TrustRadius
Microsoft Dynamics SL is one of the ERP products in the Dynamics family. This product was acquired from Solomon 2000. The product is typically used by SMBs, particularly in project-based businesses (e.g. construction). It has strong accounting and project management capabilities.https://dudodiprj2sv7.cloudfront.net/product-logos/Sr/7i/OTCTGZAJ1NQF.pngDynamics SL 2011 - more to be desired!We currently use Dynamics SL as our sole accounting software. Only people within the accounting department have access to the software although we have a department who runs their own checks because of a unique specific function. However this department is reviewed and monitor by the finance department to ensure proper internal control. I have found Dynamics to be not very user friendly. The GL analysis function is quite lacking when comparing to other systems I've used in the past. In addition, the report writer again is not very user friendly and intuitive. Lastly, the sorting function uses coding language for the filters which makes training new users quite cumbersome.,Adequate layout of detailed general ledger report. Easy copy and paste feature for general ledger from Excel. Interacts well with certain Microsoft products and functionality.,Reporting features to provide more robust flexibility. Import features can be improved to be more user friendly. Interface can be improved to provide more access and edit to basic functions like print setup, setting up templates for reports, and user preferences. Better support packages and more training at reasonable pricing.,4,More time is spent on manipulating reports which can and should be automated. Lack of electronic invoicing process and other green technology features creates more cost on printing and storage costs. The lack of a user friendly interface requires more training and a bigger learning curve for staff.,Abila MIP Fund AccountingNon-profit's review of Microsoft Dynamics SLIt's used as our financial system. Used for functions like accounts payable, inventory, billing and general ledger.,Simple Configurable Affordable,Reporting is weak Not modern Security is complex,6,Nothing significant,Oracle PeopleSoft HCM and Oracle PeopleSoft SCMProject AccountingMicrosoft Dynamics SL is used for project management and financial reporting. It is used across the organization. The financial modules provide general ledger details and reporting along with payroll being processed for projects and management.,Project accounting is linked to the Financial modules - there is no need to duplicate data entry. Reporting in Project Modules is extensive. Validation of fields for data entry and solid integrity of data. Customizations of screens for data entry for users and addition of fields.,Purchasing does not have a budget validation to warn or stop a purchase from going over budget on a project level. Project budgeting does not have an interface with inventory ids. Financial modules could have more quick vewing screens for example a quick way to find the check no. of an invoice.,9,Project data is updated quickly and reporting tools available for management daily.,,1,1,Vendor implemented,1,1,1,1Dynamics SL For Project and Crew Based AccountingWe are using it for project and crew based cost accounting in one of our utility contracting companies and are in the process of rolling out the system to another one of our largest companies. Eventually, all companies under the holding company will deploy Dynamics SL as their ERP system as well as the parent company. The parent company will perform cross company consolidations.,Provides flexibility for complex project based cost accounting Strong and flexible allocation processer for cost allocations, markups, and pricing A "Flexible Billing" module under the project controller series that allows for multiple billing formats ranging from fixed price schedule of values, T&M or Cost Plus, and scheduled billing. Flexible reporting with options using Crystal Reports, SSRS, a Quick Query tool, and ability to tie into MS Office tools such as MS Access and MS Excel Tight integration with Financials, but also the ability to integrate with modules such as Sales Order, Inventory, and Field Service Customization abilities ranging from a VBA (visual basic for application) foundation to allow customizing existing forms to the ability to use the SDK (Software Development Kit) to build more complex customizations that integrate with Dynamics SL.,Incorporate some functionality provided by third party products into the core product. Since Dynamics SL has strong multi company capabilities, incorporate functions to secure projects within a company to certain groups. Improve the budgeting, forecasting, and change order interfaces so that the tools are more online. Improve the forecasting capabilities to include more robust and integrated tie in to the project EAC/ETC (Estimate at Completion/Estimate to Complete) numbers. This would allow project revenue/margin/cash forecasting. Expand on the subtask concept Improve the interface for multi level rate entry for pricing and cost allocations such that more security can be applied and reduce risk of inadvertent changes.,9,Faster Closing Cycle Improved Reconciliation Tools Accurate and Timely Revenue Recognition,,Implemented in-houseDynamics SL - A strong product for Now and the FutureMackay Communications, Inc deals in all phases of Marine Navigation and Communication systems as well as emergency satellite communication equipment and services. We use all the modules of Dynamics SL except the Project related modules. We use the product to track field service, sales, inventory, and purchasing for a world wide 24 hour a day business located in 7 countries. Using the multi-company features, we are able to use a single repository for Inventory, vendors, customers, sales and service activities.,Field service modules (dispatch, contracts and equipment tracking) work very well for us. Each service location has control of their operations, but their service information is visible across the company. Multi-company operations are a great benefit. We have 7 individual corporations operating in a single database. there is a single repository for shared information, allowing us to appear as a single seamless operation to our customers, while maintaining separate operational reports and separate and consolidated financial reporting. TCO is very competitive. We have invested less than 150 K in the Product and user licenses. Our annual fees for support are under 30 K. Dynamics SL has a strong independent Users Group. This resource is very valuable as I know people across the world that are a good forum for seeking answers. Customization Manager and the Visual Tools software development kit allows us to easily customize and extend the functionality to meet changing business requirements. We have created solutions for Inter-Company inventory transfers, multi-currency financial reporting and many small changes to enhance productivity,The field service module is not multi-currency compliant. I would like to have this feature added to the product in the near future. We have customized the modules to print in multiple currencies, but the underlying data is stored in a single base currency. Payroll reporting is weak. Workers compensation reporting needs a lot of work. We have outsourced the fulfillment of depository and tax reporting (W-2, tax deposits, reporting and filing. Financial reports (FRx and Management Reporter) are slow and cumbersome. We have built our own financial reports and reporting trees that are much faster and more flexible.,9,Through tracking productivity gains, in 2012 improvements to the system (customization and business rule enforcement) saved over 1200 hours of employee time. These changes contributed the same effect to the bottom line as increasing sales by 2,000,000 dollars. We had a similar result in 2013. Since we can produce changes to the system and new functionality, we are more responsive to the changing needs of an expanding global business. We have been able to fulfill the invoicing and reporting needs of each country in which we do business.,,150,2,Customization and modification of the 'out of the box' programs. Using VBA and Customization Manager, there are few things that can not be modified and enhanced to adapt the software to the company. Software Development Kit: Although the users do now directly use this product, they see the enhancements that are provided by creating new screens and functionality. We have added over 50 new screens to the product. Shared resources (Customers, Vendors, Employees, Inventory Items, Dispatch, Reporting, ...) allows us to expand the number of company without 'Data Synchronization' headaches caused by products that do not let multiple companies reside in a common database.,We were able to customize the system to create a streamlined way to transfer and track inventory between companies, Implemented an extended notes feature that allow for multiple comments and notes that can be attached to any screen. Created out own Financial Reporting that is fast and responsive.,We plan to add more multi-currency reporting ans tracking features. Implementation of project accounting is in the short-term future. Mobile field service applications are also in the short-term future.,9,9,8,10
Unspecified
Microsoft Dynamics SL
50 Ratings
Score 6.6 out of 101
<a href='https://www.trustradius.com/static/about-trustradius-scoring' target='_blank' rel='nofollow'>trScore algorithm: Learn more.</a>TRScore

