Quick Base Reviews

<a href='https://www.trustradius.com/static/about-trustradius-scoring#question3' target='_blank' rel='nofollow noopener noreferrer'>Customer Verified: Read more.</a>
500 Ratings
<a href='https://www.trustradius.com/static/about-trustradius-scoring' target='_blank' rel='nofollow noopener noreferrer'>trScore algorithm: Learn more.</a>
Score 7.3 out of 100

Do you work for this company? Manage this listing

TrustRadius Top Rated for 2019

Overall Rating

Reviewer's Company Size

Last Updated

By Topic

Industry

Department

Experience

Job Type

Role

Reviews (1-25 of 324)

Surya Avantsa, MS, PMP, DTM. | TrustRadius Reviewer
April 08, 2020

QuickBase, the defacto standard for developing Business applications for the Web.

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
QuickBase is being used at a federal agency that I worked at, for their core business activity. It helps the management and the staff alike be able to track their cases across all the 5 major departments within the organization. It also helps the public file their legal cases with the agency electronically thus reducing the time and improving the accuracy of the filing.
  • QuickBase is a SaaS product. Therefore, it eliminates the need to have a dedicated department full of people to manage/administer servers for databases, websiites, web applications and so on and so forth.
  • It helps application developers get started with application development right away, without having to install any other software.
  • With an extensive point and click system for application development that still encompasses almost ALL types of programming situations, it makes it easy and quick for developers to build solutions by focusing on the business needs rather than the nitty gritty details of the implementation of the small programming components.
  • QuickBase is based on HTTP API calls and because of this, one can build custom applications using languages such as Java, JavaScript, Ruby on Rails, .NET etc so that the custom application can be the front-end while QuickBase is still the database and the backend as a service, including email as a service.
  • There are several third party products that work as an extension of QuickBase. I have personally used Exact Forms Plus to be able to generate documents based on data coming from QuickBase applications. This is possible because of the HTTP API calls that come with QuickBase This makes QuickBase extremely extensible.
  • Webhooks is a major extension of QuickBase that allows "triggers" to handle your business processes across a variety of other 3rd party SaaS products as well.
  • Automations (now integrated with Pipelines) go beyond webhooks. They use drag and drop, drop-down select type of coding with wizards such that one can't go wrong. It improves the productivity of the application developer by at least 100x
  • There have been several areas for improvement that QuickBase has collected over the years from their users via uservoice. Many cool features have been implemented.
  • However, I still feel that they should either get rid of the limitation or expand the number of form rules one can use in a form that has formula fields. Currently it is at 20!
  • I want QuickBase to seriously consider increasing datastorage at reasonable expense for developing applications that handle large transactions.
  • Get FedRamp certified. Get FedRamp certified. Get FedRamp certified. Do whatever is necessary for that. But don't move to AWS for that. Amazon is a monster. Stay away.
If you want to track something, such as a business process, use QuickBase. For all other type of business applications, where you might want to have a custom user interface, you should still use QuickBase, because you can't find a better product that can act as a Backend-as-a-Service.
However, due to the limitation of the amount of data that you can store in QuickBase, avoid using it for applications that involve large transactions processing.
QuickBase would like to think or have customers think that this is a citizen developers' tool. But I beg to disagree with that because, one needs to have knowledge of relational databases, the concepts of normalization, the need to normalize, how relationships work, how the summary fields, lookup fields work, etc to be able to develop a meaningful and useful application that can be maintained in the future.
I have first-hand experience developing applications for some DC Govt agencies where they had "citizen developers" such as administrative assistants, finance managers, and human resource managers develop applications only to have me come in and redo them "correctly." As an example, when you had to modify the name of a person, the systems developed by the citizen developers were such that one would have to modify the name of the person in 8 different tables, all in the same application! But I designed the systems so they can change the name in just one Employees table and the lookup fields would take care of effecting the change across the applications.
Thus, I would strongly recommend that businesses should consider having experienced professional programmers who have experience and education in developing applications do the job.
Read Surya Avantsa, MS, PMP, DTM.'s full review
Jessica Curtis, CHFP, CRCA | TrustRadius Reviewer
April 07, 2020

