Oracle Database Reviews

<a href='https://www.trustradius.com/static/about-trustradius-scoring#question3' target='_blank' rel='nofollow noopener'>Customer Verified: Read more.</a>
1105 Ratings
<a href='https://www.trustradius.com/static/about-trustradius-scoring' target='_blank' rel='nofollow noopener'>trScore algorithm: Learn more.</a>
Score 8.3 out of 100

Do you work for this company? Learn how we help vendors

TrustRadius Top Rated for 2021

Overall Rating

Reviewer's Company Size

Last Updated

By Topic

Industry

Department

Experience

Job Type

Role

Reviews (1-25 of 182)

Companies can't remove reviews or game the system. Here's why.
July 15, 2021
Nadyan Pscheidt | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
[In] the organization I work for, we [have used] Oracle [Database] for a while now. Its been used all across the company for different types of systems. One of them is a truck dealership ERP and the other is for medical exams, both with a lot of data to store. Overall, it works great on both scenarios.
  • Uses SQL language, which is great and well known for most people
  • Great performance to deal with lots of data
  • Good and vast documentation and community
  • Compared to the most modern databases, it is hard to learn
  • Could be more elastic
  • Expensive licenses
[Oracle Database is] a great database solution, it suits very well all kinds of applications and problems. The good thing about it is the relational part, because everyone with a
little knowledge of databases can use the SQL language to deal with the
tables and contents. BUT it is expensive, so if you have a small business, it may not be the best option.
Read Nadyan Pscheidt's full review
April 30, 2021
Sarju Patel | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We do support our client's Oracle12c databases hosted in two data centers - One in Plano, Texas and One in Cherokee, Oklahoma. We support approx 400 plus DB instances running in different version of Oracle db- Oracle10g, Oracle11g, and Oracle12c. Our client business is in Aviation Industry. This industry demands state-of-art Technology to better serve their customer with the best quality service at affordable cost. This industry demands High Availability and High-Performance system for quick decision making.
  • Oracle12c Data Guard ensures high availability, data protection, and disaster recovery for enterprise data. It is one of the oracle finest solution for disaster recovery and data corruption. In this setup - You have one Primary and one or more standby DB in two or more different geographical locations. So, if the database hosted in one location goes down due to planned or unplanned outages, you can easily operate business from remote location database.
  • Oracle12c RAC provides Scale-up architecture. Oracle RAC ensures High Availability. In RAC architecture you have at least two or more physical servers with same configuration connected thru interconnect network. So, if one server goes down, you still have database running from the other(surviving) nodes. In this architecture - You can have appropriate on-demand services. You can easily scale up Servers, CPU, Memory.
  • Oracle12c has amazing Performance Tuning framework. You can very easily fine-tune databases running on Oracle12c. Some of the great features are Oracle ADDM, AWR report, ASH report, SQL report, SQL Plan Management, Tuning Advisor - SQL Tuning Advisor, SQL Access Advisor.
  • Oracle12c has great Back and Recovery solution using Oracle RMAN(Recovery Manager). Without much intervention and work, you can easily restore the database backup whenever and whereever you want.
  • Oracle12c provides great security standards that meet fundamental data security requirements - Data Confidentiality, Data Integrity and Data Availability.
  • Oracle Label Security, Oracle Data Redaction, Oracle Data Masking and subsetting, Transparent data protection, database storage encryption, Unified Auditing, and Oracle fine-grained audit are some great oracle features.
  • In Oracle Data Guard - Oracle standby database is most of the time passive and nothing happening on it other than applying the log. Even in Oracle Active Data Guard configuration - You can not do more than running the business SQL query on the standby. Oracle must come up with solution such that standby database can also be fully utilized as a full operational database.
  • Oracle should improve on Oracle internal locking mechanism, latch, and data concurrency. I have seen databases which runs fine with less number of ACTIVE user sessions. When ACTIVE user sessions are increased in the same database - db performance is deteriorated proportionately. If the database kernel has designed correctly, there won't be any db performance issue regardless of any number of user connections/sessions.
  • In current time - DB growth is very common, today your db size is 20GB, It may be 500GB at the end of the year, so on and so on. With respect to db size increase, Oracle must improve on RMAN(Recovery Manager) backup tool. The expectation is that faster backup and restore as and when needed. There is always a debate that - Please don't run RMAN backup,data pump export backup, and gather stats job during business peak hours as it will impact DB performance. Oracle database should have designed in such that Administrative jobs like Backup, data pump export and DB gather stats should not have db performance impact anytime, at any cost. Even Oracle claims that Oracle DBRM (Database Resource Manager) is solution to this problem, but, in actual, it doesn't address the problem in much better way.

