TrustRadius
Oracle Dyn DNS (domain name system) is an infrastructure-as-a-service that is touted by Oracle Dyne as one of the highest performance global networks existent. It is available as a managed DNS with secondary DNS available for more reliable business continuity on higher service tiers.Great Product!Dyn Managed DNS is being used with one of our law firms we manage the IT for. It detects when one ISP goes down and to update the terminal server FQDN and exchange server FQDN so email and remote access can come back up within a short period of time on the second ISP. This was set up with the former MSP, so we got introduced to it through hand-off of the service. We like it and are looking into using it with other clients.,It does detect the ISP change really fast. Record change is very fast, usually within 15 seconds. User interface is very easy to use.,Can't detect with an ISP that is having packet issues, so the firm thinks it should be failing over and yells at us, but really the ISP hasn't gone down so it wouldn't flip over. It would be nice if it had a way to set packet loss % before it would switch.,10,For the law firm its being used for, it keeps their remote users working. For law firms, time is money, usually every 15 minutes lost can be a big deal to them. Sometimes it has switched when its not supposed to, and causes downtime. No real way to inform users when the switch is happening, it would be great to have an email alert we can not only send to ourselves but a notification to primary and technical partners in the firm so they don't have to yell at us like something is broken, instead they are aware it had to change.,The only real importance is keeping the email exchange server running.,10,10,Usually about a 15 second to 3 minutes down time. The only issue we have had is when the ISP might be going up and down over and over in the right time frame that makes DYN DNS switch back and forth. This has caused more interruptions than it should have. But this to me is more about custom settings we need to review deeper, as the original settings were done by the former MSP.About 5 years in production with Dyn DNS.We use Dyn to distribute traffic across multiple data-centers and to failover automatically between them.,Traffic director works well when shifting traffic to different Data-centers according to end user source IP. Active failover provides an easy way to failover between dc when specific health check fails. DNS records updates are published fast.,API - working with DSF ID is not fun. Python SDK is not complete, and updating an existing record should be done with less code.,9,When we started using AutoScale Groups in AWS, we utilized Dyn API so that each new launched instances created it's own ID and remove it when it terminates. ActiveFailover allows us to quickly migrate all users to DR site in case it's down very fast. Speed is important and in this case Dyn does the job pretty well.,NS1,7,8,After a few years of usage I would say that the best "feature" of Dyn is: availability.Good DynoughWe use it for the Global Traffic Director feature. It has a good level of reliability and support at the correct price point for us.,Direct line to knowledgeable support. Calling in with any issue we have always encountered intelligent and knowledgeable support personnel. Datadog integration is a nice plus. Simple option management for global TD response pool failovers lets us do regional maintenance without worries.,The website interface is archaic. The split brain between DynID, contacts and users will leave you scratching your head.,8,Good: Reliable low latency geo balanced DNS. Bad: Contract renewal rules with Oracle are peculiar. Keep your contract start date in mind when renewing/changing services.,Amazon Route 53 and Neustar UltraDNS,9,6,Availability has been good other than that one time ;)Reduce cost, improve reliability, add tools to manage DNSWe use Dyn as our external DNS provider. It is being administered by my team and the systems engineering team, for all of WebMD's domains. It provides a centralized method to manage a thousand DNS domains.,The audit capability and managing entries through the Web interface is easy to use. The API is well documented and easy to use. The canned reports work well.,The pricing is too expensive. Getting custom reports is difficult. The load balancing isn't good - we tried it and didn't like it. We don't need now though as we're using our cloud provider. It's fine for standalone DNS, but as CDNs and cloud providers provide DNS functionality, it's difficult to justify a DNS only provider.,3,Negative impact for DNS as it's too expensive, I'm looking at different providers. Other CDNs and services like Cloudflare have good DNS interfaces as well as APIs. Cloudflare has a terraform provider now, which is great.,CloudFlare and Akamai,It's not that important.,2,9,There are better providers out there for resiliency. Dyn had a major incident awhile ago where we were forced to switch primary DNS to another provider.Is DYN for me?We use Traffic Director to do our regional based load balancing.,Easy to use interface for traffic director Fantastic uptime Flexibility in shaping failover rules,Website design is not intuitive More flexibility on health check endpoints Responsiveness of website,8,We moved from latency based load balancing to regional load balancing using traffic director and it's been a very good solution for our company We had some negative impact due to our understanding of now the regional probes worked to determine heath of a given region Dyn has been a stable provider for our business for many years.,Amazon Route 53,Being vendor agnostic is important to use since our industry is ever evolving which let's us constantly determine which set of vendors is best for us.,7,7,I've very pleased with the performance and reliability of the product.
Unspecified
Oracle Dyn Managed DNS
111 Ratings
Score 8.3 out of 101
<a href='https://www.trustradius.com/static/about-trustradius-scoring' target='_blank' rel='nofollow'>trScore algorithm: Learn more.</a>TRScore

