Oracle Database Reviews

<a href='https://www.trustradius.com/static/about-trustradius-scoring#question3' target='_blank' rel='nofollow noopener noreferrer'>Customer Verified: Read more.</a>
740 Ratings
<a href='https://www.trustradius.com/static/about-trustradius-scoring' target='_blank' rel='nofollow noopener noreferrer'>trScore algorithm: Learn more.</a>
Score 8.7 out of 100

Do you work for this company? Manage this listing

Overall Rating

Reviewer's Company Size

Last Updated

By Topic

Industry

Department

Experience

Job Type

Role

Reviews (1-25 of 76)

Balázs Kiss | TrustRadius Reviewer
December 05, 2019

THE Database and RDBMS

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
The most robust, stable, and biggest RDBMS I have ever encountered. As the biggest member on the market, and one of the leaders in IT industry, Oracle database is still and probably will be the standard database that everybody would want to use. The enormous knowledge and science and effort and functionality that is put into this product is insane - but for a price.
  • "THE" Database, period. No more robust, secure, and stable relational database exists.
  • Support from a wide range of professionals all over the world. Their academies and documentation is well above the average.
  • Absolute best reliability in the market: ACID was kinda invented by those guys.
  • Thousands of supporting tools, technologies, etc.
  • They moved into the cloud! and are now a quite strong competitor vs. Amazon Web Cloud.
  • The licences around using the DB are quite pricey. But hey, for a high quality, you cannot expect a freeware software...
Although this database is massive, it's the best selection for quite a lot of things. From the automatic query optimization to the physical table lookup, every single aspect is a product of years of innovation. Most of the tools/techniques used today in other DBs were first was implemented in this. Oracle Database can fulfill nearly every database requirement a small, a typical, or a giga-company needs. With the right professionals, this tool can run countries!
Read Balázs Kiss's full review
Zhann Goloborodko | TrustRadius Reviewer
November 20, 2019

