TrustRadius
Mendix is a low code platform-as-a-service offering with mobile and social extensions. Mendix was acquired by Siemens August 2018.https://dudodiprj2sv7.cloudfront.net/product-logos/N5/b6/RSJGLIJ6W3QR.PNGFlexible and fast way to produce maintainable business appsMendix is the best solution for B2B applications of processing simple data that need to be built fast, that are built and maintained in environments that requirements change often, so applications that need to be maintainable and easy to change.,Data management system. Front-end for any back-end. State machines. Flexible implementation and change. Fast development (minimal time-to-market). The platform supports the Scrum process.,Better support of the dev team (more detail in the changes made by each developer) More reliable upgrading and merging of branches. For-loops would be nice. More "what you see is what you get" (commits to the DB, refresh of pages, showing and closing pages is usually happening at the end of a transaction, instead of the moment the developer has modeled it to happen).,9,Request for Mendix projects is constant. When you hire a Mendix consultant, you know (s)he will be busy 100% Scrum has become a religion because of Mendix. It created a sense of community, a culture of sharing, working together and having fun.,OutSystems and AppianMy thoughts about MendixAs a consultant at Bizzomate I primarily use Mendix as an advanced tool to help our customers to address their business needs. Currently I work on an app that aims to streamline document processing for my client. Within this organization Mendix is also used for several other use-cases, ranging from internal auditing to client dashboard applications.,Rapid development; Mendix is low-code and this way offers a faster approach to software development. Easy to learn; Mendix can be learned by doing and is supported by good tutorials and a well supported community of developers. Keeping up with their own position; I believe Mendix does a good job trying to stay on top of the low code platforms.,Mendix is becoming better in the mobile domain. There is still some work [needed] but they made great improvements since Mendix 7. Personally I think Mendix is somewhat expensive; I believe their pricing model could be improved for medium-sized enterprises.,8,Mendix allowed my organization to grow in terms of profit but also in terms of satisfaction,PowerApps,Microsoft Office 365, MS SharePoint, Bizagi Digital Business Platform,8,Yes,Yes during one occasion Mendix found a memory problem not directly related to the problem at hand. They helped out on both issues without additional costs.Mendix reviewMendix is being used by our customers to excel in their digital transformation. Mendix creates applications in such a fast way that customers can really make the difference in their industry with it. It can be used for creating business logic and with the complete cloud picture that Mendix offers it really makes a difference!,Rapid application development Bridging the gap between IT and Business Overall integrator,Mindfulness of performance Scalability in containers Development is thought of as very easy,9,Positive: made our customers make the difference in their market. Positive: in a specific case made less trucks drive for a customer, which means a better environment. Positive: close the gap between IT and business, makes it possible to talk with Business people about an IT solution in a way we both understand.,OutSystemsGreat MendixGreat application and I recommended. We were using Siebel Application and it was causing us a lot of problems, especially with user experience and design. It was so hard to add links or new files or widgets, but we now just use Mendix and all problems are solved easily.,User experience Microflow Business check,New bootstrap version,10,Oracle Siebel CRM,Oracle Siebel CRM, Oracle Access ManagementQuick, Easy, robust and fast.Our organization uses Mendix as a pillar of development. We are a Mendix premium partner and focus on making Mendix the world's leading low-code platform. Mendix is used throughout the whole organization. We use Mendix to solve business specific problems and use it for Agile RAD development.,Scalable Fast and flexible development No coding needed Secure,Expensive SAP on premise v.s. SAP Cloud connectors,10,Faster development and deployment Better translation from IT to business Fewer errors, more satisfied customers,DNN Platform and WordPress
Windows
Mendix
87 Ratings
Score 8.7 out of 101
TRScore

Mendix Reviews

Mendix
87 Ratings
Score 8.7 out of 101
Top Rated Award
Show Filters 
Hide Filters 
Filter 87 vetted Mendix reviews and ratings
Clear all filters
Overall Rating
Reviewer's Company Size
Last Updated
By Topic
Industry
Department
Experience
Job Type
Role
Reviews (1-25 of 56)
  Vendors can't alter or remove reviews. Here's why.
Georgios Andronikidis profile photo
July 05, 2018

