Sage Intacct Reviews

<a href='https://www.trustradius.com/static/about-trustradius-scoring#question3' target='_blank' rel='nofollow noopener noreferrer'>Customer Verified: Read more.</a>
908 Ratings
<a href='https://www.trustradius.com/static/about-trustradius-scoring' target='_blank' rel='nofollow noopener noreferrer'>trScore algorithm: Learn more.</a>
Score 8.5 out of 100

Do you work for this company? Manage this listing

TrustRadius Top Rated for 2019

Overall Rating

Reviewer's Company Size

Last Updated

By Topic

Industry

Department

Experience

Job Type

Role

Reviews (1-25 of 469)

Konstantin Lomidze, CPA | TrustRadius Reviewer
February 02, 2020

Sage Intacct is perfect for non-profits

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use Sage Intacct as our ERP across the organization. It is used as GL, AP, AR, as well as for time sheets, budgeting, employee onboarding/off-boarding, performance evaluations, ticketing, etc. We are heavy users of their dashboard technology across the organization and enjoy multiple dimensions to slice and dice data as needed.
  • Dashboards are very user-friendly and robust. I use at least half a dozen dashboards for various business needs.
  • Platform Services are very powerful for automation and additional custom system building.
  • Dimensions allow us to slice and dice data as needed.
  • Powerful API allows easy integration with third-party systems.
  • Cell phone app does not exist.
  • Additional modules (i.e. budgeting, interactive reporting) cost extra.
Sage Intacct is great as an accouting system and provides insights into business operations with ability to store statistical non-financial data and display in dashboards and reports. New interactive report writer is very powerful and will make excel report manipulation obsolete. We use Intacct well in most of our foreign subsidiaries and it works well with multi-currency.
Read Konstantin Lomidze, CPA's full review
Tefta Mohr | TrustRadius Reviewer
November 25, 2019

Sage Intacct: The Enterprise Software You Need!

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We migrated from MAS90 to Sage Intacct. It is used as our accounting system and financial reporting software. We are using it to automate accounts payable approvals so that invoices are directed to responsible department managers without having to send stacks of paper. The inter-company functionality is amazing; in our prior system, we spent a minimum of a day balancing inter-company accounts, as we have multiple entities. The automation of our processes has resulted in significant time savings. We use the upload templates to incorporate information from our Restaurant POS, Gaming system, and payroll. Again, this has streamlined processes and increased employee morale, as the software is intuitive and easy to use.
  • Inter-company balancing: Entries are easy and fast
  • Automated paperless accounts payable approvals
  • Memorized transactions provide a "checklist" for month end entries
  • Bank reconciliations are quick and easy
  • Financial reports are very time intensive to build but offer great capability.
  • I'd like a report that verifies the inter-company balances each month.
  • Cash management transactions get tricky when entering ACH/Manual payments.
Sage Intacct is well suited for companies that have multiple systems that need to be incorporated into one primary reporting system. It offers a lot of functionality for people with multiple entities. Although the reporting for multiple entities is time intensive to set up, it can do nearly anything people need or want. Upload templates make data entry a snap. If you have logistics that make getting written approvals for invoices, this system automates that process so that people can approve wherever they are electronically as long as they have internet access. The cloud eliminates a lot of hardware requirements. Scanning information into the system is literally as easy as drag and drop which means you don't have to go looking for invoices, journal entries, etc.
Read Tefta Mohr's full review
Chris Weber | TrustRadius Reviewer
March 17, 2020

Overall a great ERP platform. Proper set up and roll out is key to success.

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
I think the cloud has been amazing for ERP software and Sage Intacct delivers on most fronts. The standard package items like reporting, trial balance, treasury, AR, & AP are very robust though could continue to do better on ease of use when it comes to non-standard issues and problems. We find we have to do more tickets than I would expect still after two years when we hit non-standard issues and problems. I have a lot of involvement on the back end admin of Intacct as well and once you get over the learning curve, it shows a lot of customization and functionality. My only gripe is we were sold on ASC 606 functionality over NetSuite only to find out it can't fully deliver since we have a semi-complex rev rec structure, but then again, there are not any other options out there that can for us right now and Sage has been receptive to our suggestions. Overall, it is a great solid ERP platform once properly configured for your company, but beware that the configuration can take more time and attention than you may be led to believe. The 3rd party integrations are also plentiful for HRMS, expense, budgeting, etc.
  • AR & AP
  • Trial balance
  • Reporting
  • Treasury
  • User interface is still a bit hard to teach to new hires.
  • Rev rec not built for high volume low dollar app store sales.
When you are ready to adopt a new ERP that will scale with you, Sage is a great option and they continue to add new features that keep it current with evolving technology.
Read Chris Weber's full review
Jennifer Harrington | TrustRadius Reviewer
November 15, 2019

