Skip to main content
TrustRadius
Astera Centerprise Data Pipeline Builder

Astera Centerprise Data Pipeline Builder

Overview

What is Astera Centerprise Data Pipeline Builder?

Centerprise Data Integrator is an integration platform that includes tools for data integration, data transformation, data quality, and data profiling.

Read more
Recent Reviews

My Astera experience

9 out of 10
February 14, 2024
Incentivized
It is used by the software development department. We are using this for the ETL process to move and transform the data from one data …
Continue reading

TrustRadius Insights

Astera Centerprise is a versatile and affordable data integration tool that has proven to be highly valuable in various use cases. Users …
Continue reading

Astera Works for Us

9 out of 10
January 20, 2023
Incentivized
We are using this vendor product in our daily test environment to extract data from Master database and based on business rules transform …
Continue reading

Solid ETL solutions

7 out of 10
January 16, 2023
Incentivized
We use Astera Centerprise for many various projects. Examples would include automated report generation, inventory alerts and scheduled …
Continue reading

Centerprise-10/10

9 out of 10
November 08, 2021
We use it in part of our automation process to extract data from PDF's and deliver to our clients. It allows us to utilize time we …
Continue reading
Read all reviews

Awards

Products that are considered exceptional by their customers based on a variety of criteria win TrustRadius awards. Learn more about the types of TrustRadius awards to make the best purchase decision. More about TrustRadius Awards

Popular Features

View all 10 features
  • Business rules and workflow (28)
    9.9
    99%
  • Simple transformations (32)
    9.9
    99%
  • Connect to traditional data sources (31)
    9.0
    90%
  • Complex transformations (30)
    7.3
    73%

Reviewer Pros & Cons

View all pros & cons
Return to navigation

Product Demos

Code-free Automated Data Integration I Astera Data Pipeline Builder (Centerprise)

YouTube

Feature Demonstration Data Integration Tool | Astera Data Pipeline Builder Centerprise)

YouTube
Return to navigation

Features

Data Source Connection

Ability to connect to multiple data sources

8.1
Avg 8.3

Data Transformations

Data transformations include calculations, search and replace, data normalization and data parsing

8.6
Avg 8.2

Data Modeling

A data model is a diagram or flowchart that illustrates the relationships between data

8.5
Avg 8.1

Data Governance

Data governance is the practise of implementing policies defining effective use of an organization's data assets

8.2
Avg 8.3
Return to navigation

Product Details

What is Astera Centerprise Data Pipeline Builder?

Astera Data Pipeline Builder (Centerprise ) is a complete data integration solution that includes data integration, data transformation, data quality, and data profiling capabilities in a code-free environment, and enable business users to handle data with minimal IT support. Users can exchange data with a wide range of supported applications, databases, and formats. Powered by an enterprise-grade parallel processing engine, users can create automated data pipelines for reporting and analytics in minutes. The data integration solution supports data extraction, cleansing, transformation, and loading within a unified platform.

Astera Centerprise Data Pipeline Builder Features

Data Source Connection Features

  • Supported: Connect to traditional data sources
  • Supported: Connecto to Big Data and NoSQL

Data Transformations Features

  • Supported: Simple transformations
  • Supported: Complex transformations

Data Modeling Features

  • Supported: Data model creation
  • Supported: Metadata management
  • Supported: Business rules and workflow
  • Supported: Collaboration
  • Supported: Testing and debugging

Data Governance Features

  • Supported: Integration with data quality tools
  • Supported: Integration with MDM tools

Additional Features

  • Supported: Integrated development environment
  • Supported: Data quality and profiling
  • Supported: Job flow, scheduling, and execution
  • Supported: Extensibility and openness
  • Supported: Performance and scalability
  • Supported: Ease of use for business users

