FortiGate Reviews

155 Ratings
<a href='https://www.trustradius.com/static/about-trustradius-scoring' target='_blank' rel='nofollow noopener noreferrer'>trScore algorithm: Learn more.</a>
Score 8.7 out of 100

Do you work for this company? Learn how we help vendors

TrustRadius Top Rated for 2020

Overall Rating

Reviewer's Company Size

Last Updated

By Topic

Industry

Department

Experience

Job Type

Role

Reviews (1-25 of 48)

Companies can't remove reviews or game the system. Here's why.
September 25, 2020
Michael Singh | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Coming from a Cisco background, I first brushed this off as some knockoff. But in all honesty, it is far superior to the products I have used in the past.

My department (Enterprise Managed Services) currently uses Fortinet FortiGate in tens of thousands of locations. We use the whole suite with FortiAP and FortiSwitches. The whole family intertwines fluidly with great features and support. Even better is its policy and configuration management with FortiManager or logging and reporting with FortiAnalyzer. The web interface is so intuitive and the CLI is a breeze to use. The current offerings of FortiGates range from small branch office sized firewalls to large multirack datacenter beasts. The VPN capacity, SSL inspection, and other traffic metrics are insane for the purposes we use them for. The high availability and SD Wan features that customers want are so easy to use and configure. I highly recommend FortiGate as an alternative to more expensive solutions that are still 5 years behind.

Another side note, the support and training portals are very very informative. Even the certification exam materials are now free. FortiGate is definitely pushing boundaries with its UTM devices. Many job listings in Denver are now asking for FortiGate experience! Highly recommended.
  • VPN
  • IPS/IDS
  • UTM
  • SD-WAN
  • IPv4 Policies
  • Web content filtering
  • Firmware stability
  • Traffic Shaping policies
  • Better wizards as it can be cumbersome to some new engineers.
FortiGates are very well suited when used in conjunction with FortiManager for scalability and management reasons. Larger model FortiGates are not necessary for smaller environments. The basic models do just fine.
Never a long wait time with Fortinet TAC.
Read Michael Singh's full review
January 12, 2021
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
This device is being used across the entire organization. We are using it as our primary Internet facing firewall. It is protecting our network from outside threats and ensuring that the users inside the organization are protected as well. All authorized users have access to the FortiClient VPN software so they can access resources from remote locations.
  • VPN client is easy to use and can be customized for your organization.
  • All features are enabled on the firewall with little to no impact on performance.
  • Easy to configure interface on the firewall but also has a command line available for high level admins.
  • Excellent technical support department - very quick response time.
  • Pricing was amazing compared to peers.
  • Sales team was lacking information (type of licensing, hardware model, etc). Make sure you ask lots of questions.
Our firewall is fantastic. It's very quick and easy to configure. Fortigate offered a lot of assistance during setup so that our downtime when switching was very limited. The technical support team is amazing and have a very quick response time. Compared to it's peers, Fortigate has exceptional pricing for the same or better feature set.
Read this authenticated review
December 04, 2020
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Fortinet is our main firewall. We use it for IPS, Network Antivirus, application control, and web filtering. The FortiGate is used across our entire school district. It does a tremendous job of safeguarding our district from cyber threats.
  • Intrusion protection.
  • Application control.
  • Web filtering.
  • Reporting could be better.
Fortigate is an excellent firewall for all sized businesses from SOHO to large enterprises.
Support is slightly above average. Sometimes it takes a while to get a response.
Read this authenticated review
June 22, 2020
Tayfun Toka | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We decided to try FortiGate solutions when we wanted to upgrade our Network infrastructure. We have been using it for about 5 years after the results. It is at the heart of the entire infrastructure and is in a critical position because our business is on the internet.
  • Due to the FortiGate location, all our systems are in the gateway position. We did not experience any performance problems such as 11.11 during busy campaign periods.
  • Easy management and very detailed logging.
  • It should not allow two different objects to be defined with the same IP address.
  • If the rule that is written during the rule writing matches another rule, it can be warned.
FortiGate solution is a successful solution in terms of performance and efficiency. No problem in high traffic. Due to its innovative structure, it is an advantage to easily adapt to new integrations.
We live in Turkey. Fortinet's Turkey office [dealt] constantly with us in our every problem or our experience. In addition, global support teams also supported every ticket we opened in every problem we encountered. They support innovative approaches and evaluate and offer solutions. In this context, they were very supportive of the problems we encountered in previous versions.
Read Tayfun Toka's full review
April 15, 2020
Donny McIver | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use FortiGate internally and as our go-to solution for our clients looking to replace/upgrade their current firewall solution. With the recent work from home scramble and COVID-19 - quickly deploying VPN setups to users we never imagined would need to work remotely was a snap -- thankfully we had FortiGate in place for those clients!

