TrustRadius
Tableau Desktop is the rapid-fire authoring environment used to create and publish complex visualizations, reports and dashboards in multiple output formats. Using Tableau Desktop, a report author can connect to multiple data sources, explore relationships, create dashboards, modify metadata, and finally publish a completed workbook to Tableau Server if desired. The Desktop product comprises two editions: - Personal Edition: This edition allows work to be saved locally and supports connections to the following databases: CSV/flat files, Excel, and Access. - Professional Edition: This edition supports a wider range of databases including most traditional relational databases, OLAP databases, Hadoop, and also Salesforce and Google Analytics.https://dudodiprj2sv7.cloudfront.net/product-logos/sv/Ao/PCZWTEQ42WEW.PNGTableau: A robust solution for your reporting needs!Tableau is being used by an entire department. It addresses our need for real-time data and conversion tracking. It allows for all members of our team to tailor reports based on their individual needs.,Allowing users to export data and manipulate the data based on their needs. This means that although there are prepopulated reports, they aren't rigid and inflexible and they allow users to see the data in other prisms. We are able to track users at various stages of the product lifecycle, which means we can see drop-offs, conversions, and other critical touch points.,Allowing for lay users to create individual reports. Currently, we need to request a Tableau data person to mold new reports for us. A drag and drop interphase would be amazing for allowing users to mix touch points as they need. The ability to copy and paste data into Excel as opposed to exporting. We don't always need an entire report.,8,Qlik Sense Cloud,8,10,Qlik Sense, Aurea Campaign Manager (formerly Lyris HQ), Vindicia CashBoxWith Tableau Desktop I quickly analyze my data giving efficiency and speed to my workIn my organization Tableau is used and it has been very useful, collecting data and information, we take it to graphs for its better analysis, helping to make decisions and better efficiency in real way of the situation that we want to show. We make the compilation of different data in relation to different tasks and different areas of the Organization that is carried in turn to graphics which shows us how the different daily tasks are evolving. Tableau is compatible with different systems such as Excel, MS Access, Teredata, Google Analytics, among others and it facilitates the creation of Dashboards by means of data extraction, modifications and quick updates.,With Tableau you do not need to have technical knowledge to do the data integration and you get a quick response of what you are looking for, being your visualization of high quality. We can say that it is free software and it is not a limited version,Improvements in the fast analysis data engine were designed to make queries much faster We can take more advantage of the capabilities of the source databases to run more queries at the same time; this being a new feature of parallel queries improving the performance of dashboards in Tableau Desktop and Tableau Server.,9,Google Analytics,9,9,Skype for Business, Dropbox, Adobe Acrobat DC, Google AnalyticsOur organization has benefited with Tableau Desktop. Excellent toolIn our organization, we use Tableau Desktop to analyze strategic data and tables to better organize the way in which resources are assigned to other organizations. It is ideal for our workers who strive every day to learn new avant-garde technological tools. Each agency uses this tool to improve the performance in the weekly and monthly management.,You can upload files from the PC. Work is an Internet connection.,Statistical report of project loads. Daily summary of work volume. Report to the day of project siatuacion.,10,9,10,Google Drivework tool for presentation of data in chart and professional quality table.Tableau is being used by a department of the company, specifically for the coordination of data analysis for decision making. The systematization of the information in a single database was attended; analysis of the information was represented in easy-to-understand tables and graphs. Thus solving the problem of using other programs that do not offer as many professional quality options as a table. In the same way, it was allowed to solve the problem of the existence of several databases.,It has easy-to-use bar-type graph options that allow you to group a lot of content. It offers the possibility of working with a database in order to position your exact location on your territory and display your information on a map. It has options to superimpose information between two related variables. It has the potential to work with ideal trend data for decision making.,Although it allows you to link variables, I consider that the presentation of the information is not ideal. I think the vendor can work on improving that tool. It is difficult to use the tool for georeferencing data, because it asks you to check many options to apply the task. I think the vendor can work on simplifying the process. They should review the process of linking data sheets with the tools from Tableau. On some occasions, I had to do the work again because I did not recognize the database. Work on simplifying the process please.,8,MATLAB,8,8,Skype, Google Analytics, Micro Focus ALMTableau for the win!We heavily use Tableau to analyze student performance, student retention, and to identify students at risk.,Excellent data visualization tool. Easy to learn and great support from the community. Great ecosystem to manage data for organizations of any size.,Expensive for small organization Product support from Tableau is limited Need more easy to use templates for users who are just starting out.,10,,10,10,Yes,Product Features Product Usability Product Reputation,Nothing. Extremely satisfied.,9,Haven't had such a situation yet, but mostly all questions are answered from community members.,Dashboard publishing Data Connectivity Creating extract to work with local data and avoid connecting live production database.,Fixed calculations are difficult to learn. Containers are challenge to format. Predictive analytics aren't are difficult to understand.,9
Windows, Mac
Tableau Desktop
1201 Ratings
Score 8.2 out of 101
TRScore

