Oracle Database

Oracle Database

Top Rated
About TrustRadius Scoring
Score 8.5 out of 100
Top Rated
Oracle Database

Overview

Recent Reviews

Money Well Spent!

10 out of 10
June 23, 2022
[Our] Entire organizational data is placed in Oracle 12c. We, as an organization are extremely satisfied with the performance and the …
Continue reading

Oracle Database Review

7 out of 10
May 02, 2021
Oracle Database is currently being used in our entire IT team to store and retrieve relative data. Our Java point of sale system sits …
Continue reading

Review

10 out of 10
April 29, 2021
Oracle 12c is used to support the shopping website of the organization, it's very robust, high performing and THE database is scalable to …
Continue reading

Awards

Products that are considered exceptional by their customers based on a variety of criteria win TrustRadius awards. Learn more about the types of TrustRadius awards to make the best purchase decision. More about TrustRadius Awards

Reviewer Pros & Cons

View all pros & cons

Video Reviews

Leaving a video review helps other professionals like you evaluate products. Be the first one in your network to record a review of Oracle Database, and make your voice heard!

Pricing

View all pricing
N/A
Unavailable

What is Oracle Database?

The Oracle Database, now in edition 19c, is presented by the vendor as an industry leading database that delivers leading-edge innovations, including machine learning to enable self-driving data management. An enterprise, database cloud service, it is designed to support mixed workloads through any…

Entry-level set up fee?

  • No setup fee

Offerings

  • Free Trial
  • Free/Freemium Version
  • Premium Consulting / Integration Services

Would you like us to let the vendor know that you want pricing?

44 people want pricing too

Alternatives Pricing

What is Microsoft Access?

Microsoft Access is a database management system from Microsoft that combines the relational Microsoft Jet Database Engine with a graphical user interface and software-development tools.

What is SAP HANA Cloud?

SAP HANA is an application that uses in-memory database technology to process very large amounts of real-time data from relational databases, both SAP and non-SAP, in a very short time. The in-memory computing engine allows HANA to process data stored in RAM as opposed to reading it from a disk…

Features Scorecard

No scorecards have been submitted for this product yet..

Product Details

What is Oracle Database?

The Oracle Database, now in edition 19c, is presented by the vendor as an industry leading database that delivers leading-edge innovations, including machine learning to enable self-driving data management. An enterprise, database cloud service, it is designed to support mixed workloads through any deployment strategy, on premises or in the cloud.

For more information visit https://www.oracle.com/database

Oracle Database Video

Oracle's Converged Database

Oracle Database Competitors

Oracle Database Technical Details

Operating SystemsUnspecified
Mobile ApplicationNo

Comparisons

View all alternatives

Frequently Asked Questions

What is Oracle Database?

The Oracle Database, now in edition 19c, is presented by the vendor as an industry leading database that delivers leading-edge innovations, including machine learning to enable self-driving data management. An enterprise, database cloud service, it is designed to support mixed workloads through any deployment strategy, on premises or in the cloud.

What is Oracle Database's best feature?

Reviewers rate Support Rating highest, with a score of 10.

Who uses Oracle Database?

The most common users of Oracle Database are from Enterprises (1,001+ employees) and the Information Technology & Services industry.

Reviews and Ratings

 (1150)

Ratings

Reviews

(1-25 of 177)
Companies can't remove reviews or game the system. Here's why
June 23, 2022

Money Well Spent!