Immensely complicated

Score 6 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
The Oracle database is currently used in several places throughout the institute. For starters, it works as our website's back end. We don't store any LOB objects, simply base data types. Similarly, we have developed a handful of custom applications that run on top of Oracle. Each application is a bit unique, but overall the underlying structure isn't too much different from the Website. Lastly, we use Oracle to store one of our largest data provider's information. Currently, this is in the realm of 2 billion rows spread across a small subset of tables.
  • The database itself rarely goes down.
  • Bringing up new Oracle instances is relatively painless.
  • With the help of data pumps, moving data from place to place is a breeze.
  • If you pay for their support, while they aren't the speediest, they are incredibly well informed and are an amazing help.
  • Immensely complicated. Of all the databases we use, this one has by far the most moving parts.
  • It is highly recommended to have a dedicated Oracle DBA on staff if you want your databases healthy. We have no such difficulty with Sybase, SQL Server or SAP IQ.
  • While the Support Team is incredibly informative, they are often very slow to respond and are often unwilling to answer questions that don't directly solve the problem at hand.
While Oracle is more or less a bulletproof database server, if you don't have an Oracle DBA on staff you are in for a lot of trouble. We use Oracle, Sybase, SQL Server, and SAP IQ. Of the 4, Oracle is the most painful to troubleshoot when things get weird. Now, if you do have Oracle DBA's on staff, Oracle is a perfectly good database solution, but I can't say that it is in any way better than Sybase and I would say it is a touch less reliable that SQL Server.
Read Zhann Goloborodko's full review
Aditya Mohan | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Oracle Database forms the primary database (with MySQL as secondary) that is used for the whole organization. It is used to store both internal data (accounts payable, employee records, etc) as well as used for customer data and analytics data sets.
  • Oracle Database does security and compliance very well out of the box without the need for much configuration.
  • It works very well across on-prem and cloud deployments where we want part of the database in-house (due to compliance reasons) while the rest can be in the public cloud.
  • It is also very good in scaling to large datasets and performance numbers ( time to run a SQL query) are much better than DB2, Microsoft SQL Server etc.
  • Pricing can be improved to make it much more competitive with other RDBMS options in the space
  • Best practices documents and deployment scenarios for running Oracle Database on non-Oracle cloud platforms would be helpful (for example Oracle Database on Google Cloud and Microsoft Azure).
  • Certainly room for better integrated and automated SQL tuning.
Oracle Database is suited for for scenarios where the database is large and there is a need for reliability, security and availability at scale. The pricing reflects this. It won't be well suited and will be expensive for mostly dev and test environments or where reliability is not a factor or issue.
Read Aditya Mohan's full review
Nanie Asedillo | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
The database is very robust and resilient. I like that Oracle is continuously developing and improving it's product.
I work mostly on the enterprise and a lot of HA features. RAC has come a long way from its initial release in 9i and has made my job easier when it comes to troubleshooting and fixing issues. ADG has also come a long way and has resolved a lot of our latency issues and performance issues.
  • Active data guard is an awesome feature to have. It helps unload your workload for read-only stuff
  • RMAN backup makes it easy to backup and restore your database
  • RAC has helped us make our application available 24/7
  • Log collection when troubleshooting
  • Grid control is very heavy, we need a lighter version just for monitoring and alert triggering
  • Tablespace fragmentation management tools should be provided
  • One item in my wish list is that Oracle would make it easier to collect diagnostic files in one command whenever there's an issue. It takes a lot of time collecting TFA files and ADRCI is not enough
It is the most resilient database that I've used.
Read Nanie Asedillo's full review
Rui Amaral | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Reseller
Review Source
I support the decision-makers in deciding the database platform to use, both on-premise and within the cloud. The databases are usually operational ones (OLTP) for both custom and ERP applications. Some are enterprise data warehouses. All are to solve business decisions usually within a retail or financial vertical.
  • Complex query - this is true for relational databases but more so for Oracle due to its robust implementation of ANSI-SQL and the relational paradigm for data management.
  • The various options available within the database are second to none. No one has the same level of partitioning as Oracle does for example.
  • Even though some other databases have similar capabilities no one can match Oracle RAC to any real degree.
  • Oracle is slowly moving this was but allowing the database to consume more data repositories and query them all from a single interface would be a great enhancement. Oracle Big SQL has this but is a paid option that sits outside of the database and has access to a small number of repositories (HDFS for example).
  • Make licensing more easily consumable and client-friendly. This is the biggest bone of contention that is pushing customers from what is a truly great product.
Oracle Database is well suited for practically any data store. The hardest portion though is using large objects, such as images, and being able to query those objects.
Read Rui Amaral's full review
Habeeb Akbar | TrustRadius Reviewer
September 16, 2019

Oracle Database is the best

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Our ERP is running on Oracle Database. We have 11 companies using the database, from the finance department, HR, and supply chain. We have issues with optimization and replicating due to slow links.
  • OLTP transactions are so very fast. We have 5,000 concurrent users and results are shown so fast.
  • Compatible with different application vendors and require less configuration. We are using SharePoint, Sales Online, and other applications.
  • Data replication with ADG is very powerfull and requires less latency. Currently, we have real-time replication without much interference.
  • Oracle should have a single implementation method for all platforms regardless of different operating systems.
  • Migration tool for other databases should be quick, without a user interface.
  • Data cleansing and data validation tools needed.
Oracle database is a perfect choice when customers have Oracle hardware and they're looking for relaible OS like Linux and Solaris. Customers who have Oracle applications will find appropriate to have Oracle Database due to single point of support and fewer resource requirements to maintain the data.
Oracle Database will be less appropriate for customers who have a smaller budget and hardware with slower performance.
Read Habeeb Akbar's full review
greg van stekelenburg | TrustRadius Reviewer
October 23, 2019

Oracle DB

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Reseller
Review Source
Cornerstone utilizes Oracle DB at our organization as well as recommends to other organizations for purchase as well as manages existing Oracle DB installations. We provide managed services for organizations that have the Oracle DB. Additionally we upgrade older versions to the newer version of the DB.
  • Growth capability- Will allow you to grow and upgrade from std to enterprise edition as needed for functionality
  • Security options available
  • Enterprise level product
  • Can be pricing if run on commodity servers when you don't need full capacity because of licensing
  • Std Edition has limited features and often needs to be upgraded to Enterprise edition
  • Can be complicated to install properly
Standard edition for small organizations that don't need partitioning or multi-tenant capabilities. Runs best on Oracle engineered systems and has much more licensing flexibility
Read greg van stekelenburg's full review
Raul Molina | TrustRadius Reviewer
September 18, 2019

