TrustRadius
Oracle Database, or Oracle RDBMS, is an object-relational database management system.Awesome experience with Oracle DatabaseOracle Database is a useful software that has enabled an organisation to practice data warehousing and also execute online transactions. It is being used in the IT department since it has a wide range of options in terms of supporting other platforms, measuring performance, and data mining thus solving various business problems.,Oracle Database is essential for data mining. Offers cloud services such as Oracle Cloud for storing data. Oracle has a robust security framework in terms of unauthorised users accessing data. Can support various operating systems and architecture platforms.,Avail more tutorials Add a reliable customer care number in the case where one has satisfied all his options at the help desk,10,Oracle Database has been useful in storing vast data. It has ensured airtight security measures with regards to accessing data. Requires one to acquire knowledge of operating Oracle Database.,Not a member of any user groups,Oracle API ManagerOracle RDMMS - a good DB optionOracle RDBMS is used to store the database records to support out End User application. It is the world's most popular database for running online transaction processing. It interfaced with our JDBC Java: Oracle: thin application. The driver class for the Oracle database is Oracle.jdbc.driver.OracleDriver. Furthermore, JDBC is the API, Oracle is the database, thin is the driver, localhost is the server name on which Oracle is running. Oracle Database may be licensed and deployed on-premises on a choice of platforms. We were very satisfied with this.,Oracle Database may be licensed and deployed on-premises on a choice of platforms The SQL server was very good to use There were other tools one could use like TOAD to make debugging easier Great support,Make Apache more accessible Improve the cloud storage aspect Improve mobile computing for Android,8,Very good Lots of uptime,Not a member of any user groups,Chrome DevToolsHigh performance and availability rateOracle Database is used in the IT department by software developers to add, edit, update and delete data. Once data is store in the oracle database, it can be accessed by different users according to their security permission level. Oracle Database's data consolidation, query optimization, partitioning, back up and recovery have been of importance to us.,Data back up and recovery Partitioning Data consolidation Reliability,Additional learning materials Additional conferences,9,Data backup and recovery costs reduction High performance and reliability Query optimization,Not a member of any user groupsDatabase that allow you to sleep at night!In the organization, we use the Oracle Database as the main repository of all the data of the institution at the national level, resulting from the services provided to the population in the areas of real estate and mortgages, trade, intellectual property, movable guarantees, geographical topics and the national cadastre.,Reliable and stable. Over time we have not experienced drops or service interruptions due to a bug or other factors that could be attributed to the database engine. High availability. We have the solution implemented with Oracle RAC of 2 nodes that gives us greater capabilities to provide the service. Disaster Recovery. We have a protection of the database through the feature included in the Enterprise version. Oracle Data Guard that allows us to have the primary database in the main city and a copy (contingency database) in another department of the country (65 miles away approx.). Monitoring with the Cloud Control feature, we have an overview of the health of the primary database with RAC and the secondary database with Oracle Data Guard.,In general, we are satisfied with the Oracle database, the only point that we always have problems with is the licensing with virtualization systems other than Oracle Virtual Machine because it does not take as valid the distribution of cores with other virtualization tools.,10,Although the issue of the annual support of the Oracle solution is significant because it is 22% of the total licenses that have been acquired over the years and taking into account that annually increases from 3% to 4% depending on the channel , it's worth it for the stability and security that the information is correctly protected with a robust solution with extensive support and commitment to developing improvements by the manufacturer. Practically it constitutes the main element in the provision of our services and we can not put in risk our prestige nor the legal security of the protected information.,Not a member of any user groups,Microsoft SQL Server,Amazon Web Services, Oracle WebLogic Application Server, VMware ESXiOracle Database from an academic perspective.The Oracle Database is used as a part of coursework at RIT. It is used to teach the concepts of database management and access. As a part of this course, all participating students, professors, teaching assistants are required to implement, use, and modify when and as required. Even though it is being used for a strictly academic purpose, most of the important features are utilized and well exercised. At times, these databases are also used to implement major projects. All in all, it does serve the purpose of learning since it is being used in an academic context very well. This includes learning about various database management techniques, implementation schemas, and other PL/SQL features.,Oracle Database has the full features of PL/SQL which means that we can completely unleash the power of stored procedures, triggers and other various complicated database functionalities. Rollback to previous states is extremely simple. I believe that the best property of the Oracle Database is that, it can used for simple database storage uses like storing an address book and can also be used for very complicated things like maintaining tax details of a million unique entities. The range of usage is very wide.,The official documentation of Oracle Database is not easy to get used to. There should be a way to convey its use easily to the users. Adding custom defined permissions for custom defined user types would be a really cool feature which can open up a lot of possibilities. Improving performance and scalability factors is also a domain to explore for Oracle.,9,As this was used in an academic setting, there is no monetary gain. The gain was in terms of knowledge and I believe that this was perfectly achieved. One small negative impact is that people who do not have a general idea about databases prior to using the Oracle database do seem to struggle a bit.,Not a member of any user groups,MySQL, SQLite and MongoDB,MySQL, SQLite, Microsoft Access
Unspecified
Oracle Database
287 Ratings
Score 8.4 out of 101
TRScore

