DocSend, from Dropbox

DocSend, from Dropbox

Customer Verified
Top Rated
About TrustRadius Scoring
Score 8.4 out of 100
Top Rated
DocSend, from Dropbox

Overview

Recent Reviews

DocSend...for heavy lifting

5 out of 10
January 13, 2022
Sending large files with Agent and Casting Director...keeping the files up to date and not having to resend a link. Knowing who opened …
Continue reading

Great shared document program

9 out of 10
January 10, 2022
I have used DocSend from Dropbox for many years to send documents to clients and find it to be a very easy system to use. I was first …
Continue reading

Cloud Based Post Office

9 out of 10
January 02, 2022
This is great software to store, share, and keep a record of important documents on the cloud. The feature to allow for certain …
Continue reading

Sending Docs with DocSend

10 out of 10
January 02, 2020
At my company, DocSend is used by multiple departments including Sales and Marketing. We store our marketing collateral, one-pagers, and …
Continue reading

DocSend is a big win

10 out of 10
January 23, 2019
DocSend simplifies the document sharing process, provides an easily clickable link for my clients and allows me to track opens and the …
Continue reading

Reviewer Sentiment

N/A
Positive ()
N/A
Negative ()
Learn how we calculate reviewer sentiment

Awards

TrustRadius Award Top Rated 2022

Reviewer Pros & Cons

View all pros & cons

Video Reviews

Leaving a video review helps other professionals like you evaluate products. Be the first one in your network to record a review of DocSend, from Dropbox, and make your voice heard!

Pricing

View all pricing

Personal

$10

Cloud
per user/per month

Standard

$45

Cloud
per user/per month

Advanced

$150

Cloud
per month

Entry-level set up fee?

  • No setup fee
For the latest information on pricing, visithttps://docsend.com/pricing

Offerings

  • Free Trial
  • Free/Freemium Version
  • Premium Consulting / Integration Services

Features Scorecard

No scorecards have been submitted for this product yet..

Product Details

What is DocSend, from Dropbox?

DocSend is a secure file and document sharing solution that gives users analytics and control on sent documents to see who opens documents, who they forward them to, and how long they look at each page. Users can turn off access, password protect, or set an expiration at any time. DocSend integrates with SalesForce as well as Box, Dropbox, Google Drive, and OneDrive. Use cases include investor relations, board management, and similar transactions where secure sharing is required. Additionally, DocSend Spaces, a relatively new feature, is presented as a virtual data room solution.

DocSend was acquired by Dropbox in March 2021. It is now a Dropbox brand.

DocSend, from Dropbox Features

  • Supported: Time spent on each page
  • Supported: Lead collection
  • Supported: Document security

DocSend, from Dropbox Screenshots

DocSend, from Dropbox Integrations

DocSend, from Dropbox Competitors

DocSend, from Dropbox Technical Details

Deployment TypesSaaS
Operating SystemsUnspecified
Mobile ApplicationNo

Comparisons

View all alternatives

Reviews and Ratings

 (40)

Ratings

Reviews

(1-22 of 22)
Companies can't remove reviews or game the system. Here's why
January 24, 2022

