FortiGate Reviews

<a href='https://www.trustradius.com/static/about-trustradius-scoring#question3' target='_blank' rel='nofollow noopener noreferrer'>Customer Verified: Read more.</a>
123 Ratings
<a href='https://www.trustradius.com/static/about-trustradius-scoring' target='_blank' rel='nofollow noopener noreferrer'>trScore algorithm: Learn more.</a>
Score 8.7 out of 100

Do you work for this company? Manage this listing

TrustRadius Top Rated for 2019

Overall Rating

Reviewer's Company Size

Last Updated

By Topic

Industry

Department

Experience

Job Type

Role

Reviews (1-25 of 40)

Saqib Zaheer Ahmed | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Reseller
Review Source
We have deployed the FortiGate firewall in all our 5 branches. There is site-to-site connectivity between all the branches over IPSEC and MPLS. We have enabled the IPS, web filter, application filter and have written the policies based on the IP and user group. A self-signed SSL certificate has also been pushed through AD to decrypt the HTTPS traffic. We are able to monitor and block the malicious URL. We have done both source NAT and destination NAT successfully.
  • The GUI is very simple and understandable.
  • It is a very cost effective firewall with all the enterprise grade features.
  • There are some bugs in the newer versions and patches.
  • Sometimes the firewall gets stuck we need to do a hard reboot which impacts the production.
Fortinet is best suited to SMB customers if the customer has 20 to 500 employees with multiple branches. This is the best cost-effective firewall with a great level of security. But if you are looking for an application-based firewall where you need to define the policy based on the applications, opt for another firewall.
Read Saqib Zaheer Ahmed's full review
Jeff Winter | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We currently have two FortiGate firewalls that we use for city and county Internet gateway connections. All the traffic for each organization flows out to the Internet through one of these firewalls. We also use these firewalls as connectors for each organizations DMZ networks using VLAN technology. As our edge/gateway devices, these firewalls serve several purposes. All inbound and outbound connections are explicitly set, which is intended to limit exposure to ports used by bad actors. The software features included in the firewall inspect all traffic for security including https traffic. We are using firewall software to provide web filtering in an effort to increase productivity and reduce access to potentially bad sites. We are planning on deploying more Fortigate firewalls, including virtualized versions, in an effort to segment internal networks. The FortiGate product is also part of our overarching effort to use Fortinet switches and APs to provide what Fortinet considers a security fabric in an effort to make many of our security products work in concert.
  • My favorite aspect of the Fortigate product is the ease of use. The GUI is very easy to get around. The products rules and configuration are easy to learn and apply. The informational tools are easy to look at and produce results that are intuitive and quick to assess.
  • Another great attribute of the FortiGate product was reasonable pricing for the product and then the ongoing support. Living in the SMB space with tight governmental budgets is a huge factor in all my decisions. When a company like Fortinet comes along and produces good products at very reasonable prices it is good for SMB companies like mine. Many vendors price their products in a fashion that is beyond consideration by SMBs like myself.
  • Support is always a big factor in consideration of any product for our organization. Fortinet support has been extremely good. They have provided an onsite engineer at no cost to help us design, implement and maintain new products when needed. The call support has also been excellent, with quick response times and knowledgeable technicians.
  • It looks like they are making an effort to produce a centralized management interface with the integration of switches and APs into the FortiGate interface. They have a good start, but it needs continued work. While you can do some basic tasks for these external devices in that GUI, you must change over to the main browser page of the device itself to do many configuration tasks and check performance issues. I hope that they will add all this functionality into the main FortiGate GUI.
  • One other area of improvement I would like to see is the time to show real-time events in log screens. The results always seem to be a bit behind and you have to refresh to get them to show current things. The FortiAnalyzer product that works in conjunction with the FortiGate firewall addresses this but it would be nice if the default logging was more timely.
Learning from our experience using a couple of different SMB firewall devices, the FortiGate firewall is well suited to our 500 or so user environment. The model recommended to us by the Fortinet engineers has performed well and seems more than adequate for current usage and future growth. Unlike other firewalls we have used, we are able to break open and inspect SSL traffic with this device and also replaced a separate web filtering device we were using. We are looking to add more of these to further segment internal networks.
Read Jeff Winter's full review
Armando Alvarado | TrustRadius Reviewer
September 18, 2019

