Symantec Endpoint Protection Reviews

129 Ratings
<a href='https://www.trustradius.com/static/about-trustradius-scoring' target='_blank' rel='nofollow noopener noreferrer'>trScore algorithm: Learn more.</a>
Score 8.1 out of 100

Do you work for this company? Manage this listing

TrustRadius Top Rated for 2020

Overall Rating

Reviewer's Company Size

Last Updated

By Topic

Industry

Department

Experience

Job Type

Role

Reviews (1-25 of 49)

Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
April 21, 2020

Symantec Endpoint Protection Offers an Excellent Front-Line Antivirus Solution

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Symantec Endpoint Protection is used as the front-line antivirus solution and is utilized on all computer systems and servers throughout our entire organization. SEP provides us with the peace of mind that comes from knowing you have a top tier antivirus solution in today's rapidly evolving world of computer systems and data security.
  • Antivirus detection.
  • Minimal false positives.
  • Ease of use to manage security alerts.
  • Automatic major version upgrades.
  • More friendly administration console.
  • Better detections for non-traditional viruses/malware.
Symantec Endpoint Protection serves as an excellent front-line antivirus solution for larger organizations who need to manage numerous computer systems, servers, and users. For smaller organizations, they offer a "Small Business" version of the software that is more suitable, primarily due to price point. SEP is particularly effective when paired with a second anti-malware solution, such as Malwarebytes Anti-Malware.
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
March 11, 2020

SEP. They have one of the best Support teams I've worked with.

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
It's being used across the entire company, throughout multiple locations. It's used to delete spyware and viruses. and it's also used to lock down USB devices to the few allowed USB devices.
  • Easy to setup.
  • Easy to maintain.
  • You can see most of what's going on from the default login portal.
  • Configuration can be pushed from the central server to all clients making it very configurable.
  • Migrating/upgrading to a new server.
  • Easy to understand and how to setup a cluster/failover SEP management server.
  • Having centralized management for more than just one application. Similar to the McAfee EPO server.
It is good for any size environment—large or small installation base. The biggest issue I've had is when I've had more than one SEP manager server and I wanted to upgrade or decommission one of the management servers. It's very hard to get it to work. One of the servers was removed, but some of the clients were still looking for that server and I couldn't push a new config to them. I had to manually login to each client and import the configuration to force it to point to another SEP server.
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
March 03, 2020

Symantec Endpoint Protection is a simple to implement Antivirus solution that just works.

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Symantec Endpoint Protection is used as the primary antivirus solution for the entire company. It offers daily updated definitions to verify all computers are safe and virus/malware free, so users are confident they are working in a safe and secure environment. Machines are set up to be scanned automatically, and policies are set up to run deep scans and provide weekly reports.
  • Reporting - It offers a wide range of reports to give you from summary to detail information about your environment.
  • Ease of use - Once you setup Symantec Endpoint Protection on the machine, it just works and does the job required.
  • Policies - You can set up several different policies to suit your needs across the entire network.
  • Renewals - I've found over the last couple of years it has been a chore to get the renewal of maintenance done.
  • Lack of partners in the region - It is hard to find resellers in the Caribbean. This should be addressed to get better adoption throughout the region.
  • In a medium to enterprise-sized business, Symantec Endpoint Protection offers the level of protection and scalability needed for a large network with many users.
  • If you are an environment that does not currently have Antivirus software deployed, this will more than suffice in picking up what viruses and malware do exist, quarantine and delete and then help maintain a high-security standard.
Read this authenticated review
Mike Hernandez | TrustRadius Reviewer
November 06, 2019

EndPoint Protection: The Last Great Hope

Score 6 out of 10
Vetted Review
Review Source
Symantec EndPoint Protection is the Anti-Virus solution we utilize ourselves and push to our clients.
  • Symantec Manager installed on the server communicates with the other Symantec AV programs installed on the workstations.
  • The Manager also keeps track of which machine may be outdated and needs to be updated.
  • The Manager will alert us if the Client becomes Overdeployed where we will sell additional licenses for compliance.
  • Definitely in the Sales Department. Ordering SEP New Installs or Renewals can be cumbersome.
  • Too much red tape to muddle through just trying to renew licenses.
  • Renewal/New Install ordering should be made a lot easier.
It is well suited for Clients large enough to utilize a server to house the Manager. Once installed and kept up to date the programs work very well. Where its not suited for are those smaller businesses that use a basic PC as a server or don't even use a server to house the manager.
Read Mike Hernandez's full review
Carlos Martinez | TrustRadius Reviewer
December 30, 2019