Diversity is key

Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Docsend is similar to other software but it is more reliable in terms of security. WeTransfer or any other third parties sometimes you hear about their data breaches Dropbox prices are high compared to the competition. This is why we rely on Google Drive in our company 70% of our staff is remote so file transfer is mandatory.
  • File Transfer.
  • Security.
  • Ease of use.
  • Prices.
  • More privacy.
  • Anonymous.
We can't use this for very sensitive information and private documents. Saving files directly to Dropbox is something I like. We can't share private keys or sensible banking information thru the files Dropbox is secure from hacks and other stuff like this. Dropbox, a pioneer among cloud storage and syncing services, offers synced desktop folders for anywhere-access, this is why DocSend is good.
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
I have the application for sending used files of different classes, images alluding to events that we have carried out, administration files, management, coordination and planning of events in which I have been a part. This tool has made it possible to send and manage files in a simple, effective way, as well as being able to track their delivery.
We have used it at different levels and with different teams to achieve synergy between them, starting from a channel for sending important files, documents and materials to all the teams involved.
  • Additional information from users who have already downloaded the files or material.
  • Additional information if the download link(s) have been resent.
  • Password encryption if necessary.
  • Email verification for third-party download via email.
  • Add-ons with other platforms and applications, such as Outlook and Gmail.
  • Seal of documents by electronic signature
  • Increase storage capacity for sending files.
  • Due to firewalls of some corporations, sometimes it is not possible to see the files for some users.
  • Portability
  • During the planning of events or the feedback of files or documents for management or coordination of events.
  • For real-time feedback and make meetings more interactive and inclusive among all teams and staff.
  • It grants the ability to give personal treatment according to the data obtained.
  • For the secure delivery of information or files containing sensitive information.
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
At the time it was really convenient to have an e signature tool from our central document management. Allowed us to send docs for signature from where files were held.
  • Tracking the document.
  • Executing the signature.
  • Keeps things organized.
  • Further integrations with other tools so that it can all be centrally managed.
It is great if you are housing all documents in Dropbox and require an electronic signature solution. It will help you track, organize and get everything completed. The downside is if Dropbox does not do enough in terms of contract management and you require a different tool to manage custom terms or other things.
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use DocSend for secure file sharing with external partners and within the organization. We are a large organization and thus, the prime focus is on our security of knowledge. It helped in solving the security problem. Our IT department did not approve other solutions and made them noncompliant. DocSend helped solve this. In terms of scope, on a day-to-day basis, multiple departments shared multiple documents internally and externally throughout the day.
  • High security in terms of knowledge protection
  • Digital signature capability
  • Very intuitive and easy to understand
  • Dropbox integration
  • Lack of certain integrations like Notion and Jira
  • Web crashes pushing the user to start from the top
  • Ability to convert to PDF if required
DocSend is good to be used when one requires to store critical documents. Activities can be tracked easily through a short URL provided by them. The work output resolution is very good. It is not recommended if one just needs to convert the files from one format to another. From a product point of view, it is really helpful as it gives the idea of the reader, his/her persona, and activities. However, on the same lines, one should avoid using it when the other party is not comfortable getting tracked.
Score 5 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Sending large files with Agent and Casting Director...keeping the files up to date and not having to resend a link. Knowing who opened them.
  • Updates files to preexisting links
  • Keeps track of who opened
  • [Keeps track of] when opened
  • Pricing for individuals - too expensive
  • Freemium model
  • Better UI
I'd like for my artist clients to be able to use the features and track and then upgrade paid versions as their business grows.
Luís Felipe Costa Araújo | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
It makes it easy to share documents between people and helps me keep track of just one document without having to worry about whether it's the right version. It also ensures that I can easily and intuitively share this document only with people who really care and need it in a totally secure way.
  • Share document links
  • Helps understand how my recipients behave with the document
  • Full platform control
  • UX
  • more editable functions
  • Larger number of users interacting
It is a great tool to be able to share sensitive files without much worry. Like him you still have small editions but that help in today's quick work. Besides, it's amazing to know that you're editing a single file and having it for all users. Undoubtedly one of the best platforms for employees to exchange important documents and files
Isha Sinha | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Docsend is simply a better way to share content with prospective clients, from documents to presentations to video clips to proposals. Prospective clients like the organized access to relevant content - it's quickly become a critical resource for us.
  • we can finally send e-signs with DocSend
  • The user interface is straightforward
  • it is simple to navigate and get what you need to be done
  • docsend doesn't have the emailing feature directly from the platform and it costs way too much.
Having documents organized for the team, and for the client.
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
I have used DocSend from Dropbox for many years to send documents to clients and find it to be a very easy system to use. I was first introduced to this system when filling out paperwork for a home refi as a customer and then started using it myself. It is very easy to share documents, especially ones that need an electronic signature.
  • easily share documents and pdf files
  • ability to sign documents with electronic signature
  • ability to share photos
  • Make signatures editable so more realistic
  • ability to save older docs
Sending electronic documents to clients
January 02, 2022

Cloud Based Post Office

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
This is great software to store, share, and keep a record of important documents on the cloud. The feature to allow for certain individuals to have permissions and access files is a great addition. Also, it keeps communication between users and certain files easy and keeps any minor hiccups at bay. Altogether DocSend has been a great help for myself and daily tasks.
  • Sending important documents
  • UI looks
It is perfect for a company that needs to send important documents constantly. Allows for a group of people to keep up with files and edit them all together while keeping them secure.

