Amazon Web Services Reviews

<a href='https://www.trustradius.com/static/about-trustradius-scoring#question3' target='_blank' rel='nofollow noopener noreferrer'>Customer Verified: Read more.</a>
441 Ratings
<a href='https://www.trustradius.com/static/about-trustradius-scoring' target='_blank' rel='nofollow noopener noreferrer'>trScore algorithm: Learn more.</a>
Score 8.8 out of 100

Do you work for this company? Manage this listing

TrustRadius Top Rated for 2020

Overall Rating

Reviewer's Company Size

Last Updated

By Topic

Industry

Department

Experience

Job Type

Role

Reviews (1-25 of 57)

Companies can't remove reviews or game the system. Here's why.
Salwat Hamrah | TrustRadius Reviewer
July 17, 2020

Startups, go for it

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We have used Amazon Web Services for the web hosting of www.getbeyondlimits.com for many years. All our data gets backed on Amazon Web Services. Amazon Web Services seems to be quite dynamic in its functionality. You have so many plans to choose from. The best part is that you only pay for what you use. Ideally, if more people visit your website, you pay more and that is good for business.
  • Dynamic pricing
  • Push load time is less
  • Easy to use
  • S3 can be made easier for use.
  • The pricing, though dynamic, still gets high at times.
  • At times, downtime happens as well.
For a startup, it is one of the best things. But for large companies, the bills may become high, so keep searching for alternatives, I would say. Until now, we have not come up with anything that can beat Amazon Web Services in any way. Also, you become comfortable with what you use.
Read Salwat Hamrah's full review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
May 28, 2020

One-stop solution for all your IT needs

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use Amazon Web Services as a cloud service provider for most of our IT requirements. The ease to set up and run an application on AWS has made it our go-to choice. It helps avoid the hassle of setting up and managing infrastructure and lets us focus on our application quality. We leverage S3, EC2 , Elastic BeanStalk, Lambda, CodePipeline, CloudWatch and a lot of other AWS components regularly for our application development and deployment.
  • Easy to use even for beginners.
  • Free tier for 1 year with access to most offerings.
  • Pay only what you use model.
  • Helpful & quick real-time support.
  • Highly reliable and fault tolerant.
  • Due to the various services provided, it can become a maze for beginners.
  • If not monitored and managed carefully, huge bill can pile up.
  • For larger scale applications using AWS becomes expensive, better to go for on-premise servers.
Any firm small or big can fulfill all their IT requirements using AWS. Although it is best suited for small or medium sized organizations who don't want to invest in an on-premise infrastructure and want a ready-to-go solution even larger organizations can utilize many AWS services as stand-alone features which can be integrated with third party apps.
Read this authenticated review
Zakarieya Abderoef | TrustRadius Reviewer
January 15, 2020

My AWS experience

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Amazon Web Services offers a comprehensive range of cloud services, which we can utilise at a cost-effective price as well as offering the flexibility and scalability to fast-track deployment of server and storage infrastructure for our clients. We are also able to set up test / Dev environments for testing applications quickly as well as setting up secure cloud disaster recovery (DR) sites with minimal costs.
  • Innovation. Since AWS is a world leader, we are able to benefit from running on the latest technologies being deployed using best practices and industry standards that typically comes standard from these leading cloud service providers.
  • Scalability. There is basically no limitation in expanding system resources when using AWS. The advantage of this is that we can increase resources for business systems and projects at a click of a button.
  • Implementation. Migrating to AWS is somewhat complex and adequate training is required. However, this can be mitigated using an accredited AWS provider.
  • Support Costs. AWS has various support options which includes Developer, Business and Enterprise support. Depending on the business requirement, the support costs can increase significantly since the basic support option may not meet the requirement of certain businesses.
Amazon Web Services is well suited for startup organisations that can benefit from immediate deployment of the virtual infrastructure and applications on a cloud platform. It's also cost-effective since you do not have to lay out a huge capital investment especially for small start-up businesses. AWS is also useful for organisations who need to rapidly deploy infrastructure to test applications and for those short-term projects that do not require permanent infrastructure. AWS can also be cost effective for running your disaster recovery environment on Cloud platform.
Read Zakarieya Abderoef's full review
Devendra Parhate | TrustRadius Reviewer
November 19, 2019

Hassle free Big data infrastructure setup. It's a dream come true.

