TrustRadius
SilkRoad's OpenHire is an applicant tracking system and is a component of the Life Suite platform.https://dudodiprj2sv7.cloudfront.net/product-logos/cb/XD/U3CUIX4LAT2N.PNGNot that GreatSilkRoad Recruiting is what we used/use to recruit individuals throughout the company. The HR personnel and the field managers all use the system.,The linear structure of the requisition layout. Easier way to read. Capturing the candidate's application. Changing and reverting the candidate workflow steps.,The structure of the application. The view of requisitions and the dashboard. You cannot customize the system to fit your company's needs. The reporting is not that great in the sense that it does not keep historical data greater than 6 months The system doesn't have great offer features.,5,The system does not help with compliance so it is not the system for this.,Taleo,Oracle HCM Cloud (including Taleo), HireRightSimple and user-friendly system!We use SilkRoad Recruiting across our entire university. Every hire is processed through this system. Before using SilkRoad Recruiting, we utilized a paper application process. We would receive resumes and applications via fax, scan, and hard copy. This process was time-consuming and inefficient. SilkRoad Recruiting helped us not simply turn our paper process into an electronic one; it helped us completely re-vamp the way we do recruitment across campus. Now the entire process from requesting a job, to approving and pricing it, to posting, to hiring a candidate is done in this system.,SilkRoad Recruiting is very user-friendly and easy to learn SilkRoad Recruiting integrates with Single Sign-on for easy access across the organization SilkRoad Recruiting has automatic job posting to industry-leading job boards,The reporting features are not very intuitive,9,Significant reduction in time to post positions (2+ weeks to 1-2 days from request to posting) Significant increase in applicant volume (3 times more applications per job opening)OpenHire didn't work well for my organizationWe used OpenHire for recruitment (job posting, applicant tracking, committee reviews, applicant communication) and RedCarpet for onboarding new hires. It was used throughout the organization for recruitment purposes. It helped with integrating our hiring and on-boarding process.,For the most parts applicants found it easy to appy. It was easy to keep track of hiring pools. It did a good job of keeping history of applicants and jobs.,We no longer use Silkroad largely because it caused me more work. There was no ability to make documents required in the application process. Although we said a resume, transcripts, a specific list of references and cover letter were required in the posting more than 90% of applications were missing something which forced me to correspond with thousands of applicants and wasted a lot of time. They lack integrity. We were promised customer support for applicants when we purchased Silkroad but it was yanked about a year later. It wasted even more of my time and showed a lack of integrity on the part of the company. It lacked some of the reporting we needed and every time we needed something special it was an extra cost.,1,It had a negative impact on our organization because of the huge amount of time wasted communicating with applicants asking them to complete their applications. Being able to have required and optional slots for specific attachments would have been a huge help. I got too many notifications without an ability to turn them off which wasted a lot of my time.,NEOGOV Onboard,NEOGOV OnboardGets the Job DoneOpenHire is used by our headquarters and has been rolled out in a few of our countries. It is primarily used by HR but touches every department. OpenHire is our first ATS system at Project Concern International. Originally, recruitment was very manual and all resumes went to a single email box. OpenHire was chosen to address our business problem of inefficient recruitment and to help us remain compliant with recruitment records.,Integrates with our website. The careers portal can be customized to blend seamlessly to your website so candidates don't realize that they have left your site. Rates your resumes based on key words from the job description. While not always accurate, this feature really helps you prioritize resumes to review when there are hundreds of them. Integrates very well with Aurico background checks and Silkroad's RedCarpet. This is a great feature because you can initiate the background check directly from the candidate's profile without having to get any sensitive information from the candidate prior to hiring. The integration with RedCarpet is also great because all of the candidate's information as well as the offer info and job details are sent to the onboarding program. This allows for quick setup of the new employee and reduces the need for any manual processes.,Reporting. While OpenHire has a number of standard reports, building a custom report is difficult. Support. Silkroad's support is severely lacking. They have grown too big too quickly and you often get support staff that don't know how to address your problem or they just stop working on it. You often have to follow up multiple times to get a problem resolved. There are some required fields in the job postings that are unclear but mandatory and some steps that are redundant. You definitely have to learn the quarks of the system.,6,OpenHire has very positively impacted our organization. It has allowed us to streamline our process and keep record of all of our recruitment electronically instead of in paper. It has allowed us to have a consistent recruitment process in all of our countries It has greatly increased the efficiency of our recruitment team. Only negative is that our organization has an expectation for reports and we are not able to always give them what they would like out of the system.,Adp Virtual Edge,1,9,No,1,No,9OpenHire is great for the price and ease of access!OpenHire was used by the entire recruiting team, and some of the HR team (the ones that supported the onboarding process, or helped with recruiting when the demands were high. At the time, recruiting were the only ones that created requisitions then followed through to the hire point. Hiring managers throughout the chain were not allowed to use it.,I really enjoyed the ease of use for candidates. The application process was easy. They uploaded their resumes, it was parsed quickly, and only a few questions to answer. If they made some kind of mistake, they could go in and fix it, as apposed to us having to fix it. It was easy to search resumes by location and key words. It can be accessed anywhere! from any device or computer! You can work from anywhere, even at the airport, at home when your kid is sick, etc.,When looking in a list a resumes that applied to one specific position, I like to easily go from resume to resume, in the same view. I didn't favor how when I hit the next button, I didn't have the same view. In the early days of OpenHire, I also wanted to be able to batch email candidates from a search. I would do the search in the database, and it would show the matching resumes, and would like to be able to send them all the same message at one time. I understand, that has now been added. The folder system takes too many steps and time.,7,Faster resumes screening, enabling recruiters to share with managers quicker Increased Recruiting productivity Facilitated the application process for potential candidates. Builds a better brand,,3
Unspecified
SilkRoad Recruiting
42 Ratings
Score 6.3 out of 101
TRScore

