Skip to main content
TrustRadius
Cvent Passkey

Cvent Passkey

Overview

What is Cvent Passkey?

Cvent Passkey streamlines and automates meeting and event bookings for hotels, DMOs, and venues—creating valuable upsell opportunities. Event planners benefit from a centralized room block and reservation management system, and hotels can promote room upgrades, extended stays, and other amenities…

Read more
Recent Reviews

TrustRadius Insights

Passkey is a versatile tool that offers a range of use cases for hoteliers, event planners, and attendees. Users can efficiently manage …
Continue reading

Happy Cvent Passkey User

8 out of 10
July 26, 2023
Cvent Passkey has many features to offer and is a great tool for citywide events using multiple hotels. Accessible 24/7 for attendees to …
Continue reading

Helpful Hotel Management

9 out of 10
June 15, 2022
We use Cvent Passkey in our organization to help make life easier for our attendees once they register for our event and need to travel. …
Continue reading

Easy, Functional, Reliable

9 out of 10
March 18, 2021
We use PassKey here at the hotel for our larger groups, and specifically more recently, for our wedding room blocks. It truly helps …
Continue reading

Passkey

7 out of 10
December 30, 2020
Incentivized
As a third party meetings & incentive planning company, we use [Cvent Passkey] to manage housing blocks in real time across numerous events.
Continue reading

Good tool

8 out of 10
July 10, 2020
When starting using Cvent, we looked into Passkey. It is a very cool tool for integrating the hotel booking into the registration wizard …
Continue reading

Check Out Passkey

9 out of 10
April 02, 2020
Incentivized
Cvent Passkey is a tool I use with hotel partners. It's very effective when submitting a rooming list where attendees must pay for rooms …
Continue reading

PASS over the KEY to success!

8 out of 10
March 19, 2020
Passkey is used by our event and meeting management team to manage room block for meetings that we host. It helps ensure the correct …
Continue reading
Read all reviews

Awards

Products that are considered exceptional by their customers based on a variety of criteria win TrustRadius awards. Learn more about the types of TrustRadius awards to make the best purchase decision. More about TrustRadius Awards

Reviewer Pros & Cons

View all pros & cons
Return to navigation

Pricing

View all pricing
N/A
Unavailable

What is Cvent Passkey?

Cvent Passkey streamlines and automates meeting and event bookings for hotels, DMOs, and venues—creating valuable upsell opportunities. Event planners benefit from a centralized room block and reservation management system, and hotels can promote room upgrades, extended stays, and other amenities…

Entry-level set up fee?

  • No setup fee

Offerings

  • Free Trial
  • Free/Freemium Version
  • Premium Consulting/Integration Services

Would you like us to let the vendor know that you want pricing?

10 people also want pricing

Alternatives Pricing

What is Cvent Event Diagramming?

Cvent Event Diagramming (Social Tables) is a software application that allows event planners and properties to work together online. Cvent's cloud-based hospitality software positions event properties to increase sales and work more collaboratively and efficiently with their event, and meeting…

Return to navigation

Product Details

What is Cvent Passkey?

Cvent Passkey streamlines and automates meeting and event bookings for hotels, DMOs, and venues—creating valuable upsell opportunities. Event planners benefit from a centralized room block and reservation management system, and hotels can promote room upgrades, extended stays, and other amenities to group guests.

Cvent Passkey Features

  • Supported: Customized guest experience when booking rooms.
  • Supported: Upsell opportunities from booking to check-in and beyond.
  • Supported: Online event dashboards with live pick-up, pace, and room list data.
  • Supported: Citywide event support.
  • Supported: Integrated event registration and hotel bookings for DMOs.

Cvent Passkey Screenshots

Screenshot of Updated Passkey Home PageScreenshot of Passkey By the NumbersScreenshot of Passkey TestimonialScreenshot of Unified Experience

Cvent Passkey Technical Details

Deployment TypesSoftware as a Service (SaaS), Cloud, or Web-Based
Operating SystemsUnspecified
Mobile ApplicationNo
Supported LanguagesChinese, English, French, German, Spanish

Frequently Asked Questions

Sabre SynXis Enterprise Platform, Hotello, and Amadeus Central Reservation System are common alternatives for Cvent Passkey.