Try Fortigate Awesome

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use it for policies and DMZ access. We currently use it also for natting for the outside presence of websites for users. We use if for the entire district.
  • The GUI is easy so that is a major plus.
  • The cost is really good. Others we've seen are pretty costly, especially if you are on a budget.
  • An engineer to help with the installation at no cost is really good. Too many times you had to pay for that and travel at times.
  • Management needs a little work but we can get by with a few tweaks.
  • Real-time would be good.
  • Some logging features could use a little lift but not too bad. It depends on what you're looking for.
I think its best suited for large enterprise networks such as a datacenter or a larger business with a million-dollar network, etc. Small businesses with less than 100 people would not benefit from this.
Read Armando Alvarado's full review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
January 14, 2020

Easy-to-use firewall

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
FortiGate devices are used in our organization as firewalls and VPN servers. Main internet connections used Palo Alo firewalls, FortiGates are used on the secondary ones, as the cost of the FortiGates is significantly lower. SSL client-server VPN is used with Fortinet's Forticlient software as a client piece on PC and Mac computers. Fortinet subscription services are used for web filtering.
  • Compared to Palo Alto, FortiGates are significantly less expensive. I would advise organizations to use them in cases where funds are limited.
  • FortiGates are easy to configure via GUI - it is very simple and logical. Compared to Palo Alto or Cisco ASAs, Fortinet products are easier to work with for less experienced admins.
  • Web filtering subscription services are not as good as Palo Alto's. Palos had a smaller number of false negatives in my experience.
  • Log filtering is better on Palo Altos. It is easier to find log entries for particular events on the Palo Altos.
I haven't worked with a higher-end offering from Fortinet, so my experience can only apply to smaller devices (80E and 60E). These units are less expensive than similar offerings from Palo Alto, making them a good choice for small businesses and branch offices. Also, FortiGate is the easiest firewall to configure, in my experience (among Cisco ASA, Palo Alto, pfSense, etc.). Ease of configuration is also a big advantage for organizations with limited resources. Palo Alto firewalls have better filtering and logging capabilities, though, so organizations with complicated requirements should consider investing in Palo Alto NGFW instead of FortiGate.
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use this software to protect the company in various ways. For example, as a content filter, and also as a firewall to administrate inbound and outbound traffic by closing ports. Finally, with the reports we do some useful analytics in order to make decisions and better understand the final users in the network.
  • Web filtering.
  • Command line interface is a little bit hard to use.
  • Lack of AI.
FortiGate is very well suited when we need to block some dangerous websites in order to protect our network from threats like viruses, data loss, and hacking in general. Also, we use it to block some traffic like virtual desktops.
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use Fortinet Fortigates as perimeter and WAN firewalls nationally and use them for intrusion prevention, web filtering, application filtering, VPN, and proxy.
  • Ease to deploy and manage.
  • Very cost effective when compared to competitors.
  • Good, local, reactive support.
  • Upgrades are always "risky" (usually wait for 2 upgrades before upgrading).
  • Some of the settings don't make sense at first look.
Having used all the big-name players in the market, Fortigate is up there in terms of functionality and adaptability but with the benefit of a lower cost and ease of management that no one else offers.
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
October 22, 2019

Great product so far!

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Right now Fortinet is being used in our labs for training and testing. Since we wanted that environment off our normal and production network we implemented Fortinet in our training and testing environment.
  • Was easy to implement in our large enterprise environment
  • Flexible
  • Everything included ie antivirus, web-filtering, etc.
  • Might not be practical in our environment
Worked great as a stand-alone in our testing and training environment.
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
October 15, 2019

FortiGate Firewall

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Fortinet is our main firewall. We use it for IPS, Network Antivirus, application control, and web filtering. The FortiGate is used across our entire school district. It does a tremendous job of safeguarding our district from cyber threats.
  • Intrusion protection.
  • Application control.
  • Web filtering.
  • Reporting could be better.
Fortigate is an excellent firewall for all sized businesses from SOHO to large enterprises.
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
September 21, 2019

