Zerto on IBM Cloud

Zerto on IBM Cloud

About TrustRadius Scoring
Score 8.5 out of 100
Zerto on IBM Cloud

Overview

Recent Reviews

Zerto on IBM Cloud review

8 out of 10
September 28, 2021
The application is basically being used for the purpose of data recovery in case of any mishap/disaster. It also provides a protected data …
Continue reading

A Powerful Combination

9 out of 10
September 21, 2021
We use Zerto on IBM Cloud so our infrastructure is reliable and flexible. This is done [in] 90% of the organization as the other other 10% …
Continue reading

Zerto on IBM Cloud

9 out of 10
September 04, 2020
Zerto is being used as a disaster recovery and backup solution solution to remote locations for our VMWare virtual environment and to …
Continue reading

My Zerto on IBM Cloud Review

9 out of 10
August 27, 2019
Our IT department uses Zerto on IBM Cloud for disaster recovery. We use it to replicate our virtual infrastructure data to a cloud …
Continue reading

Zerto is good enough for most

8 out of 10
August 26, 2019
We evaluated Zerto along side multiple target clouds. Among them were AWS, private hosting and IBM/Softlayer. After running the gamut of …
Continue reading

Reviewer Pros & Cons

View all pros & cons

Video Reviews

Leaving a video review helps other professionals like you evaluate products. Be the first one in your network to record a review of Zerto on IBM Cloud, and make your voice heard!

Pricing

View all pricing

Zerto

$40.00

Cloud
per VM

Zerto One-To-Many

$60.00

Cloud
per VM

Entry-level set up fee?

  • Setup fee optional

Offerings

  • Free Trial
  • Free/Freemium Version
  • Premium Consulting / Integration Services

Features Scorecard

No scorecards have been submitted for this product yet..

Product Details

What is Zerto on IBM Cloud?

Zerto on IBM Cloud seamlessly protects, expands, and migrates your existing VMware vSphere and other hypervisor workloads onto IBM Cloud, giving you a secure, flexible, and scalable disaster recovery solution. These single-tenant environments are deployed on IBM Cloud's data centers around the world and provide cloud application recovery in minutes.

Zerto on IBM Cloud Screenshots

Zerto and IBM DR Solutions- Complete Multi-Cloud Data ProtectionZerto on IBM cloud architecture

Zerto on IBM Cloud Video

Zerto on IBM Cloud Downloadables

Zerto on IBM Cloud Integrations

Zerto on IBM Cloud Competitors

Zerto on IBM Cloud Technical Details

Deployment TypesOn-premise, SaaS
Operating SystemsWindows, Linux
Mobile ApplicationNo
Supported CountriesWorldwide
Supported LanguagesEnglish, French, German, Spanish, Italian, Japanese, Simplified Chinese, Traditional Chinese, Brazilian Portuguese

Comparisons

View all alternatives

Compare with

Reviews and Ratings

 (32)

Reviews

(1-9 of 9)
Companies can't remove reviews or game the system. Here's why
Anirudh Srinivas | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
[I am] using Zerto on IBM Cloud for disaster recovery replication for clients which have short recovery point objectives, Servers like SQL are mainly adopting this replication mechanism in order to have short recovery along with standard log shipping and also Commvault based backup for logs. The integration of the VMware on cloud also supports replicate easily.
  • Data replication with journaling.
  • SQL replication.
  • Fast recovery in case of cyber attack / disaster.
  • Bandwidth utilization.
  • Support for non Microsoft products like Oracle.
  • Inclusion of more virtualization environments.
If the environment is fully IBM cloud-based with simple infra components like the SQL servers, standard VMs or applications with short recovery time objectives. This cost-effective solution can save in implementing rather than an expensive DR mechanism or tool to support the overall recovery strategy. If you have complex environments where mission-critical apps like Oracle Databases are running in a cluster mode and features like data guard is used this option would not be a good choice due to complexity.
There is some kind of issue when you use this specifically for very large VMs, some time the VRA registration fails. when there are large disks the snap and writing data to the target takes a longer time and with even higher bandwidth available this can fail even if the disk / VM are within the same VPG.
September 28, 2021

Zerto on IBM Cloud review

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
The application is basically being used for the purpose of data recovery in case of any mishap/disaster. It also provides a protected data storage for the organization's data. And as the storage is totally on the cloud, there's no hassle with the hardware installation. It even provides automated tools for deployment. So it actually makes the process much easier and is something every organization should have.
  • Fast data replication.
  • Data protection.
  • Possibility to store data.
  • Simplicity of operation.
  • Objectiveness of UI.
  • Must have been expensive for my organization.
  • Documentation has a scope of improvement.
Data storage and access. As a disaster recovery application. Possibly as an antivirus for your data if your organization has enough money. For fast data replication.

