TrustRadius
Emptoris- An efficient tool for improving Contracts Management & Procurement activitiesWe have been using the Emptoris Suite in sourcing & procurement group for several years now. We use the following modules: • Sourcing • Contract Management • Spend Analysis • Program Management We upgraded to Emptoris 10.0 last year and the experience has been great. Compared to other tools, Emptoris is easy to navigate and simple to use.,Contracts Tracking & Notifications Reverse Auctions & eRFXs Spend Analytics are insightful,Slower when running long reports When upgraded to 10.0, integration was not seamless and it took more time than expected Reporting features have scope for improvement,8,Enhanced spend analytics which helps in planning project better Better contract management and tracking More eRFX & eAuctions lead to more automated & standardized processes Reporting tool still needs improvement (we use another internal tool for customized reporting),Ariba Contract Management and Ariba Procurement,Buy-side contracts,Yes,8,Contracts Management eAuctions,Reporting Complex RFXs,8Return your annual investment Day 1In a previous capacity at a large global pharmaceutical company we used Emptoris sourcing in over 50 countries and completed over 11000 events per year with half of those being auctions. We put approximately $5B of spend through the solution which generated a staggering ROI. We also used Emptoris spend and had huge success in spend data management driving spend visibility and compliance.,Strong analytical capabilities Great auction functionality Easy supplier registration Strong RFx capabilities,Fairly sophisticated user interface for an everyday user Could improve help center response,10,We won the 2005 Baseline Magazine Award for best ROI related to a technology implementation with an ROI 5544% (see 2005 Baseline ROI Awards, GlaxoSmithkline). We always felt we could do "two times the work, with half the people and deliver double the savings".Keep on pushing the buttonsEmptoris was extremely user-friendly and capable of including a wealth of necessary information when inputting contracts. Although I used Emptoris in my department, it was also used in many different departments and in different capacities.,The software categorizes different types of providers. The software allows different reports to be used/pulled for data reasons. The software allows multiple addresses to be used/ for different reasons.,Sometimes the software can be a little slow. Possibly create a short cut when certain addresses/name don't have be inputted so many times. Create an auto-entry.,9,After receiving the update, the software helped with accuracy.,Microsoft Access,Buy-side contractsEngineering eye for the business guy.In my previous organization, Emptoris was used as a contract module for supply chain/ procurement tying into SAP. The tool was more or less an advanced repository.,The product was user friendly. Integrated well with legacy and existing systems. Support and training offered by IBM was top notch.,Certain components could not update properly with integration at first. Cost was greater than some competitors. Integration took longer than anticipated.,8,Control measures to see where agreements were getting bogged down in internal approval process. Lead time features were utilized well to understand timeliness. Business unit support increased. Agreement visibility improved. Communication between business units improved.,Ariba Contract Management, Contract Logix, Basware Contract Lifecycle Management, Oracle E-Business Suite Procurement Contracts and SAP Contract Lifecycle Management,SAP Business Objects, SAP Contract Lifecycle Management, Oracle Application Testing Suite,BothContracts Management on Emptoris ProductWe used Emptoris contracts product software for one of the world leading healthcare organizations as a solution for their business problems. Maintaining a contract over a period of time has always been a nightmare to companies, Emptoris has addressed many problems on contract management and provides easy operations throughout the contract life cycle and with post life cycle activities. Specifically, Emptoris has addressed the problem of maintaining the contract language in many languages, contract language versions, monitoring and approvals process. It has provided an easy way to create contracts, which helped many end users who are not techies.,Maintaining contracts as Templates, This feature has helped business to simplify the contract language maintenance and also helped simplify the maintenance of clause related elements that will be used across the product. Easy way to create the contracts, Emptoris has provided the easy ways to create the contracts. We dont need any expertise for creating a contract , with interview module any one can do so by answering a simple set of questions. Monitoring, This is the best feature I can really count on. The monitoring of the contract is made very easy with the simple configurations and can be monitored in different ways like workflows, email etc. MS word as a plugin for editing the language, this is another best feature. Editng of contract language can be done by opening the contract language in a word document . It is a simple process - open, edit, save and close. This saves to Emptoris templates.,Reporting, Emptoris comes with standard reports which can not always can be fit into our business. This needs to be improved. I hope Emptoris is addressing this issue in their latest releases. Though the feature of editing language in MS word is excellent, loading MS word takes time.,8,Improved Contract process cycle times, Features like parallel approvals can really help with reducing the process cycle times on the contracts. This led to increased employee efficiency. Interview module - contracts creation made it very easy to further business processing. Monitoring is a great help and this feature helps customers to worry less about milestone dates for active contracts. Reports need improvement and should have some feature to create user defined reports.,,8
Unspecified
Emptoris
22 Ratings
Score 7.9 out of 101
<a href='https://www.trustradius.com/static/about-trustradius-scoring' target='_blank' rel='nofollow'>trScore algorithm: Learn more.</a>TRScore

