Amazon Web Services

Amazon Web Services

Top Rated
About TrustRadius Scoring
Score 8.6 out of 100
Top Rated
Amazon Web Services

Overview

What is Amazon Web Services?

Amazon Web Services (AWS) is a subsidiary of Amazon that provides on-demand cloud computing services. With over 165 services offered, AWS services can provide users with a comprehensive suite of infrastructure and computing building blocks and tools.
Read more

Recent Reviews

AWSome

10 out of 10
December 28, 2021
We have a product that is a distributed system, SaaS on AWS. We use Route53 to register our domain and configure subdomains. We use EC2 to …
Continue reading

Do NOT use AWS

1 out of 10
November 29, 2021
Domain registration for my small business. AWS system, processes, and staff cause me to lose money and they did not take responsibility …
Continue reading
Read all reviews

Awards

Products that are considered exceptional by their customers based on a variety of criteria win TrustRadius awards. Learn more about the types of TrustRadius awards to make the best purchase decision. More about TrustRadius Awards

Popular Features

View all 9 features
  • Dynamic scaling (63)
    8.1
    81%
  • Service-level Agreement (SLA) uptime (62)
    8.0
    80%
  • Security controls (64)
    7.9
    79%
  • Monitoring tools (63)
    7.5
    75%

Reviewer Pros & Cons

View all pros & cons

Video Reviews

Leaving a video review helps other professionals like you evaluate products. Be the first one in your network to record a review of Amazon Web Services, and make your voice heard!

Return to navigation

Pricing

View all pricing

Free Tier

$0

Cloud
per month

Basic Environment

$100 - $200

Cloud
per month

Intermediate Environment

$250 - $600

Cloud
per month

Entry-level set up fee?

  • No setup fee
For the latest information on pricing, visithttps://www.clickittech.com/aws/aws…

Offerings

  • Free Trial
  • Free/Freemium Version
  • Premium Consulting / Integration Services

Starting price (does not include set up fee)

  • $100 per month
Return to navigation

Features Scorecard

Infrastructure-as-a-Service (IaaS)

7.6
76%
Return to navigation

Product Details

What is Amazon Web Services?

Amazon Web Services (AWS) is a subsidiary of Amazon that provides on-demand cloud computing services. With over 165 services offered, AWS services can provide users with a comprehensive suite of infrastructure and computing building blocks and tools. According to Amazon, AWS is suitable for organizations of any size, and helps to efficiently power their infrastructure, become more agile, and lower costs. AWS is also known for its service coverage, with over 69 Availability Zones across the world, allowing for users to experience lower latency and prevent their data centers from failing, which is important for cloud computing services.

AWS product range covers, but is not necessarily limited to, the following categories:

  • Analytics

  • Application Integration

  • AR & VR

  • AWS Cost Management

  • Blockchain

  • Business Applications

  • Compute

  • Customer Engagement

  • Database

  • Developer Tools

  • End User Computing

  • Game Tech

  • Internet of Things

  • Machine Learning

  • Management & Governance

  • Media Services

  • Migration & Transfer

  • Mobile

  • Networking & Content Delivery

  • Robotics

  • Satellite

  • Security, Identity, & Compliance

  • Storage

Pricing varies greatly across their vast scope of products, but AWS does provide an “AWS Free Tier” offering of services. Depending on the product, users can use the product for free indefinitely, a year, or in shorter-term trials.


Amazon Web Services Integrations

Amazon Web Services Competitors

Amazon Web Services Technical Details

Deployment TypesSoftware as a Service (SaaS), Cloud, or Web-Based
Operating SystemsUnspecified
Mobile ApplicationNo

Frequently Asked Questions

Amazon Web Services (AWS) is a subsidiary of Amazon that provides on-demand cloud computing services. With over 165 services offered, AWS services can provide users with a comprehensive suite of infrastructure and computing building blocks and tools.

Amazon Web Services starts at $100.