DocSend would not be suitable for a company that still uses paper records or has a smaller team compared to other businesses.
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use DocSend to send monthly updates to the broader organization on what is happening in our particular charter
  • Seamless sharing of docs
  • Being able to see viewer impressions
  • Being able to see which sections of the doc the focus was high
  • Integration with our existing infra could be improved, especially Notion
  • Could go one level deeper into data and directly generate actionable insights
  • Being able to make recommendations in real-time when you're writing the doc even before you publish it
DocSend is a wonderful tool to send out updates on your products. This really helps gauge the interest of readers in the doc, the persona [who] is interested in the docs, and especially which sections are more helpful to the team. You should avoid using it in the scenario you don't want the other party to feel the pressure of being tracked - like 1:1 communication.
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
I build solutions for different companies that include the scope, build, and training in the smart sheets platform. Usually, the customer has the information in Dropbox and they import the information to smart sheets, in many cases the information imported is confidential and we use the Docsend to ensure that everything will keep in a [safe] stage.
  • Is a great tool that allows you to share information in a safety stage, you can track that information and ensure that everything is okay
  • This tool has a great [functionality] that allow you to share a pack of content and that make your flows of information easier
  • its has a robust document control compared with other software's
  • offers you total control over your documents even after they are sent to recipients.
  • Customer support is an area that is possible to improve, providing an [quick] answer.
  • [Providing] more details about how to interact with the tool, in some cases, is complicated for new users to understand and start to use the program.
  • The collaboration feature can be improved to allow users to have a better experience using the tool and interacting.
Good scenarios: When you have a lot of information that you need to manage and control and you don't have enough resources to [monitor] the information. When you are working with other companies and you need to keep your information safe When you desire that a group of people interact with specific information and you would like to keep tracking the files.
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
At my company, DocSend is used by multiple departments including Sales and Marketing. We store our marketing collateral, one-pagers, and brochures that explain and describe our product to potential clients. When folks ask for more information about anything, it is most likely within DocSend. We hyperlink every document through email.
  • Hyperlinking
  • Chrome plug-in
  • Tracking
DocSend is great for accessing our marketing material for any employee across our organization. I appreciate that they create individualized links for each account and track where it is being opened and who is opening the documents as well. Sometimes this tracking functionality is flawed (reports a random location or too many opens), but overall it is helpful.
I haven’t used the support as our internal teams do a great job of fixing and supporting our DocSend use.
January 23, 2019