Mendix Review: "Flexible and fast way to produce maintainable business apps"

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Mendix is the best solution for B2B applications of processing simple data that need to be built fast, that are built and maintained in environments that requirements change often, so applications that need to be maintainable and easy to change.
  • Data management system.
  • Front-end for any back-end.
  • State machines.
  • Flexible implementation and change.
  • Fast development (minimal time-to-market).
  • The platform supports the Scrum process.
  • Better support of the dev team (more detail in the changes made by each developer)
  • More reliable upgrading and merging of branches.
  • For-loops would be nice.
  • More "what you see is what you get" (commits to the DB, refresh of pages, showing and closing pages is usually happening at the end of a transaction, instead of the moment the developer has modeled it to happen).
Read Georgios Andronikidis's full review
Jeroen Odink profile photo
June 06, 2018

User Review: "My thoughts about Mendix"

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
As a consultant at Bizzomate I primarily use Mendix as an advanced tool to help our customers to address their business needs. Currently I work on an app that aims to streamline document processing for my client. Within this organization Mendix is also used for several other use-cases, ranging from internal auditing to client dashboard applications.
  • Rapid development; Mendix is low-code and this way offers a faster approach to software development.
  • Easy to learn; Mendix can be learned by doing and is supported by good tutorials and a well supported community of developers.
  • Keeping up with their own position; I believe Mendix does a good job trying to stay on top of the low code platforms.
  • Mendix is becoming better in the mobile domain. There is still some work [needed] but they made great improvements since Mendix 7.
  • Personally I think Mendix is somewhat expensive; I believe their pricing model could be improved for medium-sized enterprises.
Mendix is the program for organizations that have an agile mindset, for organizations that believe that change is key for sustainable growth. Also Mendix is the development tool for organizations that want the business to be in control of IT instead of the other way around.
In the same vain I believe Mendix to be less appropriate for organizations that lack the above vision.
Read Jeroen Odink's full review
Maarten Bongers profile photo
August 28, 2018

"Mendix review"

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Mendix is being used by our customers to excel in their digital transformation. Mendix creates applications in such a fast way that customers can really make the difference in their industry with it. It can be used for creating business logic and with the complete cloud picture that Mendix offers it really makes a difference!
  • Rapid application development
  • Bridging the gap between IT and Business
  • Overall integrator
  • Mindfulness of performance
  • Scalability in containers
  • Development is thought of as very easy
Mendix is suited in scenarios where there is a certain business logic that integrates with strong core systems that do, for example, calculations that need to be presented to users. Mendix is less appropriate as a service bus solution. Although Mendix integrates easily, I would always go for a case with business logic!
Read Maarten Bongers's full review
No photo available
September 06, 2018

User Review: "Great Mendix"

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Great application and I recommended. We were using Siebel Application and it was causing us a lot of problems, especially with user experience and design. It was so hard to add links or new files or widgets, but we now just use Mendix and all problems are solved easily.
  • User experience
  • Microflow
  • Business check
  • New bootstrap version
I did not enter into all the scenarios but I'm sure that Mendix covers all of it.
Read this authenticated review
Sjoerd Beljon profile photo
April 24, 2018

Mendix Review: "Quick, Easy, robust and fast."

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Our organization uses Mendix as a pillar of development. We are a Mendix premium partner and focus on making Mendix the world's leading low-code platform. Mendix is used throughout the whole organization. We use Mendix to solve business specific problems and use it for Agile RAD development.
  • Scalable
  • Fast and flexible development
  • No coding needed
  • Secure
  • Expensive
  • SAP on premise v.s. SAP Cloud connectors
I would recommend Mendix for large organization issues and applications. It is very robust and scalable. It is made to deploy quickly so changes and expansions can be made every step of the way. I would not recommend Mendix for very small projects because the costs of usage would just be too high.
Read Sjoerd Beljon's full review
Menno de Haas profile photo
March 30, 2018

Review: "Mendix is an easy-to-use platform for rapid software development"

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
In general, we apply Mendix when time-to-market for software development is short (for instance during product innovations) and requirements for flexibility are high.

