NetSuite ERP Reviews

392 Ratings
<a href='https://www.trustradius.com/static/about-trustradius-scoring' target='_blank' rel='nofollow noopener noreferrer'>trScore algorithm: Learn more.</a>
Score 7.0 out of 100

Do you work for this company? Learn how we help vendors

Overall Rating

Reviewer's Company Size

Last Updated

By Topic

Industry

Department

Experience

Job Type

Role

Reviews (1-25 of 85)

Companies can't remove reviews or game the system. Here's why.
January 02, 2021
Katelyn Goodwin | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 5 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
NetSuite ERP is mainly a manufacturing tool to monitor inventory levels and manage builds (plan and execute work orders). It is also used for simple accounting purposes and expense reporting.
  • Customizable reports
  • Customizable forms
  • Ability to make modifications without knowing how to code
  • The ability to adjust the format of forms is limited
  • Customizing roles is difficult; there should be a way to select the menu bars, not just the features
  • Logging in as administrator is very tedious
I think it's OK for retail companies but not acceptable for any companies that do their own in-house manufacturing. It doesn't have a proper lot numbering capability, which makes it necessary to monitor lot numbers outside of NetSuite ERP to prevent duplication. Also, new items do not have an external ID number unless they are imported via CSV import. This makes it difficult to update all items at one time.
Read Katelyn Goodwin's full review
December 30, 2020
khayati jain | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 4 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
NetSuite ERP is being used in sales, marketing, and finance departments. As a user of NetSuite, it helps me to get info from various parts in one spot. This enables me to examine buyer orders, invoices, NPS client orders, and also automatically shoot the messages of mine. Such user-friendly software for maintaining the entire lifecycle of the process.
  • Handle multiple business units.
  • Support multiple currencies.
  • Employee data is easily searchable.
  • Importing and exporting of files is simple.
  • Report generation.
  • Customization needed.
NetSuite ERP is a cloud Based ERP. Easy to manage from anywhere, can be operated from any place even without any security software. Such a secure and reliable software to store and retrieve your entire organisation's data. Best for managing the sales process as it helps us to maintain customer relationship. Easy to learn and implement. We can easily import and export the data, import customer queries and also manage the full process like generating purchase orders, invoicing, payments management, reconciliation, and all.
Read khayati jain's full review
October 14, 2020
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Our organization uses NetSuite daily for our financials, as well as inputting all of our warehouse and shipping information into the system to track orders. A manufacturing company of over 200 employees uses the software daily and we hardly ever have issues. Our teams build reports using the payroll system as well and everything is integrated together in one bundle. We are very pleased with the service and will continue to use the software for many more years.
  • Payroll is seamless
  • Employee data is easily searchable
  • Reporting is easy
  • Although NetSuite has many applications, it's not ideal for some industries because of the public way it's hosted.
  • We found the price to increase over a few years. More locked-in pricing could be appreciated.
  • Support was available but not 24/7. If you need 24/7 support that will be an extra charge.
NetSuite would be ideal for any software, distribution or manufacturing organization. The tools they provide can help in most situations but larger organizations with over 1,000 employees may find it difficult to have the service they would expect from a larger enterprise. We were a medium sized organization and found the financial capabilities to be very useful.
Read this authenticated review
April 16, 2020
Charles Harper | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 1 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
IPS is a smaller company and we really wanted a totally integrated system so that time seamlessly flows to payroll, accounting, and jobs. We view three main integrated functions that have tremendous overlap as the CRM, ERP and Payroll. NetSuite represented early on this was their Suite Success service with SuitePeople US Payroll. We were a QuickBooks shop having defined most accounting functions as a mini ERP but it was limited to accounting and never automatically touched the large JOB and CRM activities, QuickBooks does have an integrated payroll function that even banks recognize their file format for data exchange. Our goal was to capture work and time and have it flow to jobs, purchases and eventually sales orders and payroll.....with some ability to scale.
  • Utilizing the Chart of Accounts, we were quick to catalog and organize our expenses, purchases and costs. NetSuite with its foundations as an ERP has sound accounting practices and fields, categories and displays for all aspects of ERP.
  • The payroll module is not fully integrated into the product, we were never told this. In fact NetSuite oursources the payroll to a Ceridian Payroll and Tax engine. This makes payroll a bit distant and harder to use, extra steps involved to even add an employee and pay them. The Ceridian product was supported completely by another team and 4-5 months into the implementation Ceridian sprung on us multiple contracts and forms needing signature, and there was no turning back. Can you imagine being forced into this relationship with NetSuite never exposing it to us as a new customer even from day one!
  • NetSuite account management never attempted to make our first year equitable for the Ceridian issues that kept coming up. This made the ERP and CRM somewhat un-usable for us as the data was not flowing across the module as Ceridian refused to implement Payroll until the ERP was complete, no idea of parallel processing.
Our requirement was to have full integration (no patching or special interfaces) between CRM, ERP and Payroll. NetSuite falls short by having the payroll as an outsourced third party that we never knew or were told of, never mentioned in the NetSuite contract and then surprise!
Read Charles Harper's full review
March 29, 2020
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 6 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