SEP, the security we all need

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Symantec Endpoint Protection (SEP) is being used in our corporation specific areas, such as IT Security and IT Infrastructure and distributed in all workstations as a means of protection. At the moment no commercial problems have been identified with the acquisition of this product, as the service channels have managed to meet the needs.
  • The SEP tool is considered one of our most powerful solutions for the protection of our devices.
  • The centralization of our administration is one of its best exploited benefits.
  • There are some difficulties in devices that do not have enough resources.
  • The end-user cannot gain visibility on what is happening on their device.
It has given us very good results in controlled environments with equipment that has superior capabilities, and is effective to protect equipment that is exposed in open environments. The support is centralized, allowing dynamic management. The results in low-performance teams often do not have the expected results.
Read Carlos Martinez's full review
Prince Matema | TrustRadius Reviewer
August 24, 2019

The solution to all virus problems

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
I have used various types of anti-virus software but I have fallen in love Symantec Endpoint Protection as it eliminated all the problems I used to have. At the University of Zimbabwe, it is now the only antivirus that is used by both students and staff after careful consideration by the University IT department. It provides end to end protection for computers and laptops.
  • The very first thing I want as an accounting person is the lower cost that comes with it when compared to other products.
  • Ever since we started using the app, we no longer have problem computers being constantly frozen-up because of viruses.
  • We had spent a long time fighting the short cut virus that was spreading around the campus but it was eliminated after we started using this antivirus.
  • It is only available to use on computers with higher-end specs.
Symantec is well suited for eliminating all viruses.
Read Prince Matema's full review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
January 10, 2020

Great product, not so great with support

Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We have Symantec Endpoint Protection on all our end-user devices and servers. It's of course used to protect these devices from the malicious sites\code\applications in the world. We have multiple policies for different devices. Our servers have a more strict policy to keep them safe and the end-user policy focuses on the browser and USB lockdown.
  • Multiple angles protected, from standard av to firewall, to IPS.
  • Portal based administration - you can send remote scans to devices from the internet without having to be at the device.
  • Domain integration - Rather than manually installing the EXE it would be good if it could find the devices on the network and push the install out.
  • A more natural way to exclude applications, folders, etc. - You can do this, but I think it can be unnecessarily confusing to setup.
Symantec Endpoint Protection is an excellent product that seems to protect us well. It has protected us well before when emails get through our anti-spam, and the end-user tries to open the link. Symantec web extension will block access to the site. It can be a little heavy-handed at times, and you can battle for a bit with false-positives.
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
September 10, 2019

Symantec Stops Viruses In Their Tracks

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Initially, we used Symantec Endpoint Protection to cover our primary office and executive office for years, but recently we expanded to use it in all of our field-user laptops and store locations nationwide. Since expanding our use of it we have not had an actual virus infection present on any machine so it's definitely doing its job.
  • It was easy to deploy.
  • It was cost-effective for our organization.
  • Seems to 100% block all known viruses.
  • In really large deployments the GUI interface seems sluggish.
  • Wish they wouldn't have got rid of the standalone software installed interface.
  • Needs the ability to remotely stop an active scan.
We have used Symantec Endpoint for many years and initially we used it on a rather small installation base (less than 200 computers) but have since expanded to 10,000+ machines so really it's suited for any, company large or small. We have tried other competitors over the years and honestly, they were pretty terrible in comparison.
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
October 01, 2019

Long term user, happy with

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use Symantec Endpoint Protection (SEP) across our entire organization. It has worked well for us. The client can be deployed as managed or unmanaged (for off-site stand alone units).
  • Easy to manage from the central server
  • Automated reports that are set up to tell me status and scheduled reports of the environment
  • Easy to roll out updated versions to end user machines
  • Building out the installation package for new installations can be difficult the first time you do it; but once you learn how, it is easily repeated. Existing clients are automatically updated by the server.
The endpoint client is the last level of defense. Symantec Endpoint has served us well over the years.
Read this authenticated review
Denis Pereira | TrustRadius Reviewer
July 05, 2019