SilkRoad Recruiting Reviews

SilkRoad Recruiting
42 Ratings
Score 6.3 out of 101
Show Filters 
Hide Filters 
Filter 42 vetted SilkRoad Recruiting reviews and ratings
Clear all filters
Overall Rating
Reviewer's Company Size
Last Updated
By Topic
Industry
Department
Experience
Job Type
Role
Reviews (1-25 of 28)
  Vendors can't alter or remove reviews. Here's why.
No photo available
December 06, 2016

SilkRoad Recruiting Review: "Not that Great"

Score 5 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
SilkRoad Recruiting is what we used/use to recruit individuals throughout the company. The HR personnel and the field managers all use the system.
  • The linear structure of the requisition layout. Easier way to read.
  • Capturing the candidate's application.
  • Changing and reverting the candidate workflow steps.
  • The structure of the application.
  • The view of requisitions and the dashboard.
  • You cannot customize the system to fit your company's needs.
  • The reporting is not that great in the sense that it does not keep historical data greater than 6 months
  • The system doesn't have great offer features.
It's not as user-friendly and compliant as other ATS systems.
Read this authenticated review
Luke Hedden profile photo
October 04, 2016

SilkRoad Recruiting Review: "Simple and user-friendly system!"

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use SilkRoad Recruiting across our entire university. Every hire is processed through this system. Before using SilkRoad Recruiting, we utilized a paper application process. We would receive resumes and applications via fax, scan, and hard copy. This process was time-consuming and inefficient.
SilkRoad Recruiting helped us not simply turn our paper process into an electronic one; it helped us completely re-vamp the way we do recruitment across campus. Now the entire process from requesting a job, to approving and pricing it, to posting, to hiring a candidate is done in this system.
  • SilkRoad Recruiting is very user-friendly and easy to learn
  • SilkRoad Recruiting integrates with Single Sign-on for easy access across the organization
  • SilkRoad Recruiting has automatic job posting to industry-leading job boards
  • The reporting features are not very intuitive
SilkRoad Recruiting is a good applicant tracking system overall. It is simple to use - especially for internal users. It's a great system for organizing a recruiting workflow. It is also a great system for advertising jobs, as SilkRoad has partnerships with many of the top job boards and job search engines such as Indeed, Glassdoor, etc. Through these partnerships, jobs are posted automatically, thereby saving time and money.
Read Luke Hedden's full review
Diaman Amsler profile photo
February 22, 2016

SilkRoad Recruiting Review: "OpenHire didn't work well for my organization"

Score 1 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We used OpenHire for recruitment (job posting, applicant tracking, committee reviews, applicant communication) and RedCarpet for onboarding new hires. It was used throughout the organization for recruitment purposes. It helped with integrating our hiring and on-boarding process.
  • For the most parts applicants found it easy to appy.
  • It was easy to keep track of hiring pools.
  • It did a good job of keeping history of applicants and jobs.
  • We no longer use Silkroad largely because it caused me more work. There was no ability to make documents required in the application process. Although we said a resume, transcripts, a specific list of references and cover letter were required in the posting more than 90% of applications were missing something which forced me to correspond with thousands of applicants and wasted a lot of time.
  • They lack integrity. We were promised customer support for applicants when we purchased Silkroad but it was yanked about a year later. It wasted even more of my time and showed a lack of integrity on the part of the company.
  • It lacked some of the reporting we needed and every time we needed something special it was an extra cost.
It did not work well for our higher education institution.
Read Diaman Amsler's full review
Erin Seay profile photo
September 30, 2015

