Skip to main content
TrustRadius
Couchbase Server

Couchbase Server

Overview

What is Couchbase Server?

Couchbase Server is a cloud-native, distributed database that fuses the strengths of relational databases such as SQL and ACID transactions with JSON flexibility and scale that defines NoSQL. It is available as a service in commercial clouds and supports hybrid…

Read more
Recent Reviews

TrustRadius Insights

Couchbase is widely used by various organizations and companies for agile access to information in a secure and robust infrastructure. …
Continue reading

high availability

8 out of 10
December 14, 2022
Incentivized
Fraud detection and identity authentication
We have used to store user information for fraud detection and authentication.
We have large …
Continue reading

Move forward

8 out of 10
March 30, 2022
Incentivized
CodeFactory company is implementing an Informational system based on microservice architecture. Some services use Couchbase as data …
Continue reading

Couchbase scales well

10 out of 10
March 29, 2022
Incentivized
Couchbase is a key part of our software stack. We use it to store all of the information about the objects in our service. It is used by …
Continue reading
Read all reviews

Awards

Products that are considered exceptional by their customers based on a variety of criteria win TrustRadius awards. Learn more about the types of TrustRadius awards to make the best purchase decision. More about TrustRadius Awards

Popular Features

View all 7 features
  • Availability (96)
    9.4
    94%
  • Scalability (95)
    9.3
    93%
  • Data model flexibility (95)
    9.0
    90%
  • Performance (97)
    8.9
    89%

Reviewer Pros & Cons

View all pros & cons
Return to navigation

Pricing

View all pricing
N/A
Unavailable

What is Couchbase Server?

Couchbase Server is a cloud-native, distributed database that fuses the strengths of relational databases such as SQL and ACID transactions with JSON flexibility and scale that defines NoSQL. It is available as a service in commercial clouds and supports hybrid and private cloud deployments.

Entry-level set up fee?

  • Setup fee optional
For the latest information on pricing, visithttps://www.couchbase.com/pricing/#couc…

Offerings

  • Free Trial
  • Free/Freemium Version
  • Premium Consulting/Integration Services

Would you like us to let the vendor know that you want pricing?

30 people also want pricing

Alternatives Pricing

What is MongoDB?

MongoDB is an open source document-oriented database system. It is part of the NoSQL family of database systems. Instead of storing data in tables as is done in a "classical" relational database, MongoDB stores structured data as JSON-like documents with dynamic schemas (MongoDB calls the format…

What is HCL Zen Edge Data Management?

HCL Zen Edge Data Management (formerly Actian Zen) is a NoSQL and SQL (fully ANSI compliant) embedded database that runs on Windows, Linux, Android, iOS, macOS, in VMs and Containers with AES 256-bit encryption. Version footprints range from 5MB (client only) to 50 MB (embedded client-server) to…

Return to navigation

Product Demos

Module 1 - Couchbase Server Installation_04 - Hands-On Couchbase DBA | Kishore Uppala

YouTube

Module 1 - Install CentOS In Virtual Box_03 - Hands-on Couchbase DBA | Kishore Uppala

YouTube

Module 1-Installation & Configuration_02-Hands-on Couchbase Database Administration | Kishore Uppala

YouTube

Module 1 - Introduction Overview_01 - Hands-on Couchbase Database Administration | Kishore Uppala

YouTube

Learn Couchbase In 1 Hour - Complete Couchbase Tutorial - Couchbase Tutorial For Beginners

YouTube

How to configure Couchbase Server 5.0

YouTube
Return to navigation

Features

NoSQL Databases

NoSQL databases are designed to be used across large distrusted systems. They are notably much more scalable and much faster and handling very large data loads than traditional relational databases.

8.9
Avg 8.8
Return to navigation

Product Details

What is Couchbase Server?

Couchbase Server is a cloud-native, distributed database that fuses the strengths of relational databases such as SQL and ACID transactions with JSON flexibility and scale that defines NoSQL. It is available as a service in commercial clouds and supports hybrid and private cloud deployments.

Built on NoSQL technology, Couchbase Server is designed to deliver performance at any scale across any cloud. With its memory-first architecture, latency is measured in milliseconds. And with a JSON document foundation, geo-distributed deployments, workload isolation, and high-density storage, Couchbase is presented as an ideal database for scalable, mission-critical applications. To round off the solution, Couchbase has an SQL-compatible query language (SQL++) and dynamic schema structures, to make it easy to migrate from RDBMS.