Emptoris Reviews

Emptoris
22 Ratings
<a href='https://www.trustradius.com/static/about-trustradius-scoring' target='_blank' rel='nofollow'>trScore algorithm: Learn more.</a>
Score 7.9 out of 101
Show Filters 
Hide Filters 
Filter 22 vetted Emptoris reviews and ratings
Clear all filters
Overall Rating
Reviewer's Company Size
Last Updated
By Topic
Industry
Department
Experience
Job Type
Role
Reviews (1-15 of 15)
  Vendors can't alter or remove reviews. Here's why.
Digvijay Singh profile photo
April 05, 2016

Review: "Emptoris- An efficient tool for improving Contracts Management & Procurement activities"

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We have been using the Emptoris Suite in sourcing & procurement group for several years now. We use the following modules:

• Sourcing
• Contract Management
• Spend Analysis
• Program Management

We upgraded to Emptoris 10.0 last year and the experience has been great. Compared to other tools, Emptoris is easy to navigate and simple to use.
  • Contracts Tracking & Notifications
  • Reverse Auctions & eRFXs
  • Spend Analytics are insightful
  • Slower when running long reports
  • When upgraded to 10.0, integration was not seamless and it took more time than expected
  • Reporting features have scope for improvement
Emptoris is more useful if multiple modules are used simultaneously. For example, we can connect spend analysis and contracts management to generate smart reports and business insights. RFXs can be tied back to contract management and notifications sent out accordingly which helps in efficient vendor management.
Read Digvijay Singh's full review
Gregg Brandyberry profile photo
December 09, 2015

Emptoris Review: "Return your annual investment Day 1"

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
In a previous capacity at a large global pharmaceutical company we used Emptoris sourcing in over 50 countries and completed over 11000 events per year with half of those being auctions. We put approximately $5B of spend through the solution which generated a staggering ROI. We also used Emptoris spend and had huge success in spend data management driving spend visibility and compliance.
  • Strong analytical capabilities
  • Great auction functionality
  • Easy supplier registration
  • Strong RFx capabilities
  • Fairly sophisticated user interface for an everyday user
  • Could improve help center response
It is a great overall product ... might be lacking a bit for complex optimizations compared to other newer solutions e.g. Keelvar.
Read Gregg Brandyberry's full review
Temisha Lee profile photo
December 08, 2015

Emptoris Review: "Keep on pushing the buttons"

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Emptoris was extremely user-friendly and capable of including a wealth of necessary information when inputting contracts. Although I used Emptoris in my department, it was also used in many different departments and in different capacities.
  • The software categorizes different types of providers.
  • The software allows different reports to be used/pulled for data reasons.
  • The software allows multiple addresses to be used/ for different reasons.
  • Sometimes the software can be a little slow.
  • Possibly create a short cut when certain addresses/name don't have be inputted so many times. Create an auto-entry.
Read Temisha Lee's full review
Justan Wright profile photo
December 08, 2015

Emptoris Review: "Engineering eye for the business guy."

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
In my previous organization, Emptoris was used as a contract module for supply chain/ procurement tying into SAP. The tool was more or less an advanced repository.
  • The product was user friendly.
  • Integrated well with legacy and existing systems.
  • Support and training offered by IBM was top notch.
  • Certain components could not update properly with integration at first.
  • Cost was greater than some competitors.
  • Integration took longer than anticipated.
I think for whatever the tool was lacking, IBM could come up with a solution rather quickly.
Read Justan Wright's full review
Mahesh Aluvala profile photo
July 21, 2014

Review: "Contracts Management on Emptoris Product"

