TrustRadius
OneDrive from Microsoft is a cloud storage and file syncing service.https://dudodiprj2sv7.cloudfront.net/product-logos/sR/Aq/R8ZLRHTMSI8D.PNGOneDrive, Dropbox and Google Drive, Oh My! My Team's decision to settle on OneDrive for Knowledge ManagementOur organization moved away from a mix of Dropbox and Google Drive to using OneDrive/SharePoint as our knowledge management / information architecture solution. It's being used organization-wide, albeit with some stragglers still using Google Drive for some collaborative editing, and others occasionally still using email attachments to circulate documents and collaborate. OneDrive, in concert with SharePoint, allows our team to synchronize their work to our cloud storage, collaborate in real-time, share links to documents rather than send attachments and track changes, and control permissions to individual folders or documents to allow for collaboration with external partners as well as restrict access based on roles internally.,OneDrive integrates with my MacBook fairly well, allowing me to share documents and move fairly seamlessly between local and web versions of a file. OneDrive keeps things in sync fairly quickly and without consuming a lot of system resources. OneDrive (along with Sharepoint's) permissions capabilities are much more fine-grained than Dropbox.,OneDrive's visual feedback in Finder as to whether a file is syncing or already synced isn't always up-to-date with the actual status of these files. OneDrive (on Mac) will occasionally fail to sync for errors that aren't accurate, requiring a restart. OneDrive (on Mac) will occasionally fail for file name issues, where filenames allowed on Mac are not allowed on SharePoint, without providing an easy mechanism for fixing them. The real-time collaborative editing user experience is not as good as Google Drive.,7,We have seen some productivity gains for those team members that are fully utilizing the full MS Office suite, including Microsoft project. Having a more fully-integrated knowledge- and project-management solution is a vast efficiency improvement. We are also able to more effectively collaborate with external partners, by granting access to specific folders within our document repository. We are able to more effectively collaborate internally with these fine-grained access controls as well, whereas previously an entirely separate dropbox area was needed for sensitive documents (budgets, salary information, W-9s, contracts, etc) Some permissions issues (bugs where subfolders don't inherit permissions appropriately) occasionally cause loss of trust in the product with some team members, causing them to fall back to other tools and fragmenting our document repository.,Dropbox Business and Google Drive,Microsoft ProjectOneDrive - a matured cloud providerOneDrive is part of the Office 365 offering, so each user in the organization has access to OneDrive cloud space under their account. In our company, OneDrive is used for personal work documents that users may or may not share with other users and/or the outside world. That's just our case use, but it is also the recommended way to use OneDrive per Microsoft. It allows the users to have their own cloud folder, so they can access their own files from virtually anywhere, and it keeps the general company repository separate from personal stuff.,Selective folder sync - you can easily pick and choose which folders sync to a person's computer The actual file is not synced until it is needed - you see the file, but until you need it, it takes up no space on your device! Available on virtually any device that has internet access - phone/tablet apps, browser based access, sync client access,Sync client (Windows) can continue to be updated such that it becomes even more stable Mobile apps should be tweaked a bit more - they can be more intuitive,10,Being bundled into our Office 365 accounts makes the service very inexpensive compared to alternative cloud providers. Providing our users with a cloud storage solution has definitely benefited our mobile employees by allowing them to have the files they need accessible to them in the field. We're able to control the external sharing of documents to a much greater degree with OneDrive.,,Dropbox Business, Box, Accounting by Wave, LogMeIn Central, Trello, QuickBooks Online, Avast Business Antivirus, Magento Open Source, NCR Counterpoint, Aldelo POSGreat cloud service, stacks up against competitorsOneDrive is a brand new tool being used by my company as a Cloud sharing service. We share documents for collaboration, work flows for input, and HR tracking. It's being used all over the company, slowly being picked up from department to department. It helps to have a central place to put files that are only accessible to those you invite.,Business version has very large limit, likely will never run out of space. Live editing, you can see who is working in what (kind of like Google Drive). Auto-save feature!! Has saved me more than once for sure.,When internet connectivity is bad, there is not a back up way to save. Sometimes files show up for some people and not for others. If this is a connectivity issue, they should still be present in the folder but maybe be marked as grey to show that they are still uploading. Staff have accidentally written over things because of the Auto-save feature. Both a blessing and a curse in that way, sometimes you have to manually turn it off if you are just running scenarios.,8,Helps to manage tasks, keeps everyone aware of progress made (user versioning features). Not particularly expensive for a large company, especially with virtually unlimited space. Team in the field complains about the connectivity reliability feature. Really a sore point, but that's for any cloud service.,Dropbox Business, Dropbox and Google DriveOneDrive SolutionsWorking in an educational facility, OneDrive is used for instructors' personal drives for storage of documents related to instruction and other school-based materials. As part of our organization's rollout of Office 365 and other Office apps, our organization has utilized OneDrive instead of local server based personal storage options. It is also used as a platform for collaboration between instructors using the cloud-based sharing tools available.,Accessibility on PC - OneDrive is integrated and easy to access on Windows-based PCs. Service is Reliable - The OneDrive service rarely goes offline. Integration with Office Apps - OneDrive integrated with other Office applications, such as Microsoft Word, to allow for a seamless creation and document saving process.,User Interface - Compared to their main competitor, Google Drive, the interface feels 'clunky'. Some actions do not feel intuitive or have an odd layout. Integration on Mac - On Apple Mac computers, the OneDrive app (especially OneDrive for Business) is unreliable and does not work as well as its PC counterpart. Storage Limits - While not unique to OneDrive, storage limits on free personal accounts are slim, requiring a paid subscription for larger storage tiers.,7,Uniform rollout for all users has brought organization consistency. Less reliance on in-house network specialists to resolve storage based issues.,Google Drive,Wix, Adobe FlashExcellent service for your files in the cloudCurrently OneDrive is one of the main work tools in the company, it is used by all users to share documents, save their files and be able to work from home without the need of a VPN connection. Our employees have 24-hour availability of all their documents from anywhere in the world.,It allows you to save all the information you require. You can synchronize with your computer. You can share information easily.,You require good bandwidth on your internet. To synchronize your files from OneDrive to your computer you need to have enough space on your hard drive. Sometimes OneDrive does not synchronize some files.,9,We have decreased the amount of hard disk space on the servers. Many users still do not adapt to using the tool. Users who have adapted can improve their work performance.,Dropbox,Google Drive, Dropbox
Unspecified
OneDrive
419 Ratings
Score 7.9 out of 101
<a href='https://www.trustradius.com/static/about-trustradius-scoring' target='_blank' rel='nofollow'>trScore algorithm: Learn more.</a>TRScore

