TrustRadius
OneDrive from Microsoft is a cloud storage and file syncing service.https://dudodiprj2sv7.cloudfront.net/product-logos/sR/Aq/R8ZLRHTMSI8D.PNGOne Drive for the Mobile Office is a GoOne Drive is currently used in our Street Outreach Program. This program has only one office and most work is done outside of the office. This makes One Drive a good fit for the program. This enables file use and sharing while outreach workers are in the field. A traditional stationary hard drive for files simply would not work. One Drive is used to access files make changes and sync, while our members are mobile. One Drive is used to store presentations, documents, photos, and video files. It makes accessing them on the go easy.,One Drive integrates wonderfully with the Microsoft Suite. Word, Excel, and PowerPoint documents are easy to edit and create. One Drive has a fair amount of free storage as well, we have not had to buy storage and have been using it for six years. Sharing documents with others on One Drive is easy as well. The option to view or edit is very useful.,The editing in One Drive is limited compared to the computer versions of Word, Excel, and Power Point. One Drive sometimes takes a while to sync files. We have noticed they are not immediately updated. One Drive is not entirely compatible with Goggle Documents, there are some formatting issues when using the same document formats.,9,One Drive has made it possible to have mobile offices, while keeping files synced. One Drive has saved the need for external document backups as the could is used. One Drive has made it possible to move forward with presentations even if a flash drive was left behind.,Google Drive,Google Drive, Slack, Adobe PhotoshopWhy we didn't select OneDrive as our corporate file sharing solutionOneDrive is enabled on all our users because of our O365 subscriptions but the official solution that is promoted and supported is Google Drive. The only real plus value of OneDrive is the huge 1TB included of storage with O365 subscriptions. The OneDrive client is also useful to sync Sharepoint sites.,Only solution to sync Sharepoint sites Best storage to price ratio Good integration on Windows,OneDrive client is horrible on macOS Official OneDrive client is non-existent on Linux OneDrive support on older Windows versions like 8.1 and less is still buggy Sharepoint still tries to use the old OneDrive client by default. You need to go in the setting and tell it to use the new client. Even if it is a lot better then before, OneDrive client is still often not able to sync folders with huge items or a huge amount of small items.,6,OneDrive allows our users to sync and share Microsoft Office documents via shared SharePoint sites OneDrive with it's 1TB storage allows our users to publicly share huge files that would otherwise require an paid storage upgrade on Google Drive side With Sharepoint and the Office inside web browser, it allows us to create, edit and save files from a phone, tablet or from a computer that doesn't have Office installed,Google Drive, Dropbox Business, ownCloud and Box,ownCloud, Box, Google Drive, Snagit, Symantec Endpoint Protection, Remote Desktop Manager, Microsoft Office 2016, Microsoft AzureOneDrive useful as an add-on to Office 365, not something I'd ever buy on its own.For the most part, we don't make institution-wide use of OneDrive because of a few inherent limitations of OneDrive and the other software that we use. First, OneDrive is not good at "pot sharing" among the organization. What I'd like to be able to do is move our entire server of old files onto a OneDrive pot (each user gets 1 TB) that everyone has access to, but that is unnecessarily difficult and involves some sharing shenanigans that most of our users are not technically capable of navigating. So users use it in different ways. I use it as a pot for keeping access to all of the files I download across multiple devices, since our primary document management system requires that we download, edit, and re-upload to manipulate files. OneDrive is my "in process" and medium term storage pot, in the event that I manipulate a file but don't get to the re-upload part.,Good syncing for the most part. Good availability from multiple device species. iOS app is good enough, made nicer by the fact that you can now save files and folders for offline use.,Syncing has some oddities, like if the wrong kind of punctuation mark is in the file name. Sharing folders to the entire organization is hard, if not impossible. Creating one shared pot for global access does not seem possible without some goofy work-arounds.,6,Modest increase in productivity inasmuch as I no longer have to VPN to my local office machine to upload an updated version of a document I downloaded from our storage location and worked on. Has allowed some sequestration of personal contents I store on there, wasn't available on our earlier mass storage.,Dropbox, Dropbox for Business, Google Drive and Box,Google Drive, Canva, Microsoft Office 365, OmniFocusAn excellent cloud storage and file sharing option for windows users.Onedrive is extremely useful and it is used in every department of our business. We use it to store and save every type of file in the cloud and that way we can access them in every device or PC of our company. By using it, we only need an internet connection to share files, and when there are no flash drives or portable hard drives is the best tool for copying or exchanging data and information between our PCs.,It comes preinstalled with windows 8 and 10 and it automatically links your Microsoft account, so accessing our files from the cloud is really easy and requires no installations. Since it was developed by Microsoft it has an almost perfect integration with Windows operating system (which is the most common system used in every business) so there are almost no bugs or problems. Having a backup of information in the cloud is extremely useful since it can be accessed anywhere just with an internet connection.,Something I found is that there is no encryption in a loaded file. For example, when uploading a password protected file from Excel, that protection will be lost in the cloud. It's free space is really limited, just 5 GB, so if you need more space be prepared to pay. It can be a bit buggy when online.,8,It has had a positive impact because it allows us to share files with coworkers easily without the need of additional hardware. The ability to access information just with an internet connection is excellent while working in the clients offices or in the field.,Google Drive and Apple iCloud,Google Drive, Apple iCloudSimple and easy to use cloud storage and document collaboration platformWe use OneDrive as the shared content library for our global go-to-market teams. This is the central repository for all our sales and marketing collateral which is managed by the product marketing team.,Familiar interface. If you’ve used Windows shared drives before this is effectively the same Globally accessible to users with easy access for admins to share permissions Syncing access from O365,Sharing permissions not granular and don’t always function as expected Syncing libraries to desktops is a nightmare Content control and mobile access is limited,7,Reps now have access to updated content from wherever they are Versioning control down to desktop machines is limited so reps still have copies of old documents that are being used New content can be announced and rolled out very quickly,Dropbox, Box, Google Drive and MindTickle,Dropbox, Google Drive, MS SharePoint / SQL
Unspecified
OneDrive
363 Ratings
Score 7.8 out of 101
TRScore