The vendor states that current customers include industry leaders Amadeus, AT&T, BD (Becton, Dickinson and Company), Carrefour, Cisco, Comcast, Disney, DreamWorks Animation, eBay, Marriott, Neiman Marcus, Tesco, Tommy Hilfiger, United, Verizon, Wells Fargo, as well as hundreds of other household names.

Couchbase Server Features

NoSQL Databases Features

  • Supported: Performance
  • Supported: Availability
  • Supported: Concurrency
  • Supported: Security
  • Supported: Scalability
  • Supported: Data model flexibility
  • Supported: Deployment model flexibility

Additional Features

  • Supported: Multi-Dimensional Scaling (MDS)
  • Supported: Cross Data Center Replication (XDCR)
  • Supported: Flexible Schema (JSON + N1QL)
  • Supported: Full Text Search (FTS)
  • Supported: Analytics
  • Supported: Mobile & IoT Integration
  • Supported: Memory-First Architecture
  • Supported: Big Data & SQL Integration
  • Supported: Key Value
  • Supported: Cloud Native
  • Supported: Query

Couchbase Server Video

What is Couchbase?

Couchbase Server Technical Details

Deployment TypesOn-premise, Software as a Service (SaaS), Cloud, or Web-Based
Operating SystemsWindows, Linux, Mac
Mobile ApplicationApple iOS, Android, Windows Phone, Mobile Web, IoT devices using our .NET and Java libraries

Frequently Asked Questions

Couchbase Server is a cloud-native, distributed database that fuses the strengths of relational databases such as SQL and ACID transactions with JSON flexibility and scale that defines NoSQL. It is available as a service in commercial clouds and supports hybrid and private cloud deployments.

MongoDB, Oracle NoSQL Database, and Amazon DynamoDB are common alternatives for Couchbase Server.

Reviewers rate Availability highest, with a score of 9.4.

The most common users of Couchbase Server are from Enterprises (1,001+ employees).
Return to navigation

Comparisons

View all alternatives
Return to navigation

Reviews and Ratings

(204)

Community Insights

TrustRadius Insights are summaries of user sentiment data from TrustRadius reviews and, when necessary, 3rd-party data sources. Have feedback on this content? Let us know!

Couchbase is widely used by various organizations and companies for agile access to information in a secure and robust infrastructure. Users have found Couchbase to be an efficient and easy-to-use solution for developing web apps, mobile apps, and IoT applications. It offers scalability, high availability, and performance, making it crucial for designing applications that can handle global customer needs.

Couchbase is utilized in various areas of companies, including human resource management, accounting, and receipt and delivery departments, to facilitate faster and more regular movement of goods and services. It enables fast access and processing of data securely with different access levels, which is crucial for delivering goods and services remotely. Additionally, Couchbase Cloud is used to overcome the challenges of remote work and ensure fast and secure data analysis and delivery for both internal and client projects.

The software is also extensively used in the gaming industry for storing players' game state data and allowing features and services to leverage it. Furthermore, Couchbase is utilized for mobile data collection in a SaaS platform, eliminating the need for relational tables and schemas. It simplifies the storage of complex insurance rating information and provides high performance and scalability.

Developers rely on Couchbase as a powerful and flexible NoSQL database that allows for quick application development and deployment within the cloud. The product is commonly used for managing databases across multiple departments, particularly in mobile application development. Furthermore, Couchbase Data Platform is utilized in various industries such as the airline industry, where it powers onboard meal ordering systems and personalized service during flights.

In summary, Couchbase addresses a wide range of business problems across industries by providing fast access to information in a secure infrastructure. Its flexibility, scalability, and high performance make it a preferred choice for developing web apps, mobile apps, IoT applications, and managing databases across organizations.

Scalability: Couchbase is highly scalable, allowing users to handle large amounts of data and serve numerous transactions simultaneously. Reviewers have praised the ability to scale the database based on performance requests and the ease of expanding the cluster size.

Performance: Users appreciate Couchbase's strong performance, specifically highlighting its memory caching as a significant advantage over other NoSQL databases they evaluated. This indicates that Couchbase is efficient and fast in processing and retrieving data.

