TrustRadius
https://dudodiprj2sv7.cloudfront.net/product-logos/6J/d1/6907GPDBP0VI.PNGQuick Base is the #1 Cloud Based Data Management ToolQuick Base is being used in a few different business units within the company to manage data associated to our portfolio of assets. Like many other companies, we struggled with having multiple spreadsheets and documents where information associated to our projects lived. We needed a cloud-based solution to consolidate the data sources into a dynamic database, and we have found a solution with Quick Base.,Intuitive and user-friendly Building apps is reasonably easy Quick Base is customer focused and is adding functionality regularly,It's a database but we would like to use the tool for analytics due the type of information we have in it. They're working on a true mobile app now but that has been something we have wanted. System reports could used some better formatting.,10,Yes, we have a few apps for our different operations and we would not be where we are today without Quick Base. It gives everyone in the company more access to information than they have ever had in the past. The downside is now that they have the information they want more! We partnered with a consultant to help us build the applications we have from a technical standpoint, and then we created dashboards and reports ourselves. The third party consultants have been crucial to the success of the tool.,Salesforce App Cloud, MRI Residential Management, Yardi Property Management and Argus,If you start building an app without any real experience I would say it's going to be challenging. The interface and controls they have in place make it really easy for an experience builder, but I am not sure if a non-technical user would be able to just hop in and build an app. I would recommend using the training programs they offer or hiring a consultant build your app.,Building and deploying business applications faster Improving our ability to drive insights from our data Improving collaboration across one or more teams Solving a specific business challenge Building and deploying an application (or multiple applications) that meets our exact needs,Updates are pretty simple from my perspective. Any time we have an update we evaluate what we are trying to accomplish and how it fits into our environment in the app. We discuss the process, map it and then build it. The product is so flexible it's hard for me to think of a scenario where we struggled updating an app.A practical assessment of a much anticipated system upgrade for the whole company! Quick Base, come on down!!!!!Previously, we had information stored in multiple systems. It would take 3 or 4 different searches just to be able to figure out what account we were trying to troubleshoot. Having Quick Base connect each of these systems we're able to find multiple sets of information now from one single search. The process requires less switching back and forth and copying and pasting and allows for more time to simply focus on the issue at hand.,Customizing forms for different departments speeds up processes because you don't have to read or fill out unnecessary information. Customization allows for multiple work styles to work simultaneously while not interfering with each other. On the fly updates make sticky points so much easier to fix. Frustration is lower because you know that if it really does bother you, there's probably a better or faster way of doing it.,There are still some control element styles I'd like, namely with tagging and searching multiple choices. It would be nice to be able to search and hit enter and have the first entry populate rather than having to click it and the search begin again. Kind of like tags work in YouTube. Speed is always an issue. Loading pages sometimes can take a while. But usually that can be changed by improving the forms or relationships, but it's not always apparent how to do that. I'd really like to be able to click on a location/section and have an option to exclude it from view or functionality based on specific users or roles.,10,I think half the reason it took us so long to switch systems is the adoption rate. Quick Base makes adoption so much easier because you can customize just about everything. You can't please everyone, but Quick Base certainly tries and comes pretty darn close.,Google Drive, Dropbox, OneDrive, Trello and Microsoft Office 2016,I think it really depends on how customized you want your app to be. The more complex requirements, the better understanding of relational databases is needed. I have a base knowledge and even then I get stuck wondering why I can't just choose a field from another table or why it's taking me to the other one and not the one I want. See, my terminology is even off, and if that's not well defined, you can have a bit of difficulty, but the nice thing is that the support is excellent, so even if you are stuck, there's usually some there to get you un-stuck.,Improving our ability to drive insights from our data Improving collaboration across one or more teams Solving a specific business challenge Building and deploying an application (or multiple applications) that meets our exact needs,I've been updating our application on a day to day basis and depending on what you're updating, it's usually pretty easy. As long as you're not changing the relationship or table names, you're probably in no danger or making things worse.Quick Base - A powerful tool to transform your businessQuick Base is used throughout our payroll division in North America. It's become a true cradle to grave application that allows us to manage our business while integrating with many platforms of our own. Its flexibility has made it an aggregator of data that allows us to get a consolidated view of our division.,Integration with Salesforce, CSV files, QuickBooks, SFTP, Drop Box, Drive, and our own Sage Intacct. From simple to complex applications Great community of users to share and find solutions,Email integration is available for Outlook and Exchange but it's not practical to store each users email in a separate table The admin user should have better control over the UI as well as communication with end users,10,We've built, deployed and continue to thrive by using multiple applications in Quick Base. It's allowed us to transform our operation into a lean and profitable one.,Microsoft Dynamics 365 (formerly Microsoft Dynamics CRM), GoldMine, ServicePro and Salesforce.com,The beauty of Quick Base is that you can build applications that match your own skill set. Without any "technical" skills you can customize and implement an application from the library of hundreds of template applications. If you have the expertise to develop applications you can put them to good use as Quick Base allows for you to build the applications as you want them.,Building and deploying business applications faster Improving our ability to drive insights from our data Improving collaboration across one or more teams Solving a specific business challenge Building and deploying an application (or multiple applications) that meets our exact needs,I try to roll out changes when Quick Base does their monthly release. This limits the disruptions but also allows for a good mix of changes to our custom applications alongside new features from Quick Base. They could improve the sandbox features but there are enough ways to work in the production environment safely.QuickBase - A flexible and easy project management solutionWe have used Quickbase as our primary ERP software for the past several years. We use it to allow our employees to manage top down from the director level to the project manager to the inside field manager to the technician on site. It allows us to capture virtually any type of data (time on site, specific inputs, etc.). It also allows everyone to see the work loads and individual schedules.,Flexible - It allows for virtually any type of input and in many ways is limited only by the skill of your programmer. Segmentation - Allows for as many parents/child tables as necessary allowing you to store your data however you choose. Simple - The coding was relatively easy to learn and straightforward.,Limited user permissions - The permissions in Quickbase are done by role rather than user. It would require creating individual roles for each user to restrict views and also enable views. Dashboards and all tables are limited by roles rather than users. Limited support - Quickbase does not have the support that other more widely used softwares do. This cannot make learning the code for difficult solutions even more difficult. Single Table Views - I am not able to create multiple table views for the same user. All of the data must be included in the same table and manipulated by the inputs within the table. This is still very flexible, but can be rather cumbersome to code. Limited