Google App Engine Reviews

196 Ratings
<a href='https://www.trustradius.com/static/about-trustradius-scoring' target='_blank' rel='nofollow noopener'>trScore algorithm: Learn more.</a>
Score 8.0 out of 100

Do you work for this company? Learn how we help vendors

Overall Rating

Reviewer's Company Size

Last Updated

By Topic

Industry

Department

Experience

Job Type

Role

Filtered By:

Reviews (1-25 of 39)

Companies can't remove reviews or game the system. Here's why.
April 27, 2021
Manjeet Singh | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 6 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

[Google App Engine] was used by one department for serving various backend APIs.
Its portability and scalability were the main reasons we used it.
The app-engine manageability was totally on Google
Read Manjeet Singh's full review
May 14, 2021
Ankur Arora | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

Google App Engine is a powerful service in cloud computing for the development and hosting of web based applications in the data centers that are managed by Google. It is widely used across our organization. It is very easy to deploy and run and also allows to focus on the development of the applications as it is very flexible and handles the hosting part of the applications. It allows the choice of several languages and framework for the development of the applications.
Read Ankur Arora's full review
April 29, 2021
Cameron Gable | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

We have one significant web application. It is used by our entire R&D team across multiple departments as the primary platform for data analysis. We currently have our web application running on Google App Engine flexible as it gives us the ability to run the runtime we need to run.
Read Cameron Gable's full review
April 26, 2021
Rudolph Pereira | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 6 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

We deployed Moodle(LMS) and Odoo(ERP) applications on Google App Engine using Marketplace available configurations from Bitmani. We are using App Engine to host such client applications. The Google Marketplace saved us many hours of trying to configure these large applications ourselves.
Read Rudolph Pereira's full review
April 05, 2021
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

Google App Engine (GAE) as part of the Google Cloud Platform (GCP) is being used across our entire SaaS product. It provides us with an enterprise level infrastructure that can be scaled as our business needs demand very quickly and easily. By not having to build and maintain our own on premise servers, it allows us to focus on our product rather than infrastructure.
Read this authenticated review
June 01, 2021
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

We're using Google App Engine to build and host our web application and backend across the organization. This helps us in building a highly scalable applications on a fully managed server-less platform.
Read this authenticated review
February 22, 2020
Kadu Barral | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

We are using Google App Engine in production environment for some applications from our health care insurance model. It allows us to focus on developing applications while Google App Engine handles hosting. It is easy to deploy and run.
Read Kadu Barral's full review
February 12, 2020
Lokesh Meena | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

We at our organisation use Google App Engine to test and deploy dynamic internal contents. As Google App Engine is able to work with multi language support, it is beneficial for small to large tasks wherever we require serverless infrastructure. It is easy to deploy and run comparing to full machine infrastructure, as Google App Engine is part of Google Cloud services, we can use it separately along with VM instances as well wherever required.
Read Lokesh Meena's full review
December 23, 2019
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

Google App Engine is used in the IT department to host the organization's website, manage the scaling as well as ongoing maintenance and updates, and to build the web application in PHP and Python, serverless, without the inhouse management of the website's underlying infrastructure and platform.
Read this authenticated review
January 15, 2020
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

We are using Google App Engine as a primary backend of our location-based application. We developed a mobile application to track our company cab live location tracking. So we were planning to store the data to the Google App Engine. From there, we fetch and show the data as reports in the other admin application.
Read this authenticated review
October 15, 2019
Tristan Dobbs | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Review Source

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

Google App Engine is in use for nearly every internal system and tool that we have developed, as well as a large amount of systems and tools that we have developed for our customers. It is used by our development team to build integrations between systems, build web pages, build cron jobs and automation workflows, and really anything else we need.

Our internal IT team uses it to deploy other systems like a Grab and Go program for Chromebooks (open sourced) and time approval mechanisms.
Read Tristan Dobbs's full review
August 16, 2019
Jonah Dempcy | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

We use Google App Engine for content distribution of digital publishing assets as well as analytics and authentication services for a wide array of platforms. The whole organization uses Google App Engine in some capacity or another. The business problems it addresses are virtualizing services and abstracting away server configuration, load balancing, software updates and everything else we would have to do to set up the same infrastructure on a classic web server stack. Google App Engine has expedited our development and deployment processes tremendously so we can continue innovating with new services, getting them up and running quickly, while trusting that our existing services are running on a rock solid cloud platform backend.
Read Jonah Dempcy's full review
August 20, 2019
Stephen Groat | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

Google App Engine is a managed Serverless Platform that easy allows users to create managed serverless platforms with just code. Instead of having to manage servers as well, the complexity is simplified so that the code and the application become the focus. The Engineering department has found uses for the application to minimize maintenance overhead.
Read Stephen Groat's full review
August 18, 2019
Joshua Dickson | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

App Engine is a fantastic service for developers who want to be able to run their code in an environment that they do not have to provision -- there is no manual server configuration or maintenance, etc, and all the developer needs to be concerned about is how their code works.
Read Joshua Dickson's full review
August 15, 2019
Hil Liao | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

We are currently evaluating Google App engine as a platform as a service to our customers. The Google App Engine cloud endpoints is equivalent to Microsoft Azure's web apps or API apps. We are impressed with its ability to deploy Java or Python based RestFul API directly to Cloud endpoints. I coded the logic in the RestFul API to access Google's Cloud DataStore (kind-entity-property type of data store). Google's SDK made it easy to integrate its App Engine with its storage solutions. I have not tried its Cloud Bigtable from Cloud endpoints but I'm sure it's on our next task list.

