TrustRadius
Tableau Desktop is a data visualization product from Tableau. It connects to a variety of data sources for combining disparate data sources without coding. It provides tools for discovering patterns and insights, data calculations, forecasts, and statistical summaries and visual storytelling.https://media.trustradius.com/product-logos/sv/Ao/PCZWTEQ42WEW.PNGVisualization made simple, and complex!Currently my organization is using Tableau Desktop to perform most if not all of our in-house analytics, it not only speeds up the process of our in house analytics but it also gives us plenty of options to customize and filter our reports. We also use Tableau as a consulting tool with our clients to help answer questions they have about their own business key performance indicators.,Easy to use Plenty of Customization options Can be quick to pick up for average users Supports some complex analytics Integrates well with other software,expensive does require some workarounds to solve sometimes simple analytics training for product is also very expensive,10,Microsoft Power BI,10,8,Alteryx Analytics, Tableau Server, Tableau PrepTableau is the market leader when it comes to Interactive Data Analysis and VisualizationTableau has increased our business and productivity exponentially. Tableau helps to make data-driven decisions with confidence, solve harder problems more easily, and uncover new insights more frequently. It is the backbone of our analytics department and it is used by us throughout the analytical life-cycle from data preparation to deep analysis, to the shared insights that drive the business forward. Because of it, we are able to call out patterns and anomalies and it has helped us enormously in fraud detection as we will be recognizing the trends in the data which we use to feed the tool.,Tableau offers incredible data visualization tools and the ability to parse massive data-sets in a very limited time. Its plethora of different chart formats and tools allow you to show data almost any way, making it easy to adapt visualizations to differing needs and tastes. Tableau is great for creating a combined dashboard with multiple databases as the source. This is one of the main features that the Tableau can connect to almost any data source and import the data easily and quickly. The support for natural language query is invaluable. It helps people of all skill levels quickly discover actionable insights because they don't have to learn any particular language to get on-board with it. The charts and graphics that tableau makes are easy for even nonanalytical people to understand, ideal for end-users of information as well.,When we are importing data from multiple sources and the data is huge, it sometimes tends to lag and have also crashed sometimes. Tableau Desktop lacks the basic functionality of cleaning and prepping the data to be imported in Tableau Desktop. This is one of the major features which it lacks, you need additional support from Tableau to get these things added. It has the annoying habit that saved database connections must be re-authenticated every time you open the program, which is a complete waste of time and effort to do it, again and again, each time.,9,Qlik Sense and Salesforce Analytics Cloud,9,10,Qlik Sense, Amazon Aurora, Amazon Cloud DriveNo tool is better than this for data visualization. A must have.In our company, we use this department-wide. The teams that work on data visualization use this product. The work on this tool is client specific, some teams use this to understand the data, some teams use it for making the good charts for presenting the data. The teams that are mainly using this tool are more into analytics.,It creates good dashboards. Selecting the fields and metrics is quite easy. We can create the formulas for presenting any variable. We can use this tool with R studio and SQL, which I think is the major power of this tool. We can process huge data in a very limited time. Output delivery of charts is also very efficient. For example, we can take the PDF of the charts, which is good, from other tools.,More statistical functions need to be introduced in it. We can not clean the data through this tool. While taking the data from multiple sources, it hangs sometimes which sometimes crashes the whole system.,7,QlikView, Qlik Sense and Microsoft Power BI,9,8,Microsoft BI, JMP Statistical Discovery Software from SASTableau ReviewIt was used by our department. And we mainly use it to build web-based reports, which can be used interactively by the senior management team.,User-friendly interface. Good IT support and lots of resources. Can publish reports to a server.,Quite expensive. Limited functions in calculations. Not support embedded SQL. Not compatible well with Microsoft’s products.,9,,9,9,Qlik SenseBasic desktop data science and analytics are now awalaibleWe use Tableau as a tool to visualize analytics in many industries and search for insights. Data sources usually include SQL and CSV. We also use the ability to build white label solutions based on Tableau.,After basic training users can operate with Tableau by themselves. Tableau is good for evaluating base data analytics and data science tasks.,In comparison to Ms PowerBL: fewer visuals in Tableau. Fewer free versions and support documentation/examples in Tableau rather than in PowerBI.,8,,8,9,Microsoft Power BIVisualization is the FutureTableau Desktop is being used to actively track sales achievement to the number of leads created per week to optimization reporting and everything in between! While the sales team here at Sojern are the main users, it can serve a purpose and be a resource for almost every department within the company.,User-friendly, and made for visual learners. The best tool for presentation purposes and actionable examples. Good for using our data in a way that can be understood by everyone in the business.,It can be slow, as in loading slow and taking a while to switch from dashboard to dashboard.,9,Salesforce.com,9,10,Salesforce Analytics CloudEasy to use and share reportsUsed for reporting purposes for many business units to see how products are performing. Also used to make analytical decisions by the product team to see how to position products in the future. Production support issues can also be triggered off these reports if something is not working the way it should.,Very easy UI for all level of users. Easy to save/favorite different dashboards. Granting access to different levels of users is easy.,You still need to have a fair amount of technical skills to set up some dashboards. Drag and drop functionality could work a little easier. Keep working on the UI.,10,,10,10,Jira Service Desk, JIRA Software, Atlassian ConfluenceTableau Desktop still is my go-to product in a crowded BI tool marketTableau Desktop is one of the primary business Intelligence tools we use at my organization. We have an enterprise license of Tableau server (8 core) that runs in the AWS Cloud. We have over 100 licenses of Tableau desktop and use it to help visualize and make data easier to consume. While it is used for some ad-hoc analysis, I would say it is used to deliver dashboards to employees, faculty, administrators who don't have a lot of reporting or SQL experience. Meanwhile, we also use tableau public to showcase our official data. These dashboards are built with Tableau Desktop as well.,Visualization of data. Easily connects to local or a variety of data sources or APIs. Short learning curve to come up to speed.,The pricing model has been tricky at times. Tableau corporation doesn't do a great job with the inventory of those who own licenses. Performance has been an issue at times.,10,Microsoft Power BI, Amazon QuickSight, Toad Data Point and Alteryx Analytics,8,7,Alteryx Connect, Microsoft BI, Toad Data PointTableau is a great data tool!Tableau Desktop is being used by our team for social media and raw data visualization. It addresses the problem of being able to visualize raw data from social channels to which we don't have the API access to integrate with our existing social media tools. It addresses the problems of being able to house and visualize data from all platforms in one place.,Dynamic visualization. Easy data entry. Easy data correction/cleaning/modification.,Steep learning curve. Not very user friendly to navigate.,8,8,9Great