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We used Emptoris contracts product software for one of the world leading healthcare organizations as a solution for their business problems. Maintaining a contract over a period of time has always been a nightmare to companies, Emptoris has addressed many problems on contract management and provides easy operations throughout the contract life cycle and with post life cycle activities. Specifically, Emptoris has addressed the problem of maintaining the contract language in many languages, contract language versions, monitoring and approvals process. It has provided an easy way to create contracts, which helped many end users who are not techies.
  • Maintaining contracts as Templates, This feature has helped business to simplify the contract language maintenance and also helped simplify the maintenance of clause related elements that will be used across the product.
  • Easy way to create the contracts, Emptoris has provided the easy ways to create the contracts. We dont need any expertise for creating a contract , with interview module any one can do so by answering a simple set of questions.
  • Monitoring, This is the best feature I can really count on. The monitoring of the contract is made very easy with the simple configurations and can be monitored in different ways like workflows, email etc.
  • MS word as a plugin for editing the language, this is another best feature. Editng of contract language can be done by opening the contract language in a word document . It is a simple process - open, edit, save and close. This saves to Emptoris templates.
  • Reporting, Emptoris comes with standard reports which can not always can be fit into our business. This needs to be improved. I hope Emptoris is addressing this issue in their latest releases.
  • Though the feature of editing language in MS word is excellent, loading MS word takes time.
Any company who needs more monitoring and has frequent contract language changes due to negotiations with parties can utilize the Emptoris Contracts software to a greater extent. Key Business Questions that are answered on Emptoris:

  • More clause language.
  • Multiple language support
  • Maintenance of the contracts during the life cycle.
  • Bringing Legacy contracts into new system and its maintenance.
  • Monitoring the contract and important remainders based on contract.
  • Complex contract approval process due to the business complexity.
  • User roles and responsibilities - Privileges.
  • Version comparison difficulties.
Many more..

There are good amount of features on Emptoris that can be used, which improves the business process cycle times.
Read Mahesh Aluvala's full review
Alejandro Gusis profile photo
August 12, 2014

"Emptoris Review - Very Powerful and flexible integrated solutions for experienced eSourcing practitioners"

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We used Emptoris as the go-to platform for eSourcing, contract management, spend analytics and supplier performance management. It was driven by a central team but applied to all different divisions within the company.
  • Very strong and flexible esourcing suite, including eRFx and eAuctions
  • Ability to run optimization scenarios in real time
  • Ability to link spend analytics to eSourcing events
  • User friendly was not a way I would describe the tools
  • Sometimes, the breadth of choices can be overwhelming for an inexperienced user
  • Contract management was not really integrated as a part of the solution suite
How experienced is your organization on eSourcing? The more experienced, the better the fit. How much are you willing to invest? Emptoris is not known for being the least expensive alternative. Are you looking for eSourcing only or integrated solutions? Although it can stay as a stand alone, Emptoris' higher value is the later.
Read Alejandro Gusis's full review
Sikandar Hamid profile photo
July 18, 2014

User Review: "Invoicing made simple with Emptoris"

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
It is being used to upload receipts into the systems, which then creates invoices that are sent to our buyers to review for approval. Projects, budget and finances are managed by different teams in our organization. It brings our clients and us on one platform to have a set of eyes on both ends from infancy to completed stage.
  • It consolidates the budget after invoicing in a summary.
  • All your receipts and invoices are managed on one platform.
  • It is also a single platform to see all your P50's, P2P and order in one place (statement of work)
  • It a good tool for managing projects.
  • The reports from Emptoris are basically a dump of the data, there are no smart reporting tools.
It is well suited for creating project budgets and managing the work done on the projects.
Read Sikandar Hamid's full review
Lawona Bodney profile photo
July 18, 2014

"Emptoris review from Network Development"

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Our company uses Emptoris as a contract management system to track all contracts for network development for 18 healthplans in various states. Emptoris allows us to have one tracking system for contracting our providers. We contract facilities and providers and have one system to track contracts and changes to language and tracking rates. Emptoris allows us to have a unified reporting system to track non standard contracts. We can track our contracts from start to execution and make sure none of contracts are misplaced or forgotten. We can pull reports to do a mail merge and being able to track non standard contracts saves us so much time from doing manual audits. It has saved us time in creating contracts and sharing them with the provider very qucikly. It also saves us printing and mailing costs.
  • The strenghts is creating contracts quickly and saving cost in mailing and printing cost.
  • Tracking non standard contract language is a plus and saves us from doing manual audits.
  • The reporting is great and tracking each department's accountability is great.
  • The only thing I would like to see is that is can hold mutiple attachments under the language tab.
  • I would like to see a function that allows all credentialing materials to be attached to Emptoris and sent to the next step as one complete package.
It is well suited for contract management. I would ask if it can become a truly paperless system by allowing all credentialing materials to be loaded into Emptoris and sent to the next step.
Read Lawona Bodney's full review
John Klucharits profile photo
July 15, 2014

"Emptoris- A simple yet effective user review"