We appreciate the next-gen firewall feature set and ease of building policies to tailor to our client's needs for their infrastructure. While we're a pretty small shop, supporting businesses with < 100 users it's nice to have a very scalable solution that we can lead with for clients of any size. We know there's plenty more to learn and grow into the Fortinet universe - but their partner support team is amazing.
  • NextGen Firewall.
  • SSL traffic inspection.
  • VPN / Remote Access.
  • Device telemetry.
  • Sometimes it's too smart for the beginner engineer.
FortiGate is a great fit and no brainer expense when replacing a firewall for our average target client (< 100 users) - much better return on investment compared to Meraki solutions. With the ability to license up or down to best fit a client's requirements - the product line is flexible and scalable. Much different experience than some other product lines we used to lead with - that we'll still support, it's just not the top of our list when a client asks for our recommendation.

We like that FortiGate simplifies the deployment of SSL VPN without added hardware or licensing costs - but if you want to include sandboxing and device endpoint telemetry, you can easily bolt on licenses and leverage cloud management without deploying additional hardware. A huge benefit for smaller clients where it's just not feasible.
Whenever we've had an issue (which isn't often) we've been able to great support through the Partner channel or KB area. We love how well documented various aspects of the platform are taken care of - and how well manicured the KB area / Cookbooks are.