QuickBase Customer Service = Squad Goals

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Quickbase is used across our organization. We track, trend, and report data from our Quickbase system. It eliminates the need for multiple versions of spreadsheets being passed around and enables us to have real-time alert notifications and subscription reports. It also allows us to set up appropriate roles for our users depending on their needs and security levels.
  • Their customer service is best in class! Responsive, helpful, and always willing to go the extra mile.
  • Ongoing training and conferences are available to new and advanced users. Beyond just the company of Quickbase, the universe of users is such a large, connected, and friendly community of empowered citizen developers.
  • Ease of development - non-technical users can learn to quickly develop applications with Quickbase to solve longstanding business problems.
  • More advanced free-placement reporting, such as is available with Business Objects/Crystal Reports/SAP type solutions would be great.
  • More integrated advanced features into Quickbase itself rather than having to pay a third party "Quickbase Solution Provider" would be helpful also!
I think QuickBase is very useful to almost any business who uses spreadsheets or needs a common system to access data and reporting from. If your budget is very small or your number of employees is less than three, it may be too expensive for the value it brings depending on the business case.
It is so easy to build an app in Quickbase as a non-technical person. They have training videos, webinars, and an extensive online help community to help you get started. Importing data to a table, building a relationship between tables, and creating reports, alerts, and subscriptions is very simple and straightforward after you review the initial training materials. Setting up users and roles is also simple. The more complex your app becomes (more tables and fields), the more time it will take someone new to understand what is going on with your app and also be able to appropriately assign permissions and things like that. Someone should be the "owner" of an application and be the main contact to maintain and continue building the app, but it is very easy to share responsibilities and build together when needed also.
Read Jessica Curtis, CHFP, CRCA's full review
Richard (Ric) Hazel | TrustRadius Reviewer
April 07, 2020

QuickBase quickly gives you a base to build your foundation for your project or department.

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use QuickBase as a repository for documents and as a way to create forms, reporting, and metrics for our Learning/Training Department that serves our greater IT org, Customer Technologies. We have yet to delve as deep as we can into its potential uses, but at present it has addressed our problem with where to store documents and files, as well as, a way to manage and organize our current restructuring of our department's policies, procedures, and development.
  • It is very easy to create apps specific to our needs.
  • It is a great way to manage and store documentation on many levels.
  • It gives us a one stop location where we can organize our entire restructuring effort.
  • I would like to be able to upload and store larger video files and Captivate files without having to zip them.
  • In our Learning/Training Department we have a need to share files so that we can have multiple sets of eyes on things as we design and develop learning elements. An easier or more intuitive method to share larger files would be great.
  • It may be because I am still relatively new to QuickBase, but it is not the easiest to navigate when trying to add new users, edit functionality of an app, etc.
QuickBase is well suited for a department that has multiple users and has a need to store and share documentation across that department. It also is very good for departments or organizations that need to measure and report on specific activities and customize apps to make those measurements. It may not be the most appropriate for users who have a need to store or share large files.
It can be difficult for non-technical developers to navigate through the creation of applications, however, with that being said, QuickBase help is very efficient and accessible when trying to build something from scratch. Their customer support is top notch and responds quickly to every inquiry for assistance that I have made so far.
Read Richard (Ric) Hazel's full review
Brian Perry | TrustRadius Reviewer
April 07, 2020

QuickBase, it just works.

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
My division uses QuickBase for a variety of uses across multiple divisions to gather, review and correlate data into quick easily digestible information for our management teams.
  • Quickbase is very user friendly
  • Requires low levels of technical skill to get started
  • Scales in usefulness to the users technical aptitude.
  • Limited reporting
QuickBase works well for gathering and connecting data, and displaying it in their UI, but it is limited when trying to get that data back out in usable formats.
Quickbase's user interface is easy to pick up and use for an entry level developer, and scales in complexity to the skill level of the user allowing more intricate work for those capable of doing so.
Read Brian Perry's full review
Anish Vaghela | TrustRadius Reviewer
October 27, 2019

Quickbase automation saves time and makes life easy

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Quick Base is being used for business process management. It is used across the whole organization from operations through to sales reporting to allow for visualization of metrics across the board. It allows users fast access to data across multiple streams of business processes. It alleviates the need to manually communicate menial updates to the team.
  • Automated data management
  • Graphs and reporting tools
  • Communication is automated via email, and even text messages
  • More storage space on the Quick Base server
  • Lower prices for higher volume users
  • Mobile app log in with fingerprint
Well suited: Data management to internal team members who have access to a computer or need to send notifications to external parties. We use Quick Base to manage orders and communicate to our customers on the status of each order.
Less appropriate: As an interface to customers to allow for direct communication into Quick Base - users can access a survey page, but there are limits on engagement with the app not being user-friendly with the latest features like fingerprint reading or face ID.
Quick Base was entirely citizen developed with the help of some IT implementation. We were able to use the software company-wide. Our citizen developers that used the software were not previously exposed to developing Quick Base solutions and learned relatively quickly. Quick Base also offers courses and instruction on how to best use and build the app. There are tons of resources available for anyone willing to learn how to self develop.
Read Anish Vaghela's full review
Jared Hansen | TrustRadius Reviewer
January 16, 2020

Quick Base for quick product management!

