TrustRadius
https://dudodiprj2sv7.cloudfront.net/product-logos/3b/vB/FDCATN1V8X7J.JPEGDatawatch - Monarch Pro 8.0Monarch is being used by certain individuals at the company I now work for. It helps extract data from different sources and puts the data into an Excel spreadsheet which is easy to manipulate into anything we need.,Reduces multiple lines of data into one. This allows for a more across the page reference rather than a hunt and peck for the data.,Field definition needs to include more options to retrieve the data.,9,8,7Datawatch Monarch/Modeler and RMS: Very effective for data mining from legacy reports.Some end users and data analysts in our organization use Datawatch Monarch to extract data from mainframe reports. We also have Datawatch Monarch RMS running on our IBM Content Manager On Demand (CMOD) report distribution platform, which allows users to extract their data without running Monarch themselves.,Creating a basic model to extract data from a report is very easy. Advanced features like Calculated Fields and External Lookups allow you to augment the raw data. You can create a "project" to automate the data extraction. Combined with Datapump (a separate DW app), you can fully automate the process once the raw report is generated.,Moving fields around in a model can be very cumbersome because you can't overlay them. Moving models between different versions of Monarch can be a pain. I'd love to see a utility that would combine the field lists from a collection of models. This would help us standardize our field definitions.,7,None,8,Most of our users don't know they are using it, because it is embedded in CMOD.,5,7,5Datawatch Modeler reviewDatawatch is used extensively by our finance department to export large, unformatted reports quickly into Excel while extracting only the relevant info.,It allows us to quickly dump large non-ALV SAP reports into Excel. Exporting these reports prior to Modeler was cumbersome at best. Customizable models allow us to easily gather required data from the same report running different dates. This is perfect for month-end reports. Quick exports.,Editing the models is not intuitive and takes a fair amount of training. Datawatch should work on their GUI.,9,Quicker reporting Improved efficiency Improved morale,9Datawatch - Great Product, New (ouch) Pricing!Datawatch Monarch text editing software is utilized by hundreds of users across our organization. It is the best text editing solution for downloaded mainframe reports, and allows end users to quickly render their own data. The Monarch software is intuitive, flexible, and easy to use. Datawatch Data Pump solution was implemented over 8 years ago by our regional IT department as a logical extension of how we use Monarch. Data Pump is used to schedule and output hundreds of processes and reports we have created over the years to support departments across our supply chain, and links extremely well to data we maintain in SQL.,Monarch is very flexible, easy to use, and intuitive. It links well with other data sources, and has a wide array of calcs available for power users. Data Pump is a logical conclusion for those who are familiar with Monarch xprj's. Once a project's model, data source, and data destination are established, it makes sense to want to automatically schedule it. Data Pump makes it easy to group, organize, schedule, track and trouble-shoot multiple projects in one place.,Recently, we had some major sticker-shock when we wanted to upgrade Data Pump. It is an exceptional product, but when the price jumped from $6,000 to over $60,000, it was impossible to get the funds approved internally for the upgrade. We also paid for yearly maintenance contracts which included Professional Services, but rarely found those services beneficial. However, we did receive all software upgrades for Datapump as part of the contract which we found to be very beneficial. However, with the new pricing, that is not longer the case.,9,Data Pump reduces complexity of report solutions by offering a standardized approach for organizing and scheduling 97% service level for past 5 years for all of our jobs going through Data Pump,,2Datawatch services reviewIt was used by the whole organization.,Ease of use Ease of managemet Proactive monitoring,Graphical interface,8,Peace of mind for security of employees Tracking of off hours access Ease of access to authenticated employees,7
Windows, Linux
Datawatch Monarch
14 Ratings
Score 8.1 out of 101
TRScore

Datawatch Monarch Reviews

Datawatch Monarch
14 Ratings
Score 8.1 out of 101
Show Filters 
Hide Filters 
Filter 14 vetted Datawatch Monarch reviews and ratings
Clear all filters
Overall Rating
Reviewer's Company Size
Last Updated
By Topic
Industry
Department
Experience
Job Type
Role
Reviews (1-6 of 6)
  Vendors can't alter or remove reviews. Here's why.
Lisa Glassman profile photo
March 18, 2015