Data Extraction - They have a data cap for .csv extraction. I was required to purchase a third Party ODBC to be able to pull data from Quickbase into Crystal Reports. This solution, however, worked great.,9,One of the main benefits of Quickbase is its flexibility. You are able to adapt modules and tables on the go and with minimal limitation. It is, however, limited by the standard database Parent/Child relationships, which seem to fluster many, but that should be expected. With proper organization of your tables and understanding of databases Quickbase suffers very few additional limits and all can be worked out or around.,MS SharePoint,As I have mentioned earlier, the language of Quickbase is relatively simple and similar to that of Excel. Simple applications could be created by people with limited developing experience, but to create more complex and robust applications it will require time and experience. Application creation can range from a simple application being created within an hour to very complex application requiring days or even weeks. Application creation time is, obviously, dependent upon the individual's experience and ability.,Building and deploying business applications faster Improving our ability to drive insights from our data Improving collaboration across one or more teams Solving a specific business challenge Building and deploying an application (or multiple applications) that meets our exact needs,I have developed, maintained, and updated numerous Quickbase applications. The code and the organization thereof has always been simple and straightforward. Sometimes it can be difficult to find the specific setting for a desired output and you will spend some time searching through the many different settings pages, but once you locate it you will be able to achieve the desired outcome every time. The support for the Quickbase code and settings is also somewhat limited when compared to other larger more widely used softwares, which can be frustrating when trying to find answers, but over all it has been a positive experience.,50,1Quick Base - The quick and easy way to get everyone on the same pageQuick Base is our primary (and only!) CRM solution. We use it across the organization to manage lead generation, to track the sales process, and to provide everyone with immediate access to our customers' - past and current - contact information, product license information, and past history of support issues.Additionally, we use it to track the features, release dates, and other pertinent information about our software. Quick Base has solved the primary issue for which we implemented it. We were using three, or maybe even four, completely separate CRM systems for sales, support, and general info. Quick Base has allowed us to get everything into one system, and to clean up the widely-disparate styles of data entry. Reports that used to take days to generate using SQL queries from the various databases, spreadsheets, and good old pencil and paper now really and truly are generated with about four clicks of the mouse. Choose the report, choose the filters, and go. We love Quick Base.,Rapid development and implementation of the solution. No database experience is necessary (though it can be helpful). No coding experience is necessary. A completely new user can have something quite respectable to show for his/her work in under an hour. Of course, a more complicated database/app requires more work. Quick Base is scalable. I personally know people who use Quick Base in organizations that are thousands of times larger than ours. Quick Base support is amazing, as is the Quick Base customer community. I have yet to have a question that someone can't answer, and answer understandably - and often the answer already exists. Quick Base allows (depending on permissions) each user to pull his/her own reports, style the data pages in ways that fit their needs, and push information to others in a meaningful and useful way. Admins have different needs from tech support, yet they can all use the same database, just view the information differently.,Some of the scaling on the screen doesn't always play well, particularly when printing a report. The on-screen form view constrains fields oddly. But you can work around this by judicious placing of fields on forms. The labels on checkbox fields are in an awkward place.,10,The building of our first app was, quite honestly, painful. BUT it was not the fault of Quick Base. Rather, it was the fault of three different systems, with different database structures and less-than-optimum standardization of data entry, all of which had to be collated into one Quick Base "app." But once it was built and the data cleanly migrated/entered, WOW. Want a different view? Bingo, it's done. Need something completely different, like a way to track inbound phone leads? Snap your fingers and there it is. My boss used to ask me for reports from our old system, and it would take me the better part of a day to get the info he needed. Now, he gets the information himself and formats it how he wants it. Yes, much faster, much easier - and much more fun.,act!, BridgeTrak, Sage Accounting and Microsoft CRM,Absolutely no help required from IT, unless of course, you are not allowed to upload or download information. (Uploading spreadsheets is a great way to get data entered in the first place.) It is all web-based, so really all you need is a browser on a computer. A desktop/laptop works better; I personally wouldn't want to try developing an app on a tablet or phone. A basic knowledge of relational databases is useful, but it can also be picked up on the fly. And there are a multitude of how-to posts and videos available to walk you through just about anything you can't figure out. A rather sophisticated application can be built in about five clicks if you download one of the many amazing pre-built apps in the Quick Base library. They can also be customized with great ease, renaming fields, removing fields, and adding relationships. Maintaining an app is almost not a task - Quick Base does a fantastic job of updating the back end on a monthly basis. The only maintenance necessary would be of the internal "why do we even need this field" sort of thing.,Building and deploying business applications faster Improving our ability to drive insights from our data Improving collaboration across one or more teams Solving a specific business challenge Building and deploying an application (or multiple applications) that meets our exact needs,Well, Quick Base doesn't develop applications. The user develops them on the Quick Base platform, but Quick Base has nothing to do with the development or the update process. Think of it like Legos. The Lego company provides the blocks, but what you build out of the blocks is up to you. Whether it works or not is up to you. How you change it, using the available blocks, is up to you. If your tower falls, it's not the fault of the Legos. Having said all that, one thing that helps a lot - and that many people omit and later wish they hadn't omitted - is to carefully document the use of each field as the app is developed. For example, when two years down the road you go to change something, you don't inadvertently cause chaos by changing a field you sort of remembered as being non-essential. Quick Base provides all sorts of safeguards, from showing you exactly where in each app the field is used: how many times, in which formulae, what relationships use the field, what forms and reports use the field, and that sort of thing. Just remember, what you do with Quick Base doesn't really have much to do with what Quick Base does. You control your app, your fields, your relationships, your tables, your reports, and your users.,Yes,Price Product Features Product Usability Vendor Reputation Positive Sales Experience with the Vendor,I really don't think we would have changed anything. We did thorough research, we had trials of several products, we discussed what the ramifications of maintaining the status quo would be, and we are happy with our decision.,Reports - sorting, filtering, and arranging the data are almost mindless. Exporting data - get what you want (see above), click, and you have a totally editable and usable set of data in a file/spreadsheet Jazzing it up visually - adding colored tabs, icons, and images to guide the user,Setting up table-to-table relationships - even if you understand this, learning another system's terminology is challenging Seeing how your tables are connected - I really think there should be a better way to see what fields are available and how they are related. Knowing where to go for help. There are almost too many options: standard help, user community, knowledge base, feedback, personal support rep. . .,Yes, but I don't use it,10
Unspecified
Quick Base
463 Ratings
Score 8.1 out of 101
TRScore