for Data-Viz-Wizzes, Painful for OthersTableau Desktop is used at our organization by most of our analysts, who then publish the reports to Tableau Server for distribution to everyone else in the organization to consume the information. This enables our analysts, myself included, to use Tableau Desktop to create helpful insights which can then be used by anyone at any technical level.,Allows for complex dashboards to be made and then presented to less-technical audiences Stories help highlight important information in the information, allowing a presentation to stand on its own without having to be explained in person Recommends different visualizations based on the type of data inputted,Very steep learning curve for those who haven't used it previously. Because it's a powerful tool, getting it to do simple things can be extremely difficult. A jack-of-all-trades solution, sometimes it's hard to find or create industry-specific visualizations, such as NPS gauges.,1,Domo and Microsoft Power BI,6,10,Slack, Qualtrics, Salesforce.comTableau is a good tool for those willing to invest the timeWhile working for a large defense contractor, Tableau was adopted and implemented on a large scale and enterprise-wide. We used to Tableau to roll up and display data in charts that were used for decision making. We started using Tableau desktop to build models on top of datasets where inputs could be added to see what happens when certain variables are changed.,Can process large amounts of data. Has lots of data connections to feed data. Easy to set up basic reports and dashboards. The Online and Server products make Tableau easy to use and share work with large groups (or small groups). Now has the backing of Saleforce and that admired company culture.,The cost for Desktop and Server is extremely cost prohibitive. Tableau is quick to blame the users when performance and processing speeds are poor, but in reality, Tableau needs to work on making the application lighter and more powerful. There is a tool to evaluate performance on each workbook. Needs more data connectors. It takes advanced training/knowledge to create advanced reports and dashboards. If you use it every day you can become advanced in a few months. Training documentation and access to trading materials are lacking. Maybe they want youtube to be the main source of training?,8,Microsoft Power BI and Power BI For Office 365,8,7,Microsoft Power BI, Microsoft Dynamics 365 (formerly Microsoft Dynamics CRM), Adobe Premiere ProA Great BI Tool for those that love customizationTableau Desktop was being utilized internally to automatically process monthly reports and create PDF exports for client delivery.,Data Visualization Data Importing Data Blending,Providing login-free dashboards for client/stakeholder visibility Definitions for tooltips Custom color schemes,10,Google Data Studio and Datorama,9,7Best solution for BI (features + price)Today it is used to create/show dashboards for a specific product that we sell to customers. It is a fundamental tool to this application because it shows all data related to Industrial Internet solutions, and has many features that are awesome. It is used worldwide and it improves our solutions.,It is easy to use. It has many data connections (data sources). It is multilanguage. Tableau is easy to learn.,It is difficult to configure page layouts. Complex data sources correlations are difficult to create. The price could be better when compared to competitors.,9,Birst, Microsoft Power BI and QlikView,10,9,Birst, Stash, Microsoft SQL ServerGreat data tool if you know how to use itWe use Tableau as a way of combining a large number of data sources to create one cohesive story, which guides our business decisions.,Pulling data from multiple sources. Can handle large data sources, unlike Excel. Pivoting data in more dimensions than Excel.,Difficult to learn and use. Requires a lot of skill to create more developed visualizations and automated reporting. An extremely expensive and over the top solution for small businesses.,5,7,6Great visual tool for sharing data with othersTableau is used across the organization to solve business problems. In our business unit, we use it to view data quality and staffing requirements for projects. In addition, we use it to perform data exploration on data to see what needs to be addressed. Other groups use it for all kinds of reporting needs.,Multiple data connections and blending Ability to see recommendations for graphs Ability to use API to create custom applications,Extension gallery needs more options I think having the ability to use libraries like D3 into graphs Hyper being able to handle multiple joins better,9,Information Builders WebFOCUS,8,8,Microsoft SQL Server, Alteryx AnalyticsVery robust BI tool, but a steep learning curve. Be sure to dedicate enough time to learn it well!Tableau Desktop is being used as the primary business insights tool in our organization, so Tableau Desktop is used by our power users to build visualizations.,It's a highly flexible for building dashboards. Once you know how to use the tool, you can design a dashboard to look exactly how you want. Has a broad range of data connection options. An easy UI for joining datasets.,The learning curve is really steep. Even with online self-help resources and training modules, it takes a long time to learn fairly basic operations compared to other tools I've used. Basic operations in Tableau Desktop should really be simplified to acclimate new users. I experience lots of unexplained connection errors and the error messages are really ambiguous. I've learned to keep retrying multiple times and that often resolves the error, but sometimes if a workbook has been inactive for a while, the only way to resolve the connection error is to restart Tableau Desktop. That is really buggy behavior, and I have wasted a lot of time (as have many colleagues of mine) trying to decipher these errors. This really needs to be fixed. The application runs really slowly. I have a powerful PC, but Tableau Desktop really saps its resources. The previous BI tool we used was cloud-based, so this was a big adjustment moving to this resource-intensive thick client. I think it should be optimized to run faster. I spend too much time waiting.,7,Domo,10,9,DomoSelf-taught user reviewTableau Desktop was initially going to be used across the whole organization for internal and external purposes. It was going to help automate much of the reporting so more time could be spent on analyzing the data.,Data visualization Data integration Data clean Up,Sharing reports Duplicating dashboards Overall learning curve,10,Datorama and Google Data Studio,10,8,Datorama, Google Data Studio, TrackMavenRobust analytics tool for analysts and business usersIt is mainly used by the Analytics department in order to solve business problems but there are some savvy business users. It helps to find possible reasons for business performance spikes or drops by slicing and dicing the data. Also, it is generating automated daily reports to key business stakeholders and senior executives.,Diverse options for data visualization Intuitive user interface Robust built-in analytics,Needs more sophisticated data governance options. Needs more smooth connection with other tools (such as Adobe Analytics).,8,Domo,7,8,Adobe Analytics, Alteryx AnalyticsSolid product but not cheapTableau is being used as a near real-time dashboard. We use it in specific business use cases as well as across the enterprise to provide visual access to critical data. It primarily serves as a dashboard for me by pulling data from different data sources - database, Excel, SharePoint- and putting it together in a view that is easily understood and communicated. I have used it to both to create reports and provide a nearly real-time view of data.,Real-time view. Connects to database Provides click-through analysis. Visually appealing layout.,It is not intuitive to use. Requires time and effort to create a dashboard. Should offer out of the box functionality.,8,QlikView and Microsoft Power BI,10,8,ServiceNow, Salesforce Service Cloud, BMC Remedy, Jira Service Desk, Atlassian ConfluenceTableau Desktop For Large Data Driven CompanyTableau is being used by our business analysts as well as members in our IT department. We are using it to generate reports and do cross