Having quick access to support resources without always having to call to speak to some engineer helps us self-resolve a great number of issues on our own and learn more along the way. Candidly though, we just haven't had to call in or open a ticket hardly ever - usually it's more for our channel support to determine license needs or quoting assistance.
Read Donny McIver's full review
March 03, 2020
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Fortinet Fortigate currently sits on the edge of our network, and it is used to monitor all incoming and outgoing traffic on the network. It allows us to shut down access to the network and restrict access only to applications and protocols that should be allowed based on the services we currently use. It is a core component of our IT security strategy for the organization.
  • Allow secure access to the network for external vendors.
  • Protects the network from nefarious online activities
  • It gives us granular control over what we allow in and out of the network and the flow of traffic between network points (LANS & WANS).
  • It allows us to connect multiple offices over WAN connections.
  • Training - The software and device is complex I believe free training should be offered for administrators to become experts on how the device function as opposed to learning by a bit of trial and error or discovering useful features only when the necessity arises. Companies usually like to avoid the added costs of training. Therefore, free training courses to certification would benefit all shareholders and lead to even further widespread adoption over the competition.
  • Any simplification of the user interface to implement essential security features would be welcomed. It can be relatively daunting for a new administrator, especially if having to use the command prompt.
  • More screenshots in the online documentation or more videos to guide admins on how to implement useful security features I find the documentation online sometimes a bit hard to follow. Still, if screenshots were added, it would simplify the process.
To protect networks ranging from small to enterprise, especially if you are connecting multiple office locations to share IT services where feasible.
In my experience, the support is usually outstanding. You have some wait time to deal with, depending on the issue. Thus far, my experience with their support has been positive.
Read this authenticated review
February 18, 2020
Mauro Osvaldo Sepulveda Gutierrez | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We have been working with this solution over 5 years and we are very satisfied. We use it for one of our offices and the configuration is very easy and intuitive. You can apply policies by address or by user, the integration with Active Directory is not complicated, the cost of the solution is cheaper in comparison with other vendors and including the same solutions.
  • Ease to configure policies
  • VPN performance
  • Active directory integration.
  • Not so scalable, if you need more performance you need to buy another device
  • The traffic shaper could be better
  • The Wan load balance could be better
Fortigate works pretty well if you choose the correct device based on the number of your users. If you need to apply policies by application this solution can help you. Their other features like web filter, VPN connections, traffic reports, etc work well too. In general terms, the solution is very complete and the cost of this device is cheaper than other vendors.
Read Mauro Osvaldo Sepulveda Gutierrez's full review
January 02, 2020
Saqib Zaheer Ahmed | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Review Source
We have deployed the FortiGate firewall in all our 5 branches. There is site-to-site connectivity between all the branches over IPSEC and MPLS. We have enabled the IPS, web filter, application filter and have written the policies based on the IP and user group. A self-signed SSL certificate has also been pushed through AD to decrypt the HTTPS traffic. We are able to monitor and block the malicious URL. We have done both source NAT and destination NAT successfully.
  • The GUI is very simple and understandable.
  • It is a very cost effective firewall with all the enterprise grade features.
  • There are some bugs in the newer versions and patches.
  • Sometimes the firewall gets stuck we need to do a hard reboot which impacts the production.
Fortinet is best suited to SMB customers if the customer has 20 to 500 employees with multiple branches. This is the best cost-effective firewall with a great level of security. But if you are looking for an application-based firewall where you need to define the policy based on the applications, opt for another firewall.
There were scenarios where we were unable to resolve the issues and it was impacting our business. We had raised the ticket with the Fortinet team to high priority, then they asked us to send a few logged posts so that they could support us remotely and resolved the issue in no time. This has happened multiple times. There support is very prompt.
Read Saqib Zaheer Ahmed's full review
September 18, 2019
Armando Alvarado | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use it for policies and DMZ access. We currently use it also for natting for the outside presence of websites for users. We use if for the entire district.
  • The GUI is easy so that is a major plus.
  • The cost is really good. Others we've seen are pretty costly, especially if you are on a budget.
  • An engineer to help with the installation at no cost is really good. Too many times you had to pay for that and travel at times.
  • Management needs a little work but we can get by with a few tweaks.
  • Real-time would be good.
  • Some logging features could use a little lift but not too bad. It depends on what you're looking for.
I think its best suited for large enterprise networks such as a datacenter or a larger business with a million-dollar network, etc. Small businesses with less than 100 people would not benefit from this.
Good Support, never had any issues with that part.
Read Armando Alvarado's full review
February 12, 2020
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Fortinet Fortigate is the Firewall of choice in our organization now. We use them at every location, in every city or town, in every building, as well as in the homes of employees requiring remote access to the organization systems. Fortinet Fortigate solved two problems in our organization:
1. How do we reduce the costs incurred securing our infrastructure and assets, while at the same time not exposing those assets to undue risk; and
2. How do we simply our infrastructure, while increasing our visibility into those assets, with the limited resources available.