Tableau Desktop Reviews

Tableau Desktop
1201 Ratings
Score 8.2 out of 101
Top Rated Award
Show Filters 
Hide Filters 
Filter 1201 vetted Tableau Desktop reviews and ratings
Clear all filters
Overall Rating
Reviewer's Company Size
Last Updated
By Topic
Industry
Department
Experience
Job Type
Role
Reviews (1-25 of 114)
  Vendors can't alter or remove reviews. Here's why.
Aryeh Brickner profile photo
October 31, 2018

Tableau Desktop Review: "Tableau: A robust solution for your reporting needs!"

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Tableau is being used by an entire department. It addresses our need for real-time data and conversion tracking. It allows for all members of our team to tailor reports based on their individual needs.
  • Allowing users to export data and manipulate the data based on their needs. This means that although there are prepopulated reports, they aren't rigid and inflexible and they allow users to see the data in other prisms.
  • We are able to track users at various stages of the product lifecycle, which means we can see drop-offs, conversions, and other critical touch points.
  • Allowing for lay users to create individual reports. Currently, we need to request a Tableau data person to mold new reports for us.
  • A drag and drop interphase would be amazing for allowing users to mix touch points as they need.
  • The ability to copy and paste data into Excel as opposed to exporting. We don't always need an entire report.
Tableau was great for tracking users through the entire user funnel, including connecting it with a Google Pixel. This allowed us to see true conversions based on campaigns, which in turn allowed us to optimize our revenue generating campaigns. One improvement would be the addition of real-time data streams--as it is, they often have a lag of 24 hours.
Read Aryeh Brickner's full review
Yusmelys Lopez profile photo
June 27, 2018

Review: "With Tableau Desktop I quickly analyze my data giving efficiency and speed to my work"

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
In my organization Tableau is used and it has been very useful, collecting data and information, we take it to graphs for its better analysis, helping to make decisions and better efficiency in real way of the situation that we want to show. We make the compilation of different data in relation to different tasks and different areas of the Organization that is carried in turn to graphics which shows us how the different daily tasks are evolving. Tableau is compatible with different systems such as Excel, MS Access, Teredata, Google Analytics, among others and it facilitates the creation of Dashboards by means of data extraction, modifications and quick updates.
  • With Tableau you do not need to have technical knowledge to do the data integration and you get a quick response of what you are looking for, being your visualization of high quality.
  • We can say that it is free software and it is not a limited version
  • Improvements in the fast analysis data engine were designed to make queries much faster
  • We can take more advantage of the capabilities of the source databases to run more queries at the same time; this being a new feature of parallel queries improving the performance of dashboards in Tableau Desktop and Tableau Server.
We use Tableau when we want to obtain a fast and efficient result, since this option allows to work with data in real time or in memory, being able to extract massive data for a limited exploration quickly, using technology of database and computational graphics to analyze enormous sets of data and which is used in the different areas of the organization when we want to have quick results and easy to analyze according to the graphics presented.
Read Yusmelys Lopez's full review
Fran Maita profile photo
July 12, 2018

Review: "Our organization has benefited with Tableau Desktop. Excellent tool"

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
In our organization, we use Tableau Desktop to analyze strategic data and tables to better organize the way in which resources are assigned to other organizations. It is ideal for our workers who strive every day to learn new avant-garde technological tools. Each agency uses this tool to improve the performance in the weekly and monthly management.
  • You can upload files from the PC.
  • Work is an Internet connection.
  • Statistical report of project loads.
  • Daily summary of work volume.
  • Report to the day of project siatuacion.
Tableau Desktop is characterized by improving the performance of the information that we previously made with other technological tools. Through it, we can ignore the format to obtain statistical squares and maps of works, where before we did not. We continue to bet on this useful tool for our organization and it deserves to update supplements that help us to better perform our work.
Read Fran Maita's full review
Andres Meza profile photo
October 19, 2018

Tableau Desktop Review: "work tool for presentation of data in chart and professional quality table."