functional analysis.,Visualization of Data SQL Capabilities Report Generation,Connection to External Data -Snowflake, MS Access, etc Slow Connection when running Reports,9,Lucidchart,6,8,Azure DevOps (formerly VSTS), Attunity Managed File TransferTableau: A robust solution for your reporting needs!Tableau is being used by an entire department. It addresses our need for real-time data and conversion tracking. It allows for all members of our team to tailor reports based on their individual needs.,Allowing users to export data and manipulate the data based on their needs. This means that although there are prepopulated reports, they aren't rigid and inflexible and they allow users to see the data in other prisms. We are able to track users at various stages of the product lifecycle, which means we can see drop-offs, conversions, and other critical touch points.,Allowing for lay users to create individual reports. Currently, we need to request a Tableau data person to mold new reports for us. A drag and drop interphase would be amazing for allowing users to mix touch points as they need. The ability to copy and paste data into Excel as opposed to exporting. We don't always need an entire report.,8,Qlik Sense Cloud,8,10,Qlik Sense, Aurea Campaign Manager (formerly Lyris HQ), Vindicia CashBoxwork tool for presentation of data in chart and professional quality table.Tableau is being used by a department of the company, specifically for the coordination of data analysis for decision making. The systematization of the information in a single database was attended; analysis of the information was represented in easy-to-understand tables and graphs. Thus solving the problem of using other programs that do not offer as many professional quality options as a table. In the same way, it was allowed to solve the problem of the existence of several databases.,It has easy-to-use bar-type graph options that allow you to group a lot of content. It offers the possibility of working with a database in order to position your exact location on your territory and display your information on a map. It has options to superimpose information between two related variables. It has the potential to work with ideal trend data for decision making.,Although it allows you to link variables, I consider that the presentation of the information is not ideal. I think the vendor can work on improving that tool. It is difficult to use the tool for georeferencing data, because it asks you to check many options to apply the task. I think the vendor can work on simplifying the process. They should review the process of linking data sheets with the tools from Tableau. On some occasions, I had to do the work again because I did not recognize the database. Work on simplifying the process please.,8,MATLAB,8,8,Skype, Google Analytics, Micro Focus ALMTableau for the win!We heavily use Tableau to analyze student performance, student retention, and to identify students at risk.,Excellent data visualization tool. Easy to learn and great support from the community. Great ecosystem to manage data for organizations of any size.,Expensive for small organization Product support from Tableau is limited Need more easy to use templates for users who are just starting out.,10,,10,10,Yes,Product Features Product Usability Product Reputation,Nothing. Extremely satisfied.,9,Haven't had such a situation yet, but mostly all questions are answered from community members.,Dashboard publishing Data Connectivity Creating extract to work with local data and avoid connecting live production database.,Fixed calculations are difficult to learn. Containers are challenge to format. Predictive analytics aren't are difficult to understand.,9Tableau Desktop - A Great BI ProductIt is used across the organization. All kinds of departments inside our company use Tableau. It solves hundreds of business problems. Tableau users report on the sales, revenue, quotes, product development and lots of other business processes. Data Sources like SAP BW, and Salesforce are slow when it comes to reporting on millions of rows of data. Tableau makes it easier for us to report on all this stuff.,Scalability of Tableau is amazing. We have thousands of users who interact with the Tableau reports on a daily basis without any major issues. It is exactly like the bigger organizations like us need. Ease of use is another thing that is very good about Tableau. With a very less training, a user can start creating basic reports. As there are many Tableau users around the world, we get a lot of materials, videos online very easily. Beautiful visualizations are the best part of Tableau. Once you get the hang of Tableau, you can impress your boss by creating visually appealing dashboards. Many types of charts are available in Tableau, but if not, you will always find a way to create the visualization you need. Tableau never disappoint you.,When creating a data source that needs several tables to be joined together, Tableau does its thing by loading the metadata, executing a query and loading data for preview. It does it after each and every join condition. Basically, every time you add a join condition you wait for a minute to create another one. God bless you if you are joining ten tables. There has to be way to pause this data load or at least some part of it to make this process faster. We had this issue of connection looping with Tableau. Even with a good connection, Tableau ask us to reconnect to the data source. This thing goes in an infinite loop until you hit "No" or "Cancel". And it doesn't exactly show in the log that why is it doing that. Logging needs to be improved. Tableau doesn't like Star or Snowflake schema even with a columnar database. We have these big Star schema (some of them are a little snowflaked) that we tried to load in Tableau. But they were slow. We converted those to the flat tables and Tableau works great with it.,9,Pentaho and Qlik Sense,9,9,PentahoTableau Desktop great for individual usersInternally, Tableau is mainly used by the analytics team, but we have had some cross-department adoption. Externally, our clients use the dashboards our team produces across multiple business functions. It really depends on the client and how much they are dedicated to investing in the platform at an organizational level. It's mixed between companies with only 1 or 2 stakeholders that care about dashboards, to companies that use Tableau across the organization.,Tableau allows me to quickly explore a dataset and find meaningful visualizations and segments in the data. I find that it's the tool I turn to when I have a fresh set of data and need to quickly pick apart what's important to know about that data. A lot of my business stakeholders can't understand data without being able to see a visualization. Tableau enables me to take structured data and build those visualizations much faster than something like Excel. I enjoy the flexibility in being able to create calculated metrics within the tool. This saves several steps in creating those new metrics within the raw data. The calculated metrics are robust, allowing you to write logic to get at the data that you really need.,I spend a lot of time customizing dashboards for clients to match their branding and aesthetic. The one particularly annoying thing is not being able to change the font colors on the y-axis labels. It seems so simple, but there's honestly no way to do it! I work from a laptop that is a few years old. Tableau software is not a light program and I often run into system memory issues when I'm running Tableau Desktop along with other programs. I probably just need a faster computer, but IT has budget constraints and I'm not sure when I'll get a PC upgrade. Sometimes I could spend a lot of time just trying to find a feature in the tool. Like a lot of other Tableau users, I end up googling my question and finding the answer on a community post or YouTube channel. I know it's not just me, as sometimes formatting and customization are not very straightforward.,8,TIBCO Data Virtualization and Microsoft BI,7,5,Adobe Marketing Cloud, Microsoft 365 Business, Adobe Photoshop
Windows, Mac
Tableau Desktop
1390 Ratings
Score 8.3 out of 101
<a href='https://www.trustradius.com/static/about-trustradius-scoring' target='_blank' rel='nofollow'>trScore algorithm: Learn more.</a>TRScore