Microsoft Dynamics SL Reviews

Microsoft Dynamics SL
50 Ratings
<a href='https://www.trustradius.com/static/about-trustradius-scoring' target='_blank' rel='nofollow'>trScore algorithm: Learn more.</a>
Score 6.6 out of 101
Show Filters 
Hide Filters 
Filter 50 vetted Microsoft Dynamics SL reviews and ratings
Clear all filters
Overall Rating
Reviewer's Company Size
Last Updated
By Topic
Industry
Department
Experience
Job Type
Role
Reviews (1-16 of 16)
  Vendors can't alter or remove reviews. Here's why.
No photo available
December 03, 2018

Microsoft Dynamics SL Review: "Dynamics SL 2011 - more to be desired!"

Score 4 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We currently use Dynamics SL as our sole accounting software. Only people within the accounting department have access to the software although we have a department who runs their own checks because of a unique specific function. However this department is reviewed and monitor by the finance department to ensure proper internal control.

I have found Dynamics to be not very user friendly. The GL analysis function is quite lacking when comparing to other systems I've used in the past. In addition, the report writer again is not very user friendly and intuitive. Lastly, the sorting function uses coding language for the filters which makes training new users quite cumbersome.
  • Adequate layout of detailed general ledger report.
  • Easy copy and paste feature for general ledger from Excel.
  • Interacts well with certain Microsoft products and functionality.
  • Reporting features to provide more robust flexibility.
  • Import features can be improved to be more user friendly.
  • Interface can be improved to provide more access and edit to basic functions like print setup, setting up templates for reports, and user preferences.
  • Better support packages and more training at reasonable pricing.
Dynamics is definitely designed for a manufacturing or smaller companies who is looking to transition to all Microsoft products. There are project and allocation features that may work well with companies who have cost allocations. However, that also depends on the reporting needs and how robust of an allocation.

