IBM Cloud for VMware Solutions Reviews

<a href='https://www.trustradius.com/static/about-trustradius-scoring#question3' target='_blank' rel='nofollow noopener noreferrer'>Customer Verified: Read more.</a>
37 Ratings
<a href='https://www.trustradius.com/static/about-trustradius-scoring' target='_blank' rel='nofollow noopener noreferrer'>trScore algorithm: Learn more.</a>
Score 8.0 out of 100

Do you work for this company? Manage this listing

Overall Rating

Reviewer's Company Size

Last Updated

By Topic

Industry

Department

Experience

Job Type

Role

Reviews (1-10 of 10)

Steve Redman | TrustRadius Reviewer
January 15, 2020

Scalability, reliability and sensibility.

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
It gives us multiple storage options, an additional layer of security as well as high availability. Replication is a snap when we have needed it. Having admin access to vCenter Server allows easy of manageability without the hassle and limitations an onsite solution only restricted us too prior to implementation.
  • Multiple storage options
  • High availability
  • Windows updates are manually installed, not automatic
In a situation where backbone data center reliability is essential for redundancy and speed of operation, it excels. Another situation would be in deploying replication to other sites as the ease of access makes this a snap.
Read Steve Redman's full review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
April 07, 2020

IBM Cloud for VMware Solutions will raise your applications to new heights!

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
IBM Cloud for VMware Solutions is being used throughout our entire organization. It allows us to use the IBM Cloud to host our VMware servers, thus allowing us to minimize the number of VMware servers we have in our on-site data centers. It also allows us to expand our capacity when needed so that we can serve both our internal and external customers more efficiently and in a cost-effective manner.
  • Expandability: Allows us to add more capacity very easily.
  • We like that IBM is a one-stop shop that offers a complete setup without having to deal with multiple vendors.
  • The startup implementation was a pretty difficult process.
  • The documentation we felt was rather lacking and could be improved.
I think IBM Cloud for VMware Solutions would be a good fit for a medium to large company looking to outsource their current in-house VMware products. The IBM solution would allow them to outsource their current infrastructure so that the company could then concentrate on their core business, whatever that may be.

A smaller company with a smaller VMware footprint would probably not be a good fit here. It's a pretty complex process to get things started, so it might not be worth it for a smaller company.
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
April 07, 2020

IBM Cloud Review

Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We used it to manage on premise workloads in an effort to migrate our core data center operations to the cloud in order to reduce data redundancy and increase workflow. Our core goal was to reduce data costs and enhance other operational errors we encountered with on premise issues, specifically server issues.
  • Easy on boarding and migration
  • Easy to access historical information
  • Excellent data analytics
  • Ability to integrate with other applications
  • Speed of use
  • Cross capabilities with internal systems
It was well suited for our more recent databases/applications. It ran into issues with more legacy products where the integration was harder to achieve and needed more custom work around integration. However, this was not very hard to achieve and well worth the time and effort relative to the value proposition provided by the product
Read this authenticated review
Trevor Hernandez | TrustRadius Reviewer
August 26, 2019

Wonderful product

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We currently use VMWare on IBM cloud for our VDI deployments. The Virtual Desktop Infrastructure centralizes our support to a single pane of glass. Basically, rather than using many control systems, we can use a single interface to deploy all of our features.
  • Easy deployment
  • Easy support
  • Simple pricing model
  • More marketing capabilities
VMWare vSphere on IBM cloud is best utilized for for global companies where your data lives in multiple locations.
Read Trevor Hernandez's full review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
August 27, 2019

Best Solution

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Reseller
Review Source
Hybrid cloud initiative, another site as our data center recovery.

It's a challenge to have another site as DR and maintaining it to the level of our product site. IBM Cloud allows us not to worry about maintaining another site. It's easy to get started with IBM cloud, transferring initial seeds, and maintaining replicating data.
  • Easy to get started if you know the basics
  • Lower cost compared to other storage backup solutions
  • Easy to scale as you grow
  • Easy to maintain with minimal manual oversight
  • The integration services could be more robust
  • The pilot programs could be more user-friendly
  • Education and training could be more comprehensive for beginners
IBM Cloud for VMware Solutions is great - especially if you have a small IT staff and deal with challenges on day to day basis on keeping the environment up to date, not allowing to do new things and focus on new business objectives and goals. IBM cloud can address a need to have migrated IAAS or DRAAS. It's a cost-effective solution.
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
August 27, 2019

Fun on IBM Cloud

Score 4 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use IBM Cloud solutions for our data platform for one of our revenue-generating applications. It is our infrastructure for our data platform so it no longer involves manual management. This has been great to give me more time in my day and be confident that our data is secure.
  • Flexible pricing depending on size and scale
  • Supports leveraging our IBM Enterprise Licensing Agreements
  • Good support from solutions architects and support teams
  • Better integrations with products like Terraform from Hashicorp
  • Provide more SaaS based solutions and platforms
We use it for bare metal and to support IBM specific products. Where it doesn't make sense are for workloads that are already container-based and customers are looking for a full platform.
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
August 27, 2019

IBM Cloud - The simple way to connect!

