostgreSQL also seems to be user friendly to non-DBAs. I'm no database expert but I have no problem pulling data, constructing queries and accessing the data through scripts and other tools. We also like how the database expands into the filesystem with no need to extend it.
Read Zach Warren's full review
Hugo Pineda profile photo
January 22, 2016

Review: "PostgreSQL: feature rich, open source and powerful database solution!"

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use PostgreSQL as the database for our software product used by thousands of users. We use it to support the user data, product listings and geo references.
  • Insanely great performance - if you learn to master the database modeling, when to use indices, view and functions.
  • Geo spatial support is awesome.
  • Instrumentation tools can be hard to use for new users.
In the noSQL arena, other providers like Firebase are creating a huge traction, mostly because of the realtime feature.
Read Hugo Pineda's full review
No photo available
August 01, 2016

PostgreSQL Review: "Postgres - A blessing for small businesses"

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use Postgres for our core product - a SaaS application. We have around 200 users and a lot of backend processes that use PostgreSQL.
  • Postgres is open source and works very well with Django (web framework written in Python) that we use.
  • Postgres has significant performance improvements over MySQL and other relational databases
  • Postgres supports storing JSON which makes retrieval easy
  • Lack of replication but I think that's been fixed in Postgres recently. Still MySQL has better replication mechanisms.
  • MySQL has more documentation and community support
It works very well as a relational database. I think it's much better that MySQL. It supports a lot of advanced features. Also, all advanced data types are supported.
Avoid Postgres if replication is important for you. I think MySQL scores over Postgres in that regard. Both have pretty decent community and user group but I think Postgres is still behind MySQL. Could be a a little hard to find answers to uncommon questions.
Read this authenticated review
No photo available
July 13, 2016

User Review: "PostgreSQL - does it differentiate?"

Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
PostgreSQL was used when prototyping a new website for Ruby on Rails. It meshed seamlessly and allowed us to iterate quickly for our minimum viable product. We deployed on a Heroku server and there was no issue with getting it to work. It's comparable to the other free SQL solutions on the market, but it was great for us in this case.
  • It is easy to understand and integrate
  • It is a very well maintained piece of software
  • It is easy to switch into PostgreSQL from other SQL implementations
  • It still is not quite as fast as the paid solutions
  • There is stiff competition from other free solutions
  • They don't spell out clear benefits for choosing the product
It is well suited for Ruby on Rails applications based on my experience. It made creating a minimum viable product a breeze. The only issue is that it is very comparable to other free solutions without any reason to choose it as a clear winner. If you want to get a web application running quickly, you wouldn't go wrong by choosing it.
Read this authenticated review

About PostgreSQL

Categories:  Open-Source Database

PostgreSQL Integrations

PostgreSQL Technical Details

Operating Systems: Unspecified
Mobile Application:No