Datawatch Monarch Review: "Datawatch - Monarch Pro 8.0"

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Monarch is being used by certain individuals at the company I now work for. It helps extract data from different sources and puts the data into an Excel spreadsheet which is easy to manipulate into anything we need.
  • Reduces multiple lines of data into one. This allows for a more across the page reference rather than a hunt and peck for the data.
  • Field definition needs to include more options to retrieve the data.
This is a great tool for creating "batch" files as well.
Read Lisa Glassman's full review
Frank Pappalardo profile photo
September 12, 2014

Review: "Datawatch Monarch/Modeler and RMS: Very effective for data mining from legacy reports."

Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Some end users and data analysts in our organization use Datawatch Monarch to extract data from mainframe reports. We also have Datawatch Monarch RMS running on our IBM Content Manager On Demand (CMOD) report distribution platform, which allows users to extract their data without running Monarch themselves.
  • Creating a basic model to extract data from a report is very easy.
  • Advanced features like Calculated Fields and External Lookups allow you to augment the raw data.
  • You can create a "project" to automate the data extraction. Combined with Datapump (a separate DW app), you can fully automate the process once the raw report is generated.
  • Moving fields around in a model can be very cumbersome because you can't overlay them.
  • Moving models between different versions of Monarch can be a pain.
  • I'd love to see a utility that would combine the field lists from a collection of models. This would help us standardize our field definitions.
* Individual seat licenses are very expensive, which is one reason we are moving to CMOD/RMS. But RMS has less functionality than standalone Monarch (now known as "Modeler"). I would like to know what improvements we can expect in RMS, I would also ask, what is the future of the standalone version?
* In the past there has been a dearth of user discussion and support in the online community, although this seems to be improving with the new "Datawatch Commmunity" (http://community.datawatch.com).
Read Frank Pappalardo's full review
David O'Reilly profile photo
July 18, 2014

Datawatch Monarch: "Datawatch Modeler review"

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Datawatch is used extensively by our finance department to export large, unformatted reports quickly into Excel while extracting only the relevant info.
  • It allows us to quickly dump large non-ALV SAP reports into Excel. Exporting these reports prior to Modeler was cumbersome at best.
  • Customizable models allow us to easily gather required data from the same report running different dates. This is perfect for month-end reports.
  • Quick exports.
  • Editing the models is not intuitive and takes a fair amount of training. Datawatch should work on their GUI.
If you need to quickly export large reports that contain superfluous data, regardless of format or software, you should use Modeler.
Read David O'Reilly's full review
Kim Shada profile photo
July 02, 2014

Datawatch Monarch Review: "Datawatch - Great Product, New (ouch) Pricing!"

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Datawatch Monarch text editing software is utilized by hundreds of users across our organization. It is the best text editing solution for downloaded mainframe reports, and allows end users to quickly render their own data. The Monarch software is intuitive, flexible, and easy to use. Datawatch Data Pump solution was implemented over 8 years ago by our regional IT department as a logical extension of how we use Monarch. Data Pump is used to schedule and output hundreds of processes and reports we have created over the years to support departments across our supply chain, and links extremely well to data we maintain in SQL.
  • Monarch is very flexible, easy to use, and intuitive. It links well with other data sources, and has a wide array of calcs available for power users.
  • Data Pump is a logical conclusion for those who are familiar with Monarch xprj's. Once a project's model, data source, and data destination are established, it makes sense to want to automatically schedule it. Data Pump makes it easy to group, organize, schedule, track and trouble-shoot multiple projects in one place.
  • Recently, we had some major sticker-shock when we wanted to upgrade Data Pump. It is an exceptional product, but when the price jumped from $6,000 to over $60,000, it was impossible to get the funds approved internally for the upgrade.
  • We also paid for yearly maintenance contracts which included Professional Services, but rarely found those services beneficial. However, we did receive all software upgrades for Datapump as part of the contract which we found to be very beneficial. However, with the new pricing, that is not longer the case.
If an organization's primary source of data is available in a report format, Monarch is an excellent solution. It works extremely well for parsing out data from downloaded text files, and can even be used to parse data out of scanned pdf documents. For power users, it works very well with databases and SQL. For soft users who just want to glean data out of a downloaded report, it's very easy to see how it works. For anyone who has ever tried to use Excel to open and parse a text file, Monarch is sure to provide lasting relief!