If we develop web applications or mobile applications for consumer end-users, we often use Mendix as a backend that exposes APIs for websites or mobile applications.

Alternatively, when Mendix is used internally in companies, we use the Mendix front-end framework to build a web-based application.
  • Speed of development
  • Deployment options
  • Technical support
  • Memory management
  • Flexibility to improve application performance through query optimization
  • Apply custom monitoring tool (only beta available)
Appropriate to use as a Swiss army knife as it can build beautiful CRUD (Create Read Update Delete) applications within hours, but don't expect Mendix to perform well in specific niche setups. For instance, high throughput queues.

When application performance (high traffic and/or low latency) becomes very important, consider custom development or apply other services to handle the load, for instance, other AWS services.
Read Menno de Haas's full review
Osama Shalabi profile photo
March 23, 2018

User Review: "Mendix is Fast And Secure"

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use Mendix to solve client problems and help them innovate their business. Because of its versatility, it can be used to address any problem we encounter. Mendix is very business oriented. Mendix enables us to work closely with the business and rapidly build apps.
  • Visual coding makes it easy to read code and work together with the business
  • Fast application development and deployments
  • Certain areas are outdated due to rapid growth
  • Mobile app
We use Mendix for clients in different areas of expertise. Mendix is suited for them all. The quick adoption of new(er) technologies by the platform, or at least the ability to implement certain technologies, makes Mendix the go-to low-code platform. However, for smaller companies, a Mendix license can be a tad expensive. While working on a newer license structure, it is mainly focused on enterprise customers.
Read Osama Shalabi's full review
Sebastian Piest profile photo
February 19, 2018

Review: "Applying Mendix in logistics & supply chain"

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Reseller
Review Source
I consult Mendix to companies active in logistics and supply to create transparency in their value chains and digitize processes. The Mendix platform delivers instant value and is capable of supporting business processes on a global scale.
  • Citizen development
  • Integrating lifecycle management
  • Creating a global community
  • Local modeling
Mendix's sweet spot is on differentiating and innovative app development.
Read Sebastian Piest's full review
Martin van der Plaat profile photo
April 30, 2018

Mendix Review: "Great RAD tool and easy to learn!"

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Reseller
Review Source
We can develop applications really quick (couple of days) and our customers are always amazed by the speed with which we can show them new features in the application.
  • Mendix is very easy to learn and free to try! The online learning paths are great and range from beginner to advanced. New learning paths are added frequently and the others are regularly maintained.
  • Customising the desktop modeler works fine (placing toolbars where you want etc.) but there is no customizing the theme (yet). For instance, a dark theme would be a great addition!
Well suited for quick application development, especially in a innovative environment.
Read Martin van der Plaat's full review
Niels van de Sande profile photo
December 04, 2017

Review: "Mendix is great for Rapid Application Development with Business People for Business People"

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Reseller
Review Source
Our company would not exist without Mendix. Mendix makes it possible for me (a consultant that graduated in Strategic Marketing) to build applications for businesses. Every single project we do is with Mendix and it allows me as a ''business person'' to connect with other users from the business and build the best possible application for them without using any parties in between. Business talks to business rather than business talks to IT talks to business.
  • One click deployment
  • Visual representation of data flows and database
  • Easy mobile access
  • 100% cloud based development
  • Expensive licenses so inaccessible for smaller businesses
Mendix is great for building application and logic in areas where there is a lot of innovation and uncertainty (or rapidly changing environments). It is very easy to change and adjust things on the fly. It is great to do a ''Demo in a day'' business case, where a business can tell you about their problems and you show them a (mockup) solution within a few hours/days and can continue building from thereon.

Mendix is less suited for large, static trajectories for which there are already available products (WMS systems, CMS systems etc.)
Read Niels van de Sande's full review
Willem van Zantvoort profile photo
February 23, 2018

User Review: "Mendix has lots to offer!"