Tableau Desktop Reviews

<a href='https://www.trustradius.com/static/about-trustradius-scoring#question3' target='_blank' rel='nofollow'>Customer Verified: Read more.</a>
Tableau Desktop
1390 Ratings
<a href='https://www.trustradius.com/static/about-trustradius-scoring' target='_blank' rel='nofollow'>trScore algorithm: Learn more.</a>
Score 8.3 out of 101

Do you work for this company? Manage this listing

TrustRadius Top Rated for 2019
Show Filters 
Hide Filters 
Filter 1390 vetted Tableau Desktop reviews and ratings
Clear all filters
Overall Rating
Reviewer's Company Size
Last Updated
By Topic
Industry
Department
Experience
Job Type
Role

Reviews (1-25 of 136)

Do you use this product? Write a Review
Clinton Shields profile photo
June 20, 2019

Visualization made simple, and complex!

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Currently my organization is using Tableau Desktop to perform most if not all of our in-house analytics, it not only speeds up the process of our in house analytics but it also gives us plenty of options to customize and filter our reports. We also use Tableau as a consulting tool with our clients to help answer questions they have about their own business key performance indicators.
  • Easy to use
  • Plenty of Customization options
  • Can be quick to pick up for average users
  • Supports some complex analytics
  • Integrates well with other software
  • expensive
  • does require some workarounds to solve sometimes simple analytics
  • training for product is also very expensive
Great for visualizing basic and complex analytics, can be very useful in a myriad of situations, for example it can be summarized up for grand views for executives and plenty of drill down opportunities for more analyst level staff. This allows the staff to performing the analytics to save time by not having to duplicate reports on different levels for different staff.
Read Clinton Shields's full review
Rahul Malik profile photo
August 09, 2019

Tableau is the market leader when it comes to Interactive Data Analysis and Visualization

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Tableau has increased our business and productivity exponentially. Tableau helps to make data-driven decisions with confidence, solve harder problems more easily, and uncover new insights more frequently. It is the backbone of our analytics department and it is used by us throughout the analytical life-cycle from data preparation to deep analysis, to the shared insights that drive the business forward. Because of it, we are able to call out patterns and anomalies and it has helped us enormously in fraud detection as we will be recognizing the trends in the data which we use to feed the tool.
  • Tableau offers incredible data visualization tools and the ability to parse massive data-sets in a very limited time. Its plethora of different chart formats and tools allow you to show data almost any way, making it easy to adapt visualizations to differing needs and tastes.
  • Tableau is great for creating a combined dashboard with multiple databases as the source. This is one of the main features that the Tableau can connect to almost any data source and import the data easily and quickly.
  • The support for natural language query is invaluable. It helps people of all skill levels quickly discover actionable insights because they don't have to learn any particular language to get on-board with it.
  • The charts and graphics that tableau makes are easy for even nonanalytical people to understand, ideal for end-users of information as well.
  • When we are importing data from multiple sources and the data is huge, it sometimes tends to lag and have also crashed sometimes.
  • Tableau Desktop lacks the basic functionality of cleaning and prepping the data to be imported in Tableau Desktop. This is one of the major features which it lacks, you need additional support from Tableau to get these things added.
  • It has the annoying habit that saved database connections must be re-authenticated every time you open the program, which is a complete waste of time and effort to do it, again and again, each time.
Tableau Desktop is best suited when you want to create appealing and informative data visualizations. It is used extensively by organizations to draw conclusions and insights by feeding it with data from multiple sources and the source could be any back-end system, even cloud infrastructure. The graphics in Tableau are very simple and make it easy to get information across different groups of people. The brand new dashboard and story features where various worksheets can be combined to tell a story and that makes it different from the other similar software available in the market.
Read Rahul Malik's full review
Akshaya Bhardwaj profile photo
July 17, 2019

No tool is better than this for data visualization. A must have.

Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
In our company, we use this department-wide. The teams that work on data visualization use this product. The work on this tool is client specific, some teams use this to understand the data, some teams use it for making the good charts for presenting the data. The teams that are mainly using this tool are more into analytics.
  • It creates good dashboards.
  • Selecting the fields and metrics is quite easy. We can create the formulas for presenting any variable.
  • We can use this tool with R studio and SQL, which I think is the major power of this tool.
  • We can process huge data in a very limited time.
  • Output delivery of charts is also very efficient. For example, we can take the PDF of the charts, which is good, from other tools.
  • More statistical functions need to be introduced in it.
  • We can not clean the data through this tool.
  • While taking the data from multiple sources, it hangs sometimes which sometimes crashes the whole system.
For performing the exploratory data analysis(EDA) through charts this is the best tool that is available in the market. For understanding the data i.e finding the insights so this leads. If you are working on data management, then you can not completely depend on this tool as data cleaning and data transforming is not possible through it. For drawing inferences, no one will suggest this tool.
Read Akshaya Bhardwaj's full review
Jason Xiao profile photo
June 30, 2019

Tableau Review

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
It was used by our department. And we mainly use it to build web-based reports, which can be used interactively by the senior management team.
  • User-friendly interface.
  • Good IT support and lots of resources.
  • Can publish reports to a server.
  • Quite expensive.
  • Limited functions in calculations.
  • Not support embedded SQL.
  • Not compatible well with Microsoft’s products.
Good use case: a large company which has sufficient funding in data visualization and has great needs in access control and web portal reports. Bad use case: not good for a small or medium company which has less funding in data visualization.
Read Jason Xiao's full review
Michael Sadofyev profile photo
May 28, 2019

Basic desktop data science and analytics are now awalaible

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use Tableau as a tool to visualize analytics in many industries and search for insights. Data sources usually include SQL and CSV. We also use the ability to build white label solutions based on Tableau.
  • After basic training users can operate with Tableau by themselves.
  • Tableau is good for evaluating base data analytics and data science tasks.
  • In comparison to Ms PowerBL: fewer visuals in Tableau.
  • Fewer free versions and support documentation/examples in Tableau rather than in PowerBI.
A good scenario for Tableau is the fast analysis and visualization of the amount of data that can't be analyzed with Ms Excel. The case of embedding Tableau in, for example, a web-page is not so convenient.
Read Michael Sadofyev's full review
Maddie Cheasick profile photo
May 22, 2019

Visualization is the Future

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Tableau Desktop is being used to actively track sales achievement to the number of leads created per week to optimization reporting and everything in between! While the sales team here at Sojern are the main users, it can serve a purpose and be a resource for almost every department within the company.
  • User-friendly, and made for visual learners.
  • The best tool for presentation purposes and actionable examples.
  • Good for using our data in a way that can be understood by everyone in the business.
  • It can be slow, as in loading slow and taking a while to switch from dashboard to dashboard.
Tableau Desktop is well suited for all sales teams, sales operations teams, and business development teams. It creates an environment when a salesperson has daily access to their achievement and can actively forecast their business.
Read Maddie Cheasick's full review
Tim Ryan profile photo
May 10, 2019

Easy to use and share reports

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Used for reporting purposes for many business units to see how products are performing. Also used to make analytical decisions by the product team to see how to position products in the future. Production support issues can also be triggered off these reports if something is not working the way it should.
  • Very easy UI for all level of users.
  • Easy to save/favorite different dashboards.
  • Granting access to different levels of users is easy.
  • You still need to have a fair amount of technical skills to set up some dashboards.
  • Drag and drop functionality could work a little easier.
  • Keep working on the UI.
It is becoming the industry standard so it's a good tool to learn since you can use it in so many different places. Allows team members from all different departments the ability to follow what's happening in your business. Highly recommend this to anyone looking for more visibility to analytics within the company.
Read Tim Ryan's full review
John Rome profile photo
May 01, 2019

Tableau Desktop still is my go-to product in a crowded BI tool market

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Tableau Desktop is one of the primary business Intelligence tools we use at my organization. We have an enterprise license of Tableau server (8 core) that runs in the AWS Cloud. We have over 100 licenses of Tableau desktop and use it to help visualize and make data easier to consume. While it is used for some ad-hoc analysis, I would say it is used to deliver dashboards to employees, faculty, administrators who don't have a lot of reporting or SQL experience. Meanwhile, we also use tableau public to showcase our official data. These dashboards are built with Tableau Desktop as well.
  • Visualization of data.
  • Easily connects to local or a variety of data sources or APIs.
  • Short learning curve to come up to speed.
  • The pricing model has been tricky at times.
  • Tableau corporation doesn't do a great job with the inventory of those who own licenses.
  • Performance has been an issue at times.
For pixel-perfect reports that are graphically beautiful, Tableau is one of the best on the market. It supports a lot of graphs and visualization, and you can even bring your own visuals. However, for more tabular data reporting (just data, not visualizations), it still needs a lot of improvement.
Read John Rome's full review
Aditya Gollakota profile photo
August 02, 2019

Tableau is a great data tool!

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Tableau Desktop is being used by our team for social media and raw data visualization. It addresses the problem of being able to visualize raw data from social channels to which we don't have the API access to integrate with our existing social media tools. It addresses the problems of being able to house and visualize data from all platforms in one place.
  • Dynamic visualization.
  • Easy data entry.
  • Easy data correction/cleaning/modification.
  • Steep learning curve.
  • Not very user friendly to navigate.
Tableau Desktop is well suited for any situation that may be needing help dealing with large data sets and detailed visualizations, complete with annotations and callouts.
Read Aditya Gollakota's full review
No photo available
May 15, 2019

Great for Data-Viz-Wizzes, Painful for Others

Score 1 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Tableau Desktop is used at our organization by most of our analysts, who then publish the reports to Tableau Server for distribution to everyone else in the organization to consume the information. This enables our analysts, myself included, to use Tableau Desktop to create helpful insights which can then be used by anyone at any technical level.
  • Allows for complex dashboards to be made and then presented to less-technical audiences
  • Stories help highlight important information in the information, allowing a presentation to stand on its own without having to be explained in person
  • Recommends different visualizations based on the type of data inputted
  • Very steep learning curve for those who haven't used it previously.
  • Because it's a powerful tool, getting it to do simple things can be extremely difficult.
  • A jack-of-all-trades solution, sometimes it's hard to find or create industry-specific visualizations, such as NPS gauges.
Tableau Desktop is well-suited to those who are very familiar with it. That sounds obvious, but truly it can work magic for those who know the ins and outs of it, more so than any other data-visualization tool I've seen. However, when you're not a viz-wiz, it can be extremely painful and very hard to learn how to work this beast. Getting from casual user to viz-wiz seems like an impossible task, even with the meager trainings that Tableau makes available.
Read this authenticated review
No photo available
July 15, 2019

