TrustRadius
Google's platform-as-a-service offering.https://dudodiprj2sv7.cloudfront.net/product-logos/sh/S2/IT1Q2MLGA9B6.PNGApp Engine Review!App Engine is a fantastic service for developers who want to be able to run their code in an environment that they do not have to provision -- there is no manual server configuration or maintenance, etc, and all the developer needs to be concerned about is how their code works.,Removes the need for manual server configuration, management, orchestration, etc Interfaces incredibly well with other GCP services, like Cloud Functions and Firebase,It is not the most cost-efficient hosting provider and could continue to improve from a cost basis Google's UI can be confusing for newcomers when managing an App Engine deployment,9,App Engine is a great starting point for customers who are already invested or want to become further invested in the Google Cloud Platform environment App Engine removes the need for manual server management, which saves a lot of developer time and money,AWS Elastic Beanstalk,AWS Elastic BeanstalkSolid solution, maybe not as great as the competitionWe developed and deployed a basic app via Google App Engine in order to evaluate their serverless architecture. Development and deployment were mostly pain free, and we were able to quickly go live with a scalable solution where we didn't have to worry about infrastructure, using the language of our choice (many are supported).,Supports all popular languages (and you can even bring your own language runtime) Built-in automatic scaling is great,Lags behind competing platforms (Azure, AWS) in terms of features Less documentation, examples, etc. as compared to competitors' platforms,7,Easy enough to get up and running; speedy prototyping and deployment which saved us time and money Automatic scaling meant for less issues after going live,Microsoft Azure, AWS Lambda, AWS Elastic Beanstalk and Heroku,Freshdesk, Zenefits, Zendesk, GustoGCP hits the nail on the head. (Sometimes)[It's being used for] Testing across various departments (Skunkworks. POCs, including Apigee API Gateway).,Client SDK and examples for integrating with services (Datastore/Storage/Pub/Sub). Lightweight deployment code/config (lightweight YAML). Autoscale (configuration and runtime). Flexible runtimes.,Missing scheduler as a service. Has static cron, but no fault-tolerant, dynamic scheduling as a service. Azure has this. Documentation. Documentation can be stale, to terse, cumbersome to navigate. Deploy time and CI. Azure has Git hooks and auto update built in. So from commit to live can be under one minute. GCP more manual, and closer to 5+ min for same.,9,Save time Save resources Near effortless scaling,,SAP BusinessObjects BI Platform, Oracle Application Express, Joyent TritonGoogle Apps where it fitsGoogle Apps seems to be the choice for our designers over Office 365, we have had to implement it as a solution in order to please them. It is mostly being used for email because of the ability to tie in with MAC OS and bind to their workflow bouncing between Adobe CC and OSx.,Works with OSx Creates cohesive workflow Allows for easy collaboration,Sheets is not as robust as Excel. Hangouts seems to lack some of the resolution you get with Skype. It does not tie well with AD when using another solution like Office 365.,8,Cost is lower than Office 365. Removes extraneous license cost of MS office for a majority of users. Management cost requires less staff.,Microsoft Office 365,Microsoft Office 365, Dropbox for Business, SyncplicityExpensive, Cutting Edge and Highly RecommendedWe use Google App Engine for content distribution of digital publishing assets as well as analytics and authentication services for a wide array of platforms. The whole organization uses Google App Engine in some capacity or another. The business problems it addresses are virtualizing services and abstracting away server configuration, load balancing, software updates and everything else we would have to do to set up the same infrastructure on a classic web server stack. Google App Engine has expedited our development and deployment processes tremendously so we can continue innovating with new services, getting them up and running quickly, while trusting that our existing services are running on a rock solid cloud platform backend.,Quick to develop, quick to deploy. You can be up and running on Google App Engine in no time. Flexible. We use Java for some services and Node.js for others. Great security features. We have been consistently impressed with the security and authentication features of Google App Engine.,Documentation does not always keep up with the latest changes to the service. Google App Engine has undergone a lot of changes these past couple of years. At times, we were surprised to find out that something we didn't think was possible was, or, conversely, something that was supposed to work fine which had been deprecated. We also ended up using some undocumented features and weren't sure whether they would keep working or not. Price. Google App Engine isn't cheap. But, you get what you pay for. Rock solid service, great tools, at a hefty price. Difficult to tell how to optimize costs. We racked up the expenses and it is still a mystery where all the costs are being incurred. Some intimidating or arcane aspects of configuration. Most of it was a breeze but every now and then something would be pretty far out and require a few of us developers putting our heads together to figure it out. Sometimes required reading source code to figure out how to do something. Not a ton of examples of how to do various things, nor Stack Overflow posts, at least in the beginning. I imagine this will change as the community grows. But sometimes it felt like we were all alone trying to figure out how to do things.,10,Positive impact: Google App Engine let us rapidly build and deploy web services which support an array of applications across mobile and web platforms. We have found the services to be highly reliable and have been overall very satisfied with the level of stability, security and functionality we've achieved. Negative impact: We are dissatisfied with the seemingly-unnecessary level of complexity in some areas which has made code hand-off difficult. It has taken developers many months to learn the ins and outs of Google App Engine and understand the complex infrastructure of our services and so when someone has never worked on these services before, there can be a sizable ramp up time. So while it was very quick to build, it is not always obvious or apparent how to make modifications or how everything works together. There is a bit of "magic" involved where you have to really understand the system to see why, counter-intuitively, certain things happen the way they do. Positive impact: We've had the flexibility to implement certain features which we thought would be unsupported or too difficult to achieve with Google App Engine. So it has allowed us to do some very cool things that we were surprised were possible. Negative impact: It's very expensive, and combined with the extra time spent in development trying to figure out some of the more arcane aspects of Google App Engine, it is hard to know whether we could have saved money by choosing a different platform provider, but it seems likely.,Amazon Web Services and Heroku,Microsoft Office 365, Dropbox, Box, Google Drive
Unspecified
Google App Engine
125 Ratings
Score 8.0 out of 101
<a href='https://www.trustradius.com/static/about-trustradius-scoring' target='_blank' rel='nofollow'>trScore algorithm: Learn more.</a>TRScore