DXC Managed Cloud Services, 9STAR EasyIdentity Cloud, and 9STAR Elastic SSO are common alternatives for Amazon Web Services.

Reviewers rate Dynamic scaling highest, with a score of 8.1.

The most common users of Amazon Web Services are from Enterprises (1,001+ employees).
Return to navigation

Comparisons

View all alternatives
Return to navigation

Reviews

(1-25 of 78)
Companies can't remove reviews or game the system. Here's why
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
I use AWS to access a remote desktop which I require to access Microsoft-based applications that I need for my day to day use. It was a bit complicated to set up but now that it’s up and running, it’s easy to access, efficient and perfect for my needs.
  • Makes it easy to access applications that are otherwise not available on my Mac OS
  • Sign in and VPN connection are quick and reliable
  • Tech support was complicated to navigate for set up
AWS is an excellent option for providing teams with access to applications on a remote desktop. Impressed with how secure the setup is.
Prashant Chaudhari | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
We use a AWS EC2, EKS, ECS, SES, SNS, SQS, S3, CloudFront, RDS, Elasticache, Lambda, Fargate etc across Jombay's suite of products. We use these services for solving problems like static and dynamic data storage, sending emails, running web applications, scaling web applications, securing web applications etc.
  • Easy to use
  • Highly reliable and available
  • Good support from the support teams
  • Cost effective
  • User Interface for some of the services can improve (for ex: ECS)
  • Support plan pricing needs to consider start-ups
Amazon Web Services has a solution for almost all of the problems associated with building and scaling modern web applications and running AI / ML workloads. It also provides a highly secure and robust cloud infrastructure to run any kind of service without getting into any compliance issues.
Andrew (Andy) Richman | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
It provides cost-effective cloud storage for Enterprises, that is readily accessible from anywhere. It is exceptional for on-demand computing services. It makes it fast and easy to move any existing applications to the cloud. It also provides specific database applications with the right tools built-in. I highly recommend it for any company, startup, or enterprise.
  • Variety of databases and tools.
  • Many cloud security tools support over 90 security standards and compliance certifications.
  • AWS Lambda lets developers run coding without provisioning or using a managed server.
  • Could use a simpler interface for provisioning.
  • Billing does not include all the information I need.
It is best for backup and disaster recovery. Great for analytics and data archives. Conforms with the latest security requirements for most industries. Excellent for managing big data. One-stop solution for any IT business Fits ideally for social networking and/or gaming.
December 28, 2021

AWSome

Amro Misbah | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
We have a product that is a distributed system, SaaS on AWS. We use Route53 to register our domain and configure subdomains. We use EC2 to host the company website. We use EKS for our product. We use Load Balancers with AutoScaling in front of our workloads We use SES as our email service. We use CDN for caching. AWS is AWSOME :D
  • Highly available
  • Many services
  • Reliable
  • NA
[Amazon Web Services] is well suited for every solution you aim to implement. Whether it happened to be production, staging/testing, PoC. You will have services that help you easily implement the solution you want. Also if you are just figuring out what [Amazon Web Services] is, they give you a free tier that you can use for a year.
Sreedhar Sree | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Amazon Web services solved so many business problems of our banking project, especially it helped us to integrate with different third-party tools and deployment of our applications, apart from this we have done a proof of concept on machine learning model where we have used AWS for deploying ML models, I would it is really hassle-free and added great value for our product.
  • Security, Scaling
  • Deployment
  • Integration
  • Compliance
  • Billing part can be improved
  • Training on this technology
  • No free technical support, if there are some tech videos for frequently faced problems. It would help
Amazon Web services are well suited for all applications where integration and scaling are on high priority. It solves so many business problems on this front, considering the innovation they are doing for all the products these will add great value to Saas or Paas products to be specific. AWS offers this innovation to our products by taking care of security aspects meticulously, which is why AWS is always a go-to choice for most business problems.
November 29, 2021