NetSuite is being used across my whole organization. NetSuite allows my company to keep track of inventory accurately. NetSuite also allows my organization to fulfill open sales orders and submit work orders to our 3PLs. Each department in my organization has a different function within NetSuite. Some departments use it for accounting purposes, while another department uses it for inventory management. NetSuite has the flexibility to serve any department in my organization.
  • Inventory management
  • Production management
  • More customization
  • Pricing
NetSuite is well suited for inventory management and production management. It allows us to view our inventory levels in real-time. It also alerts my team when inventory level falls below our minimum quantity. This has helped my team greatly in production planning and demand planning. NetSuite has been nothing but perfect so far for my supply chain team.
Read this authenticated review
February 29, 2020
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Our organization is currently using NetSuite only in the Finance area. We use it primarily for booking journal entries and reviewing financial statements.
  • The entries are editable
  • The financial info is easy to read
  • Importing a CSV file is simple
  • Cannot "reverse" a journal entry
  • Printing format isn't the best
  • Search feature is arduous
NetSuite is great for booking a basic journal entry and reviewing the various GL accounts. Since we don't use all the features, I'm unsure of when it would be less appropriate.
Read this authenticated review
January 16, 2020
Ed Hart | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 4 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use NetSuite in several capacities across our entire organization, specifically for our ERP system, our CRM and also for our e-commerce website which is hosted on an older e-commerce tool called Site Builder. NetSuite is used by virtually everyone in our organization. We are a distributor of products, primarily drop shipped from manufacturers to the customer, but we also maintain some inventory. So, NetSuite handles e-commerce, order processing, inventory management, accounting and some marketing.
  • The fully integrated aspect of NetSuite is really what makes it an effective tool for us.
  • Having the entire order process accessible by everyone has equipped us to be able to help customers in a way that differentiates us from our competitors. Anyone on our sales or customer service team has the entire customer record available to them, enabling them to address customer issues quickly.
  • NetSuite's high level of customization is it's best strength as well as it's biggest hurdle. We've significantly customized NetSuite with workflows and automation around customer communication and supply chain management.
  • We are using an older version of the e-commerce platform and it is not particularly user friendly. However, the pricing model & implementation process for NetSuite can be cost prohibitive for small businesses to upgrade.
  • The high level of customization requires a lot of maintenance and a very specific skillset, so it has been difficult for us to find developers that can help us with maintenance and improvement on a cost effective basis. NetSuite customization is not for the faint of heart, but it's super powerful.
  • The overall pricing model can be cost prohibitive, especially for smaller organizations that don't have an exceptionally sophisticated business model.
  • Support is cumbersome and not particularly user friendly for non-technical business people.
For manufacturing and distribution business, NetSuite is a very capable and robust system. For e-commerce, I think that the ideal customer is some company with substantial volume from multiple vendors/sources. For a company to effectively use NetSuite, there needs to be an element of size and complexity to make the investment, customization and learning curve worthwhile. For a sophisticated business though, NetSuite can be a fully integrated solution for the entire business so you don't need separate accounting, operations, HR and marketing applications. It can pretty much handle everything.
Read Ed Hart's full review
November 27, 2019
Stefanie Shahvar | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 1 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We got NetSuite to help us track our inventory, be a repository for the bill of materials information, and help with ordering parts. It is used across the entire studio to track inventory, orders, shipping processes, and reporting. We use Shopify as our eCommerce platform and we got NetSuite to be able to connect to our online store via an integrator app, FarApp.
  • The sales people are really engaging and will tell you anything to get you to buy it.
  • Their implementation is really lacking. They don't listen to your needs and help you customize the system to do what you need it to do. They don't know anything about integrating with other systems like Shopify.
  • Nothing is user-friendly, despite their claims. Even simple changes require vast coding knowledge. It's not a good choice for small or medium-sized businesses with users who aren't also developers.
  • Their cost is high and the contract is long and you can't add/remove licenses easily.
  • Their support after your support period is over is basically nothing unless your whole system crashes, so good luck fixing anything.
  • The shipping system doesn't meet even basic shipping needs.
  • Most actions take way more steps than necessary, and streamlining any of the redundancies requires custom coding.
It is definitely inappropriate for small to medium-sized businesses. It is not well suited for any business that doesn't have a developer on staff to make adjustments to the code. It is not well suited to be an inventory system if you aren't in need of accounting software. We use Quickbooks and they tried to force us to change to their accounting software so the inventory could work. It is not well suited as a shipping software.
Read Stefanie Shahvar's full review
November 26, 2019
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
The entire Finance department is using NetSuite. We use this in conjunction with Adaptive Insights for all our financial reporting. We use the software as our statement of record in all things finance related. All journal entries are posted in Netsuite. During the monthly close, we integrate the financial data from Netsuite into Adaptive to generate our P&Ls that are distributed to all the business managers within our organization.
  • Customized searches.