Oracle Dyn Managed DNS Reviews<a href='https://www.trustradius.com/static/about-trustradius-scoring#question3' target='_blank' rel='nofollow'>Customer Verified: Read more.</a>

Oracle Dyn Managed DNS
111 Ratings
<a href='https://www.trustradius.com/static/about-trustradius-scoring' target='_blank' rel='nofollow'>trScore algorithm: Learn more.</a>
Score 8.3 out of 101
Show Filters 
Hide Filters 
Filter 111 vetted Oracle Dyn Managed DNS reviews and ratings
Clear all filters
Overall Rating
Reviewer's Company Size
Last Updated
By Topic
Industry
Department
Experience
Job Type
Role
Reviews (1-25 of 53)
  Vendors can't alter or remove reviews. Here's why.
William Burnette profile photo
September 21, 2018

Oracle Dyn Managed DNS Review: "Great Product!"

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Dyn Managed DNS is being used with one of our law firms we manage the IT for. It detects when one ISP goes down and to update the terminal server FQDN and exchange server FQDN so email and remote access can come back up within a short period of time on the second ISP. This was set up with the former MSP, so we got introduced to it through hand-off of the service. We like it and are looking into using it with other clients.
  • It does detect the ISP change really fast.
  • Record change is very fast, usually within 15 seconds.
  • User interface is very easy to use.
  • Can't detect with an ISP that is having packet issues, so the firm thinks it should be failing over and yells at us, but really the ISP hasn't gone down so it wouldn't flip over. It would be nice if it had a way to set packet loss % before it would switch.
It's great for any FQDN DNS records to be changed to a backup ISP. Can't really think of anything else it's good for as I haven't really dug beyond what settings we currently have access too right now.
Read William Burnette's full review
Haim Ari profile photo
December 10, 2018

Oracle Dyn Managed DNS Review: "About 5 years in production with Dyn DNS."

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use Dyn to distribute traffic across multiple data-centers and to failover automatically between them.
  • Traffic director works well when shifting traffic to different Data-centers according to end user source IP.
  • Active failover provides an easy way to failover between dc when specific health check fails.
  • DNS records updates are published fast.
  • API - working with DSF ID is not fun.
  • Python SDK is not complete, and updating an existing record should be done with less code.
For quick setup of multiple data centers as your service "origins". It is easy to direct users to the closest location of your servers using traffic director and always keep the service up using using active failover.
Read Haim Ari's full review
Fil Baumanis profile photo
December 08, 2018

Oracle Dyn Managed DNS Review: "Good Dynough"

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use it for the Global Traffic Director feature. It has a good level of reliability and support at the correct price point for us.
  • Direct line to knowledgeable support. Calling in with any issue we have always encountered intelligent and knowledgeable support personnel.
  • Datadog integration is a nice plus.
  • Simple option management for global TD response pool failovers lets us do regional maintenance without worries.
  • The website interface is archaic.
  • The split brain between DynID, contacts and users will leave you scratching your head.
Solid geoLB, better support and less worry than Route53.
Read Fil Baumanis's full review
Matt Wilson profile photo
December 08, 2018

Oracle Dyn Managed DNS Review: "Reduce cost, improve reliability, add tools to manage DNS"

Score 3 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use Dyn as our external DNS provider. It is being administered by my team and the systems engineering team, for all of WebMD's domains. It provides a centralized method to manage a thousand DNS domains.
  • The audit capability and managing entries through the Web interface is easy to use.
  • The API is well documented and easy to use.
  • The canned reports work well.
  • The pricing is too expensive.
  • Getting custom reports is difficult.
  • The load balancing isn't good - we tried it and didn't like it. We don't need now though as we're using our cloud provider.
  • It's fine for standalone DNS, but as CDNs and cloud providers provide DNS functionality, it's difficult to justify a DNS only provider.
The management interface works well, so if there are many domains to manage, using the API as well as the interface work well.
Read Matt Wilson's full review
Austin Montgomery profile photo
November 16, 2018

Oracle Dyn Managed DNS Review: "Is DYN for me?"