Happy Customer

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Sage Intacct is used mostly by the accounting department with a few employee users with access for purchasing purposes. The major business problem it addressed for us was in financial reporting. Prior to Intacct, we were manually consolidating entities in Excel and manually creating the majority of our financial reports that are produced on a monthly basis. Our month-end close process was extremely long and inefficient. Since the implementation of Intacct, we have cut our month end close time in half. The long hours and grueling Excel process has been eliminated.
  • Financial Reporting - multiple reporting options that can be customized. Real-time financial data at your fingertips with a push of a button.
  • Multi-entity environment where you can toggle between entities with ease.
  • Dashboard capabilities to summarize financial data on a single screen.
  • Bank reconciliation feature not incredibly user-friendly.
  • Once a transaction has been paid/reconciled you can't modify certain details of the transaction - i.e. GL account, location.
Intacct works well as a step up from QuickBooks. It handles the multi-entity environment well. The built-in reporting capabilities are useful and easily customizable.
Read Jennifer Harrington's full review
Glen Hatheway | TrustRadius Reviewer
November 12, 2019

Sage Intacct - What I Like About You!

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Sage Intacct is currently being used by our entire organization. We use it to track financials including distribution of monthly reports to staff by their specific ministry. They can see Actual vs. Budget amounts on their monthly reports. This begins dialogue with them when something looks unusual. We also use Sage Intacct for our annual Audit with our External Auditors. Lastly, Sage Intacct is used to create our monthly reports like Balance Sheet and Income Statements that are reviewed with our Trustees. It provides us with all the Financial detail we require.
  • Expandability - Sage Intacct can be expanded very easily. We have added additional campuses in the last 3-4 years and all we had to do was add another location and the income/expense categories transferred with it.
  • Report Generation - we have established some 200 automatic reports that are simple to establish in Intacct and also distribute to our users email address. This provides them the capability to see results soon after our month end close is completed.
  • User set up and maintenance - very easy to add users and/or change reports for them, expand their access, or make them inactive when we have staff turnover.
  • User Interfaces - we have API's set up with multiple external vendors. This was very easy to establish once the requirements were determined. Sage is always adding additional companies their product will interface with easily.
  • The only item I can think of is adding an interface to our payroll system - Paycom. I know Sage has been working on this, it would help us with automation of Payroll files (Journal Entries) into our Intacct system.
Any business that believes it will expand or grow in the near future should consider Intacct. Their software is very easy to use, very easy to build reports in, very easy to run specific reports, close at month-end, and it captures all the Financial data necessary to perform audits and run your business.
Read Glen Hatheway's full review
Kendra Zondervan | TrustRadius Reviewer
February 14, 2020

Great Product for larger Church organizations or Non-Profits

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We are currently using Sage Intacct strictly within our financial department. We do not have other support staff interact with Sage and instead choose to utilize Nexonia for expense management, accounts payable and purchase orders which then import directly to the GL, AP and PO modules. Sage Intacct allows us to manage our organization properly for accounting purposes as well as prepare financial statements and reporting. However, the lay user experience is not ideal nor does it have an expense management module which is crucial for our organization. The pricing is also an issue for a smaller organization in regard to adding many business and employee users.
  • Dashboards
  • Multi-Dimensional Set Up
  • Reporting Features and Custom Report Writer
  • Ability to email and schedule all reports allowing for less manual involvement and more automation
  • Smart Rules and Events- Back end coding for rules - the average user is not proficient enough to do this
  • Budgeting- We are using Martus as the integration with Sage Intacct is phenomenal and from our experience Martus is a more user friendly platform for the average user
  • Expense Management Development (Currently Using Nexonia so users can connect direct credit card feeds for expense itemization)
For nonprofits and churches doing internal accounting, it's a great fit, however, those that outsource would find it difficult to justify pricing investment if they are not directly engaging with the software.
Read Kendra Zondervan's full review
Chris Bramble | TrustRadius Reviewer
January 29, 2020

A Step into Modern Accounting

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We are using Sage Intacct for the central offices and certain agencies of the Archdiocese. It has allowed us to have a centralized platform where we can transact and report on a timely basis. It has done a great job of increasing our transparency and accountability through use of dashboards and reports available to non-accounting users.
  • Enables non-accounting users by allowing them to enter expenses directly into the system, and subsequently report on their respective departments
  • Workflows
  • Editing transactions is very limited, based on a variety of factors.
We have not really found areas in which Sage Intacct does not meet our needs.
Read Chris Bramble's full review
Marrisa Cervantes | TrustRadius Reviewer
January 28, 2020

Sage Intacct... Amazing!