Astera Centerprise Data Pipeline Builder Screenshots

Screenshot of Centerprise's data profiling feature, that ensures that only quality data is delivered to end users.Screenshot of a variety of write strategies available for workflows.Screenshot of In Astera, you can automate most of your tasks using the built-in scheduler. You can set a trigger based on time, event or even a file or mail drop.Screenshot of Astera supports AI-powered mapping that allows users to automate the mapping process from source to destination. The tool also supports The Dynamic Layout/Template Mapping feature in Astera Centerprise that allows users to create a template dataflow that can be used to process multiple files and generate copies of the same dataflow, without changing the mapping links individually for each source dataset. Upon execution, Centerprise replaces the values dynamically and generates a new dataflow automatically for all source files.Screenshot of Astera Centerprise supports two types of transformations: record level and set level transformation. Record level transformations are used to create derived values by applying a Lookup, Function, or Expression to fields from a single record. Set level transformations, on the other hand, operate on a group of records and may result in the Joining, Reordering, Eliminating, or aggregating of records.

Astera Centerprise Data Pipeline Builder Videos

Cutting Data Integration Processes from 2 Weeks to 5 Minutes | Customer Testimonial
Breaking down ELT

Astera Centerprise Data Pipeline Builder Integrations

Astera Centerprise Data Pipeline Builder Technical Details

Deployment TypesOn-premise
Operating SystemsWindows
Mobile ApplicationNo
Supported LanguagesEnglish

Astera Centerprise Data Pipeline Builder Downloadables

Frequently Asked Questions

Centerprise Data Integrator is an integration platform that includes tools for data integration, data transformation, data quality, and data profiling.

Informatica Intelligent Cloud Integration Services, Adeptia Connect, and Talend Data Integration are common alternatives for Astera Centerprise Data Pipeline Builder.

Reviewers rate Simple transformations and Data model creation and Business rules and workflow highest, with a score of 9.9.

The most common users of Astera Centerprise Data Pipeline Builder are from Mid-sized Companies (51-1,000 employees).

Astera Centerprise Data Pipeline Builder Customer Size Distribution

Consumers0%
Small Businesses (1-50 employees)11%
Mid-Size Companies (51-500 employees)47%
Enterprises (more than 500 employees)42%
Return to navigation

Comparisons

View all alternatives
Return to navigation

Reviews and Ratings

(54)

Community Insights

TrustRadius Insights are summaries of user sentiment data from TrustRadius reviews and, when necessary, 3rd-party data sources. Have feedback on this content? Let us know!

Astera Centerprise is a versatile and affordable data integration tool that has proven to be highly valuable in various use cases. Users have found that the software is commonly used to generate files from a data warehouse in proprietary formats and send them to vendors. It is also utilized for automated report generation, inventory alerts, and scheduled email tasks. Additionally, Astera Centerprise is often employed for ETL processes, allowing for seamless movement and transformation of data between different sources based on specific business rules.

One of the key use cases of Astera Centerprise is syncing a legacy database to a more web-friendly database, which requires the creation of a custom database driver. Users have successfully leveraged the software for this purpose. Another significant use case is integrating Salesforce with various ERP systems, providing an intuitive user interface for exchanging data between these platforms. Furthermore, Astera Centerprise has been instrumental in providing visibility into issues with moving data from legacy systems to the application's database, reducing both time and technical skills required.

The software simplifies the process of building integrations and small tasks through its drag-and-drop GUI and wide range of data connections and functions. For instance, it is widely used for importing data into Microsoft Dynamics AX, Salesforce, and other in-house built applications, making it easier to map and integrate the data. Moreover, Astera Centerprise streamlines data integration processes by enabling analysts to connect to various data sources and perform complex transformations seamlessly.

The software finds application in diverse domains such as finance, healthcare, agriculture, and manufacturing. For example, it serves as a key component for consolidating financial data from different sources into a single view for corporate finance groups. It also plays a critical role in integrating electronic health record systems with other systems in the healthcare sector. Across organizations, Astera Centerprise is widely used for importing and exporting data from application databases efficiently, saving significant time. Additionally, the software is valued for its ability to manipulate and map data based on client requirements, enabling users to synchronize data between ecommerce solutions and ERP systems effectively.

Intuitive Interface: Multiple users have praised the intuitive interface of Centerprise, stating that it is easy to understand and navigate. They have mentioned that after becoming familiar with the interface, they were able to quickly start using the tool.

