Microsoft SQL Server Reviews

<a href='https://www.trustradius.com/static/about-trustradius-scoring#question3' target='_blank' rel='nofollow noopener'>Customer Verified: Read more.</a>
1362 Ratings
<a href='https://www.trustradius.com/static/about-trustradius-scoring' target='_blank' rel='nofollow noopener'>trScore algorithm: Learn more.</a>
Score 8.9 out of 100

Do you work for this company? Learn how we help vendors

TrustRadius Top Rated for 2021

Overall Rating

Reviewer's Company Size

Last Updated

By Topic

Industry

Department

Experience

Job Type

Role

Filtered By:

Reviews (1-25 of 89)

Companies can't remove reviews or game the system. Here's why.
May 17, 2021
Salvador Orochena | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

I currently provide consulting services to various clients. These clients use [Microsoft] SQL Server as the database for there financial system and CRM applications in addition to using for reporting and ETL processes.
Read Salvador Orochena's full review
May 06, 2021
Lisandro Fernigrini | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

We use Microsoft SQL Server as the DB option for the commercial back-office modules of our MLFF (Multi-Lane - Free Flow) Tolling solution. All the commercial back-office (from Customer registration to involvement and payment handling) relies on Microsoft SQL Server databases. Other vital components of the entire solution, like Security and Vehicle Management, and the Reporting environment also utilize Microsoft SQL Server.
Read Lisandro Fernigrini's full review
April 26, 2021
Ivan Sytchev | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

We have a few [Microsoft SQL Server's] in our environment and they are used for SharePoint, Dynamics CRM, and many other database requirements that we have. Everyone indirectly uses it as it houses all our data which is accessed by some application frontends that our users work with. Being a Microsoft product it is very easy to manage and administer with in our Active Directory environment.
Read Ivan Sytchev's full review
April 14, 2021
John Suit | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

We utilize Microsoft SQL Server as the database for our Epicor Prophet 21 ERP system. It is used by all of our users to process the products that we sell, the potential customers for our Sales staff, and our purchasing department to order from suppliers. We also utilize SQL Reporting to create custom SQL reports for Management and end users. Microsoft SQL Server helps address the ability for management to easily query and access necessary business metrics. Customized SQL Server views and stored procedures are used to automate management tracking and customer contact. Since SQL Server is a widely-used database, numerous third-party tools that we use, like Pipedrive and Google BigQuery, easily interface with our data.
Read John Suit's full review
April 13, 2021
Jewon Ju | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

Microsoft SQL Server is used in our organization to store data, run analyses, and produce reports using data from our web-based application. It is mostly being used in the data analytics department and it allows the team to work on projects together and integrate with other software used in the organization.
Read Jewon Ju's full review
April 08, 2021
Paul Nockolds | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

We use Microsoft SQL Server to store various databases that are used within both the whole company and also within certain departments. Data from these databases have front-end interfaces for easy editing by certain users and data also feeds into other systems and is merged with other data sources. It allows us to have a common silo for storing our data that helps developers and admin staff easily access the data for further use.
Read Paul Nockolds's full review
May 13, 2021
Kimberly Graham | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

Microsoft SQL Server houses our databases for our CRM application. The CRM application is the core system that contains all of our company's information to function as a Distributor of safety products. The CRM application has many functions that would not perform properly without the use of the Microsoft SQL server.
Read Kimberly Graham's full review
May 12, 2021
John Ramírez | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

This is the database engine we use for our own systems and for our clients. So we use it internaly and externaly, to store all the information we need to have control of.
Also this is the source for different process and reports, outside the database sich as Power BI.
It helps a lot with the database storing, since it is very easy to use and manage.
Read John Ramírez's full review
May 01, 2021
Akhilesh Arya | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

We are using Microsoft SQL Server Express edition for teaching RDBMS to the students its really a nice tool to use. In personal I have also used the developer edition for application development. The best part of this software is it is robust. You can use it for both [...] website application[s] or [...] web application development. This database tool support[s] Microsoft visual studio so if you are using that IDE for development this is one of the most compatible and reliable [databases] software. Very efficiently handle the CRUD operations.
Read Akhilesh Arya's full review
April 13, 2021
John P. Maher | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

I have worked with Microsoft SQL Server on many projects. The most recent was as the backend of an ERP system. The nature of an ERP system involved the entire organization from the shop which would use it to get the BOM (Bill Of Material) to build the parts to QA to check the parts to Purchasing to buy the raw materials to Sales to sell the parts to Shipping to ship the parts and even HR.
Read John P. Maher's full review
April 28, 2021
Mike McFarland | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

SQL Server is our only database engine. We use it for every main application and therefore across the entire organization. It solves the business problem of getting the right data to the right users quickly and efficiently.
Read Mike McFarland's full review
May 23, 2021
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

We use Microsoft SQL Server to provide a platform for our field users to input data for multiple purposes. We store contract data, financial data, time entry data, customer survey data among other data. Microsoft SQL Server gives us a single source of truth for a lot of our reporting. This allows us to have confidence that we are recording and reporting out accurate data.
Read this authenticated review
May 05, 2021
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

Our business's in house desktop and web applications run off a SQL Server database. We have used it (and abused it) for 12 or so years now. I don't personally have experience with other databases (a little MySQL) but so far I haven't come across a scenario where SQL Server has been lacking, and that is coming from someone who advocates putting the business logic in SP's (OK, let's not start down that path...).
Read this authenticated review
April 13, 2021
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