Flexibility: The schema-less architecture of Couchbase provides flexibility for users. They value the ability to support system points backwardly and make changes easily. It demonstrates that Couchbase can adapt to changes in the database structure effectively.

Difficulties in navigating documentation: Some users have expressed frustration with the navigation of Couchbase's documentation site, citing outdated code references and articles. They feel that this makes it more challenging to find the information they need.

Lack of enterprise features: Users have mentioned that Couchbase lacks certain enterprise features, such as centralized administration tools, auditing capabilities, and replication networks. This has led some users to believe that the platform may not be suitable for larger-scale or more complex business needs.

Frustration with management UI: The management console in Couchbase has been described as cumbersome and in need of improved user experience. Users have suggested improvements such as consolidating logs, enhancing error handling capabilities, and allowing servers to change roles without downtime.

Users have recommended Couchbase for several use cases, including caching applications and scenarios involving real-time analysis. They also suggest utilizing Couchbase for document-based NoSQL databases, as it offers good read and write speed. Attendees at Couchbase seminars have praised the informative sessions that help in gaining a basic understanding of the product. Additionally, users recommend watching videos or webinars to further enhance knowledge about Couchbase's features. Customers have reported outstanding support and assistance from Couchbase's customer service team and account representatives. They are commended for their promptness and expertise in resolving any issues or queries. To ensure long-term scalability and smooth cloud migration, it is advised to carefully consider these factors when implementing Couchbase. Users recommend leveraging the ElasticSearch plugin for effective data structuring. While Couchbase is recognized for its performance boost, users note that there is a steep learning curve compared to traditional RDBMS systems. It is suggested to invest time in understanding the purpose and strengths of Couchbase before implementation. Couchbase is regarded as a reliable solution for maintaining secure and safe databases. However, users caution that implementing logic should be handled in code rather than relying solely on Couchbase. To explore the capabilities of Couchbase, users recommend trying the free trial version and engaging with the active community forums where they can seek assistance from experienced developers. Overall, users advise familiarizing oneself with the developer guide as it provides valuable insights into effectively using Couchbase for various applications.

Attribute Ratings

Reviews

(1-25 of 100)
Companies can't remove reviews or game the system. Here's why
Jonathan Gurwitz | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Incentivized
Couchbase is being used across our entire organization as the primary database for our platform. It addresses the need for sub-millisecond db transactions at hundreds of thousands of high-availability transactions per second[.]
  • Couchbase performance is exceptional both for in-memory and persisted transactions.
  • Handling of node failures and cluster rebalancing (high availability).
  • Enterprise support from Couchbase themselves
  • Good documentation
  • Streaming of bucket (database) level mutations via their Database Change Protocol (DCP).
  • Replication of datasets between native clients and Couchbase buckets
  • Handling of simultaneous writes to the same record with performance penalties
  • SDK examples are not always clear enough and don't cover enough scenarios.
  • Setting up and managing a large, high performance cluster is not easy without significant assistance from Couchbase themselves. There needs to be more tutorials \ documentation for enterprise scenarios.
  • Full text search, while not a primary feature, is not sufficiently performant in Couchbase, so Elasticsearch is still needed. Couchbase has a good integration for moving data to Elasticsearch so this is not very painful. It's possible that the performance has improved in the latest version as we have not yet tested it for FTS.
  • Poor performance and support for synchronization of web based apps (PWA's etc)
[Couchbase] is very well suited [for] applications which require super-high performance and reliability replication between native clients and the database A NoSQL database with a rich feature set. [Couchbase] is not so well suited to high performance full text search although possibly this has improved in the latest version. applications which require real-time updates from a database. Firebase would be a better fit for this.
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Incentivized
Couchbase has been our solution to have high availability and scalability in a simple way.
With only one product we have replaced several technologies (JSON files, Memcache, Redis, MongoDB, Solr, Lucent).
  • HA
  • Scale
  • Dashboard
  • Easy replication and indexing
  • SQL
  • FTS
  • Stability in some version x.0
  • Bug in first versions
Couchbase is okay for big web companies with a lot of requests and where speed and replication are a priority. It has a lot of features, Key-Value, N1SQL, Full-Text Search, Analytics, Dashboards, etc.
Couchbase requires an initial learning curve and adaptation of developments as it is a non-standard proprietary technology. I only recommend it in custom developments.
December 14, 2022

high availability

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Incentivized
Fraud detection and identity authentication
We have used to store user information for fraud detection and authentication.
We have large user base where we are detecting pattern based on device and other user information to detect fraudulent behaviour of the user.
Couchbase was faster solution to store this information and we are able to fetch whenever we need.