Reviewers rate Support Rating highest, with a score of 8.1.

The most common users of Cvent Passkey are from Mid-sized Companies (51-1,000 employees).
Return to navigation

Comparisons

View all alternatives
Return to navigation

Reviews and Ratings

(32)
Loading...

Attribute Ratings

Reviews

(1-25 of 29)
Companies can't remove reviews or game the system. Here's why
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Cvent Passkey has many features to offer and is a great tool for citywide events using multiple hotels. Accessible 24/7 for attendees to place reservations Planners Portal Availability is shown in real-time Ability to showcase attractions Send messages about the event, city, or other information that attendees should know Passkey support is always available to assist with any issues or questions. I am sure others will be able to add to this list.
  • ability to manage room blocks
  • ability to customize reports
  • easy accessibility
  • Ability for attendees to look up the master acknowledgment, then display all reservations under it and allow them to select which needs to be adjusted. Defaulting back to the screen to select the next one to change. So that they wont have to go in and out multiple times.
  • Affiliates to use the manage.passkey.com. There are many planners that prefer to use this side.
Cvent Passkey is a great tool for large events using multiple hotels. It allows attendees the ability to see inventory in real-time and place reservations. Since it is accessible 24/7 not only can attendees place reservations at their convenience but planners are also able to check pick-up and or run reports when their schedule allows.
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
We use Cvent Passkey in our organization to help make life easier for our attendees once they register for our event and need to travel. It is helpful to have a one-stop-shop for hotel booking, particularly in a post-COVID era as our attendees are sometimes traveling for the first time in a while.
  • Hotel booking
  • Tracking for planners
  • Managing bookings
  • Learning curve when you start
Cvent Passkey is very well suited for hotel booking, as well as for managing those bookings and tracking them. It provides helpful email communications as attendees book and in the lead-up to an event start date.
April 06, 2022

Cvent Passkey Review

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Incentivized
At my organization, I take calls from our convention housing line and help city-wide conference attendees make their reservations for hotels in the area. Cvent Passkey has been extremely easy to use and very helpful for the hotels. City-wide meetings are 600 attendees on peak +. This is a great way for the hotels to outsource these reservations so their properties don't get overwhelmed with calls. The only thing that could be better is making multiple reservations at once. We always have to copy the reservations multiple times for groups which is quite time-consuming.
  • Bookings made through Passkey feed directly into hotels' reservation system.
  • Real-time reporting on pickup.
  • Planners can see the group's status.
  • Mobile App
  • Email confirmations take awhile to go through.
I have only used Cvent Passkey for city-wide meetings as I work for a CVB, not a hotel. We take many phone calls per day from attendees wanting to register for these large events.
November 21, 2021

Great For Vendors, Too!

Teresa James | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Incentivized
As a hotelier, this is a great product for the client and me. They have a dedicated place to upload, manipulate, and check their rooming list. Especially in today's world, where everyone is short-staffed, having to stop writing a contract for one client to send a rooming list to another is time-consuming. Personally, I used to be a team of 4, and now it's just me, so my time is precious and has to be managed perfectly. This system allows my clients the ability to see their list, make changes or additions. A win-win for us both!
  • Streamline the rooming list process
  • Gives clients 24 hour access to their rooming lists
  • Gives time back to vendors from not having to send updated rooming lists
  • Emails - so the guests can get confirmations
It's the perfect solution for easy access to rooming list. It really helps on the hotel side too so we're not receiving rooming lists in all different styles.
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Incentivized
Cvent Passkey is being used by a few departments across the organization for various events. It helps us stay coordinated and organized on our room block, making sure VIPs have rooms, we've fulfilled our contractual obligations, etc. It saves us so much time because we don't have to pull those reports manually or wait for the hotel to provide us with updates.
  • Easy to use
  • Well organized
  • Time saver
  • More customization
  • More alert options
  • Better mobile application
Cvent Passkey is great when you have a particularly large or complicated room block situation. It's also great when you are in the unfortunate situation of needing to cancel or alter an event. It keeps everything so organized and in real-time, so folks can make decisions quickly and easily. It is not as appropriate when you don't have a room block or it's a very small event.
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
We use PassKey here at the hotel for our larger groups, and specifically more recently, for our wedding room blocks. It truly helps brides/grooms and their families to be able to specifically monitor their room blocks. It is so convenient, as the guest themselves can log on and check to see changes, additions, and updates.
  • Quick, easy, convenient
  • Easy to use
  • Let's guest take control
Well suited for managing room blocks.
December 30, 2020

Passkey

Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Incentivized
As a third party meetings & incentive planning company, we use [Cvent Passkey] to manage housing blocks in real time across numerous events.
  • Ease of use
  • Real time information
Being able to make changes and updates rooming lists without having to contact the venue each time is helpful. Generally works best for larger events or events without constant changes.