Oracle Database Reviews

Oracle Database
287 Ratings
Score 8.4 out of 101
Top Rated Award
Show Filters 
Hide Filters 
Filter 287 vetted Oracle Database reviews and ratings
Clear all filters
Overall Rating
Reviewer's Company Size
Last Updated
By Topic
Industry
Department
Experience
Job Type
Role
Reviews (1-25 of 31)
  Vendors can't alter or remove reviews. Here's why.
July 09, 2018

Review: "Awesome experience with Oracle Database"

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Oracle Database is a useful software that has enabled an organisation to practice data warehousing and also execute online transactions. It is being used in the IT department since it has a wide range of options in terms of supporting other platforms, measuring performance, and data mining thus solving various business problems.
  • Oracle Database is essential for data mining.
  • Offers cloud services such as Oracle Cloud for storing data.
  • Oracle has a robust security framework in terms of unauthorised users accessing data.
  • Can support various operating systems and architecture platforms.
  • Avail more tutorials
  • Add a reliable customer care number in the case where one has satisfied all his options at the help desk
Oracle database is very well suited in companies or organisations who are running online transactions and also have big data for storage.
In the case of a global company, the organisation can embrace the use of Oracle Cloud for data storage.
Oracle Database is less appropriate in a high-level programming language or rather any language regarded as a low-level programming language.
Read Bruno Asoka's full review
May 22, 2018

Oracle Database Review: "Oracle RDMMS - a good DB option"

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Oracle RDBMS is used to store the database records to support out End User application.
It is the world's most popular database for running online transaction processing.
It interfaced with our JDBC Java: Oracle: thin application.
The driver class for the Oracle database is Oracle.jdbc.driver.OracleDriver.
Furthermore, JDBC is the API, Oracle is the database, thin is the driver, localhost is the server name on which Oracle is running.
Oracle Database may be licensed and deployed on-premises on a choice of platforms.
We were very satisfied with this.
  • Oracle Database may be licensed and deployed on-premises on a choice of platforms
  • The SQL server was very good to use
  • There were other tools one could use like TOAD to make debugging easier
  • Great support
  • Make Apache more accessible
  • Improve the cloud storage aspect
  • Improve mobile computing for Android
It is well suited for multiple platforms and is the largest (most used) RDBMS around.
Read Barry Siegel's full review
June 28, 2018

Oracle Database: "High performance and availability rate"

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Oracle Database is used in the IT department by software developers to add, edit, update and delete data. Once data is store in the oracle database, it can be accessed by different users according to their security permission level. Oracle Database's data consolidation, query optimization, partitioning, back up and recovery have been of importance to us.
  • Data back up and recovery
  • Partitioning
  • Data consolidation
  • Reliability
  • Additional learning materials
  • Additional conferences
Oracle Database is best suited for medium to large companies that needs a reliable, query optimized, easy to back & recover way to manage, store, edit and retrieve data.
Read Simon Wanjau's full review
June 26, 2018

Oracle Database Review: "Database that allow you to sleep at night!"