Close your FortiGate

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We like to use it between physical servers and virtual servers to create a stricter zone of security, but it is also well suited in a top-down architecture network.
  • Secure the network from botnet, spyware.
  • You can use URL filters to block certain pages by content or categories.
  • Great site-to-site VPN.
  • Command line interface is a little bit hard to use.
  • HA is not reliable.
I recommend putting Fortinet in a top-down or left-right network architectural. We use them between barebone servers and virtual servers in a vertical scheme.
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
September 10, 2019

Fortinet FortiGate

Score 6 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use Fortinet FortiGate throughout our organization to protect our internal network for its IPS, web filtering, and application control.
  • Long list of alliance partners
  • Threat Protection
  • SSL Inspection
  • Performance
  • Cloud features
Setup two firewalls and configure them as active- passive. This configuration ensures that all packets to and from users are managed and controlled work well. Site to site VPN not so well.
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
September 10, 2019

Fortinet is a leader

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We normally use FortiGate to make a secure connection between our sites and for remote users (employees) to continue working when they travel. We configured HA on them to prevent any disasters in the case devices fail.
  • VPN - Great for remote users.
  • Site-to-site VPN.
  • Prevent any unwanted connection from outside.
  • Firmware releases - Sometimes you have to follow an upgrade path. If you don't follow it, you could brick it.
FortiGate is well-suited if security on your tunnels and VPN connections is a must for the organization. You can also use URL filtering to keep users navigating to specific categories, increasing the security of what they see and what they download.
Read this authenticated review
Neil Johnson | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Fortinet Fortigate is a complex solution to assure the security of your network perimeter. It has a very simple interface with sufficient functionality. We like this tool because it is easy to install, easy to administer, has a good price, and good protection. We would say that Fortinet Fortigate is the best in its class because of its high availability, speed, resilience, and the vendor offers very qualitative support.
  • Very easy-to-use interface
  • Good resilience
  • High availability and speed
  • Easy installation
  • More complex configurations must be done via the console
  • Licensing options can be improved
We use Fortinet FortiGate to assure the security of our network. It's a good IDS/IPS with real-time attack information on dashboards. There are daily reports with a lot of intuitive information. It's a good VPN solution for administrators and for users. We've had no incompatibilities or issues working with any of our equipment. Fortinet is a very good appliance with a very good price.
Read Neil Johnson's full review
Marc-Olivier Turgeon-Ferland | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use FortiGate mainly for internet gateway and IPS at each of our offices. It offers us IPS, Firewall, VPN and many more features for a competitive price.

We also use Fortigate captive portal with their 2FA (mobile or physical) keys to offer an additional validation before accessing our service backend networks.
  • User authentication inside firewall rules. It is practically seamless and really easy to setup.
  • Management of firewall rules via the GUI.
  • Management of IPS rules via the GUI.
  • Forticlient with SSL VPN causes a lot more problems than it solves. Windows and Mac updates keep breaking the Forticlient and it takes weeks to get updates. Fortigate updates also sometimes break the SSL VPN. Forticlient crashes and the only fix is to restart the computer to restart the VPN driver. We had this problem for 3 years and they still don't have a fix for that. We now use L2TP-IPsec and Cisco-IPsec with Windows and Mac embedded VPN clients because of all that.
  • Memory issues with IPS. We tried all the firmware versions and IPS engines given to us by the Fortinet support and we are still experiencing memory leaks once in a while with the IPS engine. The only provided solution is to restart the IPS engine via CLI.
  • FortiView only works properly if you disable ASIC routing. Their marketing always says that their ASICs is the reason their appliances are better than competition but you can't use it if you want reports or to be able to drill down on network usage.
  • Every time they release a new firmware version, it takes 3-6 revisions for it to be free from major bugs. We are still waiting for a 5.6 revision that will not have major bugs within the features we use.
  • Active-Active clusters do not offer much resilience when problems are software based. If for example the IPS engine has a memory leak, it will not automatically fallback on the other Fortigate, even if the primary one reboots.
  • Everything related to virus, spam and intrusion detection (Forticlient, IPS, mail antispam, etc.) needs a lot of tweaking otherwise you will get a lot of false positive. It is also lacking in the type of actions you can do when those are detected. It is designed more for blocking than anything else.
For the money, even with all the bugs, I think it is the application that offers the most features.

If you need a lot of those features and you are ready to put the time into tweaking your FortiGates, I really think it will give you the most value.