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Being part of RND team, we do data analytics at PetaByte scale. Amazon Web Services helped us to efficiently orchestrate pipeline and perform data analytics on EMR and Sage notebook. Using Cloudformation and Step functions, we can deploy the pipeline in production reliably without worrying about infrastructure. Also, Amazon Web Services support team was accommodating while setting up initial infrastructure and troubleshooting any EMR or Spark related issues.
  • Cloudformation to bring up infrastructure.
  • Using triggers like S3 file creation to invoke lambda automatically.
  • EMR service allows the use of Big data tools seamlessly.
  • Amazon Web Services team support for debugging cluster related issues.
  • Handling Cloudformation stack deletion gracefully while the EMR Cluster is scaling.
  • Providing free access to Amazon Web Services to graduate students.
  • Educating users using blogs like https://aws.amazon.com/blogs/big-data/best-practices-for-successfully-managing-memory-for-apache-spark-applications-on-amazon-emr/.
Easily manageable, compatible big-data tools, and cluster scaling operation by providing EMR service.
Read Devendra Parhate's full review
Allan Staker | TrustRadius Reviewer
January 30, 2020

I've been overcharged for over a year... and I'm surprised to find that AWS isn't helping to make things right.

Score 3 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We're using AWS primarily for web hosting.
  • The technology is great. I've never had technical issues.
  • They have been incredibly slow to respond to a billing dispute. Over a year ago, we erroneously signed up for a service that we never used. It was a total 'gotcha,' and it added $800/mo to our monthly invoices. Shortly thereafter we noticed the huge credit card bill and asked them to remove the service. We're a small education company, and we're spread pretty thin- and I'm embarrassed to admit that when I asked them to turn it off, I naively believed that they would do so. When we noticed last month that they were still auto-billing us $800/mo for the entire past year, we were stunned. I again asked for them to honor our original, well-documented request, and this time we asked them to help make things right for us. We've corresponded 2-3 times/week over the last 30 days and I still can't get a response from their Finance department. I'm surprised and disappointed - I was expecting AWS to be much more responsive and helpful than this. I still trust that they'll make things right - but as of now they're still billing us for this.
I might revise this based on the outcome of this dispute. I love them technically - but this has been very frustrating customer service.
Read Allan Staker's full review
Tyler Cook | TrustRadius Reviewer
September 26, 2019

Welcome to Cloud City

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use Amazon Web Services as our primary compute platform. We run our primary applications and run our business from the Amazon cloud. As an IT professional, AWS cuts out the busy work of IT. AWS lets me focus on the needs to the business and not the needs of datacenter hardware. We're able to deploy new systems within minutes without needing to worry about having enough server capacity.
  • The platform is extremely agile, we will typically get a new server request fulfilled within minutes
  • AWS hardware is reliable, we don't worry about the on premise data center environment.
  • They have tools and services that allow you to create anything you need.
  • AWS can be overwhelming with the vast amount of services they provide. It can be tough to pick the right option to fit the goal you're trying to accomplish
  • There is some reliance on your own skills to create tools\functionally that isn't native. Like scheduling backups.
  • There is a steep learning curve to the platform.
If you need to expand your compute footprint quickly without having to go through the hardware acquisition process. Amazon Web Services can help quickly augment your on prem compute power to run the one off yearly processes without leaving you with unused hardware for 10 months of the year.

If you're looking to get out of hosting your own datacenter, AWS is a perfect replacement.

If you're looking to scale your website, or even host your own small business Amazon is the ideal solution.