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
In the organization, we use the Oracle Database as the main repository of all the data of the institution at the national level, resulting from the services provided to the population in the areas of real estate and mortgages, trade, intellectual property, movable guarantees, geographical topics and the national cadastre.
  • Reliable and stable. Over time we have not experienced drops or service interruptions due to a bug or other factors that could be attributed to the database engine.
  • High availability. We have the solution implemented with Oracle RAC of 2 nodes that gives us greater capabilities to provide the service.
  • Disaster Recovery. We have a protection of the database through the feature included in the Enterprise version. Oracle Data Guard that allows us to have the primary database in the main city and a copy (contingency database) in another department of the country (65 miles away approx.).
  • Monitoring with the Cloud Control feature, we have an overview of the health of the primary database with RAC and the secondary database with Oracle Data Guard.
  • In general, we are satisfied with the Oracle database, the only point that we always have problems with is the licensing with virtualization systems other than Oracle Virtual Machine because it does not take as valid the distribution of cores with other virtualization tools.
Oracle Database is well suited for production environments, including for those that use geospatial data features.
Read this authenticated review
December 13, 2017

Review: "Oracle Database from an academic perspective."

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
The Oracle Database is used as a part of coursework at RIT. It is used to teach the concepts of database management and access. As a part of this course, all participating students, professors, teaching assistants are required to implement, use, and modify when and as required. Even though it is being used for a strictly academic purpose, most of the important features are utilized and well exercised. At times, these databases are also used to implement major projects. All in all, it does serve the purpose of learning since it is being used in an academic context very well. This includes learning about various database management techniques, implementation schemas, and other PL/SQL features.
  • Oracle Database has the full features of PL/SQL which means that we can completely unleash the power of stored procedures, triggers and other various complicated database functionalities.
  • Rollback to previous states is extremely simple.
  • I believe that the best property of the Oracle Database is that, it can used for simple database storage uses like storing an address book and can also be used for very complicated things like maintaining tax details of a million unique entities. The range of usage is very wide.
  • The official documentation of Oracle Database is not easy to get used to. There should be a way to convey its use easily to the users.
  • Adding custom defined permissions for custom defined user types would be a really cool feature which can open up a lot of possibilities.
  • Improving performance and scalability factors is also a domain to explore for Oracle.
The Oracle Database is very suitable for large-scale enterprise level applications, like maintaining a database for users of a particular electronic currency which interacts with credit card accounts and has a various number of functionalities like automatic transfer of money on a particular date and so on. This is obviously only one particular domain but in reality, it can be used in many other domains.

Oracle can be used for much smaller level applications or information storage purposes as well, but it might just be an overkill due to the performance issues it has, for example, using Oracle where we only need a small number of tables with almost all static values is not efficient.
Read venkat nitin panaganti's full review
November 20, 2017

Oracle Database: "Review of Oracle DB"

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Oracle database was used to fetch data stored in application, to know what data is stored and how it is stored in application. While troubleshooting any issues we encountered, we were using Oracle database for analyzing the data stored. Usually the Database and Application team were having the access to the database.
Instead of verifying the server logs, it was easy to identify the issues by using the database. Also using Oracle database it was easy and convenient to export the results in required format.
  • Oracle packages have a nice way of bundling functionality like classes. Stored procedures and Functions are well organized.
  • Oracle database is very user friendly and performance has increased in the version 12c as compared to previous versions.
  • In Oracle database we can store huge amount of data without any issues and it is one of the best tool for working with relational databases
  • Backup and recovery process is simplified as compared to earlier versions of Oracle database
  • Oracle is bit more expensive and difficult to setup initially though later it will be easy to maintain.
  • While we were upgrading from Oracle database 11g to 12c, few legacy stored procs stopped working.
  • Though Oracle DB has nice UI, compatible with the application, can manage data easily, but some of the features are not free.
Oracle Database is well suited where we must store huge amounts of data and more processing is required and Oracle can be used if the backup and restore process is frequently done in an organization. Also, if a reliable and scalable data storage option is required for BI task, then Oracle is convenient to use. Oracle is useful where we can export the results in required format and share across team in lesser time.