Do NOT use AWS

Score 1 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Domain registration for my small business. AWS system, processes, and staff cause me to lose money and they did not take responsibility for their actions. They froze my account over an outstanding $2 payment. The circumstances are ridiculous, and I want to share them. So I called up the billing support about the failed $2 charge and updated my credit card and the support staff said everything was fixed. Then a month later they shut down my account over said payment. It was not put through and didn’t get a call or anything. Just boom woke up and my domain was down and I was looking for money.
  • Nothing
  • No free technical support.
  • Lock business domains over $2.
  • Hard to use system.
AWS locked my account over $2 and shut down my business for a day.
November 26, 2021

review aws

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
We are evaluating the usage of cloud services provided by AWS[.]
  • Provide details usage bill along with notifying on threshold[.]
  • Console is user friendly[.]
  • Have all the products require for DC[.]
  • It is not easy to use enterprise application with AWS such as Oracle ERP.
[In order] to have temporary workloads and need to deployed immediately, then [was] very good use case[.]
Debobrata Bose | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
AWS is being used at my organization. Today we are building cloud native solutions moving from legacy API services to Micro services which can be containerized and deployed into secured container environment. AWS service offerings like ECS and EKS helps to deploy our applications into its managed cluster where it becomes easy to manage , orchestrate microservices into respective containers as it has its own master control plane and the various worker nodes are deployed seamlessly on its data plane
  • Containerisation using services like ECS, EKS
  • Cloudformation where its create infrastructure as a code
  • Cloudwatch where it monitor and traces the various activity and events
  • FIS Fault Injection Simulator which can be used to do Chaos experiments
  • Traffic Manager and DNS Routing
  • Migrating workloads and services from on-prem to AWS
  • Easy movement of Files and date from local on-prem network storage to AWS
AWS is very well suited for PAAS, IAAS capabilities .
Its can be very well used for containerization using services like EKS and ECS
It is very efficient in handling loads of unstructured data in terms of storage and retrieval using DynamoDB etc
AWS can be challenging in handling migration of workloads from on-prem to AWS cloud
It may not be appropriate to use AWS for SaaS capablities.
Siddhartha Murthinty | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
AWS is our choice of technology for our Data Analytics platform. It is being used organization-wide. AWS has altered the way we perform our vulnerability management, application security, breach detection, and IT troubleshooting. We utilize AWS's offering of services for computing, storage, networking, database, analytics, application services, and security. We rely upon S3 and other AWS services to process and store our data. We chose AWS because the data is stored in AWS data centers located inside nondescript facilities.
  • Physical Security: We chose AWS because the data is stored in AWS data centers located inside nondescript facilities.
  • Multi-featured Cloud offering: We utilize AWS's offering of services for computing, storage, networking, database, analytics, application services, and security.
  • Least Privileged Design: Our cloud uses a microservice architecture consisting of several small services working together. These services are logically separated into several different AWS accounts to minimize the blast radius of security incidents.
  • Traceability: If we could ensure that all cloud actions are being logged and monitored such as AWS API actions, that would be great.
  • We might want to include access to servers and services being logged to external systems to prevent tampering.
  • Incorporate more than the current five following cloud regions: United States, Canada, Europe - Germany and Ireland, Japan, and Australia
AWS is our choice of technology for our Data Analytics platform as it has altered the way we perform our vulnerability management, application security, breach detection, and IT troubleshooting. We utilize AWS's offering of services for computing, storage, networking, database, analytics, application services, and security. We also rely on Amazon S3 for storing data backups.
The MTTR is as per the SLA and the responses are not "copy-paste". AWS's support plans are well designed to give us the right mix of tools and access to expertise in order to optimize performance, manage risk, and keep costs under control. Since we have production workloads in AWS, the 24x7 phone, email, and chat access to Cloud Support Engineers are vital.
Score 1 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
We have a SaaS application we host out of Singapore on behalf of one client, support multiple other companies with hosted web services and use some of the AWS services for internal processes.