OneDrive Reviews

<a href='https://www.trustradius.com/static/about-trustradius-scoring#question3' target='_blank' rel='nofollow'>Customer Verified: Read more.</a>
OneDrive
419 Ratings
<a href='https://www.trustradius.com/static/about-trustradius-scoring' target='_blank' rel='nofollow'>trScore algorithm: Learn more.</a>
Score 7.9 out of 101
Show Filters 
Hide Filters 
Filter 420 vetted OneDrive reviews and ratings
Clear all filters
Overall Rating
Reviewer's Company Size
Last Updated
By Topic
Industry
Department
Experience
Job Type
Role

Reviews (1-25 of 60)

  Vendors can't alter or remove reviews. Here's why.
David McCann profile photo
December 22, 2018

Review: "OneDrive, Dropbox and Google Drive, Oh My! My Team's decision to settle on OneDrive for Knowledge Management"

Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Our organization moved away from a mix of Dropbox and Google Drive to using OneDrive/SharePoint as our knowledge management / information architecture solution. It's being used organization-wide, albeit with some stragglers still using Google Drive for some collaborative editing, and others occasionally still using email attachments to circulate documents and collaborate.

OneDrive, in concert with SharePoint, allows our team to synchronize their work to our cloud storage, collaborate in real-time, share links to documents rather than send attachments and track changes, and control permissions to individual folders or documents to allow for collaboration with external partners as well as restrict access based on roles internally.
  • OneDrive integrates with my MacBook fairly well, allowing me to share documents and move fairly seamlessly between local and web versions of a file.
  • OneDrive keeps things in sync fairly quickly and without consuming a lot of system resources.
  • OneDrive (along with Sharepoint's) permissions capabilities are much more fine-grained than Dropbox.
  • OneDrive's visual feedback in Finder as to whether a file is syncing or already synced isn't always up-to-date with the actual status of these files.
  • OneDrive (on Mac) will occasionally fail to sync for errors that aren't accurate, requiring a restart.
  • OneDrive (on Mac) will occasionally fail for file name issues, where filenames allowed on Mac are not allowed on SharePoint, without providing an easy mechanism for fixing them.
  • The real-time collaborative editing user experience is not as good as Google Drive.
OneDrive works well when you have dedicated resources to manage and keep the backing SharePoint site organized, and a team that's most familiar with Microsoft Office products.