If you have the money to buy the best VPN appliance, the best Firewall, the best IPS appliance and the time to set them with each other then FortiGate is not for you. If money is not the main concern and you only need the best, FortiGate is not for you but I really doubt it will be the case for most.
Read Marc-Olivier Turgeon-Ferland's full review
Adithyo Dewangga Wijaya | TrustRadius Reviewer
March 10, 2019

Fortinet FIrewalls

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Fortinet's version of throughput is good and It has a strong active cluster, as you can have between three and 32 units to a cluster. The most important factor is that you choose a firewall or UTM solution that fits your organization's security requirements. Begin by determining what business problem you are trying to solve, what technical controls you need to implement (Firewall, IPS, NAC, VPN, endpoint, mobility, web filtering, malware detection, etc.). Then, determine what hardware features you need such as (HA clustering, link aggregation or 10Gb, port density), and what kind of throughput, and how many concurrent connections.
  • Easy to set up
  • 9/10 Customer Service
  • 9/10 Technical Supports
  • Multiple layers of security
  • Security
  • LAN
  • WAN
Variables in TCL scripts via FortiManager
Read Adithyo Dewangga Wijaya's full review
Adrian Cumberbatch | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Our Fortigate is used as the primary network router and IPSec VPN access point. We have a hub [and] spoke setup between the main office and other remote offices. Users also connect to our fortigate to access the network remotely using SSL VPN with the FortiClient software installed on their PCs or using the SSL web portal.
  • SSL VPN works well and is very configurable for controlling access to internal network resources based on user groups.
  • Fortigate also manages our wireless AP and many SSIDs can be created with either WPA or Enterprise WPA with radius for greater security
  • IPSec VPNs easy to configure between fortigate devices but also not that difficult for other IPSec compatible devices
  • Initial learning curve was difficult coming from a Symantec/Raptor background but not a huge deal
Fortigate is well suited where you have multiple internet connections and you want to provide failover for these connections. This can be done by round-robin or in an active-passive mode when an ISP goes down, traffic is automatically routed across the other device without interruption. Users never notice and it saves a lot of headaches. Of course, monitoring should be done from external sources so that you are aware when a link goes down.
Read Adrian Cumberbatch's full review
Shawn Umansky | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We have two FortiGate 1500D firewalls, one at each datacenter. They are configured as active-passive. All traffic coming and going passes through them for the entire organization. This ensures that all packets to and from users are managed and controlled.
  • Creating and managing access control policies that allow specific traffic in and out of the network. Once you get it set up, it's easy to create new policies, specify ports, and configure IP ranges.
  • Active-Passive failover works well.
  • It generally works pretty well without much care and feeding.
  • Their web filtering module makes it pretty easy to block malicious websites quickly.
  • We tried to roll out the client about five years ago. This is used both for VPN, as well as antivirus/web filtering. Any policies set at the firewall would be automatically pushed to the client and enforced. It was a great idea, but the drive mapping feature never worked consistently in our environment, so we were forced to find alternative solutions for both VPN and antivirus. Too bad, really.
  • We have had a couple times when one of the firewalls would hang for no apparent reason. Support engineers were never able to pinpoint the problem either time. It only happened a couple times.
If you have straight forward needs, this thing is a good workhourse. We are not in the console every day. It is mostly set it and forget it for us. If this is what you need, it's not a bad solution.
Read Shawn Umansky's full review
Tommy Boucher | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use Fortigate in 3 locations, for a total of 5 units (two locations are clustered). Mainly used as router / NAT, we also use it for a large number of Site-to-Site VPNs. We have also recently started using it as IPS, Antivirus, Webfiltering, etc.

We have many policies, with some schedule, very easy to use.
  • Site-to-Site VPN. Easy to setup, and reliable.
  • Not the best strength of the Fortigate, but very powerful.
  • Firewall Policies. Drag and drop, dropdown, schedule, etc. Simple.
  • NAT publishing is a bit a pain. Need to create virtual service, virtual address, virtual IP, and publish it thru a policy... so many clicks.
  • SSL VPN isn't very reliable, a lot of 98% Connecting issues.
  • Monitoring and Troubleshooting can sometime be a pain.
They have a lot of different models of Fortigate, from simple Wifi router, to very large clustered deployment. It is well suited for almost any scenario.

