TrustRadius
MariaDB is an open-source database.https://dudodiprj2sv7.cloudfront.net/product-logos/Sz/zD/L4K60PQV3H3F.PNGMariaDB vs. MySQLMariaDB is being used across a division of the company (Aviation division). It is the primary database server for our internal business tools.,We are seeing more security releases than we did when we were running MySQL Very large queries complete more quickly on MariaDB than they do on MySQL Setting up Master-Master replication is more straightforward in MariaDB than it is in MySQL,MariaDB doesn't yet have a Memcached interface CHECKSUM TABLE can give different results in MariaDB than in MySQL,9,I can't answer this question, as I don't have access to information at that level.,MySQL and PostgreSQLEasy to store data with minimum CPU resourcesIt is used for storing web services data on microgrid control. The same product is also used to store weather data to analyze the electricity consumption in the future.,It gives better performance with a large amount of data. Easy to switch from SQL database. Help to take backups for integration and testers.,Hard to implement relational queries. The graphical user interface should be more attractive. It does not show or allow to add a filter to the execution plan.,8,Helping to integrate to solve deadlock issues. Reduces the business cost as it provides facility to handle a large amount of data on one server. It takes fewer CPU resources while using it.,Eclipse, Microsoft Visual Studio Team System, NetBeansMariaDB: good OLTP dbVital db for quite a large number of our applications used internally and externally. The database is used for some management tools used by the infrastructure team. Externally it's being used for reporting to our customers as well as holding some of the metadata. MariaDB is tied into Galera which also helps out considerably for high availability.,Fast writes. Writes are fast, where it depends on the hardware. Reads are fast. Putting into memory is easy. Functions and procedures are easy to implement. Paritioning is nicely implemented.,Bloating. Can't reduce the size of idx log file, especially when data is truncated from tables. Space is not reclaimed. Need to find way to "shrink" file. Writes are dependent on hardware. If hardware isn't great, writes will be effected. If that can still be solved through software. Flushing of cache data is not as fast as it should be. There can be cases of malformed data.,8,Implementing Galera. No downtime, no loss in revenue and monitoring. ROI is dependent on hardware. If you spend for the hardware, your ROI might not be seen for quite awhile. Not as much ease of administration as one would think. So time and effort are involved w/ the dba.,PostgreSQL, Oracle Database and Microsoft SQL Server,PostgreSQL, Cassandra, Oracle Database 12c, Microsoft SQL Server, MemSQLSQL database you can count onIt is used in both internal applications and also in applications and services that are sold to external customers. The software that is being developed in-house uses MariaDB as a database and it is also used when the software is deployed to clustered production environments. MariaDB works as a free and open solution for software that requires a database to function.,Easy to switch to it from MySQL. No client side re-configuration or re-programming is needed. Developed by open community. Widely supported in all environments and software.,It's not guaranteed to be 100% compatible with MySQL (especially newer versions). However I've never encountered problems with this. Could have some UI tools incorporated into it like its competitors.,10,Free to use and openly developed. No license costs. Widely known product by lots of people. Easy to find people who can work with it. Stable and bug-free. Has worked well in production environments.,MySQL, MongoDB and Microsoft SQL Server,IntelliJ WebStorm, BitbucketMariaDB ReviewI use MariaDB for monitoring solutions and an open source project. It's easy to use and I can always find great support. I also have it in a replicated scenario so if something were to happen then I have a backup. This is a great product and would definitely recommend it for someone trying to learn new things!,SQL Applications Replication,Fixing replication issues still needs some work,10,Low cost No licenses Quick to implement (under an hour),PostgreSQL and MongoDB,PostgreSQL, MongoDB
Unspecified
MariaDB
32 Ratings
Score 8.3 out of 101
TRScore

MariaDB Reviews

MariaDB
32 Ratings
Score 8.3 out of 101
Show Filters 
Hide Filters 
Filter 32 vetted MariaDB reviews and ratings
Clear all filters
Overall Rating
Reviewer's Company Size
Last Updated
By Topic
Industry
Department
Experience
Job Type
Role
Reviews (1-11 of 11)
  Vendors can't alter or remove reviews. Here's why.
Dan Mahoney profile photo
August 28, 2018

User Review: "MariaDB vs. MySQL"

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
MariaDB is being used across a division of the company (Aviation division). It is the primary database server for our internal business tools.
  • We are seeing more security releases than we did when we were running MySQL
  • Very large queries complete more quickly on MariaDB than they do on MySQL
  • Setting up Master-Master replication is more straightforward in MariaDB than it is in MySQL
  • MariaDB doesn't yet have a Memcached interface
  • CHECKSUM TABLE can give different results in MariaDB than in MySQL
MariaDB is a good fit for most cases where MySQL is being considered.

