TrustRadius
CIsion PR Software (CisionPoint) is used for identifying key media and influencers, connecting with audiences, monitoring traditional and social media, and analyzing outcomes.The quintessential PR database toolCision is being used on behalf of our clients, as well as internally for our own agency PR efforts. Cision helps us pull distribution lists for outlets and reporters nationwide, and is especially helpful in markets where we don't historically activate. It also allows us to research journalists and outlets at scale and in a time efficient manner.,Cision is a great database of outlets, journalists and media contacts Cision is a great tool to sort and create lists based on outlet type, reporter title and most importantly geography Cision's user interface is intuitive and easy to use, whether you're pulling a list of thousands or researching one particular outlet or journalist,Cision doesn't always have niche outlets in its database Cision doesn't always have accurate circulation, web or advertising cost #'s built into it's database Cision doesn't have robust international capabilities as part of its core offerings,7,Cision has a net positive impact on time savings for staff so we can be quicker to market Cision has a positive impact on internal savings as it is used internally across multiple accounts and with the internal PR team Cision is extremely useful when it comes to resourcing and conducting outreach in those DMA's where our agency doesn't have a physical presence,Meltwater Media Intelligence Platform,MailChimp, WordPress, NUVICision: PR Gold Standard, But Room for ImprovementMy agencies use Cision daily for information on media professionals. About 80% of our company is pitching media daily, so this tool is essential for getting information about publications, members of the press, locations, etc. It's most useful when we're investigating a new publication or contact, and often has information you can't find anywhere else, especially emails and phone numbers. I know their teams verify contact information, but it's not always up to date. There are also a lot of people in Cision who aren't traditional journalists too, so you do still have to have some expertise to do successful media relations outreach with this tool.,Media contact sourcing Inside details on reporters Media movement and new beats Researching media in new geographies or industries,The contact information isn't always accurate or up to date. There are many contacts in Cision who aren't traditional reporters, whether they are bloggers or sponsorship contacts. The search and list-building functions can be hard to use.,4,Positive ROI: Help us get in touch with media, which is our key client function. Negative impact: Sometimes the contact info or personalization details aren't accurate or are out of date.,Muck Rack and AirPR,AirPR, Muck Rack, Iris PR SoftwareCision is great for media list buildingI have used Cision for a number of years through three different jobs in the public relations field. The product is great for building media lists, sourcing media contact information, searching for relevant media based on coverage area, social media, or previously reported topics. It is also great for searching for outlets or contacts based on location, topic area, etc.,Sources reporters contact information Sources relevant information for publications (i.e. circulation, contact information, masthead, etc.) Filter reporters based on previous coverage areas, location, etc. Search funtionality Media list building,Updated contact information More freelancers or contributors in database More specific search criteria,8,Allowing easy sourcing of relevant journalists Allowing easy contacting of relevant journalists Targeting relevant or specific media outlets Monitoring for coverage or influenceGreat Distribution and Reporting ToolWe use it in the marketing department for distribution of press releases and reporting on any coverage our company receives. It allows us to distribute company news quickly and efficiently as well as collect information that can help us develop better press releases in the future.,Distribution of press releases down the wire. Report building and analytics tracking. Media monitoring.,There is room for improvement in reporting. There can always be more information to collect. The system at times slows down when you have to select a lot of press hits.,8,Coverage of company news Engagement with brands,N/AUse with cautionI purchased Cision to help with media monitoring for clients and to use the media database.,The media database is OK but by no means definitive.,The customer service is appalling. They miss a lot of press cuttings (I'd estimate around two-thirds?). The user interface is clunky at best. There's no notice period, so you're stuck with their awful service.,1,Not picking up press cuttings A bad and time consuming interface and platform A basic at best press database,Gorkana Media Database and Response Source,Google Analytics, Facebook for Business
Unspecified
Cision PR Software
83 Ratings
Score 7.4 out of 101
<a href='https://www.trustradius.com/static/about-trustradius-scoring' target='_blank' rel='nofollow'>trScore algorithm: Learn more.</a>TRScore