Fortinet Fortigate solved both those questions, and actually improved our security posture.
  • Fortinet Fortigate created a simplified cost structure for every device we installed, saving our company thousands of dollars compared with our previous vendor of choice.
  • Fortinet Fortigate firewalls contain a tremendous and robust feature set allowing our organization better protection while reducing the number of devices and software required to do similar functions if we went with our previous vendor.
  • When we switched to Fortinet Fortigate, it took some time getting used to and become familiar with the new interface. Being used to strictly command-line interfaces, a full GUI-based firewall was something brand new. Careful planning had to be done when creating rules to ensure we didn't miss anything. However, once we got used to the new GUI interface, going from one Fortinet product to another was simple, as Fortinet used the same interface for all of its devices.
Fortinet Fortigate is a robust firewall and security device. Fortinet has devices geared for any situations, and for any sized company...from single computer small businesses to extremely large organizations with thousands of computers. Fortinet Fortigate is reasonably priced and contains the ability to have multiple functions embedded into a single device, making management that much simpler. Its robust feature set is top-notch and is on a level playing field with the largest names in the business, and in my view, because of the cost difference, wins hands down.
The Support team at Fortinet is excellent. They can not only help you configure the device for what you are trying to do, they offer suggestions on improving rules, and troubleshooting issues. Their response time is fast, ensuring you are up and running immediately with no questions asked.
We had a hard drive failure in one of our Fortinet Fortigate appliances. The tech answered immediately, and started rebuilding the drive after some preliminary investigations. After rebuilding, there were still errors and issues, so they dispatched a brand new Fortinet Fortigate appliance. The tech then backed up the configurations for when the new device came in, which showed up in a few hours. A restore of the configuration took less than a minute, and there were no more errors or issues.
Read this authenticated review
February 22, 2020
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Review Source
We use Fortinet FortiGate to terminate to our AWS instances for monitoring thousands of customer devices. Using the Fortigate was the answer to the overlapping network issues we had with customers. It's working as designed
  • It's easy to stand up-the registering process is straight forward.
  • The flow of the GUI is second to none- easy to navigate.
  • One thing that I have noticed with other vendors like WatchGuard is the automatic creation of policies when configuring a VPN tunnel. That helps speed up the configuration to get that tunnel up faster.
  • I would also like to see a traffic monitor that shows all live traffic coming in and out. A great tool to use for troubleshooting, that's a feature on the WatchGuard that I like.
Fortinet FortiGate fit in whatever environment you need to provide firewall/UTM functionality. Their range of hardware choices gives the end-user options to fit any scenario.
I will give Fortinet FortiGate a 9, and there is no perfect solution out there. Everybody has an opinion on what is best. That's because it's what that person prefers to use. Some firewalls lack certain feature sets compared to others, but it all depends on the environment you need to deploy the solution. For what I needed, the Fortinet FortiGate hit all the points.
Read this authenticated review
January 29, 2020
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use our FortiGate as the primary firewall for our centralized district-wide Internet as well as a secure VPN for the few users that use this within our organization. It addresses the need we had for a Next Generation Firewall that was easy to transition to, very secure, full featured, well supported and at a reasonable price.
  • Very effective firewall. If set up correctly, creates a very secure environment.
  • Amazing price when compared to same feature set as other prominent firewalls.
  • Updates. I have an HA pair but I always lose connection for a minute or two when upgrading.
  • Interface display. I have a bug where I have to refresh several times to view policies and objects.
We started with a new Palo Alto because it was so well recommended but when we moved the circuit from 2GB to 10GB the price rose to astronomical heights. We heard about FortiGate being very comparable if not better. I attended a Firewall Shootout and the FortiGate clearly came out on top. The price savings for such a high quality product made this an easy choice. It's great that it also has built in features such as VPN, web filtering and access point controller. Because we are a school district, we really need a dedicated web filter but it's likely a great option for a non-educational company.
The few times I needed assistance, they were excellent. Very professional and well trained. I have been very happy with support assistance as well as the initial assistance switching from a Cisco firewall and the FortiGate. We transferred policies and objects and they provided guidance on cleaning up our existing configuration.
Read this authenticated review
January 14, 2020
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
FortiGate devices are used in our organization as firewalls and VPN servers. Main internet connections used Palo Alo firewalls, FortiGates are used on the secondary ones, as the cost of the FortiGates is significantly lower. SSL client-server VPN is used with Fortinet's Forticlient software as a client piece on PC and Mac computers. Fortinet subscription services are used for web filtering.
  • Compared to Palo Alto, FortiGates are significantly less expensive. I would advise organizations to use them in cases where funds are limited.