Once you no longer need to worry about the underlying hardware to run your servers you can truly focus your time on adding value to your company.
Read Tyler Cook's full review
Ryan Hart, MBA | TrustRadius Reviewer
September 25, 2019

AWS: short for Awesome

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
AWS is used in many, but not all, departments within our organization. Leveraging AWS allows for our company to avoid upfront infrastructure investments and scale to customer demand with a very short ramp time (if any at all). Using a secure and best practice common cloud infrastructure mitigates much (but not all) of the security and business continuity risks.
  • AWS is very cost-effective, costing far less than 1% of our revenue.
  • AWS is very reliable, with the services we use being in the 4-11 9s SLA.
  • AWS is very scalable, with the services being on-demand and growing with us as we need them.
  • AWS doesn’t offer the same level of end-to-end software that Azure offers.
  • S3 individual transactions can be expensive. AWS charges for transactions in addition to storage.
  • EC2 instance controls are limited to one option. EC2 allows users to deploy dedicated hosts but they must declare an instance type. Each instance per host must be uniform that requires users to specify configurations like RAM, CPU, and bandwidth requirements.
AWS is a trusted and relied upon partner to power our SAAS platform.
Read Ryan Hart, MBA's full review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
February 15, 2020

If you want to save on internal resources, Amazon Web Services might be right choice for you

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use AWS to host our mobile app data and PIM. We needed to manage CRM data when we launched our mobile app and there were a few options like on-premise or outsourced hosting. Considering the effort needed to invest in-house equipment as well as potential difficulties to maintain continuity, our choice was Amazon Web Services.
  • Besides planned maintenance windows, there are no interruption to the services provided.
  • Great variety of applications ready to be deployed.
  • Fees could be higher than competitor.
  • We experienced failure and performance issues at least once in the past years., although it is getting better through the years.
Amazon is well suited if you have a small, busy team to which you do not want to add an extra project. No matter its size, a new application would need (at least) constant efforts of backup, upgrade and security as well as technical support like storage increase, etc. Unless you have enough in-house resources and it is economically feasible, you can easily consider using AWS.
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
January 24, 2020

Build enterprise class infrastructure at a reasonable cost. AWS is a winner in my book

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use AWS for our IT infrastructure and Development platform. AWS is utilized by all departments within our organization. We have been able to improve IT infrastructure reliability and reduce costs at the same time.
  • AWS provides enterprise fail over capabilities at a reasonable cost.
  • It's extremely easy to scale up or down with your infrastructure.
  • Better UI design and layout.
  • It could get expensive if not managed correctly.
AWS is great for any organization, and can scale as your organization grows. If managed correctly, AWS will provide enterprise level reliability and availability at a reasonable cost. The more services that are added to AWS and the more complex environments become, you will have to add staff to properly manage AWS.
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
November 11, 2019

Excellent cloud service provider

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We are using Amazon as a cloud service provider. We are using Amazon across all the departments in the organization. It has all the services we need, from virtual machines to serverless. We mostly use serverless, DynamoDB, S3 and virtual machines with virtual private cloud. So far AWS was really useful. We haven't faced any issues yet.
  • Serverless
  • DynamoDB
  • S3
  • So far I didn't find any.
Amazon Web Services are very useful when we need serverless technologies or DB as service or Queue services etc. AWS has tons of services in all the aspects we need. it is a one-stop solution for all your cloud needs. But if we don't but your infrastructure in the right way you will end up paying a lot.
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
November 06, 2019

AWS delivers the solid, stellar performance you would expect it to

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use Amazon Web Services as the backbone of our software-as-a-service product. We use it to host media files for streaming, downloading, etc with our client app. Our product involves a wide range of media files: images, audio files, video files, documents, etc and some of them are quite large, so we store it all using AWS.
  • The interface is pretty easy to use.
  • It's very reliable and there almost never seems to be an interruption in service.
  • It's pretty pervasive so when working with other companies, partners, etc, it is a piece of technology that nearly everyone is familiar with.
  • Occasionally I've had issues uploading many files at once, and have to resort to one-at-a-time to ensure successful upload. Not often, but it's happened.
I'm not sure where it wouldn't be appropriate unless someone was just starting out and maybe was super budget-conscious. I imagine there are some less expensive alternatives out there but honestly, the barrier to entry is pretty low.
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
November 05, 2019