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Tableau is being used by a department of the company, specifically for the coordination of data analysis for decision making.

The systematization of the information in a single database was attended; analysis of the information was represented in easy-to-understand tables and graphs. Thus solving the problem of using other programs that do not offer as many professional quality options as a table. In the same way, it was allowed to solve the problem of the existence of several databases.
  • It has easy-to-use bar-type graph options that allow you to group a lot of content.
  • It offers the possibility of working with a database in order to position your exact location on your territory and display your information on a map.
  • It has options to superimpose information between two related variables.
  • It has the potential to work with ideal trend data for decision making.
  • Although it allows you to link variables, I consider that the presentation of the information is not ideal. I think the vendor can work on improving that tool.
  • It is difficult to use the tool for georeferencing data, because it asks you to check many options to apply the task. I think the vendor can work on simplifying the process.
  • They should review the process of linking data sheets with the tools from Tableau. On some occasions, I had to do the work again because I did not recognize the database. Work on simplifying the process please.
Tableau is an excellent tool for the presentation of data in decision making, therefore, the tool is ideal to present graphs, maps, or tables of the result product of the application of descriptive and inferential statistics of complex character and hard to understand.

Inappropriate scenario: Using the tool for the design of thematic maps of professional quality and that is adjusted to the international standards of cadastre, geography, and cartography, I consider that it does not have the propitious tools to develop such activities.
Read Andres Meza's full review
Aquinov Mathappan profile photo
October 09, 2018

Tableau Desktop Review: "Tableau for the win!"

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We heavily use Tableau to analyze student performance, student retention, and to identify students at risk.
  • Excellent data visualization tool.
  • Easy to learn and great support from the community.
  • Great ecosystem to manage data for organizations of any size.
  • Expensive for small organization
  • Product support from Tableau is limited
  • Need more easy to use templates for users who are just starting out.
If you have some SQL knowledge, possibilities are endless for a data analyst.
Read Aquinov Mathappan's full review
Jennifer Lamas profile photo
June 01, 2018

Review: "Tableau Desktop: the best to present information"

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We are using it basically to analyze the data of the projects that the company has in different states of the country. It can be connected to any database of Facebook, Twitter and Google Spreadsheets and many more, which allows us to have the information in a In a fast and safe way, while managing to connect to any mobile device or distance. We can visualize the information through maps, charts, calendars, bar charts, among others, when presenting an information we can show it in a summary through a board, which is very visual and user-friendly. At the moment it is used in a single department of the company, but it is intended to be extended to all departments.
  • Unions between databases: combines data from different sources, such as Excel and Oracle, and creates a data source integrated in Tableau. You can also create a Tableau extraction from this data source and publish it.
  • Tableau Mobile for Android, came to Android phones.
  • Share dashboards on any type of screen, with Tableau you can design, customize and publish a single dashboard with views optimized for tablets and phones, managing to see the information wherever you are.
  • The company can consult data sources and with a single glance, it supervises the statistics of use of the data sources and it is labeled as the favorites that are used the most.
  • Excellent experience to analyze databases that help simplify and summarize jobs in the office.
  • Allows you to create enriched visualizations and control tables using an intuitive drag-and-drop interface that allows you to see each change as you make it
  • When the changes are made, in many cases the error that can be made.
  • The data and visualizations of the users are not completely private.
  • Without internet you can not perform any type of update.
It is appropriate for the office when you can make the heads, summary presentation and you have a very broad database, with Tableau you can make a summary immediately, what is not that you can connect to the Internet can not perform any update.
Read Jennifer Lamas's full review
No photo available
August 03, 2018

Tableau Desktop Review: "One of the best data visualization tools for established companies."

