Microsoft SQL Server Reviews

<a href='https://www.trustradius.com/static/about-trustradius-scoring#question3' target='_blank' rel='nofollow noopener noreferrer'>Customer Verified: Read more.</a>
1195 Ratings
<a href='https://www.trustradius.com/static/about-trustradius-scoring' target='_blank' rel='nofollow noopener noreferrer'>trScore algorithm: Learn more.</a>
Score 8.7 out of 100

Do you work for this company? Manage this listing

Overall Rating

Reviewer's Company Size

Last Updated

By Topic

Industry

Department

Experience

Job Type

Role

Reviews (1-25 of 70)

Lisandro Fernigrini | TrustRadius Reviewer
February 21, 2020

Solid, affordable and easy to install and use database engine

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use Microsoft SQL Server as the DB option for the commercial back-office modules of our MLFF (Multi-Lane - Free Flow) Tolling solution. All the commercial back-office (from Customer registration to involvement and payment handling) relies on Microsoft SQL Server databases. Other vital components of the entire solution, like Security and Vehicle Management, and the Reporting environment also utilize Microsoft SQL Server.
  • Microsoft SQL Server is simple to install and configure.
  • Many advanced options like Compression and Partitioning are available with no extra cost, thus reducing the overall TCO.
  • Partitioning does not provide as many options as Oracle (like Foreign Key partitioning, list partitions, hash partitioning and sub partitions)
  • The default READ COMMITED isolation level block readers, so it is important to use the READ_COMMITTED_SNAPSHOT option, that should be default right now...
I've found Microsoft SQL Server a robust and affordable solution for most OLTP scenarios, starting with department solutions up to enterprise-level systems. There are many advanced features (like compression and partitioning) that correctly implemented provide huge benefits on performance, reducing hardware requirements and costs. The default locking mechanism can be a problem for systems with high concurrency if the READ_COMMITTED_SNAPSHOT option is not selected.
Read Lisandro Fernigrini's full review
luka horvat | TrustRadius Reviewer
January 20, 2020

Easy to use and set up, robust and reliable DBMS

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
In our database department, we use Microsoft SQL Server for storing data, data aggregation, and manipulation. We use Reporting services tools for creating, managing and deploying reports for our clients. For creating a report definition I personally used Report Builder which makes defining data source connections, queries used to retrieve data, expressions, parameters and others extremely easy to perform. We also try to improve the performance of stored procedures, user-defined functions, and triggers by learning the execution plan in detail. One of our clients has a web app for an insurance company and they have a large amount of data stored in the Microsoft SQL Server database. Our goal is to improve performance from queries that are used in that web app, so we try controlling execution plans with hints or adding indexes. In cases when we meet a new client who already has some database storage then we use replication technology for copying and distributing data and objects from one database to another. Besides that, we also help our clients to build parameterized queries in order to defend from SQL injection which is one of the most common web hacking techniques.
  • It offers a lot of functionalities, such as Reporting Services, Integration Services, Job Scheduler, Resource Manager, Query Analyzer and Profiler, etc.
  • You can connect it to Active Directory if you so desire.
  • The price of the enterprise version could be a little lower and also licensing should be more understandable.
  • There can be problems when connecting with software that is not owned by Microsoft.
When a client is working in a .NET environment and he is developing a web application then it is advisable to use Microsoft SQL Server as a storage solution. Also when some company wants to store a large amount of data then Microsoft SQL Server is an extremely good solution because it is a very stable and maintainable database option. But in cases when someone wants to make a small website or application that stores a small amount of data then it is probably better to store it in some open-source database which is also free to use. When some company relies a lot on analytics then SQL Server is the first-class solution. A scenario where it would be less appropriate is when some startup doesn't have much money for starting and at the start they don't need some very professional RDBMS, then they could use something like MySQL.
Read luka horvat's full review
Quentin Goin | TrustRadius Reviewer
March 02, 2020