  • FortiGates are easy to configure via GUI - it is very simple and logical. Compared to Palo Alto or Cisco ASAs, Fortinet products are easier to work with for less experienced admins.
  • Web filtering subscription services are not as good as Palo Alto's. Palos had a smaller number of false negatives in my experience.
  • Log filtering is better on Palo Altos. It is easier to find log entries for particular events on the Palo Altos.
I haven't worked with a higher-end offering from Fortinet, so my experience can only apply to smaller devices (80E and 60E). These units are less expensive than similar offerings from Palo Alto, making them a good choice for small businesses and branch offices. Also, FortiGate is the easiest firewall to configure, in my experience (among Cisco ASA, Palo Alto, pfSense, etc.). Ease of configuration is also a big advantage for organizations with limited resources. Palo Alto firewalls have better filtering and logging capabilities, though, so organizations with complicated requirements should consider investing in Palo Alto NGFW instead of FortiGate.
As devices proved very reliable, the configuration process was easy, and Fortinet's documentation is very robust, I had no need to contact Fortinet's support. All in all, it is a pleasure to work with these devices.
Read this authenticated review
February 18, 2020
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Fortinet FortiGate is used to secure our network across 17 buildings. We also use it for home filtering of devices and VPN connections for a few home users.
  • Filtering.
  • Firewall protection and monitoring.
  • Interface can be not as intuitive for those not specializing in firewalls.
  • Proxy is cumbersome.
FortiGate is well suited for people who want a firewall setup and don't want to have to do much managing beyond that. Partner network is great.
Support through 3rd party vendors has been fantastic. We use a company called Locknet.
Read this authenticated review
January 16, 2020
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use this software to protect the company in various ways. For example, as a content filter, and also as a firewall to administrate inbound and outbound traffic by closing ports. Finally, with the reports we do some useful analytics in order to make decisions and better understand the final users in the network.
  • Web filtering.
  • Command line interface is a little bit hard to use.
  • Lack of AI.
FortiGate is very well suited when we need to block some dangerous websites in order to protect our network from threats like viruses, data loss, and hacking in general. Also, we use it to block some traffic like virtual desktops.
Support is always a big factor in consideration of any product for our organization. Fortinet support has been extremely good. They have provided an onsite engineer at no cost to help us design, implement, and maintain new products when needed. The call support has also been excellent, with quick response times and knowledgeable technicians.
Read this authenticated review
December 03, 2019
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use Fortinet Fortigates as perimeter and WAN firewalls nationally and use them for intrusion prevention, web filtering, application filtering, VPN, and proxy.
  • Ease to deploy and manage.
  • Very cost effective when compared to competitors.
  • Good, local, reactive support.
  • Upgrades are always "risky" (usually wait for 2 upgrades before upgrading).
  • Some of the settings don't make sense at first look.
Having used all the big-name players in the market, Fortigate is up there in terms of functionality and adaptability but with the benefit of a lower cost and ease of management that no one else offers.
Local Australian support with knowledgeable engineers. Very responsive and dedicated and with proper escalation paths all the way to the engineering team overseas.
Read this authenticated review
October 22, 2019
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Right now Fortinet is being used in our labs for training and testing. Since we wanted that environment off our normal and production network we implemented Fortinet in our training and testing environment.
  • Was easy to implement in our large enterprise environment
  • Flexible
  • Everything included ie antivirus, web-filtering, etc.
  • Might not be practical in our environment
Worked great as a stand-alone in our testing and training environment.
Had to call one time with help and support was fine.
Read this authenticated review
September 21, 2019
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We like to use it between physical servers and virtual servers to create a stricter zone of security, but it is also well suited in a top-down architecture network.
  • Secure the network from botnet, spyware.
  • You can use URL filters to block certain pages by content or categories.
  • Great site-to-site VPN.
  • Command line interface is a little bit hard to use.
  • HA is not reliable.
I recommend putting Fortinet in a top-down or left-right network architectural. We use them between barebone servers and virtual servers in a vertical scheme.
So far, so good. Fortinet support is awesome and always has a solution when I've had needed one.
Read this authenticated review
September 10, 2019
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 6 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use Fortinet FortiGate throughout our organization to protect our internal network for its IPS, web filtering, and application control.
  • Long list of alliance partners
  • Threat Protection
  • SSL Inspection
  • Performance
  • Cloud features
Setup two firewalls and configure them as active- passive. This configuration ensures that all packets to and from users are managed and controlled work well. Site to site VPN not so well.
Support could improve but we could say that for all of the products out there.
Read this authenticated review
September 10, 2019
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We normally use FortiGate to make a secure connection between our sites and for remote users (employees) to continue working when they travel. We configured HA on them to prevent any disasters in the case devices fail.