AWS - fast and simple cloud virtualization

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use Amazon Web Services (AWS) for hosting almost every imaginable type of application. We utilize it regularly and company-wide for trying new things as a POC as well as for mature application hosting. It is very easy for us to spin up new virtual computing environments, as needed, and on demand.
  • We like the native AWS RBAC authorization tools for controlling access without having to add other layers of complexity.
  • We like the robustness and simplicity of S3 storage services and the related APIs.
  • The ability to quickly provision and manage complex computing environments is 2nd to none in the industry.
  • Like any suite of applications they could benefit from having a team of usability experts make the products more intuitive.
  • Like most cloud solutions they could make it easier to understand the total costs associated with the various feature sets and related constraints.
  • Customer service in the technical support area could be improved - they could use a bit more of a personal touch at times.
AWS is perfect for global computing and creating geo-redundant virtual stacks that can be architected for high availability. It's a great way to host mission critical applications as well as a place to try something new in a very short timeframe. Overall I have nothing bad to say about AWS services, they are robust, complete and highly scalable. Though we are a multi-cloud company, we use AWS for about 75% of our cloud hosted solutions.
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
October 23, 2019

AWS for test and dev environment with easy chargeback facilities

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use a hybrid multi-cloud environment where we have multiple cloud vendors that include AWS, Google and Oracle (OCI). AWS (Amazon Web Services) is being used for the dev/test environment on-demand. It was earlier used for customer-facing workloads and analytics but was replaced by Google/Oracle.
  • AWS has a very in-depth and descriptive dashboard that helps to chargeback easily as well as keep track of expenses.
  • It is also highly reliable and scales well with workloads.
  • It is very well suited for a multi-cloud set-up since it is compatible with and supports other public clouds ( Oracle, Google, Microsoft).
  • AWS dashboard is complex and it needs someone with reasonable experience with Cloud deployment and maintenance to use. AWS can reduce the complexity of the AWS console to make it more user-friendly.
  • AWS is also much more expensive and the license metrics are not that well aligned for extremest scale workloads.
  • There is a good amount of install and deployment time using if you are using Oracle database or even Microsoft SQL Server as best practices documents for large scale deployments over AWS is not that easily available.
AWS is very well suited when you need cloud services (compute, storage, analytics, etc) on demand. It tends to be expensive if you are looking at long term workload deployments. It is also not well suited if you are new to public cloud deployments.
Read this authenticated review
Martha Batruny | TrustRadius Reviewer
September 16, 2019

Amazon Web Services is a complete world that has helped with my workload

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Amazon Web Services is a very helpful platform because of its attractive interface that allows me to obtain and configure capacity information, with minimal friction, that perfectly suits our company. Moreover, it helps me to take complete control of my computer resources and helps to reduce the time required to obtain and to boot new servers, as well. Apart from this, it provides tools to be build-failure resilient applications and to isolate them from common failure scenarios, in a very efficient manner.
  • What I like in it, is its simple notification service which provides a mobile messaging feature to enable push messaging to my mobile devices as well.
  • It helps in sending out notifications to all my teammates with full integrity.
  • Responsive Support.
  • Offers a variety of features that help to manage my workload.
  • It is a bit costly when compared to other tools.
  • This application has great integration power, which enables me to work on different applications, simultaneously. This suits me well.
  • It is playing a significant role in our company.
Each and every feature of this application is unique and is also efficient enough to help me to make suitable decisions for my company. Apart from this, if I talk about any concerns in it or any disastrous drawbacks then there are no words because this application is a lifesaver by every point of view without having anything to objectify. Moreover, this application provides me with the right of pre-built services, which benefit me when building custom cloud-based solutions.
Read Martha Batruny's full review
Calvin Nystrom | TrustRadius Reviewer
September 11, 2019