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Reseller
Review Source
We use Mendix to solve client problems and help them innovate their business. Because of its versatility it can be used to address any problem we encounter. Mendix is very business oriented because of, a.o., its visual logic. This enables us to work closely with the business and rapidly build apps, try out innovative ideas and generate ROI.
  • Visual coding makes it easy to read code and work together with the business
  • Fast application development and deployments
  • Business oriented
  • No need for IT experience to get started (affinity is a must though)
  • Limitations of the platform
Mobile, tablet or desktop apps. Multi-app landscapes.
Read Willem van Zantvoort's full review
Jessica Truszczynski profile photo
December 01, 2017

User Review: "Mendix House"

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Reseller
Review Source
We are a reseller and a partner of Mendix and build Mendix applications for customers.
  • Low-Code development = easier and much faster than coding
  • Mendix comes with a full package out of the box = It is possible to integrate Mendix fully into a SCRUM lifecycle (modeler, sprintr, ATS, APM...)
  • IT and business are able to communicate better via Mendix, especially due to the Web modeler.
  • There are many developers who do not use the integrated sprintr of Mendix for bigger projects. Maybe it's worth finding out why exactly and improve the Mendix sprintr.
Mendix is well suited for smaller projects with only a few sprints. Bigger projects that take longer than a year are not that appropriate.
Read Jessica Truszczynski's full review
No photo available
April 23, 2018

User Review: "My Mendix experience"

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Mendix is being used at the core of our organization. It allows vital business processes to be managed fluently.
  • Provides a great user experience
  • Provides valuable insights into business processes by exposing bottlenecks with the visual style of modeling
  • Is very adaptable to change
  • Development time is very fast
  • Pricing is quite steep
Mendix is very well suited for developing a modern user interface on top of an existing IT-landscape. The adaptability to change allows for fast business value to be added, without intrusive database redesigns.
Read this authenticated review
No photo available
February 08, 2018

User Review: "Mendix: The way to buid apps!"

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use Mendix as a platform to build and maintain applications for several clients. Because Mendix is a RAD platform it's possible to build apps in a very short time period and solve business problems quickly.
  • Fast development (Short time-to-market)
  • Scalability
  • Large Appstore
  • Easy to integrate with other systems
  • The Mendix Sprintr environment has room for improvement
  • Licenses can be quite expensive
Situations in which Mendix is well suited:
- Continuous improvement/development
- Short time to market
- Multi-platform (desktop - mobile)
- When scope is not completely clear yet

Less suited:
- High volume data apps
- Rebuild existing packaged software
Read this authenticated review
Umesh Sukheja profile photo
November 10, 2017

"Mendix review for version 4.4 to version 7.8"

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Mendix is used by a particular department which builds Mobile inventory management tool for KPN. Initially Mendix was a boon for development. The application was building at light speed. But as the scale of the application increased after Mendix 5.x the performance degraded.
  • Using Mendix you can build an application in a week compared to building the same application in Java in 1 month.
  • You can simultaneously build applications for all kinds of devices (Desktop, Mobile and tablets).
  • All in one tool, in Mendix Modeler you can manage databases, webservices, Mendix code , Java code, etc.
  • Tool is very rigid, it should be bit more flexible, by giving more control to the developer.
  • As the scale of application increases, the performance decreases.
Mendix is well suited when:
1) Scale of application is small,
2) The time to deliver is less, like you need to build application rapidly.
3) You want to build applications for multiple environments like desktop, mobile and tablets; Mendix works very well in such cases, as using Mendix you can build applications for multiple environments simultaneously.

Mendix is less appropriate when:
1) You have more time and less money, in such cases you can use freely available technology to build application.
2) You need more flexibility in code, like if you want to modify each and every element of code.
Read Umesh Sukheja's full review
Gustav Coleske profile photo
August 02, 2017

Review: "Increased user adoption through Mendix Consumer grade RAD applications"

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Reseller
Review Source

We have been using the Mendix platform for delivering RAD applications for the last 3+ years. We use it to rapidly develop Mode 2 Bi-modal consumer grade applications on desktop, tablet and mobile in various companies and industries. Due to the rapid development nature of Mendix, it shines where business requirements are unclear as you can develop ideas quickly and change direction when you realise your idea is not fit for purpose.