DocSend is a big win

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
DocSend simplifies the document sharing process, provides an easily clickable link for my clients and allows me to track opens and the content most germane to my clients. Love that it reduces clutter size in recipient's email and is easily sharable as well.
  • Quick upload speeds
  • Can update old doc with new one
  • Can turn off link to those you wish to cut off access
  • Trackable by page
  • Love the live presenting but would like to love present keynote decks with video
  • FaceTime or Skype or Zoom integration or some kind of video chat
  • Screen sharing
May be a bit pricey for individual users but priced right for corporate
Jay-ar Angkad | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
DocSend is a comprehensive toolbox for your documents/paperwork. You can share your files and it works pretty much like sharing a document on Dropbox. You select your file and create a link. You can create multiple links for a single file if you want to track different people or groups of people. Every time someone clicks on this link, it opens the document in DocSend’s HTML viewer in your browser — and of course, it also collects data. You know if the recipient went through all the slides or pages, and you even know how much time he or she spent on every slide. You also know if he or she forwarded the document to someone else as DocSend collects email addresses of people who opened the document.
  • Creates shortened link
  • Stores documents safely
  • Tracks people or groups of people who are accessing the shortened link
  • Opens the document in DocSend’s HTML viewer in your browser
  • Website sometimes crashes and takes a while to respond, and then I have to go back to the first step.
  • Improve user interface
  • I hope there could be a PDF converter feature
DocSend is best to use when you would like to store important documents. It gives you a shortened link wherein you can track the activities easily. One good part of using this is good quality when it comes to work output resolution. It's not really appropriate if you are just editing files or converting to a different file format.
Edgar Romero Maciel | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We are using DocSend to deliver marketing materials to our prospects that we get through our Facebook lead generation campaign.
DocSend helps me get to know who has already read our documents and how many times they have accessed them.
  • Lets you track who has access to a document
  • how many times they have entered to read your document
  • And how much time they spent in each of the pages of your document
  • Log in and registration for people consulting the document
  • Reporting of statistics of use
DocSend is very useful in my opinion for marketing and sales purposes, since you can update documents and all your contacts will see the most updated version of the document the next time they consult it.
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
DocSend is used by my co-founder and I to share sensitive documents and also to tailor our pitches to what we know our clients are interested in by seeing where they spend their time on the documents we share.
  • It has an amazing statistics dashboard - making it easy to analyze your documents and come up with game plans tailored to each client/project
  • You can turn off deprecated links ensuring clients only have access to up to date information
  • If an employee leaves your company or you can easily manage account access from one central place
  • I think stopping screenshots or notifying the sender if their was a screenshot would be cool albeit not totally ecessary for the majority of businesses but it’s a nice to have!
Sharing your pitch deck, a sales deck, or any type of material where you want to know where people lose attention and where they’re enthralled.
December 10, 2018

Great tool

James Winter | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
DocSend was a godsend among the entire marketing and sales departments and was heavily used by our entire organization.

On the marketing side, we actually hosted almost all of our gated content on DocSend which gave us an amazing amount of analytics into things like which specific pages people were viewing. You can see this by going to Aspireiq.com/customers and clicking on one of the case studies.

We also used it for things like our nurture sequences where all of the links in our automated emails drove to DocSend. DocSend has a mail-merge feature that allowed us to look at individual views for anyone in a nurture sequence.

Our SDR team used it heavily to see whether the content they were sending people was being opened and read.

Our sales team used it heavily to send all assets related to our deals. The DocSend "Rooms" feature (I think that's what it's called) allows you to combine all the relevant content in one easy to use place.
  • Ease of use
  • Adoption
  • Real time data around asset usage
  • More detailed dashboard to get high level insights
Rolling out a new tool to a sales team is always a bit of a nightmare but DocSend makes that adoption super easy. With things like Outreach, Salesforce, and Gmail integrations, there's tons of ways to use it and nobody ever complained. As a marketer, it made it super easy for me to deploy.
Lindsey Stevens | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
The sales team uses DocSend as a way to go through decks in a presentation, but also as a way to send info to prospects and track the open rates. It's a little silly though because DocSend does not have a conference line for prospects to call into. In order to provide this DocSend has partnered with join.me to offer the audio portion which is a bit problematic, but more on that later.
  • Really good at tracking whenever someone views your presentation, including where they are opening the presentation.
  • They allow you to control whether a prospect is able to download the presentation or not.
  • I like the ability to skip around in my deck without the viewer seeing that.
  • I would like the ability to turn off tracking when I share a deck with someone. For example, I shared my deck with an internal team member and I don't want to receive an email alert every time they open it.
  • I would also like the flexibility to be able to clone presentations and add/remove slides in docsend instead of having to export the presentation, manipulate it in powerpoint, and then re-import it.
  • I wish they had their own native conference line instead of relying on the join.me integration which does not work well. 1/3 of the time when I try and switch my screen to my desktop (utilizing join.me) my prospects aren't able to see my screen. I realize this is an issue with join.me, but if Docsend had their own native screenshare capabilities we wouldn't have to mess around with integrations with other systems that aren't reliable.
  • Frequently people will click on the DocSend link thinking they can use the audio through their computer and it's very confusing for them. Wish they had their own conferencing information.
DocSend works really great if you want to send out a doc to a prospect and want to track when they open it and what content they view. The reporting on this works really well and I've been happy with this functionality.