Google App Engine's primary programming language is Java. I tried JetBrain's IntelliJ IDEA for managing Google App engine cloud endpoint projects. I used the community edition, which had less support for Google App Engine Cloud endpoint. The enterprise edition should have better support.

For those who prefer to use Python, JetBrains may have just released PyCharm for $99. Nothing comes for free. If you work at a company that has those licenses, you should feel lucky. Having a good IDE is critical to productivity. It has a "PyCharm Free Educational (Classroom) License" for free.

Read Hil Liao's full review
October 21, 2019
Hung Vu | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

We use Google App Engine as a deployment platform for our applications which are written in Java and PHP and consume other Google services such as Cloud Datastore, Google Cloud SQL. With Google App Engine we just define App.yaml, run the G Cloud app CLI command to deploy, configure and upload our application so our developers can focus on their application code and do not need to care about the server, deployment, and dependency. Google App Engine has an autoscale feature to increase or decrease resources depending on our application traffic and hardware consumption to keep our application high availability and [to maintain the] best performance while keeping costs low.

Read Hung Vu's full review
October 30, 2019
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

We use Google App Engine to house many of our mission-critical web applications with zero downtime. It solves the need to have 100% uptime with no added long term equipment costs and additional IT support staff.
Read this authenticated review
October 25, 2019
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

We run our entire stack on Google App Engine using a mix of the standard and flex environment to run Golang, Nodejs services, and server-side rendered frontend applications.
Initially, we were using a mix of ec2 instance and AWS EBS stack but the development to deployment process seemed was a bit more complicated than it is on Google App Engine.
Read this authenticated review
August 19, 2019
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

I use Google App Engine to program in Python for data collection and data mining. This is solely being used for engineering and development. It solves the issue of having to manage your own server and allows your apps to be accessed from anywhere there is a computer and internet access. This makes it convenient for sharing between coworkers.
Read this authenticated review
August 16, 2019
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 4 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

I have been using the Google App Engine within the operations department to streamline integration of all of our data streams. I am attempting to create a more robust analysis of this data and allow for other departments to access it eventually. The problem it is addressing is an easier way of accessing and manipulating data that we create.
Read this authenticated review
August 16, 2019
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

Google App Engine is used by my organization's web development department. We use Google App Engine to build and quality assess new web apps that the department is working on because it requires no new infrastructure or servers. We are able to effectively test the app's scalability without having to pay large fees to do so.
Read this authenticated review
April 14, 2018
Robert Christian | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

[It's being used for] Testing across various departments (Skunkworks. POCs, including Apigee API Gateway).
Read Robert Christian's full review

Feature Scorecard Summary

Ease of building user interfaces (20)
8.0
Scalability (35)
9.1
Platform management overhead (35)
7.7
Workflow engine capability (27)
7.7
Platform access control (34)
8.0
Services-enabled integration (31)
7.8
Development environment creation (32)
8.4
Development environment replication (30)
8.3
Issue monitoring and notification (31)
8.3
Issue recovery (29)
8.0
Upgrades and platform fixes (31)
8.4

What is Google App Engine?

Google App Engine is Google Cloud's platform-as-a-service offering. It features pay-per-use pricing and support for a broad array of programming languages.

Key Features

Popular Languages
Build applications in Node.js, Java, Ruby, C#, Go, Python, or PHP—or bring a custom language runtime

Open & Flexible
Custom runtimes allows developers to bring any library and framework to App Engine by supplying a Docker container

Fully Managed
A fully managed environment lets developers focus on code while App Engine manages infrastructure concerns

Monitoring, Logging & Diagnostics
Google Stackdriver provides application diagnostics to debug and monitor the health and performance of apps

Application Versioning
Host different versions of applications, create development, test, staging, and production environments

Traffic Splitting
Route incoming requests to different app versions, A/B test, and do incremental feature rollouts

Application Security
Help safeguard applications by defining access rules with App Engine firewall and leverage managed SSL/TLS certificates* by default on a custom domain at no additional cost

Services Ecosystem
Tap a growing ecosystem of GCP services from applications including a suite of cloud developer tools

Google App Engine Integrations

Google App Engine Competitors

Google App Engine Pricing

  • Does not have featureFree Trial Available?No
  • Has featureFree or Freemium Version Available?Yes
  • Does not have featurePremium Consulting/Integration Services Available?No
  • Entry-level set up fee?No
EditionPricing DetailsTerms
Starting Price$0.05Per Hour Per Instance
Max Price$0.30Per Hour Per Instance

Google App Engine Technical Details

Deployment Types:SaaS
Operating Systems: Unspecified
Mobile Application:No

Frequently Asked Questions

What is Google App Engine?

Google App Engine is Google Cloud's platform-as-a-service offering. It features pay-per-use pricing and support for a broad array of programming languages.

What is Google App Engine's best feature?

Reviewers rate Scalability highest, with a score of 9.1.

Who uses Google App Engine?

The most common users of Google App Engine are from Small Businesses and the Computer Software industry.