  • Provides clear links to access support
  • Responding to support requests
  • Resolving support requests
  • Escalating support requests
  • Allowing access to a complaints process
  • Reviewing support processes to detect issues
  • Providing managerial or even supervisory oversight of their support teams
Amazon is okay if you are prepared to be trained in their very opaque systems and spend a lot of time becoming an AWS expert. AWS is not for your average Joe, or those who do not want to spend a lot of time becoming AWS certified. [In my experience] other systems are far more user-friendly and intuitive. I would not recommend AWS services. We have had issues with being overbilled when their products went wrong and are unable to get issues escalated. There have also been issues with getting access to talk to supervisors/managers, or being advised of how to access a formal complaints process that doesn't send us back to the same team we are already complaining about for lack of results, responses, or professionalism. We have been trapped by the same support(sic) team, who handles escalations, complaints, etc. In short, they aren't resolving or working to resolve the issues and we cannot get past them to get this looked at. We also cannot inform someone of the issues we are having with this team as they block all options to talk to supervisors, managers, etc. [I feel] AWS has given their unsupervised teams the ability to not do their jobs and block complaints. We are trapped by our systems being on AWS and them being difficult to extract. Also, we are grossly overcharged for services we don't use. We will never use AWS again.
If I could give them a negative score I would. 103 days and no resolution, escalation, call backs, complaints process, or the ability to talk to anyone but the incompetent front line agents who dodge simple questions like - how do I raise a formal complaint, what's your SLA, what's the expected time frame, or can I talk to a supervisor/manager, etc.
Sean Patterson | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Amazon Web Services is being used internally and with clients to provide top-quality solutions that are cloud-based. The wide variety of services available allows us to customize the scale and type of solutions our clients need. Anything from web hosting to ML needs are available to us. Large and small problems are being solved through Amazon Web Services offerings. It is of tremendous value.
  • Availability
  • Scalability
  • Flexibility
  • Web Interface
  • Documentation
  • IAM Documentation
Amazon Web Services is well suited for nearly any kind of web application or cloud-connected solution you are looking to build. Amazon Web Services provides various scaling options for nearly all of its services, so you can optimize your cost by not using too much power until necessary. Amazon Web Services has a rich API to all of its services, making it very flexible and powerful from a developer perspective. The web interface to manage resources is still a little outdated, so if you have clients that are reliant upon it, you may look into other options as not to intimidate them.
Amazon Web Services is a solid and powerful platform. As outlined before, there is nothing it can't do. Its free tier also allows you to try out a solution as a proof of concept before going to full implementation. The only things that stop it from a 10 rating is the web console that could be a little more user-friendly. Additionally, the IAM security model is immensely popular and granular but could use a little more documentation/support to assist those that aren't security experts.
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Our team is using Amazon Web Services as a cloud based service for various projects. We have deployed many Java and J2EE based applications on the Amazon EC2 instances. AWS vast variety of tools have helped us in seamless integration and deployment for our applications.
  • Wide range of services/tools available on a single platform
  • Fast and reliable cloud services
  • Rock solid security for your applications and deployments
  • High availability across multiple locations around the world
  • Regular updates and improvements in the tools and services offered
  • Some tools like CloudFront and SES need improvement
  • Extensive training is required to work with different tools of AWS
  • Costing for some services is high
AWS is well suited for any size and type of project. The integration between various AWS tools and services is very fast and easy. The engineers can start to work with AWS with some initial trainings. One can deploy anything from a database mobile app to an enterprise level large application.
The support from AWS is really good. They have a dedicated platform for learning and training. Also extensive and detailed documentation is available for support and implementation for each AWS service/tool, that too with a lot of examples.
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
We are using Amazon Web Services to develop and deploy machine learning applications on the cloud. We have used AWS like Comprehend and SageMaker to build deep learning models. Also, we have used other services like Lambda for server-less functions.