For a more tech-savvy teams that rely more heavily on real-time collaboration, Google Drive may be a better choice.
Read David McCann's full review
Vin Campbell profile photo
December 12, 2018

User Review: "OneDrive - a matured cloud provider"

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
OneDrive is part of the Office 365 offering, so each user in the organization has access to OneDrive cloud space under their account. In our company, OneDrive is used for personal work documents that users may or may not share with other users and/or the outside world. That's just our case use, but it is also the recommended way to use OneDrive per Microsoft. It allows the users to have their own cloud folder, so they can access their own files from virtually anywhere, and it keeps the general company repository separate from personal stuff.
  • Selective folder sync - you can easily pick and choose which folders sync to a person's computer
  • The actual file is not synced until it is needed - you see the file, but until you need it, it takes up no space on your device!
  • Available on virtually any device that has internet access - phone/tablet apps, browser based access, sync client access
  • Sync client (Windows) can continue to be updated such that it becomes even more stable
  • Mobile apps should be tweaked a bit more - they can be more intuitive
OneDrive is well suited for business users that need access to their data on the fly from outside the organization. It's great for those personal work files that an IT person (like me), a field agent or a sales person may use when out in the field. I also feel it is well suited when used to share anything with the outside world. It is absolutely not suited to be shared between users as you completely lose all individual accountability... If more than one user is accessing the same OneDrive - you can't tell who did what anymore. For this usage - turn to SharePoint!
Read Vin Campbell's full review
Ariel Dunay profile photo
December 19, 2018

OneDrive Review: "Great cloud service, stacks up against competitors"

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
OneDrive is a brand new tool being used by my company as a Cloud sharing service. We share documents for collaboration, work flows for input, and HR tracking. It's being used all over the company, slowly being picked up from department to department. It helps to have a central place to put files that are only accessible to those you invite.
  • Business version has very large limit, likely will never run out of space.
  • Live editing, you can see who is working in what (kind of like Google Drive).
  • Auto-save feature!! Has saved me more than once for sure.
  • When internet connectivity is bad, there is not a back up way to save.
  • Sometimes files show up for some people and not for others. If this is a connectivity issue, they should still be present in the folder but maybe be marked as grey to show that they are still uploading.
  • Staff have accidentally written over things because of the Auto-save feature. Both a blessing and a curse in that way, sometimes you have to manually turn it off if you are just running scenarios.
Well suited for teams, when collaborating is required, where internet connectivity is strong, and when you only need to share a certain folder with certain people. Less appropriate if you are working in countries where fast internet is harder to come by, when there are shared drive alternatives it isn't really needed.
Read Ariel Dunay's full review
Dan Talvi profile photo
December 10, 2018

User Review: "OneDrive Solutions"

Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Working in an educational facility, OneDrive is used for instructors' personal drives for storage of documents related to instruction and other school-based materials. As part of our organization's rollout of Office 365 and other Office apps, our organization has utilized OneDrive instead of local server based personal storage options. It is also used as a platform for collaboration between instructors using the cloud-based sharing tools available.
  • Accessibility on PC - OneDrive is integrated and easy to access on Windows-based PCs.
  • Service is Reliable - The OneDrive service rarely goes offline.
  • Integration with Office Apps - OneDrive integrated with other Office applications, such as Microsoft Word, to allow for a seamless creation and document saving process.
  • User Interface - Compared to their main competitor, Google Drive, the interface feels 'clunky'. Some actions do not feel intuitive or have an odd layout.
  • Integration on Mac - On Apple Mac computers, the OneDrive app (especially OneDrive for Business) is unreliable and does not work as well as its PC counterpart.
  • Storage Limits - While not unique to OneDrive, storage limits on free personal accounts are slim, requiring a paid subscription for larger storage tiers.
OneDrive is great for a business or organization setting with multiple users that need to collaborate and share materials.
Read Dan Talvi's full review
Jose Leandro Marques profile photo
September 06, 2018

OneDrive Review: "Excellent service for your files in the cloud"

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Currently OneDrive is one of the main work tools in the company, it is used by all users to share documents, save their files and be able to work from home without the need of a VPN connection. Our employees have 24-hour availability of all their documents from anywhere in the world.
  • It allows you to save all the information you require.
  • You can synchronize with your computer.
  • You can share information easily.
  • You require good bandwidth on your internet.
  • To synchronize your files from OneDrive to your computer you need to have enough space on your hard drive.
  • Sometimes OneDrive does not synchronize some files.
OneDrive adapts to all scenarios, it is a very powerful, robust and easy to use tool. It is functional for large, medium and small businesses. Companies that do not have money to buy a NAS server can use OneDrive and they will always have their documents online as Microsoft assures you that your data will never be lost.
Read Jose Leandro Marques's full review
Erik Jacobsen profile photo
July 24, 2018

"OneDrive Review"

Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
A very useful tool for syncing file backups to the cloud. We used Active Directory to move all users' folders (Desktop, Documents, Pictures, and Videos) to OneDrive. They are all backed up and synced immediately to the cloud. When a user's computer goes down or we need to set them up on another device, we just create a new profile and then sign the into OneDrive and they have access to all their files and they are kept in sync across devices. Not easy to deploy but a good solution.
  • Backing up files in real time.
  • Clou- based backups.
  • The speed of syncs is very good.
  • Affordable.
  • Version control.
  • Very little monitoring capabilities for the admins. Using PowerShell to generate user reports (usage, sync status, etc.). The online admin interface says these reports are coming but it has said that for over a year.
  • Difficult to release to too many users. Ended up having to use some detailed scripts with AD to get it installed.
  • Little to no resources for developers/administrators. Thanks, MS. Must rely on the MS user network.
Backup your profile folders in real-time (sync) to the cloud. Great for the personal user or small companies (<50), but hard to implement with larger businesses. We also have some synced company-wide folder shares synced on Users PCs so there is an updated repository for files with versioning.

Read Erik Jacobsen's full review
No photo available
December 12, 2018

Review: "OneDrive--A great solution for cloud-based storage"

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
OneDrive has replaced Box at my company. OneDrive is being used as the single cloud-based location to which we update, store and sync all of our files regardless of where we are. This allows me to quickly and easily share files with my team and colleagues giving them access to real-time updates without having to send them multiple files as a document changes.
  • Easy sync between my computer and the cloud. I just select the folder(s) to sync and I'm done.
  • Easily share files with others. This allows for fast and simple collaboration between numerous individuals.
  • Automatic synchronization between selected local folders and my OneDrive cloud folder. I can automatically sync all my local documents to the cloud for easy access when not at my computer.
  • It would be great if my cloud-based folders and files could be presented in my Windows Explorer without having to synchronize them locally. I could then simply browse them and if necessary, download them as needed.
  • The "cloud" icon looks very much like many other cloud-based storage icons making it less than intuitive to know which one to click. There should be options to select other icons for the system tray application.
  • I have both a personal and corporate OneDrive account and would prefer to access them both from one system tray icon. Currently I have two separate icons.
OneDrive is great in a high-bandwidth, corporate environment. Although I do access it from my mobile device it is a bit difficult to determine how to move files and if saved, to determine where a file is saved. If I have a folder with a large number of files, I would prefer to access it with a tool other than the mobile OneDrive app.
Read this authenticated review
No photo available
December 11, 2018

OneDrive Review: "Features out the wazoo but still somewhat clunky"

Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Our entire organization uses OneDrive. It functions as a continuous backup of the files on my laptop, allows my team (and the entire company) to share files and collaboratively work on documents, spreadsheets, images, slide decks, etc. The ability to collaborate—and especially for multiple people to collaborate on the same document at the same time—is quite useful.
  • I especially appreciate OneDrive as a way for us to store documents in the cloud. I make sure that all mission-critical work is included in a OneDrive-synced folder, and therefore don't have to worry if my computer crashes or hard drive fails.
  • Collaboration. The ability for multiple people to work on a document at the same time is key.
  • Integration with Word, Excel, PowerPoint, etc. Being able to open a doc in the native desktop apps, then save it and know that it's updated automatically in OneDrive is great.
  • Integration with Mac OS X. Being able to share docs right from the Finder is excellent.
  • Occasionally the backup functionality fails for certain files. This is rare (and you can see exactly what is synced and what is not) but I am still unclear as to why certain files resist syncing.
  • The browser-based apps for Word, Excel, and PowerPoint not only lack the full-featured functionality of the native desktop apps, but it's clear they weren't designed for browsers. My biggest point of comparison is Google Docs, Sheets & Slides. While Google's apps may not be as powerful, they were designed for a browser from the ground up, they run more smoothly and my team would prefer to collaborate in Google than in OneDrive.
  • It's just a little clunky and could be more user-friendly. Specifically, sharing settings can be confusing or frustrating and require multiple steps to approve when someone requests access to a doc.
  • It's more of a pain to invite external people to contribute to a doc as they have to sign up for a Microsoft account in order to access the docs.
It really depends on the organization. I know IT departments often prefer OneDrive to other systems, and it appears to work fairly well as an enterprise-level system. However, for smaller teams looking for a quick and easy way to share files and collaborate, I believe there are other, more suitable alternatives.
Read this authenticated review
No photo available
December 13, 2018

"Onedrive: A Honest Review"

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
OneDrive is being used as a file transfer method, that allows for work on documents between multiple users. This allows them to change what they need, as well as share what they want easily from whereever they are, as long as they have an internet connection. This product helped create the more collaborative feel that the department was missing.
  • Ease of use: Allows for users to access and work through the environment easily, without much training or hand holding.
  • Access: You can use this from anywhere, as long as you have an active internet connection.
  • Redundancy: It allows for multiple copies to be kept in multiple places. This helps if something was deleted by mistake.
  • Possibility of Syncing issues.
  • File size restraints
  • The lack of features coming from the native app to the online app.
This program will fit in with almost any space that allows for collaborative work or transfer of files from one person to the next. This will speed up your workflow. If you are looking for more file storage and fewer collaborative features, OneDrive may not be the best solution for you.
Read this authenticated review
No photo available
December 12, 2018

User Review: "OneDrive - Almost there....."