Quick Base Reviews

Quick Base
463 Ratings
Score 8.1 out of 101
Top Rated Award
Show Filters 
Hide Filters 
Filter 463 vetted Quick Base reviews and ratings
Clear all filters
Overall Rating
Reviewer's Company Size
Last Updated
By Topic
Industry
Department
Experience
Job Type
Role
Reviews (1-25 of 302)
  Vendors can't alter or remove reviews. Here's why.
September 27, 2018

Review: "Quick Base is the #1 Cloud Based Data Management Tool"

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Quick Base is being used in a few different business units within the company to manage data associated to our portfolio of assets. Like many other companies, we struggled with having multiple spreadsheets and documents where information associated to our projects lived. We needed a cloud-based solution to consolidate the data sources into a dynamic database, and we have found a solution with Quick Base.

  • Intuitive and user-friendly
  • Building apps is reasonably easy
  • Quick Base is customer focused and is adding functionality regularly
  • It's a database but we would like to use the tool for analytics due the type of information we have in it.
  • They're working on a true mobile app now but that has been something we have wanted.
  • System reports could used some better formatting.
We use Quick Base for both recurring and ad-hoc type reporting. For example, if I need to see what our current portfolio looks like I can just press a button and the report comes up for me to digest. This is something that would have taken much more time if it were in Excel and this why the tool is so valuable to us.
Where we get pushback from users is when they are trying to do weighted averages or complex formulas in a report that needs to go to management. It's not a financial modeling tool, but we want to get out of Excel as much as possible so it would be ideal to be able to do more formulas in the tool.
If you start building an app without any real experience I would say it's going to be challenging. The interface and controls they have in place make it really easy for an experience builder, but I am not sure if a non-technical user would be able to just hop in and build an app. I would recommend using the training programs they offer or hiring a consultant build your app.
Read Taylor Adams's full review
July 23, 2018

Review: "A practical assessment of a much anticipated system upgrade for the whole company! Quick Base, come on down!!!!!"

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Previously, we had information stored in multiple systems. It would take 3 or 4 different searches just to be able to figure out what account we were trying to troubleshoot. Having Quick Base connect each of these systems we're able to find multiple sets of information now from one single search. The process requires less switching back and forth and copying and pasting and allows for more time to simply focus on the issue at hand.
  • Customizing forms for different departments speeds up processes because you don't have to read or fill out unnecessary information.
  • Customization allows for multiple work styles to work simultaneously while not interfering with each other.
  • On the fly updates make sticky points so much easier to fix. Frustration is lower because you know that if it really does bother you, there's probably a better or faster way of doing it.
  • There are still some control element styles I'd like, namely with tagging and searching multiple choices. It would be nice to be able to search and hit enter and have the first entry populate rather than having to click it and the search begin again. Kind of like tags work in YouTube.
  • Speed is always an issue. Loading pages sometimes can take a while. But usually that can be changed by improving the forms or relationships, but it's not always apparent how to do that.
  • I'd really like to be able to click on a location/section and have an option to exclude it from view or functionality based on specific users or roles.
Quick Base is great when you have multiple spreadsheets, multiple systems or simply no system when you want to track business operations and stats. If your business process is simple and lightweight with little data, you might get by with a spreadsheet or one or two systems, but generally the more complex the system and more information you want to collect, Quick Base quickly becomes the better solution.
I think it really depends on how customized you want your app to be. The more complex requirements, the better understanding of relational databases is needed. I have a base knowledge and even then I get stuck wondering why I can't just choose a field from another table or why it's taking me to the other one and not the one I want. See, my terminology is even off, and if that's not well defined, you can have a bit of difficulty, but the nice thing is that the support is excellent, so even if you are stuck, there's usually some there to get you un-stuck.
Read Drew Woods's full review
July 22, 2018

Review: "Quick Base - A powerful tool to transform your business"

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Quick Base is used throughout our payroll division in North America. It's become a true cradle to grave application that allows us to manage our business while integrating with many platforms of our own. Its flexibility has made it an aggregator of data that allows us to get a consolidated view of our division.
  • Integration with Salesforce, CSV files, QuickBooks, SFTP, Drop Box, Drive, and our own Sage Intacct.
  • From simple to complex applications
  • Great community of users to share and find solutions
  • Email integration is available for Outlook and Exchange but it's not practical to store each users email in a separate table
  • The admin user should have better control over the UI as well as communication with end users
On a scale of 1-10 I'd give Quick Base a solid 11. It's well suited for just about any business solution you may need.
The beauty of Quick Base is that you can build applications that match your own skill set. Without any "technical" skills you can customize and implement an application from the library of hundreds of template applications. If you have the expertise to develop applications you can put them to good use as Quick Base allows for you to build the applications as you want them.
Read Joe Scola, CPP's full review
July 18, 2018

Quick Base Review: "QuickBase - A flexible and easy project management solution"

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We have used Quickbase as our primary ERP software for the past several years. We use it to allow our employees to manage top down from the director level to the project manager to the inside field manager to the technician on site. It allows us to capture virtually any type of data (time on site, specific inputs, etc.). It also allows everyone to see the work loads and individual schedules.
  • Flexible - It allows for virtually any type of input and in many ways is limited only by the skill of your programmer.
  • Segmentation - Allows for as many parents/child tables as necessary allowing you to store your data however you choose.
  • Simple - The coding was relatively easy to learn and straightforward.
  • Limited user permissions - The permissions in Quickbase are done by role rather than user. It would require creating individual roles for each user to restrict views and also enable views. Dashboards and all tables are limited by roles rather than users.
  • Limited support - Quickbase does not have the support that other more widely used softwares do. This cannot make learning the code for difficult solutions even more difficult.
  • Single Table Views - I am not able to create multiple table views for the same user. All of the data must be included in the same table and manipulated by the inputs within the table. This is still very flexible, but can be rather cumbersome to code.
  • Limited Data Extraction - They have a data cap for .csv extraction. I was required to purchase a third Party ODBC to be able to pull data from Quickbase into Crystal Reports. This solution, however, worked great.
I would recommend Quickbase for virtually all small business project management applications. It is flexible and simple to use, but it will require an in-house developer as most ERP softwares do, but due to its simple nature this person could be trained in-house. If you are a larger organization I would recommend looking elsewhere for something more robust.
As I have mentioned earlier, the language of Quickbase is relatively simple and similar to that of Excel. Simple applications could be created by people with limited developing experience, but to create more complex and robust applications it will require time and experience. Application creation can range from a simple application being created within an hour to very complex application requiring days or even weeks. Application creation time is, obviously, dependent upon the individual's experience and ability.
Read Sam Shannon, CAPM's full review
July 10, 2018

Review: "Quick Base - The quick and easy way to get everyone on the same page"

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Quick Base is our primary (and only!) CRM solution. We use it across the organization to manage lead generation, to track the sales process, and to provide everyone with immediate access to our customers' - past and current - contact information, product license information, and past history of support issues.Additionally, we use it to track the features, release dates, and other pertinent information about our software.

Quick Base has solved the primary issue for which we implemented it. We were using three, or maybe even four, completely separate CRM systems for sales, support, and general info. Quick Base has allowed us to get everything into one system, and to clean up the widely-disparate styles of data entry.