Scenarios where Oracle12c DB is well suited:

1. Oracle12c DB with ODA(Oracle Database Appliance) is well suited for small to medium OLTP shops, where you don't have much DB workload. Oracle12c with ODA provides DB high availability, High redundancy, and good DB performance.

2. Oracle12c DB in EXADATA with IORM implementation is well suited for mixed DB environment. Mix DB environment is the one in which some databases are development DB, some are Test DB, Some are QA DB, Some are OLTP, and Some are Data Warehouse DB.

3. Oracle12c is well suited for Banking, Financial, Retail, and Aviation Industry.

Scenarios where Oracle12c DB is less appropriate:

1. Oracle12c is less appropriate for small shops like Restaurant business, Hotel/Motel Business, Burger Shop and Coffee House.

2. Oracle12c is less appropriate for Research and Scientific work, Data Analysis, Big data Analytics. The data computational speed is not so good in Oracle world.

3. Oracle12c is less appropriate for Data Messaging industry.

1. I have very good experience with Oracle Database support team. Oracle support team has pool of talented Oracle Analyst resources in different regions. To name a few regions - EMEA, Asia, USA(EST, MST, PST), Australia. Their support staffs are very supportive, well trained, and customer focused. Whenever I open Oracle Sev1 SR(service request), I always get prompt update on my case timely.
2. Oracle has zoom call and chat session option linked to Oracle SR. Whenever you are in Oracle portal - you can chat with the Oracle Analyst who is working on your case. You can request for Oracle zoom call thru which you can share the your problem server screen in no time. This is very nice as it saves lot of time and energy in case you have to follow up with oracle support for your case.
3.Oracle has excellent knowledge base in which all the customer databases critical problems and their solutions are well documented. It is very easy to follow without consulting to support team at first.
Read Sarju Patel's full review
April 08, 2021
Arthur Zubarev | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
The Oracle Database or rather a cluster of Oracle Databases is used for both an OLTP and data warehousing data storage and processing purposes across various departments. Oracle Database is a very mature and versatile platform that allows running almost any business entirely using only the database. At Parsons Smart Vehicles Solutions, we rely on Oracle for conducting the critical line of business. The database's unique resilience capabilities, programmability, and mature tooling allow for rapid software development while maintaining high quality. Oracle is widely supported by vendors' databases, which makes integration easier.
  • Automated database objects validation: correctness of views, packages, triggers, and everything is built-in. This minimizes the risk of using malfunctioned software and makes it easy to fix broken code.
  • Rich programmability model: the database supports not only the very rich SQL but also PLSQL, Java and it has very good command-line tools that make change management easy and efficient.
  • Excellent for data warehousing with its support for automatic materialized views management, table sequences, data types, updatable cursors, advanced SQL as Windowing Functions, built-in upsert semantics via the Merge SQL.
  • The memory demand and management makes it impossible to run it in a container.
  • It is hard to perform local unit testing with Oracle even using the personal edition (aggressive all the available memory grab for itself).
  • Lack of built in database migrations (e.g. as Flyway).
  • The need to install the Oracle client in addition to its drivers.
  • The cost of running it, especially in the Cloud.
  • Comes with very spartan community grade client/management tools whereas the commercial offerings tend to demand a premium price.
I would say that if the business generates considerable revenue and must rely on a world-class feature-rich database engine, not in the Cloud, to do more than simple OLTP then Oracle Database is a go-to offering. The other factor is that Oracle talent is likely available in abundance. Having one backed by Oracle is a long-term advantageous strategy.
Not yet, but I'm interested in Oracle user groups - It would be great to collaborate together as part of a user group, however, it does not be appearing as there are any active in my area. Based on the marketing communications, Oracle seldom has any events, even the online ones.
Read Arthur Zubarev's full review
April 02, 2021
Lisandro Fernigrini | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use Oracle 12c databases to store information from many of the critical modules of our MLFF (Multi Lane Free Flow) tolling solutions. Oracle Database 12c can handle variable workloads, maintaining throughput at peak moments. Our solutions utilize many different technologies, but rely on Oracle Database as a key component.
  • Oracle Database 12c has the ability to scale to support intensive workloads.
  • PL/SQL provides an efficient way to develop data-intensive processes that are able to interact with data without transferring it to an app server
  • Partitioning, Compression and Encryption are some of the optional features that enhance performance, reduce costs and secure the information stored in Oracle Database 12c
  • New (actually it is more than five years old) multi-tenant architecture is not as straightforward as SQL Server, but it has been enhanced in Oracle 12c Release 2 and later 18c and 19c.
  • Many features require additional licensing (either as options or as packs) that increase the total cost