The platform is built based on the Agile Software delivery model. The platform offers segregated areas for managing the Collaboration, Development, Deployment and Operational aspects of your project. This means that you don’t need to invest in other Agile platforms if your company has not done so already. You are good to go with your Agile projects from the get go. The development modeller integrates with the platform to make deployment just a few clicks away. Issue identification is easy as the feedback mechanism in the application enables users to show exactly where in the application the problem happens and under what circumstances.

It compliments ERP solutions very well thanks to the ease of integration through direct database connections, REST and SOAP.


Mendix offers pre-built connectors for Internet of Things, Machine Learning, Cognitive Services, Predictive Analytics and others making the build of context sensitive smart apps a lot easier. It also allows you to connect to other systems through REST/SOAP or any third party database through the Database Connector.


There are a large number of deployment options available - from on-premise, private cloud and public cloud options through its membership of the Cloud Foundry initiative.

  • Speed of delivery
  • Integrated platform
  • Various deployment options (on-premise vs various cloud platforms)
  • One click cloud deployments
  • User story management may seem light for expert Agile users.
  • Complex widget development compared to the rest of the low code application development cycle.
Mendix really shines when delivering Mode 2 in bimodal application development. This is where the requirements are unclear and change often. While it can be used for developing Mode 1 applications, this is not where its sweet spot is.
Read Gustav Coleske's full review
Paul Ketelaars profile photo
September 21, 2017

User Review: "Mendix - Anyone can do it!"

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use Mendix as a platform. [We are] Implementing new business applications built using the Mendix Platform. Its rapid development character makes it great for quick and innovative apps.
  • Quick
  • Easy to learn
  • One Click Deployment
  • Vibrant community
  • Quick release schedule
  • Certain areas are outdated due to rapid growth
  • Support can be improved
  • Updates can be more focussed on feedback by developers
We use Mendix for clients in different areas of expertise. Mendix is suited for them all. The quick adoption of new(er) technologies by the platform, or at least the ability to implement certain technologies, makes Mendix the go-to low-code platform. However, for smaller companies, a Mendix license can be a tad expensive. While working on a newer license structure, it is mainly focused on enterprise customers.
Read Paul Ketelaars's full review
Nick van Wieren profile photo
August 17, 2017

Mendix Review: "A great rapid app development platform"

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Mendix is used as our main application development platform to develop our trade manager product. The trade manager system is specifically built for fund managers in emerging and frontier markets.
  • Rapid App Development - from thought/paper to MVP without lengthy development time required.
  • Great innovation over the last few years that I have been using Mendix - meaning there are no worries related to vendor lock-in and Mendix keeps up its potential with every new release.
  • Customer support specifically related to resolving bugs in the platform can take considerable time (in some case more than a year). Communication about priorities leaves room for improvement.
  • My experience with release schedules related to new feature releases often get delayed.
Mendix is great for rapid app development including mobile. High volume data applications/large enterprise applications might be better off with other platforms/open source.
Read Nick van Wieren's full review
B Bala Sushuma Kumari profile photo
August 11, 2017

User Review: "Mendix- Ease to build your application"

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We are using Mendix for the development of client applications and also contributing to the Mendix forum by creating sample widget apps, custom widgets and answering questions in the forum. We have a Mendix department separately in our organization.
  • It takes less time for the development.
  • Ease in UI design.
  • Security can be provided easily.
  • Changes to the application can be done easily based on the client requirement.
  • We need to customize it for applying additional features by writing our own custom widgets.
  • At times it is bit complex when using the App store widgets.
Mendix is good, but when there is a need to customize a particular functionality it consumes time.
Read B Bala Sushuma Kumari's full review
Wieke Bouten profile photo
July 24, 2017

Mendix Review: "Model driven development done right"

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
As a Mendix partner, my employer employs multiple Mendix developers and is engaged in projects in a wide variety of industries. It provided the winning team for the Mendix World Hackathon 2016 and of our consultants two are Mendix MVP.

