Mendix

Mendix

About TrustRadius Scoring
Score 7.8 out of 100
Mendix

Overview

Recent Reviews

Mendix Review

8 out of 10
November 29, 2021
Mendix is being used as our enterprise web platform for several customer facing portals. These applications solve a number of business …
Continue reading

Great Mendix

10 out of 10
September 06, 2018
Great application and I recommended. We were using Siebel Application and it was causing us a lot of problems, especially with user …
Continue reading

Mendix review

9 out of 10
August 28, 2018
Mendix is being used by our customers to excel in their digital transformation. Mendix creates applications in such a fast way that …
Continue reading

My Mendix experience

9 out of 10
April 23, 2018
Mendix is being used at the core of our organization. It allows vital business processes to be managed fluently.
Continue reading

Mendix: The way to buid apps!

9 out of 10
February 08, 2018
We use Mendix as a platform to build and maintain applications for several clients. Because Mendix is a RAD platform it's possible to …
Continue reading
Read all reviews

Awards

Products that are considered exceptional by their customers based on a variety of criteria win TrustRadius awards. Learn more about the types of TrustRadius awards to make the best purchase decision. More about TrustRadius Awards

Reviewer Pros & Cons

View all pros & cons

Video Reviews

Leaving a video review helps other professionals like you evaluate products. Be the first one in your network to record a review of Mendix, and make your voice heard!

Pricing

View all pricing

Free Edition

$0

Cloud

Pro Edition

1,250

On Premise
per month (billed annually)

Pro Edition

1,250

Cloud
per month (billed annually)

Entry-level set up fee?

  • Setup fee optional
For the latest information on pricing, visithttps://www.mendix.com/editions

Offerings

  • Free Trial
  • Free/Freemium Version
  • Premium Consulting / Integration Services

Features Scorecard

No scorecards have been submitted for this product yet..

Product Details

What is Mendix?

Mendix is a Low Code platform built for both speed and control, that places collaboration at the heart of the application development process. Mendix provides an integrated, comprehensive set of tools and platform services for the entire app lifecycle, from ideation and development, through deployment and operation. According to the vendor, customers see the benefit of applications that are created 10x faster with 70% fewer resources.

Mendix is recognized as a leader in two Gartner Magic Quadrants and two Forrester Waves, and selected by both IBM and SAP as the standard for high-productivity development for their respective clouds. It is used by 3,400 organizations worldwide, across dozens of verticals. Mendix was acquired by Siemens August 2018.

Mendix Features

  • Supported: Open Platform Model API and Platform SDK
  • Supported: Offline Mobile Support for Any Device
  • Supported: Responsive UI Framework
  • Supported: Agile Project Management
  • Supported: Visual Application Development
  • Supported: App Store
  • Supported: Quality Assurance

Mendix Screenshots

Screenshot of Agile Project Management: Collaborate. Manage. Iterate.Screenshot of Central App Management: Application Management Made Easy.Screenshot of App Store: Hundreds of building blocks to get you out of the gate.Screenshot of 1-Click Deployment: Efficient DevOps. Enabled.

Mendix Video

Mendix (https://www.mendix.com) applications are used by enterprises around the world to support diverse business needs. Whether they’re internal applications, B2B, or B2C apps, Mendix’s device-specific user interface design capabilities make building beautiful applications ...
 Show More

Mendix Integrations

Mendix Competitors

Mendix Customer Size Distribution

Consumers0%
Small Businesses (1-50 employees)0%
Mid-Size Companies (51-500 employees)40%
Enterprises (more than 500 employees)60%

Mendix Technical Details

Deployment TypesOn-premise, SaaS
Operating SystemsWindows
Mobile ApplicationApple iOS, Android, Mobile Web

Frequently Asked Questions

Mendix is a low code platform-as-a-service offering with mobile and social extensions. Mendix was acquired by Siemens August 2018.

Quickbase and Heroku Platform are common alternatives for Mendix.

Reviewers rate Support Rating highest, with a score of 8.

The most common users of Mendix are from Mid-sized Companies (51-1,000 employees) and the Information Technology & Services industry.

Comparisons

View all alternatives

Reviews and Ratings

 (90)

Ratings

Reviews

(1-25 of 34)
Companies can't remove reviews or game the system. Here's why
August 28, 2018

Mendix review

Maarten Bongers | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Although I have never worked with OutSystems, Mendix is seen as a platform that can be used more easily by people that do not have an IT background. Mendix is indeed a platform that makes it possible for people with a business background (and are IT minded) to create beautiful smart applications.
Georgios Andronikidis | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Mendix is more flexible and custom making oriented than Appian. OutSystems is almost the same as Mendix but more directed to the traditional developer, whereas Mendix is trying to make it possible for everyone to be able to model.
Jeroen Odink | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
PowerApps is much harder to learn. It lacks the robustness of Mendix; if a detail is lacking in PowerApps the app won't run and it takes much time to debug.
Mendix is build to work for Scrum teams. I think Microsoft could learn a lot from the way working on one app by diverse members is done by Mendix.
Sjoerd Beljon | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Mendix would be my preferred system all the way. The system is designed for these kinds of works. I've worked with WP and DNN but they should be used just for websites. To create an app for a business value, I would suggest Mendix. Also, the offline capabilities of Mendix have greatly improved since the deployment of Mendix 7.13.
Niels van de Sande | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Reseller
Review Source
We got in touch with Mendix due to a project at a former company I and my companion worked. That company went bankrupt and we decided we could start our own software company with Mendix. We never really had the opportunity to compare it to others, because all other software packages require extensive technical expertise, which we did not have. Within a few months, I (as a Marketing Masters graduate) could develop applications for all kinds of purposes, for small and large businesses.
Umesh Sukheja | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
You can create applications faster as compared to other products, You can code easily just by creating flow charts, instead of thousands of lines of code. You can manage databases from the domain model of Mendix, you can also manage webservices very easily with Mendix Modeler.
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
  • .NET

We introduced Mendix after a [failed] attempt with waterfall development methodology. Mendix introduced us to the RADP and we never looked back. It is more flexible, allows rapid development, is easy to present to business users, [and has an] easy connection to BPM. User stories are simpler than building wireframes, and allow for direct working with business users.

Platform as a Service simplifies operations and removes infrastructure upgrades issues and delays.

Simon Angel | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Reseller
Review Source
I have spent many month/years evaluating and discarding products. Some have cost me time (developers) and money to use the software. The development approach with Mendix means I don't have to pay for developer licenses and only pay when I have an approved solution ready for deployment. Mendix is ideal for product SI partners who can add additional capability to products or meet special client needs and not end up blaming developers for lack of understanding or tools for complexity.
Raymond Frijns | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Very well suited for front-end and back-end applications that integrate other systems, both modern as legacy. Mendix can be used to create portals, backend systems, process and task driven applications and much more. As Mendix is a platform to build software with, you should not build software that is already available from the shelf. Building a CRM in Mendix would be not very wise as CRMs are already widely available as SAAS solutions.
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We evaluated 3 to 4 other products before making the choice to go with Mendix. From a maturity perspective it was further ahead than the other options. From the rapid development perspective the tool was light years ahead of others. The ability for developers to learn the tool quickly and still have the flexibility within the platform to develop simple to complex widgets is great. This tool has endless possibilities once you become comfortable with the platform itself.
Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Mendix was sold on:

  • Increased speed of development by following Agile/Scrum development practices.
  • Low code paradigm and a low-cost dev environment.
Compared to the Microsoft products we also use, development seems much simpler...

However, the abstraction layer that the Mendix development platform provides can also be a distraction from fully documenting a given project.