The program is not very appropriate for non-profit accounting environment because it does allow for fund accounting very appropriately. Any organizations that require complex reporting structure should also look at other software that has more robust reporting features.
Read this authenticated review
David Nero profile photo
January 31, 2018

"Non-profit's review of Microsoft Dynamics SL"

Score 6 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
It's used as our financial system. Used for functions like accounts payable, inventory, billing and general ledger.
  • Simple
  • Configurable
  • Affordable
  • Reporting is weak
  • Not modern
  • Security is complex
Probably a good fit for small to medium sized organizations who need basic functionality.
Read David Nero's full review
Marilyn McGeachy profile photo
June 08, 2016

Microsoft Dynamics SL Review: "Project Accounting"

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Microsoft Dynamics SL is used for project management and financial reporting. It is used across the organization. The financial modules provide general ledger details and reporting along with payroll being processed for projects and management.
  • Project accounting is linked to the Financial modules - there is no need to duplicate data entry. Reporting in Project Modules is extensive.
  • Validation of fields for data entry and solid integrity of data.
  • Customizations of screens for data entry for users and addition of fields.
  • Purchasing does not have a budget validation to warn or stop a purchase from going over budget on a project level.
  • Project budgeting does not have an interface with inventory ids.
  • Financial modules could have more quick vewing screens for example a quick way to find the check no. of an invoice.
What type of business are you in and does it need the project modules?
Read Marilyn McGeachy's full review
John K. Hodge, CPA profile photo
December 25, 2015

Microsoft Dynamics SL Review: "Dynamics SL For Project and Crew Based Accounting"

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We are using it for project and crew based cost accounting in one of our utility contracting companies and are in the process of rolling out the system to another one of our largest companies. Eventually, all companies under the holding company will deploy Dynamics SL as their ERP system as well as the parent company. The parent company will perform cross company consolidations.
  • Provides flexibility for complex project based cost accounting
  • Strong and flexible allocation processer for cost allocations, markups, and pricing
  • A "Flexible Billing" module under the project controller series that allows for multiple billing formats ranging from fixed price schedule of values, T&M or Cost Plus, and scheduled billing.
  • Flexible reporting with options using Crystal Reports, SSRS, a Quick Query tool, and ability to tie into MS Office tools such as MS Access and MS Excel
  • Tight integration with Financials, but also the ability to integrate with modules such as Sales Order, Inventory, and Field Service
  • Customization abilities ranging from a VBA (visual basic for application) foundation to allow customizing existing forms to the ability to use the SDK (Software Development Kit) to build more complex customizations that integrate with Dynamics SL.
  • Incorporate some functionality provided by third party products into the core product.
  • Since Dynamics SL has strong multi company capabilities, incorporate functions to secure projects within a company to certain groups.
  • Improve the budgeting, forecasting, and change order interfaces so that the tools are more online.
  • Improve the forecasting capabilities to include more robust and integrated tie in to the project EAC/ETC (Estimate at Completion/Estimate to Complete) numbers. This would allow project revenue/margin/cash forecasting.
  • Expand on the subtask concept
  • Improve the interface for multi level rate entry for pricing and cost allocations such that more security can be applied and reduce risk of inadvertent changes.
In the service series, there is a weakness in applying revenue recognition concepts which are a strong point of the project series. It is difficult to get a period sensitive WIP that could be recreated at any time for a point in time (fiscal period).
Read John K. Hodge, CPA's full review
Mark Schrier profile photo
September 30, 2015

Microsoft Dynamics SL Review: "Dynamics SL - A strong product for Now and the Future"

