Oracle Database Reviews

<a href='https://www.trustradius.com/static/about-trustradius-scoring#question3' target='_blank' rel='nofollow noopener noreferrer'>Customer Verified: Read more.</a>
1050 Ratings
<a href='https://www.trustradius.com/static/about-trustradius-scoring' target='_blank' rel='nofollow noopener noreferrer'>trScore algorithm: Learn more.</a>
Score 8.7 out of 100

Do you work for this company? Manage this listing

TrustRadius Top Rated for 2019

Overall Rating

Reviewer's Company Size

Last Updated

By Topic

Industry

Department

Experience

Job Type

Role

Reviews (1-25 of 171)

Lisandro Fernigrini | TrustRadius Reviewer
December 04, 2019

Non-stop traffic with Oracle Database

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use Oracle 12c databases to store information from many of the critical modules of our MLFF (Multi Lane Free Flow) tolling solutions. Oracle Database 12c can handle variable workloads, maintaining throughput at peak moments. Our solutions utilize many different technologies, but rely on Oracle Database as a key component.
  • Oracle Database 12c has the ability to scale to support intensive workloads.
  • PL/SQL provides an efficient way to develop data-intensive processes that are able to interact with data without transferring it to an app server
  • Partitioning, Compression and Encryption are some of the optional features that enhance performance, reduce costs and secure the information stored in Oracle Database 12c
  • New (actually it is more than five years old) multi-tenant architecture is not as straightforward as SQL Server, but it has been enhanced in Oracle 12c Release 2 and later 18c and 19c.
  • Many features require additional licensing (either as options or as packs) that increase the total cost
I believe that Oracle Database can be used almost on any scenario, starting with small department solutions to actually any enterprise level system. It includes many features that allow a single database to work as an OLTP and Data Warehouse at the same time, reducing hardware requirements and the need to implement ETL or integration solutions between OLTP and DW.
Read Lisandro Fernigrini's full review
Aditya Mohan | TrustRadius Reviewer
February 27, 2020

Oracle Database for critical workloads that can scale

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Oracle Database forms the primary database (with MySQL as secondary) that is used for the whole organization. It is used to store both internal data (accounts payable, employee records, etc) as well as used for customer data and analytics data sets.
  • Oracle Database does security and compliance very well out of the box without the need for much configuration.
  • It works very well across on-prem and cloud deployments where we want part of the database in-house (due to compliance reasons) while the rest can be in the public cloud.
  • It is also very good in scaling to large datasets and performance numbers ( time to run a SQL query) are much better than DB2, Microsoft SQL Server etc.
  • Pricing can be improved to make it much more competitive with other RDBMS options in the space
  • Best practices documents and deployment scenarios for running Oracle Database on non-Oracle cloud platforms would be helpful (for example Oracle Database on Google Cloud and Microsoft Azure).
  • Certainly room for better integrated and automated SQL tuning.
Oracle Database is suited for for scenarios where the database is large and there is a need for reliability, security and availability at scale. The pricing reflects this. It won't be well suited and will be expensive for mostly dev and test environments or where reliability is not a factor or issue.
Read Aditya Mohan's full review
Balázs Kiss | TrustRadius Reviewer
December 05, 2019

THE Database and RDBMS

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
The most robust, stable, and biggest RDBMS I have ever encountered. As the biggest member on the market, and one of the leaders in IT industry, Oracle database is still and probably will be the standard database that everybody would want to use. The enormous knowledge and science and effort and functionality that is put into this product is insane - but for a price.
  • "THE" Database, period. No more robust, secure, and stable relational database exists.
  • Support from a wide range of professionals all over the world. Their academies and documentation is well above the average.
  • Absolute best reliability in the market: ACID was kinda invented by those guys.
  • Thousands of supporting tools, technologies, etc.
  • They moved into the cloud! and are now a quite strong competitor vs. Amazon Web Cloud.
  • The licences around using the DB are quite pricey. But hey, for a high quality, you cannot expect a freeware software...
Although this database is massive, it's the best selection for quite a lot of things. From the automatic query optimization to the physical table lookup, every single aspect is a product of years of innovation. Most of the tools/techniques used today in other DBs were first was implemented in this. Oracle Database can fulfill nearly every database requirement a small, a typical, or a giga-company needs. With the right professionals, this tool can run countries!
Read Balázs Kiss's full review
Eduin Zuloaga | TrustRadius Reviewer
November 20, 2019