Self-Documenting Graphical Approach: Many reviewers appreciate Centerprise's self-documenting graphical approach for building data flows. This feature allows new team members to easily understand existing work, saving time and promoting collaboration.

Data Preview Capability: The ability to preview data on each object within Centerprise has been highly valued by users. Being able to immediately see transformation results at any point in a data flow has not only saved them time but also facilitated data reconciliation processes.

Confusing User Interface: Several users have found the user interface of the software to be confusing and difficult to follow, making tasks more challenging. They have expressed frustration with navigating through the different features and options, resulting in a steep learning curve.

Issues with Software Updates: Users have encountered various issues during software updates, including bugs and changes to existing functionality. Some reviewers mentioned that these updates were not seamless and caused disruptions in their workflows. They had to spend time troubleshooting and adapting to the changes, which was inconvenient for them.

Performance Issues with Large Datasets: Some users have experienced performance issues when working with large datasets. They reported slowdowns and delays while processing extensive amounts of data. However, they were able to find workarounds by optimizing their workflows or breaking down the datasets into smaller chunks for better performance.

Attribute Ratings

Reviews

(1-25 of 45)
Companies can't remove reviews or game the system. Here's why
February 14, 2024

My Astera experience

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Incentivized
It is used by the software development department. We are using this for the ETL process to move and transform the data from one data source to another based on the business rules. We also use this to read the data from the source, transform the data and then feed our application.
  • It is easy to use. Does not required too much technical background to learn.
  • It can quickly transfer the data across different data sources as it supports the multi-thread processes.
  • It supports many different data sources.
  • It supports Azure connection
  • Better support for SQLite, as it is only partially support it.
  • Supporting the spatial functions. For example, connection SDE or geo databases.
  • More user-friendly error message reporting.
  • Move the ServerAdminConfig.Xml into cluster database as the file access always caused the issue
If you are working with the large data and try to do validation/transformation, this is good to have. Also, if you do not have a programming or database background, I think you will find this is very easy to use. I think you can use this to do any data validation and massage with it.
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Astera Centerprise is being used by the IT Application Department in Aspen Medical Products. It is being used to integrate the Magento eCommerce platform to host the company's website with ERP Application (IQMS). I've been using the Astera Centerprise for the last 5 years to create Integration Dataflows, Workflows, Scheduled jobs to integrate the Magento and IQMS APIs. These jobs run round the clock from 4 am till midnight 7 days a week to keep the data flowing between the applications. The data includes customers orders, customer's account setups, address information updates, Credit limit updates, Customer's product pricing updates, etc...
  • API integrations vis REST Web Service transformation
  • Stored Procedure integration via SQL statement Lookup transformation
  • Bulk imports and exports to and from tables
  • Data dumps from SQL tables to excel, csv, text files etc...
  • EDI Integrations like 810, 856, 940, 945 etc.. via Astera Centerprise Data Integrator plus EDI Connect
  • I would say Server Monitor is not very user-friendly. Astera [Centerprise] can add sorting features on different columns to make it more intuitive
  • The search box in server monitor doesn't display the the way I expect.
  • Astera CDI can add Temp tables object to store staging/temporary data instead of using excel or data files.
Suited scenarios: 1) It is really good in integrating the REST APIs

2) Data preview feature is really good which helps in debugging of dataflow easier and faster. Per my knowledge, Astera Centerprise is not very well suited for very large data loads.

3) The new combined CDI+ Edi Connect tool gives the best of both worlds where you can consume the source 850 EDI files and also generate the outbound EDI files like 940, 810, 856 etc. and also use all CDI transformations to massage the data as needed.