  • Excellent training material and documentation available for each tool and service of Amazon Web Services.
  • Large user community and support available online.
  • Scalable as per the demand and requirement.
  • Management of services used is very easy from the centralized dashboard.
  • Some tools have very complex UI to use.
  • Costing for certain tools and services is bit on the higher side.
It is well suited for your project if you require a secure and reliable cloud platform. It provides on-demand scalable services and hardware which can fulfill the requirements of small as well as large application.
The support from Amazon Web Services is excellent. We have not faced any major issues as of now. During the initial deployment, we faced issues but the support person helped us fix them in a timely manner.
Erlon Sousa Pinheiro | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
I work at a SaaS company that built its entire stack over Amazon Web Services. Every service provided for our customers is based on AWS infrastructure. We are regular users of dozens of different AWS products such as S3, EC2, IAM, EKS, ECR and so on. Even for some internal stuff we normally decide to use AWS once we can group everything we have on the same cloud provider.
  • High Availability
  • Scalability
  • Compliance
  • Security
  • Technologic Innovation
  • Cost reduction
  • Fast releases for softwares used by its services.
  • User Interface (its console)
Amazon Web Services is, without doubt, the best provider for those who are looking to start providing a service on Internet without worry about server acquisition, internet links, etc. You can just focus on your product development and use Amazon Web Services infrastructure paying it as demanded. Its scalability features would take your product as services levels from big players like Netflix for instance.
Every time I have had needs to escalate issues, it was done in a fast way. I had access to higher-level engineers where they kept me posted all the time and the solution was provided quickly. But sometimes due some software old version being used, there are some features that simply are not provided and we need to wait for the update which can take longer than we would like.
Tanay Arora | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Amazon Web Services is mostly used by our organization for cloud computing, for their storage, IoT platform, and for their complex API.
These services help organizations to move faster and the cost of these services is quite less that also lets us learn many new algorithms and modern ways which are needed to work with them.
  • Easy to use and manage
  • Detailed documentation for every service and tool
  • Robust and fast
  • Real time support
  • It really becomes hard sometimes to choose configurations for a server which would be suitable for your pocket and project.
  • You need to be experienced to use Amazon Web Services at it's fullest.
  • Billing is a little bit confusing.
Amazon Web Services is well suited when you have to make a project in which you want that all the work could be done automatically or in technical words, where you want automation in your project, Amazon web service is most welcome there.
It could be fast and robust and good for the deployment of the application's backend and APIs.
It is good in every aspect, It's easy to manage and configure it, even for beginners, we could upload backend, applications, APIs and use its inbuilt tools and APIs for further development and for learning.
It provides a good platform where you could get the most powerful hardware over the internet, which you could use to achieve a lot.
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
We use Amazon Web Services as our primary compute platform. We run our primary applications and run our business from the Amazon cloud. As an IT professional, AWS cuts out the busy work of IT. AWS lets me focus on the needs to the business and not the needs of datacenter hardware. We're able to deploy new systems within minutes without needing to worry about having enough server capacity.
  • The platform is extremely agile, we will typically get a new server request fulfilled within minutes
  • AWS hardware is reliable, we don't worry about the on premise data center environment.
  • They have tools and services that allow you to create anything you need.
  • AWS can be overwhelming with the vast amount of services they provide. It can be tough to pick the right option to fit the goal you're trying to accomplish
  • There is some reliance on your own skills to create tools\functionally that isn't native. Like scheduling backups.
  • There is a steep learning curve to the platform.
If you need to expand your compute footprint quickly without having to go through the hardware acquisition process. Amazon Web Services can help quickly augment your on prem compute power to run the one off yearly processes without leaving you with unused hardware for 10 months of the year.