Though having originated in the energy sector, our company currently has consultants working and experienced in working with Mendix in the finance, utilities, manufacturing industry and much more. The technology is used to complement big ERP systems, as well as to create entirely new applications: small, medium and big processes, across all channels (mobile, tablet and desktop).

Use cases include a user-centric application that predicts and allocates elevator maintenance resources based on live data from IoT sensors inside the elevators and an application that initiates, guides, controls and secures the entire Eurasia financial controlling process for all locations of an international manufacturing company, streamlining the process and creating actionable real-time management information.
  • Modeling instead of coding: instead of lines of code, create UML-like schedules and flows that a business can relate to.
  • Real-time model checking: In every step of the process, the platform checks if what you add or edit results in valid code, instantly giving you feedback (and suggestions) when this is not the case.
  • Visual debugging: easily step through models, with list of objects and variables available, to effectively pinpoint issues and correct them as you progress.
  • Better business model for small companies who want a single app.
  • Developer community size (and quality) keeping up with rising (international) Mendix adoption.
  • Improve included Scrum environment (Sprintr) functionality to better manage work over multiple applications.
Best suited for replacing 'Shadow IT' and small to medium to medium sized processes. Less appropriate for replacing ERP systems ('Mode 1' in Bi-Model IT approach).
Read Wieke Bouten's full review
Corné Hoogendoorn profile photo
July 21, 2017

User Review: "Delivering fast with Mendix"

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
As a partner of Mendix we build applications (rapidly) on the platform for several of our customers. Mendix enabled us to speed up our delivery time significantly and also helped us involving the business more with possibilities to make adjustments to the apps with just a few clicks and showing the results immediately to the persons sitting at your desk. As a consultant it's a great tool to work with, I can just focus on delivering functionality as fast as possible without being troubled with all kinds of set-ups, large amounts of coding for small functional entities and other stuff which slows you down on delivering. And the fun part is that through the speed of delivery you’re involved in lots of new opportunities and different kinds of functionality. Besides this, customers really appreciate the speed of delivering and are often surprised by this which makes it great to demo your results.
  • Rapid delivery
  • Ease of Use
  • Collaboration
  • Responsiveness
  • With more and more options available it gets to easy to create performance problems
  • Ease of use of output documents
Either if you want to create simple functionality in between other applications or want to create a larger application with lots of functioanlity, it works both ways.
Read Corné Hoogendoorn's full review
Simon Angel profile photo
October 17, 2017

Mendix Review: "A development environment that is a pleasure to use!"

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Reseller
Review Source
Mendix has been chosen as our strategic platform for cross application development. We are SAP System Integrator and when we found that Mendix has been included within the SAP Cloud Platform we recognised that the product had to be right for us.

Added to this, the speed of development and the ease of deployment to multiple platforms (especially as a PaaS/SaaS product), was especially important to Business on Demand.

The ability to deploy mobile apps without replication or online data access across both major mobile platforms without deep technical knowledge of the developer tools is vital to us.
  • Prototyping
  • Speed of conversion form Prototype to production ready
  • Team development features
  • Different versions can be confusing
  • Understanding the reason for the Web Modeller
  • Pricing is not obvious - Hope we wont be disappointed
Any development either connected to a master data system (such as SAP) or standalone
Read Simon Angel's full review
Ben Ziskoven profile photo
June 15, 2017

Review: "Rapid App Development for business and public sector with Mendix"

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Mendix is used by HR internally and used for financial and non-financial apps. Mobile business applications are developed to meet the needs of customers. This is done in sprints, delivering product functionality and improving the software each time, depending on business demands.
  • Rapid Development
  • Visually appealing
  • Use custom themes and design quickly
  • More cloud providers would be great
  • Business restricts the use of new Mendix versions
  • Some security settings have to be set manually
If you want to develop on top of SAP or other IT ecosystems, you can use Mendix. Integration with Microsoft does not go that well, better to use Mendix and not Azure.
Read Ben Ziskoven's full review
Bas van Heugten profile photo
October 06, 2017