OneDrive Reviews

OneDrive
363 Ratings
Score 7.8 out of 101
Show Filters 
Hide Filters 
Filter 363 vetted OneDrive reviews and ratings
Clear all filters
Overall Rating
Reviewer's Company Size
Last Updated
By Topic
Industry
Department
Experience
Job Type
Role
Reviews (1-25 of 50)
  Vendors can't alter or remove reviews. Here's why.
February 26, 2018

OneDrive Review: "One Drive for the Mobile Office is a Go"

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
One Drive is currently used in our Street Outreach Program. This program has only one office and most work is done outside of the office. This makes One Drive a good fit for the program. This enables file use and sharing while outreach workers are in the field. A traditional stationary hard drive for files simply would not work. One Drive is used to access files make changes and sync, while our members are mobile. One Drive is used to store presentations, documents, photos, and video files. It makes accessing them on the go easy.
  • One Drive integrates wonderfully with the Microsoft Suite. Word, Excel, and PowerPoint documents are easy to edit and create.
  • One Drive has a fair amount of free storage as well, we have not had to buy storage and have been using it for six years.
  • Sharing documents with others on One Drive is easy as well. The option to view or edit is very useful.
  • The editing in One Drive is limited compared to the computer versions of Word, Excel, and Power Point.
  • One Drive sometimes takes a while to sync files. We have noticed they are not immediately updated.
  • One Drive is not entirely compatible with Goggle Documents, there are some formatting issues when using the same document formats.
One Drive is well suited for anyone who is already and Outlook/Hotmail/Microsoft user. The integration is pretty streamlined. viewing, opening, sharing and editing documents is a breeze. It is particularly suited well for an office on the go. Files can be uploaded and shared with ease. Files sync most of the time relative quick and can be accessed at other mobile sites. Additionally, the storage of pictures and videos for presentations makes it very mobile office friendly. It would work as a cloud backup if it was only used on a desktop.
Read Heath Achatz's full review
January 23, 2018

"Why we didn't select OneDrive as our corporate file sharing solution"