  • Fixed Asset Module.
  • Ease of access through a web browser.
  • Easier report searches.
  • The budget module is too cumbersome. I have manually delete each department element.
  • Need a better layout for vendor management.
NetSuite is very good at adding transaction types. It is not very good at ad-hoc P&L generation. Since our company has a lot of Pro Forma adjustments, NetSuite is not equipped to handle that type of scenario. Also, there are a lot of incorrect entries that can be deterred if we can easily turn off access to certain department-entity combinations.
Not yet, but I'm interested in Oracle user groups - MS Dynamics - GP. The value I get from the user group is a quarterly meetup that allows me to network with other GP users and also provide tutorials in best business practices. I would love to join an Oracle user group to take classes in PL/SQL and other Oracle products.
Read this authenticated review
October 16, 2019
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
NetSuite is being used as the software to manage our manufacturing from opportunities, sales orders, purchase orders, managing inventory and financial things such as invoices, billing and payments. So it is being used by Planners, Finance, QAs, and B2B department. NetSuite is a replacement of Oracle ERP since we would like to come to the cloud instead of a local system.
  • A cloud application. We can access it any time from anywhere without a VPN as a local system like we had before.
  • We don't have to care much about the hardware, like when we need additional storage or when we need to upgrade CPU, memories etc...
  • We don't have to care much about the deployment or installation of fixes. All are installed and taken care of by NetSuite.
  • NetSuite is much faster than the previous one we used.
  • NetSuite UI is much more friendly than the Oracle ERP we used before.
  • It doesn't support tracking detail of lots. I mean in work in progress (WIP) inventory only.
  • It doesn't support approval flow. It does have a bundle which is an extension that was developed by NetSuite, but that will not work well if you already have some customization in your workflow or record. You need to customize that bundle as well to adapt to your business logic.
  • It doesn't support routing on items. I heard they are working on this for the next release.
NetSuite is suitable to manage your manufacturing with an overview. You can see big pictures such as inventory.
If you want to track details as to where the lot is being located, or which step the lot is in while being processed in the factory, NetSuite couldn't provide it yet unless you do customization with SuiteScript or SuiteFlow.
Read this authenticated review
December 30, 2019
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 1 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We have used NetSuite across our whole organization for the past 7 years. We use the ERP functionality for financial, inventory, CRM, work order processing, and item management.
  • The system offers a good basic ERP structure for small businesses.
  • Their customer service is horrible.
  • Their collection techniques are miserable, threatening, and relentless
It may be well-suited for large corporations where the annual subscription bill is above $500,000.
They are miserable for small to medium-sized businesses.
Not yet, but I'm interested in Oracle user groups - California Modern Lighting and Design is useful to us as a forum for the exchange of ideas.
Read this authenticated review
July 26, 2019
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
NetSuite is being used by the accounting Department. We utilize the Accounts Payable function and revenue recognition. We use NetSuite to be able to produce financial statements and various financial reports. It solves our problem of efficiency. NetSuite is very easy to use, very customizable to report expenses and accruals.
  • The reporting is very deep. You can report on any kind of transaction using various dimensions and filters.
  • There are very good controls that an admin to set for internal controls purposes. There is a system log to show who has changed a particular transaction and what field was changed.
  • Their implementation team is very knowledgeable and will guide you in setting up NetSuite according to your particular use case
  • If you utilize other financial systems instead of NetSuite modules, the integration may not work as well.
  • Their billing system
  • The advanced revenue module is hard to configure if you're not using NetSuite's billing module. If you are using another financial system to handle subscriptions, you may need to have a developer write APIs to transfer relevant data into NetSuite Revenue Module.
NetSuite is good for mid-sized companies looking to upgrade from an ERP system like Quickbooks. There are too many limitations in QB and NetSuite allows for scalability. Since it is a cloud software, the ERP system allows the companies to work remotely and not have to be in the office. NetSuite opens up their APIs to allow developers to write APIs. For a large company, SAP or Oracle would be better.
Read this authenticated review
June 24, 2019
Mary Soffner | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We switched to NetSuite in 2017 and couldn't be happier. The ability to tie POs to SOs and look up all documents is impressive. The custom reports feature is easy to use and manipulate. Every department was able to customize the software to fit their needs. The ability to log in anywhere has made it easy to work from home.
  • Custom Reporting
  • Related Records is a powerful feature
  • Audit tracking
  • The ability to customize some of the screens to research payment details
  • Implementation could have went smoother
  • Training documents
The related records is a powerful tool in NetSuite. It gives all departments the ability to track fulfillments, invoices, payments, etc. The audit feature allows for a detailed level of all those involved. We were able to eliminate manual approvals by routing them through the system with an audit trail.
Read Mary Soffner's full review
March 20, 2019
Harry Aine | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We integrate across the entire organization financials with manufacturing. We connect Netsuite with Salesforce via a Ceilgo connector. New products are built using bill of materials with routing information. Costs are rolled up from inventory standard or last cost basis. This is how we determine pricing for a catelog of assemblies offered thru salesforce. When units are sold, items are assembled thru a Netsuite workflow.