Oracle Database Review

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Reseller
Review Source
Oracle Database is the principal database engine for the operations of my company because is a big enterprise, it is managing millions of records of information about final users. Great features combined like Real Application Clusters, Dataguard, and ASM are just a few of the great things that Oracle Database offers. In addition, we are an Oracle partner and deploy Oracle database in the infrastructure of external customers.
  • Complex engine with powerful flexibility.
  • Recoverable at the lowest level.
  • Works worldwide.
  • SQL plus rendition like in Windows environments.
I would recommend it for telecommunication companies due to the volume of information managed by these companies.
Read Raul Molina's full review
Frank Lupercio | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Multiple departments use Oracle and different software use connections to multiple databases that are in Oracle. It allows connectivity with all applications and it's useful for all the reporting tools we have. We can keep all our customer data in one central location.
  • Oracle allows you to connect to multiple reporting tools.
  • Oracle has extensive patches and distributes them in a timely manner when they release them.
  • They can handle multiple databases and hold tons of data history.
  • It is very reliable and doesn't crash like other products.
  • SQL Developer lacks functionality that would be useful, like displaying all records at once when you query
  • SQL Developer crashes a lot and it is buggy. We would love to use it more but it is hard to use at times.
  • They haven't or don't release Oracle Data tools for Visual Studio 2019. We are almost at the end of the year 2019 and still no data tools yet.
  • Connection to .NET is kind of complicated and not very easy as compared to Microsoft SQL Server that allows you to connect easier.
  • Oracle, in general, doesn't compare in terms of use with SQL Server. Data takes a little bit longer to get pulled when you create .Net applications.
  • Connections have to be opened and closed or else you can end up with multiple connections open. As opposed to SQL Server where it opens the connection and it is closed immediately with very little code.
  • Oracle doesn't provide many examples of how Oracle implements and interacts with .NET.
Well suited for large data and for complex applications. It is great, secure, and support, in general, is good.

Not well suited for small companies (cost) and for home projects. There is not a smaller version of Oracle available for home use like SQL Server. You can find many free options for your home or small business without having to pay thousands of dollars compared to Oracle.
Read Frank Lupercio's full review
Subrat Mishra | TrustRadius Reviewer
September 18, 2019

Oracle Rocks!!!

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We are using Oracle Database for all of our critical applications for both OLTP and DW usage. It is used across the organization. It provides us a single platform to store all of our critical data and then extract it to use for analytics. It provides us an efficient OLTP database for managing high traffic processing applications
  • Nice SGA management
  • Easy to apply profiles on poorly performing SQLs
  • One platform for both OLTP and analytics
  • Auto SQL tuning
  • Better LOB management
  • XML Processing
Oracle is mostly good for OLTP based transactions. I see it is limited for the micros service, but I am still exploring that area. Invisible column and identity columns are well used in my applications.

A little more effort on making SQL Developer a better tool could drive the usage a lot more.
Read Subrat Mishra's full review
anand sreeram | TrustRadius Reviewer
September 18, 2019

My Oracle Database Review

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use Oracle Database in our department for storing critical data.
  • Performance is good if we have the right technical resources.
  • Good analytics functions.
  • Easy to use.
  • Built-in querying tools
  • Make it easy to install/improvements in installing the database.
It's suited to hosting a large volume of data. It has good performance but lacks good querying tools.
Read anand sreeram's full review
John Tao | TrustRadius Reviewer
September 18, 2019

Oracle Database products

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Oracle Database is used in many of our applications across the whole organization. It provided the backend database processes for many critical applications.
  • Oracle Database provides stable environments.
  • High availability, such as RAC, DG.
  • Great monitor tool and integration with OEM.
  • Patching process can be improved, such as the online process.
  • Performance troubleshooting should be made easier.
Oracle database is the best in the industry for database management.
Read John Tao's full review
Pradeep Vattem | TrustRadius Reviewer
September 17, 2019