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Being a Microsoft shop, the integration of OneDrive into the OS has been a boon to users. We have leveraged this integration by configuring the service to include the users desktop and documents folders to provide a seamless "cloud backup" of their important files. Through this, users always have access to their most important documents regardless of the device being used.
  • Simple user interface. Used in conjunction with the Windows OS, users simply need to know how to place a file in a folder and not have to deal with a complicated client.
  • Easily noticeable visual cues regarding the status of a document sync to the cloud drive.
  • Full Integration into other Microsoft products , e.g Office.
  • The web interface provides a familiar look to people accustomed to using Windows devices and an easy interface to learn for those who are not.
  • Better integration into other Operating Systems, e.g OSX and Linux. While a client can integrate with these, the experience is not as seamless as that in Windows.
  • Better image tools allowing online processing of pictures.
  • The ability to stream music from the service.
Working on the go has become the norm and OneDrive provides a valuable tool for individuals who need to be constantly on the move but may not want to carry a laptop with them that has the ability to share and edit documents from multiple devices. OneDrive has the capacity to enhance the productivity of either an individual or team. With online Office tools, users are no longer bound by their device and are free to work at home or at the beach.
Read this authenticated review
Heath Achatz profile photo
February 26, 2018

OneDrive Review: "One Drive for the Mobile Office is a Go"

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
One Drive is currently used in our Street Outreach Program. This program has only one office and most work is done outside of the office. This makes One Drive a good fit for the program. This enables file use and sharing while outreach workers are in the field. A traditional stationary hard drive for files simply would not work. One Drive is used to access files make changes and sync, while our members are mobile. One Drive is used to store presentations, documents, photos, and video files. It makes accessing them on the go easy.
  • One Drive integrates wonderfully with the Microsoft Suite. Word, Excel, and PowerPoint documents are easy to edit and create.
  • One Drive has a fair amount of free storage as well, we have not had to buy storage and have been using it for six years.
  • Sharing documents with others on One Drive is easy as well. The option to view or edit is very useful.
  • The editing in One Drive is limited compared to the computer versions of Word, Excel, and Power Point.
  • One Drive sometimes takes a while to sync files. We have noticed they are not immediately updated.
  • One Drive is not entirely compatible with Goggle Documents, there are some formatting issues when using the same document formats.
One Drive is well suited for anyone who is already and Outlook/Hotmail/Microsoft user. The integration is pretty streamlined. viewing, opening, sharing and editing documents is a breeze. It is particularly suited well for an office on the go. Files can be uploaded and shared with ease. Files sync most of the time relative quick and can be accessed at other mobile sites. Additionally, the storage of pictures and videos for presentations makes it very mobile office friendly. It would work as a cloud backup if it was only used on a desktop.
Read Heath Achatz's full review
Marc-Olivier Turgeon-Ferland profile photo
January 23, 2018

"Why we didn't select OneDrive as our corporate file sharing solution"

Score 6 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
OneDrive is enabled on all our users because of our O365 subscriptions but the official solution that is promoted and supported is Google Drive. The only real plus value of OneDrive is the huge 1TB included of storage with O365 subscriptions. The OneDrive client is also useful to sync Sharepoint sites.
  • Only solution to sync Sharepoint sites
  • Best storage to price ratio
  • Good integration on Windows
  • OneDrive client is horrible on macOS
  • Official OneDrive client is non-existent on Linux
  • OneDrive support on older Windows versions like 8.1 and less is still buggy
  • Sharepoint still tries to use the old OneDrive client by default. You need to go in the setting and tell it to use the new client.
  • Even if it is a lot better then before, OneDrive client is still often not able to sync folders with huge items or a huge amount of small items.
OneDrive has the best storage to price ratio of any solution I know. It is also the only one integrated into SharePoint, so if you already have everything in Sharepoint, OneDrive is probably a must. Otherwise, it's not really the best for document cooperation, the client sometimes feels it's in beta even after all this time and it's lacking behind on features like live downloading of files (Drive File Stream) or video playback (Youtube like playback).
Read Marc-Olivier Turgeon-Ferland's full review
Manuel Aguilar profile photo
April 02, 2018

OneDrive Review: "An excellent cloud storage and file sharing option for windows users."

