TrustRadius
Symantec Endpoint Protection is the company's flagship antivirus / endpoint security product.https://dudodiprj2sv7.cloudfront.net/product-logos/F3/E3/FXW4JNANO7TF.PNGSymantec Endpoint ProtectionWe use Symantec Endpoint Protection across our whole organization across 3 sites and it is managed centrally from our NJ location. It allows us to keep our machines secure from malicious software and easily stay updated with new threats.,Centralized management of devices. Easily deployed to new devices either via an image or remote push. Virus definitions are kept up to date as new threats arise,Better Malware/Ransomware protection. We had a user hit with a ransomware that Symantec didn't catch.,8,Keeps IT intervention and management of devices and updates to a minimum Blocking malicious software allows our IT staff to focus on other objectives rather than having to "clean up" infections,Malwarebytes and Trend Micro Endpoint Security,Malwarebytes, Symantec Email Security.cloud, Veritas Backup ExecSymantec Endpoint protectionSymantec Endpoint has been the primary Anti-virus software for the company. Software offers simplicity and ease of use.,Protecting workstations clean user interface,At times, the software has not been easy to remove. Mostly, it involves 2 removal tools to full remove the software from systems. It can be a stubborn to remove at times. The user interface can be kind of "busy", finding it difficult at times for exactly where to go and what is needed.,7,no measureable impact,Symantec Advanced Threat Protection,Microsoft Access, Microsoft Dynamics NAVSymantec EndpointThis product is used across the entire enterprise. We have a great experience with protection, deploying of updates and so forth.,The ability to deploy updates on the go. The ability to maintain protection all the time.,When a scan takes place, it can be heavy processor load. Need to be able to update or implement change without interaction.,3,Maintain protection on local endpoints. Easily push updates to endpoints.,Symantec Endpoint Protection...it's not for me, and possibly not for you, either.We use Symantec Endpoint protection on all Desktops, Laptops, and Servers. This is across all departments of the organization. It addresses the need for anti virus software within our organization. We use Microsoft Windows exclusively, so this pertains to Windows Server 2008, Windows Server 2008 R2, Windows Server 2012 R2 for server operating systems. We have it deployed on Windows 7, Windows 8, and Windows 10 for endpoints.,It's easy to manage. Installation of a premade package is very straight forward and generally goes without incident. It's fairly reliable at detecting malware and viruses in Windows. It's updated frequently, so new threats are updated at least daily.,Removing dead clients from the console. This is nearly impossible to do, and makes keeping the console clean a very difficult task. Poorly tested versions are sometimes released that cause serious issues for users. This ranges from browsers malfunctioning to BSOD errors. Malware detection is good but not great. We are not confident in SEP by itself to neutralize malware threats. It's detection rate just isn't high enough for next generation and zero day threats.,6,It has forced us to deploy secondary software to handle malware threats, as far too many of them slip by SEP unnoticed. We'd prefer not to have such an approach, but with SEP we aren't fully protected without such additional software. The CPU footprint vs other similar products wastes extra CPU cycles on scanning, causing us to need larger ESX hosts for a given number of VM's, due to the overhead from the SEP client. On more than one occasion, a bad update has caused significant business impact, causing us to heavily consider a different product when our next renewal period is up.,Sophos Endpoint Protection, Kaspersky Endpoint Security and Malwarebytes,GoToAssist, RealVNC, Skype for BusinessSymantec Endpoint Protects us and our clientsWe use Symantec Endpoint Protection (SEP) for both our own company and the 40+ SMB companies that we support. SEP protects us and our clients against the latest threats and provides us with a convenient dashboard to monitor everything. Updates are smooth and transparent, and managing the application is simple.,Constant updates protect users from the latest threats. Zero day protection protects from threats that are not yet known or publicized. Emails are scanned and protected as well as files.,While updates are mostly invisible and automatic, some need our interaction to complete. Upgrades sometimes require a reboot, and the end user has the option to postpone. So we need to intervene at times.,10,Symantec Endpoint Protection provides us with a steady recurring revenue stream. SEP provides us with a fairly easy reselling experience, because it is not overly expensive yet it is an extremely effective product. SEP allows us to spend less time analyzing and administering anti-virus issues, which translate into very few man-hours wasted.,McAfee Endpoint Protection Suite,Microsoft Office 2016, QuickBooks Pro, Adobe Acrobat DC
Windows, Linux, Mac
Symantec Endpoint Protection
83 Ratings
Score 7.3 out of 101
<a href='https://www.trustradius.com/static/about-trustradius-scoring' target='_blank' rel='nofollow'>trScore algorithm: Learn more.</a>TRScore