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Mackay Communications, Inc deals in all phases of Marine Navigation and Communication systems as well as emergency satellite communication equipment and services. We use all the modules of Dynamics SL except the Project related modules. We use the product to track field service, sales, inventory, and purchasing for a world wide 24 hour a day business located in 7 countries. Using the multi-company features, we are able to use a single repository for Inventory, vendors, customers, sales and service activities.
  • Field service modules (dispatch, contracts and equipment tracking) work very well for us. Each service location has control of their operations, but their service information is visible across the company.
  • Multi-company operations are a great benefit. We have 7 individual corporations operating in a single database. there is a single repository for shared information, allowing us to appear as a single seamless operation to our customers, while maintaining separate operational reports and separate and consolidated financial reporting.
  • TCO is very competitive. We have invested less than 150 K in the Product and user licenses. Our annual fees for support are under 30 K.
  • Dynamics SL has a strong independent Users Group. This resource is very valuable as I know people across the world that are a good forum for seeking answers.
  • Customization Manager and the Visual Tools software development kit allows us to easily customize and extend the functionality to meet changing business requirements. We have created solutions for Inter-Company inventory transfers, multi-currency financial reporting and many small changes to enhance productivity
  • The field service module is not multi-currency compliant. I would like to have this feature added to the product in the near future. We have customized the modules to print in multiple currencies, but the underlying data is stored in a single base currency.
  • Payroll reporting is weak. Workers compensation reporting needs a lot of work. We have outsourced the fulfillment of depository and tax reporting (W-2, tax deposits, reporting and filing.
  • Financial reports (FRx and Management Reporter) are slow and cumbersome. We have built our own financial reports and reporting trees that are much faster and more flexible.
It's extremely useful in a multi-company environment. Service Dispatch, Contracts and Equipment are very useful to our company. The project reporting modules are very powerful. We do not currently use them, but we have plans to add them in the future. If you are in the Service, Construction and Professional Services fields, then this product deserves consideration.
Read Mark Schrier's full review
Jerry McLellan, CPA profile photo
August 19, 2015

Review: "Microsoft Dynamics SL - Power through Flexibility"

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Dynamics SL is our Accounting and Financial Reporting engine for almost 200 companies in the US and Canada. Using Multi-Company allows us to centralize some processes (AP Checks for example) while allowing a very decentralized user base to perform local transaction activity. SL's flexible structure has allowed us to add companies and sub-accounts enabling us to grow from a $100 Million dollar company in 1999 when implemented to a $3 Billion dollar company at the end of 2014.
  • Ability to add companies, and sub-accounts on the fly allows for the growth of the system without conversions, and flexible reporting allows for the quick utilization of the data.
  • Multi-Company allows for easy and automated data entry and reporting across multiple legal entities and business segments.
  • Multi-Company also allows for easy centralization of business processes (AP check writing and Fixed Assets for example), while spreading data entry across the enterprise.
  • Ability to Copy/Paste into Dynamics SL has always been a strength- especially from Excel. The additional power of being able to use Excel for a myriad of calculations, including complex allocations, and formatting the result into a JE to paste directly into the Journal Entry Screen has saved countless hours in data-entry, and made re-use of complex items very easy.
  • Built-in functionality for workflow/reviews/approvals could be improved.
  • Better documentation of controls and reporting of the audit trail (think SOX).
  • Better remote office, work from home capabilities (such as cloud bases SAAS) would help resolve security and speed/performance constraints.
The key strength is the ease of adapting to ever-growing operations. Designing the setup with both the short and long-term goals in mind will allow the best setup/configuration to be completed. As growth requires changes, the flexibility of the system and reporting will grow with the company. Internal knowledge should be gained to allow for the ease of utilizing the system to accomplish this growth in addition to the reseller/consultants used.
Read Jerry McLellan, CPA's full review
Jeffrey Morin profile photo
April 03, 2015

"My 17 year review of Microsoft Dynamics SL is nothing but POSITIVE!"

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use Microsoft Dynamics SL as our financial software handling all accounting operations, from daily AP, AR, to GL and as a financial reporting base. We also use the project module to manage our projects. Everything we do in our operation is project centric and this software gives access to all staff on every aspect of each and every project, from hours, to expenses, revenue and AR. We use the core of SL in accounting with each of four accounting/HR staff members having an installed version on our computers. We have eight offices around the country from coast to coast, central and south. Each office has access to our Business Portal or Apps to enter projects, time, expenses and to review each project. We have complete transparency of operations in daily project information. Accessibility is extremely important to our continued success in managing projects. We came from a good number of users all accessing "Solomon" directly to the light user version and we could not be more pleased with performance and daily use.
  • AP, AR and GL processing is straight forward and quite efficient. Period posting is a great control of operations.
  • Project setup is quite easy for users, as is review and analysis. We manage by budget for each project and have never had an issue or need for additional information
  • Time and Expense capturing by employees is painless and efficient. This is highly important to a project centric organization. It meets our needs and users are content.
  • Reporting in the Project module is lacking functionality. I understand that most companies have specific needs when it comes to tracking project information but the standard reports are not good.
  • I would recommend a product like Management Reporter that is for Projects only. Project Reporter should allow users to pull in all Project related data into reports.
  • Fixing suspended batches. Obviously all of us users have experienced this mess. SL knows what needs to be corrected and there could be some step by step fixes in a separate repair module to do the steps we do in Query Analyzer.
Does the out of the box version of Microsoft Dynamics SL meet our needs? Many companies have rituals and functions that were established to accommodate what they have to do in the software they use. Take a good look at standard SL in the modules needed, if those functions meet your core needs go with it. Customizations can be done, but keeping a streamlined product allows for quicker and painless upgrades. With that, you gain the benefits of the product that Microsoft Dynamics has put in place to improve the product. Think about reworking internal procedures to meet a standard software.
Read Jeffrey Morin's full review
Jack Boyer profile photo
December 18, 2014