Google App Engine Reviews

Google App Engine
125 Ratings
<a href='https://www.trustradius.com/static/about-trustradius-scoring' target='_blank' rel='nofollow'>trScore algorithm: Learn more.</a>
Score 8.0 out of 101
Top Rated Award
Show Filters 
Hide Filters 
Filter 125 vetted Google App Engine reviews and ratings
Clear all filters
Overall Rating
Reviewer's Company Size
Last Updated
By Topic
Industry
Department
Experience
Job Type
Role
Reviews (1-21 of 21)
  Vendors can't alter or remove reviews. Here's why.
Joshua Dickson profile photo
August 20, 2018

Google App Engine: "App Engine Review!"

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
App Engine is a fantastic service for developers who want to be able to run their code in an environment that they do not have to provision -- there is no manual server configuration or maintenance, etc, and all the developer needs to be concerned about is how their code works.
  • Removes the need for manual server configuration, management, orchestration, etc
  • Interfaces incredibly well with other GCP services, like Cloud Functions and Firebase
  • It is not the most cost-efficient hosting provider and could continue to improve from a cost basis
  • Google's UI can be confusing for newcomers when managing an App Engine deployment
App Engine is well suited to customers who want to use Google Cloud as their primary cloud service and is similar in role to Elastic Beanstalk from AWS and App Service from Azure. It's particularly suited to developers with standard needs (e.g. nothing so sophisticated that manual server management would be necessary) who value the simplicity over deeper customizability.
Read Joshua Dickson's full review
No photo available
August 02, 2018

Google App Engine Review: "Solid solution, maybe not as great as the competition"

Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We developed and deployed a basic app via Google App Engine in order to evaluate their serverless architecture. Development and deployment were mostly pain free, and we were able to quickly go live with a scalable solution where we didn't have to worry about infrastructure, using the language of our choice (many are supported).
  • Supports all popular languages (and you can even bring your own language runtime)
  • Built-in automatic scaling is great
  • Lags behind competing platforms (Azure, AWS) in terms of features
  • Less documentation, examples, etc. as compared to competitors' platforms
I would say that Google App Engine is worth a look, however it doesn't seem to be as full-featured or popular as competing platforms such as AWS and Azure. It also feels a little dated in general. That said, it's still a solid platform and we were able to get live and running with little trouble.
Read this authenticated review
Robert Christian profile photo
April 14, 2018