Ivan Mejia | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
I think passkey is a great tool and find the majority of its functions and options super helpful! I really enjoy being able to make changes and updates to my rooming list without having to contact the vendor every single time. For most use cases it generally fits the bill. It is very easy when you are uploading large rooming list with ease. Even if a rooming list is formatted differently than we prefer it is still very easy to manage.
  • Integration with hotels that have a passkey license.
  • Easy to take a quick look and understand a snapshot of your entire event.
  • Allows for integration across all departments of our organization.
  • Interface could be very user un-friendly; if they could update that it would help.
  • A bit time consuming to set up.
  • Cannot integrate it within the registration process of Cvent Event Management.
I think passkey is a great tool and find the majority of its functions and options super helpful! I really enjoy being able to make changes and updates to my rooming list without having to contact the vendor every single time. For most use cases, it generally fits the bill.
Anne Knox, CMP, CVEP | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Incentivized
We use Passkey to manage our room blocks with hotels.
  • On-demand info.
  • I can get info whenever I want and not rely on someone to pull a report for me.
  • I always know where I stand with hotel blocks.
  • Lifesaver.
  • I wish we could somehow enter our data in it. We reserve our own rooms at a hotel, but they are not reflected until we send the names of our employees 3 weeks before the event.
I love that Passkey gives up to date information on who has booked in our hotel block. It provided a dashboard look at the numbers, but also the names of the attendees that booked are included. I always know where we stand with our room block and I also can look for abuses of the room block. People who are not attendees that have booked our rooms and duplicate bookings can be addressed in advance. No last-minute surprises!
December 15, 2020

Streamlines the process!

Lisa Casey | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Incentivized
Passkey is a very useful pre-registration tool. For our large events is an extremely helpful and time-saving tool. Confirming our room blocks used to be a very manual process, taking us hours of manpower. This resource has helped us streamline the time and resources we now need to manage this process. I wish more hotels used this product.
  • Room management
  • Reporting
  • Real time availability
  • Doesn't work with every hotel
  • Time consuming set-up
Cvent Passkey is best suited for larger events, where managing large numbers of attendees can take hours to reconcile a room block. The set-up is a bit cumbersome, however, the end reporting is worth the extra time up front.
Emily Wernet, CMP, HMCC | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Incentivized
I think passkey is a great tool and find the majority of its functions and options super helpful! I really enjoy being able to make changes and updates to my rooming list without having to contact the vendor every single time. For most use cases it generally fits the bill.
  • Individual registration management.
  • Rooming list/reports.
  • Rooming list management.
  • Integration with Cvent registrations; I wish more fields flowed over from attendee registration.
  • CC email functionality for hotel confirmations.
For most use cases it is great.
Bri Anguilano | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Cvent Passkey was used post-registration. It was only being used by the Meetings and Events Department as we handle the hotel accommodations for our guests. Our company has our own hotel that houses the majority of our guests, so because of the volume of events, Passkey was able to directly book reservations to our hotel as well as make changes instead of having to send rooming lists back and forth.
  • Simplifies the reservation process for the hotel.
  • Reservations are created in real-time.
  • It's a secure way to provide the hotel with a rooming list.
  • Not being able to integrate Passkey during the actual registration process, which caused some confusion for registrants.
  • Changes in Passkey did not always flow back over into the registrations.
  • Difficult to find a registrant's roommate request.
Cvent Passkey is best suited for those who do not have constant cancellations or replacements and more of a set rooming list. The nature of my company's events are surgeons and sales representatives whose schedules always change and we have to cancel or replace at the last minute. In our case, we felt that creating our own rooming lists and keeping track of all these changes ourselves was easier to do than Passkey.
July 10, 2020