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Onedrive is extremely useful and it is used in every department of our business. We use it to store and save every type of file in the cloud and that way we can access them in every device or PC of our company. By using it, we only need an internet connection to share files, and when there are no flash drives or portable hard drives is the best tool for copying or exchanging data and information between our PCs.
  • It comes preinstalled with windows 8 and 10 and it automatically links your Microsoft account, so accessing our files from the cloud is really easy and requires no installations.
  • Since it was developed by Microsoft it has an almost perfect integration with Windows operating system (which is the most common system used in every business) so there are almost no bugs or problems.
  • Having a backup of information in the cloud is extremely useful since it can be accessed anywhere just with an internet connection.
  • Something I found is that there is no encryption in a loaded file. For example, when uploading a password protected file from Excel, that protection will be lost in the cloud.
  • It's free space is really limited, just 5 GB, so if you need more space be prepared to pay.
  • It can be a bit buggy when online.
Microsoft OneDrive shines as a file sharing program in our business since it allows us to share documents without the need of any hardware such as flash drives or portable hard drives, or intranet connection. As of today, almost everybody has an internet connection so using OneDrive is extremely easy. I wouldn't recommend it for doing a backup of confidential information such as bank details since it's on the internet it can always be prone to hacking.
Read Manuel Aguilar's full review
Jason Ramsland profile photo
January 17, 2018

Review: "OneDrive useful as an add-on to Office 365, not something I'd ever buy on its own."

Score 6 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
For the most part, we don't make institution-wide use of OneDrive because of a few inherent limitations of OneDrive and the other software that we use. First, OneDrive is not good at "pot sharing" among the organization. What I'd like to be able to do is move our entire server of old files onto a OneDrive pot (each user gets 1 TB) that everyone has access to, but that is unnecessarily difficult and involves some sharing shenanigans that most of our users are not technically capable of navigating.

So users use it in different ways. I use it as a pot for keeping access to all of the files I download across multiple devices, since our primary document management system requires that we download, edit, and re-upload to manipulate files. OneDrive is my "in process" and medium term storage pot, in the event that I manipulate a file but don't get to the re-upload part.
  • Good syncing for the most part.
  • Good availability from multiple device species.
  • iOS app is good enough, made nicer by the fact that you can now save files and folders for offline use.
  • Syncing has some oddities, like if the wrong kind of punctuation mark is in the file name.
  • Sharing folders to the entire organization is hard, if not impossible.
  • Creating one shared pot for global access does not seem possible without some goofy work-arounds.
Honestly, the only circumstance under which I'd recommend OneDrive is if someone is already an Office 365 subscriber and they don't have a specific need for another cloud storage service. I use it because I already have and pay for O365. If I didn't, I wouldn't use OneDrive, I'd use Google Drive or Dropbox or Box or almost anything else.
Read Jason Ramsland's full review
Nick Saunders profile photo
January 22, 2018

OneDrive Review: "Simple and easy to use cloud storage and document collaboration platform"

Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use OneDrive as the shared content library for our global go-to-market teams. This is the central repository for all our sales and marketing collateral which is managed by the product marketing team.
  • Familiar interface. If you’ve used Windows shared drives before this is effectively the same
  • Globally accessible to users with easy access for admins to share permissions
  • Syncing access from O365
  • Sharing permissions not granular and don’t always function as expected
  • Syncing libraries to desktops is a nightmare
  • Content control and mobile access is limited
Works well for office bound workers who have fast internet and standard desktop screens. Central location means admins can update content on the fly easily and quickly. What it doesn’t do well is reporting on how content is being used and its mobile capability is very limited. Essentially it renders a webpage on your mobile screen rather having a dedicated app experience.
Read Nick Saunders's full review
Lily Barger profile photo
January 17, 2018

Review: "OneDrive - Access Your Work Anywhere at Any Time!"

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
OneDrive is being used across our whole organization. It helps tremendously with collaboration across teams - especially as we have many remote users. It also addresses the issue of being able to access information on the road, and provides backups for our files more effectively than our servers did.
  • One Drive provides versioning of files that are created in the Microsoft Suite. No more "lost" or overwritten files!
  • One Drive shows you who last edited documents, and even allows two or more people to work on one file at the same time.
  • The syncing ability to the computer file structure makes it easy for less advanced users to adopt use of One Drive.
  • OneDrive is pretty intuitive but more information on the use/creation of sites would be helpful.
  • It would be great, if possible, to add versioning of non-Microsoft files as well.
  • It would be great to enhance the formatting of the online editing tools.
OneDrive is perfect for teams of people who need access to the same documents, or for organizations that need to access documents on the road. However, OneDrive is not limited to larger orgs. It's really great for any organization that needs secure storage for their documents.
Read Lily Barger's full review
Jackie Ramos profile photo
January 16, 2018

OneDrive Review: "One Drive, create it,see it,reach it from anywhere."