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Incentivized
We are using Astera Centerprise to build and maintain our DWH solution. Then data is used for various kinds of reporting. This tool is very helpful in the quick development of ETL flows, adding new tables in the DWH, and SCD implementation. Makes operations smooth with scheduling/restart ability, and ease of error handling.
  • Easy development of dataflows/workflows
  • Scheduling and restart-ability
  • SCD Implementation
  • Better control/options for the filter in the server monitor panel.
  • Improving re-running of the failed job by running only failed/pending jobs in sub-workflows, instead of triggering all the sub-workflows. This might not be as easy to implement as it looks but an area to look into.
  • [Push-down mode]: PD mode is very useful and super fast when the source and destination both are in the same database. Performance can be enhanced more by not adding extra subquery ( or the brackets() ) for lookup/insert/update operations
  • [Partitioning and parallelism] Diving data into some files and running parallel instances of each component to make run entire flow in a partitioned and parallel manner. This gives a super boost to workflow and huge sized data can be processed quickly.
More appropriate - Ease of operations - in terms of scheduling, and re-running, - Ease of development - quick workflow development for simple or semi-complex solutions........ Less appropriate Unix/Linux/AIX-based Integration server installation.
March 15, 2023

Excellent Tool

JONATHAN ANTHONY AC-AC | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Incentivized
We are using Astera Centerprise for automatically capturing data from PDF files and uploading to different databases. We are also using this for integration of different systems, data comparison, data validation, data extraction, and data transformation.

We initially purchased Astera Centerprise for us to automatically capture and load data from PDF documents to improve our data quality. With all the available functions in Centerprise, we expanded to different areas and continue to grow in terms of application. We also continue to work with Astera support group on possible improvements and functionalities.
  • Data parsing from PDF
  • Data transformation
  • Data loading
  • Data validation
  • Data migration/ transfer of data between systems
  • Data Comparison
  • Extraction of data from HTML
  • Data extraction from websites
  • Can you look at front end handling similar to RPA
  • Allow generation of formatted output files in PDF or MS word
  • Allow formatting of MS excel output files (highlighting of cells, underlining of values)
Astera is good for data capture, ETL, data migration, data validation, and most backend functions.

Astera is also good for data integration or data exchange between different systems.

There are still many functions that we have not yet used.

Astera is not suited for front end processing similar to how RPA works but it would be good if it will include this functionality.
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Incentivized
We leverage the tool to perform ETL (Extraction, Transforming and Loading) of new customer data into our application's database. The problem it solved is providing the visibility to issues with moving the data from a legacy system database into our system. Plus, we can reuse the projects when implementing future customers from the same legacy system. Having this feature tremendously reduces the time and technical skills required to move the data.
  • Option to copy an entire project to reuse it for similar but new situations
  • Option to "write SQL" when it really is simply easier
  • Ability to Preview the data before actually pushing it
  • Ability to implement rules or honor database-level rules
  • Ability to quickly get exports of data snippets for 3rd party review of the data
  • The ability to use AI to "connect" the data through
  • The ability to have teams working on the same project at the same time
  • Having more "undo" options
It absolutely will shine in areas where it is connecting the same systems together all the time. It will be a huge asset where people do not need to modify the flows very often, but when you do, it provides a lot of insight into any changes that will occur before actually moving any physical data. Some areas that it struggles, and this is the case for most ETL software, is when the source or destination changes or the requirements of the data change, it requires human intervention, which can lead to creating unexpected results.
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Incentivized
We use Astera Centerprise to import and export data in and out of application databases. We needed to manipulate the Data, upon ingesting or extraction, to be mapped and sometimes coded based on client data and mapping recommendations. There was also a need to programmatically alter the data upon extraction or ingestion.
  • Great visual for mapping data from datafile to database talbes.
  • ability to program and alter data upon extraction or ingestion.
  • Very intuitive interface
  • Better online documentation or forum
  • Job scheduling could be better
  • Error handling improvements
Instead of having to create interfaces programmatically from scratch for each interface, Astera Centerprise provides a nice central location to manage all your interfaces. Astera Centerprise turns complex programming into simple mapping scenarios for non-programmers to be able to provide Electronic Data interchange imports and exports across your organization. Works well in SQL based environments.
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Incentivized
We do use Astera Centerprise for integrations between Salesforce and various ERP systems. The UI is pretty self explaining, even when it's very special in some aspects (not saying it's bad, but different compared to other ETL tools). Overall it's a good tool when you need to exchange data between SF and other systems (either file-based or direct database interaction).
  • Interacting with Salesforce
  • Customer support (quick responses and very helpful)
  • Self-explaining UI
  • Good performance for our use-cases
  • Online documentation and training material
  • Better suited license offers (especially for cases with very little usage)
As mentioned, we do use Astera Cenperprise for file-based interfaces between Salesforce and various ERP systems. It performs well, easy to install and update, you will have a good history for debugging purpose and it's reliable/stable.
Overall it's recommended if you want to exchange data between Salesforce and other systems (ERP, databases, ...).
January 20, 2023