Cision PR Reviews

Cision PR
83 Ratings
<a href='https://www.trustradius.com/static/about-trustradius-scoring' target='_blank' rel='nofollow'>trScore algorithm: Learn more.</a>
Score 7.4 out of 101
Show Filters 
Hide Filters 
Filter 83 vetted Cision PR reviews and ratings
Clear all filters
Overall Rating
Reviewer's Company Size
Last Updated
By Topic
Industry
Department
Experience
Job Type
Role

Reviews (1-25 of 42)

  Vendors can't alter or remove reviews. Here's why.
Dan Lobring profile photo
December 17, 2018

Cision PR Review: "The quintessential PR database tool"

Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Cision is being used on behalf of our clients, as well as internally for our own agency PR efforts. Cision helps us pull distribution lists for outlets and reporters nationwide, and is especially helpful in markets where we don't historically activate. It also allows us to research journalists and outlets at scale and in a time efficient manner.
  • Cision is a great database of outlets, journalists and media contacts
  • Cision is a great tool to sort and create lists based on outlet type, reporter title and most importantly geography
  • Cision's user interface is intuitive and easy to use, whether you're pulling a list of thousands or researching one particular outlet or journalist
  • Cision doesn't always have niche outlets in its database
  • Cision doesn't always have accurate circulation, web or advertising cost #'s built into it's database
  • Cision doesn't have robust international capabilities as part of its core offerings
Cision is well suited for PR staffs, either at a brand or agency level, especially those that are actively executing outreach programs at a national, state or local level. Cision doesn't necessarily replace manual list development or building PR relationships, but it gives PR personnel a significant head start on where and with whom to begin targeted outreach.
Read Dan Lobring's full review
Anna Swenson profile photo
May 08, 2018

Cision PR Review: "Cision: PR Gold Standard, But Room for Improvement"

Score 4 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
My agencies use Cision daily for information on media professionals. About 80% of our company is pitching media daily, so this tool is essential for getting information about publications, members of the press, locations, etc. It's most useful when we're investigating a new publication or contact, and often has information you can't find anywhere else, especially emails and phone numbers. I know their teams verify contact information, but it's not always up to date. There are also a lot of people in Cision who aren't traditional journalists too, so you do still have to have some expertise to do successful media relations outreach with this tool.
  • Media contact sourcing
  • Inside details on reporters
  • Media movement and new beats
  • Researching media in new geographies or industries
  • The contact information isn't always accurate or up to date.
  • There are many contacts in Cision who aren't traditional reporters, whether they are bloggers or sponsorship contacts.
  • The search and list-building functions can be hard to use.
If you need to find contact info for reporters, especially phone numbers, Cision is invaluable. If you are a smart media pro, it makes you much better at your job. However, if you don't know much about media, Cision can be overwhelming and won't give you the insight you need to know what to do with the information.
Read Anna Swenson's full review
No photo available
June 26, 2018

Cision PR Review: "Cision is great for media list building"

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
I have used Cision for a number of years through three different jobs in the public relations field. The product is great for building media lists, sourcing media contact information, searching for relevant media based on coverage area, social media, or previously reported topics. It is also great for searching for outlets or contacts based on location, topic area, etc.
  • Sources reporters contact information
  • Sources relevant information for publications (i.e. circulation, contact information, masthead, etc.)
  • Filter reporters based on previous coverage areas, location, etc.
  • Search funtionality
  • Media list building
  • Updated contact information
  • More freelancers or contributors in database
  • More specific search criteria
Cision is great for public relations professionals who know the specific reporters they are looking to reach or are doing a basic/general search to find reporters relevant to a specific subject. I don't personally use the monitoring services, I think other products have better monitoring functions.
Read this authenticated review
No photo available
April 06, 2018

Cision PR Review: "Great Distribution and Reporting Tool"

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use it in the marketing department for distribution of press releases and reporting on any coverage our company receives. It allows us to distribute company news quickly and efficiently as well as collect information that can help us develop better press releases in the future.
  • Distribution of press releases down the wire.
  • Report building and analytics tracking.
  • Media monitoring.
  • There is room for improvement in reporting. There can always be more information to collect.
  • The system at times slows down when you have to select a lot of press hits.
It's great for those who want to quickly get press releases out to the press. It gives you many options for specific demographics to target and it's easy to use. They now allow you to download a PDF prior to distribution to share among your colleagues.
Read this authenticated review
No photo available
September 21, 2017