Oracle 12c feedback in ERMX

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use Oracle Database 12c in our transactional system named Watts. It allows us to have a reliable platform to handle our car ticket product where users can pay for fuel, reload balances, and obtain consumer reports per vehicle. He have 2 clusters of Oracle 12c to warranty high availability and also to handle our DRP. We recommend Oracle products because the support, price and their technology is very robust and reliable.
  • Replication using GoldenGate. We replicate almost 500k transactions per day between Brasil and México and it works perfectly.
  • Velocity, quality, and support.
  • Relational database to handle financial transaction systems using OLTP when customers pay for fuel.
  • Parallel execution to apply multiple CPU and I/O resources to the execution of a single database operation.
  • It's hard to find Oracle specialists.
  • Oracle specialists are expensive.
We primarily use Oracle in our organization, except for a few applications which use other databases like SQL Server, Redis and MongoDB. Primarily, Oracle Database 12c is used to manage data for various applications all across the organization by multiple applications like Ticket Car, DataMart, ERP for invoicing and master catalog, and for Watts processor by Edenred Brasil.
Read Eduin Zuloaga's full review
Zhann Goloborodko | TrustRadius Reviewer
November 20, 2019

Immensely complicated

Score 6 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
The Oracle database is currently used in several places throughout the institute. For starters, it works as our website's back end. We don't store any LOB objects, simply base data types. Similarly, we have developed a handful of custom applications that run on top of Oracle. Each application is a bit unique, but overall the underlying structure isn't too much different from the Website. Lastly, we use Oracle to store one of our largest data provider's information. Currently, this is in the realm of 2 billion rows spread across a small subset of tables.
  • The database itself rarely goes down.
  • Bringing up new Oracle instances is relatively painless.
  • With the help of data pumps, moving data from place to place is a breeze.
  • If you pay for their support, while they aren't the speediest, they are incredibly well informed and are an amazing help.
  • Immensely complicated. Of all the databases we use, this one has by far the most moving parts.
  • It is highly recommended to have a dedicated Oracle DBA on staff if you want your databases healthy. We have no such difficulty with Sybase, SQL Server or SAP IQ.
  • While the Support Team is incredibly informative, they are often very slow to respond and are often unwilling to answer questions that don't directly solve the problem at hand.
While Oracle is more or less a bulletproof database server, if you don't have an Oracle DBA on staff you are in for a lot of trouble. We use Oracle, Sybase, SQL Server, and SAP IQ. Of the 4, Oracle is the most painful to troubleshoot when things get weird. Now, if you do have Oracle DBA's on staff, Oracle is a perfectly good database solution, but I can't say that it is in any way better than Sybase and I would say it is a touch less reliable that SQL Server.
Read Zhann Goloborodko's full review
Holman Cárdenas, M.Eng, TOGAF®, ITIL® | TrustRadius Reviewer
November 05, 2019

Oracle Database review

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
As a leader in the healthcare field, Oracle Database 12c is used in the whole organization. It is used to host all of the data for our in-house and several external software solutions, along another Oracle solutions (i.e. ODI), in order to address the performance, services and daily tasks of our business.
  • Secure - Great security by itself and along additional packs (Advanced Security).
  • Excellent perfomance and availability
  • Lot of add-in packs that complement and strengthen the ecosystem
  • Complex - not easy to find qualified Oracle administrators
  • Oracle training is very expensive
  • Complicated interface - should be more user-friendly (yes, even for tech users)
Oracle has been the top choice and the best relational database solution in the market for years..for companies that can afford to pay for it. Every Oracle component is very expensive, so it is not as well suited for a small company which cannot afford to have a large budget for it.
Read Holman Cárdenas, M.Eng, TOGAF®, ITIL®'s full review
greg van stekelenburg | TrustRadius Reviewer
October 23, 2019