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
[Our] Entire organizational data is placed in Oracle 12c. We, as an organization are extremely satisfied with the performance and the exceptional features Oracle provides.
  • Fast indexing data.
  • Supports clustered environment.
  • Various tools to handle the data.
  • Materialized views with extremely large datasets.
  • Backing up blobs and clobs.
  • Inserting huge amounts of data is somewhat slow as compared to IBM DB2
For any Java/JEE related application,s it’s extremely convenient with available JDBC drivers and exceptionally quick response time. If the data is huge, probably picking a big data solution would be more appropriate from a performance perspective.
Hayley Lincon | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
For handling large data sources. Code creation and program application in solving various tasks.
Easy to use for programmers.
  • Supporting complex worksheets accurately
  • Storage of data safely
  • Great back up and recovery solutions
  • Complexity in use need some lessons
  • Reduction of subscription costs
  • Provide alternative for non code applications
Well suitable when need to handle complex data. Less tedious and can support many or several [databases].
Lisandro Fernigrini | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use Oracle 12c databases to store information from many of the critical modules of our MLFF (Multi Lane Free Flow) tolling solutions. Oracle Database 12c can handle variable workloads, maintaining throughput at peak moments. Our solutions utilize many different technologies, but rely on Oracle Database as a key component.
  • Oracle Database 12c has the ability to scale to support intensive workloads.
  • PL/SQL provides an efficient way to develop data-intensive processes that are able to interact with data without transferring it to an app server
  • Partitioning, Compression and Encryption are some of the optional features that enhance performance, reduce costs and secure the information stored in Oracle Database 12c
  • New (actually it is more than five years old) multi-tenant architecture is not as straightforward as SQL Server, but it has been enhanced in Oracle 12c Release 2 and later 18c and 19c.
  • Many features require additional licensing (either as options or as packs) that increase the total cost
I believe that Oracle Database can be used almost on any scenario, starting with small department solutions to actually any enterprise level system. It includes many features that allow a single database to work as an OLTP and Data Warehouse at the same time, reducing hardware requirements and the need to implement ETL or integration solutions between OLTP and DW.
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Oracle [Database] is used by [a] couple of departments to maintain Animation assets and for couple of applications in the Animation movie making workflow.
  • Oracle's High Availability setup is very durable
  • Performance of the database is very good for large databases
  • DR setup is very reliable and can be setup easily
  • ASM Storage management makes life easy in managing the datafiles
  • Licensing cost is very expensive
  • Sometimes getting an expert in Oracle support might be a challenge
I believe Oracle Database is still the best RDBMS database which is the database to consider for OLTP applications and for Adhoc requests. They are good in Datawarehousing in certain aspects but not the best. Oracle is also a great database for scaling up with their Clusterware solution which also makes the database highly available with services moving to the live instance without much trouble.
Score 3 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Oracle Database is our organization's primary database server. Our main line of business application uses it exclusively to store data making it mandatory across the organization. It provides a stable and scalable relational database platform but a high custom with extremely inflexible and frustrating licensing terms.
  • Stable database platform.
  • Sellable enterprise database platform.
  • Known and trusted vendor.
  • Cost: platform is expensive
  • Virtualization support: Licensing model makes virtualization costly.
  • Difficult to work with: Oracle is one of the most difficult vendors to work with.
Oracle provides a scalable and stable enterprise relational database platform. Oracle understands stability, assuming you provide capable and stable hardware Oracle will stay running. But it's too complex to manage and Oracle's licensing terms make virtualization either complex or expensive. Unless your application requires it, find another database platform.
Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Oracle Database is currently being used in our entire IT team to store and retrieve relative data. Our Java point of sale system sits directly on Oracle DB and stores transaction data in which some data flows into our personal data warehouse for reporting. It assists with information or data management.
  • Backup and recovery
  • cost
  • portability
  • Easy to integrate with other platforms
  • Increased cost
  • Require sophisticated hardware and software
It is well suited for our retailer reports creation. We use Jaspersoft to write our reports which is easily integrated with oracle DB to retrieve data. The point of sale data is easily retrievable since it sits on this database. It is less appropriate if users are not technically inclined.
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We do support our client's Oracle12c databases hosted in two data centers - One in Plano, Texas and One in Cherokee, Oklahoma. We support approx 400 plus DB instances running in different version of Oracle db- Oracle10g, Oracle11g, and Oracle12c. Our client business is in Aviation Industry. This industry demands state-of-art Technology to better serve their customer with the best quality service at affordable cost. This industry demands High Availability and High-Performance system for quick decision making.
  • Oracle12c Data Guard ensures high availability, data protection, and disaster recovery for enterprise data. It is one of the oracle finest solution for disaster recovery and data corruption. In this setup - You have one Primary and one or more standby DB in two or more different geographical locations. So, if the database hosted in one location goes down due to planned or unplanned outages, you can easily operate business from remote location database.
  • Oracle12c RAC provides Scale-up architecture. Oracle RAC ensures High Availability. In RAC architecture you have at least two or more physical servers with same configuration connected thru interconnect network. So, if one server goes down, you still have database running from the other(surviving) nodes. In this architecture - You can have appropriate on-demand services. You can easily scale up Servers, CPU, Memory.
  • Oracle12c has amazing Performance Tuning framework. You can very easily fine-tune databases running on Oracle12c. Some of the great features are Oracle ADDM, AWR report, ASH report, SQL report, SQL Plan Management, Tuning Advisor - SQL Tuning Advisor, SQL Access Advisor.
  • Oracle12c has great Back and Recovery solution using Oracle RMAN(Recovery Manager). Without much intervention and work, you can easily restore the database backup whenever and whereever you want.
  • Oracle12c provides great security standards that meet fundamental data security requirements - Data Confidentiality, Data Integrity and Data Availability.
  • Oracle Label Security, Oracle Data Redaction, Oracle Data Masking and subsetting, Transparent data protection, database storage encryption, Unified Auditing, and Oracle fine-grained audit are some great oracle features.
  • In Oracle Data Guard - Oracle standby database is most of the time passive and nothing happening on it other than applying the log. Even in Oracle Active Data Guard configuration - You can not do more than running the business SQL query on the standby. Oracle must come up with solution such that standby database can also be fully utilized as a full operational database.
  • Oracle should improve on Oracle internal locking mechanism, latch, and data concurrency. I have seen databases which runs fine with less number of ACTIVE user sessions. When ACTIVE user sessions are increased in the same database - db performance is deteriorated proportionately. If the database kernel has designed correctly, there won't be any db performance issue regardless of any number of user connections/sessions.
  • In current time - DB growth is very common, today your db size is 20GB, It may be 500GB at the end of the year, so on and so on. With respect to db size increase, Oracle must improve on RMAN(Recovery Manager) backup tool. The expectation is that faster backup and restore as and when needed. There is always a debate that - Please don't run RMAN backup,data pump export backup, and gather stats job during business peak hours as it will impact DB performance. Oracle database should have designed in such that Administrative jobs like Backup, data pump export and DB gather stats should not have db performance impact anytime, at any cost. Even Oracle claims that Oracle DBRM (Database Resource Manager) is solution to this problem, but, in actual, it doesn't address the problem in much better way.