Astera Works for Us

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Incentivized
We are using this vendor product in our daily test environment to extract data from Master database and based on business rules transform and load/export to test database
  • User interface is designed very well and easy to use
  • define rules and the use of car files
  • ease of administration of the server & clients
  • Enterprise application requires multiple environments and this feature need to be added to the server to support
  • extending roles to more than 3 basics
  • Multiplatform support
Integration of the Astera Centerprise with Active Directory and setting up batch or automated scripts are easy to be done in the platform.
Ashwin Marwah | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Our business intelligence group uses it to run our ETLs to pull data from over 10 source systems to our enterprise data warehouse. We also use it to generate data feeds to other systems from EDW.
  • Simplistic in standing up a complex ETL process in days.
  • Low maintenance.
  • Fast execution time.
  • Better normalization functions.
  • Shouldn't have to adjust to daylight savings.
Low maintenance, quick and easy development.
January 16, 2023

Solid ETL solutions

Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Incentivized
We use Astera Centerprise for many various projects. Examples would include automated report generation, inventory alerts and scheduled email tasks. The main project we chose Astera Centerprise for was to sync what we hope will be a legacy database (SQL Anywhere by SAP) to a more web friendly database (MYSQL). Astera Centerprise currently did not have a database driver to connect to SQL Anywhere databases and we commissioned them to create that as part of our purchase agreement. We are still actively working through that process and troubleshooting any bugs that arise.
  • Easily creates Excel files
  • REST API integration
  • Job Scheduling
  • Knowledgeable Support Team
  • No automatic updates. Must manually install each new version
  • Job scheduling can be cumbersome
  • Documentation is lacking
I have only been using Astera Centerprise for about 6 months and I am still learning the ins and out of it. A scenario where it seems to do well is in generating reports from SQL queries that we already had and no longer have to run the reports manually. The SQL Query Source object has been the most useful tool for me thus far. I have yet to fully stress test the server side of Astera Centerprise, but currently there have been some version updates that required me to re-set up all the scheduled jobs that we have. We only have 8 jobs thus far but have plans to expand this into the hundreds and those same updates would require exponential amounts of work.
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Historically we have built a number of integrations and small tasks manually through various languages and processes - having to track what we used, who built it, and what server it's running on. Astera Centerprise has been a breakthrough in this regard in a few ways. The first is that it required almost no training to use. I have given someone a 15-minute demo and left feeling confident they could do simple processes with it moving forward. The drag and drop GUI is generally very intuitive and while nothing is perfect, I rarely am fighting against it. The second is there is a wealth of data connections and functions to use. When I talk to peers about this product, I just ask how they are moving data - any data. Do you have an excel sheet that someone updates that need to join its data to a database and from an API and then write these as a CSV file that you import with a PowerShell command? This is literally a task I built in a few hours in Astera Centerprise. If I need to interact with disparate data, Astera Centerprise is the tool I move to first today.
  • ETL, ELT - moving and integrating data
  • easy UX/Gui for interacting with the application
  • Installation and setup
  • Data Source Choices
  • Complex Transformations
  • Occasional Bugs
  • Documentation could be better, more clear
  • A premium priced product
You have to pick 2 of 3 - Good, Fast, Cheap - Astera Centerprise is Good and Fast. If you have a smaller team, need low administrative burdens, and need something that doesn't require a big learning effort Astera Centerprise is a fantastic fit for these situations. It's a tool that even non-technical people could use to build ETL pipelines and do so well. If you use a number of disparate data sources, Astera Centerprise shines but holds its own even if you are moving data around like to like or even on the same server with its pushdown capabilities. I think if you had a strong need to have a large group work on your ETL, you could do it with Astera Centerprise, there are source controls available, but they aren't very robust, and keeping track of versions, what's deployed, what's changed is not as tight as it could be.
Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Use it to transform data to replace current manual processes. Also, use it to generate files from a data warehouse to send to vendors in proprietary formats.
  • Transform data between data sources.
  • Creation of HIPAA 834 files.
  • Ability to deliver files based on a number of destination types.
  • Better logging and error handling.
  • Better support for MS Azure file repositories.
As a typical ETL tool, Astera Centerprise will perform most core functions. The ability to create a HIPAA 834 file as an established module is a huge benefit. We have yet to integrate with RESTful services but that is something we are looking forward to as a use case for Astera Centerprise.
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Astera Centerprise is being used to map incoming pdf files that contain payroll data This tool allows us to automate certain payroll related processes. We are also re-writing SSIS jobs because it’s easier and faster when change request come in
  • Easily create and map to many incoming data sources
  • Centerprise had an array of connectors
  • Transforming data is very graphical UI based and requires little if any programming
  • We’d love to see a share point connector.
  • I’m not sure if a users group exists but would join if so.
Astera Centerprise has allowed us to accept virtually any incoming data stream and with little effort we are able to automate many processes that were once done manually. you do not need programmers to use this software.
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Incentivized
Astera Centerprise is being used by different organizations here in our company. As a user or developer, it is really helps me to do a back-end program a lot easier without using of numerous codes, just a logic. It has a big impact on our business problems especially on data automation moving forward to the systems. By introducing this application as one of the solutions on the issues we experienced before regarding the labor and time, in manual entry, it gives wholly keyboarding process in order to create and finish a record, but with the help of Astera it can make the keyboarding in just a click and it can only takes a second or a minute. When it comes in data quality, due to manual it can cause human errors and inconsistent of data, instead of adapting this error, Astera can resolve this by using transformations which fitted to captures the needed data from the files with correct and accurate values. This system can be used efficiently in many organizations that involves gathering and processing of a large number of data.
  • Codeless
  • Data Automation
  • Data Integration
  • Easy to Manipulate
  • Good User Interface
  • Additional formulas in expression
  • Set maximum number of emails per run
This software is easy to understand and manage. Each query or transformations are easy to use and manipulate due to the interface of this software, it also includes the explanations of each transformation which help the users to be familiar with. It will benefit the users and the developers of this software. For the users, their manual data entry turns into auto data entry, time consuming turns into just a second or a minute and data quality are accurate. This software is very useful on any data automation, data validation, data manipulation and data integration that is why it is a must application to deal with.
November 08, 2021