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Quick Base is a project management software designed for SaaS and software design teams. Its integration with tools for coding and product design makes it an easy and simple choice for tech companies, and its robust options are simple to use. It's a powerful platform for solving business challenges and was designed to work with and alongside IT teams.
  • Product management.
  • Team work.
  • Pricing.
  • Video tutorials.
Quick Base is well suited in the automation of daily tasks. It can streamline pipelines and increase productivity by making much of the busy work of development and coding simpler, easier, and trackable. Quick Base is also suited for breaking down barriers and silos, and helping work across teams function smoothly and simply.
For non-technical developers like myself or just entry-level devs, Quick Base is one of the best tools! There are so many options for development and project or product management, but honestly Quick Base is the simplest to use, the best-designed interface, and the most robust of features. I was able to handle my own despite only knowing code from Lynda tutorials.
Read Jared Hansen's full review
Jeffrey Rogerson | TrustRadius Reviewer
December 20, 2019

Quick Base Is A Powerful and Flexible Tool, But Does Require Time and Knowledge To Get Best Results

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
  • The entire organization uses Quick Base, and it does EVERYTHING for us.
  • CRM
  • Tee Time Management - allows both staff, members, and the general public the opportunity to access our tee sheet, 24 hours and day, seven days a week.
  • Event Management - All event details are captured on an application, and it allows us to manage who, when, what, where, and why they will be at our facility.
  • Asset Management - Our complete fleet of everything is captured in Quick Base. Quick Base allows for quick updates to all moving stock from golf carts to mowers to the chairs in the dining room. We know precisely when, where, and for how much, plus allows us to plan for depreciation and obsolescence.
  • Versatile - Can be built for pretty much any application or data capture need.
  • Fast - It loads fast, and although it's mobile interface was poor, it is being improved.
  • Mobile Interface - although it is getting better, and although mobile and tablets are leading edge for user interface with most applications, Quick Base does have some work to do to improve their mobile presence.
  • A little Complicated - Although it is advertised as a no-code database, the fact is you will require some expertise to get full value from this powerful software.
Quick Base has been well suited for use in several different scenarios, but it requires a dedicated person who is capable of programming and managing the software.
It is excellent for simple lists but have found it not useful as a manipulative tool trying to derive comparative scenario's or data between records.
I would say that without some database structure knowledge, you will find Quick Base a challenging platform and probably not build the application with the results you envision. Although called no code, you will need some relevant skills to create an application that does more significant work than a simple spreadsheet.
Read Jeffrey Rogerson's full review
Daniel Salgado | TrustRadius Reviewer
December 16, 2019

Quick Base empowers business-oriented professionals to build the solutions only they can come up with.

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
QB is used across various departments for a variety of processes. We have created various apps for the following functions: transportation management system, Human Resources, inventory, project management, artwork and print design management, claim processing, production scheduling and performance analytics, document library, supplemental customer order processing tool, visitor log with check in/out, company knowledgebase, and more.
  • Quick Base offers an easy platform for low code developers to build relational databases as apps.
  • The Visual Builder makes it easy for anyone to create a new database and automatically generates starter reports and data entry forms to get your app off the ground within minutes.
  • The mobile interface, although it is easy on the eyes, lacks functionality.
  • The mobile interface should allow views for all reports, not just some list reports.
Quick Base can be used across almost any department or business function. We currently have solutions in place for warehouse management, shipping & receiving, production, human resources, maintenance management, guest management, asset management, purchasing (from forecasting to quote management), and more. We continue to build every day making new apps and improving existing apps.
Quick Base requires very little technical know-how which allows process-minded professionals to build their ideas to solve issues. The Quick Base University is a great place for anyone to get started and learn the ropes of QB. Once completed, anyone should be able to build an app. Also, there are many 3rd-party developers out there ready to assist in the process and the QB online community is another wonderful resource for anyone who has a question or needs advice. If you can't build an app in QB, you can't build an app anywhere.
Read Daniel Salgado's full review
Mark Shnier | TrustRadius Reviewer
April 07, 2020