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Intacct is currently being used by our Accounting Department and those in the other departments that will need to access the data that we are providing to them. It addresses any issues of department budgets and enables our ministries to be able to see their budget in real time. We have a designated person in every department that is able to access this information.
  • User friendly
  • Awesome customer service
  • When applying credit card transactions in the Charge payoff module, it would be great to be able to sort by date and be able to see the amounts selected without scrolling all the way to the bottom.
I feel it is really well suited for our Finance department. It is used by our Finance Director, Data & Analytics Manager, Accounting Manager, and all Accounting Associates in our department. We all use it in different ways and it works really well. I don't really feel that it is less appropriate at this time.
Read Marrisa Cervantes's full review
Aaron Odle, CPA | TrustRadius Reviewer
January 20, 2020

Intacct keeps our systems intact.

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We are partners that implement the software platform, and then deliver ongoing accounting services using that platform. We get a robust cloud-based accounting product for all of our clients. We specifically get better communication of underlying data and trends in our client's business through dashboards and automated reporting sent directly to client's email.
  • Dashboards
  • Multi-entity accounting and consolidations
  • Multi-currency revaluations
  • Assisting in the allocation of credit card transactions
Sage Intacct is best suited for companies that have outgrown their QBO world. When transactions become too complex, Intacct can add more dimensions to organize the data. If the volume of transactions gets too large, many smaller software systems freeze up and take too long to process the data. Intacct has been good about maintaining efficiency even with large volumes.
Read Aaron Odle, CPA's full review
Kim Alvis | TrustRadius Reviewer
November 25, 2019

Still learning ....

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Sage Intacct is being used at the enterprise level - for the church, school, and preschool. Going from an antiquated system - it has made financial information much more relevant in ministry decisions.
  • Equipment department managers with tools to manage resources.
  • Ability to drill down into numbers directly from reports.
  • Customize data.
  • Core report writing - particular standard reports.
  • Import of credit card data.
  • Fixed assets.
Being on the smaller size of organizations that use Sage Intacct, some may think we over-bought, but I don't believe so. While we will never outgrow the program, we will always enjoy the flexibility and cutting edge technology that larger organizations use.
Read Kim Alvis's full review
Todd Colucy | TrustRadius Reviewer
March 19, 2020

Take Intacct away from me and I'm out the door.

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Sage Intacct is used daily for all our accounting needs. It's very flexible and the statistical account feature is fantastic. Couldn't do what I do without Intacct.
  • Transactions are editable after posting to the G/L as long as the month is still open
  • ACH payment files that I upload to my bank for free bank check payments
  • Customizable reports
  • Screen customization options. Wish I could make columns larger
  • Bank Reconciliation screen still needs improved
Sage Intacct is truly the best accounting system I've used.
Read Todd Colucy's full review
Julie Cattaneo | TrustRadius Reviewer
November 24, 2019

Intacct thoughts from a computer nerd

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use Sage Intacct as our only accounting system. It integrates with our in-house point of sale system. We use Nexonia for AP and credit card entries and approvals.
  • It is a live system. Errors are immediately apparent.
  • The upload feature for invoices, payments, and GL/PR entries is very well thought out.
  • Setting up new users is easy.
  • Should be able to "lock" GL accounts that should not have GL entries made to them - i.e., accounts payable and accounts receivable - OR make it possible to link the GL entry to a customer or vendor, so the sub ledger is affected as well - similar to the cash accounts and the cash sub ledgers.
  • Should no be able to delete GL Journals, as this messes with the audit trail. I know - just uncheck the delete box, but still...
  • Non-business users should be able to open attachments in AP.
Businesses with inventory, and without inventory are well suited. Manufacturing may be less suited for Intacct.
Read Julie Cattaneo's full review
David Bergeron | TrustRadius Reviewer
November 24, 2019