Its less suited if users are less and for personal use. Also, if we are not working with absolutely massive datasets, and don't need the specific enterprise features or if the configuration isn't extremely complex, then Oracle database is not well suited.
Read Suhas Kashyap RR's full review
November 08, 2017

Review: "Oracle Database, A Big Database with Big Features."

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
In previous employments I have used Oracle Databases in various scenarios. I developed applications and tools which mined data that was in Oracle Databases. Development test environments which I have previously used were backed by Oracle Databases. As well, I have supported security applications which were also backed by Oracle Databases.
  • As expected out of an enterprises level database, Oracle DB supports wide availability to application development, through database connection options whether it be by a direct or cloud connection.
  • Oracle DB can support distributed applications, which provides support to cloud based users and application. As well as large data sets needed in data warehousing which is great for data mining.
  • Oracle DB may not be the best choice for every application or business. Oracle has a high price point and if you are not taking advantage of the enterprise level features, high users count, or big data - Oracle DB may not be the best choice. To this end, Oracle Database Lite, PostgreSQL or another DB may be a better choice. Personally, I have not heard much of Oracle Database Lite - most people think of Oracle DB as the big player and do not consider it or hear about it for smaller uses.
  • Oracle Database Lite may be limited to mobile architecture. A slimmed down version of Oracle DB with core DB features to compete in smaller server applications would be greatly desired.
IF someone was looking for an enterprise level database which supports a wide range of development languages, interfaces, big data support, advanced database features, and needs more database support than something like PostgreSLQ could offer, I would point them towards Oracle DB. The big hold back on recommending Oracle DB is the attached price tag.
Read Louis Marceau's full review
October 26, 2017

Oracle Database Review: "Oracle RDBMS - Use case and comparative comparison"

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Oracle is being used across the organization. Our product has been built based upon Oracle features. For online transactions, read consistency, performance, recovery and other tools are the key features. Our product is quite complex and quite heavy on processing. We run POC for similar products but those are nowhere near to Oracle like Maria DB, Postgre, SQL server, MySQL etc.
  • Oracle DB is having quite a lot of interesting features. Read consistent for online transactions with rollback features. Table partitioning, Index partitioning, data caching, backup and recovery, expdp/impdp, V$ views and monitoring , memory management. Very large data support due to table partitioning.
  • Maintenance - Table Partitioning has many features like switch partitions, Automatic storage management, online index rebuild.
  • Data guard - Very reliable DR solution with 100% replication, easy to start on DR site. Can be used for read only.
  • Expdp/Impdp - Quite fast data download/upload to DB. Migrations becomes quite easy and fast.
  • OEM - DB monitoring
  • Memory structures - Caching, SGA, PGA, session history and V$ views to check DB health
  • I would like to see the rename USER feature. That can bring sweeping benefits in many cases.
  • Unexpected LOAD due to features - If some parallel server parameters are not fixed wisely, the system can overload server/DB and DB will stick.
  • A lot of parameters, need to reduce and readjust them.
For ONLINE transactions oracle DB is well suited. In the case of, complex transaction involving many changing tables or data sets, oracle works best.