QuickBase is an Awesome empowering tool for rapid app development by non technical users

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
My clients use QuickBase to automate functions that their main computer system does not handle and where Excel just won't cut it. My client base spans massive companies and very small companies.
  • manages workflow
  • very granular control over security access as to what each user can see and edit at the record or even field level.
  • very agile to make changes quickly.
  • Mobile is weak (but there at least is a mobile interface) , but they are working on a proper mobile app that non technical users will be able to deploy to the Apple App Store and presumably Google Play.
Quick Base is an amazing product. because it can be configured by nontechnical users to quickly deployed web-based "apps"
You need to have an employee who has the right aptitude. I tell my clients that if they have an employee who knows how to do a VOOKUP in excel then they have the mindset to be able to master Quick Base. There is lots of resources available to help learn the product - video courses, certification, online help text, and a strong user to user community for online peer to peer self-help.
Read Mark Shnier's full review
Rama Davis | TrustRadius Reviewer
November 12, 2019

Quick Base is the top no code/low code platform with capabilities you cannot find elsewhere!

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
As a Quick Base Solution Partner, we both use Quick Base for our own project management purposes, as well as implementing and managing many applications of all sorts for our clients.
  • Quick Base handles all forms of project management very well! At MCFTech we use it for our own project management, and resource loading practices, as a service-based company, this is extremely helpful to customize the applications to suit our specific business.
  • Quick Base also handles CRM very well. Again, we use Quick Base to handle our own internal CRM, as well as building and managing CRM applications for many clients.
  • Quick Base integrates with other systems quite well. The recent acquisition of the CloudPipes iPaas adds to their already robust and easy to use options for integrating Quick Base applications with other data sources.
  • Quick Base has room for improvement in the UI features. I know the product team at QuickBase is hard at work on these things, and I am excited to see how the UI changes in the future to more modern standards and elements.
Quick Base is very well suited for almost any kind of business application. The ease of development and robust capabilities make it perfect for customizing business applications to the specific needs of any business.

For intensive accounting and finance applications, I would recommend software that is designed specifically to handle these tasks. While Quick Base applications can certainly be designed for these purposes, the more specific financial programs will have functionality that is designed specifically for accounting and finance, and features that are extremely helpful in these areas.
Quick Base is really tailored for the 'do it yourself' business users. New builders can learn the skills quickly in the Quick Base University, and create impactful applications very quickly and easily. However, the platform also lends itself to the highly technical builders as well as non-technical users.
Read Rama Davis's full review
Nima Shafaee, MBA, PMP, B.Eng | TrustRadius Reviewer
October 24, 2019

Good for basic automation

Score 2 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use Quick Base to capture issues, triage them, and assign them to different people. We have also linked it to email accounts so that when customers send us emails, it automatically populates a quick base ticket to get triaged.
  • Automated linking to emails.
  • Assigning tickets quickly.
  • Email notifications on updates.
  • The new updated interface is needed.
  • Mobile-friendliness.
  • No ability to have a private chat with another user (only emails back and forth).
It is useful for very basic ticket tracking and assignment, but for smaller teams, it does not have advanced real-time collaboration features needed for bigger cross-functional teams that need to interact quickly and often. There is no ability to drag and drop tickets to different teams and categories, and no ability to drag and drop files or view screenshots without download. It is a very primitive interface and technology compared to today's standards of functionality and design.
Technical knowledge is required by the IT team to setup Quick Base. It took us a couple of weeks to get going on it.
Read Nima Shafaee, MBA, PMP, B.Eng's full review
Krunal Thakkar | TrustRadius Reviewer
February 13, 2020

Quick Base Review

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use Quick Base for internal and external purposes. Internally, we use it to manage the details of the employee and all the billing-related activities. Externally, we use it for our clients, for operation-related solutions and smooth business process.
  • Quick Base helps us with workflow-related activities.
  • Quick Base is a no-code or low-code application, so nontechnical people can also use it.
  • Quick Base is currently giving sync features to very limited applications where they should increase.
  • Quick Base is also giving facility for mobile applications but the summary report is not working there.
Quick Base is helpful where there are workflow-related activities, such as in an HR application.
Quick Base is a low-code application, so it is easy to use for the nontechnical people. But sometimes, using the API there can be difficult.
Read Krunal Thakkar's full review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
April 08, 2020

Great tool for lean development of processes.