Oracle DB

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Reseller
Review Source
Cornerstone utilizes Oracle DB at our organization as well as recommends to other organizations for purchase as well as manages existing Oracle DB installations. We provide managed services for organizations that have the Oracle DB. Additionally we upgrade older versions to the newer version of the DB.
  • Growth capability- Will allow you to grow and upgrade from std to enterprise edition as needed for functionality
  • Security options available
  • Enterprise level product
  • Can be pricing if run on commodity servers when you don't need full capacity because of licensing
  • Std Edition has limited features and often needs to be upgraded to Enterprise edition
  • Can be complicated to install properly
Standard edition for small organizations that don't need partitioning or multi-tenant capabilities. Runs best on Oracle engineered systems and has much more licensing flexibility
Read greg van stekelenburg's full review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
December 14, 2019

Oracle did not live up to our expectations

Score 2 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Oracle was chosen as the database to support an older ERP-type application with the actions of the vendor of the app forcing our hand to use Oracle. So it was to replace a different database. The project was to convert not only the data but also tons of code in the form of stored procedures and scripts. The vendor said it shouldn't be hard. Hah!
  • Flashback! With Oracle, you can flashback an entire database or just some tables to the state they were in at a certain point in time. Or you can even write a query that uses the data from a point in time. Very valuable for testing and maybe recovering from an error you just discovered you'd made! Of course, there is overhead for this feature and you need to dedicate a lot of disk space for it and you can't go back forever, but there are times where this is so handy and much quicker than restoring a backup (especially an Oracle backup in multi-tenant architecture).
  • There are all sorts of features for limiting the resource usage of users.
  • Oracle GUI tools for the developer and the DBA are lacking in polish and user-friendliness. Error handling is poor. You need to restart the tool (esp SQL Developer) at least once a day to correct non-sensical results. Enterprise Manager is known to be powerful but hard to learn/hard to use. Instead much is done on the command line which means you need to memorize commands like in the ancient days of MS-DOS. There are many GUI tools that Oracle produces each with a different idea of how user interfaces should be set up. An awful mishmash. They need to learn to write software from the user;'s point of view.
  • Oracle support is not helpful. Oracle is the world's most difficult database to use (especially for the DBA) but the support is lacking - not a winning business model. Slow responses. The first line of support usually knew less than I did because I had plumbed the depths of the Internet before calling them. The support folk were usually from India based on their names. The support process asks if you'd rather get help via email or a phone call. I'd usually say phone call but due to the time difference, they rarely would oblige. I hear that there are certain times of day that if you put in your support request then, you are more likely to get US-based help. It was so common to wait forever for help so you'd have to escalate it to the next level. The next level folks were more likely to know something. See the next point re: support.
If you are a small to medium-sized business, you shouldn't consider Oracle at all. You need highly-skilled and highly paid sharp developers and DBA's to manage the beast. And there are much better alternatives for you - from MySQL to SQL Server - SO much easier to use. Things that would take me 5 minutes to do in SQL Server would take hours or days in Oracle. Even our paid consultants would have trouble making the software do what it was supposed to do. And there isn't nearly as much helpful info on the web for Oracle as there is for SQL Server. I'd always thought well of SQL Server prior to using Oracle, but now I am even more appreciative of its ease of use. If you are with a large enterprise, it could be an option if it does something that no other RDBMS does and you really need that. But such cases I'd bet are few and far between. Other databases, like MS SQL, can run large workloads with good performance. Do you really need to buy the most difficult to use the software?
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
February 15, 2020