Score 6 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use Tableau as an all-in-one dashboard for our business analytics. Everything from our website metrics, to our sales funnel conversions, to email data, etc. We use Tableau to put that data into reports and charts that give us real insights. These insights help us understand how we're doing as a business.
  • Pulling data from multiple sources
  • Create beautiful charts and graphs
  • Saves time by creating reports we would normally have to do in Excel manually
  • It lacks support for certain data hierarchies
  • Too expensive for startups and SMBs
  • The constant updates are a bit annoying
Tableau Desktop is great if you work for a large company with a large analytics budget. In fact most large companies need software like this, it's necessary to visualize your data, and large companies have a lot of it.

But if you're a startup or SMB, you probably don't need all of those functions. If price is an issue, then there are some other solutions that you can make use of until you have more of an analytics budget.
Read this authenticated review
No photo available
July 16, 2018

Tableau Desktop Review: "Tableau-the best"

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Tableau Desktop is used for a team of 10 people for a project in the IT department. It is used to learn how to create dashboards for clients.
  • Data visualization
  • Quickly create interactive visualizations
  • Tableau can handle large amounts of data
  • Can use of other scripting language in Tableau
  • No Custom Visual Imports
  • Static and single value parameters
  • Screen Resolution on Tableau Dashboards
  • Custom formatting in Tableau
Histogram plot helps a lot with visualization.
Read this authenticated review
Maria Gabriela Hernandez profile photo
May 18, 2018

"Tableau Desktop Review"

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Tableau allows you to work with multiple data sources at high speed, also offering an easy and intuitive designer of dashboards. In addition, it allows to analyze and connect to the data in real time or store them to access. It is a tool that allows you to analyze information easily, interact, filter and deepen the data used, it is an ideal solution for companies and organizations since the tool is designed with tables or graphs and easily published to the different responsible parties, facilitating access to the information they need at the right time
  • With Tableau, you can easily analyze information, interact, filter, drill down and graph data
  • Tableau allows you to work with multiple data sources, allowing you to convert them into visualized information in easy-to-analyze graphs
  • You can use unlimited amounts of data
  • It facilitates access to the information you need at the right time.
  • The information emptied by the users are not totally private
  • Improve the modality of granting permissions to access files
  • The files used for graphics must be updated constantly, it is suggested that this act be automatic
With Tableau, you can create an infinite number of tables, of greater or lesser complexity, and be able to discover and analyze information with very visual graphics. You can use unlimited amounts of data, it is an ideal solution for companies and organizations. The additional information for the users is not totally private, it can be viewed by other users, although there is the modality of granting a permission to access. The files used for graphics must always be updated and must have access to the Internet to access the tool
Read Maria Gabriela Hernandez's full review
Chandra Bhanu Pratap Singh profile photo
February 25, 2018

Tableau Desktop Review: "Tableau- The Data Visualizer"

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We are using Tableau Desktop for creating dashboards for MIS reporting. These dashboards are being used by stakeholders and managers for their decisions process. They can see the changes over time and graphs, top performing agents and several similar details which are shown geographically or by state. We usually get requirements to update the dashboards as per their need so that it is easily understandable and conveys more information.
  • Graphs and charts are built very easily.
  • Tableau is very good at showing data visually
  • Easily help make a decision by looking at the pattern
  • The ETL part is missing in Tableau.
  • For huge and ambiguous data-sets, Tableau Desktop is not good.
  • Before analysis data preparation is mandatory.
Tableau is well suited for scenarios where we need to show data visually instead of tabular data. Because Tableau Desktop helps in summarizing the data, and summary data can be well presented in visual form only. If we have tabular data we need to first perform a few calculations and based on that we can create fields which will be used for creating graphs and charts.
Read Chandra Bhanu Pratap Singh's full review
Arlex Guzman profile photo
February 22, 2018

User Review: "Tableau Desktop a tool for BD and BI"

