Oracle Dyn Managed DNS Reviews

197 Ratings
<a href='https://www.trustradius.com/static/about-trustradius-scoring' target='_blank' rel='nofollow noopener noreferrer'>trScore algorithm: Learn more.</a>
Score 8.4 out of 100

Do you work for this company? Manage this listing

Overall Rating

Reviewer's Company Size

Last Updated

By Topic

Industry

Department

Experience

Job Type

Role

Reviews (1-25 of 103)

Dhruvan Tanna | TrustRadius Reviewer
June 19, 2019

A play with Oracle's Dyn managed DNS

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Oracle managed DNS has been the most vital part of the engineering process of our cloud product. It is being used by our organization's cloud department. It addresses the domains of all our customers which is in a way directly affecting the customer.
  • Faster DNS provisioning
  • Rapid DNS Change propagation
  • Highly available
  • REST APIs available which makes it easy to use
  • Dyn UI was a bit heavy to use. Improvement in UI will make the product seamless.
  • Sometimes there are errors while updating the Dyn from REST APIs, so improving it will add a plus point to the product.
  • Traversing between pages of Dynects was difficult from the UI.
Oracle managed DNS becomes very heavy when there is an ample amount of DNS being managed. However, the DNS creation and updating takes very less time to propagate and is very easy to use. So, for an organization, where there is a modest amount of DNS to manage, it works very well and gives a splendid experience. So, considering the complexity of managing the DNS for an IT company Oracle Dyn managed DNS is the best option to opt.
Read Dhruvan Tanna's full review
Rich Sigmund | TrustRadius Reviewer
May 09, 2019

Can always be better, but an amazingly secure, resiliant and configurable service.

Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use dyn DNS as our primary external DNS hosted service.
  • Fault tolerance of DNS records
  • Fault tolerance of DNS names. We can fail over our services to another server almost instantly.
  • I would like to share the DNS namespace with our internal DNS servers. This is a difficult configuration to maintain.
External DNS zones are particularly suited for this product and the failover features and uptime are great.
Read Rich Sigmund's full review
Jennifer Ly | TrustRadius Reviewer
April 29, 2019

Oracle Dyn Managed DNS is Awesome

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use Oracle Dyn Managed DNS for our public facing enterprise websites. It is being used only by our department. We also use it for switchover between our primary and secondary data center in the event of failure.
  • Oracle Dyn Managed DNS's GUI is very user-friendly.
  • The configuration is also very easy.
  • I would like to see a GUI Dashboard where Dyn shows all of the DNS traffics.
Oracle Dyn Managed DNS is well suited for a company that would like to utilize active failover between datacenters.
Read Jennifer Ly's full review
ONeal Taylor | TrustRadius Reviewer
April 17, 2019

So far so good

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use this product to manage all of the organizations DNS services. Although our organization's domains are registered through other 3rd party providers they are mostly configured to point to Dynect for their name servers (DN records). This is used across the entire organizations as well as all of our external partners.
  • Ease of changing records.
  • Review of packages and offerings.
With the fact that our name server records reside on 3rd party providers, we can quickly make changes and they are live.
Read ONeal Taylor's full review
Jim Bowers | TrustRadius Reviewer
April 08, 2019

Dyn knocks it out of the park every time

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We have been using Dyn Managed DNS to manage our external facing server pool and web farm. It makes the management of DNS so much easier and performs accurate zone transfers to our external facing DNS servers. Our decision to switch to Dyn Managed DNS has saved me so much time to make it worth the investment.
  • Performs frequent and reliable zone transfers to my external facing name servers
  • Allows me to review my changes before sending it out for world wide replication
  • Some parts of the UI were a little confusing but after working with it for a short time I have become very familiar with the interface
  • A way to customize reports tailored to my needs would be helpful
Makes DNS management very easy and fast - saving my employer a lot of money in my time.
Read Jim Bowers's full review
Michael Patti | TrustRadius Reviewer
March 29, 2019

