TrustRadius
Vision Solutions in Irvine, California offers Double-Take, a data replication and disaster recovery option.https://dudodiprj2sv7.cloudfront.net/product-logos/Qg/Sc/9PXH8CXT45HM.JPEGWhy I can always count on DoubleTakeWe use doubletake in several different ways. We have customers that use doubletake availability for their DR solution. For others, we use doubletake for migrating their environments from their local site to the cloud, or to different locations around the world. In some instances, customers have virtual servers that need to sit on physical hardware. Doubletake has the ability to migrate the virtual server back to physical hardware with virtually no down time.,A product is worthless in my opinion if you don't have a great support team to work with. I've had issues with replication jobs that were resolved quickly and easily by the support team. DR - Doubletake is the only tool that I'm aware of that can handle DR replication of both physical and virtual environments. There sre others, but they use a snapshot technology, where doubletake has continuous replication of data. Move - we have moved physical and virtual environments from around the world without ever having to leave the office. One of the companies we migrated started off with their equipment in Switzerland, and after the servers were in a fully protected state in the US, that failover to the new location took 45 min.,Reporting - Reporting is a very important tool which is required by auditors after performing failover tests. I know they are currently working on this, and we hope to see a working product that we can use shortly. The inability of using the latest versions on the older OSs. When we migrate or protect 2003 servers, we have to stay with version 7. It would be nice to be able to use version 8 and well as it's new features.,10,Using Doubletake, we have been able to out quote our competitors. Doubletake is easy to install and operate. An engineer would be able to download the product in the morning and have replication jobs running by that afternoon.,Zerto Virtual Replication and Veeam Backup & Replication,Veeam Backup & Replication, Zerto Virtual Replication,3DoubleTake - Always AvailableIt varies per client. Some of our clients use it as a full DR solution for servers. While others use it as an offsite replication for critical servers.,Extremely quick failover to DR Almost realtime replication depending on clients bandwidth Easy to setup, upgrade and maintain Cost effective,More verbose error messages. So we can fix problems with more ease More bandwidth settings for throttling. Ability to restart services on servers from the double take console,9,Clients are happy that the solution provides a quick and easy data recovery solution,EMC RecoverPointGood to Go!We are using DoubleTake (DT) as a disaster recovery option for replication to a series of virtual servers. Our IT department initiated the use for our entire company. It addresses the issue of access to our files and process in the event we lose access to any or all servers due to an unforeseen catastrophic event.,Allows for easy review and updating during replication processes. The Portal is user-friendly and very accessible with little user training. Allows us to know when we have errors in replication and actions needed. Their support is very quick and reliable in the event we have questions or issue.,The initial set-up can be challenging in some regard. Would like to see version updates that support all OS. Unfortunately we use several OS and are on an older version with 7 of our 8 servers. Will be doing the upgrades to version 8 shortly and hope the software is compatible with all OS.,8,It has allowed us through DR testing to meet contractual requirements of our major accounts.. It gives us peace of mind that in the event of a major issue we can perform our daily business with a relative success rate.,DoubleTake = LifeSaver!We used doubletake to recover from a serious server crash (converting a working server into a virtual machine and applying it on a different server). It was certainly a life-saver and time-saver, and their support was right by our side from start to finish. Hands down, great product!,Server environment to virtual machine Great tech support Pricing to fit the needs of the end-user,10,The time alone saved is worth the product.,Carbonite DoubleTake ReviewCarbonite DoubleTake has been used since years ago across the whole organization for customers’ on-premise servers migration to a virtual private cloud. It provides minimum downtime migration (only required for servers cut over) since it replicates customer data in real-time to the cloud, the agent installation doesn't require servers to reboot and can be done during working hours. Once the synchronization job is created, all changes on source server are replicated to target server. The product support when required (not often) is very responsive.,It provides minimum downtime migration (only required for servers cutover) It replicates customer data in realtime to the cloud, the agents installation doesn´t require servers reboot Great product support,Mostly available for Windows (although a Linux version has been launched recently) Complex Licensing process 60 days of license expiration for migrations (we know, customer sometimes takes longer to schedule the migration window,9,ROI is positive since migration teams can work mostly during working week, not needing to spend whole weekends with system shutdowns, image copies etc...,Agents installation (no downtime required) Sync jobs console Sync Jobs troubleshooting Product support,Product licensing & activation,9
Windows, Linux, Red Hat Enterprise Linux, VMware ESXi, Microsoft Hyper-V, Oracle Enterprise Linux, CentOs, SUSE Enterprise Linux, Ubuntu, Microsoft Exchange, Microsoft SQL Server, Microsoft Sharepoint, Oracle MySQL
Carbonite DoubleTake
21 Ratings
Score 7.8 out of 101
TRScore

DoubleTake Reviews

DoubleTake
21 Ratings
Score 7.8 out of 101
Show Filters 
Hide Filters 
Filter 21 vetted DoubleTake reviews and ratings
Clear all filters
Overall Rating
Reviewer's Company Size
Last Updated
By Topic
Industry
Department
Experience
Job Type
Role
Reviews (1-9 of 9)
  Vendors can't alter or remove reviews. Here's why.
August 21, 2017