Symantec Endpoint Protection Reviews

Symantec Endpoint Protection
83 Ratings
<a href='https://www.trustradius.com/static/about-trustradius-scoring' target='_blank' rel='nofollow'>trScore algorithm: Learn more.</a>
Score 7.3 out of 101
Show Filters 
Hide Filters 
Filter 83 vetted Symantec Endpoint Protection reviews and ratings
Clear all filters
Overall Rating
Reviewer's Company Size
Last Updated
By Topic
Industry
Department
Experience
Job Type
Role
Reviews (1-25 of 27)
  Vendors can't alter or remove reviews. Here's why.
Anthony Prestia profile photo
June 04, 2018

User Review: "Symantec Endpoint Protection"

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use Symantec Endpoint Protection across our whole organization across 3 sites and it is managed centrally from our NJ location. It allows us to keep our machines secure from malicious software and easily stay updated with new threats.
  • Centralized management of devices.
  • Easily deployed to new devices either via an image or remote push.
  • Virus definitions are kept up to date as new threats arise
  • Better Malware/Ransomware protection. We had a user hit with a ransomware that Symantec didn't catch.
It has picked up and quarantined virus attacks from infected websites on numerous occasions and kept our end users protected due to it.
Read Anthony Prestia's full review
Christopher Bogart profile photo
March 16, 2018

User Review: "Symantec Endpoint protection"

Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Symantec Endpoint has been the primary Anti-virus software for the company. Software offers simplicity and ease of use.
  • Protecting workstations
  • clean user interface
  • At times, the software has not been easy to remove. Mostly, it involves 2 removal tools to full remove the software from systems. It can be a stubborn to remove at times.
  • The user interface can be kind of "busy", finding it difficult at times for exactly where to go and what is needed.
Less appropriate for servers and more appropriate for workstations.
Read Christopher Bogart's full review
No photo available
February 06, 2018

Symantec Endpoint Protection Review: "Symantec Endpoint"

Score 3 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
This product is used across the entire enterprise. We have a great experience with protection, deploying of updates and so forth.
  • The ability to deploy updates on the go.
  • The ability to maintain protection all the time.
  • When a scan takes place, it can be heavy processor load.
  • Need to be able to update or implement change without interaction.
Customer data on an endpoint is when the product is best suited to run and scan for any and all needed needs.
Read this authenticated review
Kurt Ferguson profile photo
April 11, 2017

Review: "Symantec Endpoint Protection...it's not for me, and possibly not for you, either."

Score 6 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use Symantec Endpoint protection on all Desktops, Laptops, and Servers. This is across all departments of the organization. It addresses the need for anti virus software within our organization. We use Microsoft Windows exclusively, so this pertains to Windows Server 2008, Windows Server 2008 R2, Windows Server 2012 R2 for server operating systems. We have it deployed on Windows 7, Windows 8, and Windows 10 for endpoints.
  • It's easy to manage. Installation of a premade package is very straight forward and generally goes without incident.
  • It's fairly reliable at detecting malware and viruses in Windows.
  • It's updated frequently, so new threats are updated at least daily.
  • Removing dead clients from the console. This is nearly impossible to do, and makes keeping the console clean a very difficult task.
  • Poorly tested versions are sometimes released that cause serious issues for users. This ranges from browsers malfunctioning to BSOD errors.
  • Malware detection is good but not great. We are not confident in SEP by itself to neutralize malware threats. It's detection rate just isn't high enough for next generation and zero day threats.
Symantec Endpoint protection is, in my opinion, a somewhat mediocre product. It does a decent job of detecting traditional viruses, and an OK job of detecting malware threats. The hybrid approach they employ for virtualized environments leaves a lot to be desired compared to options for other products which allow you to install a VM on the ESX host to do scanning of VM's. It is annoying to have to install the SEP client on every single machine that you want to have protected. The Symantec hybrid approach means that the same exact version of a file won't be repeatedly scanned, but it doesn't really make up for having to have the client installed on every single VM you want to protect. This consumes a lot of extra resources, especially during daily/weekly scans.
Read Kurt Ferguson's full review
John Huber profile photo
June 02, 2017