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We are using Quickbase for things ranging from entry forms, data tracking and anything else that is required by our customers. We have managed to expand past our division to utilize the tool across our whole organization. The ease of use and the ability to rapidly develop applications is a great tool to have.
  • Database continuity allowed across the internet
  • Trigger notifications specific to an individual's preferences
  • Importing data with limited interaction
  • Webhooks should match the ease of use as the rest of the tool
  • More options for import types
  • Quick Bug resolution
Anyone can benefit from the use of this tool. If you transmitt emails back and forth and then include someone at the last minute they need to read the entire string. Quickbase allows for users to be brought up to speed in a quarter of the time because you build data as you utilize the system. Emails will be thrown away once their purpose is served.
We have many people who do some form of development and they have limited to zero coding experience. This is a system that is designed to provide the benefits of an IT department type application and only the skills of their area of expertise. If you know how the process works the odds of you creating a valuable platform is extremely high.
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
April 07, 2020

QuickBase - Custom End-to-End Business Platform

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Being a construction company, there is a plethora of available software out there, but they all are specialized to one area, not the entire business. This resulted in us using various types of software across the business and managing users and licensing was not efficient. We had CRM software, accounting software, marketing software, production software and the list goes on. Not to mention insane costs to use so many types of software. We tried all sorts of different platforms, each with their own benefits but ultimately we needed something that was a single-source solution for us. Something that could run our business end-to-end and allow to manage one system. That is when we found Quickbase. Quickbase is an amazing platform that has allowed us to eliminate of all the different software we were using and stick to one platform across the business. Quickbase is full featured and has all of the tools needed to create any type of business application out there and the learning curve for development is low. So low, that anyone in the business can create their own applications as well. Quickbase has not only saved our business money but it has streamlined processes and eliminated a lot of wasted office time that would have been spent using other platforms.
  • Data analysis and business reporting: Being able to create detailed reports and charts in a matter of minutes is such a useful tool for a business. Having all business data in one place and being able to see it quickly is very important to us.
  • Custom Application Building: Like I said before, the development learning curve is so low that it allows "citizen developers" to take part in the development of business applications.
  • Simplicity: The user interface is not tainted by fancy views, it is simple and straight to the point.
  • Mobile: Quickbase Mobile is currently not the best interface to use on a mobile device and having this would allow us to integrate Quickbase in more areas of our business, like field services.
  • Developer programs. It would be nice if quickbase offered developer licenses as the system cost is rather high for an individual to use to become a developer of the platform. Having a developer license could greatly increase exposure and functionality of the platform by reducing adoption barriers.
  • Field categories. When a table has a lot of fields, it can be hard to manage. It would be nice if the admin could categorize fields for better management.
For us, Quickbase is an end-to-end software with limitless possibilities. We are able to create applications that suit our business, rather than some construction software that tries to treat all businesses the same. Every business has different processes and procedures and having a platform that can adapt to this is key. Quickbase is an enterprise platform which is great but it does not suit smaller businesses (1-10 users) as the cost could outweigh the benefits.
Really the only thing needed to create fabulous applications is some database design knowledge and how relationships between fields/tables work. Other than that, Quickbase has a very nice library of webinars and support areas to quickly learn the basics of the system.
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
April 08, 2020

Quick and Robust System That Can Meet Your Every Need

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Our main use for Quick Base is as a tool for our clients, in the oil and gas industry, to manage their assets and compliance with government regulations. We use it in house as well to track company licenses, trademarks, contracts etc. as well as for the internal audits that we perform for our clients on their behalf.
  • Asset and Task Management - Quick Base is a user friendly tool to manage your assets and tasks on a daily basis.
  • Auditing/Inspections - Quick Base makes it easy for auditors to go through an audit/inspection fairly easily and then report out to the client their findings.
  • Graphical reporting - Quick Base needs to allow users to set max and min, tick mark frequency and apply a background to their graphical reports. This will help keep things consistant across multiple graphs and allow for the third dimension of graphing with a background.
  • Easier implementation of many to many relationships - this is not very critical since the work around already in place works well, though there are a few circumstances when the work around causes more complexity than needed.
Asset/Task Management, Project Management, Auditing, Financing, etc.
I haven't had any trouble with getting new users up and running with using the software. Reporting, record creation, record editing and other user functionality is relatively straight forward and I have seen it take less than 2-3 months for most users to figure out the ropes. As far as more backend administration, there is a learning curve, though anyone that has worked with Access or other database systems, should be able to figure it out rather quickly.
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
April 08, 2020

Quickbase is worthy of your time to review

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Quickbase is a superbly flexible product that we use to address IT asset management, supplier management, CMDB details, contract storage/reminders and management. A premium product with a premium price, we looked at cheaper options but decided that the additional cost was worth it.