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
VMware vSphere on IBM cloud is used in my department. It currently helps us address [being able to] connect different cloud providers as a service. The business problem it address is that the individuals can use IBM Cloud as well as AWS and use Zadara from it.
  • Ease of use - we don't want to spend extra hours trying to figure out a problem
  • Easy Setup - onboarding was simple and quick
  • Great documentation - Most of the answers to our questions are very easily accessible without additional help
  • Time latency
  • Support could be better
  • Price is high
I believe IBM Cloud is well suited for individuals who know their product but not so much for cloud strategy. IBM helps us accelerate and plan the cloud journey and allows us to scale. I wouldn't recommend the IBM Cloud if you know how to scale and distribute the servers world wide.
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
August 27, 2019

Good Solution

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Our department needs to be able to have a visualization of internal users. We also use the service for exploration in VDI. IBM Cloud for VMware helps our team collaborate efficiently and reliably.
  • VMWare is faster than other software we have used
  • Reliable
  • Good
  • None
This product is exceptional for VDI and Server VMs.
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
August 26, 2019

Our pleasant experience with vsphere cloud

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
vSphere on IBM cloud is being utilized to host and manage a sub section of VMs utilized for specific internal applications. It is being used only by the IT department, and it allows us to focus more on the applications themselves rather than worrying about the physical infrastructure for these critical apps.
  • The performance is top notch. Our on-prem environment was always suffering from lag and general sluggishness. With IBM running everything, it's much smoother.
  • It's always up to date. Our previous environment was always lacking the latest updates and security features. Our audit department enjoys having the peace of mind that everything is up to date.
  • They handle the security of the environment. It allows our security team to focus on higher priority issues. They dont have to worry about making sure our systems are secured.
  • I wish it were a bit easier to manage user access.
  • The initial configuration process could be a bit more streamlined.
Scenarios where VMware vSphere on IBM Cloud is well suited for any companies that don't want to have to worry about the physical side of everything. If you are already looking to virtualization, then why not get rid of the physical infrastructure running the vSphere portion as well. A less appropriate scenario would be in the case of our SCADA systems. Due to the nature of these systems, we still prefer to keep the management and vSphere on prem.
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
October 14, 2019

vSphere for your Enterprise

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
It is used by IT departments to manage their virtual servers and not throughout all of the organization. It allows IT departments to manage and reboot the devices that they are responsible for without having to contact the server team. It also allows the server team to have a centralized area to manage all devices.
  • You architect your own solution.
  • Start a new cluster as small as one ESXi server or scale an existing cluster.
  • The web interface component could use some work. Particularly, performance in multiple browsers.
It is well suited for centralization, virtualization, and as a management platform.
Read this authenticated review

Feature Scorecard Summary

Virtual machine automated provisioning (10)
6.9
Management console (10)
6.7
Live virtual machine backup (9)
6.9
Live virtual machine migration (8)
5.9
Hypervisor-level security (10)
7.4

About IBM Cloud for VMware Solutions

IBM Cloud for VMware Solutions is designed to make cloud adoption fast and easy, allowing the user to optimize the value of existing on-premises infrastructure, while leveraging the same tools, technologies and skills in the cloud. Gain rapid scalability, deployment in 35+ global data centers and access to industry-leading disaster recovery, backup, security and compliance solutions from an array of ecosystem partners.

To address varying workload needs, IBM Cloud offers both client-managed and IBM-managed VMware solutions. The client-managed solution, IBM Cloud for VMware Solutions Dedicated, includes VMware vSphere and VMware vCenter options in a monthly subscription model on a single-tenant infrastructure. Both run on bare metal servers enabling secure, single-tenant deployments. Additionally, you can retain the same root level hypervisor access as with your on-premises cloud. These models improve compatibility and increase cloud agility.

The IBM-managed solution, IBM Cloud for VMware Solutions Shared, leverages VMware vCloud Director in an hourly or monthly consumption model on a multi-tenant infrastructure. This self-service solution provides a way to start migrating virtual machines (VMs) to the cloud in a matter of minutes. IBM Cloud manages the hypervisor, so users don’t have to worry about managing, patching or updates. The vendor describes this model as flexible and cost-effective for scalability.

IBM Cloud for VMware Solutions Features

Server Virtualization Features
Has featureVirtual machine automated provisioning
Has featureManagement console
Has featureLive virtual machine backup
Has featureLive virtual machine migration
Has featureHypervisor-level security

IBM Cloud for VMware Solutions Screenshots

IBM Cloud for VMware Solutions Videos (3)

IBM Cloud for VMware Solutions Integrations

IBM Spectrum Protect Plus, Zerto, Veeam, NetApp, HyTrust, F5, Fortinet

IBM Cloud for VMware Solutions Competitors

VMware Cloud on AWS, Rackspace, OVH

Pricing

  • Does not have featureFree Trial Available?No
  • Does not have featureFree or Freemium Version Available?No
  • Has featurePremium Consulting/Integration Services Available?Yes
  • Entry-level set up fee?No

IBM Cloud for VMware Solutions Customer Size Distribution

Consumers
0%
Small Businesses (1-50 employees)
5%
Mid-Size Companies (51-500 employees)
20%
Enterprises (> 500 employees)
75%

IBM Cloud for VMware Solutions Support Options

 Free VersionPaid Version
Phone
Live Chat
Email
Forum/Community
FAQ/Knowledgebase
Social Media
Video Tutorials / Webinar

IBM Cloud for VMware Solutions Technical Details

Deployment Types:SaaS
Operating Systems: Unspecified
Mobile Application:No
Supported Countries:Worldwide