Symantec Endpoint Protection Review: "Symantec Endpoint Protects us and our clients"

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Reseller
Review Source
We use Symantec Endpoint Protection (SEP) for both our own company and the 40+ SMB companies that we support. SEP protects us and our clients against the latest threats and provides us with a convenient dashboard to monitor everything. Updates are smooth and transparent, and managing the application is simple.
  • Constant updates protect users from the latest threats.
  • Zero day protection protects from threats that are not yet known or publicized.
  • Emails are scanned and protected as well as files.
  • While updates are mostly invisible and automatic, some need our interaction to complete.
  • Upgrades sometimes require a reboot, and the end user has the option to postpone. So we need to intervene at times.
I have not seen any scenarios where I would characterize SEP as less appropriate. It is the only endpoint protection that we use. It is perfect for our needs as network consultants. Most of our clients know the Symantec brand, and it gives them confidence that we are protecting them fully.
Read John Huber's full review
Ben Liebowitz profile photo
February 22, 2017

Review: "My experience using Symantec Endpoint Protection"

Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Symantec Endpoint Protection is the Antivirus/AntiMalware product we use across all of our environments. We have multiple SEP Managers distributed for different environments. It helps add another layer of protection for our servers.
  • SEP is good at automatically updating the clients so the latest definitions are always present on the clients. If the SEPM is not available, it will go to the web to retrieve the updates.
  • Utilizing the SEP Managers to manage the SEP clients works very well. I'm able to link it to Active Directory and login using AD Credentials, simplifying access and roles.
  • Being able to deploy client upgrades from the SEP Manager makes upgrades an easy task.
  • Being able to run the SYMHELP tool to submit logs and automatically open support requests is very handy!
  • Having to reboot each client after a version upgrade can be troublesome.
  • The client can be a resource hog at times.
SEP is a good AV product and protects our servers well. It's easily managed via the SEP Manager servers. However, keeping up with new versions which come out multiple times a year can make it tough to keep up, esp when client upgrades require a reboot.
Read Ben Liebowitz's full review
Sam Figueroa profile photo
October 13, 2016

Review: "Symantec Endpoint Protection for a large, dynamic enterprise environment"

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use Symantec Endpoint Protection (SEP) in an enterprise environment with over 10,000 users. It is being used across our whole organization. It is our main antivirus and network intrusion protection application. No machine is allowed to connect to our enterprise network unless it has SEP fully installed and updated. Scans are run at off times and instant protection is always turned on.
  • Real Time scanning
  • Network intrusion protection
  • Spyware and Virus Protection
  • Proactive Threat protection
  • LiveUpdate client sometimes breaks and requires a fix to repair the client. This is needed to ensure the client receives timely updates and definitions.
  • The client management tool is not very robust, however it is enough to adequately control the machine.
  • Network threat protection packet log is not always 100% accurate. It does miss some traffic on certain ports. We have verified this via splunk.
Symantec Endpoint Protection works well for an enterprise environment. I don't feel this would be suited for a home user. It does have a nice layout and is very user-friendly. For the most part, it does not require any interaction by the end user unless a threat is identified. Once the threat is identified, it would be nice to automatically set up the action to take instead of relying on the user's input.
Read Sam Figueroa's full review
Simon Chaperson profile photo
September 26, 2016

"Symantec Endpoint Protection Review"

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
I've been using Symantec Endpoint Protection for the last year to protect my machine from viruses, adware and malware. I believe that it is a solid and thought-out endpoint protection that is available today. There are lots of other products available, but sometimes you have to pay to get a product that you can rely on.
  • Good at protecting a range of OS
  • Threats updated regularly
  • Stable software
  • Faster full and custom scans would be nice
  • Could do with additional malware protection features
  • Support of Linux could be better
Symantec Endpoint Protection is a reliable anti virus solution, with the threat database regularly updated. I would recommend on deploying in many different scenarios, from a few machines to a larger organization. It's a well thought-out anti virus solution, that is easy to use and to deploy. Would most definitely recommend to anyone.
Read Simon Chaperson's full review
Kevin Marsh profile photo
September 22, 2016