Cision PR Review: "Use with caution"

Score 1 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
I purchased Cision to help with media monitoring for clients and to use the media database.
  • The media database is OK but by no means definitive.
  • The customer service is appalling.
  • They miss a lot of press cuttings (I'd estimate around two-thirds?).
  • The user interface is clunky at best.
  • There's no notice period, so you're stuck with their awful service.
My experience with Cision has been awful. They miss a lot of press cuttings from a client. When I decided it wasn't right for me I was informed that as I'd signed a contract there was no notice period and I couldn't leave. The customer service has been consistently awful, mainly unresponsive. Their communication is appalling. They're not clear in what you sign up for and having used other press cuttings agencies I'd assumed there would be a notice period. There isn't. Six weeks in they still haven't sorted the direct debit mandate. It's just time consuming. They're really nice when you're signing up and then just rude when you highlight issues.
Read this authenticated review
No photo available
August 10, 2017

Cision PR Review: "Cision - an invaluable PR tool with some notable flaws"

Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use Cision to find the contact information of journalists, for the purpose of pitching them about our clients. It is used across the whole organization and is meant to save time and provide information that would otherwise only be available to those that have developed personal relationships with those journalists.
  • The interface is clear and easy to use
  • The product can anticipate what you are searching for and will show suggestions in a drop down menu as you are typing someone's name into the search tab.
  • It's a reliable source of information about publications including reach and UVM.
  • The platform can sometimes be very slow when conducting searches.
  • There are many reputable journalists and publications that are not included in Cision's database.
  • Sometimes information is out of date and an email address will be incorrect.
For building large media lists, this is a good tool. It's also good for identifying media influencers.
Read this authenticated review
Kathlene Carney profile photo
February 07, 2017

Cision PR Review: "Cision is the best out there"

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
I have a boutique PR firm specializing in publicity and we use Cision everyday to build and update media lists, and to verify contact information.
  • Media contact information is the most accurate compared to their competitors.
  • Beat descriptions are fairly accurate.
  • Interface is relatively easy to learn, and whenever I get stuck, their customer support is only a phone call away. They've walked us through search steps many times.
  • They must make it easier to search for radio shows that have guest interviews! Hundreds of morning and afternoon drive-time shows do interviews every day but there's no easy, accurate way to search for them on Cision.
  • They must identify contacts who handle books at each outlet. Book review editors have been drastically cut, so it's no longer a searchable beat. We don't have time to read through the descriptions of every single editor for clues. It's a real problem and we wish Cision would step up.
The media landscape is changing rapidly and Cision's up-to-date contacts are indispensable for those of us out there pitching everyday.
Read Kathlene Carney's full review
Dan Green profile photo
January 25, 2017

Cision PR Review: "If you're in PR invest in Cision now!"