Centerprise-10/10

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
We use it in part of our automation process to extract data from PDF's and deliver to our clients. It allows us to utilize time we would manually transcribe this data into excel sheets, saving time and money.
  • Versatile
  • Scalable
  • Outstanding Customer Service
  • Continued improvement/updating on Reportminer documentation
  • Window management on smaller screens can be very difficult. I often have to rescale the the tool windows to use.
  • Sometimes the data preview will glitch out and not display anything but I'm able to generate a .csv.
We use the software for a very specific purpose. I'm not well verse in all it has to offer, but if it functions extremely well for what we need.
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
We are currently re-writing our organization's ETL processes using Astera Centerprise. Most of those processes were written using VB.net. We are also creating some new ETL processes using Astera Centerprise. Most of my current work involves extracting claim data from databases for each State, format it as per State requirement and FTP the data. Once State receives the data, it sends us acknowledgement files. We then extract the data from the acknowledgement files and load it into our database. We are using Astera Centerprise for this process. There are other IT teams at our organization using Astera for many other company's ETL processes.
  • Astera support team is very knowledgeable, helpful and very prompt to answer any question.
  • Their product is very simple to use.
  • Astera Centerprise Help documentation/training videos are very detailed.
  • Astera Centerprise rolled out new version 8 recently. During our conversion from version 7 to version 8, we encountered couple of issues with new Astera version. Once notified, they fixed the issue and sent us the patch within days.
  • I think Centerprise Server register feature in version 7 was much simpler than version 8.
It is well suited for any simple or complicated ETL process. It can pull data from various sources and can send it to multiple destinations. Expressions feature in Astera Centerprise is very helpful for data formatting and implement business rules. Database connections are simple and seamless. Project Build and deploy feature was made very easy to use.
November 02, 2021