I believe that Oracle Database can be used almost on any scenario, starting with small department solutions to actually any enterprise level system. It includes many features that allow a single database to work as an OLTP and Data Warehouse at the same time, reducing hardware requirements and the need to implement ETL or integration solutions between OLTP and DW.
Yes - I'm a member of AROUG (Argentina Oracle User Group). As a member, I collaborate on the organization of events like the former OTN Tour (now Oracle Groundbreakers Tour) that visits Argentina each year. This allows me to interact with Oracle professionals from other parts of my country, and also with speakers that come from all around the world. It is a great experience that provides both "technical" knowledge but also a lot of new perspectives from people working in different countries.
Read Lisandro Fernigrini's full review
July 06, 2021
Fahad Khalil | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
The Oracle Database is being used in our organization for many years mainly for holding and retrieval of data through our applications. It is benefiting us with its extraordinary secure and powerful structure by making our applications more reliable in terms of data security. It is giving us a big cost comparatively but the fruits returned by this investment are unmatchable.
  • PL/SQL support
  • Faster Backup & Recovery Tools
  • High data storage capacity
  • Highly stable
  • Reliable data storage
  • cost is higher comparatively
  • complex in nature
  • modern programing languages not supported
  • learning curve involve
  • support team is not much responsive
I recommend Oracle Database as the most reliable and stable data storage engine for holding and retrieval of data by applications. It supports PL/SQL for writing complex queries easily. It supports huge data storage capacity. It supports most of the popular programming languages. It involves comparatively higher licensing costs and learning curve but in the end, results are unmatchable.
Read Fahad Khalil's full review
May 01, 2021
Dawood Khan | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
The Oracle Database is being exclusively used at our organization to store data [coming] from different application solutions. Almost every literate employee of our organization is indirectly using it though different application interfaces. It is highly reliable data storage engine with ability to handle huge data and easy writing of complex queries using PL/SQL. It is very stable, super secure and highly scalable with unmatched backup / recovery features to ensure the database to never experience any downtime.
  • gives great sense of being secured
  • stable to ensure the best performance
  • highly reliable data storage engine
  • ability to handle huge data
  • PL/SQL eases the writing of complex queries
  • highly scalable to always fit the needs of our organization
  • unmatched backup / recovery features
  • need very heavy machine to run it on
  • consumes greater system resources
  • always hungry to keep eating much memory
  • it gives a huge cost to opt for it
I recommend it to my friends working with medium and large enterprises as a highly reliable data storage engine with ability to handle huge data and easy writing of complex queries using PL/SQL. It gives a strong sense of being secured. It is very stable to let an enterprise expect to never experience downtime. It is highly scalable to always fit to the need of an organization.
Read Dawood Khan's full review
April 09, 2021
Panav Beri | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We have deployed Oracle Databases on multiple application servers across different clients. It helps us to store the automation data generated by Holmes Bots on day to day basis. It helps us to manage large amounts of data in an organized fashion. It is widely used across all the bot teams in the organization.
  • Easy deployment across multiple servers.
  • Easy UI to manage large databases.
  • Good documentation for troubleshooting.
  • Highly scalable based on the data load.
  • Performance is affected when data size increases over time.
  • No effective 24/7 support from Oracle.
Oracle Database can be readily deployed in scenarios where the team is already using the Oracle infrastructure. Also, it is important to ensure that enough hardware resources are available to handle large data sets as its performance to query data can decrease over time.
Read Panav Beri's full review
May 17, 2021
aniket tiwari | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We have been using Oracle Database since last year and [it's] widely used in our organization for various purposes, whether for storing data of clients on [the] server or deployment of our websites. It handl[es] all of this quite nicely.
  • Backup and recovery
  • Multiple database support
  • Regular updates & bug fixes
  • Cost to manage various data
  • Complexity
  • Not preferable to use for small organizations
Oracle Database is adequate for [a] large organizations, as a huge team of data analysts can handle the complexity of data but for [a] small organization [it's] a bit difficult to manage data of Oracle. The best thing about oracle is that you can manage various database in Oracle so that it will help the organization to stack huge data and manage them at [the] same time.
Read aniket tiwari's full review
June 22, 2021
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Oracle [Database] is used by [a] couple of departments to maintain Animation assets and for couple of applications in the Animation movie making workflow.
  • Oracle's High Availability setup is very durable
  • Performance of the database is very good for large databases
  • DR setup is very reliable and can be setup easily