Scenarios where Oracle12c DB is well suited:

1. Oracle12c DB with ODA(Oracle Database Appliance) is well suited for small to medium OLTP shops, where you don't have much DB workload. Oracle12c with ODA provides DB high availability, High redundancy, and good DB performance.

2. Oracle12c DB in EXADATA with IORM implementation is well suited for mixed DB environment. Mix DB environment is the one in which some databases are development DB, some are Test DB, Some are QA DB, Some are OLTP, and Some are Data Warehouse DB.

3. Oracle12c is well suited for Banking, Financial, Retail, and Aviation Industry.

Scenarios where Oracle12c DB is less appropriate:

1. Oracle12c is less appropriate for small shops like Restaurant business, Hotel/Motel Business, Burger Shop and Coffee House.

2. Oracle12c is less appropriate for Research and Scientific work, Data Analysis, Big data Analytics. The data computational speed is not so good in Oracle world.

3. Oracle12c is less appropriate for Data Messaging industry.

1. I have very good experience with Oracle Database support team. Oracle support team has pool of talented Oracle Analyst resources in different regions. To name a few regions - EMEA, Asia, USA(EST, MST, PST), Australia. Their support staffs are very supportive, well trained, and customer focused. Whenever I open Oracle Sev1 SR(service request), I always get prompt update on my case timely.
2. Oracle has zoom call and chat session option linked to Oracle SR. Whenever you are in Oracle portal - you can chat with the Oracle Analyst who is working on your case. You can request for Oracle zoom call thru which you can share the your problem server screen in no time. This is very nice as it saves lot of time and energy in case you have to follow up with oracle support for your case.
3.Oracle has excellent knowledge base in which all the customer databases critical problems and their solutions are well documented. It is very easy to follow without consulting to support team at first.
April 29, 2021