Score 6 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
OneDrive is enabled on all our users because of our O365 subscriptions but the official solution that is promoted and supported is Google Drive. The only real plus value of OneDrive is the huge 1TB included of storage with O365 subscriptions. The OneDrive client is also useful to sync Sharepoint sites.
  • Only solution to sync Sharepoint sites
  • Best storage to price ratio
  • Good integration on Windows
  • OneDrive client is horrible on macOS
  • Official OneDrive client is non-existent on Linux
  • OneDrive support on older Windows versions like 8.1 and less is still buggy
  • Sharepoint still tries to use the old OneDrive client by default. You need to go in the setting and tell it to use the new client.
  • Even if it is a lot better then before, OneDrive client is still often not able to sync folders with huge items or a huge amount of small items.
OneDrive has the best storage to price ratio of any solution I know. It is also the only one integrated into SharePoint, so if you already have everything in Sharepoint, OneDrive is probably a must. Otherwise, it's not really the best for document cooperation, the client sometimes feels it's in beta even after all this time and it's lacking behind on features like live downloading of files (Drive File Stream) or video playback (Youtube like playback).
Read Marc-Olivier Turgeon-Ferland's full review
January 17, 2018

Review: "OneDrive useful as an add-on to Office 365, not something I'd ever buy on its own."

Score 6 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
For the most part, we don't make institution-wide use of OneDrive because of a few inherent limitations of OneDrive and the other software that we use. First, OneDrive is not good at "pot sharing" among the organization. What I'd like to be able to do is move our entire server of old files onto a OneDrive pot (each user gets 1 TB) that everyone has access to, but that is unnecessarily difficult and involves some sharing shenanigans that most of our users are not technically capable of navigating.

So users use it in different ways. I use it as a pot for keeping access to all of the files I download across multiple devices, since our primary document management system requires that we download, edit, and re-upload to manipulate files. OneDrive is my "in process" and medium term storage pot, in the event that I manipulate a file but don't get to the re-upload part.
  • Good syncing for the most part.
  • Good availability from multiple device species.
  • iOS app is good enough, made nicer by the fact that you can now save files and folders for offline use.
  • Syncing has some oddities, like if the wrong kind of punctuation mark is in the file name.
  • Sharing folders to the entire organization is hard, if not impossible.
  • Creating one shared pot for global access does not seem possible without some goofy work-arounds.
Honestly, the only circumstance under which I'd recommend OneDrive is if someone is already an Office 365 subscriber and they don't have a specific need for another cloud storage service. I use it because I already have and pay for O365. If I didn't, I wouldn't use OneDrive, I'd use Google Drive or Dropbox or Box or almost anything else.
Read Jason Ramsland's full review
April 02, 2018

OneDrive Review: "An excellent cloud storage and file sharing option for windows users."

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
OneDrive is extremely useful and it is used in every department of our business. We use it to store and save every type of file in the cloud and that way we can access them in every device or PC of our company. By using it, we only need an internet connection to share files, and when there are no flash drives or portable hard drives is the best tool for copying or exchanging data and information between our PCs.
  • It comes preinstalled with windows 8 and 10 and it automatically links your Microsoft account, so accessing our files from the cloud is really easy and requires no installations.
  • Since it was developed by Microsoft it has an almost perfect integration with Windows operating system (which is the most common system used in every business) so there are almost no bugs or problems.
  • Having a backup of information in the cloud is extremely useful since it can be accessed anywhere just with an internet connection.
  • Something I found is that there is no encryption in a loaded file. For example, when uploading a password protected file from Excel, that protection will be lost in the cloud.
  • It's free space is really limited, just 5 GB, so if you need more space be prepared to pay.
  • It can be a bit buggy when online.
Microsoft OneDrive shines as a file sharing program in our business since it allows us to share documents without the need of any hardware such as flash drives or portable hard drives, or intranet connection. As of today, almost everybody has an internet connection so using OneDrive is extremely easy. I wouldn't recommend it for doing a backup of confidential information such as bank details since it's on the internet it can always be prone to hacking.
Read Manuel Aguilar's full review
January 22, 2018

OneDrive Review: "Simple and easy to use cloud storage and document collaboration platform"

Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use OneDrive as the shared content library for our global go-to-market teams. This is the central repository for all our sales and marketing collateral which is managed by the product marketing team.
  • Familiar interface. If you’ve used Windows shared drives before this is effectively the same
  • Globally accessible to users with easy access for admins to share permissions
  • Syncing access from O365
  • Sharing permissions not granular and don’t always function as expected
  • Syncing libraries to desktops is a nightmare
  • Content control and mobile access is limited
Works well for office Bound workers who have fast internet and standard desktop screens. Central location means admins can update content on the fly easily and quickly. What it doesn’t do well is reporting on how content is being used and its mobile capability is very limited. Essentially it renders a webpage on your mobile screen rather having a dedicated app experience.
Read Nick Saunders's full review
January 17, 2018

Review: "OneDrive - Access Your Work Anywhere at Any Time!"