Oracle Dyn DNS Review

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use Dyn to manage the DNS for most of our larger organizations. We eventually plan to move all our DNS into Dyn.
  • Excellent site up-time
  • Ease of configuration
  • Robust reporting
  • The DNS admin interface is a bit out-dated
  • Reporting display could be improved
Well suited to organizations who manage DNS for hundreds of clients, and who need secure, high-performing DNS management beyond what domain registrars can provide.
Read Michael Patti's full review
Patrick Wakeem | TrustRadius Reviewer
March 29, 2019

Review from a Software Engineer

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use Oracle Dyn Managed DNS to support our extensive and world-wide auto scaling environment. We needed a flexible and API driven DNS tool and Oracle Dyn Managed DNS fit the bill perfectly.
  • Strong API support
  • Easy to use
  • Helpful software libraries
  • DNS changes are propagated quickly
  • UI is a little dated
  • UI is sometimes hard to understand
Use Oracle Dyn Managed DNS if you want a strong API driven DNS provider. You should use it if you have a large environment and need quick DNS updates to support auto scaling or cloud workloads.
Read Patrick Wakeem's full review
Ed Bourdon | TrustRadius Reviewer
March 20, 2019

Fantastic DNS management service for beginners and advanced users!

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use Oracle Dyn Managed DNS across our organization to help manage not only our DNS but also the DNS and a few other DNS related services for most of our clients. It's great having a central location for all management, not to mention an interface that is easy for new users as well as advanced options for power users.
  • Central Management
  • GUI works for beginners or power users
  • Ability to easily adjust settings per domain
  • Support was quick to respond the few times I've reached out to them
  • Historical configurations easily accessible
  • I can't really think of anything that stands out as a con.
Companies that are frequently needing to update DNS and/or have propagation occur quickly are well suited here. The ability to drop TTLs to 30 seconds makes migrations (and reverting) easy. DNS Active Failover is a great alternative for those that need high availability but don't want to sink lots of money into other technologies.

Read Ed Bourdon's full review
Jeremy Baucom | TrustRadius Reviewer
March 19, 2019

What can Dyn DNS do for you?

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
My company uses DynDNS to maintain a list of cloud targets that we provide to our customers. Using Dyn and the Dyn API allows us to easily create and manage records using automated processes saving us time and money by not having to manage and maintain our own DNS infrastructure.
  • The DYN API is fast and flexible allowing for additions, deletions, and changes to all be handled through automated processes.
  • The flexibility with the types of records and the ease of use provided by the API and UI make adding and changing records a breeze.
  • The customer portal is intuitive and very easy to navigate. Finding and managing records is very easy.
  • The WebUI is flash based and when you have a large number of records the UI can be very slow to respond.
  • When making changes sometimes it is easy to miss the notification that you haven't published the changes. It would be nice to have a more obvious prompt/reminder to publish the changes.
If you have several domains with a bunch of different records or just a large number of records to manage, DYN is a great solution.
Read Jeremy Baucom's full review
Jim Bodine | TrustRadius Reviewer
March 12, 2019

Great product/service, but watch out for the sneaky/hidden 60day notice contract cancellation policy

Score 1 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We were using it to provide custom reliable custom DNS servers to our customer base.
  • DNS query/resolution time
  • CNAME at the root domain level via alias
  • Uptime and reliability
  • Sneaky contracts with buried 60-day cancellation policies only found in links to websites.
We have been quite happy with DYN as a service for years. However, we recently moved to Cloudflare for DDOS protection, which also involved moving our DNS to Cloudflare. We went to give DYN a heads up and found out that there was a 60-day cancellation policy only found by clicking on a link in the contract that took you to a website. Even though we called to let them know 45 days in advance, we were stuck for another year. Working with their sales team we found no acceptable way out and went from being a very happy customer to one that would never recommend them again.
Read Jim Bodine's full review
Louis Luciano | TrustRadius Reviewer
February 22, 2019