  • ASM Storage management makes life easy in managing the datafiles
  • Licensing cost is very expensive
  • Sometimes getting an expert in Oracle support might be a challenge
I believe Oracle Database is still the best RDBMS database which is the database to consider for OLTP applications and for Adhoc requests. They are good in Datawarehousing in certain aspects but not the best. Oracle is also a great database for scaling up with their Clusterware solution which also makes the database highly available with services moving to the live instance without much trouble.
Read this authenticated review
April 13, 2021
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Oracle Database software has been used by our organization form past few years, mainly it is used by our Information Technology department for backup of data and recovery.
The main business problems it addresses are database conversation, backups and the best part is that it supports multiple programming languages as well. We can save huge amount of data without any instability.
  • Best thing about it is that it supports PL/SQL which is helpful in writing complex quarries easily.
  • Its storage capacity , backup and recovery features make it the best database storage tool available.
  • Other thing I like about this software is its interface is so good.
  • Nothing much I could think of but ya it is very tough to understand it's functions and it's use.
  • It is quite expensive as well.
Oracle Database is one of the best database storage and management software according to me as it has a huge storage capacity. Other than that the reason behind its good performance is that it supports PL/SQL which helps user to write complex quarries. Last but not least it allows us to backup data and we can easily recover the data anytime.
Read this authenticated review
June 16, 2021
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 3 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Oracle Database is our organization's primary database server. Our main line of business application uses it exclusively to store data making it mandatory across the organization. It provides a stable and scalable relational database platform but a high custom with extremely inflexible and frustrating licensing terms.
  • Stable database platform.
  • Sellable enterprise database platform.
  • Known and trusted vendor.
  • Cost: platform is expensive
  • Virtualization support: Licensing model makes virtualization costly.
  • Difficult to work with: Oracle is one of the most difficult vendors to work with.
Oracle provides a scalable and stable enterprise relational database platform. Oracle understands stability, assuming you provide capable and stable hardware Oracle will stay running. But it's too complex to manage and Oracle's licensing terms make virtualization either complex or expensive. Unless your application requires it, find another database platform.
Read this authenticated review
May 12, 2021
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Oracle Database is used as a target database for loading external source files using ETL tool. It's used as repository of first source of data to be consumed for analytics and reporting by all line of business. It acts as target database for all operational and transactional data.
  • Oracle is independent and portable platform.
  • Easy to maintain backup and recovery for future use.
  • Version change update and backward compatibility.
  • Multiple databases can be supported at a time.
  • Security and advanced user and roles management.
  • Complexity of its usage for non-technical users.
  • License cost is high.
  • Recursive processing consumes a lot of resources and impacts performance.
  1. Can manage large databases and can support multiple databases simultaneously.
  2. Support programming concepts for implementing business logic.
  3. Multi user support with advanced security.
Not suited well for non-technical users and analytics systems.
Not yet, but I'm interested in Oracle user groups
Read this authenticated review
April 28, 2021
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Oracle 12c is used to support the shopping website of the organization, it's very robust, high performing and THE database is scalable to the needs of increasing traffic on the site. It addressed especially the problem with consolidating databases and scaling, much needed performance of apps using Oracle database.
  • Multitenant architecture has reduced the DB foot print and maintenance.
  • Refreshing test database from production has become affordable and manageable.
  • Restoring and recovering tables with Rman has become easy with 12c.
  • Like MySQL Oracle also should provide a way to manage both unstructured and structured Data in same DB.
  • More free training through OTN (self study videos) about 12c performance and how to adapt to it.
  • Plan stability without adapting to use SPM when upgrading to newer versions. SPM has caused problems like taking up too much memory in the DB server when implementing it to overcome the shortcomings of upgrade with optimizer behavior altering the performance. In a way a more adaptable approach would be beneficial for DBAs for upgrade not compromising performance which I think is one of the biggest challenges upgrading .
With multi-tenant architecture managing multiple databases under one roof has become easier. Cloning and patching has also become easier with 12c. On the other hand performance management post-upgrade has been an issue, choosing optimizer parameter to 12.1.0.2 post upgrade has become even tougher as plans kept changing and implementing SPM took up more memory. Looking for a better way to manage performance post-upgrade in future from Oracle.