It reduced work and saved time. Provided a lot of comforts. Liked it a lot!
September 21, 2021

A Powerful Combination

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use Zerto on IBM Cloud so our infrastructure is reliable and flexible. This is done [in] 90% of the organization as the other other 10% is allowed to be independent with their choices. Zerto is a good fit for our organization because it allows us to keep applications backed up and highly available. We used to be just a one site IT solution, but now we can use the IBM Cloud in concert with Zerto to ensure that local issues do not cost us time and money. In short, it keeps us in business and keeps everyone productive even through disaster.
  • Failover.
  • Backup.
  • Integration.
  • Cost.
  • Complexity.
  • Documentation.
Zerto on IBM Cloud is great to get your datacenter redundant and highly available. It overcomes geographic contingencies and makes your production environment reliably flexible. If you do not like the added cost of redundancy or cost of cloud services, this inconvenient fee may not fit you well. But you'd be better off in the long run to have Zerto protecting your bottom line despite the cost.
Thankfully we haven't had to do this routinely, but in actuality in the times we have tested this feature it has worked well. Knowing we have these tools in our back pocket, we feel ready for most any disaster scenario with recovery tools that should do what we need. By having these tools the specter of deployment time doesn't feel as daunting.
September 04, 2020

Zerto on IBM Cloud

James McCullough | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Zerto is being used as a disaster recovery and backup solution solution to remote locations for our VMWare virtual environment and to improve system up time and prevent data loss that meet the demands of our business unit and it's customers. Zerto is also used as a data migration strategy to move data between sites.
  • Small rpo for disaster recovery
  • Data compression for rapid replication
  • Cost
  • Easier management, less command line only tools
Zerto is an ideal solution for disaster recovery between datacenters to achieve short recovery point objectives. It also provides rapid datacenter and server transitions to minimize downtime and minimize data loss. Zerto on IBM cloud provides an easy to use interface to easily transfer data to and from the cloud.
Zerto and IBM cloud have made it easier and faster to deploy a disaster recovery solution that meets the requirements of the business and its customers. It allows for rapid transitions between multiple clusters and data centers with minimal data loss that is usually less than 15 seconds and a downtime that meets objectives.
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
It is primarily being used for backup/restore and disaster recovery within the business and it is being used across the entire organization. It addresses the problem of having business continuity and contingency plans in the event the organization needs to restore data or virtual machines when some unforeseen event happens.
  • It is easy to get started.
  • It is also very simple to set up the backup.
  • Disaster recovery is no longer a dreadful or painful process.
  • There could be better documentation available on the restoration process.
Zerto on IBM Cloud is very well suited for backup and replication of data including large volumes of data.
The disaster recovery process is rather simple. I would say there is not a scenario where Zerto would be inappropriate.
The tools are really helpful in automating the restoration process as well as conducting the disaster recovery process. In addition, the tools help one to be efficient in the overall backup process.
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Our IT department uses Zerto on IBM Cloud for disaster recovery. We use it to replicate our virtual infrastructure data to a cloud location to have it protected in the event of a regional disaster, ransomware attack, corruption, etc. It also allows for quicker file-level recovery, failover testing as well as gives us a way to test/dev in a non-production environment.
  • Ease of setup and upgrade. Installation and configuration was a breeze and can get you protected in just minutes without having to set up additional hardware.
  • Consolidated billing of the IBM infrastructure and Zerto licensing. One bill to pay monthly.
  • Ease of support access. Contacting IBM Cloud support is quick and easy and they can quickly involve Zerto support if needed.
  • Enable the ability to use IBM Cloud Object Storage as a target for Zerto's long-term retention feature.
  • Easier access to the underlying VMware infrastructure would be nice. Right now we have to connect to IBM's VPN and use other tools to do some infrastructure management tasks.
  • More insight into the IBM-side VMware environment that we replicate to (i.e. ability to see available IPs, etc). Most of that is managed by IBM.
Zerto on IBM Cloud is well suited for organizations looking to retire their secondary DR site. Zerto on IBM Cloud can be used to replicate directly to the cloud without having to worry about hardware refresh cycles, colocation costs and configuration, traveling to the colocation for upgrades, changes, etc. Can also be used to supplement existing backup solutions with the journal file level recovery feature and new long-term retention.
Our Zerto on IBM Cloud environment was deployed, configured and ready to use in just a few days, without us having to purchase and configure hardware. The environment deployment was automated in just minutes to fully supported specs so we didn't have to worry about missing anything had we had to do the deployment ourselves.
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Zerto is being leveraged to migrate payload and give access to data between teams. The benefit to the solution is that it makes a mirrored copy of the vmdk data prior to the migration, which ensures that the final cut overtakes minutes versus a series of hours.
  • Checksum validation.
  • Real-time data sync between datastores.
  • It's easy to allow multiple teams to have access to instances of data.
  • None come to mind
I'd recommend Zerto on IBM Cloud for anyone looking to create a replication of data for use by different teams. Zerto makes it effortless to replicate the data, allowing engineers to quickly implement additional instances of an application or dataset for use across the requesting teams.
We haven't needed to leverage the tool in this manner to date. We have used it to restore backups, which has reduced our time to complete this task from multiple hours to single minutes.
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We evaluated Zerto along side multiple target clouds. Among them were AWS, private hosting and IBM/Softlayer. After running the gamut of tests, IBM proved to have the most performance in terms of throughput and recoverability.
  • Price of capacity
  • Speed of restore
  • Ease of integration
  • Licensing model
  • Regional support
  • Inability to support non X86 workloads
Protecting virtual workloads
Increased the total number of systems being protected.