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use Traffic Director to do our regional based load balancing.
  • Easy to use interface for traffic director
  • Fantastic uptime
  • Flexibility in shaping failover rules
  • Website design is not intuitive
  • More flexibility on health check endpoints
  • Responsiveness of website
It fits the bill for load balancing and DNS management. I'm not sure if it would be the best solution if you wanted to add custom code to assist in the routing of traffic.
Read Austin Montgomery's full review
Jason O'Brien profile photo
July 12, 2018

Oracle Dyn Managed DNS: "Migrated from basic DNS service to Managed DNS product."

Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We switched to Managed DNS from the basic DNS product in order to gain access to the automatic monitors and failover of our critical systems. While the monitoring isn't particularly advanced (really just up/down) it is very effective and even fails over (and back again) during very brief server reboots.

The rest of the product isn't that different from a basic DNS provider and works adequately.
  • DNS Active Failover is fast and easy to set up.
  • Basic DNS settings are easy to view and change.
  • Dyn now has multiple control panels for its various products and services. It's not always easy to find what you are looking for.
  • Switching to the Managed DNS product from the simple one was advertised as an instant changeover, but it didn't work that way for us. Months later we were still being charged for the basic service and our domain was still showing up in the old system.
Managed DNS is great for a small to medium sized business looking for reasonably priced DNS services that offer a decent amount of features. It offers quite a bit more than your average registrar.
Read Jason O'Brien's full review
Peter Kapas Jr. profile photo
October 24, 2018

Oracle Dyn Managed DNS Review: "Easy to Use, and a great central location to manage all your Domains DNS needs."

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We primarily use it for managing our DNS for numerous domains, especially for our services that we run out of our Datacenter. It's used by the IT Department to provide availability to our services worldwide. It addresses our need to be able to update DNS records on the fly while knowing that the changes will happen almost instantaneously.
  • Easy to manage DNS records across multiple domains.
  • The updates are very quick and are usually available within seconds.
  • We have added features for DNS resolution that other DNS providers don't provide.
  • It would be nice to quickly filter content by IP ranges, rather than have to click through many domains. It would make ISP changes easier.
It's very suited for large corporations that need to have their services available instantly with minimal number of clicks. We find it especially perfect when it comes to updating records when one of our ISPs has a planned maintenance and we need to transition services from one IP to another. The tool might not be useful for small businesses that cannot afford it.
Read Peter Kapas Jr.'s full review
Timothy Smith profile photo
October 19, 2018

Oracle Dyn Managed DNS Review: "Great for domain creation."

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Oracle is mainly used by our new accounts department in setting up email accounts for in coming customers. Our system needs to be able to sort through email replies and then distribute them to the correct sale person. Oracle allows us to quickly and accurately create domains for that purpose. We host thousands of email domains through Oracle.
  • Our company uses Oracle to host client email accounts and Oracle fulfills that need flawlessly.
  • We have never had any issues with accounts randomly going down.
  • We can easily sort through and edit the domains we have created.
  • Some portions of the process of creating the domains tend to take longer to load than I would like but not so much that it's a problem.
  • After creating thousands of domains the list becomes rather unwieldy.
  • The process of creating domains isn't very intuitive.
As stated before, we only use Oracle to create email domains.For that purpose it does exactly what we need. While no system is perfect, Oracle is able to deliver on everything we need without any glaring issues to get in the way. I would recommend Oracle to anyone looking to host a large number of email domains.
Read Timothy Smith's full review
Diane Martin profile photo
October 17, 2018

Oracle Dyn Managed DNS Review: "A Decade of great DNS service"