Microsoft SQL from a happy database user

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
I consult for system and data integration projects. Many of my customers use SQL as their data management and storage system. During integration projects, I will also use SQL to store information that I need later in the integration process or for reporting purposes or auditing.
  • Storing data in a de facto standard relational database.
  • Industry proven connectors to the data.
  • Options for hosted (Azure) to on-premise.
  • Options for scalability from SQL Express to SQL clustering.
  • Developers have their change list, however, it does what I need.
Large to small amounts of data that is logical and fairly predictable type of data. It provides a way to see the data and access it in a logical way. SQL provides the system for database architects to create their own database as efficiently or not so efficiently as they wish. The platform is flexible.
SQL is not as well suited for fuzzy data storage or data lakes.
Read Quentin Goin's full review
Michelle Sollicito | TrustRadius Reviewer
December 09, 2019

SQL Server Serves Data Well

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We currently use SQL Server in Azure which makes management easier, though I have used on-premises SQL Server for many years, many versions. I am Microsoft certified in SQL Server 2012 and 2014. As a software developer I like the way SQL Server is easy to program against -- especially when using Entity framework or Entity Framework Core as the middle ware. As a database administrator I like the fact that SQL Server is truly relational, which makes it much easier to model business objects as data tables and to manage Referential integrity, locking and consistency. I like its ability to help with performance scaling via pre-compiled queries, stored procedures and triggers. I like its ability to help with scaling via sharing and replication. But above all I love SSMS (SQL Server Management System) which brings together all the tools in one place with easy access to query plan tools and analysis tools as well as SSIS / SSRS allowing integration of data with other systems and generation of reports.
It has matured over the years into a tool that makes life easy for those architecting or writing systems.
  • Modeling and Schema creation
  • Query optimization tools
  • Integration with coding tools via Entity Framework etc.
  • Analysis, integration and reporting tools
  • Better handling of blobs so that they do not slow down queries (lazy loading by default perhaps)
  • Automatic Migrations -- migrations are complex right now, tools that make it easier would be useful
  • Cheaper!!! It is too expensive, forcing many people to go to datalakes/s3/NOSQL databases when they do not really want to
Green field sites where you can start by modeling the business objects up front and getting the relationships right, the integrity right. Database First Entity Framework environments.

It's not so good for Code First or even Model First Entity Framework because typical coders do not really understand data modeling to the degree necessary -- and later on they suddenly find a whole load of duplicates they did not expect -- or a relationship that does not make sense, constraining what they wanted to do.
Read Michelle Sollicito's full review
Duncan Hernandez | TrustRadius Reviewer
November 07, 2019

A good tool for data exploration.

Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Microsoft SQL Server is the base of all of our in-house servers. We use it to access all of our internal and external data that comes from Verint and other places. It solves our need to store the data that we have in one location and to create a data warehouse on top of it.
  • The workbench is very good. I like that you can explore multiple databases in one query window.
  • Exploring data is very manageable compared to other SQL querying tools.
  • Simple language to learn and very easy to transition from other SQL learned in other environments.
  • IntelliSense slows down query writing. It sometimes freezes the query window.
  • The data that you can copy-paste from the results is limited and I'd like to be able to copy-paste whatever I want.
  • It isn't case sensitive, which isn't a problem until you get to reporting.
For data exploration, it is very good. Being able to explore data across different databases and servers without switching windows is very convenient and saves a good amount of time.
Query errors are hard to dissect. I'd love for more details to be included or if the server was smarter in diagnosing errors at more precise locations in the query.
Read Duncan Hernandez's full review
Nicolas Poague | TrustRadius Reviewer
October 17, 2019

Industry standard for databases

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Microsoft SQL Server primarily serves as the back end of our core business system, which is built on Microsoft Dynamics NAV on the front end. Essentially everything our business does goes through this system, making access to the data crucial. While SQL Server is a required component of NAV, the system still needs to perform and be reliable all of the time. Luckily SQL Server is widely supported and time tested, allowing us to choose it with confidence.
  • Support: Microsoft support and documentation make usage and maintenance worry-free.
  • Performance: developers and admins have the ability to tune performance to meet their application needs.
  • Prevalence: being an industry standard, compatibility and support are widespread.
  • Learning curve: while SQL databases share many of the same concepts, admins and developers need to be familiar with the interface and quirks specific to SQL Server and the Management Studio.
  • Cost: as with most enterprise software, especially from Microsoft, the investment needs to be considered.
  • Required resources: both system resources and other considerations for maintenance and in-house support may be heavy compared to other solutions.
The adoption of SQL Server really comes down to your specific application requirements. You may be left without a choice, in which case you may need to evaluate the bigger picture. If you already run a Microsoft shop, the adoption should be a pretty straightforward one. If not, you may be looking to more costs and requirements than necessary.
Read Nicolas Poague's full review
Keri Schneider | TrustRadius Reviewer
January 28, 2020