  • Inventory Management.
  • Real-time books
  • Ability with One World to maintain and integrate own foreign companies.
  • Native integration with Salesforce
  • Assume the capablity of Zuora
  • Netsuite is unable to integrate with the cloud providers to have realtime cost accumulation from cloud utilization
Real-time financials
Read Harry Aine's full review
May 23, 2019
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
NetSuite is being used across the whole organization to track everything from supply to inventory to sales. We also are looking into the CRM features that are offered. NetSuite helps us to manage our Supply Chain, Customers, Inventory and Orders. The customization features allow us to run our business processes any way we wish.
  • Custom records, fields and forms
  • Workflow automation
  • Mass updates and CSV imports making data management easy
  • Suitescript offers powerful ways to customize
  • Many modules available to a wide variety of business
  • Several bundles available that integrate with other services or add functionality to NetSuite
  • Building reports is difficult and clunky
  • Cannot turn off certain native reports that you may not want users to see
  • Saved search fields are not always available
  • Very difficult to add text search filters to Saved Searches
NetSuite is well suited for a small to midsize company with remote workers. It may be more expensive than other ERP systems that can be run on-prem so if you have centralized locations and servers to run an ERP may not be the best choice. It is well suited if you have some experts to support it. If you are under tight budget constraints then it may not be the right product as licensing and support are expensive, not to mention you will have to reach out to consultants if you don't have a NetSuite admin in-house.
Read this authenticated review
July 02, 2019
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 1 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
It was bought for the entire business, but it has been a sham from start to finish!
I bought NetSuite in August 2018, and it is now just coming to July 2019 and we're still not live. It has been a completely awful experience. Emails ignored, false embellishment of features, what is included and what is an extra cost, including some outright lies to my face and on calls. It has not solved any problems. It's just caused far more. Most of the staff you communicate with outside of senior management are not from the UK, making it difficult to understand them and for them to understand you. I would avoid and look elsewhere if you want good quality software.
  • It is very granular.
  • You can create specific customizations for specific roles.
  • Sales: They don't sell authentically.
  • Training Videos: These are beyond poor. As a training company myself, this NOT good. Trust me.
  • Use staff familiar with the nationality of the company they're interacting with.
  • Don't make up names for standard processes that exist in marketing and sales to make it look like it's unique to the company. They are not!
  • They need to stop blaming their customers for their own team's incompetence.
  • Reply to emails.
I honestly would not use NetSuite for anything. The ERP software and bank rec is out of date. E.g. there's no bank matching or live stream that you can get from software for £30 a month.
Sales -- it's not bad for sales staff and scheduling, but even then, if you want a report, the graphics are awful and leaps behind the competitors.
Read this authenticated review
June 07, 2019
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Netsuite is used by our business to track inventory, link to our website, report sales and other reports, manage servicing (servicing is another part of our business), invoice, place orders, and for many many more functions. It's used across our entire organization. We actually use a "lighter" version because the regular version is more powerful for our needs. It helps us to track servicing, which otherwise would be very difficult to manage.
  • It's cloud-based, making it very scalable for growing businesses.
  • Invoicing is very streamlined, making the process efficient.
  • Reports are powerful, allowing for more customization.
  • The speed could be improved.
  • Report building could be simplified.
Well suited to a growing smaller business (2-50 employees), but not so good for a sole trader.
Read this authenticated review
June 19, 2019
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
NetSuite is our single book ERP of record. We have bookkeepers from multiple countries entering info and our HQ finance team does the consolidation. We use it for financial statement and AR directly. Then, we leverage 3rd party integrations for AP, HR, CRM, and financial planning.
  • Configurable dimensions and subsidiary structure.
  • Vast 3rd party integration universe.
  • Ease of use for admins.
  • Documentation on reporting lacking.
  • Managing multiple profiles for end users can be difficult.
  • Allows users to save universal reports, can get disorganized without tight internal controls.
Netsuite offers straightforward implementation with the help of experienced users and/or consultants. Great ERP for a standard financial use case. We do not use other modules like purchasing, AP, e-commerce, or CRM. With the Oracle acquisition, there is some product overlap/confusion between the two providers. It is well suited for mid-size and growing enterprises.
Read this authenticated review
January 02, 2019
Sonny Spencer, ACA | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
NetSuite is currently being used primarily by the Finance team to manage financial statements, fixed assets, procure to pay and some billing.