SilkRoad Recruiting Review: "Gets the Job Done"

Score 6 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
OpenHire is used by our headquarters and has been rolled out in a few of our countries. It is primarily used by HR but touches every department. OpenHire is our first ATS system at Project Concern International. Originally, recruitment was very manual and all resumes went to a single email box. OpenHire was chosen to address our business problem of inefficient recruitment and to help us remain compliant with recruitment records.
  • Integrates with our website. The careers portal can be customized to blend seamlessly to your website so candidates don't realize that they have left your site.
  • Rates your resumes based on key words from the job description. While not always accurate, this feature really helps you prioritize resumes to review when there are hundreds of them.
  • Integrates very well with Aurico background checks and Silkroad's RedCarpet. This is a great feature because you can initiate the background check directly from the candidate's profile without having to get any sensitive information from the candidate prior to hiring. The integration with RedCarpet is also great because all of the candidate's information as well as the offer info and job details are sent to the onboarding program. This allows for quick setup of the new employee and reduces the need for any manual processes.
  • Reporting. While OpenHire has a number of standard reports, building a custom report is difficult.
  • Support. Silkroad's support is severely lacking. They have grown too big too quickly and you often get support staff that don't know how to address your problem or they just stop working on it. You often have to follow up multiple times to get a problem resolved.
  • There are some required fields in the job postings that are unclear but mandatory and some steps that are redundant. You definitely have to learn the quarks of the system.
If you need a lot of reporting or are not very tech savvy, this is not the system for you. If you are an organization who has never used an ATS system, OpenHire is a good starter system.
Read Erin Seay's full review
Kimberly Kenner profile photo
March 18, 2015

SilkRoad Recruiting Review: "OpenHire is great for the price and ease of access!"

Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
OpenHire was used by the entire recruiting team, and some of the HR team (the ones that supported the onboarding process, or helped with recruiting when the demands were high. At the time, recruiting were the only ones that created requisitions then followed through to the hire point. Hiring managers throughout the chain were not allowed to use it.
  • I really enjoyed the ease of use for candidates. The application process was easy. They uploaded their resumes, it was parsed quickly, and only a few questions to answer. If they made some kind of mistake, they could go in and fix it, as apposed to us having to fix it.
  • It was easy to search resumes by location and key words.
  • It can be accessed anywhere! from any device or computer! You can work from anywhere, even at the airport, at home when your kid is sick, etc.
  • When looking in a list a resumes that applied to one specific position, I like to easily go from resume to resume, in the same view. I didn't favor how when I hit the next button, I didn't have the same view.
  • In the early days of OpenHire, I also wanted to be able to batch email candidates from a search. I would do the search in the database, and it would show the matching resumes, and would like to be able to send them all the same message at one time. I understand, that has now been added.
  • The folder system takes too many steps and time.
I would say the company's demand level. If they are very small company, very low demand, this ATS may not be cost effective. For the VERY large companies with extreme demand, the occasional down time from web accessing can be frustrating!
Read Kimberly Kenner's full review
Heather Kitsko, PHR profile photo
February 23, 2015

SilkRoad Recruiting Review: "OpenHire keeps it simple"

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
OpenHire was our Applicant Trackiing System used by the entire company for hiring talent and was managed by the recruitment team. The system allowed us to have a streamlined process for managing candidates, job opportunites, backgrounds, interviews and all feedback related to interviews and resume reviews. All of this was extremely important since the company was a goverment contractor and had to follow the guidelines of OFCCP/Affirmative Action.
  • Streamlines the approval process for initiating jobs and hires
  • Reporting capabilities - EEOC
  • Job bank for job descriptions
  • Background integration was lengthy and difficult
  • Advancing search capabilities
  • Dispositions needed to be redefined
I think OpenHire is well suited for a company that doesn't have the security and compliance requirements that my previous company had. We had to pull the plug on the go live the day of because it was missing critical security features.
Read Heather Kitsko, PHR's full review
Donna Birge profile photo
February 03, 2015

SilkRoad Recruiting: "OpenHire review"