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
In my work we use Tableau Desktop to do graphical analysis of data associated with the operations of the services we offer, the unit that is responsible for using it is the statistics management, our business is air transport, in specific air traffic services which are required by airlines and airports, the studied data is processed with Tableau Desktop to make graphics that allow us to identify patterns and facilitate content for presentations, reports and operational reports. Tableau Desktop is a fabulous tool for the diversity of types and graphic formats, for the versatility to establish relationships with data from different databases, the interface is intuitive, queries are very easy to do, regardless of the origin of the data, has tools to do data mining and consequently business intelligence, in our case it is very useful to relate things such as the volume of route operations depending on the cost of fuel, or determine the profitability of a route or create different scenarios and study the sensitivity of the operation in its different dimensions.
  • the quality of its graphic tools.
  • the intuitive and easy in the elaboration of database queries.
  • I think Tableau should improve interoperability with document editors such as ms word.
  • Support in multiple languages is necessary.
Tableau Desktop is a graphical analysis tool for Big data and business intelligence, these are areas where you can take advantage of a sognificativa, however I think there are others where it would not be so, for example it would be an opportunity for its developers to get into the field of technical analysis of financial markets, that is, developing tools that allow Tableau Desktop to be used for such applications.
Read Arlex Guzman's full review
No photo available
May 01, 2018

Tableau Desktop Review: "Graphics Graphics Graphics!"

Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
In my previous company we managed to streamline a number of financial tasks for our team. It was only used by a few employees but I expect it to be rolled out soon for the entire company. It just makes tracking product sales so much smoother!
  • Allows you to perform queries without the need to write any code.
  • Very useful for weather tracking data.
  • Allows you to utilize maps & data at the same time - very effective graphics.
  • Easy to share data with others both within and beyond your company limits.
  • Slightly better training facilities would help.
It is well suited for anyone who is looking to get vast amounts of data down into a presentation format.
Read this authenticated review
No photo available
January 12, 2018

User Review: "Tableau Desktop"

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Tableau is being implemented in several departments along with other Data Analysis and Visualization Tools.
  • Interactive Reporting
  • Easily prepare and present information in both table and graphical formats
  • Easily modify report and graph parameters
  • Limit table details to those related to specific chart/graph/table points/views
  • Better printing capabilities and more printable formats
  • More control for super users
Well suited for presentations of graphics/charts/etc. Less suitable for 'burst' email charts, printable charts/tables
Read this authenticated review
Ben Lowe profile photo
August 09, 2017

Tableau Desktop Review: "Not bad"

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use Tableau as a way to visualize data, as well as, just display the raw tables. We have it connected to various data sources like Oracle, HANA, Kyvos, MemSQL. The tool is used across our department and used at many places across the organization. It is a great way to visualize the data on the desktop and with the recent upgrade to 10.3 on our server environment, we have hopes of using the mobile application.
  • Tableau is a good at visualization of data.
  • Fairly straight forward to use.
  • Good at pulling data from a single location.
  • Could be better at handling multiple data sets.
  • Launching Tableau on desktop can take a long time especially if the report has many filters.
  • It should strengthen its data discovery capabilities.
Tableau is good when the data comes from a single source like Teradata or from a single data warehouse. For visualizing data in a semi-static form it is very good for general reporting. Where I find other tools have an edge is in the data discovery area, where Tableau is weaker. The interface is simple enough for a business user to use and with programming it can be adapted for many other graphics and dashboarding.
Read Ben Lowe's full review
Wallace Hu profile photo
August 09, 2017

Tableau Desktop Review: "What a Tool"

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Tableau is used across all departments within the organization. It addresses the daily reporting needs, and the management dashboard for the performance monitoring. Tableau gives more visualized data for the end users to consume information directly and easily. It also enables the trend analysis, and helps the business to do the forecasting.
  • Dashboarding.
  • Visualization of data.
  • Trend analysis.
  • Rich graphic presentation.
  • Should easily include D3.
  • Server performance needs to be enhanced to handle a large volume of data.
  • It's high version needs to be backward compatible.
For a straight forward dashboard, like a comparison of month to month, year over year, with filters are not more than 5; and summarized and aggregated reports, tableau is really standout. There are scenarios where Tableau is less appropriate, such very detailed reports which will load billions of records at a time; or there are more than 10 filters to condition the reports or dashboard.
Read Wallace Hu's full review
sanjeev pandey profile photo
July 10, 2017

Tableau Desktop Review: "Best BI tool to do things really quickly and get insights from data very easily."