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Cision PR is currently being used by our North American Communications Team, and may be adopted by our global team at a later date. We have a number of communications initiatives, and Cision helps us to find the media that we are targeting, create media lists for personalized outreach and to send mass emails on rare occasions. We also just started using it to track our media and social media coverage. I don't have extensive experience on that portion of the software, but from what I have seen to date, it is useful to see who is talking about AkzoNobel on social media. I actually am currently waiting for the media tracking to be activated.
  • Media contact research. If you are involved in media relations and need to contact reporters covering specific beats, it's nearly impossible to do it without Cision. The software literally saves you hours of work. Rather than using the Internet to research editors who may be covering your market, you just submit information on the topics you are seeking, and the database pulls up a list of editors in seconds.
  • Personal profiles. Not all editors participate, but Cision interviews a number of editors to ask them how they want PR professionals to connect with them -- by phone, email, and there are still some who prefer fax. It's a very helpful service that helps you get relationships off on the right foot.
  • Email distribution. I have used Cision's media research for the last 15 years, but just recently started using their email distribution to distribute press releases to key media. It's a great tool, and tracks which reporters open your email and who clicks on the links included in your news release.
  • I'd like to see them bring back their old influencer profiles where they ranked reporters on their level of importance from 30 to 99. I realize people complained about it not being completely accurate, but it provided a good gauge on how important the media outlet or reporter is -- especially for blogs, where it's hard to determine whether they are worth the time to contact.
  • This may be a little premature, but media tracking is part of our service, and we have not had the opportunity to track any of our media coverage to date. Social media is working fine, but we are still waiting for the media side.
  • It needs to work with all Internet services. There is functionality that doesn't work with Internet Explorer, so I had to download Google Chrome in order to gain full functionality-- which wouldn't be a problem, but when you are working at a large organization, it's hard to get approval to download any software, including Google Chrome.
Personally, I feel that Cision is a required media tool for any organization that is interested in generating media coverage -- whether they are a small business or a global organization. I have actually worked at both over the past 15 years, and have always used Cision. When I came to an organization that didn't have Cision, like in my current role, one of the first things I did was work to get approval to order it. Cision PR's media research tool can be used to find any reporter across the country. For a specific example, I recently needed to send out a press release to all reporters covering Chemistry and Chemical Engineering. I used Cision to find all reporters covering these topics, then used the email distribution system to send out the news release. In real time, it took about 20 minutes to do that from beginning to end. If I had to use the Internet to research and contact all these editors, it would have taken days.
Read Dan Green's full review
Lindsey Lucenta profile photo
January 24, 2017

Cision PR Review: "Cision is Great for Basic PR Objectives"

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
I work at a public relations agency, and we use Cision on a daily basis to build media lists and compile media placement/monitoring reports. Overall, Cision serves as our key source for gathering the contact information for key reporters, editors, bloggers and online influencers. The database allows us to compile strategic, targeted media lists for any PR campaign we develop.
  • Cision is the best database available for compiling media lists, both for print and online outreach.
  • Cision is excellent for quickly getting high-level information or metrics about a publication, whether it be for a report or presentation.
  • Cision serves as a great starting point for compiling targeted editorial calendars for a PR strategy.
  • One search parameter I would love to see added back to Cision (it was removed a few years back) is being able to create a media list based on the top 100 newspapers. Currently, you must vet out the top newspapers via the circulation parameter, which adds a time-intensive extra step.
  • Users get locked out of lists too often, even when no one is currently logged in. The customer service team fixes the problem efficiently, but I call to address locked lists a few times each quarter.
Cision is, hands-down, the best database for creating targeted media lists. For example, if you want to target health editors at the top 150 U.S. newspapers, you have that information at your fingertips with Cision. The service isn't the best for compiling lists of social influencers (e.g. YouTube or Instagram stars), but, I believe, Cision is aiming to better develop that capability.
Read Lindsey Lucenta's full review
Jessica Herrera profile photo
March 01, 2017

Cision PR Review: "Worth the Investment"

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Cision PR Software is used to help aggregate media contacts, create press release distribution lists and also upload and send media content directly to media contacts. It is also used to connect to reporters and other media contacts through social media and track and follow media coverage based on specific topics and our organization itself.
  • Cision is a relatively easy to use platform that is more-or-less straightforward to the user.
  • The software has great customer service representation and answers questions quickly and easily.
  • It is generally very functional at pulling media lists and sending press releases to those outlets/individuals.
  • Cision is a relatively expensive platform.
  • While there is Cision staff devoted to updating media contacts, the process is imperfect and there are times where media outlets and contacts are not updated in a timely manner.
  • It would be great if Cision allowed for media tracking based on specific keywords and individual names so that we could do most if not all of our media outreach and tracking in one place.
Cision does a great job at quickly pulling media lists and distributing media materials to those lists housed in an internal system that also tracks deliveries, opens, and failed attempts. Cision isn't great at tracking the results of those press releases (as in whether it resulted in media coverage).
Read Jessica Herrera's full review
Cheryl Lew profile photo
February 21, 2017

Cision PR: "Cision Review"