Microsoft SQL Server great for refining

Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
I use Microsoft SQL Server to write SQL queries for my healthcare organization to do reporting for national quality metrics.
It allows me to write efficient, fast queries that export nicely to Excel.
  • Error logging and indicators
  • Colors keywords
  • Allows for easy formatting
  • Allows for multiple tabs
  • Allows for multiple subqueries
  • Needs more specific error messages
  • Sometimes it seems "buggy" with the predictive text
  • Needs an in application help resource that is easier to understand
Microsoft SQL Server is well suited for Excel exports of data for on the fly reporting.
It smoothly incorporates subqueries that allow large pieces of data to be joined together without bogging down resources. It can also easily be used in other applications.
For fancy visual effects or pictures it is not well suited. It is a very "bare bones" application.
Read Keri Schneider's full review
Armando Peña | TrustRadius Reviewer
January 19, 2020

Easy to use, robust and powerful DBMS that can help with any data need.

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We are using Microsoft SQL Server to store the data of many commercial and internal software applications: SAP Business One, our Point of Sale system installed in more than 60 branches around the country, several web and desktop applications, and our data warehouse used across the company. That represents thousands of transactions per day.
  • Easy setup
  • High performance and flexibility
  • Data recovery
  • Linked server functionality
Microsoft SQL Server handles a thousand transactions very well, but a bad database design can turn that into a nightmare. The tools that it brings are great integration services. The analysis services and reporting services are very flexible and productive. It is integrated very well with Microsoft Office. In terms of programming, the support is great.
Read Armando Peña's full review
Darrell Robinson | TrustRadius Reviewer
October 29, 2019

A helpful tool

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
IT uses it to design queries within our ERP platform, as requested by various stakeholders throughout operations. There are over 100 separate queries that are used daily.

I use it for various accounting reports, as I find it provides more of an exact "what I'm looking for" than the canned reporting available through the ERP.
  • Able to zero down to a specific instance.
  • Having new queries on separate pages eases going back and forth.
  • The capability of changing databases quickly.
  • Older versions had an auto-fill feature for columns that seems to have disappeared. That's why I prefer using the 2008 version.
Microsoft SQL is well suited for the ease of creating reports, due to the copy and paste feature to Excel.
Read Darrell Robinson's full review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
February 22, 2020

SQL Server -- Enterprise Data and Analytics in a Box

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
SQL Server is our go-to database for both on-prem and cloud database needs. We are running on-prem for 3rd party, custom applications, and the enterprise data warehouse. The Cloud is great for custom applications, as well as beginning to migrate to a data lake structure with Azure SQL DW. Other than embedded databases in a few apps, it is the only RDBMS technology we leverage, although we do run several different versions and editions (Azure SQL DB, Azure SQL DW, SQL Server 2016, 2017).
  • It's easier to manage than other RDBMS.
  • Good, mature, in-the-box interface for both development and administration.
  • It has a fully extending feature set for managing Azure SQL DB to SSMS and/or Azure Data Studio.
  • It's simplifying security/access setup for Azure SQL DB.
I have been using MS SQL Server since version 7, and it has grown significantly in that time. While in the early days I would only grudgingly consider it for departmental level use, by 2005 it had reached enough of a level of stability and reliability that it was a good option for small to mid-size enterprise use. Today, I consider it the premiere RDBMS for virtually any scenario, particularly considering the number of options available. Microsoft's continuing pursuit of separating compute from storage also seems like the right direction, and allows for the compute engine to leverage big data scenarios as well, where the data is sufficiently structured to support utilizing external tables. This provides for use of familiar SQL tools against outsized data sets that do not fit easily in the RDBMS storage paradigm.
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
December 06, 2019