  • VPN - Great for remote users.
  • Site-to-site VPN.
  • Prevent any unwanted connection from outside.
  • Firmware releases - Sometimes you have to follow an upgrade path. If you don't follow it, you could brick it.
FortiGate is well-suited if security on your tunnels and VPN connections is a must for the organization. You can also use URL filtering to keep users navigating to specific categories, increasing the security of what they see and what they download.
The product has been performing to expectation since deployment, with no issues on the equipment either.
Read this authenticated review
August 14, 2019
Jeff Winter | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We currently have two FortiGate firewalls that we use for city and county Internet gateway connections. All the traffic for each organization flows out to the Internet through one of these firewalls. We also use these firewalls as connectors for each organizations DMZ networks using VLAN technology. As our edge/gateway devices, these firewalls serve several purposes. All inbound and outbound connections are explicitly set, which is intended to limit exposure to ports used by bad actors. The software features included in the firewall inspect all traffic for security including https traffic. We are using firewall software to provide web filtering in an effort to increase productivity and reduce access to potentially bad sites. We are planning on deploying more Fortigate firewalls, including virtualized versions, in an effort to segment internal networks. The FortiGate product is also part of our overarching effort to use Fortinet switches and APs to provide what Fortinet considers a security fabric in an effort to make many of our security products work in concert.
  • My favorite aspect of the Fortigate product is the ease of use. The GUI is very easy to get around. The products rules and configuration are easy to learn and apply. The informational tools are easy to look at and produce results that are intuitive and quick to assess.
  • Another great attribute of the FortiGate product was reasonable pricing for the product and then the ongoing support. Living in the SMB space with tight governmental budgets is a huge factor in all my decisions. When a company like Fortinet comes along and produces good products at very reasonable prices it is good for SMB companies like mine. Many vendors price their products in a fashion that is beyond consideration by SMBs like myself.
  • Support is always a big factor in consideration of any product for our organization. Fortinet support has been extremely good. They have provided an onsite engineer at no cost to help us design, implement and maintain new products when needed. The call support has also been excellent, with quick response times and knowledgeable technicians.
  • It looks like they are making an effort to produce a centralized management interface with the integration of switches and APs into the FortiGate interface. They have a good start, but it needs continued work. While you can do some basic tasks for these external devices in that GUI, you must change over to the main browser page of the device itself to do many configuration tasks and check performance issues. I hope that they will add all this functionality into the main FortiGate GUI.
  • One other area of improvement I would like to see is the time to show real-time events in log screens. The results always seem to be a bit behind and you have to refresh to get them to show current things. The FortiAnalyzer product that works in conjunction with the FortiGate firewall addresses this but it would be nice if the default logging was more timely.
Learning from our experience using a couple of different SMB firewall devices, the FortiGate firewall is well suited to our 500 or so user environment. The model recommended to us by the Fortinet engineers has performed well and seems more than adequate for current usage and future growth. Unlike other firewalls we have used, we are able to break open and inspect SSL traffic with this device and also replaced a separate web filtering device we were using. We are looking to add more of these to further segment internal networks.
The support offered by on onsite engineer to help design, configure, and use the firewall was the best we've experienced from a vendor. He was knowledgeable, efficient, and patient. Sales support has been equally good. We haven't used the email or phone support very much due to lack of issues, but when we have they have been quick, easy to get to, and knowledgeable as well.
Read Jeff Winter's full review
June 05, 2019
Neil Johnson | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Fortinet Fortigate is a complex solution to assure the security of your network perimeter. It has a very simple interface with sufficient functionality. We like this tool because it is easy to install, easy to administer, has a good price, and good protection. We would say that Fortinet Fortigate is the best in its class because of its high availability, speed, resilience, and the vendor offers very qualitative support.
  • Very easy-to-use interface
  • Good resilience
  • High availability and speed
  • Easy installation
  • More complex configurations must be done via the console
  • Licensing options can be improved
We use Fortinet FortiGate to assure the security of our network. It's a good IDS/IPS with real-time attack information on dashboards. There are daily reports with a lot of intuitive information. It's a good VPN solution for administrators and for users. We've had no incompatibilities or issues working with any of our equipment. Fortinet is a very good appliance with a very good price.
Read Neil Johnson's full review
April 01, 2019
Marc-Olivier Turgeon-Ferland | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use FortiGate mainly for internet gateway and IPS at each of our offices. It offers us IPS, Firewall, VPN and many more features for a competitive price.