Good tool

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
When starting using Cvent, we looked into Passkey. It is a very cool tool for integrating the hotel booking into the registration wizard but the only problem we had was the hotels we are dealing with do not work with Passkey. Some of them do but then we had internal issues which made it impossible to use it.
  • Direct communication with hotel.
  • Real time data.
  • API Integration.
  • Time saving.
  • Mobile app for admins.
  • It is too expensive for trade unions or NGOs.
  • Some hotels do not use it.
It does what it's supposed to do, the main problem we had was the integration with majority of hotels in different part of the world. Those big hotels around the globe use it but we work in small countries or developing countries where they do not have it. Also, it is more expensive for organisations like us.
April 02, 2020

Check Out Passkey

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Incentivized
Cvent Passkey is a tool I use with hotel partners. It's very effective when submitting a rooming list where attendees must pay for rooms outside our hotel block. I highly recommend this tool for all hotels as it helps streamline the room reservation process without creating duplicates in the hotel systems.
  • Hotel Block Organization
  • Custom Text on welcome page for room reservations
  • Easy process to share with attendees
This is a great tool for managing hotel rooming list from a planner and hotel group reservations perspective. It keeps everyone organized.
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Passkey is used by our event and meeting management team to manage room block for meetings that we host. It helps ensure the correct people get into our block, and the dashboard is used to run reports on the reservation lists in real-time. It addresses the problem of getting reservation lists quickly and editing reservations on our own.
  • Customized guest experience when booking rooms.
  • Real-time ability to view event data.
  • Customized room block web page.
  • Integrate Passkey within the registration page while registering.
  • Mobile app for admin management.
  • A bit time consuming to set up, but once its set up it is great.
Best suited for large conferences with multiple hotels, not as appropriate for 1 hotel options with set check-in and check-out dates. We have used it when we are doing registration for our large congress meetings, with multiple hotel room blocks to ensure that we do not go over out room block, but also so that we do not have attrition. We do not use it for small meetings where we only have 1 room block at 1 hotel. This would not be time-sensitive, as it takes a while to set up Passkey.
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Incentivized
I use it to manage our annual conference hotel reservations - approximately 150 reservations per year. It’s very user-friendly, and an accurate real-time tool. I like that I have the ability to update reservations myself, and not go through a hotel channel. You can export your lists, the countdown tracker to your pick up percentage is handy.
  • Real-time.
  • User-friendly.
  • User-interface.
  • Larger font.
  • Change the look.
  • More editable fields.
I would recommend trying it. Give it a go and see the time it saves staff. I know for me it has cut my time spent on hotel reservations by half. It is also easy to learn and teach any new members who come on your team. This is a time saver!
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Incentivized
We use Cvent Passkey to track our hotel blocks and I have have a great experience with it. We track to see if we are close to filling our block or if we are going to hit any attrition. I use it as the Event Manager and share the pick up reports with the rest of my team. It addresses the problem of knowing how many rooms we have filled in our hotel block.
  • Real time tracking
  • Analysis by demographics
  • Organized and easy to use
  • Dedicated Passkey rep
Everyone should be in the know of how their hotel blocks are tracking.
February 18, 2020

Great time saver!

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Incentivized
Passkey is used by our internal Meetings & Events group to manage housing for our events, across the whole organization. Prior to utilizing Passkey, our room blocks were managed manually, which was inefficient and a drain on resources. Now, our attendees have more control over their own reservation and our team has the time to focus on other priorities.
  • Automates the room booking process!
  • The fact that both integrated & non-integrated hotels can easily use the system is a huge benefit.
  • The support center for administrators (GroupMax) and the dashboard could be better. Good for beginnings, but there is a lack of detail for more advanced users.
  • The process of building a booking site could be easier/more streamlined. We sometimes have to hunt around to find where to edit information.
So far most of our experience has been with "simple" events, where all of our event attendees are booking rooms at one hotel and only one room type is available. Passkey is very easy to use in that scenario, although there was some confusion about why a sub-block had to be set up in that situation. As we use the system for more and more complex events, I hope setting up the blocks and sub-blocks, as well as tying those blocks back to the appropriate Cvent registration type, is not as complicated as I am expecting it may be.
February 12, 2020

Very satisfied user!