Hardcore Database For Hardcore Analytics

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We are a Business Intelligence shop utilizing the entire Microsoft Data Stack. We use SQL Server versions 2012, 2014, 2017. We are also currently evaluating 2019. Our entire organization also uses SQL Server. In our department, it is used to ETL data in (via SSIS), store it into a Kimball Data Warehouse, do reporting off of it via SSRS, and then provide self serve analytics to our business users via SSAS. The best thing is that SSIS, SSRS, and SSAS are all included with SQL Server!
  • Great integration tools via SSIS.
  • Great reporting tools via SSRS.
  • Great analytics tools via SSAS.
  • Latest versions (2019) really push the envelope forward on automatic query optimization.
  • Need to be careful on licensing and features. While they have done a great job in 2019 to make features available in standard edition, a lot of use cases may require the more expensive enterprise edition.
  • SSIS and SSAS doesn't play well with source control.
  • There is no "Data Virtualization" (Not talking about PolyBase) You should be able to spin up a clone of a database with minimal effort and storage space. No reason to have to pay a secondary company for such a vital feature!
It doesn't matter if you are doing OLTP or OLAP. SQL Server is just great. And when you compare the cost of this vs other paid DB products, like oracle, the cost is drastically cheaper! Unfortunately, it still is paid so it is hard to start using off the bat for newer companies. They will typically go to Postgres and then migrate over to SQL Server in the future. Microsoft is working hard to lower this barrier to entry. But it looks like it will take some time.
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
November 07, 2019

SQL Server Review

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use MS SQL Server as our main database to store customer data. We have a monolith web application that is using a single MS SQL Server database. MS SQL is one of the best RDBMS in terms of speed and its really easy to use with a lot of pre-built functions that are really convenient for our application.
  • It has quite a lot of pre-built function that helps speed up development time.
  • One of the fastest SQL database engines.
  • Built for enterprise use with enterprise-level of support available.
  • It could be very expensive to utilize MS SQL server to its full potential due to the licensing tier limit.
  • It does not have a built-in JSON type column, unlike PostgreSQL, although it has built-in functions to help to work with JSON.
  • Require more space to install the database engine compared to other SQL databases.
If you need RDBMS for an enterprise that needs to be fast and reliable without looking at the pricing or if you or your company are willing to pay a premium price for the best quality, MS SQL Server is your best choice. However, if you are a small startup that doesn't have a lot of data and not so complex application to use the database, PostgreSQL or MySQL might be better for you.
Read this authenticated review
Akshaya Bhardwaj | TrustRadius Reviewer
September 23, 2019

This is basic and has most of the required tools in Data Analytics

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
In my company we use it project/account wise, Our main purpose to use it is because it has a very easy user interface and lots of internet communities for providing the solution.
  • We used to merge the data from different sources. For this, it is very to do in SQL Server.
  • Main times we used it to clean the data by reducing the unwanted rows and removing the delimited values.
  • Creation of stored procedures are pretty much simple in it, and these created procedures are very handy and simple to create because syntax is very easy in it.
  • There are no data visualization options available in it. For that, we need to connect it with different tools.
  • No inbuilt statistical modules/formulas. We need to make our own.
  • If data is more than 100 Columns and rows then it will definitely crash on its own.
For basic data manipulation and data cleaning, it is one of the best tools that is available in the market. We use it to fetch the data segment-wise and again to fill some missing values with some random values. For drawing some statistical inferences, we can not use it, Then we again load the data in SAS EG, R Studio, etc.
Read Akshaya Bhardwaj's full review
Gary Davis | TrustRadius Reviewer
September 12, 2019

The way to go for your database implementations

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
I use Microsoft SQL Server primarily as the back end database server to ASP.Net C# websites. For authentication and authorization, the database uses tables and stored procedures to implement membership or identity for user login and defining roles. Of course, the database is used to hold data entities for the needs of the website. Use of stored procedures, views, and sequences full-text indexing are just some of the useful features I take advantage of.
  • Speed of selects with appropriate indexes.
  • Use through C# of Linq queries to the data.
  • Ability to use CLR assemblies to program in C#.
  • Replication to keep the database mirrored to another server.
  • I sure wish the T-SQL language was more like C# - it's really primitive.
  • I would like an easy way to pass an array to stored procedures and a way to iterate through the array in the code.
  • Integrated source control for the database would be appreciated.
Microsoft SQL Server is well suited for various scenarios and solutions since it is a general-purpose relational database capable of easily and efficiently meeting the needs of your website or application. It is fast, reliable, scalable and easy to use. Due to its popularity, there are many sources of user help, tutorials, examples, and solutions available.
Read Gary Davis's full review
Steven Gockley, MBA, MCSA | TrustRadius Reviewer
September 10, 2019