Tableau is a good tool for those willing to invest the time

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
While working for a large defense contractor, Tableau was adopted and implemented on a large scale and enterprise-wide. We used to Tableau to roll up and display data in charts that were used for decision making. We started using Tableau desktop to build models on top of datasets where inputs could be added to see what happens when certain variables are changed.
  • Can process large amounts of data.
  • Has lots of data connections to feed data.
  • Easy to set up basic reports and dashboards.
  • The Online and Server products make Tableau easy to use and share work with large groups (or small groups).
  • Now has the backing of Saleforce and that admired company culture.
  • The cost for Desktop and Server is extremely cost prohibitive.
  • Tableau is quick to blame the users when performance and processing speeds are poor, but in reality, Tableau needs to work on making the application lighter and more powerful. There is a tool to evaluate performance on each workbook.
  • Needs more data connectors.
  • It takes advanced training/knowledge to create advanced reports and dashboards. If you use it every day you can become advanced in a few months.
  • Training documentation and access to trading materials are lacking. Maybe they want youtube to be the main source of training?
I would recommend Tableau be used in cases where there is a data connector if data is stored in a cloud. I wouldn't bother with Tableau if you use Microsoft Office 365, Azure, Dynamics as Power BI is becoming a complete equal at a lower cost.
Read this authenticated review
No photo available
June 07, 2019

A Great BI Tool for those that love customization

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Tableau Desktop was being utilized internally to automatically process monthly reports and create PDF exports for client delivery.
  • Data Visualization
  • Data Importing
  • Data Blending
  • Providing login-free dashboards for client/stakeholder visibility
  • Definitions for tooltips
  • Custom color schemes
I feel that if you're wanting to use a tool with a great, capable community and don't mind setting up a system from the ground up with little help then Tableau will be perfect.
Read this authenticated review
No photo available
June 02, 2019

Best solution for BI (features + price)

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Today it is used to create/show dashboards for a specific product that we sell to customers. It is a fundamental tool to this application because it shows all data related to Industrial Internet solutions, and has many features that are awesome. It is used worldwide and it improves our solutions.
  • It is easy to use.
  • It has many data connections (data sources).
  • It is multilanguage.
  • Tableau is easy to learn.
  • It is difficult to configure page layouts.
  • Complex data sources correlations are difficult to create.
  • The price could be better when compared to competitors.
It is great for use as a data analysis tools in many domains, like Machine Learning and Data Warehouse. It is difficult to create complex scenarios, but when created they work very well. Tableau has good performance to generate graphics. For low-difficulty scenarios, the main problem is the price when compared to competitors, but if you have both cases inside the company it is a better tool than others.
Read this authenticated review
No photo available
June 02, 2019

Great data tool if you know how to use it

Score 5 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use Tableau as a way of combining a large number of data sources to create one cohesive story, which guides our business decisions.
  • Pulling data from multiple sources.
  • Can handle large data sources, unlike Excel.
  • Pivoting data in more dimensions than Excel.
  • Difficult to learn and use.
  • Requires a lot of skill to create more developed visualizations and automated reporting.
  • An extremely expensive and over the top solution for small businesses.
If you are a large company that is focused on providing data solutions to the market, Tableau may be the best option on the market for you. If you're a small company or agency, you might be able to find a solution available with Excel and save some money.
Read this authenticated review
No photo available
May 21, 2019

Great visual tool for sharing data with others

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Tableau is used across the organization to solve business problems. In our business unit, we use it to view data quality and staffing requirements for projects. In addition, we use it to perform data exploration on data to see what needs to be addressed. Other groups use it for all kinds of reporting needs.
  • Multiple data connections and blending
  • Ability to see recommendations for graphs
  • Ability to use API to create custom applications
  • Extension gallery needs more options
  • I think having the ability to use libraries like D3 into graphs
  • Hyper being able to handle multiple joins better
I think Tableau Desktop is well suited for data exploring to put a picture to data. Seeing data in a table doesn’t allow you to see outliers in the data. I think Tableau Desktop isn’t appropriate for having the ability to prep data for use in Desktop, but it integrates well into other tools.
Read this authenticated review
No photo available
May 18, 2019

Very robust BI tool, but a steep learning curve. Be sure to dedicate enough time to learn it well!

Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Tableau Desktop is being used as the primary business insights tool in our organization, so Tableau Desktop is used by our power users to build visualizations.
  • It's a highly flexible for building dashboards. Once you know how to use the tool, you can design a dashboard to look exactly how you want.
  • Has a broad range of data connection options.
  • An easy UI for joining datasets.
  • The learning curve is really steep. Even with online self-help resources and training modules, it takes a long time to learn fairly basic operations compared to other tools I've used. Basic operations in Tableau Desktop should really be simplified to acclimate new users.
  • I experience lots of unexplained connection errors and the error messages are really ambiguous. I've learned to keep retrying multiple times and that often resolves the error, but sometimes if a workbook has been inactive for a while, the only way to resolve the connection error is to restart Tableau Desktop. That is really buggy behavior, and I have wasted a lot of time (as have many colleagues of mine) trying to decipher these errors. This really needs to be fixed.
  • The application runs really slowly. I have a powerful PC, but Tableau Desktop really saps its resources. The previous BI tool we used was cloud-based, so this was a big adjustment moving to this resource-intensive thick client. I think it should be optimized to run faster. I spend too much time waiting.
Tableau Desktop seems best suited to organizations that have dedicated data analysts with the time to spend significant time learning the product. My organization has a lot of "business users" who need to use the tool to produce dashboards but are not dedicated analysts (myself included), so the steep learning curve is frustrating and I am constantly reminded that I need to spend more time (that I don't have) learning the tool just so I can use it effectively. If your organization has lots of "jacks/Jills of all trades" that need a BI tool with easy user experience, there are better tools out there. If you have dedicated personnel with deep technical knowledge on data structure and analysis, Tableau Desktop could be a great tool for you, because it definitely has robust capabilities once you spend the time to learn them.
Read this authenticated review
No photo available
May 14, 2019