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We have used tableau desktop to find the key reasons for customer churn in one of the largest telecom companies in the word. We have integrated it with R programming to forecast potential customers that can be churned in next few months. This way the client customer support team can focus more on those customers [in order] to retain them.
  • Very easy to come up with the dashboard, you can develop the dashboards in a few minutes.
  • Good support to database connections, the best thing is that it supports R.
  • It's fast when you use one sheet as a filter for other sheets in the dashboard.
  • Median calculation using live data(version 8.0, now it has) - although we found a workaround to get this functionality, it would be good if we had an option to use it directly.
  • Editing font and color of text is really complex. The user needs to do it all manually so there should be an option so that you can apply styles in a complete sheet and dashboard at once.
  • When you try to work quickly and switch from one sheet to other, it crashes.
This is the best tool if you want to get some dashboards really quickly. You will get all dimensions and measures separately along with the hierarchical information like date and time or the product and its subcategories. The visualization provided by it is really great. One area where I want improvement is its support for HTML, CSS and JavaScript so that it has more flexibility towards the other charting styles and client side validation for input parameters.
Read sanjeev pandey's full review
Anuj Yadav profile photo
October 10, 2017

Tableau Desktop Review: "Tableau for Self-Service"

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We just started exploring the power of self-service Business Intelligence. As part of that Procurement department, being the pioneer has started using Tableau.
  • Ad-hoc visualization and aggregation
  • Adding Map servers
  • Interactive dashboards using Activities and parameters
It is most suitable for exploratory analysis and data discovery. Also, for presentations.
Read Anuj Yadav's full review
Ryan Olsen 📱 profile photo
September 08, 2017

Tableau Desktop Review: "So much data coming in at the same time"

Score 6 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
It is used as a dashboard for one of our vendors. It allows advanced visualization of performance
  • Pivoting information
  • Displaying different information
  • User interface
  • More design options
You can use it for combining data sources but it is not so good for raw information feeds
Read Ryan Olsen 📱's full review
Diana Doan profile photo
July 19, 2017

Tableau Desktop Review: "Tableau for marketing leadership"

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Tableau dashboards are being created to track marketing efforts and high-level summary views of impact for the organization for both senior level leadership discussions and for front line individual contributor to identify specific areas to focus improvement efforts.
  • Flexibility of views
  • Easy to learn - intuitive
  • Variations in visualizations
  • Connection to big data/Hadoop
  • One too many data points between two table joins
Appropriate for visualizations for dashboard summary views but not great for multiple row display. Minimal statistical capabilities compared to [tools] like Domo.
Read Diana Doan's full review
No photo available
November 14, 2017

Tableau Desktop: "Tableau Review"

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
I use Tableau to better help me merchandise our website. I can see which products are selling the best from each category and it helps me make decisions on what product to feature at the top of each category page. I also like having the option to see which SKUs (color or design) are selling better than others and I'm able to use this knowledge when deciding which option I show
as the main focus on the product page.
  • Filter by category & refinement to see which items are the best sellers in the particular field.
  • Able to break down each item number by SKU and see which one is performing better than others.
  • Able to see excess inventory and conversions.
  • There is no search option, if you are trying to find a certain item you will have to use the filters to find it.
  • Some of the category refinements do not match our website. For example, there's a "solutions hardline" category filter and we do not have this on our actual website.
  • You cannot check previous weeks/months of data. This would be helpful to have when comparing product performance.
I use this platform whenever I'm choosing items to feature in our visual navigation. The visual navigation appears in each of our major categories, and we choose 1 item to represent the subcategories inside. Tableau helps me pick these items because I can see which item is the best seller for each subcategory and also which SKU is performing the best.
Read this authenticated review
No photo available
October 24, 2017

Tableau Desktop Review: "Tableau - Only BI Tool that you need"

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Tableau is used for all reporting purpose and tracking important business metrics across a few departments within the company. A few teams use, it some don't. Tableau does a great job of data visualization. Now all reports are easily shared using tableau server across teams and to executives, and they get automatically refreshed using live data connections and admins can restrict certain dashboards to be viewed by certain people. Building Tableau reports is fast and easy to learn. With just drag-drop feature even non-technical people can now build awesome dashboards.
  • Live data connections and making data blending is just a few clicks
  • Intuitive and fresh design compared to other BI tools
  • Filtering, aggregating data is very dynamic and fast
  • Maps for visualizing data by geographically
  • Number of data source options
  • Drag and drop functionality
  • Still lacks in statistical analysis features
If you are considering BI tool for data visualization then Tableau is software you should buy. You can even do forecasting using tableau. It's a great tool for building organizational level dashboards in any industry provided you have clean and well-designed data. Creating summary report any dimension or by multiple dimensions like region, product line, store, gender etc is very easy with Tableau.
Read this authenticated review
No photo available
June 21, 2017