Both a small office and a large datacenter can use the power of a Fortigate.
Read Tommy Boucher's full review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We are using Fortigate Firewalls at all of our properties, from large campus installs to small branch office locations. We use Fortigate units to route traffic and as a Next Generation Firewall, to allow policy based security at all of our locations. The Fortigate units allow us to secure our networks, while providing a great experience for our administrators
  • Simple but complete GUI allows for easy management.
  • Intuitive CLI allows experienced CLI users from other platforms to come up to speed quickly.
  • Unit comes out of the box with a feature rich logging capability, FortiAnalyzer brings it to the next level and is very easy to install.
  • Licensing is easy to understand, The device is a single line item and support has 2 options 8x5 and 24x7.
  • Fortigate's SSL VPN client isn't available via MSI with an easy options for mass deployment and configuration out of the box. You need to have a Fortinet Developer Network license to create a custom deploy image.
  • Fortinet's after hours support is overseas and is adequate. Not stellar.
Fortinet's Fortigate units are very solid Next Generation Firewalls. In my experience they have done very well both at our branch offices and our Corporate Offices. They are feature packed, the support is fantastic and we've experienced fantastic stability. Anyone with experience managing enterprise class firewalls will have a shallow learning curve moving to the Fortigate units.
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
This device is being used across the entire organization. We are using it as our primary Internet facing firewall. It is protecting our network from outside threats and ensuring that the users inside the organization are protected as well. All authorized users have access to the FortiClient VPN software so they can access resources from remote locations.
  • VPN client is easy to use and can be customized for your organization.
  • All features are enabled on the firewall with little to no impact on performance.
  • Easy to configure interface on the firewall but also has a command line available for high level admins.
  • Excellent technical support department - very quick response time.
  • Pricing was amazing compared to peers.
  • Sales team was lacking information (type of licensing, hardware model, etc). Make sure you ask lots of questions.
Our firewall is fantastic. It's very quick and easy to configure. Fortigate offered a lot of assistance during setup so that our downtime when switching was very limited. The technical support team is amazing and have a very quick response time. Compared to it's peers, Fortigate has exceptional pricing for the same or better feature set.
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Fortinet FortiGate is a mature solution that help us to assure perimeter security of our network. The implementation was pretty easy. We purchased support from the vendor for implementation. The integration with another solution is very easy: SIEM, DLP, proxy. Very user friendly interface and very intuitive. Detailed logs that can be easy send to the SIEM solution.
  • User-friendly interface
  • Detailed logs
  • IDS and IPS work without any problems
  • Easy to set and manage rules
  • User documentation can be more detailed
  • FortiClient - the app for VPN connection sometime get errors
  • Another problem we did not find
The IDS and IPS solution work great. Identity and prevent attacks is easy. Offenses are very intuitive. The VPN is very good. Easy to set to endpoints. You can easily manage rules and configuration without any deep knowledge. Scheduled reports send to the persons responsible for security is very useful. In conclusion - a mature and stable solution
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Fortigate is a very simple solution to deploy and it helps to handle web users and to apply policies to those users according to departments or user's roles. This solution was deployed across the whole organization and it helped to manage limited resources as well as network bandwidth. You can manage resources to power or limit users. You can always define new roles and filter websites accordingly.
  • Web filtering. It has specific categories to filter web pages. You can always customize them and also create new ones.
  • Security. FortiGate provides a good security to guarantee that no users override the system.
  • You can find different categories where you can filter services. Something like IM, Social Networks, etc. You can also filter ports and create proxy-like routes.
  • I think that the GUI can be improved to make it friendlier.
  • License fee could be lower.
  • Logs and the information that comes out of it [don't have] much information to debug.
Fortinet is well suited for a working environment and when you want to manage how users interact with web services. In this case, Fortinet is doing it very well when it comes to assigning web profiles to users and granting or denying access to specific websites, ports or services (IM, Social Networks, etc.).
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We are using Fortinet FortiGate as our firewall for our office as well as its client VPN capabilities for certain users to connect back remotely. The firewall provides some website and antivirus filtering to help keep our network secure without solely relying on desktop antivirus programs. It's critical for some workers to be able to connect back to office resources securely with the client VPN installed on their laptops.
  • It's a cost effective solution for a smaller business like ours.
  • Consulting companies like the one we bought this thru offer support for the product
  • Performance of the firewall and VPN are good
  • The VPN client install is not very clear. It includes other features like antivirus that we are not wanting to use but you have to know where to look to prevent that from being installed.
  • Configuring the firewall is a bit complicated. It really helps to have someone familiar with it do that for you.
If you buy it from a consulting company where they can configure it for you it's pretty much a set it and forget it solution. This suits our needs well. If you are constantly tweaking applications or services in your environment you may have to spend a little time getting familiar with its configuration to be able to manage that yourself.
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
March 02, 2019