Self-taught user review

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Tableau Desktop was initially going to be used across the whole organization for internal and external purposes. It was going to help automate much of the reporting so more time could be spent on analyzing the data.
  • Data visualization
  • Data integration
  • Data clean Up
  • Sharing reports
  • Duplicating dashboards
  • Overall learning curve
If you have a dedicated team that can get up to speed with little to no distractions and it can 100% be used for client delivery then it'll be great as the entire reporting process becomes streamlined.
Read this authenticated review
No photo available
May 14, 2019

Robust analytics tool for analysts and business users

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
It is mainly used by the Analytics department in order to solve business problems but there are some savvy business users. It helps to find possible reasons for business performance spikes or drops by slicing and dicing the data. Also, it is generating automated daily reports to key business stakeholders and senior executives.
  • Diverse options for data visualization
  • Intuitive user interface
  • Robust built-in analytics
  • Needs more sophisticated data governance options.
  • Needs more smooth connection with other tools (such as Adobe Analytics).
Tableau Desktop is well suited where data is already well organized within the company data warehouse. Also, there should be competent data engineers who can ensure that data quality is always reliable. If the data quality is bad, it is of no use to business stakeholders and executives. Please remember, "garbage in, garbage out!"
Read this authenticated review
No photo available
April 25, 2019

Solid product but not cheap

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Tableau is being used as a near real-time dashboard. We use it in specific business use cases as well as across the enterprise to provide visual access to critical data. It primarily serves as a dashboard for me by pulling data from different data sources - database, Excel, SharePoint- and putting it together in a view that is easily understood and communicated. I have used it to both to create reports and provide a nearly real-time view of data.
  • Real-time view.
  • Connects to database
  • Provides click-through analysis.
  • Visually appealing layout.
  • It is not intuitive to use.
  • Requires time and effort to create a dashboard.
  • Should offer out of the box functionality.
Very well suited for dashboarding and presenting data and analysis visually; allows you to drill down into the intricacies from the top level view. It supports connections with many data sources. Also, there are a lot of good resources on using Tableau online.

It is not well suited for plain reporting as it is really expensive.
Read this authenticated review
No photo available
July 02, 2019

Tableau Desktop For Large Data Driven Company

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Tableau is being used by our business analysts as well as members in our IT department. We are using it to generate reports and do cross functional analysis.
  • Visualization of Data
  • SQL Capabilities
  • Report Generation
  • Connection to External Data -Snowflake, MS Access, etc
  • Slow Connection when running Reports
For companies of any size, the tool is very scaleable and compatible with nearly any data visualization use case.
Read this authenticated review
Aryeh Brickner profile photo
October 31, 2018

Tableau: A robust solution for your reporting needs!

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Tableau is being used by an entire department. It addresses our need for real-time data and conversion tracking. It allows for all members of our team to tailor reports based on their individual needs.
  • Allowing users to export data and manipulate the data based on their needs. This means that although there are prepopulated reports, they aren't rigid and inflexible and they allow users to see the data in other prisms.
  • We are able to track users at various stages of the product lifecycle, which means we can see drop-offs, conversions, and other critical touch points.
  • Allowing for lay users to create individual reports. Currently, we need to request a Tableau data person to mold new reports for us.
  • A drag and drop interphase would be amazing for allowing users to mix touch points as they need.
  • The ability to copy and paste data into Excel as opposed to exporting. We don't always need an entire report.
Tableau was great for tracking users through the entire user funnel, including connecting it with a Google Pixel. This allowed us to see true conversions based on campaigns, which in turn allowed us to optimize our revenue generating campaigns. One improvement would be the addition of real-time data streams--as it is, they often have a lag of 24 hours.
Read Aryeh Brickner's full review
Andres Meza profile photo
October 19, 2018

work tool for presentation of data in chart and professional quality table.

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Tableau is being used by a department of the company, specifically for the coordination of data analysis for decision making.

The systematization of the information in a single database was attended; analysis of the information was represented in easy-to-understand tables and graphs. Thus solving the problem of using other programs that do not offer as many professional quality options as a table. In the same way, it was allowed to solve the problem of the existence of several databases.
  • It has easy-to-use bar-type graph options that allow you to group a lot of content.
  • It offers the possibility of working with a database in order to position your exact location on your territory and display your information on a map.
  • It has options to superimpose information between two related variables.
  • It has the potential to work with ideal trend data for decision making.
  • Although it allows you to link variables, I consider that the presentation of the information is not ideal. I think the vendor can work on improving that tool.
  • It is difficult to use the tool for georeferencing data, because it asks you to check many options to apply the task. I think the vendor can work on simplifying the process.
  • They should review the process of linking data sheets with the tools from Tableau. On some occasions, I had to do the work again because I did not recognize the database. Work on simplifying the process please.
Tableau is an excellent tool for the presentation of data in decision making, therefore, the tool is ideal to present graphs, maps, or tables of the result product of the application of descriptive and inferential statistics of complex character and hard to understand.

Inappropriate scenario: Using the tool for the design of thematic maps of professional quality and that is adjusted to the international standards of cadastre, geography, and cartography, I consider that it does not have the propitious tools to develop such activities.
Read Andres Meza's full review
Aquinov Mathappan profile photo
October 09, 2018

Tableau for the win!

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We heavily use Tableau to analyze student performance, student retention, and to identify students at risk.
  • Excellent data visualization tool.
  • Easy to learn and great support from the community.
  • Great ecosystem to manage data for organizations of any size.
  • Expensive for small organization
  • Product support from Tableau is limited
  • Need more easy to use templates for users who are just starting out.
If you have some SQL knowledge, possibilities are endless for a data analyst.
Read Aquinov Mathappan's full review
No photo available
December 19, 2018