Score 6 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Currently Emptoris is being used only in the Sourcing group here at Novartis in the US and Globally. When our business owners reach a certain threshold, as it relates to spend, they contact Sourcing and we utilize Emptoris for our RFX's.
  • Manages all supplier questions/inquiries via the message boards.
  • Ease of use to add new suppliers before releasing bids
  • Easily editable if scope changes during the bidding process
  • Building tables could be more user friendly. Most of the time, I just attach a spreadsheet
  • Rate Auctions could be more user friendly as well. If you have never done a Rate Auction, that first one will be confusing. There is not alot of guidance throughout.
It is suitable if you are able to have a best practice area in the tool, where you can go and look at common questions in the industry.
Read John Klucharits's full review
No photo available
August 10, 2016

"My review on Emptoris from a Buyer's Perspective"

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
I've used Emptoris in two jobs. The first place I used it (HBO), it was mostly used for eSourcing. I believe only the Procurement/Sourcing Department used it. At my current position (Chain IQ), we use it for Contract Management, eSourcing and Virtual Supply Master. The entire organization uses it since we are a Procurement Service provider.

eSourcing makes it easier to receive bid responses. Contract Management obviously makes it way easier to archive contracts. Virtual Supply Master is just an easy way to look up the details behind a supplier that we do business with.
  • eSourcing is very easy to use. It doesn't take long to setup an RFx. I like being able to have a place where everything is stored which makes potential audits more bearable.
  • I like being able to look up a contract quickly through Contract Management and have everything in one place.
  • I like being able to run reports through Contract Management. It makes tracking renewals a lot easier.
  • Not sure if these are Emptoris restrictions, or just restrictions setup by my organization, but I wish that there weren't so many tabs to fill out to archive a contract.
  • I wish that I could customize reports instead of exporting raw data and doing my own analysis.
  • I wish that we could easily change contracts into amendments and make sure they are linked appropriately. Currently, we have to delete the record and then recreate the amendment from the original contract.
Emptoris is all that I know. I have never used another system. I think that it has all the tools that I would need to work in a procurement/sourcing function.
Read this authenticated review
No photo available
December 08, 2015

Emptoris Review: "Great customization options -- with certain limitations"

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Emptoris is our contract management solution for the procurement department and HMO provider contracts.
  • Document protection - the Check Out contract feature is a great way to allow external parties to make modifications to contract language without the ability to accept those changes. Those redlines can then be imported back into Emptoris and reviewed or further modified as needed.
  • Notifications & reminders - you can trigger an email manually from within the system, or you can configure automated notifications andreminders to alert users when a new task is received or has aged a given amount of days, etc.
  • Interview wizard - there is a lot of value in the interview wizard. Administrators can configure screens with selecting options via check boxes, radio buttons, or typed-in values. Variables and conditions can be used to selectively populate fields within the contract or apply other options, making for a quick and convenient method to generate contracts conforming to corporate standards.
  • Field customization - administrators can customize a list of options for various fields including contract substatus, address type, and user created business term variables.
  • Approvals - many different options are available to configure approvals to trigger automatically upon presenting and/or executing the contract including specific individuals, one or more approver groups, or based upon various criteria including terms within the contract, type of contract, or the contract's owning organization.
  • Reporting on specific contract language - while it is easy to pull reports based on values populated within the configured business term variables, it is much more difficult to pull reports to identify specific contract language modifications which were typed in via redlining. Even using a workaround involving combining various repository search and reporting techniques, the contracts must still be opened individually to view the modified language if the containing clause exceeds 1,000 characters. This process is tedious and flawed and not something an average user is capable of managing on their own so administrator and/or IT department involvement is often required.
  • Inelegant UI - while recent versions have a greatly improved UI, it is still quite inferior when compared to the modern user interface designs today's tech-savvy employees have become familiar with. Also, there are inconsistencies within the interface that are quite perplexing (for example, inconsistently named fields (Contract Substatus, Contract Sub Status, Contract SubStatus), or screens with consistent search criteria layout sometimes allow use of the Enter key on the keyboard to submit the search query while Enter doesn't work on identical screens and the user must manually mouse-click the Search button to submit the search query - while this is inconvenient, it does also call into question the behind-the-scenes quality control as well).
  • Vendor support - sometimes it is a great experience. Often however open tickets can drag on for months or be picked up or handed off to many different support techs. It can be frustrated repeatedly relating the specifics of a complex issue to multiple individuals. Would much rather have complex issues which cannot be resolved within a single support touch-point be assigned to a primary owner who can work with the customer throughout the resolution process until the issue has been successfully resolved. This is an area which has a significant amount of opportunity for improvement.
Emptoris is well suited for any organization which has a high volume of contracts to manage.
Read this authenticated review
No photo available
July 22, 2014