  • Data Management
  • Data Availability
  • Less latency and fast lookup
  • Dashboard
  • Sorting of data
We used this for fraud detection as state earlier section.
This work best for all the noSQL usecases, we tried few of the usecase and did the POC.
This work well and we never stuck with the scaling part,
We are able to run this over the large amount of user records.
December 12, 2022

Couchbase to the Rescue!

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Incentivized
We are using Couchbase for web application development. Our main focus is public safety and disaster management. We have web and mobile platform presence. We had to solve the syncing issue between mobile and web and Couchbase sync gateway was a great help in this scenario. Also, creating custom document id was another big help for filtering data. Using SDK we perform micro data manipulation processes which is faster comparatively.
  • Synchronization between web and mobile platform using sync gateway
  • Custom document id to reduce data filter
  • SDK to update specified document or document fragments
  • Documentation was quite hard for me to understand at the beginning. I think that needs to be improved for newbies.
  • Updating multiple document keys were possible before v6.5, but now not anymore. For me that was a great help. I think that needs to be back.
Couchbase sync gateway was a great help in syncing data between different platforms. It resolves conflicts automatically in most cases. Creating custom document id is really a big help for filtering data without making any N1QL queries. Using SDK we perform micro data manipulation processes which is very fast comparing to other DBs.
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Incentivized
We use Couchbase to save user data - user's PII data like email, first name, last name, etc., and user's behavioral data like click history, segmentation data, etc. PII data is permanent and behavioral data is temporary. There is a limited TTL on the behavioral data bucket. We are currently working on expanding it to save users' authentication data (session-id etc.) and authorization data (entitlement) as well.
  • Retrieves the data very fast.
  • Don't have to use predefined schema.
  • I can still query on the Json.
  • Takes too long to build index. Could be faster.
If you need fast data, Couchbase is the solution. Also, when data is coming from different sources, and the schema is not always the same, Couchbase is a very good solution. Just define a document and save the data as a JSON doc.
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Incentivized
We use Couchbase to store user data. We have millions of anonymous user data that need to be served on the front end in a timely fashion and we were looking for a service that can be robust. We were also looking for a flexible data schema. Couchbase was a perfect solution for both.
  • Flexible schema
  • Serves data very fast
  • Automated purging of old data
  • Query takes too long. It can be improved
  • Indexing can be faster
Couchbase is perfect to handle enormous amounts of data, especially when the data does not have a well-defined schema. Couchbase is way faster than an SQL server solution. Also, it can easily be scaled up and scaled-down. High performance in any cloud server. Also, Couchbase technical support is wonderful
Score 3 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Incentivized
We use Couchbase at our company as our main production database. The business problem the product addresses is having to deal with the high throughput of big data at our organization and the scope of our use case is from staging environments via pre environments all the way to production and analytical services.
  • Key value cache
  • SQL like query
  • Replication
  • Indexing
  • Poor UI
Couchbase used to be great for small startups that needed a document database that would expand well with future needs, but in recent years and newer versions, Couchbase took many components such AS XCDR and the K8s controller from the community version and moved them to the paid versions. Also, backup tools are very very poor in the community version.
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Incentivized
We use Couchbase for two main purposes. First is the NoSQL database to store unstructured data. The n1ql language is very powerful to retrieve these data in every possible way. The second purpose is key/value storage used in caches. We use Couchbase to store serialized java objects representing cached data.
  • N1QL requests
  • Key/value storage
  • Performance
  • Indexes need some time to understand
  • Documentation could be improved somtimes
Couchbase is very efficient for the key/value storage of serialized Java objects. It provides a very simple way to have a distributed cache with very low latency. Operations are easy and API is very well done. You can define the time to live on each data to provide a powerful cache.
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Incentivized
Couchbase is used by teams in our organization to store and manage customer data. Couchbase allows huge scalability and performance which is why it is the database of choice for many teams within our organization. Couchbase is also very easy to configure and deploy to various teams. This allows my team, to just be on stand-by for any upgrades.
  • Scalability
  • Highly available
  • Easy to use
  • Cost
  • number of buckets
  • performance with larger datasets
Couchbase is well suited for a quick and easy database cluster to be spun up. That does not require a lot of configuration or updating. A god resource for datasets that will not require too much CPU usage. It is less appropriate for larger data sets and anything that may require loads of memory
April 01, 2022

Very long questions.