Great Service For All Your Needs

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We currently use Amazon Web Services in multiple parts of our organization. We use it for the development of our product, QA, Sandbox and UAT scenarios, as well as in our production environment. AWS allows us to reliably provide our customers with the services we have to offer. It also allows us to test the latest technologies and make future plans to develop our software to use them.
  • AWS allows us to scale up (or down) depending on our busy season. Our software has fairly predictable "busy" seasons, so this allows us to properly spend on infrastructure based on needs.
  • EBS Snapshots allow us to create in-time based backups. We use these as part of our DRP/BCP.
  • Understanding the AWS bill is very confusing. Sometimes it is nearly impossible to track what charges are for which particular service is using which feature.
  • The ability to tag all items, including Marketplace items for cost usage report would be especially useful. The cost usage report being more detailed when filtering by usage and cost allocation tags would also be exceptionally helpful.
The flexibility that Amazon Web Services offers is nearly unbeatable in comparison to any other cloud offering. AWS is constantly making improvements on existing services while simultaneously creating new service offerings. In our environment, we have a very heavy MS SQL footprint. AWS allows us to scale up our servers to the best possible instance size based on the current needs.
Read Calvin Nystrom's full review
Stephen Groat | TrustRadius Reviewer
August 12, 2019

The king of cloud services

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
AWS is the premier cloud in most organizations. AWS is used by the entire company, from Engineering to HR, to try to solve all problems possible with code in a version-controlled manner. AWS tries to solve all technical problems that an organization has with scale and off-premises. Since AWS constantly releases new products, it maintains a premier edge.
  • Strong support with contracts.
  • Industry-leading features.
  • Consistently updating products to stay on top.
  • Listening to user feedback to improve systems.
  • Can be expensive compared to other providers and on-prem solutions.
  • Features can lack quality documentation and be half baked (at times).
  • Initial setup can be frustrating and time-consuming.
Amazon Web Services (AWS) is the premier cloud provider, hands down. It scales seemingly infinitely, has great SLAs and quality support, and is always pushing out new products and features that are developer-focused. The focus on Infrastructure as Code (IaC) support with all products shows its focus on development and enterprise support.
Read Stephen Groat's full review
Denzel Robinson | TrustRadius Reviewer
July 18, 2019

Serverless Saviors!

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
It is being used by an individual department. It provides scalability without the need to manage server infrastructure. It offers versatile services such as data warehousing, machine learning, and performance monitoring. You also have control of who accesses what feature through identity and access management, as well as audit activity through Cloud Trail. It is easy to import your data into AWS, so start-up time is quick.
  • It is highly redundant.
  • You can design performance capable infrastructure at up to 80% cheaper than other services.
  • You can configure your routing based on latency, geo-location, weighted, etc.
  • Menu to access different services is a bit muddled. It could use some streamlining.
  • Interactive and informative training should be offered by Amazon, rather than third party services.
  • Availability zones differ between accounts.
It is a well-balanced service for commercial-scale applications or at homes start-ups. You can experiment with different environments to find a configured that suits your needs, without the fear of long-term consequences. This allows for high performing, highly available architecture that is also cost-effective. You can configure your environment down to the minutia, or launch a wizard to handle it for you, allowing for mass-scale deployments.
Read Denzel Robinson's full review
Patrick Plaisance | TrustRadius Reviewer
July 17, 2019