Symantec Endpoint Protection Review: "Symantec is the World Leader"

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use Symantec endpoint protection to protect over 3,000 endpoints including Windows and MAC [devices] in our corporate environment to defend against viruses and malware.
  • Good at protecting the operating system.
  • Great at keeping up to date on the latest threats.
  • Works well with all types of hardware.
  • Very stable.
  • Would like to see custom configurable dashboards.
  • Like to be able to submit zero day viruses on the fly.
  • Like to see faster scanning with full scans.
In my personal opinion, Symantec is the most solid and thought-out endpoint protection that is available today. Even though there are other platforms at a lower cost, you get what you pay for.
Read Kevin Marsh's full review
Scott Honeycutt profile photo
September 19, 2016

Review: "Symantec Endpoint Protection in your environment"

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We are using 5 SEPM servers with the database installed via SQL. We have 30 other management servers that are posted around the United States that connect to these servers. We are also using GUPs or group update providers as well to lower the amount of clients that connect to the servers for their updates.This product is used for endpoint services to provide antivirus for over 225,00 workstations and servers. The problem with this software is that the reporting is very limited unless you install and use I.T. Analytics but this really doesn't fit our environment. Another issue is unless you have business critical support you go straight to India for support. I have had some of these techs do a really good job but others no so much. Overall I like the product. It is stable but I would like to see more reporting features and more security features being added in to the software. Other that that the Symantec Endpoint services manager works very well and normally runs very smoothly.
  • Download Insight works well for users trying to install software that Symantec Endpoint Protection (SEP) doesn't recognize. Unless it is a valid application it will flag as to few users using this app and will not allow the install.
  • Easy to use interface in the SEPM console. Also can use it via web interface when not directly on the server itself.
  • Easy to deploy SEP package from the console to multiple containers.
  • Reporting, reporting reporting.
  • Copy and paste within the console itself. Must use keyboard shortcuts as of now.
  • Needs more anti-malware features.
I feel this product is very bold and does a really good job at what it does. Endpoints are very critical and this product takes care of most issues that come up. At this point I don't know of any scenarios where this product would be less appropriate. I have used this product for business as well as personally. I don't trust any other antivirus company.
Read Scott Honeycutt's full review
Jonathan Jesse profile photo
September 16, 2016

Symantec Endpoint Protection Review: "SEP Try it out"

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
The entire company uses Symantec Endpoint Protection. We've been working with Symantec Endpoint Protection since version 11 and have enjoyed the upgrade to version 12 and higher. We leverage SEP for not only the normal antivirus [protection] but also firewall and other portions of the product. SEP protects all of our endpoints throughout the environment and works great.
  • SEP protects our envionrment not only through antivirus (AV) but also protects against malware and advanced threats.
  • Light on the endpoints and desktop and our end users do not notice the system.
  • SEP is quick and lightweight. Has a bunch of tools/items to use outside of just AV/malware.
  • Needs to be updated more quickly to support the latest and greatest Mac versions. Our pepole want to use the latest and greatest version of Mac and we have to tell them to wait.
  • Protect Linux devices in a managed way.
Take a look at all the studies and notes out there that show how well Symantec Endpoint Protection (SEP) is at protecting endpoints against 0 day or advanced persistent threats. Also test the product out, it works and works great.
Read Jonathan Jesse's full review
Debbie Johnson profile photo
April 22, 2016

Symantec Endpoint Protection Review: "One Stop Inspection, Detection, Protection & Rejection"

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use Symantec Endpoint Protection across our entire organization for desktops and our virtual servers. We push the client package to the machines and manage the settings for our users, leaving them no control over their own settings. This keeps everything the same across the board and provides a more secure environment without the potential for users to open a hole they are unaware of.
  • The virus and spyware protection has worked well for us, catching several things and quarantining the items or cleaning them.
  • The virus definitions very rarely fail to update for the users, so I feel confident that my client machines are kept up to date.
  • I like the report I get daily telling me about threats found and action taken without having to login to the console to look it up myself.
  • The Proactive Threat Protection is helpful, but I wish it caught more in the browser.
  • The client packages for installation can be a little finicky at times to get them to push to the client machines - it might take a few attempts on a newly imaged machine.
We have it installed on our servers and user machines, so I think it's helpful and necessary on every end point.
Read Debbie Johnson's full review
Ramesh Ramrattan profile photo
April 20, 2016

Review: "Put an END to infections with Symantec Endpoint Protection!"