NetSuite solves many business problems, including the ability to track financial data in multiple currencies and subsidiaries, while automating the consolidation process. It provides an excellent audit trail for system changes. It provides the flexibility needed for ever-changing business requirements and needs. It has helped to systematize the accounts payable process, which can often be very manual.
  • NetSuite OneWorld allows a business to automate its intercompany elimination processes at month's end. If set up and maintained correctly, the system can fully automate this process, which for many businesses involves a lot of manual work (in Excel!)
  • NetSuite's audit trail throughout the system is outstanding, tracking changes by user, change type, date/time. You can easily see who made which edits to the database and when. This is often lost or non-existent in other platforms.
  • NetSuite is highly customizable to your business' requirements. Through specific modules, SuiteFlow and SuiteScript, the possibilities are almost endless, but what is great about NetSuite is that the standard functionality is suitable for many businesses.
  • NetSuite does have great customization capabilities, however, this can also make it difficult to track and maintain custom workflows and scripts as business needs change, especially with different subsidiaries having different process requirements. Essentially, the more you customize the system, the more you need to maintain documentation for reference.
  • NetSuite has a fantastic reporting tool called a "Saved Search." For financial and other similar reports, you must use the NetSuite "Report" feature. This reporting feature is not as flexible as the Saved Search and I have found that certain reports cannot be customized as required using the "Report" feature.
  • The Project Management module still has some work to go before it is flexible enough for companies to use NetSuite for their own customized processes. The module is fairly inflexible, and at a previous company we had around 10-15 enhancement requests alone relating to this module.
I am a huge advocate for NetSuite, because the system is user-friendly (after a little training) and because it is so customizable. I would recommend NetSuite to any business with more than one company and especially businesses with companies based in more than one country. Small, medium and large companies can leverage the NetSuite platform to suit their needs, whether simple or complex.