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
OneDrive is being used across our whole organization. It helps tremendously with collaboration across teams - especially as we have many remote users. It also addresses the issue of being able to access information on the road, and provides backups for our files more effectively than our servers did.
  • One Drive provides versioning of files that are created in the Microsoft Suite. No more "lost" or overwritten files!
  • One Drive shows you who last edited documents, and even allows two or more people to work on one file at the same time.
  • The syncing ability to the computer file structure makes it easy for less advanced users to adopt use of One Drive.
  • OneDrive is pretty intuitive but more information on the use/creation of sites would be helpful.
  • It would be great, if possible, to add versioning of non-Microsoft files as well.
  • It would be great to enhance the formatting of the online editing tools.
OneDrive is perfect for teams of people who need access to the same documents, or for organizations that need to access documents on the road. However, OneDrive is not limited to larger orgs. It's really great for any organization that needs secure storage for their documents.
Read Lily Barger's full review
January 16, 2018

OneDrive Review: "One Drive, create it,see it,reach it from anywhere."

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We have started using it by departments, with the intention of using it for the whole organization. It's currently addressing issues with on-premise server space. This will lower our overall cost and allow the end user to reach their files from any device and more reliably.
  • Large amount of space to save data
  • Allowing the end user share and maintain their files for easier access to others
  • Available to sync across all devices
  • Saving photos and PDFs
  • Searching for files
  • Uploading could be a bit easier
One of the best things about using OneDrive is the end user being able to share a document with an outside vendor when needed. Saving time in sending emails back and forth. One excellent feature is that It keeps track of all the changes by all. You also have the availability to roll back. Since backups are done, this can save you time. You can also download a copy to your desktop to work on should you lose your internet connection; allowing you to continue to work on the project and Later when uploading the current version.
Read Jackie Ramos's full review
January 19, 2018

User Review: "The One and Only OneDrive"

Score 6 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
OneDrive is used passively at my company. It comes as part of our office subscription. Most people do not use the program. I used it to save documents as I work from home one day a week and if I need to share a “master” document with clients.
  • I like that it will open documents in cloud based software or my desktop software.
  • It is easy to share documents with others and create user roles.
  • It saves all documents I start in Office 365.
  • I find it doesn’t integrate with my desktop as well as Google Drive.
  • I don’t find the interface very intuitive.
  • The drive saves everything I start in Microsoft Office 365 so I end up with a lot untitled documents. I have to clean up a lot.
This is a good drive when you have multiple work locations. The cloud-based storage allows me to have documents in one place. It’s not great if you use office software for brainstorming orcas or a scratch board. You end up with saved copies of everything.
Read this authenticated review
December 20, 2017

"OneDrive Review"

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Our organization uses OneDrive to share, view and store documents amongst different departments. This feature helps our organization tremendously because we no longer have to wait for documents to be hand delivered or wait for a specific person to be available to obtain documents. Now these documents are housed in a central location we all have access to.
  • Storing documents
  • Accessibility amongst different departments
  • Very clear interface
  • Storage cloud maximum
  • More web based apps where files can be shared and edited
  • Update Microsoft Office programs
There was an instance where my colleague was out and someone from an outside agency called in search of a document. I just dropped it on the OneDrive and they immediately had access. OneDrive is not so much necessary when you are just trying to easily access a document.
Read Antoinette Nelson's full review
December 18, 2017

Review: "OneDrive, the company and you, closer than ever"