Google App Engine Review: "GCP hits the nail on the head. (Sometimes)"

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
[It's being used for] Testing across various departments (Skunkworks. POCs, including Apigee API Gateway).
  • Client SDK and examples for integrating with services (Datastore/Storage/Pub/Sub).
  • Lightweight deployment code/config (lightweight YAML).
  • Autoscale (configuration and runtime).
  • Flexible runtimes.
  • Missing scheduler as a service. Has static cron, but no fault-tolerant, dynamic scheduling as a service. Azure has this.
  • Documentation. Documentation can be stale, to terse, cumbersome to navigate.
  • Deploy time and CI. Azure has Git hooks and auto update built in. So from commit to live can be under one minute. GCP more manual, and closer to 5+ min for same.
Well suited: Prototype. Test. App scale. Small team.

Less well suited. When higher (more granular) level of control is needed, AWS is still superior.
Read Robert Christian's full review
No photo available
August 01, 2017

Google App Engine Review: "Google Apps where it fits"

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Google Apps seems to be the choice for our designers over Office 365, we have had to implement it as a solution in order to please them. It is mostly being used for email because of the ability to tie in with MAC OS and bind to their workflow bouncing between Adobe CC and OSx.
  • Works with OSx
  • Creates cohesive workflow
  • Allows for easy collaboration
  • Sheets is not as robust as Excel.
  • Hangouts seems to lack some of the resolution you get with Skype.
  • It does not tie well with AD when using another solution like Office 365.
Google Apps would work really well in the SMB environments, in a business looking to switch fully to Google only as the solution it could work really well. Cost wise it is cheaper than Office 365 and adds value when it comes to the licensing cost of Microsoft office and Exchange.
Read this authenticated review
Jonah Dempcy profile photo
April 25, 2017

Google App Engine Review: "Expensive, Cutting Edge and Highly Recommended"

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use Google App Engine for content distribution of digital publishing assets as well as analytics and authentication services for a wide array of platforms. The whole organization uses Google App Engine in some capacity or another. The business problems it addresses are virtualizing services and abstracting away server configuration, load balancing, software updates and everything else we would have to do to set up the same infrastructure on a classic web server stack. Google App Engine has expedited our development and deployment processes tremendously so we can continue innovating with new services, getting them up and running quickly, while trusting that our existing services are running on a rock solid cloud platform backend.
  • Quick to develop, quick to deploy. You can be up and running on Google App Engine in no time.
  • Flexible. We use Java for some services and Node.js for others.
  • Great security features. We have been consistently impressed with the security and authentication features of Google App Engine.
  • Documentation does not always keep up with the latest changes to the service. Google App Engine has undergone a lot of changes these past couple of years. At times, we were surprised to find out that something we didn't think was possible was, or, conversely, something that was supposed to work fine which had been deprecated. We also ended up using some undocumented features and weren't sure whether they would keep working or not.
  • Price. Google App Engine isn't cheap. But, you get what you pay for. Rock solid service, great tools, at a hefty price.
  • Difficult to tell how to optimize costs. We racked up the expenses and it is still a mystery where all the costs are being incurred.
  • Some intimidating or arcane aspects of configuration. Most of it was a breeze but every now and then something would be pretty far out and require a few of us developers putting our heads together to figure it out.
  • Sometimes required reading source code to figure out how to do something. Not a ton of examples of how to do various things, nor Stack Overflow posts, at least in the beginning. I imagine this will change as the community grows. But sometimes it felt like we were all alone trying to figure out how to do things.
Google App Engine is great if you want to rapidly build and deploy web services and you have the money to spend. It's also great if you have a team of developers, or at least 2 or 3, so if you get stuck then you have multiple people looking into it and trying to figure out how to proceed. It is less well-suited to a small startup looking to save cash, or to an individual developer who may get stuck on something and be totally blocked for days or weeks.
Read Jonah Dempcy's full review
Andre Masson profile photo
April 18, 2017

Review: "Using Google App Engine to build a classic Java Spring MVC application"

Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Google App Engine (GAE) is the core engine for a specialized web application in-house product. The web application allows the sales department staff to produce reporting, follow up regarding multiple deposit amounts, do the link between Google Drive (as a hosting cloud) and electronic signatures of clients. The web app is also responsible for the "after sales" process and also allows us to maintain the customers' database.
  • Well suited for doing asynchronous long running process jobs through task queues
  • Supports for huge files upload process (fast and efficient)
  • Integrates pretty well with Java and Spring MVC technologies
  • Although GAE does support relational databases if you pay for it, developers wanting to try GAE for free are forced to use cloud datastore which is a NoSQL database.
  • Logging is recorded and accessible through a web console. However, there is no easy way (I mean through the console) to display a custom log line format like it's possible with slf4j or log4j logging patterns. This makes reading log inefficient.
  • The GAE plugins for Eclipse are buggy and inconsistent. Many times we are forced to reboot the local server after a full webapp recompile, and the command line SDK is not intuitive.
Scenarios where Google App Engine is well suited:
  • Allows endpoints for automatic email retrieval process which acts as long running jobs processes
  • "Cron" like web process launchable through simple endpoint URL
  • Java Spring MVC web application or RESTful web services integrated with single page applications (SPA)
Scenarios where it is less appropriate:
  • If your web application requires a short starting time GAE does not perform fast startups. However once started the web app has constant and stable processing speed
  • If the development team is looking for very well integrated product suite (like IDE well integrated with the backend server) then GAE requires much more improvements
Read Andre Masson's full review
Dmitry Sadovnychyi profile photo
March 29, 2017

Google App Engine Review: "PaaS from Google, give it some code and it will run it and scale it automatically"

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
It serves all our traffic to end users, which is basically one of the most important things for our organization.
  • Serving traffic to end users. It can scale automatically when traffic spikes.
  • The standard environment has some limitations, but it encourages you to write "scalable" code.
  • With Flexible Environment, you can serve any Docker container you want, still taking advantage of auto scaling.
  • Easy integration with other Google Cloud products, e.g. Datastore, Pub/Sub, Cloud Storage, etc.
  • Flexible environment needs scaling to zero and support for all APIs available in Standard Environment like ndb for Python and Task Queue.
  • Standard Environment needs to update some outdated libraries like lxml for Python.
  • Instance pricing of Standard Environment could be lowered, since it wasn't updated for many years.
It's a good use case to use App Engine when you need to serve traffic to large amount of users, but you should avoid doing any computation on it. It's better to use Compute Engine or Dataflow to process your data. It has a free tier so it's very useful for non-yet-existing startups.
Read Dmitry Sadovnychyi's full review
Marco Biagiotti profile photo
February 15, 2017

Google App Engine Review: "Be fast. Be scalable."

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Google App Engine is being used in my organization across the whole team to synchronize different activities and to build plug-ins. Why? Automatization of tasks, synchronization of different software, centralization of useful information and data. The Google Cloud Platform is literally the easiest to learn and use Platform As A Service (or PAAS) I have ever used.
  • Easy
  • Interoperating
  • Powerful
  • Not so cheap
  • Learning curve
  • Frequently changes
Google App Engine completely removes server management from your tasks and it automatically does auto scaling and creates new instances as needed in a high availability context. So if you need to be flexible, not so much concerned by server management and fast in scaling is wonderful. If you want something exclusive and more customized it could be quite difficult to use Google App Engine.
Read Marco Biagiotti's full review
Tyler Longren profile photo
May 24, 2017

Review: "Google App Engine for Quick Deployments"

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Reseller
Review Source
We use it across the organization to host various internal projects and for a variety of support-level tools we use in house. Mostly PHP and NodeJS apps, some are pre-built apps that run great on app engine, others are built in house and are tailored to very specific needs that various groups or clients need.
  • Very flexible, runs PHP, Node, Java, Go, etc.
  • Standard environments with regards to the stack being used.
  • Now part of Google Cloud.
  • Documentation for certain things is lacking.
  • Better tutorials for certain stacks.
Getting certain apps to run on App Engine can be a hassle, but if you start building something on App Engine, it's very robust and easily integrates with other Google Cloud offerings. There are, however, tutorials for getting WordPress up and running on AppEngine. Also Laravel is pretty slick with App Engine.
Read Tyler Longren's full review
Zachary Yaro profile photo
June 01, 2016

Review: "Google App Engine - simple application hosting at Google scale"

Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
I enjoy using Google App Engine because it allows me to focus on developing applications while GAE handles hosting and scaling.
  • Multiple backend frameworks to choose from
  • Reasonable pricing and generous free quotas
  • Scalability
  • Not every language/framework is supported
  • Certain APIs have somewhat lower quotas
  • Google can choose to deprecate features at any time
Google App Engine (GAE) is great if you already want to work in a supported language, such as Python, and you do not want to worry about how your application will scale. It is less suited to an app where you want to use a more customized set of frameworks, an unsupported language, or a custom database solution—though Google Compute Engine can meet some of those needs. It is also obviously not a good choice if you want tight control over your servers.
Read Zachary Yaro's full review
Jennie Masterson profile photo
November 11, 2015

Google App Engine: "University Final Year Project Review"

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
I used Google App Engine in my final year project to store news stories relating to crime in a database and then plot them on a Google Map depending on whether they were "crime" stories or not.
  • Database management
  • User Friendly
  • Excellent GUI
  • Provide webinars
  • Implement modules in college and Universities to use the product
  • Give regular seminars to students and businesses
Will the person be able to use it to it's full potential?
Read Jennie Masterson's full review
Hil Liao profile photo
October 08, 2015

Review: "Google App Engine's best feature is cloud endpoint"

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

We are currently evaluating Google App engine as a platform as a service to our customers. The Google App Engine cloud endpoints is equivalent to Microsoft Azure's web apps or API apps. We are impressed with its ability to deploy Java or Python based RestFul API directly to Cloud endpoints. I coded the logic in the RestFul API to access Google's Cloud DataStore (kind-entity-property type of data store). Google's SDK made it easy to integrate its App Engine with its storage solutions. I have not tried its Cloud Bigtable from Cloud endpoints but I'm sure it's on our next task list.

Google App Engine's primary programming language is Java. I tried JetBrain's IntelliJ IDEA for managing Google App engine cloud endpoint projects. I used the community edition, which had less support for Google App Engine Cloud endpoint. The enterprise edition should have better support.

For those who prefer to use Python, JetBrains may have just released PyCharm for $99. Nothing comes for free. If you work at a company that has those licenses, you should feel lucky. Having a good IDE is critical to productivity. It has a "PyCharm Free Educational (Classroom) License" for free.

  • Auto scale application load.
  • Platform as a Service feature abstracts the web server layer.
  • Perfect for Android or iOS app server logic development.
  • Connect to different Google storage types.
  • Able to use C# as the programming language in its SDK.
  • Integration with Visual studio C# for using Google app engine cloud endpoint SDK.
  • Documentation on choosing a IDE to get started. Doing things in the command line is too basic. It's good to know them but having a sophisticated IDE is the next step to achieve higher productivity.
  • What kind of data store do you plan to use for your server side application? Make sure Google App Engine SDK supports them.
  • Will your server applications be REST based? Think about using cloud endpoint.
  • Do you plan to use a JSP page with servlet class?
Read Hil Liao's full review
Paul Ford profile photo
June 16, 2014

Review: "My thoughts on Google App Engine (from a usage perspective)"

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Use is based on client or project needs. It is used mainly as a cloud based API service so that corporate enterprise systems can leverage it internally or with other service dependent applications.
  • Cloud based RESTful APIs
  • Access to big data resources for reporting and analytics
  • Custom Cloud web hosted applications
  • Cost, speed, ease of adoption
  • Implemented a custom company based web site using Vosao on GAE CMS
  • Administration and management - more Azure like portal
  • Better reporting on forecasted and actual usage via notifications.
  • Better documentation, examples. More use case centric documentation.
  • Learning curve is relatively short.
  • Integration to Eclipse is awesome.
  • Integration with standard frameworks is getting better - I would not recommend loading entire spring framework on it, but aspects of it are more useful.
Read Paul Ford's full review
Christopher McLain profile photo
May 17, 2014

Review: "Google App Engine is ideal for dynamic websites on a budget"

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use Google App Engine for multiple databases.
  • There's a fairly high free quota which makes it easy for startup to use a cloud database.
  • It's extremely scalable if you need it to be.
  • If you know Python, it's fairly easy setup
  • Google App Engine has it's own SQL (called GQL) that takes some getting used to.
  • It's based on Python 2.7, which is an old version and it doesn't have support for every module.
It's perfect for a dynamic database for a startup website since you can coast for a while under the free quota.
Read Christopher McLain's full review
No photo available
September 08, 2016