Excellent monitoring software

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Symantec Endpoint Protection is used to track the entire company globally. It is installed and configured on the server, where updates and settings are sent to all computers that are in the corporate domain. It is used from scanning to managing real-time computers and laptops.
  • Maximum virus protection.
  • Ease of Use.
  • Constantly updated by the server after proper settings/changes.
  • Price below other antivirus.
  • All emails are scanned and verified before they are released.
  • When it is running, it is not possible to use the machine.
  • Requires a machine a little above the average, increasing the cost.
  • When loading Windows in safe mode, some functions are disabled.
Symantec Endpoint Protection is highly recommended for companies that have a large number of machines, as it helps in the management and monitoring of these devices. If you have low-quality equipment, it is not advisable to install the software because it will take up a lot of space, but if the investment in the IT department is in the beginning, it's worth spending a bit more.
Read Denis Pereira's full review
Adriano Rosa | TrustRadius Reviewer
July 01, 2019

A great security software

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Symantec Endpoint Protection is being used by the whole organization. Every user has it, and every one is protected from intrusion, firewall, and anti-malware features. The good thing is that it all comes in one pack of services. It includes data loss prevention software, prevents unapproved programs from running, and even applies firewall policies that block network traffic if needed. By far, Symantec Endpoint Protection is a very complete security software.
  • Virus definitions are kept up to date as soon as new threats are created.
  • Includes data loss prevention software.
  • The zero day protection is a very fast way to protect is from not yet known threats.
  • ALL of the emails are scanned, as well as files.
  • It has frequent updates and extra features.
  • Whenever you do deep scans, be aware they might take a little while.
  • It does a lot of updates, and some of them may take a while, and may need interaction to complete.
  • Symantec sometimes uses a huge amount of system resources.
One specific scenario where Symantec Endpoint Protection is well used is when you receive a large number of emails. The software scans every one of them, making it secure for you to read them all, and if there is any untrusted email, Symantec Endpoint Protection will warn you, and even prevent you from seeing the email content for your safety.
One specific scenario where Symantec Endpoint Protection is less appropriate is when you talk about phishing. It lacks anti-phishing capabilities and lacks report capabilities.
Read Adriano Rosa's full review
Erik Hall | TrustRadius Reviewer
June 13, 2019

Symantec is a great MFA security product

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Symantec Endpoint Protection is used as an MFA (multi-factor authentication) required by our credit card company, Key Bank. They forwarded the link to it to us and we have to use it to access our account online. We use it every time we log in to our account, without it, we can't access anything. Statements, changes to cards like limits, etc., adding cards to the account, anything we need to do requires us to use it as part of our login protocol.
  • Keeps unwanted people out.
  • Restricts access to these particular financial records.
  • Provides additional security features to the login process.
  • Adds an additional layer of security, which adds a layer of comfort in feeling secure.
  • Allowing a single user to have multiple occurrences for multiple devices.
  • Communicating when the app on a cell phone has been updated (just so you are aware that it has been done).
  • It might be a nice feature to automatically shut itself down when the security code has been successfully entered.
I feel it works great as a form of multi-factor authentication. So you would use it to enter/access confidential information as part of the security protocol. First is your username, second is your password and this would provide the third. The security feature is a numeric (it may also allow alpha or some combination of alpha-numeric, but I don't know) coding. I would like to use it for our own security on our computers, but we are a small company and my understanding is that this is a fairly expensive product. I would say that this would not be a good fit as a security measure in a situation where you might have to access data quickly, such as in an emergency situation like hospitals, etc.
Read Erik Hall's full review
Paul Li | TrustRadius Reviewer
July 01, 2019

Symantec Endpoint Protection Is the One To Beat

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
I personally use Symantec Endpoint Protection on a number of computers. I trust this software to detect and prevent viruses from successfully attacking my Windows based operating system.
  • Symantec Endpoint Protection starts up automatically on its own every time I power on my computer to log into Windows.
  • Symantec Endpoint Protection quietly runs in the background without interrupting my work monitoring all possible forms of attack via my internet connection.
  • When Symantec Endpoint Protection app detects a virus on a web page/site I've logged onto, I would immediately be prompted with a notice of a possible virus attack. The notice will continue to appear on the screen until I've dealt with the problem.
  • When I temporarily disable Symantec Endpoint Protection and I go to re-enable it it takes a bit of time before the program switches to be enabled again.
  • Symantec Endpoint Protection's graphic user interface is rather flat and can use a 3d make-over.
Symantec Endpoint Protection is well suited to give especially novice Windows users protection from virus attacks. Since attacks can occur at a click of a button by visiting websites that can infect the end users computer, Symantec Endpoint Protection is the app to use to resolve this issue.
Read Paul Li's full review
Eng.Takeo Chikushi - MBA, PMP | TrustRadius Reviewer
June 10, 2019