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Currently, OneDrive is available for all users in the organization, limited to a maximum of 500 MB per user. It is a good method to share files in a collaborative way. Particularly, I try to save my critical files there and use it as a backup instead of saving locally in my device; I upload directly in OneDrive.
  • It is very good to share files and grant different typed of access to users.
  • It is pretty fast to upload/download the files.
  • You can authenticate with your AD account, which makes this easier to log in and this makes people feel more comfortable with the use of the tool.
  • There are some conflicts when saving files that require manual action from users. When a user is non-IT related, they might not know how to resolve the conflict and they don't know if their files are being kept updated or not.
  • Bandwidth usage is an issue when somebody moves big folders or files to OneDrive. If many users do that at the same time, network performance can be affected.
  • Sometimes it is hard to realize who you are sharing files with. Maybe some custom views should be created so it is easier to review the files I'm sharing with other users and with which privilege.
It is great when you have to travel from different locations. You don't need to take a PC with you. You can open your content on another PC pretty easily. It is very good to use when working on global teams. You can share content and edit files simultaneously in a very collaborative way. It is very easy to understand how the tool works.
Read Patricio Santirso's full review
December 08, 2017

User Review: "OneDrive is the only "DRIVE""

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Since many of the files we send to our clients are large (over 10 mb), being able to 'share' with other people is very helpful.
  • Since this software can run on your PC, it makes it very easy to drag and drop files for easy back up and file sharing needs.
  • Files sync quickly and can be accessed online or from another PC.
  • You can easily save and file into the OneDrive folder and it will be automatically backed up.
  • Collaborative editing of a file is also a very nice feature.
  • I wish I could limit the download/upload bandwidth that the program uses.
  • I wish you could "right" click on a file and send it to the OneDrive folder.
  • I don't like that for other people to access the files, they must have a Microsoft account.
We send files to our clients that are large (over 10 MB), and being able to 'share' with other people is very helpful. Clients can download files and upload new files to the shared folder. Once uploaded, they automatically sync to my folder. There is no longer a need to send large files via email.
Read Jason Galati's full review
December 07, 2017

Review: "OneDrive helps with access to documents across devices"

Score 6 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
OneDrive is something that is offered by the organization but has not been the main storage for users. This was recently added to the inclusion of Office365 and users wanting to access their information across devices. We do have other in-house solutions that are a bit more seamless but the availability of OneDrive across platforms and devices can be really handy with the number of people that travel for business.
  • Multiple Devices
  • Multiple Platforms
  • Availibility
  • Sometimes it can be hard to find and save to OneDrive depending on the device. If you are using the same devices it seems to have this information hand for saving purposes.
  • We have had some sync errors that we are currently researching to resolve.
  • There have also been some issues with the user's company account and their personal account that has caused some headaches with items not being stored in the right place.
OneDrive is great on the personal level and corporate level to allow you to have a central storage space. The downfall is having to switch back and forth between accounts and making sure you are using the correct one. Some small errors with syncs and the software has caused some frustration for the users and some have even resulted to using a shared or personal network drive.
Read Scott Strader's full review
December 06, 2017

OneDrive Review: "Personal Storage, Enterprise Control"

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We were looking for an easy to implement replacement for some sections of our file server. Users were needing to share files outside the organization or to other employees that wouldn't have access to those directories on the file server. We also needed a solution that provided governance and would allow for easy audits and scanning. OneDrive plays nicely with our Office 365 service and is easy to deploy out to users who already have an email account with us.
  • Data governance. OneDrive allows for the same compliance and security configuration as Office 365, which makes it really easy for us to ensure that data that shouldn't be shared isn't and that data that needs to be secured is secured.
  • User friendly, familiar interface for desktop integration makes it more likely to be adopted by users.
  • Sharing from within apps like Word and Excel, or the option to attach a copy to emails rather than only share the document.
  • Multiple versions of the application have created conflicts with one another that can create multiple unsynced folders on the workstation.
  • The SharePoint online type interface is more difficult to navigate than it needs to be.
  • For OneDrive for Business, external sharing is disabled by default, which if administrators don't review those settings, can be frustrating.
Data governance controls for enterprises that need control over documents while they are being shared would benefit greatly from OneDrive. We are often sharing documents from our business development department to external parties and need to ensure that the information being shared is secured. For simple document management or file sharing through FTP or similar services, other software solutions would be better fit.
Read Brian Taylor's full review
April 24, 2017

OneDrive Review: "The easiest and most powerful cloud service in market"

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Our company uses OneDrive for our main file hosting service. It is being used by our entire department. It is an excellent cloud service and best suited one for us. It founded by Microsoft and there is no need for extra words about it. I especially love that you can view and edit all of your files across all of your devices.
  • Syncing ability is great
  • Different storage plans
  • Reasonable Price
  • Customer service need some improvement
  • Overall design and interface is hard to use
  • Integration with other apps
  • I can't remember any extremely bad thing about OneDrive. It is Microsoft!
OneDrive is highly customer friendly cloud storage product. If it is being used by entire organization then all of your coworkers can edit and view the files that been shared with them. And there will be no need any other methods for sharing files. It is known by many in my country.
Read Rahman Babayev's full review
September 29, 2016