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We have started using it by departments, with the intention of using it for the whole organization. It's currently addressing issues with on-premise server space. This will lower our overall cost and allow the end user to reach their files from any device and more reliably.
  • Large amount of space to save data
  • Allowing the end user share and maintain their files for easier access to others
  • Available to sync across all devices
  • Saving photos and PDFs
  • Searching for files
  • Uploading could be a bit easier
One of the best things about using onedrive is the end user being able to share a document with an outside vendor when needed. Saving time in sending emails back and forth. One excellent feature is that It keeps track of all the changes by all. You also have the availability to roll back. Since backups are done, this can save you time. You can also download a copy to your desktop to work on should you lose your internet connection; allowing you to continue to work on the project and later when uploading the current version.
Read Jackie Ramos's full review
Antoinette Nelson profile photo
December 20, 2017

"OneDrive Review"

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Our organization uses onedrive to share, view and store documents amongst different departments. This feature helps our organization tremendously because we no longer have to wait for documents to be hand delivered or wait for a specific person to be available to obtain documents. Now these documents are housed in a central location we all have access to.
  • Storing documents
  • Accessibility amongst different departments
  • Very clear interface
  • Storage cloud maximum
  • More web based apps where files can be shared and edited
  • Update Microsoft Office programs
There was an instance where my colleague was out and someone from an outside agency called in search of a document. I just dropped it on the onedrive and they immediately had access. Onedrive is not so much necessary when you are just trying to easily access a document.
Read Antoinette Nelson's full review
Patricio Santirso profile photo
December 18, 2017

Review: "OneDrive, the company and you, closer than ever"

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Currently, OneDrive is available for all users in the organization, limited to a maximum of 500 MB per user. It is a good method to share files in a collaborative way. Particularly, I try to save my critical files there and use it as a backup instead of saving locally in my device; I upload directly in OneDrive.
  • It is very good to share files and grant different typed of access to users.
  • It is pretty fast to upload/download the files.
  • You can authenticate with your AD account, which makes this easier to log in and this makes people feel more comfortable with the use of the tool.
  • There are some conflicts when saving files that require manual action from users. When a user is non-IT related, they might not know how to resolve the conflict and they don't know if their files are being kept updated or not.
  • Bandwidth usage is an issue when somebody moves big folders or files to OneDrive. If many users do that at the same time, network performance can be affected.
  • Sometimes it is hard to realize who you are sharing files with. Maybe some custom views should be created so it is easier to review the files I'm sharing with other users and with which privilege.
It is great when you have to travel from different locations. You don't need to take a PC with you. You can open your content on another PC pretty easily. It is very good to use when working on global teams. You can share content and edit files simultaneously in a very collaborative way. It is very easy to understand how the tool works.
Read Patricio Santirso's full review
Jason Galati profile photo
December 08, 2017

User Review: "OneDrive is the only "DRIVE""

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Since many of the files we send to our clients are large (over 10 mb), being able to 'share' with other people is very helpful.
  • Since this software can run on your PC, it makes it very easy to drag and drop files for easy back up and file sharing needs.
  • Files sync quickly and can be accessed online or from another PC.
  • You can easily save and file into the OneDrive folder and it will be automatically backed up.
  • Collaborative editing of a file is also a very nice feature.
  • I wish I could limit the download/upload bandwidth that the program uses.
  • I wish you could "right" click on a file and send it to the OneDrive folder.
  • I don't like that for other people to access the files, they must have a Microsoft account.
We send files to our clients that are large (over 10 MB), and being able to 'share' with other people is very helpful. Clients can download files and upload new files to the shared folder. Once uploaded, they automatically sync to my folder. There is no longer a need to send large files via email.
Read Jason Galati's full review
Scott Strader profile photo
December 07, 2017

Review: "OneDrive helps with access to documents across devices"

Score 6 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
OneDrive is something that is offered by the organization but has not been the main storage for users. This was recently added to the inclusion of Office365 and users wanting to access their information across devices. We do have other in-house solutions that are a bit more seamless but the availability of OneDrive across platforms and devices can be really handy with the number of people that travel for business.
  • Multiple Devices
  • Multiple Platforms
  • Availibility
  • Sometimes it can be hard to find and save to onedrive depending on the device. If you are using the same devices it seems to have this information hand for saving purposes.
  • We have had some sync errors that we are currently researching to resolve.
  • There have also been some issues with the user's company account and their personal account that has caused some headaches with items not being stored in the right place.
OneDrive is great on the personal level and corporate level to allow you to have a central storage space. The downfall is having to switch back and forth between accounts and making sure you are using the correct one. Some small errors with syncs and the software has caused some frustration for the users and some have even resulted to using a shared or personal network drive.
Read Scott Strader's full review
Brian Taylor profile photo
December 06, 2017