NetSuite has a number of taxation features that can help to automate return filings, so any business looking to systematize certain tax areas will find the system very useful.

NetSuite allows great transparency across an organization and adopts a "one source of truth" methodology. If you have Finance, Accounting, Marketing, Sales, Operations, etc. all working in the same platform and working with the same data, there is less room for data discrepancies and more reliance can be placed upon the system outputs.

If a business has a disconnect between Finance, Accounting, Marketing, Sales, Operations, etc. NetSuite will allow that business to come together and automate processes within a single system. There is no need for external system connectors, saving the business time (maintaining the connections) and money (saving on subscription fees to third-party connector vendors).


Read Sonny Spencer, ACA's full review
December 21, 2018
Chris Snelling, CFA | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Our organization uses NetSuite to manage all of the general ledger journal entries for several entities. We also use it for invoicing and commission calculations (with an addon from Callidus). NetSuite is primarily used by the Finance and Accounting teams but is also used in the business processing and administration departments.

NetSuite addresses the major business problem of organization and trust. By having all of the financials in one location NetSuite has become the "truth" behind our financials. The easy to use interface and search capabilities make it easy to use even for beginners. For example, new employees, with just a few minutes of training, can log in and look up customer invoices.
  • Integrates. NetSuite is particularly good at integrating with other products. For example, we integrate NetSuite with Adaptive Planning in order to bring actual financials together with forecast and budget data, which is then used for analysis and reporting. We also integrate NetSuite with other administration platforms so invoicing and commissions can be done rather seamlessly.
  • Intuitive. NetSuite is extremely intuitive. I started using it without any training and was easy to learn. It takes a little practice to learn the reporting system, but if you are just looking for client or vendor information it is as easy as typing the name or ID into the search box at the top.
  • Easy to Support. While setup is important and takes a lot of hours, the ongoing support is outstanding when compared to some of the other big enterprise systems. The previous enterprise system I used needed 4 full time programmers on staff just to keep it running, and it still kept getting outdated. The cloud application and seamless upgrades make this product superior.
  • Commissions. Our company's commissions are very complex and while NetSuite can handle most of them, there is still lots of manual adjustments and work that we need to do before paying. With that said, some of these issues may be with our setup or to the fact that we keep changing our incentive plans.
  • Reporting. While you can design P&L and other reports in NetSuite, I've found it less intuitive and more difficult than it seems like it should be. Some of this is because of how the data is stored in the background. For example, sometimes the data you want in the same report comes from two different modules and in order to pull the data into one report, we need to run separate reports and then do lookups in Excel. This is a common theme in relational databases and not specific to NetSuite.
While NetSuite can be used at any sized company, it seems most appropriate for medium-sized companies that have enough resources to invest in technology but that don't want to keep full-time staff to support it. It is also well suited for companies that have multiple locations or remote workers. Our company has remote employees all over the country that use NetSuite and it is as easy to use outside the office as from the office. It is also well suited for those looking to integrate into other reporting or analytical tools without much effort.