Intacct saved my marriage

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use Sage Intacct as our ERP primarily in the accounting department. It is used by other departments strictly for purchasing approvals. It has addressed a myriad of problems we were facing prior to transitioning, including inter-company transactions and timely financial reporting.
  • It provides the ability to drill down to transactions from virtually any report.
  • Better ease of payment processing.
  • Behind the scenes inter-company transactions.
  • Approval policies could be more versatile. We have many different employees who approve invoices, and mapping that out has proven challenging.
Having used a fair number of accounting software, I would say Intacct is better suited than any for nearly any business.
Read David Bergeron's full review
Wilkie Hensley | TrustRadius Reviewer
November 22, 2019

Sage Intacct - from an administrator view point

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Sage Intacct is being used for and by accounting (GL, AP, AR, and Fixed Assets).
  • Each account 'string' or 'combination' is not required to be set up in the system. The dimensions can work independently.
  • The navigation within Sage Intacct flows smoothly - moving between Company, Platform Services, General Ledger, etc. is very straight forward.
  • Dimension (at least the low or base level members) are easy to create.
  • Dimension: I am use to a 'Parent' and 'Child' relationship, and for some of the aspects like 'Class' you can do that however for the 'General Ledger Accounts' Dimension you are required to maintain 'Account Groups' separate from the real account dimension hierarchy. This is very cumbersome and quite frustrating.
  • Security: It should come with out of the box pre-built groups that then can be modified to fit individual companies. For example groups like GL Manager, AP Manager, Fixed Asset Analyst, Accounting Supervisor, Accounting Analyst, etc and the 'normal' Roles and Permissions that one of these groups may have in the 'real world' should be built into the Groups with the open to go into the Group and add/remove roles/permissions to fit particular companies.
  • Financial Report Writer: Wow, this area needs a lot of work - there is no reason in today's world why the Accounting team can't do their own ad-hoc reports. The way the Financial Report Writer is in Sage Intacct, you need to report writer training to understand it. I have build reports for many years, so I get it, but individual users of Sage will not, and the way companies are going is to put the power into the user's hands and with the reports that are currently not feasible. Maybe look into getting an excel add-in feature - and if you have one already I apologize, I am not aware of this kind of feature with Sage Intacct.
  • Fixed Assets and EFT Manager modules: These modules could use a lot more integration into Sage Intacct; they currently work and fall like independent modules, almost like they were 2nd thoughts. They fell and flow very different than the rest of the Sage Intacct modules.
It works well for small to medium companies. Coming from supporting Oracle products and working for multi-billion dollar companies with many thousands of employees, I now work for a 400mil company with approx 160 employees, and Sage Intacct fits well there, easy for users to understand and navigate. Relatively simple implementation and it is a web environment, so both win-wins as well.
Read Wilkie Hensley's full review
Ryan Manuel | TrustRadius Reviewer
November 22, 2019

User Reviews for Sage Intacct

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Our Finance and Accounting department are using sage Intacct. We generate Financial Reports for our BOD and use it for our day to day operations to record transactions. We are using it for Forecasting, Budgeting, and running Customized Reports.
  • The Depreciation module does a great job of running depreciation schedules and automatically reconciling for our monthly closes. Past systems I've used was a nightmare and manually had to do the reconciliations.
  • Running GL reports are also very user-friendly and can be used with ease. I know some other systems are not as easy to use.
  • Creating customized reports is a huge benefit. We can generate what we want and how it looks to our audience — a significant strength in the Sage Intacct system.
  • I believe the Prepaid module needs work. I have come across duplicate errors. There isn't a good reconciliation report for this module.
  • I would like to see a reconciliation report for most GL accounts if that is possible.
  • An Automated Reconciliation process within the system would be ideal, and I have seen that this may be possible in the future.
I believe Sage Intacct can be used for a lot of start-ups and mid-level companies. I also think Sage Intacct may be suitable for large companies that have a reliable workflow. This is a very user-friendly system that is easy to navigate through and has lots of resources to assist you.
Read Ryan Manuel's full review
Jodi Garza, SHRM-CP | TrustRadius Reviewer
November 22, 2019

Less than a year in and the future is bright!