Microsoft SQL Server is a Great Enterprise Database Option

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Microsoft SQL Server is our primary data storage for our in house software as well as 3rd party financial software and provides the data for all of our enterprise reporting. We also leverage the additional services that come with Microsoft SQL Server including SQL Server Reporting Services and SQL Server Integration Services.
  • Extremely Reliable - We have not had an instance of SQL Server itself having issues or causing downtime. We have had AWS hardware failures but not Microsoft SQL Server failures.
  • Total Cost of Ownership - Having Enterprise Edition provides us with the additional features of SQL Server Reporting Services, SQL Server Integration Services, and if we would like, SQL Server Analytics Services.
  • Multiple disaster recovery options - You can use mirroring (replaced by Always On Availability Groups), replications and log shipping to name a few options.
  • Elastic Database options - You can have a mix of on-premises and Azure instances if your use case requires it.
  • Easy Manageability - Microsoft has done a great job of making the management of Microsoft SQL Server easier with every release.
  • In-Memory Database options - You can have in-memory tables for any business case needing that level of performance.
  • While I really like their disaster recovery options, they could make them more affordable and easier to implement. Always On-Availability Groups is improving with every edition but still can come with some gotcha's if you do not watch it. Including Security across instances, jobs across instances, etc.
  • In memory, at least in 2014, once you enable it that is it. You cannot go back. This makes it difficult to retire this feature.
  • Better native Enterprise management meaning, in a use case where you may have multiple servers or clusters with multiple instances the native tools are lacking and typically require purchasing 3rd party tools or building out tools for monitoring and managing the servers and databases.
I love the fact that with the Enterprise version you also get a robust reporting platform, ETL tool, and data warehouse platform. While some use cases may favor other tools in this space, these tools are all mature, robust and feature-rich with 3rd party add-ons available. When compared with other options in the Enterprise space such as Oracle and DB2, I like what Microsoft SQL Server offers and now it can be installed and ran on Linux which is a huge plus.
Read Steven Gockley, MBA, MCSA's full review
Robert S Hough | TrustRadius Reviewer
July 30, 2019

Keeps my information safe without corrupting

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We have used SQL Server for years, and it has been our main database for desktop projects. It also has been the database engine to choose when developing financial applications for its speed and security. We also use it when working with complex data and a variety of fields.
  • It is quick and easy to create data and tables using their built-in aid, and it has a wide variety of fields.
  • We like to correctly support stored procedures which facilitates processes and enriches functions within the application and can delegate more responsibility to the database.
  • It integrates seamlessly with other Microsoft applications, such as Visual Studio in addition to many other third-party applications either natively or by means of ODBC connectors.
  • Can manage user permissions easily.
  • The installation may take longer than expected.
  • It requires a lot of resources for its implementation.
Microsoft SQL Server is a professional database that can be used in any scenario. I have not seen limitations in terms of its use. I recommend it even more for window-based applications.
Read Robert S Hough's full review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
October 04, 2019

Microsoft SQL Server for small and medium scale companies

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Microsoft SQL Server is being used by the whole organization. Our core OLTP database system is on the MS SQL Server.
  • I think that Microsoft SQL Server is the best database software for small and medium-sized companies
  • Microsoft SQL Server has a user-friendly interface for the database admins.
  • Microsoft SQL Server is cheaper than other databases (like Oracle, etc.).
  • Microsoft SQL Server is not suitable for big companies.
  • Microsoft SQL Server has to improve with more transactions. If you have too many transactions on the database, there is no response from the database to the user.
  • Microsoft SQL Server has to improve its big data technologies.
It is used for small businesses, but it is not suitable for big companies. Used for technologies on the Microsoft SQL Server. It becomes unavailable after a while, like CLR. It is bad for the database system.
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
October 01, 2019

Well Established, Reliable DBMS That is Scalable and Compatible with Many Platforms and Languages