Microsoft Dynamics SL Review: "Dynamics SL-The Right Choice for the Project-Based Organization"

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Reseller
Review Source
We are a professional services firm mostly with client billings of time making up 70-80% of our revenues. Creating billing transactions from timecards based on many different rules that are sometimes client based, task based, project based or even fixed price-make for the need for some capable software.

We are much happier with the web apps having moved off of the business portal time entry tool which was extremely slow and time consuming.

We use Dynamics SL across the whole organization and everyone enters a timecard. We use the software for expense reporting and evaluating which were good projects and bad, which tasks were good and which were bad. We use the software to help us make better estimates on future similar projects.

We've used Dynamics SL the entire 20 years we've been in business and really love it.
  • Facilitates Time Entry from any device.
  • Facilitates billing with "Allocator" which is really a transaction creator-creating billing records from time cards using unique rules
  • Simplifies the review of draft invoices-making transactions not ready to be billed yet default to the next billing period so revenue does not "leak".
  • When we have a lot of invoices rather than just a few large invoices, we can be frustrated by how long it takes Flexible Billings to generate a lot of invoices
  • It would be nice if Dynamics SL had an easy integration to some of the nicer salestax tools such as Avalara and CCH.
  • It would be nice if the fixed assets module and electronic banking were not third party.
Organizations that have challenging project accounting needs should definitely review this product. Very few products come close to Dynamics SL in handling these broader project accounting needs as well as Dynamics SL. We have had clients insist on buying Dynamics GP because someone in their firm already knows it-only to learn that they should have gone with SL as we suggested. Organizations that need extremely robust Order Management features should also look at Dynamics SL closely. Not only are the features very strong-they are also project-centric so if you need 5 different lines on a sales order to update 5 different projects-no problem. You can even enter a project on the fly while entering a sales order-assuming you have permissions.

Dynamics SL, like Dynamics NAV has a tremendous toolset for customizing. If you allow the customizing to occur-make sure that you have the staff or budget to support lots of customizations as the mods do make support and upgrading a bit more challenging.
Read Jack Boyer's full review
Bill Aiton profile photo
June 27, 2014

Microsoft Dynamics SL: "Dynamics SL Partner Review"

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Reseller
Review Source
Dynamics SL is used by our firm to do all accounting, payables, receivables, billing, project accounting and financials. We use many add on products since we resell this product and support over 200 customer users. It gives us experience on what works well to solve our problems and our customer needs.
  • SL Dynamics has a deep background in project costing. For over 15 years, the product has focused on this type of business and added deep functionality. We have many government contractor and other professional services firms that run their business a project at a time and SL is a great fit.
  • SL also has strong multi company accounting capability. One of our customers has 52 entities. Due to and Due From accounting is automatically managed. Cost allocations to entities is quite strong. Users can work in more than one company at a time.
  • SL also has deep functionality for distributors. Inventory, Sales order and purchasing are quite strong. For firms that have inventory and also are project oriented, it is one of the few products that manage both functions in a single system.
  • Core financial accounting is also strong and there are many add on products that enhance the capability of the product.
  • Because the product has been used in Windows since the mid-90s, there is a lot of feature depth. This sometimes gets in the way of customers with simple needs. Training can usually address this concern.
  • The application is client server at this time, so it can be hosted in the cloud using Terminal Services. Web enabled functions are starting to be released in the last year and more are to come, so in a few years, the product will be browser based.
  • The payroll module (used by less than 10% of our customers) could be easier to use and needs some new features, but it is a 3.5 out of 5.
  • Microsoft doesn't have a good budget solution, but there are good products from Solver (BI360) that do a great job of addressing complex budgeting needs.
  • The main reports in SL are Crystal and SSRS. Third party tools for simple reporting are available to help get data out. The new Smart Reports address this need also.
We see this as a great fit for the right company. I would say easily a 9 out of 10 and I don't have another 10 product in mind. It really depends on customer needs. Many times, it is an excellent solution for many companies.
There are other distribution solutions that are easier to use, so it might not be the first choice for that type of firm.
Payroll and HR are not the strongest in this product so a company that needed the best in that area, might look at Dynamics GP.
For Professional Services firms, it is an excellent choice!! One of the best.
Read Bill Aiton's full review
No photo available
March 27, 2015

Review: "Microsoft Dynamics SL is quite dynamic!"