Score 5 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Incentivized
Offline storage of vessel operations by sea fearers. The data syncs to cloud Couchbase and use for analytics.
  • Offline storage and sync.
  • Peer to peer sync.
  • Sync based on filters or channels.
  • Max 10 databases is weird.
  • Expecting data validation and data constraints.
  • Easy deployment for production.
Best suited when edge devices have interrupted internet connection. And Couchbase provides reliable data transfer. If used for attachment Couchbase has a very poor offering. A hard limit of 20 MB is not okay. They have the best conflict resolution but not so great query language on Couchbase lite.
March 30, 2022

Move forward

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Incentivized
CodeFactory company is implementing an Informational system based on microservice architecture. Some services use Couchbase as data storage. These services have a high load stream of data and the system should have no consumption lag of messages from external systems. Our system has a couple of buckets (one per service) and different document types.
  • Write speed
  • scalability and reliability
  • tools to administrate
  • Search capabilities are still worse than Elasticsearch
I'd like Couchbase for it's scalability and liability. It has impressed performance results. I'm not happy always about search/FTS support
March 29, 2022

Couchbase scales well

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Incentivized
Couchbase is a key part of our software stack. We use it to store all of the information about the objects in our service. It is used by the entire company and customers. Several of our developers are trained on it and work with it.
  • Scales
  • Fast
  • Easy to learn
  • Confusing errors
  • Confusing admin console
  • Lots of versions
Couchbase is well suited for any environment where you need metadata stored reliably, and with quick access. I wouldn't recommend storing larger files on it.
March 17, 2022