Review: "Google App Engine is the perfect tool to scale your app"

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Google App Engine is used by my organization's web development department. We use Google App Engine to build and quality assess new web apps that the department is working on because it requires no new infrastructure or servers. We are able to effectively test the app's scalability without having to pay large fees to do so.
  • The scalability testing of Google App Engine is top notch. You can quickly and efficiently test if your new app will support millions of users.
  • Google App Engine is an out-of-box platform, in that it allows the user to begin development and testing immediately, with no further services needed.
  • Google App Engine's version controlling allows for effective quality assurance. If you make a mistake and the app breaks, you can rollback the update and debug.
  • With a 99.9+% uptime, Google App Engine is very reliable (as are all Google products).
  • Google App Engine has its own version of SQL called GQL which is inferior to straight SQL. This means a steeper learning curve.
  • The documentation on best practices for the platform is lacking.
  • No support for C# is a frustrating limitation.
Google App Engine is well suited for building and quality assuring an app that you expect will receive heavy traffic. With the click of a button, the engine can simulate 10 million users being active on the app. This can serve as great feedback as you work to scale your product.
Read this authenticated review
No photo available
March 15, 2016

Google App Engine Review: "Google Apps for Work - It works!"

Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use Google Apps across our entire organization for email, calendaring, collaboration ( via Google Docs, Sheets, Sites, Hangouts, etc…) directory, archiving and retention, as well as social and video delivery (YouTube). The primary use of Google Apps in our organization is for corporate email. The platform is stable and reliable. Our users are familiar with the interface, keeping training requirements low.
  • Robust email system.
  • Easy to understand document sharing.
  • The calendar integrates well with email.
  • The Apps have limitations. Be sure you are OK with those limitations before you install. Google has not been responsive to feature requests.
  • Managing Calendar without a third-party tool is nearly impossible.
  • Integration with Active Directory is kludgy at best. Do NOT expect the integration to be smooth or the functionality robust.
If your installation relies on Active Directory integration, you may want to consider the product from the company in Redmond, WA instead. In my opinion, this is Google Apps weakness.
Read this authenticated review
No photo available
April 18, 2016

Google App Engine Review: "Good start point for your application"

Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
I use it for in house education application. We implemented it with Django. It controls our education management system. We use Django and Google F1 database. Sometimes we have problems with sending emails and reaching quota. The control panel do not reach the quota but we can send email. After that we aware that controls update information very slow. Except for sending email everything works very good.
  • On demand quota change.
  • Django.
  • Almost good admin control panel.
  • Flexibility.
  • They should provide more examples for developers.
  • They should decrease their prices.
  • They should improve the quota notification system.
Google App Engine is well suited If you want to use simple deployment for your Django application and if you want to change to an old version of your application when you get a fail on your application without any extra effort. This is really good scenario for developers. You don't need any system engineers to control your application. I like that.
Read this authenticated review
No photo available
April 11, 2016

Review: "Google App Engine for Personal Homepage"

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
I use Google App Engine for my personal homepage.
  • Low maintenance
  • Good uptime
  • Low cost
  • Admin user interface
  • Deployment of apps
  • Support for programming languages
Google App Engine is well suited for simple workloads.
Read this authenticated review
No photo available
October 20, 2015

Google App Engine Review: "Try GAE for a change!"

Score 6 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Google App Engine is used for hosting an application by one of the teams in our department. The application is responsible for handling file storage and access levels for two major components that are owned by two different teams. Google Cloud Storage is used for hosting these files.
  • Google App Engine offers the platform to develop an end to end application without the need of having any other software installed.
  • Google App Engine allows rapid deployment of applications and immediate availability of the code deployed in the cloud.
  • Google App Engine offers services that allow you to quickly prototype any application and have it deployed at a minimal cost. The console allows you to view and manage the status of your application so that everything can be done from a developer perspective without the involvement of the Ops team.
  • I feel that the restrictions regarding no threads, no writing of files to the disk and so on, are great for keeping things secure however they can be real blockers sometimes and make it very difficult to find workarounds for problems that you are trying to solve while developing your application.
  • The 12 simultaneous connections limit to the database instance from an instance cannot be increased, so the available performance options can sometimes be not enough for heavy load apps.
  • The customer service is always responsive when we open support tickets however there isn't an offering for assistance on site if needed or consultations regarding best practices.
A scenario where Google App Engine is well suited is when you want to develop a quick prototype and you don't have servers as an infrastructure option and you just need to have something running quick. Also make sure the app doesn't need to create new threads, write to the file system, or use Java classes outside of the JRE class whitelist.
Read this authenticated review
No photo available
October 09, 2015