Tableau Desktop - A Great BI Product

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
It is used across the organization. All kinds of departments inside our company use Tableau. It solves hundreds of business problems. Tableau users report on the sales, revenue, quotes, product development and lots of other business processes. Data Sources like SAP BW, and Salesforce are slow when it comes to reporting on millions of rows of data. Tableau makes it easier for us to report on all this stuff.
  • Scalability of Tableau is amazing. We have thousands of users who interact with the Tableau reports on a daily basis without any major issues. It is exactly like the bigger organizations like us need.
  • Ease of use is another thing that is very good about Tableau. With a very less training, a user can start creating basic reports. As there are many Tableau users around the world, we get a lot of materials, videos online very easily.
  • Beautiful visualizations are the best part of Tableau. Once you get the hang of Tableau, you can impress your boss by creating visually appealing dashboards. Many types of charts are available in Tableau, but if not, you will always find a way to create the visualization you need. Tableau never disappoint you.
  • When creating a data source that needs several tables to be joined together, Tableau does its thing by loading the metadata, executing a query and loading data for preview. It does it after each and every join condition. Basically, every time you add a join condition you wait for a minute to create another one. God bless you if you are joining ten tables. There has to be way to pause this data load or at least some part of it to make this process faster.
  • We had this issue of connection looping with Tableau. Even with a good connection, Tableau ask us to reconnect to the data source. This thing goes in an infinite loop until you hit "No" or "Cancel". And it doesn't exactly show in the log that why is it doing that. Logging needs to be improved.
  • Tableau doesn't like Star or Snowflake schema even with a columnar database. We have these big Star schema (some of them are a little snowflaked) that we tried to load in Tableau. But they were slow. We converted those to the flat tables and Tableau works great with it.
Tableau Desktop is just for creating visualizations. You can't expect it to clean your data completely. Don't use it if data cleaning is your objective. It is best to give it a cleaned data. You can try Tableau's data prep tool. Use Tableau if you are not a pro SQL coder and you want beautiful visualizations.
Read this authenticated review
No photo available
December 22, 2018

Tableau Desktop great for individual users

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Internally, Tableau is mainly used by the analytics team, but we have had some cross-department adoption. Externally, our clients use the dashboards our team produces across multiple business functions. It really depends on the client and how much they are dedicated to investing in the platform at an organizational level. It's mixed between companies with only 1 or 2 stakeholders that care about dashboards, to companies that use Tableau across the organization.
  • Tableau allows me to quickly explore a dataset and find meaningful visualizations and segments in the data. I find that it's the tool I turn to when I have a fresh set of data and need to quickly pick apart what's important to know about that data.
  • A lot of my business stakeholders can't understand data without being able to see a visualization. Tableau enables me to take structured data and build those visualizations much faster than something like Excel.
  • I enjoy the flexibility in being able to create calculated metrics within the tool. This saves several steps in creating those new metrics within the raw data. The calculated metrics are robust, allowing you to write logic to get at the data that you really need.
  • I spend a lot of time customizing dashboards for clients to match their branding and aesthetic. The one particularly annoying thing is not being able to change the font colors on the y-axis labels. It seems so simple, but there's honestly no way to do it!
  • I work from a laptop that is a few years old. Tableau software is not a light program and I often run into system memory issues when I'm running Tableau Desktop along with other programs. I probably just need a faster computer, but IT has budget constraints and I'm not sure when I'll get a PC upgrade.
  • Sometimes I could spend a lot of time just trying to find a feature in the tool. Like a lot of other Tableau users, I end up googling my question and finding the answer on a community post or YouTube channel. I know it's not just me, as sometimes formatting and customization are not very straightforward.
Tableau Desktop is great for building dashboards that you use yourself. It gets a little harder to use when you want to share dashboards with others. The data that you use in Tableau should already be clean and structured, so if you don't have that or don't have support to get that, you'll need more than just Tableau to be able to use it. There is a bit of a learning curve if you're new to BI or data visualization, but with practice and training, it becomes a very valuable asset for analysis.
Read this authenticated review

Feature Scorecard Summary

Pixel Perfect reports (91)
8.3
Customizable dashboards (108)
9.1
Report Formatting Templates (93)
7.6
Drill-down analysis (104)
8.6
Formatting capabilities (107)
8.4
Integration with R or other statistical packages (75)
8.0
Report sharing and collaboration (103)
8.3
Publish to Web (94)
8.7
Publish to PDF (97)
8.5
Report Versioning (68)
8.1
Report Delivery Scheduling (73)
8.4
Delivery to Remote Servers (27)
8.3
Pre-built visualization formats (heatmaps, scatter plots etc.) (99)
8.5
Location Analytics / Geographic Visualization (98)
8.6
Predictive Analytics (75)
7.4
Multi-User Support (named login) (88)
8.5
Role-Based Security Model (71)
8.3
Multiple Access Permission Levels (Create, Read, Delete) (79)
8.4
Single Sign-On (SSO) (30)
7.9
Responsive Design for Web Access (77)
8.5
Dedicated iOS Application (55)
7.7
Dedicated Android Application (49)
7.4
Dashboard / Report / Visualization Interactivity on Mobile (71)
8.4
REST API (23)
8.0
Javascript API (22)
7.6
iFrames (21)
6.9
Java API (20)
7.4
Themeable User Interface (UI) (22)
7.7
Customizable Platform (Open Source) (18)
7.1

About Tableau Desktop

Tableau Desktop aims to allow people to make data-driven decisions with confidence, by helping them answer questions more quickly, solve harder problems more easily, and uncover new insights more frequently.

The vendor says that with a couple of clicks, Tableau Desktop connects directly to hundreds of data sources, both on-premises or in the cloud, with the goal of making it easier to start analysis. Interactive dashboards, drag and drop functionality, and natural language queries help users of all skill levels quickly discover actionable insights, all from an intuitive and visual interface. Users can ask deeper questions by quickly building powerful calculations, adding trend lines and seeing statistical summaries, or clustering data to see relationships.

Tableau's goal is to help people and organizations become more data-driven. With an integrated platform that is strives to be easy to start and scale, Tableau aims to support the entire analytics journey, from data preparation, to deep analysis, to the shared insights that drive the business forward.


Tableau Desktop Competitors

IBM Cognos, SAP Lumira Discovery, Qlik Sense, Microsoft Power BI, MicroStrategy Analytics, SAP BusinessObjects Business Intelligence (BI) Platform

Pricing

Has featureFree Trial Available?Yes
Has featureFree or Freemium Version Available?Yes
Has featurePremium Consulting/Integration Services Available?Yes
Entry-level set up fee?No

Free trials are available for both editions.

Tableau Desktop Technical Details

Deployment Types:On-premise
Operating Systems: Windows, Mac
Mobile Application:No