Reports that used to take days to generate using SQL queries from the various databases, spreadsheets, and good old pencil and paper now really and truly are generated with about four clicks of the mouse. Choose the report, choose the filters, and go.
We love Quick Base.
  • Rapid development and implementation of the solution. No database experience is necessary (though it can be helpful). No coding experience is necessary. A completely new user can have something quite respectable to show for his/her work in under an hour. Of course, a more complicated database/app requires more work.
  • Quick Base is scalable. I personally know people who use Quick Base in organizations that are thousands of times larger than ours.
  • Quick Base support is amazing, as is the Quick Base customer community. I have yet to have a question that someone can't answer, and answer understandably - and often the answer already exists.
  • Quick Base allows (depending on permissions) each user to pull his/her own reports, style the data pages in ways that fit their needs, and push information to others in a meaningful and useful way. Admins have different needs from tech support, yet they can all use the same database, just view the information differently.
  • Some of the scaling on the screen doesn't always play well, particularly when printing a report.
  • The on-screen form view constrains fields oddly. But you can work around this by judicious placing of fields on forms.
  • The labels on checkbox fields are in an awkward place.
Price-wise, unless you are a very rich small business, it doesn't make sense for anything much under 10 employees. I would love to use it for my church, but the price is prohibitive.
Amazingly well-suited for a company that wants one platform to solve multiple problems.
Quick Base is accessible from wherever you are via your phone or tablet or laptop/desktop. On the road? No problem. Working at home late at night? It's there.
A great time-saver is the dynamic search - a common thing, to be sure, but one that is very useful. Start typing in the search field and it filters as you type. I love it.
Absolutely no help required from IT, unless of course, you are not allowed to upload or download information. (Uploading spreadsheets is a great way to get data entered in the first place.) It is all web-based, so really all you need is a browser on a computer. A desktop/laptop works better; I personally wouldn't want to try developing an app on a tablet or phone.

A basic knowledge of relational databases is useful, but it can also be picked up on the fly. And there are a multitude of how-to posts and videos available to walk you through just about anything you can't figure out.

A rather sophisticated application can be built in about five clicks if you download one of the many amazing pre-built apps in the Quick Base library. They can also be customized with great ease, renaming fields, removing fields, and adding relationships.
Maintaining an app is almost not a task - Quick Base does a fantastic job of updating the back end on a monthly basis. The only maintenance necessary would be of the internal "why do we even need this field" sort of thing.
Read Beth Hilleke's full review
July 06, 2018

Quick Base Review: "QuickBase is the best platform I've found for developing custom applications for running a small business"

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We are an Internet marketing and website development company, founded in 2001. We use QuickBase across our entire company. We have about 45 employees in Golden, CO and another 25 technical developers in India. We use it to manage all of our processes and relationships. The main applications are CRM, project/task management, billing, time tracking and actuals-vs-budgets analysis, client lead generation tracking & analysis, employee role and team management, attendance, and a million other details (like client login accounts and information) that we need to manage our business.
  • project management and creation of new projects from templates
  • very flexible and adaptable database setup of tables, fields, formulas and relationships
  • low overhead scripting with Javascript, but usually not necessary because point-and-click setup features are so rich and adaptable
  • investment in the continued development of the platform has added many goods and used features since we started with QuickBase in 2015
  • I hate needing to go outside the QuickBase platform to do things in PHP and cron, but right now cron-based automations and actions are still weak
  • Performance can be a bit slow for bulk updates of 20k records or more
  • integrations with Google Apps are hard and require developer assistance
  • formula functions are good overall but several are very wonky and hard to implement, and overall functions would be much easier to use if they emulated industry standard platforms like Microsoft Access & Excel
  • I really miss the level of ease and functionality for setting up add/change/delete log tracking of records and fields that came built-in with Salesforce. From what I hear this is in the near future development pipeline for QuickBase.
  • there are ways to get around this limitation with a bunch of development work, but I really wish that QuickBase would implement real database integrity so that when a parent record is deleted, all of the children get deleted as well (obviously with confirming prompts and such)
  • Validation rules need to get broken out from forms and stand on their own within the database platform architecture. The big problem is that updates that are made through grid edit and through the API will not know about or adhere to validation rules. This is a terrible thing that can cause problems, and as far as I'm concerned, it is the single biggest loophole that QuickBase developers need to plug. At first, when we started with QuickBase, I almost felt like it was a deal-breaker, but overall we have lived with this limitation reasonably well. What I have to do is run through a long list of monthly integrity checking reports to find anomalies in the database that have crept in through this loophole.
  • Having a hard limit of 500 MB for a single table 's maximum size is rather harsh, and I have two tables in particular that I have to constantly beat back through various maintenance techniques to keep from running out of space. This is a big waste of my time, and we have to archive or purge a lot of data that our CEO would otherwise like to retain online!
It really shines for small companies who are constantly evolving and changing their business processes (e.g. all of us). It doesn't scale particularly well for larger companies who need to deal with millions of records and high performance. Overall, the performance is good. we have 79 different tables, and some tables have hundreds of thousands of records.
I think this area is very over-hyped by QuickBase marketing. I have 40 years of custom application development experience for small businesses. It takes a fair amount of knowledge, experience and aptitude to do custom application architecting and development where the app is done right the first time, and will work well in the long-term as future application additions and changes are thrown into the mix. Anyone can get anything working in a Google Sheet, but that doesn't mean it will be a good app that is able to be supported and extended going forward. Same thing with QuickBase. There is a little bit of investment of time that is required to be a good administrator, system architect and developer, even on QuickBase. Even with the depth of my experience, I still used a 3rd party QuickBase development partner for 3 to 6 months to learn the ropes quickly and get up to speed so that I wasn't creating a crap application. It really helps to understand how to think and develop in QuickBase before you start. It's different from Access, Excel, Salesforce, etc. Once you know how to think in QuickBase and some of the good tricks, everything flows very nicely. But there is a learning curve for anything as complex and sophisticated as the QuickBase platform.
Read Michael Barrow's full review
July 02, 2018

Quick Base Review: "QuickBase - Quick, Effective, and Insightful"

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
QuickBase is used throughout our organization in various capacities. It has addressed a number of business problems - job tracking, storing travel information and data about previous trips, project management, scheduling, reporting, and many others. We have been able to successfully integrate it with other software to build more robust apps.
  • The ability to integrate natively with other software is great - software like Salesforce and Zendesk are widely used, and setting up integrations with them is a snap.
  • Personalizing dashboards allows our users to only see what is relevant to them, so they are not bombarded by extraneous data.
  • Reports are easy to build and can be done on the fly, which is necessary in a fast-paced business.
  • I would like to see reports be more customizable. The reports that are available are not always able to be as complex as we would like.
  • Even though I am not on the billing account, I would like to be able to see a list of current users so that I have that information available when requesting approval for new licenses in my company.
In almost every case where a spreadsheet is being used to track information, QuickBase can provide a more effective solution. It is very appropriate in situations where multiple users must be able to access data at the same time.
A non-technical user should expect to spend 1-2 months learning the bones of QuickBase, and continue building their skills from there. No previous coding or IT experience is necessary, although understanding the rules of good database architecture will make the process of building an app much easier.
Read Kelly Hayes's full review
October 08, 2018

Quick Base Review: "I LOVE QuickBase and here is why..."