However, when your users rise above 60-70 as ours is close to, then the cost starts to be questioned - QuickBase needs to review the user cost for companies using this number of users.

It does exactly what it says on the tin - a relational database in the cloud, it is reliable, very customisable and easy to use and develop with.

Their support is superb. Screen design is the weak area (fonts, sizing, layout, etc.) but queries, import/export, entry, design, reporting are excellent and meet all of our needs.
  • Relation database - It is very good.
  • Cloud solution - Zero impact and footprint internally.
  • So easy to set up and train.
  • Screen design and layout - too basic.
  • Cost of user licenses, fine for 5-10 but way too high for users with 50 plus. You also need to introduce a developer's license allowing a sole developer (or myself at home!) to have a single license to keep my hand in.
  • Group permissions - messy and have the old design - not intuitive.
QuickBase is well suited for:

  • Excel and Access replacement.
  • Asset management.
  • Basic workflow (but it's not SharePoint!).
  • Any thing where a database is used extensively.
Zero. Can be used by anyone with basic IT skills. This really is one of its best points. Just give it to end users and let them write their own apps.
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
April 07, 2020

All-in-one!

Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
It is currently being used by one department, our goal is to have more departments incorporate it. Currently we use it for tracking purposes, to keep record(s) of what potential clients are looking for (e.g. leasing a Boeing 747 or buying a Boeing 737 etc.). This allows us to have sufficient information saved in a database and be able to export it easily based on what information we are looking to pull (e.g. leases only, and buying only, clients only in a specific country, etc).
  • Creating databases, allows for easy export into multiple types of reports/charts
  • Customization, allows you to deicide what information you want to display and find most applicable to the database you are creating, which is great for a company with multiple departments (i.e business group, administrative, marketing)
  • At this time I don’t have any suggestions for improvement
For our company, the one department utilizing it uses it for possible sales transactions, building a potential client database, and following up on potential leads, and at any point share that information within the company. It's a great tool that increases collaboration and enables you to simplify data and share your reports/charts with team members.
I am not an IT person by any means nor am I always great with new software. But I found Quickbase for the most part easy to understand, however I still have a lot more to learn. But there are a lot of great tutorials that definitely help the understanding process.
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
April 07, 2020

If Excel and the Internet had a child, QuickBase would be it

Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We leveraged Quickbase to meet a client need for a scalable web-app to rapidly build capabilities they couldn't do with some of their on-prem ones.
  • Online databases
  • Project management
  • Web forms
  • Mobile apps / better native mobile support
  • User interface
  • Pricing (too high for some organizations)
Can best automate processes done manually via Excel today for an organization.
Developing was easy - really it's not developing at all since you can point & click through the various wizards and configuratiors Quickbase has. On top of that, there are thousands of pre-built app templates on the marketplace so chances are someone has already built something very similar to what you are looking for.
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
December 05, 2019

A "Base" which can solve your business related problems

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Quick Base is being used by my whole organization. We have developed our own HRMS and we are making different apps for others too. It is easy to use as a user as well as to build a brand new app from scratch. We have to automate most of the manual processes through this.
  • Reports are the one of the best things that Quick Base does well.
  • Developers doesn't have to code much for small things, many of the things are inbuilt. We just have to choose among them.
  • Charts and graphs are also one of the best things.
  • The automation doesn't work in some conditions.
  • Reports can't be downloaded from mobile view.
  • Table structure is very simple.
We've used it for customers who have approached us to manage their invoices and other related info. In the Quick Base app, we are providing them all sort of features which might be needed in the future also. Charts, graphs and especially reports are far better than an Excel sheets. Through some of the formulas, we can make our app more user-friendly.
If a person is having a technical background than it is very much easy to build and deploy a new app but if it is from a non-technical background than also it is not that much hard. That is the specialty, it is simple to use and to build. Many of my colleagues are from a non-technical background and they are very much comfortable to use it. In starting we have to tell the flow of Quick Base to them.
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
January 29, 2020

Great tool for your business

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use Quick Base in our marketing department to create tools and channels for advertising and brand awareness. Other departments use the Quick Base to create apps for project management and customer support purposes. The software allows solving some business challenges in different areas quickly, even without strong technical knowledge.
  • Accessibility - easy to access from anywhere
  • User friendly
  • Set up process could use some improvement.
  • Would be great if they offer some short, but quickly understandable video tutorials.
Well suited for small teams and tasks with small data sets. They have to work on the software to improve it to be more suitable for enterprise.
In our team, most of the users have at least a bit of technical background, so for us, the QuickBase is pretty easy to operate with. I would say, for entry-level developers, it will be straightforward to work with QuickBase, for people who do not have any technical knowledge, some little help might be needed.
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
December 09, 2019

Quick Base for the win!