Review: "Tableau Desktop: Making an Impact in the World of Drug Safety"

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Tableau is being used within the Commercial side of business and within the R&D side within the Drug Safety department of which I am a part of and which will be the focus of my review. It is being used primarily in support of operational analytics and workflow management within the Drug Safety organization, as well as for risk management within the Pharmacovigilance and Risk Management organization. Many if not all drug safety databases capture data well, and output data decently...but only for pre-defined outputs (native to the drug safety database out-of-the-box functionality), however getting data out of the database in flexible, easy to understand graphs and tabulations is much more difficult. That is where Tableau shines...first of all it allows the user to easily access data stored in an Oracle-based database and many other data formats, and it makes this easy connection without needing any interim transformation, catalog or universe to be created. This is a huge time savings, allowing the user to focus on getting information out of the data instead of just getting to the data. So the big business problem it solves is that it allows easy access to data...and allows the user to quickly turn the data into actionable information. To give our users easy access we create dashboards with visualization and filtering capabilities, and manage the users in Tableau Server in user groups with pre-defined access rights, so it is very easy to add new users and enable them to derive information from data.
  • Allows the user to easily access data stored in an Oracle-based database and many other data formats, and it makes this easy connection without needing any interim transformation, catalog or universe to be created. This is a definite strength as other analytical applications require data to be stored in or accessed via an interim format.
  • The drag and drop nature of the user interface and the fact that it begins to understand your data is a great feature allowing very rapid creation of analytical visualizations and tabulations.
  • The ability to allow the desktop user to quickly and easily push out a series of visualization dashboards to Tableau Server is a great part of its functionality, and allows the visualizations to be more readily used across and organization.
  • The biggest area needing improvement is in the area of placement of objects in a dashboard during its design. The placement is sometimes quirky and does not necessarily translate to an optimal placement on the dashboard which has been pushed to Tableau server.
  • It would be nice to have the capability to point at a pre-defined style template which would help in creating consistency in terms of default placement of objects and overall look & feel.
  • Within the pharmaceutical industry, the ability to seamlessly read in a SAS dataset would be very useful, as currently this involves at least one interim step.
It is particularly well suited for accessing reasonable denormalized Oracle database data, however it does equally well when accessing data in spreadsheets or other standard formats. The key question to ask would be how normalized is the data which the user wants to access, and if highly normalized whether some tables will need to be denormalized via new tables or views. It is also well suited organizations where there are a few super-users who can gather analytical and visualization requirements and then make these available to users of the information in the form of published dashboards. This works very well and keeps the total cost of ownership at a very reasonable level.
Read this authenticated review
No photo available
July 27, 2017

Tableau Desktop Review: "Microsoft Power BI is cheap but Tableau has better functionalities"

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Tableau Desktop is used as a tool to display KPI dashboards. It addresses the business problem of getting timely visibility on business performance in supply chain. Tableau is used by the sales department and some sections of the marketing department but not across the whole organisation.
  • Data mapping: create quick data exploration by joining text file data with xls file
  • Gantt Chart: better Gantt Chart capability than Microsoft Power BI
  • Mapping: excellent mapping capability down to suburbs and post codes in Australia
  • Box plot: quick box plot creating
  • Colour scheme: currently only have limited control over default colour scheme
  • Scheduling dashboard creation and distribution via email currently not available.
  • Table format visualisation: difficult to control as Tableau tends to concatenate fields once it has more than many characteristics fields shown as one.

Well suited for quick data analysis and dashboarding.

Less appropriate for report distribution via email.

Read this authenticated review
Charles Saulnier profile photo
March 20, 2017

User Review: "Warming up to Tableau Desktop"

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We currently use Tableau Desktop to provide dashboards to managing departments in an investment company. We use two main types of data sources: an SSAS cube and views on an SQL Server database. Once dashboards are approved, we publish them on Tableau server for the company's internal clients.