Oracle is not well suited for documents related data, big objects, pictures, videos etc.
Read Ashwani Garg's full review
January 31, 2018

User Review: "Oracle Database use at a Hospital"

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We are a hospital. We use Oracle Database for all our in-house development (HIS, electronic records, Invoice, data warehouse). We develop a lot in PL/SQL and this makes it very simple to have it all in the same place.
  • Fast
  • SQL and PL/SQL are very powerful
  • New releases have very nice features like compression, obfuscation, XML and JSON
  • License is sometimes is very expensive
  • A very good DBA is always needed to solve daily issues
  • Help online
Sensitive data
24/7 operations
Solid database
Need for speed and performance
Not good for Big Data scenarios
Read Gonzalo Segarra's full review
January 31, 2018

User Review: "Oracle database Rocks"

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Reseller
Review Source
We support large manufacturing companies that use Oracle DB for their ERP systems, financial systems and a number of business-critical systems. They run both standard and enterprise Oracle databases. It is efficient, performs well and is extremely reliable and robust. It allows the businesses to run in an efficient way, providing data quickly when needed for business analysis.
  • Robust
  • Scales well
  • Efficient
  • Reliable
  • Runs on a wide range of platforms and hardware
  • Can be expensive
  • Licensing can be complicated
  • Licensing can be confucing, especially in a virtual environment
Oracle is well suited to large database deployments, but less suited for small deployments, although our small customers have no choice but use Oracle DB as the ERP system only works with Oracle.
Read Richard Davies's full review
January 08, 2018

User Review: "Oracle Database - one size fits all"

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
As a company focused primarily on marketing we do not have a very large database footprint. However we are using Oracle as our primary data storage solution. We've recently migrated from MySQL and the improvements have been quite noticeable. We are currently using Oracle 12c in our production environment.
  • Oracle Database is fully compliant with all standard SQL and PL languages. Being standards compliant makes Oracle adoption a breeze.
  • Oracle offers superior fault tolerance and provides robust audit trails to ensure system integrity is never compromised.
  • We have noticed that with our implementation of Oracle database the web management console sometimes starts to lag when the database is running its auto-indexing process.
  • One great feature to have would be the ability to auto generate Java code (POJOs) directly from the database schemas.
Oracle being a large enterprise has perfect tools for all tiers of business. Their database is extremely efficient and coupled with free tools like Oracle SQL Developer, programmers can easily interface with the underlying database.
Read heather collins's full review
November 07, 2017

Review: "Is Oracle Database the right DB for you?"

Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
It is used as a basis for Oracle E Business Suite, and we also use it for other custom applications and integrations.
  • Very stable
  • Fast
  • Resilient
  • Hard to upkeep
  • Needs a lot of tech support
  • Complicated to administer
This database will depend on your needs and the needs of your applications. Some applications must run on this database and there is no way around it. It is very stable but it will require a lot of table maintenance and resizing.
Read Ramon Vazquez's full review
November 01, 2017

Review: "Oracle Database is Number 1 for a Reason"

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Oracle Database was used by the Technical Product Management within the organization. Since we operated primarily with a multi-store Magento platform and Brightpearl POS, Oracle was seen as a good fit in order to manage product data for two of our largest lines to funnel into our two aforementioned platforms.
  • Best supported database on the market
  • In our data setup, it moved the fastest out of the groups we tested
  • Easy to implement additional custom patches
  • More effective table setups to organize data for products
Oracle is well suited for product manufacturers with similar setups for each product line in my experience. If data varies for some of the lines, it becomes difficult to pull reports and manage uploads. I can't see it being simple to integrate service based products, or pre-fab products, without some work-arounds.
Read Chris Metropulos's full review
October 31, 2017

Review: "Oracle Database, the tech giant at your fingertips"

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We currently use Oracle Database in the software development department, within the projects and products we offer to our clients. Oracle effectively resolves database management in an integrated way, especially when managing ambitious projects with medium and large companies.
  • It is the most solid, efficient, and reliable database engine on the market.
  • Its documentation is extensive with a large number of highly qualified professionals in its use.
  • APIs, such as Data Modeler, Replication, and so on.
  • Learning curve. After all, it's a complete database engine.
  • Installation times.
  • Complex configurations to find what you want according to each particular case.
In general if you ask me about the best database engine, I would answer Oracle. But depending on the degree of experience and business needs of its users, I could recommend another alternative. If the projects are not so big or ambitious, Oracle would probably be an overkill.
Read Miguel Angel Merino Vega's full review
October 30, 2017