Oracle Database Rocks

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use the database for many OLAP and OLTP applications. The database works really great. The error messages could be more informative, however.
  • Very robust.
  • Works great if initial set-up is done correctly.
  • Error messages that are displayed can be improved.
  • Need to improve performance tuning.
It is very good for applications where you have OLAP and OLTP's.
Read Pradeep Vattem's full review
Andres Peralta | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We used Oracle Autonomous Data Warehouse for our industry in retail and banking because we need the best performance and a high level of security.
  • Scaling.
  • Integration.
  • Security.
  • Commercial department.
  • Bank opportunity.
  • Unique client target.
It's a very good tool if you need high performance and security.
Read Andres Peralta's full review
Frank Lupercio | TrustRadius Reviewer
September 17, 2019

Oracle Database Review

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Oracle Database is being used by our accounting department as well as for our customer service solution and customer experience department. It helps with billing and service connect/disconnect for our city in terms of efficiency with other organizations.
  • Oracle helps keep our customer information safe. It contains very strong security standards and good encryption of sensitive data for PCI compliance.
  • It works well with other products like SSRS reporting tools and .Net applications.
  • Another strength of Oracle is that we receive updates and great customer support if we have problems.
  • Training is also a plus. Oracle offers many options and they are supported by many training facilities all over the US.
  • I would like to see more compatibility with .Net, it doesn't quite compare with SQL Server but it is getting there. I would like to see more samples or support with applications the same way that SQL Server does. You can find tons of examples on the web but not as many Oracle examples.
  • Oracle offers a free SQL Developer tool it is quite nice and simple, however, it is kind of buggy and doesn't offer some features that can be helpful.
  • You should be able to have an option to go directly to the last record of a query. Instead you have to scroll down over and over until you reach the end of your last record. If your query retrieves 250,000 records you have to scroll for a long time. A button that sends you to the last record would be very useful.
  • Also, SQL Developer should allow you to drag and drop your column header from the data results view. In case you want to re-write your query and use fewer columns and you have to type this column again. If the column is listed below on your results you should be able to drag and drop the column name to your query.
  • SQL Developer should also be able to retrieve or create a DLL based on a function or a query. It is not very easy to do this.
Well suited for a large-sized company and large data storage. Less appropriate for a home or small company due to the cost.
Read Frank Lupercio's full review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Oracle is the database that stores millions of transactional data generated by the different applications that support the core of the business (health services), ensuring that integration between them is possible. Additionally, it is used to generate and analyze information to respond to surveillance and control entities.
  • Guarantees the reliability and availability of data when required
  • Supports the processing of large blocks of information
  • Licensing prices in additional packages
  • Timely response by the support team when required
The Oracle database is suitable for storing large volumes of information; I have demonstrated its strength in writing data. Enabling and acquiring additional package licenses is very powerful guaranteeing the security and traceability of the information. The Oracle database is less appropriate for processing large volumes of data distributed across multiple instances.
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
I work for Intuit and here Oracle is used by almost all product teams across all verticles. At our team we primarily use it for recording various application configurations as well as for our data warehouse solution. So we effectively use oracle database products for OLTP and Data warehousing. This helps to make our applications modular as the state is captured constantly within the Oracle DB.
  • The query execution and optimization engine are just great in Oracle. A simple "Explain Plan" statement will give a thorough analysis of the query execution plan.
  • We store huge amount of data in our Oracle database, if we partition well and plan the loads correctly, the database is very fast and provides top performance.
  • For us to represent a persona and its relations is more convenient using a graph database rather than a relational DB like Oracle.
  • Oracle DB is a little more expensive than the other comparable products out there in the market. It will help if the licensing costs are reduced.
Oracle DB is very well suited for both OLTP and Dataware solutions. It provided us great performance benefits. It lives by the name to provide ACID properties consistently, and hence, a much-evolved solution. Oracle is not suitable for cases where we need to have a tagging system where for a persona, it will be hard to bring the related things together. It's much easier to do using a graph database.
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
September 30, 2019

#1 Database on the market!