My review of Oracle Database

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
A lot of our applications are using Oracle Database as their data store.
  • High stability and reliability
  • A complete set of database features
  • Performance is sub-optimal when data size is large.
  • Non-trivial effort to setup. We have to build some automation so developers can save some time to set it up on their local machines.
Oracle Database should be a good fit for any applications who need a database, especially eCommerce use cases. There might be better choices for lightweight applications or applications with very large data sets.
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
January 13, 2020

Oracle databases in my day to day work

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Oracle is the database that stores millions of transactional data generated by the different applications that support the core of the business (health services), ensuring that integration between them is possible. Additionally, it is used to generate and analyze information to respond to surveillance and control entities.
  • Guarantees the reliability and availability of data when required
  • Supports the processing of large blocks of information
  • Licensing prices in additional packages
  • Timely response by the support team when required
The Oracle database is suitable for storing large volumes of information; I have demonstrated its strength in writing data. Enabling and acquiring additional package licenses is very powerful guaranteeing the security and traceability of the information. The Oracle database is less appropriate for processing large volumes of data distributed across multiple instances.
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
November 24, 2019

Solid and reliable ACID complaint transactional database by oracle!

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Oracle database 12c is being used as the main transactional database by my organization. It's primarily managed by the database administration and batch data processing teams. The business problems it addresses is the need to reliably and consistently store data that requires complete consistency and has a lot of capability to be queried in the future for analytics. The Oracle database does transactions the best with it's ACID compliant framework that gives us confidence that data will be stored reliably.
  • ACID transactions
  • Reliability
  • Scalability
  • Top notch documentation
  • Data storage and administration
  • Error code explanations
  • Pricing for smaller organizations
  • Innovation to meeting newer database standards
  • NoSQL could be preferable
Oracle Database 12c is a solid, relational ACID compliant database that can be used even for the heaviest workloads to store data in a way that ensures integrity and reliability. It's less appropriate in situations where you have nonrelational data and could use a document based database as storage method. Oracle is still primarily relational data storage.
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
February 18, 2020

Excellent experience using Oracle products over the past 18+ years.

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use Oracle Database for storing relational data for our OLTP/warehouse DBs. We also use it as a high availability solution (Data Guard). It is being used enterprise-wide. It helps to store, retrieve, and run analytics on data. The Dataguard also helps offload the queries from primary and helps with performance.
  • Highly performant/reliable and good technical support
  • ACID -- Supports ACID transactions
  • Non-structured Data -- XML, hard to use
  • High Availability -- Real application clusters are available but it is difficult to set up and maintain
It is highly performant and guarantees data consistency based on ACID compliance. Oracle Active Data Guard allows us to open the standby database for read operations. With Oracle 19c , Oracle also allows to do DML redirection on standby DB which can help with some reports that need temporary tables.
Using XML/non-structured data is not easy and I have noticed performance issues when the XML becomes deeply nested.
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
October 25, 2019

Solid database warehouse for financial investment firm

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
It is the central data warehouse to store our financial investment data. It is used mainly by IT, performance analysis, and other investment support staff.
  • Reliable - The backend database is very reliable with very high availability. i.e. we have not had nonplanned downtime for the past years.
  • Solid and consistent performance - Application reporting is always on time and users have consistent performance in retrieving data.
  • Secure - Great security with security issues so far.
  • User-friendly - It is kept as an old/traditional way to access. I would like to see more flexibility and ease of use.
  • Easy and clearly stated about backward support - for instance, it introduced CDB and PDB and I would like to documents to convert traditional DB to CDB/PDB
  • Need to provide easy access for administrative tools. MS SQL Server Enterprise Manager has it within the product and it'd make it easy to use to manage Oracle Database 12c.
If you need a database for a mission-critical production environment with high availability, consistent performance and security for database over 100GB, then Oracle is still your top choice. If your database is not in this type of needs, I would recommend a SQL server.
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
October 17, 2019