Should you find Monarch beneficial, the next logical step towards creating a great BI environment is Data Pump.
Read Kim Shada's full review
Javier Icaza profile photo
July 21, 2014

Datawatch Monarch: "Datawatch services review"

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
It was used by the whole organization.
  • Ease of use
  • Ease of managemet
  • Proactive monitoring
  • Graphical interface
It was well suited to large buildings with controlled main access but not to those with an open floor plan.
Read Javier Icaza's full review
No photo available
November 04, 2014

Datawatch Monarch Review: "Best tool for monitoring real-time data and analyzing time series data"

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Used Datawatch Desktop to analyze marketing data in the sales and marketing departments. For example, we used data from our website, including number and frequency of visits, forms completed, time spent on site, and other factors and visually correlated that information with sales opportunities in the CRM. The visualizations made it obvious when a prospect's behavior on the website did not match the likelihood-to-close percentage provided by the salesperson. When there is a discrepancy, the sales manager can intervene and help the salesperson better qualify the lead.
  • Ability to access and visualize real-time streams of data coming in from message buses, real-time Excel, or CEP engines
  • Ability to visualize true time series data stored in column-oriented, in-memory databases
  • Ability to support SAP HANA databases
  • Setting up visualizations with time series data requires a good understanding of how the software works. I would like it to be more intuitive. Having said that, time series data is inherently complicated and I don't see any obvious ways to make it simpler. But I'm not a software designer myself; they could put more resources into the user experience.
  • Their video training is really helpful and they have a big library of videos, but the videos get out of date as they come out with new versions. I can imagine that it's difficult to keep all the videos updated, but it would be great if the videos were always using the latest major version of the product.
  • They need more visualizations. They have a pretty big collection now but it seems like there is often some other way to present and visually analyze data that would be a better/tighter fit with requirements than the visualizations available in the standard product. I understand it is possible to add more visualizations - custom visualizations - but that's beyond my expertise.
The product is especially useful when you have real-time and/or time series data to analyze. If you have more mundane, simpler requirements, other products might do the job you need for less money (there are even some decent open source visualization tools you can find.) I know the product is very widely used in capital markets applications to monitor and analyze risk and price and volume changes; if you're working in that area, I don't think there's a better tool to use.
Read this authenticated review

About Datawatch Monarch

Datawatch Monarch works with both relational and multi-structured data including support for a wide range of formats including PDF, XML, HTML, text, spool and ASCII files. The product can access data from invoices, sales reports, balance sheets, customer lists, inventory, logs and more.

According to the vendor, the system is easy to use, allowing users to quickly select any data source and automatically convert it into structured data for analysis. Monarch provides data masking to remove or obscure confidential data such as customer information, medical records and employee IDs with redaction capabilities. This feature allows users to distribute reports to partners and customers, even in heavily regulated industries such as healthcare and financial services, without compromising customer and employee privacy.

Prepared data can be saved in a variety of native BI formats so users can visualize results not just in popular BI tools such as Tableau, Qlik and Excel. Users can also share and reuse data preparation processes with other Monarch users.

Datawatch Monarch Features

Has featureAccess all data including multi-structured
Has featureAdvanced data masking
Has featureVisualize in any analytic tool - Tableau, Qlik, Excel

Datawatch Monarch Screenshots

Datawatch Monarch Integrations

Datawatch Monarch Competitors

Pricing

Has featureFree Trial Available?Yes
Has featureFree or Freemium Version Available?Yes
Has featurePremium Consulting/Integration Services Available?Yes
Entry-level set up fee?Optional

Datawatch Monarch Support Options

 Free VersionPaid Version
Phone
Email
Forum/Community
FAQ/Knowledgebase
Social Media
Video Tutorials / Webinar

Datawatch Monarch Technical Details

Deployment Types:On-premise
Operating Systems: Windows, Linux
Mobile Application:Apple iOS, Android, Windows Phone