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Symantec Endpoint Protection is being used across the entire company. I am the security admin and i manage and deploy "SEP" using the management console on a dedicated server. Symantec Endpoint Protection serves as the virus protection solution for our business. Ever since implementing Symantec Endpoint Protection, the company has been virus free. We had 1 instance of end user error which the employee opened an infected email and SEP caught it immediately.
  • Symantec is very easy to deploy to multiple users in an organization. Using the management console, you can use ldap integration and select groups of users at a time from Active Directory to manage.
  • Updates are silent with almost zero end user interaction. Most users are not even aware that the software is on their machines and actively updating and protecting them.
  • Symantec endpoint protection is compatible will all of the operating systems in our organization. There are 2 installer packages that can be deployed, one for 32bit systems and one for 64bit.
  • One of my biggest concerns with the software is on rare occasions, Symantec will try to quarantine its own files it mistakenly flagged as an infection. This would cause the machine to create a log file folder size that can quickly get out of hand.
  • Symantec Endpoint is very good in the use of system resources, however, there is a noticeable lag of about 1-2 minutes for the system to shut down.
  • Sometimes the endpoints do not automatically update from the SEP Server. I have to manually remote into an end user machine, open the SEP console and click Live Update.
Symantec Endpoint Protection is best suited for current machines that run Windows 7 and up with at least 4GB of RAM. Older machines that run Windows XP or Vista will encounter performance issues with Symantec. Virus scans can take its toll on older machines on the network that are running critical programs. I have a couple of XP machines that I need on the network for specific programs. In order to have Symantec on it, I have no other programs running on the box.
Read Ramesh Ramrattan's full review
Muhammad Hamad profile photo
October 09, 2015

Symantec Endpoint Protection Review: "Symantec - My Opinion"

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Reseller
Review Source
We are using Symantec Internally for a couple of services but primarily support our customers with this product. A very good product with good support from Symantec and we have a bunch of happy customers using it. It protects their endpoints very well from most known and unknown threats.
  • A variety of options available throughout the portfolio to support the needs of customers information security.
  • Their products are fairly easy to use, easy to set up and get good support from partners. Most of their solutions are well trusted and very good
  • Symantec provides pretty good support when it comes to TAC. In my experience, I have almost never had to escalate a case due to slow response or bad response.
  • SEPM: Their management console is Java based and it could be vastly improved.
  • Migrating to Symantec products could be improved greatly.
  • More training for partners to enable them to support more Symantec Products
  • More aggressive marketing in the MENA region in the security industry.
Always, and I mean always, make sure that the solution that you are buying fits the right requirement. Your environment may be very common or very unique, but identifying the right need and scaling the solution is critical for it to make a good business case and to help you achieve your goal and your aim on why you need a certain product. A good, effective solution will always make your life easier and give you peace of mind in terms of security of your network. Finally, always make calculated, sound decisions.
Read Muhammad Hamad's full review
ganesh sawant profile photo
March 24, 2016

Symantec Endpoint Protection Review: "Symantec Endpoint"

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We are doing projects and provide support to companies. We are a platinum partner of Symantec. Most of the time we have found the scanning ratio is good compared to other antivirus solutions.
  • Scanning
  • Device blocking
  • Application blocking
  • Zero day exploit
  • Slowness issues during scanning
  • Rollback issue
  • Definition file size will decrerase
Symantec Endpoint Protection works well during device blocking.
Read ganesh sawant's full review
Thaveshin Pillay profile photo
November 05, 2015

Symantec Endpoint Protection Review: "Symantec Rules...!!!"