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use Sage Intacct for our entire organization. We still have our training wheels on but are working with our Dev Team on some pretty cool stuff we have been trying to do for years. By being able to load statistical business information into the financials, the insight we hope to gain is invaluable to continued profitability.
  • Diversity, we don't have to fit in their box, we can build our own.
  • The API connections.
  • Integration with Paychex. Because we are multi-entity, we are unable to use the link and sync option.
  • Reports are so tedious. I wish there were better out of the box options that we could copy and edit.
I have recommended Sage Intacct to colleagues in my industry already. Again being able to merge business stats with financial information
Read Jodi Garza, SHRM-CP's full review
Kira McAllister | TrustRadius Reviewer
November 22, 2019

Hit or Miss

Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
In the finance department, we use Sage Intacct for our GL and AP activities, as well as budgeting. Other departments use the program to check their P&Ls in order to manage their budget. It has addressed the elimination of time consuming tasks and paper waste.
  • Intacct is consistently improving their program, and the updates are automatic due to it being cloud-based.
  • Too many features require expensive add-ons/ integrations. It can be too costly for a nonprofit organization.
It depends on the pain points of the colleague's organization. If collaboration and efficiency is lacking, Intacct could help.
Read Kira McAllister's full review
Jeremiah Heisey, CPA | TrustRadius Reviewer
November 22, 2019

Switched from Great Plains - Loving Intacct!

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We recently implemented Sage Intacct for all of our accounting & finance transactions. It has significantly reduced transaction processing for AR & AP while also giving us much better financial reporting capability.
  • Accounts payable and PO processing.
  • Financial reporting.
  • No cons to speak of currently.
Great for small businesses within the construction industry!
Read Jeremiah Heisey, CPA's full review
Alicia Hernandez | TrustRadius Reviewer
November 19, 2019

Sage the day!

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use Sage Intacct in the accounting department but all other departments have read only access to be able to view their current financial position.
  • Charge cards - it integrates well and makes it easy. We also use Expensify and it's integration also frees up some time to focus on other things.
  • Revenue recognition is amazing because it that allows an automatic monthly recognition instead of a manual one.
  • The reporting allows for customization so we've been able to create reports group that we use on a monthly, quarterly and even yearly basis.
  • The AmEx charge card screen does not allow for allocations so if we have to allocate an expense we have to do it manually.
We have a lot of intercompany transactions and Sage Intacct allows us to easily record these and automatically creates the intercompany entries. This has been a time saver and there is also less error. We had previously been doing these entries manually. Needless to say that that left a lot of room for errors.
Read Alicia Hernandez's full review
Robert Schubert, CHAE | TrustRadius Reviewer
November 19, 2019

If you are ready to make to move an Cloud based ERP, Sage Intacct is great way to go.

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Sage Intacct is our primary ERP, we use it across our entire organization. It very useful as a consolidation tool if you have multiple entities. Also, it's a very robust enterprise accounting and financial package. All of the core modules (A/P, A/R, G/L and Cash Management) work very well together.
  • Inter-company transactions and consolidations.
  • A/P automation ready if you want that, but the A/P module is quite strong out of the box.
  • Look and feel is very customizable.
  • A/P invoice approval process does not work well for us.
  • It's not cheap, and don't ever expect a price reduction.
  • Employee Users have very limited rights compared to full licensed Business User. For example, an employee user licensee cannot print a A/R customer statement.
If you prefer a cloud environment (and who doesn't these days), Sage Intacct is the best option in my opinion. Oracle is too much in my opinion and its Hyperion reporting counterpart is way too complicated. Sage Intacct is also great for multiple entity and location enterprises, consolidation reporting is well thought out.
Read Robert Schubert, CHAE's full review
David Stern | TrustRadius Reviewer
November 19, 2019

Brief Review of Sage Intacct

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We are a multi entity based company. The finance team are the main users of Intacct but we recently started giving other departments access to approve accounts payable invoices. It address the problems of making consolidations much easier and faster.
  • Allowance of approval process for entering and paying invoices - This allows proper controls to make sure things are being entered correcly
  • The ease of working with multiple entities.
  • Use of prepaid and amortization schedules are a great feature which save a lot of time.
  • I know they are new to this but bank feeds need to be improved. QuickBooks made it so easy to get banking activity uploaded.
Read David Stern's full review
Ivan Roliz | TrustRadius Reviewer
November 18, 2019

Intacct and how it is different from every other software that I am familiar with.

Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
It is being used in my current department and it is used to monitor the accounting activities of the organization.
  • It syncs with Salesforce.
  • I am able to use it to monitor the invoices that were paid and outstanding.
  • I recommend the dashboard because it gives us the opportunity to view our companies financial health for the accounts receivables side.
  • The issue comes from adjusting payments that were applied to the invoices. Once the payment is applied the options to adjust or reapply the payment to the correct invoice is a large issue.
  • The option to view the Sales Receipt Report would be better if we could view multiple banking accounts with the column for each account.
  • I would like to option to include more filter options for the reports model. For example, a balance report by account number would be helpful.
It is well suited for creating an account and adding multiple accounts. The options for included objects like initiative, program, and others, make it easier to delineate accounts and programs that are receiving money.
Read Ivan Roliz's full review
Andrea Lawyer | TrustRadius Reviewer
November 18, 2019

Intacct Review

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Our organization uses Sage Intacct to provide accounting services to our organization and its affiliates. We use the system for all of our operating needs from accounts payable, accounts receivable, general ledger reporting, cash management & bank reconciliations, and dashboard. Real-time reporting and dashboards only are made available to users across the organization which has been very useful/effective in assisting with their budgeting needs i.e. being able to know in real-time balances remaining in their program & travel budgets. The business problems that Sage Intacct addresses, highlighting the most important ones, are that our month-end process has been streamlined (no more manual journal entries); ability to export reports directly into excel; great integration with our grants management software (GivingData), travel expense management software (Nexonia); Brittenford for PositivePay; its a cloud-based system which has freed up our server; functionality of multi-entity operations.
  • We made Sage Intacct available to staff across the organization and they enjoy having real-time reports, specifically for their department, available on their dashboards! This allows users to be on top of their budget for the current year and help them prepare their budget for the subsequent year.
  • Generating certain general ledger reports has some missing functionality esp when dimension details are required. Therefore, our staff has to export monthly general ledger reports to excel and make lengthy/manual modifications to receive the desired format reports needed.
Sage Intacct is well suited for its ability to provide greater visibility into transactions, financial data available in real-time, integration with other software systems i.e. import/export grant payment processes, no more manual travel expense reporting, no more manual bank reconciliations. Intacct really pays attention and listens to the needs of its customers resulting in upgrades to the system with no interruptions. I Cannot come up with scenarios where it is less appropriate.
Read Andrea Lawyer's full review
Craig Gainsboro | TrustRadius Reviewer
November 15, 2019

Sage is good but not great

Score 6 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
It's being used across the whole organization. It works very well for deferred revenues. I like the reporting capabilities but do not like some of the core of the system. I do not like that once cash is totally or partially applied, the invoice cannot be changed. Also, more importantly, when you make a change/cancel the deferred revenue contracts it takes the 'hit' in the current month instead of 'spreading' it over the contract life. Also, the system 'allows' journal entries to 'effect' the general ledgers which then doesn't make it to the subsidiary ledgers for AR, Deferred and AP.
  • Revenue recognition
  • Reporting
  • Canceling deferred revenue contracts
  • Allowing JEs to hit GL but not a subsidiary ledger
  • Modifying invoices after partial cash collections
  • Lack of APIs!
Please read other sections where it is documented. Pricing is a bit high as well. Lack of APIs to banks is disappointing as well.
Read Craig Gainsboro's full review

Feature Scorecard Summary

Pay calculation (5)
7.0
Benefit plan administration (5)
6.4
Direct deposit files (4)
7.1
Salary revision and increment management (4)
6.9
Reimbursement management (62)
8.3
API for custom integration (240)
8.1
Plug-ins (186)
7.9
Single sign-on capability (293)
8.5
Role-based user permissions (373)
8.5
Dashboards (368)
7.8
Standard reports (396)
7.8
Custom reports (395)
7.7
Accounts payable (408)
8.3
Accounts receivable (352)
7.9
Cash management (377)
8.0
Bank reconciliation (369)
7.7
Expense management (241)
7.7
Time tracking (108)
7.5
Fixed asset management (141)
6.9
Multi-currency support (124)
7.5
Multi-division support (236)
8.1
Regulations compliance (107)
8.3
Electronic tax filing (58)
8.3
Self-service portal (143)
7.7
Global Financial Support (53)
7.9
Intercompany Accounting (200)
7.8
Journals and Reconciliations (297)
8.2
Enterprise Accounting (94)
8.6
Configurable Accounting (163)
8.3
Centralized Rules Framework (108)
8.3
Standardized Processes (181)
8.2
Inventory tracking (52)
6.6
Automatic reordering (8)
5.5
Location management (79)
7.9
Manufacturing module (5)
5.2
Pricing (96)
7.9
Order entry (158)
7.5
Credit card processing (98)
7.4
Cost of goods sold (14)
6.3
End-to-end order visibility (50)
8.3