Dyn DNS Traffic Director Review and Rating

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
It is used by our customers for failover URLs when the primary IP address within fails a health check.
  • We migrated this customer away from a competitor's product knowing the features and available configurations would be more feature-rich.
  • We have not had any of the issues we saw with GSS.
  • Deploying and managing Dyn Traffic Director configurations is intuitive and easy.
  • Dyn Traffic Director configurations allow us to put in place all our needed customer options.
  • When selecting zones to associate to a Traffic Director configuration, it can take a long period of time for them to load.
  • Slow loading interface at times.
  • Slow searches at times.
It is best used to load-balance DNS configurations based on health checks.
Read Louis Luciano's full review
Franco Ortizz | TrustRadius Reviewer
February 22, 2019

Fantastic product for multiple domains

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use it to manage all our external DNS traffic. This is used for several domains we own and we need to constantly keep it updated as our configurations change or new configurations need to be implemented.
  • Makes it very easy to manage our external DNS records.
  • Great explanation on how to configure things if you're not sure.
  • Tech support is a click away and it's very easy to get answers to questions or problems you are facing.
  • Would be nice if I could reset my 2FA myself rather then calling into support, but I understand why it is set up how it is.
  • Other than that I do not really have anything else I can think of as I have had no issues.
Dyn just works and I have had no problems configuring it or getting the help I need when I need it. Everyone in my company that uses it seems to be happy with it.
Read Franco Ortizz's full review
Johnny Correll | TrustRadius Reviewer
February 15, 2019

Oracle Dyn Managed DNS is a rock-solid, easy-to-use, reliable service!

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use Oracle Dyn Managed DNS to host all of The City of Virginia Beach's DNS domains/records. We have several domains that support many different departments and businesses, and we can manage all of them from one central location.
  • It uses multi-factor authentication and ensures us that the management of our DNS is secure.
  • The interface is easy to use and navigate around, which makes administration less of a headache.
  • I've found that when we needed documentation, it was easy to find and very helpful.
  • Making changes is easy, but has its safeguards in place to avoid making mistakes. Changes always appear to be updated promptly as well.
  • The interface is easy to use, but it looks outdated.
  • Bulk updates are difficult due to way you have to make updates in the interface.
  • When a record is created, it will show a TTL of "default" but you have to research what that actual default value is. I'd prefer it displayed the actual value
It works well for businesses who need to manage multiple domains and lots of DNS records.
Read Johnny Correll's full review
Manan Bhatt | TrustRadius Reviewer
February 08, 2019

"Great for domain creation"

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
It is being used across the organization on a POC basis. Currently, we don't use it for addressing any critical business problem.
  • It does detect the ISP change really fast.
  • Record change is very fast, usually within 15 seconds.
  • User interface is very easy to use.
  • Can't detect with an ISP that is having packet issues, so the firm thinks it should be failing over and yells at us, but really the ISP hasn't gone down so it wouldn't flip over. It would be nice if it had a way to set packet loss % before it would switch.
It is used in our department to facilitate access to our customers' firewalls and routers using DDNS instead of requiring a static IP from the ISP. It gives us an excellent centralized location for DNS configuration and allows us to quickly and efficiently update, add, or delete locations as necessary.
Read Manan Bhatt's full review
Prasad Wani | TrustRadius Reviewer
May 14, 2019

Oracle Dyn Managed DNS Rocks...

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We are using Oracle Dyn Managed DNS to host all of our domains across the organization. With Dyn DNS it is very responsive and the population of DNS across the globe is immediate. So during DNS publish we never waited for more than 30 min.
  • User Management is easy
  • I can give the Role base Access to DNS
  • The failover Functionality of DNS works very well.
  • We didn't find any cons yet as there as whatever we are looking for and using is already there in Dyn Managed DNS
If anyone looking for DNS hosting with quick response time will surely suggest the Oracle Dyn Managed DNS. User management is one of the best features which we used to give Role base access to DNS.
Read Prasad Wani's full review
daniel harty | TrustRadius Reviewer
April 26, 2019

Great service and cost effective

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use Dyn for all of our DNS needs for production locales.
  • They have great customer support
  • Keep me informed of changes
  • Always reach out to me when new features are available
  • The interface could use an upgrade, there are always places this could be done
They are well suited for DNS services and management, also well suited for protective services. I really don't have any complaints.
Read daniel harty's full review
Joseph Kluthe | TrustRadius Reviewer
December 28, 2018

Oracle Review.