Why Oracle Database is right for you

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
I work for Intuit and here Oracle is used by almost all product teams across all verticles. At our team we primarily use it for recording various application configurations as well as for our data warehouse solution. So we effectively use oracle database products for OLTP and Data warehousing. This helps to make our applications modular as the state is captured constantly within the Oracle DB.
  • The query execution and optimization engine are just great in Oracle. A simple "Explain Plan" statement will give a thorough analysis of the query execution plan.
  • We store huge amount of data in our Oracle database, if we partition well and plan the loads correctly, the database is very fast and provides top performance.
  • For us to represent a persona and its relations is more convenient using a graph database rather than a relational DB like Oracle.
  • Oracle DB is a little more expensive than the other comparable products out there in the market. It will help if the licensing costs are reduced.
Oracle DB is very well suited for both OLTP and Dataware solutions. It provided us great performance benefits. It lives by the name to provide ACID properties consistently, and hence, a much-evolved solution. Oracle is not suitable for cases where we need to have a tagging system where for a persona, it will be hard to bring the related things together. It's much easier to do using a graph database.
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
November 27, 2019

Oracle Database 12c Review

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Oracle Database 12c is being used across my organization. It is our core database for almost all software.
  • It works in different operative systems.
  • You can manage it with a web console.
  • You can have different Oracle tools to complement it.
  • Not many Oracle Database administrators in Columbia.
  • It is not easy to manage.
  • The licenses are expensive.
Database 12c is a good, stable choice for large amounts of data. However, the license is expensive, and you need an Oracle Database expert on your team.
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
November 06, 2019

Looking for scalable and reliability? answer is Oracle!

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
It is being used as a customer user-managed database and we use many geo spatial capabilities such as spatial aggregation, intersection, spatial filters, buffering features etc.
  • I really like the robust architecture it provides.
  • It is a very detailed database and is much more scalable than other competitors.
  • Documentation is great and very detailed.
  • Sometimes it gets really complex at writing some large geo spatial queries.
  • Spatial indexing could be easier.
  • It requires some level of expertise to operate.
Oracle Database is scalable for large and varied applications, robust and reliable for any kind of industry. It may not be useful for small-scale industry as it may get expensive.
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
October 13, 2019

Oracle Database Review

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Oracle Database is being used by all Oracle Utility Applications and is a single option for all data needs. The Oracle Exadata Hardware with Oracle Database helped with a lot of performance issues and dealing with terabytes of data.
  • High performance.
  • Robust.
  • Excellent support for all kinds of integration.
  • Documentation needs to be better.
  • Compatibility.
  • Costs.
Oracle Database is suited for large data handling and is not suited for medium or low data handling.
Read this authenticated review
Tiesong Lu | TrustRadius Reviewer
September 19, 2019

Sr. Oracle DBA, working as an Oracle DBA for 20+ years since Oracle 7.3.4

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
I upgraded all Oracle production databases (about 15 production databases) from 11g R2 to 12c R2. The Oracle 12c databases are used university-wide, and are really critical to the university business.
  • I believe other users have reviewed the pros already. I am addressing only the Cons of 12c R2.
  • SYSAUX tablespace grows rapidly. I didn't need to add space to SYSAUX last a few years in 11g. But after upgrading to 12c R2 12.2.0.1, SYSAUX grows daily, and I have to add space to SYSAUX regularly, about every 2 weeks. I am currently opening an Oracle SR and working with Oracle Support on this issue.
  • Some of our small databases only use about 5GB excluding SYSAUX. But SYSAUX uses 5GB alone!
  • Almost all universities (if not all) in the USA have been using Banner application. But Banner app users fail to log on 12c Release 2 databases after upgrading to 12c R2 from 11g because of an Oracle Bug related to password-protected profile. I applied an interim bug to work around this issue. However, since Oct 2018, the PSU patching will not work. I must rollback the interim bug, and then patch the PSU, and then apply the interim patch again to resolve the Oracle bug. I asked Oracle to include the interim in the PSU in Oct 2018. But up to PSU Jul 2019, Oracle didn't implement it yet!
One of the features that benefits me is that it is able to set up an audit on specific tables to specific users, via setup Audit policy.
Read Tiesong Lu's full review
Shailandra Vaish | TrustRadius Reviewer
September 19, 2019

Oracle 12c usage feedback for financial sector firm.