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use Cision within our department (other departments may use it as well, but I'm not sure) to obtain contact information (names, outlets, email, phone numbers, etc.) for media outlets that we want to pitch our books authors to. It allows us to search for people at certain outlets as well as discover outlets that we had not previously worked with.
  • Good customer service
  • User friendly
  • Up to date information
  • Sometimes slow and crashes
  • The hits/analytics are difficult to learn
  • It's difficult to change information, as you have to contact customer service
Cision is extremely helpful when looking for information for media members, such as television, newspapers, online outlets, etc. It helps you find information both if you know what you are looking for or if you have no idea and need a push in the right direction. It's also good for keeping you up to date on updated information.
Read Cheryl Lew's full review
Erika Schaefer profile photo
February 06, 2017

Review: "Cision PR Software Helps Build Better Relationships"

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Cision has been a great tool for my team. I've used it in particular to keep a media list of ours updated and accurate. It has helped me personally to make sure our contacts are at the same position, with the correct contact information. When they are not, I can now easily find their new contact information. Cision has saved me time because I don't have to try and follow a paper trail of emails to find one person's contact information.
  • Helping to build strong media contact lists, by allowing you to add people who cover the same beats
  • Helping to keep current with contacts information
  • Helping to maintain relationships with media contacts
  • When a contact needs updating, it could be helpful if there was a faster way for Cision to update the info. or be alerted that someone is no longer at the same outlet.
Cision was perfect for when I was a Media Booker. It helped me to build my contact lists and get my pitches out, quick and easily!

Less appropriate if you are at a company or position not involved with media or PR.

If you are a business involved with media or PR I would say that having Cision PR is essential to your success.
Read Erika Schaefer's full review
Stanley Hurwitz profile photo
February 01, 2017

Cision PR Review: "Cision Helps PR Pro to Impress Clients -- and Attract New Ones"

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
I'm an independent PR/Marketing consultant for businesses and non-profits of all sizes and types. These range from a 9 office Orthodontic office to a private school with 250 students, to a large commercial real estate company, and a new product launch.
I use Cision differently depending on whether the client's products or services will be of most interest mainly in the Boston or eastern Mass. area, the New England region, or nationally. Cision saves a lot time -- I can set the parameters for the types of publications or other media I want, and the specific job roles I hope to hit -- such as editors, reporters, show producers, etc.
  • Not too complicated to figure out (after some self-taught training and some calls to the help line). Once you know your way around, setting up the media contact list for a specific job, pasting the story and attaching a photo - are all straightforward.
  • All of my calls to the 800 help desk have been excellent. The customer service reps know the program, they offer advice on how others they have spoken to might have approached the problem, and they are patient - even with someone who's not technologically inclined.
  • I like the way I can see a full report of who received my distribution and I can share that with clients. I like the report that tells me it was successfully distributed, and a day later, what the success rate was -- usually around 93% of the targeted recipients. Seems good these days with the 'musical chairs' as various media downsize and reposition themselves.
  • I suggested this a few years ago: It would be great if the next step that the user needs to do (as they move toward distribution) was shown in a bold and/or different color. Maybe even number the steps. "You are on step 3 of 6," for example.
Cision is great for sending your news to every type of media in selected categories. If I'm doing a launch of a food product, it's easy to select all the editors and reporters in related categories, plus the general business editors, etc.
Read Stanley Hurwitz's full review
Alexis Ramsey profile photo
February 01, 2017

Review: "Cision PR and Media List Building are like Peas and Carrots"

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Cision PR was used by myself and others in a previous role to create and curate media lists to reach audiences in healthcare, technology, and the military community with the intention of pitching recent news. Additionally, Cision PR helped identify influencers at publications, blogs, and websites to share content with.

Cision PR was used by 3-5 people in the company and tremendously cut down on time trying to Google influencers, get their contact information, and learn more about their publication or website.
  • Cision PR has a large database of the more popular publications and is making great strides in adding smaller, community outlets and lower viewed blogs that may have a loyal fan base.
  • The software is intuitive for the most part and is powered by keyword searching which is common for everyone.
  • The addition of social media handles for reporters and pubs is helpful to understand what they're reporting on.
  • Including smaller pubs and community outlets would be helpful.
  • Sometimes an outlet will have 5+ names for a contact. If there's a way to sort those based on who is likely to respond or uses the software daily.
  • Searching via social media only for keywords, recent news, and reporters could further target influencers.
Media list building is still Cision PR's number one strength. The software provides robust lists that can be tailored by location, circulation, topics, and more. Again, the addition of social media information allows lists to be made of influencers to follow and eventually reach out to. Cision PR is not a social media tracking platform and while it has some capability, the reporting aspect is still not there compared to other programs like Union Metrics.
Read Alexis Ramsey's full review
Logan Stewart profile photo
January 31, 2017