A scenario where NetSuite would be less suited is if you wanted to quickly install a basic accounting system without putting much thought into it. NetSuite requires a lot of thought during the initial design and setup in order to get the right setup for your company needs.
Read Chris Snelling, CFA's full review
November 28, 2018
Xenia Le Dinh, PMP | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
NetSuite is being used across the organization, mainly sales department (creation of opportunities and estimates), purchasing (creation of purchase orders and inventory management) and the finance/accounting team. It provides visibility across the inventory levels in various work shops and locations, facilitates product selection by the sales team based on item availability and forecast, is used as a communication tool between customer support and repair shop and customer through support cases flow, work orders and return authorizations. NetSuite's main use at our company, however, is financials and accounting.
  • Cross-departmental communication
  • Ability to create customer, vendor and partner centers in order to ensure alignment
  • KPIs and Dashboards that if used correctly are an invaluable tool for forecasting and trend analysis
  • Incentive compensation module is quite rigid, it is difficult to customize it to various commissions structures of companies.
  • UX is lacking.
NetSuite incorporates a universal tool that tracks your entire sales cycle from the moment of getting a lead and qualifying it into creation of the opportunity, negotiation and closing of a deal into the execution and delivery of the product or service, invoicing and receiving payment. It provides visibility across all departments and is a powerful tool for determining trends, strong and weak links within the organization. It is highly customizable and integrates with a myriad of software. Weaker, in my opinion, on the manufacturing side as well as WIP revenue recognition, otherwise a great tool.
Read Xenia Le Dinh, PMP's full review
June 27, 2018
Joshua Henke | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Primarily used by our Finance and Accounting group, but there is a blurred line for employees who need to submit or request financially-related information. It's our General Ledger, AR, AP, and Fixed Assets Management system, so we bill, are billed, and communicate with relevant parties through the system. Further, we have customized it to connect with our data warehouse, Salesforce, WorkDay and various other systems to pass data out and in; some of the "out" is for reporting or connecting to "point solution" systems while some of the "in" is to support the FinAcct work (e.g. bookings, projects, expenses).
  • Connecting various sets of information (tables) and displaying them in a logical manner in the interface is one of the best things about NetSuite. Customers and their transactions, Contacts (people), addresses, messages and support cases can be easily viewed in many ways, including from the customer record, the customer "dashboard" or queries (saved searches). This is typically in a "list view," wherein columns/fields can be added or removed and shuffled.
  • Customization! Some people are afraid of this, but there is so much power in shaping the system to your needs. Tweaking just the layout of a customer or transaction form can improve efficiency and reduce stress. Add a field to a Contact record to better distinguish certain people. Recently, I created a custom record/object type that serves as an integration "middle-ware" of sorts to allow Boomi to connect to the system which then connects to an area of the system not yet accessible via web services or ODBC.
  • While it isn't great at everything it does, it does a lot well. Just the fact it can do so many things at least okay is a huge plus. I think companies underestimate the value in having a large chunk of their back office sitting in one system essentially integrated automatically.
  • Consolidated invoicing. Generally, I think it's not a problem for NetSuite customers, and the potential, infrequent multiple invoicing to a given customer is likely okay. However, there may be instances producing 3 or more invoices per month for a given customer. The only consolidation solution offered is their homegrown "SuiteSolution" called Consolidated Invoicing. I don't use it but have had demos and discussions. Really need something slicker.
  • Fixed Assets Management. I use their SuiteSolution, Fixed Assets Management. It's not part of core NetSuite so there are inconsistencies with the rest of the system, some performance annoyances, and weaker reporting capabilities. It's a better product than other fixed asset solutions I've tried!
  • A very recent frustration of mine is that it is not possible without customization to display tax amounts per line in a transaction. This should be native. The per-line tax amount is available in a saved search; the per-line tax rate is available to display on the transaction; the tax amount can be displayed in the PDF generated. Why not show the amount in the system? Fortunately, it's easy to create a custom field/column that multiplies tax rate with an amount to give you tax amount. Pretty minor in the scheme of things, but fresh in my mind.
As a huge fan and advocate of single (or few) systems, I think NetSuite is a great solution for most 30+ employee companies that have a need to operate in the cloud. The cost and effort to integrate multiple systems (even if they're really good point solutions) rarely outweighs the value of a single system.
Read Joshua Henke's full review
October 12, 2018
Cristian Bodnarasec | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
eSilicon uses NetSuite ERP for its:
  • Financial Management and Planning
  • Order Management
  • Supply Chain Management
  • Procurement
  • Advanced Approvals - Suite Solutions
We have moved from Oracle ERP to NetSuite due to various reasons. So far it was a bumpy ride with some satisfaction, but not all. Luckily we have a software department that can cover for the missing pieces.
  • It is in cloud - many problems are fixed by just being in the cloud somewhere and not on-premise.
  • It is built to scale with company growth.
  • Ease-of-use - nice and friendly user Interface with a strong search mechanism
  • Strong reporting feature - use saved searches to get the data you want and when you want
  • Customizable - you can customize pretty much anything in the forms, records. The Suite Solutions scripting will allow you to reach next level of customization.
  • Testing instances (Sandboxes) are expensive and their refresh from production is restricted (limited in number and there are blackout periods where refresh is prohibited) - software teams need frequent refreshes and several test instances
  • Support team is very responsive but not that high in technical knowledge, at least the first 2 levels.
  • Customization is a weakness too because it can cause a lot of headaches. We had to take ownership of the Advanced Approvals scripts just to have complete understanding of it and have the ability to extend it.
  • Cost per user and limited users per user role - we are unable to have a custom role for a development manager for example due to its cost
For a small to medium company it has everything you need:
  • Financial management and planning
  • Procurement
  • Order/supply chain management
  • Nice reporting features
  • Usability of the system through its nice user Interface
However, if you need a full fledged ERP system you need to find alternatives for HR (maybe Namely,) project management/time-sheets (maybe OpenAIR,) or expense reporting (maybe Concur.)
Read Cristian Bodnarasec's full review
June 22, 2018
Dan Lobring | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
NetSuite is being used across all functions of the agency, but the internal teams that are most invested in NetSuite include members of our internal admin and accounting teams, as well as the management levels of our client services team of which are responsible for project management, including billables, time management and managing budgets across projects.
  • Excellent cloud ERP system
  • Scaleable as our business/teams expand
  • Great at tracking financials and budgeting
  • Training for multiple user levels of who are using NetSuite
  • It's an expensive platform for small to mid-size businesses
  • Demonstrating the value-add/ROI of using the tool as it relates to specific types of businesses
NetSuite is customizable which can lend itself to specific issues depending on use cases. NetSuite's service and help functions can be challenging and require an investment in time to get the team fully trained and working effectively from the onset to ensure that the use of the system is meeting the desired output as the tool is as only good as the information put in.
Read Dan Lobring's full review
December 07, 2017
Nicolas Costa Ossa | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
It is used across the organization. Each one of the functional areas of the company has at least an account on the director level. The lighter use case is pretty much to access reports. The heavier users are in the Operations and Financial departments. The biggest business problem we are solving is the fact that we do not have business information on multiple systems anymore. We have been able to consolidate all of our operations and accounting information into one system.
  • NetSuite ERP is a very robust piece of software. That is its biggest advantage.
  • Also the fact that they have developed through their local representative companies, packages with accounting rules specific to each country.
  • Additionally, it looks a little bit more modern than other robust software similar in the industry. But just a little.
  • I dislike the fact that setting it up is a real pain. The process takes months and if you do not hire a certified partner it's completely imposible to make it work.
  • I also dislike the fact that the User Experience is a little bit complex. There are so many options in each view, that sometimes you just get lost in it.
I don't think Net suite will work for a small company. I think more than 50 employees at least. Services companies can set up everything in here with different types of invoicing per project. Besides financials, the project module works very well to bring visibility and organization on the execution side of things. Where a strong data communication between departments is needed and data visualization for decision makers.
Read Nicolas Costa Ossa's full review