We also use Fortigate captive portal with their 2FA (mobile or physical) keys to offer an additional validation before accessing our service backend networks.
  • User authentication inside firewall rules. It is practically seamless and really easy to setup.
  • Management of firewall rules via the GUI.
  • Management of IPS rules via the GUI.
  • Forticlient with SSL VPN causes a lot more problems than it solves. Windows and Mac updates keep breaking the Forticlient and it takes weeks to get updates. Fortigate updates also sometimes break the SSL VPN. Forticlient crashes and the only fix is to restart the computer to restart the VPN driver. We had this problem for 3 years and they still don't have a fix for that. We now use L2TP-IPsec and Cisco-IPsec with Windows and Mac embedded VPN clients because of all that.
  • Memory issues with IPS. We tried all the firmware versions and IPS engines given to us by the Fortinet support and we are still experiencing memory leaks once in a while with the IPS engine. The only provided solution is to restart the IPS engine via CLI.
  • FortiView only works properly if you disable ASIC routing. Their marketing always says that their ASICs is the reason their appliances are better than competition but you can't use it if you want reports or to be able to drill down on network usage.
  • Every time they release a new firmware version, it takes 3-6 revisions for it to be free from major bugs. We are still waiting for a 5.6 revision that will not have major bugs within the features we use.
  • Active-Active clusters do not offer much resilience when problems are software based. If for example the IPS engine has a memory leak, it will not automatically fallback on the other Fortigate, even if the primary one reboots.
  • Everything related to virus, spam and intrusion detection (Forticlient, IPS, mail antispam, etc.) needs a lot of tweaking otherwise you will get a lot of false positive. It is also lacking in the type of actions you can do when those are detected. It is designed more for blocking than anything else.
For the money, even with all the bugs, I think it is the application that offers the most features.