Kathryn Loops | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Incentivized
Passkey is used by our events department to manage our room block for events we hold. It helps ensure the correct people get into our block, and the dashboard is used to run reports on the block pickup rate and reservation lists in real-time. It addresses the problem of getting reservation lists quickly and editing reservations on our own.
  • Visual representation of room block data.
  • Real-time ability to view event data.
  • We would like the opportunity to separate room blocks in the dashboard as some of our events have separate ones, and the visual reports can't be separated currently.
It is a perfect tool if you're looking to make the process of booking a room more seamless after your attendees register for your event. We have had issues with people registering in our room block but attending other events happening in the city at the same time, and this has really helped that issue.
Charlotte Grimmett | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Incentivized
Cvent Passkey is being used in my organization only by the marketing department to organize our group room blocks for events, meetings, and conventions. It has allowed us to move from an outside company managing our block with two staff members in the company running point to now having only one staff member and no outside company management due to ease of use.
  • Allows user and planner edits
  • Direct communication with hotels
  • The way that shoulder date requests can be frustrating
  • Better 2-way integration with Cvent--still a way to go with this function
Cvent Passkey is well suited for events that you need people to manage their hotel bookings and be responsible for it, but you as a planner need to be able to edit the block if needed (especially if it is a type of event where attendees will call you to make edits instead of the hotel or going into their existing reservation to make changes).
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Incentivized
We use Cvent Passkey with hotel blocks for some of our signature events. It creates an easy way for attendees to book rooms.
  • Ease of use
  • Seamless user experience
  • More creativity in custom branding
Wedding and conference room blocks work well and are easy to manage for everyday people who typically don't use systems like Cvent Passkey.
Dave Carlson | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Incentivized
Passkey is an essential connector to the Cvent attendee management platform that helps automate and streamline our hotel room block management process and connects directly to the hotel database for real-time reservation management. It streamlines errors, allows for real-time analytics, personalized room block web pages and puts the control in the hands of the attendee. No middle person and no wasted resource time.
  • API integration
  • Customized room block web page
  • Integrate Passkey within the registration page while registering.
  • Mobile app for admin management.
Any time you have a registration site and a housing block, it is without question a necessity. Don’t buy your own license. The hotels need to do this as you are saving them time rekeying your manual lists.
January 22, 2020

Great Product

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Incentivized
Passkey is used by reservations / events departments. It allows the customer to have a direct reservations link to make reservations directly without having to call the hotel. It also allows planners to upload their rooming list or make any changes to that rooming list. This helps to eliminate the numerous calls/emails about reservations. This is now at their fingertips.
  • Personalized reservations link for booking reservations
  • Planners have direct access to their rooming list
  • Possibly more access to changing photos on the hotel website
Managing reservations are now at the finger tips of the meeting planners.
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Incentivized
We have been using Cvent Passkey for 2 years now. It is currently being used by our meetings and incentive department. We are not using it company-wide. It helps us manage and track our hotel rooms digitally instead of using other methods (like Excel). This process took too much time and Passkey is helping us save time.
  • Hotel Room Block Management
  • Saving Time
  • Certain Hotels do not use it
  • Larger groups with complex blocks still need to be done by hand
When using this for our largest group, it tends to not pull data correctly and it doesn't integrate well with our registration system. It would be good if Cvent could work on the integration side of things. We still use Excel sheets and go over rooming lists by hand with certain room blocks because Passkey hasn't been 100% correct.
Rachel Sigley-Cantalupo | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
We host almost 2,000 people for an event, for which about 2/3 require hotel rooms. We used to manually manage room assignments and passing credit card forms through a secure site. We now started using Event Passkey, allowing us to connect directly with the host hotel, and guests can choose their stay, add shoulder stays, input their CC information more securely while freeing up hundreds of hours of our employee's time.
  • Room management
  • Reporting
  • Bit time consuming to set up.
  • Doesn't work with every hotel so not consistent experience.
If you're only having a small block of guests, it may not be worth the effort, but when you have a more complex event set up -- hundreds to thousands of people where there's an option for people to pick multiple room nights, have some nights comped while other nights cost or shoulder stays it comes in handy.
Return to navigation