Feature Scorecard Summary

Pay calculation (9)
5.9
Benefit plan administration (6)
6.5
Direct deposit files (6)
7.1
Salary revision and increment management (6)
8.1
Reimbursement management (7)
7.5
API for custom integration (47)
6.4
Plug-ins (40)
6.1
Single sign-on capability (43)
7.7
Role-based user permissions (56)
6.9
Dashboards (61)
6.8
Standard reports (60)
6.5
Custom reports (60)
6.3
Accounts payable (55)
7.2
Accounts receivable (54)
7.5
Global Financial Support (19)
7.0
Primary and Secondary Ledgers (21)
7.7
Intercompany Accounting (21)
7.2
Localizations (15)
7.3
Journals and Reconciliations (31)
7.2
Enterprise Accounting (26)
7.6
Configurable Accounting (26)
7.5
Centralized Rules Framework (16)
6.9
Standardized Processes (28)
7.6
Inventory tracking (41)
5.9
Automatic reordering (24)
6.1
Location management (30)
6.1
Manufacturing module (21)
4.8
Pricing (44)
7.0
Order entry (45)
6.4
Credit card processing (31)
7.1
Cost of goods sold (38)
7.2
Order Orchestration (15)
7.0
End-to-end order visibility (18)
6.7
Order exception Resolution (13)
6.0
Automated Invoice Processing (25)
7.1
Shared Services Payments (11)
6.4
Billings Management (21)
6.9
Customer Receipt Applications (20)
6.7
Customer Collections (19)
7.1
Revenue Recognition (25)
7.2
Cash Management (18)
6.6
Asset Management (17)
6.4
Travel & Expense Management (21)
6.7
Budgetary Control & Encumbrance Accounting (19)
6.3
Period Close (26)
7.0
Transactions Tax (19)
6.5
Subledger Reconciliations (16)
6.7
3rd Party Accounting Systems (11)
6.1
Budgeting and Forecasting (18)
6.0
Project Costing (16)
6.8
Cost Capture (16)
6.8
Capital Project Management (9)
7.5
Customer Invoicing (18)
6.8
Customer Contract Compliance (7)
7.6
Project Revenue Recognition (16)
6.1
Project Financial Performance Analysis (16)
6.6
Project Financials Dashboard (16)
6.3
Real-time Financial Reporting (18)
6.5
Embedded Business Intelligence (8)
6.3
Project Planning Collaboration (9)
5.6
Project Planning and Scheduling (10)
5.9
Project Manager Dashboard (10)
5.4
Resource Manager Dashboard (8)
5.8
Task Insight for Project Managers (7)
7.0
Project Manager Mobile Functionality (6)
7.0
Team Member Task Collaboration (8)
6.6
Team Member Mobile Functionality (7)
7.3
Project Candidate Search (4)
7.3
Project Candidate Comparison and Analysis (4)
7.0
Defineable Resource Pools (4)
7.3
Defineable Resource Pools (4)
7.3
Talent Profiles (4)
6.4
Real-Time Project Reporting (7)
7.0
Absence Management (5)
7.3
Product Lifecycle Management (5)
7.6
Award Lifecycle Management (4)
6.8
Spending Control (6)
6.8
Indirect Cost Management (6)
7.4
Billing (8)
6.3
Sourcing Team Collaboration (6)
7.2
Sourcing Analysis (7)
6.1
Bids Analyzed and Compared (5)
7.0
Catalog Shopping E-Commerce for Employees (4)
6.0
Contract Authoring (5)
6.7
Contract Compliance Management (5)
7.0
Contract History (5)
7.4
Contract Renewal Automation (4)
8.0
Contract Repository (4)
7.7
Contract Standardization and Enforcement (4)
7.4
Electronic Signatures (6)
7.6
Invoice Automated Matching (7)
6.4
Purchasing Risk and Compliance Management (5)
6.8
Requisitions-to-Purchase Orders Integrated (8)
7.5
Spend Compliance Management (8)
7.5
Supplier Assessment (6)
7.9
Supplier Communication and Collaboration (7)
7.6
Supplier Management (9)
8.1
Supplier Portal (5)
7.6
Risk Repository (5)
7.0
Control Management (6)
7.0
Control Mapping (5)
7.0
Control Efficiency Assessments (4)
7.3
Automated Control Assessments (4)
7.3
Assessment Capture (4)
7.9
Issue Detection (5)
7.3
Automatic Notification (5)
7.6
Remediation and Certification (5)
7.3
Transportation Planning and Optimization (6)
5.3
Transportation Sourcing Management (6)
5.6
Transportation Process Integration (6)
6.3
Transportation Execution Management (5)
5.9
Freight Payment Automation (5)
5.5
Trade Management (5)
5.2
Trade Regulatory Compliance Management (3)
7.5
Customs Entry Management (5)
5.5
Customs Document Management (5)
5.0
Customs Document Collaboration (5)
4.8
Fulfillment Management (9)
5.1
Inventory Visibility (11)
5.5
Warehouse Workforce Management (8)
5.5
Production Process Design (7)
5.2
Supply Chain Business Flows (8)
4.3
Production Management (8)
4.4
Contracted Manufacturing Management (8)
4.5
Configuration Management (6)
5.9
Work Definition (8)
3.9
Work Execution (7)
4.3
Advanced Fulfillment (6)
5.1
Manufacturing Costs (9)
5.0
Forecasting (11)
6.1
Inventory Planning (12)
5.6
Multi-tier Supply Chain Planning (7)
7.0
Performance Monitoring (8)
5.9
Ideation Management (6)
5.9
Requirements Management (5)
6.7
Proposal Management (6)
4.9
Innovation Portfolio Management (6)
5.7
Product Master Data Management (6)
5.9
Vendor Portal (8)
5.9
Project Portfolio Management (5)
6.4

What is NetSuite ERP?

NetSuite is a cloud-based suite of ERP and accounting modules which is sold in various different editions aimed at differently-sized customers. The multi-country, multi-currency version is an additional module called OneWorld. NetSuite touts intuitive end-to-end functionality from sales estimates to customer collection, and end-to-end workflow management capability. NetSuite integrates with shipping carriers providing centralized processing-to-fulfillment order tracking, and a full audit trail. Other features include inventory and payroll management, human capital management, financial planning, revenue management, and more. NetSuite can also be packaged with CRM and eCommerce systems. NetSuite's broad set of services are targeted at medium-sized businesses and enterprises, though a system for smaller businesses needing a narrower range of services can be built. Because it is offered modularly and is highly configurable, price of implementation can vary widely depending on buyer needs.

NetSuite ERP Integrations

NetSuite ERP Competitors

NetSuite ERP Pricing

  • Does not have featureFree Trial Available?No
  • Does not have featureFree or Freemium Version Available?No
  • Does not have featurePremium Consulting/Integration Services Available?No
  • Entry-level set up fee?No
EditionPricing DetailsTerms
Base License$999per month
Access Cost$99per user per month

NetSuite ERP Technical Details

Deployment Types:SaaS
Operating Systems: Unspecified
Mobile Application:No