Also running datapatch post-patching on a busy DB server is a nightmare as sometimes it would never complete and also unplugging and plugging DBs across clusters with different patch sets is a pain too.
Read this authenticated review
April 02, 2021
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 6 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
A lot of our applications are using Oracle Database as their data store.
  • High stability and reliability
  • A complete set of database features
  • Performance is sub-optimal when data size is large.
  • Non-trivial effort to setup. We have to build some automation so developers can save some time to set it up on their local machines.
Oracle Database should be a good fit for any applications who need a database, especially eCommerce use cases. There might be better choices for lightweight applications or applications with very large data sets.
Yes - I am a member of all three user groups. It's useful to get help from those groups and get to know the latest updates and announcements.
Read this authenticated review
May 02, 2021
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Oracle Database is currently being used in our entire IT team to store and retrieve relative data. Our Java point of sale system sits directly on Oracle DB and stores transaction data in which some data flows into our personal data warehouse for reporting. It assists with information or data management.
  • Backup and recovery
  • cost
  • portability
  • Easy to integrate with other platforms
  • Increased cost
  • Require sophisticated hardware and software
It is well suited for our retailer reports creation. We use Jaspersoft to write our reports which is easily integrated with oracle DB to retrieve data. The point of sale data is easily retrievable since it sits on this database. It is less appropriate if users are not technically inclined.
Read this authenticated review
December 16, 2020
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use across the organization. We are just now making use of the new features in 12c.
  • Pluggable databases really help with consolidation.
  • Restore a table or table partition easily using RMAN.
  • Online migration of a Table Partition or Sub Partition.
  • License on virtual infrastructure.
  • Technical support needs to improve.
  • Data Guard setup needs to simplify and troubleshooting is still too complex.
Oracle 12c is well suited to run for any business application.
Yes - I am a member of the Independent Oracle User Group.