Review: "OneDrive: A stripped down, cheaper, more efficient version of SharePoint"

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use OneDrive as a quick, easy alternative to SharePoint. It is mainly used within select engineering teams and has expanded to IT. It is a tool that each team chooses whether they want to implement it or not. The main benefit of it is it gives us a living document for installs and documentation that can be updated by anyone with access in real time with multiple collaborators.
  • Easy storage of Microsoft Office application files
  • Live collaboration with multiple users
  • Easy online and native app access
  • Sharing is not very granular
  • Storage limits
  • Web interface of directory is chunky and not elegant.
We use it for two main use cases. One is a running installation instructions sheet that developers write up when they are finished with projects and quality assurance uses to install and test the changes. These directions are then given to IT for deployments. It allows for quick transfer of knowledge and lets everyone view and edit it live. The second use case is to store a OneNote Notebook that we call our cheat sheet. It is basically a searchable knowledge base for our team to make us more efficient and quicken new hire's startup time. It is not good for hosting files outside the Office suite such as Visio and coding files.
Read Adam Lauer's full review
August 22, 2016

OneDrive Review: "Document management helps with projects"

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Being a project coordinator, I use OneDrive to manage project documents. In fact I use a couple of project management systems to mange tasks but use OneDrive to manage documents and attach them to other systems. OneDrive is used within our office for managing project related documents and our internal process documents. Using online documents makes it easy to share them with other people outside our company domain.
  • Document sharing is a great feature within the OneDrive application. Documents can be shared with clients and they can review our project status.
  • Online documents help with accessing data anytime from anywhere. It keeps the data secure and backed up.
  • The calendar helps with managing meeting events very easily.
  • Emails from OneDrive help as needed as well. I only use OneDrive emails for project alerts but it works great.
  • The iOS 9.3 app did not work easily. It seems there were some bugs with accessing the iOS 9.3 mobile app.
  • PowerPoint works good but it does not have all the features and themes as the offline version of PowerPoint.
OneDrive is good application to be used for people who manage documents online. These could be project related documents, HR documents, or process documents etc. Besides document management, OneDrive provides email functionality within the online Outlook application. It helps emails to be managed easily. OneDrive support is also helpful and they reply to tickets within 24 hours.
Read Nicole Pitchard's full review
July 18, 2016

OneDrive Review: "One rive Hills and Valleys"

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
OneDrive is used by all users in the organization. We use it to store our personal and sensitive data into the cloud. We have lost countless documents due to some laptops crashing and resorted to using incomplete documents from our email. We use OneDrive as a backup mechanism for our machines and as a way to share content with other users inside and outside our organization that reduces the number of emails going back and forth with revisions.
  • OneDrive allows users to upload documents and videos into the cloud via a webpage or through a linked folder on your machine. Although I do not use the link method as I am not certain if it will use up space on my hard drive.
  • Since I store everything on the web I can utilize the smaller and the more affordable SSD drives which do perform better and have less failures for other data that is stored on my machine.
  • I am able to share content to users within my organization and at the same time allow them to make changes to the data, if needed. Another group I can share is with users outside the organization when emails just won't work due to the size of the file.
  • Downloading folders from the web has its limitations. When I used Gdrive I could download an entire folder and it would automatically zip the file and allow me to download, which granted was a slow process. But I have not been able to find out how to do it on OneDrive. I am not able to select all and then click download
  • OneDrive still reminds me of SharePoint where it is not as flexible as some of the newer web enabled apps out there when trying to share with one or multiple groups of people. SharePoint is very clunky when trying to upload or download mass volumes of data.
  • When modifying data on the web directly, there are a lot of times a lag that is apparent. Gdrive is definitely more crisper when multiple people are working inside of a document. Also every time I open the document in the web, it is in readonly mode. I need the ability to edit immediately on the web and then decide to download if required.
I like the ability to share and store data on the cloud. It reduces the need of a bigger drive, especially while SSD prices remain a little high. It is also great for sharing with those when emailing will not work. Although there are more companies blocking OneDrive which reduces the benefits of this part externally. For Office365 or those who want to use the web to modify their Excel or Word documents it has a very noticeable lag time but is usable.
Read Massimo Emilione's full review
August 15, 2016

Review: "OneDrive - mange emails well via Outlook Online."