Review

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Oracle 12c is used to support the shopping website of the organization, it's very robust, high performing and THE database is scalable to the needs of increasing traffic on the site. It addressed especially the problem with consolidating databases and scaling, much needed performance of apps using Oracle database.
  • Multitenant architecture has reduced the DB foot print and maintenance.
  • Refreshing test database from production has become affordable and manageable.
  • Restoring and recovering tables with Rman has become easy with 12c.
  • Like MySQL Oracle also should provide a way to manage both unstructured and structured Data in same DB.
  • More free training through OTN (self study videos) about 12c performance and how to adapt to it.
  • Plan stability without adapting to use SPM when upgrading to newer versions. SPM has caused problems like taking up too much memory in the DB server when implementing it to overcome the shortcomings of upgrade with optimizer behavior altering the performance. In a way a more adaptable approach would be beneficial for DBAs for upgrade not compromising performance which I think is one of the biggest challenges upgrading .
With multi-tenant architecture managing multiple databases under one roof has become easier. Cloning and patching has also become easier with 12c. On the other hand performance management post-upgrade has been an issue, choosing optimizer parameter to 12.1.0.2 post upgrade has become even tougher as plans kept changing and implementing SPM took up more memory. Looking for a better way to manage performance post-upgrade in future from Oracle.