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We primarily use Oracle in our organization, except for a few applications which use other databases like PostgresSQL, SQL Server, etc. Primarily DB is used to manage data for various applications all across the organization by multiple applications. Now, with some of the new applications, they are using some AWS or third-party databases as well.
  • First of all DB needs to be upgraded to Oracle 12c for support prospective from Oracle.
  • Oracle 12 has some great features with respect to auditing.
  • Keeping the data with respect to hot and cold rows is also a great features helping in managing data well.
  • It had installation issues where it needed to have a patch applied before installation could begin. Downloaded software should have been tested before providing it to the user.
  • Oracle 12.1 was not very stable so we had to migrate it to 12.2 after some time.
Most of the functionality needed by the application was already supported by 12c, so I did not explore any other features needed. I believe 12c may not be suitable for applications with a small footprint due to larger infrastructure requirements. That is why many developers have chosen databases such as PostgresSQL or MongoDB.
Read Shailandra Vaish's full review
Richard Hardin | TrustRadius Reviewer
September 18, 2019

Oracle and VSE Corp

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
The Oracle database is currently what houses our data in relation to our corporate ERP system. The database sits on an Oracle Database 12c appliance for ease of access and use. On the ODA, this Oracle Database 12c is 1 of 5. Also running in parallel are another five that run for production, testing, and development. This database and architecture were selected for performance and security reasons
  • Performance - We have several ERP systems all running on various platforms. By far the best performance in terms of consistency being up and available is our Oracle platform. To put into scale, out of all three platforms, since I have been employed, Oracle has not been down once, while the other two have been down multiple times, to the point that my attendance at OOW2019 is focused on migration from other platforms to Oracle.
  • Security - The matter of security is huge. One of the biggest points in choosing an Oracle database and appliance over anything else is the security it provides in counter to anything else on the market.
  • Training - While there is an enormous amount of training available, there are still gaps in terms of availability for classroom-style learning. I have found it more effective to be in a classroom setting where one is held accountable at that moment in time as opposed to self-paced (pure personal preference).
  • Cost - While we love the databases and appliances, the cost of maintaining is becoming an issue when competitors are coming in at such a lower point. Pushing this to a more profits oriented C-level makes justification difficult at times.
Well suited as the base backend structure for any ERP system or for EDW structure in the cloud. Less appropriate for a small business start-up.
Read Richard Hardin's full review
William DeVrieze | TrustRadius Reviewer
September 18, 2019

Audit and Compliance Automation through Oracle 12c

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
It is being used across departments. We used it to automate our audit and compliance cases, as well as case management. This year we be implementing 100% of our case management, and all new audits will be worked in the system as well. Currently, 100% of our compliance cases are worked within the database.
  • An automated case management system has eliminated our duplication of effort in most instances.
  • Having electronic work papers has allowed us to access other case files so we have access to more data saving us time and stopping the need for duplicate request.
  • Our compliance cases are very task-oriented and the out of the box flow works very well with these cases.
  • From the audit perspective, we have had to customize a lot to meet our electronic work paper needs.
  • We have quite a few open Oracle service requests that have been outstanding for years.
  • The history around the completed task is lacking out of the box.
For compliance activities, it is very useful. It also works very well for managing all of our different case types. From an audit perspective, I wouldn't recommend it based on all the needed customization. Over customization has also led to performance issues. This may be, in part, a product of our agency as well as some limitations of the database.
Read William DeVrieze's full review
John Wedlake | TrustRadius Reviewer
September 18, 2019