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
It's used across the entire organization and addresses a multitude of business process. From customer data, event management, project management, survey capturing, contact us forms, customer care ticket log, to communications management etc.
  • Easy to learn and flexible in use - It's very easy to learn and extremely flexible in use. Highly customizable. Provide training, help blogs & ready-to-implement templates.
  • Seamless flow between data capturing, business process & metrics - If you're going to capture data in QuickBase you'll automatically set up business process & metrics along with it.
  • Great Customer Service and regular enhancements - Their customer service is fast, friendly and helpful. Monthly releases ensure QuickBase stays flawless. At least 5 big new enhancements a year.
  • Calendar reporting
  • The calendar view of reports needs to be updated to function and look better.
I can't think of anything that I wouldn't be able to use QuickBase for. In some cases, it may require an expert to build out exactly what you need, but you can easily build your own application to manage projects, warehouse inventory, CRM, approval processes, budget tracking, event management, event registration, sales funnel analysis, volunteer management, employee management, collateral library etc.
If you know how to create an Excel sheet that fits your needs, you'll be able to create a QuickBase application. If you understand data relationships you'll be able to build more complex applications. If you know how to code, you can pretty much do anything you need. We have several non-technical employees that have built their own successful applications that are used to manage projects or for interacting with customers.
Read Gina Corona's full review
June 12, 2018

Review: "Quick Base, the one tool guaranteed to make you more efficient!"

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
I use Quick Base to manage my consultancy, manage time and generate invoices every month. I build and manage Applications for companies in 4 countries. Every client is in a different industry and uses Quick Base for different functions and purposes.
  • Quick Base enables effective, fast, centralized data capture and storage making teams more closely connected and integrated.
  • Offers reporting at a granular level and high level for management ensuring everyone is making the best decisions on the same data set.
  • Add new fields instantly, build reports in just minutes or an entire App in hours. Fastest no code development for non programmers.
  • Quick Base is online, so it is everywhere you are. This is critical for business travelers who need to connect with teams but build the business.
  • Background management of form rules and email notifications could be improved
  • Logging of individual activity does not yet exist natively
  • File attachment management, upload, and download needs improvement
Quick Base is not your accounting system replacement, but it is fantastic at CRM, Project and Program Management and everything in between. If it is on a spreadsheet Quick Base will do it better.
You do not need to know coding, HTML or javascript to start, but you should be ready and willing to learn basic elements through examples and help from the Community Forum which is an excellent source of help and has over 10 years of information most of which is still relevant today.
Read Laura Thacker (prev. Hillier)'s full review
June 11, 2018

User Review: "The World Runs on Quick Base"

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Quick Base started for us as a fairly standard way to meet our needs in the CRM and ITSM spaces. We added some knowledge generating functionality for our sales and marketing arms and things snowballed from there. Now we use it to track and manage a very wide range of functions across our operation. It's gone from being primarily used by our sales and support teams to capturing and managing core functionality for our primary service delivery vector.
  • Spreadsheet killing. Can't stress enough how effective it is at replacing outdated, inefficient management techniques like Excel with streamlined, 100% customized workflows.
  • Reporting is easy to develop and filters are easy to manage so you can show anybody anything at your own discretion.
  • Many CRM-style implementations of business software like Quick Base rely on extremely high levels of buy-in because it's necessary to bend your users' workflows to the process in the software. Quick Base is the polar opposite - you can make the platform reflect the actual facts on the ground so precisely that your users will actually learn more about what they do by the process of mapping it into the software.
  • Mobile integration. Would love to see a native mobile app; as it is the mobile experience is pretty good but there are weaknesses associated with being wholly browser-based.
  • Flexible licensing model is a necessity. Right now my company can't necessarily accommodate paying user licenses for everyone we'd like to potentially be able to access parts of the system, but there are use cases we'd love to capture within the platform that do require that sort of ability to interact with our apps on a limited basis.
I genuinely can't think of a business scenario where Quick Base is poorly suited as a solution because it's so flexible and powerful. The specific situations where Quick Base is going to help you is a business situation where you have a workflow or process that you want to codify, customize and create a single source of truth about. What isn't in that category?
Our citizen developers easily and quickly build their own reports and charts. Outside of that, our organization has one overarching single application because our industry and positioning require our Quick Base app to talk to many other systems to the extent that building out those connections to more than one app was not the direction we chose to go. Both our IT director and 'low-code' support specialist are able to accommodate any other development requests from users very easily. Ongoing maintenance is virtually zero.
Read Alex Molochko's full review
June 11, 2018

User Review: "Quick Base - You need this."

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use QB to manage our projects at energy generating facilities. We use it from idea through approval through execution and completion of all generation projects. This helps us keep track of ideas and assign resources to project tasks. This also helps us in our budgeting and resource planning.
  • Data consolidation - We no longer have to gather emails, scraps of paper, and notes to enter project ideas. No more lost ideas and notes as it is all in one place.
  • The simplicity of QB makes it so that even the most novice computer user can quickly figure out how to enter useful data. Even if they don't understand databases, they can fill out forms to provide information to others.
  • The reporting feature makes it easy to customize the information for the audience. For example, our VP doesn't need the same granular detail that a field supervisor needs. With the personalized reporting, we can provide the customer with the appropriate amount of data.
  • We have had to go to an outside service provider for a useful Gantt chart function. This has been cumbersome and costly. This is an area for improvement.
  • It would be nice to have an onboarding experience for someone who inherits apps when an administrator leaves. It would be great to have a workbook or training on the top things to do to get to know your app.
  • A cheat sheet of some kind of formulas would be good. The formula helper is better, but I would like to see something like what is available in Excel.
Well suited to replace shared Excel spreadsheets and MS Access databases.
I took an HTML class in college when Al Gore was just inventing the internet. Since then, I have no coding experience. However, after a short lesson or two, I was able to build and customize my own app and make it useful for my customers.
Read Kim Gaston's full review
June 07, 2018

User Review: "Newbie User - Quick Base Rocks"

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We mostly use Quick Base for project management but have apps that do parts ordering, purchase order requests, equipment tracking and delivery scheduling, contractor license management and many more. Quick Base provides us the tools needed to manage many areas of the day to day tasks.
  • Rapid deployment of apps
  • Intuitive and easy to use
  • Do not have to be a programmer to build apps
  • Can be linked to other software to push or pull data
  • Mobile capabilities, of which I use today
  • Feature to map an app and then build from that diagram
  • Reverse table lookups and relationships to pull child data to the parent
  • Better security features to excludes apps and users from some of the base security settings
I honestly have not found any scenario where Quick Base cannot replace or enhance any process. As with any issue, defining the process and the needs takes longer sometimes than actually spinning up the app.
Most citizen developers do not necessarily understand database structure or table to table relationships. I myself am not a programmer by trade but have worked with databases so this was not a huge struggle for me once I got into the meat of Quick Base and started developing apps.
Read Joey Zint's full review
June 06, 2018

User Review: "Quick Base- Quick Solution"

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
The app that has the most reach in our company is one that allows us to show account relationships to the sales force for 5 different divisions. We have probably 10-15 other apps that we've built that connect to our "Link" app in order to access account or rep information in some way or another.