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We have over 40 Applications running on Oracle Database. Oracle Database is used by the entire organization in dev, test, staging, training and production environments. I can't, unfortunately, go into details of the business problems it addresses.
  • Oracle Database Security - #1 on market - Database Vault, Transparent-Data-Encryption (TDE), Audit Vault, Label Security, User Security, Fine Grain Auditing, SQL Injection, Network Encryption, Virtual Private Database (VPD), and etc.
  • RMAN backup/restore.
  • Oracle CPU patching - A nightmare to manually deploy it to every single database every quarter.
  • In OEM, there are limited functionalities for SQL server.
  • SID limited to 8 characters.
Large scaled, complex, and/or mission-critical applications are well suited to use Oracle Database whether it is OLTP or Data Warehouse. Some COTS software may prefer to use other vendor databases, such as SQL Server. I have also seen vendors use SQL server as metadata repositories for their software.
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Oracle database is the primary backend data storage software at the client. Multiple instances installed across the network support both custom-built applications and Oracle’s applications like OID and OBIEE.
  • Redundancy and High Availability via grid setup has a proven track record in securing data availability across applications
  • Speed of data access across the network is another critical point in which Oracle consistently outperformed others
  • Support from Oracle is another reason for clients to keep Oracle databases
  • Oracle databases have started coming in different flavors, from express to enterprise, but a consolidated management tool that can cater to an enterprise can be improved.
Enterprise data management is where Oracle really shines. While open source databases come in handy for smaller environments, Security and Availability are what keep Oracle databases above the competition.
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use Oracle databases on a daily basis to manage USDA AMS and APHIS data for internal and public usages.
  • Data management
  • Data quality
  • Data integration
  • Performance
  • New AI and ML features.
  • More tools for data analytics.
  • More integration with VMWare, Azure Clouds, and free performance tuning tools.
Oracle Database is a little bit more pricey, and as cost-effective. They should involve and provide more free support on Java and MySQL and other freeware that integrated with Oracle databases.
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 5 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We currently use Oracle Database to store business data. Oracle Database is more secure and stable than Postgres or MySQL. It has good replication support, which I think makes it stand out from the other products.
  • Relational Database Management System
  • Great support
  • Very stable and reliable solution as compared to other platforms
  • From a security perspective, there are lost of patches that come at long intervals. Would like to see them released more frequently.
  • Not happy with the current version, quite a few bugs
  • Data security - with how the data is stored. This solution doesn't have a lots of encryption options. We have to pay for additional add ons and isn't as competitive with new technology.
Oracle Database is more of a relational database and helps to maintain and integrate data. Would be great for organizations using and processing large amounts of data.
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Oracle Database supports critical OLTP and OLAP environment. The database performance and security is the key aspect of our organization, as we deal with customer data. Oracle perfectly matches the business challenge in this.
  • Performance
  • Security
  • Stability
Performance challenges and existing transformation. If you have a new business challenge, it has all the features that you need, very feature rich.
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
It is being used as a customer user-managed database and we use many geo spatial capabilities such as spatial aggregation, intersection, spatial filters, buffering features etc.
  • I really like the robust architecture it provides.
  • It is a very detailed database and is much more scalable than other competitors.
  • Documentation is great and very detailed.
  • Sometimes it gets really complex at writing some large geo spatial queries.
  • Spatial indexing could be easier.
  • It requires some level of expertise to operate.
Oracle Database is scalable for large and varied applications, robust and reliable for any kind of industry. It may not be useful for small-scale industry as it may get expensive.
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
October 13, 2019

Oracle Database Review

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Oracle Database is being used by all Oracle Utility Applications and is a single option for all data needs. The Oracle Exadata Hardware with Oracle Database helped with a lot of performance issues and dealing with terabytes of data.
  • High performance.
  • Robust.
  • Excellent support for all kinds of integration.
  • Documentation needs to be better.
  • Compatibility.
  • Costs.
Oracle Database is suited for large data handling and is not suited for medium or low data handling.
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Oracle Database is used as our OLTP databases. It is being used by a couple of departments at my company.
  • Autonomous database
  • Exadata
  • RAC
  • Big data
  • Data Analytics
  • ERP
If you have two active nodes and each node is in a different location, Oracle has a different solution for it. Oracle Database with Exadata is the best solution for an OLTP or OLAP system.
Read this authenticated review

About Oracle Database

Oracle Database, or Oracle RDBMS, is an object-relational database management system.
Categories:  Relational Databases

Oracle Database Integrations

Oracle Database Technical Details

Operating Systems: Unspecified
Mobile Application:No