PostgreSQL Reviews

217 Ratings
<a href='https://www.trustradius.com/static/about-trustradius-scoring' target='_blank' rel='nofollow noopener noreferrer'>trScore algorithm: Learn more.</a>
Score 9.0 out of 100

Do you work for this company? Learn how we help vendors

TrustRadius Top Rated for 2020

Overall Rating

Reviewer's Company Size

Last Updated

By Topic

Industry

Department

Experience

Job Type

Role

Filtered By:

Reviews (1-25 of 34)

Companies can't remove reviews or game the system. Here's why.
Javier Blanque | TrustRadius Reviewer
April 27, 2020

PostgreSQL - The database that fits all

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

PostgreSQL is used in several Departmental Information Systems across the Bank, from open source systems which operates with the DBMS to in-house developed systems like the one we use for Operational and Technology Risk Assessment, and Asset Management.
We use other DBMSs like MySQL (MariaDB) and Microsoft SQL Server also, so we can compare them against each other.
Read Javier Blanque's full review
Balázs Kiss | TrustRadius Reviewer
January 20, 2020

A robust, free, and high quality DB

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

As a company that does a lot of consultation work in software development and database and system administrating on high levels, knowing multiple RDBMS's is essential. PostgreSQL is often required by our partners, and we use it from time to time when the business choice lands on it. Most of the time we like to work with Oracle tools, but PostgreSQL proved itself to be a viable alternative for many use cases.
Read Balázs Kiss's full review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
February 14, 2020

Battle-tested-never-data-loss alternative to MySQL

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

We in the software engineering department use Postgres to permanently store most of our customer's information that is needed by the app--anywhere from their settings, login information (of course user's passwords are encrypted and salted), to the work they've created in the app. The web app writes to Postgres whenever our users need to update their info and saves their work and reads from the app to display the webpages. What's cool is that Postgres also has great user management, so we also gave read-only access to only a few parts of the database for the finance department who want to know how much the users are using the app to charge them accurately, and also to customer support who wants to see user data in order to help users debug issues.
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
January 16, 2020

PostgreSQL is fast, cheap and easy (and fully featured!)

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

It is our primary database engine utilized in the capture, storage, and processing of all company data. We were facing massive licensing fees and large deployment times in order to deploy Microsoft SQL Server at scale. We opted instead to deploy PostgreSQL in replicated pairs (50+ and growing) in a matter of minutes! We were delighted with the ease of use and replication abilities, not to mention the amazing performance.
Read this authenticated review
Arthur Zubarev | TrustRadius Reviewer
October 12, 2019

PostgreSQL is a Well Poised for the Future, Venerable, More Than a Database Solution for Many

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

PostgreSQL is used across the entire organization and in more than one instance. PostgreSQL was already a part of a wide scale Ruby On Rails implementation and thus was a natural fit for the use in data analytics in form of data marts, data inter-exchange, reporting, and ad-hoc data storage and retrieval.
PostgreSQL fulfills a role of a dedicated and/or per-application or solution data storage engine. Its versatility and flexibility combined with exceptional user community support make a stand-out product. Integration or migration with AWS Redshift is easy and seamless. PostgreSQL has a near-complete ANSI SQL language implementation which makes it very handy for data extraction and analytics.
Read Arthur Zubarev's full review
Jacob Biguvu | TrustRadius Reviewer
June 05, 2019

PostgreSQL - open-source, flexible and futuristic

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

Capital One has many LOBs (line of businesses). I have supported IAM and Commercial
LOB. They are using PostgreSQL as an OLTP database solution. Company is using Oracle, SQL Server as OLTP solution for the most of their requirements. Since everyone moving to Cloud and want to use the open-source solutions, the company encourages the IT teams to use PostgreSQL.
Read Jacob Biguvu's full review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
July 24, 2019

PostgreSQL is great for data analytics and engineering work.

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

PostgreSQL on Greenplum is being used as a data warehouse by the entire data and analytics team on my project. There are also other teams using the database as well, but it solves the business problems of running large analytics workflows with billions of rows of archived data to create reporting dashboards. It is able to run in a massively parallel processing format.
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
November 07, 2019

PostgreSQL has rich feature sets and it's completely free!

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

We are using PostgreSQL as a database for our microservices application. Since microservice is light by nature, performance is never a problem.
We have a lot of microservices applications since PostgreSQL is free, we could use as many database instances as we need without massive cost increase.
The main thing that we like is PostgreSQL supports the JSON column and query which is really useful in our use case.
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
August 02, 2019

PostgreSQL - Data Warehousing Technology

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

PostgreSQL is being used as the main data warehousing system by our organization for various analytics functions. It is being used across our whole organization both internally and externally to generate reports and other dashboards products. The business problems it addresses is the need to run complex analytics queries without having too much time be burned up by running the query on MySQL.
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
June 06, 2019

A Great General Purpose DBMS

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

PostgreSQL is used throughout our company to power business applications and to drive data-driven decision making. It's mostly used by software development teams as a back-end for data-driven applications. We usually deploy PostgreSQL instances via AWS and connect to them through a PaaS (Platform as a Service) that hosts our applications. Other teams use it for analytical data processing.
Read this authenticated review
Aaron Smith | TrustRadius Reviewer
January 18, 2019

PostgreSQL is making a comeback!