Astera Software

Hassan Gorgani, CEng | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Incentivized
We have used the Astera software package to process existing data for one of the famous clients in Qatar. Several types of file e.g. EXCEL, PDF, WORD, TXT has been used as input to the Astera software. Once the report model and data flow diagram [have] been [designed] properly to analyze the non-structured data, we connected them to a SQL DB and also in an MS-Excel format for other software i.e. AVEVA Engineering uses.
  • Designing report models and dataflow diagrams are very simple and understandable for users.
  • Various type of output could be generated from the Astera package.
  • Process thousands of files in a few second.
  • Very supportive team from Astera which are ready to help our users
  • We already communicated those issues which we believe could be useful for future development with your support team.
no comment. we are happy about this product.
November 01, 2021

Loving Cenerprise

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
We are currently using Centerprise to transform incoming files from vendors. The files are transformed and uploaded into our homegrown application. The files are dropped on a shared drive and then is picked up by Centerprise for processing.
  • Monitor folders for new files
  • Workflow processing
  • Data transformation
  • Excel Formatting
Centerprise is ideal for situations where you're receiving files that are formatted for internal use. Centerprise is an easy-to-use ETL tool that can be easily utilized by end-users.
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
We use it to transform data from legacy systems to newer systems. It addresses the problem of moving data across the enterprise. It also provides centralized management of the jobs created for the transportation of this data. We use the graphical interface to include the business in the design of solutions.
  • Makes designing ETL jobs quick
  • Able to include business users in the design
  • Centralized job management
  • Job management interface could use some work
  • Some procedural functionality would help in certain situations
  • It would be nice for the complied package to detect the environment in which it's running; Prod, Test, Development, and use those parameters accordingly.
Designing and deploying low to medium complexity ETL process are easier to complete as compared to something like SSIS. But, I wouldn't design a full blown enterprise data warehouse with it. I don't think it's up to that level of complexity or performance.
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
We use it primarily for publishing to a data warehouse. Another production application creates and exchanges XML files with a federal regulatory agency, and as a 1-off, we are using Centerprise to validate an Oracle-to-SQLServer migration.
  • Of the six mid-tier ETL/DI tools I studied, Centerprise is the most intuitive to use.
  • Customer support is email-centric, but nonetheless solid. Astera happily does conference calls when the need arises.
  • Wide range of features.
  • Expression transformation uses SQL-ish (as opposed to Java-ish or MS-ish) commands. Simple to use, and select/paste helps.
  • Love the PowerCenter-style expression transformation.
  • Documentation explanations are in video and text format. While most explanations are relatively clear (or even very clear), in my opinion, the documentation is a bit haphazardly-organized. It takes me longer than I'd like to find something, although I usually do.
  • Look-ups transformation certainly works, but it could be more robust. (There are ways around that.)
It does not have the horsepower of much more expensive Fortune-200 tools like PowerCenter, Ab Initio, DataStage, and that ilk. And it is much too sophisticated and powerful for a mom/pop shop. Our organization is in the 500-1000 user range, so it's a good fit. It scales to organizations larger than ours—t's a matter of licensing more co-processing threads and having servers to support it. It supports a wide (and gradually growing) range of sources and targets. It's a good choice for combining the data of heterogeneous data sources.
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Incentivized
Astera Centerprise is being used by two teams that are responsible for onboarding data for new or existing customers. Those teams work in conjunction to ensure that proper workflows are set up to review and qualify the data prior to ingestion to our downstream systems. It has helped to centralize our data loading and transformation efforts, and provide visibility into data issues or patterns that we didn't have insight into before. Quality of data is key for our process, and we are TB scale, so performance and scalability were a factor as well.
  • Handles large volumes of data well!
  • Centralizes and simplifies data management loading!
  • Provides insight into data anomalies and patterns that weren't previously visible!
  • Like any tool, it has a learning curve and is somewhat proprietary in how they approach things.
  • It can be clunky to train others who aren't familiar with such tools or concepts, not so intuitive that it can be picked up by any engineer.
It handles large volumes of data well and has the ability to transform and play with data in ways you wouldn't even deem imaginable or necessary. However, that can sometimes be a bit overwhelming or cumbersome until you get used to the tool. However, compared to other comparable tools, it has a reasonable learning curve and can be picked up by an engineer that is used to handling and manipulating data.
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Astera streamlines our data integration process by doing all the work through a workflow. It enables our analysts to connect to virtually any data source and combine, transform, and map data, including statistical and predictive tasks.
  • Supports numerous data sources.
  • Integration with AWS services.
  • Individual statistics per record.
  • Visualization intended for debugging.
  • Attractive user interface.
  • Streaming facilities.
  • There is no reusable JDBC configuration.
  • Processor configuration changes require stopping all data flow.
It is a software for the integration and replication of data in real-time in IT environments. The Astera Centerprise suite of products offers high availability, replication, data integration, and ETL process solutions operating in an end-to-end configuration.