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We have 20+ domains that DYN does DNS for, and mainly for our 4 high volume properties. I have pingdom monitoring the DYN dns response on 3 of the properties and I think this year, and only once, for 30 seconds they had a little hiccup. I think that is in the 99.999% uptime range? We are 100% inside Amazon AWS cloud and we sometimes need to move properties between services (ec2--> Cloudfront,etc.) DYN has been good for me, helping me get DNS changes done rapidly and easily.
  • For DNS modifications they have multiple user interfaces, some are better for little changes, others ideal for bulk modifications
  • Outside of the Ddos of Oct, 2016 (took out 1/3rd of the net in North America?), I've had zero problems with Dyn.
  • Low overhead, no bother.
  • There is a feature I've read about (DNS "alias", separate from cnames) I had considered using, but did not actually need. It looks like DYN has some level of support for that,but I might have to read the online help to find out how.
  • I'm not sure where the problem is, but sometimes when using DNS based verification of ownership in Google search console, it fails. only 1/3rd of the time,but I think that is a Google thing.
Dyn seems to be tops in reliability and speed. They have an email delivery service we have used in the past. It mainly worked, but it (like most all bulk email things, I've used) was a bit of a hassle. Email delivery can just be problematic that way.
Read Diane Martin's full review
Robert Fazio profile photo
September 27, 2018

Oracle Dyn Managed DNS Review: "When you tire of managing your own DNS, look this way."

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Prior to using Oracle Dyn Managed DNS we published our external DNS records from our own servers. Although this worked well, we were responsible for maintaining and patching those servers. Security was the driving force that lead to deciding on a managed DNS site. The security and scalability of Oracle Dyn made the decision pretty easy. The interface makes it very clear what you are doing and gives you ample opportunity to back out before you push unexpected changes.
  • Provides you opportunity to review before publishing.
  • UI is very straight forward.
  • A records are obvious in the UI, but it wasn't as clear when creating SRV and other less common record types. To be honest, I think straight text files are simpler, but they do make mistakes harder.
If you have the size and the staff, you are probably already managing your own DNS. However, if you have limited staff or have limited resources to dedicate to handling DNS requests, this is the perfect solution. We don't make a lot of changes, but we expect that in a fairly short period of time we will need to ramp up the number of requests handled quickly. Oracle will make this easy.
Read Robert Fazio's full review
Victor Shu profile photo
September 20, 2018

Oracle Dyn Managed DNS: "A Quick Review on Dyn Managed DNS"

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Oracle Dyn Managed DNS is used for external facing service endpoints. It's a cloud-based service that's simple to setup and manage. It supports sufficient level of automation. It publishes all external facing DNS information and it's used across the whole organization. It makes our services available to our customers on the internet. It provides a reliable DNS lookup service that can scale and perform.
  • It's easy to add or modify DNS records.
  • It has an API that support sufficient level of automation.
  • It has adequate intelligence to manage traffic.
  • RESTFUL API can be expanded to support scripting and automation.
  • More pre-built objects and functions in SDK to faster development.
  • Pre-built integration points with web applications.
Oracle Dyn Managed DNS is a good fit for moderate sized web sites. It's easy to setup and manage. Web application companies can quickly deploy and publish their applications on the internet. It supports remote management and various integration points. As it's a cloud-based DNS service, it's mostly suitable for external facing service endpoints. It would require more work when deployed for internal DNS service.
Read Victor Shu's full review
Cyril Coqueugniot profile photo
September 17, 2018

Oracle Dyn Managed DNS Review: "Oracle Dyn, what else ?!"

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We learned the hard way, a few years ago, that using a registrar DNS for production domain is a bad idea.
Since we moved to Oracle Dyn, everything is now much easier.
We moved all our production domains to Dyn and also the ones that required a bit more features like Full featured DNS, Geo localization.
The multi user capabilities makes it great for allowing multiple employees to handle the work.
  • Full Featured DNS.
  • Responsive Servers.
  • Intuitive UI/UX.
  • The handling of the nodes in the expert or simple view is sometimes confusing.
  • HTTP redirects are not easy to find.
  • The login with the DYNID within the company is a bit clunky.
  • Maybe provide an overview of how the DNS has been propagated.
  • Add a Registrar capability.
The tool is really simple to use. In general the interface is great and the server and the DNS propagation are really responsive.
For what I can tell, it doesn't handle the registrar.
I wish we could have a duplicated registrar in case it goes down.
Read Cyril Coqueugniot's full review
Brian Munn profile photo
August 29, 2018

Oracle Dyn Managed DNS Review: "Oracle Dyn DNS Management is secure, and is the best DNS service for any business looking for security and ease of use."