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Currently, it is not being used at my organization. It was highly utilized at my last organization, where I worked for 3 years. It was predominantly used within the finance and accounting department, where we used it to keep track of our G/L accounts as well as make debit and credit adjustments to our factories overseas. It helped us keep track of what we owe and what is to be paid out to us.
  • Easy to create debits and credits to applicable accounts.
  • Easy to keep track of payments, which can be seen on the easy to access Aging report.
  • Easy top view line items of each transaction made to each account
  • Difficult to reverse an incorrect entry.
  • Difficult to complete some tasks without authorization to certain modules.
  • Would freeze up a lot, and would therefore have to start over.
I worked within finance and accounting and I feel like for the most part it is extremely user friendly. Despite a few bugs/glitches in the system, it was very straightforward and easy to use. It gives you what you are looking for. Definitely recommended to keep track of the books.
Read this authenticated review
No photo available
March 24, 2015

Microsoft Dynamics SL Review: "Great for the Project/Service Oriented Company"

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use Dynamics SL across our organization: Accounting, Order Processing, Shipping/Receiving, Purchasing, Engineering, and Manufacturing. SL addresses the need of sharing information between various functional groups and then making this information readily available in a variety of methods.
  • Built on a SQL Server back-end. SQL Server is fairly easy to use and integrates well with other Microsoft products, such as the Office suite of applications.
  • Screen customization. It's relatively simple to customize existing screens to expose user fields and to modify field layouts to make screens fit the needs of different users.
  • Familiar interface. Users appreciate the similarities between the look and function of SL screens and those of other Microsoft products, particularly Office.
  • Manufacturing. SL isn't a great product for discrete or process manufacturing.
  • Built-in Reporting. The built-in reporting options, Crystal Reports, FRx, and SQL Server Reporting Services, are inadequate. You'll find, eventually, that you'll need a better reporting tool (after you tire of struggling with your own custom solutions).
  • Planning. SL doesn't provide any built-in method for planning, budgeting, or forecasting. Thus, SL isn't great for Supply Chain Management either.
I would only recommend Microsoft Dynamics SL to a small or medium size organization that is project or service oriented.
Read this authenticated review
No photo available
March 24, 2015

Review: "Don't Just Sit There, Use Microsoft Dynamics SL Now!"

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Microsoft Dynamics SL is being used throughout our whole company on a daily basis. It is used from service techs, to sales people, and to accounting. For example, I am in general ledger accounting in my company and I use this throughout the entire day. If it is making journal entries or looking up balance sheets and trial balances, it is easy to access each of these in a quickly and accurate fashion. I also use this to close the books each month for my company, making that part of my job easy and accurate as well.
  • Able to create and post journal entries accurately.
  • Balance sheets and detail general ledgers formats are easy to look at which makes it easier to tie out everything at the end of each month.
  • You can use it in many different departments. If it is tax, AR, AP, or general accounting. Makes everyone's job easier and accurate and we are all able to work together.
  • When the server is busy, it seems to slow down a lot and is sometimes hard to post transactions and look up information.
  • If a problem goes wrong for some reason on one person's end, it could effect everyone in the office as everyone uses similar sources on Microsoft Dynamics SL.
  • Applications I use on this seem to disappear from time to time. IT department seems to always find the error though.
If you are in general accounting or even different financial positions, I recommend using this software. I have used QuickBooks in the past and although I did enjoy it, I would prefer Microsoft Dynamics SL over this. It is broken out in categories which makes it easy to find what you are looking for. Once you get used to where everything is (does not take too long), you will not be disappointed and your daily routine will be much easier and accurate!
Read this authenticated review
No photo available
February 04, 2015

Microsoft Dynamics SL Review: "Would not purchase SL today"

Score 2 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
It is being used for AP/AR in Accounting; users are in more departments than just Acctg. (For example, I am in Land). We were using QuickBooks and this was supposed to streamline our processes and handle more payees. The reporting capabilities were supposed to be great; they are not turning out to be even remotely sufficient for what we need.
  • It is sufficient to process AP
  • It is sufficient to process POs
  • The reporting functions should be much more robust
  • We have too many glitches and work - arounds
  • Our support has been minimally effective
  • The licenses are too expensive for the quality of the product
I would not purchase SL if I had that authority for my company. It is old software that is not being upgraded or supported, and it is full of bugs. The reporting functions are minimal.
Read this authenticated review
No photo available
July 21, 2014