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
It is used in our department to facilitate access to our customers' firewalls and routers using DDNS instead of requiring a static IP from the ISP. It gives us an excellent centralized location for DNS configuration and allows us to quickly and efficiently update, add, or delete locations as necessary.
  • It is extremely easy to update.
  • The search options in the node finder are clunky and cumbersome, requiring an exact match to find a node.
It is an excellent platform for managing a large number of sites over a large number of zones. Probably less appropriate for a smaller enterprise space.
Read Joseph Kluthe's full review
Haim Ari | TrustRadius Reviewer
December 10, 2018

About 5 years in production with Dyn DNS.

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use Dyn to distribute traffic across multiple data-centers and to failover automatically between them.
  • Traffic director works well when shifting traffic to different Data-centers according to end user source IP.
  • Active failover provides an easy way to failover between dc when specific health check fails.
  • DNS records updates are published fast.
  • API - working with DSF ID is not fun.
  • Python SDK is not complete, and updating an existing record should be done with less code.
For quick setup of multiple data centers as your service "origins". It is easy to direct users to the closest location of your servers using traffic director and always keep the service up using using active failover.
Read Haim Ari's full review
Fil Baumanis | TrustRadius Reviewer
December 08, 2018

Good Dynough

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use it for the Global Traffic Director feature. It has a good level of reliability and support at the correct price point for us.
  • Direct line to knowledgeable support. Calling in with any issue we have always encountered intelligent and knowledgeable support personnel.
  • Datadog integration is a nice plus.
  • Simple option management for global TD response pool failovers lets us do regional maintenance without worries.
  • The website interface is archaic.
  • The split brain between DynID, contacts and users will leave you scratching your head.
Solid geoLB, better support and less worry than Route53.
Read Fil Baumanis's full review
Matt Wilson | TrustRadius Reviewer
December 08, 2018

Reduce cost, improve reliability, add tools to manage DNS

Score 3 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use Dyn as our external DNS provider. It is being administered by my team and the systems engineering team, for all of WebMD's domains. It provides a centralized method to manage a thousand DNS domains.
  • The audit capability and managing entries through the Web interface is easy to use.
  • The API is well documented and easy to use.
  • The canned reports work well.
  • The pricing is too expensive.
  • Getting custom reports is difficult.
  • The load balancing isn't good - we tried it and didn't like it. We don't need now though as we're using our cloud provider.
  • It's fine for standalone DNS, but as CDNs and cloud providers provide DNS functionality, it's difficult to justify a DNS only provider.
The management interface works well, so if there are many domains to manage, using the API as well as the interface work well.
Read Matt Wilson's full review
Craig Domanski | TrustRadius Reviewer
March 26, 2019

Why I love Oracle Dyn Managed DNS!

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use Managed DNS for our primary public DNS for 4 domains. Our entire organization, which spans across Canada, relies on the service.
  • Very easy user interface to manage DNS.
  • Reliable. We have never had any downtime ever.
  • DNS records are updated and propagated very fast.
  • We have been Oracle customers for 25 years before Dyn. It is very encouraging now that Oracle is part of Dyn.
  • Some more help on newer technologies like DMARC, and specific TXT records that are not common.
It is very affordable for a reliable product.
Read Craig Domanski's full review
Christian Jensen | TrustRadius Reviewer
March 20, 2019

Bletcherous User Interface

Score 1 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use it for our DNS of the site and related services.
  • Stays running
  • reliable
  • The user interface is abysmal. I am shocked that it has been alive this long and is so terrible. Ghastly and bletcherous.
  • The whole user flow
  • logins and user management
  • audit logs
I would recommend Dyn only if every other option was off the table.
Read Christian Jensen's full review
Carlos Galassi | TrustRadius Reviewer
March 08, 2019