We've also built an app that collects employee performance and quality information into one place, an app that helps track capital equipment usage, and an app that facilitates communication between the field and their customers and out back office.
  • Agile development
  • User-friendly, dynamic forms
  • Mobile usage
  • We've always wanted them to include a native ODBC connection.
  • Additionally, we've always wanted the ability to query the tables.
  • The cost gets high for what it is designed to be.
Quick Base is great for non-coders and first-time developers, but it also provides additional functionality for those that can code in js. Quick Base also provides a mobile-friendly site, without additional work.
With a basic knowledge of Excel and Access, a user is equipped to make good use of Quick Base, especially if they have knowledge of macros and VBA.
Read Toby Phillips's full review
May 17, 2018

Review: "Our Construction Company need for Quick Base"

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Quick Base began in our company as a way to keep track of our phone calls. Now it is the central hub of our business, from creating, approving and tracking purchase orders to being the central system that holds our job tracking. From Estimate to Job completion, Quick Base has allowed us to be a more data-driven company while enhancing our internal company communication and efficiency.
  • Automatically Sends Reports
  • All in One, 100% Customized System
  • Company Analytics Found Quickly
  • Need more admin ability to change the look to fit our company and customer need, instead of having to hire an outside vendor.
  • Need ability for simple tasks to drag and drop, like some website builders.
  • Need the ability to see what fields are not being used, rolled up in a report, so I can easily delete what is not being used in order to save space and increase speed.
I can see that Quick Base is highly Scalable, but I can only speak for what I have used it for. In a small business environment, Quick Base has given us the freedom to get a highly customizable program, historically only available to larger companies that could afford to hire a programming team or company to design a customized program.
Our Estimator still has trouble navigating in a quick base. I’m not sure how difficult because I’m the only person to edit apps. I think it’s too hard for others in my company, but may be perception based on other areas of company struggle we have. They don't even try to figure out simple computer problems but rather come to me first.
Read Kearn Oishi's full review
May 03, 2018

Quick Base Review: "Real Experienced Insights of Quickbase !!"

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Reseller
Review Source
We use Quick Base to offer effective solutions to our client for their processes implementation and automation to add efficiencies to the business to improve productivity. Also, we use it for our in-house implementation to give solutions/tools to operations and other groups.
  • Analytics and Dashboard- it’s one of the must have areas which takes good enough time and effort but with Quick Base, it’s absolutely amazing to have it quickly by some configurations.
  • Workflow- setting up role-based workflow is a major need for most of processes automation and QB is simply awesome to make it happen.
  • Notifications, reminders, and subscriptions- it’s a great feature which QB offers with great simplicity.
  • For an application with low/medium user base (count of users) QB is cost-effective solution reducing time to market by its RAD capabilities.
  • Quick Base licensing model - Per user license cost of QB is fine but for clients having bug user base overall licensing cost is too high. Quick Base should reduce the licensing cost for such needs. Quick Base should also think about offering a flexible licensing model where per user license cost of low usage or occasional users should be extremely low. As all application users are always user application that frequently and need to access occasionally e.g. once a month etc. I know based on total users on instance QB offering little better per user license cost but that discount is quite minor. This way we can bring the attention of customers need an application for the big user base.
  • EVOI with SSO exception - Quick Base provides an option to add everyone on internet access for any application which makes it open for everyone having URL of application to access the application on internet without chewing licences for each user. It's good but many time we have a need of an exception on EVOI to allow everyone but authorized users of an organization getting authenticated by SSO. This feature can help QB to bring the attention of multiple clients who need to use it for their employee as EVOI.
  • Notifications/reminders on an Adhoc schedule - QB offer great features of notification/reminders but as of now it's either trigger based on some event or with the schedule its dependent on the value of the application data field parameter value. But any time we have a need to send email on the frequency of daily (with/without weekend), weekly, monthly or on a particular date/time etc. That is something missing from QB.
  • Themes & Animation for improved UI - Although QB offers a standardized UI and it's quite good. But if we need to change the entire look and feel with quick options like themes etc. it's not possible. Also providing animated controls like a carousel, shutter up/down out of the box within an application will improve the user experience. I know it can be done on an HTML code page but I think making it available like standard out of box component will add to RAD capabilities improving the user experience.
I truly like Quick Base from Application/Product Development and from a user perspective. It truly suits well to offer a cost-effective solution for an application with a low user base. Its PaaS capability making it open for any domain and setting up an application for processes implementation or automation is quite quick and easy. Excellent features like a dashboard, workflow, analytics, visual reports, notification/reminders/subscription etc. are a major need which can be set up for an application easily.

Although it's a great platform there are many areas mentioned in the cons section where I request Quick Base to pay more attention and make things better to improve the overall Quick Base experience, making its developers and users crazy about it. In short, the application having needs mentioned in cons section doesn't sit well with Quickbase.
It's fairly easy for non-technical citizen developers to build an application. We have seen team members without any development experience, doing wonders with Quick Base. It needs an understanding of QB configurations for which training/videos are available with Quick Base university. Using its API in code pages need little experience of handling it and can make better by introducing intellisense for users assistance.
Read Amit Chawla's full review
April 30, 2018

User Review: "Quick Base to the rescue"

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Quick Base is being used throughout our organization, however primarily on the operations side of the business. It is being used to track all of our customers' project data, our vehicles, our IT assets, quoting parameters, equipment maintenance, knowledgebase and field linking between various software platforms. It has become a software platform that is critical to our business. Prior to developing and moving the data to Quick Base, this data was stored in various spreadsheets within multiple departments without a method to access it efficiently.
  • The low/no code feature of Quick Base is critical to its success in our organization. The ability to design and modify as our actual needs are uncovered is a key feature. We can implement the basic model of moving the data from a spreadsheet and then begin to add features and additional tools as we have time and get feedback.
  • Quick Base does a great job of making a lot of data visible in an efficient manner and then to be able to tie that data with other related data to create reports, summaries and charts has been very helpful as well, although that feature requires a bit more effort in design and configuration.
  • Just having Quick Base as a resource for database development has opened new doors on process improvements that we would not have thought of without Quick Base. Once we had set up the first app and looked through the Quick Base app library, all kinds of other areas of the business became options to implement its features as well.
  • Quick Base is a relational database, however creating those relationships and making them work as expected can be complex and frustrating. Once they are set up correctly, they work great, however it really pays to think through what you want to accomplish before attempting to set up all the pieces.
  • Some of the connecting reporting between tables is not straight forward and requires some work around.
  • The only types of relationships between table is many to one. There is no many to many relationships without adding a new table between the 2 tables.
  • Moving fields around on a form is cumbersome and time consuming.
Quick Base is well suited for any where you want to replace a bunch of scatter data silos of similar data, especially spreadsheets. I don't have experience with large volume of data, but for a small company with a lot of data points for each of our projects and hundreds and now reaching into the thousands of projects, Quick Base is working very well.
Quick Base is a citizen developers platform and no code / low code tool, however to deliver a feature set beyond the basic moving a spreadsheet of data to a database structure, requires someone within the organization or an outside experienced builder to really champion and develop the a complete solution. Without the extra efforts and expertise of someone who understands what the end results should look like and how to structure the data and the related tables to deliver these results, I could see this tool being only "kind of" used, ie just another tool where we stick data. The more advanced features and thus more expertise required from the designed/developer, is where the efficiencies and value begin to shine and create buy in from the end users. Quick Base does not require the ability to code, but it does require the ability to see how to how to structure data to deliver the desired results.
Read Roger Landis's full review
April 27, 2018