Score 6 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
I started using OneDrive when it was called Sky Drive. OneDrive in many aspects competes with Google Drive. We use OneDrive for document collaboration with a couple of clients. So a few people on our project team have experience working on it. I use OneDrive for email purposes as well. We own an MS partners account and login via a OneDrive email account to it.
  • OneDrive email functionality is great. It works on our private domain names as well.
  • OneDrive provides documents collaboration online. This helps with sharing docs and content with others easily.
  • The online Outlook version helps with managing emails in a great format.
  • SPAM Detection needs to be improved. Sometimes emails are marked as SPAM so this can be worked upon.
  • Not sure if they provide PowerPoint online since I never used it. If not, it would be best to be introduced.
  • Offline Sync would be great to improve using their current processes.
I also use Google Drive for most email and documentation purposes. I would give Google Drive a little higher rank than OneDrive at this point. But I do believe that One Drive is improving and there is a possibility that it will compete with Google Drive for sure. For email and Outlook purposes, it is best to stay with One Drive.
Read Steve Surya's full review
September 26, 2016

"OneDrive for Business is what every corporate backup should be"

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
This is for OneDrive for Business. Note: I use OneDrive as cloud file repository and personal backup solution that has both PC and mobile access. At work, my colleagues (within the department) and my project team use OneDrive for Business to sync our project files and work files as a backup solution.
  • Seamless syncing and backup over a corporate network. There is no need for manual upload and download of files anymore.
  • Access is controlled via MS Active Directory. Our files cannot be accessed by others outside our department/project team.
  • Secured environment. Syncing to the server is over our corporate network and VPN from home.
  • Setting up folders can be done easily from SharePoint without much configuration.
  • Need to install OneDrive for Business. This is installed together with our Office Enterprise in our work laptops. We need the IT team to install this or [get it] pushed down from central management.
  • The disk quota is unknown. Unlike OneDrive at home, the available space is not really visible to the client.
  • After setting up the folder, it is hard to move it to another folder - for example moving from My Documents to D:/ Drive to reclaim space.
This is a good solution to store/backup work files that need a secure connection and servers, especially if the files are not allowed to be stored on public clouds. It would be inappropriate to use it as full laptop backup solution as the server side storage folder will be dependent on the SharePoint installation.
Read this authenticated review
June 10, 2016

OneDrive Review: "Great for enterprise and large company use, not as great for personal consumer use"

Score 6 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
OneDrive was used by several departments across a city government network here in the Bay Area. It helped address a lot of issues pertaining to document syncing between devices, document sharing amongst colleagues, and document backup storage.
  • Large backend infrastructure (Microsoft)
  • A lot of support documentation is available online
  • Plays nicely with other Microsoft products (Office Suites)
  • Syncing would often break between OneDrive and local machines
  • Syncing errors were often hard to troubleshoot
  • Not as user-intuitive as competitors (Google Drive and Dropbox)
Enterprise and large businesses seem to fit OneDrive much better than a single consumer using it.
Read Brendan Luna's full review
June 10, 2016

Review: "Pros and Cons - OneDrive consumer and OneDrive for Business"

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
At our company we use a mix of OneDrive (consumer) and OneDrive for Business. OneDrive for Business is used purely for company use. Syncing has always been an issue until Windows 10 came out. Since Windows 10 - OneDrive for Business has been working well. On the personal side of things - we use OneDrive (consumer) since it's native to Windows 10, it works great. Everyone has their own MS account in which they link this account to.
  • Version control.
  • Online display of file details, size etc.
  • Sync works very well - OneDrive consumer and next gen business client for OneDrive for Business.
  • Better differentiation of consumer vs. OneDrive for Business
  • Need to be able to sync "shared with me" files - on the business side.
  • Would like to be able to save from Outlook - to a "shared with me" - currently this is only available online.
It's a great value when you already have Office 365 - and the integration is pretty strong. I really like it.
Read Steve Oechsle's full review
June 09, 2016

OneDrive Review: "Very nice, but be careful!"