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Microsoft SQL server is the official database management system for Microsoft, and it is a very reliable tool. Our team has a platform for analyzing city infrastructure which has multiple instances and a DBMS is crucial for managing all of the data. We use Microsoft SQL Server to check queries before publishing them to the live website. The tool is dependable and fairly straightforward to use, even for someone inexperienced with database management.
  • The tool is scalable and able to handle large amounts of data.
  • Microsoft SQL Server is compatible with many platforms and languages.
  • It is reliable and has the backing of a large and well established company.
  • The performance and speed of Microsoft SQL Server could possibly be improved.
  • Better tools for monitoring databases and better interface for these tools would be helpful.
  • Easier ways to create complex queries would make the tool even more user friendly, for instance drag and drop style tools to create queries.
Microsoft SQL Server is a solid Relational Database Management System and is useful for any team or company that needs to manage large amounts of data for their tools or platforms. It is less necessary if the amount of data being stored and queried can be handled by a smaller tool, as Microsoft SQL Server does require a license and is not open source, and purchasing licenses for several people can get costly for a small team.
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
September 20, 2019

Excellent tool for enterprise data management

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
My department uses SQL Server (and Azure Data Studio, increasingly, but still primarily SQL Server) for database management and analysis. Other departments use it as well, including our QA team, to verify the expected output of data manipulation or the functionality of changes to the code base. It's a pretty standard tool at this point.
  • Query analysis and execution plan details - You can see indexes you may be missing that would (if used) possibly improve performance of your stored procedures and queries.
  • Data storage - It's easy to restore and back up entire databases and to set up automatic jobs to do this.
  • Scheduled tasks - You can plan health checks or updates to data, or reports, from the Jobs tool.
  • Unlike Visual Studio, there isn't a built-in or out-of-the-box way to format your SQL scripts/queries. You can easily install plugins and extensions to do this (paid or free) but it would be a nice-to-have.
  • Occasionally it's not obvious from a query execution plan what piece is causing the most bottleneck, and even then, side-effects of implementing the suggested index(es) aren't always obvious.
If you're a developer and you do any work with retrieving or updating data, Microsoft SQL Server is a great choice (assuming you're working on a Windows machine - although I think it's easier now than it used to be to connect to SQL Server from other operating systems). It's fairly straightforward and the learning curve isn't terribly steep, and if you put the time and effort in you can learn a lot about performance tuning and best practices.
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
September 12, 2019

Best DBMS solution for professionals as well as beginners

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Microsoft SQL Server is being used as the default database management solution. It is used across the whole organization and is responsible for managing different types of databases such as ERP, Spatial and regular ones. SQL server caters to regular reports generation, establish relational queries between different datasets, provide backup in case of any issues.
  • Microsoft SQL Server has a very user-friendly interface. It is a breeze to create and schedule jobs for data reporting and updates.
  • The online community support and the numerous forums for Microsoft SQL Server are really handy in case of any issues.
  • Microsoft SQL Server supports Spatial Databases which is a critical requirement for an organization like ours.
  • It would be great if working with SSIS packages would be much more streamlined in the Microsoft SQL Server. As of now, the only option is to use Visual Studio which in itself is not very forthcoming in how to work with a package.
  • The version upgrade can be a bit of nuisance in case you have different databases created on different versions of Microsoft SQL Server. The version compatibility for different databases can definitely be improved upon.
If you work with Spatial Databases, definitely go for it as it supports a wide library and the online community support is a real boon in case you are stuck anywhere. On the flip side, there are some performance issues with very long queries and the Enterprise costing structure also needs to be considered.
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
September 10, 2019

Easy to implement this complete set of tools

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
It is used as a data warehousing and business intelligence platform across the whole organization.
  • Troubleshooting is easy because of several forums available on the internet. We can Google error messages and find solutions easily.
  • It has a complete set of tools for data warehousing and business intelligence, so integration and automation are easy.
  • Easy access to training and skilled workforce availability.
  • There are some in-memory tools in the market that I have used to replace analysis services. Those in-memory tools have reduced the aggregation time to a few minutes as compared to a couple of hours on analysis services.
  • Mobile apps for SSMS and SQL agent would be a good addition to the toolbelt.
  • A built-in SQL source code control tool that can be used to track code changes and schema changes from SSMS would be very useful. It should easily show who made the changes, what changes were made and when, and provide an option to roll back to any of the previous versions if needed.
SQL Server is easy to implement and has all the components for data management and business intelligence. It needs some performance improvement and built-in SQL source code change tracking.
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
May 14, 2019