The biggest name in cloud services, for a good reason

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Both within our organization and for clients, we implement several different Amazon Web Services. We mostly make use of EC2 for hosting private cloud servers/applications, Simple Storage Service (S3) for hosting data in the cloud, both for active use and backup, and S3 Glacier for archiving low-touch data to the cloud. All of these AWS services allow us to provide on-demand, infinitely expandable cloud services as needed.
  • Easy to deploy. It's trivial to create a new S3 bucket, or spin up a new EC2 VM.
  • AWS console is relatively easy to navigate/administrate services. It used to not be the case, but it has improved quite a bit over the years.
  • Cost Explorer service makes it somewhat easier to plan/budget and track/manage AWS cost.
  • Tons of software, services, etc that integrate directly with AWS services -- example, CloudBerry Backup that integrates with S3, Glacier, etc.
  • Cost - Because of the many variables involved in AWS pricing, it can be difficult to budget for AWS costs. For small deployments, this isn't too big of a problem, but when you start using multiple AWS services, even with Cost Explorer, planning can be time-consuming.
  • Some of the terminologies are unnecessary. Too much input from marketing types. They should just say what the service does and note waste time with cutesy names.
  • On the flip side of the thriving AWS ecosystem, the lack of Amazon-created apps to interface with their services is a bit of a bummer. Sometimes you just want a good, documented, first-party backup app, for example.
AWS services are well-suited for organizations of all sizes. Using a backup app like CloudBerry Backup plus AWS S3 or Glacier would be great for a small office/home office media consultant, for example, backing up large quantities of multimedia data to the cloud. S3 buckets can (and should!) also be used to host website content for any size business.It is well-suited for small to medium-sized businesses who need to spin up a server for a specific application and can easily deploy EC2 instances. And of course, as we all know, the biggest enterprise businesses in tech use AWS services to host their cloud.

Who isn't AWS for? Well, there is something to be said about putting all your eggs in one basket. For those who are hesitant to move their businesses to the cloud entirely, I would obviously recommend against using multiple AWS services. Also, for organizations who have strict IT budgets, estimating AWS costs can be tough and might be frowned upon by their finance departments.
Read Patrick Plaisance's full review
David Sandoval | TrustRadius Reviewer
July 17, 2019

AWS is the best cloud provider

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
AWS is being used by the IT department mainly. We take advantage of manged VMs, serverless databases, and different services in order to publish our web applications to external and internal users. It is also used by our analytics department for predictions.
AWS addresses operational costs related to on-premise infrastructure; it helps to simplify infrastructure management and in other cases, eliminating infrastructure management.
  • Serverless services remove overhead from IT department.
  • Diversity of services. Anything you need, it is there.
  • Support through official channels or even through unofficial ones helps you never get stuck on anything.
  • Mobile app for AWS console is very limited.
  • Site-to-site VPNs provide no logs for troubleshooting.
  • Grub access in VMs would be nice.
AWS is well suited for secure, highly available, low latency web apps, running databases (any engine), storing your data (sensitive or not), running microservices, serverless architectures or IaaS. It can be used by anyone even if you don't have any experience. It works for companies of any size, market, and geographic location.
Read David Sandoval's full review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
July 23, 2019

Leader in the hyperscalers for cloud services

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Review Source
As a managed service provider, we are seeing AWS as a preferred platform by the customers when it comes to moving their existing workload from the on-premise data center to cloud or deploying new applications. AWS as a leader in the space continues to release new innovative services each year helping customers meet not only security, scalability, and reliability but also to stay ahead in the game by adopting the latest technologies.
  • User-friendly and super responsive user interface.
  • Rapid deployment and instance scalability.
  • A wide variety of services and applications.
  • Lack of support for disaster recovery solution.
  • Highly complex and steep learning curve to learn and use the platform.
  • Lack of edge in legacy enterprise apps (Microsoft, Oracle and IBM).
Be it legacy or modern applications, AWS, offers wide variety of services enabling customers to develop and deploy their critical business web, mobile or containerized applications over the global AWS infrastructure that is super scalable, reliable and secured (of course you will need to ensure your application are designed properly to enjoy all these).
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
September 05, 2019

Leading IAAS. Customizable and broad offering. Solidly reliable.