Cision PR Review: "I've flip flopped multiple times - here's why I finally chose Meltwater over Cision"

Score 3 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
I have used Cision PR in the past three years, twice, for media clips. It's the main way we track media mentions for our organization. I also use it for media contacts as we have 39 offices spread out geographically and a service like this is the best way to find contacts in those markets. I also reported on our media coverage through Cision.
  • Strong media database - updated frequently
  • Good tracking capabilities
  • Individualized customer service is poor
  • Reporting mechanisms are cumbersome and difficult
  • Social media coverage is very lacking
  • Overall media database and searching capabilities are a bit difficult to use
  • Location of user lists is difficult to find
  • Good for comprehensive media building, distributing press releases and finding out information about specific media and contacts. Best contacts of any software I have used but many are outdated.
  • Poor for social media monitoring and reporting in general. Needs a reporting mechanism that's more aesthetically pleasing and easier to read.
Read Logan Stewart's full review
Kristen Carvalho profile photo
January 31, 2017

Cision PR Review: "Streamline your sourcing, pitching & monitoring for PR"

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use Cision to assist us with our outreach efforts. I am a single user of the software as we are a small company and do not have other members on the team that would need to use it. Having it available to create lists on media in our industry has been great. It was something we did not have access to prior. We also use it to send out our press releases on the wire.
  • Cision is very accurate at providing up to date contact information for contacts at media outlets. I am constantly getting updates or changes to my lists which is appreciated.
  • Their profiles for media contacts is great as well. Having a full outlook on their social actions and being able to write in our personal notes on what they prefer is very helpful.
  • I also like that they give you the option to get a PR Newswire account right within the platform. This makes it easy to keep all of your PR efforts centralized and in one place.
  • While I know they have training available within the platform and you have an account manager - I think it would be better if it was more visible or a focus.
I honestly think Cision is the best tool for PR and monitoring on the market. They have really updated the ability for tracking your mentions on social media which is extremely useful because it could eliminate a social media monitoring tool. It is also the best for creating lists with up to date media information. Being able to track everything that I have been doing on the wire and the retroactive social posts that come through in one platform is so useful.
Read Kristen Carvalho's full review
Erika Taylor Montgomery profile photo
January 27, 2017

Cision PR Review: "Great Media Database"

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Three Girls Media is my public relations and social media management agency. We use Cision on a daily basis to create media lists as well as research members of the media, and to send out press releases or pitches to the press. Cision also has the largest media database of its competitors!
  • Building Media Lists - takes the guesswork out of researching media on your own.
  • Easily send pitches - With the integrated email plan it's easy to send messages to the Media
  • Detailed Info on Each Media Outlet & Journalist
  • Cision is by far the most expensive software of its kind. I'd like to see better pricing for very small companies, perhaps w/ 5 or fewer employees.
Cision is very well suited for building media lists, doing research on members of the media and media outlets, and for conveniently sending out blast pitches to the press.
Read Erika Taylor Montgomery's full review
Pete Terhorst profile photo
January 26, 2017

Cision PR Review: "Cision sizzles"

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Our client uses Cision PR media tracking software on a daily basis in their communications department. The daily media clips provide knowledge of external issues relevant to the organization, as well as tracking of the organization's news releases. On a periodic basis, searches are conducted on specific issues.
  • The user interface is well designed and easy to navigate.
  • Customer support has ben excellent.
  • Cision has become a market leader providing news feeds for traditional print and broadcast media as well as social media.
  • Because our client works within its industry and is also advocating for member interests, there are many search terms necessary. Unfortunately this requires sifting through many unrelated stories on a daily basis.
  • While social media is important, quantifying and qualifying search results on a daily basis is a daunting task.
"News" sources have proliferated exponentially because every internet user is a potential news maker. Cision does a good job of sorting through the chaff and chatter. We went through a lengthy process vetting the various competitors and the Cision platform was the equal or better. Customer service has been excellent. Plus they are price competitive.
Read Pete Terhorst's full review
Emma Chase profile photo
January 25, 2017