If you need a lot of those features and you are ready to put the time into tweaking your FortiGates, I really think it will give you the most value.

If you have the money to buy the best VPN appliance, the best Firewall, the best IPS appliance and the time to set them with each other then FortiGate is not for you. If money is not the main concern and you only need the best, FortiGate is not for you but I really doubt it will be the case for most.
The first support level is pretty much useless for any complicated problems. They are they to guide you to the correct documentation relating to simple questions and to collect data for the 2nd level and up.

Once you are able to get escalated, those people are pretty knowledgeable and will normally get you at least a workaround but most of the time they will really try to understand what you want to accomplish and not only apply the solution but also educate you which is less and less common and a really good thing.
Read Marc-Olivier Turgeon-Ferland's full review
March 10, 2019
Adithyo Dewangga Wijaya | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Fortinet's version of throughput is good and It has a strong active cluster, as you can have between three and 32 units to a cluster. The most important factor is that you choose a firewall or UTM solution that fits your organization's security requirements. Begin by determining what business problem you are trying to solve, what technical controls you need to implement (Firewall, IPS, NAC, VPN, endpoint, mobility, web filtering, malware detection, etc.). Then, determine what hardware features you need such as (HA clustering, link aggregation or 10Gb, port density), and what kind of throughput, and how many concurrent connections.
  • Easy to set up
  • 9/10 Customer Service
  • 9/10 Technical Supports
  • Multiple layers of security
  • Security
  • LAN
  • WAN
Variables in TCL scripts via FortiManager
service provides technical support excellence through fast track access to the Advanced Services team. It also includes training and certification, a customized account plan, and proactive after-hours support.
Read Adithyo Dewangga Wijaya's full review
March 06, 2019
Adrian Cumberbatch | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Our Fortigate is used as the primary network router and IPSec VPN access point. We have a hub [and] spoke setup between the main office and other remote offices. Users also connect to our fortigate to access the network remotely using SSL VPN with the FortiClient software installed on their PCs or using the SSL web portal.
  • SSL VPN works well and is very configurable for controlling access to internal network resources based on user groups.
  • Fortigate also manages our wireless AP and many SSIDs can be created with either WPA or Enterprise WPA with radius for greater security
  • IPSec VPNs easy to configure between fortigate devices but also not that difficult for other IPSec compatible devices
  • Initial learning curve was difficult coming from a Symantec/Raptor background but not a huge deal
Fortigate is well suited where you have multiple internet connections and you want to provide failover for these connections. This can be done by round-robin or in an active-passive mode when an ISP goes down, traffic is automatically routed across the other device without interruption. Users never notice and it saves a lot of headaches. Of course, monitoring should be done from external sources so that you are aware when a link goes down.
The support engineers will always try to find the root of the problem you are having and not give up. Using gotomeeting makes it easy for them to see exactly what the problem is and I've learnt quite a lot from these interactions so that I'm now able to do more troubleshooting on my own.
Read Adrian Cumberbatch's full review

Feature Scorecard Summary

Identification Technologies (21)
9.0
Visualization Tools (21)
8.9
Content Inspection (22)
8.8
Policy-based Controls (22)
9.1
Active Directory and LDAP (21)
8.9
Firewall Management Console (22)
9.2
Reporting and Logging (22)
8.3
VPN (22)
9.2
High Availability (18)
8.7
Stateful Inspection (21)
8.5
Proxy Server (16)
7.9

What is FortiGate?

Fortinet’s FortiGate is a firewall product with high integrability. It can be deployed on-premises or as a Virtual Machine in a variety of modules. The granularity of the product enables buyers to tailor their purchase to their business needs. FortiGate integrates into multivendor environments, including IaaS cloud platforms and public cloud environments.

FortiGate’s functionality includes the core firewall features, such as intrusion prevention, anti-malware, and web filtering. It also includes SSL inspection, threat protection, and scalable segmentation, all within low-latency standards.

FortiGate Video

FortiGate Demo

FortiGate Pricing

  • Does not have featureFree Trial Available?No
  • Does not have featureFree or Freemium Version Available?No
  • Does not have featurePremium Consulting/Integration Services Available?No
  • Entry-level set up fee?No

FortiGate pricing starts at $250 for home office use, up to $300,000 for large enterprise appliances.

FortiGate Technical Details

Operating Systems: Unspecified
Mobile Application:No