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We've chosen AWS as our infrastructure-as-a-service (IAAS) solution across the whole organization for all our development environments, i.e. dev, staging, and production. We build custom-coded apps (full-stack). We specifically use it as our cloud solution for compute, storage and content delivery.
  • Great levels of service, with strong infrastructure maturity.
  • Lots of cloud service options, third-party programs, and APIs available.
  • Highly flexible and customizable.
  • Pricing is a bit complicated and can be slightly opaque in the outset, but AWS has pricing calculators to help out.
  • The vast array of options available can be a challenge to navigate and figure out at first.
We find it a highly reliable IAAS offering. The large breadth of options and customizability is great. It's also highly mature as a cloud offering and comes with good support. We find it fully satisfactory for both the compute and storage use cases that we have.
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
June 06, 2019

AWS is highly recommended for mid-to-large scale companies having global operations.

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use AWS as the infrastructure provider for our entire global operations. From DNS down to database systems, we are using services powered by AWS.
  • Automated server provisioning.
  • Load balancing.
  • Hassle-free OS updates.
  • Hard to get support (even you pay extra for paid support services).
  • Expensive compared to the competition.
  • Regional outages may occur.
AWS is well-suited for mid-to-large scale operations. I do not recommend them for small companies with local operations, as it may be expensive and hard to setup/provision. Companies using AWS may need extra DevOps people to manage AWS resources in order to have the right resource with the rigth price. Mid-to-large scale companies can manage AWS more effectively and leverage their services efficiently.
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
April 27, 2019

Novice migration to AWS was a success

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We migrated our transaction processing system from our own hardware in a data center to the AWS cloud. In addition, we migrated our accounting server as well. So our whole organization is now using it. We also migrated our Oracle database server to Amazon RDS and the performance increase was a nice surprise.
  • The ability to scale instances to optimized cost and performance.
  • Monitoring hardware issues and automatically migrating instances to new hardware when necessary.
  • Cloudwatch alerting allows monitoring of systems 24/7.
  • There are a lot of great services that are only available in the US zone and we would like to use them in Canada.
There are so many services offered by Amazon in addition to simply migrating your server to an AWS instance. We also use SES for our bulk email sending of client invoices (~30,000 per week). We use S3 buckets for storing image files that are on our server inside our internal and customer-facing web apps.
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
May 01, 2019

Amazon Web Services does a great job of fulfilling cloud based requirements!

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Amazon Web Services serves multiple purposes for our company. Depending on a clients requirement and budget, we use Amazon Web Services as database storage and for deploying our computing environments. It is generally used, accessed and managed by the team working on that particular project. Our company is a data science product based company and we sell products like inventory management tools, discount management, etc to clients.
  • Secure data storage.
  • Reliability.
  • Less downtime.
  • Faster data retrieval.
  • Easy to use.
  • Costly compared to other alternatives.
  • Billing is a bit confusing.
Amazon Web Services is well suited when we have a huge amount of data to store, process, manipulate and get meaningful information out of. It is also suitable when we need very fast data retrieval from the database. We also have deployed many cron jobs to schedule some tasks to be accomplished automatically.
Read this authenticated review
Nathan Sichilongo | TrustRadius Reviewer
January 18, 2019