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We are using Oracle Dyn DNS Management throughout our entire organization. Prior to Dyn we had multiple operating units using any DNS management service they could find. We had some operating units running their own in-house DNS servers. There was no consistency and management across operating units was a nightmare. We have since all migrated our DNS servers over to DYN. This has made DNS management consistent across all our operating units. Great product.
  • The user interface is very easy to navigate and to be able to see all your DNS zones and records.
  • Changes do not go live until you have reviewed and published them. Great way to check if there are any errors
  • I am very happy with this product and do not have any issues with the service or think there is missing functionality.
I believe for any organization trying to get a handle on their DNS management DYN is a perfect fit. Easy to use UI and built in DNS distribution across multiple data centers provides protection in the event of a data center outage.
Read Brian Munn's full review
Klaus Lungwitz profile photo
December 17, 2018

Oracle Dyn Managed DNS Review: "Reliable and nice to use, can be better"

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use Dyn to manage our domains and subdomains in order to send mails and route our different sub-domains to our apps. It's currently operated by the infrastructure team only, developers don't have to worry about it with some exceptions.
  • Easy to navigate. You select a zone and there you have a tree containing all the sub-domains in that zone; sub-sub-domains are grouped with their sub-domain and you can expand them just clicking.
  • Not error prone. You make the changes and then you publish them, minimizing the risk of changing something for mistake.
  • Average HTTP API.
  • API calls (i.e. from terraform) sometimes fail under certain circumstances. The API is good but not flexible enough to have it all automatized.
  • UI is strange sometimes, for example, yesterday I was trying to change the TTL of a TXT record in our root domain and changing its TTL *sometimes* changed the TTL of all the TXT records under that domain (there were two), sometimes not. This was using the Simple Editor.
Read Klaus Lungwitz's full review
David Peng profile photo
August 23, 2018

Oracle Dyn Managed DNS Review: "Dyn handles all aspects"

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
DynDNS is used for our production level external DNS solution. We rely on DynDNS to handle all production load. DynDNS has many of the features required for various projects.
  • DynDNS has MFA
  • DynDNS also has API endpoints to integrate with command line tasks
  • DynDNS has reports to show domain usage
  • Reports could have more resolution, per domain.
The API endpoint helps us automate full site failover during our disaster recovery exercise.
Read David Peng's full review
Michael W. Moreo profile photo
August 17, 2018

Oracle Dyn Managed DNS Review: "Dyn DNS Products and Services are worth looking into..."

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Dyn Managed DNS is our public facing DNS provider. One key product we enjoy is the Active Failover Product.
  • The GUI interface is excellent
  • The call center is first class and able and eager to assist with DNS questions and strategies
  • The sales team is knowledgeable in their product offering
  • I don't see room [for improvement] at this time for the products and services I use. I'm very satisfied.
Dyn is a very customer oriented company. The products and services we use have served us well over the years and we are more than satisfied with the level of service we get from them.
Read Michael W. Moreo's full review
Jami Woodward profile photo
September 24, 2018

Oracle Dyn Managed DNS Review: "Always there for you"

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
It is used by one entity within our organization and it allows that entity to run multiple domains with one easy interface. The interface allows real-time changes to be made and we don't have to worry about other domains being affected by the changes. It is very self explanatory and other users in my organization can easily make changes while I am gone.
  • Easy to manage interface
  • Extremely fast public entry changes
  • Has all aspects of local DNS so it is easy to use
  • An easier to use failover service to switch between ISP addresses during an outage
  • Can switch between ISPs without user intervention when one subnet becomes unavailable
  • Changes are made quickly so no waiting on propagation.
Oracle Dyn Managed DNS would work for any scenario but ours was especially complicated with multiple domains that needed to be kept individual. This gave us easy management of all of the domains without affecting others. The interface kept them separate while allowing one user to view them all with one login.
Read Jami Woodward's full review
Bill Warwick profile photo
September 17, 2018

Oracle Dyn Managed DNS Review: "Dyn works great"