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Quick Base is used across our whole organization and addresses a variety of problems. In my department specifically, we mainly use it for job tracking. This includes small, quick jobs and jobs that last over a long period of time. It's used from the start of the job to the very end when we receive payment from our customers.
  • Very easy to use.
  • Easy to customize.
  • Possibilities are endless on what can be tracked!
  • More advanced reporting.
  • Even more user specific roles.
Quick Base is well suited to track the various stages of jobs/projects, but some of the reporting could be improved. They do offer a lot of reporting options, but I think they can do better!
I don't find it difficult at all to build new applications in Quick Base. At times we do require assistance from our IT personnel if we are trying to accomplish something that is not native in Quick Base.
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
October 24, 2019

NonProfits on Quick Base

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
It is being used across the whole organization from IT to Reporting to Timesheets and HR.
  • Customizable.
  • Easy to use.
  • Easy to learn.
  • Sometimes, it's a little clunky.
  • The solutions need to be designed by your team unless you want to spend lots of money.
  • Mobile is not good.
Well suited for nonprofits and companies with very specific and different projects where something on the market just won't do. Not great if you need mobile usage.
I think it does take a while for someone to pick it up if they are completely a novice on the technical side of things. I think for first time builders it will take a couple of months to have a firm grasp of how to do things but they can start doing basic building withing a couple of days.
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
January 31, 2020

Quickbase makes it hard to cancel the subscription

Score 1 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We used Quickbase in our midwest division. We used it to schedule jobs for our service technicians.
  • Quickbase is easy to use.
  • Quickbase has good reporting features.
  • Difficult to cancel your subscription. They didn't accept my first cancellation and are now charging us for an extra month.
Too hard to cancel subscription. After being a customer for 8+ years they are dinging us for one extra month.
Read this authenticated review
Wendy Shoef | TrustRadius Reviewer
July 11, 2019

My relationship with Quick Base

Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Our main reason for using Quick Base is for case management. We have to report to several different government agencies as well as track and manage data for our clients. Within case management, we have implemented task management and template based correspondence. We also use it for other issues such as employee onboarding, employee equipment tracking, supply ordering, scheduling meetings, resource list, contact management, and community outreach.
  • Easy to get going quickly. With just a few clicks, a little data entry, then voila you have a form and report automatically created by Quick Base for you.
  • Great support team. They're super quick to get back to you when you can't find an answer in the knowledge base or community.
  • Customized dashboards based on user role makes it easy to make sure each team member has easy access to the tables, forms, and reports they need.
  • Availability across multiple platforms and devices. Our team has such a variety of devices. Some use PC's, some Macs, some tablets. Having it all online and accessible has been super useful.
  • Customization is lacking. Font sizes, background colors for form fields, adding images to forms and reports, etc. These are all big issues for us. We keep working around it but it's not ideal and we have to use a lot of hacks and a lot of unnecessary development time that could be better spent in other areas. Not being able to have a customized header and footer has been really difficult. We have to use a lot of forms for our reports because they are easier to customize but when you email and print they don't look good. We've had to lower the quality of our deliverables to our clients which we get complaints on frequently.
  • Notification emails only allow for a predefined user list or one email. We often have to send a notification to multiple people. So rather than everyone getting the same email at the same time, we have to send out separate emails or email ourselves then forward so everyone can respond. Once again, extra time and effort that could be better spent providing services to the community (we're a non-profit).
  • Lack of integration. You can use third parties but the cost becomes too much especially as a non-profit. It's hard to justify spending thousands a month on integrations for our team when we work off of grants and charitable donations. So being able to integrate with Outlook or Word to get around the lack of customization is not affordable and then you're dependent on a third party as well as Quick Base.
  • Inability to perform searches on the data directly. Having used Access, SQL, and MySQL it's very limiting being restrained by Quick Base. Report links and lookup fields work but it's ridiculous that the workaround is including (sometimes hundreds of) lookup fields. This, of course, adds to the time of development needed and also slows down the tables.
  • Not having many-to-many relationships. While the hacks work, for the most part, the amount of extra development time that is needed to tweak the tables, the forms, and the reports adds up. This is also why reporting can only come from child up which once again, you have to spend so much time on hacks to display the data you want.
  • Lack of instructions available. While Quick Base university is quite good, doing a google search usually entails wading through a bunch of Quick Base community questions. At the beginning of development and for simple things, it's always easy to find the answers but as development continues and more customization to your company's business model is required it gets harder to find solutions. I'm sure as time goes by it'll be better as there will be more information available.
Quick Base is well suited to a company that can spend substantial funds on integrations, or if they only need data collection and are not concerned with the way in which the data is delivered. I would not recommend this to small businesses that are on tight budgets or that want reports that are easy to understand, look nice, or have a lot of requirements.
For simple data collection and management, Quick Base is really easy especially if you use their Quick Base University. By far the Quick Base University is a huge selling point and a major factor in getting over the learning curve. There are plenty of examples and the Quick Base App Exchange is great to get an already working template that you can customize.
Read Wendy Shoef's full review
Samantha Crandall | TrustRadius Reviewer
June 06, 2019