Score 4 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
The product had been purchased before I came to the company but not really used. I worked with the implementation team and began using it exclusively for tracking recruiting efforts. It took a little while to get all the managers' information into the system and begin to schedule interviews, etc. in the system but it greatly increased our ability to collect the correct information on candidates and to track the recruiting process from start to finish.
  • If used properly OpenHire tracks all recruiting steps from candidate application through offer and hire. It allows manager feedback on interviews, etc. to be gathered and kept via the system so it dramatically cuts back on the passing of paper.
  • By doing all the tracking on-line it provides good reports for the positions such as candidate reports, time to fill, etc.
  • It does a good job with the compliance reporting, EEO, etc.
  • The report function has a lot of canned reports but some are difficult to manipulate.
  • It is not as user-friendly for staff who have not previously used an ATS as it could be. It takes some getting used to.
  • Technical support was almost non-existant. You could submit a support ticket and never hear back from anyone. It was very frustrating.There was not a customer service number to call only an e-mail so you just had to wait for them to get back to you. There was no way to "escalate" your issue if you didn't receive a response.
Key question - how well does it integrate with your calendaring system (Outlook, etc.)? How many "managers" can use the system? What training and support come with it?
Read Donna Birge's full review
Kaitlin Roemeling profile photo
February 17, 2015

SilkRoad Recruiting Review: "OpenHire Helps!"

Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We used OpenHire as our applicant tracking system in Human Resources. It allowed us to organize all of our candidates.
  • It does a good job of organizing the candidates.
  • It is very user friendly.
  • Let all users see all candidates.
  • Have a better search engine to look at past applicants.
OpenHire is very good for using throughout the candidate's entire process. You can send them anything from interview confirmations to onboarding information.
Read Kaitlin Roemeling's full review
Oksana Lukash, PHR, CCP (ksusha45@yahoo.com) profile photo
August 31, 2014

SilkRoad Recruiting Review: "OpenHire"

Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
OpenHire was used across the whole organization to manage our recruiting process. It took a manual process and automated it. OpenHire was easy to implement, easy to use, pretty intuitive and did not require a lot of maintenance or support. The program made the approval process easy and managers were able to do it on the go. All the candidates were in one place and it was easy to manage the positions from opening to closing.
  • Easy to implement
  • User friendly and intuitive
  • Cost efficient
  • Helpful customer service
  • After the position was closed, the candidates associated with that role went into a general folder of "past candidates", they were no longer associated with the role.
I believe OpenHire is a great solution for small to medium sized company and might not be a best fit for a large organization.
Read Oksana Lukash, PHR, CCP (ksusha45@yahoo.com)'s full review
James Musia profile photo
August 30, 2014

SilkRoad Recruiting Review: "OpenHire ATS by SysAdmin and Implementation Project Leader"

Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We implemented OpenHire for our talent acquisition team so they would have an ATS. It is used to track and manage applicants for the full recruiting life cycle. The system was also used for loading, tracking, approving and posting job requisitions. Lastly OpenHire was used for reporting in support of business metrics and EEO/AAP reporting.
  • Manage Candidates/Applicants - full life cycle management and ease of moving candidates around in the process as well as easy disposition and automated e-mail triggers
  • Job requisitions - job library, approval workflows with e-mail triggers. Mobile approvals as well as automated job posting to career site as well as 3rd party job boards
  • Reporting: Many standardized reports and well as a solid ad-hoc reporting tool
  • Easily integrated with SilkRoad's onboarding tool
  • Customer Service is slow and not proactive nor do they follow up very well
  • More e-mail triggers
  • Enhance mobile capabilities
There needs to be a clear RFP process. Also OpenHire is probably better suited to small/mid-Sized companies with simple recruiting processes and a domestic footprint.
Read James Musia's full review
Cassandra Simone profile photo
August 28, 2014

SilkRoad Recruiting Review: "Applicant Tracking that Helps Non-profits"

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use OpenHire to post National Office employment positions which include internships, part time and full time positions. We are able to include hiring managers into making decisions through the system and can easily contact and document correspondence with applicants. We previously did not have a good way to track applicants and everything was attached to our emails which could cause difficulty when training interns who had to use employee accounts/email addresses.
  • Tracks Applicant positions that they applied for and any updates
  • Allows Hiring Managers the ability to view selective applicants and make comments or approve/decline interviews
  • Allows HR to create reports and track how long jobs are open, where applicants come from and any other pertinent information
  • The browser compatibility issues are frustrating especially since applicant support has stopped
  • Applicants have issues when applying for more than one job but the system thinks they are applying for the same job
  • Applicants accidentally withdraw very easily thinking they can update their resume this way, I think there should be an additional pop up confirming that they want to withdraw their application
It is difficult for higher level positions that we include a third party search firm that assists with interviews because we have to save and send each applicant individually.
Read Cassandra Simone's full review
Steve Wojack profile photo
August 20, 2014

SilkRoad Recruiting Review: "OpenHire can open the door to higher productivity."