The Scan is very good, but using to much RAM memory

Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
The software is being used by all departments in the organization with Standard Technical Support by the vendor.
  • The cloud version worked well
  • Application Control is available for different users
  • Virus definitions are always updated
  • Long time to complete the scan process - RAM consumed during the scan process is very high
  • When rebooting Windows in "safe mode"...some protections are disabled (ex: Pendrive access)
  • Annual renewal price (compared with other options)
The virus definitions are updated and the scan process is effective but too much RAM memory is necessary. Depending on the company size maybe it is better to search for a cheaper option.
Read Eng.Takeo Chikushi - MBA, PMP's full review
bryan hornick | TrustRadius Reviewer
June 06, 2019

Security straight from the cloud

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We are a geographically challenged company with users in many locations. We utilize Symantec Endpoint Protection from the cloud. This allows us greater control over remote systems that are likely not always connected to our network.
  • Improved background processing so it is transparent to users.
  • Includes features like safe browsing to aid in virus/malware protection
  • Allows for USB control as well
  • I wish the console included everything. there is actually another hidden console that allows for greater granularity in control. This is more useful than the up front console.
Symantec Endpoint Protection provides many functions that are part of several compliance requirements.
Read bryan hornick's full review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
June 17, 2019

Symantec Endpoint Protection offers THE BEST protection against threats to your PC and network!

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We currently use Symantec Endpoint Protection on all of our end users' computers as a way to protect their PCs from viruses and other various forms of malware. We currently use it on all PCs between two different locations as a preventative measure to protect our network. We also utilize the quarantine feature to safely contain any possible threats.
  • Virus Protection
  • Quarantine environment for possible threats
  • Automatic updates for latest virus/malware definitions
  • Picked up false positive viruses during scan
  • Has caused driver instability in the past
  • Fairly high resource usage
Because it can be installed/updated via a group policy/patch management software, I think that Symantec Endpoint Protection is best suited for very large environments that need an added layer of protection from malicious attacks. It's probably not well suited for smaller environments that may be using older machines as it seems to take up a lot of resources to scan and run.
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
May 21, 2019

Symantec Endpoint Protection: It's like Airborne for Windows workstations.

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Symantec Endpoint Protection provides complete endpoint protection for enterprise Windows desktops. Symantec Endpoint Protection provides deployment, agent upgrade, and definition updates management services, as well as client health reporting services. Symantec Endpoint Protection protects a single pane of glass dashboard that allows us to quickly asses and evaluate the state of the endpoint protection status for the whole organization.
  • Windows client deployment
  • Virus definitions updates
  • Endpoint status reporting
  • Configuration management
  • Global exclusions management/reporting
  • Performance statuses from clients
  • Schedule reporting
Symantec Endpoint Protection provides great value for centralized locations that are standardized on homogeneous Windows desktops and workstations that maintain continuous, reliable, and high bandwidth connectivity to a central management server. There might be a better-suited solution for scenarios where highly mobile, low bandwidth, heterogeneous devices need to be constantly managed and protected outside of a company's security perimeter.
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
June 25, 2019

SEP Review

Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We have several deployments of SEP in our network, we use most of its endpoint protection features besides AV: device control, IPS, host-based firewall, and application control. We have another environment where we also use SEP for the deployment of WSS(Symantec Proxy), we use it on Windows(servers+workstations) machines as well as MAC.
  • The AV has several detection mechanisms: signature based, reputation based and heuristic based.
  • There is an option to turn an on-prem deployment into a hybrid deployment, so you can manage SEP in the cloud.
  • Symantec really invested on integrating SEP with other Symantec solutions, so no need additional agents on endpoints.
  • The device control feature was not changed in past product versions, it's still not the most convenient way to manage, the preconfigured hardware groups are not good enough. For example, no group for mobile phones.
  • Application control and device control are managed in the same policy, so if you have a common app control policy but a different device control policy you'll need to manage 2 policies.
  • The app control policy is very strong, still, the out of the box policies are basic, I'd expect Symantec to provide more of these out of the box.
  • The reports are not the most elegant and sometimes it takes time to find the report you need. Graphics need to be improved.
Today with the hybrid model, you can manage SEP in the cloud. Mobile/remote employees will still be able to sync logs and get policies without a VPN connection to the office. Symantec Ecosystem is very good if you seek for other security solution such as web proxy, DLP, EDR, etc. The products integrate with each other and you can achieve better policy management and also better visibility on your network. SEP is an agent-based solution, if you need an agentless solution this is not the product for you.
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
June 12, 2019

Great protection that you pay for.