Johnny Rotten's Oracle Database Review

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Oracle Database 12c is being used to store data which is used to process and pay benefits for Canadian military veterans. It is used by the entire organization to provide services and financial support to still serving and released soldiers.
  • It is able to store large amounts of data in a structured environment making complex development and maintenance more manageable.
  • It is able to perform large and complex queries required for display in front-end systems, for reporting purposes and for trouble-shooting. Oracle functions, procedures, and packages are very useful in developing complex functionality for display and input on the client-side.
  • It is very transparent; the data is easy to access, see and understand, which is significant for troubleshooting and maintenance.
  • Upgrades have been relatively painless.
  • SQL Developer is missing some of the easy to use GUI tools used to check dependencies, grants and synonyms, and other simple DBA functions used by developers.
  • SQL Developer interface is slow, and code completion assistant is unresponsive at times.
  • I would like to see a cleaner way to process data results without re-retrieving data in cursors. We are currently using object types.
It is well suited for large enterprise applications, but not for smaller applications.
Read John Wedlake's full review
Nanie Asedillo | TrustRadius Reviewer
September 18, 2019

The most resilient database right now!

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
The database is very robust and resilient. I like that Oracle is continuously developing and improving it's product.
I work mostly on the enterprise and a lot of HA features. RAC has come a long way from its initial release in 9i and has made my job easier when it comes to troubleshooting and fixing issues. ADG has also come a long way and has resolved a lot of our latency issues and performance issues.
  • Active data guard is an awesome feature to have. It helps unload your workload for read-only stuff
  • RMAN backup makes it easy to backup and restore your database
  • RAC has helped us make our application available 24/7
  • Log collection when troubleshooting
  • Grid control is very heavy, we need a lighter version just for monitoring and alert triggering
  • Tablespace fragmentation management tools should be provided
  • One item in my wish list is that Oracle would make it easier to collect diagnostic files in one command whenever there's an issue. It takes a lot of time collecting TFA files and ADRCI is not enough
It is the most resilient database that I've used.
Read Nanie Asedillo's full review
Jatel Desai | TrustRadius Reviewer
September 17, 2019

My experience with the new Oracle 12c

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Oracle 12c is being used by DIR to create relational databases for transmission of CA workers comp claims. We use it to manage data regarding any occupational illness or injury. This includes doctors, patients, injury, and prescription information. We then run reports on the data to get analytics on various things like opioid usage and the amount of injured employees in California in a given month.
  • New bug fixes
  • Easy for structure design
  • Easy to switch from older Oracle versions
  • The current private/public cloud options are very black/white
  • Performance was lacking in some cases as wait times increased
  • In moving to 12c, there was a lot of workarounds needed for our current system to be fully functional
12c is appropriate for anyone using an Oracle database already and needs to upgrade. Similar database models can also lateral. The pluggable databases are great for use in both provisioning and portability. For those who need self-service provisioning, 12c is very useful.
Read Jatel Desai's full review
OMAR ROSALES LOPEZ | TrustRadius Reviewer
September 16, 2019

I Like it

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We provide consultancy service to a company's different sectors. In my account, we service a company in the financial sector. We provide services such as change and incident management, we work on service requests to provide access and manage users privileges, and troubleshoot performance issues at the query level to avoid impacts on established SLAs.
  • Provide edge technology.
  • Customer support is sometimes bad and if the ticket is not high priority It could take a lot of time to be attended to.
For data warehouse environments, it is a great option. We used to run it using a non-EXA appliance and batches used to take like 3 to 4 hours but it was reduced to 30 min which helped our customers. I think Oracle has an option for any need that any customer has.
Read OMAR ROSALES LOPEZ's full review

About Oracle Database

The Oracle Database, now in edition 19c, is presented by the vendor as an industry leading database that delivers leading-edge innovations, including machine learning to enable self-driving data management. An enterprise, database cloud service, it is designed to support mixed workloads through any deployment strategy, on premises or in the cloud.
Categories:  Relational Databases

Oracle Database Technical Details

Operating Systems: Unspecified
Mobile Application:No