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We used OpenHire's applicant tracking and contact resource management tool to find, track, hire and begin the credentialing process for physicians. The implementation of the system helped us reduce the time to hire providers from 69 days to 48 days within the first 6 months.
  • The best thing about OH is the intuitive nature of the program. With very little training we were able to use the tools within the system with very little effort.
  • Very customizable system that fit in our one off process quirks that we just couldn't give up. It also offered many alternatives to help streamline process heavy departments.
  • System administration was a breeze. Easy to add and remove customer locations as well as users.
  • There is nothing not to like about OH from a functional point. It was easy to use and had great reports.
  • Cost is a little higher than some of the competition but for what they have to offer I think the value is there.
  • I would make sure that you have a strong project manager to work with the support team during implementation. Its difficult doing it on your own unless you have done one in the past.
  • Don't allow IT to dictate what can and con't be done. I made that mistake and it cost me some functionality in using the product to its fullest capability.
No system is perfect all of them have flaws. What I liked about OpenHire is the ease of use, strong interfaces and smooth processes. Reporting in OpenHire is very robust and it has a number of canned reports and you still have the ability to customize a report that fits the company needs.

I also enjoyed a great relationship with the project manager that OpenHire provided and the training team.
Read Steve Wojack's full review
No photo available
August 26, 2016

SilkRoad Recruiting Review: "A good software ... Just needs an upgrade!"

Score 6 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Our organization uses SilkRoad Recruiting for all our organization's hiring needs. The platform is used by tellers all the way up to the CEO. The platform allows us to screen and review resumes and share them with our managers and departments located all across the DFW area.
  • Tracking notes for sharing with other hiring managers.
  • Workflows to keep managers and recruiters on track and constantly communicating.
  • Standard email templates to make communicating with prospective employees easy.
  • Connecting applications for the same person. There seems to be a missing link between allowing someone who we have declined and would never hire and allowing them to apply again and put them back in the stack without taking into account previous decisions.
  • Interface needs to be updated.
  • Customization is not very good. You have to go with what you are given
I think for organizations who have multiple recruiters this is a great tool, where someone can keep track of what's going on. There is no customization option for smaller companies.
Read this authenticated review
No photo available
August 19, 2015

SilkRoad Recruiting Review: "Open up to OpenHire"

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
OpenHire is used across my entire organization to manage our hiring process from resume submission to offer creation. OpenHire allows 3rd party integration to seamlessly process hires start to finish. Functions within OpenHire allow users to track interview processes; use effective mass communication with candidates, and process of applicant data reporting. OpenHire creates an umbrella that allows users to access all stages of the hiring process through one website.
  • Applicant Data Processing - Several reports available that allow you to datamine your applicant data to ensure compliance with all Federal, State and local requirements.
  • Ease of use: Drop down tools, multiple tabs, auto-populated fields help process applicants quickly and efficiently.
  • Communication: Tools within OpenHire allow quick canned communication with candidates. Yet users have the capability to easily personalize communications to a single candidate or a mass candidate list.
  • Support - Timeliness of support
OpenHire will be well suited for large organizations and government contractors that need effective reporting and applicant tracking. It is less appropriate for organizations with independent hiring practices. OpenHire helps standardize hiring practices across organizations with simplified tools.
Read this authenticated review
No photo available
April 07, 2015

SilkRoad Recruiting Review: "Basic as basic can be, but does the job."

Score 4 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
OpenHire is the basic ATS we utilize to track the applicant flow from our careers page. The primary users are those of us in the Talent Acquisition spectrum though our Human Resources department frequents in the system along with our hiring managers in the field for submitting requisitions, approvals, and the like. It allows all of these departments to really get on the same page with having one standardized method to go about the process of acquiring talent for the company.
  • The ease of use when it comes to create requisitions from a hiring managers side of things is definitely a positive. It's very much user intuitive and the specifications can be completely customized as to what a company would like to appear within said requisition.
  • Candidate correspondence is an absolute breeze as you can custom load templates into the system that can be edited at any time through an administrator in your company instead of having to go through a technical support team on the other side of things.
  • Overall, it's a pretty no muss no fuss system to use as there's not a great layer of complication about it and like most things, spaced practice and consistent exposure to it tend to iron out those rough edges. From an administration standpoint, adding in locations and hiring managers is incredibly simplistic along with reporting functionality.
  • Candidate folders have come a long way in the system and are much more user friendly at this point than when I began using the system some four years ago. It's very easy to shift candidate profiles between folders and edit on the fly.
  • Offer letters, offer letters, offer letters! Unfortunately OpenHire does not have the capacity to have a standard offer letter that can be customized without being saved as a different entity. For example our company has different offer letters for full time and part time hires, non-exempt/exempt, and assorted miscellaneous roles so instead of having one standard offer letter with the ability to drag/drop items within it that we need, we instead have to save each one individually meaning that as a recruiter goes to make an offer, they're selecting amongst multiple different letters.
  • Spam filters. When using the candidate correspondence option to communicate via email with potential prospects, these system generated emails tend to trigger the spam filters of many of the most popular servers such as Gmail, Hotmail, & Yahoo. I tend to avoid sending emails through OpenHire to candidates for this reason.
  • Candidate search functionality can be inconsistent at best and non-existent at worst. There are times if you're looking for a sizable pool of prospects and set up a pretty bare bones, general search that search will oftentimes take up to 5 minutes and yield no results after that. Definitely can be frustrating.
  • Broadbean usage. Last year OpenHire rolled out Broadbean which is a job posting aggregator allowing a user to select external job boards to post their roles directly from the OpenHire requisition. It's pretty new software so there are certainly a good deal of random kinks that could use some ironing out. The biggest thing to keep in mind is that while there's a wide array of external boards that can be selected, it's literally posting to each selected board so after the selections are made it's not an instant process to post as it requires filling out board specific details which can be time consuming.
There are so many factors that go into selecting an ATS for a talent acquisition department that it really depends. A few questions I'd ponder into would be to understand the needs of the business overall. For a smaller business, I can definitely see OpenHire being a great tool as it's kind of minimalist by nature with not a ton of expansive frills about it. For a larger company that has an international scope, I think it's a bit limiting as far as capabilities but again, so much of this is business specific that it's difficult to forecast.
Read this authenticated review
No photo available
February 20, 2015