Also running datapatch post-patching on a busy DB server is a nightmare as sometimes it would never complete and also unplugging and plugging DBs across clusters with different patch sets is a pain too.
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Oracle Database software has been used by our organization form past few years, mainly it is used by our Information Technology department for backup of data and recovery.
The main business problems it addresses are database conversation, backups and the best part is that it supports multiple programming languages as well. We can save huge amount of data without any instability.
  • Best thing about it is that it supports PL/SQL which is helpful in writing complex quarries easily.
  • Its storage capacity , backup and recovery features make it the best database storage tool available.
  • Other thing I like about this software is its interface is so good.
  • Nothing much I could think of but ya it is very tough to understand it's functions and it's use.
  • It is quite expensive as well.
Oracle Database is one of the best database storage and management software according to me as it has a huge storage capacity. Other than that the reason behind its good performance is that it supports PL/SQL which helps user to write complex quarries. Last but not least it allows us to backup data and we can easily recover the data anytime.
Arthur Zubarev | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
The Oracle Database or rather a cluster of Oracle Databases is used for both an OLTP and data warehousing data storage and processing purposes across various departments. Oracle Database is a very mature and versatile platform that allows running almost any business entirely using only the database. At Parsons Smart Vehicles Solutions, we rely on Oracle for conducting the critical line of business. The database's unique resilience capabilities, programmability, and mature tooling allow for rapid software development while maintaining high quality. Oracle is widely supported by vendors' databases, which makes integration easier.
  • Automated database objects validation: correctness of views, packages, triggers, and everything is built-in. This minimizes the risk of using malfunctioned software and makes it easy to fix broken code.
  • Rich programmability model: the database supports not only the very rich SQL but also PLSQL, Java and it has very good command-line tools that make change management easy and efficient.
  • Excellent for data warehousing with its support for automatic materialized views management, table sequences, data types, updatable cursors, advanced SQL as Windowing Functions, built-in upsert semantics via the Merge SQL.
  • The memory demand and management makes it impossible to run it in a container.
  • It is hard to perform local unit testing with Oracle even using the personal edition (aggressive all the available memory grab for itself).
  • Lack of built in database migrations (e.g. as Flyway).
  • The need to install the Oracle client in addition to its drivers.
  • The cost of running it, especially in the Cloud.
  • Comes with very spartan community grade client/management tools whereas the commercial offerings tend to demand a premium price.
I would say that if the business generates considerable revenue and must rely on a world-class feature-rich database engine, not in the Cloud, to do more than simple OLTP then Oracle Database is a go-to offering. The other factor is that Oracle talent is likely available in abundance. Having one backed by Oracle is a long-term advantageous strategy.
Score 6 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
A lot of our applications are using Oracle Database as their data store.
  • High stability and reliability
  • A complete set of database features
  • Performance is sub-optimal when data size is large.
  • Non-trivial effort to setup. We have to build some automation so developers can save some time to set it up on their local machines.
Oracle Database should be a good fit for any applications who need a database, especially eCommerce use cases. There might be better choices for lightweight applications or applications with very large data sets.
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use across the organization. We are just now making use of the new features in 12c.
  • Pluggable databases really help with consolidation.
  • Restore a table or table partition easily using RMAN.
  • Online migration of a Table Partition or Sub Partition.
  • License on virtual infrastructure.
  • Technical support needs to improve.
  • Data Guard setup needs to simplify and troubleshooting is still too complex.
Oracle 12c is well suited to run for any business application.
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Oracle Database forms the primary database (with MySQL as secondary) that is used for the whole organization. It is used to store both internal data (accounts payable, employee records, etc) as well as used for customer data and analytics data sets.
  • Oracle Database does security and compliance very well out of the box without the need for much configuration.
  • It works very well across on-prem and cloud deployments where we want part of the database in-house (due to compliance reasons) while the rest can be in the public cloud.
  • It is also very good in scaling to large datasets and performance numbers ( time to run a SQL query) are much better than DB2, Microsoft SQL Server etc.
  • Pricing can be improved to make it much more competitive with other RDBMS options in the space
  • Best practices documents and deployment scenarios for running Oracle Database on non-Oracle cloud platforms would be helpful (for example Oracle Database on Google Cloud and Microsoft Azure).
  • Certainly room for better integrated and automated SQL tuning.
Oracle Database is suited for for scenarios where the database is large and there is a need for reliability, security and availability at scale. The pricing reflects this. It won't be well suited and will be expensive for mostly dev and test environments or where reliability is not a factor or issue.
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use Oracle Database for storing relational data for our OLTP/warehouse DBs. We also use it as a high availability solution (Data Guard). It is being used enterprise-wide. It helps to store, retrieve, and run analytics on data. The Dataguard also helps offload the queries from primary and helps with performance.
  • Highly performant/reliable and good technical support
  • ACID -- Supports ACID transactions
  • Non-structured Data -- XML, hard to use
  • High Availability -- Real application clusters are available but it is difficult to set up and maintain
It is highly performant and guarantees data consistency based on ACID compliance. Oracle Active Data Guard allows us to open the standby database for read operations. With Oracle 19c , Oracle also allows to do DML redirection on standby DB which can help with some reports that need temporary tables.
Using XML/non-structured data is not easy and I have noticed performance issues when the XML becomes deeply nested.
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Oracle is the database that stores millions of transactional data generated by the different applications that support the core of the business (health services), ensuring that integration between them is possible. Additionally, it is used to generate and analyze information to respond to surveillance and control entities.
  • Guarantees the reliability and availability of data when required
  • Supports the processing of large blocks of information
  • Licensing prices in additional packages
  • Timely response by the support team when required
The Oracle database is suitable for storing large volumes of information; I have demonstrated its strength in writing data. Enabling and acquiring additional package licenses is very powerful guaranteeing the security and traceability of the information. The Oracle database is less appropriate for processing large volumes of data distributed across multiple instances.
Score 2 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Oracle was chosen as the database to support an older ERP-type application with the actions of the vendor of the app forcing our hand to use Oracle. So it was to replace a different database. The project was to convert not only the data but also tons of code in the form of stored procedures and scripts. The vendor said it shouldn't be hard. Hah!
  • Flashback! With Oracle, you can flashback an entire database or just some tables to the state they were in at a certain point in time. Or you can even write a query that uses the data from a point in time. Very valuable for testing and maybe recovering from an error you just discovered you'd made! Of course, there is overhead for this feature and you need to dedicate a lot of disk space for it and you can't go back forever, but there are times where this is so handy and much quicker than restoring a backup (especially an Oracle backup in multi-tenant architecture).
  • There are all sorts of features for limiting the resource usage of users.
  • Oracle GUI tools for the developer and the DBA are lacking in polish and user-friendliness. Error handling is poor. You need to restart the tool (esp SQL Developer) at least once a day to correct non-sensical results. Enterprise Manager is known to be powerful but hard to learn/hard to use. Instead much is done on the command line which means you need to memorize commands like in the ancient days of MS-DOS. There are many GUI tools that Oracle produces each with a different idea of how user interfaces should be set up. An awful mishmash. They need to learn to write software from the user;'s point of view.
  • Oracle support is not helpful. Oracle is the world's most difficult database to use (especially for the DBA) but the support is lacking - not a winning business model. Slow responses. The first line of support usually knew less than I did because I had plumbed the depths of the Internet before calling them. The support folk were usually from India based on their names. The support process asks if you'd rather get help via email or a phone call. I'd usually say phone call but due to the time difference, they rarely would oblige. I hear that there are certain times of day that if you put in your support request then, you are more likely to get US-based help. It was so common to wait forever for help so you'd have to escalate it to the next level. The next level folks were more likely to know something. See the next point re: support.
If you are a small to medium-sized business, you shouldn't consider Oracle at all. You need highly-skilled and highly paid sharp developers and DBA's to manage the beast. And there are much better alternatives for you - from MySQL to SQL Server - SO much easier to use. Things that would take me 5 minutes to do in SQL Server would take hours or days in Oracle. Even our paid consultants would have trouble making the software do what it was supposed to do. And there isn't nearly as much helpful info on the web for Oracle as there is for SQL Server. I'd always thought well of SQL Server prior to using Oracle, but now I am even more appreciative of its ease of use. If you are with a large enterprise, it could be an option if it does something that no other RDBMS does and you really need that. But such cases I'd bet are few and far between. Other databases, like MS SQL, can run large workloads with good performance. Do you really need to buy the most difficult to use the software?
December 05, 2019