A Product Managers Perspective on AWS and Cloud Computing by Amazon

Score 6 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Our goal as a company is to ensure that our services are efficient and fast to load. After years of using traditional web hosts, we finally made the switch to Amazon Web Services and we have not looked back. Our biggest issues with traditional web hosting was the inability to store large amounts of data and the lack of scalability for our different applications. AWS allows us to run our services more efficiently and without absorbing the high cost of owning servers. For our business it's really about solving 3 problems:
  1. Scaling - The solution should be able to allow us to scale effectively without the hassles of setting up new servers.
  2. Cost effective - The solution should allow us to manage our costs effectively so that none of our clients have to pay more for our services.
  3. Integration - The solution should integrate well into our development teams coding and not slow them down.
Amazon Web Services has done these for us.
  • AWS (Amazon Web Services) is not the easiest virtual service to set up but once you get the hang of it, it's fairly easy to install new instances (servers) and stop them. This is good for multiple reasons e.g we run multiple tests and live production servers for our different services. When we are done with one we can easily turn it off. The cost of the specifications on our virtual servers is only a fraction of the cost of what we would get locally or even on most traditional web services companies.
  • Amazon Web Services can be relatively cost efficient depending on where you are coming from. For our smaller organization, we felt the cost was worth it as other alternatives were not as affordable. The good thing with AWS is you only pay for what you use. If you want S3 (Simple Storage Service), you can pay for that. If you want to run a compute engine, EC2 can be paid for. At the end of the month, you get one bill based on your usage.
  • Because of our size as a company, AWS was easier to deploy compared to local dedicated solutions. All we had to do was take our development team through a simple 2-day course to get them on board. The ease of deployment means that we do not have to hire a specialist to deploy servers for us.
  • If there is one thing I think AWS needs improvement on, it is the administration dashboard. It can be a nightmare to use especially when trying to access billing. This could be made better, honestly, as there should be a simplified way to access simple admin features.
  • While AWS was fairly easy to integrate into our solutions, it is not as easy to use without some IT knowledge. The dashboards are complicated and designed for someone who is computer savvy. If you are just want to keep track of billing, for example, you may need to take a course or spend a few hours with someone being walked through the admin console.
  • AWS does tend to be slow at times. If you do not have a fast internet connection, it can take time to access services that are hosted on AWS. This is not always the case but we have had clients complain about this if they are trying to access a service from multiple points (IP addresses). The only real fix we found was to make our files cache to another server and only keep current data accessible to clients.
Amazon Web Services is well suited for companies or organizations that need to run specific applications or virtual services on servers. The cost-per-server ratio makes this ideal for testing and live deployment scenarios. It is especially ideal for smaller to medium size IT development teams. If you are looking to just set up a website, for example, AWS may not be ideal unless you are having it custom built.
Read Nathan Sichilongo's full review

Feature Scorecard Summary

Service-level Agreement (SLA) uptime (42)
9.2
Dynamic scaling (43)
9.4
Elastic load balancing (39)
9.2
Pre-configured templates (37)
8.3
Monitoring tools (43)
8.4
Pre-defined machine images (38)
8.8
Operating system support (43)
8.9
Security controls (44)
9.2

About Amazon Web Services

Amazon Web Services (AWS) is a subsidiary of Amazon that provides on-demand cloud computing services. With over 165 services offered, AWS services can provide users with a comprehensive suite of infrastructure and computing building blocks and tools. According to Amazon, AWS is suitable for organizations of any size, and helps to efficiently power their infrastructure, become more agile, and lower costs. AWS is also known for its service coverage, with over 69 Availability Zones across the world, allowing for users to experience lower latency and prevent their data centers from failing, which is important for cloud computing services.

AWS product range covers, but is not necessarily limited to, the following categories:

  • Analytics

  • Application Integration

  • AR & VR

  • AWS Cost Management

  • Blockchain

  • Business Applications

  • Compute

  • Customer Engagement

  • Database

  • Developer Tools

  • End User Computing

  • Game Tech

  • Internet of Things

  • Machine Learning

  • Management & Governance

  • Media Services

  • Migration & Transfer

  • Mobile

  • Networking & Content Delivery

  • Robotics

  • Satellite

  • Security, Identity, & Compliance

  • Storage

Pricing varies greatly across their vast scope of products, but AWS does provide an “AWS Free Tier” offering of services. Depending on the product, users can use the product for free indefinitely, a year, or in shorter-term trials.


Amazon Web Services Integrations

Planyo Online Booking System, DataDog OA, Planview PPM Pro (formerly Innotas), Turbonomic (formerly VMTurbo)

Amazon Web Services Competitors

Amazon Web Services Technical Details

Operating Systems: Unspecified
Mobile Application:No