SilkRoad Recruiting Review: "Deciding if OpenHire fits your company culture"

Score 6 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
I used the SilkRoad application at my previous employer (W. R. Grace) for recruitment and onboarding. The OpenHire portion was used for recruitment and early steps on onboarding and RedCarpet was used for on-boarding but we later decided not to use RedCarpet. OpenHire was used and owned by the Human Resources department to post open positions in the company, seek job requisition approvals, post to Monster and other free posting resources, identify candidates, and guide the selection process. Grace needed the ability to maintain their open positions and keep track of AAP using a system that would simplify the recruitment process.
  • Allows you to track the steps in the recruitment process such as, marking as resume review, hired, rejected.
  • Allows you to push out communication to a large group of applicants at once such as "the requisition has been closed" or rejection emails.
  • Posting to diverse websites outside of Monster.com. There were a lot of minority based niche job sites that had our jobs posted automatically through OpenHire.
  • Posting to outside boards was difficult at times. There were a lot of issues with Monster.com and the formatting errors. I do believe that they have since fixed this issue but I cannot be sure.
  • At times the information seemed repetitive. For example, you'd have to fill out information numerous times. This could have been a formatting issue in the setup with OpenHire but I definitely think that the overall experience of OpenHire could be more user friendly.
  • For Grace, the most difficult part was getting the hiring managers to own their part of the process. Such as approving job requisitions. Managers felt that all the emails and steps were tedious and not intuitive. Therefore, we removed ownership from them at all.
  • Licenses are fairly expensive and because we had a lot of HR employees it was difficult to have so many licenses due to the costs.
  • The reporting is heavily lacking. There needs to be a major update to the formatting and usefulness of the reports that can be generated from OpenHire. I often found that it had the ability to offer a report but often it required a lot of "fixing up" in order for it to be presentable.
I think OpenHire is best for a small company (max about 2500 employees). The more employees you have the more HR people you should have and this can get expensive. I know most larger companies are using more advanced systems as well (Workday). During the selection process be sure to determine how many OpenHire users you would need. Ask whether your managers will be willing to work in the system as well or whether HR would have to own the entire process. If you are EEOC compliant, make sure you ask about diversity posting, APP tracking of applicants, and reporting needs. If you require an onboarding tool, SilkRoad offers RedCarpet. I found it to be very complex and hiring managers refused to use it. If you require an onboarding tool, definitely look into it. The demo may look great but there were a lot of implementation steps done to make it work and it just didn't fit our company culture. So make sure it fits yours.
Read this authenticated review
No photo available
February 13, 2015

SilkRoad Recruiting Review: "OpenHire works for minimalistic recruiting processes."