Review: "Aside from Integration and Reporting, Microsoft Dynamics SL is a Good Small Business Solution"

Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
It is used by the accounting department for Accounts Payable, Accounts Receivable, General Ledger entries, and is integrated with a quoting system for sales invoice creation.
  • Controls - Administrators can set very specific user roles and allow access to only the modules and screens that an employee needs. As far as accounting controls, the system does not allow you do delete items, manually adjust sub-ledgers, or other things that might raise red flags to auditors.
  • Multi-Currency - We use three different currencies, and Dynamics allows us to easily create journal entries, raise sales invoices, and receive payments in any of those currencies. The system automatically converts other currencies to the home currency for reporting purposes based on Fx rates that you enter each month. Any payments received in other currencies are applied to the invoice and then any gain or loss on the exchange is automatically booked to the Realized Gain/Loss account.
  • Subaccounts - Subaccounts/Classes/Dimensions are easy to set up for each GL account. You can control the combinations of subaccounts and accounts that are used to prevent users from accidentally keying invalid combinations. You can run reports on subaccounts to see all revenue or expenses for a specific subaccount.
  • Not Intuitive - A lot of the functionality of Dynamics is not intuitive. For example, when you are on a field where you can enter information from a pick list, you have to hit F3 to show the list. Once you get used to it, it's no big deal, but the initial learning curve is pretty high if you are trying to learn it on your own.
  • Reporting - The reporting feature is another area that is just not intuitive. There are a lot of canned reports that are separated by module, but you have to know how to use the feature to even get a basic report to work properly. I've been on the system for almost 10 years and I there are still some basic reports that I struggle to run if they're not ones that I use regularly (ex. an Aged A/R or customer statement for a single customer). The export to Excel leaves a lot to desire as well since the reports always have to be reformatted manually to even be usable.
  • Integration with other Systems - We use a separate CRM and quoting system to track customers and create sales quotes. Once the quotes are created, they have to be imported into Dynamics using a integration tool. The import crashes frequently and there are a lot of bugs.
  • Sales Tax - Dynamics does allow for the use of sales tax, but it is not very robust. We use a third party to import sales tax rates every month. Our sales tax is a little more complex than what the system can handle so we end up doing a lot of manual adjustments and double check every invoice before it is processed.
If someone is looking for a true accounting system for a small to mid-sized company, then I would definitely suggest looking into Microsoft Dynamics SL. For a very small company, a solution like QuickBooks might be the way to go, but only if you do not need tight audit controls. You also have to really know what you're doing or have an accountant that's easily reachable since the system will allow you to do things that a true accounting system would not. For a larger company, or someone that is looking for a system that integrates well with other systems, or a system that will be used by multiple departments, I would suggest looking into an ERP system or a suite of systems that are all run on the same platform.
Read this authenticated review
No photo available
July 05, 2014

Microsoft Dynamics SL Review: "Dynamics SL"

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Reseller
Review Source
We are resellers and consultants for Dynamics SL. We support clients in the Professional Services, Bio-Pharma, Insurance, Distribution, Financial Services and Manufacturing industries. Dynamics SL provides Middle Market companies a scalable ERP system that is easy to customize. It's flexibility allows companies numerous options to configure to system to their needs and reporting requirements.
  • General ledger allows users great flexibility to define the subaccounts. This allows information to be tracked & reported in a variety of ways depending on the needs of the organization. the subaccounts could be used to track departments, regions, locations, etc.
  • Dynamics Sl has a strong and flexible Project Accounting system that integrates with the Financial Accounting system
  • Dynamics SL is easy to customize allowing for integrations with other systems
  • Dynamics SL uses industry standard SSRS and Crystal Reports for reports
  • Dynamics SL accepts transactions entered in foreign currencies. The system automatically convents these transactions into the reporting currency. Currency gains & losses are automatically calculated by the system.
  • Dynamics SL supports multi-company environments. The system will automatically calculate the due-to - due-from entries and post to the appropriate entity
  • The Cash manager account reconciliation process is very cumbersome.
  • General Ledger transaction drill down should expand to all modules. Currently it is available to only AP and AR.
  • Purchase order Receipt batch numbers must be consistent between General Ledger in Inventory. Assigning two different batch numbers to the same transaction is ridiculous. Microsoft took the easy way out of this issue creating a tracking nightmare for purchase receipts
It is well suited for general accounting. It is well suited for clients that need flexibility. It is well suited for growth.
Read this authenticated review
No photo available
June 27, 2014

Microsoft Dynamics SL: "SL Review for Direct Sales Companies"

Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use SL to manage our warehouse operations, inventory, purchasing, ordering, and shipping functions.