Oracle user groups are a great place to discuss new trends, features, best practices, and challenges...etc. It is a great way to learn and a very positive influence on the user's community.
Read this authenticated review
February 27, 2020
Aditya Mohan | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Oracle Database forms the primary database (with MySQL as secondary) that is used for the whole organization. It is used to store both internal data (accounts payable, employee records, etc) as well as used for customer data and analytics data sets.
  • Oracle Database does security and compliance very well out of the box without the need for much configuration.
  • It works very well across on-prem and cloud deployments where we want part of the database in-house (due to compliance reasons) while the rest can be in the public cloud.
  • It is also very good in scaling to large datasets and performance numbers ( time to run a SQL query) are much better than DB2, Microsoft SQL Server etc.
  • Pricing can be improved to make it much more competitive with other RDBMS options in the space
  • Best practices documents and deployment scenarios for running Oracle Database on non-Oracle cloud platforms would be helpful (for example Oracle Database on Google Cloud and Microsoft Azure).
  • Certainly room for better integrated and automated SQL tuning.
Oracle Database is suited for for scenarios where the database is large and there is a need for reliability, security and availability at scale. The pricing reflects this. It won't be well suited and will be expensive for mostly dev and test environments or where reliability is not a factor or issue.
Read Aditya Mohan's full review
February 18, 2020
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use Oracle Database for storing relational data for our OLTP/warehouse DBs. We also use it as a high availability solution (Data Guard). It is being used enterprise-wide. It helps to store, retrieve, and run analytics on data. The Dataguard also helps offload the queries from primary and helps with performance.
  • Highly performant/reliable and good technical support
  • ACID -- Supports ACID transactions
  • Non-structured Data -- XML, hard to use
  • High Availability -- Real application clusters are available but it is difficult to set up and maintain
It is highly performant and guarantees data consistency based on ACID compliance. Oracle Active Data Guard allows us to open the standby database for read operations. With Oracle 19c , Oracle also allows to do DML redirection on standby DB which can help with some reports that need temporary tables.
Using XML/non-structured data is not easy and I have noticed performance issues when the XML becomes deeply nested.
Yes - Washington DC Oracle user group NATCAP. I attend local user group sessions and exchange knowledge and it gives an opportunity to socialize.
Read this authenticated review
December 05, 2019
Balázs Kiss | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
The most robust, stable, and biggest RDBMS I have ever encountered. As the biggest member on the market, and one of the leaders in IT industry, Oracle database is still and probably will be the standard database that everybody would want to use. The enormous knowledge and science and effort and functionality that is put into this product is insane - but for a price.
  • "THE" Database, period. No more robust, secure, and stable relational database exists.
  • Support from a wide range of professionals all over the world. Their academies and documentation is well above the average.
  • Absolute best reliability in the market: ACID was kinda invented by those guys.
  • Thousands of supporting tools, technologies, etc.
  • They moved into the cloud! and are now a quite strong competitor vs. Amazon Web Cloud.
  • The licences around using the DB are quite pricey. But hey, for a high quality, you cannot expect a freeware software...
Although this database is massive, it's the best selection for quite a lot of things. From the automatic query optimization to the physical table lookup, every single aspect is a product of years of innovation. Most of the tools/techniques used today in other DBs were first was implemented in this. Oracle Database can fulfill nearly every database requirement a small, a typical, or a giga-company needs. With the right professionals, this tool can run countries!
Yes - Oracle User group. I am also interested in the Java group, as the local Oracle User group provided a lot of opportunities to meet professionals, participate in meetups, events, and actually brought a lot of contract opportunities. These are a very well formed, elite groups, where every professional is welcome.
Read Balázs Kiss's full review
November 20, 2019
Eduin Zuloaga | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use Oracle Database 12c in our transactional system named Watts. It allows us to have a reliable platform to handle our car ticket product where users can pay for fuel, reload balances, and obtain consumer reports per vehicle. He have 2 clusters of Oracle 12c to warranty high availability and also to handle our DRP. We recommend Oracle products because the support, price and their technology is very robust and reliable.
  • Replication using GoldenGate. We replicate almost 500k transactions per day between Brasil and México and it works perfectly.
  • Velocity, quality, and support.
  • Relational database to handle financial transaction systems using OLTP when customers pay for fuel.
  • Parallel execution to apply multiple CPU and I/O resources to the execution of a single database operation.
  • It's hard to find Oracle specialists.
  • Oracle specialists are expensive.
We primarily use Oracle in our organization, except for a few applications which use other databases like SQL Server, Redis and MongoDB. Primarily, Oracle Database 12c is used to manage data for various applications all across the organization by multiple applications like Ticket Car, DataMart, ERP for invoicing and master catalog, and for Watts processor by Edenred Brasil.
Read Eduin Zuloaga's full review
November 20, 2019
Zhann Goloborodko | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 6 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
The Oracle database is currently used in several places throughout the institute. For starters, it works as our website's back end. We don't store any LOB objects, simply base data types. Similarly, we have developed a handful of custom applications that run on top of Oracle. Each application is a bit unique, but overall the underlying structure isn't too much different from the Website. Lastly, we use Oracle to store one of our largest data provider's information. Currently, this is in the realm of 2 billion rows spread across a small subset of tables.
  • The database itself rarely goes down.
  • Bringing up new Oracle instances is relatively painless.
  • With the help of data pumps, moving data from place to place is a breeze.
  • If you pay for their support, while they aren't the speediest, they are incredibly well informed and are an amazing help.
  • Immensely complicated. Of all the databases we use, this one has by far the most moving parts.
  • It is highly recommended to have a dedicated Oracle DBA on staff if you want your databases healthy. We have no such difficulty with Sybase, SQL Server or SAP IQ.
  • While the Support Team is incredibly informative, they are often very slow to respond and are often unwilling to answer questions that don't directly solve the problem at hand.
While Oracle is more or less a bulletproof database server, if you don't have an Oracle DBA on staff you are in for a lot of trouble. We use Oracle, Sybase, SQL Server, and SAP IQ. Of the 4, Oracle is the most painful to troubleshoot when things get weird. Now, if you do have Oracle DBA's on staff, Oracle is a perfectly good database solution, but I can't say that it is in any way better than Sybase and I would say it is a touch less reliable that SQL Server.
Yes - I am in various user groups for Java, where I am often the person asking questions, rarely the person answering them.