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
SEP is currently used across our entire company. We use it for its anti-virus and firewall protection and its real-time threat detection. Updates to the program are automatic and require no user intervention at all. That is very useful when you have a large user base. SEP is easy to deploy, easy to maintain and works well keeping our data and workstations safe.
  • Powerful real-time anti-virus.
  • Firewall protection.
  • LiveUpdate: continuously updated.
  • The price point is a little high.
  • Can sometimes hog system resources.
SEP is well suited to companies who need to deploy and manage protection from a central location. Companies who want to protect users with minimal effort would be well suited for this product. I would say that it may not be right for smaller businesses where costs are a primary factor. The protection is very high, but the price is accordingly high.
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
June 12, 2019

Symantec can be a little flaky at times but overall it is a great product for SMB's.

Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We currently use Symantec Endpoint Protect on our Corporate Office Windows computers. We do not use it on any remote offices or employees who travel. At one point we were using the Mail Security piece and the desktop Endpoint protection but have since dropped the mail security piece and just use Desktop Endpoint Protection in conjunction with the Symantec Endpoint Manager program. In our case, the best business problem it solves is to allow us to the have a centrally managed anti-virus system that does not require a lot of education on the part of the users or the admins.
  • Symantec has a great central manage piece called the Symantec Endpoint Manager. It is quite easy to use, is intuitive and requires little to no training.
  • Symantec is also easy for users to understand and use. If a user clicks on the task bar Symantec icon they are presented with a full menu of easy to understand options for them to use.
  • Symantec Endpoint Protection provides a wide array of options, for admins, when it comes to limiting what the users can do on their workstations. Policies are easy to configure and seem to work well every time.
  • Symantec has great support for administrators.
  • If calling tech support for other companies one of the first things they often ask is if you have Symantec. That is a bad reputation to get but I have seen several instances where Symantec has caused issues with other software programs.
  • Compared to other AV programs, Symantec seems to slow down the client PC's a bit more than average.
  • Symantec's licensing and fulfillment process can be labor intensive and confusing.
I think Symantec is best suited for Small to Medium businesses, with limited IT support as the program is easy to set up and in most cases does not require specific IT skills. Due to the issues with slowness and sometimes conflicting with other programs I do not think Symantec is a great choice for Large Enterprises.
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
June 06, 2019

Symantec Endpoint Protection Gives Me Peace of Mind

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Symantec Endpoint Protection (SEP) is being used throughout our entire organization on all of our desktops, Laptops, and Servers. We have been a Symantec shop for almost as long as I have been with the company which is almost 20 years. We rely on SEP to keep all of our endpoints protected from all malicious threats.
  • SEP is extremely powerful in that you can get very granular with policies.
  • Since I have been the SEP Admin I have never been hit with a widespread outbreak.
  • Support has always been able to resolve any issue that I have had.
  • Reporting is not the best.
  • Support is based oversees, which can make it difficult sometimes.
  • Every release has at least one small bug.
SEP is ideal for medium to large enterprises. We have almost 9000 endpoints and I am confident that all of these devices are well protected. I am not sure that I would recommend this solution for small businesses. Not to say they could not use it, but licensing can be expensive and a full time admin is recommended.
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
July 17, 2019

Symantec is the best!

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
I use Symantec Endpoint Protection in our audit program. I use the system and monitor e-mails which I can see from my front page. I monitor them for suspicious texts and data abuse. The system is used in the internal audit department and the IT department in our company. Symantec is user-friendly and I am pleased!
  • User-friendly.
  • Simple.
  • High beneficial.
  • Security.
  • The page layout could be improved.
We use Symantec Endpoint Protection to specify our keywords and the Symantec makes this so easy!
Read this authenticated review
Anthony Prestia | TrustRadius Reviewer
June 04, 2018