Great UI experience

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use Oracle Dyn Managed DNS to manage the DNS entries for our websites, CDNs, etc.
  • Very friendly interface.
  • Reliable tool, we never had any issues.
  • Great performance and speed.
  • Sometimes it's a little bit slow to navigate because we have to wait for the lists of DNS entries to load on the left menu.
Any environment which uses multiple DNS entries/domains, like our industry, can benefit from using Oracle Dyn Managed DNS services.
Read Carlos Galassi's full review
Gary Griffith | TrustRadius Reviewer
February 13, 2019

Dyn DNS does DNS the right way

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Dyn DNS allows us to automate (via the API) creation and management of all types of DNS records and with their scalable infrastructure, we never become unreachable due to DNS.
  • Great API to work with.
  • Would be great to integrate with Route 53.
Dyn works great for us to do high volume, low latency, low TTL DNS queries.
Read Gary Griffith's full review
Jay Martinez | TrustRadius Reviewer
February 11, 2019

Over Delivering Promises - ODM DNS

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Oracle Dyn Managed DNS (ODM DNS) is our main public DNS provider. We use it for traffic director for load balancing and high availability. It is a very robust solution and it guarantees the promise. I have worked with other providers in the past and my experience dictates that ODM DNS, so far, is the most reliable.
  • Traffic Director.
  • Replication and Propagation.
  • Administration.
  • New features are sometimes not intuitive.
  • Support is not friendly for beginners (I have experienced this with one of my Engineers showing frustration).
  • More reporting angles of analytics.
Great for medium to large businesses, could be very intimidating for SMBs.
Read Jay Martinez's full review

About Oracle Dyn Managed DNS

Oracle Dyn provides managed DNS for large web properties. The vendor says it offers one of the largest, fastest, and most resilient DNS networks in the world. The product serves more than 3,500 enterprises.

The vendor promises the following key differentiators:

1. Performance: For modern sites and applications, DNS resolution can account for up to 30% of site load time. The vendor says they respond to DNS queries in less than 30 milliseconds worldwide and propagate DNS records globally in under a minute. The vendor also says that analysis shows that Dyn’s DNS network performance is up to 10 times more consistent than competing networks.

2. Scale: Every day, Oracle Dyn intelligently routes user traffic using internet performance data from over 600 collection points, analyzes over 240 billion source collected data points, and makes 40 billion traffic optimization decisions ensuring customers improve user experiences and contain costs. Oracle Dyn delivers intelligent responses to DNS queries based on policies, geo-location and network latency.

Capabilities include:

  • Managed DNS service for ensuring superior DNS performance and availability across the globe
  • Traffic Steering solutions for optimizing the responsiveness and reliability of web-based applications and services
  • Secondary DNS solution for extending the resiliency of your existing DNS infrastructure.
  • All backed by full-time DNS experts and 24x7x365 technical support.
Categories:  Managed DNS

Oracle Dyn Managed DNS Features

Has featureIndustry-leading DNS response times worldwide (<30ms)
Has featureIndustry-leading DNS propagation times (<30s)
Has featureHundreds of sensors collecting 240 billion data elements daily
Has featureHighly resilient network with four tier-1 transit providers per PoP
Has featureBattle-proven DDoS mitigated expertise built in at no extra cost
Has featureContinuously improving geolocation accuracy
Has featureSecondary/Multi DNS support
Has featureEndpoint failover support based on availability
Has featureGlobal endpoint loadbalancing support
Has featureFully vendor agnostic support for all CDNs, Public Cloud and Data Center technologies

Oracle Dyn Managed DNS Customer Size Distribution

Consumers
0%
Small Businesses (1-50 employees)
10%
Mid-Size Companies (51-500 employees)
50%
Enterprises (> 500 employees)
40%

Oracle Dyn Managed DNS Technical Details

Deployment Types:SaaS
Operating Systems: Unspecified
Mobile Application:No
Supported Countries:Global support including in-country China