I am also a member of Oracle's native user group. However, I find it far more effective to open a support ticket, so this is the direction I tend to lean.
Read Zhann Goloborodko's full review
September 19, 2019
Tiesong Lu | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
I upgraded all Oracle production databases (about 15 production databases) from 11g R2 to 12c R2. The Oracle 12c databases are used university-wide, and are really critical to the university business.
  • I believe other users have reviewed the pros already. I am addressing only the Cons of 12c R2.
  • SYSAUX tablespace grows rapidly. I didn't need to add space to SYSAUX last a few years in 11g. But after upgrading to 12c R2 12.2.0.1, SYSAUX grows daily, and I have to add space to SYSAUX regularly, about every 2 weeks. I am currently opening an Oracle SR and working with Oracle Support on this issue.
  • Some of our small databases only use about 5GB excluding SYSAUX. But SYSAUX uses 5GB alone!
  • Almost all universities (if not all) in the USA have been using Banner application. But Banner app users fail to log on 12c Release 2 databases after upgrading to 12c R2 from 11g because of an Oracle Bug related to password-protected profile. I applied an interim bug to work around this issue. However, since Oct 2018, the PSU patching will not work. I must rollback the interim bug, and then patch the PSU, and then apply the interim patch again to resolve the Oracle bug. I asked Oracle to include the interim in the PSU in Oct 2018. But up to PSU Jul 2019, Oracle didn't implement it yet!
One of the features that benefits me is that it is able to set up an audit on specific tables to specific users, via setup Audit policy.
Read Tiesong Lu's full review
September 19, 2019
Shailandra Vaish | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We primarily use Oracle in our organization, except for a few applications which use other databases like PostgresSQL, SQL Server, etc. Primarily DB is used to manage data for various applications all across the organization by multiple applications. Now, with some of the new applications, they are using some AWS or third-party databases as well.
  • First of all DB needs to be upgraded to Oracle 12c for support prospective from Oracle.
  • Oracle 12 has some great features with respect to auditing.
  • Keeping the data with respect to hot and cold rows is also a great features helping in managing data well.
  • It had installation issues where it needed to have a patch applied before installation could begin. Downloaded software should have been tested before providing it to the user.
  • Oracle 12.1 was not very stable so we had to migrate it to 12.2 after some time.
Most of the functionality needed by the application was already supported by 12c, so I did not explore any other features needed. I believe 12c may not be suitable for applications with a small footprint due to larger infrastructure requirements. That is why many developers have chosen databases such as PostgresSQL or MongoDB.
Not yet, but I'm interested in Oracle user groups - I will be interested in the following OUG membership. Hopefully, it will help me stay ahead with the new updates in these areas.