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Here at SOS we use Dyn DNS to manage our public DNS infrastructure. The system works great, haven't had any issues with it so far. We don't do much advanced configuration with the system.
  • Easy to use web interface.
  • Great documentation if help is needed.
  • Good security features such as 2FA.
  • No complaints at this time.
Using it to manage public DNS works great
Read Bill Warwick's full review
Johann Horsmeijer profile photo
September 03, 2018

Oracle Dyn Managed DNS Review: "expensive but good"

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Our developers/website/email/online services for customers are resolvable by Oracle Dyn Managed DNS.
  • Stability and security are the main reasons for using Dyn DNS.
  • Not having to worry about DDOS attacks on DNS.
  • 2-factor authentication for users is a must.
  • Expensive.
  • Not only under our own control so issue with audits.
  • Not always user-friendly.
Well suited for high-availability, not something for a very small company due to costs.
Read Johann Horsmeijer's full review
Jad Flewelling profile photo
September 03, 2018

Oracle Dyn Managed DNS Review: "Satisfied!!!!"

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
It is being used across our entire organization. We have all of our records managed by them, and they do a great job of it. They are always very attentive to our needs and requests. Our organization is very uptime-centric and Oracle / DYN have done a great job of making those records reliably available.
  • Multiple record availability to the web.
  • Fast and reliable results for DNS queries.
  • Great protection of our records reputation and presence on the web.
  • I can't.....they do this job well!!
It's well suited for large-scale enterprise environments. The reliability is great!
Read Jad Flewelling's full review
Scot Stier profile photo
July 20, 2018

Oracle Dyn Managed DNS: "Dyn Review"

Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Oracle Dyn Managed DNS is the name server for all of our websites. GoDaddy is the host, but their DNS services are not reputable.
  • Multi-account simplicity.
  • It's not always the most intuitive dashboard. Often it's a little confusing to navigate. Could be user error.
Don't really have much to say. Haven't had much experience with anything else.
Read Scot Stier's full review
No photo available
November 16, 2018

Oracle Dyn Managed DNS Review: "Solid, resilient DNS partner"

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We are a SaaS company which allows each account to have its own subdomain or a vanity domain. We divide these customers across different app/database clusters for fault isolation and resiliency. We use Oracle Dyn Managed DNS to manage which cluster each subdomain points to. This is largely driven by automatic API integrations, although occasionally manual intervention is necessary.
  • Handles our large zone file.
  • Provides an API to integrate with.
  • Has been a reliable and professional partner.
  • Our zone file is so large that it is very hard to navigate by hand. Sometimes you have to just guess a URL to get where you need to go.
  • We have run into occasional issues with API rate limiting, even when sending low request volume.
I would recommend Oracle Dyn Managed DNS to people with large or complicated zones. I think it's probably overkill for smaller installations, although it may make sense to grow with your organization. But if you're already hosted in AWS, I would probably recommend starting with Route 53 until you outgrow what it is capable of.
Read this authenticated review
No photo available
September 28, 2018

Oracle Dyn Managed DNS Review: "DYN DNS shines while user management lacks"

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use DYN Managed DNS to manage all DNS across our organization. It allows a simple tool to keep all of our DNS management in a central location with the redundancy that is offered by DYN. We're able to stage our updates and push them live when ready for the changes to go. It's a simple tool to use.
  • Both a basic UI and advanced UI for all levels of management.
  • Simple tools to see what changes are complete and which are pending.
  • Ability to export and import DNS entries in standard formats.
  • User management is very messy. It needs to be fixed after the change to a single sign-on a few years back, and it feels unfinished.
Great for managing a lot of domains that need redundancy and quick return times. If you just have a couple of domains, this may not be the tool for you (although it should still do the job just fine). The tools really make managing a lot of domains very easy to maintain.
Read this authenticated review
No photo available
September 17, 2018

Oracle Dyn Managed DNS Review: "Solid reliable DNS provider with good feature-set."

Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Dyn Managed DNS is being used as the primary of multiple DNS providers to host the key records for our business. DNS is managed by a central team but multiple internal teams manage their own access to sets of records. We make use of some of the proprietary features, such as Traffic Directors, but try and keep the use of features to a minimum.
  • Edge serving of DNS responses is a fairly core success of Dyn in the 9 years I have used them.
  • Feature-set is reasonably well developed, GeoDNS including IP/Client Subnet support.
  • Customer service is excellent and our technical account team have been good.
  • Too many legacy services are supported with different behavior methods, deprecating and merging features would be ideal. I.e Traffic Manager / Traffic Director should be collapsed.
  • The API is fragile and has always been a source of great concern and occasional consternation.
  • More interesting logging and metrics would be potentially interesting to explore.
  • Being able to merge 'advanced' services and also slave zone-files without excessive multi-zone complexity.
Simple DNS record serving, basic features/static responses.
As previously mentioned, some concerns over the overall API reliability to put it in the critical path for automation.
Read this authenticated review
No photo available
September 12, 2018

User Review: "Oracle Dyn Managed DNS is fantastic"

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
I am using Oracle Dyn Managed DNS to manage the DNS for several domain name. One domain name has thousands of subdomains. We use DynDNS to manage users ability to have different access to different domain names, which is an important aspect for us. Being able to grant users access to granular DNS settings allows our team to efficiently provide the necessary access to operate quickly with swift turnaround. Our entire engineering department has access to Oracle Dyn Managed DNS.
  • Provides good per user access
  • Is extremely cost effictive
  • Has great uptime
  • No integration with other cloud products from AWS, Google Could, Azure, etc
  • Batch zone updates which don't require having to edit zone files and then reupload. For example, updating the TTL for several records at a time in the UI
Oracle Dyn Managed DNS is best for a growing business who is currently using the DNS provided by their web hosting company. Decoupling your DNS provider from your web hosting or registrar allows flexibility to change providers while keeping all of your DNS up to date. Since DNS takes time to propagate, you do not want to be changing your DNS provider every time you change your hosting provider or domain registrar. Oracle Dyn Managed DNS has helped us avoid vendor lock in and be agile,
Read this authenticated review

About Oracle Dyn Managed DNS

Oracle Dyn provides managed DNS for large web properties. The vendor says it offers one of the largest, fastest, and most resilient DNS networks in the world. The product serves more than 3,500 enterprises.

The vendor promises the following key differentiators:

1. Performance: For modern sites and applications, DNS resolution can account for up to 30% of site load time. The vendor says they respond to DNS queries in less than 30 milliseconds worldwide and propagate DNS records globally in under a minute. The vendor also says that analysis shows that Dyn’s DNS network performance is up to 10 times more consistent than competing networks.

2. Scale: Every day, Oracle Dyn intelligently routes user traffic using internet performance data from over 600 collection points, analyzes over 240 billion source collected data points, and makes 40 billion traffic optimization decisions ensuring customers improve user experiences and contain costs. Oracle Dyn delivers intelligent responses to DNS queries based on policies, geo-location and network latency.

Capabilities include:

  • Managed DNS service for ensuring superior DNS performance and availability across the globe
  • Traffic Steering solutions for optimizing the responsiveness and reliability of web-based applications and services
  • Secondary DNS solution for extending the resiliency of your existing DNS infrastructure.
  • All backed by full-time DNS experts and 24x7x365 technical support.
Categories:  Managed DNS

Oracle Dyn Managed DNS Features

Has featureIndustry-leading DNS response times worldwide (<30ms)
Has featureIndustry-leading DNS propagation times (<30s)
Has featureHundreds of sensors collecting 240 billion data elements daily
Has featureHighly resilient network with four tier-1 transit providers per PoP
Has featureBattle-proven DDoS mitigated expertise built in at no extra cost
Has featureContinuously improving geolocation accuracy
Has featureSecondary/Multi DNS support
Has featureEndpoint failover support based on availability
Has featureGlobal endpoint loadbalancing support
Has featureFully vendor agnostic support for all CDNs, Public Cloud and Data Center technologies

Oracle Dyn Managed DNS Customer Size Distribution

Consumers
%
Small Businesses (1-50 employees)
10%
Mid-Size Companies (51-500 employees)
50%
Enterprises (> 500 employees)Enterprises (> 500 employees)
40%

Oracle Dyn Managed DNS Technical Details

Deployment Types:SaaS
Operating Systems: Unspecified
Mobile Application:No
Supported Countries:Global support including in-country China