Quick Base Review: "Game Changing Platform for Tour Business"

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use Quick Base as our CRM, customer support and invoicing. Basically, the entire business process is conducted within Quick Base. That has been the aim over the past 3 years. It has taken our business completely off spreadsheets in the sense of manual creation. We also have completely automated our invoicing process within the last 6 months.
  • Cloud based access gives the ability for all team members to view real time from anywhere.
  • Ease of use and replicate-able so that training is easy with full accountability.
  • Relationship based flow so entry is kept to a minimum. No more double or triple entry.
  • Import feature that allows you to enter hundreds of line items at once rather than one at a time. which is based on internet speeds.
  • Only the platform for typical business usage. Many needed items are not native, meaning you have to use outside resources in order to complete certain automation or added features.
  • Ability to make copy of forms from 1 app to the next. I may create a app that functions differently from the other but can use a particular form that works well in another.
Quick Base if the perfect way to store and manage data. We are a date management company in the consultant industry, so what we have needs to be correct and what is entered needs to be monitored with accountability. Quick Base is the perfect resource for this industry. We handle sales, invoicing and much more.

We do marketing outside of QB and doesn't really offer what other platforms do. You can connect to those but cost extra for annual plans, as well as setup if you cant do in house.
Someone that has never been acquainted with a relationship driven software would have great difficulty grasping the concept. It was very stressful learning the system when first introduced. There wasn't a lot of training available 4 years ago. Now there is an ample amount. I think today it would be much easier to create an application fresh into the game and would actually be a great training method for new employees to get acquainted with the system.
Read Matthew Briant's full review
April 27, 2018

Review: "Quick Base - When you need something more than a spreadsheet right away!"

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use Quick Base for that space between spreadsheets and enterprise applications. Anytime someone says that they are having people email spreadsheets that are then compiled into one, I think of Quick Base.
  • Mobile. Quick Base works pretty well on mobile devices. For the most part, what you build to work on a computer will translate well when working on a mobile device.
  • Data security. You have fairly flexible tools that allow you to pinpoint exactly what any given user should be able to see and or edit.
  • All in one solution. Quick Base is a little easier than some of the other solutions because it is self contained. For new users, they don't have to learn several different tools.
  • Unless you right custom HTML, every quick base app looks like a Quick Base app. There is very little custom branding that can be done.
  • It could really use a signature capture field type. That currently is only available through 3rd party solutions.
  • Reporting. There is no way to build a dashboard with multiple reports and then use filters that apply to all reports. In fact, filters are really only available when viewing a single report.
Great for collecting data from a dispersed and mobile work force.
A citizen developer has to have some understanding of relational databases, data types, and formulas. I have found that people with experience in Microsoft Access or advanced Excel functionality are able to pick up quickly. They have recently developed the Quick Base University with training courses and those have been very helpful.
Read Forrest Parker's full review
April 27, 2018

User Review: "Quick Base from my perspective."

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use Quick Base (QB) primarily to compile regional information in which we use this data to help manage business opportunities. We also use QB with RPA to help us systematically show the status of each sales rep, when they're available or unavailable, this helps us best serve our customers in a timely manner.
  • Low Code developments
  • API Calls
  • Webhooks
  • ODBC Connection
  • Query against data connections (i.e. once a table is built and connections are joined to other tables, the ability to query against those results manually, like SQL)
Well suited: Table, Form and Dashboard Designs

Less Appropriate (Needs help): ODBC Connections (built in), inability to write manual queries for advanced developers.
For a simple design, QB is amazing, it can literally be as easy as drag and drop. When keeping Apps on a basic level a person with no or little technical experience can develop a working functional App, Quickly, that suits their needs.
Read Stephen Morrell's full review
April 24, 2018

Review: "Why Quick Base is the Database you have been dreaming of..."

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use Quick Base to streamline and solidify our processes in the Global Marketing department. With Quick Base we have been able to quickly build interdepartmental applications that keep our projects moving, reduce meetings, and keep our vendors on task. We have increased our efficiency by 277% and saved countless dollars.

We are able to test out new processes, and change system elements on a dime. We are very happy with this product.
  • Customization - We build out applications for each of our teams. Unlike out-of-the-box solutions, we can build applications to suit each team's current process, increasing adoption and use.
  • Flexibility - When a process needs to change, or something needs to be renamed/added, it is a quick implementation. No waiting for IT to get around to it. Done in minutes.
  • Support - This company has the best support. They go above and beyond every time. Very grateful for their help.
  • Ease of Adoption - This low code platform is easily learned, yet is strong enough that an advanced user does not feel restrained.
  • Refresh Times - Data going from one application to another can take up to an hour. Also hard if you have multiple cascading connected tables. Only an admin can push the data.
  • Field Data - Would be good to have a report in the back end of where each field is being used, if at all.
I can think of hundreds of ways this application can be used. Really the sky is the limit.
I was creating advanced, connected apps in 4 months. A person off the street could learn to build basic apps in a day.
Read Meredith Moore's full review
August 08, 2018

User Review: "The Quick Base Experience"

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use leverage Quick Base to bring together information from our clients, Oracle, sales, shipping, configuration, and field technicians. It is vital to get all the moving pieces together and in a place that can be safely worked in without losing updates (unlike Google Docs). We work in a fast-paced IT retail deployment environment and businesses depend on communication being accurate and the data being the most current.