Additionally, we also use SL in the Accounting Department for GL, AP, AR, and Fixed Assets (this is an add on module).
  • It is very robust in the Project Modules. There are many different ways to use Project functions and many companies like the flexibility of having it be stand alone or integrated with other modules.
  • The web piece, Business Portal, is also a valuable asset to SL. While not having every function that the regular program has, BP allows users who may not need the full install to do day to day functions like time and expense entry, check reports, etc.
  • The Accounting Modules are pretty straight forward. While SL itself is lacking in many of the standard reports, there are add on pieces to make this easier. FRx in versions past, and now BI360. Both are excellent options.
  • A standard Fixed Assets module would be wonderful. While there is a piece out there as a third party, bringing that in house would be a giant step in the right direction.
  • Process Manager can be cumbersome and difficult to use. There are many mysteries as to when it's going to process records, aside from the midnight. Additional options in set up to push types of jobs at specific intervals would be an amazing option to have, as well as perhaps a process flow somewhere of what it's looking for and priority that it's processing requests. Even Microsoft hasn't been able to answer all of this very well when asked for clarification!
  • A more user friendly way to customize SL would be great. Seeing products like AX that have a more advanced customization piece in place makes me very envious. SL seems to be a little behind in keeping up with this.
  • A mobile solution for a direct sales type company. We struggle with wanting consultants to go mobile, but the foundation isn't there for it to be done easily. From what I have seen, SL is behind in moving into the mobile era for retail businesses. It's possible but again requires third parties and getting the data back into SL can be clunky and tedious.
It really depends on the type of business that is using SL. If it's more project heavy for say, construction, it's usually a pretty good fit. In cases such as my company, we are in direct sales. It's not really set up to be as accommodating for the retail type of environment that we need and are looking for.

If the customer is looking for mobile solutions there are better options out there. If they are looking for basic order processing, warehouse functions, and accounting, then SL may be a good fit.
Read this authenticated review

Feature Scorecard Summary

Pay calculation (2)
9.6
Direct deposit files (1)
9
Reimbursement management (1)
7
API for custom integration (5)
6.0
Plug-ins (3)
8.6
Single sign-on capability (8)
5.0
Role-based user permissions (7)
5.4
Dashboards (4)
2.0
Standard reports (8)
3.9
Custom reports (8)
2.9
Accounts payable (9)
6.4
Accounts receivable (7)
6.0
Global Financial Support (1)
6
Primary and Secondary Ledgers (2)
5.9
Intercompany Accounting (2)
4.4
Localizations (2)
3.4
Journals and Reconciliations (2)
5.4
Enterprise Accounting (1)
7
Configurable Accounting (1)
6
Standardized Processes (1)
3
Inventory tracking (4)
6.0
Location management (2)
1.0
Manufacturing module (2)
6.0
Pricing (2)
6.0
Order entry (3)
6.0
Credit card processing (2)
7.0
Cost of goods sold (2)
7.0
End-to-end order visibility (1)
8
Order exception Resolution (1)
6
Automated Invoice Processing (2)
3.9
Shared Services Payments (1)
6
Billings Management (1)
6
Customer Receipt Applications (1)
5
Customer Collections (1)
6
Revenue Recognition (2)
4.4
Cash Management (2)
4.0
Asset Management (2)
4.9
Travel & Expense Management (1)
5
Budgetary Control & Encumbrance Accounting (1)
2
Period Close (2)
5.0
Transactions Tax (1)
7
Subledger Reconciliations (2)
4.4
Budgeting and Forecasting (2)
4.4
Project Costing (2)
3.9
Cost Capture (2)
3.9
Customer Invoicing (1)
5
Project Revenue Recognition (1)
2
Project Financial Performance Analysis (2)
4.4
Project Financials Dashboard (1)
2
Real-time Financial Reporting (2)
2.9
Award Lifecycle Management (1)
6
Spending Control (1)
6
Billing (1)
7
Production Management (1)
6
Inventory Planning (1)
6

About Microsoft Dynamics SL

Microsoft Dynamics SL is one of the ERP products in the Dynamics family.

This product was acquired from Solomon 2000.

The product is typically used by SMBs, particularly in project-based businesses (e.g. construction). It has strong accounting and project management capabilities.

Microsoft Dynamics SL Integrations

Microsoft Dynamics SL Competitors

Microsoft Dynamics SL Technical Details

Operating Systems: Unspecified
Mobile Application:No