Emptoris Review: "Too complex for a simplified implementation"

Score 2 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We piloted Emptoris and were not successful. The amount of effort and cost to implement the tool far exceeded what we were looking to implement for our contract management solution. Part of the reason is our company does not have a heavy focus on the procurement function and Emptoris really tries to make that connection. Overall, it just wasn't very easy to use and I can't stress enough how much of a negative it was to find out how complex and expensive the implementation would be. We were trying to have as basic of an implementation as possible but it didn't matter.
  • Requiring Vendors to be part of the process
  • Linking Contract Totals to Procurement
  • Implementation timeline
  • Seemingly having to customize every customer
If you have a highly bureaucratic organization that is heavily focused on procurement, Emptoris can provide some value. It seemed to be very good at linking the contract information to procurement for better spend control. If you are trying to implement a standalone contract management solution that allows you to easily create contracts and store them in a central location, this isn't the tool for you. There doesn't appear to be a simplified implementation. In general, when a SaaS solution has a complicated and expensive implementation, I am very skeptical. This does not show that the vendor is trying to move customers forward on a single code base. If that many things need to be done during implementation, you are starting to customize the solution for every customer. This hurts the vendor's ability to scale and make improvements in the future.
Read this authenticated review
No photo available
July 25, 2014

Emptoris Review: "A to Z solution"

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
IBM Emptoris is used in the Contracting and Procurement department of the organization. It solves the way Wells Contracts are managed centrally and helps ease the process of procurement from point A to Z. Helps enhance the procurement function, promotes user friendliness, and is a one-stop shop for all contract / category management needs.
  • Contracts centrally managed
  • Rfp / rfq / tender process enhanced
  • User friendly / ease of use
  • All attachements, documents, communication etc in one place
  • One stop shop solution
  • The general flow of things
  • Straightforwardness
  • More customization
Is best suited for RFP/RFQ process. How is the customization option, or are there any? Contracts/sub-contracts, OAs, MSAs, WSAs connected well? Sync with SAP functionality?
Read this authenticated review
No photo available
July 19, 2014

User Review: "Emptoris Contract Management & You"

Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use Emptoris Contract Manager to track contracts between hospitals and doctors between different networks and services. It is primarily used by one department, but other departments refer to information in it to track how networks are coming along. Without a contract management software like Emptoris, we would be unable to track revisions to our standard contracts, as well as what is signed and what still needs to be signed.
  • Contract Revision Tracking
  • Signature Tracking
  • Specialty Contracts
  • Monitoring of growth in particular areas
  • Speed/Performance
  • More intuitive built-in reporting environment
  • Easier upgrade path when customized to business needs
Emptoris is well suited for inserting custom criteria to see how contracts can be grouped together. How will you use your contract management software? Is it important that it can be used over a variety of platforms? Will it need to be customized quite a bit? Would you prefer something that can be accessed through a web-app?
Read this authenticated review
No photo available
July 21, 2014

Emptoris Review: "Differences in Contract Management"

Score 5 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Emptoris is being used in the Supply Chain department to track and organize contracts, BAA agreements, Master Service Agreements and SOW agreements. We also track when these contracts are up for renewal.
  • The system is pretty straight forward and generally easy to use.
  • I like the feature that you can set a notification for 30 days prior to expiration on contracts.
  • The system has a good reporting feature.
  • First, I must admit that we are using an older version of Emptoris, so some of my concerns may well be addressed in newer versions. First, we do not have a good system for rating / vendor management within the database
  • The system does not tie into our SAP system, or Microsoft.
  • Is not Cloud based
  • Have found customer support to be less than anticipated.
Obviously cost is a factor, not only upfront costs but upgrades. What other software does the program integrate with? What is the workflow process for approvals? Is there a built in functionality to support regulatory requirements? Can the dashboard be customized?
Read this authenticated review

Feature Scorecard Summary

Contract creation (4)
9.0
Contract templates (4)
7.8
Clause library/saved fields (4)
8.3
Guided logic (2)
8.0
Contract sharing (4)
8.0
Contract editing (4)
8.7
Collaborating on contracts (3)
7.5
MS Word plug-in (2)
7.5
Approval process (4)
8.2
Interdepartmental workflows (4)
7.8
Contract database (5)
7.7
Legacy contracts (5)
7.4
Contract search (5)
7.5
Contract milestone reminders & alerts (3)
8.5
Custom contract reports (4)
7.4
Tracking contract status (4)
8.4
Compliance check (3)
7.9

About Emptoris

Emptoris Competitors

Emptoris Technical Details

Operating Systems: Unspecified
Mobile Application:No