OneDrive Review: "Personal Storage, Enterprise Control"

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We were looking for an easy to implement replacement for some sections of our file server. Users were needing to share files outside the organization or to other employees that wouldn't have access to those directories on the file server. We also needed a solution that provided governance and would allow for easy audits and scanning. OneDrive plays nicely with our Office 365 service and is easy to deploy out to users who already have an email account with us.
  • Data governance. OneDrive allows for the same compliance and security configuration as Office 365, which makes it really easy for us to ensure that data that shouldn't be shared isn't and that data that needs to be secured is secured.
  • User friendly, familiar interface for desktop integration makes it more likely to be adopted by users.
  • Sharing from within apps like Word and Excel, or the option to attach a copy to emails rather than only share the document.
  • Multiple versions of the application have created conflicts with one another that can create multiple unsynced folders on the workstation.
  • The SharePoint online type interface is more difficult to navigate than it needs to be.
  • For OneDrive for Business, external sharing is disabled by default, which if administrators don't review those settings, can be frustrating.
Data governance controls for enterprises that need control over documents while they are being shared would benefit greatly from OneDrive. We are often sharing documents from our business development department to external parties and need to ensure that the information being shared is secured. For simple document management or file sharing through FTP or similar services, other software solutions would be better fit.
Read Brian Taylor's full review
No photo available
January 19, 2018

User Review: "The One and Only OneDrive"

Score 6 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
OneDrive is used passively at my company. It comes as part of our office subscription. Most people do not use the program. I used it to save documents as I work from home one day a week and if I need to share a “master” document with clients.
  • I like that it will open documents in cloud based software or my desktop software.
  • It is easy to share documents with others and create user roles.
  • It saves all documents I start in Office 365.
  • I find it doesn’t integrate with my desktop as well as Google Drive.
  • I don’t find the interface very intuitive.
  • The drive saves everything I start in Microsoft Office 365 so I end up with a lot untitled documents. I have to clean up a lot.
This is a good drive when you have multiple work locations. The cloud-based storage allows me to have documents in one place. It’s not great if you use office software for brainstorming orcas or a scratch board. You end up with saved copies of everything.
Read this authenticated review
Rahman Babayev profile photo
April 24, 2017

OneDrive Review: "The easiest and most powerful cloud service in market"

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Our company uses Onedrive for our main file hosting service. It is being used by our entire department. It is an excellent cloud service and best suited one for us. It founded by Microsoft and there is no need for extra words about it. I especially love that you can view and edit all of your files across all of your devices.
  • Syncing ability is great
  • Different storage plans
  • Reasonable Price
  • Customer service need some improvement
  • Overall design and interface is hard to use
  • Integration with other apps
  • I can't remember any extremely bad thing about OneDrive. It is Microsoft!
Onedrive is highly customer friendly cloud storage product. If it is being used by entire organization then all of your coworkers can edit and view the files that been shared with them. And there will be no need any other methods for sharing files. It is known by many in my country.
Read Rahman Babayev's full review
Adam Lauer profile photo
September 29, 2016

Review: "OneDrive: A stripped down, cheaper, more efficient version of SharePoint"

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use onedrive as a quick, easy alternative to SharePoint. It is mainly used within select engineering teams and has expanded to IT. It is a tool that each team chooses whether they want to implement it or not. The main benefit of it is it gives us a living document for installs and documentation that can be updated by anyone with access in real time with multiple collaborators.
  • Easy storage of Microsoft Office application files
  • Live collaboration with multiple users
  • Easy online and native app access
  • Sharing is not very granular
  • Storage limits
  • Web interface of directory is chunky and not elegant.
We use it for two main use cases. One is a running installation instructions sheet that developers write up when they are finished with projects and quality assurance uses to install and test the changes. These directions are then given to IT for deployments. It allows for quick transfer of knowledge and lets everyone view and edit it live. The second use case is to store a OneNote Notebook that we call our cheat sheet. It is basically a searchable knowledge base for our team to make us more efficient and quicken new hire's startup time. It is not good for hosting files outside the Office suite such as Visio and coding files.
Read Adam Lauer's full review

Feature Scorecard Summary

Versioning (43)
8.2
Video files (53)
7.7
Audio files (50)
8.1
Document collaboration (55)
8.3
Access control (57)
8.5
File search (60)
7.4
Device sync (58)
7.5
User and role management (50)
7.7
File organization (57)
7.8
Device management (44)
8.2
Performance (59)
7.8
Reliability (59)
7.6
Storage Reports (46)
6.9

About OneDrive

OneDrive from Microsoft is a cloud storage and file syncing service.
Categories:  Cloud Storage

OneDrive Integrations

OneDrive Technical Details

Operating Systems: Unspecified
Mobile Application:No