Google App Engine Review: "Good App Engine (GAE)"

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
The Google App Engine solution is helping an entirely new category of applications that process data in real-time and at scale very robustly. It has faster, easier, more detailed simulations and solutions for all cloud related requirements. We use Google App Engine to develop and deploy both internal and public web applications. The APIs for accessing the datastore are very easy to use.
  • The APIs for accessing the datastore are very easy to use.
  • Implementing text indexing and search related applications perform better on Google App Engine compared to other app engines.
  • Reliable NoSQL datastore, including atomic transactions and a query engine.
  • Developers have read-only access to the filesystem on Google App Engine.
  • Google App Engine limits the maximum rows returned from an entity get to 1000 rows per Datastore call.
  • Not suitable for CPU intensive calculations.
Google App Engine's infrastructure removes many of the system administration and development challenges of building applications to scale to millions of hits. Google handles deploying code to a cluster, monitoring, failover, and launching application instances as necessary.
Read this authenticated review
No photo available
March 18, 2015

Review: "Google App Engine: The powerful, predictable, pay-as-you-go Platform-As-A-Service"

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Reseller
Review Source
App Engine allows organizations to leverage the Google Apps APIs and get easy access to some functionality that is not available the standard Google Apps users. For example, the ability to maintain your user's meta data, such as their business title, department, work address, work phone number, cell phone number etc. These are not available in the Google Apps Control Panel, but with some coding on Google App Engine, you can create the interface that allows users to self-manage their own meta data. This just one example of leveraging Google App Engine to complement a Google Apps rollout.
  • Building an application that uses Google's Authentication, means users no longer need to remember an different user id and password. Once they are logged into to Google, they can seamlessly access your application hosted on Google App Engine.
  • Google App Engine automatically scales up and down. SO if your application receives a spike in user traffic, App Engine automatically launches additional instances of your application to cater for the increased traffic. Once App Engine detects that the spike is usage is over, it automatically scales down to handle the current traffic.
  • Google App Engine can be easily integrated with Google Cloud SQL, Google Compute Engine, Google Cloud Storage etc, so that you can build out a full application using one or more of Google's Cloud Platform products.
  • There is a slight learning curve to getting used to code on Google App Engine.
  • Google Cloud Datastore is Google's NoSQL database in the cloud that your applications can use. NoSQL databases, by design, cannot give handle complex queries on the data. This means that sometimes you need to think carefully about your data structures - so that you can get the results you need in your code.
  • Setting up billing is a little annoying. It does not seem to save billing information to your account so you can re-use the same information across different Cloud projects. Each project requires you to re-enter all your billing information (if required)
App Engine is well suited for most web applications, especially when you are unsure about the amount of traffic you are expecting to have. Knowing that App Engine will scale up and down automatically gives you a peace of mind that your application will not crash if demand suddenly increases! And you don't need to worry about paying for a high end solution with redundancy and load balancing built in - as App Engine handles all of that - and you only pay for the resources you actually use.
Read this authenticated review

Feature Scorecard Summary

Ease of building user interfaces (6)
7.4
Scalability (17)
9.7
Platform management overhead (17)
8.7
Workflow engine capability (11)
8.4
Platform access control (16)
8.4
Services-enabled integration (14)
8.4
Development environment creation (14)
8.8
Development environment replication (14)
8.8
Issue monitoring and notification (14)
8.1
Issue recovery (13)
6.6
Upgrades and platform fixes (15)
8.1

About Google App Engine

Google's platform-as-a-service offering.

Google App Engine Integrations

Google App Engine Competitors

Pricing

Does not have featureFree Trial Available?No
Has featureFree or Freemium Version Available?Yes
Does not have featurePremium Consulting/Integration Services Available?No
Entry-level set up fee?No

Google App Engine Technical Details

Operating Systems: Unspecified
Mobile Application:No