Oracle OUG
Oracle EBS OUG
Oracle Cloud
Read Shailandra Vaish's full review
September 18, 2019
Richard Hardin | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
The Oracle database is currently what houses our data in relation to our corporate ERP system. The database sits on an Oracle Database 12c appliance for ease of access and use. On the ODA, this Oracle Database 12c is 1 of 5. Also running in parallel are another five that run for production, testing, and development. This database and architecture were selected for performance and security reasons
  • Performance - We have several ERP systems all running on various platforms. By far the best performance in terms of consistency being up and available is our Oracle platform. To put into scale, out of all three platforms, since I have been employed, Oracle has not been down once, while the other two have been down multiple times, to the point that my attendance at OOW2019 is focused on migration from other platforms to Oracle.
  • Security - The matter of security is huge. One of the biggest points in choosing an Oracle database and appliance over anything else is the security it provides in counter to anything else on the market.
  • Training - While there is an enormous amount of training available, there are still gaps in terms of availability for classroom-style learning. I have found it more effective to be in a classroom setting where one is held accountable at that moment in time as opposed to self-paced (pure personal preference).
  • Cost - While we love the databases and appliances, the cost of maintaining is becoming an issue when competitors are coming in at such a lower point. Pushing this to a more profits oriented C-level makes justification difficult at times.
Well suited as the base backend structure for any ERP system or for EDW structure in the cloud. Less appropriate for a small business start-up.
Yes - Oracle Group, Huntsville, Alabama
I get large value from being able to bounce thoughts and ideas from others who have gone through or encountered an issue that I may be dealing with. Also, getting feedback on how others have dealt with the cost issues when it comes to presenting to an executive team is great.
Read Richard Hardin's full review
September 18, 2019
William DeVrieze | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
It is being used across departments. We used it to automate our audit and compliance cases, as well as case management. This year we be implementing 100% of our case management, and all new audits will be worked in the system as well. Currently, 100% of our compliance cases are worked within the database.
  • An automated case management system has eliminated our duplication of effort in most instances.
  • Having electronic work papers has allowed us to access other case files so we have access to more data saving us time and stopping the need for duplicate request.
  • Our compliance cases are very task-oriented and the out of the box flow works very well with these cases.
  • From the audit perspective, we have had to customize a lot to meet our electronic work paper needs.
  • We have quite a few open Oracle service requests that have been outstanding for years.
  • The history around the completed task is lacking out of the box.
For compliance activities, it is very useful. It also works very well for managing all of our different case types. From an audit perspective, I wouldn't recommend it based on all the needed customization. Over customization has also led to performance issues. This may be, in part, a product of our agency as well as some limitations of the database.
Read William DeVrieze's full review

What is Oracle Database?

The Oracle Database, now in edition 19c, is presented by the vendor as an industry leading database that delivers leading-edge innovations, including machine learning to enable self-driving data management. An enterprise, database cloud service, it is designed to support mixed workloads through any deployment strategy, on premises or in the cloud.

For more information visit https://www.oracle.com/database
Categories:  Relational Databases

Oracle Database Video

What is Oracle Database?

Oracle Database Competitors

Oracle Database Technical Details

Operating Systems: Unspecified
Mobile Application:No

Frequently Asked Questions

What is Oracle Database?

The Oracle Database, now in edition 19c, is presented by the vendor as an industry leading database that delivers leading-edge innovations, including machine learning to enable self-driving data management. An enterprise, database cloud service, it is designed to support mixed workloads through any deployment strategy, on premises or in the cloud.

What is Oracle Database's best feature?

Reviewers rate Support Rating highest, with a score of 9.9.

Who uses Oracle Database?

The most common users of Oracle Database are from Enterprises and the Information Technology & Services industry.