Couchbase is rock

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Incentivized
I am using Couchbase to store project-related data.
  • Using N1QL query we can perform operation on specific field
  • Fetching is easy
  • Using JPA we can do crud operation very easily
  • It stored data in the form of json object
  • We can enhance the query console in UI so we can perform some cleanup activity very easily on the different bucket
  • We can show some suggestion while writing query from UI
  • We can do static error checking ie while writing a query editor can show the error if there are some errors instead run the query and get the error
well suited- N1QL is very simple and also we can categorize the data based on bucket less appropriate: for analytics, it is not suitable.
Kimberly Brooke | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Incentivized
Couchbase connects us to reliable network sources that can effectively manage our data. It is highly scalable and ensures that all data from our customers is effectively managed for better planning. It provides cloud services that customize all data and saves the most useful data that transform our company.
  • Data storage management.
  • Monitoring data entering our company from all sources.
  • The platform performance has been awesome.
  • I am conversant with all the features.
The product offers security to our data across all our working environments. It tracks the channels that our data passes through to ensure that it is not contaminated or polarized by unauthorized access. Our customers' information is securely stored under secured disks that we can access during marketing campaigns. It has an email conversation feature that gives my team an easy time when communicating with our clients.
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Incentivized
I'm an IT expert at our company and I have been using Couchbase for the creation and deployment of applications on the cloud. What makes Couchbase special or rather ideal is the fact that it offers a secure cloud space for application data. It is a NoSQL database and therefore a performer and a great tool when it comes to website caching.
  • It is a very secure database
  • It is a high performance data base
  • Couchbase is highly scalable
  • Makes it easy to develop responsive applications
  • Sometimes it can lag more so when network is poor
  • Longer learning curve
  • Poor documentation
Couchbase is a great database solution and offers more features and capabilities. We have used it to meet several needs but I have personally used it to develop and launch applications. It is very secure and performs well. It is therefore ideal for IT experts and also HR departments depending on the intended use. Many businesses will actually benefit from Couchbase.
Savan Solanki | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Incentivized
In our project, we must enter millions of entries, available in JSON format, into a database, which must subsequently be accessed on a regular basis using various filters. To fulfill this requirement we must be needed NoSQL which provides high performance. Hence, after exploring a couple of tools, we finally decided to continue with CouchBase, as it is a combination of CouchDB and Membase.
  • Open source
  • High scalability and throughput
  • JSON based datamodel
  • Setup is time consuming.
  • UI is not attractive.
Couchbase offers a key-based lookup and update mechanism. Moreover, it contains CouchDB which provides excellent support for JSON-based data and allows it to read using REST APIs, and also, sharing and database replication with an outstanding tool such as Membase. Also, we can configure multiple buckets and each bucket can have its own separate configuration and data space. Further, data is replicated over multiple nodes which increases the data reliability and protects our data against any event of node failure.
Gurinder Randhawa | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Incentivized
We use Couchbase in our core enterprise backend distributed system for some complex data storage and data caching. It simplifies the storage of complex insurance rating information and provides high performance and scalability.
  • Ability to scale.
  • High performance on reads and writes.
  • Easy to setup and configure.
  • Limitation on a number of data buckets as per best practices.
  • N1QL query not very fast.
  • Past versions had some major bugs like in xdcr causing cluster failure, which has been fixed in 4.x.
We have moved off Couchbase for caching onto Redis as it aligns better with our technology stack and AWS server management. We use Couchbase purely for NoSQL data storage.
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Incentivized
We use it across our cloud solution in the IOT space. Solves the problem of a fast database at the right cost. Implementation was smooth and we have not only reduced our storage cost, but our system has also improved end-to-end latency. Highly recommend Couchbase to any team looking for cost AND performance improvements.
  • Fast
  • Reliable
  • Cost effective
  • Hosted solution needs some work.
Great for replacing Microsoft Cosmos DB. Couchbase is faster and less expensive. Our application is for real-time tracking of millions of vehicles and low latency is important. We are also focused on cloud-agnostic and Couchbase is an ideal fit for that flexibility while saving money and improving performance. Implementation was smooth and they hit all performance targets.
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Incentivized
Within [the] Digital landscape in the whole of the organization Couchbase is prescribed to be used for key/value as well as a document store. We stored our content which is generated by a Content Management System. By doing so we have our CMS functioning as a Headless CMS.
  • Content stored as documents
  • We manage session[s] in a central way across all of digital channels.
  • Central store in our microservices world
  • Partially as a cache in certain use cases.
  • Deploying Couchbase in a microservices world
  • Deployment ease to make it small and synching with other microservice hosting Couchbase
  • Bucket creation and its quota can be improved.
[Couchbase is well suited as a] content store[,] Omni channel session store [and for] caching documents and Key/Value[.]
Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Incentivized
Couchbase was used to allow us to dramatically increase system performance across all of our products and services by allowing us quicker access to large volumes of data and providing us with greater stability and reliability thanks to the cluster and replication methodology. Our data sets are often not particularly large pieces of information, but very many pieces. Traditional databases did not perform adequately under these conditions, which is where Couchbase came in.
  • Improved system stability
  • Improved system reliability and service uptime
  • Fast response to queries
  • Improved performance of synchronous queries
  • Licensing should separate out product and support.
  • Early versions were hard to integrate.