FortiGate Review

Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
FortiGate is used as our enterprise firewall used across the organization. It addresses securing our network from outside attacks with policy control, antivirus, IPS, application and web filtering.
  • Their ASIC technology has very high-performance. The hardware is fast.
  • Easy to manage. Rule creation is easy and flexible.
  • Logging is detailed. GUI allows you to add/remove columns to get the detail you want.
  • There seems to be a lack of quality control with new versions and service pack releases. GUI menus fail to load. Features get pulled out. What's in this release might not be in the next. Random bugs you would not expect to see.
  • Alerting options are not flexible. Very basic and limited options.
  • VPN logging is not very detailed for troubleshooting.
FortiGate offers several sizing options to suit any size organization from small businesses to large enterprises. The licensing options are flexible as well, allowing organizations to choose their level of protection. Options include antivirus, web filtering, DNS filtering, application control, intrusion prevention, anti-spam, web application firewall, and SSL inspection. They also include a cloud sandbox with their offering.
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Fortigate is used by our organization as a firewall and a VPN for our office internet services and some datacenter configurations. We use multiple devices to manage internet traffic and also use it to gain access via VPN to our internet network.
  • VPN routing.
  • Firewall protection.
  • Traffic management.
  • Process of updating firmware configurations.
  • Licensing costs could be lower.
  • Having to look for updates for software.
Fortinet FortiGate has been great in rate limiting traffic for our offices by IP address when a user is using up a high amount of bandwidth, and also by allowing VPN access to our internal network, as well as protecting us from any type of attacks. It has been great for our multiple locations, but it may be overkill for smaller office setups.
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
February 27, 2019

Fortinet FortiGate Review

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use Fortinet FortiGate as our firewall at all three of our offices. We use the Fortiguard service on the firewalls, which includes anti-malware, intrusion protection and the Next Generation Firewall. Before we added the Fortiguard services we were unprotected against bad actors from around the world trying to brute force our RDP servers. Now I am confident that all of those actors are being blocked/banned at the firewall.
  • The Fortinet FortiGate firewall software includes a full function graphical user interface that makes firewall administration easy without having to know the command line interface commands.
  • The FortiGate does an excellent job of protecting devices behind the firewall, its integrated Spam, anti-malware and IPS services all work very well.
  • FortiGate licensing costs are reasonable and much more affordable that Cisco's offerings.
  • The only complaint I have about the FortiGate is the fact that the advanced services like IPS, anti-malware and spam filtering are add-on services. It would be great if they were a part of the firewall offering.
Fortinet FortiGate is well suited for any sized business to protect its internal network from external forces with bad intents. Common sense and best practices dictate that all private networks should be protected by a firewall, and just as importantly the FortiGuard services add-on (IPS, Anti-malware and spam filtering).
Read this authenticated review

Feature Scorecard Summary

Identification Technologies (14)
8.8
Visualization Tools (14)
8.7
Content Inspection (14)
8.9
Policy-based Controls (14)
8.9
Active Directory and LDAP (13)
9.2
Firewall Management Console (14)
8.9
Reporting and Logging (14)
8.1
VPN (14)
9.1
High Availability (11)
8.4
Stateful Inspection (14)
7.9
Proxy Server (11)
8.4

About FortiGate

Fortinet’s FortiGate is a firewall product with high integrability. It can be deployed on-premises or as a Virtual Machine in a variety of modules. The granularity of the product enables buyers to tailor their purchase to their business needs. FortiGate integrates into multivendor environments, including IaaS cloud platforms and public cloud environments.

FortiGate’s functionality includes the core firewall features, such as intrusion prevention, anti-malware, and web filtering. It also includes SSL inspection, threat protection, and scalable segmentation, all within low-latency standards.

FortiGate Technical Details

Operating Systems: Unspecified
Mobile Application:No