If you're looking to get out of hosting your own datacenter, AWS is a perfect replacement.

If you're looking to scale your website, or even host your own small business Amazon is the ideal solution.

Once you no longer need to worry about the underlying hardware to run your servers you can truly focus your time on adding value to your company.
I've been using AWS as our primary compute platform for almost 2 years. During that time I've opened no more than 4 support cases. Typically those were for questions to get answered and not hard down scenarios. Their support is quick, very processional, and work with you to help solve your problem.
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
AWS serves PACE in a couple of ways. The IT Department primarily uses EC2 to host the infrastructure to our ecommerce website. We offload our onsite Veeam backups with S3 and glacier. We also host our spam filter and a remote assistance tool in AWS. AWS has provided our company a way to spin up offsite (cloud) services easily, and in a flexible enough of an environment that lends itself to the next generation of software products.
  • AWS is particularly good at eating up your money if you don't budget and plan your deployment properly.
  • It's like a candy shop for IT Geeks who love automation and workflows.
  • You name the service you want to deploy on the cloud, chances are someone's built it for AWS.
  • See the first entry on my Pros list.
  • Billing can be a bit confusing, so get familiar with it!
  • It's Amazon, and they have a virtual monopoly on the cloud.
This is the defacto public cloud, and you will find your next generation applications using AWS whether you plan to or not. AWS is awesome for long-term storage of backups, offloading high-volume traffic onto a public cloud that would otherwise run in your on-premise environment. It's basically a rental for servers that you can spin up and down as your needs change.
Rahul Chhajed | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
We are using Amazon Web Services in various of our internal tools and also in our product. We deployed our API server over EC2. Other than EC2 we are using many other services like RDS, Load balancers, Firewall, S3, Route 53 and many other services for our different products and tools.
  • Starting an instance and accessing it for testing purpose, demo or production deployment its always easy.
  • All the things which are available over AWS are pretty well managed and easy to use.
  • You might find everything you required for an product and other development over AWS.
  • Its suitable for both either an enterprise or an startup
  • Various resources and documentation are available in case you struck somewhere.
  • Amazon market place is great but its not that straight forward to subscribe then activate it in your instance. Example Openvpn.
  • Sometimes its really hard to choose the correct configuration which is suitable for your product as well pocket.
  • You need to be experienced if you want to use AWS effectively and efficiently
More suited I will say deploying your Web-server, Running some cloud applications, Deploying your micro-services, Managed database. Less suited is really hard to say but there can be some scenario where you can use free services like Google spreadsheet scripting for smaller data management and small workflows. Workflow automation is something you need multiple vendors to talk to each other at that time its preferred to go for something else.
April 13, 2021

AWS Review

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Amazon Web Services is used by our infrastructure team to host and support various technologies within the company. The information technology department implements AWS to help support a variety of different issues and programs and allows us to maintain an effective and efficient service so that our business can perform as needed and allows us to better support our end-users.
  • Reliable Service
  • Fast and efficient configurations
  • Learning curve when training new hires
We've chosen [Amazon Web Services] as our infrastructure-as-a-service (IAAS) solution across the whole organization for all our development environments, i.e. dev, staging, and production. We build custom-coded apps (full-stack). We specifically use it as our cloud solution for compute, storage and content delivery. This allows us to provide the best service to our end users as possible.
Gnanasekar Mani | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
I have been using Amazon Web Services for more than 3 years as of now. Its one of the best cloud computing platform, which has wide range of functionalities (services from Servers to ML, AI stuff) and the best part is all these services are provided in competitive pricing, also UI for the services is easy to understand and it has wide community following.
  • Great Functionality
  • Competitive pricing
  • Wide community following
  • Nearly 100 % uptime of most of the services
  • Variety of Availability zones and regions
  • Services can be sometimes having downtime
  • So many newcomers have come to the category, want to learn from them as well
  • Some services are associated with high cost due to low competition in the category
Best things:
1) Due to first comers in the space, they have scaled up their operation so well and have vast variety of services and category to provide.
2) Their customer executives are really effective and talented people and will be able to answer most of our questions can be technical or configuration stuff.