"Oracle Database Review"

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Oracle Database is used primarily for permanent storage of relational application data that is supplied by its users, and for preparing reports based on that data. Oracle Database is also used to archive data, and to satisfy certain regulatory requirements to retain that data.
  • Users interact with Oracle Database using applications and tools that use SQL, a widely known language that is familiar to a wide range or database administrators, developers, application support staff, and managers. Because of this fact, members are fully engaged in all aspects of application planning, development, and application management. This full engagement improves the ability of the organization to manage applications and promotes teamwork.
  • Oracle Database has robust enterprise-class features, such as partitioning, Data Guard, RAC, RMAN, memory management, and diagnostics, that lead to robust, scalable applications.
  • Oracle Database works well with widely accepted application programming interfaces, such as JDBC and .NET, and application development tools, such as Eclipse and SQL Developer. As a result, application development can get started quickly, and make rapid progress.
  • Some Oracle customers find the licensing costs too onerous.
  • Sometimes Oracle Customer Support is unable to identify the root cause of a problem, or a fix.
  • Some customers who continue to modify applications that are running on an obsolete version encounter bugs that are difficult to get assistance with.
Oracle is suitable for applications that can benefit from storing input data in relational form and which write reports on that data.
Read Brian Fitzgerald's full review
October 27, 2017

Oracle Database Review: "A Powerful, Robust Database Tool For Advanced Database Development"

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Oracle Database offers a slew of powerful tools to help create and manage almost any type of database. In our organization the product was used extensively to manage client data, service contracts, procurement operations, and cataloging pertinent research files. The product also offered upgrades based on our business needs and technical support was available around the clock.
  • Using SQL can be much more optimized in Oracle Database with a number of highly effective tools included
  • Technical support can be easily obtained at a sometimes high cost.
  • Incredible flexibility with the ability to upgrade the application with new modules.
  • Oracle database can be challenge to utilize with beginners. Its interface and amount of features can be daunting for those with limited experience using a database. It is not a simple database to plug in an go.
  • The products costs can be prohibit for smaller organizations and companies. It can take a number of hours to setup a database and training may also be required.
  • The product is simply feature rich beyond the needs of smaller companies making it less effective unless there is a need for some of its features.
Oracle Database does really well with complicated database solutions with its optimized performance using CPU resources. For those requiring a simple or basic database system, this product may be an overkill. It is also fairly expensive to procure, run, and expand. Many modules need to be purchased to achieve complete functionality. However it can be very flexible with allowing database designers to create specialized databases for specific data requirements or reporting tools.
Read Bruce Emmerling's full review
October 24, 2017

Oracle Database Review: "Great database, but crucial options have its cost"

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Oracle Database is being used as a backend into a custom Distribution Management System (DMS) and Outage Management System (OMS), including modules for outage, voltage variation, fraudulent consumption, among others.
  • Clustering with Real Application Clusters (RAC)
  • External data access with External Tables
  • XML navigation and parsing with XMLDB
  • Object creation with user defined types (UDT)
  • Cost of important options (as Parallel Query, Partitioning, AWR, etc.)
  • Cost of licensing
  • Lack of DevOps features support
  • Well suited:
    • Online Transaction Processing (OLTP) workloads
    • Back office systems
    • System of records in general

  • Less appropriate (mainly because of its cost):
    • Analytical solutions (as BI, Big Data)
    • Solutions with web-scale demand as Social Media
Read Everton Portela's full review
September 29, 2017

Oracle Database Review: "Oracle - Best of breed Database"