Microsoft SQL Server is being used by my whole organization by analysts and database administrators to maintain banking data including documents, statements, check images location pointers etc. It is able to store large banking information and can be managed easily at one place. Besides our client banks data, our company internal applications database is also stored and managed in it.
Read this authenticated review
May 24, 2021
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

For the uninitiated it is first important to point out that many programs use a Database at the back-end and the end-user will be totally unaware of that fact. So Microsoft SQL Server is a Database software. You (or the program you use) can enter all the needed information and then retrieve it when needed.
Read this authenticated review
May 13, 2021
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

Microsoft SQL Server is our organization's main Database Management System and is the primary back-end server for most of our critical business applications. It's a general requirement that any new application we implement has to operate on SQL Server, if it requires a database back-end. We have a great dependency upon SQL Server and it has not disappointed us.
Read this authenticated review
April 11, 2021
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

SQL Server is used company-wide: All of our business data is stored in SQL databases and all of our applications utilize SQL in some capacity.
Read this authenticated review
April 08, 2021
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

Microsoft SQL Server is being used across the company in mostly all IT and technical / data departments. Microsoft SQL Server allows us to pull data from different tables, manipulate it however we need, and use it elsewhere in the company. For example, I use Microsoft SQL Server to pull data from a different application and use it to make updates in Salesforce.
Read this authenticated review
October 22, 2020
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

Our company uses MS SQL Server to run jobs, store data and generates reports. Our team is supporting two separate companies and both use MS SQL Server. One is for storing data and running SSIS jobs for app and reporting purposes. These are company-owned servers and we are hosting other companies to provide service, application and hardware support for them.
Our company maintains these servers and they are being used by different departments, also internal company-wide. Business problems that we commonly encountered are mostly connection issues. These are basically a between network, database and applications connecting to MS SQL Server. The MS SQL Server support is easy to get in touch with when we are having issues with the application itself.
Read this authenticated review
September 17, 2020
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

My department uses SQL Server (and Azure Data Studio, increasingly, but still primarily SQL Server) for database management and analysis. Other departments use it as well, including our QA team, to verify the expected output of data manipulation or the functionality of changes to the code base. It's a pretty standard tool at this point.
Read this authenticated review
June 25, 2020
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

Microsoft SQL Server allows us to run multiple applications at a faster pace. Looking at the instances where many students will be paying fees, registering for courses and hostels, and many others. Microsoft SQL Server is being used by all the departments in the institution, that is procurement, finance and admissions departments.
Read this authenticated review
January 20, 2020
luka horvat | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

In our database department, we use Microsoft SQL Server for storing data, data aggregation, and manipulation. We use Reporting services tools for creating, managing and deploying reports for our clients. For creating a report definition I personally used Report Builder which makes defining data source connections, queries used to retrieve data, expressions, parameters and others extremely easy to perform. We also try to improve the performance of stored procedures, user-defined functions, and triggers by learning the execution plan in detail. One of our clients has a web app for an insurance company and they have a large amount of data stored in the Microsoft SQL Server database. Our goal is to improve performance from queries that are used in that web app, so we try controlling execution plans with hints or adding indexes. In cases when we meet a new client who already has some database storage then we use replication technology for copying and distributing data and objects from one database to another. Besides that, we also help our clients to build parameterized queries in order to defend from SQL injection which is one of the most common web hacking techniques.
Read luka horvat's full review
March 02, 2020
Quentin Goin | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

I consult for system and data integration projects. Many of my customers use SQL as their data management and storage system. During integration projects, I will also use SQL to store information that I need later in the integration process or for reporting purposes or auditing.
Read Quentin Goin's full review
January 28, 2020
Keri Schneider | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

I use Microsoft SQL Server to write SQL queries for my healthcare organization to do reporting for national quality metrics.
It allows me to write efficient, fast queries that export nicely to Excel.
Read Keri Schneider's full review
January 19, 2020
Armando Peña | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

We are using Microsoft SQL Server to store the data of many commercial and internal software applications: SAP Business One, our Point of Sale system installed in more than 60 branches around the country, several web and desktop applications, and our data warehouse used across the company. That represents thousands of transactions per day.
Read Armando Peña's full review

What is Microsoft SQL Server?

Microsoft SQL Server is a relational database.
Categories:  Relational Databases

Microsoft SQL Server Video

Watch What is Microsoft SQL?

Microsoft SQL Server Integrations

Microsoft SQL Server Pricing

  • Does not have featureFree Trial Available?No
  • Does not have featureFree or Freemium Version Available?No
  • Does not have featurePremium Consulting/Integration Services Available?No
  • Entry-level set up fee?No
EditionPricing DetailsTerms
Enterprise$13,748.00Per License
Subscription$1,418.00Per License

Microsoft SQL Server Technical Details

Deployment Types:SaaS
Operating Systems: Unspecified
Mobile Application:No

Frequently Asked Questions

What is Microsoft SQL Server?

Microsoft SQL Server is a relational database.

What is Microsoft SQL Server's best feature?

Reviewers rate Usability highest, with a score of 9.2.

Who uses Microsoft SQL Server?

The most common users of Microsoft SQL Server are from Enterprises and the Computer Software industry.