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We have implemented both Symantec Endpoint Protection and Symantec Data Center Security. It is currently being used by 50000+ users. It is reducing the amount of infections and viruses spread through the network and locking down legacy (Windows Server 2003) servers that are end-of-life.
  • Detection rate of threats and remediation.
  • Using policies to lock down devices.
  • Ease of management.
  • Smaller definitions for endpoints.
  • Include software requirements (eg, .net framework ) when installing Symantec products.
  • Better integration and reporting with other products.
What problems are you experiencing or what products do you have currently that don't work for you?
Read Thaveshin Pillay's full review
John Higday profile photo
October 23, 2015

Review: "Symantec Endpoint Protection. Module/Layered Protection for your Endpoint"

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
I have used or have installed Symantec Endpoint Protection for customers since the original release of 11.x. Symantec has continued to improve this product and listen to the security community when adding additional features or provide performance changes. The module protection that Symantec Endpoint Protection provides is "Outstanding".
  • Module (layered protection).
  • Educated and innovated support.
  • Passionate and dedicated Symantec engineers.
  • A dedicated team to security partners to provide deeper knowledge about the products.
  • More Innovation - continue to be the leader in security and continue to develop superior protection for endpoints and their data.
  • Continue to improve partner relationships to make them seemless with the customers and Symantec.
Symantec Endpoint Protection (SEP) is a modular security product and can provide complete security protection for all endpoints that includes workstations, laptops and servers. The key questions I get during the selection process are:

  1. Ease of use.
  2. Ease of deployment
  3. Ease of configuration.
Symantec Endpoint Protection provides all that.
Read John Higday's full review
Jeff Hiner profile photo
February 10, 2016

Symantec Endpoint Protection Review: "Symantec is great for mobile users that are hard to pin down."

Score 6 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We were using Symantec across our organization. It was installed on all of our machines worldwide.
  • Using the cloud version makes it very easy to manage and configure antivirus across multiple countries.
  • The ability to push out policy changes to all end users quickly and easily
  • Control of firewall and application access all in one program.
  • Did not detect all malwares and toolbars.
  • Some user installed malware was not detected.
It is good for wide spread environments where users are not always on the corporate network.
Read Jeff Hiner's full review
Tony Sutton profile photo
November 20, 2015

"Symantec Endpoint Protection - Quick Review"

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use Symantec Endpoint Protection to protect all servers & clients from all threats & attacks.
  • Easy to manage & deploy clients
  • Overview of all clients connected and its latest status
  • Great & detailed reporting
  • SEPM interface is Java based, so can be slow at some times.
Read Tony Sutton's full review
Anthony Edwards profile photo
March 18, 2015

Symantec Endpoint Protection Review: "Symantec Antivirus"

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use Symantec as a virus detection software, internet security, and backups.
  • Symantec is a great antivirus software
  • It provides tremendous internet security
  • It is so easy to use for a product of its quality
  • Take up less processes when running
  • Provide better firewall functionality, in meaning allow the user to have more configuration capabilities.
  • Start up faster when you boot your computer.
This product is very well suited for virus detection and firewall capabilities.
Read Anthony Edwards's full review
Brian Morales profile photo
July 03, 2014

Symantec Endpoint Protection Review: "Most comprehensive centrally managed endpoint security solution I have used"

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
This is the most comprehensive centrally managed endpoint security solution I have used for my business. It includes a host-based intrusion protection system (HIPS), device control, anti-malware, a network IPS, and a software firewall. We don't use the firewall but from what I see it can be setup very granular. Client polices can be created, modified and removed easily from a central console. For me the convenience of remotely managing Symantec from any Internet Explorer session is a plus. You can also assign users rights for your IT staff and this feature can get very specific on what the user can do and see. The last thing I wanted to point out is Symantec tech support in my opinion is fast. I can usually get someone to work on my question or concerns with in the hour.
  • I can usually get someone to work on my question or concerns within an hour
  • Client polices can be created, modified and removed easily
  • Convenience of remotely managing Symantec from any Internet Explorer session
  • Large temp folders
Every year Symantec gets better when it comes to using less resources on the server or workstation it is installed on.
Read Brian Morales's full review
No photo available
August 05, 2016

Symantec Endpoint Protection Review: "SEP will save you time in managing each endpoint!!"