April 30, 2020

Astera Review

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
It helps us in the massive storage of data and the resolution of intelligence problems of our business. It simplifies complex integrations: Apache Spark, Databricks, Qubole, AWS, Snowflake, Google Cloud Platform and NoSQL ..., and offers us integrated data quality to transform big data into reliable information. It provides us with clean and filtered data structures, which are exploited by the different end-user tools, increasing the quality and value of data, and allowing the optimization of our decisions.
  • Ease of managing large volumes of data.
  • Good integration with Mainframe platforms.
  • The Data Stream Programming Concept is straightforward.
  • Good integration with Data Provenance and auditing.
  • Possibility of handling binary data.
  • Simple user interface.
  • Lack of statistics per processed record.
  • High resource consumption.
Astera provides SQL Server integration services to connect SQL Server to different databases, it also allows easy migration to data structures that guarantee data consistency, thus eliminating the risks that can occur when performing this type of operation.
It is a business platform focused on building and executing batch processes and streaming data flows. It can be deployed on premise and in the cloud and is ready to scale comfortably. Astera is divided into several components that can be configured and deployed separately.
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
We streamline the transfer of our business data in file formats, securely and at scale, from local and cloud sources (Amazon S3, Azure Blob and HDFS) to data warehouses and data warehouses. We extract and transfer massive volumes of changed data from transactional systems to relational databases, avoiding redundancies by leaving intact unchanged data and storing it in the cloud. We update our databases and host the data on the spot.

  • Astera allows us to use connectors that support any type of data (structured, unstructured and complex), any pattern (between batches, ETL, ELT, real-time, Big Data processing, APIs, events and transmissions) and advanced functions such as optimization pushdown, data change capture, advanced search, partitioning and error handling.
  • We create very simple and complex data integration loads in a mapping designer with time-consuming advanced data integration as standard.
  • The software is available at all times and from virtually anywhere.
  • Using the built-in task wizards to replicate and synchronize batch data at scale we occasionally encounter design flaws.
It is an enterprise-grade solution that can be quickly deployed on-premises or in the cloud. The ability to containerize the application, along with its compatibility with Linux and Windows machines, makes it a truly platform-independent solution.
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
We currently use the Astera Centprise and ReportMiner products to create automated scheduled tasks that: retrieve, extract, and process financial information for reports and data integration with other enterprise-level systems. We specifically use the ReportMiner product to extract data from a PDF format for easier integration with other systems. The Centprise product allows our business analyst to easily manage and create a custom workflow and models to automate the complex data integration between systems regardless of file formats.
  • Centerprise simplifies data modeling and workflow creation. The product has a very user-friendly UI, business users with no technical background need very little training.
  • Extracting data from a PDF and other proprietary formats.
  • The Centerprise product is very scalable and can handle robust volumes.
  • I would like to have integrated source control and better change management tools. Often workflows and data models are updated or modified and the history or original files are not tracked or easy to follow in the history.
  • Licensing a new instance can be difficult.
The Centprise product is very well suited for business analysts to easily manage and create custom workflows and models to automate complex data integration. The Astera products make extracting data from a PDF a simple and straight forward process, which makes ingestion and integration with other systems a breeze that simplifies workflows and complexity.
Return to navigation