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

After using Microsoft's SQL Server for many years for our application's back end data storage, we made the switch to PostgreSQL for all new application development. For our use case, PostgreSQL has the same feature set SQL Server has and comparable performance. We needed a way to have multiple server clusters for redundancy and licensing costs of SQL Server were starting to get prohibitive. PostgreSQL gives us a stable and more cost-effective solution for data storage.
Read Aaron Smith's full review
Richard Rout | TrustRadius Reviewer
October 18, 2018

An amazing free option for an enterprise level database tool

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

We use PostgreSQL as our database backend on the majority of our applications across the whole organization. It solves all of the problems that a relational database would solve. It's a very similar product to MySQL or Microsoft SQL Server and supports a very similar query syntax to both of those.
Read Richard Rout's full review
Carlos Alberto Pedron Espinett | TrustRadius Reviewer
August 15, 2018

A great database manager without platform distinction the best relational option

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

PostgreSQL emerged as a robust option for a re-engineering process that consisted of migrating our business platform from Microsoft SQL server to PostgreSQL. The following were determining factors in our selection: the migration from Borland Delphi to PHP, the ability work in web environments in the frontend of the company, and the product's versatility and ability to adapt to content growth.
Read Carlos Alberto Pedron Espinett's full review
Venkateswar Reddy Thatikonda | TrustRadius Reviewer
November 14, 2017

Postgresql - OpenSource and objecr relation database with NOSQL(JSON type) support

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

PostgreSQL is a good alternative in the open source database world. We were looking for an open source, reliable database for one of our products and selected PostgreSQL over MySQL due to its rich features. We used it as a transaction database.it has server side programming languages such as PL/Pg-SQL and have options to write functions in Python, Perl , Java, Ruby, C and R. With its latest releases it has support for JSON and is the only open source database with Geo spatial support.
Read Venkateswar Reddy Thatikonda's full review
Bhargav Nanekalva | TrustRadius Reviewer
September 19, 2017

The "best" open source ORDBMS out there.

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

We've migrated to PostgreSQL for most of our applications. Before we used Oracle and MSSQL Database servers. We were able to save on the licensing fees for enterprise level database with professional support from Credativ India Pvt. Ltd (there are many more support options available in India). Apart from the cost, PostgreSQL offered us new data types and easy-to-scale options.
Read Bhargav Nanekalva's full review
Louis Marceau | TrustRadius Reviewer
September 18, 2017

PostgreSQL - A great database at a great price.

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

In my previous and current organisation we develop applications using PostgreSQL as one of or the database of choice to store application data. I have used it in both client-server implementations where it is used to store data for a single company as well as in cloud implementations where it is used to store data across many companies and users. Recently I have used it as the database in a data warehouse solution, data mining millions of rows.
Read Louis Marceau's full review
Anatoly Geyfman | TrustRadius Reviewer
August 16, 2017

PostgreSQL, especially with PostGIS is a standout among open source databases

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

We use Postgres for both OLAP and OLTP use cases. We use it as our data warehouse, for interactive queries, and for storing application data. Postgres is one of our main data warehouses, and we use it in congress with BigQuery to store, analyze and finally index data into our ElasticSearch cluster. One of our primary uses of Postgres is for geospatial analytics, so we leverage the PostGIS extension extensively.
Read Anatoly Geyfman's full review
Flávio Carmo | TrustRadius Reviewer
September 28, 2017

From Oracle Database to PostgreSQL

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

We use PostgreSQL as our main database platform, for our cloud solutions, GIS applications and all new products. We used Oracle Database for many years before, but it is now only a bad memory, from high costs to low quality resources. PostgreSQL is superior, more simple but robust and a complete database solution.
Read Flávio Carmo's full review
Josh Stapp | TrustRadius Reviewer
March 15, 2017

PostgreSQL is great for storing large amounts of data

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

It is being used to store 5TB of advertising data for our web app. It has a very fast response time and the JSON support is a nice feature. Since we already know SQL learning it has been easy and the index/pg tables contain a lot of helpful information for us to use.
Read Josh Stapp's full review
Nitin Pasumarthy | TrustRadius Reviewer
November 03, 2016

PostgreSQL, the best research oriented central database

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

I used PostgresSQL as a GeoSpatial database for creating map server. For that I installed PostGis plugin which provides GeoSpatial functions which are useful for creating map tiles from vector data. A detailed description of what all I did with Postgres in this project can be found at https://sites.google.com/site/nitinpasumarthy/blog/createyourowntileserverandmapclient under sections 2 and 3 ("Process Data" & "Create tiles from Postgres").
Read Nitin Pasumarthy's full review
Nikhil Karkare | TrustRadius Reviewer
February 14, 2017

A great RDBMS

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

We are using PostgreSQL for our business intelligence and analytics purposes. We are using it to store the integrated data from the multiple data sources. In short, we are using it to store our data warehouse. We pull the data from here to create the reports in our reporting tool.
Read Nikhil Karkare's full review
Vishal Arora | TrustRadius Reviewer
November 08, 2016

Worry Free

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

In my current environment we are using PostgreSQL as a backend database for our online billing system. It sits on our web server and has not much overhead.
Read Vishal Arora's full review
Christopher Weiss | TrustRadius Reviewer
October 26, 2016

PostgreSQL is too often overlooked

Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

We have used PostgreSQL as an application database for PHP, Ruby, and Java based applications. It has been used primarily for our customers' internet facing application. PostgreSQL presents a feature-rich open source database with many of the same capabilities as enterprise databases.

PostgreSQL presents a better stored procedure language as well as having better integration for geo spatial capabilities than MySQL. For setup and administration it is more flexible than SQL Server or Oracle.

In general, PostgreSQL tends to be overlooked.
Read Christopher Weiss's full review

About PostgreSQL

PostgreSQL (alternately Postgres) is a free and open source object-relational database system boasting over 30 years of active development, reliability, feature robustness, and performance. It supports SQL and is designed to support various workloads flexibly.

PostgreSQL Integrations

PostgreSQL Technical Details

Operating Systems: Unspecified
Mobile Application:No