User Review: "Why I can always count on DoubleTake"

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Reseller
Review Source
We use DoubleTake in several different ways. We have customers that use DoubleTake availability for their DR solution. For others, we use DoubleTake for migrating their environments from their local site to the cloud, or to different locations around the world. In some instances, customers have virtual servers that need to sit on physical hardware. DoubleTake has the ability to migrate the virtual server back to physical hardware with virtually no down time.
  • A product is worthless in my opinion if you don't have a great support team to work with. I've had issues with replication jobs that were resolved quickly and easily by the support team.
  • DR - DoubleTake is the only tool that I'm aware of that can handle DR replication of both physical and virtual environments. There sre others, but they use a snapshot technology, where DoubleTake has continuous replication of data.
  • Move - we have moved physical and virtual environments from around the world without ever having to leave the office. One of the companies we migrated started off with their equipment in Switzerland, and after the servers were in a fully protected state in the US, that failover to the new location took 45 min.
  • Reporting - Reporting is a very important tool which is required by auditors after performing failover tests. I know they are currently working on this, and we hope to see a working product that we can use shortly.
  • The inability of using the latest versions on the older OSs. When we migrate or protect 2003 servers, we have to stay with version 7. It would be nice to be able to use version 8 and well as it's new features.

Any disaster recovery solution can be handled by DoubleTake as well as server migrations. We have performed virtual to virtual, physical to physical, virtual to physical and physical to virtual migrations. There is no other product that can perform a continuous replication process with these different scenarios.

I have yet been able to find a scenario where I found it to be less appropriate.

Read John Stalzer's full review
August 10, 2017

User Review: "DoubleTake - Always Available"

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
It varies per client. Some of our clients use it as a full DR solution for servers. While others use it as an offsite replication for critical servers.
  • Extremely quick failover to DR
  • Almost realtime replication depending on clients bandwidth
  • Easy to setup, upgrade and maintain
  • Cost effective
  • More verbose error messages. So we can fix problems with more ease
  • More bandwidth settings for throttling.
  • Ability to restart services on servers from the double take console
Good for fast failover and instances where the bandwidth is not an issue. Not great for scenarios requiring realtime replication.
Read Adhir Kamal's full review
August 08, 2017

DoubleTake Review: "Good to Go!"

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We are using DoubleTake (DT) as a disaster recovery option for replication to a series of virtual servers. Our IT department initiated the use for our entire company. It addresses the issue of access to our files and process in the event we lose access to any or all servers due to an unforeseen catastrophic event.
  • Allows for easy review and updating during replication processes. The Portal is user-friendly and very accessible with little user training.
  • Allows us to know when we have errors in replication and actions needed.
  • Their support is very quick and reliable in the event we have questions or issue.
  • The initial set-up can be challenging in some regard.
  • Would like to see version updates that support all OS. Unfortunately we use several OS and are on an older version with 7 of our 8 servers.
  • Will be doing the upgrades to version 8 shortly and hope the software is compatible with all OS.

I really believe once the initial set up is complete, the portal offers an easy and concise way to review actions and progress during the replication process. It is easy to troubleshoot in the event issues occur.

We only use DT as a disaster recovery option currently so do not have an instance or scenario where it might be less appropriate.

Read Ron Sisler Jr's full review
July 21, 2017

User Review: "DoubleTake = LifeSaver!"

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We used DoubleTake to recover from a serious server crash (converting a working server into a virtual machine and applying it on a different server). It was certainly a life-saver and time-saver, and their support was right by our side from start to finish. Hands down, great product!
  • Server environment to virtual machine
  • Great tech support
  • Pricing to fit the needs of the end-user
DoubleTake software was one of the best pieces of software I've used and saved me a load of time on conversions between a server and a virtual machine. I have nothing negative to state what-so-ever. Highly recommend this product.
Read Daniel Hendry's full review
August 10, 2017

"Carbonite DoubleTake Review"

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Carbonite DoubleTake has been used since years ago across the whole organization for customers’ on-premise servers migration to a virtual private cloud. It provides minimum downtime migration (only required for servers cut over) since it replicates customer data in real-time to the cloud, the agent installation doesn't require servers to reboot and can be done during working hours. Once the synchronization job is created, all changes on source server are replicated to target server. The product support when required (not often) is very responsive.
  • It provides minimum downtime migration (only required for servers cutover)
  • It replicates customer data in realtime to the cloud, the agents installation doesn´t require servers reboot
  • Great product support
  • Mostly available for Windows (although a Linux version has been launched recently)
  • Complex Licensing process
  • 60 days of license expiration for migrations (we know, customer sometimes takes longer to schedule the migration window
Windows servers migration to the cloud, with minimum downtime and real-time data replication between source and target servers. Running any kind of workloads since a basic Web server to a SQL database server. Not recommended for cluster nodes migration.
Read Artur Estanqueiro's full review
July 25, 2017

User Review: "DoubleTake Move"