  • Improvements to maintenance functions to minimize downtime
Couchbase is excellent if you have datasets comprising lots and lots of tiny pieces of information, but is unlikely to be as useful in scenarios where a traditional relational database would work well. Be prepared to budget accordingly as the licensing and computing power required for adequate availability can be considerable.
Bob Walters | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 2 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Incentivized
Couchbase was originally selected to be the OLTP database to be used with "the experience engine" to hold the guest information, messaging, activity records, tags/classifications and related information pertaining to the guest experience. We initially used Couchbase prior to the creation of N1QL, and have used its core data services, views (now deprecated), N1QL, and XDCR and SyncGateway functionality. (Our use of couch-base included multi-instance replication). More recently, we've also worked with its event functionality and transactional support (a relatively new addition to its SDK).
  • As a sharded key/value store for json documents, its both performant and scalable.
  • The N1QL engine performs poorly compared to SQL engines due to the number of interactions needed, so if your use case involves the need for a lot of SQL-like query activity as opposed to the direct fetch of data in the form of a key/value map you may want to consider a RDBMS that has support for json data types so that you can more easily mix the use of relational and non-relational approaches to data access.
  • You have to be careful when using multiple capabilities (e.g. transactions with Sync Gateway) as you will typically run into problems where one technology may not operate correctly in combination with another.
  • There are quality problems with some newly released features, so be careful with being an early adopter unless you really need the capability. We somewhat desperately adopted the use of transactions, but went through multiple bughunt cycles with Couchbase working the kinks out.
Couchbase will work well if what you need is a high scale, highly available distributed map. This is what it started out as, and like many products it has sought to grow outward from that area of core competency, but many of those additions (e.g. N1QL) don't really perform as well as other database products that specifically fit that niche. If you're application can work well with a distributed map, its a good tool for that job, but beware the "it can do anything that other databases can do" angle.
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Incentivized
Couchbase is used to maintain a huge dataset of metadata from multiple software components in our organization. It's unique feature that support seamless cross data centre replication coupled with its resiliency and redundancy features makes it first choice for our business use case. It is one of the few databases used across our organization.
  • Cross Data-centre replication (XDCR).
  • Improved performance.
  • Scalable.
  • Redundancy.
  • High availability.
  • Not many code examples given with SDK documentation, they seem beginner level.
  • Error logs are mostly not useful/straightforward, need to spend time and look around to understand the problem.
  • Community base is limited, so help from the forums like stack overflow, etc. is not that great, at least for older versions I have seen it.
[Couchbase is a] high performing database with [a] huge dataset, its query, rw performance and resiliency is unmatched. Indexes are well created to serve the queries, it's fast. Scenarios where the replication is needed between totally different data centers, I would definitely recommend. Probably not suited for projects with quick setup and with minimum data set as the learning curve is steep to work with this database.
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Incentivized
Over the years, Couchbase has helped us build challenging projects. Thanks to its characteristics it fits perfectly with our needs to create scalable, stable, and performing software.
  • Sync data between server and mobile devices
  • Scaling based on performance requests
  • Query data with power of relational database
  • Query functionalities on Couchbase Mobile
  • More intuitive index creation on Couchbase Mobile
  • Couchbase Cloud functionalities
Easy to use and integrate on mobile apps. Easy to configure on the server side. Time saver.
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Incentivized
Couchbase is used by couple of departments across the whole organization. It replaced some of the applications' RDBMS backend which helped us save a lot of cost without compromising or in some cases with a better performance, security, clustering and replication factors.
  • Easy to store unstructured data and has great performance
  • Managing security is super easy which can be managed across different levels
  • UI is pretty simple to use and manage the cluster
  • Backup of the data is very easy and the restoration/recovery is fairly easy as well with the in-built tools.
  • Easy integration with Elasticsearch for replication
  • It is fairly easy to scale up or scale down the cluster
  • Resource utilization can be improved. Sometimes we have noticed that Couchbase acts like a resource monster and draining the resources.
  • If a node has to join back to the cluster sometimes database cluster with moderate size takes a longer time for a delta recovery
Couchbase is well suited in scenarios where cost plays a major role and the performance can't be compromised. It was the best option for us to replace a famous RDBMS because of licensi[ng] cost reason but boy were we happy about the performance or what. It certainly is not or less appropriate in the scenarios where there are resource constraints. You can't run too many Couchbase clusters on a single machine if it's not a beefy machine.
Niloofar Keshvari Nia | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Incentivized
The Couchbase cloud version is designed to meet all our needs, processing [large quantities] of HR data is very fast. In the HR department, we transferred everything to it and came to a quick result. NoSQL DB and Cloudbase servers have helped us to buy high speed and managed resource usage according to the amount of usage with a super fast response time.
  • NoSQL DB response time in a millisecond
  • High security under the cloud platform
  • Super easy integration
  • High read and write performance
  • Backup and restore can have better performance and speed
  • Working with it requires technical IT knowledge
  • Migrate and move from other databases little complicated
Great in full-text search and amazing indexing. Couchbase has an amazing cloud-based database architecture, you can use it across cloud, on-premises, hybrid, distributed cloud, and edge computing deployments, offering unmatched versatility, performance, scalability, and value. It’s so flexible and fast, compared to competitors, it performs much better in real-world scenarios and can be tested for free before purchasing a license.
Return to navigation