Quick Base for Live Data

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Quick Base is being used by our customers in order for them to share biology sample data with our company in a live manner.
  • Live updates - when our customers update the data, our company can see it right away.
  • Downloadable reports.
  • Easy access anywhere with a Wifi connection - just needs the URL.
  • Very customizable to the fields you need.
  • Not all of our customers have added a date sorting area so this may be unknown to them on how to use.
  • Visibility 'look' - lots of scrolling involved in the spreadsheet-like data.
  • Not intuitive to go to reports and charts in each tab to see pre-made reports.
Quick Base is great for live data reporting for multiple stakeholders to access. It is great for highly detailed data and for viewing that data in various formats. It is not as good for the presentation of the data. The charts and downloadable reports would need to be adjusted for live presentation to those not familiar with the data.
Multiple of our customers have been able to build applications on QuickBase who do not have computer tech skills. I do not think they would have to get help from IT personnel, as long as they were not quite at beginning levels of computer savviness (using computers currently for at least 5 years). The time required to build applications has usually been less than 1 week.
Read Samantha Crandall's full review

Feature Scorecard Summary

Visual Modeling (12)
7.3
Drag-and-drop Interfaces (12)
7.0
Platform Security (14)
7.5
Platform User Management (14)
7.4
Reusability (14)
7.4
Platform Scalability (14)
6.8

About Quick Base

Quick Base aims to empower businesses to quickly turn ideas into applications that make them more efficient, informed, and productive. The vendor’s value proposition is that by using Quick Base, anyone — regardless of technical background — can quickly create business apps they can use and share with others.
Categories:  Low-Code Development

Quick Base Features

Has featureLow-code platform for rapid application development
Has featureAdvanced user management
Has featureFast, flexible, unlimited reports
Has featureAPIs
Has featureCode-free integrations with other leading cloud apps
Has featureCustom password policies
Has featureCase-based support
Has featureUnlimited customizable roles
Has featureSAML or LDAP integration
Has featureEasy point-and-click customization
Has featureBuilt-in workflows such as reminders, subscriptions, and notifications
Has featureFast, flexible reporting
Has featureAdvanced user management and unlimited roles and permissions

Quick Base Screenshots

Quick Base Video

Watch What is Quick Base? Hear it from our customers.

Quick Base Downloadables

Quick Base Integrations

Quick Base Competitors

FileMaker Pro, Zoho Creator, WizeHive Zengine, Mendix, OutSystems, ServiceNow, Appian, Salesforce Lightning Platform (formerly Salesforce App Cloud)

Pricing

  • Has featureFree Trial Available?Yes
  • Does not have featureFree or Freemium Version Available?No
  • Does not have featurePremium Consulting/Integration Services Available?No
  • Entry-level set up fee?No
EditionPricing DetailsTerms
Premier$25per user
Platform$40per user
EnterpriseCustomThey'll work with you to customize a plan to your unique requirements

Quick Base Support Options

 Free VersionPaid Version
Phone
Email
Forum/Community
FAQ/Knowledgebase
Social Media
Video Tutorials / Webinar

Quick Base Technical Details

Deployment Types:SaaS
Operating Systems: Unspecified
Mobile Application:Mobile Web
Supported Languages: English