Score 5 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
DoubleTake is being used by the IT department to migrate the workload from a number of deprecated systems to a new data centre site and new infrastructure. It addresses the movement of large volumes of data transparently and without impact to the business and allows a seamless switch over from one site to another (ninety miles apart).
  • System Synchronisation
  • License management is poor and the online system is very restrictive, We are using a one time "Move" product that has a fixed life ... but sometimes in a small team other high priority tasks come along.
  • We lost all access to all licenses in the portal and all support because we hadn't used them in ninety days. Very poor service. We did get access back eventually but it took a lot of "bargaining".
  • Failover isn't always as smooth as it could be. VMDKs don't release properly and the move fails and has to be done manually. Not hard just frustrating. VMWare to VMWare.
I believe it would work well with continuous replication in a DR scenario with no time limits and having the ability to fail back is a bonus, but in a one off move the decision to restrict the time it can sync for has proven to be an issue for us.
Read this authenticated review
August 09, 2017

Review: "DoubleTake -- Good product when low RPO is needed"

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Reseller
Review Source
I work for the Australian distributor of DoubleTake. We sell the product to our partners and provide 1st and 2nd level support in ANZ. We also use DoubleTake as a migration tool to migrate customers' workloads to the cloud.
  • It migrates Windows servers well
  • It is easy to use
  • It has a great RPO
  • DoubleTake is more expensive than competing products
  • DoubleTake is more manual than competing products
  • Being agent-based at source can cause concern for customers migrating hundreds of servers
Migration/protection of physical servers.

Migration into Azure/AWS.

Less suitable for large numbers of VMs between hypervisors (as competing products can do this agentlessly).
Read this authenticated review
July 20, 2017

"Carbonite DoubleTake Review readers will appreciate it!"

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
DoubleTake is being used by the whole organization to provide HA to the critical ERP business systems.
  • Easy to set up.
  • Easy to manage.
  • Support has worked wonders assisting us with troubleshooting.
  • Overall functionality is good. I am good with the way it is now.
Well suited for Windows, VMware and the like type of environments. Can be used for physical to physical, or physical to virtual. I probably would not go from virtual to physical environment, but I suppose it could be done if needed, depending on the situation.
Read this authenticated review
October 04, 2017

Review: "Try a good solution from Carbonite DoubleTake"

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We are using DoubleTake Availability for Windows and Linux for our customers. We are a department for [creating] projects for customers and have a lot of projects with Carbonite DoubleTake. Most of our customers very satisfied with the product.

There are huge solutions we create for our customers to save the data when some disaster occurs so I think there is a lot business impact that we keep in mind every day and work to solve it.
  • Very professional support team, a lot of complex bugs and problems are solved very quickly by the support team.
  • Every time a new version is published there are new features.
  • Temporary licensing for a POC or for checking [out] some features is very good idea.
  • Videos and articles about Carbonite DoubleTake are hard to find.
  • There are very few articles and solutions [available] for Carbonite DoubleTake for Linux.
Carbonite DoubleTake for Windows with operation systems Later than 2003 works well.

For a lot of customers with windows operation system [older than] 2003, it doesn't work well. The DoubleTake agent crashes and for older versions, there is full support but on the customer side, it does not work well.
Read this authenticated review

About DoubleTake

Carbonite DoubleTake® Move™ migrates physical, virtual and cloud workloads over any distance with minimal risk and near-zero downtime. Using real-time, byte-level replication technology, DoubleTake Move creates a replica of the data, application, database or entire server being migrated and keeps it in sync with the production system. The migrated data can be validated without disrupting business operations, and downtime is limited to the seconds or minutes required for cutover to the new server.

Carbonite DoubleTake Availability™ software lets IT organizations maintain the highest availability of their Windows and Linux servers by preventing downtime and data loss. The software does this using a continuous replication mechanism that maintains a secondary copy without taxing the primary system or network bandwidth. With support for physical, virtual or cloud source systems or target environments, the Availability solution is a comprehensive replication option for organizations with mixed IT environments.

DoubleTake Features

Has featureLightning Fast Recovery: Failover to your secondary site with minimal downtime with seconds-long recovery points
Has featureStreamlined Migration: Migrate from any hypervisor or cloud to any other, easily and with minimal downtime for users
Has featureBroad Platform Support: Replicate physical, virtual and cloud-based systems to any environment, locally or with one of our cloud service provider partners.
Has featureSelf-Service Management: End-user control over configuration, monitoring, and failover through a self-service portal.
Has featureNo Performance Impact: Protect all your workloads with continuous replication without impacting system performance.

DoubleTake Competitors

DoubleTake Support Options

 Paid Version
Phone
Email
Forum/Community
FAQ/Knowledgebase
Social Media
Video Tutorials / Webinar

DoubleTake Technical Details

Deployment Types:On-premise, SaaS
Operating Systems: Windows, Linux, Red Hat Enterprise Linux, VMware ESXi, Microsoft Hyper-V, Oracle Enterprise Linux, CentOs, SUSE Enterprise Linux, Ubuntu, Microsoft Exchange, Microsoft SQL Server, Microsoft Sharepoint, Oracle MySQL
Mobile Application:No