Symantec Endpoint Protection

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use Symantec Endpoint Protection across our whole organization across 3 sites and it is managed centrally from our NJ location. It allows us to keep our machines secure from malicious software and easily stay updated with new threats.
  • Centralized management of devices.
  • Easily deployed to new devices either via an image or remote push.
  • Virus definitions are kept up to date as new threats arise
  • Better Malware/Ransomware protection. We had a user hit with a ransomware that Symantec didn't catch.
It has picked up and quarantined virus attacks from infected websites on numerous occasions and kept our end users protected due to it.
Read Anthony Prestia's full review
Christopher Bogart | TrustRadius Reviewer
March 16, 2018

Symantec Endpoint protection

Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Symantec Endpoint has been the primary Anti-virus software for the company. Software offers simplicity and ease of use.
  • Protecting workstations
  • clean user interface
  • At times, the software has not been easy to remove. Mostly, it involves 2 removal tools to full remove the software from systems. It can be a stubborn to remove at times.
  • The user interface can be kind of "busy", finding it difficult at times for exactly where to go and what is needed.
Less appropriate for servers and more appropriate for workstations.
Read Christopher Bogart's full review
Kurt Ferguson | TrustRadius Reviewer
April 11, 2017

Symantec Endpoint Protection...it's not for me, and possibly not for you, either.

Score 6 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use Symantec Endpoint protection on all Desktops, Laptops, and Servers. This is across all departments of the organization. It addresses the need for anti virus software within our organization. We use Microsoft Windows exclusively, so this pertains to Windows Server 2008, Windows Server 2008 R2, Windows Server 2012 R2 for server operating systems. We have it deployed on Windows 7, Windows 8, and Windows 10 for endpoints.
  • It's easy to manage. Installation of a premade package is very straight forward and generally goes without incident.
  • It's fairly reliable at detecting malware and viruses in Windows.
  • It's updated frequently, so new threats are updated at least daily.
  • Removing dead clients from the console. This is nearly impossible to do, and makes keeping the console clean a very difficult task.
  • Poorly tested versions are sometimes released that cause serious issues for users. This ranges from browsers malfunctioning to BSOD errors.
  • Malware detection is good but not great. We are not confident in SEP by itself to neutralize malware threats. It's detection rate just isn't high enough for next generation and zero day threats.
Symantec Endpoint protection is, in my opinion, a somewhat mediocre product. It does a decent job of detecting traditional viruses, and an OK job of detecting malware threats. The hybrid approach they employ for virtualized environments leaves a lot to be desired compared to options for other products which allow you to install a VM on the ESX host to do scanning of VM's. It is annoying to have to install the SEP client on every single machine that you want to have protected. The Symantec hybrid approach means that the same exact version of a file won't be repeatedly scanned, but it doesn't really make up for having to have the client installed on every single VM you want to protect. This consumes a lot of extra resources, especially during daily/weekly scans.
Read Kurt Ferguson's full review

Feature Scorecard Summary

Anti-Exploit Technology (18)
8.2
Endpoint Detection and Response (EDR) (18)
8.9
Centralized Management (20)
9.0
Hybrid Deployment Support (12)
8.7
Infection Remediation (20)
8.6
Vulnerability Management (17)
8.6
Malware Detection (20)
8.3

About Symantec Endpoint Protection

Symantec Endpoint Protection is designed to protect against advanced malware threats with powerful, layered protection backed by industry leading security intelligence.

  • Network Threat Protection stops most threats before they can take up residence on the machine
  • Insight reputation scoring accurately detects rapidly mutating malware and zero-day threats
  • SONAR™ behavioral analysis stops malicious files designed to appear legitimate
  • Strong antivirus, antispyware and firewall protection eradicate known mass malware

Symantec Endpoint Protection Features

Has featureNetwork Threat Protection
Has featureInsight
Has featureSONAR behavioral analysis
Has featureAntivirus
Has featureAntispyware
Has featureFirewall protection

Symantec Endpoint Protection Competitors

McAfee Endpoint Security, Kaspersky Endpoint Security, Sophos Intercept X, Barracuda Managed Workplace RMM, Panda Security for Desktops, Trend Micro Endpoint Protection, Palo Alto Networks Traps Endpiont Protection, FireEye Endpoint Protection, Dell Endpoint Security

Symantec Endpoint Protection Support Options

 Free VersionPaid Version
Phone
Live Chat
Email
Forum/Community
FAQ/Knowledgebase
Social Media
Video Tutorials / Webinar

Symantec Endpoint Protection Technical Details

Deployment Types:On-premise, SaaS
Operating Systems: Windows, Linux, Mac
Mobile Application:No
Supported Countries:Americas, Europe, Middle East, Africa, Asia