Cision PR Review: "Best media database for PR pros"

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
The entire accounts team at my agency uses Cision for media list building. It addresses our need to build solid, accurate and up-to-date media lists to use on behalf of our clients that range from major FinTech companies to nonprofits.
  • The new Cision media building interface is incredibly easy to use and very clean. Love the update.
  • The new edition also includes more detailed bios on each journalist-- very helpful for pitching efforts!
  • In the past, we've been concerned about that accuracy of contact information-- with the new interface, it is clear that Cision is investing their time into providing the best contact database out there.
  • I'm personally still learning how to use the new edition, and have not run into too many problems. It takes a little while longer to build your search, but that in turn leads to better results.
  • Outside of the media database, the monitoring system still lacks metrics that go above and beyond tracking mentions.
  • The analytics platform should be integrating with Google Analytics to show how articles are really performing!
Cision's biggest strength is its media database. Other than that, you're better off with a more robust tool.
Read Emma Chase's full review
Michael Conrad profile photo
January 25, 2017

Cision PR Review: "Cision is hands down the best media database we have ever used."

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Cision is hands down the most exhaustive media database we've ever used, and we use it daily. After trying several different media database services over the past 15 years of our company, Cision PR has proven to be the most accurate, reliable, and easy to use. At the end of the day, it makes my job as a PR professional easier and allows me to focus on more important work than mining for media contacts. It's awesome.
  • Tracking down a good producer contact for a TV show.
  • Reach info on media outlets.
  • Knowing who to pitch.
  • Not super fast to add contacts to lists.
  • Somewhat clunky and time consuming to export lists.
  • Saving lists takes a long time.
For us, we use it for reach info and the media database. Outside of that, we haven't had success with monitoring media or doing other PR-related tasks with Cision. It's also not suited for niche media, at least in the faith and family-friendly market that we work in. We mostly use it for mainstream and secular, national media, or well-regarded local media.
Read Michael Conrad's full review
Amy Ridings profile photo
January 23, 2017

Review: "Cision PR Software -- essential for any company focused on media relations"

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
The public relations department of our agency uses Cision PR Software. We've been using it for several years, and my previous agency also utilized the tool. In particular, we use it almost daily for researching media contracts and creating lists.
  • Adding contacts to existing lists is quite literally as easy as the push of a button.
  • The Cision PR team automatically takes care of updating contacts. Within the media industry, this is important because contacts are constantly jumping around between beats or publications.
  • One feature that is difficult to use is the scrolling mechanism within the lists. This has been an issue for years, and I've never seen any improvement. If you do what is typically considered a "slow scroll" where you only click the mouse up or down once, a list shoots from the top to the bottom or vice versa. I always have to resort to using the arrow keys.
  • I'm not too familiar with Cision's support team. There are also an abundance of features, which is good, but can be overwhelming, so many tools aren't utilized at the end of the day.
Cision PR Software is well suited for anyone who routinely researches media contacts or builds lists. The notes are useful in that they provide context for the reporter and how they preferred to be contacted, as well as their career history.
Read Amy Ridings's full review
Melissa Kuehnle, M.A. profile photo
January 20, 2017

Cision PR Review: "OK in PR"

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Cision PR has allowed me to do my job efficiently and seamlessly. We, in the office of marketing and communications, are able to keep all of our press releases and media lists in one place and access them whenever we need to. We have specific lists for a variety of topics for each campus. I also configure reports and either export them or print them out for presentations and meetings. I have found that the support staff at Cision PR is always available to help and answer any questions that I have. That means a lot, even if I have the smallest issue.
  • Keeps media lists organized
  • Easy searches for media contacts
  • Customer Service
  • Hyper-local reporter information
  • Email replacement for those who have bouncebacks
  • Font variety
Cision PR is great for sending out press releases and keeping record of who you contact for what. It also allows you to keep record of activities outside of the software, like phone calls, emails and face-to-face encounters.
Read Melissa Kuehnle, M.A.'s full review
Ashlee Simpson profile photo
January 25, 2017