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
symantec Endpoint Protection is used across the entire organization. If the company goes with this product, we install for all computers and remote devices. This does allow us to centrally managed each endpoint well.
  • Endpoint management
  • Definitions
  • Policies
  • Slows down computer
  • Pushing installs from the Manager
  • Pushing updates
This is a great software for detecting and stopping viruses and malware. We rarely had anything get through this besides Crypto Wall. Crypto Wall will get through almost anything with its ever evolving versions. We used this for our medical customers and trusted this to keep breaches from happening on the devices.
Read this authenticated review
No photo available
April 26, 2016

Symantec Endpoint Protection: "Essential review of Symantec Protection"

Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
It is being used across the whole organization. It is being used to protect user computers for malware and viruses. It also provides internet security for our company.
  • Fast scan
  • Frequent updates
  • Extra features
  • Uses up a lot of system resources
  • Deep scans take a while
  • Can be tedious to remove
Symantec Endpoint Protection is well suited for anti-malware and network protection. It is less appropriate on older machines.
Read this authenticated review
No photo available
October 14, 2015

Symantec Endpoint Protection Review: "Symantec SEP v12"

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Symantec Endpoint Protection is deployed across all end points in our organization. It addresses signature virus protection, some discovery and lockdown via policy of certain areas. It also offers integration with Active Directory and can be used an antivirus scan tool. Central management makes this product easy to use and manage.
  • Enforcement of policies when locking down a port
  • Enforcement of disabling .exes from running
  • Discovery of files and logging
  • Antivirus protection
  • Llocal firewall protection via Policy
  • Managed scan scheduling
  • APT
  • Malware detection
  • Malware remediation
  • Mobile addition for multiple platforms with central management
It is well suited for the enterprise clients and overkill for the small office users.
Read this authenticated review
No photo available
October 09, 2015

Symantec Endpoint Protection Review: "You're in-step with SEP!"

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use Symantec Endpoint Protection company-wide to protect against known and unknown threats. We also use it during incident response events in order to quickly cleanup infected endpoints and prevent them from spreading further infection. We also use Symantec Endpoint Protection to control removable storage/media and what data can leave and enter the internal network.
  • Offers great performance improvements and allows our users to work without sacrificing system resources.
  • The combination of each component offered allows the administrator to control client endpoint activities in a granular fashion. Such as keeping the bad stuff out and the good stuff in. ADC by itself could keep an endpoint clean, if configured correctly.
  • Symantec back line support is very knowledgeable and has a good understanding of how the product is supposed to function.
  • Their supporting documentation is very detailed and provides a high level of understanding.
  • It is missing a basic function, like the ability to use wildcards in exceptions.
  • Full content updates are way too big, 650+MB at last count. This is unacceptable.
  • It does lack good VDI support. This is an area that can really be improved.
  • The ability to monitor GUPs should come from the SEPM, not a standalone tool.
  • First line support is not very knowledgeable. I generally need to escalate my questions to back line support.
Symantec Endpoint Protection 12.1 is very effective in an incident response situation.
Read this authenticated review

About Symantec Endpoint Protection

Symantec Endpoint Protection is designed to protect against advanced malware threats with powerful, layered protection backed by industry leading security intelligence.

  • Network Threat Protection stops most threats before they can take up residence on the machine
  • Insight reputation scoring accurately detects rapidly mutating malware and zero-day threats
  • SONAR™ behavioral analysis stops malicious files designed to appear legitimate
  • Strong antivirus, antispyware and firewall protection eradicate known mass malware
Categories:  Internet Security,  Antivirus

Symantec Endpoint Protection Features

Has featureNetwork Threat Protection
Has featureInsight
Has featureSONAR behavioral analysis
Has featureAntivirus
Has featureAntispyware
Has featureFirewall protection

Symantec Endpoint Protection Competitors

McAfee Endpoint Security, Kaspersky Endpoint Security, Sophos Endpoint Protection, Avast Managed Workplace RMM, Panda Security for Desktops, Trend Micro Endpoint Protection, Palo Alto Networks Traps Endpiont Protection, FireEye Endpoint Protection, Dell Endpoint Security

Symantec Endpoint Protection Support Options

 Free VersionPaid Version
Phone
Live Chat
Email
Forum/Community
FAQ/Knowledgebase
Social Media
Video Tutorials / Webinar

Symantec Endpoint Protection Technical Details

Deployment Types:On-premise, SaaS
Operating Systems: Windows, Linux, Mac
Mobile Application:No
Supported Countries:Americas, Europe, Middle East, Africa, Asia