THE Database and RDBMS

Balázs Kiss | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
The most robust, stable, and biggest RDBMS I have ever encountered. As the biggest member on the market, and one of the leaders in IT industry, Oracle database is still and probably will be the standard database that everybody would want to use. The enormous knowledge and science and effort and functionality that is put into this product is insane - but for a price.
  • "THE" Database, period. No more robust, secure, and stable relational database exists.
  • Support from a wide range of professionals all over the world. Their academies and documentation is well above the average.
  • Absolute best reliability in the market: ACID was kinda invented by those guys.
  • Thousands of supporting tools, technologies, etc.
  • They moved into the cloud! and are now a quite strong competitor vs. Amazon Web Cloud.
  • The licences around using the DB are quite pricey. But hey, for a high quality, you cannot expect a freeware software...
Although this database is massive, it's the best selection for quite a lot of things. From the automatic query optimization to the physical table lookup, every single aspect is a product of years of innovation. Most of the tools/techniques used today in other DBs were first was implemented in this. Oracle Database can fulfill nearly every database requirement a small, a typical, or a giga-company needs. With the right professionals, this tool can run countries!
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Oracle Database 12c is being used across my organization. It is our core database for almost all software.
  • It works in different operative systems.
  • You can manage it with a web console.
  • You can have different Oracle tools to complement it.
  • Not many Oracle Database administrators in Columbia.
  • It is not easy to manage.
  • The licenses are expensive.
Database 12c is a good, stable choice for large amounts of data. However, the license is expensive, and you need an Oracle Database expert on your team.
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Oracle database 12c is being used as the main transactional database by my organization. It's primarily managed by the database administration and batch data processing teams. The business problems it addresses is the need to reliably and consistently store data that requires complete consistency and has a lot of capability to be queried in the future for analytics. The Oracle database does transactions the best with it's ACID compliant framework that gives us confidence that data will be stored reliably.
  • ACID transactions
  • Reliability
  • Scalability
  • Top notch documentation
  • Data storage and administration
  • Error code explanations
  • Pricing for smaller organizations
  • Innovation to meeting newer database standards
  • NoSQL could be preferable
Oracle Database 12c is a solid, relational ACID compliant database that can be used even for the heaviest workloads to store data in a way that ensures integrity and reliability. It's less appropriate in situations where you have nonrelational data and could use a document based database as storage method. Oracle is still primarily relational data storage.
Eduin Zuloaga | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use Oracle Database 12c in our transactional system named Watts. It allows us to have a reliable platform to handle our car ticket product where users can pay for fuel, reload balances, and obtain consumer reports per vehicle. He have 2 clusters of Oracle 12c to warranty high availability and also to handle our DRP. We recommend Oracle products because the support, price and their technology is very robust and reliable.
  • Replication using GoldenGate. We replicate almost 500k transactions per day between Brasil and México and it works perfectly.
  • Velocity, quality, and support.
  • Relational database to handle financial transaction systems using OLTP when customers pay for fuel.
  • Parallel execution to apply multiple CPU and I/O resources to the execution of a single database operation.
  • It's hard to find Oracle specialists.
  • Oracle specialists are expensive.
We primarily use Oracle in our organization, except for a few applications which use other databases like SQL Server, Redis and MongoDB. Primarily, Oracle Database 12c is used to manage data for various applications all across the organization by multiple applications like Ticket Car, DataMart, ERP for invoicing and master catalog, and for Watts processor by Edenred Brasil.
November 20, 2019