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use Oracle as our corporate database. Among the applications that store information in Oracle we have Oracle eBusiness Suite (our ERP, with several modules implemented), HFM, and several mission critical systems related to agri-business.
  • Performance. Oracle is really fast at solving queries with high volume. For us, it behaves quite well including during peaks of processing like period closing or with very demanding processes (such as Project Account module or the calculation of absorption costing in Brazil).
  • Scalability. We have been growing both in user number and in services that run in Oracle, and Oracle Database allowed us to accompany this grow.
  • Security. As a SOX compliant company, we are obliged to accomplish with a lot of requirements, such as generating and keeping audit trails, ensure the proper segregation of duties and permits, etc. With Oracle we were we have been able to comply with all the requirements that our auditor demands.
  • We are not a really heavy user of Oracle database, and there are a lot of features that we never even tried.
  • Perhaps Oracle should provide better free tools to monitor the database. We are using a third party tool.
I would strongly recommend using Oracle to companies with corporate applications, or having processes with high data volume and / or need for processing. On the other hand, for small companies with few users or little volume of information to manage, it might not be justified by the cost of licensing and higher administration costs.
Read Federico Shortrede's full review
November 01, 2017

Oracle Database Review: "Why Oracle"

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use Oracle Database for our major application backend. Data capture and retrieval latency is the major factor for our database choice.
  • Supports critical rdms function
  • The security and encryption options
  • SQL function with support for C library
  • The replication options
  • Data and storage partition
  • Cost
  • Support JSON
For any complex ERP and complex data warehouse it is the best. But it comes up short with regard to unstructured data and cost effectiveness.
Read Chandan Ghosh's full review
December 28, 2017

Review: "Oracle Database for large scale deployment"

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
At Florida State University we use Oracle databases as the primary data storage facility. We have migrated away from IBM DB2 and mainframe systems. Oracle 12c is the latest version that is currently used for our production environment. Being the central IT department for the entire university we use Oracle databases for storing all student, faculty and staff records.
  • Being an Enterprise Database system, Oracle provides a wide range of usage. It is highly configurable and allows well for scalability.
  • In an Enterprise environment Oracle databases provide full access control and audit trails, thereby ensuring system integrity.
  • It fully supports standard SQL and PL syntax making it easy for developers to create their own triggers and stored procedures.
  • Auto generating POJOs from the database schema would be a great help for developers.
  • The Admin console for the database can be greatly improved by allowing customizable dashboards.
The database meets all our primary data storage needs. It performs basic CRUD operations very efficiently and allows for Business Intelligence tools like Oracle BI to be easily integrated into it as well.
Read this authenticated review
November 07, 2017

Oracle Database Review: "Oracle Standard Edition - Priced correctly for a small company"

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use a third-party solution called Dotmatics which runs on top of Oracle. Dotmatics has developed a chemical cartridge against Oracle which helps the end users to run chemically aware queries against the database. This solution is being used by the entire scientific community within the company. The chemists use it to register new compounds, the compound management team uses it to fulfill compound requests and the biologists use it to screen experiments and upload experiment data run against various compounds. This then helps the upper management to get a 360-degree view of the compound properties and the associated experiment results.

The biologists also plan to use a Dotmatics module called BioRegister that will help them to maintain Biology data for enzymes, mice, rabbit etc.
  • Backup and restore using various methods
  • Performance tuning
  • You can incrementally add options that you need (like Spatial, Partitioning, Compression, Security, RAT etc)
  • Oracle Support (some support engineers are very good and some are not very good)
  • Licensing cost for Enterprise Edition needs to be brought down so that more startups can use the product
1. Online Transaction Processing - it's perfect considering all the additional options that Oracle provides
2. E-commerce where we need to maintain different attributes of the product - JSON datatype has been introduced but the functionality cannot come close to document data-stores like Mongo and Couchbase
3. Data warehouse - Oracle supports columnar storage but there are many cheaper alternatives now
Read this authenticated review
November 01, 2017

Review: "Oracle Database, great software but it will cost you."

Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Oracle database is used as our main data storing facility. It is integral in all facets of our business.
  • Oracle queries are very fast as compared to some of the other relational databases I've worked with.
  • Oracle provides a very expressive and powerful programming language for functions, stored procedures, and packages.
  • The ability to group functions and procedures together into a package is also very convenient.
  • The biggest con is the price tag, even a small instance of Oracle Database can be very pricey.
  • Oracle provides query components outside of the ANSI standard which are great for fine tuning and optimization, but make it nearly impossible to port your Oracle instance over to another RDBMS.
  • Backups and Data migrations to another server are non trivial.
In a scenario where large amounts of data need to be stored indefinitely and queried in a timely manner and the people/company involved have the funding to be able to purchase an Oracle database license without going bankrupt, I would recommend Oracle DB.
Read this authenticated review
October 31, 2017

Review: "Oracle database works for our organizations needs"

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Our organization uses an Oracle database as the foundation of our ERP system. We use it for our financial, human resource, receivables and payable, as well our student record system, It is also the main structure for all of our analytical requirements.
  • It excels in our need for multi-user and multi-functional business transactions.
  • It handles large quantities of data easily and quickly
  • Oracle is very complex and requires skills staff in its use
  • It can be difficult at times to track down issues that occur, however there is a large community of users that are available to assist.
Oracle works well with large data application. If you have small database needs, it can be too pricey
Read this authenticated review
September 21, 2017

Oracle Database Review: "Leading RDBMS with Significant Market Share"

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Most of the clients that I have worked on use Oracle Database 11g. The Oracle databases are used to house Enterprise Resource Planning (ERP) data. The client uses the Oracle 11i or R12 Enterprise Application which has Oracle Database as its underlying base to hold the data. This helps the customer to seamlessly integrate between the application and the database. Oracle Database 11g being robust and scalable in nature fits all sizes of business enterprises ranging from small and medium scale enterprises to bigger enterprises.
  • Oracle Database is based on PL/SQL Programming construct which helps the developer or the administrator of the database to have a quick get to know about the product, as most programmers would have basic knowledge of PLSQL programming.
  • From the end user's perspective as the enterprise application and Oracle databases have seamless integration amongst them, it is hardly a concern to the end user of the enterprise application.
  • It also helps with seamless integration of an ETL tool like Informatica etc., with the Oracle Database as we already have inbuilt drivers for Oracle with most of the ETL tools available in the market.
  • With Oracle DB2 Licensing there is a limit on database size - say up to 15 GB etc.
  • Slowly but steadily Oracle is pushing their customers to move from 11g to the 12c version which has more powerful functionality. But with the higher version, the pricing also burns your pocket.
  • The upgrade which quite often comes up with Oracle products is a pain for the administrator. They need to bundle all the changes and come up with one package instead of frequent updates for bug fixes and new functionalities.
One can try with the Oracle Database Express Edition to see if the product matches their requirements. And if it suits their business needs then one can go for the standard or enterprise edition. Oracle Database is well suited for any type of organization ranging from small, medium or large scale industries. Since it is a renowned and highly used database, any third party integration tool will already have the database drivers enabled with Oracle DB for their third-party tool.
Read this authenticated review
December 15, 2017

"Oracle Database Review"

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use Oracle database to support our main line of business supporting product creation, sales and back office as well as for management reporting. We are a truly round the clock and round the globe business and Oracle's high availability and reliability is vital in supporting our activities.
  • Support: an extensive set of tools and resources, whether it's EM, ASH or MOS there's a full set of facilities to help in diagnosing and rectifying problems
  • High Availability: in particular Data Guard
  • Active duplication: makes the creation of a standby or a clone for development work a simple task
  • It is an expensive product and the license [has] implications
Read this authenticated review

About Oracle Database

Oracle Database, or Oracle RDBMS, is an object-relational database management system.
Categories:  Relational Databases

Oracle Database Integrations

Oracle Database Technical Details

Operating Systems: Unspecified
Mobile Application:No