Score 6 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Since the use of file servers is less and less popular, it was logical that our users start using Dropbox and Google Drive. When we did the migration to Office 365, OneDrive became an option for many of our users. Although use is not very popular in the enterprise, storage of 1TB is very attractive. I can not identify specific groups or a department, but the use of "Sharepoint Apps" in OneDrive is a benefit for many.
  • 1 TB of storage, which is very cool.
  • Embedded with SharePoint and Yammer.
  • IT can manage it like a SharePoint site.
  • No "Transfer Ownership" feature, meaning that when you remove an employee license (termination for example), the data is deleted on the backend.
  • The sync client is very buggy.
  • Slow.
If you are Microsoft-centric, this is a good option to store data online. If you want to use it as your primary "synced" storage, you will not have issues as it is very nicely integrated with Office 2016!
Read Tommy Boucher's full review
June 07, 2016

User Review: "Simple User's Assessment of OneDrive."

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
The plan is for it to be implemented to all users. I will be used as an alternative to having a personal network homedrive or storing data on their local machines. It will address access to files online or offline. It will enable access from multiple devices for users and not just their work devices.
  • File synchronization when making offline updates then going online.
  • File sharing.
  • Availability via multiple devices (PC, smartphone, tablets, etc.).
  • Better ability to update files from online versions of applications (i.e. severely limited with formulas and calculation features with Excel).
  • More consistent sharing features (Online seems to function much more efficiently than sharing from explorer directories).

Very similar to SharePoint in so much as shared files can be updated by those with access and details on who has done the updates are visible.

Online files have very limited capabilities. Links between files (using formulas) are useless online. Only the traditional method (Explorer with an installed version of applications) is reliable for higher level detail files.

Read Mark Metz's full review
May 25, 2016

Review: "Onedrive is great for photo and general backup"

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
OneDrive is not used by my employer or even recommended by them. It is not being used by any department that I know about. I use it on my own to back up my work and share large files. I started using it even more after I got a promotional offer from Bing rewards to redeem my Bing rewards for 2 years of extended storage.
  • Easy to use. There is not much to it.
  • Camera backup for my phone.
  • Web app for uploading is very good.
  • Allows sharing public file links easily without requiring the viewer to have an account.
  • More advanced options are hard to find. e.g. to change which files to keep locally and which files to keep only on cloud.
  • Phone interface for browsing file could be redesigned.
I like it a lot. Especially since I have a lot of storage space. I do not know how well it would compare to services like Google Docs (with collaborative editing etc.), but for backup purposes (which I use it for), it is intuitive, easy and reliable.
Read Kushal Kafle's full review
May 24, 2016

Review: "OneDrive to rule them all? Not so much."

Score 5 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
OneDrive is integrated with Windows, and can automate saving of documents and files for sharing and collaboration. A nice idea, but often it is confusing to our users because it is not quite as easy and straightforward for tech illiterate folks as competing offerings from Dropbox. OneDrive makes it easy to have your files on many devices, and computers that you may use during the day. But it's just kind of clunky and some people don't even know they are using it.
  • Integrated with Windows
  • Lots of space for a reasonable cost
  • Access files from almost any device you can log into
  • They keep renaming the service, Cloud Mesh, Mesh Drive, OneDrive. Some people don't know what it is.
  • It's kind of confusing and clunky because it starts asking you questions and most people have it turned on without knowing, )or off).
  • Being associated with Microsoft means sometimes the product ties with Office 365 are a plus, but is also confusing for non Office users.
It's very well suited for an Office equipped workflow spanning many devices and platforms. If you don't use Office that much, it's just another cloud based place to save stuff and it may not be the best option.
Read Darian Rawson's full review

Feature Scorecard Summary

Versioning (34)
8.0
Video files (44)
7.9
Audio files (41)
8.1
Document collaboration (45)
8.7
Access control (47)
8.2
File search (50)
7.1
Device sync (48)
7.3
User and role management (43)
7.5
File organization (49)
7.7
Device management (37)
8.1
Performance (49)
7.7
Reliability (49)
7.7
Storage Reports (38)
6.8

About OneDrive

OneDrive from Microsoft is a cloud storage and file syncing service.
Categories:  Cloud Storage

OneDrive Integrations

OneDrive Technical Details

Operating Systems: Unspecified
Mobile Application:No