To be Improved:
1) They charge more for the enterprise support, if we opt for and the cost of the support will be based upon our monthly bills, which can be reduced or it can changed.

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
We use AWS for our website content distribution network (CDN) as well as hosting files for desktop support management (software updates for example). We use it whenever possible across a number of departments and needs. It helps us provide IT support to our global workforce without needing an on-premises server and complicated network setup. It also makes our web hosting cost much less.
  • Website CDN
  • Caching server for desktop support (software installer files).
  • Reliability, it has been set and forget.
  • It is such a vast product that finding what you need can be a challenge.
  • There is a learning curve, but once you figure it out, it's fairly simple.
If you run a website that uses a CMS and you host it on a server you pay for, it is a great CDN. It is also great if you need to deploy files, software, software updates, or other packages to computers your company manages. If you host a website with an online service, AWS is not necessarily the best option. If you need the best security, AWS may not be the right option. It isn't as secure as some other options.
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
We use Amazon Web Services in a number of ways across the entire organization. It addresses the need for flexibility and reactive infrastructure that you cant find in a bare metal environment. It is also great to POC a new design or product as it is very easy to spin up, scale, and evolve as needed
  • scaling
  • security and access management
  • cost tracking
  • infrastructure as code
  • UI is clunky
  • cost tracking is good but could be simpler or implied
Amazon Web Services is really made for any type of project. They are seemingly always offering new products and features. It preforms best in a dynamic cloud native environment when you have services that need to scale up and down. On the flip side of this you'd likely be able to get better bang for you buck from other providers at fixed rates if you have steady needs/scale
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Our company has exited all of its data centers and migrated the entirety of its workloads into AWS. We use it across the enterprise and it has allowed us to transform our IT operations and software development. All of our applications and associated data are running in AWS.
  • AWS provides a large offering of different services that are used in deploying applications.
  • The services integrate well with each other. We look to leverage AWS managed services wherever possible.
  • AWS customer support is outstanding.
  • The learning curve to truly get operating in AWS is not insignificant.
  • It can be tough finding quality engineers that are competent working in AWS.
AWS is the current standard and future of public cloud computing. Their ability to expand their platform and improve the existing services is unmatched. Even with a heavily regulated industry such as ours, we have found a way to leverage AWS for the entirety of our enterprise workloads.
April 05, 2021

AWS

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
We use Amazon Web Services for storing our disaster recovery backups and it has been very affordable and simple to use. It works very smoothly with our Rubrik backup system. This has proven to be smooth. We also use a number of SaaS providers that are using AWS and we have had good successes with those too.
  • Smooth
  • Easy
  • Affordable
  • Cost to restore
I would strongly advise that companies use [Amazon Web Services]. They deliver on the needs that we have and have provided the comfort in knowing that we are protected. Prior to our Rubrik / AWS setup, we had to take Backup tapes to other locations to make sure data was safe. This is so much more secure. I am super pleased with this design.
July 18, 2020

Startups, go for it

Salwat Hamrah | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
We have used Amazon Web Services for the web hosting of www.getbeyondlimits.com for many years. All our data gets backed on Amazon Web Services. Amazon Web Services seems to be quite dynamic in its functionality. You have so many plans to choose from. The best part is that you only pay for what you use. Ideally, if more people visit your website, you pay more and that is good for business.
  • Dynamic pricing
  • Push load time is less
  • Easy to use
  • S3 can be made easier for use.
  • The pricing, though dynamic, still gets high at times.
  • At times, downtime happens as well.
For a startup, it is one of the best things. But for large companies, the bills may become high, so keep searching for alternatives, I would say. Until now, we have not come up with anything that can beat Amazon Web Services in any way. Also, you become comfortable with what you use.
Although there has been no need until now to get in touch with the customer support of Amazon Web Services, for installation they did call us and have been very supportive. They even suggested some plans that could work for our use-case. There is no doubt Amazon does a great job of building trust.
Return to navigation