Mendix Review: "Fast and scalable software development"

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Reseller
Review Source
We advise and develop Mendix Platform based software solutions.
  • Easily scalable
  • Custom designed
  • Fast and flexible development
  • No coding needed
  • Quite expensive
Perfect for larger businesses that have continuously changing business needs
Read Bas van Heugten's full review
Aswin van Braam profile photo
May 23, 2017

"Review from a partner and user of the Mendix platform"

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
As a Mendix partner, we also use Mendix to support internal business processes. The first internal app we built with Mendix was a support portal in which our customers can register support calls and follow their progress. The second app we built was an expenses app that is available on both desktop and mobile. The big advantage to creating Mendix apps is that you can build exactly what you want. You don't need to change your business processes because your "standard" software cannot support them.
  • There is an active community of Mendix developers/users who can provide answers to your questions in a very short timeframe.
  • Very fast (RAD) and Model driven (MDD) development.
  • LEGO-like building of your apps due to use of standard building blocks.
  • Document templates compared to the rest of the model are very time consuming to create and maintain.
  • The fast development pace of Mendix sometimes means new versions have to be treated with caution, they might contain (small) bugs in functionality that worked properly in earlier versions.
Mendix is well suited for businesses that need custom applications where they maintain control and can make changes/additions on the fly. On the other hand, a smaller company looking for an application with standard function may be more suited looking for an off the shelf solution.
The learning curve is steep, but most things worth working hard for have a having take work and have a learning curve. The fact that we are in control of the creative side of modelling and that we can edit/change those parts of the app we are not satisfied with are, amongst others, the things I like alot.
Read Aswin van Braam's full review

About Mendix

Mendix is a Low Code platform built for both speed and control, that places collaboration at the heart of the application development process. Mendix provides an integrated, comprehensive set of tools and platform services for the entire app lifecycle, from ideation and development, through deployment and operation. According to the vendor, customers see the benefit of applications that are created 10x faster with 70% fewer resources.

Mendix is recognized as a leader in two Gartner Magic Quadrants and two Forrester Waves, and selected by both IBM and SAP as the standard for high-productivity development for their respective clouds. It is used by 3,400 organizations worldwide, across dozens of verticals. Mendix was acquired by Siemens August 2018.

Mendix Features

Additional Features
Has featureOpen Platform Model API and Platform SDK
Has featureOffline Mobile Support for Any Device
Has featureResponsive UI Framework
Has featureAgile Project Management
Has featureVisual Application Development
Has featureApp Store
Has featureQuality Assurance

Mendix Screenshots

Mendix Integrations

CloudFoundry, Amazon Web Services, Salesforce, SAP, Oracle, Pivotal, Excel, IBM

Mendix Competitors

Quick Base, Heroku, Salesforce

Pricing

Has featureFree Trial Available?Yes
Has featureFree or Freemium Version Available?Yes
Has featurePremium Consulting/Integration Services Available?Yes
Entry-level set up fee?Optional
On-premise EditionPricing DetailsTerms
Enterprise Edition1,675per month (billed annually)
Pro Edition1,250per month (billed annually)
SaaS EditionPricing DetailsTerms
Free Edition$0
Pro Edition1,250per month (billed annually)
Enterprise Edition1,675per month (billed annually)

Mendix Customer Size Distribution

Consumers
%
Small Businesses (1-50 employees)
%
Mid-Size Companies (51-500 employees)
40%
Enterprises (> 500 employees)Enterprises (> 500 employees)
60%

Mendix Support Options

 Free VersionPaid Version
Forum/Community
FAQ/Knowledgebase
Video Tutorials / Webinar
Phone
Email

Mendix Technical Details

Deployment Types:On-premise, SaaS
Operating Systems: Windows
Mobile Application:Apple iOS, Android, Mobile Web