At this time, Tableau is mostly used to automate reports analysts and managers used to fill periodically with Excel.
  • Connection to data sources, and variety of connectors available
  • Easy-to-use data blending functionality, once you experiment it a few times
  • Makes visual analysis accessible to a wide variety of users
  • Publication of dashboards on Tableau Server is a breeze
  • Tableau is ill-suited to work with SSAS cubes, at least when you are used to analysis within Microsoft tools
  • Data preparation is not up-to-par with other leading vendor tools (although can be improved through Alteryx if you have access to it)
  • The ease-of-use is true for basic analysis, but rapidly gives way to a steep learning curve with more complex queries or when the business context is more mathematics oriented
With a well curated self-service environment, Talbeau Desktop can empower business users and add value soon after implementation. It is also well suited for intermediate and advanced users when end-users welcome visualization of data over tables. Strangely enough, it is often harder to build tables than visualizations in Tableau.

I currently use version 9.3 of Tableau at work, we will soon migrate to version 10.2, therefore my comments do not reflect the latest version's characteristics.
Read Charles Saulnier's full review
MeghanMarie Fowler-Finn profile photo
February 21, 2017

Tableau Desktop Review: "Tableau ease"

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Tableau Desktop is being used by one small department in our organization. We use it to track daily and monthly metrics for the organization and to visualize data coming from multiple different data sources. Our agency has been involved with a major data automation projection and depends on Tableau to test and use that data.
  • Easy to learn
  • Simple vizualizations
  • Interaction with Tableau Server so non-developers can explore with filters
  • Easy connections to many different types of data sources
  • Automatically updated parameters - when my database encounters a new date field, the parameter should automatically update to include that date
  • Easier mapping capabilities so I can more easily connect geo-located items with a polygon
Tableau Desktop is suited for data visualizations that are complex but need to be drilled down into and seen at multiple levels detail. It is also suitable where multiple people might have different questions about the same data set using filters. Tableau Desktop is less appropriate for real time monitoring of multiple streams of data changing rapidly because it is too slow.
Read MeghanMarie Fowler-Finn's full review

Feature Scorecard Summary

Pixel Perfect reports (71)
8.3
Customizable dashboards (86)
8.8
Report Formatting Templates (76)
8.1
Drill-down analysis (83)
8.5
Formatting capabilities (85)
8.2
Integration with R or other statistical packages (59)
8.1
Report sharing and collaboration (81)
8.7
Publish to Web (73)
8.5
Publish to PDF (78)
8.2
Report Versioning (50)
7.3
Report Delivery Scheduling (57)
7.5
Delivery to Remote Servers (13)
7.3
Pre-built visualization formats (heatmaps, scatter plots etc.) (77)
8.5
Location Analytics / Geographic Visualization (76)
8.8
Predictive Analytics (58)
7.1
Multi-User Support (named login) (68)
8.3
Role-Based Security Model (53)
7.4
Multiple Access Permission Levels (Create, Read, Delete) (61)
7.6
Single Sign-On (SSO) (14)
7.3
Responsive Design for Web Access (59)
8.2
Dedicated iOS Application (40)
7.3
Dedicated Android Application (35)
7.1
Dashboard / Report / Visualization Interactivity on Mobile (54)
8.3
REST API (11)
8.0
Javascript API (11)
7.1
iFrames (10)
6.7
Java API (8)
6.9
Themeable User Interface (UI) (11)
6.9
Customizable Platform (Open Source) (8)
7.0

About Tableau Desktop

Tableau Desktop is the rapid-fire authoring environment used to create and publish complex visualizations, reports and dashboards in multiple output formats. Using Tableau Desktop, a report author can connect to multiple data sources, explore relationships, create dashboards, modify metadata, and finally publish a completed workbook to Tableau Server if desired.

The Desktop product comprises two editions:

  • Personal Edition: This edition allows work to be saved locally and supports connections to the following databases: CSV/flat files, Excel, and Access.
  • Professional Edition: This edition supports a wider range of databases including most traditional relational databases, OLAP databases, Hadoop, and also Salesforce and Google Analytics.

Tableau Desktop Competitors

Pricing

Has featureFree Trial Available?Yes
Has featureFree or Freemium Version Available?Yes
Does not have featurePremium Consulting/Integration Services Available?No
Entry-level set up fee?No
EditionPricing DetailsTerms
Personal$999per user
Professional$1,999per user

Free trials are available for both editions.

Tableau Desktop Technical Details

Deployment Types:On-premise
Operating Systems: Windows, Mac
Mobile Application:No