In cases where the database will never get very large, MySQL might be a better choice. Queries can take a little longer in MariaDB if MariaDB is using the default configuration, just because the default config. includes the Aria engine.
Read Dan Mahoney's full review
Parry Ghuman profile photo
May 24, 2018

MariaDB Review: "Easy to store data with minimum CPU resources"

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
It is used for storing web services data on microgrid control. The same product is also used to store weather data to analyze the electricity consumption in the future.
  • It gives better performance with a large amount of data.
  • Easy to switch from SQL database.
  • Help to take backups for integration and testers.
  • Hard to implement relational queries.
  • The graphical user interface should be more attractive.
  • It does not show or allow to add a filter to the execution plan.
Easy to switch from another database. Installation is very easy and integration team always prefers to solve issues using MariaDB tool.
Read Parry Ghuman's full review
Anson Abraham profile photo
January 17, 2018

User Review: "MariaDB: good OLTP db"

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Vital db for quite a large number of our applications used internally and externally. The database is used for some management tools used by the infrastructure team. Externally it's being used for reporting to our customers as well as holding some of the metadata. MariaDB is tied into Galera which also helps out considerably for high availability.
  • Fast writes. Writes are fast, where it depends on the hardware.
  • Reads are fast. Putting into memory is easy.
  • Functions and procedures are easy to implement.
  • Paritioning is nicely implemented.
  • Bloating. Can't reduce the size of idx log file, especially when data is truncated from tables. Space is not reclaimed. Need to find way to "shrink" file.
  • Writes are dependent on hardware. If hardware isn't great, writes will be effected. If that can still be solved through software.
  • Flushing of cache data is not as fast as it should be. There can be cases of malformed data.
If you need a robust and scalable OLTP rdbms, MariaDB works. If you need an OLAP, MariaDB is not for you. Look elsewhere. If you implement Galera, then you'll have a high availability database engine. No one true master, all masterless/slaveless. If you need to use a DB for management tools like Cloudera, etc... then MariaDB works.
Read Anson Abraham's full review
No photo available
February 01, 2018

MariaDB Review: "SQL database you can count on"

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
It is used in both internal applications and also in applications and services that are sold to external customers. The software that is being developed in-house uses MariaDB as a database and it is also used when the software is deployed to clustered production environments. MariaDB works as a free and open solution for software that requires a database to function.
  • Easy to switch to it from MySQL. No client side re-configuration or re-programming is needed.
  • Developed by open community.
  • Widely supported in all environments and software.
  • It's not guaranteed to be 100% compatible with MySQL (especially newer versions). However I've never encountered problems with this.
  • Could have some UI tools incorporated into it like its competitors.
MariaDB suits perfectly if you want to switch away from Oracle-owned MySQL but still want to keep maximum compatibility and minimize efforts required for migration. It's also a perfect choice for any use case where usage of a relational database has been decided. However if for some reason you need enterprise-level support for your database solution, the choice for MariaDB might need some more thought since it's entirely community-driven.
Read this authenticated review
Andrew Meyer profile photo
June 06, 2017

"MariaDB Review"

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
I use MariaDB for monitoring solutions and an open source project. It's easy to use and I can always find great support. I also have it in a replicated scenario so if something were to happen then I have a backup. This is a great product and would definitely recommend it for someone trying to learn new things!
  • SQL
  • Applications
  • Replication
  • Fixing replication issues still needs some work
[It's a] multi-server open-source application.
Read Andrew Meyer's full review
Stênio Pereira Filho profile photo
November 08, 2016

MariaDB Review: "Great Database server with free license and many features"

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
MariaDB actually is used in our Eduroam Authentication Service thats provide authentication to +200 thousand local wifi users. It is being used as database server in other important service called Stoa, that is a big social collaborative net and learning platform used by students and teachers. Security is a special focus for ours developers and we happy with MariaDB. When some critical security issue is discovered, we receive immediately a new version of MariaDB to get the fix.
  • Synchronous multi-master cluster that permits to develop high availability applications
  • Compatible with applications developed to MySQLDB.
  • Not much modification required
  • Quicker security releases. You don't need to wait about 2 or 3 months to security patches.
  • MariaDB is developed fully in the open: all development decisions can be reviewed and debated on a public mailing list of in the public bug tracker
  • We still do not have confidence in using MariaDB in our administrative systems because we do not have experience to use it in critical systems
  • We can consider that It is developed mainly by a small company and the future of MariaDB maybe is uncertain (!) (?).
  • On the other hands, we didn't find other cons of this software
MariaDB is well suited in scenarios where it is possible to use open source software and scenarios that demands active-active clusters. MariaDB is maintained to date with the latest version of MySQL and will work just like MySQL. All the commands, interfaces, libraries and APIs that exist in MySQL also exist in MariaDB. There is no need to convert the databases to switch to MariaDB. But in critical systems we do not risk using it yet.
Read Stênio Pereira Filho's full review
Casey Smith profile photo
September 28, 2016