Score 3 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
OpenHire is being used globally as the Applicant Tracking System (ATS) at my company. I've also used OpenHire in my previous company as the ATS to post jobs, manage applicants and progress through the hiring and selection process.
  • OpenHire does integrate well with agencies as you can assign agency recruiters as users to directly share candidate information.
  • OpenHire's ability to set up templates for correspondence with candidates is easy to use and helps efficiently manage candidate communciations.
  • OpenHire's user roles can create issues depending on how your company's hiring process flows. For example, at one company, the hiring managers were extremely involved in screening candidates yet the system seems very geared towards use of centralized recruiters who distribute candidates. The lack of ability to customize roles and security to match our managers' needs created additional burden on HR as well as frustration from hiring managers.
  • I experienced several problems uploading documents to accompany a candidate's offer. There was a limit on the number, size and type of attachments that could be included, and there was no alternative (as vetted with OpenHire) besides sending a separate correspondence to the candidate. I found this to appear unprofessional to the candidate as well as creating an extra step in the process for HR/recruiting.
  • The requisition process had a few issues which created inefficiencies in the process. Firstly, for times when you need to post a role confidentially outside of your standard process, there was no way to designate the req as 'confidential'. Instead, you had to use the 'executive' status which created issues (ie: inaccurate data in reporting). Secondly, OpenHire was unable to upload the company directory of emails in the requisition approver fields so rather than being able to select from a drop-down or using a 'smart' field, you had to type each approver's email out manually thus increasing the potential for error and delay in the process.
OpenHire works well for the needs at my current company since we typically do not have a very high volume of open positions, and much of the requisition and hiring is managed outside the system. For example, the hire requisitions and offers are handled completely outside the system. For the basics of applicant tracking and reporting, this system is a cost-effective choice. If, however, you are looking for a sophisticated ATS with more advanced features and the ability to customize to your process, I would not recommend OpenHire.
Read this authenticated review
No photo available
April 29, 2015

SilkRoad Recruiting: "OpenHire review"

Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
OpenHire is used for our recruiting. We source, communicate, and filter our candidates via OpenHire. Additionally, we use the program to do some research and find candidates that previously applied to a different position with the company. It is a nice tool, given that it will also post our openings with other websites (i.e. Indeed, Monster, etc).
  • Correspondences (e-mails)
  • New applicant notifications
  • Application, resume viewing
  • Filter of previous candidates
  • Information from archived candidates
  • Templates are not organized. Would be nice to be able to organize templates by recruiter.
We utilize OpenHire on a regular basis and have plans on continuing to do so. It is a valuable tool for us, given that we have used it for a few years now. All information is stored in there and we go back to source candidates when we need a specific skill.
Read this authenticated review
No photo available
February 21, 2015

SilkRoad Recruiting: "Don't just "Let it go, let it go!" Read our review."

Score 4 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Our entire organization which includes over 160 retail stores currently uses OpenHire on a daily basis. OpenHire provides us a way to track and manage candidates and their applications. It also enables us to interact with the candidate electronically.
  • Keeps track of jobs that an applicant applies for.
  • Enables electronic communication to applicants.
  • Enables use to use social media on a regular basis with each job posting.
  • Each email in Openhire must be unique otherwise there is a problem with integration to our other SilkRoad systems.
  • Ability to purge applications on a yearly basis.
  • Provide ongoing support during the implementation of OpenHire. We did NOT have a good experience during our first year of implementation.
I think it is best to know {what to look out for ] from Silkroad/Openhire's current and previous clients. This would have enabled us to reach out to both sets to determine what challenges they may have encountered with the product before we made the decision to purchase.
Read this authenticated review
No photo available
February 20, 2015

SilkRoad Recruiting Review: "SilkRoad Open Hire"

Score 3 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
OpenHire is being used as our applicant tracking system. We are using SilkRoad and myself, the rest of the HR team and our hiring managers all utilize the program. Silkroad is helping us with all of our recruitment needs as well as gathering all of our EEO data from our current candidates.
  • Ease of posting jobs
  • Report writing is accurate and readily available
  • Update to the candidates
  • Hiring manager functionality
  • The ability to email interviewed candidates vs non qualified
  • Ease of posting directly to other websites
This system should really be used by a recruiter only. The hiring managers do not have much access to do anything other than review resumes. They cannot mark a candidate qualified or not qualified which can get confusing when you have multiple people reviewing resumes for one job. This system is definitely functional for a recruiter.
Read this authenticated review
No photo available
February 13, 2015

SilkRoad Recruiting: "OpenHire Review"

Score 3 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
OpenHire is used as the company's applicant tracking system for posting positions, tracking applicants, extending offers, and in capturing data for government compliance and reporting.
  • Ability to post on various job boards at once via BroadBean
  • Helpful pre-canned reports and report builder
  • Automated processes
  • Automatic routing of applicants to managers that includes the person's resume within the routing email text as well as an attached copy of the resume
  • Being able to extend offers electronically (logged with the system) and capability of electronic offer acceptance
  • Automatic disposition of candidates that fail pre-screening questions
  • Managers should have access to initiate an offer request (in addition to the Recruiter)
Read this authenticated review
No photo available
February 06, 2015

SilkRoad Recruiting Review: "OpenHire helps streamline applicant processing"