  • Online collaboration
  • Developing analytics
  • End user friendly
  • Charts are low quality and many times the data is transferred to Excel to create better presentation graphics.
  • Lack of enterprise pricing. Per user pricing is used to determine storage space(attachments, app size, API calls). If pricing were more about purchasing the right size not the users it would be easier to manage in time and price.
  • At times customer service (not helpdesk) gets lost and we don't feel as though we matter.
If no data analytics are needed and only collaboration is needed there are a few products that can manage that without a high degree of custom building. Those products lack the high degree of flexibility and data analytic power.
If the goal is to replace basic spreadsheets the level of difficulty is very low. If you are tying together multiple departments and several processes per departments the level of difficulty goes up substantially. It doesn't require an IT person but a person with IT abilities and a drive to do the work. If processes are not diagrammed the build will take more time and integration's will cost substantially more. Having a clear plan and the right people is key to cost savings
Read Jason Johnson's full review
July 28, 2018

Quick Base Review: "QuickBase the one true choice"

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
QuickBase is the backbone of our entire organization. It is currently used for manufacturing, purchasing, fulfillment, pre-sales and post-sales activities, customer support, asset tracking, document control, HR, etc. QuickBase allows for the entire organization to be able see the same data seamlessly whether they are home based or in the field.
  • Most setup can be done with no code or low code solutions.
  • Can setu p a new application within a few hours.
  • Offers a solution for about all use cases. I have yet to have a problem I could not solve using QuickBase.
  • Current mobile applications are lacking, but I know are currently being worked on.
  • Occasionally when I need real coding to get things done I can't, but there are many support companies that can help.
QuickBase is very well suited for anything that involves tracking and logging of data. Examples include applications such as manufacturing, pre-sales and post-sales activities, customer support, knowledge base, human resources, etc. It is harder for applications where you would like to have several records but each one builds upon the previous data, such as trailing charts.
The level of difficultly is very low honestly. I am not a coder or in IT, I took one college couse in C++ which has not helped me at all, but am the main admin for QuickBase and am fully able to do most setup of applications. Most applications I have built in 2 hours or less and do no maintenance other than user support for access levels. On the off chance I need something more advanced QuickBase hasa whole bunch of support providers. We use The Data Collaborative, who are great.
Read Matthew Bularzik's full review
July 19, 2018

Quick Base: "Beginner app builder review"

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use it for many reasons in my department from image release and tracking to Alumni engagement in our many networking event around the country.
  • I am just starting out and so far it has met all our our many needs.
  • Don't know if it have Geo Tracking yet or not but that is something that I foresee us needing in the future for tracking engagement.
This can be used from a simple database to complex tracking.
This is fairly simple and only requires learning formulas in order to write them.
Read Stephen E. Arnold's full review
July 12, 2018

Quick Base Review: "Effective Business Application Development Platform"

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
QuickBase is used in some departments here. I administer, manage and help the users of QuickBase in a few departments where the customer representatives log in to the QuickBase app and create the requests to order the spares. The Spares team takes up the requests and handles them until closure. This involves maintaining many SLAs and KPIs that are effectively monitored and managed in QuickBase.
  • QuickBase can be effectively used as a database application which allows many customizations through open HTTP APIs. This gives more room for customizations and integrations with other applications.
  • Workflows can be effectively implemented in QuickBase that helps in managing approvals and notifications among various groups of users designated with different roles. Roles management is easy and effective in QuickBase.
  • Great customer service support and the active community forum combined with periodic product updates are very much encouraging to use QuickBase.
  • Quick Base automations is the newest great addon that is built to implement the workflow process better
  • The reporting capability needs to evolve more. The axis scalability and option to edit the legend texts would be very much important and useful to make QuickBase reporting more mature.
QuickBase is well suited for the following:
1) If the application involves many workflows
2) If the data are inter-related and needs sophisticated relationships between data
3) If there are different type of users who need a varied level of access to data

QuickBase is not well suited if
1) Charts and Visualizations are the primary objectives

The main benefit of Quick Base platform is that the business users can easily adapt the navigations and steps to build forms/reports in Quick Base. So, it doesn't need IT to support to build small to medium level applications but only some basic training is needed
Read Dinesh Vijayakumar's full review
July 02, 2018

Review: "Quick Base as a Project Management Solution"

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Our group uses Quick Base for project management and tracking. We have been using Excel and that has been a miserable experience. So far Quick Base has been a HUGE improvement. The company has implemented an app to allow them to get a better understanding of where we are excelling and where we are failing. This gives them a better picture in the places doing well, places where additional resources are needed, and places that we need to drop the activity as unprofitable. It is in early stages, but so far is great.
  • IT Support is the BEST!!!!!!!!!! They respond within 1 hour usually, and will call you if need be. Name another company that is that fast?
  • Great group of people. They are knowledgeable and willing to help/
  • It may be a low-code platform, but with the help of the company and the community board you can do incredible things. Everyone involved is extremely helpful and knowledgeable.
  • It is a tool that is very flexible, but don't expect it to be all things to all people.
  • For a modern software tool, there are lots of imposed limits in the program. There are limits imposed on form rules, limits on formulas, and a not fully polished UX for some tasks. Don't go into this thinking that the path is straight from start to finish. Sometimes the solution takes some testing and patience to solve and tends to not be obvious.
  • There are times I would like to have a the simple ease of searching a column like in Excel, but that is not possible without scripting in some Javascript link Handsontable.
The tool is well worth it and will make things a lot easier. The project we have was originally started in Access, then moved into SharePoint, but the ease of Quick Base is well worth the transition. I mostly agree with the concept that if you can say it, Quick Base can do it. But understand, it's a different tool, but extremely effective. The ability to integrate your entire company into one tool as opposed to what is currently out there.
I will say that it is more difficult to build a quality app than a standard database. But the University tools are extremely helpful, the community board is full of knowledgeable people, and the IT group is FAST. I started building the app as if it was a database, but in reality I must have made and destroyed apps that weren't right. Be open to the concept that A to Z is not a straight path, I did and it's a great lesson to learn fast.
Read Neil Shepard's full review

About Quick Base

Quick Base aims to empower businesses to quickly turn ideas into applications that make them more efficient, informed, and productive. The vendor’s value proposition is that by using Quick Base, anyone — regardless of technical background — can quickly create business apps they can use and share with others.

Quick Base Features

Additional Features
Has featureLow-code platform for rapid application development
Has featureAdvanced user management
Has featureFast, flexible, unlimited reports
Has featureAPIs
Has featureNotifications, reminders, and subscriptions
Has featureCustom password policies
Has featureCase-based support
Has featureUnlimited customizable roles
Has featureSAML or LDAP integration
Has featureEasy point-and-click customization
Has featureBuilt-in workflows such as reminders, subscriptions, and notifications
Has featureCode-free integrations with other leading cloud apps
Has featureFast, flexible reporting
Has featureAdvanced user management and unlimited roles and permissions

Quick Base Screenshots

Quick Base Video

Watch What is Quick Base? Hear it from our customers.

Quick Base Downloadables

Quick Base Integrations

Quick Base Competitors

Pricing

Has featureFree Trial Available?Yes
Does not have featureFree or Freemium Version Available?No
Does not have featurePremium Consulting/Integration Services Available?No
Entry-level set up fee?No
EditionPricing DetailsTerms
Premier$25per user
Platform$40per user
EnterpriseCustomThey'll work with you to customize a plan to your unique requirements

Quick Base Support Options

 Free VersionPaid Version
Phone
Email
Forum/Community
FAQ/Knowledgebase
Social Media
Video Tutorials / Webinar

Quick Base Technical Details

Deployment Types:SaaS
Operating Systems: Unspecified
Mobile Application:Mobile Web
Supported Languages: English