Microsoft Database

Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We currently use Microsoft SQL Server, integrated with Automation Anywhere, to develop automation scripts. We opted for SQL Server for its Microsoft support and native Automation Anywhere functions that allow us to work with this Database.
  • SQL Server, because it is Microsoft, has the support of the company, and it is possible to integrate with thousands of applications that run on windows.
  • The price of the paid version of SQL Server is well below the market average, although we do not lose in quality.
  • It allows the developer to use a managed programming language, such as C # or VB.NET, to address queries, rather than using SQL statements.
  • The main point that displeased me most in SQL Server 2008 is the lack of intelligence of the tools.
  • Since Microsoft decided to support the creation of stored procedures and other database objects in .NET framework languages it seems that T-SQL has been a bit sideways.
  • Difficult to mount a cluster, mirroring, replication...
As SQL Server is from Microsoft, it is more feasible for the less experienced developer to start working with Database in SQL Server, but currently, we only use the tool because of its integration with Automation Anywhere. If we could, we would choose another.
Read this authenticated review
Pardeep Goyal | TrustRadius Reviewer
February 12, 2019

MS SQL server best software to manipulate data

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
My whole company uses the Microsoft SQL Server, almost every department and team makes use of the SQL Server. Basically it is used as RDBMS to manipulate and store data for business purposes. Developers use this to handle data of the products on which they are working. I am using SQL server since I joined the company in 2013.
  • Provides good interface and intelligence help to write queries easily.
  • Provides many built-in functions to perform various operations on data.
  • Helps to store and manipulate data.
  • 4 Users can create their own functions and procedures.
  • Provides various types of data for analysis.
  • Due to many features included in SQL Server it takes large memory and some times it slows down.
  • You need to refresh many times for intellisense to show up.
  • Installation takes more time.
MS SQL is well suited for every organization using databases at the back-end to store data. This has been improving every year and addressing the need of growing data. It is a very consistent and reliable tool. Very easy to import and export data to external tools like Excel and other files. Easy to bulk copy data from tables to files and from files to tables.
Read Pardeep Goyal's full review
Simran Singh | TrustRadius Reviewer
January 21, 2019

My opinion on using Microsoft SQL Server

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Microsoft SQL Server is used as a relational database management tool by our organisation. It's mostly used by every department in our corporation to insert, update, delete, manage data and to provide various encryptions to it.
  • SQL Sever supports multiple users in one setup which make it a multiuser system.
  • SQL profiler tracks the background queries and helps with the debugging and management of SQL queries
  • By analysing estimated and actual test plans, it helps to make queries more optimized
  • Issues exist when restoring a database for low screen resolution system. This should be debugged and corrected.
  • Doesn't auto backup an unsaved query window. So when SQL server is restarted it [loses] previously unsaved work.
  • Hanging issues while booting SQL Server.
If the user needs data management tool for development purposes of website or desktop applications then it's a good tool. It supports Microsoft Visual Studio well.
Read Simran Singh's full review
Spencer Lewis | TrustRadius Reviewer
November 18, 2018

Would not be in my career and successful without it!

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
It is being used in a limited capacity which is why many SQL users are demonstrating the power of the tool.
Current use cases are order management, vendor performance metric building and maintenance, supply/demand views.
  • Group and count data
  • Join multiple data sets together across entire organization rather than a single site view
  • Monitor exception cases at scale
  • Intellisense won’t turn back on
  • Enhance object explorer to help find tables previously unknown
  • Easier note taking
Good for operations, finance, vendor excellence, supervisory intelligence, i.e. activities of teams throughout the day or over time.
Read Spencer Lewis's full review

About Microsoft SQL Server

Microsoft SQL Server is a relational database.
Categories:  Relational Databases

Microsoft SQL Server Integrations

Microsoft SQL Server Technical Details

Operating Systems: Unspecified
Mobile Application:No