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
OpenHire is being used across the whole organization. It helps keep all the applicants in one place, easy to access and a better way to make sure everyone is processed the same way.
  • It is easy to send out e-mails to large groups of applicants, such as regrets.
  • The dashboard is very handy to see how many applicants you have, how many are being interviewed and then be able to jump right to that selection.
  • When you are cloning a job posting it should be able to take you through all the different steps like a new posting does, but it only takes you to the first page. You then have to save and go back into each page separately.
  • The text boxes for the job posting could be a little easier to manage and make presentable. The formatting aspect is difficult to get right.
I think OpenHire is well suited for companies that have over 50 employees, or who are going through a major hiring spree. It is helpful to keep track of all the applicants in one place.
Read this authenticated review
No photo available
February 06, 2015

SilkRoad Recruiting Review: "OpenHire - Good for Basic Needs"

Score 5 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We utilize OpenHire for all open positions in our organization. It is a great place to store resumes and run basic reports.
  • Storing Resumes - you always have them in a database and you can go back and review the candidate.
  • Managing Candidates through the hiring process - you can see where the candidate is in the hiring process and have notes tied to each position.
  • Customizing Emails - you can customize emails you send to candidates and have them stored ready to go.
  • Setting up interviews for hiring managers - works with Outlook - takes a few steps however.
  • Latency Issues - we have continued issues with the system stopping at times or taking a long time to load.
  • Advanced Search - I'm not sure if this is their issue or a user issue on our end. Occasionally this function does not work.
  • Customer Support - they are getting better at responding however we have a dedicated person to support us. Calling 1st thing in the morning before the workday begins is your best bet. If you send them an email it can take days for a response.
  • Platforms with other systems - we have had issues coordinating platforms from various other recruiting tools we use.
It's a fine system for basic recruiting needs. Ask if it works with other platforms and if it communicates with other systems that are specific to your business needs. We continue to have to pay more to have things 'customized' for our needs. Ask if they system works with your onboarding and payroll systems as well.

Their training for us was great and they used to have something called Mondays with SilkRoad. That was a great way to learn different things in the system as well.
Read this authenticated review
No photo available
December 18, 2014

SilkRoad Recruiting Review: "OpenHire is Great"

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
OpenHire is being used by HR department only. It is being used for applicant tracking (screening resumes, scheduling interviews, completing e-application)
  • Provides easy communication with applicants. You can set up standard emails and connect with many applicants at the same time with only one email send. OpenHire will generate the email and send it to as many applicants as needed.
  • Pre-screening questions. OpenHire allows you to select pre-screening questions and eliminate or select candidates based on the answers and not waiste time on looking on the whole application
  • Customer Service is always easy to connect with
  • The applicants score is not always accurate. Sometimes applicants who have a low score can still be a good fit for a role.
If you have a lot of job postings to track, OpenHire is an easy method to track the applicants. All the applicants are in one place. You can link OpenHire with social media websites, which allows for posting jobs even faster. It is a great time saver.
Read this authenticated review
No photo available
February 17, 2015

SilkRoad Recruiting Review: "OpenHire for the win!"

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
I used OpenHire at my last company and I was happy with how user friendly the product was. With the recruiting process as well as metrics, it provided all the tools and options we needed.
  • Metrics
  • Organizing candidate pool
  • Providing additional tools for recruiting process
  • Additional ease of running reports. It can be clunky at times.
For the full recruiting process, it is very adequate.
Read this authenticated review

Feature Scorecard Summary

Job Requisition Management (12)
6.0
Company Website Posting (12)
6.3
Publish to Social Media (10)
6.8
Job Search Site Posting (11)
6.2
Customized Application Form (10)
5.3
Resume Management (12)
6.0
Duplicate Candidate Prevention (11)
2.0
Candidate Search (12)
6.2
Applicant Tracking (12)
5.9
Collaboration (12)
6.1
Task Creation and Delegation (8)
6.6
Email Templates (12)
6.5
User Permissions (12)
5.5
Notifications and Alerts (12)
5.8
Reporting (12)
4.3

About SilkRoad Recruiting

OpenHire is a recruiting management and applicant tracking system acquired by SilkRoad in 2004 and available as a web-based service. Beginning with a focus on automation of HR processes, it now possesses a broader swath of features, including a social recruiting media toolkit facilitating connections with candidates via social networks, allowing them to apply via LinkedIn, career portal creation and branding to suit the needs and image of the company, and reporting dashboards for process analysis. SilkRoad emphasizes tools to help medium to large sized companies manage risks particular to their needs, such as data security and compliance with EEO laws. SilkRoad Technology Inc is a relatively large company, having approximately 350 employees, headquartered in Chicago since 2010.
Categories:  Applicant Tracking

SilkRoad Recruiting Competitors

SilkRoad Recruiting Technical Details

Operating Systems: Unspecified
Mobile Application:No