Where it falls short is when you're trying to use it for a live demo utilizing the join.me integration. There are a lot of issues when you try to switch your screen and it only works 2/3s the time. I'd prefer an all-in-one solution instead of this Frankenstein model.
Ben Lachman | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use DocSend for sharing investor pitch decks, executive summaries, and other startup collateral. I love that you can see the page by page metrics on viewing sessions and see drop off points, interesting or confusing slides, etc. The fact that you can do it in real-time is just gravy. Other features that are important are having multiple tracking links per document (e.g. one per account, or in our case, VC), being able to update the backing files for documents since they change over time, and having stats indexed on the document version.
  • Real-time viewing statistics, indexed by document version
  • Per-account/recipient sharing links
  • Updatable backing files as documents change
  • DocSend has a newer feature called Spaces, it lets you place multiple files into a single "deal room". Unfortunately for us, we need it to support nested file structures for larger content sets. Their support team says this is on the way.
  • I'd like to be able to change the icons for links add to Space, currently, they're a default icon.
  • Navigating the UI is just a bit laborious, it feels like it should be easier to get to link creation since that is what you're doing 90% of the time you go to the site.
It's super great for sharing sales collateral, investor pitch slide decks, and other one-time viewing content. It's mainly built for sales but has been a huge benefit as a small startup. It best for PDF content that is okay to be horizontally oriented and scrolled (e.g. the forward and back buttons are on the side of the viewing interface).
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
It is currently being used in client facing roles such as account management, marketing, and sales. The business problem we are addressing is around sharing large files. Additionally, it's great for conference calls where there is a presentation mode for users to follow. One of the best features is the analytics. The sender is able to track document open rate, how far they've completed a document and if there are any areas where a user spends more time reviewing.
  • The user metrics are incredible. I'm able to see if a recipient has opened my deck and then monitor which slides they spend the most time on. This sets up for a more productive and delivered pitch.
  • The shared drive is also nice as you can create personal folders that are either public or private. The search/keyword functionality also works really well.
  • One of my favorite features is that you can upload new content with the same link so if you've misspelled a word, for example, you can re-upload without having to send a new email or letting anyone know.
  • Currently the platform does not support video.
  • They have started to create "smart folders" where you can add multiple pieces of content in one area but its not super intuitive at the moment.
It is great for someone in sales as they have full transparency into how their documents are being received. This is not a great tool for someone in design that has multiple files for uploading as you need to drag and drop one item at a time.
Joseph Krammer | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
DocSend is used primarily by the sales and business development team to track content and engagement with our sales leads. Other orgs like customer success also use it to understand what content resonates with our customer base. Marketing uses DocSend to understand which pieces of content have market traction.

Overall the business problem it solves is knowing which content resonates, what part of the content is consumed most, and how long people spend reading or viewing our content. Prior to DocSend we had no real way of knowing which content was most impactful and now we do.
  • Tracks content engagement via email
  • Tracks how long people engage with content
  • Tracks which parts of the content are most likely to resonate with a particular person or lead
  • Allows you to create personalized landing pages for specific accounts
  • Needs better content presentation
  • Don't like that it includes a link to docsend.com in metadata
  • They recently may have changed this but we didn't like that Thumbnails of content in email displayed DocSend logo rather than content thumbnail
Well suited for sales and business development teams tracking engagement of content.
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We had been using DocSend to send marketing and pitch presentations to our clients. We found it was very helpful to access the information of how the viewer is exactly interacting with our presentation documents. Moreover, the team creating feature was very helpful to use in our organization. We had been using both DocSend and PITCHXO for our marketing and pitch presentations.
  • Creating teams
  • Analytics for our pitch presentations
  • Easy to understand analytics for our documents
  • Support for many document types
  • Support for pitch videos
  • More information about investors to the startup companies through their LinkedIn or Facebook login feature
DocSend is well suited for document type presentations.