Cision PR Review: "Cision for PR Pros"

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
My past employer used Cision to find contacts and build lists around a particular topic. It saved us time from doing google searches to find the emails of reporters.
  • Keep a detailed database of contacts
  • Help to build lists of those covering a particular topic
  • Monitoring and tracking services
  • Updating contact information
  • Not as user-friendly as it could be
  • The cost for multiple logins
It's suited when you need contacts quickly or to find bios for current contacts. It's also great for locating the address to particular media offices. It's less appropriate for monitoring, but it works if that's all you have.
Read Ashlee Simpson's full review
No photo available
March 08, 2017

Cision PR Review: "Decent, Not Perfect"

Score 5 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We are using Cision as a department to track daily media mentions as well as retrieve media contact information pertaining to specific topics our writers would like to pitch. We also run monthly reports using the Cision analytics, which we share across our sixteen colleges to display how each one is doing month to month in getting their information out to media.
  • Keeping updated information on publications/writers. This allows our writers to pitch stories to the most appropriate outlets.
  • The media monitoring is always updating with new hits for reporting daily.
  • Creating "reports" on media in a particular location and/or focusing on a unique topic is quick and easy through the Cision system.
  • Different export options of reports in handy, based on what type of information you need and how a user needs it to be presented.
  • Easy to change keywords to fit search needs.
  • Original contact for system setup did a great job. Very attentive.
  • Not every article is automatically picked up. Some major papers get skipped some of the time, even when the proper keywords are present.
  • Some articles/outlets are delayed in when the system retrieves them. Some articles come through from years ago, that do not match the date filter requirements.
  • Building reports to graphically look how you would like is not easy to do as a user, without requesting customer assistance help.
  • Customer service/account rep is not always the most attentive to your needs. It could take days or weeks to get a response sometimes.
  • Expensive!
The best part of the Cision software is the frequently updated media contact information. It also has a decent ability to pull articles from sources far and wide. If you're looking for an always updated directory, this is great. If you're looking for perfection in article/media monitoring retrieval, this may not be the best product. But it does provide a large amount of useable information, providing a general idea (if not better) on what information is being picked up and circulated, and where.
Read this authenticated review
No photo available
March 21, 2017

Cision PR Review: "Cision - Helping PR Professionals Everywhere Achieve the Right Vision for their Pitch!"

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
One of the main things our department (Public Relations) does at HMSHost is work to generate press by reaching out to local and national media. We open new restaurants frequently (some proprietary brands entirely created by us, some well-known national brands, and some local chef-driven brands) and when we introduce new concepts especially we pitch them to media. The type of media depends on the brand but Cision plays a huge role in the process of finding individual media contacts that we need.
  • User-friendly. Allows you to export lists in different forms depending on what you need them for.
  • Covers a wide spectrum of media outlets (picks up a huge variety from obscure blogs to television networks to traditional print outlets).
  • Provides the option to filter your search down to some very detailed criteria. The advanced search has many options to choose from to narrow your search and find the exact type of contacts you need/want to target.
  • Some outlets slip through the cracks and aren't picked up by Cision. This is to be expected though.
  • Sometimes I don't find the "outlet topics" to be accurate. Only on certain occasions though. I'll have personal knowledge of an outlet and see that it is labeled as having a huge list of topics rather than it's main ones. Sometimes makes publications come up inaccurately in searches.
  • A few instances where the contacts are out of date (i.e. didn't work at the publication anymore).
It's perfect when you want to create a tailored media list for a specific pitch. For example, we recently opened a bourbon-themed restaurant so I used Cision to create a list geared toward publications regarding alcohol and spirits. The search functions made this super easy. I can't think of a situation Cision wouldn't be suited for because it has so many uses whether you want to create a very specific list or a broad list.
Read this authenticated review

About Cision PR

CIsion PR Software (CisionPoint) is used for identifying key media and influencers, connecting with audiences, monitoring traditional and social media, and analyzing outcomes.
Categories:  Public Relations (PR)

Cision PR Competitors

Cision PR Technical Details

Operating Systems: Unspecified
Mobile Application:No