Immensely complicated

Zhann Goloborodko | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 6 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
The Oracle database is currently used in several places throughout the institute. For starters, it works as our website's back end. We don't store any LOB objects, simply base data types. Similarly, we have developed a handful of custom applications that run on top of Oracle. Each application is a bit unique, but overall the underlying structure isn't too much different from the Website. Lastly, we use Oracle to store one of our largest data provider's information. Currently, this is in the realm of 2 billion rows spread across a small subset of tables.
  • The database itself rarely goes down.
  • Bringing up new Oracle instances is relatively painless.
  • With the help of data pumps, moving data from place to place is a breeze.
  • If you pay for their support, while they aren't the speediest, they are incredibly well informed and are an amazing help.
  • Immensely complicated. Of all the databases we use, this one has by far the most moving parts.
  • It is highly recommended to have a dedicated Oracle DBA on staff if you want your databases healthy. We have no such difficulty with Sybase, SQL Server or SAP IQ.
  • While the Support Team is incredibly informative, they are often very slow to respond and are often unwilling to answer questions that don't directly solve the problem at hand.
While Oracle is more or less a bulletproof database server, if you don't have an Oracle DBA on staff you are in for a lot of trouble. We use Oracle, Sybase, SQL Server, and SAP IQ. Of the 4, Oracle is the most painful to troubleshoot when things get weird. Now, if you do have Oracle DBA's on staff, Oracle is a perfectly good database solution, but I can't say that it is in any way better than Sybase and I would say it is a touch less reliable that SQL Server.
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
It is being used as a customer user-managed database and we use many geo spatial capabilities such as spatial aggregation, intersection, spatial filters, buffering features etc.
  • I really like the robust architecture it provides.
  • It is a very detailed database and is much more scalable than other competitors.
  • Documentation is great and very detailed.
  • Sometimes it gets really complex at writing some large geo spatial queries.
  • Spatial indexing could be easier.
  • It requires some level of expertise to operate.
Oracle Database is scalable for large and varied applications, robust and reliable for any kind of industry. It may not be useful for small-scale industry as it may get expensive.
November 05, 2019

Oracle Database review

Holman Cárdenas, M.Eng, TOGAF®, ITIL® | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
As a leader in the healthcare field, Oracle Database 12c is used in the whole organization. It is used to host all of the data for our in-house and several external software solutions, along another Oracle solutions (i.e. ODI), in order to address the performance, services and daily tasks of our business.
  • Secure - Great security by itself and along additional packs (Advanced Security).
  • Excellent perfomance and availability
  • Lot of add-in packs that complement and strengthen the ecosystem
  • Complex - not easy to find qualified Oracle administrators
  • Oracle training is very expensive
  • Complicated interface - should be more user-friendly (yes, even for tech users)
Oracle has been the top choice and the best relational database solution in the market for years..for companies that can afford to pay for it. Every Oracle component is very expensive, so it is not as well suited for a small company which cannot afford to have a large budget for it.
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
It is the central data warehouse to store our financial investment data. It is used mainly by IT, performance analysis, and other investment support staff.
  • Reliable - The backend database is very reliable with very high availability. i.e. we have not had nonplanned downtime for the past years.
  • Solid and consistent performance - Application reporting is always on time and users have consistent performance in retrieving data.
  • Secure - Great security with security issues so far.
  • User-friendly - It is kept as an old/traditional way to access. I would like to see more flexibility and ease of use.
  • Easy and clearly stated about backward support - for instance, it introduced CDB and PDB and I would like to documents to convert traditional DB to CDB/PDB
  • Need to provide easy access for administrative tools. MS SQL Server Enterprise Manager has it within the product and it'd make it easy to use to manage Oracle Database 12c.
If you need a database for a mission-critical production environment with high availability, consistent performance and security for database over 100GB, then Oracle is still your top choice. If your database is not in this type of needs, I would recommend a SQL server.
October 23, 2019

Oracle DB

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Reseller
Review Source
Cornerstone utilizes Oracle DB at our organization as well as recommends to other organizations for purchase as well as manages existing Oracle DB installations. We provide managed services for organizations that have the Oracle DB. Additionally we upgrade older versions to the newer version of the DB.
  • Growth capability- Will allow you to grow and upgrade from std to enterprise edition as needed for functionality
  • Security options available
  • Enterprise level product
  • Can be pricing if run on commodity servers when you don't need full capacity because of licensing
  • Std Edition has limited features and often needs to be upgraded to Enterprise edition
  • Can be complicated to install properly
Standard edition for small organizations that don't need partitioning or multi-tenant capabilities. Runs best on Oracle engineered systems and has much more licensing flexibility