About Sage Intacct

Sage Intacct is a cloud ERP system targeted at high-growth small and medium-sized businesses – from startups to public companies. According to the vendor, the Sage Intacct ERP system includes applications for core financials and accounting, purchasing, order management, and financial reporting and business intelligence. Optional applications include FAS-52 compliant multi-currency support, real-time financial consolidation and multi-entity support, sales tax management, inventory management, revenue management, project accounting and pre-packaged integration with Salesforce CRM.

Sage Intacct’s cloud delivery model allows for anytime access from a web browser. With no software or hardware to buy, install, maintain, or upgrade, Sage Intacct eliminates many of the costs and risks associated with traditional on-premises financial software.Sage Intacct applications can also be configured without programming and are designed to work with other key business applications.

Sage Intacct Features

General Ledger and Configurable Accounting Features
Has featureAccounts payable
Has featureAccounts receivable
Has featureCash management
Has featureBank reconciliation
Has featureExpense management
Has featureTime tracking
Has featureFixed asset management
Has featureMulti-currency support
Has featureMulti-division support
Has featureRegulations compliance
Has featureElectronic tax filing
Has featureSelf-service portal
Has featureGlobal Financial Support
Does not have featurePrimary and Secondary Ledgers
Has featureIntercompany Accounting
Does not have featureLocalizations
Has featureJournals and Reconciliations
Has featureEnterprise Accounting
Has featureConfigurable Accounting
Has featureCentralized Rules Framework
Has featureStandardized Processes
Inventory Management Features
Has featureInventory tracking
Does not have featureAutomatic reordering
Has featureLocation management
Does not have featureManufacturing module
Order Management Features
Has featurePricing
Has featureOrder entry
Has featureCredit card processing
Does not have featureCost of goods sold
Does not have featureOrder Orchestration
Has featureEnd-to-end order visibility
Does not have featureOrder exception Resolution
Payroll Management Features
Does not have featurePay calculation
Does not have featureBenefit plan administration
Does not have featureDirect deposit files
Does not have featureSalary revision and increment management
Has featureReimbursement management
Reporting & Analytics Features
Has featureDashboards
Has featureStandard reports
Has featureCustom reports
Customization Features
Has featureAPI for custom integration
Has featurePlug-ins
Security Features
Has featureRole-based user permissions
Has featureSingle sign-on capability
Has featureMulti-factor authentication
Has featureUser-level audit trail
Additional Features
Has featureSubscription billing
Has featureRevenue recognition
Has featureCollaboration/Social
Has featureMultiple chart of accounts
Has featureMultiple reporting books
Has featureMulti-dimensional reporting
Has featureGraphs/Charts/Performance cards
Has featureReport visualizations (conditional highlighting, color grading, trendlines, etc.)

Sage Intacct Screenshots

Sage Intacct Videos (5)

Watch Sage Intacct Product Tour for Software Companies

Sage Intacct Downloadables

Sage Intacct Integrations

Salesforce.com, Planful (formerly Host Analytics), Bill.com, Xactly Incent, KeyedIn Projects, AvidXchange, Zuora, Expensify, MineralTree, Nexonia Expenses, Quick Base, FloQast, Adaptive Insights, a Workday company, QStock Inventory, EmployeeMax, FastPath, Nexonia, PayPal, Ameriflex

Sage Intacct Competitors

NetSuite, FinancialForce Accounting, Microsoft Dynamics GP, Microsoft Dynamics SL, Acumatica, QuickBooks Desktop Enterprise, Microsoft Dynamics 365 for Finance and Operations (formerly Dynamics AX), Microsoft Dynamics 365 Business Central (formerly Dynamics NAV), MIP Fund Accounting (formerly Abila MIP)

Pricing

  • Has featureFree Trial Available?Yes
  • Does not have featureFree or Freemium Version Available?No
  • Has featurePremium Consulting/Integration Services Available?Yes
  • Entry-level set up fee?Required

Sage Intacct Support Options

 Free VersionPaid Version
Email
FAQ/Knowledgebase
Social Media
Video Tutorials / Webinar
Phone
Forum/Community

Sage Intacct Technical Details

Deployment Types:SaaS
Operating Systems: Unspecified
Mobile Application:No