User Review: "MariaDB > MySQL"

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We're currently using MariaDB to store flattened data from other various sources for quick searching. It addresses the problem of needing to work with data from disparate sources.
  • It has many speed improvements over MySQL.
  • It offers better time precision over MySQL.
  • It adheres to open source methodologies and testing, which MySQL has moved away from since Oracle took it over.
  • It could use a memcached interface.
  • Although it is traditionally thought of as a binary drop-in replacement for MySQL, some incompatibilities have come up since version 5.1
MariaDB is well suited for general purpose RDBMS needs or anywhere you need a DB that's simple to set up. For example, it is a breeze to use in Docker containers.
Read Casey Smith's full review
Andy G Teasdale profile photo
May 27, 2016

MariaDB: "Maria DB Review"

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Maria DB was utilised as a data storage tool for asset and geo calibration data. On its own, Maria DB would have struggled to meet the requirements of the users in question as they did not have sufficient experience in using command line. However Maria DB was successfully leveraged using the front UI of Heidi SQL.
  • Data Storage
  • Data processing
  • Data Retrieval
  • Stronger help
  • Better literature
  • For small to meddium volumes of data there is nothing wrong with MySQL
Originally Maria DB was recommended to me by a colleague as a stronger offering than the product I was utilising at the time, MySQL. My understanding is that the aim of MariaDB is to take market share away from MySQL. To answer the question directly Maria DB is very well suited in doing this operation of offering a solution from MySQL predominantly down to the similarities in syntax structure.
Read Andy G Teasdale's full review
Rytis Slatkevičius profile photo
May 26, 2016

MariaDB Review: "Drop-in replacement for MySQL, but without crashes"

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use MariaDB as a drop-in replacement for MySQL. We benefit from the fact that it does not require changing the client side at all - we maintain some legacy applications that would not be easy (or even possible!) to change. At the same time, we benefit from the performance and stability upgrades that MariaDB offers over MySQL.
  • The primary reason for me to migrate from MySQL to MariaDB was its stability. I experience more than one crash with data corruption on MySQL's standard MyISAM and InnoDB; I haven't seen any with MariaDB.
  • I love progress reporting for ALTER TABLE queries. In MySQL you would be facing a long running ALTER TABLE query and have no way to know when it finishes. With MariaDB you see the progress in the process list (especially important if there's a boss breathing down your neck!)
  • I haven't done significant benchmarks, but MariaDB seems faster than MySQL. I think it is mostly evident when using subqueries.
  • MariaDB has added a lot of extra features over MySQL. However, I think one in particular is still missing - and really, just the one - an ability to compute median values from the data. I miss it in my work quite often.
You can use standard MySQL client side libraries to connect to MariaDB servers, however, there is one caveat: MariaDB versioning. MariaDB is now at version 10, whereas MySQL is at version 5. If the client side has hardcoded version numbers it may behave in unexpected ways as it will see mismatching versions and especially one that it does not even know about.

Overall, MariaDB is a very good drop-in replacement for MySQL, as long as your client-side does not do anything fancy.
Read Rytis Slatkevičius's full review
Brandon Cluff profile photo
February 01, 2016

"MariaDB Review"

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
I use MariaDB for every aspect of my database. I prefer using MariaDB over MySQL!
  • A bunch of third party storage engines.
  • Various performance enhancements.
  • Parallel replication and multi-source replication.
  • The future of MariaDB is uncertain. It is developed mainly by a small company that may not have as strong a future as Oracle. There have been and will continue to be MySQL improvements that will never make it into MariaDB.
  • MariaDB has basically forked off of MySQL 5.5, and it will not acquire all the features of MySQL 5.6 or future releases.
I use it instead of MySQL everywhere.
Read Brandon Cluff's full review
No photo available
August 05, 2016

User Review: "MariaDB implemetation first phase"

Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
The Engineering department uses MariaDB for its OLTP system. It solves the problem we had with NoSQL databases to give us an ACID compliant reliable database storage engine.
  • Gives us the flexibility to design data structures which can be joined to give data served by our APIs.
  • Provides us options to use multiple storage engines based on the data being stored.
  • Replication technology can definitely improve. Currently we face lot of issues with replication causing table locks.
  • Provide better troubleshooting tools out of the box, for example a comprehensive GUI like SSMS for SQL Server.
  • Alter table and add indexing is an overhead on large tables which causes replication and storage issues.
  • Well suited for medium scale read and write systems
  • Not suited for systems where write workloads are high and require multiple masters to support the volume
Read this authenticated review

About MariaDB

MariaDB is an open-source database.
Categories:  Open-Source Database

MariaDB Technical Details

Operating Systems: Unspecified
Mobile Application:No